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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub.
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255). The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce
underage drinking.” As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services (HHS).

Time Period Covered by this State Report: This State Report primarily includes data from calendar
year 2020. Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey
data as of 2019. State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020. State survey data,
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the
data.

Source of Data: For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis
(2020). Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance
and Data Collection on request. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths
from 2011-2015 among youth under age 21. ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities. The National Center for Statistics
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.

Recommended Citation: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Georgia State Report — Underage
Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.
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THE INTERAGENCY COORDINATING COMMITTEE
ON THE PREVENTION OF UNDERAGE DRINKING (ICCPUD)

Georgia
State Population: 10,617,423
Population Ages 12-20: 1,288,000

Past-Month Alcohol Use

Ages 12-20

Past-Month Alcohol Use — Number (Percentage) 186,000 (14.4%)

Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use — Number (Percentage) 101,000 (7.9%)
Ages 12-14

Past-Month Alcohol Use — Number (Percentage) 9,000 (2.1%)

Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use — Number (Percentage) 3,000 (0.7%)
Ages 15-17

Past-Month Alcohol Use — Number (Percentage) 48,000 (10.9%)

Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use — Number (Percentage) 23,000 (5.2%)
Ages 18-20

Past-Month Alcohol Use — Number (Percentage) 129,000 (30.6%)

Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use — Number (Percentage) 76,000 (17.9%)
Adults Ages 18 +

Past-Month Alcohol Use — (Percentage) (51.7%)

Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use — (Percentage) (23.1%)

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use
Average Age of Initiation 16.5
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 111
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 6,687
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%*
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 27
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (15%)

1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure. The estimates are rounded to the
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal
those calculated from the rounded estimates. Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding.
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The Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities'?

Created by the Governor and General Assembly in 2009, the Georgia Department of Behavioral
Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD) and its network of community providers offer
treatment and support services to help people with behavioral health challenges achieve recovery
by focusing on their strengths. Through uniquely tailored supports and services, the department
also helps people with intellectual and developmental disabilities attain independence and lead
meaningful and fulfilling lives. DBHDD’s vision is “easy access to high-quality care that leads
to a life of recovery and independence for the people we serve”. The mission is “to lead an
accountable and effective continuum of care to support people with behavioral health challenges,
and intellectual and developmental disabilities in a dynamic health care environment.”

As a Cabinet-level department, DBHDD is the state agency responsible for administration,
coordination, planning, regulation, and monitoring of all components of the state public
behavioral health and intellectual and developmental disability systems. DBHDD operates state
hospitals and provides for community-based services across the state through contracted
providers. As Georgia’s public safety net, the department’s primary responsibility is to serve
people who are uninsured. Individuals on Medicaid and others with few resources or options are
also served.

The DBHDD system of services is administered through six field offices that serve Georgia.
These offices administer the hospital and community resources assigned to the region. The
regional field offices are responsible for: 1) locating and coordinating services and supports; 2)
monitoring the services being received by consumers to ensure quality and access; 3) developing
new services and expanding existing services as needed; 4) investigating and resolving
complaints; 5) conducting special investigations and reviews when warranted; and 6) overseeing
statewide initiatives.

The regional field offices ensure that services brokered by DBHDD are implemented and
provided according to design—“Easy access to high-quality care that leads to a life of recovery
and independence for the people we serve.” These offices support the network of providers in
their regions to assure a full array of services and supports to individuals needing publicly
funded services. Each field office is managed by a Regional Services Administrator (RSA).
These RSA’s develop and maintain effective working relationships with all stakeholders in the
region through regular meetings with providers, consumers, family members, advocates, elected
officials, Regional Advisory Council (RAC) members, and other social services agencies. RSAs
work closely with Regional Hospital Administrators and the Central Office, Director of Field
Operations, to assure continuity and quality of services across regions.

The role the RAC plays with each field office is to promote public awareness of mental health,
developmental disabilities, and addictive diseases disorders and to help the public better
understand consumers and their needs and services. Council members stay informed about local
needs and issues and serve as advocates with public officials. The main objective of the council
is to assist the department in fulfilling its vision of "easy access to high-quality care that leads to

12 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 — (Georgia) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse and Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs,
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.
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a life of recovery and independence for the people we serve." These advisory councils are
required to have at least 50 percent of their membership comprised of consumers and family
members to assure the inclusion of the consumer/family voice in determining needed services for
the local region.

