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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 
Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   
Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12- to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 New Hampshire State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 
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Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
New Hampshire Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Donald Hunter  
SOR Executive Project Manager  

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Division for Behavioral Health 
Phone:  (603) 271-9659 

Email:  Donald.r.hunter@dhhs.nh.gov 
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New Hampshire 
State Population: 1,359,711 
Population Ages 12–20:  144,000 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 34,000 (23.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 22,000 (15.3%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 1,000 (1.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) <1,000 (0.2%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 9,000 (18.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 5,000 (9.8%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 25,000 (50.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 0 (*%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (67.0%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (29.8%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.2 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 9 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 514 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 0 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (5%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Substance Abuse System Overview15 

The Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services (BDAS) sits within the New Hampshire Department 
of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Division for Behavioral Health (DBH).  Also included 
under the DBH umbrella are the Bureau of Children’s Behavioral Health, Bureau of Mental 
Health Services, and the Policy Section.  

BDAS is responsible for managing the federal substance abuse prevention and treatment block 
grant (SABG), which is its primary funding source, as well as the administration of a full 
continuum of substance misuse services under contract with DHHS that are supported by 
resources from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 
SABG, Medication Assisted Treatment – Prescription Drug and Opioid Addiction, State 
Targeted Response to the Opioid Crisis, and State Opioid Response) and the Governor’s 
Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention, Treatment and Recovery.  BDAS provides 
administrative/regulatory oversight, on behalf of DHHS, over the private for-profit methadone 
clinics (opioid treatment programs) and all impaired driving programs in the state.  BDAS also 
serves as DHHS’s subject matter resource for alcohol and drugs and for managing alcohol- and 
drug-related public awareness efforts and training and technical assistance resources for 
prevention, treatment, and recovery services.  

BDAS has a primary role in representing DHHS in concert with numerous stakeholders from the 
public and private sector at both the state and local level that are working together to implement 
the Governor’s Commission plan for the state.  This plan utilizes a comprehensive public health 
approach to address the misuse of alcohol and drugs in New Hampshire.  

The following four units structure BDAS internally and work to carry out BDAS’ mission and to 
join individuals, families, and communities in reducing alcohol and other drug problems, thereby 
increasing opportunities for citizens to achieve health and independence:  

• Prevention Services. 
• Clinical Services, including Impaired Driver Services. 
• Resources and Development. 
• Business and Financial Service. 
 
Prevention and Treatment Services 

NH’s prevention structures and efforts are supported by public and private partnerships that 
provide additional funds toward prevention.  The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation invests 
approximately $3 million per year to “reduce the burden caused to the citizens of New 
Hampshire by alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs.”  Core to the strategy is policy and advocacy to 
improve public financing, research, and evaluation of best practices in substance use disorder 
(SUD) services, as well as funding for proven strategies.  In 2012, the foundation approved a 10-
year strategy dedicated to the prevention of SUD.  Approximately $1.2 million per year will be 
allocated from the portfolio in furtherance of this strategy.  This strategy is implemented in close 

 
15 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (New Hampshire) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the 
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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partnership with DHHS.  This includes strategic co-funding, integrated planning, and reporting 
systems for grantees.  

Substance Misuse Prevention (SMP) Coordinators are positioned within each of the state’s 13 
regions.  SMP Coordinators utilize the Strategic Prevention Framework Model (assessment, 
capacity, planning, implementation, and evaluation), a data-driven public health approach, to 
address the misuse of alcohol and drugs in their area, by convening and collaborating with the 
core sectors (local government, education, community organizations, safety, businesses, 
health/medical) to increase service capacity and to reduce “factors that put people, families, and 
communities at risk” and increase “factors that protect people, families, and communities” in the 
prevention of misuse of alcohol and drugs. 

SMP Coordinators participate with the regions’ Public Health Advisory Group, a high-level 
leadership council, and their Community Health Improvement Plan to improve health outcomes 
and coordination with the Integrated Delivery Networks (NH’s 1115 Waiver) within their 
regions. 

BDAS provides treatment and recovery support services to individuals with SUD who are 
residents of or homeless in New Hampshire, who are under 400% of Federal Poverty level, and 
who do not have public or private insurance that will pay for the required services.  Contracted 
services include outpatient, intensive outpatient, partial hospitalization, transitional living, low 
and high intensity residential treatment services, withdrawal management, and medication-
assisted treatment.  These contracts also fund specialty outpatient, intensive outpatient, and 
residential services for pregnant and parenting women and their children.  All treatment 
providers are strongly encouraged to enroll and credential with public and private insurers in an 
effort to better support patients and their ability to access available services.  

