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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 Colorado State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Colorado Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Bonnie Holladay 
Community Prevention Programs Coordinator 

Colorado Office of Behavioral Health 
Phone:  (303) 866-7503 

Email:  bonnie.holladay@state.co.us 
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Colorado 
State Population: 5,758,736 

Population Ages 12–20:  645,000 
   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 140,000 (21.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 83,000 (12.9%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 7,000 (3.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,000 (1.1%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 36,000 (17%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 23,000 (11%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 97,000 (45.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 57,000 (26.7%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (64.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (31.2%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.0 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 58 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,489 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 19 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (24%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview3 

The Colorado public behavioral health care system includes substance use and mental health 
services and is administered and funded primarily by three separate executive branch 
departments:  the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (the state Medicaid 
authority), the Department of Human Services (CDHS) Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) (the 
single state authority (SSA) for substance abuse prevention and treatment and the state mental 
health authority (SMHA)), and the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
(CDPHE) (the state public health authority).  Other departments and state agencies such as the 
Department of Regulatory Agencies, Department of Corrections, CDHS Division of Child 
Welfare, and the Colorado Department of Education provide and/or fund population-specific 
behavioral health services.  OBH regulates behavioral health facilities and programs, purchases 
behavioral health services, and provides valuable information for citizens through data collection 
and analysis. 

OBH 

OBH under CDHS executes the state’s federal responsibilities as SMHA and SSA and is 
responsible for the administration of the Mental Health Block Grant and the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG).  OBH is responsible for administering, 
licensing, and regulating the provision of community-based public behavioral health services, 
specifically, substance use prevention, substance use treatment, and mental health treatment 
services.  OBH licenses approximately 300 substance use disorder provider agencies in over 600 
treatment sites; designates 17 community mental health centers, 27 community mental health 
clinics, and 44 residential childcare facilities with mental health services; and designates 40 
health facilities that can accept individuals under the mental health involuntary commitment 
statutes 

OBH is led by the director who is designated as the state’s behavioral health commissioner (the 
SHMA and the SSA).  The OBH director provides oversight across the entire agency and 
provides leadership for policy development, service provision and coordination, program 
monitoring and evaluation, and administrative oversight for the public behavioral health system.  
The director is also responsible for the direct supervision of four directors that comprise the 
executive team: the deputy director, the division director of community behavioral health, the 
division director of the mental health institutes, and the director of strategy, communications, and 
policy. 

The Division of Community Behavioral Health (CBH) within OBH oversees all of the 
community behavioral health programs with five units led by directors of each unit area: 
Prevention and Early Intervention, Adult Treatment and Recovery Services, Child and Family 
Services, Criminal Justice Services, and Workforce Development and Innovation.  CBH staff 
work on specific program and service areas to manage the quality and content of the public 
behavioral health system; connect service providers to internal and external training and 
technical assistance; and implement programs and federally funded discretionary grants. 

 
3 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (Colorado) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, Center for 
Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State 
and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific 
populations.  
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Substance Use Disorder System 

OBH contracts with four Managed Services Organizations (MSOs) for the provision of 
community substance use prevention, treatment, and recovery services contracted to 
approximately 80 substance use treatment providers.  Substance use treatment providers that are 
licensed but not contracted with the MSOs may take other third-party payments though public or 
private insurance or self-pay but are not funded by OBH or the block grant.  Modes of service 
delivery include prevention, outpatient, residential, recovery, and withdrawal management 
services primarily targeted toward priority populations as outlined in federal and state law.  
Prevention services are delivered to address individual, family, and community needs through 
evidence-based programs that support the federally designated prevention strategies.  These 
services are delivered through substance use treatment providers, schools, community non-
profits, health agencies, recovery providers, and contracted communications partners. 

Prevention Services 

OBH developed three priority areas for primary prevention community-based programs, 
practices and approaches: 

• Prevention and delaying onset of first use for of alcohol, tobacco and other drug use. 
• Changing community norms regarding alcohol, tobacco and other drug use. 
• Addressing population-based needs regarding alcohol, tobacco and other drug use. 
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds, 
administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  
Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Colorado used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention 
and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, state funds and SABG funds account for the largest sources 
(48.8 percent and 30.6 percent, respectively).4  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, Colorado designated 
reducing substance use among youth, young adults, and their families as priority number seven 
for use of SABG funds.5 

 
4 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Colorado 2020. 
5 FY 2020/2021 – (Colorado) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, CSAT, Division of 
State and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1:  Sources of Colorado’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Colorado’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    
 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships? 
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?    

