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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 21st 
Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255). The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.” As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), chaired by Miriam 
Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D., the Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report: This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020 and 2021. Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available 
federal survey data as of 2020. State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2021. State 
survey data, collected in 2021, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states 
maintained the data.  

Source of Data: For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data. Data 
about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about past-
month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2017 through 2020 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2021). Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request. The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application (updated May 
2022) served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2015–2019 among youth 
under age 21. ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of 
underage alcohol-related fatalities. The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis 
Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2020 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15- 
to 20-year-old drivers. State legal policy data were obtained from the following sources: 1) the 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism’s Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS) 
website (https://alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/); 2) legal research planned and managed by the ICCPUD. 

Recommended Citation: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2022). 2022 South Carolina State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.  
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South Carolina 
State Population: 5,218,040 
Population Ages 12–20: 591,000  

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 95,000 (16.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 64,000 (10.8%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 9,000 (4.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 5,000 (2.4%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 24,000 (12.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 11,000 (6.2%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 62,000 (29.3%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 48,000 (22.4%) 

Adults Ages 21+   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 1,811,000 (48.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 961,000 (26%) 

Average Age of Initiation  
Average Age of Initiation  16.4 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 211 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 83 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,716 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%2 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 28 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 20% 
 

 
1 The Alcohol-Related Disease Impact Application was updated May 2022 to reflect new methodology for calculating the 
average annual alcohol-attributable deaths, and it reflects national and state annual averages from 2015–2019. 
2 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure. The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number; however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates. Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Substance Abuse Prevention Services Overview1 
The South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS) is the 
Single State Authority for the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) 
that is administered by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), Center for Substance Abuse Treatment 
(CSAT) and Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP). DAODAS is a cabinet-level 
agency, with its Director nominated by the state’s Governor and confirmed by the South 
Carolina Senate. 
 
DAODAS contracts with 31 of the state’s county alcohol and drug abuse authorities to provide 
the majority of core substance use services in all 46 counties. These services include traditional 
group, individual, and family outpatient counseling; post-discharge services; Alcohol and Drug 
Safety Action Program (ADSAP), the state’s DUI program; youth and adolescent services; and 
primary prevention/education programs. Service delivery emphasizes evidence-based practices 
and is supported by DAODAS quality assurance efforts. DAODAS engages in close 
relationships with the county authorities and other contracted providers and supports systematic 
and continuous actions for quality improvement in service delivery. Each county authority is 
licensed by the S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control and accredited by CARF 
International or the Joint Commission. Licensing and credentialing of substance use disorder 
counselors is regulated by state statute. This includes the requirement for certification of 
treatment counselors by Addiction Professionals of South Carolina and of prevention 
professionals by the S.C. Association of Prevention Professionals and Advocates. There are no 
financial intermediaries between DAODAS and the county authorities, nor are there separate 
child and adult systems. DAODAS and the county authorities’ leadership have a strong 
relationship and work closely to optimize the efficiency and effectiveness of services. 
DAODAS reviews and approves the county authorities’ yearly priorities through county plan 
submissions, which aid in the collection of information able to describe county-level need and 
local provider efforts. These plans are structured according to the Strategic Prevention 
Framework and focus on communicating county-level initiatives that influence priorities 
included in the state’s SABG application. The county authorities identify their priorities with 
input from local surveys, focus groups, advisory councils, and/or political entities that oversee 
them (either county governments or specially appointed commissions). All county authorities are 
required to address each of the six CSAP-established primary prevention strategy areas or to 
submit a waiver letter stating that a specified CSAP prevention strategy is being implemented by 
another entity in the county authority’s service catchment area. A state team reviews the plans 
for identification of statewide priorities. Approval is granted by the DAODAS Director. 