New Hampshire boasts a very robust Medicaid benefit for SUD treatment and recovery support 
services (https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/ombp/sud/documents/sud-billable-services.pdf).  Previously, 
New Hampshire utilized a premium assistance program model that limited the access of some 
beneficiaries to these benefits; however, as of January 1, 2019, all beneficiaries either are in 
Medicaid managed care or fee-for-service models with access to the full range of SUD benefits.  
Furthermore, a new managed care contract was recently approved by Governor and Executive 
Council that makes significant improvements to the requirements for all behavioral health 
services, including SUD treatment, services for substance-exposed infants and their caregivers, 
and social determinants of health.  BDAS coordinates closely with the Division of Medicaid 
Services in the design and administration of the SUD benefit.  

Regardless of the payor source, New Hampshire law requires all providers of SUD services to 
utilize American Society of Addiction Medicine criteria to determine the initial level of care for 
an individual as well as to make decisions about continuing care, transferring care, or 
discharging from care.  When the identified level of care is not immediately available, contracted 
treatment providers are required to offer interim services to support the individual while they 
wait for the appropriate level of care.  These services include group counseling, individual 
counseling, recovery support services, and community-based services.  To assist providers with 
meeting these requirements as well as to improve overall client care, BDAS sponsors a 
community of practice for treatment providers to connect clinicians and other providers with the 
opportunity to gain knowledge and information and share experiences related to improving 
services for individuals with SUD. 



State Reports | New Hampshire  ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

4 | 2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  __________________________________________________ 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through the SABG administered 
by SAMHSA.  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that New Hampshire used for expenditures on 
substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, Medicaid funds and other 
federal funds account for the largest sources (59.9 percent and 16.1 percent, respectively).16  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, New Hampshire designated 
the reduction of youth misuse of alcohol and other drugs as priority number three for use of 
SABG funds.17 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of New Hampshire’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment 

 
  

 
16 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – New Hampshire 2020. 
17 FY 2020/2021 – (New Hampshire) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, 
Division of State and Community Assistance:  Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details New Hampshire’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships? 
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?    

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

• Is consumption allowed if the parent or guardian is 
present or consents? 

N/A 

• Is consumption allowed if the spouse is present or 
consents? 

N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
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Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

Yes 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

Yes 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 
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• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Discretionary 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 90 
Maximum number of days 365 
Notes: Although New Hampshire does not authorize a Use/Lose penalty for all underage 
consumption, a law imposes a discretionary license sanction on minors who are "intoxicated by 
consumption of an alcoholic beverage," and provides that an alcohol concentration "of .02 or more 
shall be prima facie evidence of intoxication.” See N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 179:10(I), 263:56-b. 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 years, 6 months 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

0 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

40 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

1:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; no more than one nonfamily passenger 
under 25, unless accompanied by driver over 25. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

18 (Passenger restrictions expire after 6 months; 
unsupervised night driving restrictions remain 
until age 18) 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 
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Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Manager 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

New 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits Yes 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

No 
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• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

No 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Both 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores) 
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 16 
Wine 16 
Spirits 16 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

Notes: To act as a cashier in a selling capacity, a minor is required to be at least 16 years of age, and a 
person at least 18 years of age must be in attendance and must be designated in charge of the 
employees and business. 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
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Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
Notes: N.H. Rev. Stat. § 507-F:6 includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

 
Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? Yes 
Notes: N.H. Rev. Stat. § 507-F:6 includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

 
Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

Specific 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Intention/possession/consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Overt act (Host must have actual knowledge and 

commit act that contributes to party’s 
occurrence)  

Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

Yes 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, family members 
Notes: In New Hampshire, an "underage alcohol house party" means a gathering of five or more 
people under the age of 21 at any occupied structure, dwelling, or curtilage, where at least one 
person under the age of 21 unlawfully possesses or consumes an alcoholic beverage. A person is 
guilty of a misdemeanor if he or she owns or has control of the occupied structure, dwelling, or 
curtilage where an underage alcohol house party is held and he or she knowingly commits an overt 
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act in furtherance of the occurrence of the underage alcohol house party knowing persons under the 
age of 21 possess or intend to consume alcoholic beverages. The "preventive action" provision in New 
Hampshire allows the defendant to avoid criminal liability by establishing, as an affirmative defense, 
that he or she took preventive action with respect to the underage alcohol house party. 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? More than 7.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine $1,000) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine $1,000) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Active (requires action by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No; however, this state is a control state, and 
control states may impose additional restrictions 
on the sale of products that are not reflected in 
statute or regulation. 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted 
Spirits Permitted 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Beer, wine, distilled spirits 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 



 ___________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | New Hampshire 
 

 ________________________________________________  2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 13 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

No  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

Yes 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted  
Spirits No Law  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.30 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
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Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  Yes 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No  

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (10 days) 

Wine Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 
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Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 

