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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 
Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   
Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12- to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Oklahoma State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Oklahoma Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Jessica Hawkins 
Director, Prevention Services 

Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services 
Phone:  (405) 522-5952 

Email:  jhawkins@odmhsas.org 
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Oklahoma 
State Population: 3,956,971 
Population Ages 12–20:  456,000 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 77,000 (16.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 49,000 (10.7%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 4,000 (2.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (1.1%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 20,000 (13.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 13,000 (8.5%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 53,000 (38%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 34,000 (24.1%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (48.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (23.2%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.3 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 57 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,429 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 8 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (10%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Prevention, Early Identification, Treatment, and Recovery  
Support Systems15 

Services and supports are available statewide through a network of providers and community-
based programs.  These include 13 Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs), 70 substance 
use disorder treatment providers, 17 prevention organizations, and 53 specialty providers, 
including housing, advocacy, and consumer- and family- operated programs.  There are 21 
Health Homes (HH) for adults with serious mental illness and 20 HHs for children with serious 
emotional disturbance.  Of these, 14 HH programs are provided by CMHCs.  These HHs are 
required to provide care coordination and care management to ensure integrated behavioral 
health and health care.  In addition, there are 2 RA1SE NAVIGATE programs to assist 
individuals who are experiencing First Episode of Psychosis (FEP), along with 1 FEP Crisis Care 
program and 14 statewide early Serious Mental Illness (eSMI) Outreach Programs provided 
through CMHCs to develop and maintain collaborative partnerships with local higher education 
institutions and local hospitals to connect with the age range that is most at risk for eSMI.  

As the single state agency for substance abuse and the state mental health authority, Oklahoma 
Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse (ODMHSAS) fulfills state-level 
responsibilities as regulator and purchaser of services.  In some areas of the state, and with 
specific levels of care, ODMHSAS also operates as a direct provider of services.  Other state 
agencies collaborate with ODMHSAS to fulfill similar roles within their authority.  Regional and 
local responsibilities are typically carried out by specific organizations with which ODMHSAS 
contracts.   

The ODMHSAS Central Office in Oklahoma City provides planning, training, technical 
assistance, oversight, fiscal and accountability support for the entire system.  Key Central Office 
functions include support for treatment and recovery services, decision support services, 
information technology services, consumer advocacy and wellness, the inspector general, human 
resources management and development, finance, legal, grants management, and provider 
certification.  All leadership and management structures are organized under the ODMHSAS 
Commissioner and her executive staff, including the Chief Operating Officer and the Deputy 
Commissioner for Treatment and Recovery Services. 

Substance Use Disorder Services 

The substance use disorder (SUD) treatment and recovery services funded through the 
ODMHSAS service system are provided at 70 facilities, covering all 77 Oklahoma counties.  The 
intention is to offer a full recovery-oriented system of care.  All SUD treatment organizations 
must be state licensed (certified).  Facilities can be licensed as a basic Alcohol and Drug 
Treatment Program providing a specific service set or as a Certified Comprehensive Addiction 
Recovery Center (CCARC) providing a full continuum of care.  There are currently nine 
CCARCs throughout the state.  All providers must be Medicaid-compensable, and many accept 
other types of third-party payment and self-payment.  ODMHSAS-funded services are primarily 
purchased through contracts with private, for-profit, and non-profit certified agencies to provide 

 
15 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Oklahoma) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the 
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.   
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multiple levels of withdrawal management, residential treatment, halfway house, outpatient, 
intensive outpatient, and early intervention services with Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds and state appropriations.  These agencies include SUD 
treatment facilities, community mental health centers, community action agencies, youth and 
family services agencies, and schools.  Among the contracted facilities, the University of 
Oklahoma Health Sciences Center provides workforce development trainings, screening, 
assessment, and treatment planning for children with fetal alcohol spectrum disorder.  An 
essential component to the recovery system is the state’s network of Oxford Houses.  Currently, 
there are 116 Oxford Houses throughout the state with more in development.  Most of the 
Oxford Houses have accessed loans from a revolving loan fund administered by ODMHSAS.  
Oxford houses have become more open to medication-assisted treatment (MAT) residency, 
resulting in an increase of MAT residents.  Due to the acceptance of MAT residents by Oxford 
House, ODMHSAS utilized State Opioid Response grant funds to employ two additional 
outreach workers specializing in MAT.  ODMHSAS also directly operates three SUD residential 
treatment facilities staffed with state employees.  

