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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Massachusetts State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Massachusetts Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

José Morales 
Director of Prevention Services 

Massachusetts Department of Public Health 
Phone:  (617) 624-5141 

Email:  jose.morales@state.ma.us 
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Massachusetts 
State Population: 6,892,503 
Population Ages 12–20:  819,000 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 250,000 (30.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 164,000 (20%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 4,000 (1.6%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 1,000 (0.5%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 62,000 (24.3%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 32,000 (12.7%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 184,000 (54.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 130,000 (38.6%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (64.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (30.5%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.1 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 48 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,849 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 5 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (17%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview11 

The behavioral health system in Massachusetts is overseen and managed by the Executive Office 
of Health and Human Services, the Department of Public Health, the Department of Mental 
Health, and the state’s Medicaid Authority, also known as MassHealth.  There is collaboration 
between these departments to ensure coordinated and comprehensive service delivery is 
achieved.   

As the single state authority for substance abuse, the Department of Public Health’s Bureau of 
Substance Addiction Services (BSAS, formerly known as the Bureau of Substance Abuse 
Services) is responsible for overseeing the statewide system of prevention, intervention, 
treatment, and recovery support services for individuals, families, and communities affected by 
addiction.  This includes responsibility for:  

• Licensing substance use disorder treatment programs and counselors.  
• Funding and monitoring prevention, intervention, treatment, and recovery services. 
• Providing access to treatment for the uninsured.  
• Developing and implementing substance use disorder-related policies and programs.  
• Tracking substance use disorder treatment trends in the state.  
 
Overview of SUD Prevention, Early Identification, Treatment, and Recovery Support 
Services  

Massachusetts has a robust system of care for substance use disorder that serves both adults and 
children.  This system of care includes prevention, intervention, acute treatment, stabilization, 
long term residential, outpatient, medication assisted treatment, and recovery support services.  
These services are provided by community-based behavioral health providers contracted directly 
by DPH/BSAS, DMH, and/or MassHealth.  In Massachusetts, behavioral health services are not 
managed at the county level or by an intermediary.   

Massachusetts’ prevention system of care seeks to empower communities using a public health 
approach to promote and support healthy decisions regarding substance use.  To achieve this 
mission, the state provides direct support including capacity building, technical assistance, and 
evaluation support to 173 municipalities statewide.  These 173 municipalities are home to 
roughly three quarters (72 percent) of the estimated state population.  Each of the municipalities 
has been trained in and utilizes the Strategic Prevention Framework to ensure data-driven 
decision making and identification of evidence-based programs, policies, and practices that best 
fit their unique, identified community risk and protective factors.  In addition, the prevention unit 
also conducts media and social media initiatives directed at youth, seniors, healthcare providers, 
parents and other caretakers, and teachers and school staff.  Printed documents, advertising on 
public transportation systems, use of the Mass.gov website, blogs, and YouTube videos are some 
of the other vehicles used to convey the Bureau’s Prevention message.  The prevention unit is 
currently undergoing a strategic planning process to identify opportunities to expand and 

 
11 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Massachusetts) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the 
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.   
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enhance their current work and ensure they are effectively and efficiently meeting their stated 
mission.  

The intervention system of care includes a wide variety of activities ranging from outreach and 
engagement to overdose education and naloxone distribution to funding training and capacity 
building designed to promote and support Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral to 
Treatment (SBIRT) both in healthcare and school-based settings statewide.    

Beginning in 2006, BSAS received $14 million from SAMHSA to build capacity to address 
substance misuse and treat dependence in general healthcare settings using SBIRT.  BSAS has 
sustained this ongoing effort to increase use of SBIRT across the state by funding an 
MASSBIRT Training and Technical Assistance Project, based at Boston Medical Center.  In 
addition to supporting healthcare sites in implementing SBIRT concepts and skills, School 
Health Services has been piloting the use of SBIRT in school health settings.  In Massachusetts, 
there are expert trainers available to work closely with a variety of healthcare providers to 
integrate SBIRT into their work.   

