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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 21st 
Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255). The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.” As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), chaired by Miriam 
Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D., the Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report: This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020 and 2021. Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available 
federal survey data as of 2020. State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2021. State 
survey data, collected in 2021, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states 
maintained the data.  

Source of Data: For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data. Data 
about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about past-
month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2017 through 2020 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2021). Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request. The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application (updated May 
2022) served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2015–2019 among youth 
under age 21. ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of 
underage alcohol-related fatalities. The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis 
Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2020 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15- 
to 20-year-old drivers. State legal policy data were obtained from the following sources: 1) the 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism’s Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS) 
website (https://alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/); 2) legal research planned and managed by the ICCPUD. 

Recommended Citation: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2022). 2022 Colorado State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.  
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Colorado 
State Population: 5,807,719 
Population Ages 12–20: 643,000  

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 151,000 (23.6%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 95,000 (14.8%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 6,000 (2.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (0.9%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 36,000 (17.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 21,000 (10.0%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 109,000 (52.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) * (*%) 

Adults Ages 21+   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 2,734,000 (65.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 1,261,000 (30.3%) 

Average Age of Initiation  
Average Age of Initiation  16.2 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 211 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 73 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,216 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%2 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 28 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 30% 
 
*Low precision; no estimate reported 

 
1 The Alcohol-Related Disease Impact Application was updated May 2022 to reflect new methodology for calculating the 
average annual alcohol-attributable deaths, and it reflects national and state annual averages from 2015–2019. 
2 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number; however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview1 
The Colorado public behavioral health care system includes substance use and mental health 
services and is administered and funded primarily by three separate executive branch 
departments; the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (the state Medicaid authority), 
the Department of Human Services (CDHS), Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) (the single state 
authority for substance abuse prevention and treatment and the state mental health authority), and 
the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) (the state public health 
authority). Other departments and state agencies such as the Department of Regulatory Agencies 
(DORA), Department of Corrections (DOC), CDHS Division of Child Welfare, and the 
Colorado Department of Education (CDE) provide and/or fund population-specific behavioral 
health services.  
OBH regulates behavioral health facilities and programs, purchases behavioral health services, 
and provides valuable information for citizens through data collection and analysis. The 
Department of Human Services includes five Offices that directly administer services including 
behavioral health services. The Office of Adult, Aging and Disability Services administers 
programs for individuals with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities and state-run Veteran 
nursing homes. The Office of Economic Security administers cash and food assistance and 
domestic violence programs. The Office of Early Childhood oversees childcare licenses and 
early childhood support programs including early childhood mental health programs for children 
and families. The Office of Children, Youth and Families administers child welfare and youth 
correctional services that include delivery of behavioral health services.  
OBH administers the two state mental health hospitals, purchases mental health and substance 
use services through contracts with behavioral health providers, regulates the public behavioral 
health system, and provides training, technical assistance, evaluation, data analysis, prevention 
services, and administrative support to all behavioral health providers and relevant stakeholders.  
OBH under CDHS executes the state’s federal responsibilities as state mental health authority 
and single state substance use disorder authority and is responsible for the administration of the 
Mental Health Block Grant and the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block 
Grant. OBH is responsible for administering, licensing, and regulating the provision of 
community-based public behavioral health services, specifically, substance use prevention, 
substance use treatment, and mental health treatment services. OBH licenses substance use 
disorder provider agencies in over 700 treatment sites; designates 18 community mental health 
centers (CMHC), 47 community mental health clinics; and designates 109 sites that can accept 
individuals under the mental health involuntary commitment statutes. OBH purchases behavioral 
health services for uninsured or underinsured individuals and invests in community programs to 
ensure a full continuum of behavioral health services from essential community providers. OBH 
reimburses or funds service capacity for individuals that do not qualify for Medicaid and are 
under 300% of the federal poverty line. Substance use disorder (SUD) treatment services are 
purchased through regional Managed Service Organizations (MSO) who in turn subcontract with 
licensed SUD provider agencies.  

 
1 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2022/2023 – (Colorado) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of 
State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  
Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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In addition to the purchasing and regulation of behavioral health services, OBH also formulates 
and implements policy governing public behavioral health services; coordinates with other 
human service agencies; develops performance standards, rules and regulations; conducts 
statewide research and program evaluation; and provides expert technical assistance, training, 
and consultation in the areas of public policy, finance, research and evaluation, prevention, and 
clinical treatment practices to support and enhance the provision of high quality behavioral 
health care. 

