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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Illinois State Report – Underage 
Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Illinois Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Rafael Rivera 
Deputy Director, Bureau of Prevention Services 

Division of Substance Use Prevention and Recovery 
Phone:  (312) 793-1628 

Email:  rafael.rivera@illinois.gov 
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Illinois 
State Population: 12,671,821 

Population Ages 12–20:  1,507,000 
   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 282,000 (18.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 178,000 (11.8%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 10,000 (2.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 3,000 (0.6%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 84,000 (15.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 47,000 (8.8%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 189,000 (37%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 128,000 (25.1%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (60.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (29.2%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.4 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 165 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 9,958 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 22 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (18%) 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Substance Abuse System Organization3 

The Illinois Department of Human Services (IDHS), Division of Substance Use Prevention and 
Recovery (SUPR) is the designated lead for substance use disorder (SUD) services in Illinois.  
SUPR is an organizational unit within IDHS.  IDHS/SUPR’s enabling legislation requires that an 
annual plan addressing substance use be developed for a continuum of services related to 
prevention, early identification, treatment, and recovery.  

Illinois law Title 77: Public Health; Chapter X: Department of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse; 
Subchapter d: Licensure, Part 2060; Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Treatment and 
Intervention Licenses (hereinafter referred to as "Rule 2060") outlines the role of IDHS/SUPR to 
license, monitor, and fund services along the SUD intervention, treatment, and recovery 
continuum.  Adolescents and adults are served within the same service system except that any 
staff providing clinical services to or any other supportive services for youth or adolescents must 
also undergo a Child Abuse and Neglect Tracking System background check (77 Ill. Adm. Code 
2060.311).  Licenses specify all levels of care and a designation of adult and/or adolescent 
services.  Individuals who are 16 and 17 may be admitted as adults, and individuals who are 18, 
19, and 20 may be admitted as adolescents, provided that the assessment of such individuals 
includes justification based on the person's behavior and life experience.  Otherwise, the 
definition of youth is “a person who is at least 12 years of age and under 18 years of age” (77 Ill. 
Adm. Code 2060.103).  

Key among IDHS/SUPR responsibilities are the following: 1) Design, coordinate, license, fund, 
and monitor community-based services throughout the state for the treatment of SUDs; 2) 
Coordinate a statewide strategy among state agencies for the prevention, intervention, treatment, 
and recovery of SUDs; 3) Establish policy related to SUD treatment; 4) Promulgate regulations 
to provide appropriate standards for publicly and privately funded programs as well as for levels 
of payments to government funded programs providing SUD; 5) Provide information to the 
general public regarding SUDs, including public awareness campaigns on gambling use 
disorders (GUDs) and SUDs; 6) Promote, conduct, assist, or sponsor basic clinical 
epidemiological and statistical research into SUDs; and 7) Coordinate the annual preparation and 
submission of the Department's application for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
Block Grant (SABG) award. 

Substance use prevention, including the administration of the substance use prevention grants, 
was moved back into IDHS/SUPR.  Prevention is a critical component of the continuum of care, 
addressing substance use across the lifespan with a particular focus on primary prevention for 
youth and in addressing the heroin and other opioid crisis statewide.  As the single state authority 
for SUD policy, IDHS/SUPR is better situated to integrate prevention services into an effective 
and well-coordinated continuum of care for preventing and addressing SUDs. 

Prevention 

IDHS/SUPR/Bureau of Prevention Services (IDHS/SUPR/BPS) Substance Use Prevention 
Programs were restructured during 2017 in response to changing local needs and better 

 
3 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Illinois) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One. Assess the 
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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utilization of limited prevention resources.  These changes were needed as Illinois sees the 
increasing impact of the opioid epidemic, local demographic shifts in adolescent populations, 
and the need to build upon previous successes and efforts.  Resources are also allocated to assure 
workforce development opportunities are provided for all core program areas and to drive the 
collection of local adolescent data through the Illinois Youth Survey (IYS).  The IYS allows for 
analysis of substance use, risk and protective factors, and other data at the statewide and local 
level, increasing responsiveness to community needs.  

The overall goals of the program are geographically grounded by IYS data.  For the Chicago 
Substance Use Prevention Services (CSUPS,) the goals are to:  reduce 30-day rates of marijuana 
use among 6th–12th graders through the use of evidence-based curriculums, communication 
campaigns, environmental scans focused on retailers that sell marijuana paraphernalia, and 
education of paraphernalia retailers; reduce the non-medical use of prescription drugs among 
6th–12th graders and adults through promotion of community drug take back programs, 
evidence-based opioid focused sessions; increase youth voice in prevention programing through 
the use of Youth Advisory Councils and participation in SAMHSA’s National Prevention Week; 
and increase and/or maintain participation of Illinois middle and high schools in the IYS.  The 
IYS is the data collection mechanism, available online or through paper survey, used to compare 
Illinois data to national data (Monitoring the Future survey) to be able to respond to local needs.  
CSUPS also requires the compilation of local community resource guides that are to be 
disseminated among community members and recruitment of community stakeholders to help 
ground prevention services within the local community. 

