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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 21st 
Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255). The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.” As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), chaired by Miriam 
Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D., the Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report: This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020 and 2021. Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available 
federal survey data as of 2020. State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2021. State 
survey data, collected in 2021, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states 
maintained the data.  

Source of Data: For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data. Data 
about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about past-
month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2017 through 2020 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2021). Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request. The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application (updated May 
2022) served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2015–2019 among youth 
under age 21. ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of 
underage alcohol-related fatalities. The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis 
Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2020 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15- 
to 20-year-old drivers. State legal policy data were obtained from the following sources: 1) the 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism’s Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS) 
website (https://alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/); 2) legal research planned and managed by the ICCPUD. 

Recommended Citation: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2022). 2022 West Virginia State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.  
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West Virginia 
State Population: 1,784,787 
Population Ages 12–20: 196,000  

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 36,000 (18.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 22,000 (11.5%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (2.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 1,000 (2.0%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 8,000 (12.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 4,000 (6.0%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 26,000 (36.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 17,000 (24.5%) 

Adults Ages 21+   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 544,000 (40.6%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 257,000 (19.2%) 

Average Age of Initiation  
Average Age of Initiation  16.6 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 211 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 21 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,201 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%2 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 8 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 27% 
 

 
1 The Alcohol-Related Disease Impact Application was updated May 2022 to reflect new methodology for calculating the 
average annual alcohol-attributable deaths, and it reflects national and state annual averages from 2015–2019. 
2 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure. The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number; however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates. Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview1 
The Bureau for Behavioral Health (BBH) is the federally designated Single State Agency (SSA) 
and State Mental Health Authority (SMHA) for mental health, substance use, and intellectual 
and developmental disabilities in West Virginia. The BBH is responsible for administering the 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment and Community Mental Health Block Grant. 
Through the Block Grant and a combination of other federal grants and state funding, BBH 
supports comprehensive behavioral health prevention, promotion, early intervention, treatment, 
and recovery programs statewide. Funding is also provided for community-based behavioral 
health services for persons with behavioral needs, including those who are uninsured or 
underinsured. The BBH operates under the auspices of the West Virginia Department of Health 
and Human Resources (WVDHHR) which includes the Bureau for Children and Families (BCF), 
Bureau for Medical Services (BMS), and Bureau for Public Health (BPH). Collaboration on a 
variety of grants and projects occurs between BBH and each of the other Bureaus housed within 
WVDHHR. The BBH provides leadership, oversight, and coordination of policy, planning, 
development, funding, and monitoring of the public behavioral health system. Additionally, 
BBH is the host agency for the State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup. 
 
Previously known as the Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities, in July 2018 the 
Bureau was split into two separate and distinct entities under the umbrella of the West Virginia 
Department of Health and Human Resources (WVDHHR). The Office of Health Facilities 
(OHF) is now responsible for oversight of the state-owned and operated hospitals with long-term 
or acute care psychiatric functions for adults and the BBH is responsible for the statewide 
administration of community-based behavioral health services. The Commissioner’s Office 
provides direction to the Bureau and communicates the goals of WVDHHR/BBH to the 
community to ensure continuity of services. Underneath the Commissioner’s Office are two 
integrated sections (Programs and Policy, and Administration and Operations), each overseen by 
a Deputy Commissioner. 
 
Staff within the Programs and Policy section are charged with the development, implementation, 
and oversight of the statewide community-based behavioral health system of care and must 
ensure that individuals with mental health, substance use, or developmental disorders have 
meaningful treatment and support services to maximize their abilities to function as productive 
and stable citizens of West Virginia within the least restrictive environments suitable to their 
needs. Funding is provided to comprehensive community behavioral health centers and other 
providers to provide for a statewide continuum of care and supports for individuals in need of 
prevention, intervention, treatment and recovery, as well as related supports and services.  
 