ODMHSAS currently has 18 specific outpatient contracts for adolescent substance use.  
ODMHSAS contracts with one male residential treatment program, in Tulsa, for 24 beds that 
utilizes equine therapy as a part of the programming.  There is one state-operated residential 
facility.  ODMHSAS has a contract with Street School, an alternative school, to provide 
substance use education to teachers to help them respond therapeutically to those students who 
have an SUD.  This alternative school provides screening, assessment, and therapy through other 
financial means.  CMHC and SUD providers have been offered training and certification in the 
Community Reinforcement Approach and Adolescent Community Reinforcement Approach.  
All outpatient contractors are eligible to provide early intervention, outpatient, and intensive 
outpatient as well as other ancillary services such as outreach, peer recovery for 16 and up, 
wellness, rehabilitation, etc.  All contracted treatment agencies, whether a community mental 
health center or a SUD treatment agency, are to provide integrated co-occurring services for 
children and adolescents.  

Oklahoma has three children’s crisis centers in the following cities:  Red Rock in Oklahoma 
City, The Calm Center in Tulsa, and Children’s Recovery Center in Norman.  Each of these 
crisis centers are legislatively required to provide detoxification for children and adolescents if 
needed.  These detoxification services are in addition to the 18 specific contracts for adolescent 
substance use.  

In addition to training CMHCs contracted with ODMHSAS to provide adolescent and young 
adult substance use services, ODMHSAS has also trained several other CMHCs in the evidence-
based practices of Motivational Interviewing, GAIN SS, Community Reinforcement Approach, 
and Adolescent Community Reinforcement Approach to help improve the services they provide 
to adolescents and young adults.  

Prevention Services 

The 17 Regional Prevention Coordinators (RPCs) serving all 77 counties in Oklahoma are the 
backbone of Oklahoma’s prevention service system.  RPCs develop community-level prevention 
work plans in partnership with community coalitions.  Community-level prevention work is 
based on the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) and aligned with state prevention priorities.  
Services focus on achieving sustainable, population-level outcomes.  ODMHSAS also 
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administers 2Much2Lose (2M2L) as an overarching moniker of Oklahoma’s underage drinking 
prevention initiative.  2M2L initiatives include a youth leadership development program, 
delivery of AlcoholEdu in Oklahoma schools, and the enforcement of underage drinking laws.  
No SABG funds are used for enforcement, only training and technical assistance and support 
services to communities and law enforcement agencies.  Other programs administered through 
the ODMHSAS prevention initiatives include the Oklahoma Partnership Initiative funded by the 
Administration on Children and Families; Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to 
Treatment services funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
(SAMHSA’s) Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), state and foundation sources; the 
Office of Suicide Prevention funded by the SAMHSA Center for Mental Health Services and 
state-appropriated funds; Mental Health First Aid training program funded by state-appropriated 
resources; the SPF Partnerships For Success (which ended September 29, 2019) and SPF Rx 
programs funded by SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) and state-
appropriated funds; the State Targeted Response to Opioids Grant and SOR Grant funded by 
CSAP; the Prescription Drug Overdose project funded by CSAT; the First Responders-
Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act project funded by SAMHSA; and Oklahoma’s 
Prescription For Change initiative supported by state-appropriated funds.  Two emerging 
prevention services include a partnership with the Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs to 
share a full-time employee for prevention and promotion services reaching veterans and military 
families and the development of Good Behavior Game Support Center for Oklahoma schools. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by SAMHSA.  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Oklahoma used for expenditures 
on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, state funds and Medicaid 
funds account for the largest sources (40.7 percent and 33.8 percent, respectively).16  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Oklahoma designated 
reduction of underage drinking as part of priority number five for use of SABG funds.17  

