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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 21st 
Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255). The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.” As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), chaired by Miriam 
Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D., the Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report: This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020 and 2021. Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available 
federal survey data as of 2020. State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2021. State 
survey data, collected in 2021, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states 
maintained the data.  

Source of Data: For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data. Data 
about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about past-
month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2017 through 2020 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2021). Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request. The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application (updated May 
2022) served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2015–2019 among youth 
under age 21. ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of 
underage alcohol-related fatalities. The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis 
Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2020 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15- 
to 20-year-old drivers. State legal policy data were obtained from the following sources: 1) the 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism’s Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS) 
website (https://alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/); 2) legal research planned and managed by the ICCPUD. 

Recommended Citation: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2022). 2022 Nebraska State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.  
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Nebraska 
State Population: 1,937,552 
Population Ages 12–20: 236,000  

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 48,000 (20.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 32,000 (13.5%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 3,000 (3.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 1,000 (1.1%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 12,000 (15.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 6,000 (8.7%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 33,000 (41.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 24,000 (30.9%) 

Adults Ages 21+   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 850,000 (63.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 433,000 (32.1%) 

Average Age of Initiation  
Average Age of Initiation  15.8 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 211 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 22 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,267 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%2 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 7 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 21% 
 

 
1 The Alcohol-Related Disease Impact Application was updated May 2022 to reflect new methodology for calculating the 
average annual alcohol-attributable deaths, and it reflects national and state annual averages from 2015–2019. 
2 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number; however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview1 
Behavioral Health in Nebraska covers services needs for both Mental Health and Substance Use 
Disorders. The publicly funded system is only one part of the overall behavioral healthcare 
system in Nebraska. Private funding sources such as insurance companies, private businesses, 
and individuals themselves also influence the way behavioral health services are provided in the 
state. Publicly funded services are administered by many different agencies including three of six 
different Divisions within the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services: the Division 
of Behavioral Health (DBH); the Division of Medicaid and Long-Term Care (MLTC); and the 
Division of Children and Family Services (CFS). 
 
The Nebraska Behavioral Health Services Act designates the DBH as the chief behavioral health 
authority for the State [§71-806 (1)]. The DBH is both the State Mental Health Authority 
(SMHA) and the Single State Substance Abuse Authority (SSA). It is important to note that the 
authority does not extend to MLTC or CFS policy decisions. The DBH administers, oversees, 
and coordinates the state’s public behavioral health system to address the prevention and 
treatment of mental health and substance use disorders. The primary goal is to develop a 
behavioral health system that is co-occurring capable, trauma-informed, recovery-oriented, and 
person-centered. The DBH is responsible for managing both the Community Mental Health 
Services Block Grant (CMHSBG) and the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block 
Grant (SAPTBG). DBH funds priority treatment and support services for individuals without 
Medicaid and individuals without insurance or who are underinsured, according to financial 
eligibility based on a sliding scale on income and family size. The OCA focuses on recovery 
initiatives, planning, research, and advocacy for behavioral health consumers. 
 
The DBH provides leadership in the administration, integration and coordination of the public 
behavioral health system and takes primary responsibility for the development, dissemination 
and implementation of the Division of Behavioral Health Strategic Plan for 2022-2024. Plan 
implementation is carried out by DBH and includes the Regional Centers, Office of Consumer 
Affairs (OCA), the six (6) Regional Behavioral Health Authorities (RBHAs) and system 
partners. Following is an expanded description of each component of the operational structure. 
At the state level, the DBH is comprised of three sections: DBH Central, Regional Centers, and 
Office of Consumer Affairs. 
 
The DBH contracts with the six RBHAs for community based mental health and substance use 
services. Originally established in 1974 as mental health regions, the Nebraska Behavioral 
Health Services Act passed in 2004 incorporated substance use disorder services and revised the 
regional administrative entities into six RBHAs, to mirror designation of the DBH as the state’s 
chief behavioral health authority. See the Local Level Organization section below for more 
details on the RBHAs. In addition to funding mental health and substance use disorder treatment 
and prevention services through the RBHAs, the DBH Community Based Services section 
directly contracts with entities for recovery and support services. 
 