The Programs and Policy section is currently undergoing a reorganization by adding the newly to 
developed Office of Adult Substance Use Disorder. This Office is being formed by bringing 
together SUD staff from the Office of Adult Services, SOR, and adding in newly funded 
positions dedicated to serving pregnant and postpartum women (PPW). The reorganization 

 
1 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2022/2023 – (West Virginia) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division 
of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. 
Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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should be completed by late Summer/early Fall. The Programs and Policy section is now 
comprised of the following Offices: 
• Office of Adult Services 
• Office of Adult Substance Use Disorder 
• Office of Children, Youth, and Family Services 
• Office of Policy, Planning, Research, and Compliance 
 
The Office of Children, Youth and Families administers programs to promote the behavioral 
health of children and youths in West Virginia communities through primary prevention and 
individualized services for mental health, substance use, and intellectual and developmental 
disabilities. The Office provides leadership, technical assistance, and funding to support children 
and youths with serious emotional disturbances (SED), young adults transitioning to adulthood 
with serious mental illness (SMI) or early serious mental illness (ESMH)/First-Episode 
Psychosis (FEP), children and youths with intellectual or developmental disabilities (I/DD), and 
their families. Key initiatives to build capacity include enhancing the West Virginia System of 
Care (WVSOC) through increased core services, such as Children’s Mental Health Wraparound, 
Mobile Crisis Response and Stabilization, and Expanded School Mental Health. Other initiatives 
to support children, youths, and families with behavioral health needs include the Family 
Advocacy, Support, and Training (FAST) Program; Regional Youth Service Centers that include 
community-based mental health and substance use services, now with Family Coordinators to 
support the families of youths served and help create a peer network for families in the state; 
suicide prevention and early intervention; and substance use prevention and intervention across 
the lifespan, including representation of the state in the National Prevention Network (NPN). 
 
West Virginia’s publicly funded community-based behavioral health system is anchored by 13 
Comprehensive Behavioral Health Centers (CBHCs), operating full service and/or satellite 
offices in each of the counties located in the center’s catchment area. Public behavioral health 
services provided by a CBHC are for all populations and all ages at risk for, or have a diagnosis 
of, mental illness, substance use disorder, intellectual/developmental disability, or a co-
occurring/co-existing disorder. The CBHCs are charged with ensuring the following “essential 
services” are available and accessible in each county: screening, assessment, crisis response, 
outpatient services (with referral for Intensive Outpatient Programs (IOP) as may be 
assessed/needed), information and referral capacity, and medication management. 
 
Prevention Services 

Substance Abuse Block Grant prevention set-aside funding is allocated by the BBH to six 
regional Prevention Lead Organizations (PLOs) to provide regional leadership and technical 
support to local prevention coalitions throughout West Virginia’s 55 counties. Prevention 
grantees use the strategic prevention framework (SPF) to identify needs and match evidence-
based programs and practices using the following prevention strategies: information 
dissemination, prevention education, community mobilization, environmental strategies, 
alternatives for youth, and problem identification and referral.  
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Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). 
Exhibit 1 shows the sources that West Virginia used for expenditures on substance abuse 
prevention and treatment in 2021. As indicated, other federal funds and state funds account for 
the largest sources (44.2 percent and 32.3 percent, respectively).2  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures. For FY 2022–2023, West Virginia designated 
improving access to substance use disorder services for adolescents, college students, and others 
as the number four priority for use of SABG funds.3 
 

Exhibit 1: Sources of West Virginia’s 2021 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment 

 
2 WebBGAS State Profile, 2021 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – West Virginia 2021. 
3 FY 2022/2023 – (West Virginia) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for 
Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance 
Indicators. 
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State Performance: Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details West Virginia’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures: 
 
State Laws and Policies: These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  

• underage possession or purchase of alcohol 
• underage drinking and driving  
• alcohol availability  
• sales and delivery to consumers at home  
• alcohol pricing  
• enforcement policies  

  
STOP Act State Survey Data: The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 states 
and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, 
regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking. Administered since 2011, the 
STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics:  

• enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and 
regulations 

• programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking 
• state interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice 

standards, collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking 
media campaigns  

• state expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 
West Virginia -Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
West Virginia-Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
West Virginia-Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic 
beverages prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or 

guardian is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is 

present or consents? 

 
 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

West Virginia-Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
West Virginia-Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 
 

Yes, through an administrative process 
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Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?  

No 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?  

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

Yes 

Do state statutes or regulations mandate that 
state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 be 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over?  

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?  Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

No 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

Yes 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?  