Substance Use Prevention Services 

OBH developed three priority areas for primary prevention community-based programs, 
practices, and approaches: Prevention and delaying onset of first use for of alcohol, tobacco and 
other drug use. Changing community norms regarding alcohol, tobacco and other drug use. 
Addressing population-based needs regarding alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use. Recently 
OBH completed the first statewide substance abuse, primary prevention needs assessment. This 
assessment brought together all of the state agencies listed above to look at current prevention 
work to identify need, gaps and eliminate duplication across state agency. This assessment has 
led to a cross agency strategic plan work group that will carry out the recommendations and shift 
the way prevention work is done in Colorado. Each state agency is identifying a niche in 
prevention work, eliminating current duplication across state prevention serving agencies. This 
group is also exploring developing a state prevention training system that will result in sharing 
resources and collaboration. The findings and recommendations have provided a road map in 
setting priorities for the current SAPT Block Grant funding cycle in Colorado. Three funding 
priorities were developed: funding evidence-based programming; 2) funding innovative 
programming for priority populations and lastly funding under resourced, high need communities 
as identified by data. The full prevention needs assessment can be found at: 
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1p03Ip4RBpZcCAKtxkZhgTHSTb2cEu0k5/view 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds, 
administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). 
Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Colorado used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention 
and treatment in 2021. As indicated, SABG funds and state funds account for the largest sources 
(43.48 percent and 39.62 percent, respectively).2  
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures. For FY 2022=2023, Colorado designated 
reducing substance use among youth, young adults, and their families as priority number seven 
for use of SABG funds.3 

 

 

 
2 WebBGAS State Profile, 2021 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Colorado 2021. 
3 FY 2022/2023 – (Colorado) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for 
Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and Annual Performance 
Indicators. 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1p03Ip4RBpZcCAKtxkZhgTHSTb2cEu0k5/view
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Exhibit 1: Sources of Colorado’s 2021 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance: Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Colorado’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures: 
 
State Laws and Policies: These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  

• underage possession or purchase of alcohol 
• underage drinking and driving  
• alcohol availability  
• sales and delivery to consumers at home  
• alcohol pricing  
• enforcement policies  

  
STOP Act State Survey Data: The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 states 
and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, 
regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking. Administered since 2011, the 
STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics:  

• enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and 
regulations 

• programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking 
• state interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice 

standards, collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking 
media campaigns  

• state expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 
Colorado-Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private location if parent/guardian is 
present or consents 

Notes: Colorado's exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private property 
when minors possess alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or guardian). 

 
Colorado-Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private location if parent/guardian is 
present or consents 

Notes: Colorado's exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private property 
when minors consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or guardian). 

 
Colorado-Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic 
beverages prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or 

guardian is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is 

present or consents? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private location if parent/guardian is 
present or consents 

Notes: Colorado's exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private property 
when minors possess or consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or 
guardian). 
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Colorado-Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 

 
Colorado-Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?  

Yes 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?  

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

Yes 

Do state statutes or regulations mandate that 
state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 be 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

Yes 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?  Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?  

Yes 

Notes: In Colorado, the license revocation period for a first conviction of obtaining or attempting to 
obtain an alcoholic beverage by misrepresentation of age is 24 hours of public service, if ordered by 
the court, or three months. 
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Underage Drinking and Driving 
Colorado-Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor 
Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Colorado-Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

No 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol N/A 
• Possession of alcohol N/A 
• Consumption of alcohol N/A 
The law applies to people under what age? N/A 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

N/A 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days N/A 
Maximum number of days N/A 

 
Colorado-Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

12 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

Midnight 
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Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

No 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes. For the first 6 months, no passenger under 
21 who is not an immediate family member 
unless accompanied by driver's parent or 
guardian; for the second 6 months, only one 
passenger under 21 who is not an immediate 
family member unless accompanied by driver's 
parent or guardian 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

No 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Colorado-Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations 
 
No 
 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private location, if parent/guardian 
supplies alcohol 

Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Colorado-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)—Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

No 
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Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

Unspecified 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

Unspecified 

 
Colorado-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)—Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  Licensee, manager, and server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

Off-premises 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

Unspecified 

Notes: A liquor-licensed drugstore that sells alcohol beverages must obtain certification as a 
responsible alcohol beverage vendor. A training program must be attended by the resident on-site 
owner (if applicable) or manager, and all employees selling alcohol beverages. 