Primary Prevention 

Primary prevention is a priority for South Carolina and DAODAS, as demonstrated by the 
comprehensive nature of the state’s prevention infrastructure and the diverse funding streams for 
prevention, including both state and federal funding. DAODAS will continue to spend a 
minimum of 20% set aside from the SABG to ensure that alcohol, tobacco, and other drug 

 
1 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2022/2023 – (South Carolina) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, 
Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the strengths and 
needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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primary prevention services are available throughout the state’s 46 counties. DAODAS also 
receives a small amount of general State revenue that is earmarked for prevention and utilized by 
the local providers for general primary prevention services. 
 
Each county authority submits a county plan at the beginning of the state fiscal year to DAODAS 
for approval. The county plan encapsulates the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) approach 
and primary prevention services – as indicated by local needs assessment – are included in the 
county plans. To assist the State in fulfilling federal expectations and mandates, counties 
demonstrate, by utilizing the SPF, how primary prevention service activities that are outcome 
focused fall under each of the six strategies designated by CSAP – Information Dissemination, 
Education, Alternatives, Problem Identification and Referral, Community-Based Process, and 
Environmental. 
 
During fiscal year 2010, Regional Capacity Coaches were added to the South Carolina 
prevention infrastructure to provide training and technical assistance to SPF State Incentive 
Grant (SPF SIG) sub-recipients. The Coaches’ role has expanded over the years and currently 
includes providing coaching and training services across the substance use service continuum 
through a combination of State funding and the SABG primary prevention set-aside to all 31 
contracted county alcohol and drug abuse authorities. The Coaches’ primary responsibility is to 
broaden the understanding and build the capacity of the workforce throughout the continuum to 
utilize the SPF. They are contracted to coordinate and/or provide regional or multi-county 
training on topics such as community mobilization, evidence-based practices, integrating 
services throughout the continuum of care, the SPF process, grant writing, and 
coordinating/facilitating study groups for certification/credentialing purposes. 
 
Treatment 

The 31 contracted county alcohol and drug abuse authorities provide the following core services 
in each of the 46 counties: traditional group, individual, and family outpatient counseling, to 
include the post-discharge period; Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP) 
(described in more detail below), which is the state’s program for Driving Under the Influence 
(DUI) offenders; youth and adolescent services; primary prevention/education programs; and 
gambling addiction services. 
 
Many county authorities provide specialized levels of care, such as intensive outpatient services 
(nine or more hours per week), day treatment, medically monitored withdrawal, adolescent 
inpatient treatment, and/or other residential services. County authorities that do not offer all 
levels of care are required by the annual DAODAS Funding and Compliance Contract to refer 
patients to appropriate levels of care at other county authorities. 
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by SAMHSA. Exhibit 1 shows the sources that South Carolina used for 
expenditures on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2021. As indicated, other federal 
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funds and SABG funds account for the largest sources (38.22 percent and 37.07 percent, 
respectively).2  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures. For FY 2022-2023, South Carolina designated 
reducing underage alcohol use as the number one priority and ensuring that high quality 
substance use disorder treatment services targeting adolescent populations are available within 
each community as the number seven priority for use of SABG funds.3 
 

Exhibit 1: Sources of South Carolina’s 2021 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment 

 

 
2 WebBGAS State Profile, 2021 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – South Carolina 2021. 
3 FY 2022/2023 – (South Carolina) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division 
of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance: Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details South Carolina’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures: 
 
State Laws and Policies: These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  

• underage possession or purchase of alcohol 
• underage drinking and driving  
• alcohol availability  
• sales and delivery to consumers at home  
• alcohol pricing  
• enforcement policies  

  
STOP Act State Survey Data: The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 states 
and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, 
regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking. Administered since 2011, the 
STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics:  

• enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and 
regulations 

• programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking 
• state interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice 

standards, collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking 
media campaigns  

• state expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 
South Carolina-Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a parent's/guardian's home 
Notes: South Carolina provides an exception for a minor’s use or possession of alcoholic beverages if 
the use or possession takes place in the home of the minor’s parents or guardian “so long as such 
beverage was legally purchased.” See S.C. Code Ann. § 63-19-2460. 