With over 400 licensed programs throughout the state, the Massachusetts treatment system offers 
a full continuum of care ranging from acute treatment services such as inpatient medically 
managed hospital-based withdrawal management, community-based medically monitored 
withdrawal management, and clinical stabilization services to short- and long-term residential 
services and outpatient clinical services including medication assisted treatment.  All of these 
levels of care are available in gender-specific and age-appropriate modalities for adults, 
adolescents, young adults, and families, including specialized services for pregnant and parenting 
women.  Massachusetts supports a “no wrong door” approach to treatment, which allows an 
individual to access treatment at any point in the continuum of care as long as it is deemed 
clinically appropriate.  

In terms of recovery support services, Massachusetts has invested in the expansion of statewide 
recovery support centers, increasing the number of BSAS-funded Recovery Support Centers 
from 10 to 18 in 2019, with at least five more to be added in 2020.  Additionally, Massachusetts 
continues to support the training and certification of recovery coaches—a critical and emerging 
workforce in Massachusetts.  Finally, Massachusetts has sustained its Access to Recovery (ATR) 
program expanding and enhancing the program to include increased support for ongoing 
employment and housing.   

Continuum of Care for Youth and Young Adults 

In addition to the services described above, BSAS also oversees a continuum of developmentally 
appropriate substance use services specifically for youth and young adults (ages 8–25) that 
includes:  

School-Based Brief Intervention (Project Amp) – The manualized four-session model for youth 
ages 13–17 enhances self-efficacy; emphasizes wellness and resiliency; explores substance use 
risks, concerns, and facts; and engages youth with community resources and positive social 
networks.   

School-Based Intensive Intervention – Community-based behavioral health providers deliver a 
variety of evidence-based and/or emerging best practice models to youth ages 8–18 in traditional 
school-based settings.  The programming includes wrap-around services, engages families, and 
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has a targeted focus on increasing positive attachments to school, increasing academic 
performance, and connecting youth and families with community-based services.   

Community-Based Intervention – This is a multi-district alternative to suspension programs, 
where youth with school-based substance use-related infractions resulting in suspension serve 
their suspension at a specialized program which connects them with substance use or co-
occurring care and bridges them back to their school after their suspension is served.   

Family Intervention Groups:  

• Strong African-American Families – This is an evidence-based family intervention program 
for youth ages 10–14 and their parents to increase protective factors and reduce risk of 
substance use.   

• Strengthening Families Program for Parents and Youth 10–14 (English & Spanish) – This is 
another evidence-based family intervention program for youth ages 10–14 and their parents to 
increase protective factors and reduce risk of substance use.  

• CRAFT – This evidence-based intervention model teaches parents and concerned adults how 
to engage youth and young adults needing substance use treatment to reduce ambivalence and 
increase early access to treatment.    

Outpatient – An evidence-based treatment model, Adolescent Community Reinforcement 
Approach, is delivered at 35 sites across Massachusetts by specially trained and certified 
clinicians and supervisors.    

Youth Detoxification & Stabilization – Short-term, co-ed residential programs are offered that 
provide youth ages 13–20 with assessment, clinical treatment, supervision, and medical 
monitoring to help with detoxification and clinical stabilization.   

Youth Residential Treatment – Residential treatment is available for youth ages 13–17 
experiencing health, emotional, family, and/or social problems due to their alcohol or other drug 
use and are not actively requiring withdrawal symptom management.  This is intended for youth 
who have not been able to address their substance use problems in less intensive levels of care.   

Transition Age Youth & Young Adult Residential Treatment – This residential program provides 
a structured environment for young people ages 16–25 in an alcohol- and drug-free residential 
treatment setting.  

Medication Assisted Treatment – Medication is used in combination with counseling and 
behavioral therapies for the treatment of opioid use disorder.   

Peer Recovery –Youth (ages 13–17) and young adult (ages 18–25) recovery communities are 
provided with developmentally appropriate opportunities and resources that promote and support 
recovery.  This includes providing technical assistance to the five Recovery High Schools located 
in Massachusetts; partnering with Peer Recovery Support Centers to enhance programming to 
young adults; and collaborating with sister departments, agencies, and community stakeholders 
to support ongoing efforts as they relate to long-term recovery.     

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) administered by the Substance Abuse and 
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Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that 
Massachusetts used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As 
indicated, state funds and Medicaid funds account for the largest sources (51.6 percent and 34.8 
percent, respectively).12  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Massachusetts designated 
decreasing substance use among young people as priority number three for use of SABG funds.13 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of Massachusetts’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment 

 
  

 
12 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Massachusetts 2020. 
13 FY 2020/2021 – (Massachusetts) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, 
Division of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Massachusetts’ performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships? 
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents?    