 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private location if parent/guardian 
is present or consents 

Notes: Colorado's exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private property 
when minors possess alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or guardian). 

 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private location if parent/guardian 
is present or consents 

Notes: Colorado's exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private property 
when minors consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or guardian). 

 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
Yes, in specified locations – see below 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private location if parent/guardian 
is present or consents 

Notes: Colorado's exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private property 
when minors possess or consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or 
guardian). 

 
Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

No 
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Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

Yes 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

Yes 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

Yes 

Notes: In Colorado, the license revocation period for a first conviction of obtaining or attempting to 
obtain an alcoholic beverage by misrepresentation of age is twenty-four hours of public service, if 
ordered by the court, or three months. 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

No 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol N/A 
• Possession of alcohol N/A 
• Consumption of alcohol N/A 
The law applies to people under what age? N/A 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

N/A 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days N/A 
Maximum number of days N/A 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

12 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

12:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

No 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; for first 6 months, no passenger under 21 
who is not an immediate family member unless 
accompanied by driver's parent or guardian; 
second 6 months, only one passenger under 21 
who is not an immediate family member unless 
accompanied by driver's parent or guardian 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

No 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 
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Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
Yes, in specified locations 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private location, if 
parent/guardian/spouse supplies alcohol 

Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Licensee, manager, server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Off-premises 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Unspecified 

Notes: A liquor-licensed drugstore that sells alcohol beverages must obtain certification as a 
responsible alcohol beverage vendor. A training program must be attended by the resident on-site 
owner (if applicable) or manager, and all employees selling alcohol beverages. 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
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If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

No 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Unspecified 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Unspecified 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

Notes: Persons under 21 years of age employed to sell or dispense malt, vinous, or spirituous liquors 
are required to be supervised by another person who is on premise and is at least 21 years of age. 
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Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 500 feet 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 500 feet 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits  

Notes: Exception is "campus liquor complex." 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 500 feet 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 500 feet 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Beer, wine, spirits 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes ($350,000 per person.) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Knowledge of underage status.) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes ($350,000 per person.) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Knowledge of underage status.) 

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

No 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

N/A 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

N/A 

Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
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Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
 

Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? No law 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No law 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No law 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? No law 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No law 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No law 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? No law 
Is a deposit required? No law 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No law 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No  

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  
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Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

Yes  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

No 

Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted 
Wine Permitted  
Spirits Permitted  
Notes: State permit required for all beverage types. 

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.08 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 
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• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.32 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$2.28 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

Yes 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

Yes 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Spirits  
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Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

Yes 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Notes: Wholesalers may not sell below cost. A liquor-licensed drugstore may not purchase alcohol 
beverages on credit. 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

18 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

20.5 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, age-appropriate apprearance with no age 
enhancements. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Discretionary 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Permitted 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

1 year 

What is the penalty for the first offense? Written warning, Assurance of Voluntary 
Compliance, or up to 15-day license suspension.  
Accepting a fine in lieu of actual suspension or 
holding a portion of the suspension time in 
abeyance are both at the discretion of the 
licensing authority. 

What is the penalty for the second offense? 5- to 25-day license suspension. At the discretion 
of the licensing authority, licensee may pay fine 
in lieu of suspension, or suspension may be held 
in abeyance if no fine was paid or suspension 
served at time of 1st offense. 

