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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 
Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   
Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12- to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 South Dakota State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
South Dakota Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Melissa Renes 
Prevention Program Specialist 

Division of Behavioral Health – Prevention Services 
Phone:  (605) 367-5236 

Email:  melissa.renes@state.sd.us 
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South Dakota 
State Population: 884,659 

Population Ages 12–20:  103,000 
   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 22,000 (21.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 16,000 (15.8%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 1,000 (2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) <1,000 (0.7%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 6,000 (17.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 4,000 (12%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 16,000 (45.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 12,000 (34.6%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (59.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (28.6%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.0 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 13 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 760 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 1 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (6%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health Overview15 

The Department of Social Services includes the following divisions:  Behavioral Health, Child 
Care Services, Child Protection Services, Child Support, Economic Assistance, Finance and 
Management, Legal Services, Medical Services (State Medicaid Authority), and the Human 
Services Center.  

The Division of Behavioral Health (DBH) oversees the publicly funded behavioral health 
services in South Dakota.  Through a network of 42 accredited and contracted substance use 
disorder (SUD) treatment and prevention providers, DBH provides a full continuum of services 
including prevention, outpatient, intensive outpatient, day treatment, medically monitored 
intensive inpatient treatment, clinically managed low-intensity residential treatment, clinically 
managed residential detoxification, and specialty programs including intensive 
methamphetamine treatment and treatment for pregnant and parenting women.  

There are 11 private, non-profit Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs) within South 
Dakota’s community-based mental health delivery system.  Each CMHC is governed by a local 
board of directors, and each CMHC is responsible for providing services in a specific geographic 
service area.  Primary populations include adults with serious mental illness and children with 
serious emotional disturbances and their families, including those with co-occurring mental 
health and SUDs.  

In addition, DBH also provides mental health and SUD services to adult offenders committed to 
the Department of Corrections’ institutions to assist the Department of Corrections in using 
evidence-based practices to maximize opportunities for rehabilitation and recovery.  

DBH also oversees the following: Prevention Program, Resource Coordination Program, 
Accreditation Program, Criminal Justice Initiative Program, and Juvenile Justice Initiative 
Program.  DBH employs 80 staff and is the single state agency for South Dakota, providing both 
mental health and SUD treatment services. 

Prevention 

DBH prevention infrastructure covers the entire state of South Dakota and maintains 
expenditures of not less than 20 percent of the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block 
Grant (SABG).  

South Dakota is divided into three main regions that the Prevention Resource Centers (PRCs) 
serve, ensuring coverage to all 66 counties of the state.  The six identified primary prevention 
strategies are: 

1. Information Dissemination:  PRCs and coalitions are responsible for providing knowledge 
and increasing awareness of the nature and extent of substance use, addiction, and the effects 
on individuals, families, and communities.  

2. Education:  Thirteen community coalitions provide school-based substance use prevention 
programming. 

 
15 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (South Dakota) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, center for 
Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State 
and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific 
populations.  
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3. Community Based: Twenty coalitions across the state provide the following services: 
• Building and sustaining substance use prevention coalitions. 
• Creating local needs assessments as well as an individual strategic plan. 
• Providing resources to communities related to substance use and/or abuse. 

4. Environmental: Local community task forces provide the following services:  
• Assisting with the development and review of local substance use policies within their 

communities.  
• Assisting communities to maximize enforcement procedures related to the availability 

and distribution of substances.  
5. Alternatives:  DBH supports the development and operation of community-sponsored 

substance-free events for youth through contracts with the 20 coalitions. 
6. Problem Identification and Referral:  DBH contracts with accredited prevention programs to 

offer structured prevention programming for high-risk youth.  These programs serve 
individuals 19–20 years old and youth 18 and under who are referred by law enforcement or 
schools due to alcohol- and drug-related behaviors. 

 
The Prevention Program received a Notice of Grant Award from the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 
for the Partnership for Success (PFS) Grant.  The award was for $1,380,000 per year for 5 years, 
beginning September 30, 2014, to September 29, 2019.  The focus of the grant was the reduction 
of underage drinking with the target population being 12- to 20-year-olds.  Prevention currently 
funds 14 local coalitions in high-need counties to provide community-based and school-based 
programming to the target population related to underage drinking and binge drinking. 

The goals of the PFS Grant were: 

1. Reduce underage drinking by using a data-driven decision-making process (SPF) and 
implementing evidenced-based prevention programs. 

2. To enhance and sustain prevention system capacity to implement EBP to reduce underage 
drinking.  

 
The objectives of the PFS Grant were: 

1. Implement a range of EBPs blending individual and environmental programming. 
2. Coordinate with other local authorities (civil and legal) to enact proven prevention policies. 
3. Collaborate with state, tribal, and community stakeholders to reduce underage drinking.  
4. Increase sub-recipient’s surveillance capacity to implement a Quality Improvement process 

in each funded community with the assistance of local evaluators. 
5. Maintain and update data infrastructure within the funded communities.  
6. Provide training and technical assistance to address gaps in the current substance abuse 

prevention systems. 
7. Increase communities’ knowledge of culturally sensitive evidence-based practices. 
 
