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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 21st 
Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255). The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.” As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), chaired by Miriam 
Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D., the Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report: This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020 and 2021. Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available 
federal survey data as of 2020. State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2021. State 
survey data, collected in 2021, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states 
maintained the data.  

Source of Data: For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data. Data 
about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about past-
month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2017 through 2020 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2021). Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request. The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application (updated May 
2022) served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2015–2019 among youth 
under age 21. ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of 
underage alcohol-related fatalities. The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis 
Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2020 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15- 
to 20-year-old drivers. State legal policy data were obtained from the following sources: 1) the 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism’s Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS) 
website (https://alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/); 2) legal research planned and managed by the ICCPUD. 

Recommended Citation: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2022). 2022 Washington State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.  
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Washington 
State Population: 7,693,612 
Population Ages 12–20: 810,000  

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 153,000 (18.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 83,000 (10.2%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 10,000 (4.0%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 5,000 (1.7%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 46,000 (16.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 25,000 (8.7%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 97,000 (36.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 54,000 (20.4%) 

Adults Ages 21+   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 3,329,000 (60.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 1,353,000 (24.5%) 

Average Age of Initiation  
Average Age of Initiation  16.3 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 211 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 74 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,311 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%2 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 27 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 33% 
 

 
1 The Alcohol-Related Disease Impact Application was updated May 2022 to reflect new methodology for calculating the 
average annual alcohol-attributable deaths, and it reflects national and state annual averages from 2015–2019. 
2 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure. The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number; however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates. Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview1 
The Washington State Health Care Authority (HCA) is committed to whole-person care, 
integrating physical health and behavioral health services while also focusing on the social 
determinants of health for better results and healthier residents. 
HCA integrates state and federal-funded services for substance use, mental health and problem 
gambling. We provide funding, training, and technical assistance to community-based providers 
for prevention, intervention, treatment, and recovery support services to people in need. With our 
community, state, and national partners, we are committed to providing evidence-based, cost-
effective services that support the health and well-being of individuals, families, and 
communities in Washington State. 
Within HCA, the Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery (DBHR) provides a broad range 
of community based mental health, substance use disorder, and pathological and problem 
gambling services using multiple funding sources to meet the broad behavioral health needs for 
the citizens of our state. In addition, DBHR sponsors recovery supports and the development of 
system of care networks. Some of the key services DBHR provides are: 
• Substance Use Disorder Prevention 
• Intervention 
• Outpatient substance use disorder and mental health services 
• Inpatient/residential substance use disorder and mental health services 
• Mental health promotion (funded with GF-State) 
• Recovery support services 
• Pathological and problem gambling service. 
As of July 1, 2018, the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) Chapter 41.05.018 transferred the 
powers, duties, and functions of the Department of Social and Health Services pertaining to the 
behavioral health system and purchasing function of the behavioral health administration, except 
for oversight and management of state-run mental health institutions and licensing and 
certification activities, to the Washington State Health Care Authority to the extent necessary to 
carry out the purposes of chapter 201, Laws of 2018.  
On Jan. 1, 2020, the Health Care Authority (HCA) finished a multi-year effort to integrate 
physical health, mental health and substance use disorder treatment services into one system for 
nearly 2 million Apple Health (Medicaid) clients. Integration has improved prevention and 
treatment of behavioral health conditions. Integration, leading to better whole person care, is 
working to enable many individuals to avoid commitment at the state psychiatric hospitals or 
divert from jails, and support them in leading healthy, productive lives. Several initiatives have 
been launched to improve the social determinants of health including two new Medicaid benefits 
that address homelessness and unemployment. 
Washington completed the transformation process of moving whole-person care, integrating 
physical and behavioral health in January 2020. With integrated managed care, a managed care 
plan coordinates and pays for both physical health and behavioral health services. Washington’s 

 
1 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2022/2023– (Washington) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, 
Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to 
address the specific populations.  
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behavioral health system is divided into ten regions, each region has three or more Managed 
Care Organizations (MCO).  
In addition, each region has a Behavioral Health – Administrative Service Organization (BH-
ASO) to cover mental health and substance use disorder crisis services, as well as services 
(within available funding) for Washington state residents who are not eligible for Medicaid 
benefits. BH-ASOs collaborate with Medicaid managed care to ensure coordinated care for 
enrollees. Additionally, BH-ASO’s hold the State-only and federal block grant contracts to 
provide services that are not covered by Medicaid for low-income individuals and Medicaid 
enrollees. 

