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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 
Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   
Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12- to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021).  2021 Tennessee State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Tennessee Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Anthony Jackson 
Director of Prevention 

Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services 
Phone:  (615) 532-3914 

Email:  anthony.jackson@tn.gov 
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Tennessee 
State Population: 6,829,174 
Population Ages 12–20:  769,000 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 124,000 (16.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 76,000 (9.9%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 4,000 (1.6%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) <1,000 (0.1%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 42,000 (15.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 28,000 (10.2%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 78,000 (30.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 47,000 (18.4%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (47.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (22.5%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.2 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 80 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,811 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 20 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (13%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health Services Overview32 

The Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS) serves 
as Tennessee’s substance use disorders (SUD), mental health, and opioid authority.  TDMHSAS 
is responsible for system planning; setting policy and quality standards; licensing personal 
support services agencies and substance abuse and mental health services and facilities; system 
monitoring and evaluation; and disseminating public information and advocacy for persons of all 
ages who have a substance use, mental, or co-occurring disorder, including serious emotional 
disturbance.  TDMHSAS also provides inpatient psychiatric services for adults, including acute, 
subacute, and secure forensic beds, through its operation of four fully accredited Regional 
Mental Health Institutes. 

The Division of Substance Abuse Services (DSAS) receives and administers federal block grant 
and state funding for substance abuse services.  Its mission is to improve the quality of life of 
Tennessee citizens by providing an integrated network of comprehensive SUD services, fostering 
self-sufficiency, and protecting those who are at risk of substance abuse, dependence, and 
addiction.  One of DSAS’ strengths is its integrated substance abuse system.  This system 
consists of providers, state departments, state agencies, judicial courts, grassroots organizations, 
and faith-based organizations that are collaborating to provide an effective and efficient delivery 
of mental health and substance abuse services to Tennesseans.  

According to the National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services (N-SSATS), in 2017, 
the overall Tennessee treatment system included 217 facilities.  Of those, 64.5 percent were 
private non-profit facilities and 32.5 percent were private for-profit agencies.  DSAS purchases 
services directly from non-profit and for-profit providers and has established a partnership that is 
transparent and respectful. 

Prevention Services  

DSAS’ prevention structure has three service components to address the prevention needs of 
individuals, communities, regions, and the state.  This structure provides the essential framework 
and resources necessary to reach Tennessee’s high-need communities to increase protective 
factors while decreasing risk factors.  Prevention service components include provider agencies, 
prevention coalitions, and regional workgroups.  Within this system, high-need communities and 
populations are identified by a State Epidemiological and Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) 
assessment.  Provider agencies deliver culturally appropriate selected and indicated programs per 
an assessment through the Tennessee Prevention Network program.  A network of county-level 
coalitions whose work is governed by the Strategic Prevention Framework is the cornerstone of 
the prevention structure.  They work to reduce underage alcohol use, underage tobacco use, and 
prescription drug use across the lifespan by working within their home communities to 
implement data-based plans that endeavor to solve the problems in their community through 
environmental and community-based strategies.  Additionally, the Coalition for Healthy and Safe 
Campus Communities serves the higher education institutions in Tennessee, a population known 
to be at great risk of alcohol and drug misuse. There are currently 48 anti-drug coalitions that are 

 
32 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Tennessee) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the 
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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serving 75 percent of Tennesseans.  Regional Overdose Prevention Specialists (ROPS) have 
been embedded in county coalitions to provide a regional hub to plan and coordinate evidence-
based and emerging practices to maximize community involvement.  ROPS work collaboratively 
with coalitions and communities to ensure that key stakeholders across the state receive training 
on opioid overdose, opioid use disorder, harm reduction, stigma, and naloxone use.  In addition 
to providing training, ROPS distribute naloxone to individuals at high risk of overdose and other 
key stakeholders in the community.  Regional Workgroups deliver universal indirect 
interventions, which leverage the efforts of individual coalitions and program providers by 
implementing environmental strategies in all areas of the state, including those areas without 
direct funding or a stand-alone program or coalition.  