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

Yes 
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

Yes 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws)-For Purchase 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol No 
• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
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Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 180 
Maximum number of days 180 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws)-For Possession 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol No 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 90 
Maximum number of days 90 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

16 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

40 (or 30 hours of supervised driving if applicant 
completes driver skills program) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 years, 6 months 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

12:30 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; no passengers under 18 who are not 
immediate family members, unless accompanied 
by licensed driver over 21 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
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What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

18 (Passenger restrictions expire 6 months after 
issuance of intermediate license; unsupervised 
night driving restrictions remain until full 
licensure is obtained) 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes 
 
Yes 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

No 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

N/A 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
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Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 500 feet. Local government has 
authority to override state restrictions. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 500 feet. Local government has 
authority to override state restrictions. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits 

Notes: Exceptions are 1) inns and parts of buildings located ten or more floors above street level; 2) 
extension of licensed premises that do not exceed 50 feet. 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? Yes 
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Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? Yes 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Possession 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party)  
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, family members 
 

Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? More than 2.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Active (requires action by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? Yes, $5.00 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 
Notes: The deposit provisions in Massachusetts require that a purchaser pay the following: (a) a 
container fee of not less than $10.00 for each keg having a capacity of six or more gallons and of not 
less than $1.00 for each container having a capacity of less than six gallons; and (b) a registration fee 
of $10.00 for each keg having a capacity of six or more gallons and of $4.00 for each keg having a 
capacity of less than six gallons.   
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High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No  

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

Yes 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted  
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Spirits Permitted  
Notes: Each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a permit issued by the 
Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission. 

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.11 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.55 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$4.05 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  Yes 
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Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

Yes 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price Yes 
Increased volume without increase in price Yes 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (30 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (60 days) 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (30 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (60 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post and hold (30 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (60 days) 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

Not specified 
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What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

Not specified 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, age-appropriate appearance. 
Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Prohibited 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Permitted 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No written guidelines 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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Massachusetts State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Massachusetts Alcoholic 
Beverages Control 

Commission 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 12,000 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 2,756 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 96 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 2,756 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 96 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to 
minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
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Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Additional Clarification    
In 2019, the Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC) conducted compliance checks in 224 municipalities 
across the commonwealth. There were 2,756 licensed establishments checked, of which 96 failed (3%). Of these 
licensees, there were 1,088 off-premise licensees checked of which 61 failed (6%); and 1,668 on-premise licensees 
checked of which 35 failed (2%). 
Massachusetts has the fifth-lowest ratio of enforcement agents to licensees in the country. Accordingly, the 
Division has developed Enhanced Liquor Enforcement Programs that are scheduled to address specific geographic 
and seasonal challenges relating to underage drinking and impaired driving, as well as alcohol-related community 
problems.      
Operation Safe Campus is conducted at bars and liquor stores in college communities over a six-week period at the 
beginning of each school year; Operation Safe Prom and Graduation is conducted at liquor stores throughout the 
commonwealth over an eight-week period during May and June; Operation Safe Summer is conducted at bars and 
liquor stores in summer communities over a six-week period during July and August; and Operation Safe Holidays 
is conducted at liquor stores throughout the commonwealth from Thanksgiving through December 31.     
To encourage family involvement and intervention in addressing the problem of underage drinking, the Division 
maintains a parent notification program to inform parents, at the time of the incident, of the situation in which 
their child is involved. Investigators have found this intervention to be very effective and well-received by parents. 
In 2019 these programs produced the following results: 1,226 minors in possession or transporting alcoholic 
beverages; 127 adults procuring alcohol for minors; 232 individuals in possession of false identification; with 337 
cases of beer and 230 bottles of alcohol confiscated by investigators, preventing delivery to approximately 3,648 
underage individuals.       
Since 2005 these programs have resulted in the following cumulative results: 10,846 minors in possession or 
transporting alcoholic beverages; 3,422 adults procuring alcohol for minors; 1,389 individuals in possession of false 
identification; and 5,038 cases of beer and 4,356 bottles of alcohol were confiscated, preventing delivery to 
approximately 68,668 underage individuals.       
In 2019 the ABCC conducted enforcement operations at concert and sports venues in cooperation with municipal, 
state, and county law enforcement agencies, as well as with the assistance of venue management. ABCC 
enforcement includes area liquor stores prior to the event, parking lot enforcement up until the beginning of the 
event, and then enforcement within the licensed premises. The Division conducted these operations at the Xfinity 
Center and Gillette Stadium and Fenway Park and the results of this enforcement operation included: 908 minors 
in possession of alcohol; 61 furnishing alcohol to minors; numerous medical, intoxicated, or incapacitated assists as 
well as the seizure of 119 bottles of alcohol and 210 cases of beer, preventing delivery to approximately 2,030 
underage individuals. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
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5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Substance Abuse Prevention Collaborative  

