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Nebraska
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 1,868,516
Population Ages 12-20: 231,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.3 54,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.8 36,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 2.6 2,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.2 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.3 14,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.2 9,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.8 38,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.6 27,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 26
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,567
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 24 5

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian’s home.
Note: Nebraska makes an exception for persons who are at least 16 years old to carry alcohol
from licensed establishments when they are accompanied by any person who is not a minor.
Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian’s home.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Nebraska does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined by this report, it
provides that “no minor may...consume, or have in his or her possession or physical control any
alcoholic liquor.© “Consume* is defined as “knowingly and intentionally drinking or otherwise
ingesting alcoholic liquor.* Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but
do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal
Possession for purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e No driver’s license suspension procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itis a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers that use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other
information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.
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Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Discretionary

Length of suspension/revocation
e 30 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e No minimum supervised driving requirement—with driver education; 50 hours without
(of which 10 must be at night)

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger under 19 who is not an immediate
family member
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17. Passenger restrictions expire 6 months after issuance of
intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 17.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 19

e Wine: 19

e Spirits: 19
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 19 for both servers and bartenders

e Wine: 19 for both servers and bartenders

e Spirits: 19 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools
Colleges and universities

e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools

e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 150 feet
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 150 feet
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Note: Although Nebraska law states a 300-foot limit, the commission may waive it. If
outlet is surrounded by or adjacent on two sides to university/college, then university/college
must approve.

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists.

Note: Injury or property damage must be a proximate result of the negligence of an
intoxicated minor

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists.

Note: Injury or property damage must be a proximate result of the negligence of an
intoxicated minor

Host Party Laws

No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled
spirits with the following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Producer must verify age of purchaser.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements: None

Shipping label statement requirements:
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21
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Keg Registration

Keg definition: 5 or more gallons
Prohibited:

— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $500/3 months
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500/3 months

Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address

— Verified by a government-issued 1D

Warning information to purchaser:
Deposit: Not required

Passive—no purchaser action required

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Home Delivery

Beer: Permitted
Wine: Permitted
Spirits: Permitted

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
Specific excise tax: $0.31 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
Specific excise tax: $0.95 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
Specific excise tax: $3.75 per gallon

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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Nebraska State Survey Responses

State Agency Information
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Nebraska State Patrol

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/

shipment laws
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Yes

Nebraska State Patrol

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law 1850
enforcement agencies '
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law Yes
enforcement agencies
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy opera’[ions2 to
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes
to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 5,520
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
) . 1,062
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 125
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, Both on- and off-sale
or both retail establishments establishments
State conducts random underage compliance checks/ Yes
decoy operations
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance
. 1,062
checks/decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 125
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes
to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,062
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 125
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that
furnish minors

No data
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Number of fines imposed by the state* No data
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data
Smallest fine imposed $50/day for days_ of license
suspension
Largest fine imposed $5,000
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail
. o L . Yes
establishments specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® No data
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 15 days closed +50 days
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retalil
) o R . Yes
establishments specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Not available
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data

Additional Clarification

The Nebraska State Patrol and local law enforcement agencies conduct compliance checks, party
patrols, and underage alcohol source investigations with funding provided by the Nebraska Office of
Highway Safety (NOHS). NOHS facilities provide annual training for all law enforcement and
prosecution personnel on these enforcement operations.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 18,503
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.epi.umn.edu/alcohol/cmca/index.shtm

Program Description: A community-organizing effort designed to change policies and practices of
major community institutions in ways that reduce teenagers’ access to alcohol (target ages include
13- to 20-year-olds) by using environmental strategies.

Nebraska’s Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable
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Program Description: Nebraska’s EUDL program has been coordinated by NOHS since 1995. NOHS
was established in 1967 to coordinate, develop, and implement Nebraska‘s annual traffic safety plan in
accordance with the Federal Highway Safety Act of 1966. Alcohol awareness activities are coordinated
through NOHS to ensure continuity, uniformity, and comprehensiveness in this area. Reduction of fatal
and injury crashes requires continued, combined efforts of an informed public and dedicated government
officials willing to address alcohol issues. A good working relationship, including resources and support
for local officials, businesses, and others in the community, between the NOHS staff and its partners, is
essential for improved compliance of impaired driving and underage age drinking laws. This
coordination and assistance provides an essential element in a successful alcohol awareness program
for our state. The following summary provides a few highlights from the NOHS FY2013 (October 1,
2012-September 30, 2013) Annual Evaluation Report:

* Nebraska is a predominantly rural state with a population of 1.83 million people. There are 1.39
million licensed drivers and 2.26 million registered vehicles. Traffic crashes are a daily occurrence,
resulting in approximately 6,200 injured persons annually. In 2011, 4,998 fatal, A, or B injury crashes
occurred, killing 181 people and injuring another 6,249 people.

+ Fatal, A, and B injury crashes decreased by 4.3 percent from the 2009-2011 calendar base year
average of 5,137 to 4,915 in 2012. Alcohol-related fatal, A, and B injury crashes increased by 7.8
percent from the 2009-2011 calendar base year average of 606 to 653 in 2012.