What is the penalty for the third offense? 15- to 40-day license suspension 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? 45-day license suspension or license revocation 
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Notes: A two-year time period is allowed for the third and fourth offenses. All penalties are for 
compliance check violations only. Under first offense, the following is added: "...it is recommended 
that, where there are no aggravating circumstances, a licensee who has fulfilled the requirements of a 
Responsible Vendor pursuant to 44-3-1002, C.R.S. be issued a warning, Assurance of Voluntary 
Compliance, or up to five (5) days suspension on the first violation." 
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Colorado State Survey Responses 

State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Colorado Department of Revenue Liquor Enforcement Division 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Colorado Liquor Enforcement 
Division for Wine Direct 

Shipping 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don't know 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 659 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 03/31/2020 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 11,651 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,748 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 94 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 04/30/2020 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 1,748 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 94 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 85 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 9 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 04/01/2020 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 73 
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Total amount in fines across all licensees $130,897.71 
Smallest fine imposed $200 
Largest fine imposed $5,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 04/01/2020 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 11 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 87 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 15 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 04/01/2020 

Additional Clarification    
For suspension days, I only provide the actual days the liquor license was suspended. The Division includes 
abeyance time with a violation. The Division may issue a 25-day suspension where the licensee is suspended for 25 
days. 15 of those days have to be served and 10 held in abeyance. I only provided the 15 days.     
Direct Shipping: The Liquor Enforcement Division issues wine direct shipping permits that allow for in-state and 
out-of-state direct shipping of wine with the proper permit. Direct shipping of malt and spirits is prohibited.      
The Liquor Enforcement Divison conducts statewide compliance checks at retailer and wholesale/manufacture 
sites that have sales rooms. These checks are conducted at random unless the Division receives a specific 
complaint of underage sales against a license holder. In that instance, we conduct a target check, which is not 
tracked separately.           
 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Substance Abuse Block Grant  

Number of youth served 52,946 
Number of parents served 82,490 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www.colorado.g

ov/pacific/cdhs/substan
ce-abuse-prevention-

block-grant-
sabg#:~:text=The%20Co
lorado%20Department

%20of%20Human,prima
ry%20prevention%20by
%20providing%20univer

sal%2C 
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Program Description: The Colorado Department of Human Services, Office of Behavioral Health, Community  
Programs (OBH) administers a portion of the Federal Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant 
(SABG) from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to fund primary 
prevention by providing universal, selective, and indicated prevention activities and services for persons not 
identified as needing treatment.  
 
The SABG program’s objective is to help plan, implement, and evaluate activities that prevent and treat substance 
use disorders. The SABG is authorized by section 1921 of Title XIX, Part B, Subpart II and III of the Public Health 
Service (PHS) Act. The PHS Act required the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to 
create regulations as a precondition to making funds available to the states and other grantees under the SABG. 
Title 45 Code of Federal Regulations Part 96 was published on March 31, 1993, and the Tobacco Regulations for 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant, Final Rule, 61 Federal Register 1492 was published on 
January 19, 1996.   
 
SAMHSA's Center for Substance Abuse Treatment’s (CSAT) Performance Partnership Branch, in collaboration with 
the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention’s (CSAP) Division of State Programs, administers the SABG. The federal 
block grant guidelines include primary prevention activities that are directed at individuals who do not require 
treatment for substance use disorder. Comprehensive primary prevention programs, policies, practices, and 
approaches target both general population and subgroups that are at high risk for substance misuse and abuse. 
 
Botvin Lifeskills Training  

Number of youth served Not available 
Number of parents served Not available 
Number of caregivers served Not available 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www.lifeskillstra

ining.com/ 
 

Program Description: LifeSkills Training has a model-plus” rating through Blueprints for Healthy Youth 
Development. It is a classroom-based, three-year, middle school substance abuse prevention program to prevent 
teenage drug and alcohol abuse, adolescent tobacco use, violence, and other risky behaviors by teaching students 
self-management skills, social skills, and drug awareness and resistance skills. The Colorado Department of Public 
Health and Environment (CDPHE) funds LifeSkills Training implementation and fidelity monitoring in 31 middle 
schools across the state. 
 
Communities That Care 

 

Number of youth served data not available 
Number of parents served data not available 
Number of caregivers served data not available 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report https://www.colorado.g

ov/pacific/cdphe/comm
unities-care-risk-and-

protective-factor-
profile-reports 

URL for more program information https://www.colorado.g
ov/pacific/cdphe/ctc 

https://www.lifeskillstraining.com/
https://www.lifeskillstraining.com/
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Program Description: Communities That Care (CTC) is directed through the CDPHE Prevention Services Division, 
Violence and Injury Prevention. It is a population-based primary prevention program that utilizes community 
organization based in prevention science, addressing the risk and protective factors predictive of future substance 
misuse and violence. Forty-six funded communities are focused on increasing the number of evidence-based 
programs and environmental change strategies currently taking place in their communities. 
 