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

West Virginia-Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial 
Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
West Virginia-Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 
 

No 
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What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol N/A 
• Possession of alcohol N/A 
• Consumption of alcohol N/A 
The law applies to people under what age? N/A 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

N/A 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days N/A 
Maximum number of days N/A 

 
West Virginia-Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

0 with driver education; 50 hours without (10 of 
which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

10:00 PM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes. For first 6 months, no nonfamily passengers 
younger than 20 years old. For second 6 months, 
no more than one nonfamily passenger younger 
than 20 years old. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 

 
Alcohol Availability 

West Virginia-Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 
 

Yes 
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Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes 
 
Yes 
 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

Notes: West Virginia's exception allows relatives by blood or marriage to furnish alcohol to minors. 
 

West Virginia-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

No 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

N/A 

 
West Virginia-Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 
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West Virginia-Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants 
and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

 
West Virginia-Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and 
Primary and Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 300 feet. College and university has 
authority to override state restrictions if done in 
writing. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 300 feet. College and university has 
authority to override state restrictions if done in 
writing. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer 

Notes: This prohibition does not apply to grocery stores or "to a place occupied by a beer licensee so 
long as it is continuously so occupied." 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 300 feet. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 300 feet. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer 

Notes: This prohibition does not apply to grocery stores or "to a place occupied by a beer licensee so 
long as it is continuously so occupied." 

 
West Virginia-Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? Yes 
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West Virginia-Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

West Virginia-Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

No 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

N/A 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

N/A 

Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
 

West Virginia-Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? No law 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No law  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No law  

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? No law 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No law 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No law 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? No law 
Is a deposit required? No law 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No law 
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West Virginia-High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No; however, this state is a control state, and 
control states may impose additional restrictions 
on the sale of products that are not reflected in 
statute or regulation. 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 
West Virginia-Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Permitted 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
West Virginia-Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to 
producer before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements  
Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be 
approved by a state agency? 

Yes 

Recording/reporting requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements  
Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes  
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West Virginia-Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer No law  
Wine Permitted (direct shipper's license required; two 

cases per month) 
Spirits No law  

 
West Virginia- Direct to Consumer 
Is there a policy allowing on-premises retailers to 
deliver alcohol to a consumer at home? 

Yes 

Which on-premises retailers can provide delivery 
of alcoholic beverages? 

• Restaurant 
• Bar license 
• Third party license 

 
 
Yes, with state permit 
No 
Yes, with state permit 
 

Which types of alcohol are permitted to be 
delivered? 

• Beer 
• Wine 
• Spirits 
• Mixed Drinks 

 
 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
 

Requirements and Restrictions   
Are there restrictions in place addressing details 
of the delivery? 

• Hours limited 
• Amount of alcohol limited 
• Food requirement 

 
 
No 
Yes 
Yes 
 

Are there certain requirements that the delivery 
person must meet? 

• Must be 21 
• Must check ID at point of delivery 
• Must receive payment regardless of 

delivery completion 

 

 
 
Yes 
Yes 
No 

Notes: An order of multiple meals shall not exceed 384 ounces of beer. 
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Alcohol Pricing 
West Virginia-Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.18 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Not relevant 

• General sales tax rate  
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Not relevant 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Not relevant 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Not relevant 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 
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West Virginia-Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No  

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
West Virginia-Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? None 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

Spirits Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A  
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Enforcement Policies 
West Virginia-Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

18  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20  

Are there appearance requirements for the 
decoy? 

No 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?  

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 
West Virginia-Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, 
third, and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? Can impose one or combination of following 
sanctions: Revoke license, suspend license, place 
licensee on probationary status for no more than 
12 months, impose monetary penalty not to 
exceed $1000 for each violation 

What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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West Virginia State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration (WVABCA) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors WVABCA 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 4,812 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 2,892 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 291 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 2,892 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 291 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 165 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $87,500 
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Smallest fine imposed $150 
Largest fine imposed $15,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 0 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 0 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

Additional Clarification   
WVABCA enforces regulatory code over licensed businesses that sale, furnish, or provide alcohol. WVABCA does 
not enforce criminal code. Data sets reflect general violations of WVABCA rules and codes and may not always be 
specific to an underage violation. Source ID is upon referral by local law enforcement. The WVABCA works with the 
WV State Police, county sheriff's departments, and local police departments across the state regarding compliance 
operations. WVABCA does not enforce criminal charges, and some survey questions cannot be properly answered 
as it pertains to criminal charges. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
WV Strategic Prevention Framework Partnerships for Success (SPF-PFS)  

