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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Florida State Report – Underage 
Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Florida Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Walesca Marrero 
Clinical Team Prevention Specialist 

Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, Department of Children and Families 
Phone:  (850) 717-4313 

Email:  walesca.marrero@myflfamilies.com 
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Florida 
State Population: 21,477,737 

Population Ages 12–20:  2,221,000 
   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 433,000 (19.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 245,000 (11%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 19,000 (2.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 8,000 (1.2%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 120,000 (16.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 60,000 (8.1%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 295,000 (37.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 177,000 (22.3%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (54.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (23.9%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.2 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 208 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 12,534 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 59 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (15%) 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Overview8 

The Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (SAMH) is a part of the Florida Department 
of Children and Families (hereafter referred to as the Department) and is the single state 
authority for substance abuse and mental health services.  The Office of SAMH develops 
standards for the provision of prevention, treatment, and recovery services in partnership with 
other state agencies that also fund behavioral health services. 

The Department operates under the direction of a Secretary who reports directly to the Governor.   
The Office of SAMH is led by an Assistant Secretary, who is supported by the Director of 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health, the Chief Hospital Administrator, the Director of State 
Mental Health Treatment Facilities Policies and Programs, the Director of the Sexually Violent 
Predator Program, the Director of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Quality Assurance 
Program Office, and the Director of the Office of Homelessness. 

Structurally and operationally, the Department is decentralized into six regions, with each region 
representing multiple counties.  Each region is somewhat autonomous and managed by a 
Regional Managing Director.  The Regional Managing Director reports to the Department’s 
Assistant Secretary for Operations.  Each region has a SAMH Director who reports to the 
Regional Managing Director and serves as the Department’s representative to the community for 
substance abuse and mental health issues.  Pursuant to statute, Department contracts are managed 
by a single point of contact, a certified contract manager.  Regional staff is responsible for the 
implementation of the Department’s substance abuse and mental health funding and statutory 
duties. 

The Office of SAMH used to contract directly with behavioral health providers to implement the 
Community Mental Health (CMH) and Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant 
(SABG).  The Florida Legislature found that a managing structure that places responsibility for 
publicly funded behavioral health services with local entities would promote access to care and 
continuity, be more efficient and effective, and streamline administrative processes to create cost 
efficiencies and provide flexibility to better match services to need.  As a result, the Office of 
SAMH now contracts with seven managing entities (MEs) for the administration and 
management of regional behavioral health systems of care throughout the state.  The MEs are 
private, nonprofit organizations responsible for planning, implementation, administration, 
monitoring, data collection, reporting, and analysis for behavioral health care in their regions.  
MEs do not provide services but contract with local service providers for the provision of 
prevention, treatment, and recovery support services. 

Substance Abuse Services 

Substance abuse treatment in Florida is authorized by Chapter 397, F.S., and regulated by 
Chapter 65D-30, F.A.C.  The Department is statutorily required to license certain substance 
abuse service components and approve credentialing entities for addiction professionals and 

 
8 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Florida) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, Center for Substance 
Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and 
Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific 
populations.  
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recovery residences.  Chapter 397, F.S., provides for a system of care that is community based, 
reflecting the principles of recovery and resiliency. 

Section 397.305(3), F.S., requires a system of care that will “provide for a comprehensive 
continuum of accessible and quality substance abuse prevention, intervention, clinical treatment, 
and recovery support services in the least restrictive environment which promotes long-term 
recovery while protecting and respecting the rights of individuals, primarily through community-
based private not-for-profit providers working with local governmental programs involving a 
wide range of agencies from both the public and private sectors.” 

The system of care is comprised of the following broad categories of substance abuse services: 

• Primary prevention services that prevent or delay substance use and associated problems, 
which include: 
o Information dissemination 
o Education 
o Alternative drug-free activities 
o Problem identification and referral 
o Community-based processes 
o Environmental strategies 

• Intervention services, which are structured services aimed at individuals at risk of substance 
abuse, focusing on outreach, early identification, short-term counseling, and referral. 