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

 
Program Description: The purpose of the Substance Abuse Prevention Collaborative (SAPC) grant program is to 
prevent underage drinking and other drug abuse across the commonwealth. This grant program serves to increase 
both the number and the capacity of municipalities across the commonwealth addressing these issues. The Bureau 
of Substance Addiction Services (note the new name, but the initials remain BSAS) is funding 28 local municipalities 
across the commonwealth to prevent underage drinking and other drug use through local evidence-based policy, 
practice, systems, and environmental change(s). The SAPC program emphasizes the integration of the Substance 
Abuse and Mental Health Services’ (SAMHSA) Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) model into overall prevention 
systems. This comprehensive process informs consistent, data-driven planning across the commonwealth focused 
on implementing culturally competent and sustainable strategies that will have a measurable effect on preventing 
and reducing underage drinking and other drug use in Massachusetts.   
 
Additionally, this program provides financial support for groups of municipalities to enter into formal, long-term 
agreements to share resources and coordinate activities in order to increase the scope of this work and their 
capacity to address these issues in their combined populations. In implementing these grants, funded programs 
(“lead municipalities”) must work in partnership with neighboring municipalities to form a “Prevention Cluster.” 
For example, the local SAPCs create and/or sustain coalitions of municipal leadership, schools, police, 
preventionists, faith communities, and others to assess their community, build its capacity, and plan, implement, 
and evaluate evidence-based strategies in their Prevention Clusters. Some of the SAPCs promote “Talk. They Hear 
You” and at least one has its own media campaign. 
 
MA Health Promotion Clearinghouse  

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://massclearingho

use.ehs.state.ma.us/ 
 

Program Description: Specific underage drinking prevention resources (in English and Spanish) were updated in 
responsive designs (readable on any digital device) and limited reprinting. The revised website has worked well.  
Resources include concepts from evidence-based programs and models of health-promoting behaviors for parents 
and youth. Toolkits for retailers are downloadable. 
 
MDPH BSAS Native American Project 

 

Number of youth served Not applicable 

https://massclearinghouse.ehs.state.ma.us/
https://massclearinghouse.ehs.state.ma.us/
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Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

 
Program Description: The Cross-Tribal/BSAS Team (the Team) had a multipronged approach to prevention that 
includes: 1) to develop and plan the implementation of a Native-focused prevention program using a Native 
supplement to an evidence-based program; and 2) to conduct outreach to tribal parents and youth to inform the 
prevention of alcohol and other drug use using Coming Home, and Stories and Poems for Northeasten Native 
Tribal Families, which are jointly created resources for Native parents to use with their youth.   
 
The LifeSkills® Training (LST) is an evidence-based program to prevent alcohol and other drug misuse. The Team 
developed an LST-approved supplement that includes intertribal cultural content and illustrations to promote 
healthy choices among youth and complements 13 of the evidence-based prevention sessions. These books and 
the parent culture-specific resources are available at no charge at: 
https://massclearinghouse.ehs.state.ma.us/category/NativeAmerican.html.  
 