 
1 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2022/2023 – (Nebraska) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of 
State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  
Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  



State Reports | Nebraska  _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

2 | 2022 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  __________________________________________________ 

Prevention System 

The DBH is charged with the development of prevention, treatment and recovery services for the 
State of Nebraska. DBH strives to maintain a sustainable and effective prevention system by 
promoting safe and healthy environments that foster youth, family, and community development 
through best practices in mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention and early 
intervention. Partnership with the six RBHAs and oversight by DBH’s Prevention System 
Administrator provides the infrastructure to support a comprehensive prevention system that 
promotes overall wellness. DBH contracts with the RBHAs for technical assistance, training, and 
data collection to support local coalitions and community entities. DBH also contracts with the 
Nebraska Prevention Collegiate Alliance (NeCPA) to provide similar prevention training and 
technical assistance to institutions of higher education across the state. The majority of 
prevention activities purchased by the DBH are carried out by the RBHAs Prevention 
Coordination system which is designed to operate at the community level, embracing local 
culture while leading the development of sustainable prevention activities for substance abuse 
and related societal problems through the life span. Funded primarily by the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant, and Partnership For Success-Grant, Regional Prevention 
Coordination staff utilize coexisting prevention efforts such as Strategic Prevention Framework –
Partnerships for Success (SPF-PFS) grant, to establish common directives and target populations 
leading to optimal reach when planning training and technical assistance initiatives. 
 
In addition, a Prevention Advisory Council (PAC) has been chartered to provide state and 
regional system leadership in substance abuse and mental health prevention to Nebraska’s 
Behavioral Health system (NBHS). Additionally, the PAC has also been instrumental in making 
recommendations to strengthen the prevention system workforce. As a subcommittee of the State 
Advisory Council on Substance Abuse Services, the Prevention Council guides the DBH and 
related state agency partners. 
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). 
Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Nebraska used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention 
and treatment in 2021. As indicated, state funds and SABG funds account for the largest sources 
(57.69 percent and 17.24 percent, respectively).2  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures. For FY 2022-2023, Nebraska designated reducing 
harmful alcohol use among youth and young adults as the number one priority for use of SABG 
funds.3 
  

 
2 WebBGAS State Profile, 2021 SABG and MHBG Reports – Nebraska 2021. 
3 FY 2022/2023 – (Nebraska) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for 
Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and Annual Performance 
Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1: Sources of Nebraska’s 2021 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance: Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Nebraska’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures: 
 
State Laws and Policies: These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  

• underage possession or purchase of alcohol 
• underage drinking and driving  
• alcohol availability  
• sales and delivery to consumers at home  
• alcohol pricing  
• enforcement policies  

  
STOP Act State Survey Data: The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 states 
and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, 
regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking. Administered since 2011, the 
STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics:  

• enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and 
regulations 

• programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking 
• state interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice 

standards, collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking 
media campaigns  

• state expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 
Nebraska-Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a parent's/guardian's home 
Notes: Nebraska makes an exception for persons who are at least sixteen years old to carry alcohol 
from licensed establishments when they are accompanied by any person who is not a minor. 

 
Nebraska-Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a parent's/guardian's home 
 
Nebraska-Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic 
beverages prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or 

guardian is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is 

present or consents? 

 
 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
Notes: Nebraska law provides that "...no minor may...consume, or have in his or her possession or 
physical control any alcoholic liquor...." See Neb. Rev. St. § 53-180.02. “Consume” is defined as 
“knowingly and intentionally drinking or otherwise ingesting alcoholic liquor." See Neb. Rev. St. § 53-
103 prior to July 15, 2010, and Neb. Rev. St. § 53-103.11 effective on July 15, 2010. Laws that prohibit 
minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but which do so without reference to a blood, breath, or 
urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession for purposes of this report.  
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Nebraska-Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
Nebraska-Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

No 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?  

