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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2019.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2018.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2019.  State survey data, 
collected in 2019, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2015 through 2018 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2018).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the 
resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2006–10 among youth under age 21.  ARDI 
was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-
related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System 
(FARS) provided the 2018 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15-to 20-year-old 
drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2020). 2020 North Carolina State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.    

 

Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 
 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Public Health Analyst 

SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
North Carolina Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Michael Eisen 
State Coordinator, PUDI/EUDL 

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services 
Phone:  (919) 715-2265 

Email: michael.eisen@dhhs.nc.gov
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North Carolina 

State Population:  10,383,620 
Population Ages 12–20:  1,170,700 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use Among 12- to 20-Year-Olds 
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 193,300 (16.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 131,200 (11.2%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 13,800 (3.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 6,400 (1.6%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 50,000 (12.6%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 35,800 (9.0%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 129,500 (33.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 89,100 (23.3%) 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 21 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 145 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 8,786 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 40 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 23% 
  

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are 

rounded to the nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded 
estimates and may not equal those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of 
components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health Services Overview2 
The Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services 
(DMH/DD/SAS) of the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services is the Single 
State Agency (SSA) for the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) 
and the State Mental Health Agency for the Community Mental Health Services (CMHS) Block 
Grant.  The Division consists of the Director’s Office and six sections, each of which contains 
one or more teams. 
 
Within DMH/DD/SAS, the substance abuse primary prevention services are currently housed in 
the Community Wellness, Prevention and Health Integration Team.  This team is comprised of 
the Section Chief and ten staff that are responsible for substance abuse prevention including 
underage drinking, the Partnership for Success 2013 grant focusing on prescription drug 
use/misuse, prevention components of the Opioid STR grant, Strategic Prevention Framework 
(SPF) - prescription drugs, tobacco prevention and cessation/FDA compliance and mental health 
promotion/early intervention including suicide prevention.  The SABG Manager is responsible 
for overseeing the overall management of the SABG, including programmatic and financial 
compliance, monitoring and reporting, training and technical assistance, interagency 
relationships, coordination and planning, needs assessment, and the utilization of evidence-based 
programs, policies, and practices. 
 
The Addictions and Management Operations team is primarily responsible for substance use 
treatment (SUD) treatment and recovery services.  It is comprised of the Section Chief, the 
Women’s Services Coordinator, the State Opioid Treatment Authority Administrator, two field 
staff (who provide technical assistance and monitoring of the more than 60 opioid treatment 
programs in North Carolina), a recovery-oriented systems of care specialist, and an adolescent 
services specialist.  Additional staff function as Project Directors for several federal discretionary 
grants, such as Access to Recovery, Medication-Assisted Treatment-Prescription Drug and 
Opioid Abuse, and the Opioid State Targeted Response/Cures grant. 
 
SUD treatment and prevention and mental health services were formerly provided directly by 
service providers (individuals) employed by area/county programs.  With the 2001 Mental 
Health Reform legislation passed by the NC General Assembly, the focus of area programs 
shifted from direct service provision to the management of the local service delivery system.  
These local management entities (LMEs) began contracting with providers for the delivery of 
services in their catchment areas.  Between 2001 and 2010, the number of LMEs was 
incrementally reduced from 48 to 23.  In April 2005, the state piloted the 1915 (b) Freedom of 
Choice Waiver/(c) Innovations Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Managed Care 
Waiver with one LME.  Under these waivers, Medicaid services are funded through capitated 
Pre-paid Inpatient Health Plans (PIHP) that allow the MCO to have more flexibility in service 
delivery.  Due to the success of the pilot, in December 2009, HHS submitted a waiver 
amendment to CMS designed to expand the 1915 (b)/(c) waiver statewide over a period of 
several years.  Numerous mergers between LMEs have occurred since then, resulting to date in 

 
2 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2018/2019 – (North Carolina) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, 

SABG, Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse 
Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Planning Step One. Assess the strengths and needs of the 
service system to address the specific populations.  
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seven LME/MCOs covering all 100 counties.  DMH/DD/SAS and the Division of Medical 
Assistance (the state Medicaid agency) jointly administer the LME/MCOs.  The Division is 
primarily responsible for the oversight of services delivered by LME/MCOs, as they are the 
Division’s intermediaries at the local level. 
 