BSAS funded a contract to:  
• Continue the outreach initiative at virtual and other cultural events to Massachusetts Native communities with 
Native cultural consultants   
• Recruit and train a cohort of Native college students who will serve as prevention specialists to deliver an 
evidence-based program with an approved Native supplement in two Massachusetts Native communities, while 
collaborating with Native cultural consultants on facilitating this process and participating in an evaluation   
• Develop and deliver trainings for BSAS staff and providers related to cultural humility and best practices for 
working with Native communities  
• Assist tribes in their applications for prevention of substance misuse funding   
• Convene a Community Advisiory Board   
Tribal members have shared that they are particularly committed to the prevention of alcohol misuse. To “meet 
people where they are,” the BSAS sponsored a specific dance and a distribution table at multiple powwows and 
socials. These events afforded the chance to open the discussion and offer resources on the prevention and 
treatment of substance misuse to large groups of Native people. Participants were all invited to pick up copies of 
Native-specific BSAS resources and learn more about BSAS services. The Team is also partnering with a more 
diverse group of tribes and two Native cultural organizations on this project. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
Not applicable 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The BSAS Native American Project is partnering with a diverse group of federally 
and state recognized tribes, two Native cultural organizations, and Native individuals on the prevention 
project. BSAS is an active member of the Department of Public Health (DPH)-wide interagency Native American 
Working Group, which is assessing their needs around a range of health issues and developing a strategic plan.   
Please see program section for more details. 

https://massclearinghouse.ehs.state.ma.us/category/NativeAmerican.html
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State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Please see SAPC in Program Section. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: SAPC site in Quincy has one called “Rethink the 
Drinks” (https://rethinkthedrinks.com/); “My Choice Matters” 
(https://www.mychoicematters.net/) covers multiple substances 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  Yes 
Other: Website - https://www.mass.gov/substance-use-prevention-for-parents Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts No data 
State commits state resources for TTHY No data 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas No data 
Other:  No data 

State procures funding for TTHY No 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: BSAS Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: BSAS implements best practices through (1) a competitive request-for-
response (RFR) process; (2) trainings (including ethics, evidence-based programming) and strategy meetings; 
and (3) site visits, as needed. The RFR requires selection of an evidence-based model.  A four-day Substance 
Abuse Prevention Skills Training is offered periodically to providers. Regular meetings provide technical 
assistance to ensure implementation of SPF sustainability as well as cultural competence. The community’s 
logic model, action plan, accomplishments, and challenges are reviewed throughout the year. If concerns arise, 
site visits are conducted. 

 
Additional Clarification  
Not applicable 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Jose Morales 
Email: Jose.Morales@MassMail.State.MA 
Address: 250 Washington St, 3rd, Boston, MA 02108 
Phone: (617) 624-5141 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
The BSAS Prevention Unit is currently collaborating with the BSAS Office of Youth and Young Adult Services on an 
Advisory Board that includes multiple agencies: 

Executive Office of Health and Human Services: MassHealth – Office of Behavioral Health Services 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services: MA State Plan to End Youth Homelessness 
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Department of Children and Families: Substance Use Unit 
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education: Center for Educational Options/Office of Student and 
Family Support 
Department of Mental Health: STAY Project (Young Adult Peer Recovery) 
Department of Mental Health: Community Behavioral Health Knowledge Center 
Department of Mental Health: Youth Forensic Services 
Department of Public Health: Bureau of Community Health and Prevention - Office of Sexual Health and Youth 
Development 
Department of Public Health: Bureau of Community Health and Prevention - Division of Child/Adolescent 
Health and Reproductive Health 
Department of Public Health: Bureau of Community Health and Prevention - Division of Prevention and 
Wellness, Massachusetts Tobacco Cessation and Prevention Program   
Department of Public Health: Bureau of Community Health and Prevention - Division of School-Based Health 
Centers   
Department of Public Health: Bureau of Community Health and Prevention - Division of School Health Services  
Department of Public Health: Bureau of Substance Addiction Services – Prevention Unit   
Department of Public Health: Bureau of Substance Addiction Services - Office of Program Development 
(Workforce Development)   
Department of Public Health: Bureau of Substance Addiction Services – Office of Youth and Young Adult 
Services   
Department of Public Health: Office of Problem Gambling Services   
Department of Youth Services   
Department of Youth Probation   
Institute for Health and Recovery: Youth Services Division   
Massachusetts Organization for Addiction Recovery   

In addition, the Interagency Tribal Partners Group includes the Departments of Mental Health, Elementary and 
Secondary Education, and Early Elementary Education as well as Department of Public Health. 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 

URL or other means of access: Not applicable 
 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
Not applicable 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $145,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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