• Clinical treatment, which includes professionally directed services to reduce or eliminate 
misuse of alcohol and other drugs, such as: 
o Outpatient and intensive outpatient treatment 
o Day or night treatment 
o Medication-assisted treatment 
o Residential Treatment 
o Intensive inpatient treatment 
o Detoxification 

• Recovery support services are designed to help individuals regain skills, develop natural 
support systems, and develop goals to help them thrive in the community and promote 
recovery, such as: 
o Aftercare 
o Supported housing 
o Supported employment 
o Recovery support 

 
Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by SAMHSA.  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Florida used for expenditures on 
substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, SABG funds and state funds 
are the only sources (51.4 percent and 48.6 percent, respectively).9 

 
9 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Florida 2020. 
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States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Florida did not specifically 
include underage alcohol consumption prevention among its priorities for use of SABG funds.10 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of Florida’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

 
  

 
10 FY 2020/2021 – (Florida) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of 
State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Florida’s performance in enacting, enforcing, 
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?   

 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents?   

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

No 
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

No 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol N/A 
• Possession of alcohol N/A 
• Consumption of alcohol N/A 
The law applies to people under what age? N/A 
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Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

N/A 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days N/A 
Maximum number of days N/A 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

12 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

Age 16: 11:00 PM 
Age 17: 1:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? No 
Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

N/A 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

18 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 



 ___________________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Florida 
 

 __________________________________________________  2021 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 9 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

Yes 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Both 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer None 
Wine None 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 
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Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No  

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A  

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 500 feet. Local government has 
authority to override state restrictions. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits 

Notes: Exception for restaurants. 
 

Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Willful and unlawful furnishing to minor.) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

N/A  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

N/A  

Does common law social host liability exist? Yes 
Notes: Common law liability rests on a violation of the criminal social host statute (Fla. Stat. § 
856.015). The criminal social host statute prohibits an adult from allowing an open house party to 
take place at a residence he/she controls and knowingly allowing a minor to possess or consume 
alcohol at the residence and failing to take reasonable steps to prevent the possession or 
consumption of the alcoholic beverage. 

 
Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

Specific 
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What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Possession/consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

Yes 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? No 
Notes: The "preventive action" provision in Florida requires the prosecution to prove that the host 
failed to take preventive action. 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? No law 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No law  

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No law  

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? No law 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No law 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No law 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? No law 
Is a deposit required? No law 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No law 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

Yes 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

Yes, more than 76.5 percent 

Are there exceptions to restrictions? No  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 
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Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

No 

What alcohol types may be shipped? N/A 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

N/A 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

N/A  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

N/A  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

N/A 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

N/A 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

N/A 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

N/A 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? N/A  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

N/A 

Notes: Although current law suggests that direct shipments of alcoholic beverages are prohibited, the 
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation's informal policy allows out-of-state 
wineries to make direct shipments of wine to Florida consumers. Florida statutes that purport to ban 
direct shipments are not being enforced pursuant to a stipulation entered into by the state in a law 
suit challenging the constitutionality of the law. Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 561.54, 561.545.  
http://www.flsenate.gov/data/Publications/2006/Senate/reports/interim_reports/pdf/2006-
146rilong.pdf 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted 
Spirits Permitted  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.48 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$2.25 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 
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Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$6.50 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 

$2.25 per gallon for alcohol content of less than 
17.259%. 
 

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
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Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (15 days) 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (15 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (15 days) 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

16 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

19 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, no facial hair will be allowed (beards or 
mustaches) for males, and females may not be 
dressed up (hair and makeup) to appear older or 
wear revealing attire. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Not specified 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Mandated 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

3 years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $1,000 fine and a 7-day suspension 
What is the penalty for the second offense? $3,000 fine and a 30-day suspension 
What is the penalty for the third offense? Revocation 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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Florida State Survey Responses 

State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Florida Department of 
Business and 
Professional 

Regulation, Division of 
Alcoholic Beverages 

and Tobacco 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 1,138 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 54,065 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 5,757 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 662 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No data 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations 4,447 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 456 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 12 
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Total amount in fines across all licensees $12,250 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $1,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 9 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 40 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Additional Clarification    
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Too Good for Drugs  