 
Colorado-Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Colorado-Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and 
Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
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Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

Notes: Persons under 21 years of age employed to sell or dispense malt, vinous, or spirituous liquors 
are required to be supervised by another person who is on premise and has attained 21 years of age. 

 
Colorado-Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and 
Primary and Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 500 feet. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 500 feet. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, and spirits 

Notes: Exception is "campus liquor complex." 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 500 feet. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 500 feet. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, and spirits 

 
Colorado-Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes ($350,000 per person) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (knowledge of underage status) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Colorado-Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes ($350,000 per person) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (knowledge of underage status) 

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
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Colorado-Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

No 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

N/A 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

N/A 

Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
 

Colorado-Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? No law 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No law  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No law  

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? No law 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No law 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No law 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? No law 
Is a deposit required? No law 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No law 

 
Colorado-High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 
Colorado-Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
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Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 

Colorado-Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to 
producer before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements  
Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be 
approved by a state agency? 

No 

Recording/reporting requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements  
Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

 
Colorado-Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted  
Spirits Permitted 
Notes: State permit required for all beverage types. 

 
Colorado- Direct to Consumer 
Is there a policy allowing on-premises retailers to 
deliver alcohol to a consumer at home? 

No 

Which on-premises retailers can provide delivery 
of alcoholic beverages? 

• Restaurant 

 
 
N/A 
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• Bar license 
• Third party license 

N/A 
N/A 

Which types of alcohol are permitted to be 
delivered? 

• Beer 
• Wine 
• Spirits 
• Mixed Drinks 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Requirements and Restrictions   
Are there restrictions in place addressing details 
of the delivery? 

• Hours limited 
• Amount of alcohol limited 
• Food requirement 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

Are there certain requirements that the delivery 
person must meet? 

• Must be 21 
• Must check ID at point of delivery 
• Must receive payment regardless of 

delivery completion 

 
 
N/A 
N/A 
N/A 

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Colorado-Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.08 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 
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Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.32 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$2.28 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 

 

 

Colorado-Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No  

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Colorado-Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
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Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

Yes, no sales below cost 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days maximum) 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

Yes, no sales below cost 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days maximum) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

Yes, no sales below cost 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days maximum) 

Notes: Wholesalers may not sell below cost. A liquor-licensed drugstore may not purchase alcohol 
beverages on credit. 

 

Enforcement Policies 
Colorado-Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

18  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20.5  

Are there appearance requirements for the 
decoy? 

Yes; age-appropriate apprearance with no age 
enhancements. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Discretionary 
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May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?  

Permitted 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 
Colorado-Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, 
third, and subsequent offenses? 

One year 

What is the penalty for the first offense? Written warning, Assurance of Voluntary 
Compliance, or up to 15-day license suspension. 
Accepting a fine in lieu of actual suspension or 
holding a portion of the suspension time in 
abeyance are both at the discretion of the 
licensing authority. 

What is the penalty for the second offense? A 5- to 25-day license suspension. At the 
discretion of the licensing authority, licensee may 
pay fine in lieu of suspension or suspension may 
be held in abeyance if no fine was paid or 
suspension served at time of first offense. 

What is the penalty for the third offense? 15- to 40-day license suspension 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? 45-day license suspension or license revocation 
Notes: List of aggravating and mitigating factors is provided. A two-year time period is allowed for the 
third and fourth offenses. All penalties are for compliance check violations only. Under first offense, 
the following is added: "...it is recommended that, where there are no aggravating circumstances, a 
licensee who has fulfilled the requirements of a Responsible Vendor pursuant to 44-3-1002, C.R.S. be 
issued a warning, Assurance of Voluntary Compliance, or up to five (5) days suspension on the first 
violation." 
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Colorado State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Colorado Department of Revenue Liquor Enforcement Division 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Colorado Department of 
Revenue Liquor Enforcement 

Division 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 271 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 03/31/2021 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 14,766 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,235 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 97 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2021 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 

Compliance checks are 
completed on a random basis 
unless it is complaint based, 

then the Division will conduct 
random checks in the town 
of the complaint to include 

the complaint location. 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 97 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Yes, local law enforcement 
agencies conduct these 
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activities, and the Division 
provides a website for them 
to report on them. However, 
there was no data submitted 
from local law enforcement 

this past year. We are 
attributing this to COVID. 