Office of Addictive Diseases

DBH’s Office of Addictive Diseases (OAD) provides leadership for adult and adolescent
substance use disorder treatment services. The responsibilities include program oversight; grants
management; ensuring compliance with federal and state funding requirements; maintaining
collaborative relationships with advocacy groups and other stakeholders; providing data and
information at the regional and local levels to impact policy decisions; statewide technical
assistance to providers and the six DBHDD field offices; developing and maintaining
collaboration among private and public sector providers and stakeholders; providing training and
information on best practices for substance use disorder treatment; coordinating collaborative
efforts in increasing best practices models; assisting community and faith-based groups in
developing capacity and training; overseeing HIV Early Intervention Services among substance
users and their families and significant others; overseeing men’s residential treatment services
throughout Georgia and the Women's Treatment and Recovery Services program; and carrying
out gambling prevention activities.

OAD and the Office of Adult Mental Health coordinate treatment and training issues regarding
service delivery to those with co-occurring substance use and mental health disorders. By
contract, all state providers of services must be co-occurring-capable. Georgia has spent several
years providing statewide training to ensure competency in assessing and treating both mental
illness and substance use disorders. In addition, both offices share the same service definitions
in the state provider manual and work in harmony to ensure that adults, children, and adolescents
have an integrated system of care.

Office of Behavioral Health Prevention

DBH’s Office of Behavioral Health Prevention (OBHP) is the state agency charged with
providing prevention leadership, strategic planning, and services to improve the
mental/emotional well-being of communities, families, and individuals in Georgia. The OBHP
develops and contracts for prevention services across the state specifically designed to reduce the
risks and increase protective factors linked to substance use-related problem behaviors, suicide,
and mental health promotion. The office uses a public health approach (population-based) and
the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) Model (Assessment, Capacity, Planning,
Implementation and Evaluation).

Alcohol & Substance Abuse Prevention Project

The Alcohol & Substance Abuse Prevention Project (ASAPP) Project is a statewide initiative
aimed at preventing alcohol and identified substances of abuse and promoting healthy lifestyles
and choices among Georgians. Based on epidemiological data, early onset of alcohol use and
abuse and binge drinking have been identified as major public health and safety issues in
Georgia. Using the SPF model and a public health approach, the objective of ASAPP is to
implement evidence-based prevention strategies (programs/practices/policies) targeting the
state’s identified priority need, alcohol, and to allow communities to address a second local
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priority need identified using local data. The project requires all providers to participate in a
state-level evaluation as well as conduct and share results of their local community evaluation.
Providers are also required to join with community coalitions and develop Community
Prevention Alliance Workgroups to effectively implement the strategies and garner community
buy-in for accomplishing the goals. ASAPP currently funds 42 contractors across the six
DBHDD regions.

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment

All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through Substance Abuse
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds administered by the Substance Abuse and
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Georgia
used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020. As indicated, SABG
funds and state funds account for the largest sources (41.4 percent and 36.7 percent,
respectively).!?

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures. For FY 2020-2021, Georgia designated reducing
alcohol access and use to alcohol among 9- to 25-year-olds as priority number seven for use of
SABG funds.'*

Exhibit 1: Sources of Georgia’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment

___ State Funds

367 %
$53,935,820
SABG41FTSZ Other Federal Funds
. . 21.3 %
$60,868,979 $31,379,553

Other Funds
0.6 %
$871,138

13 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports — Georgia 2020

14 FY 2020/2021 — (Georgia) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for
Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance
Indicators.
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State Performance: Laws, Enforcement, and Programs

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Georgia’s performance in enacting, enforcing,
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.

The following sections address these measures:

State Laws and Policies: These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six
categories:

1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.

2. Underage drinking and driving.

3. Alcohol availability.

4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home.
5. Alcohol pricing.

6. Enforcement policies.

STOP Act State Survey Data: The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking. Administered since
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics:

1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations.

2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking.

3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards,
collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media
campaigns.

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking.
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol

Underage Possession

Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages

prohibited?

