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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 
Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   
Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 North Dakota State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
North Dakota Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Pamela Sagness 
Behavioral Health Division Director 

Department of Human Services 
Phone:  (701) 328-8824 

Email:  psagness@nd.gov 
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North Dakota 
State Population: 762,062 

Population Ages 12–20:  91,000 
   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 25,000 (27.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 18,000 (19.7%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 1,000 (2.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) <1,000 (1.7%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 4,000 (16%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (8.4%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 20,000 (53.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 15,000 (40.4%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (60.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (33.0%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.6 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 8 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 506 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 1 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (13%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health Services Overview11 

The Behavioral Health Division within the Department of Human Services serves as the state 
mental health authority, state substance abuse authority (SSA), and state opioid treatment 
authority.  The Behavioral Health Division (NDCC 50-06-01.4) is a policy division responsible 
for reviewing and identifying service needs and activities in the state's behavioral health system 
to ensure health and safety, access to services, and quality of services.  The Division is also 
responsible for establishing quality assurance standards for the licensure of substance use 
disorder program services and facilities and for providing policy leadership in partnership with 
public and private entities.  The Behavioral Health Division does not provide direct services; 
rather, its role is to ensure health and safety and access to a wide range of quality behavioral 
health services across the state. 

The Field Services Division within the Department of Human Services operates eight regional 
human service centers, the State Hospital, and the Life Skills and Transition Center.  During the 
2017 Legislative Session, Senate Bill 2039 (NDCC 50-06-01.4) further defined the purpose of 
the service delivery division within the Department of Human Services.  This service delivery 
division is responsible for providing chronic disease management, regional intervention services, 
and 24-hour crisis services for individuals with behavioral health disorders.  

Each human service center serves a designated multi-county area, providing mental health 
services, substance abuse treatment, disability services, and other human services.  The regional 
human service centers are the access point for State Hospital admissions.  Open access walk-in 
behavioral health assessments have been implemented throughout many of the human service 
centers on certain days and times of the week.  During these times, individuals can walk in and 
meet with a triage specialist and the business office and are then connected to services.  Those 
with acute, severe symptoms are served right away.  Others may be served within one to several 
days or may be referred to other community behavioral health service providers.  Crisis lines are 
answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  During the 2019 Legislative Session, the Field Services 
Division was funded to fully implement a crisis service system statewide.   

Delivering human services involves a partnership between the Department, counties, tribes, and 
service providers.  In addition to providing direct services themselves, the regional human 
service centers also contract with private non-profit providers for crisis residential services, most 
residential services, and the Recovery Centers.    

Substance Abuse Prevention System 

The North Dakota substance abuse prevention system is data-driven, science-based, and follows 
a public health approach.  Prevention services in North Dakota are delivered both directly by the 
SSA and through community organizations/groups/coalitions supported by the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Strategic Prevention Framework – Partnerships 
for Success (SPF-PFS), Opioid State Targeted Response, State Opioid Response (SOR) Grant, 
and other funding sources.  Examples of services delivered directly by the SSA include funding 
community prevention efforts, provision of training and technical assistance to communities 

 
11 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (North Dakota) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, Center for 
Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State 
and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific 
populations.  
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across the state, and statewide communication/media.  Both state- and community-based 
processes are guided by the Strategic Prevention Framework.  Through the state’s State 
Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup, North Dakota reviews available data to ensure services 
address the needs of diverse racial, ethnic, sexual, and gender minorities.  

Through the Strategic Prevention Framework-State Incentive Grant, SPF-PFS, and SABG, 
substance abuse prevention has been integrated into local public health units across the state.  
This integration has been beneficial to the state’s community-level substance abuse prevention 
system in building a sustainable infrastructure that can continue substance abuse prevention 
through continued support by the SABG.  Examples of services delivered at the community 
level, supported by the SABG, include funding to tribal prevention programs and local public 
health units.  The Division’s substance abuse prevention system continues to enhance the level to 
which SABG funds are invested to support implementation of community and tribal prevention 
efforts that can achieve population-level changes.  The tribal prevention programs are required to 
follow the Strategic Prevention Framework as they provide culturally appropriate substance 
abuse prevention coordination and implementation of evidence-based programs, practices, and 
strategies.  This work is one of the strengths of the North Dakota substance abuse prevention 
system—longstanding collaboration with the tribes in the state. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  
Exhibit 1 shows the sources that North Dakota used for expenditures on substance abuse 
prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, Medicaid funds and SABG funds account for 
the largest sources (29.8 percent and 29.5 percent, respectively).12  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, North Dakota designated 
decreasing alcohol use among high school students as part of the number two priority for use of 
SABG funds.13  

 
12 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – North Dakota 2020. 
13 FY 2020/2021 – (North Dakota) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division 
of State and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1:  Sources of North Dakota’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details North Dakota’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?   