 
South Carolina-Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a parent's/guardian's home 
Notes: South Carolina provides an exception for a minor’s use or possession of alcoholic beverages if 
the use or possession takes place in the home of the minor’s parents or guardian “so long as such 
beverage was legally purchased.” See S.C. Code Ann. § 63-19-2460. 

 
South Carolina-Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic 
beverages prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or 

guardian is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is 

present or consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a parent's/guardian's home 
Notes: South Carolina provides an exception for a minor’s use or possession of alcoholic beverages if 
the use or possession takes place in the home of the minor’s parents or guardian “so long as such 
beverage was legally purchased.” See S.C. Code Ann. § 63-19-2460. 
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South Carolina-Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
South Carolina-Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?  

No 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?  

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Do state statutes or regulations mandate that 
state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 be 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over?  

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?  No 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

N/A 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

N/A 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?  

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

South Carolina-Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial 
Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 
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What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
South Carolina-Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 120 
Maximum number of days 120 

 
South Carolina-Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

40 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

15 years, 6 months 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

6:00 PM (May only drive unsupervised during 
daylight hours; nighttime is defined as starting at 
6:00 PM or 8:00 PM.) 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes, no more than two nonfamily passengers 
under 21 unless supervised by driver at least 21 
years (unless transporting students to school). 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 
 

Yes 
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License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

16 years, 6 months 

 
Alcohol Availability 

South Carolina-Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations 
 
Yes, in specified locations 
 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private residence, if 
parent/guardian/spouse supplies alcohol 

Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

Yes 

Notes: South Carolina's Parent/Guardian and Spouse exceptions apply when the alcohol is furnished 
in the home of the spouse or in the home of the parent or guardian. See S.C. Code Ann. §§ 61-4-90, 
61-6-4070 and 61-6-4075. 

 
South Carolina-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

No 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

N/A 
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South Carolina-Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer None 
Wine None 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

Notes: Although no minimum age is specified to sell beer and wine at off-sale establishments licened 
to sell beer and wine, an employee of a retail liquor establishment must be at least 21 years of age. 

 
South Carolina-Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants 
and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
South Carolina-Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and 
Primary and Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 300 feet if school is within a 
municipality; within 500 feet if school is outside 
of a municipality. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 300 feet if school is within a 
municipality; within 500 feet if school is outside 
of a municipality. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, and spirits 
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South Carolina-Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? Yes 
 

South Carolina-Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? Yes 
 

South Carolina-Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Possession and consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Overt act 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? No 
 

South Carolina-Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or greater than 5.16 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $500/30 days) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $500/30 days) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 
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Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Active (requires action by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
South Carolina-High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 
South Carolina-Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
South Carolina-Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to 
producer before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements  
Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

No  

State approval/permit requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be 
approved by a state agency? 

No 

Recording/reporting requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

No 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

No 
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Shipping label requirements  
Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes  

 
South Carolina-Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer No law  
Wine No law 
Spirits No law 

 
South Carolina- Direct to Consumer 
Is there a policy allowing on-premises retailers to 
deliver alcohol to a consumer at home? 

No 

Which on-premises retailers can provide delivery 
of alcoholic beverages? 

• Restaurant 
• Bar license 
• Third party license 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Which types of alcohol are permitted to be 
delivered? 

• Beer 
• Wine 
• Spirits 
• Mixed Drinks 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Requirements and Restrictions   
Are there restrictions in place addressing details 
of the delivery? 

• Hours limited 
• Amount of alcohol limited 
• Food requirement 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Are there certain requirements that the delivery 
person must meet? 

• Must be 21 
• Must check ID at point of delivery 
• Must receive payment regardless of 

delivery completion 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 
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Alcohol Pricing 
South Carolina-Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.77 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$1.08 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$2.96 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 5.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

5.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 
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Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 

 

Notes: Base tax rate is $2.72 per gallon plus a 9% surtax of $0.24 added to the base rate, for a total of 
$2.96 per gallon. 