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?

e Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is Yes, in specified locations — see below
present or consents?

e |s possession allowed if spouse is present or No
consents?

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in parent's/guardian's home if

parent/guardian is present or consents

Underage Consumption

Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages No law

prohibited?

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?

e Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is N/A
present or consents?

e s consumption allowed if spouse is present or N/A
consents?

Is there an exception based on location? N/A

Underage Internal Possession

Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages |No law

prohibited?

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?

e s internal possession allowed if parent or guardian | N/A
is present or consents?

e Isinternal possession allowed if spouse is present | N/A
or consents?

Is there an exception based on location? N/A

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase

Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages
prohibited?

May youth purchase for law enforcement No
purposes?

Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol
Provisions Targeting Minors
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s No
driver’s license suspension?

Provisions Targeting Suppliers
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false No
ID prohibited?
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of No
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?

Retailer Support Provisions

Is there an incentive for the retailer to use No
electronic scanners for information digitally
encoded on valid IDs?

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 Yes
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons
21 and over?

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs Yes
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is
ultimately deemed valid?

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer? | Yes

¢ s it a specific affirmative defense (retailer Yes
reasonably believed ID was valid after
examining it)?

e Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer No
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)?

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor | No
for use of a false ID?

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false | No
ID?

Notes: In Georgia, the prohibition against furnishing to a minor does not apply when a retailer has
been provided with “proper identification,” defined as “any document issued by a governmental
agency containing a description of the person, such person's photograph, or both, and giving such
person's date of birth.” When a reasonable or prudent person could reasonably be in doubt as to
whether a customer is of legal drinking age, the retailer has a duty to request to see and to be
furnished with proper identification in order to verify the customer’s age, and the failure to make
such request and verification in the case of an underage person may be considered by the trier of fact
in determining whether the retailer furnishing the alcoholic beverage did so knowingly. See Ga. Code
Ann. § 3-3-23(d), (h). For purposes of this report, the “reasonable or prudent person” requirement is
interpreted as providing the retailer a defense for reasonable reliance on an apparently valid ID.

Underage Drinking and Driving

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
What is the maximum blood alcohol 0.02

concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver
of a motor vehicle?

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically Yes
establish a violation (per se violation)?

What is the minimum age to which the limit 0
applies?

What is the maximum age to which the limit 21
applies?
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws)
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or No

revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol
violations?

What types of violation lead to license
suspension or revocation?

e Purchase of alcohol N/A
e Possession of alcohol N/A
e Consumption of alcohol N/A
The law applies to people under what age? N/A
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or N/A

discretionary?

What is the length of suspension/revocation?
Minimum number of days N/A
Maximum number of days N/A

Graduated Driver’s Licenses

Learner Stage
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with | 15
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than
instructors)?

What is the minimum number of months driver 12
must hold learner permit before advancing to
intermediate stage?

What is the minimum number of hours of driving | 40 (6 of which must be at night)
with parents, guardians, or adults before
advancing to intermediate stage?
Intermediate Stage

What is the minimum age for driving without 16

adult supervision?

For night driving, when does adult supervision 12:000 AM

requirement begin?

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night No

driving violation as a primary offense?

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; first 6 months, immediate family only.

Second 6 months, no more than one passenger
under 21 who is not immediate family. After one
year, no more than 3 passengers under 21 who
are not immediate family

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of No

passenger restrictions as a primary offense?
License Stage

What is the minimum age for full license 18
privileges and lifting of restrictions?
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Alcohol Availability

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors Yes

prohibited?

Are there exceptions based on family

relationships?

e s furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian | Yes, in specified locations
supplies the alcohol?

e Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies No
the alcohol?
Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in a parent's/guardian's home, if

parent/guardian/spouse supplies alcohol

Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated | No
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been

charged?

Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)

Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage No
Service Training?

If training is mandatory, who must participate? N/A

If training is voluntary, which of the following
incentives are offered?

e Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A

e Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, N/A
license fees, or other

e Mitigation of fines or other administrative N/A
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated
persons

e Protection against license revocation for sales | N/A
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons
Does the RBS law apply to on-premises N/A
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or
off-premises establishments (such as liquor
stores)?
Does the RBS law apply to new or existing N/A
licensees?

Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol — Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments?

Beer None
Wine None
Spirits None

Does a manager or supervisor have to be present | No
when an underage person is selling beverages?
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Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders — On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars)
What is the minimum age requirement for
servers in on-premises establishments?

when an underage person is selling beverages?

Beer 18
Wine 18
Spirits 18
What is the minimum age requirement for

bartenders in on-premises establishments?

Beer 18
Wine 18
Spirits 18
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present | No

Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and

Secondary Schools
Colleges and Universities

Is there a distance requirement for off-premises
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)?

Yes, within 100 yards for wine and beer; within
200 yards for spirits. Local government has the
authority to override state restrictions for wine
and beer for grocery stores.

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)?

Yes, within 100 yards for wine and beer; within
200 yards for spirits. Local government has
authority to override state restrictions.

To which alcohol products does requirement
apply?

Beer, wine, spirits

Primary and Secondary Schools

Is there a distance requirement for off-premises
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)?

Yes, within 100 yards for wine and beer; within
200 yards for spirits. Local government has the
authority to override state restrictions for wine
and beer for grocery stores.

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)?

Yes, within 100 yards for wine and beer; within
200 yards for spirits. Local government has
authority to override state restrictions.

To which alcohol products does requirement
apply?

Beer, wine, spirits

Notes: Exceptions are 1) hotels of more than 50 rooms; 2) bona fide private clubs.

Dram Shop Liability

Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes
Does the statute limit damages that may be No
recovered?

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No

Does the statute limit elements or standards of
proof?

Yes (Furnishing with knowledge that customer
was a minor and would soon be operating a
motor vehicle.)
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‘ Does common law dram shop liability exist? ‘ No ‘
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes
Does the statute limit damages that may be No
recovered?
Does the statute limit who may be sued? No
Does the statute limit elements or standards of Yes (Furnishing with knowledge that customer
proof? was a minor and would soon be operating a
motor vehicle.)
Does common law social host liability exist? No

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking | No
parties?

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a N/A
general prohibition against permitting underage
drinking on the property?

What action by underage guest triggers a N/A

violation?

Property type covered by the law? N/A

What level of knowledge by the host is required? | N/A

Does host’s preventive action protect him/her N/A

from being held liable?

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A

How is a keg defined (in gallons)? More than 2.00

Prohibitions

Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or Yes (maximum fine/jail, $1,000/12 months)

unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty?
Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, | Yes (maximum fine/jail, $1,000/12 months)
what is the penalty?

What purchaser information is collected?
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name Yes
and address on license or other government
information?

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg | Yes
will be consumed?
Must warning information be given to purchaser? | Active (requires action by purchaser)

Is a deposit required? No

Does law cover disposable kegs? No

Notes: Although Georgia does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser's ID, it
does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser, as well as
the purchaser's name, address, and date of birth.
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High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages

Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof No
grain alcohol beverages?

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume N/A
(ABV)?

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending
interstate shipments to in-state consumers?

Beer Prohibited
Wine Prohibited
Spirits Prohibited
May alcohol producers ship directly to Yes
consumers?

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine

Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer | No
before delivery is authorized?
Age verification requirements
Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age | Yes
before sale?
Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of | No
recipients?

State approval/permit requirements
Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state Yes
license or permit?
Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved | No
by a state agency?
Recording/reporting requirements
Must the producer/manufacturer record/report Yes
purchaser’s name?
Must the common carrier (deliverer) No
record/report recipient’s name?
Shipping label requirements
Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? | Yes
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years | Yes
old”?
Notes: Wineries that hold a federal basic wine manufacturing permit, regardless of whether they are
licensed by the state of Georgia, may also ship wines directly to consumers. The consumer must
purchase the wine while physically present on the premises of the winery, and the winery must verify
that the consumer is of the age to do so. Ga. Code Ann. § 3-6-32.
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Home Delivery

Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?