* NOHS used various paid media methods for its programs: Occupant Restraints (Click It or Ticket/It
Only Takes a Second); Impaired Driving (Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over/You Drink & Drive. You
Lose./Report Every Drunk Driver Immediately); Underage Drinking (Tip Line 1-866-MUST-BE-21);
Sobriety Check Points; Distracted Driving (Just Put It Down); Motorcycle Safety (Look Out for
Motorcycles); and Railroad Grade Crossing Safety (Operation Lifesaver).

+ NOHS also increased the number of paid media marketing/advertising efforts during the national
Click It or Ticket Mobilizations and Impaired Driving Crackdowns. They also promoted special
Underage Drinking campaigns that were conducted around the prom/graduation, vacation break, and
start of school periods.

Across Ages

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 496
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.promoteprevent.org/publications

Program Description: Across Ages is a mentoring program that pairs adult mentors over age 50 with
youth ages 9 to 13. The goal of the program is to enhance the resiliency of children to promote positive
development and prevent involvement in high-risk behaviors. The program has four components:

(1) adults mentoring youth, (2) youth performing community service, (3) youth participating in a life
skills/problemsolving curriculum, and (4) monthly activities for family members. The program can be
implemented as a school-based or after-school program.

All Stars
Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 894
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.allstarsprevention.com

Program Description: All Stars programs are designed to prevent, reduce, and eliminate negative
behaviors and promote positive behaviors. Each All Stars program, and every session and activity within
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All Stars, achieves these goals by changing qualities that account for why young people engage in
negative behaviors. The various All Stars programs address the following concepts to some degree:

» Beliefs about consequences

+ Bonding

» Commitment to not use or reduce use
» Decisionmaking and impulsivity control
* Goal setting

* Idealism

* Norms

» Parental attentiveness

* Resistance skills training

* Self-management.

Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for College Students (BASICS)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 100
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://depts.washington.edu/abrc/basics.htm

Program Description: BASICS is a prevention program for college students who drink alcohol heavily
and have experienced or are at risk for alcohol-related problems. Following a harm reduction approach,
BASICS aims to motivate students to reduce alcohol use in order to decrease the negative
consequences of drinking. It is delivered over the course of two 1-hour interviews with a brief online
assessment survey taken by the student after the first session. The first interview gathers information
about the student's recent alcohol consumption patterns, personal beliefs about alcohol, and drinking
history, while providing instructions for self-monitoring any drinking between sessions and preparing the
student for the online assessment survey. Information from the online assessment survey is used to
develop a customized feedback profile for use in the second interview, which compares personal alcohol
use with alcohol use norms, reviews individualized negative consequences and risk factors, clarifies
perceived risks and benefits of drinking, and provides options to assist in making changes to decrease or
abstain from alcohol use. Based on principles of motivational interviewing, BASICS is delivered in an
empathetic, nonconfrontational, and nonjudgmental manner and is aimed at revealing the discrepancy
between the student's risky drinking behavior and his or her goals and values. The intervention is
delivered by trained personnel proficient in motivational interviewing and may be tailored for use with
young adults in settings other than colleges.

Class Action

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.hazelden.org

Program Description: No data
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Project ALERT

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
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Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.projectalert.com

Program Description: The Project ALERT curriculum was created and tested by The RAND
Corporation, the nation’s leading think tank on drug policy. Developed over a 10-year period, Project
ALERT addresses the pro-drug mindset of today’s teens and effectively increases their likelihood to
remain drug free.

Project Northland

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available No data

URL for evaluation report:
http://www.epi.umn.edu/projectnorthland/schoolba.html

URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: Alcohol is the focus of the Project Northland program because it is the drug of
choice of American teenagers and inflicts the most harm during this age period. The programs of Project
Northland provide state-of-the-art prevention materials for 6th-, 7th-, and 8th-grade students. These
programs invite participation and experiential learning at home and in the classroom. Project Northland
has been shown to be effective in delaying and reducing alcohol use among young adolescents in the
largest and most rigorous alcohol use prevention trial ever funded by the National Institute on Alcoholism
and Alcohol Abuse. Furthermore, among those students who had not begun using alcohol by the
beginning of 6th grade, reports of cigarette use and marijuana use were lower in those who participated
in the Project Northland prevention programs.

Project Northland programs begin with preteens in the 6th grade because studies show that alcohol use
often begins during early adolescence. According to Monitoring the Future, a federally sponsored annual
national survey of adolescents, in 1993 nearly 70 percent of 8th-grade students reported having used
alcohol. Moreover, nearly 30 percent reported having been drunk by the 8th grade. Other studies have
shown that alcohol use during early adolescence increases the likelihood of progression to heavy alcohol
use and to the use of other illicit drugs.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes

underage drinking
Description of collaboration: Working to expand Nebraska’s Prevention Advisory Council to include
tribal representatives. Two of Nebraska’s Strategic Prevention Framework—Partnership for Success
subrecipients are specifically addressing tribal communities.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol Yes

advertising

and marketing
Program description: Many of the locally established community coalitions that are targeting
underage drinking prevention initiatives have included efforts aimed at youth exposure to alcohol
advertising, promotions and marketing.
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking

prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:
Federal agency(ies): U.S. Department of Justice/Office of Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration,
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Agency(ies) within your state: Liquor Control Commission, Nebraska Office of Yes
Highway Safety
Nongovernmental agency(ies): Project Extra Mile Yes
Other: Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth, Pacific Institute for Research Yes
and Evaluation
Best practice standards description: No data