Number of youth served 2,111 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description: The WV SPF-PFS is a federally funded grant through the Substance Abuse Mental Health 
Administration (SAMHSA). The grant is administered by six regional prevention lead organizations covering all WV 
counties. The long-term goal of SPF-PFS is to prevent and reduce underage drinking, intravenous drug use, and 
marijuana use among high-risk youth ages 9–20. 
WV Collegiate Initiative to Address High Risk Substance Use (WVCIA)  

Number of youth served 1,002 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://wvcia.com 

https://wvcia.com
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Program Description: The WVCIA is a collaboration with West Virginia universities and colleges, local and state 
policy makers, decision makers, and stakeholders, state agencies, and community outreach companies to address 
high risk substance use impacting the lives of WV college students. 
Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)  

Number of youth served 699 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://www.sadd.org 

Program Description: SADD provides students with prevention tools to deal with serious issues that revolve 
around underage drinking, drug use, impaired driving, and difficult decision making. These youth-led efforts 
promote positive mental health, leadership development, and good decision making. 
Expanded School Mental Health (ESMH)  

Number of youth served 44,749 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://wvesmh.org 

Program Description: ESMH builds upon the core services typically provided by schools. It is a three-tiered 
framework that includes the full continuum of prevention, treatment, and recovery services. Regarding 
prevention, WV has 64 school sites. COVID-19 severely impaired prevention services as schools were closed and 
only virtual learning occurred. ESMH schools worked with Prevention Lead Organizations to transition current 
evidence-based prevention curricula to online formats throughout the pandemic to continue to address substance 
use prevention and mental health/social-emotional and coping skills needs of students. 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (20% set aside)  

Number of youth served 38,196 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description: The prevention portion of the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant 
supports the prevention and services provided throughout West Virginia. WV is separated into six regions covering 
all 55 counties. Each region has county coalitions that identify and target the specific needs for prevention services 
with their communities. Numbers served are much less this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

https://www.sadd.org
https://wvesmh.org


State Reports | West Virginia  _____________________________________________________________________________________ 

20 | 2022 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  _________________________________________________ 

Description of program: Not applicable 
State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 

Federal campaigns: “Talk. They Hear You” Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: Regional Prevention Lead Organizations do 
various media campaigns addressing substance use prevention which includes alcohol 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY Yes 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY Yes 
Pro bono No 
Donated air time No 
Earned media No 
Other: Federal and State funds support the prevention structure and organizations Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): National HIghway Traffic Safety Administration, SAMHSA, National 
Institute on Drug Abuse 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Bureau for Behavioral Health Single State Authority, WV 
Division of Justice and Community Services, Governor's Highway Safety Program, 
Alcohol Beverage Control Administration, Office of Drug Control Policy 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation, National 
Alcohol Beverage Control Association, National Liquor Law Enforcement Association 

Yes 

Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: The WV Department of Health and Human Resources Bureau for 
Behavioral Health requires evidence-based programs and practices within all prevention contracts/agreements 
with sub-grantee providers. Sub-grantee providers are required to develop program and practices that are 
data-driven and utilize proven evidence-based program and practices. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Bureau for Behavioral Health 
Email: Tahnee.I.Bryant@wv.gov 
Address: 350 Capitol Street Room 350 Charleston WV 
Phone: 304-352-5560 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Bureau for Children and Families  
Bureau for Public Health 
Office of Drug Control Policy 
Students Against Destructive Decisions 
Bureau for Behavioral Health 
WV Alcohol Beverage Control Administration  
WV Prevent Suicide  
WV Collegiate Initiative to Address High Risk Substance Use  
WV Department of Education 

mailto:Tahnee.I.Bryant@wv.gov
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Bureau for Juvenile Services 
Behavioral Health Provider Association 
Supreme Court Improvement Program 
Community Access 
Youth Services System 
WV Prevention Solutions 
Prestera Center 
Westbrook Health 
Potomac Highlands Guild 
Marshall University Research Center and School of Excellence 
WV Higher Education Policy Commission. 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: https://helpandhopewv.org 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Regional Prevention Lead Organizations complete, annually, the Strategic Prevention Framework, 
logic models, needs assessments, and community readiness assessments.  
Plan can be accessed via: N/A 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: WV Bureau for Behavioral Health 
Report can be accessed via: N/A 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended:  Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:  Data not available 

 
 
 
 

https://helpandhopewv.org
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Grants Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
WV Alcohol Beverage Control Administration receives grant funding that is utilized to fund the DUI Simulator 
Program and Annual Student Public Service Announcement Contest. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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