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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 
Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   
Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12- to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021).  2021 Utah State Report – Underage 
Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Utah Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Brent Kelsey 
Assistant Director 

Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Phone:  (801) 538-4305 

Email:  bkelsey@utah.gov 
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Utah 
State Population: 3,205,958 
Population Ages 12–20:  446,000 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 49,000 (11%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 30,000 (6.8%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (1.3%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 0 (*%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 13,000 (8.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 6,000 (4%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 34,000 (24.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 24,000 (17.3%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (32.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (17.9%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.5 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 29 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,750 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 2 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (5%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health Services Overview19 

The Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) is authorized under Utah 
State Code Annotated §62A-15-103 as the single state authority for mental health and substance 
abuse in Utah.  Utah statutes require the State Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
to: “... set policy for its operation and for programs funded with state and federal 
money...establish, by rule, minimum standards for local substance abuse authorities and local 
mental health authorities...develop program policies, standards, rules, and fee schedules for 
DSAMH...” (Utah Code Title 62A, Chapter 15, Section 105 “Authority and Responsibilities”) 
and that DSAMH “...contract with local substance abuse authorities and local mental health 
authorities to provide a comprehensive continuum of services in accordance with division policy, 
contract provisions, and the local plan...” (Utah Code 62A-15-103. “Division – Creation – 
Responsibilities”). 

DSAMH carries out its statutory obligations by contracting with Local Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Authorities for the delivery of behavioral health services.  DSAMH distributes 
federal and state funds through contracts (counties are required to provide matching funds) and 
monitors compliance by the Local Authorities to ensure compliance with statutory mandates and 
contracted services.  Contracting requirements, monitoring and oversight, rule writing, 
interagency coordination, and technical assistance are used to influence and guide systems of 
care.  DSAMH also provides leadership and coordination with other state agencies, the state 
legislature, and advocacy groups. 

Local Prevention is organized through the Local Substance Abuse Authorities (LSAA) system, 
meaning the designated authority is responsible for completing the Strategic Prevention 
Framework (SPF) at the community level.  The LSAA is responsible to provide prevention 
services throughout the entire LSAA.  Each LSAA has a Prevention Coordinator that coaches 
community coalitions and may provide or contract direct service of evidence-based strategies 
within the LSAA.  As noted, DSAMH distributes federal and state funds to the LSAA for 
prevention services.  The LSAAs and local coalitions work together to get through the SPF 
process for the communities.  The LSAAs collaborate with tribal entities where possible.  
Through the coalition efforts, the LSAAs work with local health departments, hospitals, mental 
health facilities, schools, and businesses. 

Prevention Services 

Utah and the LSAAs target all groups for substance use prevention services.  Using the SPF, the 
LSAAs use the data to identify needs and gaps, including disparities among racial and ethnic 
groups.  The LSAAs also use the data to identify existing resources and then work with 
community partners to ensure that all populations in need are receiving the prevention services 
that best suit their needs. 

 
19 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Utah) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, Center for Substance 
Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and 
Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific 
populations.   
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The LSAAs work with their local prevention coalition to recruit or reach all populations in their 
communities.  The strategies selected for each population are culturally appropriate for each 
community. 

Given the diverse nature of the various Local Authorities, geographically, culturally, 
economically, and organizationally, the specifics of planning for services are left to the counties 
and their Local Authorities and monitored closely by DSAMH during its annual audits, area plan 
reviews, and technical assistance visits.  Each county is responsible for preparing and submitting 
their “Area Plan” to DSAMH for approval each year, and then the implementation of those plans 
is monitored throughout the year. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds administered by the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Utah used 
for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, state funds 
and Medicaid funds account for the largest sources (34.8 percent and 18.6 percent, 
respectively).20  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2018–2019, Utah designated reduction of 
underage drinking in adolescents as part of the number one priority for use of SABG funds.21,22 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of Utah’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

 
  

 
20 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Utah 2020. 
21 FY 2018/2019 – (Utah) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of State 
and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
22 Note that FY 2020/2021 priorities for use of SABG funds were not available. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Utah’s performance in enacting, enforcing, and 
creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.  
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?   

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?   

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents?   