 
16 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and MHBG Reports – Oklahoma 2020. 
17 FY 2020/2021 – (Oklahoma) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of 
State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1:  Sources of Oklahoma’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Oklahoma’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a private location 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

No 
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   No 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

N/A 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

N/A 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol No 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 18 
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Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 180 
Maximum number of days 180 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 years, 6 months 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

10:00 PM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; no more than one passenger who is not a 
household member, unless accompanied by 
driver at least 21 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

16 years, 6 months 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
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Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Manager, server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

New 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
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Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 300 feet. College or university located 
within an improvement district may override 
state restriction. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 300 feet. College or university located 
within an improvement district may override 
state restriction. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 300 feet 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 300 feet 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? Yes 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 
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What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Possession/consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party)  
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, residents of household 
 

Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or more than 4.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $500/6 months) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Passive (requires no action by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No  

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
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Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

Yes  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

No 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes  

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited  
Spirits Prohibited  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.40 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 13.50% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

13.50% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 
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Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.72 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 13.50% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

13.50% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$5.56 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 13.50% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 
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• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

13.50% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price Yes 
Increased volume without increase in price Yes 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 
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Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (60 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (60 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

16  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

21  

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, should not be deceptively mature in 
appearance. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Mandated 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
Notes: Statute states that retailer that knowingly sells alcohol to a person under age 21 shall have 
license revoked upon first offense. 
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Oklahoma State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Law Enforcement Commission 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Oklahoma Alcohol Beverage 
Law Enforcement Commission 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies Not available 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 7,752 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,450 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 256 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 1,442 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 252 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 175 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $194,950 



State Reports | Oklahoma  ________________________________________________________________________________________ 

18 | 2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  _________________________________________________ 

Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $10,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 32 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 731 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 90 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 39 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Additional Clarification    
Data on minors in possession arrests are not available. We know Alcoholic Beverage Law Enforcement (ABLE) did 
not write citations for that law in particular this last year. We know local law enforcement agencies did though, in 
retail and social settings. However, we do not have that data available at this time.      
The difference between the total number of Alcohol Compliance Checks (ACCs) and the total number of random 
ACCs is due to calls the ABLE Commission received from the public. If they received a call with a violation or on a 
reported issue, they would conduct an ACC deliberately, making it not random. This explains the difference in the 
two totals listed for all state compliance checks and random compliance checks. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Regional Prevention Coordinators   

Number of youth served 4,447 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report https://www.ok.gov/od

mhsas/Prevention_/Pre
vention_Initiatives/Regi
onal_Prevention_Coordi
nators_(RPC)/index.htm

l 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: The primary purpose of the Regional Prevention Coordinators (RPCs) is to provide regional 
prevention services by engaging community members, local organizations, public agencies, youth, and the media 
to change community conditions that contribute to alcohol, tobacco, and drug-related problems. A major goal of 
the RPCs is to prevent the onset and reduce the problems associated with the use of alcohol by those under age 
21. All contracted RPCs are required to create and implement a regional alcohol enforcement plan (AEP). Ten out 
of the 17 alcohol enforcement plans made underage drinking a priority based on their community’s needs. 
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Alcohol Edu for Oklahoma High School Students  
Number of youth served 5,758 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://everfi.com/cour