Number of youth served 43,938 
Number of parents served 459 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report https://toogoodprogra

ms.org/pages/evidence-
base 

URL for more program information https://toogoodprogra
ms.org/pages/evidence-

base 
 

Program Description: Too Good for Drugs (TGFD) is a school-based prevention program for kindergarten through 
12th grade that builds on students' resiliency by teaching them how to be socially competent and autonomous 
problem solvers. The program is designed to benefit everyone in the school by providing necessary education 
about social and emotional competencies and by reducing risk factors and building protective factors that affect 
students in these age groups. TGFD focuses on developing personal and interpersonal skills to resist peer pressure 
and to build skills in setting goals, making decisions, bonding with others, having respect for self and others, 
managing emotions, engaging in effective communication, and handling social interactions. The program also 
provides information about the negative consequences of drug use and the benefits of a nonviolent, drug-free 
lifestyle. TGFD has developmentally appropriate curricula for each grade level through eighth grade, with a 
separate high school curriculum for students in grades 9 through 12. The K-8 curricula each include ten weekly, 30- 
to 60-minute lessons, and the high school curriculum includes 14 weekly, one-hour lessons plus 12 optional, one-

https://toogoodprograms.org/pages/evidence-base
https://toogoodprograms.org/pages/evidence-base
https://toogoodprograms.org/pages/evidence-base
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hour "infusion" lessons. These infusion lessons are designed to incorporate and reinforce skills taught in the core 
curriculum through academic infusion in subject areas such as English, social studies, and science/health.   
In 2019, the number of youths served increased by 82.89% due to additional school sites implementing Too Good 
for Drugs as well as existing school sites increasing the number of classes. 
 
General Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs Prevention Education  

Number of youth served 1,899,750 
Number of parents served 4,422,966 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

 
Program Description: Alcohol, tobacco, and other drug (ATOD) prevention education allows providers and 
community anti-drug coalitions to share knowledge and resources about prevention activities with the general 
population. These activities include community resource fairs, community engagement events, health fairs, 
resource tables, information booths, assemblies, back-to-school fairs, and evidence-based programs (EBPs). 
Various EBPs are combined to calculate the numbers served for ATOD programs, including “Talk. They Hear You,” 
“An Apple A Day,” Project SUCCESS, “Friday Night Done Right,” “New Horizons,” “Keep a Clear Mind,” “Prime for 
Life,” and multiple media campaigns—a total of 113 programs.  
 
Please note that the numbers served may include impressions from media campaigns and individuals counted 
multiple times if they participated in more than one program. 
 
Alcohol Literacy Challenge  

 

Number of youth served 53,537 
Number of parents served 1,742 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report https://alcoholliteracyc

hallenge.com 
URL for more program information https://alcoholliteracyc

hallenge.com 
 

Program Description: Alcohol Literacy Challenge (ALC) is a brief classroom-based program designed to alter 
alcohol expectancies and reduce the quantity and frequency of alcohol use among high school and college 
students. Alcohol expectancies are an individual's beliefs about the anticipated effects of alcohol use, including 
those that are positive (e.g., increased sociability, reduced tension) and negative (e.g., impairments to mental and 
behavioral functioning, increased aggressiveness, or risk-taking). Some of the most desired effects—the arousing, 
positive, and pro-social effects—are placebo effects rather than pharmacological effects. ALC aims to correct 
erroneous beliefs about the effects of alcohol, decreasing positive and increasing negative expectancies. These 
shifts in expectancies have been shown to predict lower levels of alcohol use. The intervention, which requires 90 
minutes for the high school version and 50 minutes for the college version, can be incorporated into an existing 
course (e.g., health education) and implemented in one or two class periods. The intervention is designed to 
challenge the unique expectancies of each participating student; therefore, it can be used across different 
populations and cultural groups. The intervention is implemented by teachers at the high school level and students 
at the college level. A five-hour training is required for implementers and provides all materials needed to deliver 
the intervention. 

https://alcoholliteracychallenge.com/
https://alcoholliteracychallenge.com/
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Anti-Drug Coalition Activities  

Number of youth served 783,059 
Number of parents served 2,397,182 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

 
Program Description: Anti-drug coalitions across the state are active within their communities to promote ATOD 
activities. Utilizing five of the six CSAP strategies, coalitions coordinated efforts with law enforcement agencies and 
schools to implement programs within their communities, including Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol 
(CMCA), recreational and social events, town hall meetings, a youth coalition, community service projects, 
compliance check reminders, “Prescription Take Back,” social media campaigns, and many other efforts.   
 
In 2019, there was a 32.24% decrease in the number of parents served and a 105.66% increase in the number of 
youths served. The differences can be attributed to coalitions redirecting their focus to youth-related activities.   
Please note that the numbers served may include impressions from media campaigns and individuals counted 
multiple times if they participated in more than one program. 
 