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

Yes 
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

Yes 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

Yes 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

Yes 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

Yes 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
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Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 365 
Maximum number of days 365 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

40 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

12:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; no passengers who are not immediate family 
members, unless accompanied by licensed driver 
21 or older 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

No 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 (Passenger restrictions are lifted at age 16 
years, 6 months; unsupervised night driving 
restrictions remain until age 17) 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
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Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Manager, server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Both 

Notes: In Utah, the off-premises establishments subject to mandatory training are "off-premise beer 
retailers." "Off-premise beer retailers" are licensed to sell "beer," which in Utah is any product that 
contains not more than 5% alcohol by volume or 4% by weight, and is obtained by fermentation, 
infusion, or decoction of any malted grain. 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

N/A 

Notes: Although employees must be at least 21 years of age to sell "liquor" at off-sale establishments 
in Utah, persons between 16 and 21 years of age may sell "beer", defined as containing not more 
than 5% ABV or 4% ABW on the premises of a beer retailer for off- premise consumption if under the 
supervision of a person 21 years of age or older who is on the premises. 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
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Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

N/A 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 200 feet 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 200 feet 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes ($1,000,000 limit for one person and 
$2,000,000 limit for all injured parties per 
occurrence.) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? Yes (Retailers that furnish beer only for off-
premises consumption are exempt.) 

Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
Notes: Liability is strictly imposed for furnishing alcohol to an underage drinker.  Evidence of retailer's 
negligence is not required. 

 
Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes ($1,000,000 limit for one person and 
$2,000,000 limit for all injured parties per 
occurrence.) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? Yes (Social host must be 21 years of age or older.) 
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Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

Specific 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

N/A 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? No 
Notes: In Utah, an individual may not knowingly conduct, aid, or allow an "underage drinking 
gathering." An “underage drinking gathering” means a gathering of two or more individuals: (a) at 
which an individual knowingly serves, aids in the service of, or allows the service of an alcoholic 
beverage to an underage person; and (b) to which an emergency response provider is required to 
respond, except for a response related solely to providing medical care at the location of the 
gathering. The definition does not otherwise specify a Property Type or an Action by Underage Guest. 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Keg sales prohibited 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

N/A 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

N/A 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? N/A 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

N/A 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

N/A 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? N/A 
Is a deposit required? N/A 
Does law cover disposable kegs? N/A 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No; however, this state is a control state, and 
control states may impose additional restrictions 
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on the sale of products that are not reflected in 
statute or regulation. 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

No 

What alcohol types may be shipped? N/A 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

N/A 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

N/A  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

N/A  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

N/A 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

N/A 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

N/A 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

N/A 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? N/A  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

N/A 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited  
Spirits Prohibited  
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Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer  
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
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Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  Yes 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving Yes 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

Yes (The status of full-day price reductions is 
uncertain) 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price Yes 
Increased volume without increase in price Yes 
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Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 

Wine Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 

Spirits Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

18  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

19 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, age-appropriate appearance with no age 
enhancements. Males will be clean shaven or 
have facial hair that is groomed and not excessive 
in length or appearance. Females will not wear 
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excessive makeup nor provocative attire. No 
jewelry on hands. Hats and clothing consistent 
with casual attire commonly worn by peer group. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Mandated 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

3 years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? 5–30-day suspension and/or $500–$3,000 fine 
What is the penalty for the second offense? 10–90-day suspension and/or $1,000–$9,000 fine 
What is the penalty for the third offense? 15–120-day suspension up to revocation and/or 

$9,000–$25,000 fine 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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Utah State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Utah Department of Public Safety/State Bureau of Investigation 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 153 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 3,440 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,441 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 107 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 1,441 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 107 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,296 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 110 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 59 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $107,750 
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Smallest fine imposed $250 
Largest fine imposed $9,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 30 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 250 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 15 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

Additional Clarification    
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors is the 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control. The Utah State Legislature created the department by statute and 
charged it with the responsibility of conducting, licensing, and regulating the sale of alcoholic beverages in a 
manner and at prices that reasonably satisfy the public demand and protect the public interest, including the rights 
of citizens who do not wish to be involved with alcoholic beverages. The purpose of control is to make liquor 
available to those adults who choose to drink responsibly, but not to promote the sale of liquor. By keeping liquor 
out of the private marketplace, no economic incentives are created to maximize sales, open more liquor stores, or 
sell to underage persons. Instead, all policy incentives to promote moderation and to enforce existing liquor laws 
are enhanced. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Parents Empowered  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report www.ParentsEmpowere

d.org 
URL for more program information www.ParentsEmpowere

d.org 
 

Program Description: Parents Empowered (PE) is a statewide underage drinking prevention media program that 
targets parents and caregivers with children ages 9-16 years old to educate and provide them with information 
about the harmful effects of alcohol on the developing brain, along with proven skills for preventing underage 
alcohol use. Media for dissemination includes (in English and Spanish) a website, prevention bulletins, billboards, 
and radio, television, and digital ads. Community events are held at the local level through coalition efforts, and 
collateral information is distributed at each event. Press releases are sent out either quarterly or semi-annually to 
various media outlets to inform them of changing statistics in the underage prevention drinking rates. 
 