The SSA supports a comprehensive system of care to enable individuals that it serves to live in 
communities of their choosing and avoid inpatient hospitalization and institutionalization to the 
greatest extent possible.  The array of available services includes basic outpatient services 
(assessment, individual therapy, group therapy, family therapy), enhanced services (substance 
abuse intensive outpatient program, substance abuse comprehensive outpatient treatment, 
community support team, intensive in-home, adolescent day treatment), opioid/medication-
assisted therapies, halfway house and supported housing services, Work First services, and 
Treatment Accountability for Safer Communities (TASC) for people involved in the criminal  
justice system.   
 
A robust array of gender-specific/gender-responsive services are available for women, including 
women who are pregnant and/or have dependent children.  In addition, mobile and walk-in crisis 
services, various levels of detoxification, and residential and inpatient treatment services are 
available throughout the state.  Over the last few years, the Division has focused on more fully 
developing and implementing its recovery-oriented system of care philosophy.  Funding is 
provided for a recovery community organization that works with several funded and grass-roots 
recovery community centers and collegiate recovery programs.  Utilization of peer supports, 
recovery coaching, and mentoring are becoming more embedded in services as integral 
components of treatment and recovery success. 
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  
Exhibit 1 shows the sources that North Carolina used for expenditures on substance abuse 
prevention and treatment in 2019.  As indicated, state funds and SABG funds account for the 
largest sources (60.1 percent and 18.8 percent, respectively).3  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2018-2019, North Carolina designated 
treatment of juvenile justice-involved youth for substance abuse as priority number two for use 
of SABG funds.4 
  

 
3 WebBGAS State Profile, 2019 SABG and MHBG Reports – North Carolina 2019. 
4 FY 2018/2019 – (North Carolina) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State 

Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority 
Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1:  Sources of North Carolina’s 2019 Expenditures for Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details North Carolina’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures. 
 
State Laws and Policies:  These 26 underage drinking prevention policies have been identified 
as best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into four 
categories: 
1. Laws addressing minors in possession of alcohol; 
2. Laws targeting underage drinking and driving;  
3. Laws targeting alcohol suppliers; and 
4. Laws affecting alcohol pricing.  
 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage-Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is present or consents? No 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 

 
Underage-Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is consumption allowed if the parent or guardian is present or 

consents? 
No 

• Is consumption allowed if the spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 

 
Underage-Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is internal possession allowed if the parent or guardian is present 

or consents? 
No 

• Is internal possession allowed if the spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 

 
Underage-Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
May youth purchase for law enforcement purposes? No 

 
Underage-False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s driver’s license 
suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false ID prohibited?   Yes 
Is the production of a false ID in the context of underage alcohol 
sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use electronic scanners for 
information digitally encoded on valid IDs?  

Yes 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 easily distinguishable 
from licenses for persons 21 and over? 

Yes 

May retailers seize apparently false IDs without fear of prosecution 
even if the ID is ultimately deemed valid? 

Yes 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
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• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed ID 
was valid after examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed 
purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor for use of a false 
ID? 

No 

May a retailer detain a minor who used a false ID?   No 
 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for an 
underage driver of a motor vehicle? 

0.00% 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically establish a violation 
(per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit applies? Not specified 
What is the maximum age to which the limit applies? 21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or revokes a minor’s driving 
privileges for alcohol violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license suspension or revocation?  
• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol No 
• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or discretionary? Mandatory 
What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 365 
Maximum number of days 365 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

12 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

60 (10 of which must be at night; to obtain full 
license, driver must log 12 hours of driving in 
intermediate stage, 6 of which is at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

9:00 PM 
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Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes, officer may stop driver for night driving 
violation 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes, no more than one passenger under 21 who is 
not a member of immediate family or household; 
however, if there is a passenger under 21 who is 
an immediate family or household member, then 
no unrelated passengers under 21 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes, officer may stop driver for passenger 
restrictions violation 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

16 years, 6 months 

 
Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian supplies the 

alcohol? 
No 

• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies the alcohol? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated of furnishing to a 
minor if the minor has not been charged? 

No 

 
Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when an underage decoy 
is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

16 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

20 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, must look under 21 
Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Not specified 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual age?   Prohibited 
Is decoy training mandated, recommended, prohibited, or not 
specified? 