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents?   

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
Notes: North Dakota has a statutory provision that prohibits an individual under 21 from having 
"recently consumed" an alcoholic beverage. N.D. Cent. Code § 5-01-08.  Laws that prohibit minors from 
having alcohol in their bodies, but which do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are 
not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession for purposes of this report. 

 
Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

No 
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Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

No 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

Yes 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

No 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol N/A 
• Possession of alcohol N/A 
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• Consumption of alcohol N/A 
The law applies to people under what age? N/A 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

N/A 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days N/A 
Maximum number of days N/A 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

14 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

12 (6 months if driver is 16 or over) 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

15 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

Later of sunset or 9:00 PM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? No 
Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

N/A 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

16 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
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Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

No 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Unspecified 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Unspecified 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

N/A 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
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Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

Notes: Any person who is 18 years of age or older but under 21 years of age may be employed by the 
restaurant to serve and collect money for alcoholic beverages, if the person is under the direct 
supervision of a person 21 or more years of age, but may not be engaged in mixing, dispensing, or 
consuming alcoholic beverages. 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Knowledge of underage status.) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
Notes: If a retail licensee is found liable and exemplary damages are sought, the finder of fact may 
consider as a mitigating factor that the licensee provided to an employee alcohol server training that 
addressed intoxication, drunk driving, and underage drinking. 

 
Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Knowledge of underage status.) 

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
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Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

No 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

N/A 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

N/A 

Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
 

Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? More than 6.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No  

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Not required 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No  

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted 
Spirits Permitted 
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Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Beer, wine, distilled spirits 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

Yes 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

No 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? No  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes  

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer No Law  
Wine No Law  
Spirits No Law  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.16 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 7.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 5.00% 
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

2.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 7.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 5.00% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

2.00% 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Notes: Beer in bulk containers is taxed at $0.08 per gallon. 
Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.50 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 7.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 5.00% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

2.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 7.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 5.00% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

2.00% 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$2.50 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 7.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 5.00% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

2.00% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 7.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 5.00% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

2.00% 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 



 _____________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | North Dakota 
 

 ________________________________________________  2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 15 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

No 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

N/A  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

N/A  

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? N/A 
Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? N/A  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

N/A 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

N/A 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No data 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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North Dakota State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

North Dakota does not have an agency that has a primary responsibility for enforcing laws designed to prevent 
underage drinking. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 1,668 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 1,594 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
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Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification    
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
BASICS  

Number of youth served 250 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information https://www.ndsu.edu/

counseling/basics_alcoh
ol_screening_and_inter

vention/ 
 

Program Description: Brief Alcohol and Screening and Intervention for college students is a service available for 
students who want to explore their alcohol and other drug use. It is designed to assist students in examining their 
own behaviors in a judgment-free environment. BASICS may be required when a student violates NDUS policy in 
regards to alcohol and other drugs. 
 
Campus Attractions  

Number of youth served 9,200 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www.ndsu.edu/

campusattractions/ 
 

https://www.ndsu.edu/counseling/basics_alcohol_screening_and_intervention/
https://www.ndsu.edu/counseling/basics_alcohol_screening_and_intervention/
https://www.ndsu.edu/counseling/basics_alcohol_screening_and_intervention/
https://www.ndsu.edu/counseling/basics_alcohol_screening_and_intervention/
https://www.ndsu.edu/campusattractions/
https://www.ndsu.edu/campusattractions/
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Program Description: Campus Attractions (CA) is dedicated to serving the North Dakota State University 
community by providing educational, cultural, social, and recreational programs and activities through a wide 
variety of resources. CA works hard to provide NDSU students with many unique and entertaining opportunities 
that are alcohol- and substance abuse-free. 
 
CHOICES 

 

Number of youth served 400 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

 
Program Description: CHOICES is a brief alcohol abuse prevention and harm reduction program for college 
students involving interactive journaling. The CHOICES program involves a 90-minute class facilitated by 
professional staff or peers. Throughout the course, students are presented with information and then they are 
able to reflect in their personal journals on what they have learned as it relates to their choices about drinking. The 
CHOICES program is presented to student-athletes (ND highest-risk college population subset) at four campuses 
and shared with first-year students in a classroom setting at three campuses. The CHOICES program is shared in a 
nonconfrontational manner that enables students to make their own decisions about alcohol consumption. 
 