The state coordinates prevention activities through the Tennessee Prevention Advisory Council 
(TN-PAC).  TN-PAC expands and strengthens prevention resources, reduces barriers, and 
increases communication throughout the prevention system.  TN-PAC’s members are comprised 
of state agencies, statewide organizations, regional prevention providers (including coalitions), 
and the Director of Prevention Services.  Its structure and membership intentionally reflect the 
diverse racial, ethnic, faith, socioeconomic, and professional sectors of the state.  The Evidence-
Based Practices Workgroup has operationalized the definition of “evidence-based practice” in 
Tennessee and serves as the expert panel to determine the viability of proposed interventions 
through a rigorous review and approval process.  The SEOW profiles and prioritizes population 
needs, resources, service gaps, and readiness capacity.  It provides guidance to the 
comprehensive strategic planning process at state and community levels and makes data-
informed recommendations to TN-PAC. 

Treatment Services  

DSAS’ treatment structure has four service components to address the needs of individuals, 
communities, and the state.  This structure provides the framework and resources necessary to 
plan, develop, administer, and evaluate a statewide system of services for the treatment of 
persons whose use of alcohol and/or other drugs has resulted in patterns of abuse or dependence.  
Treatment Services’ components include provider network, recovery courts, coalitions, and the 
TN RedLine.  The provider network is the backbone of DSAS’ treatment structure.  They offer a 
full continuum of care based on the American Severity Index (ASI) screening tool and the 
American Society of Addiction Medicine Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of 
Substance-Related Disorders, Second Edition, Revised (ASAM PPC-2R) to assess adults, 
pregnant women, and women with dependent children; and the T-ASI and ASAM for 
adolescents.  Ninety-eight percent of all treatment providers have been certified Co-Occurring 
Disorders Capable or Co-Occurring Enhanced Disorders.  Utilizing state funds, Recovery Courts 
provide treatment services on-site or refer individuals to DSAS-funded treatment agencies.  
Coalitions work to provide marketing and community linkages to promote resources.  The TN 
RedLine operates a 24 hours per day/7 days per week toll-free telephone line (TN-Redline) to 
answer questions and give referrals to individuals seeking information relative to substance use 
and abuse prevention, treatment, and recovery as well as co-occurring disorders and problem 
gambling.  Callers who would like to communicate directly with a treatment provider can receive 
a warm handoff, or if they prefer to receive the information via text message, the RedLine has 
that capability.  Other treatment services include Medical Detoxification (state-funded); 
Medically Monitored Withdrawal Management; Tele-Treatment Program; HIV/AIDS Early 
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Intervention Program; Problem Gambling Outreach, Education, Referral and Treatment 
Program; Opioid Treatment Program; and Medication Assisted Treatment. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds administered by the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Tennessee 
used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, state 
funds and SABG funds account for the largest sources (50.5 percent and 30.9 percent, 
respectively).33  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Tennessee did not 
specifically identify underage drinking as a prevention priority for use of SABG funds.34 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of Tennessee’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment

 
 
  

 
33 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Tennessee 2020. 
34 FY 2020/2021 – (Tennessee) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of 
State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Tennessee’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

No 
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

Notes: In Tennessee, coding for the Specific Affirmative Defense afforded to retailers is based on 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-5-108. This statute provides that no permit or license shall be revoked on the 
grounds that the operator or any person working for the operator sells beer to a minor over the age 
of 18 years if such minor exhibits an identification, false or otherwise, indicating the minor's age to be 
21 or over, if the minor's appearance as to maturity is such that the minor might reasonably be 
presumed to be of such age and is unknown to such person making the sale. It is also an affirmative 
defense to criminal prosecution if any person accused of giving or buying alcoholic beverages or beer 
for a minor acted upon a reasonably held belief that the minor was of legal age. Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-
15-404.   