Mandated 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

3 years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $500 or license suspension 
What is the penalty for the second offense? Up to $750 or license suspension 
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What is the penalty for the third offense? Up to $1,000 or license suspension 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? Not specified 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)–Mandatory 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage Service Training?   Yes–Mandatory 
If training is mandatory, who must participate?   Licensees 
If training is voluntary, which of the following incentives are offered?  
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, license fees, or other  N/A 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to 

minors or intoxicated persons 
N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors or sales 
to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises establishments (such as bars 
and restaurants) or off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing licensees?   New 
 

Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-premises retail 
establishments? 

 

Beer None 
Wine None 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for servers in on-premises 
establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for bartenders in on-
premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? No 
Notes:  Effective August 18, 2015, the minimum age of 18 does not apply to sale of alcoholic 
beverages at the point-of-sale for off-premises consumption. 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

Yes, No permits on campus. 
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Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, No permits on campus. 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? Beer, Wine 
Notes:  Exceptions are 1) Regional sports and entertainment facilities for public use, except for public 
school or college function; 2) performing arts centers; 3) hotels; 4) nonprofit alumni organizations; 
and 5) restaurants, eating establishments, food businesses, or retail businesses on the property. 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

Yes, No permits on campus. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, No permits on campus. 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? Beer, Wine 
Notes:  Exceptions are 1) regional sports and entertainment facilities for public use, except for public 
school or college function; 2) performing arts centers; 3) hotels; 4) nonprofit alumni organizations; 
and 5) restaurants, eating establishments, food businesses, or retail businesses on the property. 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

Yes ($500,000 total award to all injured parties 
per occurrence.) 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Injury must be a proximate result of the 
negligence of an underage driver's negligent 
operation of a vehicle while intoxicated.) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
Notes:  Although North Carolina courts may recognize third party common law liability under certain 
fact patterns where a retailer furnishes an intoxicated minor, they do not recognize a distinct cause of 
action for furnishing alcohol to minors without regard to the minor's intoxication at the time of sale.  
Estate of Mullins by Dixon.  North Carolina is therefore coded as not recognizing common law 
negligence regarding furnishing to minors. 
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 18B-122 includes a responsible beverage server defense. 

 
Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be recovered? N/A 
Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of proof? N/A 
Does common law social host liability exist? No 
Notes:  Although North Carolina courts may recognize third party liability under certain fact patterns 
where an intoxicated minor is furnished by a social host, they do not recognize a distinct cause of 
action for furnishing alcohol to minors without regard to the minor's intoxication at the time of sale. 
Camalier v. Jeffries; Hart v. Ivey. North Carolina is therefore coded as not recognizing common law 
negligence regarding furnishing to minors. 
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Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking parties? No law 
Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a general prohibition 
against permitting underage drinking on the property? 

N/A 

What action by underage guest triggers a violation? N/A 
Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her from being held 
liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending interstate 
shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to consumers? Yes 
What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer before delivery is 
authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age before sale? No 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of recipients? Yes 
State approval/permit requirements 

 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state license or permit? Yes 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved by a state agency? Yes 
Recording/reporting requirements 

 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report purchaser’s name? No 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) record/report recipient’s 
name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes 
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years old”? Yes 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or more than 7.75 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or unlabeled keg and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (Maximum fine/jail, 
discretionary fine/45 days) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, what is the 
penalty? 

No 

What purchaser information is collected?  
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Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name and address on 
license or other government information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg will be consumed? Yes 
Must warning information be given to purchaser? Yes, active (requires an action 

by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Yes 
Wine Yes 
Spirits No law 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

Yes. In addition, this state is a control state, and 
control states may impose additional restrictions 
on the sale of products that are not reflected in 
statute or regulation. 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

Yes (more than 75.5%) 

Are there exceptions to restrictions? No 
Notes:  The State of North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Commission issued a written 
statement on November 30, 2010, that the highest proof liquor sold in North Carolina ABC stores will 
be 151 proof, which is equivalent to 75.5% alcohol by volume. 

