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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 
Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   
Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Mississippi State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Mississippi Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Chuck Oliphant 
Director of Prevention Services 

Mississippi Department of Mental Health, Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Services 
Phone:  (601) 359-6227 

Email:  chuck.oliphant@dmh.ms.gov 
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Mississippi 
State Population: 2,976,149 
Population Ages 12–20:  372,000 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 55,000 (14.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 31,000 (8.3%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 4,000 (3.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (2%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 15,000 (12.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 8,000 (6.6%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 35,000 (27.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 20,000 (15.8%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (42.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (22.2%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.2 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 47 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,834 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 12 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (14%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview20 

The state public mental health service system is administered by the Mississippi Department of 
Mental Health (DMH), which was created in 1974 by an act of the Mississippi Legislature, 
Regular Session.  The creation, organization, and duties of the DMH are defined in the annotated 
Mississippi Code of 1972 under Sections 41-4-1 through 41-4-23.  

The Bureau of Behavioral Health Services is responsible for planning, development, and 
supervision of an array of services and supports for children/youth and adults in the state with 
serious emotional disturbance, serious mental illness, and substance use disorders.  The Bureau is 
comprised of three areas, including State-Operated Programs, Community Mental Health 
Services, and Addictive Services.  The Bureau is responsible for the administration of state and 
federal funds utilized to develop, implement, and expand a comprehensive continuum of services 
to assist people to live successfully at home and in the community.  These services are provided 
by community mental health centers and other community service providers. 

State-Operated Programs:  DMH administers and operates state behavioral health programs, a 
mental health community living program, a specialized behavioral health program for youth, 
regional programs for persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and a specialized 
program for adolescents with intellectual and developmental disabilities.  These programs serve 
designated counties or service areas and offer community living and/or community services.  The 
behavioral health programs provide inpatient services for people (adults and children) with 
serious mental illness and substance use disorders.  These programs include Mississippi State 
Hospital and its satellite program, Specialized Treatment Facility; East Mississippi State Hospital 
and its satellite programs; North Mississippi State Hospital; South Mississippi State Hospital; 
and Central Mississippi Residential Center.  Nursing home services are also located on the 
grounds of Mississippi State Hospital and East Mississippi State Hospital.  In addition to the 
inpatient services mentioned, East Mississippi State Hospital provides transitional, community-
based care.  The programs for persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities provide 
residential services.  The programs also provide licensed homes for community living.  These 
programs include Boswell Regional Center and its satellite program, Mississippi Adolescent 
Center; Ellisville State School; Hudspeth Regional Center; North Mississippi Regional Center; 
and South Mississippi Regional Center.   

Regional Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs):  The CMHCs operate under the 
supervision of regional commissions appointed by county boards of supervisors comprising their 
respective service areas.  The 14 CMHCs make available a range of community-based mental 
health, substance use, and in some regions, intellectual/developmental disabilities services.  
CMHC governing authorities are considered regional and not state-level entities.  The DMH is 
responsible for certifying, monitoring, and assisting CMHCs.  

Other Nonprofit/Profit Service Agencies/Organizations:  These agencies and organizations make 
up a smaller part of the service system.  They are certified by the DMH and may also receive 
funding to provide community-based services.  Many of these nonprofit agencies may also 

 
20 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Mississippi) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, Center for 
Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State 
and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific 
populations.  
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receive additional funding from other sources.  Services currently provided through these 
nonprofit agencies include community-based alcohol and drug services, community services for 
persons with intellectual/developmental disabilities, and community services for children with 
mental illness or emotional problems.  

Substance Use Disorders Prevention Service System 
Through the Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Services (BADS), Mississippi has made great strides 
in improving the prevention delivery service system during the past five years.  BADS has 
policies for sub‐grantees funded by the 20 percent prevention set-aside of the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG).  Two examples include 1) designation of an 
individual to coordinate prevention services, and 2) requiring each program to implement at least 
one evidence–based program.  The State Incentive Grant (SIG), awarded to BADS in 2001, 
allowed BADS to fund additional programs utilizing evidence‐based programs and more than 
doubling the number of individuals and families served.  In October 2006, BADS received a 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) five‐year incentive 
grant to meet the following federal goals: (1) Build prevention capacity and infrastructure at state 
and community levels; (2) Prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance use, 
including childhood and underage drinking; and (3) Reduce substance use–related problems in 
communities.  In 2012, BADS was awarded the Partnership for Success II Grant from 
SAMHSA, CSAP, which continued to combat underage drinking and related consequences but 
also targeted binge drinking among the young adult population and the related consequences and 
targeted the reduction of prescription drug abuse rates and related consequences for youth and 
young adults.  In 2015, BADS received a SAMHSA, CSAP grant entitled the Partnership for 
Success 2015 Grant.  This grant continued the work of the PFS II grant; however, this grant 
concentrated heavily on serving high-need communities and serving college communities.  With 
resources from the PFS 2015 grant, BADS expanded its capacity by implementing the 
Mississippi Young Adult Survey (MYAS) in 2017.  The purpose of the MYAS was to collect 
substance use behavioral health indicators for the young adult population, ages 18–25, that could 
be used to establish baseline measurements and capture subsequent outcomes measurements at 
the community level.  This was necessary to begin addressing the gap in community-level 
consumption data among young adults in Mississippi.  Even though the MYAS is a huge step in 
the right direction for capturing consumption and consequence measures, BADS still lacks 
measurements for those young adults that bypassed the collegiate path.  This is an area that the 
state will work towards once the MYAS has been fully implemented at all colleges throughout 
the state. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by SAMHSA.  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Mississippi used for expenditures 
on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, SABG funds and other 
federal funds account for the largest sources (37.8 percent each).21  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Mississippi designated 