Prevention Services 

HCA/DBHR prioritizes funding for evidence-based and research-based strategies to prevent 
substance use disorders, while at the same time recognizing the importance of local innovation to 
develop programs for specific populations and emerging problems. 
Most services provided are structured evidence-based drug and alcohol prevention curriculum 
for youth and parenting classes for adults. Information dissemination efforts and alternative 
drug-free activities are permitted as part of comprehensive strategic program plans. Services also 
include community organizing efforts and environmental strategies that impact policy, 
community norms, access and availability of substances and enforcement of policies directed at 
substance use disorder prevention. DBHR leads and engages in several statewide collaborative 
efforts that focus on workforce development; planning and data collection about youth and 
young adults; mental health promotion; and prevention of underage drinking, youth marijuana 
use, prescription and opioid misuse and abuse. 
Washington State’s Community Prevention and Wellness Initiative (CPWI) is a strategic, data-
informed, community coalition model aimed at bringing together key local stakeholders in high-
need communities to provide infrastructure and support to successfully coordinate, assess, plan, 
implement and evaluate youth substance use prevention services needed in their community. The 
CPWI is modeled after several evidence- and research-based coalition models that have been 
shown to reduce community-level youth substance use and misuse and related risk and protective 
factors including SAMHSA’s Strategic Prevention Framework. 
DBHR contracts with Educational Service Districts (ESDs) for the placement of Student 
Assistance Professionals (SAPs) in schools as part of CPWI to provide universal, selective, and 
indicated prevention and intervention services using an evidence-based program, Project 
SUCCESS (Schools using Coordinated Community Efforts to Strengthen Students). Student 
Assistance Professionals (SAPs) assist students to overcome problems of substance misuse and 
strive to prevent the misuse of, and addiction to, alcohol and other drugs, including nicotine. The 
SAPs also provide problem identification and referral strategies through referrals to behavioral 
health providers and support students in their transition back to school after they receive 
treatment. 
Tribes have the discretion to use currently allocated SABG prevention funds to support school-
based prevention and intervention services. Funds support staff time in a middle and/or high 
school to provide both prevention and intervention services. 
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Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Treatment 

Substance use disorder, co-occurring assessments use the American Society of Addiction 
Medicine (ASAM) criteria to help determine and match the individual to the appropriate level of 
care, and services that meet their needs. Depending upon medical necessity and individual need, 
outpatient, residential, or withdrawal management and stabilization can be the first entry point 
when receiving behavioral health services. All SUD, co-occurring providers are licensed and 
certified treatment agencies by the Dep. of Health (DOH), whether services are provided to 
individuals in their local community or in another region. If an individual meets criterion for 
residential substance use disorder, co-occurring treatment, a referral is made, and the clinician 
will help assist the individual in the process of being admitted to a residential treatment facility 
within the state. DBHR is a recipient of The Healthy Transitions Project and System of Care 
Expansion grants. The Healthy Transitions Project is designed to improve emotional and 
behavioral health functioning for transition-age youth (TAY) age 16-25. The individual must 
reside within the catchment area and have been diagnosed with serious emotional disturbance 
(SED) or serious mental illness (SMI) including those experiencing a co-occurring disorder. This 
program aims to develop non-traditional recovery support services and engage TAY that might 
otherwise not access services. The System of Care Expansion grant provides day support 
services, therapeutic foster care services, support to expand youth and family networks, and to 
provide social marketing for mental health promotion with identified key partners. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). 
Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Washington used for expenditures on substance abuse 
prevention and treatment in 2021. As indicated, Medicaid funds and other federal funds account 
for the largest sources (68.59 percent and 11.96 percent, respectively).2  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures. For FY 2022–2023, Washington designated 
reducing underage and young adult substance use and misuse as priority number two and 
increasing the number of youth receiving outpatient SUD treatment as priority number three for 
use of SABG funds.3 
  

 
2 WebBGAS State Profile, 2021 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Washington 2021. 
3 FY 2022/2023 – (Washington) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for 
Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance 
Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1: Sources of Washington’s 2021 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance: Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Washington’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures: 
 
