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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 21st 
Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255). The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.” As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), chaired by Miriam 
Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D., the Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report: This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020 and 2021. Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available 
federal survey data as of 2020. State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2021. State 
survey data, collected in 2021, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states 
maintained the data.  

Source of Data: For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data. Data 
about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about past-
month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2017 through 2020 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2021). Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request. The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application (updated May 
2022) served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2015–2019 among youth 
under age 21. ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of 
underage alcohol-related fatalities. The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis 
Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2020 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15- 
to 20-year-old drivers. State legal policy data were obtained from the following sources: 1) the 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism’s Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS) 
website (https://alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/); 2) legal research planned and managed by the ICCPUD. 

Recommended Citation: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2022). 2022 Maryland State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.  
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Maryland 
State Population: 6,055,802 
Population Ages 12–20: 634,000  

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 93,000 (14.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 44,000 (7.0%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 4,000 (1.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 0 (0%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 33,000 (14.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 17,000 (7.3%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 57,000 (31.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 27,000 (15.1%) 

Adults Ages 21+   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 2,671,000 (60.3%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 1,169,000 (26.4%) 

Average Age of Initiation  
Average Age of Initiation  16.2 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 211 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 80 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,544 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%2 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 11 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 19% 
 

 
1 The Alcohol-Related Disease Impact Application was updated May 2022 to reflect new methodology for calculating the 
average annual alcohol-attributable deaths, and it reflects national and state annual averages from 2015–2019. 
2 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure. The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number; however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates. Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview1 
The Behavioral Health Administration (BHA) is a division of the Maryland Department of 
Health (MDH) that is responsible for overseeing the delivery of behavioral health services 
through the Public Behavioral Health System (PBHS). Maryland primarily provides or funds 
public behavioral health services in two ways, directly through its State psychiatric hospital 
system or by funding its managed fee-for-service (FFS) system. Implementation of PBHS is co-
monitored by BHA and Maryland Medicaid. BHA is the lead for clinical and systems 
management matters, whereas Medicaid’s Behavioral Health Unit is the lead regarding payment 
rates, compliance matters, the development of State Medicaid regulations, and the Medicaid 
State Plan. 
BHA is the state governmental entity responsible for the establishment and support of a 
comprehensive service delivery system that provides access to high quality and effective 
substance abuse prevention, intervention, treatment and recovery support services. The Single 
State Authority (SSA) for Maryland resides within the BHA and is responsible for planning, 
developing, and funding services to prevent harmful involvement with alcohol and other drugs, 
and for treating individuals in need of addiction services. BHA maintains a statewide, integrated 
service delivery system through a continuum of treatment modalities that promotes public health 
and safety of patients, families, and communities. BHA designates, approves, plans and 
coordinates programming within Maryland that offers prevention, intervention, treatment and 
recovery support services; establishes and develops standards, regulations and methods of 
treatment to be employed for the treatment of substance use disorders (SUDs); gathers 
information and maintains statistical/other records relating to SUDs; disseminates “science to 
service” information relating to services for persons with SUDs, services for the 
prevention/diagnosis/treatment/rehabilitation of substance use, abuse and dependence, and 
support services to sustain the recovery beyond the treatment/rehabilitation episode. 
As part of MDH, BHA is responsible for overseeing the delivery of publicly funded addictions 
prevention and treatment services as well as responsibility for the oversight of public mental 
health services in Maryland. BHA remains actively involved in activities to refine, enhance, and 
improve management of the service delivery systems. The Deputy Secretary for Behavioral 
Health oversees all aspects of behavioral health integration under the leadership of the Secretary 
of MDH. BHA, in collaboration with other administrations, preserves and strengthens the service 
system through various efforts and places high priority on access to services and the 
development of a system in which services meet individual needs across the lifespan and efforts 
are coordinated that support recovery and resiliency. BHA continues efforts to support the 
Department’s mission of fostering an integrated process for planning and collaboration, and of 
ensuring that a quality system of care is available for individuals with behavioral health 
disorders. 
BHA has oversight responsibility for publicly funded inpatient and outpatient (community) 
behavioral health services, which includes a comprehensive array of services and supports to 
help individuals with substance use disorders, mental health disorders, co-occurring disorders, 
and problem-gambling disorders recover. The PBHS provides a wide array of mental health 