No 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?  

Yes 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

Yes 

Do state statutes or regulations mandate that 
state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 be 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over?  

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?  Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?  

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Nebraska-Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor 
Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 
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What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Nebraska-Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol No 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 18 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Discretionary 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 30 
Maximum number of days 30 

 
 

Nebraska-Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

0 with driver education; 50 hours without (10 of 
which must be at night) 
 
 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

Midnight 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

No 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes, no more than one passenger under 19 who is 
not an immediate family member. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

No 
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License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 (passenger restrictions expire 6 months after 
issuance of intermediate license; unsupervised 
night driving restrictions remain until age 17) 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Nebraska-Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 
 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Nebraska-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)—Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

No 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

No 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

Unspecified 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

Unspecified 

 
Nebraska-Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 16 
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Wine 16 
Spirits 16 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

Notes: Employees between 16 and 19 years of age may complete a transaction for the sale of beer, 
wine, or spirits, if they do not handle or serve it. 

 
Nebraska-Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and 
Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 19 
Wine 19 
Spirits 19 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 19 
Wine 19 
Spirits 19 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

Notes: Employees between 16 and 19 years of age may complete a transaction for the sale of beer, 
wine, or spirits, but they cannot handle or serve it. 

 
Nebraska-Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and 
Primary and Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, but no bottle club shall be operated within 
300 feet from campus. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, and spirits 

Notes: Although Nebraska law states a 300 foot limit, the Commission may waive it. If outlet is 
surrounded by or adjacent on two sides to University/College, then University/College must approve.  
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 150 feet. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 150 feet. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, and spirits 
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Nebraska-Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
Notes: Injury or property damage must be a proximate result of the negligence of an intoxicated 
minor. 

 

Nebraska-Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
Notes: Injury or property damage must be a proximate result of the negligence of an intoxicated 
minor. 

 
Nebraska-Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

No 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

N/A 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

N/A 

Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
 

Nebraska-Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or greater than 5.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $500/3 months) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $500/3 months) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
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Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Passive (requires no action by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
Nebraska-High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 
Nebraska-Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted 
Spirits Permitted 

 

Nebraska-Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Beer, wine, and distilled spirits 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to 
producer before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements  
Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

Yes  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

No 

State approval/permit requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be 
approved by a state agency? 
 

Yes 
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Recording/reporting requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

No 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements  
Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes  

 
Nebraska-Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted  
Spirits Permitted 

 
Nebraska- Direct to Consumer 
Is there a policy allowing on-premises retailers to 
deliver alcohol to a consumer at home? 

No 

Which on-premises retailers can provide delivery 
of alcoholic beverages? 

• Restaurant 
• Bar license 
• Third party license 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Which types of alcohol are permitted to be 
delivered? 

• Beer 
• Wine 
• Spirits 
• Mixed Drinks 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Requirements and Restrictions   
Are there restrictions in place addressing details 
of the delivery? 

• Hours limited 
• Amount of alcohol limited 
• Food requirement 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Are there certain requirements that the delivery 
person must meet? 

• Must be 21 
• Must check ID at point of delivery 
• Must receive payment regardless of 

delivery completion 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 
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Alcohol Pricing 
Nebraska-Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.31 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.95 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$3.75 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 
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Nebraska-Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving Yes 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No  

Unlimited beverages for fixed price Yes 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Nebraska-Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days maximum) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days maximum) 
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Enforcement Policies 
Nebraska-Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

Not specified 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20  

Are there appearance requirements for the 
decoy? 

Yes 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Not specified 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?  

Permitted 

 
Nebraska-Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No written guidelines 

What is the time period for defining second, 
third, and subsequent offenses? 