Additional Clarification

No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Fred E. Zwonechek (Nebraska Underage Drinking Task Force)
E-mail: fred.zwonechek@nebraska.gov
Address: P.O. Box 94612, Lincoln, NE 68509-4612
Phone: 402-471-2515
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Nebraska State Patrol
Department of Health and Human Services
Nebraska Crime Commission
Nebraska Liquor Control Commission
Nebraska Attorney General
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
University of Nebraska Lincoln (UNL) and UNL Police Department
Lincoln Police Department
State Probation Office
Project Extra Mile
Nebraska Medical Association
Nebraska Mothers Against Drunk Driving
Nebraska Public Health Association
Nebraska Sheriff‘'s Association
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Division of Behavioral Health
Plan can be accessed via: http://dhhs.ne.gov/behavioral health/Documents/DBH-
PreventionStrategicPlan2013-17.pdf

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: DHHS Division of Behavioral Health
Plan can be accessed via: Application to SAMHSA’s 2013 Strategic Prevention Framework —
Partnership for Success grant.

Additional Clarification

No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended $57,874
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $508,745

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
K—12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: (1) Public Information and Education programs, including state-
funded underage drinking activity toll-free tip line; (2) TV, radio, print, and web ads targeting
underage and adults; (3) Enforcement/prosecution training; (4) youth advocacy training; and

(5) an online liguor licensee, owner, manager, server, and seller training system.

Estimate of state funds expended No data
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

Additional Clarification
No data
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Nevada
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 2,790,136
Population Ages 12-20: 346,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.4 88,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.2 56,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.6 5,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 25 3,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.2 22,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.8 12,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 47.9 61,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 32.2 41,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 42
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,543
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 23 3

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location OR

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e No driver’s license suspension procedure

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e Itis a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory
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Length of suspension/revocation
e Minimum: 90 days
e Maximum: 730 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 10 p.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No passengers under 18 unless they are immediate
family members
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18. Passenger restrictions expire after 6 months;
unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18.

Note: Driver’s education course requirement for persons under 18. Exception: If a driver’s
education course is not offered within a 30-mile radius of a person’s residence, the person may
instead complete an additional 50 hours of supervised driving.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory beverage service training for servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Note: The applicability of Nevada’s “alcoholic beverage awareness program® to on-sale retailers
is limited to establishments in a jurisdiction located in (a) a county whose population is 100,000
or more or (b) a county whose population is less than 100,000, if the governing body of the
jurisdiction has, by the affirmative vote of a majority of its members, agreed to be bound by the
provisions of section 9 of the act.
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Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 16

e Wine: 16

e Spirits: 16

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 21 for both servers and bartenders

e Wine: 21 for both servers and bartenders

e Spirits: 21 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation
Dram Shop Liability

There is no statutory liability.

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:

e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Knowingly furnishing a minor or allowing
a minor to consume alcohol on premises that the social host controls

Host Party Laws

No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Uncertain

e Wine: Uncertain

e Spirits: Uncertain

Note: A person may import from another state 1 gallon or less of alcohol per month for personal
use. It is uncertain whether an out-of-state retailer may ship alcohol directly to the consumer for
personal use.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled
spirits with the following restrictions:

Age verification requirements: None

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
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Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements

e Contains alcohol—applies to internet orders
Keg Registration

Registration is not required.

Home Delivery

e Beer: Nolaw

e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Note: Regulated by county and city governments.

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.16 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.70 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $3.60 per gallon

e Additional taxes: Distilled spirits over 14 percent and up to 22 percent are taxed at $1.30 per

gallon.

Note: An additional excise tax of $1.50 per gallon may be imposed on all liquor containing an
alcohol content of more than 22 percent, but only if the federal gallonage tax imposed by 26
U.S.C. § 5001 is reduced to $9 per gallon. This additional tax is not collected.

632

Drink Specials
No law

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Restricted—41 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—41 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—41 days maximum
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State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Juvenile Justice Programs Office

Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
‘'Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies

Not applicable
Not applicable

No
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors

Data are collected on these activities

Number of retail licensees in state®

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies

(including random checks)

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both

retail establishments

No

No
No data

Not applicable

Not applicable
Not applicable

Not applicable

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks

No
Not applicable
Not applicable

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales
to minors

Data are collected on these activities

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that
furnish minors

Number of fines imposed by the state’

Total amount in fines across all licensees

Smallest fine imposed

Largest fine imposed

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Yes

Yes
2,329
338
12/31/2013

No

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking

633



State Reports — Nevada

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® Not applicable
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Not applicable

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Additional Clarification

Nevada does not have a state-level Alcohol Beverage Control agency. The Enforcing Underage
Drinking Laws (EUDL) funds provided by the Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), awarded to the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services
were granted to local law enforcement agencies to conduct EUDL operations including: Alcohol Sale to
Minors Compliance Checks, Third Party Purchaser (“Should Tap“ operations), Juvenile Party Dispersals,
Fake ID Intervention, Saturation Patrols, and Juvenile DUI prevention.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Responsible Beverage Server Training Law Fine Reallocation