 
Laws Affecting Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.62 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
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If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if applicable  
 
Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol wine $1.00 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if applicable  
 
Spirits  
Control system for spirits? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol spirits N/A 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

N/A 

• General sales tax rate N/A 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
N/A 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
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If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

N/A 

• General sales tax rate N/A 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
N/A 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if applicable  
 

Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from offering the following 
types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time Yes 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving Yes 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., happy hours) Yes (Full Day Price Reductions 

not banned) 
Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

No 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

No 

Spirits Control 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

N/A 
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North Carolina State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Alcohol Law Enforcement 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Alcohol Law 
Enforcement Branch, 

State Bureau of 
Investigation 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No data 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 

Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 No data 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Smallest fine imposed No data 
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Largest fine imposed No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Don't know 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Don't know 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification    
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative (NC-PUDi)  

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  www.ncpudi.org   

Program Description:  The North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative (NC-PUDi) focuses on 
community-based approaches that emphasize environmental management strategies to prevent underage 
drinking.  As the National Research Council/Institute of Medicine (NRC/IOM, 2004) report, “Reducing Underage 
Drinking: A Collective Responsibility” states “Underage drinking cannot be addressed by focusing on youth alone.  
Youth drink within the context of a society in which alcohol use is normative behavior, and images about alcohol 
are pervasive.  They usually obtain alcohol—either directly or indirectly—from adults.  Efforts to reduce underage 
drinking, therefore, need to focus on adults and must engage the society at large.”   
NC-PUDi offers technical assistance to Community Collaboratives addressing the issue of underage alcohol use.  
Collaboratives work within their communities to implement strategies that prevent underage drinking and create a 
sustainable movement to stop practices that make underage drinking both easy and acceptable.  The 
Collaboratives’ primary strategies focus on decreasing underage access to alcohol; changing community norms 
that promote underage and excessive alcohol consumption; and addressing policies pertaining to underage 
drinking.  NC-PUDi is administered by the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services/Division of 
Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services, and is supported by the SAMHSA SABG.  
NC-PUDi continues the initiatives originally funded by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 
(OJJDP) Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws program, which supported and enhanced efforts by states and local 
jurisdictions to prohibit the sale, purchase, and consumption of alcoholic beverages to and by minors (minors are 
defined as individuals under 21 years old). 
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Talk It Out:  Start the conversation.  Stop underage drinking.  
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information: www.talkitoutnc.org    

Program Description:  Talk It Out is a statewide campaign administered by the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Commission to reduce underage drinking through TV ads and social media as well as a website that hosts 
resources to help parents talk to youth about underage drinking.   

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Program description: Preventing and reducing underage drinking through retail compliance is one of the most 
effective strategies available, according to the 1999 Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation [PIRE]/OJJDP 
publication, “Regulatory Strategies for Preventing Youth Access to Alcohol: Best Practices.”  Alcohol purchase 
surveys, unlike compliance checks, can be performed without the assistance of law enforcement as long as the 
youth attempting to purchase are at least 21 years old.  Purchase surveys are designed to facilitate a dialogue 
between the community and its retailers.  Any strong prevention program incorporates citizens, retailers, the 
media, and law enforcement—alcohol purchase surveys accomplish all four tasks.  Specifically, alcohol purchase 
surveys are used to:          

1. Assess community needs and collect data on which retailers in the community are potentially selling to 
underage youth;       

2. Raise community awareness and build support for efforts to prevent sales to minors;       
3. Inform merchants that they are being monitored and motivate them to change non-compliant practices; 
4. Inform law enforcement officials with important information; and       
5. Measure the impact of prevention strategies, so that communities can assess the effectiveness of the 

strategies they implement (PIRE, 1999).   
Community Collaboratives return to every retail establishment surveyed to inform store management that the 
community cares about the issue of underage drinking and is conducting alcohol purchase surveys as a way to 
monitor alcohol sales practices.  At that time, store management also is informed about how their store performed 
in the alcohol purchase survey and where they can get responsible alcohol sales training for their employees.  
Following each round of purchase surveys, funded Community Collaboratives submit a press release to local media 
and a detailed statistical report/complaint to law enforcement.  Several studies have shown that generating 
publicity around underage alcohol sale surveys is an effective way to increase the success of local law enforcement 
efforts (PIRE, 1999).  Therefore, results of the surveys are used for educational purposes including warning letters, 
congratulatory letters, and use in the media.   
Community Collaboratives also provide a summary report to local law enforcement.  For Community 
Collaboratives to effectively serve their “community watch” role, collected data from alcohol purchase surveys 
must be shared with local law enforcement agencies.  Community Collaboratives disseminate the report 
summarizing the purchase survey findings after each round of surveys.  From October 1, 2017 to September 30, 
2018, the state conducted 1,156 alcohol purchase surveys.  Of those surveys, which included targeting problem 
establishments, 73.5 percent asked for the mock buyer’s identification and passed the survey; 850 establishments 
refused to sell.   These can be further broken down into the following types:    

• 870 Comprehensive Alcohol Purchase Surveys with a combined pass rate of 78.4%, 682 merchants 
refusing to sell.   