Substance Use Prevention Services focus prevention activities in suburban, other urban, and rural 
areas of Illinois (excluding the City of Chicago).  Most services are similar to CSUPS activities 
except for a focus on underage alcohol use.  According to the IYS 2018 Frequency Report-
Statewide (https://iys.cprd.illinois.edu), alcohol is the leading substance of choice compared to 
all other substances.  As adolescents age, alcohol use increases.  In comparison with national 
estimates, past 30-day alcohol use was higher among Illinois adolescents (at all grade levels) 
than their national counterparts in 2018.  While underage alcohol use in Illinois has been on the 
decline for a number of years, Illinois' 8th-, 10th-, and 12th-grade alcohol use was still higher 
than the national average except for 12th-grade past year alcohol use.  

The State and/or Regional Substance Use Prevention Services focus on different areas of Illinois 
in which a larger regional or statewide response is needed to address specific identified substance 
use prevention needs through a variety of strategies.  These may be particular to different 
populations depending on identified needs. 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by SAMHSA.  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Illinois used for expenditures on 
substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, Medicaid funds and state funds 
account for the largest sources (40.7 percent and 24.6 percent, respectively).4  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Illinois designated increasing 

 
4 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and MHBG Reports – Illinois 2020. 
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the percentage of youth prevention education services that demonstrate adherence to 80 percent 
of implementation fidelity standards as part of the number one priority for use of SABG funds.5 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of Illinois’ 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

 
 
  

 
5 FY 2020/2021 – (Illinois) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of State 
and Community Assistance:  Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Illinois’ performance in enacting, enforcing, 
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    
 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a private residence if parent/guardian is 
present or consents 

 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents?   

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through an administrative process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

Yes 
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

Yes 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
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Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 180 
Maximum number of days 180 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

9 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

10:00 PM (11:00 PM on Friday and Saturday) 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; no more than one passenger under 20, 
except for siblings and children 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

18 (Passenger restrictions expire 12 months after 
issuance of intermediate license; unsupervised 
night driving restrictions remain until age 18) 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
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Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

On-premises 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Unspecified 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

No 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

No 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Off-premises 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Unspecified 

 



State Reports | Illinois  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

10 | 2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  _________________________________________________ 

Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 100 feet 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 100 feet 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits 

Notes: Exceptions are 1) hotels with restaurant service, regularly organized clubs, certain restaurants; 
2) food shops and other places where alcohol sales is not principal business and location is not a 
municipality of more than 500,000 persons; (3) certain other specified licensees.  Exemption to 
prohibition may be granted by liquor control commissioner if authorized by local rule or ordinance. 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
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Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes (For judgments or settlements awarded on or 
after January 20, 2020, $71,696.18 to 
$87,628.66.) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No  

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
Notes: The Dram Shop Statute requires the Illinois Comptroller to determine each year the liability 
limits for causes brought under the statute in accordance with the consumer price index during the 
preceding 12 months. See Illinois Comptroller, Dram Shop Liability Limits, on State of Illinois website. 

 
Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Possession/consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

Yes 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, family members and residents of household 
Notes: An individual is in violation of 235 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/6-16(c) if he or she requests assistance 
from a law enforcement agency to help end the possession or consumption of alcohol by persons 
under the age of 21 in a residence that he or she occupies. This assistance must be requested before 
any other person makes a formal complaint to a law enforcement agency about the activity. 

 
Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties-Law Applicable to Parents/Guardians 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Consumption 
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Property type covered by the law? Residential/outdoor/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes, family members 
Notes: Under 235 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/6-16(a-1), a person commits a social host offense if one is a parent 
or guardian and permits one's residence, or any other property under one’s control, to be used by an 
underage invitee of one's child or ward in a manner that violates the statute. An offense is deemed to 
have occurred if a parent or guardian knowingly authorizes or permits the prohibited use to occur. 
Illinois includes any vehicle, conveyance, or watercraft within this offense. 