 
1 Extracted from FY 2022/2023 – (Maryland) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State 
Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the 
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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services, most of which are covered by Medicaid and reimbursed through the Administrative 
Services Organization (ASO), including inpatient, outpatient, residential treatment (for children 
and adolescents), and partial hospitalization. Services provided and reimbursed through the ASO 
include a range of recovery and support services, including mental health case management, 
mobile treatment/assertive community treatment, psychiatric rehabilitation, residential 
rehabilitation, supported employment, and respite care services. Residential crisis services are 
also paid through the ASO. 
Since the merger of the Mental Hygiene Administration (MHA) and the Alcohol and Drug 
Abuse Administration (ADAA) in 2014, BHA and Medicaid have worked collaboratively to 
design an integrated system of mental health and substance use disorder (MH/SUD) services. In 
partnership with BHA, Medicaid’s Office of Health Services contracts with the ASO that 
administers integrated behavioral health services. The ASO’s responsibilities include provider 
management and maintenance; operating a utilization management system; service 
authorizations; paying all Medicaid claims and uninsured claims for individuals receiving 
behavioral health services; providing data collection, analysis, and management information 
services; offering participant and public information; consultation, training, quality management 
and evaluation services; and managing special projects and stakeholder feedback. 
SUD coverage includes a comprehensive assessment, outpatient counseling, intensive outpatient 
treatment, opioid maintenance treatment, partial hospitalization, medically managed inpatient 
detoxification, and residential SUD treatment services at the 3.7WM, 3.7, 3.5, 3.3 and 3.1 levels. 
The ASO also pays for information and referral, prevention, and recovery support services. 
The majority of community PBHS services are funded through a managed fee-for-service 
system. Services that are eligible for MA reimbursement and services that are not eligible for 
MA (e.g., residential rehabilitation services, Level 3 SUD services, and some supported 
employment services) are both funded through this mechanism. This mechanism also funds 
services for individuals who are eligible for MA and for individuals who are not eligible for MA. 
Based on income, family size, and severity of need, some individuals not eligible for MA may be 
eligible for services funded with State only funds by the PBHS. The fee-for-service system 
currently provides MH/SUD services to 290,000 individuals through a network of over 3,500 
individual, group, agency, and institutional service providers. The combined PBHS expenditures 
were over US $1.4 billion, of which 89% were paid through Medicaid funds. 
Substance Use Disorder Prevention System 

Effective February 4, 2019, the Prevention programs shifted from BHA direction to that of the 
Office of Population Health Improvement (OPHI). OPHI provides statewide leadership in the 
development of policies, programs, and services to prevent the use and/or misuse of substances 
that adversely impact health and safety. Even though BHA no longer has the lead on prevention 
activities, because both OPHI and BHA are under MDH, BHA works closely with the OPHI to 
fully integrate prevention activities for the PBHS. 
 
The Office of Population Health Improvement (OPHI) oversees Maryland’s publicly funded 
Substance Use Disorder (SUD) prevention system, providing funding annually to local 
jurisdictions for evidence-based prevention services. Maryland's prevention infrastructure is built 
upon our jurisdictional Prevention Coordinator network. OPHI provides each of Maryland's 24 
jurisdictions a portion of the state's SABG prevention set-aside based upon a population-based 
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formula. This is the primary source of funding for their jurisdictional Prevention Coordinator, the 
local prevention activities they provide, the administrative costs related to their prevention 
services office, and in some instances other prevention program staff. In most instances these 
funds are provided to the jurisdiction’s local health department. For monitoring and technical 
assistance purposes, Maryland has divided their 24 jurisdictions into four geographic regions 
(Western, Central, Southern, Eastern Shore). 
 
The Office of Prevention undertakes an annual assessment to determine how to best utilize its 
prevention resources to meet the AOD prevention needs of youth in Maryland. This includes 
reviewing data provided by the Maryland SEOW and other data sources and soliciting and 
utilizing input from the BHAC. The new BHAC, a new Prevention Committee, and BHRT are 
specifically structured and intended to strengthen the capacity of Maryland’s state and local 
prevention infrastructure. 
 