 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 

Yes, local law enforcement 
agencies conduct these 

activities, and the Division 
provides a website for them 
to report on them. However, 
there was no data submitted 
from local law enforcement 

this past year. We are 
attributing this to COVID. 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending  
Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 43 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $65,976.98 
Smallest fine imposed $200 
Largest fine imposed $6,558.04 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2021 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 6 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 46 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 3 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 20 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2021 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/31/2021 

Additional Clarification   
Regarding minor in possession arrests: Yes, but it is limited to only those local law enforcement agencies that 
voluntarily provide the data to the state; therefore, we cannot guarantee all metrics from local law enforcement 
have been accounted for. 
 
Regarding random compliance checks: Compliance checks are completed on a random basis unless it is complaint 
based, then the Division will conduct random checks in the town of the complaint to include the complaint 
location. 
  
Regarding local law enforcement compliance checks: Yes, local law enforcement agencies conduct these activities, 
and the Division provides a website for them to report on them. However, there was no data submitted from local 
law enforcement this past year. We are attributing this to COVID. 
  
Additional clarifications: 
1. Check Point and saturation patrols are conducted by local law enforcement and Colorado State Patrol.  
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2. Number of compliance checks will be lower than previous years due to COVID. Compliance checks were not 
conducted during the months of June, July, August, and September of 2020. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Substance Abuse Block Grant Prevention Set Aside  

Number of youth served 40,962 
Number of parents served 12,272 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://cdhs.colorado.g

ov/behavioral-
health/substance-use-

prevention-early-
intervention/sabg 

Program Description: The Colorado Department of Human Services, Office of Behavioral Health, Community 
Programs (OBH) administers a portion of the Federal Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant 
(SABG) from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to fund primary 
prevention by providing universal, selective, and indicated prevention activities and services for persons not 
identified as needing treatment. 
  
The SABG program's objective is to help plan, implement, and evaluate activities that prevent and treat substance 
use disorders. The SABG is authorized by section 1921 of Title XIX, Part B, Subpart II and III of the Public Health 
Service (PHS) Act. The PHS Act required the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to 
create regulations as a precondition to making funds available to the states and other grantees under the SABG. 
Title 45 Code of Federal Regulations Part 96 was published on March 31, 1993, and The Tobacco Regulations for 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant, Final Rule, 61 Federal Register 1492 was published on 
January 19, 1996.  
 
SAMHSA's Center for Substance Abuse Treatment's (CSAT) Performance Partnership Branch, in collaboration with 
the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention's (CSAP) Division of State Programs, administers the SABG. The federal 
block grant guidelines include primary prevention activities that are directed at individuals who do not require 
treatment for substance use disorder. Comprehensive primary prevention programs, policies, practices, and 
approaches target both general population and subgroups that are at high risk for substance misuse and abuse. 
Persistent Drunk Driving/Law Enforcement Assistance Funds Prevention Program  

Number of youth served 11,500 
Number of parents served 21,000 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  In year 5/5 (next year) 

an evaluation report 
will be available. 

https://cdhs.colorado.gov/behavioral-health/substance-use-prevention-early-intervention/sabg
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URL for more program information:  https://cdhs.colorado.g
ov/persistent-drunk-

driving-and-law-
enforcement-

assistance-funds 
Program Description: In 2017 the Prevention Persistent Drunk Driving (PDD) funds and Law Enforcement 
Assistance Funds (LEAF), two state cash fund allocations, were combined together to award three separate 
community coalition contracts, designated as No DUI Colorado Coalitions. Newly awarded contracts must support 
primary prevention efforts to prevent impaired driving and/or the local conditions that facilitate this behavior at all 
levels of the community, especially among young drivers. Awardees will employ comprehensive primary 
prevention programs and practices, including OBH's No DUI Colorado campaign strategies that target both general 
population and subgroups that are at high risk for substance misuse and abuse for those ages 15–34. 
  
