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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers and Bartenders 

Policy Description  

All states specify a minimum age for employees who serve or dispense alcoholic beverages.  

Generally, the term “servers” refers to waitpersons, and “bartenders” refers to individuals who 

dispense alcoholic beverages.  These restrictions recognize that underage employees, particularly 

those who are unsupervised, may lack the maturity and experience to conduct adequate checks of 

age identification and resist pressure from underage peers to complete illegal sales.   

States vary widely in terms of minimum age requirements for servers and bartenders.  In some 

states, the minimum age for both types of employee is 21, but others set lower minimum ages, 

particularly for servers.  No state permits underage bartenders while prohibiting underage 

servers.  Some states permit servers or bartenders younger than 21 to work only in certain types 

of on-premises establishments, such as restaurants, or to serve only certain beverage types, such 

as beer or wine.  Underage servers and bartenders may be allowed only if legal-age managers or 

supervisors are present when underage persons are serving alcoholic beverages or tending bar.  

State laws setting a minimum age for employees who sell alcohol at off-premises establishments 

are described in the “Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers” section of this report. 

Status of Age of Server Policies 

Age of Servers 

As of January 1, 2015, Alaska, Nevada, and Utah specify that on-premises alcohol servers of 

beer, wine, or distilled spirits must be 21 or older (see Exhibit 4.3.25).  Only one state (Maine) 

allows 17-year-olds to be servers.  Ten states specify that servers be at least 19 or 20, and the 

remaining 36 states and the District of Columbia allow 18-year-old servers. 

Age of Bartenders 

Minimum ages for bartenders are generally higher than for servers across the states.  Nineteen 

states and the District of Columbia limit bartending to persons 21 or older.  Five states (Arizona, 

Idaho, Kentucky, Nebraska, and Ohio) specify that bartenders be at least 19 or at least 20.  

Twenty-five states allow 18-year-olds to bartend, while only one state (Maine) allows 17-year-

olds to bartend.  Minimum ages for serving beer, wine, and distilled spirits are identical in all  

but three states:  Maryland, North Carolina, and Ohio.  Maryland and North Carolina require 

bartenders to be 21 to serve spirits, but permit 18-year-olds to dispense beer and wine; Ohio 

requires bartenders to be 21 to serve wine and distilled spirits, but those 19 and older are allowed 

to dispense beer. 

Trends in Age of Server Policies 

Manager or Supervisor Presence 

Ten states require that a supervisor or manager be present when an underage seller conducts an 

alcoholic beverage transaction.  State policies for ages of servers and bartenders in on-premises 

establishments have been generally stable over the last decade (see Exhibit 4.3.26).  Between 

2003 and 2015, Arkansas lowered its minimum age for servers from 21 to 19, and North Dakota 

lowered its age for servers from 19 to 18. 
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Exhibit 4.3.25:  Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers (Beer) as of January 1, 2015 
 

 

 

 

Exhibit 4.3.26:  Distribution of Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers of Beer,  
January 1, 2003, through January 1, 2015 
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