Child and Young Adult Behavioral Health Services 

BHA’s Office of Child, Adolescent, and Young Adult Services (CAYAS) is charged with 
developing a system of care for children, adolescents, young adults, and their families. This 
system of care covers those from early childhood up to age 25. It is designed to meet the needs of 
individuals within this age range who have mental health, substance-related disorders, and those 
who have co-occurring conditions. CAYAS evaluates the network of services that BHA funds 
for this age group and has the responsibility for statewide planning, development, administration 
and monitoring of provider performance to assure the highest possible level of quality in the 
delivery of services. It also manages a number of special projects and is responsible to work with 
all other child serving agencies at both the State and local levels to assure a highly coordinated 
and individualized approach to care.  
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by SAMHSA. Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Maryland used for expenditures on 
substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2021. As indicated, local funds and other federal 
funds account for the largest sources (55.69 percent and 25.54 percent, respectively).2  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures. For FY 2022-2023, Maryland designated 
preventing and reducing underage drinking and other drug use and youth binge drinking as 
priority number six for use of SABG funds.3 
 
 
 
 
 

 
2 WebBGAS State Profile, 2021 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Maryland 2021. 
3 FY 2022/2023 – (Maryland) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for 
Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance 
Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1: Sources of Maryland’s 2021 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance: Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Maryland’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures: 
 
State Laws and Policies: These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  

• underage possession or purchase of alcohol 
• underage drinking and driving  
• alcohol availability  
• sales and delivery to consumers at home  
• alcohol pricing  
• enforcement policies  

  
STOP Act State Survey Data: The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 states 
and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, 
regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking. Administered since 2011, the 
STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics:  

• enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and 
regulations 

• programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking 
• state interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice 

standards, collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking 
media campaigns  

• state expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking 
 
 
 



State Reports | Maryland _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

6 | 2022 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  __________________________________________________ 

Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 
Maryland-Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private residence if 
parent/guardian/spouse is present or consents 

Notes: Maryland's exception includes members of an individual's "immediate family" when the 
alcoholic beverage is furnished and possessed "in a private residence or within the curtilage of the 
residence." For purposes of this report , the phrase “immediate family” is interpreted as including a 
spouse. See Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 10-117(c)(1). 

 
Maryland-Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private residence if 
parent/guardian/spouse is present or consents 

Notes: Maryland's exception includes members of an individual's "immediate family" when the 
alcoholic beverage is furnished and consumed "in a private residence or within the curtilage of the 
residence." For purposes of this report, the phrase “immediate family” is interpreted as including a 
spouse. See Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 10-117(c)(1). 

 
Maryland-Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic 
beverages prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or 

guardian is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is 

present or consents? 

 
 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 
 
 



 ________________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Maryland 

 __________________________________________________  2022 State Reports—Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 7 

Maryland-Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 

 
Maryland-Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?  

No 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?  

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Do state statutes or regulations mandate that 
state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 be 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over?  

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?  Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?  

No 

Notes: In Maryland, a licensee or employee of the licensee may not be found guilty of underage 
furnishing if the person establishes to the satisfaction of the jury or the court sitting as a jury that the 
person used due caution to establish that the person under 21 years of age was not, in fact, a person 
under 21 years of age if a nonresident of the state. This constitutes a general affirmative defense for 
purposes of this report. In contrast, if the person is a resident of the state of Maryland, the licensee or 
employee of the licensee may accept, as proof of a person's age, the person's driver's license or 
identification card as provided for in the Maryland Vehicle Law. In addition, the licensee or employee 
of the licensee may accept, as proof of a person's age, a United States military identification card. 
These are examples of a specific affirmative defense for purposes of this report. 
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Underage Drinking and Driving 
Maryland-Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor 
Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Maryland-Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol No 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 18 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Discretionary 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 30 
Maximum number of days 90 

 
Maryland-Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 years, 9 months 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

9 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

60 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 years, 6 months 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

Midnight 
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Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes, no passengers under 18 who are not 
immediate family members, or relatives living 
with driver, unless accompanied by licensed 
driver over 21. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

No 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

18 (passenger restrictions expire 151 days after 
issuance of intermediate license) 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Maryland-Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations 
 
Yes, in specified locations 
 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private residence, if 
parent/guardian/spouse supplies alcohol 

Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

Notes: Maryland's exception allows furnishing of alcohol to minors by members of their "immediate 
family" when the alcoholic beverage is furnished and consumed "in a private residence or within the 
curtilage of the residence." For purposes of this report, the phrase “immediate family” is interpreted 
as including a spouse. See Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 10-117(c)(1).  

 
Maryland-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)—Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

Yes 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  Licensee and manager 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 
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• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

Both 

 
Maryland-Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

Notes: Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may have 
more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages. 

 
Maryland-Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and 
Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

Notes: Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may have 
more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages.  

 
Maryland-Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and 
Primary and Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  
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Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, distance restrictions vary by county and 
municipality. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, distance restrictions vary by county and 
municipality. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, and spirits (product restrictions vary 
by county and muncipality.) 

