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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2019.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2020.  State survey data, 
collected in 2020, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2016 through 2019 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s 
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis 
(2020).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance 
and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related 
Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths 
from 2011–2015 among youth under age 21.  ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of 
potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2019 data used to present 
statistics about fatalities among 15- to 20-year-old drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2021). 2021 California State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Associate Administrator for Alcohol Prevention and Treatment Policy 

ICCPUD Staff Chair 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
California Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Denise Galvez 
Youth Services Section Chief 

Community Services Division, Department of Health Care Services 
Phone:  (916) 327-2749 

Email:  denise.galvez@dhcs.ca.gov 
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California 
State Population: 39,512,223 

Population Ages 12–20:  4,629,000 
   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 834,000 (18%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 497,000 (10.7%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 44,000 (3%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 22,000 (1.5%) 

Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 230,000 (14.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 125,000 (7.9%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 560,000 (34.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 351,000 (21.9%) 

Adults Ages 18 +   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (53.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) (25.2%) 

Age of Initiation of Alcohol Use 
Average Age of Initiation  16.3 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 367 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 21,978 

Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 
Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver with BAC > 0.01% 76 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver (20%) 
 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Substance Use Disorder Prevention, Early Identification,  
and Recovery Support Systems7 

The California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) is one of 16 departments in the 
California Health and Human Services (CHHS) Agency.  CHHS is a cabinet-level agency that 
reports to the Governor.  In 2019, DHCS mental health and substance use disorder  (SUD) state-
level staff reorganized to become an integrated behavioral health division.  This organizational 
structure is designed to improve efficiencies department-wide, increase program administration 
accountability, improve service delivery, decrease processing times, and increase communication 
and engagement for stakeholders and employees.   

DHCS is designated as the Single State Agency responsible for administering and coordinating 
efforts for SUD prevention, treatment, and recovery services.  DHCS is also the primary state 
agency responsible for interagency coordination of these services.  DHCS has the responsibility 
for state leadership on SUD and community mental health.  The DHCS Director and the 
Behavioral Health (BH) Deputy Director are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the 
Senate. 

SUD prevention, early intervention, treatment, and recovery services are provided to 
beneficiaries through a partnership between California and its 58 counties, which are the sub-
state planning areas.  DHCS contracts with counties for SUD services to be provided by locally 
administered and locally controlled substance use programs.  DHCS provides leadership and 
coordination in the planning, capacity building, development, implementation, and evaluation of 
a comprehensive statewide SUD prevention, treatment, and recovery system.  DHCS uses each 
of the 58 county alcohol and drug programs as brokers of service, and the counties in turn 
provide services to beneficiaries directly or by contracting with local service providers.  DHCS 
ensures compliance with federal requirements through periodic county monitoring visits. 

In California, all counties are responsible for developing and implementing strategic prevention 
plans based on data.  Because California is both environmentally and culturally diverse, 
approaching strategic planning utilizing a local control model allows for counties to identify their 
high need populations and high need communities using the most current and localized 
information available.   

Substance Use Services:  Youth 

Early Intervention services for at-risk youth are implemented in a variety of settings in California 
involving family, school, and the community and may consist of assessment and screening.  
SABG funding largely covers the costs of early intervention for at-risk youth because these 
services are not reimbursable under DMC or DMC-ODS.   

DHCS allocates approximately $7.3 million of the SABG Award per year for adolescent 
treatment and recovery.  Generally, these are services for adolescents in group home settings that 
are not otherwise covered under Medi-Cal.  Other SABG funded services for youth include 
services for transitioning into the community after discharge from institutional facilities, 

 
7 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2020/2021 – (California) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse and Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the 
strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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recovery programs in the community, and life skills services at school sites as a component of 
the comprehensive treatment plan.  

