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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 21st 
Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255). The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.” As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), chaired by Miriam 
Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D., the Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report: This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020 and 2021. Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available 
federal survey data as of 2020. State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2021. State 
survey data, collected in 2021, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states 
maintained the data.  

Source of Data: For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data. Data 
about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about past-
month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2017 through 2020 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2021). Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request. The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application (updated May 
2022) served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2015–2019 among youth 
under age 21. ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of 
underage alcohol-related fatalities. The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis 
Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2020 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15- 
to 20-year-old drivers. State legal policy data were obtained from the following sources: 1) the 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism’s Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS) 
website (https://alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/); 2) legal research planned and managed by the ICCPUD. 

Recommended Citation: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2022). 2022 Missouri State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.  
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Missouri 
State Population: 6,151,548 
Population Ages 12–20: 711,000  

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 142,000 (20.0%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 96,000 (13.5%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 5,000 (2.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 3,000 (1.2%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 45,000 (17.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 27,000 (10.5%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 92,000 (37.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 66,000 (27.2%) 

Adults Ages 21+   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 2,408,000 (54.6%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 1,124,000 (25.5%) 

Average Age of Initiation  
Average Age of Initiation  16.4 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 211 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 107 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 6,111 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%2 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 27 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 21% 
 

 
1 The Alcohol-Related Disease Impact Application was updated May 2022 to reflect new methodology for calculating the 
average annual alcohol-attributable deaths, and it reflects national and state annual averages from 2015–2019. 
2 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure. The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number; however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates. Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview1 
The Missouri Department of Mental Health (DMH) is one of sixteen state agencies under the 
executive branch of state government. DMH collaborates on initiatives with other state agencies 
including the Departments of Corrections (DOC), Transportation (DOT), Elementary and 
Secondary Education (DESE), Health and Senior Services (DHSS), Public Safety (DPS), and 
Social Services (DSS). DSS is the Medicaid authority for the state. DMH’s close, collaborative 
relationships with DOC and DSS, in particular, are strengths to the state’s behavioral health 
system. The principal missions for DMH as established in state law are to: 1) prevent mental 
disorders, developmental disabilities, substance use, and compulsive gambling; 2) treat, 
habilitate, and rehabilitate Missourians who have these conditions; and 3) improve the public 
understanding and attitudes about mental disorders, developmental disabilities, substance use, 
and compulsive gambling. 
 
DMH is comprised of the Divisions of Behavioral Health (DBH), Developmental Disabilities 
(DD), and Administration. The Department’s supportive offices include the Offices of Deaf 
Services, Constituent Services, and Comprehensive Child Mental Health.  
 
DBH is organized into the following functional units: 
1. Community Programs, 
2. Psychiatric Facility Operations, 
3. Children’s Services, 
4. Recovery Services, 
5. Prevention and Mental Health Promotion, 
6. Administration (fiscal),  
7. Data and Research, and 
8. Regional Operations. 
 
The DMH Director appoints the division directors. The director of the Division of Behavioral 
Health (DBH) is responsible for leading and managing the DBH division; directing policy and 
strategic plans for DBH; coordinating with other state officials; and representing DBH in 
discussions, negotiations and partnerships with other state and federal organizations. DBH is 
organized into the following functional units:  
• Community Programs,  
• Psychiatric Facility Operations,  
• Children’s Services,  
• Recovery Services,  
• Prevention and Mental Health Promotion,  
• Administration, and  
• Regional Operations. 
 

 
1 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2022/2023 – (Missouri) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, 
Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to 
address the specific populations.  
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Included under Community Programs are all mental health and substance use community-based 
treatment programs, the Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP), Healthcare 
Homes, certification, and fidelity review. In addition to leading and managing these programs, 
the Deputy Director for Community Treatment is also responsible for working with key 
stakeholders, to include other state agencies, to improve community-based services. The 
Division of Behavioral Health (DBH) contracts with 62 community-based agencies for the 
provision of substance use treatment and/or psychiatric rehabilitation services: 34 for substance 
use treatment only, 13 for psychiatric rehabilitation services only, and 15 for both. The 
certification standards of care contain core rules for Psychiatric and Substance Use Disorder 
Treatment Programs, updated in 2019, and will continue to be reviewed/updated every 5 years, 
which apply to both mental health and substance use programs. Separate certification standards 
of care for mental health and substance use disorder treatment programs include the specific 
service delivery requirements for each program, including staff qualifications, required services, 
and environmental and safety practices. DBH staff conduct annual billing reviews of contracted 
community organizations. DBH certifies 111 organizations for substance use treatment, and 76 
organizations for mental health treatment. 
 