The Law Enforcement Assistance Fund is state funds financed from DUI offenses for community substance abuse 
prevention programs and projects. Monies allocated to the Office of Behavioral Health Prevention are used to 
establish a statewide program for the prevention of driving after drinking; train teachers, health professionals, and 
law enforcement in the dangers of driving after drinking; prepare and disseminate educational materials dealing 
with the effects of alcohol and other drugs on driving behavior; and prepare disseminating education curriculum 
materials for use at all levels of school. Pursuant to legislation passed in 1998, penalties were increased for high 
BAC and repeat DUI offenders.  
 
Referred to as the Persistent Drunk Driver Act of 1998, this legislation defined the PDD and created the PDD Cash 
Fund, which is funded by a surcharge imposed on convicted DWAI/DUI offenders. Monies in the PDD fund are 
subject to annual appropriation by the general assembly with the scope of their use stipulated by statute. Overall, 
the primary purpose of the fund is to support programs that are intended to deter persistent drunk driving or 
intended to education the public, with particular emphasis on the education of young drivers, regarding the 
dangers of persistent drunk driving. In recent years the scope of the fund was expanded to include assisting 
indigent DUI offenders with the cost for required treatment or intervention services. 
Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to Treatment School-Based Health Center 
Project 

 

Number of youth served 3,000 youth 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://drive.google.co

m/file/d/1qgyxTWGza1j
bMqd_9DyxC4E_nDTYuf

mA/view 
URL for more program information:  https://cdhs.colorado.g

ov/screening-brief-
intervention-and-

referral-to-treatment-
sbirt-school-based-
health-center-sbhc 

Program Description: The adolescent Screening, Brief Intervention, Referral to Treatment (SBIRT) - School-Based 
Health Center (SBHC) Project is a five-year collaborative venture between the Colorado Department of Human 
Services - Office of Behavioral Health (CDHS-OBH) and the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
(CDPHE). Funding is being administered through the Office of Behavioral Health to the Colorado Department of 
Public Health and Environment to CDPHE-funded school-based health centers (SBHC) around Colorado in order to 

https://cdhs.colorado.gov/persistent-drunk-driving-and-law-enforcement-assistance-funds
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qgyxTWGza1jbMqd_9DyxC4E_nDTYufmA/view
https://cdhs.colorado.gov/screening-brief-intervention-and-referral-to-treatment-sbirt-school-based-health-center-sbhc
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institutionalize SBIRT as a standard of care into existing CDPHE-funded SBHCs who are voluntarily participating in 
this project. 
  
Adolescent SBIRT is a research-based approach to the identification of risky substance use and provides brief 
interventions and referral to treatment to those at risk of developing substance use problems. SBHCs are 
convenient medical clinics that offer health care to children and youth either in a school or near school grounds. 
SBHCs have primary care providers such as doctors, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants, as well as mental 
health providers. 
  
This SBIRT-SBHC project funding is supporting SBHCs across the state by:  
• Providing SBIRT universally and addressing student needs to reduce harms associated with alcohol, tobacco 

and other drug use, as well as commonly reported mental health concerns.  
• Reducing health disparities that impact youth substance misuse by applying Enhanced Culturally and 

Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) Standards.  
• Developing and implementing of SBIRT curricula, including training, technical assistance and evaluation 

components. OBH funding for this project runs from Sept. 10, 2017 through June 30, 2022. The funding was 
$1,037,000 for the first year and has increased to $1,348,000 annually. 

Tony Grampsas Youth Services (TGYS)  
Number of youth served 2,150 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://drive.google.co

m/file/d/1JUY6MXhw3s
UgKG3283R3ExSHM8Ko

Kf1x/view 
URL for more program information:  https://cdhs.colorado.g

ov/tony-grampsas-
youth-services-program 

Program Description: TGYS is a project of the Colorado Office of Children, Youth and Families, Division of Child 
Welfare. TGYS receives a percentage of general tax funds, tobacco master settlement funds, and marijuana tax 
funds. The project is currently funding 68 grantees with 86 programs, 15 of which have been funded to provide 
substance abuse prevention services/programs with a focus on marijuana use prevention, but also inclusive of 
underage drinking prevention. TGYS requires grantees to describe prevention work and evaluates program 
outcomes (i.e., numbers served, goal accomplishments) through survey results that are based on National 
Outcome Measure Survey (NOMs) as well as shared risk and protective factors. 
Communities that Care  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://cdphe.colorado.