ses/k-12/alcoholedu-
awareness-prevention-

high-school/ 
 

Program Description: Alcohol Edu for High School is an evidence-based, online alcohol prevention course that 
engages teens using the internet, videos, and project-based learning. Alcohol Edu has demonstrated outcomes 
including increased student knowledge about alcohol, improved student attitudes and behaviors, and reduced 
negative consequences associated with underage drinking such as riding in a car with a drinking driver. Alcohol Edu 
delivers a personalized experience to every student and includes a parental component. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
Evaluation data is available for RPC services; however, the data is not a comprehensive evaluation of the RPC 
services. In the RPC section above, findings are provided by the 17 RPCs conducting environmental strategies 
across the state of Oklahoma. For underage drinking strategies, Oklahoma is monitoring the number of new laws 
and policies created, the enforcement efforts of those laws and policies, as well as community advocacy efforts. 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The state has active collaborations with several tribal nations, including Cherokee 
Nation, Osage Tribe, Choctaw Nation, and the Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes. Collaborations include tribal 
representatives serving as Responsible Beverage Sales and Service (RBSS) trainers and members of state 
advisory groups and workgroups. In addition, tribal representatives participate in and host 2 Much 2 Lose 
youth and adult training opportunities throughout the year, and Cherokee Nation is a prevention service 
provider under Oklahoma's Substance Abuse Prevention Block Grant. Multiple tribes work with state-funded 
RPCs to require mandatory RBSS training for all casino employees. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: RPCs advise communities as needed, as requested, or in 
coordination with selected priorities on the harms caused by exposure to alcohol 
advertising. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: Talk. They Hear You Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns:  No 
Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts No 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 

https://everfi.com/courses/k-12/alcoholedu-awareness-prevention-high-school/
https://everfi.com/courses/k-12/alcoholedu-awareness-prevention-high-school/
https://everfi.com/courses/k-12/alcoholedu-awareness-prevention-high-school/
https://everfi.com/courses/k-12/alcoholedu-awareness-prevention-high-school/
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Other:  No 
State procures funding for TTHY No data 

Pro bono No data 
Donated air time No data 
Earned media No data 
Other:  No data 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies):  

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state: Oklahoma Evidence-Based Practices Workgroup through 
the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: Oklahoma's priority is to fund and implement evidence-based 
environmental strategies for the prevention of underage drinking. A strategy is considered a best practice if it 
meets one of the following three criteria:    
• Definition 1: It is included on federal lists or registries of evidence-based strategies and has documented 
positive outcomes.     
• Definition 2: It is reported (with positive effects) in peer-reviewed journals.     
• Definition 3: Documented effectiveness is supported by other sources of information and the consensus 
judgment of informed experts as specified by the Oklahoma Evidence-Based Workgroup. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Jessica Hawkins 
Email: jhawkins@odmhsas.org 
Address: 2000 N.  Classen Blvd, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73106 
Phone: (405) 248-9270 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Law Enforcement (ABLE) Commission 
Oklahoma State Department of Education 
Oklahoma State Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services 
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety 
Oklahoma State Department of Health 
Oklahoma Commission on Children and Youth 
Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy 
University of Oklahoma 
Oklahoma State Legislature 
Oklahoma Prevention Policy Alliance 
Oklahoma Turning Point 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  
https://ok.gov/odmhsas/Prevention_/Prevention_Initiatives/Underage_Drinking_Prevention_Initiatives/index.
html 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
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State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $11,404.49 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $82,159.63 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Alcohol Compliance Checks 
Estimate of state funds expended $11,404.49 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending  06/30/2019 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  Yes 
Fees No 
Other: No data No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The Prevention of Youth Access to Alcohol Revolving Fund consists of all monies received by the Department 
of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services from fines collected pursuant to Section 241 of Title 37. 

Additional Clarification  
New alcohol laws went into effect on October 1, 2018, including:     
• No longer distinguishing between low-point beer (3.2 alcohol by volume [abv]), which was not considered 
an intoxication beverage and was not overseen by the Oklahoma ABLE Commission, and strong-point beer (over 
3.2 abv).      
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• All beer, regardless of alcohol content, is under the oversight of the Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Law 
Enforcement Commission.  Other retailers besides retail spirits licensees (i.e. convenience stores) are allowed to 
sell beer and wine (which increased our overall licensee totals). 
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