State Laws and Policies: These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  

• underage possession or purchase of alcohol 
• underage drinking and driving  
• alcohol availability  
• sales and delivery to consumers at home  
• alcohol pricing  
• enforcement policies  

  
STOP Act State Survey Data: The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 states 
and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, 
regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking. Administered since 2011, the 
STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics:  

• enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and 
regulations 

• programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking 
• state interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice 

standards, collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking 
media campaigns  

• state expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 
Washington-Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
Yes 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Washington-Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
Yes 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Washington-Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic 
beverages prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or 

guardian is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is 

present or consents? 

 
 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A  
Notes: Washington has a statutory provision that makes it unlawful for a minor to "be in a public 
place…while exhibiting the effects of having consumed liquor." Wash. Rev. Code § 66.44.270. Laws that 
punish minors for displaying "indicators of consumption" or for "exhibiting the effects" of having 
consumed alcohol, but which do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not 
considered as prohibiting Internal Possession for purposes of this report.  

 
Washington-Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 
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Washington-Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?  

Yes 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?  

Yes 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Do state statutes or regulations mandate that 
state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 be 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over?  

No 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?  Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?  

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Washington-Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial 
Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 
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Washington-Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 18 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 365 
Maximum number of days 365 
Notes: In Washington, the driving privileges of a juvenile shall be revoked for one year, or until the 
juvenile reaches 17 years of age, whichever is longer. 

 
Washington-Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

1:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

No 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes. First 6 months, no passengers under age 20 
not in the immediate family; after 6 months, no 
more than three passengers under age of 20 not 
in the immediate family. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

No 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 
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Alcohol Availability 
Washington-Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes 
 
No 
 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Washington-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)—Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  Manager and server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

Both 

 
Washington-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)—Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 
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• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

No 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

Off-premises 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

New 

 
Washington-Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

Notes: There must be at least two adults 21 years of age or older on duty supervising the sale of 
spirits at the licensed premises. 

 
Washington-Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and 
Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

 
Washington-Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and 
Primary and Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No 
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To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 500 feet if the public elementary or 
secondary school objects after receiving written 
notice. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 500 feet if the public elementary or 
secondary school objects after receiving written 
notice. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, and spirits 

 
Washington-Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? Yes 
Notes:  

 

Washington-Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
Notes: A Washington court held that a social host who furnishes alcohol to a minor can be held liable 
for resulting harms to the minor who was furnished but is not liable for injuries caused by the minor 
to third parties. 

 
Washington-Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Negligence (Host knew or should have known of 

the party) 



State Reports | Washington  ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

12 | 2022 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  _________________________________________________ 

Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, family members 
 

Washington-Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or greater than 4.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $5,000/1 year) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $5,000/1 year) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

Yes 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Active (requires action by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 
Notes: Beginning June 11, 2020, Washington’s keg and container identification requirements do not 
apply to sales by domestic breweries and microbreweries of malt liquor of the licensee's own 
production in kegs or other containers containing four gallons or more of malt liquor, or to sales or 
leases by domestic breweries and microbreweries of kegs or containers that will hold four or more 
gallons of liquid. Under a special endorsement from the liquor control board, a grocery store licensee 
may sell malt liquor in containers no larger than five and one-half gallons. Research revealed no 
similar container size restriction imposed on other licensees. 

 
Washington-High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 
Washington-Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 
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Washington-Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine and spirits 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to 
producer before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements  
Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be 
approved by a state agency? 

No 

Recording/reporting requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

No 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements  
Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? No  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes  

Notes: Licensed distilleries and craft distilleries may ship spirits in packages labeled as containing 
liquor and stating that recipient must be 21 years or older. Records containing names of purchasers 
must be kept on licensed premises. 

 
Washington-Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted  
Spirits Permitted  
Notes: To sell via the internet, a new license applicant must request internet sales privileges. Existing 
licensees must notify the board. 

 
Washington- Direct to Consumer 
Is there a policy allowing on-premises retailers to 
deliver alcohol to a consumer at home? 

No 

Which on-premises retailers can provide delivery 
of alcoholic beverages? 

• Restaurant 

 
 
N/A 
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• Bar license 
• Third party license 

N/A 
N/A 

Which types of alcohol are permitted to be 
delivered? 