Four years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? 10-20 days suspension 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
Notes: 1st offense - On guilty plea 5 days upon written cert from licensee that person making sale had 
completed within the past 3 years, training program approved by Commission. 
 
2nd offense - Occurring within 4 years, 22-day suspension; within 3 years, 32 days; within 2 years, 42 
days; within 1 year, 52 days 
 
3rd offense - Within 4 years, 25-day suspension 
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Nebraska State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Nebraska State Patrol 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Nebraska State Patrol 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 1,599 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 6,135 (as of 7/12/2021) 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) No data 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments No data 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No data 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations No data 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks No data 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 925 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 83 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 113 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $94,700 
Smallest fine imposed No data 
Largest fine imposed No data 
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Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 1,409 (12 mandatory) 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification   
The figure reported for minor in possession arrests represents all 2020 liquor law violation arrests of individuals 
under the age of 21, not just those specifically for minor in possession. Liquor law violations do not include DUI as 
those numbers are reported separately. If including DUI with all liquor law violations, this figure would be 2,068. 
 
The Liquor Commission assigns suspension days, and the licensee can choose if they would like to serve the 
suspension or pay the fine. A total of 113 licensees received fines and/or suspensions but were given the option to 
pay the fines instead of being suspended. Of the 1,409 suspension days, there were 12 mandatory days of 
suspension imposed when paying the fine was not an option. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Across Ages  

Number of youth served 154 
Number of parents served 135 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://www.crimesolut

ions.gov/ProgramDetail
s.aspx?ID=314 

URL for more program information:  https://youth.gov/conte
nt/across-ages 

Program Description: Across Ages is a school- and community-based substance abuse prevention project targeting 
youth ages 9–13 years. The unique feature of this program pairs older adult mentors (55+) with young adolescents 
to create a special bonding relationship. The project components include mentoring, community service, social 
competence training, and family activities. Mentors spend a minimum of 2 hours per week in contact with the 
youth. Youth spend 1–2 hours per week performing community service. Social competence training consists of 26 
lessons that are taught weekly for 45 minutes. Family activities are monthly weekend events that are held for 
youth, their families, and mentors. 
Too Good for Drugs & Violence  

Number of youth served 1,795 
Number of parents served 279 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 

https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=314
https://youth.gov/content/across-ages
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Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://toogoodprogra

ms.org/pages/evidence-
base 

URL for more program information:  https://toogoodprogra
ms.org 

Program Description: Too Good for Drugs is an alcohol, tobacco, and other illicit drug prevention program 
designed to develop (1) resistance skills towards drugs; (2) goal-setting, decision-making, assertiveness, and 
communication skills; (3) knowledge about the negative consequences of drug use and benefits of being drug-free; 
and (4) knowledge about the prevalence of drug use in comparison to perceptions. The interactive lessons can be 
delivered by trained classroom teachers or program instructors during the school day in a 40–50 minute lesson 
once a week over 9 weeks. 
Alcohol Literacy Challenge  

Number of youth served 493 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://www.crimesolut

ions.gov/ProgramDetail
s.aspx?ID=632 

URL for more program information:  https://alcoholliteracyc
hallenge.com/ 

Program Description: Alcohol Literacy Challenge (ALC) is a brief classroom-based program designed to alter 
alcohol expectancies and reduce the quantity and frequency of alcohol use among high school and college 
students. Alcohol expectancies are an individual's beliefs about the anticipated effects of alcohol use, including 
those that are positive (e.g., increased sociability, reduced tension) and negative (e.g., impairments to mental and 
behavioral functioning, increased aggressiveness or risk taking). Some of the most desired effects—arousing, 
positive, and prosocial effects—are placebo rather than pharmacological effects. ALC aims to correct erroneous 
beliefs about the effects of alcohol, decreasing positive and increasing negative expectancies. These shifts in 
expectancies have been shown to predict lower levels of alcohol use. 
All Stars  