 
Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties- Law Applicable to Hotel or Motel Rooms 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Overt act (Host must have actual knowledge and 

commit act that contributes to party’s 
occurrence) 

Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? No 
Notes: Under 235 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/6-16(d), a person commits a social host offense by renting a hotel 
or motel room for the purpose of or with the knowledge that such room shall be used for the 
consumption of alcoholic liquor by underage persons. 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? No law 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No law  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No law 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? No law 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No law 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No law 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? No law 
Is a deposit required? No law 
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Does law cover disposable kegs? No law 
 

High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No  

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

No  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

No 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
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Wine Permitted  
Spirits Permitted  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.23 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$1.39 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$8.55 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 

$1.39 per gallon for alcohol content of more than 
14% and less than 20%. 
 

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  Yes 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving Yes 
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Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

Restricted (Permitted before 10 p.m.; maximum 
of 4 hours per day and 15 hours per week.) 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price Yes 
Increased volume without increase in price Yes 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

18 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20 
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Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Not specified 
Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Discretionary 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Mandated 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

5 years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $500 fine or 1-day suspension 
What is the penalty for the second offense? $1,000–$3,500 fine; 1- to 5-day suspension 
What is the penalty for the third offense? $5,000–$10,000; 10- to 30-day suspension 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? Revocation 
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Illinois State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Illinois Liquor Control Commission 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Illinois Liquor Control 
Commission 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don't know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Don't know 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 25,160 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,606 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 242 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations 1,606 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 242 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 242 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $83,000 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $3,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 0 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

Additional Clarification    
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training   

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www2.illinois.go

v/ilcc/Education/Pages/
Education.aspx 

 
Program Description: The Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET) Programs trains 
sellers and servers of alcohol to serve responsibly to prevent alcohol-related incidents and prevent underage sales 
of alcohol. It is an alcohol awareness program. Participants learn prevention and intervention techniques when 
dealing with patrons. It educates them on the laws regarding alcohol service and how to properly check IDs to 
prevent underage sales of alcohol. The training is mandatory for servers, bartenders, and security detail checking 
IDs. 
 
The Illinois Liquor Control Commission’s Under 21 Program  

Number of youth served 2,000 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information  https://www2.illinois.go

v/ilcc/Education/Pages/
BASSET/Home.aspx 

https://www2.illinois.gov/ilcc/Education/Pages/Education.aspx
https://www2.illinois.gov/ilcc/Education/Pages/Education.aspx
https://www2.illinois.gov/ilcc/Education/Pages/Education.aspx
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Program Description: The program is an education program consisting of a school presentation providing 
information on the dangers of alcohol and other drugs. The program gives detail on the harmful effects of alcohol 
on the body, preventing addiction, the social consequences of alcohol abuse, and the legal consequences that can 
affect their future. 
 
Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education Program Under 21 Program 

 

Number of youth served 800 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: The BASSET program trains sellers and servers of alcoholic beverages to serve responsibly to 
prevent over-service, drunk driving, prevention of underage sales, and prevention of alcohol-related incidents. 
 
Alcohol Policy Center  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served 200 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www.preventio

n.org/alcohol-policy-
resource-center/ 

 
Program Description: The Alcohol Policy Resource Center provides training, education, resources, and tools on 
evidence-based alcohol policy strategies to municipalities, local officials, law enforcement, and community 
coalitions focused on underage drinking in communities throughout Illinois. 
 
Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnership for Success  

 

Number of youth served 823,224 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: The Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnerships for Success (SPF-PFS) grant is a five-year 
project that supports eight sub-recipients and their multisector coalitions in using the SPF process to reduce past 
30-day alcohol use rates and negative consequences of underage drinking among eighth to 12th grade youth. The 
SPF components are assessment, capacity building, strategic planning, implementation, and evaluation. Cultural 
competency and sustainability are expected to be addressed in every component of the framework. Providers and 
their coalitions are supported in planning and delivering services in communities selected for this grant that had 
higher rates of underage drinking compared to the state average per 2014 Illinois Youth Survey data results. After 
funding and initial start-up, sub-recipients began using a data-driven process to reduce underage drinking at the 
community level. The process includes (1) working with a local, multisector coalition that includes education, law 

https://www.prevention.org/alcohol-policy-resource-center/
https://www.prevention.org/alcohol-policy-resource-center/
https://www.prevention.org/alcohol-policy-resource-center/
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enforcement, and liquor license commission representatives as required sectors; (2) completing a needs 
assessment process to inform the selection of strategies through a logic model process; (3) developing a local 
strategic plan to address underage drinking within their targeted community areas; and (4) implementing 
evidence-based strategies. Additionally, the SPF-PFS grant program seeks to address behavioral health disparities 
among racial and ethnic minorities and other populations by encouraging implementation of strategies to 
decrease differences in access, service use, and outcomes among the populations served.   
 
