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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 
Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   
Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12- to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Oregon State Report – Underage 
Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 
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Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Oregon Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Luci Longoria 
Health Promotion Manager 

Public Health Division 
Phone:  (971) 673-1064 

Email:  luci.longoria@dhsoha.state.or.us 
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Oregon 
State Population: 4,217,737 
Population Ages 12–20:  447,000 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 93,000 (20.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 60,000 (13.4%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 3,000 (2.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (1.9%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 28,000 (17.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 15,000 (9%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 61,000 (39.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 43,000 (28%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (61.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (26.0%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.2 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 31 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,888 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 22 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (33%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview11 

Until June 2015, the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) had a separate Addictions and Mental 
Health Division (AMH).  As of July 2015, OHA combined the Medicaid and AMH Divisions 
into the Health Systems Division (HSD).  The HSD biennial budget of $15.9 billion will be 
managed in two parts.  The Superintendent of the Oregon State Hospital now reports directly to 
the Director of the OHA.  The Oregon State Hospital has a biennial budget of $995 million.  
HSD manages the remaining federal and state funds.  This new division includes member and 
provider services, compliance and regulation (including a contracting section), operations 
support, and a section devoted to data systems.  HSD contracts with community providers, 
including 36 community mental health programs and 16 Coordinated Care Organizations.  

Local mental health authorities are typically comprised of the County Board of Commissioners, 
who are responsible for the management and oversight of the public system of care for mental 
illness, intellectual/developmental disabilities, and substance use disorders (SUDs) at the 
community level.  Local mental health authorities must plan, develop, implement, and monitor 
services within the areas they serve to ensure expected outcomes for consumers of services, 
within available resources. 

Community mental health programs provide care coordination and treatment for people with 
mental illness, intellectual/developmental disabilities, and SUDs.  Core services include 
screening, assessment, and referral to providers and community organizations, as well as 
emergency or crisis services.  All members of a community can access core services from 
community mental health programs, subject to the availability of funds.  These safety net and 
crisis services play a key role in the overall behavioral health system. 

Prevention 

The Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention (HPCDP) section (within the Oregon 
Health Authority’s Public Health Division) continues to build a comprehensive Alcohol and 
Other Drug Prevention and Education Program (ADPEP).  HPCDP provides administration and 
management, data and evaluation, health communications, support for state-level interventions, 
and community funding to plan and implement strategies that prevent alcohol, tobacco, and other 
drug use through community mobilization efforts.  This includes 36 counties, culturally specific 
organizations, 9 federally recognized Native American tribes, and 6 Regional Health Equity 
Coalitions.  

ADPEP’s comprehensive program prioritizes:  

• State and community interventions:  Creating environments that reduce exposure to alcohol 
and other drug availability, marketing, and promotions to discourage excessive drinking as 
well as raising the price of alcohol.  

• Mass-reach health communications:  Researching and developing mass-reach health 
communications and education that support alcohol and other drug prevention initiatives.  

 
11 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Oregon) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the 
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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• Data and evaluation:  Continuous monitoring of alcohol and other drug trends and program 
effects to identify population needs and inform future areas of focus.  

• Infrastructure, administration, and management:  Ensuring leadership, accountability, and 
oversight for all program strategy and expenditures.  

 
Oregon is ending a 5-year federal Partnership For Success (PFS) Strategic Prevention 
Framework (SPF) grant to address underage drinking and binge drinking among young adults 
and prescription drug misuse and abuse among youth and young adults.  SPF-PFS provided 
funding for administration and management, health communications assessment, data collection 
and analysis, and contracts to five federally recognized tribes and nine counties to address these 
priority areas and strengthen their capacity to plan and implement prevention strategies.  The 
PFS allocation model was guided by a previous SPF Advisory Council and the State 
Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW).  The SPF Advisory Council and SEOW were 
requirements and mechanisms to guide PFS-SPF sub-recipient funding to reach high priority 
areas within the state. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds administered by the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Oregon 
used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, 
Medicaid funds and state funds account for the largest sources (77.4 percent and 11.5 percent, 
respectively).12  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Oregon designated 
decreasing binge drinking among 8th and 11th graders and reducing per capita alcohol 
consumption among those age 14 and older as part of priority number one for use of SABG 
funds.13 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of Oregon’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