gov/prevention-and-
wellness/injury-

prevention/communitie
s-that-care/youth-

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JUY6MXhw3sUgKG3283R3ExSHM8KoKf1x/view
https://cdhs.colorado.gov/tony-grampsas-youth-services-program
https://cdphe.colorado.gov/prevention-and-wellness/injury-prevention/cofp
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substance-abuse-
prevention 

Program Description: Communities That Care (CTC) is directed through the Colorado Department of Public Health 
and Environment (CDPHE) Prevention Services Division, Violence and Injury Prevention. It is a population-based 
primary prevention program that utilizes community organization based in prevention science, addressing the risk 
and protective factors predictive of future substance misuse and violence. Thirty-four funded communities are 
focused on increasing the number of evidence-based programs and environmental change strategies currently 
taking place in their communities. Thirty are focused specifically on CTC, and four will implement evidence-based 
strategies identified to impact shared risk and protective factors.  
** Due to the environmental approach of the program, numbers served were not available for this report. 
Botvin LifeSkills Training Program Implementation in Colorado Supported by Center 
for the Study and Prevention of Violence, University of Colorado Boulder 

 

Number of youth served 7,004 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description: Since 1996, the Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development project at the Institute of 
Behavioral Science, University of Colorado Boulder, has been identifying evidence-based (or research-proven) 
programs for healthy youth development. For over 20 years, a team at the Center for the Study and Prevention of 
Violence (CSPV), CU Boulder, has helped replicate evidence-based programs around the country, including Botvin’s 
LifeSkills Training (LST).  
 
During 2020–2021, there were two projects that funded implementation of the LST program across 29 middle 
schools in Colorado. One project provides support to middle schools for three years and the other for four years. 
CSPV also initiated replication of LST High School with a small group of pilot schools during 2020–2021, providing 
support for two years. Through these LST implementation grants, CSPV helps schools to identify in which class to 
teach the program to all eligible students; ensures implementing teachers are trained by the program developer; 
monitors program fidelity through classroom observations, feedback surveys, and staff interviews/visits; and 
provides ongoing assistance and problem-solving to support high quality implementation. 
  
During the 2020–2021 academic year, LST Middle School was provided to 6,373 students at 29 Colorado schools, 
and LST High School was provided to 631 students at five Colorado schools.  
 
Description of the LST Middle School program:  
Botvin LST Middle School program is a classroom-based universal prevention program designed to prevent 
adolescent tobacco, alcohol, marijuana use, and violence. LST contains 30 sessions to be taught over three years 
(15, 10, and 5 sessions), and additional violence prevention lessons also are available each year (3, 2, and 1 
sessions). Three major program components teach students: (1) personal self-management skills, (2) social skills, 
and (3) information and resistance skills specifically related to drug use. Skills are taught using instruction, 
demonstration, feedback, reinforcement, and practice.  
 
Description of the LST High School program:  
Botvin LST High School program is a highly interactive, skills-based program designed to promote positive health 
and personal development for youth in grades 9 or 10. The LST High School program uses developmentally 
appropriate, collaborative learning strategies to help students achieve competency in the skills that have been 
shown to prevent substance use, violence, and other health risk behaviors. The program is provided in 10 sessions, 

https://cdphe.colorado.gov/prevention-and-wellness/injury-prevention/cofp


State Reports | Colorado  _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

24 | 2022 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  _________________________________________________ 

and the curriculum is designed to strengthen student abilities in personal self-management skills, general social 
skills, and drug resistance skills.  
 
Center for the Study & Prevention of Violence, University of Colorado 483 UCB, Boulder, CO 80309 | 303-492-1032 
| 303-492-2151 Fax http://www.colorado.edu/cspv | blueprints@colorado.edu  
Below are links that list program results and evaluations of the LST program. Information for both LST Middle 
School and High School are included, but nearly all are for middle school. It has a great deal more research to 
support its success. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification  
Please not that Colorado uses a shared risk and protective factor approach to prevention programming. This 
means that while the programs listed above address underage drinking prevention, it is not the exclusive focus of 
any of these programs as they all work to address risk and protective factors that cut across behavioral health 
outcomes. 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: “Talk. They Hear You.” Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: Forward Together Yes 
Local school district efforts:  No 
Other: Many community-based organizations have their own media campaigns, which 
use leverage local data and risk and protective factors that resonate within their 
community. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts No 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY No 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA, CDC 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: The State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): Rise Above Colorado Yes 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: We utilize SAMHSA's Strategic Prevention Framework and the Center for 
Substance Abuse Prevention's Strategic Framework (https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/20190620-
samhsa-strategic-prevention-framework-guide.pdf)  
 

http://www.colorado.edu/cspv
mailto:blueprints@colorado.edu
https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/20190620-samhsa-strategic-prevention-framework-guide.pdf
https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/20190620-samhsa-strategic-prevention-framework-guide.pdf
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We also use a social determinants of health model as used by the CDC. 
(https://www.cdc.gov/socialdeterminants/index.htm)  
 
