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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s Center 
for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2020).  
Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and 
Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Kentucky State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Kentucky Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Casey Dean 
Executive Administrative Secretary 

Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Phone:  (502) 564-4850 

Email:  caseyl.dean@ky.gov 
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Kentucky 
State Population: 4,467,673 

Population Ages 12–20:  531,000 
   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 105,000 (19.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 70,000 (13.2%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 5,000 (2.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (1%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 33,000 (19.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 20,000 (12%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 67,000 (34.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 48,000 (25.3%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (46.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (23.2%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.0 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 50 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,987 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 12 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (17%) 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 



State Reports | Kentucky  _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

2 | 2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  __________________________________________________ 

Behavioral Health Care Overview16 

The Kentucky Department for Behavioral Health, Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities 
(DBHDID) administers a comprehensive, community-based system of behavioral health care for 
adults with serious mental illness, children with severe emotional disabilities and their families, 
and adults and youth with substance use disorders.  DBHDID is building a statewide network of 
early intervention services and supports to address first-episode psychosis.  With guidance from 
SAMHSA’s Strategic Plan:  FY 2019–2023, the department strives to further promote system of 
care principles and objectives, while at the same time ensuring autonomy at the regional level for 
service planning and decision making.  DBHDID is part of the Cabinet for Health and Family 
Services (CHFS). 

DBHDID is Kentucky’s designated state mental health authority and single state agency for 
substance abuse services as well as the state opioid treatment authority.  Per Kentucky Revised 
Statute (KRS) 194.030, DBHDID is identified as the primary state agency for developing and 
administering programs for the prevention, detection, and treatment of mental health (adults and 
children); substance abuse prevention and treatment services; and developmental and intellectual 
disabilities.  DBHDID receives state general funds allocated for the prevention and treatment of 
behavioral health (mental health and substance abuse) in a biennial budget and is charged with 
administering the funds to achieve its service and quality goals.    

Within DBHDID, there are four divisions, including Administration and Financial Management, 
Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities, Program Integrity, and Behavioral Health. The 
Division of Behavioral Health (DBH) is a product of the merger of the Division of Substance 
Abuse and the Division of Mental Health in July 2004.  With an increased focus on the treatment 
needs of individuals with co-occurring disorders (mental health and substance use) at the 
national, state, and local level, DBH is aimed at ensuring an integrated, seamless service system.  
DBH is comprised of the Director’s Office and four branches, including:  

• Behavioral Health Prevention and Promotion Branch  
• Adult Substance Abuse Treatment and Recovery Services Branch  
• Children’s Behavioral Health and Recovery Services Branch  
• Adult Mental Health Services and Recovery Branch  
 
Kentucky is divided into 14 geographic regions for the purposes of planning and providing 
publicly funded community mental health, substance use and prevention services.  A Regional 
Board has been established as the planning authority for behavioral health programs in each 
region, and these generally align with the Area Development Districts throughout the 
Commonwealth.  County and municipal governments generally do not provide community 
behavioral health services.  A Regional Board is an independent, non-profit organization that is 
governed by a volunteer board of directors that broadly represents stakeholders (including 
consumers and family members) and counties in the region.  These 14 agencies are licensed by 
CHFS as “Community Mental Health Centers.” 

 
16 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Kentucky) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the 
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.   
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KRS 210.410 authorizes the Secretary of CHFS to make state grants and other funding 
allocations to Regional Boards to provide, at a minimum, the following behavioral health 
services:  Inpatient Services; Outpatient Services; Partial Hospitalization or Psychosocial 
Rehabilitation Services; Emergency Services; Consultation and Education Services; and Services 
for Individuals with an Intellectual Disability.  Behavioral health services, including mental 
health services for adults and children, substance abuse services for adults and adolescents, and 
services for individuals with co-occurring disorders are provided in county-level clinics, and a 
number of services may also be provided off-site in homes, schools, and other community 
locations.  In addition to the clinics, there are 14 Regional Prevention Centers established to 
provide technical assistance and training on evidence-based prevention strategies.  While the 
main focus is aimed at primary prevention for substance abuse, they also support some selective 
and indicated prevention strategies (using funds other than those set aside for primary 
prevention) when those activities directly support the primary prevention goals for each region 
identified through a comprehensive needs assessment.  