  
 

12 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Oregon 2020. 
13 FY 2020/2021 – (Oregon) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of 
State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Oregon’s performance in enacting, enforcing, 
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a private residence if parent/guardian is 
present or consents 

 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a private residence if parent/guardian is 
present or consents 

 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
Notes: Although Oregon does not prohibit Internal Possession for purposes of this report, it does 
prohibit "personal possession" of an alcoholic beverage.  "Personal possession" includes the 
"consumption of a bottle of such beverages, or any portion thereof or a drink of such beverages." Or. 
Rev. Stat. § 471.430.  Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but which do so 
without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal 
Possession for purposes of this report. 

 
Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 
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Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

No 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

Yes 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

No 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

Yes 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

No 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol N/A 
• Possession of alcohol N/A 
• Consumption of alcohol N/A 
The law applies to people under what age? N/A 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

N/A 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days N/A 
Maximum number of days N/A 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 with driver education; 100 hours without 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

12:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; for first six months, no passengers under 20 
who are not immediate family members unless 
accompanied by parent or instructor.  For second 
6 months, not more than 3 passengers under 20 
who are not immediate family members unless 
accompanied by parent or instructor. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 
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Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a private residence, if 
parent/guardian/spouse supplies alcohol 

Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Licensee, manager, server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Both 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
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• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 
license fees, or other  

No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

Yes 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Both 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  
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Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, family members 
Notes: Oregon's social host provision states that its prohibitions apply only to a person who is present 
and in control of the location at the time underage consumption occurs. 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? More than 7.00 
Prohibitions  
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Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $6,250/1 year) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

Yes 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Active (requires action by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No; however, this state is a control state, and 
control states may impose additional restrictions 
on the sale of products that are not reflected in 
statute or regulation. 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted 
Spirits Prohibited 
Notes: An out-of-state direct shipper may deliver malt beverages to Oregon residents only if that 
state allows Oregon licensees to deliver malt beverages directly to a resident of that state. 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Beer, wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements 
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Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

Yes 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

Notes: An out-of-state direct shipper may deliver malt beverages to Oregon residents only if that 
state allows Oregon licensees to deliver malt beverages directly to a resident of that state. 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted  
Spirits No Law  
Notes: If the licensee ships via a for-hire carrier, the carrier must have been approved by the Liquor 
Control Commission prior to delivering malt beverages, wine or cider to any resident of Oregon. 

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.08 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
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If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

Restricted (Permitted before midnight) 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price Yes 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (14 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 

Wine Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 



 __________________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Oregon 
 

 _________________________________________________  2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 15 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 

Spirits Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 

Notes: Licensees must make beer price lists available for Liquor Control Commission inspection. 
 

Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

19  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20  

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, must look under the age of 26 years. 
Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Mandated 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? 10 days or $1,650 fine 
What is the penalty for the second offense? 30 days or $4,950 fine 
What is the penalty for the third offense? 30 days 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? Revocation of license 
Notes: If a licensee is a member of the Responsible Vendor Program, they may be eligible for lesser 
penalties. 
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Oregon State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don't know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 11 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 14,719 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 722 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 112 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 424 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 78 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Don’t know/No answer 

Data are collected on these activities Don’t know/No answer 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 61 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $87,440 
Smallest fine imposed $660 
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Largest fine imposed $990 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 12 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 135 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 6 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Additional Clarification    
Underage compliance checks or minor decoy operations in retail outlets are conducted by the Oregon Liquor 
Control Commission (OLCC) and local law enforcement agencies throughout the state. There is no mechanism to 
collect and gather the data at the state level for local efforts.   
 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnerships for Success   

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report Final evaluation reports 

are available by 
contacting 

luci.longoria@state.or.u
s 

URL for more program information 
 

No data 

Program Description: The Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnerships for Success (SPF-PFS) is a grant from the 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). It ensures that the state, counties, and 
tribes work together to use data-driven decision-making processes to develop effective prevention strategies and 
sustainable prevention infrastructure to address underage drinking among persons ages 12-20 and high-risk 
drinking among persons ages 18-25. Nine counties and five tribes were funded for the SPF-PFS project through 
June 2019. The statewide evaluation is available upon request. 
 
Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention and Education Program (SAMHSA Substance 
Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant) 

 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
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Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

 
Program Description: Oregon promotes a comprehensive, community-wide approach grounded in evidence-based 
public heath practice to prevent excessive drinking and related harms in communities. Oregon’s comprehensive 
Alcohol and Drug Prevention and Education Program (ADPEP) provides administration and management, data and 
evaluation, health communications, support for evidence-based state-level interventions and community funding 
to plan and implement evidence-based programs and strategies that prevent excessive alcohol use, including 
underage drinking. This includes 36 counties, culturally specific organizations, nine federally recognized Native 
American tribes, and six Regional Health Equity Coalitions (RHECs).   
 
Alcohol use is the third leading cause of preventable deaths among people in Oregon. Reducing excessive drinking, 
which includes alcohol use by those under 21, is a priority for Oregon. State interventions aim to 1) create 
community environments that reduce exposure to alcohol availability, and 2) reduce marketing and promotions to 
discourage excessive drinking. These strategies address community environments that reduce risk factors and 
increase protective factors associated with excessive drinking and underage drinking. 
  

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 
 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: Each of Oregon's nine federally recognized tribes are funded by SAMHSA's 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant to address underage drinking. Five tribes have 
also been funded by SAMHSA's SPF-PFS grant to reduce underage drinking and binge drinking among 18-25 
year olds.    
The Public Health Division regularly meets with the Oregon Health Authority's Tribal Affairs Director to 
promote collaboration and communication between the Oregon Health Authority and tribal governments 
related to excessive drinking prevention. The State of Oregon, its tribes, and its counties host and coordinate 
prevention meetings on a regular basis. Reducing underage drinking is a priority for the tribes in Oregon and 
many have goals to reduce youth binge drinking and current use of alcohol. Tribes are using a variety of 
strategies to address these issues. Community coalitions or strategic teams are used to mobilize communities 
to address underage drinking through environmental prevention strategies. Oregon’s Tribal Best Practice 
programs are often implemented to provide culturally relevant education, skills, and opportunities to support 
communication around alcohol, uniting through a “culture of prevention” framework of support to protect 
communities. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Oregon has developed an eight-year strategic plan to reduce 
excessive drinking, which includes underage drinking. Three objectives of this plan 
directly incorporate work to reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing:  
1. Increase the price of alcohol and dedicate a portion of revenues to prevent 
excessive drinking.    

Yes 
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2. Increase the number of jurisdictions covered by alcohol marketing, promotion, 
and retail restrictions, such as limiting outlet density, price promotions, days or hours 
of plan, sale, and point of purchase interventions. Environments that reduce exposure 
to alcohol availability, marketing, and promotion discourage excessive alcohol use.    
3. Increase the number of colleges and universities with restrictions on alcohol 
promotion, sale, or sponsorship at college or university events.    
In 2018, the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) conducted the Tobacco and Alcohol Retail 
Assessment, a statewide assessment of tobacco and alcohol advertising, marketing 
and promotion in locations where people shop daily. The assessment’s goal is to shed 
light on the techniques the alcohol and tobacco industries use in retail locations. It also 
exposes industry tactics, such as using flavors and low prices to appeal to youth.   
To collect data in a clear and objective way, OHA trained and partnered with teams of 
local health department staff, nonprofit organizations, tribes, and community 
volunteers to use a standard assessment tool. These teams visited over 2,000 retailers 
that sold tobacco and alcohol and were accessible to youth under 18. Communities 
can take steps to limit youth access to alcohol and reduce excessive drinking by 
changing the rules for where and when alcohol can be sold.    
The retail assessment led to new collaborations between OHA Tobacco Prevention and 
Education Program (TPEP) and OHA Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention Education and 
Program (ADPEP), as well as prevention coalition members, health department staff, 
volunteers, and youth. 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns: Tailored local campaigns funded with state 
prevention grants 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts No 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY No 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Oregon Health Authority, Health Promotion and Chronic 
Disease Prevention Section of the Public Health Division 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: Oregon's legislature adopted SB 267 Evidence-Based Programs (EBP) into 
law in 2003, which requires five state agencies to gradually increase the amount of funding allocated (75 
percent) to evidence-based drug and alcohol prevention programs. Oregon's Public Health Division, Health 
Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section (HPCDP) uses best practice standards from the CDC’s Guide 
to Community Preventive Services. The Community Preventive Services Task Force, an independent, non-
federal, volunteer body of public health and prevention experts, recommends several evidence-based 
community strategies to reduce excessive drinking. The task force conducts a comprehensive meta-analysis of 
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studies to determine recommended evidence-based population-level interventions. These evidence-based 
strategies are included HPCDP's eight-year strategic plan to address excessive drinking and harmful alcohol 
use, including the prevention of underage drinking. HPCDP funds counties, tribes, and Regional Health Equity 
Coalitions to implement evidence-based practices and strategies supported by CDC’s Guide to Community 
Preventive Services, SAMHSA, and Oregon's Tribal Best Practices, which are best practices for Native American 
communities. 