DBH substance use treatment programs include the Comprehensive Substance Treatment and 
Rehabilitation (CSTAR) programs, Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP), 
Department of Corrections (DOC) programs, State Targeted Response to the Opioid Crisis 
(STR) and State Opioid Response (SOR) programs.  
 
DBH also maintains the Primary Recovery Plus (PR+) program (6 contracts PR+ offers a full 
continuum of services within multiple levels of care to assist those individuals without Medicaid 
coverage. DBH oversees several programs designed specifically for Department of Corrections’ 
offenders under community supervision who need substance use treatment. These include 
CSTAR Women and Children Alternative Care (2 contracts), Improving Community Treatment 
Success (ICTS) (7 contracts) and Community Partnership (2 contracts). In 2019, DOC received 
additional state funds to expand the Improving Community Treatment Success (ICTS) program 
to additional counties. 
 
Substance Abuse Treatment for Adolescents 

Substance use treatment for adolescents is provided in the CSTAR Adolescent  
program. Designed for youth age 12 to 17, the CSTAR Adolescent program offers a full 
spectrum of treatment services. Treatment focuses on issues relevant to this age group and is 
provided in settings that are programmatically and physically separate from adult programs. 
Youth in residential settings are offered academic support services to minimize disruptions in 
their education. For youth with co-occurring mental health and substance use disorders, 
treatment services are provided through coordination of care between youth Community 
Psychiatric Rehabilitation and CSTAR adolescent programs. Multiple domains of the youth’s life 
are addressed including family, school, employment and social support. The Assertive 
Community Treatment for Transitional Age Youth (ACT TAY) model for ages 16-25, utilizes a 
trans-disciplinary approach to provide a comprehensive array of services to address both mental 
health and substance use. 

Prevention 
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Prevention and Mental Health Promotion includes substance use prevention, opioid overdose 
prevention, tobacco retailer education, Mental Health First Aid, veteran’s services suicide 
prevention and crisis services. DBH contracts with 10 community-based Prevention Resource 
Centers (PRC) that are state-certified to provide prevention services on alcohol, tobacco, and 
other drug issues. The PRC’s are the primary source of training and technical assistance support 
for over 178 community coalitions located throughout the state. The coalitions are teams of 
volunteers of community leaders, parents, and youth who seek to address substance use in their 
communities. The PRC’s employ prevention specialists that serve as community-level experts to 
assess community needs, build capacity, develop strategic plans, and implement evidence-based 
prevention programming. 
 
DBH’s School-based Prevention, Intervention, and Resources Initiative (SPIRIT) 
implements school-based curricula of proven effectiveness for reducing substance use, 
preventing substance initiation, and reducing violent behavior among children in kindergarten 
through 12th grade. Age- and grade-appropriate programs are selected from SAMHSA’s National 
Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices. SPIRIT currently operates in four sites 
serving 13 school districts across the state. These school districts serve high-risk populations 
characterized by: 1) high percentage of students qualifying for reduced/free lunches, 2) low 
standardized test scores, 3) high prevalence of substance use, 4) low graduation rates, and/or 5) 
high rate of juvenile justice referrals. Screening and referral services are provided. 
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds administered by SAMHSA. Exhibit 1 
shows the sources that Missouri used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and 
treatment in 2021. As indicated, Medicaid funds and state funds account for the largest sources 
(40.38 percent and 28.97 percent, respectively).2  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures. For FY 2022-2023, Missouri designated school-
based prevention education to delay onset of and reduce substance use among youth as priority 
number eight for use of SABG funds.3 
  

 
2 WebBGAS State Profile, 2021 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Missouri 2021. 
3 FY 2022/2023 – (Missouri) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for 
Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance 
Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1: Sources of Missouri’s 2021 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance: Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Missouri’s performance in enacting, enforcing, 
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures: 
 
State Laws and Policies: These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  

• underage possession or purchase of alcohol 
• underage drinking and driving  
• alcohol availability  
• sales and delivery to consumers at home  
• alcohol pricing  
• enforcement policies  

  
STOP Act State Survey Data: The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 states 
and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, 
regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking. Administered since 2011, the 
STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics:  

• enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and 
regulations 

• programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking 
• state interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice 

standards, collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking 
media campaigns  

• state expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 
Missouri-Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Missouri-Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 
Missouri-Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic 
beverages prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or 

guardian is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is 

present or consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 

Missouri-Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
Missouri-Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 
 

Yes, through a judicial process 
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Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?  

Yes 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?  

Yes 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Do state statutes or regulations mandate that 
state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 be 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over?  

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?  Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?  

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Missouri-Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor 
Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Missouri-Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 
 

Yes 
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What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 30 
Maximum number of days 30 
Notes: Although Missouri does not authorize a Use/Lose penalty for all underage consumption, a law 
imposes the mandatory license sanction on an underage person who “has a detectable blood alcohol 
content of more than two-hundredths of one percent or more by weight of alcohol in such person's 
blood.”  