Notes: Exceptions vary by county and municipality. 
 

Maryland-Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Maryland-Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? Yes 
Notes: Common law liability rests on a violation of the criminal social host statute (Md. Ann. Code, 
Criminal Law, s. 10-117). The criminal social host statute prohibits an adult from knowingly and 
willfully allowing an underage person to consume alcohol on the host’s premises. 

 
Maryland-Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Possession and consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, family members 
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Maryland-Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or greater than 4.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine $500 (or $1,000 if repeat 
violation)) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine $500 (or $1,000 if repeat 
violation)) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Not required 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? Yes 
Notes: Although Maryland does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser's ID, it 
does require that the purchaser's name and address be recorded as they appear on the purchaser's 
identification. Effective July 1, 2008, retailers in Prince George's County must also record the 
purchaser's identification number. 

 
Maryland-High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

Yes 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

Yes (95 percent or more) 

Are there exceptions to restrictions? No 
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 
Maryland-Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Maryland-Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to 
producer before delivery is authorized? 

No 
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Age verification requirements  
Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be 
approved by a state agency? 

Yes 

Recording/reporting requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements  
Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

 
Maryland-Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted  
Spirits Permitted  
Notes: Written approval from the county or city is required. 

 
Maryland- Direct to Consumer 
Is there a policy allowing on-premises retailers to 
deliver alcohol to a consumer at home? 

Yes 

Which on-premises retailers can provide delivery 
of alcoholic beverages? 

• Restaurant 
• Bar license 
• Third party license 

 
 
Yes, with state permit 
Yes, with state permit 
No 
 

Which types of alcohol are permitted to be 
delivered? 

• Beer 
• Wine 
• Spirits 
• Mixed Drinks 

 
 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
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Requirements and Restrictions   
Are there restrictions in place addressing details 
of the delivery? 

• Hours limited 
• Amount of alcohol limited 
• Food requirement 

 
 
Yes 
No 
Yes 
 

Are there certain requirements that the delivery 
person must meet? 

• Must be 21 
• Must check ID at point of delivery 
• Must receive payment regardless of 

delivery completion 

 
 
Yes 
Yes 
No 

Notes: Hours are limited to no later than 11:00 pm. 
 

Alcohol Pricing 
Maryland-Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.09 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 9.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.00% 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

3.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 9.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.00% 
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

3.00% 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Notes: For the period beginning July 1, 2011, a 9 percent ad valorem tax on alcoholic beverages 
applies, in lieu of the 6 percent general sales tax.  
Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.40 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 9.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.00% 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

3.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 9.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.00% 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

3.00% 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Notes: For the period beginning July 1, 2011, a 9 percent ad valorem tax on alcoholic beverages 
applies, in lieu of the 6 percent general sales tax.  
Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$1.50 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 9.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.00% 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

3.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 9.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.00% 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

3.00% 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 

 

Notes: For the period beginning July 1, 2011, a 9 percent ad valorem tax on alcoholic beverages 
applies, in lieu of the 6 percent general sales tax. 

 
Maryland-Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Maryland-Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
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Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No, all counties require payment on delivery 
except Worcester County where 10 days of credit 
may be extended. 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Uncertain due to case law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Uncertain due to case law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No law; Alcohol and TobaccoTax (MATT) 
Regulatory Division posts a list of purchase 
periods and due dates that is accessible only to 
Maryland wholesalers and retail licensees. 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Uncertain due to case law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Uncertain due to case law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No law; Alcohol and Tobacco Tax (MATT) 
Regulatory Division posts a list of purchase 
periods and due dates that is accessible only to 
Maryland wholesalers and retail licensees. 

 

Enforcement Policies 
Maryland-Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

No 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

N/A  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

N/A  

Are there appearance requirements for the 
decoy? 

N/A  

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? N/A  
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May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?  