Speak Volumes  

Number of youth served 319 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report https://www.speakvolu

mes.nd.gov/ 
URL for more program information https://www.speakvolu

mes.nd.gov/ 
 

Program Description: The Speak Volumes campaign was developed by the Department of Human Services State 
Strategic Prevention Framework/State Incentive Grant (SPF/SIG). http://speakvolumes.nd.gov/ 
   
* It is a marketing campaign that educates on the concept of knowing how much alcohol is in a drink. For example, 
a Long Island Ice Tea may contain three to four shots of various kinds of alcohol. Speak Volumes makes a person 
aware that having that one Long Island Ice Tea is really consuming three to four different drinks. Bringing 
awareness to just how much alcohol a person is really consuming assists in illustrating the binge drinking concept.  
*This campaign briefly introduces the binge drinking concept.  
*In addition, posters of this campaign have been made visible in a variety of different settings around the campus 
and in campus housing.  
*Standard drink size, what binge drinking is, and information on the medical amnesty law was shared with 319 
incoming students in conjunction with completing E-chug. Standard drink size magnets were given out at some 
events. 
 
Under the Influence 

 

Number of youth served 7 
Number of parents served 0 

https://www.speakvolumes.nd.gov/
https://www.speakvolumes.nd.gov/
http://speakvolumes.nd.gov/
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Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

 
Program Description: Under the Influence is an online alcohol education/intervention program that is used as an 
outcome for students who have been documented for an alcohol violation in Minot State University Residence 
Halls. This module is a typical outcome for first-time alcohol offenses. Seven students have taken the module from 
January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019. 
 
Don't Cancel Class  

Number of youth served 350 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www.ndscs.edu

/current-
students/wellness-

safety/alcohol-other-
drug-information 

 
Program Description: The "Don't Cancel Class" initiative at NDSCS is intended to support faculty who may need to 
be away from class due to a professional or personal conflict.  Professional staff can cover a class and present on a 
topic that may be related to any course or is relevant to college students and the issues they may face while in 
college. 
 
A Shot of Reality 

 

Number of youth served 50 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://bass-

schuler.com/a-shot-of-
reality/ 

 
Program Description: A Shot of Reality is an alcohol awareness show that was created out of research with help 
from LAPD, Mothers Against Drunk Driving, and Alcoholics Anonymous staff. This show is performed by two 
professional comedians who make the topic engaging. While covering multiples facets of responsible alcohol use, 
the show keeps students engaged with a powerful combination of levity and realistic discussion. The performers 
use props and prizes to keep the students actively engaged throughout the show. The performers ask hard 
questions of the audience to give students the chance to hear real life experiences from their peers, making this 
program more personal. 
 
SafeColleges Training-Alcohol Awareness Course  

Number of youth served 1,087 
Number of parents served 0 

https://www.ndscs.edu/current-students/wellness-safety/alcohol-other-drug-information
https://www.ndscs.edu/current-students/wellness-safety/alcohol-other-drug-information
https://www.ndscs.edu/current-students/wellness-safety/alcohol-other-drug-information
https://www.ndscs.edu/current-students/wellness-safety/alcohol-other-drug-information
https://www.ndscs.edu/current-students/wellness-safety/alcohol-other-drug-information
https://bass-schuler.com/a-shot-of-reality/
https://bass-schuler.com/a-shot-of-reality/
https://bass-schuler.com/a-shot-of-reality/
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Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information bismarckstate.edu/safe

colleges 
 

Program Description: Required of all incoming on-campus students ages 17-24. Course Description: Often, 
students underestimate the potentially dangerous effects of alcohol consumption. Excessive drinking can lead to 
poor grades, addiction, violence, sexual assault, drunk driving, alcohol poisoning, and in some cases, death. This 
course provides college students with important awareness of issues related to alcohol and some precautions to 
consider. 25 minutes long. Completed online. 
 