Number of youth served 92 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://www.crimesolut

ions.gov/ProgramDetail
s.aspx?ID=319 

URL for more program information:  https://allstarspreventi
on.com/ 

Program Description: All Stars programs are designed to prevent, reduce, and eliminate negative behaviors and 
promote positive behaviors. Each All Stars program, and every session and activity within All Stars, achieves these 
goals by changing qualities that account for why young people engage in negative behaviors. Various All Stars 
programs address the following concepts to some degree:  
• Beliefs about consequences  
• Bonding  
• Commitment to not use or to reduce use  
• Decision-making and impulsivity control  
• Goal setting  

https://toogoodprograms.org/pages/evidence-base
https://toogoodprograms.org
https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=632
https://alcoholliteracychallenge.com/
https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=319
https://allstarsprevention.com/
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• Idealism  
• Norms  
• Parental attentiveness  
• Resistance skills training  
• Self-management 
Challenging College Alcohol Abuse  

Number of youth served 485 
Number of parents served 133 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  http://www.dontletmin

orsdrink.com/download
s/Challenging%20CAA.p

df 
URL for more program information:  https://cdc.thehcn.net/

promisepractice/index/
view?pid=843 

Program Description: The Challenging College Alcohol Abuse (CCAA) program is a social norms and environmental 
management program that reduces high-risk drinking and related negative consequences in college students 18–
24 years. A campus-based media campaign and other strategies are used to address misperceptions about alcohol 
and make the campus environment less conductive to drinking. The amount of time required to deliver the 
program is 25–52 weeks. 
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol  

Number of youth served 30,716 
Number of parents served 108,768 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://www.crimesolut

ions.gov/ProgramDetail
s.aspx?ID=269 

URL for more program information:  https://preventionsoluti
ons.edc.org/services/re
sources/communities-

mobilizing-change-
alcohol-cmca 

Program Description: Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA) is a community organizing program 
designed to reduce youth access to alcohol by changing community and law enforcement policies, attitudes, and 
practices, and by targeting commercial and noncommercial availability of alcohol to underage drinkers. 
Compliance Checks  

Number of youth served 9,059 
Number of parents served 14,709 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://www.theathena

forum.org/sites/default
/files/xx_compliance_ch

ecks_6-28-12.pdf 

http://www.dontletminorsdrink.com/downloads/Challenging%20CAA.pdf
https://cdc.thehcn.net/promisepractice/index/view?pid=843
https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=269
https://preventionsolutions.edc.org/services/resources/communities-mobilizing-change-alcohol-cmca
https://www.theathenaforum.org/sites/default/files/xx_compliance_checks_6-28-12.pdf
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URL for more program information:  http://www.projectextr
amile.org/enforcement/

compliance-checks 
Program Description: Compliance checks involve the use of underage buyers by law enforcement agencies to test 
retailers' compliance with laws prohibiting the sale of alcohol to minors. 
Second Step  

Number of youth served 452 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://www.secondste

p.org/research 
URL for more program information:  https://www.secondste

p.org/ 
Program Description: Second Step is a program rooted in social-emotional learning that helps transform schools 
into supportive, successful learning environments uniquely equipped to encourage children to thrive. More than 
just a classroom curriculum, Second Step's holistic approach helps create a more empathetic society by providing 
education professionals, families, and the larger community with tools to enable them to take an active role in the 
social-emotional growth and safety of today's children. 
Strengthening Families  

Number of youth served 109 
Number of parents served 119 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://strengtheningfa

miliesprogram.org/eval
uation/ 

URL for more program information:  https://strengtheningfa
miliesprogram.org/ 

Program Description: The Strengthening Families Program (SFP) is an evidence-based family skills training program 
for high-risk and general population families that is recognized both nationally and internationally. Parents and 
youth attend weekly SFP skills classes together, learning parenting skills and youth life and refusal skills. 
MyStudentBody  