N/A 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

N/A 

 

Maryland-Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No data 

What is the time period for defining second, 
third, and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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Maryland State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

No state agency has primary responsibility for the enforcement of laws designed to prevent underage drinking. 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Comptroller of 
Maryland 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Don’t know/No answer 

Data are collected on these activities Don’t know/No answer 
Number of retail licensees in state3 Data not available 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Don't know 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Don't know 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Don't know 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification   
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Maryland Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnerships for Success  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description: The Maryland Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnerships for Success ended in June 2021.  
The Maryland Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnerships for Success (SPF-PFS) Project provided grant funds to 
strengthen the efforts of 10 local jurisdiction coalitions to prevent and reduce underage and youth binge drinking 
in their communities. These coalitions, with training and technical assistance provided by the Office of Population 
Health Improvement's Technical Assistance and Evaluation Team, built upon their past successes and addressing 
challenges they faced over the 5 years of the initial SPF-PFS initiative. These communities were selected based on a 
formula that first considered prevalence indicators of youth alcohol use, consequences, and contributing factors. 
This accounted for 70% of their selection score. The remaining 30% of the score was determined based on past 
coalition performance in bringing resources to bear, and each jurisdiction’s contribution to the cultural diversity 
and geographic balance of the initiative.  
 
Underage and youth binge drinking were the state’s SPF-PFS priorities as determined by a recent statewide youth 
alcohol and other drug (AOD) needs assessment. Accordingly, Goal One of the initiative was to reduce underage 
and youth binge drinking in Maryland. Its measurable objectives are (1) to reduce past 30-day underage drinking in 
the 10 selected jurisdictions and statewide and (2) to reduce past 30-day binge drinking by youth, ages 18–25, in 
the 10 jurisdictions and statewide. The interventions to attain this goal were evidence-based prevention strategies 
that addressed key intervening variables for underage and youth binge drinking, including retail access to alcohol, 
social access, youth perception of harm and risk, community and social norms, enforcement of alcohol laws, 
alcohol pricing, and promotions. While most strategies implemented were environmental and community process 
strategies, coalitions were able to augment these strategies with information dissemination and prevention 
education to strengthen community awareness of and support for their prevention efforts.  
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Goal Two of the initiative was strengthening state and local community prevention capacity and infrastructure. Its 
measurable objectives were (1) to increase capacity of sub-recipient prevention coalitions through the provision of 
guidance, training, and technical assistance and (2) to strengthen the state and local prevention infrastructure by 
leveraging, redirecting, and realigning the Substance Abuse Prevention Block Grant (SABG) resources administered 
by the office of Population Health Improvement to exclusively support evidence-based programs and strategies 
that are determined through the SPF process, as measured by grant program and fiscal records. 
Substance Abuse Block Grant Prevention program  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not Applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not Applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not Applicable 

Program Description: Maryland’s SABG Prevention Program adheres to SAMHSA definitions, policies, and best 
practices to plan, fund, implement, and evaluate a comprehensive array of data-driven, evidence-based substance 
abuse prevention practices, strategies, and programs. Only primary prevention activities can be supported through 
this grant program (i.e., services for those who have not been identified as having a substance use disorder that 
requires treatment). Through this process, Maryland will support universal, selected, and indicated prevention 
activities designed to reach a broad and diverse group of Maryland youth at various levels of risk for substance use 
and abuse, resulting in a reduction of youth substance abuse at the population level. Each jurisdiction develops its 
own unique SABG Strategic Prevention Plan, which lays out the jurisdiction’s specific substance abuse issues, 
resources, contributing factors, objectives, and strategies.  
 
Jurisdictions, based on their plans, can address the particular substances that are supported by their local data and 
endorsed by their planning body and may provide universal, selected, or indicated primary prevention strategies. 
Since the Office of Population Health Improvement emphasizes change at the population level, all jurisdiction must 
allocate at least 50% of their prevention block grant award to strategies that are most likely to result in population-
level change. This includes environmental, community process, and information dissemination strategies. As youth 
problem drinking (underage drinking and youth binge drinking) has been identified as the state's top youth 
substance abuse priority, the vast majority of our jurisdictions have also made the prevention of youth problem 
drinking their top priority and allocate funds out of their their grant to address this issue. Jurisdictions may also 
provide any of the other SAMHSA strategies that specifically target individuals and families rather than the entire 
community with their remaining prevention block grant funds. However, all funds must be used for programs and 
strategies that research findings/evidence show to be effective or promising. All strategies must be evidence-
based and determined through the SPF planning process. 
Maryland College Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Prevention Centers  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not Applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description: The Office of Population Health Improvement provides funding to four Maryland universities 
to develop and maintain programs/activities that prevent and reduce substance use and risk-taking behaviors 
associated with use of alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs. Alcohol, Tobacco, and Drug Prevention Centers have 
been established at Frostburg State University, Towson University, Bowie State University, and the University of 
Maryland Eastern Shore. The centers promote and assist in design and implementation of campus policies, 
evidence-based practices, and prevention/wellness education programs for their institutions. They also collaborate 
with agencies and organizations in communities surrounding the campuses. Center directors have working 
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relationships with local health department prevention coordinators, local drug and alcohol councils, and other 
colleges/universities in the region.  
 