• Beer 
• Wine 
• Spirits 
• Mixed Drinks 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Requirements and Restrictions   
Are there restrictions in place addressing details 
of the delivery? 

• Hours limited 
• Amount of alcohol limited 
• Food requirement 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Are there certain requirements that the delivery 
person must meet? 

• Must be 21 
• Must check ID at point of delivery 
• Must receive payment regardless of 

delivery completion 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

 

Alcohol Pricing 
Washington-Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.76 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 
 

Not relevant 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.87 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
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Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$14.25 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 23.70% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 17.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

17.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 10.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 37.50% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.50% 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

31.00% 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 

 

Notes: The $14.25 per gallon Specific Excise Tax rate listed in the table is for off-premises sales of 
spirits. Washington imposes a Specific Excise Tax of $9.23 per gallon for on-premises sales of spirits. 

 
Washington-Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No (licensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-
case basis) 

Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving Yes 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No  

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 
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Washington-Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

Yes, no sales below cost 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? None 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? None 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

Yes, no sales below cost 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

 
Enforcement Policies 

Washington-Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

18  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20.75  
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Are there appearance requirements for the 
decoy? 

Yes; must not be deceptively mature in 
appearance, shall not use a disguise or alter their 
appearance to look older 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Discretionary  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?  

Permitted 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Mandated 

 
Washington-Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, 
third, and subsequent offenses? 

Two years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? 5-day suspension or $500 fine 
What is the penalty for the second offense? 7-day suspension 
What is the penalty for the third offense? 30-day suspension 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? Revocation of license 
Notes: List of mitigating and aggravating circumstances provided. 
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Washington State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Washington State 
Liquor and Cannabis 

Board 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 15,965 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 835 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 106 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations 

Most checks are 
random, but the WSLCB 

data does not 
distinguish between 

random and planned. 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Most checks are 
random, but the WSLCB 

data does not 
distinguish between 

random and planned. 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
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Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 83 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $53,850 
Smallest fine imposed $300 
Largest fine imposed $2,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 17 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 44 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 3 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 20 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

Additional Clarification   
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Community Prevention and Wellness Initiative  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  www.theAthenaForum.

org/cpwi 
Program Description: Community Prevention and Wellness Initiative (CPWI) is a community- and school-based 
model for delivering prevention programs and strategies to reduce underage misuse and abuse of alcohol, 
marijuana, opioids, tobacco, and other drugs. This model uses a data-informed, community-level decision-making 
process to determine root social and emotional causes that predict problem behaviors. CPWI services are targeted 
to high-need communities across Washington State. High-need communities are determined using a risk ranking 
process and identified through indicators of consequences associated with consumption (crime, truancy, 
behavioral health problems, lack of school success) as well as consumption and mental health data from 
Washington’s student Healthy Youth Survey. 
 
From January 1 to December 31, 2020, a total of 10,450 participants were served through the implementation of 
CPWI. In CPWI, 84 percent of participants received evidence-based programs, and 709 prevention 

www.theAthenaForum.org/cpwi
www.theAthenaForum.org/cpwi
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programs/strategies were implemented in CPWI communities. The total population reached was 7,153,023. As of 
December 2020, there are CPWI coalitions in over 80 high-need communities across the state. 
WA Healthy Youth Coalition  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  www.theAthenaForum.

org/WHY 
Program Description: The WA Healthy Youth Coalition, a multi-agency, multi-partner group, provides cross-system 
coordination and leverages resources in support of underage drinking and marijuana abuse prevention efforts. Co-
led by the state alcohol and drug agency (Washington State Health Care Authority - Division of Behavioral Health 
and Recovery [DBHR]) and the state's Liquor and Cannabis Board, the coalition also initiates and provides 
comments on communication efforts regarding underage drinking and policy initiatives. 
College Coalition for Substance Abuse Prevention  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://sites.uw.edu/ccs

aprev 
Program Description: The College Coalition for Substance Abuse Prevention (CCSAP) membership includes 
prevention professionals and other interested parties from institutions of higher education in Washington State, as 
well as representatives from key state partnerships. The CCSAP works to support substance abuse prevention 
efforts, cultures and environments that foster a continuum of healthy choices, and strategic direction for all 
college and university communities in Washington State. 
*This group now goes by the name of College Coalition for Substance misuse, Advocacy, & Prevention. While their 
name has changed, the initialism and URL used are still accurate. 
Start Talking Now Website/Campaign  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  www.StartTalkingNow.o