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

16 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws)-For Ages 17 and Under 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 18 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 365 
Maximum number of days 365 
Notes: In Tennessee, the driving privileges of an offender are suspended for one year, or until the 
offender reaches 17 years of age, whichever is longer. 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws)-For Ages 18-20 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 365 
Maximum number of days 365 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
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What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

11:00 PM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; no more than one passenger, unless 
passengers are household members being 
transported to school or accompanied by parent 
or licensed driver 21 or older 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Manager, server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 
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Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Both 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

Yes 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Off-premises 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Unspecified 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
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Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Fact finder must determine that retailer 
knew customer was a minor beyond a reasonable 
doubt.) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
Notes: A Tennessee court held that a  property owner who does not furnish the alcohol may be held 
liable to third parties under common law if he/she knowingly allows minors to consume alcohol on 
his/her property and it is foreseeable that minors may then operate motor vehicles. In that case, the 
court held that the person who actually furnished the alcohol to the minor was shielded from liability 
under Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-10-101. 
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Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? No 
Notes: Liability in Tennessee is limited to an owner, occupant or other person having a lawful right to 
the exclusive use and enjoyment of property who knowingly allows an "underage adult" to consume 
alcoholic beverages, wine or beer on the property. An "underage adult" is defined as a person who is 
at least 18 years of age but less than 21 years of age. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-15-404. 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? No law 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No law  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No law  

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? No law 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No law 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No law 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? No law 
Is a deposit required? No law 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No law 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No  

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
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Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

No 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted 
Wine Permitted  
Spirits Permitted  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 



State Reports | Tennessee  ________________________________________________________________________________________ 

14 | 2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  _________________________________________________ 

Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $1.29 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$1.21 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 15.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

15.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$4.40 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 15.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

15.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  Yes 
Multiple servings at one time Yes 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

Restricted (Permitted before 10 p.m.) 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price Yes 
Increased volume without increase in price Yes 
Notes: After 10 p.m., on-premises retailers are prohibited from offering multiple servings at one time 
or drinks with increased volume for the same price as regular-sized drinks.  
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Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (360 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (10 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (10 days) 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

Not specified 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20  

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, shall not purposely disguise appearance so 
as to misrepresent the person's actual age. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Prohibited 
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Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

2 years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $1,500 fine 
What is the penalty for the second offense? $5,000 fine 
What is the penalty for the third offense? $10,000 fine, possibility of suspension or 

revocation of license 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
Notes: The commission may, upon finding that a licensee has violated subdivision (d)(1) two (2) or 
more times during any 2-year period, and for good cause shown, fine the licensee not more than ten 
thousand dollars ($10,000) and require retraining of all employees of the licensee under the 
supervision of the commission in lieu of suspending or revoking the license of the licensee. 
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Tennessee State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission State Law Enforcement 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

TN Alcoholic Beverage 
Commission 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 523 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 5,752 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 2,997 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 523 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 2,364 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 511 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 386 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $791,500 
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Smallest fine imposed $1,000 
Largest fine imposed $17,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 18 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 449 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 3 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 182 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Additional Clarification    
Number of retail licensees in state:   
We calculated our retail establishments based off of the number of licenses that exist for our liquor by the drink 
establishments, package stores, grocery stores, and distilleries (which have some retail authority). We only track 
the number of current licensees and thus cannot confirm the number of licensees we had last year. We estimate 
that we had 5,752 such retail licensees for 2019.   
Random compliance checks:   
Our random operations are the initial minor compliance checks we do on our establishments throughout the year.  
While we do create target lists for each operation, the process through which our agents choose to select those 
targets is by random selection in a specific area of the state. In addition to the initial operations, we conduct 90-
day follow-ups with only the establishments that had sold previously. Because we target those locations solely on 
having a sale to a minor within that time frame, we do not consider these to be randomly selected.     
License suspensions:   
There are 17 citations that are subject to suspensions in 2018. A total of 18 citations have been issued suspensions 
in 2019. For the 41 citations that have resulted in a definite number of days of suspension, we have had 449 total 
days of suspension. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Tenneessee Prevention Network  