 
South Carolina-Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No (licensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-
case basis) 

Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving Yes 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

Restricted (Permitted 4 p.m. - 8 p.m.) 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
South Carolina-Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? None 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? None 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? None 
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Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

 
Enforcement Policies 

South Carolina-Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

16  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

19  

Are there appearance requirements for the 
decoy? 

Yes; no facial hair, no heavy makeup, no 
inappropriate clothing 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?  

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 
South Carolina-Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No written guidelines 

What is the time period for defining second, 
third, and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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South Carolina State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors SLED 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don't know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Don't know 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 13,202 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 5,440 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 458 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/31/2021 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations 5,540 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 458 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 4,858 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 296 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 587 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $332,800 
Smallest fine imposed $400 
Largest fine imposed $1,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 2 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 44 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 

Additional Clarification   
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
South Carolina Alcohol Enforcement Teams-Enforcement Efforts  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://ncweb.pire.org/

scdocuments/ 
URL for more program information:  http://www.scoutofthei

rhands.org/index.html 
Program Description: South Carolina Alcohol Enforcement Teams (AETs) are a statewide network of local and state 
law enforcement agencies that have built a partnership with prevention agencies. Each of the 16 judicial circuits 
has an AET that conducts best practice law enforcement operations while offering prevention activities and raising 
community awareness. Typical enforcement strategies include compliance checks, public safety checkpoints, and 
controlled party dispersals. The program is separated into two parts (enforcement and education) for the purposes 
of this report to distinguish the numbers served by each type of effort. Given the population-level impact of 
strategies conducted by AETs (with no individual directly "served"), the state considers the affected population to 
be almost its entire population of 14- to 20-year-old people. In FY20, there were 4,858 alcohol compliance checks 
with a 6.1 percent buy-rate (non-compliance rate). There were 213 bar checks. Bar checks are not compliance 
checks (where an undercover youth attempts to purchase alcohol); rather, they are law enforcement officers 
looking for general violations, conducting a sweep of patrons for fake IDs, and/or providing retailer education 
about alcohol sale/use. There were nine shoulder tap operations with 129 individuals who were approached. This 
resulted in eight adults purchasing for youth undercover. There were 395 public safety checkpoints and 161 
saturation patrols resulting in 4,751 total violations and arrests for both types of operations. There were 103 
underage alcohol parties dispersed in FY20 in gatherings involving 1,678 people resulting in 247 citations and 
arrests. 
Alcohol Merchant Education (Responsible Beverage Service Education)  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 

https://ncweb.pire.org/scdocuments/
http://www.scoutoftheirhands.org/index.html
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Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://ncweb.pire.org/

scdocuments/ 
URL for more program information:  https://www.daodas.sc.

gov/prevention/mercha
nt-initiatives/ 

Program Description: Efforts to enforce laws regarding underage purchases of alcohol or tobacco are 
strengthened by efforts to help educate and train those who sell alcohol or tobacco products with appropriate 
information and proper techniques. Several merchant education curricula are in use nationally and in South 
Carolina, though the county authorities are now exclusively using the Palmetto Retailers Education Program (PREP) 
curriculum. In FY20, 1,128 retail staff were served. Thirty-nine of the 46 counties served at least one retailer in 
PREP, and Beaufort (187) served the most. There is a standardized PREP post-test used across the system that 
allows standardization of outcomes. Primarily, the test is graded as pass or fail. Among those who passed in FY20, 
the average score was 95.7 percent. 
Substance Abuse Curricula Programs  

Number of youth served 1,833 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://ncweb.pire.org/

scdocuments/ 
URL for more program information:  https://www.daodas.sc.

gov/prevention/commu
nity-based-services/ 

Program Description: Local prevention providers deliver one or more substance abuse curriculum programs to 
youth, mostly for middle school youth, throughout the state. In the provider network, 11 different programs were 
implemented across the state in FY20. The Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS) 
Standard survey of middle and high school-aged participants of a prevention program that is delivered during at 
least four sessions over a period of at least 30 days is compatible with the National Outcome Measures to include 
perceived risk/harm; disapproval of substance use; perceived parental and peer attitudes; decision-making; 30-day 
substance use; past 2-week binge drinking; and parent communication. The pre-test is linked to the post-test by 
assigning each student a unique ID number. 
  