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds administered by the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that California 
used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2020.  As indicated, state 
funds and Medicaid funds account for the largest sources (40.7 percent and 38.3 percent, 
respectively).8  

States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2020–2021, California designated 
broadening statewide availability of evidence-based, outcome-driven substance use disorders 
services for youth as the number five priority for use of SABG funds.9 

Exhibit 1:  Sources of California’s 2020 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

 
 
  

 
8 WebBGAS State Profile, 2020 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – California 2020. 
9 FY 2020/2021 – (California) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for 
Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and Annual Performance 
Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 

As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details California’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  

The following sections address these measures: 

State Laws and Policies:  These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  
1. Underage possession or purchase of alcohol.    
2. Underage drinking and driving. 
3. Alcohol availability. 
4. Sales and delivery to consumers at home. 
5. Alcohol pricing. 
6. Enforcement policies.    

 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 

Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
Yes 
 
Yes 

Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private location 
Notes: California's "Any Private Location" exception excludes possession in motor vehicles. California's 
statute regarding possession of alcohol by a person under the age of 21 years includes an exception for 
"responsible adult relative" but does not specify which relatives are included. For purposes of this 
report, the phrase “responsible adult relative” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

 
Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents?   

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 
Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family relationships?   
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is present 

or consents? 

 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
 

Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 
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Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?   

Yes 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

Yes 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

Yes 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?   

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.01 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
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• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 365 
Maximum number of days 365 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 years, 6 months 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

11:00 PM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

No 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes; no passengers under 20, unless accompanied 
by a parent, guardian, instructor or licensed 
driver over 25 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

No 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
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Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, mandatory 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Manager, server/seller 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
N/A 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

On-premises 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Both 

Notes: Although the effective date of California's enacting legislation establishing a mandatory 
beverage service training program was January 1, 2018, the program does not become fully 
implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2021.  

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)-Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?   

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

No 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 

Unspecified 
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off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   
Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?   

Unspecified 

 
Minimum Age for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer None 
Wine None 
Spirits None 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

Yes, within 1.5 miles of universities with 
enrollments of 1,000 or more students of which 
500 or more reside on the university’s grounds. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 1.5 miles of universities with 
enrollments of 1,000 or more students of which 
500 or more reside on the university’s grounds. 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

Wine, spirits (Does not include products of 4% 
ABV or less.) 

Notes: Exceptions to the college restriction exist for numerous individual colleges and universities. 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 
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Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Minor must be obviously intoxicated at time 
of alcohol furnishing.) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No  

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No  
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Knowledge of underage status.) 

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
Notes: A California court held that a social host who sold alcoholic beverages to a minor who was 
obviously intoxicated may be liable for injuries caused to third parties. 

 
Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

No 

Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

N/A 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

N/A 

Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
Notes: California’s statute imposes liability in limited circumstances. The California law applies only if 
the underage person is under 18 years old, has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.05 percent or 
greater, was permitted to drive a vehicle, and was found to have caused a traffic collision while 
driving. See Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 25658.2. 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or more than 6.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

Yes (maximum fine/jail, $1,000/6 months) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No 

What purchaser information is collected?  
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Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? Not required 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

Yes 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

Yes, more than 60 percent 

Are there exceptions to restrictions? No  
 

Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Uncertain 
Spirits Prohibited 
Notes: An individual or retail licensee in a state that affords California retail licensees or individuals an 
equal reciprocal shipping privilege, may ship, for personal use and not for resale, no more than two 
cases of wine (no more than nine liters each case) per month to any adult resident in California. 
Delivery of a shipment pursuant to this provision shall not be deemed to constitute a sale in 
California. 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

Yes 

What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer 
before delivery is authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

No  

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

No  

State approval/permit requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

Yes 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved 
by a state agency? 

No 
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Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

No 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

Yes 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted  
Spirits Permitted  

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.20 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
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Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

$0.20 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

$3.30 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 

minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable  

 
Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

No 

Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

Post 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum 
markup or maximum discount for each 
product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., 
not reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 
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Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

Yes (30 days) 

 
Enforcement Policies 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

Not specified 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

19 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, no hats, sunglasses, tattoos, visible body 
piercing, clothing with college or alcohol 
verbiage/logos; minimal jewelry; not large in 
stature; appropriate dress for age; hair that does 
not obscure facial features.  
Male: No facial hair, really short hair, balding or 
receding hairline.  
Female: Minimal makeup, no provocative 
clothing. 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Discretionary 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?   