The State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup provides data briefs that are used to inform campaigns and 
marketing efforts on both the state and local levels. (https://www.coloradoseow.org/)  
 
Rise Above Colorado is a statewide organization that assists community based organizations in using social 
norming and positive messaging best practices. (https://www.riseaboveco.org/) 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Shaina Riciputi Swain 
Email: Shaina.riciputi@du.edu 
Address: 2148 High Street, Denver, Colorado 80208-7100 
Phone: (303) 871-4088 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Office of the Attorney General  
City of Evans Police Department 
Colorado Department of Human Services 
Natural Highs 
Governor's Office 
Colorado Senate  
Colorado House of Representatives  
Rise Above Colorado  
Denver Family Crisis Center 
Daniels Law Firm 
Centennial Mental Health Summit County  
Woodland Park Police Department Prowers County  
Colorado Municipal League University of Colorado  
Colorado Department of Public Safety  
Colorado Department of Corrections  
State Judicial Department  
Westminister Police Department  
Phoenix Multisport  
Colorado Department of Health and Environment  
Gold Belt Build a Generation 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: https://coag.gov/task-force/ Please note that while this task force addresses 
underage drinking, it is not its sole focus. 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Colorado Health Institute and the Office of Behavioral Health within the Colorado Department of 
Human Services  
Plan can be accessed via: https://www.coloradohealthinstitute.org/research/prevention-strategic-plan Please 
note that while this plan addresses underage drinking, it is not the exclusive focus of it. 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment administers the Healthy Kids 
Colorado Survey every two years. The 2019 results on tableau are available (link below) and fact sheets and 
info graphics will be available soon. 

https://www.cdc.gov/socialdeterminants/index.htm
https://www.coloradoseow.org/
https://www.riseaboveco.org/
mailto:Shaina.riciputi@du.edu
https://coag.gov/task-force/
https://www.coloradohealthinstitute.org/research/prevention-strategic-plan
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Report can be accessed via: 
https://cohealthviz.dphe.state.co.us/t/HSEBPublic/views/13_19HKCSHS_Tableau_05_21sizetest/Story1/monic
a.clancy@state.co.us/eba17518-5820-4ebc-b799-
36d19aa88e43?:display_count=n&:showVizHome=n&:origin=viz_share_link&:isGuestRedirectFromVizportal=y
&:embed=y 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended N/A 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1.27 million 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2021 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended:  Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:  Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  Yes 
Fees No 
Other: No data No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Funds for the Persistent Drunk Driving/ Law Enforcement Assistance Fund are derived from Fines paid by 
people convicted of a DUI. Portions of these prevention funds are used to prevent Underage drinking. 

Additional Clarification  
Enforcement expenditures:  
1. The Liquor Enforcement Division uses SureScan Fake ID detection app technology to detect and prevent the use 
of false identification by underage persons. This is used during concerts, events, and Cops In Shops. The cost for a 
year subscription is $3,840 per year.  
2. During compliance checks, we use Callyo technology to record and actively listen as the minor operative 
attempts a purchase. Callyo costs the liquor Enforcement Division $4,200 per year.  
3. The total costs of compliance check operations are variable year over year due to a variety of factors including, 
but not limited to, personnel costs, travel costs, gas prices, product prices, minor operative availability, 
administrative costs, and materials/equipment costs. At this time, we are unable to separate out the raw data at a 
task based level to give an accurate assessment.  

https://cohealthviz.dphe.state.co.us/t/HSEBPublic/views/13_19HKCSHS_Tableau_05_21sizetest/Story1/monica.clancy@state.co.us/eba17518-5820-4ebc-b799-36d19aa88e43?:display_count=n&:showVizHome=n&:origin=viz_share_link&:isGuestRedirectFromVizportal=y&:embed=y
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