• 277 Targeted Alcohol Purchase Surveys with a combined pass rate of 57.4%, 159 merchants refusing to 
sell.   

• 518 Alcopop-Specific Alcohol Purchase Surveys with a combined pass rate of 71.8%, 372 merchants 
refusing to sell.   
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• 58 ABC Store-Specific Alcohol Purchase Surveys with a combined pass rate of 72.4%, 42 merchants 
refusing to sell.   

• 78 On-Premises Alcohol Purchase Surveys with a combined pass rate of 79.5%, 62 servers refusing to sell.   
In addition, the state conducted 1,050 follow up and merchant education visits with retailers, partnered with more 
than 35 different law enforcement agencies, and collectively worked with more than 600 organizations and/or 
agencies.  Also, Community Collaboratives involved youth in their efforts to prevent underage drinking, foster 
development, and encourage the expansion of an underage drinking prevention youth empowerment movement 
in their community. 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program:  Not applicable 

No 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns:  No 
Local school district efforts:  No 
Other: (Statewide): Talk It Out:  Start the conversation.  Stop underage drinking. Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts No 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY No 
Pro bono No 
Donated air time No 
Earned media No 
Other:  No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): Community Preventive Services Task Force; OJJDP; Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention; NRC/IOM, Health and Human Services, Office of the 
Surgeon General, SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: NC Department of Health and Human Services Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: The North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative (NC-PUDi) uses 
and continues to develop innovative strategies to help achieve the long-term goal of preventing underage 
drinking.  This continuing effort is designed to further support and develop Community Collaboratives working 
to implement environmental management strategies to prevent underage drinking.  This objective is 
responsive to the recommendations outlined in “Strategies to Reduce Underage Alcohol Use” (PIRE, 1999); the 
National Institute of Medicine/National Academy of Sciences (IOM/NAS) report, “Reducing Underage Drinking: 
A Collective Responsibility” (NRC/IOM, 2004), the Surgeon General’s “Call to Action to Prevent and Reduce 
Underage Drinking” (Office of the Surgeon General, 2007), the Guide to Community Preventive Services; and 
the North Carolina Institute of Medicine Substance Abuse Services Task Force Report.   
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Although many of the recommended components of the NRC/IOM and the North Carolina Institute of 
Medicine Substance Abuse Services Task Force reports require significant action at the national and/or state 
level, the reports specify several areas in which local communities can play significant complementary and 
reinforcing roles.  Not surprisingly, several of the recommendations are consistent with strategies 
recommended in “Strategies to Reduce Underage Alcohol Use” (PIRE, 1999).  According to the NRC/IOM 
report, two evidence-based strategic actions that can occur at the community level are community 
mobilization and restricting access.  Community Collaboratives aimed at preventing underage drinking are 
valuable adjuncts to state and local government interventions.  Such Collaboratives, which include people with 
diverse perspectives, interests, and responsibilities, can provide the political will and organizational support for 
implementing strategies that have proven effective at preventing underage drinking.  They also place emphasis 
on a local culture in which underage drinking is considered a serious and unacceptable problem.  Such local 
norms lend support to heightened enforcement of laws against underage drinking.  By providing a context that 
supports recommended interventions, community mobilization efforts increase the overall likelihood that such 
interventions will be successful.   
 
To effectively implement this comprehensive approach, the NRC/IOM committee recommended the following 
3 strategies:         

1. Community leaders assess their community’s particular problems and resources and—using effective 
approaches including community organizing, building Community Collaboratives, and strategic use of 
the mass media to support policy changes and enforcement—tailor their efforts to combat underage 
drinking accordingly.   

2. Include colleges and universities in collaboration and implementation efforts for a range of 
interventions.  

3. Elementary, secondary, and high school education programs should be evidence-based and should 
avoid interventions that rely on provision of information alone or fear tactics.           