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: Nevada’'s Responsible Beverage Server Training law requires all servers and
sellers of alcohol in counties with more than 400,000 people to complete a training with established
curriculum and standards related to responsible beverage server practices. This includes avoiding the
provision of alcohol to minors and to customers clearly impaired from alcohol consumption. The
curriculum includes denying sales, local alcohol ordinances, and fake ID identifications. Two counties
fall into the category of more than 400,000 people: Clark County (Las Vegas area) with over 2 million
residents (70 percent of Nevada's population), and Washoe County with just over 400,000 residents (20
percent of Nevada'‘s population). The remaining 15 counties all have under 55,000 residents. Local law
enforcement check for server training cards when they conduct alcohol sale to minors compliance
operations. A notice of infraction is issued to the business if an employee does not have a current card,
and a copy is sent to the Nevada Department of Taxation. The Department then sends the notice of fine
to the business. Revenue from the fines is divided by 50 percent to the Victims Restitution Fund and 50
percent to the EUDL program. The EUDL funds from these fines are used to purchase equipment
needed by law enforcement officers to conduct EUDL operations.

Peace Officer Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Accredited

Training Programs
Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
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Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: Working with Nevada‘s EUDL program, Nevada‘s Peace Officers Standards and
Training (POST) has approved training for peace officers for continuing education units in the following
EUDL strategic operations: alcohol sale to minors, compliance checks, third-party purchaser operations,
special events, alcohol control, DUI prevention and intervention, fake ID identification, and intervention
controlled juvenile party dispersal. Nevada uses trainers available through the Underage Drinking
Enforcement and Training Center (UDETC), and has a UDETC trainer in Nevada located within the Las
Vegas Metropolitan Police Department. Three other local trainers serving the northern and rural parts of
the state are approved to conduct these training sessions as well.

University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) Student Conduct Underage Drinking
Intervention Program

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 112
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: No data

URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: UNR, in collaboration with the Nevada EUDL project, received a discretionary
grant from OJJDP to create effective responses to alcohol violations on campus that would incorporate
violations off campus as well. The responses are: (1) Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for
College Students (BASICS), including an education conference, personal drinking behavior
documentation, and followup conference; (2) Substance Abuse Therapeutic Education to Ensure
Personal Student Success (STEPS), including weekly psychoeducational classes to address behaviors
and choices led by a substance abuse counselor, personalized assessment, drug and alcohol testing,
attending drug court and case management meetings; and (3) Treatment, Responsibility, Accountability
on Campus (onTRAC), including a personalized program of alcohol testing, individual and group
counseling, case management meetings, student development activities, and wellness experiences.
Random drug testing may also be used at this level. This program system has achieved a 7 percent
recidivism rate. In addition to the personal interventions, UNR changed policies on alcohol sales at
sporting events, limiting sale to one drink per person at a time, stopping sales of alcohol at half-time,
restricting tail-gating areas, and screening at game entry to prohibit bringing in alcohol, or admission of
people clearly intoxicated. Friday night alternative activities are provided for all campus residents.

Nellis Air Force Base Initiative: Life of a Warrior

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 5,000
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: This year, the Nevada EUDL program was awarded a discretionary grant from
0JJDP through which it is collaborating with Nellis Air Force Base in Clark County to curtail underage
drinking by approaching the young airmen as the ultimate “team.“ As such, the airmen should be living
the “Life of a Warrior,“ a program developed from the American Athletic Institute’s “Life of an Athlete®
program created by John Underwood. Nellis Air Force Base usually has 10,000 airmen at any given

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 635



State Reports — Nevada

time on base. This program will reach all of them with a presentation outlining the life of an athlete,
including diet, sleep, central nervous system fatigue, workout preparation, and recovery, and the effects
of alcohol on overall and long-term performance. By embedding the alcohol information within the
context of ultimate performance and not as a separate “don‘t drink“ program, initial response
demonstrates greater engagement and positive response with the “avoid drinking“ message. The
message is reinforced with motivational posters, diet tips, exercise tips, an on-base “extreme activity,*
group and individual competitions, and other alternative activity clubs. Local law enforcement, the Las
Vegas Metropolitan Police Department, is setting up 12 DUI checkpoints on the road leading into Las
Vegas from the base 12 times over the next 3 years, conducting alcohol sale to minors compliance
checks in surrounding bars and alcohol sale locations, and conducting other EUDL enforcement
operations as an added deterrent to underage drinking. Violations by airmen will be reported to the base
mental health services unit. This program was initiated in May 2013, and an evaluation system is in
place, but no data outcomes will be available until June 30, 2014.

Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association (NIAA) Statewide Drug and
Alcohol Policy

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 15,000
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: Working with the Nevada EUDL program, the NIAA crafted an Alcohol and Drug
Policy that must be implemented by every high school sports program (including cheerleaders) in order
to participate in NIAA sports. The policy uses a three-step graduated sanctions approach. At the
beginning of the season, every athlete and a parent must attend an overview of the policy and sign the
agreement to the three-level sanctions: For the first offense, there is a 2-week suspension from play (but
athlete must still attend practices) and 10 hours of community service. For the second offense, a 3-
month suspension from play, and athlete must attend mandatory alcohol and other drug assessment and
comply with assessment recommendations. For the third offense, the athlete is suspended from high
school sports participation for the remainder of his/her high school career. Although the third offense
response seems harsh, at this point it is assumed the student has an alcohol or drug problem that
participation in sports is not successfully preventing or deterring, and the student is in need of a more
targeted treatment response. It is now the school’s responsibility to promote sports as a healthy activity,
and participation as requiring a commitment to a drug-free lifestyle, and as a privilege, not a right. If this
privilege is not respected, then that spot on the team goes to someone who honors the commitment.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes

underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The Nevada EUDL initiative collaborates with the Statewide Native
American Coalition (SNAC). The SNAC director is a member of the Statewide Prevention Coalition
Partnership, providing direction and guidance to the EUDL project. The EUDL program has
presented at the statewide SNAC conferences, trained law enforcement in EUDL operations, and
purchased equipment needed for conducting these operations. SNAC has also been awarded EUDL
minigrants to support environmental strategies unique to the Native American population, and
provided funds to support a Youth Leadership Coordinator for one of the tribes.
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State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising No
and marketing

Description of program: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: NV Dept. of Health and Human Services, Yes
Juvenile Justice Programs Office

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: Best practice standards are reviewed by the UDETC and the

Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation (PIRE). Standards approved by these two institutions

are adopted by the Nevada Juvenile Justice Programs Office. The EUDL project develops goals and

objectives and creates related Work Plans for approval by UDETC and PIRE, and ultimately OJJDP.
Additional Clarification

No data
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Linda Lang
E-mail: dlhlang@pyramid.net
Address: 1711 N. Roop Street, Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: 775-841-4730 x201
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Care Coalition
Partnership Carson City
Partnership of Community Resources
NV Community Prevention Coalition
Partners Allied for Community Excellence (PACE) Coalition
Healthy Communities Coalition
Frontier Community Coalition
Join Together of Northern Nevada
PACT Coalition
Nye Communities Coalition
Inter-Tribal Council of NV, Inc.
Churchill Community Coalition
University of Nevada Center for the Application of Substance Abuse Technologies (CASAT)
Clearinghouse
Mothers Against Drunk Driving

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes

Prepared by: Nevada Juvenile Justice Programs Office
Plan can be accessed via: Contact Kathlyn Bartosz, 775-841-4730 x206

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

No data
No data

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Data not available
Data not available

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending
Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: State funds are pass through dollars to the 12 coalitions to fund
direct prevention providers for alcohol and drug prevention evidence-based programs. There is ho
targeted funding specific to UAD.
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Data not available
Data not available

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines Yes
Fees No
Other: Allocation from the Nevada State Legislature Yes

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
The Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety, receives both federal dollars and fines from
traffic violations for media campaigns that include UAD. The Office also grants dollars to many of the
coalitions for education and outreach in local communities on UAD and impaired driving.

Additional Clarification \

The Department of Taxation collects fines for businesses not complying with the mandatory server
training law. Half of the fines collected go into a fund for the EUDL program. No alcohol taxes collected
go to prevention, but they are used for treatment, including treatment of UAD. The Substance Abuse
Prevention & Treatment Agency receives State General Funds for alcohol and drug prevention that are
passed through to local coalitions. The coalitions conduct needs assessments and use local and state
data to determine the priority needs/gaps to fund. They each submit a Comprehensive Community
Prevention Plan (CCPP) to the state and fund evidenced-based alcohol and drug prevention programs
within their service areas that target specific age groups and populations of high need as determined by
their CCPP.
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New Hampshire
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 1,323,459
Population Ages 12-20: 174,000

Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01

* See Appendix C for data sources.

Percentage

37.1
25.8

5.2
1.8

26.4
16.9

66.3
48.5

Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities

33
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

e Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for any
losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale.

Note: In New Hampshire, the prohibition against the use of a false ID for purchasing alcoholic
beverages applies to persons less than 21 years old.
Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Discretionary
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Length of suspension/revocation
e Minimum: 90 days
e Maximum: 365 days

Note: Although New Hampshire does not authorize a use/lose penalty for all underage
consumption, a law imposes a discretionary license sanction on minors who are “intoxicated
by consumption of an alcoholic beverage* and provides that an alcohol concentration “of .02
or more shall be prima facie evidence of intoxication.*

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e NoO minimum age

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 1 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one nonfamily passenger under 25, unless
accompanied by driver over 25
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18. Passenger restrictions expire after 6 months;
unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—mno explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 17
e Maximum: 20

Appearance requirements

Age assessment panel: If decoy is 20 years old, must appear to be between 17 and 19
Casual attire; average height and build

Male: No facial hair

Female: Minimal makeup

ID possession
e Required

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Prohibited
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Decoy training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
e Time period/conditions: 2 years
e First offense: $500 fine, four license points, 3-day suspension

Note: Muitigating and aggravating factors are considered. Only one compliance check annually
shall incur license points.