LifeSkills Training  

 

Number of youth served 102,964 
Number of parents served 11,885 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report https://www.lifeskillstra

ining.com 
URL for more program information https://www.lifeskillstra

ining.com 
 

Program Description: LifeSkills Training (LST) is a school-based program that aims to prevent the use of alcohol, 
tobacco, marijuana, and violence by targeting the major social and psychological factors that promote the 
initiation of substance use and other risky behaviors. LST is based on both the social influence and competence 
enhancement models of prevention. Consistent with this theoretical framework, LST addresses multiple risk and 
protective factors, and teaches personal and social skills that build resilience and help youth navigate 
developmental tasks, including the skills necessary to understand and resist pro-drug influences. LST is designed to 
provide information relevant to the important life transitions that adolescents and young teens face using 
culturally sensitive, developmentally suitable, age-appropriate language and content. Facilitated discussion, 
structured small group activities, and role-playing scenarios are used to stimulate participation and promote the 
acquisition of skills. Separate LST programs are offered for elementary school (grades 3-6), middle school (grades 
6-9), and high school (grades 9-12); the research studies and outcomes reviewed for this summary involved middle 
school students.   
 
In 2019 there was a significant increase in the number of individuals served under LifeSkills Training (117.64%). 
This was a direct result of the funding under the State Opioid Response (SOR) grant, which allowed prevention 
providers in Florida the opportunity to continue to expand the use of LST. 

 

https://www.lifeskillstraining.com/
https://www.lifeskillstraining.com/
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Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
1. Active Parenting Now (APN): APN is an evidence-based practice addressing youth underage drinking.   
2. An Apple A Day (AAAD): AAAD is an evidenced-based program geared towards elementary aged children in  
kindergarten through fourth grade. AAAD focuses on substance abuse prevention and mental health promotion by 
improving resiliency skills and decreasing risk factors while focusing on five main concepts: literacy, personal sense 
of safety, safe person/place, friendship, and the dangers of alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs.   
3. Teen Intervene Group Process: This program is designed specifically for youth who are experiencing mild to 
moderate problems associated with alcohol or other drug use. The program provides education, support, and 
guidance for teens and their parents.   
4. Project SUCCESS: This is a research-based program that builds on the findings of other successful prevention 
programs by using interventions that are effective in reducing risk factors and enhancing protective factors. Project 
SUCCESS counselors use the following intervention strategies: information dissemination, normative and 
prevention education, problem identification and referral, community-based process, and environmental 
approaches.  
5. Guiding Good Choices (GGC), formerly known as Preparing for the Drug-Free Years: This is a multimedia family 
competency training program that promotes healthy, protective parent-child interactions and reduces risk for 
early substance use. This universal prevention program targets families of middle school children (ages 9-14) of all 
races/ethnicities. The program is based on a social development model, which holds that strong bonding to 
positive influences reduces problem behaviors.   
6. Talk. They Hear You: This underage drinking prevention national media campaign empowers parents and 
caregivers to talk with children early about alcohol and other drug use. 
Additional Clarification   
Not applicable 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Environmental scans are done throughout the state to ensure 
that vendors who sell alcohol do not target youth or sell alcohol to youth.   
Additionally, environmental strategies (e.g., media campaigns) are conducted to make 
parents, educators, and community members aware of the dangers of exposing youth 
to alcohol. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns: No One’s House Yes 
Local school district efforts: Red Ribbon Week Yes 
Other:  Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts No 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other: Local prevention providers disseminate materials to parents and caregivers Yes 

State procures funding for TTHY No data 
Pro bono No data 
Donated air time No data 
Earned media No data 
Other:  No data 
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

No 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies):  

 
Not applicable 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Not applicable 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 
Best practice standards description: Not applicable 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Walesca Marrero 
Email: walesca.marrero@myflfamilies.com 
Address: 1317 Winewood Blvd.  Building 6 Room 250 Tallahassee Fl 32399   
Phone: (850) 717-4313 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Big Bend Community-Based Care Managing Entity 
Broward Behavioral Health Coalition Managing Entity 
Central Florida Behavioral Health Network Managing Entity 
Central Florida Cares Health System Managing Entity 
Lutheran Services Florida Managing Entity 
Southeast Florida Behavioral Health Network Managing Entity 
South Florida Behavioral Health Network Managing Entity 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $12,850 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $2,629,996.50 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
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Estimate of state funds expended $13,658,300.27 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: Compliance checks in retail outlets 
Estimate of state funds expended $12,850 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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