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Not specified 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

3 years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? 15-day license suspension 
What is the penalty for the second offense? 25-day license suspension 
What is the penalty for the third offense? License revocation 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
Notes: Retailer has option to accept fine in lieu of suspension. 
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California State Survey Responses 

State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 1,387 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 84,718 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 6,250 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 768 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not available 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not available 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to 
minors Don't know 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
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Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification    
The data ABC has provided comes from their Annual Workload Summary posted on the ABC Public Website at 
http://www.abc.ca.gov/. Much of the data from enforcement activities is lumped into one overall number and is 
not broken into specifics for underage drinking. There is some data that identifies enforcement of underage 
drinking laws. ABC has provided numbers in this report to give an idea of how many locations were visited, but 
those visits may not have been specifically for underage drinking violations; the visits were to check on all potential 
alcoholic beverage law violations or to just point out areas where compliance might improve. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
North Coastal Prevention Coalition - San Diego County  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://northcoastalpre

ventioncoalition.org/pr
ograms/underage-

drinking/ 
 

Program Description: North Coastal Prevention Coalition (NCPC) is one of six regional providers that works with 
the San Diego County Binge and Underage Drinking Initiative, community partners, and teens to change the 
community environment that promotes irresponsible alcohol use and abuse. Efforts focus on the following:   
◾Social Host ordinances to reduce underage drinking at home parties by informing the public and increasing 
enforcement 
◾Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service (RBSS) ordinances to require sellers and servers of alcohol to receive state-
certified training to prevent alcohol sales to minors and sales to intoxicated patrons 

https://northcoastalpreventioncoalition.org/programs/underage-drinking/
https://northcoastalpreventioncoalition.org/programs/underage-drinking/
https://northcoastalpreventioncoalition.org/programs/underage-drinking/
https://northcoastalpreventioncoalition.org/programs/underage-drinking/
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◾Alcohol outlet density and conditional use permit (CUP) processes to prevent an over-concentration of alcohol 
retail businesses   
◾Alcohol advertising and marketing assessment and documentation in community settings and businesses to 
reduce alcohol advertising that appeals to young people 
 
Ventura County Limits - Ventura County  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report http://www.venturacou

ntylimits.org/en/preven
tion/underage-

drinking/social-host-
laws 

URL for more program information https://www.venturaco
untylimits.org/updates-
tags/impaired-driving 

Program Description: Ventura County Limits is a multipronged countywide initiative that provides for best 
practices in community mobilization, media advocacy, and policy change. Ventura County led California in their 
environmental prevention policies such as Social Host Ordinances and Deemed Approved Ordinances. Best 
practices from their policy papers are widely replicated throughout the state. 
 
Alcohol Justice - Marin County 

 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://alcoholjustice. 

org 
 

Program Description: Alcohol Justice promotes evidence-based public health policies and organizes campaigns 
with diverse communities and youth against alcohol and other drug industries’ harmful practices. Alcohol Justice 
receives its funding from a variety of resources including foundation funding to promote changes in alcohol 
corporations and their products, promotions, and practices, alcohol policies, regulations, and enforcement. 
Alcohol Justice brings research, policy, media, and advocacy together; mobilizes coalitions that include youth, 
adults, and various community leaders; and organizes to enact, support, and advocate for alcohol policies that 
keep youth and communities safe and healthy. State-level funding is utilized to support coalitions and youth 
development. 
 
Parent Committed - Butte County  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 

https://www.venturacountylimits.org/updates-tags/impaired-driving
https://www.venturacountylimits.org/updates-tags/impaired-driving
https://www.venturacountylimits.org/updates-tags/impaired-driving
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URL for more program information https://butteyouthnow.
org/parent-committed/ 

 
Program Description: A program funded by the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant, Parent 
Committed addresses the stigmas associated with teen drinking as a rite of passage and educates parents to 
understand the threat underage drinking poses to healthy development. Parents play a vital role in replacing pro-
alcohol messages with clear messages urging young people not to drink. 
 
Project Curb - Santa Cruz County 

 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable  
URL for more program information http://www.community

preventionpartners.com
/alcohol 

Program Description: Originally named Project Curb, the Community Prevention Partners’ Alcohol Initiative works 
to reduce Santa Cruz County binge drinking by reducing youth access to alcohol through retail and social sources. 
 