Alcohol-Drug True Stories (hosted by Matt Damon) is a movie with testimonials by real people about their 
experiences with alcohol and drugs. When used together with its accompanying discussion guide, this program is 
considered an evidence-based practice. The program was implemented with 156 matched youths at one site. 
There was a statistically significant positive change in perceived risk, favorable attitudes, perceived peer norms, 
and a near significant positive changes in decision-making.  
 
ATOD (Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drugs) 101 is a course that can be customized for any setting. In ATOD 101, 
students receive information on the risks and laws associated with alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and other drugs. 
This program was used by one site with a total of 65 matched participants. There was a statistically significant 
positive change in favorable attitudes.  
 
Class Action is a comprehensive, evidence-based ATOD prevention curriculum. This program was used by one site 
with a total of 27 matched participants. There were no statistically significant changes in risk factors or substances.  
Keepin’ It Real, an evidence-based, video-enhanced intervention for youth ages 10 to 17 that uses a culturally 
grounded resiliency model that incorporates traditional ethnic values and practices to protect against drug use, 
was used by three sites with a total of 419 matched participants. There was statistically significant positive change 
in perceived risk and e-cigs or vape use.  

https://ncweb.pire.org/scdocuments/
https://www.daodas.sc.gov/prevention/merchant-initiatives/
https://ncweb.pire.org/scdocuments/
https://www.daodas.sc.gov/services/prevention/
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LifeSkills Training, a skill-based, evidence-based ATOD prevention curriculum was implemented in eight sites with 
825 matched participants. For middle school, there were statistically significant positive change in perceived risk 
and binge drinking.  
 
Operation Prevention Rx is an evidence-based program. The mission is to educate students about the true impacts 
of opioids and kick-start lifesaving conversations in the home and classroom. It was used by two sites with a total 
of 166 matched participants. For high school, there were statistically significant positive changes in perceived risk, 
decision-making, favorable attitudes, and perceived peer norms.  
 
Project Towards No Drug Abuse (TND), a prevention curriculum intended for high school students, was used by 
one site with 69 total matched participants. There were no statistically significant changes in risk factors or 
substance use.  
 
Too Good for Drugs is an evidence-based program with specific lessons for middle and high school students. One 
site was implemented and a total of 60 matched participants used this program. There were no statistically 
significant changes in risk factors or substance use. 
 
South Carolina AET Public Education Efforts  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://ncweb.pire.org/

scdocuments/ 
URL for more program information:  http://www.scoutofthei

rhands.org/index.html 
Program Description: AET awareness activities included holding town hall meetings, doing educational sessions for 
youth or adults, conducting local media campaigns, and “casual contacts,” which are typically law enforcement 
officers making community contacts with youth or merchants to keep a high visibility presence and warn them of 
upcoming enforcement efforts. AETs reported 176 media placements (e.g., articles and TV stories) during FY20. 
AETs across the state conducted an additional 131 prevention activities meant to educate residents about 
substance abuse and misuse. Officers estimated approximately 40,685 individuals were exposed (participated or 
observed) the events.  
 
Since 2010, AETs have participated in the statewide Out of Their Hands campaign during April. Focused on 
reducing alcohol access for individuals under 21 years old due to high school proms traditionally held beginning 
the last week of March through the first week of May, April was chosen because it is also recognized nationally as 
“Alcohol Awareness Month”. Law enforcement across South Carolina step-up enforcement of underage drinking 
laws and in collaboration with prevention personnel conducted education and community awareness of the public 
health and public safety consequences of consuming alcoholic beverages. For instance, in FY19, AETs conducted 47 
presentations and media events conducted during “Out of Their Hands” throughout the month of April 2019. 
During April 2019, an estimated 700,000 South Carolinians received information about underage drinking through 
the “Out of Their Hands” media activities.  
 