 
Listed below are the critical elements of effective interventions as summarized in the report:         

• Be multicomponent and integrated          
• Be sufficient in “dose” and follow-up          
• Establish norms that support non-use          
• Stress parental monitoring and supervision          
• Be interactive         
• Be implemented with fidelity         
• Include limitations in access          
• Be institutionalized          
• Avoid an exclusive focus on information         
• Avoid congregating high-risk youth          
• Promote social and emotional skill development among elementary school students                

 
By urging greater emphasis on restricted access, the report offers a wake-up call for adults from whom youth 
generally obtain alcohol (parents who allow drinking parties in their homes, adults who have alcohol in the 
home that is not monitored and secured, strangers who buy alcohol for teenagers waiting outside stores, or 
sales clerks and bartenders who sell alcohol to minors).  State and local communities can work to not only 
create and enforce laws, but also to explain the reasons why compliance is important and elicit public support 
for limiting access.  Recommended strategy urges that states and localities, working with law enforcement as 
appropriate, restrict youth access by: 

1. Targeting servers and sellers, by:            
a. Increasing compliance checks, supported by media campaigns and license revocation to 

increase deterrence           
b. Implementing responsible beverage service programs as a condition of retail outlet licensing           
c. Developing new or strengthened server and seller liability laws           
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d. Regulating Internet sales and home delivery of alcohol to prevent/reduce underage 
purchases       

2. Targeting parents and other adults to promote compliance with youth access restrictions through:           
a. Keg registration laws             
b. “Shoulder tap” or other prevention programs targeting adults who purchase alcohol for 

minors           
c. Stronger anti-loitering measures          
d. Measures to hold retailers accountable for loitering           
e. Securing and monitoring alcohol in the home       

3. Targeting youth through:           
a. Sobriety checkpoints with swift and certain sanctions for young drunk drivers           
b. Graduated license programs           
c. Modified laws to allow passive breath testing, streamlined administrative procedures, and 

administrative penalties, such as immediate driver’s license revocation           
d. Media campaigns to publicize enforcement and encourage compliance          
e. Identifying and breaking up teen drinking parties and holding relevant adults and youth 

accountable           
f. Making it more difficult to use false identification (ID) by issuing scannable IDs, allowing 

retailers to confiscate licenses, and implementing administrative penalties for false ID use           
g. Increasing access to treatment services for young drinkers who need clinical treatment            

 
NC-PUDi has the overall goal of focusing on community mobilization centered on implementation of 
environmental management strategies and restricting access through increased collaboration with law 
enforcement agencies.  Strengthening the bridges that Community Collaboratives have built with law 
enforcement in previous rounds of funding remains a top priority.  With emphasis on alcohol purchase surveys, 
followed by the dissemination of survey results to law enforcement, retailers, and local media, Community 
Collaboratives directly assess and influence community norms and retail practices related to alcohol access in 
their communities.  

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable 

Additional Agencies/organizations:  
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 

URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 
 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via:  Not applicable 
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Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Talk It Out NC.  The ABC Commission campaign is funded by revenue from 
state-controlled liquor stores. 
Estimate of state funds expended:   $2 million 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:   12/31/2018 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other:  1. Revenue from state-controlled liquor store (Talk It Out NC campaign);  2. 
Seven percent (7%) of sales from distilled spirits sold at the ABC stores 

Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
1. Talk It Out NC—The ABC Commission campaign is funded by revenue from state-controlled liquor 

stores.  Talk it Out is the theme of the North Carolina ABC Commission campaign developed for 
broadcast, print, and social media markets across North Carolina.  Advertising materials provide links 
to a website (Talkitoutnc.org) that provides information and resources geared toward helping parents 
and teens to have important conversations about alcohol and why children should not drink until they 
are adults.  The campaign is part of the larger ABC Commission’s Initiative to Reduce Underage 
Drinking that includes outreach with the public safety and public health communities, as well as 
partnership with the alcohol industry to address underage drinking issues head-on.        

2. Seven percent (7%) of sales from distilled spirits sold at ABC stores are dedicated to training and 
education and are determined locally through ABC boards and/or county commissioners. 

Additional Clarification  
The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative (NC-PUDi) 
and additional complementary efforts are federally funded.  No state funds are specifically dedicated to the 
prevention of underage alcohol use. 
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