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory beverage service training for managers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies only to new outlets

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training

Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments

Applies to both new and existing outlets

Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits

Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 16

e Wine: 16

e Spirits: 16

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Note: To act as a cashier in a selling capacity, a minor is required to be at least 16 years old,
providing a person at least 18 years old is in attendance and is designated in charge of the
employees and business.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders

e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders

e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.
Note: New Hampshire law includes a responsible beverage service defense.
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Social Host Liability Laws
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Intention, possession, consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Overt act—host must have
actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence

e Preventive action by the host negates the violation

e Exception(s): Family

Note: In New Hampshire, an “underage alcohol house party* means a gathering of five or more

people under age 21 at any occupied structure, dwelling, or curtilage, where at least one person

under age 21 unlawfully possesses or consumes an alcoholic beverage. A person is guilty of a

misdemeanor if he or she owns or has control of the occupied structure, dwelling, or curtilage

where an underage alcohol house party is held and he or she knowingly commits an overt act in

furtherance of the occurrence of the underage alcohol house party, knowing persons under age

21 possess or intend to consume alcoholic beverages. The “preventive action® provision in New

Hampshire allows the defendant to avoid criminal liability by establishing, as an affirmative

defense, that he or she took preventive action with respect to the underage alcohol house party.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled
spirits with the following restrictions:

Age verification requirements: None

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

e Keg definition: More than 7 gallons

e Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000

e Purchaser information collected:
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— Purchaser’s name and address

— Verified by a government-issued 1D
e Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
e Deposit: Not required
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted
e Wine: Permitted
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.30 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited
Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist.
Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Price posting requirements: Post—wholesalers shall make their current prices available to

the commission in writing.
e Retailer credit: Restricted—10 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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New Hampshire State Survey Responses
State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
New Hampshire Division of Liquor Enforcement and Licensing

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both
retail establishments

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Dl © Ligl. o
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Enfor_ceme_nt and
Licensing
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don'‘t know
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 179
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if Vi
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 3,279
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 257
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 21
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Both on- and off-sale
establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks

No
Not applicable
Not applicable

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking

to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Dl ey
. no answer

to minors
Data are collected on these activities e
no answer

Not applicable
Not applicable

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that Yes
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state* 0
Total amount in fines across all licensees $0
Smallest fine imposed $0
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Largest fine imposed No data

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 0

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 0

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0

Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed® 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Statewide Alignment Toward Underage Drinking Prevention

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/prevention.htm

Program Description: In July 2013 the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services,
through the Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services (BDAS) and Division of Public Health Services (DPHS)
established a strategic partnership to align multiple public health priorities into one integrated system.
This partnership contracts with 13 agencies to serve as the host entity for Regional Public Health
Networks (RPHNs). The RPHNSs integrate multiple public health initiatives and services into a common
network of community stakeholders. The RPHNSs include every community in the state. Each RPHN
implements multiple comprehensive evidence-based strategies for the prevention of underage drinking.

Each RPHN has established a Public Health Advisory Council (PHAC) that advises the RPHN partners
by identifying regional public health priorities based on assessments of community health, and guiding
the implementation of evidence based programs, practices, and policies to meet improved health
outcomes. Each RPHN has a 3-year alcohol and drug prevention plan.

In addition, NH substance misuse prevention efforts and the prevention of underage drinking are
included in two broad state plans:

1. The New Hampshire’s Governor‘s Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention, Intervention
and Treatment created by the NH Legislature in 2000. The Commission developed a statewide plan,
2013 Collect Action—Collective Impact, establishing effective prevention of alcohol and drug abuse,
particularly among youth.

2. New Hampshire State Health Improvement Plan 2013—2020, Charting a Course to Improve the Health
of New Hampshire, has 10 priority areas including several that are relevant to the prevention of
alcohol and drug abuse including the prevention of underage drinking.
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Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

No data
URL for more program information: No data
Program description: No data

Additional Clarification

The Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services has a public and private partnership with the New Hampshire
Charitable Foundation. The Foundation approved an ambitious, 10-year strategy dedicated to the
prevention of substance use disorders, and donates approximately $1.2 million per year in advancing
Substance Use Prevention in New Hampshire with a primary focus on youth. For more information, go
to http://www.nhcf.org.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of No recognized

underage drinking tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising Yes

and marketing
Program description: A Youth Risk Behavior Survey question asks: During the last 12 months, do
you recall hearing, reading, or seeing a message about avoiding alcohol or other illegal drugs?
1. Various programs are conducted within the RPHN:

—Media campaigns: School public service announcements, and numerous social media sites are
utilized, e.g., Facebook, Twitter. This is accomplished through leveraging community-level
partnerships.

—RPHNSs implement the five-step Strategic Prevention Framework Model. The community is
mobilized to address local concerns that represent the six community sectors (medical,
government, business, safety, education, community supports). Each RPHN has a 3-year
strategic plan. Each RPHN has a Substance Misuse Content Expert Committee that meets
regularly to ensure the 3-year strategic plan is being implemented and outcomes are achieved.
Education and Technical Assistance are provided to the six community sectors in the
implementation of evidence-based programs, policies, and practices that target priority risk and
protective factors.

2. The Partnership for Drug Free New Hampshire communicates consistent, statewide messaging
about the prevention of, treatment for, and recovery from alcohol and drug misuse and abuse.

This is done through collaboration with state agencies, organizations, and others concerned with

the alcohol and drug issues in New Hampshire.

