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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 
Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   
Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Montana State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Montana Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Zoe Barnard 
Administrator 

Addictive & Mental Disorders Division, Department of Public Health and Human Services 
Phone:  (406) 444-7044 

Email:  zbarnard@mt.gov 
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Montana 
State Population: 1,068,778 
Population Ages 12–20:  115,000 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 29,000 (24.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 18,000 (16%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (4.3%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) <1,000 (1.2%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 8,000 (21.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 5,000 (14.1%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 19,000 (47.3%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 13,000 (31.9%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (61.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (29.4%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.0 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 15 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 887 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 8 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (21%) 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview7 

The Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS), under the executive branch of 
Montana’s state government, administers a wide spectrum of programs and projects including 
public assistance, Medicaid, foster care and adoption, nursing home licensing, long-term care, 
aging services, alcohol and drug abuse programs, mental health services, vocational 
rehabilitation, disability services, child support enforcement activities, and public health 
functions (such as communicable disease control and preservation of public health through 
chronic disease prevention).  DPHHS’ mission is to improve and protect the health, well-being, 
and self-reliance of all Montanans. 

DPHHS is the state agency responsible for public chemical dependency services for children and 
adults under Addictive and Mental Disorders Division (AMDD).  AMDD provides for the 
implementation and improvement of statewide systems of prevention, treatment, care, and 
rehabilitation for Montanans with mental disorders or addictions to drugs or alcohol.  AMDD, 
through the Mental Health Services Bureau, is responsible for the development and management 
of the adult mental health system (age 18 and over).  AMDD provides chemical dependency and 
adult mental health services by contracting with providers throughout Montana.  It also provides 
services through three inpatient facilities—the Montana State Hospital in Warm Springs, 
Montana Chemical Dependency Center in Butte, and Montana Mental Health Nursing Care 
Center in Lewistown. 

Montana is fortunate as both the substance use disorders (SUDs) treatment system and the adult 
mental health system are located under AMDD within DPHHS.  The single state agency/single 
mental health agency (SSA/SMHA) provides all direction for mental health and SUDs 
prevention, early intervention, treatment, and recovery support services.  The SSA/SMHA works 
with all the other divisions and programs within DPHHS to develop partnerships needed to 
address issues of those in treatment for mental health and SUDs.  

AMDD has three Bureaus that work collaboratively to implement and oversee all behavioral 
health services under the behavioral health continuum (prevention, early intervention, treatment, 
and recovery support).  

• The Prevention Bureau is responsible for oversight and management of the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Mental Health Block Grant, and 
discretionary grant funded programs under contract.  

• The Treatment Bureau is responsible for development of all behavioral health treatment 
services and provider requirements for Medicaid and federal- and state-funded 
reimbursement for fee-for-service clinical services.  

• The Fiscal Operations Bureau is responsible for oversight of all federal and state fiscal 
operations. 

 
Montana AMDD provides for the establishment and implementation of a continuum of care to 
provide for individuals with substance abuse disorders, including those with co-occurring mental 

 
7 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Montana) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, 
Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to 
address the specific populations.   
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illness and SUDs.  Available services and resources within Montana’s comprehensive continuum 
of care are provided primarily with federal resources and have some state resources.  AMDD is 
responsible for managing reimbursement for Medicaid and other federal- and state-funded 
services for SUD and is working towards integration of SUD and adult mental health services.  
AMDD has restructured to include both SUD and adult mental health treatment services under 
one bureau.  

Montana’s SUD treatment system does not differ between the youth (child) and adult systems.  
In order to provide a complete continuum of care, 27 of 31 contracted providers must provide 
services to all individuals regardless of age.  Providers are required to identify evidence-based 
practices to address age, race, ethnicity, priority populations, etc., as part of their treatment 
programming and continuation application for funding.  Based upon the population within their 
coverage area, providers will identify the populations served and what evidence-based 
programming is to be used.  For instance, providers addressing women with dependent children 
use Seeking Safety as appropriate.  Those addressing Minors in Possession (MIPs) use the 8-
hour version of Prime For Life with a focus on youth; whereas the adult DUI (Driving Under the 
Influence) programs use the 12-hour version of Prime For Life.  Assessment instruments are 
identified and used based upon truth indicators and age.  Those providers serving Native 
Americans use trauma-focused treatment.  (The University of Montana has a great program in 
trauma-focused treatment that is used by most providers.)  Those with a military background 
have been using therapy animals and focus on military group therapy addressing trauma and 
mental health issues.  Montana has too few numbers of those who identify a sexual gender 
minority.  Two providers who are in large communities have identified resources within the 
community to integrate into treatment using targeted case management to connect the individuals 
with what is needed to address this level of diversity. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  
Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Montana used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention 
and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, Medicaid and state funds account for the largest sources 
(40.2 percent and 25.2 percent, respectively).8  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Montana designated the 
implementation of evidence-based services to ensure optimum prevention and treatment 
outcomes related to youth alcohol consumption as part of priority three for use of SABG funds.9  