Beer Prohibited
Wine Prohibited
Spirits Prohibited

Alcohol Pricing

Alcohol Taxes

Beer
Control system for beer? No
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer | $1.01
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)

Retail tax rate (if applicable)

If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption No
from general sales tax?
e General sales tax rate Not relevant

e Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax | Not relevant
minus the general sales tax, where there is an
exemption from the general sales tax)

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on

total receipts for 5% alcohol beer

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)

Retail tax rate (if applicable)

If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption No
from general sales tax?
e General sales tax rate Not relevant

e Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax | Not relevant
minus the general sales tax, where there is an
exemption from the general sales tax)

Additional taxes for 3.2 — 6% alcohol beer if

applicable

Notes: $0.32 per gallon for malt beverages sold in barrels or bulk containers containing not more than

31 gallons, and $0.39 per gallon on barrels or bulk containers of 15.5 gallons or less.

Control system for wine? No
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol $0.42
wine

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)

Retail tax rate (if applicable)
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If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption
from general sales tax?

No

e General sales tax rate

Not relevant

e Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax
minus the general sales tax, where there is an
exemption from the general sales tax)

Not relevant

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)

Retail tax rate (if applicable)

If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption
from general sales tax?

No

e General sales tax rate

Not relevant

e Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax
minus the general sales tax, where there is an
exemption from the general sales tax)

Not relevant

Additional taxes for 6 — 14% alcohol wine if
applicable

Control system for spirits?

Georgia imposes an additional tax of $1.10 per
gallon on the "importation for use, consumption,
or final delivery" into the state of all wines with
an alcohol content of 14% or less.

No

Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol
spirits

$1.89

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)

Retail tax rate (if applicable)

If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption
from general sales tax?

No

e General sales tax rate

Not relevant

e Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax
minus the general sales tax, where there is an
exemption from the general sales tax)

Not relevant

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)

Retail tax rate (if applicable)

If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption
from general sales tax?

No

e General sales tax rate

Not relevant

e Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax
minus the general sales tax, where there is an
exemption from the general sales tax)

Not relevant

Additional taxes for 15 — 50% alcohol spirits if
applicable
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Notes: Georgia imposes an additional tax of $1.89 per gallon on the "importation for use,
consumption, or final delivery" into the state of all distilled spirits.

Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials

Are on-premises retailers prohibited from

offering the following types of drink specials?

Free beverages No
Multiple servings at one time No
Multiple servings for same price as single serving | No
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., No
happy hours)

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No
Increased volume without increase in price No

Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions

Beer
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law
Must wholesalers establish a minimum No law

markup or maximum discount for each
product sold to retailers?

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e.,
not reduce) prices for a set period of time?

Post and hold (180 days)

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time
period?

No

retailer and if so, what is the maximum time
period?

Are volume discounts to retailers allowed?

Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law
Must wholesalers establish a minimum No law
markup or maximum discount for each

product sold to retailers?

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., | No law
not reduce) prices for a set period of time?

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to No

No law

Must wholesalers establish a minimum
markup or maximum discount for each
product sold to retailers?

No law

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e.,
not reduce) prices for a set period of time?

Post and hold (14 days)

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time
period?

No
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Enforcement Policies

Compliance Check Protocols

Does the state have a written protocol for when Yes
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks?

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 17
participate in a compliance check?
What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 20

participate in a compliance check?
Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? | Not specified

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Prohibited (Except to obtain admission to facility
or unless authorized in writing by Special Agent in
Charge, Assistant Director, or Director.)

May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual Prohibited
age?
Is decoy training mandated, recommended, Not specified

prohibited, or not specified?

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Are there written guidelines for penalties that are | Yes
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor?
What is the time period for defining second, third | N/A
and subsequent offenses?

What is the penalty for the first offense? $500-$2,500 fine, 12-month probation, up to 30-
day suspension

What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A

What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A

What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A

Notes: Mitigating and aggravating circumstances are considered and penalty guidelines are available
if those circumstances are present.
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Georgia State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Georgia Department of Revenue - Alcohol & Tobacco Division

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Don't know

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

. . Not applicable
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors PP

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes

Number of minors found in possession? by state law

enforcement agencies >
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2020
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations? to determine whether Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state3 20,654
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
. . 3,150
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 174
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/20/2020
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail Both on- and off-sale
establishments establishments
State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations 3,150
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 174
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine Yes
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
| sanctions . . |
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state* 174
Total amount in fines across all licensees $161,570
Smallest fine imposed SO
Largest fine imposed $1,900
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2020
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically

for furnishing to minors Yes
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 1
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 7
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2020

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically Ves

for furnishing to minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 1
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2020

Additional Clarification
The Georgia Department of Revenue - Alcohol & Tobacco Division does not collect data nor track fines on local law
enforcement actions.