E-CheckUp to Go 

 

Number of youth served 2,500 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report echeckuptogo.com 
URL for more program information echeckuptogo.com 

 
Program Description: e-CheckUp is a personalized, evidence-based, online prevention and intervention tool 
originally developed by the psychologists at San Diego State University. Drawing on Motivational Interviewing 
(Miller & Rollnick, 2002) and Social Norms Theory (Perkins & Berkowitz, 1986), the e-CheckUp program is designed 
to motivate individuals to reduce their consumption using personalized information about their own drinking and 
risk factors, providing those who have not yet chosen to drink with valuable information so that if they do choose 
to drink in the future, they are able to make well-informed decisions. It is also personalized to each campus using 
the most recent alcohol and other drug survey information from that campus. The e-CheckUp takes approximately 
15 minutes to complete (depending on the student). Students' personal feedback includes information that has 
been shown to be particularly motivating to college-aged young adults, including: Quantity and Frequency of 
Alcohol Use, Amount of Alcohol Consumed, Normative Consequences Feedback, Explanation, Advice and Local 
Referral Information. 
 
"Think..."  

Number of youth served 350 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description:  Think... is a program that focuses on the overall well-being of the NDSU student community. 
Think... was designed in collaboration with the Healthy Herd Champion Peer Educators to offer education and 
knowledge to student that allows them to make positive choices when making discussions. Think... will focus on, 
but not be limited to: underage drinking, harm reduction in relation to alcohol use, mental health, suicide 
awareness, stress management and overall well-being.  
 
"rethink...that drink" is a program within "Think..." that focuses on alcohol education and how alcohol affects 
someone both physically and emotionally. "rethink...that drink" also educates on how students can reduce their 
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risk of negative side effects (harm reduction) if they choose to drink alcohol. During this presentation, it is made 
clear that the only low-risk option for drinking is to not drink and addresses consequences for underage drinking. 
Talks have taken place at Saturday Night Live events, Greek organizations, campus organizations, tabling events, 
and in classrooms. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The Department of Human Services contracts with tribes and local tribal entities 
to provide culturally appropriate substance abuse prevention programs, polices, and practices. These programs 
follow the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF). These programs work collaboratively with the Tribal Tobacco 
Prevention Programs.    
The ND Department of Transportation involves tribal law enforcement in regional impaired driving prevention 
enforcement activities.   
Substance Abuse Prevention programs are available on each reservation in North Dakota: Spirit Lake Nation, 
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, Three Affiliated Tribes (MHA Nation), and Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa 
Indians. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Parents Lead is an evidence-based underage drinking 
prevention effort targeting parents through statewide, web-based, and traditional 
media communication. The program is designed to help parents initiate and/or 
continue conversations with their children about behavioral health-related topics, such 
as educating about underage drinking, modeling positive and healthy behaviors, 
monitoring children's whereabouts, and providing support and engagement.    
Two key components of the program are 1) its interactive website 
(www.parentslead.org), which features pages for parents, communities, and 
professionals offering useful tips, tools, and resources; and 2) its Facebook page 
(www.facebook.com/parentslead), which offers followers relevant up-to-date tips, 
tools, and resources through social media.    
Parents Lead also engages in various outreach efforts, such as presenting at 
professional development conferences (e.g., mental health, addiction provider, school 
counselor, etc.) and local events, and utilizing digital mass media (e.g., commercials, 
PSAs, etc.) to promote the message and resources. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns: Parents Lead; Not in My House Yes 
Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Don't know/No 
answer 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
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Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA; OJJDP; NHTSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: North Dakota follows evidence-based prevention through a focus on 
addressing risk and protective factors, following SPF and the public health model while emphasizing 
environmental strategies, such as enforcement. North Dakota prevention efforts are directed through a data-
driven decision-making process. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Pamela Sagness 
Email: psagness@nd.gov 
Address: 600 E Boulevard Ave, Dept 325 Bismarck, ND 58505 
Phone: (701) 328-8920 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
ND Department of Human Services 
ND Department of Health 
ND Department of Transportation 
ND Department of Public Instruction 
Advocate Representative 
ND Office of the First Lady 
ND Legislative Assembly Representatives 
ND University System 
ND Highway Patrol 
ND Indian Affairs 
ND Judiciary 
Local Law Enforcement 
ND Addiction Counselor Representative 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 

Prepared by: ND Department of Human Services  
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 
Prepared by: ND Department of Human Services 
Report can be accessed via: https://www.prevention.nd.gov/data 

Additional Clarification  
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No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $0 - Do not use 
state funds 

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/21/2019 
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $120,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other:  No data No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  
State funds are not used on compliance check operations, only federal funds. 
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