rg 
Program Description: The Start Talking Now website is a resource dedicated to increasing awareness of the 
influential role parents, caregivers, and other adults play in young people’s lives specifically in preventing underage 
drinking and youth marijuana use. The site features information about current trends in Washington State as well 
as information about consequences of youth substance use, guidance for parents for talking about substance use, 
and many free materials that may be downloaded for use. 
 
There is also a Start Talking Now Facebook page. In 2020, the Facebook page has 1,014 likes (an increase of 189 
over the year), 37,784 unique users who engaged with content on the page, and a total reach of 6,202,899 
impressions. These high numbers are related to paid ads and boosted posts and may be duplicative of some of the 
numbers reported below. 
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In response to COVID-19, the Washington State Health Care Authority (HCA) and Washington State Department of 
Health collaborated on a digital Facebook ad buy to encourage parents to model healthy coping skills (that do not 
include using alcohol or other drugs) and to encourage having conversations about healthy coping with their 
children. Eight boosted posts in English and in Spanish ran from June 23 to July 7. The buy delivered a total of 
4,804,473 impressions and 1,310 post engagements. 
 
Two graphic style videos were developed to speak directly to parents about the importance of having 
conversations with their teens in English and in Spanish. A small Facebook ad buy driving parents to the new 
videos on the website was launched. The buy generating 2,484,289 impressions over the almost 3-week buy 
period. 
 
In 2020, new resources were also developed, including: 
• A handout for parents that included information on the importance of talking with teens about underage 
drinking, tips to get the conversation started, and sample language to use in conversations with teens in an 
interactive format 
• An updated Parent’s Guide to Raising Drug-Free Kids 
• A partner toolkit for providers to obtain campaign assets 
 
As the COVID-19 pandemic continued, HCA leveraged additional funding to develop and disseminate messages 
about healthy coping and promoting connecting with others as strategies for dealing with stress, anxiety, and 
isolation, also branded Start Talking Now as part of a larger “Substance Use Disorder Prevention and Wellness” 
effort. Most messages emphasized finding healthy ways to cope without using alcohol or other substances. The 
following creative assets were developed to support the campaign: 
• Two static social assets in English for Facebook 
• One static social assets in Spanish for Facebook 
• Two lightly animated social assets in English for Facebook 
• One lightly animated social asset in Spanish for Facebook 
• One 30-second digital radio spot for Pandora in English 
• One 30-second digital radio spot for Pandora in Spanish 
• One 15-second pre-roll video for YouTube and programmatic video platforms in English 
• One 15-second pre-roll video for YouTube and programmatic video platforms in Spanish 
 
From August 18 to September 27, a multi-platform digital ad buy reached parents while they interacted on social 
media, watched videos, listened to streaming radio, and searched for information online. The primary campaign 
objective was to raise awareness among parents about the importance of modeling and talking to their children 
about coping skills and healthy ways of managing stress and anxiety by encouraging parents to prioritize their own 
wellness and use of healthy coping skills. The buy generated 11,035,819 impressions and 6,222,548 video 
completions for a video completion rate of 90.65 percent. There were also 14,099 clicks for a click-through rate 
(CTR) of 0.13 percent. 
Focus On Campaign  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://thesocialpresski

t.com/focus-on 

https://thesocialpresskit.com/focus-on
https://thesocialpresskit.com/focus-on
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Program Description: In September 2020, the Washington State HCA launched the statewide Focus On campaign 
to prevent underage drinking among teens ages 12–17 as a refresh to a previous campaign that was called "Out of 
the Picture". The Focus On campaign spotlights positive social norms, outlines the risks and consequences of 
underage drinking, and encouraging teens to choose healthy ways to deal with stress, anxiety and boredom. 
 
FocusOnYouWa.org launched September 2020. Between September and December 2020, the website had 3,636 
users and 4,077 pageviews. 
 