http://www.parentsempowered.org/
http://www.parentsempowered.org/
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Eliminate Alcohol Sales to Youth   
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report No URL is available for 

this report, but we have 
a PDF of the annual 

report and can send it 
upon request: Jill 
Sorensen E.A.S.Y. 

Program Coordinator 
Utah Department of 

Public Safety Highway 
Safety Office 5500 W 
Amelia Earhart Drive 

#155 Salt Lake City, UT 
84116 (801) 903-7078 

URL for more program information No data 
 

Program Description: Eliminate Alcohol Sales To Youth (EASY) is a universal alcohol compliance program that 
incorporates two phases of an intervention that: 1) trains clerks and cashiers in off-premise alcohol retail outlets 
throughout Utah in the laws regarding alcohol sales in general and preventing alcohol sales to youth; and 2) 
coordinates and monitors a Covert Underage Buyers (CUBS) program, where CUBS are allowed to go into stores 
and attempt to purchase alcohol without manipulation. Violators are fined and prosecuted according to local laws. 
The focus of this program is to eliminate alcohol sales to youth and therefore reduce alcohol availability to youth. 
 
LifeSkills Training 

 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report https://www.blueprints

programs.org/programs
/5999999/lifeskills-

training-lst/ 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: LifeSkills Training (LST) is a three-year universal substance abuse and violence prevention 
program designed to be implemented with middle/junior high school students. LST consists of 15 core sessions in 
Level 1, 10 booster sessions in Level 2, and five booster sessions in Level 3. Units are taught sequentially and 
delivered primarily by classroom teachers. LST provides students with training in personal self-management, social 
skills, and resistance skills specifically related to drug use. Skills are taught using instruction, demonstration, 
feedback, reinforcement, and practice. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
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The LifeSkills Training program is being done statewide, but was only started in fall 2018. Data is not yet fully 
available for this program but will be in the future. 
 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The Utah Department of Human Services has a consultation agreement with the 
Native American tribes that has been in existence for more than 10 years. The Department of Health also has a 
tribal agreement in place. The Department of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) maintains a 
willingness and commitment to work with the six recognized Utah Tribes in collaborating on resources to 
reduce substance abuse issues within Native American culture and to increase community resources. These 
tribes are identified as sovereign nations; therefore, our collaborative efforts are limited to the extent we are 
allowed. We continue to seek additional opportunities to participate in the Governor’s Native American 
Summit and other Native American conferences.    
There is a need to address underage drinking with the Native American population, but currently, none of the 
workgroups specifically work with preventing underage drinking.    
The DSAMH's Local Substance Abuse Authority (LSAA) network provides trainings, resources, and statistics on 
risks related to underage drinking. Some underage drinking prevention objectives are also addressed during 
annual site visits and monitoring of Utah’s 13 LSAAs. Several of the LSAAs have direct relationships with the 
Native American tribes in their area and provide or share resources and information for prevention and 
treatment. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns: Parents Empowered Yes 
Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY No 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, The 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, Center of Application Prevention Technology, 
and National Institute on Drug Abuse 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, 
Department of Alcohol and Beverage Control, Department of Health, Local Substance 
Abuse Authority Network through the Utah Association of Counties, and the Utah State 
Board of Education 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): R&R Partners, the advertising firm that manages the 
legislative portion of the funds to implement PE on an annual basis. R&R staff 