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds, administered by the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Kentucky 
used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, SABG 
funds and state funds account for the largest sources (83.6 percent and 10.3 percent, 
respectively).17  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Kentucky designated 
reducing underage drinking as priority number four for use of SABG funds.18 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of Kentucky’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

  

 
17 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Kentucky 2020. 
18 FY 2020/2021 – (Kentucky) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of 
State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Kentucky’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?   

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

No 
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

No 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol N/A 
• Possession of alcohol N/A 
• Consumption of alcohol N/A 
The law applies to people under what age? N/A 
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Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

N/A 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days N/A 
Maximum number of days N/A 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

16 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

60 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 years, 6 months 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

12:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; no more than one unrelated passenger 
under 20, unless accompanied by instructor 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

No 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes 
 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
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Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

No 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

N/A 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 20 
Spirits 20 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

Notes: Although 20 years of age is the minimum age requirement to sell alcoholic beverages at both 
off-sale and on-sale establishments, 18-year-olds may stock, arrange displays, accept payment for, 
and sack malt beverages by the package, under the supervision of a person 20 years of age or older. 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 20 
Wine 20 
Spirits 20 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 20 
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Wine 20 
Spirits 20 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
Notes:  

 
Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

No 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

N/A 
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What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

N/A 

Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
 

Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? No law 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No law  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No law  

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? No law 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No law 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No law 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? No law 
Is a deposit required? No law 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No law 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No  

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted 
Spirits Permitted 
Notes: A quota retail package license holder with eighty percent (80%) of its monthly gross sales 
receipts from sales to Kentucky residents ("package store") is permitted to ship alcoholic beverages to 
Kentucky customers at addresses in a wet territory. If a visitor signs up and pays for a subscription to 
a distilled spirits or wine club/program at the package store, the package store can ship a monthly 
order to the Kentucky visitor at an address located in a wet territory. 
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Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine, distilled spirits 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

Yes 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

Yes 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

No 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

Notes: If Kentucky microbreweries or distilleries hold the proper retail licenses, then the Kentucky 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control interprets the laws to allow shipping to customers. Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. § § 243.0305, 243.157, 243.200, 243.280. See also Ky. Advisory Opinions 2017-001 and 
2017-002. In-state and out-of-state distilleries and winery licenses are permitted to ship spirits or 
wine to Kentucky residents who purchased the distilled spirits or wine, subscription, or club program 
membership, in person while visiting the distillery or winery. 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted 
Wine Permitted  
Spirits Permitted  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.08 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 
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Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 10.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 10.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.50 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 10.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 10.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 
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Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$1.92 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 11.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 11.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  Yes 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 
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Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

18  

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20  

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, shall have appearance and character 
indicating true age. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Not specified 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Not specified 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 
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What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
Notes: The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, or the local alcoholic beverage 
administrator, may order a suspension of the license for any cause for which it may, but is not 
required to, revoke the license under the provisions of KRS 243.490 and 243.500. However, the 
licensee may, subject to the approval of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board or the local alcoholic 
beverage administrator, pay in lieu of part or all of the days of any suspension period, a sum of fifty 
dollars ($50) per day. 
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Kentucky State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Kentucky Alcoholic 
Beverage Control 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don't know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 6 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 10,797 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 634 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 87 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations No data 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks No data 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 90 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $240,000 
Smallest fine imposed $1,000 
Largest fine imposed $2,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 3 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 150 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 50 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 50 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 3 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Additional Clarification    
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Responsible Beverage Server Training  

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable  
Number of caregivers served 2,287 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report http://kyprevention.co

m/projects/rbs/survey/ 
URL for more program information http://kyprevention.co

m/projects/rbs 
 

Program Description: The responsible beverage server training is designed to train servers on appropriate serving 
practices in order to decrease the number of illegal alcohol sales to underage youth and intoxicated patrons 
through educational programs that (1) help managers and servers/sellers understand state, community, and 
establishment-level alcohol policies and potential consequences for failing to comply with such policies (e.g., 
criminal and civil liability, job loss, etc.) and (2) provide the necessary skills to comply with these policies. 
 