 
21 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Mississippi 2020. 
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reducing alcohol use and substance abuse among adolescents and young adults as priority 
number twenty-five for use of SABG funds.22 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of Mississippi’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment

 
 
  

 
22 FY 2020/2021 – (Mississippi) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of 
State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Mississippi’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a private location 
Notes: Mississippi's Parent/Guardian exception applies to those persons at least 18 years old and only 
for possession of light wine or beer. The Location exception is not limited to persons between 18 and 
21, and only applies to alcoholic beverages, not including light wine or beer. 

 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  



 _______________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Mississippi 
 

 __________________________________________________  2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 7 

Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

No 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

No 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

Notes: Although it appears the Mississippi Department of Public Safety currently still issues distinctive 
licenses for persons under 21, no current codified statute or regulation requiring the issuance of such 
licenses has been found to exist.  

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 
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• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days Not specified 
Maximum number of days 90 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

12 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

0 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 years 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

10:00 PM Sunday through Thursday 
11:30 PM Friday and Saturday 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? No 
Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

N/A 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

16 years, 6 months 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes 
 
Yes 

Is there an exception based on location? No 



 _______________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Mississippi 
 

 __________________________________________________  2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 9 

Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

Notes: Mississippi's parent/guardian and spouse exceptions apply to those persons at least 18 years 
old and only for furnishing of light wine or beer. 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

No 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

N/A 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

N/A 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
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Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, no permits on campus. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, no permits on campus. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Wine, spirits ("Alcoholic beverage" does not 
include wine containing 6.25% ABV or less.) 

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 400 feet; within 100 feet in areas 
zoned commercial or industrial. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 400 feet; within 100 feet in areas 
zoned commercial or industrial. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Wine, spirits ("Alcoholic beverage" does not 
include wine containing 6.25% ABV or less.) 

Notes: Exceptions are 1) bed and breakfast inn or historic district listed in the National Register of 
Historic Places; 2) qualified resort area located in a municipality having a population greater than 
100,000. 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? Yes 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 
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Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

Specific 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Possession/consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party)  
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, family members 
 

Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? No law 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No law  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No law  

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? No law 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No law 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No law 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? No law 
Is a deposit required? No law 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No law 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No; however, this state is a control state, and 
control states may impose additional restrictions 
on the sale of products that are not reflected in 
statute or regulation. 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 
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Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

No 

What alcohol types may be shipped? N/A 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

N/A 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

N/A  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

N/A  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

N/A 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

N/A 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

N/A 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

N/A 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? N/A  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

N/A 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer No Law  
Wine Prohibited  
Spirits Prohibited  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.43 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 
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• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

 

• General sales tax rate  
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 
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Wine Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 

Spirits Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

16 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

19  

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, males must have no facial hair and be 
youthful looking. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Not specified  
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

1 year 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $500–$1,000 fine and/or suspension of license 
for not more than 1 week 

What is the penalty for the second offense? $1,000–$2,000 fine and/or suspension of license 
for not more than 2 weeks 
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What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 

  



 _______________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Mississippi 
 

 ________________________________________________  2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 17 

Mississippi State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

The Mississippi Alcohol and Beverage Control Agency 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Don't know 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 1,700 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,700 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 240 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/31/2020 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Don't know 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification    
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Too Good For Drugs  

Number of youth served Approximately 1,000 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Approximately 75-100 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information https://toogoodprogra

ms.org/ 
 

Program Description: Too Good For Drugs is a school-based (K-12th grade) drug prevention program designed to 
reduce students' intention to use alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drugs while promoting prosocial attitudes, skills, and 
behaviors. Too Good For Drugs programs empower children, adolescents, and teens with the social-emotional 
learning and substance abuse prevention skills needed to lead happy and healthy lives. 
 