Orange County Community Service Programs: Positive Actions Toward Health  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

 
Program Description: Orange County Community Service Programs: Positive Actions Toward Health (CSP/PATH) is 
a community-based prevention project that aims to create safe and healthy communities by reducing problems 
associated with alcohol and impaired driving. Project staff provide education, training, and technical assistance in 
the cities of Anaheim, Huntington Beach, Santa Ana, and Orange. Using mass media campaigns, efforts focus on 
increasing community awareness of driving under the influence (DUI) enforcement operations conducted by local 
law enforcement. Services also include providing responsible beverage service training for on-sale alcohol 
establishments. For more information on these prevention activities, call (949) 757-1096. 
 
Sacramento County Coalition for Youth  

 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information  https://www.sacrament

occy.org/teenAlcoholPr
evention.html 

Program Description: This program is funded by the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant 
through which the Sacramento County Alcohol and Drug Services Prevention Strategic Plan identifies the 

https://butteyouthnow.org/parent-committed/
https://butteyouthnow.org/parent-committed/
http://www.communitypreventionpartners.com/alcohol
http://www.communitypreventionpartners.com/alcohol
http://www.communitypreventionpartners.com/alcohol
https://www.sacramentoccy.org/teenAlcoholPrevention.html
https://www.sacramentoccy.org/teenAlcoholPrevention.html
https://www.sacramentoccy.org/teenAlcoholPrevention.html
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prevention of youth alcohol use as its highest priority. The Sacramento County Coalition for Youth (SCCY) aims to 
increase the capacity of the community to participate in prevention measures to address the problem of 
Sacramento teens drinking too early, too much, and too often. 
 
California Highway Patrol - Start Smart  

Number of youth served 38,824 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www.chp.ca.gov

/programs-
services/programs/yout
h-programs/every-15-

minutes 
 

Program Description: Start Smart is aimed at helping newly licensed or soon to be licensed teenage drivers (15-19)  
become more aware of the responsibilities that accompany the privilege of being a licensed California driver. The 
newly licensed teenage driver and their parents/guardians are invited to attend and participate in a free two-hour 
Start Smart class, usually hosted at a local California Highway Patrol (CHP) office. CHP officers speak directly to the 
newly licensed driver and their parents/guardians in candid conversations, discussing topics such as collision 
avoidance techniques along with collision-causing elements such as excessive speed, DUI, and distracted driving. 
Start Smart makes teens and parents aware of the responsibilities they face and teaches what precautions to take 
to stay safe, such as the risk of seat belt-unsafe passengers in the vehicle and what to do when involved in a 
collision. 
 
California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control - Students Against Destructive 
Decisions –“ Is it Worth the Risk,” “Buzz Check,” and “Zero, Nada, None” 

 

Number of youth served 540,000 
Number of parents served 756,000 
Number of caregivers served 22,590,000 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information https://www.sadd.org/ 
  

Program Description: “Is It Worth The Risk” is a program that provides students, parents, and community 
members an opportunity to discuss the risks associated with underage drinking. The program includes several 
elements: First is a series of peer-to-peer activities and discussion guides for Students Against Destructive 
Decisions (SADD) chapters to discuss various topics with their peers. The program also contains parent information 
on social hosting laws and other risks that parents can face if they provide alcohol to underage persons. The 
program also features a drama production SADD chapters host that brings together a panel of experts to narrate 
what typically happens in a party setting specific to that community. The panel includes law enforcement, the 
judicial system, school officials, and much more.   
“Buzz Check” is a peer-to-peer program focusing on evidence-based strategies for increasing risk perception. The 
program highlights various factors that cause underage drinking and highlights strategies to escape a situation 
where underage drinking is occurring. The program is facilitated using a series of videos that are followed by  
discussions moderated by SADD members. The program has been evaluated and found to be very successful. This 
program is often used in health classes and other classroom environments.   