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors.

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses.

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

5Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Alcohol & Substance Abuse Prevention Project

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report No data
URL for more program information http://ga-sps.or

Program Description: To address the negative impact of alcohol use, Georgia’s Office of Behavioral Health
Prevention (OBHPFG) has developed the Alcohol & Substance Abuse Prevention Project (ASAPP). Currently, 38
providers across the state are funded under ASAPP. The project aims to affect population-level change of
behaviors and trends of alcohol and other substance use and abuse among youth and young adults ages 9-25.
ASAPP uses the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Center for Substance
Abuse Prevention (CSAP) Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) model to develop and implement strategies aimed
at population-level change using the public health model approach. The objective of ASAPP is to implement
statewide primary prevention strategies (programs/practices/policies) consistent with need as identified by
epidemiological data, with the following goals:

. Reduce access to alcohol among ages 9 to 20

. Reduce binge drinking among ages 9 to 20

. Reduce the early onset of alcohol use among ages 9 to 20

. Reduce underage drinking rates

. Reduce binge drinking and heavy drinking among ages 18 to 25

A U1~ WN B

. Reduce the misuse and abuse of specific additional substances (e.g., marijuana, tobacco, prescription drugs)
targeted by individual providers

7. Identify the most effective strategies and key components for communities
8. Build and increase the capacity of the prevention workforce
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Georgia Red Ribbon Campaign

Number of youth served No data

Number of parents served No data

Number of caregivers served No data

Program has been evaluated No

Evaluation report is available Not applicable

URL for evaluation report Not applicable

URL for more program information https://dbhdd.georgia.g
ov/red-ribbon-

campaign

Program Description: Each year, the Governor's Office and the Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD), Office of Behavioral Health Prevention and Federal Grants (OBHPFG), along
with the Georgia Red Ribbon Committee recognizes groups and communities that have done an exemplary job in
promoting and educating others about drug awareness, drug-free living, and healthy lifestyle choices during the
Georgia Red Ribbon Campaign. The Red Ribbon Campaign is a media and activity-driven strategy aimed at building
universal awareness of the importance of a drug-free lifestyle. Each year, schools and communities are encouraged
to develop messages and activities to demonstrate their commitment to living drug-free lifestyles. Red Ribbon
events target schools and colleges, community-based organizations, corporations, media, coalitions,
parents/parent groups, health professionals, legislators/policy makers, government employees, and the public.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of No recognized tribal

underage drinking governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and Yes

marketing

Description of program: As a part of the ASAP Project, there are two providers working
on strategies to reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and marketing. These
providers are implementing evidence-based environmental strategies (Outlet Density,
Product Placement, and Restrictions on Advertising Promotion: Communities
Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol [CMCA]).

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes
Federal campaigns: No
Regional and local media campaigns: Most ASAP Project providers (funded by DBHDD) Yes
are implementing a media campaign to address underage drinking in their local
community.

Local school district efforts: No
Other: No

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They No

Hear You.” (TTHY)

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable
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Other: Not applicable
State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable
Pro bono Not applicable
Donated air time Not applicable
Earned media Not applicable
Other: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention Yes
programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:
Federal agency(ies): HHS, SAMHSA Yes
Agency(ies) within your state: DBHDD Yes
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: The SPF has been incorporated into almost every aspect of prevention in
Georgia. This has allowed the OBHPFG to be strategic about the provision of prevention services and programs
in Georgia and to increase utilization of evidence-based programs, practices, and policies. As a result, OBHPFG
is able to target our services, show outcomes in our communities, and ensure long-term sustainability of
evidence-based substance abuse/use prevention efforts. This model requires target communities to develop
and implement strategies aimed at population-level change using the public health model approach, and to
use a comprehensive approach to develop and implement sustainable outcome-based prevention strategies.
OBHPFG also used the Surgeon General's Call to Action to Prevent and Reduce Underage Drinking to assist in
continuing to develop best practice standards.