Number of youth served 364 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://www.mystuden

tbody.com/hbg/publicp
age/research 

URL for more program information:  https://www.mystuden
tbody.com/hbg/ 

Program Description: MyStudentBody is a comprehensive, evidence-based, online prevention program aimed at 
reducing the risk of drug and alcohol abuse and sexual violence among college students. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data  
Additional Clarification  

http://www.projectextramile.org/enforcement/compliance-checks
https://www.secondstep.org/research
https://www.secondstep.org/
https://strengtheningfamiliesprogram.org/evaluation/
https://strengtheningfamiliesprogram.org/
https://www.mystudentbody.com/hbg/publicpage/research
https://www.mystudentbody.com/hbg/
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The information provided is pulled from the Nebraska Prevention Information Reporting System (NPIRS). 
Demographics are entered by Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Division of Behavioral Health 
funded community prevention coalitions. All individuals reached/served are grouped as 21 and over and listed in 
the parent box. There is no way for us to distinguish if they are parents and/or caregivers.  
The timeline for data pulls for program demographics was 07/01/2020-12/31/2020. 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: Partnership on various initiatives occurs through the work of the Nebraska 
Prevention Advisory Council. Tribal representation has presented to the Advisory Council to update on the 
work of the tribal Partnerships for Success grant that the Winnebago tribe was awarded. The state also 
partners with the Winnebago and Ponca tribes through the Thurston County Collaborative to prevent 
underage drinking in Thurston County. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Yes, many of the locally established community coalitions that 
are targeting underage drinking prevention initiatives have included efforts aimed at 
youth exposure to alcohol advertising, promotions, and marketing, including some 
strategies that are initiated by youth members themselves. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: “Talk. They Hear You.” and CDC Rx Awareness Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: Keep Your Kids [Substance] Free and Talk Heart 2 
Heart 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY Yes 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY Yes 
Pro bono Yes 
Donated air time Yes 
Earned media Yes 
Other:  No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA, USDOJ, OJJDP, NHTSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Nebraska DHHS Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: The Surgeon General's Call to Action to Prevention and Reduce Underage 
Drinking (Health and Human Services [HHS], 2007) provides the framework for our underage drinking 
prevention initiatives.  
 
The Prevention System within the Nebraska DHHS Division of Behavioral Health utilizes the Strategic 
Prevention Framework (SPF) to plan and implement activities surrounding underage drinking prevention at 
state, regional, and community levels.  
 
Additional guidance by the Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
(ICCPUD) 2019 Report to Congress (RTC) on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking. 



 ________________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Nebraska 

 _________________________________________________  2022 State Reports—Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 23 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Danielle Wing 
Email: danielle.wing@nebraska.gov 
Address: 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509 
Phone: 402-471-7750 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Nebraska State Patrol  
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services 
Nebraska Crime Commission 
Nebraska Liquor Control Commission 
Nebraska Attorney General 
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles  
University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) and UNL Police  
Lincoln Police Department  
State Probation Office 
Project Extra Mile 
Nebraska Medical Association  
Nebraska Public Health Association  
Nebraska Sheriff's Association  
Regional Behavioral Health Authorities  
Nebraska Children and Families Foundation  
Nebraska Department of Education 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Prevention-Advisory-Council.aspx 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: DHHS Division of Behavioral Health in coordination with the Prevention Advisory Council  
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: Statewide Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) 
Report can be accessed via: 2021 Epidemiological Profile - going through final approvals and will be publicly 
available on the DHHS website 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $34,781 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 
  

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $7,938.75 

mailto:danielle.wing@nebraska.gov
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Prevention-Advisory-Council.aspx
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  

Estimate of state funds expended $9,218 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: Information Dissemination and Problem ID & Referral Activities aimed at 
preventing or reducing underage alcohol use. 
Estimate of state funds expended:  $45,365.96 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:  06/30/2021 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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