Guidance/technical assistance offered to community stakeholders related to social 
host ordinance implementation 

 

Number of youth served Not applicable  
Number of parents served Not applicable  
Number of caregivers served 4,754 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information  No data 

 

http://kyprevention.com/projects/rbs
http://kyprevention.com/projects/rbs
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Program Description: Prevention specialists are trained to provide technical assistance and guidance to 
community stakeholders to enact social host ordinances in their communities. These values represent the number 
of individuals who received technical assistance on this topic. 
 
Awareness Campaign 

 

Number of youth served Not applicable  
Number of parents served 5,240,294 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable  
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: Awareness campaigns are environmental prevention strategies geared toward increasing 
public awareness about underage drinking and youth access to alcohol as well as strengthening laws against 
providing alcohol to a minor. One of these campaigns, "Sticker Shock," places brightly colored stickers on 
multipacks of beer and wine coolers that appeal to underage drinkers. 
 
Coaches Initiative/Life of an Athlete  

Number of youth served 16,878 
Number of parents served Not applicable  
Number of caregivers served Not applicable  
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Coaches Initiative | 

Prevent Alcohol 
Kentucky 

(kyalcoholprevention.or
g) 

Program Description: This is an upstream prevention program designed to enhance the well-being of athletes by 
educating coaches and athletes about the consequences of alcohol and drug use. 
 
Technical assistance provided to support existing ordinances, laws, regulations, and 
policies that promote reduction of access to alcohol among youth 

 

Number of youth served Not applicable  
Number of parents served Not applicable  
Number of caregivers served 17,438 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information  No data 

 
Program Description: Prevention specialist are trained to provide technical assistance and guidance to community 
stakeholders to enact or support existing ordinances, laws, regulations, and policies that promote reduction of 
access to alcohol among youth. These values represent the number of individuals who received technical 
assistance on this topic. 
 
Keg Registration Technical Assistance Provision  

Number of youth served Not applicable  
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Number of parents served Not applicable  
Number of caregivers served 4,754 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information  No data 

 
Program Description: Prevention specialist are trained to provide technical assistance and guidance to community 
stakeholders to enact ordinances related to Keg Registration. These values represent the number of individuals 
who received technical assistance on this topic. 
 
Miscellaneous strategies to engage parents and other adults to address underage 
drinking 

 

Number of youth served Not applicable  
Number of parents served 31,756 
Number of caregivers served 31,756 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: These efforts are focused on providing information and guidance to parents and community 
stakeholders; they are separate from specific programs noted above. These strategies include general efforts to 
raise awareness and promote calls to action focused on reducing underage drinking. 
 
Too Good For Drugs  

Number of youth served 25,932 
Number of parents served Not applicable  
Number of caregivers served 394 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information  https://toogoodprogra

ms.org/collections/too-
good-for-drugs 

 
Program Description: The Too Good programs empower children with the social-emotional learning and substance 
abuse prevention skills they need to lead happy and healthy lives. The program is designed for youth in grades K-9. 
The program focuses on efforts to raise awareness and reduce youth alcohol and ATOD use. 
 
Youth Empowerment System to encourage youth engagement 

 

Number of youth served 485 
Number of parents served Not applicable  
Number of caregivers served 7,177 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://dbhdid.ky.gov/db

h/sa-yes.aspx 
 

https://toogoodprograms.org/collections/too-good-for-drugs
https://toogoodprograms.org/collections/too-good-for-drugs
https://toogoodprograms.org/collections/too-good-for-drugs
http://dbhdid.ky.gov/dbh/sa-yes.aspx
http://dbhdid.ky.gov/dbh/sa-yes.aspx
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Program Description: Youth who participate in Youth Empowerment System (YES) are guided through the 
selection of appropriate prevention strategies to address underage drinking in their communities. Additionally, 
they compose grants and implement projects based on priorities identified through data analysis. 
 