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: No
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No data Yes
Other: No

Best practice standards description: No data
Additional Clarification

No data
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Tym Rourke
E-mail: tr@nhcf.org
Address: 37 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-225-6641
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
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Attorney General
NH Municipal Courts
NH Adjutant General, NH National Guard
NH Department of Education
NH Department of Safety
NH Liguor Commission
Health and Human Services
NH Department of Corrections
NH Division of Children, Youth, & Families
NH Insurance Commission
NH Community College System
NH Nurses Association
NH Suicide Prevention Council
NH Medical Society
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/commission.htm

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: The Governor‘s Commission on Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Prevention,
Intervention and Treatment developed a 5-year plan, Collective Action—Collective Impact that
addresses the prevention of underage drinking and illicit drug use among other populations. The
plan can be accessed via: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/documents/collectiveaction.pdf

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable

Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable
Additional Clarification

New Hampshire has completed several reports and evaluations on the state prevention system that
include alcohol, prescription drugs, and illegal drugs use. However, these are not posted to a URL.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended $ 25,000
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended

Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
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Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available
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Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: No Programs or Strategies were funded by state funds
Estimate of state funds expended

$0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes

Fines

Fees

Other:

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

No
No
No
No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

For SFY2013, New Hampshire did not provide state funding for underage drinking prevention.

Additional Clarification
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New Jersey

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 8,899,339
Population Ages 12-20: 1,056,000
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Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.7 293,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.9 199,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.1 14,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.0 7,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 29.1 106,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.3 60,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 49 172,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 37.7 133,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 82
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,945
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 13 2

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): Private location

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): Private location

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers

e Itisacriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.01

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 180 days
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Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 16

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e No minimum supervised driving requirement

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 17
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 11:01 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger unless accompanied by parent or
guardian, unless additional passengers are dependents of the driver
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers
e Applies only to off-sale establishments
e Applies only to new outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation
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Primary and secondary schools
e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet, but school has authority to override
state prohibition
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet, but school has authority to override
state prohibition
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Note: Componile v. Maybee held that a social host who furnishes excessive amounts of alcoholic
beverages to a visibly intoxicated minor, knowing the minor is about to drive a car on the public
highways, may be liable to a third party injured in an automobile accident. At the federal level,
the court in A.B. v. Johnson held a social host owes a duty of care to not furnish or negligently
provide alcohol to any of his or her guests who are minors, and if a social host does furnish
alcohol to a minor and breaches his or her duty, that host may be held liable for whatever
reasonably foreseeable harm the provision of alcohol proximately caused.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Overt act—host must have
actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence

e Exception(s): Family

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:

e Beer: Uncertain

e Wine: Uncertain

e Spirits: Uncertain

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements: None

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements: None
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Note: Licensees cannot produce more than 250,000 gallons of wine per year.

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—delivery vehicles must display a transit insignia to identify the vehicle as
having authority to transport alcohol

e Wine: Permitted—delivery vehicles must display a transit insignia to identify the vehicle as
having authority to transport alcohol

e Spirits: Permitted—delivery vehicles must display a transit insignia to identify the vehicle as
having authority to transport alcohol

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.12 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.88 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $5.50 per gallon

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—21 month minimum

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—21 month minimum

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—21 month minimum

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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New Jersey State Survey Responses

State Agency Information
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

New Jersey Office of the Attorney General, Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC)
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/

: Yes
shipment laws
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Office of the Attorney
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors General, Div. of ABC
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law 205
enforcement agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law No
enforcement agencies
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy opera’[ions2 to
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales No
to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of retail licensees in state® No data

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or
both retail establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/
decoy operations

Not applicable

Not applicable

Not applicable

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to No
minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that Yes
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state* 128
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Total amount in fines across all licensees No data
Smallest fine imposed $500
Largest fine imposed $80,000
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail

establishments specifically for furnishing minors Vs
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 128
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 15
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 150
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Additional Clarification

All administrative charges involving underage drinking are filed with a penalty of either suspension or
revocation of the alcoholic beverage license. State law allows the ABC to convert the suspension into a
monetary fine. The conversion is based on the total annual alcohol sales divided by 365, times the
number of suspension days.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses.

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services — Funded Regional
Substance Abuse Prevention Coalitions

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Not available online

URL for more program information:
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmhas/resources/services/prevention/coalitions.html

Program Description: Effective January 1, 2012, the Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services
(DMHAS) selected 17 coalition regions in New Jersey based on the “Prevention Needs Assessment
Using Social Indicators: State of New Jersey Substance Abuse Prevention County Level Needs
Assessment, 2011.“ The needs assessment utilized archival data of social indicators to develop
composite indices of risks to estimate the need for prevention services among New Jersey’s 21 counties.
Criteria included population, substance abuse treatment admissions, and rates within the region.
Prevalence of alcohol and prescription drug misuse among middle- and high-school students were also
considered in identifying the 17 regions. Additional criteria used to determine the regions were that each
region (1) must comprise at least one county and (2) must have reported a minimum of 2,000 treatment
admissions (according to the latest available data) for the previous year.

All coalitions are required to utilize environmental strategies to address underage drinking in their region.
Coalitions have followed the Strategic Prevention Framework as a planning model and have submitted
strategic plans describing their needs assessments, capacity analyses, and program plans. Strategic
plans were approved by DMHAS. Coalitions have identified these root causes related to underage
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drinking: availability/access, social access, retail access, medical access, community norms, low
enforcement, low perception of risk, parental attitudes favorable to use, peer influence, price promotion,
and social norms.