 
Additional Clarification  
The following are practices based on evidence for Native American communities as described by Oregon’s Tribal 
Best Practices:  
1. Science-validated programs evaluated using scientific methods: Refers to those approaches based upon 
social science or behavioral science theories that were designed for non-Native communities. Some of these have 
been adapted to meet cultural needs.    
2. Science-replicated programs implemented more than one time: Refers to those science-based programs 
that have been implemented more than one time in Native communities or in non-Native communities.    
3. Culturally validated programs designed according to the “Indian Way”: Refers to those approaches that 
are based on principles, laws, and values of specific American Indian communities. These historical/traditional 
teachings form the basis for the programs. They are culturally relevant, culturally appropriate, and designed 
according to the Indian Way. They have been implemented according to culturally accepted practices and have 
been accepted as valid by the community itself. They have not been evaluated using the scientific method.    
4. Culturally replicated Native American programs passed on to others: Refers to those programs that have 
been developed and implemented according to the Indian Way and have been passed on to others and continue 
to be implemented and utilized. 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Luci Longoria 
Email: luci.longoria@state.or.us 
Address: 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 730 Portland, OR 97232 
Phone: (971) 673-1064 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Addiction and Mental Health Planning and Advisory Committee; Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission   
 
See websites for membership information. State agency liaisons provide support upon request.   

• Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division   
• Oregon Health Authority, Health Systems Division   
• Oregon Health Authority, Health Policy and Analytics   
• Oregon Youth Authority 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMHPAC/Pages/Subcommittee-BH.aspx; 
https://www.oregon.gov/adpc/pages/index.aspx 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 

Prepared by: Strategic Plan of the Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section of the Public 
Health Division, Oregon Health Authority (2017-2025)  
Plan can be accessed via:  
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/DISEASESCONDITIONS/CHRONICDISEASE/Pages/index.aspx 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 
Prepared by: STOP Act Survey Report 
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Report can be accessed via: No data 
Additional Clarification  
Oregon’s Public Health Division is engaging a broad sector of statewide alcohol and drug partners to identify a 
sustainable means and mechanism for the planning and implementation of the Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention 
and Education Program.     
The Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission is an independent state government agency that was created by the 
Oregon Legislature to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of state and local alcohol and drug abuse 
prevention and treatment services (www.oregon.gov/adpc      
http://www.oregon.gov/adpc/pages/index.aspx). 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $1,400,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $701,119 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  Yes 
Fees No 
Other: General Funds Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Beer and wine taxes are collected by the state and disbursed to cities, counties, and the General Fund. The 
Public Health Division includes a portion of the General Fund in grants to local communities to address the 
harmful effects of alcohol and excessive drinking, including underage drinking. 

Additional Clarification  
The federal funds that Oregon receives for alcohol and drug prevention through SAMHSA's Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant and Strategic Prevention Framework grants were not included in the state 
expenditures above. 
Estimated expenditures on compliance checks based on 20% of alcohol field operations for FY 2019. 
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