Kentucky Moms Maternal Assistance Toward Recovery-Making Healthy Choices  

Number of youth served Not applicable  
Number of parents served 161,721 
Number of caregivers served N/A 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://dbhdid.ky.gov/db

h/kymomsmatr.aspx 
 

Program Description: Kentucky Moms Maternal Assistance Toward Recovery (MATR) aims to reduce harm to the 
children of expectant Kentucky mothers who are at risk for using alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs by assisting 
them during and after pregnancy. This service is a collaboration between health departments, prenatal clinics, and 
community mental health centers. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Server Training in Alcohol Regulations  
The Education Branch of the Alcoholic Beverage Control exists to make the Commonwealth of Kentucky a safer 
place through education by offering Server Training in Alcohol Regulations (STAR) and by providing information 
through public outreach.   
STAR Online Registration and Class Calendar   
Register online for STAR classes and see when and where classes are available.   
Effective immediately, all certificates of completion will be electronically delivered. The Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control will no longer provide paper certificates.   
STAR is a responsible beverage server training course developed by the Alcoholic Beverage Control.   
•STAR is Kentucky-specific regarding alcohol laws   
•STAR is accepted statewide   
•The course is $40 per person   
•Certification is valid for three years   
•Class is three hours   
•Online classes are available in Spanish   
•Duplicate STAR certificates are available for a $25 fee.   
Goals   
•Educating licensees regarding valid and fake identifications   
•Reducing illegal alcohol sales to minors   
•Reducing sales to persons who are already intoxicated   
•Promoting responsible consumption   
•Providing information to sellers and servers to protect themselves from third-party liability lawsuits   
•Educating licensees and servers about Kentucky liquor laws   
Number of youth (persons under age 21) served: Not applicable  
Number of parents (Individuals with primary responsibility for the well-being of a minor, including biological and 
adoptive parents, grandparents, foster parents, extended family, etc.) served: Not applicable    
Number of caregivers (people who provide services to youth including teachers, coaches, health and mental health 
care providers, human services and juvenile justice workers) served: Not applicable    

http://dbhdid.ky.gov/dbh/kymomsmatr.aspx
http://dbhdid.ky.gov/dbh/kymomsmatr.aspx
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Has this program been evaluated? No   
The Kentucky Department of Behavioral Health funds an underage drinking prevention program through its block 
grant and discretionary grant funds by contracting with regional prevention centers across the state. Funds are 
expended on primary prevention programs only. The programs noted in the section above are encompassed in this 
area (http://dbhdid.ky.gov/dbh/sa-rpc.aspx). 
Additional Clarification   
Kentucky Department of Behavioral Health contracts with Regional Prevention Centers (RPCs) within the 
community mental health system to provide prevention programming. The state funds an alcohol prevention 
specialist who focuses on providing best practices and evidence-based information to prevention providers across 
the state, specifically through the RPCs (https://dbhdid.ky.gov/dbh/sa-pes.aspx). 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: See individual program efforts noted in above section. The 
state also has a State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup that utilizes data to 
inform program (https://penguin-owl-j7ep.squarespace.com/new-page-68). 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: Talk. They Hear You, Easiest Place Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: See the Signs KY, Sticker Shock Yes 
Local school district efforts: Examples can be found at these two sites.  Media - LOCAL 
BOARD FOR THE KENTUCKY AGENCY FOR SUBSTANCE ABUSE POLICY 
(estillpowellasap.org); (20+) Madison County Youth in Action | Facebook 

Yes 

Other:  No 
State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY Yes 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY Yes 
Pro bono No 
Donated air time No 
Earned media No 
Other: Local providers procure funding for these efforts. Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies):  

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state: RPCs Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: Kentucky uses evidence-based curriculum only. Assemblies, drunk goggles, 
and other scare tactic-type presentations (i.e., mock crashes) cannot be supported with state and federal pass-
through funds. 

 
Additional Clarification  
State commits state resources for TTHY through RPCs. 
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State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup, Patti Clark (Chairwoman) 
Email: patti.clark@ky.gov 
Address: 275 East Main St 4 W-G, Frankfort, KY 40601 
Phone: (502) 782-2474 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Behavioral Health 
Public Health 
Kentucky Office of Drug Control Policy 
Family Resource and Youth Service Centers 
Kentucky Office of Health Data and Analytics 
Kentucky Violent Death Reporting System 
Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center 
REACH of Louisville 
University of Louisville 
University of Kentucky 
Kentucky Agency of Substance Abuse Policy   
Kentucky Suicide Prevention Enhancement Specialist   
Kentucky Alcohol Prevention Enhancement Specialist   
Kentucky Regional Prevention Centers   
Child Fatality Review Team 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: https://penguin-owl-j7ep.squarespace.com/new-page-68 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 



 _________________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Kentucky 
 

 ________________________________________________  2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 23 

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended   Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other: No data No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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