The SPF ensures that a data-driven process serves as the structure to accomplish the following goals:   
1) Decrease past 30-day alcohol use among eighth to 12th grade youth and among identified vulnerable 
populations (where applicable) 
2) Reduce the number of alcohol-related emergency department visits 
3) Reduce one or more of the following outcomes: perception of parental disapproval/attitude of underage 
drinking; perception of peer disapproval/attitude of underage drinking; perceived risk or harm of use of underage 
drinking; and family communication about alcohol use 
4) Impact one or more contributing factors (also referred to as risk and protective factors) for underage drinking 
among eighth to 12th grade youth: 
a) Perceived risk of harm associated with daily drinking and binge drinking 
b) Personal disapproval of youth alcohol use 
c) Perceived peer attitudes (norms) associated with youth alcohol use (e.g., how “cool” they would be perceived by 
peers if they used alcohol) 
d) Perceived parental disapproval of youth alcohol use 
e) Perceived community (adult) disapproval of underage drinking 
f) Parental communication regarding their disapproval of youth alcohol use 
g) Parental monitoring of alcohol-related behavior (e.g., likelihood their parents would catch them if they drank 
alcohol, attended a party where alcohol is served, etc.)   
h) Family rules about alcohol and drug use 
i) Perceived ease of access to alcohol 
j) Access to different alcohol sources among past-year alcohol users (e.g., retail, social, and/or parent supply 
source) 
 
Also:   
1) The grant builds upon work of the State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup to enhance Illinois’ ability to 
identify and track emerging behavioral health priorities through stronger data infrastructure systems.  
2) The state’s training and technical assistance contractor provides support to sub-recipients throughout the SPF 
process via group trainings and individualized technical assistance.  
3) The state’s evaluation contractor is responsible for all aspects of evaluation: training, data collection, analysis, 
and progress and outcome measure reporting. Further, the evaluation contractor shares findings/lessons learned 
with sub-recipients, state project staff, and the funder’s national evaluation group to monitor progress, provide 
feedback, and improve the overall quality of prevention efforts. 
 
Substance Use Prevention Program  

Number of youth served 237,165 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 
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Program Description: Within the Substance Use Prevention Program, Substance Use Prevention Services (SUPS) 
and two State and Regional Substance Use Prevention Services (SRSUPS) providers deliver direct services geared 
toward underage drinking.   
 
SUPS are designed to assist communities in evaluating, addressing, and meeting their community's needs in the 
area of substance abuse prevention. SUPS support communities in implementing evidence- and community-based 
prevention services in suburban, other urban, and rural areas of Illinois (excluding the city of Chicago). Services 
under SUPS focus on 1) reducing the rate of alcohol use among eighth to 12th graders and adults 2) reducing the 
nonmedical use of prescription drugs among eighth to 12th graders and adults, and 3) increasing and/or 
maintaining participation of public schools in the Illinois Youth Survey. As part of program requirements, providers 
are required to deliver Core Services.   
 
The Core Services include:   
1) Delivering the evidence-based model Youth Prevention Education 
2) Planning for and delivering two communication campaigns addressing underage drinking and nonmedical use of 
prescription drugs 
3) Recruiting schools to participate in the administration of the Illinois Youth Survey (IYS) 
4) Conducting two activities that focus on (1) underage drinking and alcohol misuse and the (2) prescription and 
opioid drug use that match the daily health themes according to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration's (SAMHSA) National Prevention Week 
5) Raising awareness regarding the drug take-back programs in the service area 
6) Establishing a Youth Advisory Committee 
7) Developing a resource guide for the service area  
 
In addition to the Core Services, additional required services include collaboration and relationship building with 
key community stakeholders, establishing and maintaining linkage agreements with schools where youth 
prevention education and communication campaigns will be delivered, and attendance and participation in 
required program trainings.   
 
SRSUPS are designed to deliver services in a region (municipality and/or multiple counties with a total population 
of more than 1,000,000) or across the entire state. SRSUPS grants target youth leaders ages 12-18, municipalities, 
college students, high school athletes, youth in sixth to 12th grades, and prescribers of opioids within their 
designated service area. As part of SRSUPS, two providers directly focus on youth drug and alcohol prevention.  
The Robert Crown Center utilizes school-based health education in the metropolitan Chicago area to address sex 
education and substance abuse prevention. The Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities is located in Chicago 
and utilizes youth prevention education that addresses the specific need of youth who are deaf or hard of hearing 
across Illinois. 
  