 
8 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Montana 2020. 
9 FY 2020/2021 – (Montana) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of 
State and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1:  Sources of Montana’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Montana’s performance in enacting, enforcing, 
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Notes: The parental exception to Montana's possession and consumption statute only applies to 
alcohol supplied and consumed in a "nonintoxicating quantity."  In Montana, "intoxicating quantity" is 
defined as a quantity "sufficient to produce ... a blood, breath, or urine alcohol concentration in excess 
of 0.05 ... or substantial or visible mental or physical impairment."  See Mont. Code Ann. §§ 16-6-305, 
45-5-624. 

 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships? 
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?    

 
Yes 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Notes: The parental exception to Montana's possession and consumption statute only applies to 
alcohol supplied and consumed in a "nonintoxicating quantity."  In Montana, "intoxicating quantity" is 
defined as a quantity "sufficient to produce ... a blood, breath, or urine alcohol concentration in excess 
of 0.05 ... or substantial or visible mental or physical impairment."  See Mont. Code Ann. §§ 16-6-305, 
45-5-624. 

 
Underage-Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 



 _________________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Montana 
 

 __________________________________________________  2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 7 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

Yes 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

Yes 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

No 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol No 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 18 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 30 
Maximum number of days 30 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

14 years, 6 months 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

15 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

11:00 PM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; for first 6 months, no more than one 
nonfamily passenger under 18 unless 
accompanied by a driver at least 18 years old. For 
second 6 months, no more than 3 nonfamily 
passengers under 18 unless accompanied by a 
driver at least 18 years old 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

16 
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Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

Notes: The parental exception applies to the provision of alcohol in a “nonintoxicating quantity.”  In 
Montana, "intoxicating quantity" is defined as a quantity "sufficient to produce . . . a blood, breath, or 
urine alcohol concentration in excess of 0.05 . . . or substantial or visible mental or physical 
impairment."  See Mont. Code Ann. § 16-6-305. 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Manager, server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Both 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
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Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 600 feet 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits 

Notes: Exception for commercially operated schools. 
 

Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes ($250,000 non-economic damages per 
person and $250,000 punitive damages per 
person.) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
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Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes ($250,000 non-economic damages per 
person and $250,000 punitive damages per 
person.) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

No 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

N/A 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

N/A 

Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
 

Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or more than 7.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $500/6 months) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Passive (requires no action by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No; however, this state is a control state, and 
control states may impose additional restrictions 
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on the sale of products that are not reflected in 
statute or regulation. 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

No  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

No 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

Notes: An out-of-state brewer desiring to ship beer to an individual in Montana shall register with the 
Montana Department of Revenue. An individual seeking to receive such a shipment for personal 
consumption must obtain a Connoisseur's License. The Licensee must forward to the out-of-state 
brewer a distinctive address label, provided by the Department, clearly identifying any package that is 
shipped as a legal direct-shipment package to the holder of a Connoisseur's License. Mont. Code Ann. 
§ § 16-4-901, 16-4-903, 16-4-906. 
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Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer No Law  
Wine No Law  
Spirits No Law  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.14 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Notes: The reported tax rate is for brewers who produce more than 10,000 barrels of beer per year. 
See Mont. Code Ann. § 16-1-406(1) (as amended by 2017 Montana Laws Ch. 271). 
Wine  
Control system for wine? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
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If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  
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Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (7 days) 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (7 days) 

Spirits Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 
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Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

18  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20  

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, should look their age; wear no concealing 
head gear, scarves, hats, jewelry, excess make-
up, hoodies, or sunglasses; and should have no 
facial hair. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Mandated 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

3 years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $250 fine 
What is the penalty for the second offense? $1,000 fine 
What is the penalty for the third offense? $1,500 fine and/or 20-day license suspension 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? License revocation 
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Montana State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Responsibilities are at the local level with municipalities and counties. At the state level, there is a limited 
amount of funding through the Department of Public Health and Human Services, Addictive and Mental 
Disorders Division/Prevention Bureau. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

State of Montana, 
Department of Revenue, 

Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Division 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 1,341 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 3,266 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 807 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 104 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 
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Number of fines imposed by the state4 95 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $48,775 
Smallest fine imposed $125 
Largest fine imposed $4,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 7 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 20 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Additional Clarification    
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors. ***Per 16-4-406, MCA and 
ARM 42.13.101 the Department of Revenue, Alcoholic Beverage Control Division imposes civil penalties based 
upon a progressive penalty schedule. The minimum fine for a sale to underage is $250. The maximum fine imposed 
is $1,500. However, we may enter into a settlement agreement with licensees that allows the department to 
impose higher or lower fines, considering aggravating or mitigating circumstances or to reduce the proposed 
suspension days or violation counts against the license.*** 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant  