Sources of Strength  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served 64 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://sourcesofstreng

th.org/ 
 

Program Description: Sources of Strength is a universal suicide prevention program designed to build 
socioecological protective influences among youth to reduce the likelihood that vulnerable students become 
suicidal. The program empowers students as peer leaders and connects them with adult advisors at school and in 
the community. Peers and school staff select peer leaders to represent all subgroups within the school population. 
With support from adult advisors, peer leaders create messages and conduct activities intended to change norms 
that influence coping practices and problem behaviors for all students. Activities are designed to reduce the 
acceptability of suicide as a response to distress, increase the acceptability of seeking help, improve 
communication between youth and adults, and to develop healthy coping attitudes among youth.   
 
The Office of Suicide Prevention works to expand the implementation of the program in Colorado by braiding 
funding streams and leveraging partnerships. In Fiscal Year 2018-19, the Office of Suicide Prevention supported 83 
schools to implement Sources of Strength and trained 64 youth-serving personnel in the Sources of Strength 
Advanced Skills Training session (training for trainers). 
 
Persistent Drunk Driving/Law Enforcement Assistance Funds Impaired Driving 
Prevention 

 

Number of youth served 11,717 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served 21,712 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www.colorado.g

ov/pacific/cdhs/persiste
nt-drunk-driving-law-

enforcement-
assistance-funds 

 
Program Description: In 2017 the Prevention Persistent Drunk Driving (PDD) funds and Law Enforcement 
Assistance Funds (LEAF), two state cash fund allocations, were combined together to award three separate 
community coalition contracts, designated as No DUI Colorado Coalitions. Newly awarded contracts must support 
primary prevention efforts to prevent impaired driving and/or the local conditions that facilitate this behavior at all 
levels of the community, especially among young drivers. Awardees will employ comprehensive primary 
prevention programs and practices, including OBH’s “No DUI Colorado” campaign strategies that target both 
general population and subgroups that are at high risk for substance misuse and abuse for those ages 15-34.   

https://sourcesofstrength.org/
https://sourcesofstrength.org/
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/persistent-drunk-driving-law-enforcement-assistance-funds
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/persistent-drunk-driving-law-enforcement-assistance-funds
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/persistent-drunk-driving-law-enforcement-assistance-funds
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/persistent-drunk-driving-law-enforcement-assistance-funds
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/persistent-drunk-driving-law-enforcement-assistance-funds
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The Law Enforcement Assistance Fund is state funds financed from DUI offenses for community substance abuse 
prevention programs and projects. Monies allocated to the Office of Behavioral Health Prevention are used to 
establish a statewide program for the prevention of driving after drinking; training of teachers, health 
professionals, and law enforcement in the dangers of driving after drinking; preparing and disseminating 
educational materials dealing with the effects of alcohol and other drugs on driving behavior; and preparing and 
disseminating education curriculum materials for use at all levels of school. Pursuant to legislation passed in 1998, 
penalties were increased for high BAC and repeat DUI offenders. Referred to as the Persistent Drunk Driver Act of 
1998, this legislation defined the PDD and created the PDD Cash Fund, which is funded by a surcharge imposed on 
convicted DWAI/DUI offenders. Monies in the PDD fund are subject to annual appropriation by the general 
assembly with the scope of their use stipulated by statute. Overall, the primary purpose of the fund is to support 
programs that are intended to deter persistent drunk driving or intended to educate the public, with particular 
emphasis on the education of young drivers, regarding the dangers of persistent drunk driving. In recent years the 
scope of the fund was expanded to include assisting indigent DUI offenders with the cost for required treatment or 
intervention services.   
 
The grant funding period is five years (November 1, 2017 to June 30, 2022), with an annual funding amount of 
$156,500 for each awarded community.  
 