The following assets were developed to support outreach: 
• Two static social assets for Facebook and Instagram 
• Three 15-second videos for YouTube and Programmatic Video 
• Three 15-second vertical videos for Instagram and Snapchat 
• One micro-website 
• 10 organic static social assets for Facebook and Instagram 
• Updated Facebook page 
• Partner toolkit for providers to disseminate campaign creative assets 
 
There is also a Focus On Facebook page. In 2020, the Facebook page has 31 likes, 48 unique users who engaged 
with content on the page, and a total reach of 338. 
 
September 22–29, a statewide digital ad buy was launched to educate teens, ages 12–18, across Washington State 
on the harms of drinking and encourage healthy behaviors that teens can use to help them manage feelings of 
stress, anxiety, and boredom. The campaign reached teens while they watched videos on YouTube, Connected TV 
(Sling TV, Pluto TV, Vevo, Disney etc.), and OTT platforms (Roku, etc.) and interacted with their friends on social 
media platforms, including Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat. All ads directed people to visit the Focus On 
website for more information. The buy delivered a total of 5,095,726 impressions and 23,361 clicks for an overall 
CTR of 0.46 percent. There were also 1,274,317 total video completions for a video completion rate (VCR) of 83.31 
percent. 
Rethinking College Drinking / Not a Moment Wasted  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  www.NotAMomentWas

ted.org 
Program Description: The Rethinking College Drinking campaign acknowledges that college comes with both highs 
and lows, educates about the risks and consequences of underage drinking, and offers healthy behavior 
alternatives. A small statewide media buy to reach college students, timed to align with spring break for colleges 
and universities across Washington state, promoted the videos featuring Dr. Jason Kilmer answering the most 
frequently searched questions about college students and drinking. Due to the onset of COVID-19, and the 
decrease in usual Spring Break activities, the buy was ended early. In its short 2-week run, the buy had 821,935 
impressions and 1,180 clicks and a 0.14 percent click through rate. The video ads produced a total of 270,971 video 
completions. 
 
The Washington HCA and Washington State Department of Health collaborated to develop 
www.NotAMomentWasted.org and partner toolkit that brings together the respective alcohol (Rethinking College 
Drinking) and marijuana prevention and education campaigns reaching college students ages 18–20. In 2020, the 
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website was expanded to reach young adults in general and to include information about healthy coping skills, in 
response to COVID-19. In 2020, NotAMomentWasted.org had 34,073 users and 45,782 pageviews. 
 
Additionally, in response to COVID-19, HCA and Washington State Department of Health collaborated on digital 
messages branded “Not A Moment Wasted” that emphasized healthy coping skills for stress, anxiety, and 
loneliness that doesn’t include using alcohol or other drugs. The ad buy for three videos ran from June 23 to July 7, 
delivering 3,833,160 total impressions and 9,628 clicks for an overall CTR of 0.25 percent. There were also 4,421 
video completions for a VCR of 3.79 percent. The ads combined to reach nearly 200,000 18- to 20-year-olds on 
Instagram and 689,000 on Snapchat at an average frequency of 4–5 times across both platforms. 
 
As the COVID-19 pandemic continued, HCA leveraged additional funding to developing and disseminating 
messages around healthy coping and promote connecting with others and strategies for dealing with stress, 
anxiety, and isolation, also branded Not A Moment Wasted as part of a larger “Substance Use Disorder Prevention 
and Wellness” effort. The following creative assets were developed to support the campaign: 
• One set (6 sizes) of digital animated banner ads for desktop and mobile promotion on websites and apps 
popular with young adults 
• Two 15-second videos for YouTube 
• Two static social assets for Instagram and Snapchat  
• Two lightly animated social assets for Instagram and Snapchat 
• One 30-second digital radio spot for Spotify/Pandora in English 
 