Underage drinking and binge drinking by students create major issues on college campuses and their surrounding 
communities and subsequently, preventing and reducing these issues are a primary focus of the prevention 
activities. It is estimated that 21,235 students are served through the Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Prevention 
Center funded prevention strategies. 
Maryland Collaborative to Reduce College Drinking and Related Problems  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not Applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not Applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://marylandcollabor

ative.org/ 
Program Description: The Office of Population Health Improvement provides funding to the University of 
Maryland College Park and Johns Hopkins University to bring together state colleges and universities to (1) reduce 
the current level of excessive alcohol use and related harm on college campuses in Maryland and (2) mobilize and 
sustain the commitment of campus and community leaders to reducing excessive alcohol use and related harm on 
the state’s campuses. These goals are attained through an assessment of current challenges to campuses and 
surrounding communities with respect to college drinking problems; forming a collaborative of committed colleges 
and universities; instituting a common data collection system; and providing on-going expert training and technical 
assistance to the participants in understanding and implementing evidence-based best practices. Sixteen colleges 
and universities currently participate in the Collaborative. Several documents have been produced by the 
Collaborative, including the Report on College Drinking in Maryland, Guide to Best Practices to Reduce Underage 
Drinking, and Results of the 2nd Annual Maryland College Alcohol Survey. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification  
The Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnerships for Success grant ended on June 30, 2021. 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: The Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth (CAMY) at the 
Johns Hopkins University employs a public health approach to prevent and reduce 
alcohol-related problems among young people. CAMY's work focuses on the marketing 
variables of product, place, promotion, and price, and the role these variables play in 
youth drinking and related problems. CAMY is funded in part through the federal 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) block grant. More information is 
available at http://www.camy.org. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking No 
Federal campaigns:  Not applicable 
Regional and local media campaigns:  Not applicable 
Local school district efforts:  Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Not applicable 

http://marylandcollaborative.org/
http://www.camy.org
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State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other: Not applicable Not applicable 

State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): None 

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state: Office of Population Health Improvement Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): None No 
Other: None No 
Best practice standards description: Recipients of Office of Population Health Improvement's SPF-PFS and 
Opioid Misuse Prevention Program (OMPP) grants must follow the structured Maryland SPF process as 
described in our written guidance documents in order to receive funding. This includes the requirement that 
all programs implemented to reduce underage and problem youth drinking be evidence-based. A set of 
approved evidence-based strategies and best practices is included in our written guidance documents and on 
our website.  
 
Recipients of our SAPT Block Grant funds that implement direct services programs are required to implement 
at least one evidence-based program. Recipients that implement environmental strategies must implement 
strategies from the list of evidence-based strategies included in our written guidance documents and on our 
website. We now require SAPT Block grantees to include the five-step SPF process in their program planning 
and implementation. Currently, SAPT Block grantees are in the Implementation phase of the SPF process. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Helene Hornum 
Email: helene.hornum1@maryland.gov 
Address: 201 W. Preston Street 
Baltimore, MD 21201 
Phone: 443-934-2811 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
University of Maryland, School of Pharmacy  
Office of Population Health Improvement 
Maryland Behavioral Health Administration 
Governor's Office of Crime, Control and Prevention 
Maryland State Department of Education 
Maryland State Department of Juvenile Services  
College of Southern Maryland  
Maryland State HIghway Administration  
Montgomery County Department of Liquor Control 
Maryland Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Maryland State's Attorneys Office  
Wicomico County Health Department  
Dorchester County Health Department  

mailto:helene.hornum1@maryland.gov
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Substance Abuse Prevention offices in: Charles County, Allegany County, Wicomico County, Cecil County, 
Queen Anne's County, Caroline County, Dorchester County, Carroll County, Garrett County, St. Mary's County, 
Kent County, Prince George's County, Frederick County, and Harford County 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
The state underage drinking plan was developed 10 years ago for Maryland's Strategic Prevention Framework 
application. The plan has been implemented since then through the OPHI-funded Maryland SPF-PFS grant program 
and the OPHI-funded SAPT Block Grant program. 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: No data 
Estimate of state funds expended:  Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:  Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other: No data for taxes, fines, fees, or others No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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