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
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State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns: Illinois supports a limited number of community-
based local campaigns focused on preventing underage alcohol use. 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  No 
Other: Illinois developed a statewide campaign focused on underage alcohol use that 
is distributed throughout communities by a network of prevention providers (except 
within the City of Chicago). 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

No 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), National 
Repository of Evidence-Based Practices (NREP) 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Illinois Department of Human Services Division of 
Substance Use Prevention and Recovery 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): University of Illlinois at Urbana-Champaign Center for 
Research and Development 

Yes 

Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: Illinois requires the use of evidence-based programs and practices (EBP) as 
well as policies. A review of the previous NREP catalog was conducted and specific Youth Prevention Education 
EBPs were selected that represented youth target populations within the state. Target populations are sixth 
through 12th grade youth. Implementation standards reviews are conducted prior to implementation to 
increase fidelity. Evidence-based standards are also promoted for other prevention strategies. For example, if a 
community-based provider proposes an underage drinking communication campaign, the provider is expected 
to address all of the standards for communication campaigns. Illinois supports an Alcohol Policy Resource 
Center, https://www.prevention.org/Alcohol-Policy-Center/, that focuses solely on best practices for alcohol 
policy development and dissemination. 

 
Additional Clarification  
Even though Illinois doesn't directly collaborate with the TTHY national media campaign, we encourage the use of 
TTHY materials throughout our prevention systems provider network. A number of prevention providers leverage 
Illinois resources to use TTHY materials. These activities include:  
1) Providing the link on materials (posters, newspaper ads, and a resource booklet) focused on a parent 
communication campaign 
2) Adding a link to a resource flyer distributed during various meetings/functions and placed in various sites 
around community such as the hospital, the health department, and the local library 
3) Utilizing multilingual, campaign-focused banners in front of all 12 schools in the service area, park 
districts, and police departments and changing banner style every year   
4) Distributing the brochure in four languages   
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5) Sending emails directly from the school principal to parents referencing “Talk” materials  
6) Sharing and promoting public service announcement (PSA) videos on the Facebook page;  
7) Promoting the TTHY campaign mainly through various social media platforms as well as through bi-
monthly newsletters and a number of the printed materials used as handouts when conducting parent or 
community events 
8) Utilizing radio clips and posters to promote town hall meetings, including the “Communities Talk” Town 
Hall meeting flyer 
9) Partnering with a coalition to put together a bilingual town hall meeting with funding from the TTHY 
campaign 
10) Running ads and billboards for approximately six months;  
11) Using messages (Five Conversation Goals and 60 1-minute Conversations) in parent communication   
12) Playing YouTube commercials at coalition meetings and lock-in activities  
13) Ordering free campaign materials (e.g., table tents, small business cards, and postcards with campaign 
messages), providing these materials at coalition meetings and community events, encouraging distribution to 
their agencies or clients, and bringing materials to community presentations, such as parent education nights at 
the middle and high schools 
14) Promoting conversation tips, talk simulator, and apps for mobile devices via coalitions' Facebook pages  
15) Creation of parent and student success kits, including the TTHY print out on Five Conversation Goals  
16) Using the brochure and information card at various community events that involve parents, including 
school sporting events and back-to-school fairs. 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 

Prepared by: University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Center for Prevention Research and Development  
Plan can be accessed via: https://www.dhs.state.il.us/page.aspx?item=46136 and 
https://iys.cprd.illinois.edu/UserFiles/Servers/Server_178052/File/state-
reports/2018/Freq18_IYS_Statewide.pdf  

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 
Prepared by: University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Center for Prevention Research and Development 
Report can be accessed via: https://iys.cprd.illinois.edu/UserFiles/Servers/Server_178052/File/state-
reports/2018/Freq18_IYS_Statewide.pdf  

Additional Clarification  
Please note that during the survey period the State of Illinois was in the process of developing and organizing the 
Illinois Alliance on Reducing Underage Drinking, which began meeting after this reporting period. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $21,980.50 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

https://www.dhs.state.il.us/page.aspx?item=46136
https://iys.cprd.illinois.edu/UserFiles/Servers/Server_178052/File/state-reports/2018/Freq18_IYS_Statewide.pdf
https://iys.cprd.illinois.edu/UserFiles/Servers/Server_178052/File/state-reports/2018/Freq18_IYS_Statewide.pdf
https://iys.cprd.illinois.edu/UserFiles/Servers/Server_178052/File/state-reports/2018/Freq18_IYS_Statewide.pdf
https://iys.cprd.illinois.edu/UserFiles/Servers/Server_178052/File/state-reports/2018/Freq18_IYS_Statewide.pdf
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Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,965,734 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other: No data No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
General Revenue and the Youth Alcohol and Drug Prevention Fund are both used to support prevention 
providers' evidenced-based community activities targeting underage drinking. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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