Tony Grampsas Youth Services  

Number of youth served 86,156 
Number of parents served 10,335 
Number of caregivers served 2,157 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report https://urldefense.proo

fpoint.com/v2/url?u=ht
tps-

3A__drive.google.com_
drive_u_1_folders_1vW
UVVyaVPx864L13mpuk

DIVzsQq87qF-
5F&d=DwMFaQ&c=sdn
EM9SRGFuMt5z5w3Ahs
PNahmNicq64TgF1JwN
R0cs&r=VKVZ_7NnHTEY

jVk_7n9TmlG-
4lScLorbsojgTrpGb04&
m=b5Fvd47jnKHwFt0zt
q6kQmZn0Q1b5PUFJyX
sz44ikO4&s=s6gQxcKXs
7yb1iVkIO6c1_GHonL9K
KdDRqbM8V_jFX8&e= 

URL for more program information https://www.colorado.g
ov/pacific/cdhs/tony-

grampsas-youth-
services-program 

 
Program Description: Tony Grampsas Youth Services (TGYS) is a project of the Colorado Office of Children, Youth 
and Families, Division of Child Welfare. TGYS receives a percentage of general tax funds, tobacco master 
settlement funds, and marijuana tax funds. The project is currently funding 98 grantees, nine of which have been 
funded to provide substance abuse prevention services/programs with a focus on marijuana use prevention, but 
also inclusive of underage drinking prevention. TGYS requires grantees to describe prevention work and evaluates 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/tony-grampsas-youth-services-program
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/tony-grampsas-youth-services-program
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/tony-grampsas-youth-services-program
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs/tony-grampsas-youth-services-program
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program outcomes (i.e., numbers served, goal accomplishments) through survey results that are based on National 
Outcome Measure Survey (NOMs) as well as shared risk and protective factors. 
  

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: CDPHE offers Sources of Strength primary prevention programming on the Ute 
Mountain Nation. Through Substance Abuse Block Grant funding, Archuleta County School District collaborates 
with the Apache Jicarilla Nation to deliver The Great Bodyshop primary prevention programming in a culturally 
appropriate way to students who attend the schools but live on the Apache Jicarilla Nation. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: Some communities that receive SABG funds implement Media 
Ready, an evidence-based program that teaches teens media literacy to critically 
examine alcohol advertisements and placement in entertainment media. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns: Healthy Youth, Fill Your World With Good Yes 
Local school district efforts: Sources of Strength Yes 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk.  They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

No 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA, CDC 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): Rise Above, Sources of Strength Yes 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description:  
Use data to inform decisions.   
Avoid scare tactics.    
Emphasize the positive (how many youth have not drank in the past 30 days versus how many youth have.) 
Incorporate health equity and cultural responsiveness into all messaging. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
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State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Ryan Templeton 
Email: Ryan.Templeton@state.co.us 
Address: 3824 W Princeton Circle Denver, Colorado 80236 

Phone: 303-866-7405 
 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Colorado Department of Human Services Division of Child Welfare 
Colorado Department of Human Services Office of Behavioral Health 
Law enforcement agencies 
Emergency response agencies 
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
Substance abuse and mental health treatment providers 
Substance abuse recovery providers 
People with lived experience 
Family members of people with lived experience 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdhs-boards-committees-
collaboration/behavioral-health-planning-and-advisory-
council#:~:text=The%20Colorado%20Behavioral%20Health%20Planning,issues%20related%20to%20behaviora
l%20health. 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 

Prepared by: Colorado Department of Human Services Office of Behavioral Health. "Putting Prevention Science 
to Work: Colorado's Statewide Strategic Plan for Primary Prevention of Substance Abuse" (2019-2024) Plan 
can be accessed via: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mjLh0-fQXFA71-nr4xZD9bgUv9lpwFnr/view 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years Yes 
Prepared by: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Healthy Kids Colorado Survey (2017) 
Report can be accessed via: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mjLh0-fQXFA71-nr4xZD9bgUv9lpwFnr/view 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $9,817.60 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 04/01/2020 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No data 
Fines  Yes 
Fees No data 
Other: No data No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The Persistent Drunk Driving and Law Enforcement Assistance Funds come from fines imposed by judges onto 
people who have been convicted of impaired driving. These funds are used in part to support impaired driving 
prevention efforts, along with underage drinking prevention efforts, in communities across Colorado. 

Additional Clarification  
Expenditure for compliance checks: Minor Operative pay is $7,633.60 and fake ID technology costs $2,184.00. 
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