Yes 
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collaborates with the Underage Drinking Prevention Committee that consists of 
government agencies. 
Other: The Utah Prevention Coalition Association and local coalitions Yes 
Best practice standards description: Utah has adopted the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Guiding 
Principles document and created the Utah Guiding Principles. This document outlines principles and guidelines 
for substance abuse prevention programs, strategies, and policies in Utah. It is designed to ensure that 
prevention resources are effective and appropriate. It was created in partnership with the DSAMH, the Utah 
Behavioral Healthcare Committee’s Prevention Network, and the Utah State Office of Education, and includes 
research cited by Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) and the NIDA 
publication Preventing Drug Abuse Among Children and Adolescents. Before implementing any prevention 
program or activity, the substance abuse prevention coordinator in one of the 13 LSAAs in a county-aligned 
area must be contacted and consulted to help make sure an appropriate, effective, and consistent message is 
delivered in the participating community. Many LSAA plans are reviewed through an annual area plan review 
process. Utah also follows Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) Evidence-Based Guidelines for 
implementing evidence-based policies, programs, and strategies. To ensure that all interventions are evidence-
based, the DSAMH convened an Evidence-Based Workgroup to review proposed interventions. CSAP has 
created a guidance document that includes the following criteria for considering an intervention to be 
evidence-based:  
- Definition 1: It is included on Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health-approved federal lists or 
registries of evidence-based interventions.   
- Definition 2: It is reported (with positive effects) in peer-reviewed journals.   
- Definition 3: It has documented effectiveness supported by other sources of information and the consensus 
judgment of informed experts, as described in the following set of guidelines, all of which must be met.  
(Please note that all four of the following criteria must be met.): 1. The intervention is based on a theory of 
change that is documented in a clear logic or conceptual model. 2. The intervention is similar in content and 
structure to interventions that appear in registries and/or the peer-reviewed literature. 3. The intervention is 
supported by documentation that it has been effectively implemented in the past, and multiple times, in a 
manner attentive to scientific standards of evidence and with results that show a consistent pattern or credible 
and positive effects. 4. The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed 
prevention experts that includes: well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in evaluating 
prevention interventions similar to those under review; local prevention practitioners; and key community 
leaders as appropriate, e.g., officials from law enforcement and education sectors or elders within Indigenous 
cultures.   
By Utah code, the standards are promulgated by the Utah Department of Human Services through the DSAMH 
as authorized by Title 32B, Chapter 2, Part 4, Alcoholic Beverage and Substance Abuse Enforcement and 
Treatment Restricted Account Act and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Rule R523-8.  
Evidence-Based Prevention Registry: the Evidence-Based Workgroup serves as the informed experts for Utah.  
Utah collaborates with the Center of Application Prevention Technologies (CAPT) for technical assistance to 
ensure we are using the latest technology and web systems to track all prevention information related to 
prevention of underage drinking, DUI, alcohol consumption, and other related issues. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Doug Murakami 
Email: dmurakami@utah.gov 
Address: Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 1625 South 900 West, PO BOX 30408, Salt Lake City, 
UT 84130-0408 
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Phone: (801) 977-6820 
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  

Attorney General's Office 
Governor’s Office and First Lady's Uplift Families Project 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Department of Health 
Department of Public Safety/Highway Safety Office 
Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Juvenile Justice Services 
Law Enforcement (DEA, local law enforcement) 
Utah State Board of Education 
Local Substance Abuse Authority Network (Prevention Coordinator Representative) 
University of Utah Addiction Center   
Utah Poison Control Center   
R&R Partners (ad agency that manages several governmental contracts for substance abuse prevention) 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 
Prepared by: Department of Alcoholic and Beverage Control prepares an annual report. 
Report can be accessed via: The plan is not posted on any website, but can be provided upon request by 
contacting Doug Murakami at dmurakami@utah.gov 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $57,416.61 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $410,782 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,014,536.40 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

mailto:Not
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Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Parents Empowered campaign 
Estimate of state funds expended $2,565,600 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Sales of alcoholic beverages generate approximately a 0.06 percent income tax that is used to help fund the 
Parents Empowered underage drinking prevention campaign.    
Income from sales of alcoholic beverages is also used to fund compliance checks of licensed establishments 
that serve alcoholic beverages to ensure minors are not served.    
Botvins LifeSkills Training (an educational class taught in K-12 schools) funding comes from the Underage 
Drinking Prevention and Substance Abuse Program Restricted Account as described in 53F-9-304 (alcohol 
taxes) and the substance abuse prevention grant originates from the Substance Abuse Prevention Account as 
described in 51-9-405 (fees associated with DUI/reckless driving).    
Beer tax money is made available to municipalities to provide treatment, prevention, and law enforcement. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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