On March 15, 2020, South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster issued Executive Order 2020-09 due public health 
risk due to the COVID-19 pandemic. AET planned 2020 Out of Their Hands campaign enforcement and media 
activities, but the pandemic decreased participation in past year. Most schools (elementary, secondary, and higher 
education) closed, and school officials moved students' education to online platforms. As a result of the pandemic, 

https://ncweb.pire.org/scdocuments/
http://www.scoutoftheirhands.org/index.html
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the traditional enforcement operations such as alcohol compliance checks, public safety checkpoints, and related 
activity were reduced. The only media events related to social media posts and, unfortunately, social media were 
difficult to track and therefore not reported. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: “Talk. They Hear You.” Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: Parents Who Host, Lose The Most and SC Out of 
Their Hands 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts No 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY No 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA, CDC, NIAAA, NIDA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: SC DAODAS Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation Yes 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: South Carolina follows all guidance that is provided by federal agencies. 
Materials and resources are utilized by the state, and information is forwarded to local county agencies and 
coalitions to utilize in programs and services provided throughout the state. SC DAODAS promotes the use of 
evidence-based prevention programs and strategies (both education and environmental) at the state and local 
level to achieve outcomes in reducing underage drinking. Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation (PIRE) 
provides technical assistance, training, and evaluation of prevention programs at the state and local level. 
Training and technical assistance has been provided by PIRE and other researchers in the field of 
environmental prevention such as Dr. Harold Holder. South Carolina has also published several research 
studies at the state and local level with PIRE researchers highlighting the efforts in reducing underage drinking 
and impaired driving. The most recent article published in January 2021, in the journal Alcoholism: Clinical and 
Experimental Research (Volume 45. No.1), demonstrates the positive impact of the South Carolina Alcohol 
Enforcement Team (AET) program on the reduction of drinking-and-driving crashes among drivers under 21 
years old.  
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The study was co-authored by Michelle Nienhius, M.P.H., Manager of Prevention and Intervention Services for 
the S.C. Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services; Michael D. George, Ph.D., and Steve Shamblen, 
Ph.D., of the Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation; Harold D. Holder, Ph.D., of the Prevention Research 
Center; and Rachel Holder, M.P.A., of CHESS Health Solutions. The researchers analyzed records of retail 
checks for compliance with the legal drinking age and traffic crash records from 2006 (just before the AET 
program expanded statewide in 2007) through 2016. County compliance check data were used to calculate the 
percentage of the under-21 state population exposed to compliance checks in a given month. The research 
team then examined the relationship over time between compliance check exposure and alcohol-related 
crashes involving drivers under age 21 and used statistical modeling to estimate the impact of the AET 
program. Drinking-and-driving crashes among drivers 21 and older were also assessed to control for other 
factors (besides underage compliance checks) that might influence alcohol-involved traffic crashes. Overall, the 
study provides strong evidence that consistent and regular retail compliance check enforcement can result in 
sustained reductions in alcohol availability to those under 21, sufficient to reduce alcohol-related traffic 
crashes in this age group. The researchers are not aware of any other state having duplicated the South 
Carolina AET program. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Don't know/No 
answer 

Committee contact information:  
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable  

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS)  
Plan can be accessed via: SABG Block Grant Application for South Carolina, Michelle Nienhius, 
mnienhius@daodas.sc.gov 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: DAODAS and PIRE 
Report can be accessed via: https://ncweb.pire.org/scdocuments/ 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

mailto:mnienhius@daodas.sc.gov
https://ncweb.pire.org/scdocuments/
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Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended:  Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:  Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other: No data No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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