Number of youth served 138,708 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

 
Program Description: The Prevention Bureau of the Addictive and Mental Disorders Division of the Department of 
Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) administers the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) 
Block Grant. It supports the implementation of evidence-based prevention efforts to provide culturally appropriate 
community-based prevention strategies to reduce underage drinking, including binge drinking, with an emphasis 
on youth and young adults up to age 21. It also includes the collection of robust data through the administration of 
the Montana Prevention Needs Assessment (PNA). Montana PNA data are compiled on a statewide basis for public 
use, and school-level data are provided back to school superintendents for use within the school district or 
individual school for the purposes of planning and addressing school-specific needs. 
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Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnership for Success  
Number of youth served 82,181 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

 
Program Description: The grant for the Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnership for Success (SPF-PFS) 
program is administered by the Prevention Bureau of the Addictive and Mental Disorders Division of DPHHS. The 
grant supports the implementation of prevention activities to address underage drinking (ages 9–20) and 
misuse/abuse of prescription drugs (ages 9–20) in 22 identified counties and reservations.  
 
Further, the SPF-PFS Grant funds Parenting Montana, a universal prevention effort that braids together supportive 
tools grounded in evidence-based practices to help Montana families thrive. The specific goal is to cultivate a 
positive, healthy culture among Montana parents with an emphasis on curbing underage drinking, and to provide 
tools and resources to address everyday parenting challenges. 
 
Your Community Matters 

 

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://mtrevenue.gov/

liquor-tobacco/liquor-
education/ 

 
Program Description: “Your Community Matters” is Montana's alcohol sales and service training program and it 
focuses on how to prevent sales to underage persons. Anyone who serves or sells alcohol is required to complete 
this training within 60 days of their date of hire and every three years thereafter. 
 
Driving Under the Influence Task Forces  

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www.mdt.mt.go

v/visionzero/plans/dui-
taskforces.shtml 

 
Program Description: Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Task Forces are multifaceted coalitions that invite 
participation from a cross-section of community representatives to maximize their reach and effectiveness. Task 
forces operate at the county level to reduce and prevent impaired driving. They may engage the community in a 
variety of activities, including responsible alcohol sales and service training, retail compliance checks, party and keg 
patrols, overtime traffic patrols, education and media advocacy, public service announcements, victim impact 

https://mtrevenue.gov/liquor-tobacco/liquor-education/
https://mtrevenue.gov/liquor-tobacco/liquor-education/
https://mtrevenue.gov/liquor-tobacco/liquor-education/
https://www.mdt.mt.gov/visionzero/plans/dui-taskforces.shtml
https://www.mdt.mt.gov/visionzero/plans/dui-taskforces.shtml
https://www.mdt.mt.gov/visionzero/plans/dui-taskforces.shtml
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panels, support for prosecution and adjudication of DUI cases, and designated driver and safe ride home 
programs.  
 
Currently, there are 35 Task Forces covering 39 counties.   
 
It is difficult to estimate the number of youth served or participating in the DUI Task Forces across the state. The 
Comprehensive Highway Safety Plan (CHSP) also includes strategies for developing education campaigns about the 
dangers of impaired driving, supports targeted enforcement for high-risk drivers, and calls for improving the 
minor-in-possession (MIP) process in Montana. 
 
Alive at 25 

 

Number of youth served 769 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://dojmt.gov/high

waypatrol/alive-at-25/ 
 

Program Description: This highly interactive four-hour program encourages young drivers between the ages of 16 
and 24 to take responsibility for their driving behavior. Alive at 25 instructors use personal examples, workbook 
exercises, interactive media segments, group discussions, role-plays, and short lectures to help young drivers 
develop strategies that will keep them safer on the road. Montana’s Buckle Up Coalitions support the Alive at 25 
programs by hosting and coordinating local courses and coordinating with trained Montana Highway Patrol 
officers as instructors.   
 
In calendar year 2019, 52 classes were held with 769 participants. 
 