From August 20 to September 27, a statewide multi-platform digital ad buy reached young adults while they 
interacted on social media, watched videos, listened to streaming radio, and searched for information online. The 
primary campaign objective was to raise awareness among young adults about the importance of prioritizing their 
wellness by practicing healthy coping skills, emotion regulation, and skills for supportive relationships. The 
statewide digital ad buy for the Not a Moment Wasted campaign generated 29,433,406 impressions and 5,036,201 
video completions for a VCR of 86.11 percent. There were also 74,495 clicks for a CTR of 0.25 percent. Overall, the 
campaign performed at or above industry benchmarks across most levels 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The DBHR provides direct funding to Washington’s 29 federally recognized tribes 
to support services that prevent or treat substance abuse problems. Most of the tribes use these funds to 
support prevention efforts, including those that focus on underage drinking. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Funds are used to support the Start Talking Now website, 
which distributes information about underage drinking prevention. New information is 
posted to the site regularly and promoted across multiple networks. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: “Talk. They Hear You.” Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: Start Talking Now, Rethinking College Drinking, 
Not A Moment Wasted, Focus On, Substance Use Disorder Prevention and Wellness 
Campaign. In addition, all 81 substance abuse prevention coalitions in the state that 
are part of the Community Prevention and Wellness Initiative are required to conduct 
public awareness campaigns. Many of those campaigns focus on underage drinking. 

Yes 
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The materials they use can be developed locally or selected from a list of campaigns 
that were developed by state and national partners. That list can be found at: 
www.theathenaforum.org/communication-strategies-guidelines-and-tools 
Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other: State shares TTHY resources through social media directly to parents/caregivers Yes 

State procures funding for TTHY No 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices 
(NREPP) 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Washington State Institute for Public Policy, Washington 
State University, University of Washington 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): Scientific Evidence for Developing a Logic Model on 
Underage Drinking: A Reference Guide for Community Environmental Prevention - 
PIRE: Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation 

Yes 

Other: State of Oregon Yes 
Best practice standards description: Washington’s Evidence-Based Program Workgroup (EBP Workgroup) 
determines a list of evidence-based practices and strategies from which our sub-recipients for primary 
prevention services are permitted to select. The list is posted on The Athena Forum website. The EBP 
Workgroup is comprised of researchers and experts from DBHR, University of Washington’s Social 
Development Research Group (SDRG), and Washington State University’s Improving Prevention through Action 
Research Lab, with input from the Washington State Institute for Public Policy, the Washington State 
Prevention Research Subcommittee, and the Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation. Programs and 
strategies on this list come from three primary resources: NREPP; a separate list of programs identified as 
evidence-based by the State of Oregon; and PIRE’s Scientific Evidence for Developing a Logic Model on 
Underage Drinking: A Reference Guide for Community Environmental Prevention report. 

Additional Clarification  
NREPP was used for when Washington established best practices standards. NREPP has been replaced with the 
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center. 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Kasey Kates 
Email: Kasey.Kates@hca.wa.gov 
Address: 8th Ave SE, Olympia, WA 98504 
Phone: (360) 789-3923 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Health (DOH)  
Health Care Authority, Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery (HCA/DBHR) 
Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB) 
Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) 

https://theathenaforum.org/communication-strategies-guidelines-and-tools
mailto:Kasey.Kates@hca.wa.gov
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Washington Traffic Safety Commission (WTSC) 
Washington State Patrol (WSP)  
College Coalition for Substance Abuse Prevention (CCSAP)  
Foundation for Healthy Generations  
Northwest High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas (NW-HIDTA) 
Washington Association of Juvenile Court Administrators 
Washington Association of Prevention Coalitions (WAPCo)  
Washington Association of Substance Abuse & Violence (WASAVP)  
Washington Poison Center 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: www.theAthenaForum.org/WHY  

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: WA Healthy Youth Coalition. DBHR.  
Plan can be accessed via: 
www.theAthenaForum.org/sites/default/files/public/why_teams_2018_scope_and_action_plan_11_30_18.pd
f 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: DBHR 
Report can be accessed via: See Assessment section of the SPE plan, which starts on page 24: 
www.theAthenaForum.org/SPEplan. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $78,500 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended:  Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:  Data not available 

 
 
 

 

http://www.theathenaforum.org/WHY
www.theAthenaForum.org/sites/default/files/public/why_teams_2018_scope_and_action_plan_11_30_18.pdf
www.theAthenaForum.org/sites/default/files/public/why_teams_2018_scope_and_action_plan_11_30_18.pdf
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees Yes 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Compliance efforts are funded from liquor and spirit license fees. 

Additional Clarification  
The dollar amount for compliance checks is reflective of what the WSLCB spent on underage compliance checks. It 
does not include money expended on other agencies for this purpose. 
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