https://www.chp.ca.gov/programs-services/programs/youth-programs/every-15-minutes
https://www.chp.ca.gov/programs-services/programs/youth-programs/every-15-minutes
https://www.chp.ca.gov/programs-services/programs/youth-programs/every-15-minutes
https://www.chp.ca.gov/programs-services/programs/youth-programs/every-15-minutes
https://www.chp.ca.gov/programs-services/programs/youth-programs/every-15-minutes
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“Zero, Nada, None” is a program that allows teens to address the underage drinking problem in their community in 
their own creative way. Students involve various stakeholders including law enforcement, parents, school officials, 
and others to address the issue together. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Del Norte County is providing media project work such as, “Talk. They Hear You” as well as Community Action 
Prevention Alliance (CAPA) https://alcoholpolicyalliance.org/ 
Fresno County is providing media project work such as Youth Leadership Institute (YLI) https://yli.org/2020/03/i-
wont-provide-a-youth-led-campaign-to-reduce-underage-drinking-in-fresno// and The kNow Youth Media 
https://theknowfresno.org/04/24/2009/teen-drinking/      
Humboldt County is providing media project work such as Humboldt Allies for Substance Abuse Prevention (ASAP) 
https://www.facebook.com/humboldtasap      
Inyo County is providing media project work such as Healthy Stores for a Healthy Community Campaign 
https://letsgethealthy.ca.gov/the-healthy-stores-for-a-healthy-community-campaign/      
Marin County is providing media project work such as https://alcoholjustice.org/      
Merced County is providing media project work such as Youth 2 Youth events 
https://www.co.merced.ca.us/474/Youth- 2-Youth and UC Merced Drug and Alcohol Abuse Prevention Programs 
(DAAPP) https://ecar.ucmerced.edu/daapp      
Nevada County is providing media project work such as Coalition for Nevada County Youth 
https://www.cncyouth.org/tag/underage-drinking/ 
 
Additional Clarification   
The numbers reported for California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) - Students Against 
Destructive Decisions (SADD) – Is it Worth the Risk, Buzz Check, and Zero, Nada, None are the total number of 
people impacted across all three programs combined *Teens (Under 21) - 540,000 *Parents - 756,000 *Community 
Members - 22,590,000 (not specifically caretakers) 
 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 
Description of program: The Healthy Stores for a Healthy Community (HSHC) campaign is a 
statewide collaboration between tobacco and alcohol use prevention, sexually transmitted 
disease prevention, and nutrition partners. The goal is to improve the health of 
Californians through changes in community stores and to educate people on how in-store 
product marketing influences the consumption of unhealthy products. For more 
information, visit: https://healthystoreshealthycommunity.com/ 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking No 
Federal campaigns:  Not applicable 
Regional and local media campaigns:  Not applicable 
Local school district efforts:  Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” (TTHY) 

Not applicable 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

https://yli.org/2020/03/i-wont-provide-a-youth-led-campaign-to-reduce-underage-drinking-in-fresno
https://yli.org/2020/03/i-wont-provide-a-youth-led-campaign-to-reduce-underage-drinking-in-fresno
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fhealthystoreshealthycommunity.com%2F&data=04%7C01%7CJillian.Thompson%40dhcs.ca.gov%7C7834d9a4b8764343c92208d8b8af234f%7C265c2dcd2a6e43aab2e826421a8c8526%7C0%7C0%7C637462409646770523%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=KmCjfrSi2HlXRmUUyPU%2B0Ar3ltj2t%2F9U9HVVz8aKl80%3D&reserved=0
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State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

No 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies):  

 
Not applicable 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Not applicable 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 
Best practice standards description: Not applicable 

 
Additional Clarification  
California operates utilizing a local control model.  Each of California's 58 counties are required to submit strategic 
prevention plans utilizing the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's Strategic Prevention 
Framework. These plans may include underage drinking as a priority, and counties would select the most 
appropriate intervention for the communities they serve. 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Mattie Gabston 
Email: mattie.gabston@dmv.ca.gov 
Address:  2570 24th St, MS H-126, Sacramento, CA  95818-2606 
Phone: (916) 657-7954 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Health Care Services 
Department of Motor Vehicles 
California Highway Patrol 
California Office of Traffic Safety 
California District Attorney Association 
Center for Counseling 
Orange County Health Care Agency 
California Department of Public Health 
Public Health Institute, Alcohol Research Group 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last three years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last three years Not sure 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
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Compliance checks in retail outlets:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended $4,213,895 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2019 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other: No data No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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