Spirits Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 

Notes: Wholesalers are required to make their current beer prices available to the commission in 
writing. 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

16 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

19  

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, females should wear little to no makeup, 
wear casual attire, and be of an average height 
and build. Males should have no facial hair, wear 
casual attire, and be of average height and build. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Not specified 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Mandated 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

2 years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $500 fine, 4 license points, 3-day suspension (for 
non-compliance check violations) 

What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
Notes: Mitigating and aggravating factors considered. Only one compliance check annually shall incur 
license points. 
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New Hampshire State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

The New Hampshire Liquor Commission, Division of Enforcement 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors No data 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No data 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 135 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 3,476 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,173 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 212 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations 953 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 199 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 953 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 199 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 4 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $4,500 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $1,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 4 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Additional Clarification    
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Life of An Athlete  

Number of youth served 3,500 
Number of parents served 500 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: The Life of An Athlete (LOA) program is a comprehensive, multicomponent prevention 
program that empowers and motivates youth participating in athletics and leadership programs to make healthy 
choices and decisions by educating them on the impact that alcohol and other drugs have on performance. The 
program blends prevention and athletics together, focusing on the immediate impact that lifestyle choices have on 
athletic performance with an emphasis on understanding the impact alcohol, other drugs, and tobacco have on 
success in academics and athletics. The program is administered by the New Hampshire Interscholastic Athletic 
Association, the staff of which recruit schools to implement the program and train school personnel, including the 
athletes and other student leaders, on how to implement the program. 
 
Student Assistance Program-Project CONNECT  

Number of youth served 22,000 
Number of parents served 11,000 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: Student Assistance Program (SAP) services administered by the Bureau of Drug and Alcohol 
Services are based on the Project SUCCESS evidence-based practice. The program is designed to prevent and 
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reduce alcohol and other drug misuse among students ages 12 to 25. The school-based program combines 
schoolwide alcohol and other drug prevention awareness activities, classroom-based prevention education, 
individual and group counseling sessions for students, parent education, and referral to community resources. The 
program reaches middle and high schools as well as colleges and universities using trained SAP counselors to 
deliver the services. 
 
The NH Juvenile Diversion Program 

 

Number of youth served 93 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: The New Hampshire Juvenile Diversion Network is contracted to expand capacity to 
underserved regions and to incorporate evidence-based screening, brief intervention, and referral to treatment 
into programming. There are currently 16 accredited Juvenile Court Diversion Programs that hold youth 
accountable for disruptive behavior while ensuring they benefit from education and support services to reduce the 
youth’s involvement with the law enforcement and judicial systems. New Hampshire RSA169 Delinquent Children-
B:10 Juvenile Diversion includes provisions for police and courts to refer first-time offenders to accredited 
diversion services. Whether housed in police departments, governmental systems, or community-based 
organizations, New Hampshire’s Juvenile Court Diversion Programs share common goals, core values, and an 
evidence base for strategies and practices being implemented across the state. 
 
Regional Public Health Network  

Number of youth served 300,000 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: The Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services (BDAS) supported resources in each of the 13 
Regional Public Health Networks that facilitate a community approach to address the misuse of alcohol and drugs 
and increase access to care. Each network completed an alcohol and other drug misuse and disorders services 
assets and gaps assessment. Additionally, they have created a three-year plan that addresses the misuse of alcohol 
and other drugs and the related consequences for individuals, families, and communities.  
 
Substance misuse prevention coordinators and continuum of care facilitators convene and collaborate with local 
government, education, community organizations, safety, businesses, and health organizations and sectors in 
communities to 1) increase access to needed services and address the factors that protect people, families, and 
communities, and 2) reduce the factors that put these groups at risk for the misuse of alcohol and drugs. They also 
participate with the region’s Public Health Advisory Council to provide priorities for their Community Health 
Improvement Plan and coordinate with the Integrated Delivery Networks within their network. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
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No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns: Partnership for Drug Free NH Yes 
Local school district efforts: Student Assistance Programs Yes 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY No 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies):  

 
No data 

Agency(ies) within your state:  No data 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No data 
Other:  No data 
Best practice standards description: No data 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Annette Escalante 
Email: Annette.Escalante@dhhs.nh.gov 
Address: 105 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301 
Phone: No data 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
All State agencies 
NH National Guard 
Citizen Representatives 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: https://nhcenterforexcellence.org 
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Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 

Prepared by: NH Governor's Commission on Alcohol and Other Drugs  
Plan can be accessed via: https://nhcenterforexcellence.org 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $20,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $3,500,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,400,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $300,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: NH Student Assistance Programs, Life of an Athlete, NH Juvenile Diversion 
Network, MOUs with the NH Department of Education 
Estimate of state funds expended $3,500,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2020 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Alcohol Tax 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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