An emphasis of the PFS has been to address the gap in prevention programming for minority 
youth, particularly American Indian and immigrant youth, who are at a higher risk of underage 
drinking and negative consequences. Besides a dearth of funding for projects to address these 
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populations, there also is a lack of adequate training and culturally knowledgeable staff to 
implement and support culturally relevant prevention programming. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by SAMHSA.  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that South Dakota used for 
expenditures on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, state funds and 
SABG funds account for the largest sources (49.9 percent and 17.3 percent, respectively).16  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, South Dakota did not 
designate preventing underage alcohol use as a priority for use of SABG funds.17 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of South Dakota’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment 

  

 
16 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – South Dakota 2020. 
17 FY 2020/2021 – (South Dakota) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division 
of State and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details South Dakota’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?   

 
Yes 
 
Yes 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes 
 
Yes 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

No 
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

No 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

Yes 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
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Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Discretionary 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 30 
Maximum number of days 365 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

14 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

3 months with driver education; 6 months 
without 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

0 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

14 years, 3 months 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

10:00 PM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? No 
Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

N/A 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

16 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes 
 
Yes 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 
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Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

No 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Both 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

Notes:  An off-sale licensee may permit persons 18 years old or older to sell alcoholic beverages if less 
than 50 percent of its gross business transacted is from alcoholic beverage sales or the licensee or an 
employee that is at least 21 years of age is on the premises when the alcoholic beverage is sold. 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 



State Reports | South Dakota  _____________________________________________________________________________________ 

10 | 2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  _________________________________________________ 

Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, no license on campus 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, no license on campus 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits  

Notes: An alcoholic beverage or special events license may be issued by the Board of Regents for 
periodic sale of beer or wine for consumption at a site that involves the performing arts, 
intercollegiate athletics, fundraising, a reception, or conference. 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

6 Citations 
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Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

Specific 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

Yes 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? No 
Notes: The "preventive action" provision in South Dakota allows the defendant to avoid criminal 
liability by establishing, as an affirmative defense, that immediately upon learning of the illegal 
consumption, he or she took action to stop the illegal consumption and to secure the contraband 
alcoholic beverages. 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? 8.00 or 16.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No  

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Not required 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 
Notes: A "keg" is defined as an eight or sixteen gallon reusable plastic or metal container. 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No  

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 
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Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

Yes  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

Yes 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited  
Spirits Prohibited  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.27 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
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Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.93 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 2.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 2.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
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Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$3.93 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 2.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 2.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

Yes 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (10 days) 
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Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

Yes 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (10 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

Yes 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (10 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Notes: Wholesalers may not sell below cost. Any changes in price must remain in effect for at least 10 
days unless continuation of the amended price would violate the sales-below-cost prohibition in S.D. 
Codified Laws § 35-4-129.  

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

No 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

N/A 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

N/A  

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? N/A 
Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? N/A  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

N/A 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

N/A 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No data 
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What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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South Dakota State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Department of Revenue 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Department of 
Revenue 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 279 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 4,867 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 622 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 51 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 58 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $54,500 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $2,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 2 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 10 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 3 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Additional Clarification    
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
South Dakota Substance Use Prevention Programming  

Number of youth served 138,199 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: The state of South Dakota funds substance use prevention programming with the use of 
federal dollars through Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block grant funds. The State contracts 
with accredited prevention providers to provide school- and community-based primary prevention programming 
targeting underage alcohol and illicit drug use. Prevention providers provide a variety of interventions including 
community awareness, classroom-based programming such as LifeSkills or Project Success, environmental 
strategies to reduce youth access to alcohol, alternative activities, and early identification and intervention for 
youth identified at risk for a Substance Use Disorder (SUD). 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The State contracts with two prevention providers who provide substance use 
prevention programming on two federally recognized reservations in South Dakota. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 
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Description of program:  Not applicable 
State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking No 

Federal campaigns:  Not applicable 
Regional and local media campaigns:  Not applicable 
Local school district efforts:  Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Not applicable 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstration 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Department of Social Services Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: South Dakota has identified 30 evidence-based programs that are relevant 
to the cultural and racial composition of the state's youth and young adult population.  The state provides 
funding to implement these evidence-based programs in communities and reservations in South Dakota 
through regional and local prevention providers. The state also requires the use of the Strategic Prevention 
Framework (SPF) by each contracted prevention provider. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  
Not applicable  

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  No data 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other: No data No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  
South Dakota did not use any allocated state general funds in CY 2019 for substance use prevention. 
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