 
Missouri-Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

40 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

1:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes. First 6 months, no more than one passenger 
under 19 who is not an immediate family 
member. After 6 months, no more than three 
passengers under 19 who are not immediate 
family members. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 years, 11 months 
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Alcohol Availability 
Missouri-Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes 
 
No 
 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Missouri-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

No 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

N/A 

 
Missouri-Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 
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Missouri-Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and 
Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Missouri-Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and 
Primary and Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 100 feet. Local government has 
authority to override state restrictions. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 100 feet. Local government has 
authority to override state restrictions. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, and spirits 

Notes: Exemptions include a school which has obtained an exemption from the payment of federal 
taxes. 

 
Missouri-Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? Yes (retailers that furnish alcohol for off-premises 
consumption exempt) 

Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (clear and convincing evidence required to 
show that retailer knew or should have known 
underage status) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
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Missouri-Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Missouri-Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Possession and consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

Yes 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, family members 
 

Missouri-Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or greater than 4.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No  

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Active (requires action by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? $50.00 
Does law cover disposable kegs? Yes 
Notes: Although Missouri does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser's ID, it 
does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser as well as 
the purchaser's name, address, and date of birth. 
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Missouri-High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 
Missouri-Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Missouri-Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to 
producer before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements  
Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be 
approved by a state agency? 

Yes 

Recording/reporting requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

No 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements  
Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes 
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes  
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Missouri-Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer No law  
Wine No law  
Spirits No law 

 
Missouri- Direct to Consumer 
Is there a policy allowing on-premises retailers to 
deliver alcohol to a consumer at home? 

Yes 

Which on-premises retailers can provide delivery 
of alcoholic beverages? 

• Restaurant 
• Bar license 
• Third party license 

 
 
Yes 
No 
No 
 

Which types of alcohol are permitted to be 
delivered? 

• Beer 
• Wine 
• Spirits 
• Mixed Drinks 

 
 
Yes 
Yes 
No 
Yes 
 

Requirements and Restrictions   
Are there restrictions in place addressing details 
of the delivery? 

• Hours limited 
• Amount of alcohol limited 
• Food requirement 

 
 
No 
No 
No 
 

Are there certain requirements that the delivery 
person must meet? 

• Must be 21 
• Must check ID at point of delivery 
• Must receive payment regardless of 

delivery completion 

 
 
No 
No 
No 

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Missouri-Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.06 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.42 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
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If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$2.00 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 

 

 
Missouri-Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
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Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No  

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Missouri-Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

Yes, no sales below cost 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days maximum) 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Restricted; a quantity discount may be granted 

only for quantities of 2 or more. Such discounts 
may be graduated but may not exceed 1 percent. 

Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

Yes, a 1 percent discount for time of payment; no 
sales below cost. 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (1 month minimum) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days maximum) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Restricted; a quantity discount may be granted 

only for quantities of 2 or more. Such discounts 
may be graduated but may not exceed 1 percent 

Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

Yes, a 1 percent discount for time of payment; no 
sales below cost. 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (1 month minimum) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days maximum) 
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Enforcement Policies 
Missouri-Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

18  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

19  

Are there appearance requirements for the 
decoy? 

Yes; shall have a youthful appearance and males 
should not have facial hair or a receding hairline, 
if female not wear excessive make-up or jewelry. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?  

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 

Missouri-Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No written guidelines 

What is the time period for defining second, 
third, and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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Missouri State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Missouri Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Missouri Division of Alcohol 
and Tobacco Control 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 536 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 13,341 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 296 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $59,100 
Smallest fine imposed $100 
Largest fine imposed $10,000 
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Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/31/2021 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 32 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees  
No data 

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/31/2021 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 4 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/31/2021 

Additional Clarification   
The Minor in Possession (MIP )information provided was done by the Highway Patrol running a report on the 
number of charges under state statute 311.325, RSMo (the minor in possession of alcohol statute) and does not 
include any local jurisdiction charges done through their own ordinances (our state does not collect local charge 
data). The MIPs reported are MIPs issued by the Highway Patrol and Alcohol and Tobacco Control only.  
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Partners in Prevention  

Number of youth served 150,000 
Number of parents served 40,000 
Number of caregivers served 425 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://www.mopip.org

/ 
URL for more program information:  https://www.mopip.org

/ 
Program Description: Missouri Partners in Prevention (PIP) is an established statewide substance abuse 
prevention coalition of Missouri universities implementing evidence-based strategies to reduce binge and 
underage drinking among students at participating institutions. PIP is a consortium of 23 public and private 
colleges and universities. Since 2001, PIP has effectively reduced binge drinking and underage drinking behavior on 
campuses throughout the state and has been nationally recognized for its efforts. 
Missouri School-Based Substance Abuse Prevention Intervention and Resources 
Initiative 