Additional Clarification

No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address Yes
underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Nykia Greene-Young
Email: nagreeneyoung@dbhdd.ga.gov
Address: 2 Peachtree St. NW, Suite 22-484
Phone: (404) 304-1391
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities
Georgia Department of Revenue, Alcohol and Tobacco Division
Georgia Department of Public Health
Georgia Poison Center
Georgia Criminal Justice Coordinating Council
Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice
Georgia Department of Education
Georgia Bureau of Investigations
Atlanta-Carolinas High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes
Prepared by: Georgia DBHDD, OBHPFG
Plan can be accessed via: No data

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes
Prepared by: Georgia DBHDD, OBHPFG
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Report can be accessed via: No data

Additional Clarification
State interagency collaborations take place within the State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW), which
works to inform prevention planning and implementation across the state.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

K=12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended

Estimate based on the 12 months ending
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended

Estimate based on the 12 months ending
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended

Estimate based on the 12 months ending
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended

Estimate based on the 12 months ending
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: Data not available

Estimate of state funds expended

Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Data not available
Data not available

S0
12/31/2019

Data not available
Data not available

Data not available
Data not available

Data not available
Data not available

Data not available

Data not available

Data not available
Data not available

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:

Taxes
Fines
Fees
Other: Not applicable
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

Additional Clarification

To address the negative impact of alcohol use in Georgia, the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Disabilities, Office of Behavioral Health Prevention and Federal Grants developed ASAPP using SAMHSA SAPT Block
Grant funding.

2021 State Reports — Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 21



SAMHSA

Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Services Administration

THE INTERAGENCY COORDINATING COMMITTEE
ON THE PREVENTION OF UNDERAGE DRINKING (ICCPUD)




	Structure Bookmarks
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 





Accessibility Report





		Filename: 

		2021_State_Reports_Region 4.pdf









		Report created by: 

		Michael Woestehoff



		Organization: 

		







 [Personal and organization information from the Preferences > Identity dialog.]



Summary



The checker found no problems in this document.





		Needs manual check: 0



		Passed manually: 2



		Failed manually: 0



		Skipped: 3



		Passed: 27



		Failed: 0







Detailed Report





		Document





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Accessibility permission flag		Passed		Accessibility permission flag must be set



		Image-only PDF		Passed		Document is not image-only PDF



		Tagged PDF		Passed		Document is tagged PDF



		Logical Reading Order		Passed manually		Document structure provides a logical reading order



		Primary language		Passed		Text language is specified



		Title		Passed		Document title is showing in title bar



		Bookmarks		Passed		Bookmarks are present in large documents



		Color contrast		Passed manually		Document has appropriate color contrast



		Page Content





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged content		Passed		All page content is tagged



		Tagged annotations		Passed		All annotations are tagged



		Tab order		Passed		Tab order is consistent with structure order



		Character encoding		Passed		Reliable character encoding is provided



		Tagged multimedia		Passed		All multimedia objects are tagged



		Screen flicker		Passed		Page will not cause screen flicker



		Scripts		Passed		No inaccessible scripts



		Timed responses		Passed		Page does not require timed responses



		Navigation links		Passed		Navigation links are not repetitive



		Forms





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged form fields		Passed		All form fields are tagged



		Field descriptions		Passed		All form fields have description



		Alternate Text





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Figures alternate text		Passed		Figures require alternate text



		Nested alternate text		Passed		Alternate text that will never be read



		Associated with content		Passed		Alternate text must be associated with some content



		Hides annotation		Passed		Alternate text should not hide annotation



		Other elements alternate text		Passed		Other elements that require alternate text



		Tables





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Rows		Passed		TR must be a child of Table, THead, TBody, or TFoot



		TH and TD		Passed		TH and TD must be children of TR



		Headers		Passed		Tables should have headers



		Regularity		Skipped		Tables must contain the same number of columns in each row and rows in each column



		Summary		Skipped		Tables must have a summary



		Lists





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		List items		Passed		LI must be a child of L



		Lbl and LBody		Passed		Lbl and LBody must be children of LI



		Headings





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Appropriate nesting		Skipped		Appropriate nesting










Back to Top