Keepin' It REAL  

Number of youth served Approximately 1,000 
Number of parents served Unknown 
Number of caregivers served Approximately 75-100 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report https://youth.gov/conte

nt/keepin%E2%80%99-
it-real 

URL for more program information https://youth.gov/conte
nt/keepin%E2%80%99-

it-real 
 

https://toogoodprograms.org/
https://toogoodprograms.org/
https://youth.gov/content/keepin%E2%80%99-it-real
https://youth.gov/content/keepin%E2%80%99-it-real
https://youth.gov/content/keepin%E2%80%99-it-real
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Program Description: Keepin' It REAL is a video-enhanced intervention that uses a culturally grounded resiliency 
model to incorporate traditional ethnic values and practices that protect against drug use. The goal is to teach 
students how to resist substance use through practical, easy-to-remember-and-use strategies that are 
encapsulated in the acronym REAL (Refuse, Explain, Avoid, Leave). 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
LifeSkills Training is a middle school substance abuse prevention program that teaches students social and self-
management skills, including skills in resisting peer and media pressure to smoke, drink, or use drugs.  
https://evidencebasedprograms.org/programs/lifeskills-training/ 
Additional Clarification   
Programs used for prevention are determined by prevention grant subrecipients throughout the state. Each region 
is responsible for identifying evidence-based practices (EBPs) determined by the community needs. 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: Our state collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the 
prevention of underage drinking. Mississippi (MS) collaborates with The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians 
(Choctaw Behavioral Health), a federally recognized tribal government. MS Department of Mental Health 
certifies and funds Choctaw Behavioral Health to provide prevention services in six counties in the state of 
Mississippi (i.e., Neshoba, Leake, Jones, Winston, Lauderdale, and Newton). They are members of 
Mississippians Advocating Against Unhealthy Decisions (MAAUD), a coalition designed to improve the health 
and well-being of youth in Mississippi by preventing and reducing unhealthy/risky behaviors. MAAUD is also 
represented by several agencies/organizations including MS Department of Mental Health, Dream of 
Hattiesburg, Inc., and the National Council on Alcoholism & Drug Dependence (NCADD). 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: The Mississippi Prevention Alliance for Communities and 
Colleges (MS SPF PFS 2015) grant and 20 percent of MS Block Grant funds prevention 
services to counter alcohol advertising and marketing. Members of MAAUD strive to 
improve the health and well-being of youth in MS by preventing and reducing 
unhealthy/risky behaviors. Members include representatives from state and local 
agencies with strong participation from local coalitions and organizations across the 
state. MAAUD strives to reduce unhealthy decisions in MS through social media,  
community action, public policy, education, and advocacy. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns: Region 10 Community Mental Health Center 
(CMHC), Region 12 CMHC, National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence 
Central MS Area, Inc. (NCADD) 

Yes 

Local school district efforts: Jackson State University (Metro Jackson Community 
Prevention Coalition), Alcorn State University (Alcorn Substance Abuse Prevention 
Program), Mississippi State University 

Yes 

Other:  No 
State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

No 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
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Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMSHA/CSAP 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: MS Department of Mental Health (MDMH)-Bureau of 
Alcohol & Drug Services 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): MAAUD, National Prevention Network (NPN), NCADD Yes 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: Mississippi works closely with SAMHSA-CSAP, a federal agency that 
promotes reducing alcohol consumption. SAMHSA also provides a registry of evidence-based programs to 
prevention service providers that MDMH funds. MS Department of Mental Health administers the public 
system of alcohol and drug prevention and treatment services in MS through the Bureau of Alcohol & Drug 
Services. These services are provided through a statewide network, which includes state-operated facilities, 
regional community mental health centers, and other nonprofit community-based programs. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Santee Ezell 
Email: Se126@saffairs.msstate.edu 
Address: 360 Hardy Road, Mississippi State, MS 39762 
Phone: (662) 325-7545 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
State Community Mental Health Centers (14) 
National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence Central MS Area, Inc. (NCADD) 
MS Public Health Institute (MSPHI) 
Jackson State University (Metro Jackson Community Prevention Coalition) 
Alcorn State University (Alcorn Substance Abuse Prevention Program) 
Mississippi State University 
Alcohol Services Center, Inc. 
Mallory Community Health Center, Inc. 
Innovative Behavioral Services, Inc. 
Dream of Hattiesburg, Inc. 
Vicksburg Family Development  
The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians (Choctaw Behavioral Health) 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 

Prepared by: MS Department of Mental Health  
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.dmh.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/2020-2022-DMH-BBH-AS-
State-Plan-for-Sec.-of-State-No-Mark-Up.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 
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Prepared by: MS Department of Mental Health 
Report can be accessed via: http://www.dmh.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/2020-2022-DMH-BBH-AS-
State-Plan-for-Sec.-of-State-No-Mark-Up.pdf 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2020 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2020 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $350,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2020 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $350,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2020 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $200,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2020 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2020 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2020 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  $750,000 
Estimate of state funds expended $750,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2020 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Federal grants Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Mississippi receives a Substance Abuse Block Grant from SAMHSA that requires a minimum of 20 percent of 
the total award be used for alcohol and drug prevention service. It is estimated that approximately 60 percent 
of that prevention set aside targets the prevention of alcohol use and/or abuse. Mississippi also receives a 
SAMHSA Discretionary Grant in which 50 percent of the resources targets underage drinking. 

Additional Clarification  
See above 
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