Montana Office of Public Instruction Traffic Education Curriculum  

Number of youth served 8,546 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report http://opi.mt.gov/Porta

ls/182/Page%20Files/Dr
iver%20Education/TE%2
0Forms%20and%20Rep

orts/2019-Traffic-
Education-Statewide-

Summary.pdf?ver=2019
-07-23-153932-793 

URL for more program information Driver Education 
(mt.gov)  

http://opi.mt.gov/Famil
ies-Students/Family-

Student-

https://dojmt.gov/highwaypatrol/alive-at-25/
https://dojmt.gov/highwaypatrol/alive-at-25/
http://opi.mt.gov/Families-Students/Family-Student-Support/Driver-Education
http://opi.mt.gov/Families-Students/Family-Student-Support/Driver-Education
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Support/Driver-
Education 

 
Program Description: Montana Traffic Education standards and curriculum are aligned with national standards and 
with Montana's Graduated Driver's Licensing (GDL) requirements. Parent meetings and alcohol and drug 
prevention education are required in Montana's driver education programs provided through public high schools.  
GDL requires 50 hours of supervised driving practice and parent/legal guardian certification that the teen driver 
has no convictions or pending citations for traffic, alcohol, or drug violations. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: American Indians comprise 6.2 percent of the population in Montana, but 
represent approximately 17 percent of the motor vehicle crash deaths in the state each year. In an effort to 
spread the safety message in tribal communities, the Montana Department of Transportation developed the 
Safe On All Roads (SOAR) program. This is a traffic safety education program that provides strong and 
meaningful messages relevant to the individual culture of each community. Coordinators living and working in 
the community manage their local programs and assist in developing appropriate education material. The goal 
of SOAR is to reduce Native traffic fatalities from the current base year (2015) average of 33 to 32 by 2020  
(See: https://www.mdt.mt.gov/visionzero/plans/soar.shtml).    
Through the Partnership for Success Grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA), five of the seven federally recognized tribes are sub-grant recipients. The focus is to 
curb underage drinking and address prescription drug misuse and abuse for youth ages 9-20.    
Additionally, SAPT Block Grant funds have supported the inclusion of a prevention specialist to five of the 
seven federally recognized tribes that are sub-grant recipients to address youth substance abuse prevention 
efforts. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: Talk. They Hear You Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: Let's Face It Montana Yes 
Local school district efforts:  No 
Other: ParentingMontana.org Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY No data 
Pro bono No data 
Donated air time No data 
Earned media No data 
Other:  No data 
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMSHA Evidence-Based Practice Resource Center 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Montana Evidence-Based Work Group Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): Blue Prints, Pew-McArthur, California Clearing House; 
FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse 

Yes 

Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: The Montana Evidence-Based Work Group has established a set of 
guidelines to help communities select the most appropriate and "best fit" prevention strategies in their 
community to achieve the greatest outcomes. The Work Group has developed guidelines for using evidence-
informed strategies when an evidence-based practice might not be available for rural and frontier areas, or 
within the diverse cultural or geographic characteristics or community. The group has researched, evaluated, 
and developed an Evidence-Based Approved List of Programs for Montana that communities can select for 
implementation. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Kimberly Koch 
Email: Kimberly.koch@mt.gov 
Address: 100 N Park Ave Suite 300, Helena, MT 59620 
Phone: (406) 444-3749 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Corrections & Montana Board of Crime Control 
Montana Governor's Office and Office of Indian Affairs 
Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General 
Department of Labor and Industry 
Department of Public Health and Human Services 
Montana Children's Trust Fund 
Office of Public Instruction 
Department of Military Affairs 
Department of Transportation 
Department of Revenue 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: https://dphhs.mt.gov/prevention/icc 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 

Prepared by: The Data-Driven Prevention Initiative to prevent overdose deaths caused by opioid misuse and 
abuse convened a year-long strategic planning session, and in addition to the opioid requirement, the focus 
was much broader around addressing substance use disorders. Preventing underage drinking is part of the 
plan. The plan is currently under final review and will be published by fall of 2020.   
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 
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Additional Clarification  
Although we do not have a "report" specifically on underage drinking in Montana, we have common datasets, such 
as the Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS) and the Montana Prevention Needs Assessment reports that drive 
decision-making. We have worked with our Office of Epidemiology and Scientific Support section to create a white 
paper on Youth Drinking and Driving. 
https://dphhs.mt.gov/Portals/85/publichealth/documents/Epidemiology/Mental/Mental_Youth_Driving_2020.pdf 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,552,693 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $100,393 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $54,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Alcohol Compliance Checks and Reward and Reminder Program 
Estimate of state funds expended $237,943 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Alcohol Tax is used to support Alcohol Compliance Inspections and Reward and Reminder Surveys. 

Additional Clarification  
Community-based prevention includes SAMHSA Substance Abuse and Prevention Block Grant funding and 
Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnership for Success grant.     
K-12 funding supports school-based prevention services through AMDD.     
Higher Education funding supports Alcohol EDU online training for incoming freshmen and transfer students. 
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