Number of youth served 7,000 
Number of parents served 300 
Number of caregivers served 100 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: The Tennessee Prevention Network is a statewide prevention program directed at providing 
primary prevention services to individuals who have not been determined to require treatment for substance 
abuse. The array of services falls into two categories: (1) Selective prevention services, which include programs and 
practices that are delivered to sub-groups of individuals identified on the basis of their membership in a group that 
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has an elevated risk for developing substance abuse problems. An individual's personal risk is not specifically 
assessed or identified and is based solely on a presumption given his or her membership in the at-risk subgroup. 
(2) Indicated prevention services include programs that focus on populations that are identified on the basis of 
individual risk factors or initiation behaviors that put an individual at high risk for developing substance abuse 
problems. The individuals targeted at this stage, although showing signs of early substance use, have not yet 
reached the point where a clinical diagnosis of substance abuse can be made. The service goals of this program are 
as follows:   
 
a. To delay the onset of substance use, and substance use disorder for at least 70 percent of the population 
served, as reported in the Tennessee Office of Prevention Services (TOPS) Youth Prevention Survey.   
b. To reduce illegal use of substances by at least 50 percent for the indicated population, as reported in the TOPS 
Youth Prevention Survey.   
c. To reduce the prevalence of negative consequences associated with substance misuse for 65 percent of the 
population served, as reported in the TOPS Youth Prevention Survey.   
d.  To increase protective factors and decrease risk factors associated with substance misuse by at least 60 percent 
of the population served, as reported in the TOPS Youth Prevention Survey. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: The State of Tennessee Department of Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse Services, Division of Substance Abuse Services, Office of Prevention 
funds 46 community coalitions using Block Grant and State dollars. These coalitions 
use environmental strategies intended to reduce or counter alcohol advertising or 
marketing. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Don't know/No 
answer 

Federal campaigns:  Not applicable 
Regional and local media campaigns:  Yes 
Local school district efforts:  Not applicable 
Other:  Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Not applicable 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies):  

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state: TN Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Services, Division of Substance Abuse Services 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other: Tennessee Evidence-Based Practice Workgroup Yes 
Best practice standards description: Tennessee's Evidence-Based Practice Workgroup has established 
standards for evidence-based best practices such that a practice must meet at least one of the following 
criteria:  
1.  Inclusion in federal registries of evidence-based interventions 
2.  Reported, with positive effects on the primary targeted outcome, in peer-reviewed journals   
3.  Documented effectiveness supported by other information sources and the consensus of informed experts 
as described in the following set of guidelines, both of which must be met:   
Guideline 1: The intervention is demonstrated to be similar in theory of change, general principles of effective 
prevention, or content and structure to the interventions that appear in registries, federal agency publications, 
and/or peer-reviewed literature.    
Guideline 2: The intervention is supported by documentation of effective implementation in the past, including 
at least one replication. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Anthony Jackson Jr., Director of Prevention 
Email: Anthony.jackson@tn.gov 
Address: 500 Deaderick St, Fifth floor, Nashville, TN 37243 
Phone: (615) 532-3914 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Memphis Area Prevention Coalition 
Prevention Alliance of Lauderdale 
Maury County Prevention Coalition 
Cheatam County Community Enhancement Coalition 
Hamilton County Coalition 
Power of Putnam 
Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services 
Coalition of Union County 
Unicoi Prevention Coalition 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 
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Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,027,826 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,755,262 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $147,922 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $301,333 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $254,254 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Other programs include educational programs that target youth that are 
economically disadvantaged. 
Estimate of state funds expended $719,670 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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