 

Number of youth served 10,400 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://dmh.mo.gov/m

edia/pdf/spirit-year-18-
report-2020 

https://www.mopip.org/
https://www.mopip.org/
https://dmh.mo.gov/media/pdf/spirit-year-18-report-2020
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URL for more program information:  https://dmh.mo.gov/m
edia/pdf/spirit-year-18-

report-2020 
Program Description: In 2002, the Missouri Department of Mental Health (DMH), Division of Alcohol and Drug 
Abuse (ADA), launched the Missouri School-Based Substance Abuse Prevention Intervention and Resources 
Initiative (SPIRIT). This project proposes to delay the onset and decrease the use of substances, improve overall 
school performance, and reduce incidents of violence. To achieve these goals, prevention agencies are paired with 
participating school districts to provide technical assistance in implementing evidence-based substance use 
prevention programming and referral and assessment services as needed. The project offers a variety of evidence-
based prevention programs selected by the districts. 
Prevention Resource Center Network and Community Coalitions  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description: Prevention Resource Center (PRC) Network and Community Coalitions are the primary 
sources of technical assistance support for community coalitions. The PRC’s goal is to facilitate development of 
teams capable of making changes in substance use patterns in their communities. Each PRC has a prevention 
specialist who works directly with the teams in his/her area and assists with developing teams and task forces in 
communities that desire them. Coalitions make up a network of volunteer community teams that focus solely on 
alcohol, tobacco, and drug issues as part of a broad mission and/or array of services. Coalitions were organized and 
developed in 1987 and are composed of community volunteers from the areas served. Each coalition receives 
technical assistance and training from the PRC on a variety of topics related to organization, development, and 
implementation of prevention strategies. The PRC and community coalitions implement various evidence-based 
strategies and programs. 
Direct Prevention Programs for High-Risk Youth  

Number of youth served 2,960 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description: Direct programs/services for high-risk youth are prevention education and early intervention 
activities provided to designated children, youth, and families. These services involve structured programming or a 
curriculum with multiple sessions that include pre- and post-testing and address identified risk and protective 
factors. Direct programs/services may also involve a variety of activities, including informational sessions, training, 
and technical assistance activities with groups. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable  
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Yes 

https://dmh.mo.gov/media/pdf/spirit-year-18-report-2020
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Description of program: Missouri has many coalitions across the state that provide 
training and activities addressing youth exposure to alcohol advertising and marketing. 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns: Coalitions across the state have local media 
campaigns to prevent underage drinking. 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

No 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other: Not applicable Not applicable 

State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Missouri Division of Behavioral Health Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: The Division of Behavioral Health requires providers to use evidence-based 
programs and environmental strategies. SAMHSA's publication, “Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based 
Interventions for Substance Abuse Prevention,” serves as a guide, which provides the following definition for 
evidence-based programs:  
• Inclusion in a federal list or registry of evidence-based interventions and indicated to be effective.  
• Being reported (with positive effects) in a peer-reviewed journal.  
• Documentation of effectiveness based on the following guidelines:  

o The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic or conceptual model.  
o The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in registries and/or the 
peer-reviewed literature.  
o The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively implemented in the past, 
and multiple times, in a manner attentive to identifying and selecting evidence-based interventions, 
scientific standards of evidence, and with results that show a consistent pattern of credible and positive 
effects.  
o The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed prevention experts that 
includes well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in evaluating prevention 
interventions similar to those under review, local prevention practitioners, and key community leaders as 
appropriate (e.g., officials from law enforcement and education sectors or elders within Indigenous 
cultures).  
 

Missouri uses the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) model to implement these guidelines. The process 
includes:  
• Assessment of the community’s needs and readiness.  
• Capacity-building to mobilize and address the needs of the community.  
• Development of a prevention plan to identify the activities, programs, and strategies necessary to address 
the needs.  
• Implementation of the prevention plan.  
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• Evaluation of the results to achieve sustainability and cultural competence.  
 
Missouri identifies appropriate strategies based on validated research, empirical evidence of effectiveness, 
and the use of local, state, and federal key community prevention leaders, such as National Prevention 
Network, Prevention Technology Transfer Center, and SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 
(CSAP) 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable  

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Missouri Division of Behavioral Health  
Plan can be accessed via: https://dmh.mo.gov/media/pdf/strategic-plan-prevention 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $789,569 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
  

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended:  Data not available 

https://dmh.mo.gov/media/pdf/strategic-plan-prevention
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending:  Data not available 
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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