Additionally, coalitions are using the following interventions and strategies in their regions:

+ Parents Who Host Lose the Most campaign

* Responsible Beverage Services

* Restricted Sales of Alcohol at Public Events

* Promote State Social Host Laws Promote/Adopt Private Property Ordinances
Sticker Shock campaign

Governor‘s Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse (GCADA) Municipal
Alliance Program

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/gcada/alliance

Program Description: The Council administers the state‘s $10 million Alliance to Prevent Alcoholism
and Drug Abuse Program, the largest network of community-based antidrug coalitions in the nation with
thousands of stakeholders serving on nearly 400 Alliances encompassing more than 530 municipalities
throughout New Jersey. Municipal Alliances are established by municipal ordinance and engage
residents, local government, and law enforcement officials, schools, nonprofit organizations, the faith
community, parents, youth, and other allies in efforts to prevent alcoholism and drug abuse in
communities throughout New Jersey.

15-Minute Child Break

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 7,200
Number of parents served 2,800
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://drugfreenj.org/child-break/15-minute-child-break

Program Description: The 15-Minute Child Break is a free, interactive, 1-hour presentation for parents,
grandparents, and caregivers who are concerned about children (of any age) and substance abuse.

this informative, engaging, and educational presentation. Participants receive age-specific information
and communication skills training concerning substance abuse. Parents are empowered and supported
with the assurance that, even in today's society, they are still the strongest influence in their children‘s
lives. The 15-Minute Child Break presentation is supported by research (2000 Partnership for a Drug-
Free New Jersey Middle School Study on Substance Use), which demonstrates that kids who
communicate regularly with their parents about their daily activities are 67 percent less likely to be
involved in substance abuse than children who have little or no communication. The 15-Minute Child
Break covers topics such as:

» Talking to your kids about drugs and alcohol
* Influence of media and pop culture

» Effects of specific drugs

* Keeping your kids drug-free

« Strengthening parenting skills

» Utilizing teachable moments

Representatives from the Partnership for a Drug Free New Jersey meet with groups on location to deliver
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Strengthening Families Program (SFP)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 1,650
Number of parents served 1,000
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: DMHAS provides funding for delivery of the SFP in all 21 New Jersey counties.
The SFP is a nationally and internationally recognized parenting and family strengthening program for
high-risk and regular families. It is an evidence-based family skills training program found to significantly
reduce problem behaviors, delinquency, and alcohol and drug abuse in children and to improve social
competencies and school performance. Child maltreatment also decreases as parents strengthen bonds
with their children and learn more effective parenting skills.

Camden County Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse (CCCADA) -
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 4,200
Number of parents served 650
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: CCCADA is utilizing the Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol
curriculum, a Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Center for
Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)—approved model program designed to utilize community-
organizing strategies to reduce youth access to alcohol. Through Project CARE, CCCADA coordinates
with local community event organizers to reduce adolescent access to alcohol, provides educational
workshops and forums, initiated a media campaign, offers family skate nights to the community, and
established a youth initiative called “Teens Exposing Alcohol Myths (TEAM).“ CCADA has partnered
with the Camden City Public Schools and the First Nazarene Baptist Church in the delivery of these
services.

Center for Prevention and Counseling, Community Trials Intervention

Program serves specific or general population No data
Number of youth served 4,000
Number of parents served 800
Number of caregivers served 100
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: The Center for Prevention and Counseling has implemented the Community
Trials Intervention for High Risk Drinking program specifically in the town of Hopatcong. This
community-based environmental change program focuses on the primary strategies of collaboration,
policy, and enforcement and is enhanced with communication and alternative programming activities.
The agency employs the five environmental strategies indicated in the curriculum: limit alcohol access,
encourage responsible beverage service, reduce underage drinking, increase actual and perceived risk
of arrest from driving after drinking, and mobilize the community. This curriculum has also taken into
account the Strategic Prevention Framework that the Department of Addiction Services has undertaken
and will also encompass delivery assessment, capacity, planning, implementation, and evaluation.
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Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 750
Number of parents served 120
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: By using the Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol model and the
Developmental Assets Framework of the Search Institute to engage youth in revitalization of their
neighborhoods, and having them rewarded with greater adult perception as a positive resource in the
community, Perth Amboy’s community norms will shift to reflect higher prosocial expectations for their
youth including lower acceptance of underage drinking.

Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol — Center for Alcohol and
Drug Resources — Bergen County

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 825
Number of parents served 175
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: The Center for Alcohol and Drug Resources uses the evidence-based program
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol to alter alcohol use patterns and their related problems in
the cities of Hackensack and Garfield. The goals and outcomes identified represent a commitment to
focused systemic change through the development of youth and adult partnerships to impact public
policy and community norms that encourage early and sustained alcohol use.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of No recognized

underage drinking tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol Yes

advertising and marketing
Program description: The Partnership for a Drug-Free New Jersey (PDFNJ) uses any and all media
and formats to spread its message. PDFNJ communicates with the public through television, radio,
and print; billboards; Port Authority (PATH) and New Jersey Transit signs; ads donated by Bell
Atlantic in the Yellow Pages; and a host of other nontraditional communication opportunities.
Working with New Jersey media to “unsell“ drugs to the people—especially young people—
continues to be PDFNJ’s central responsibility. It receives most of its creative work from the
Partnership for a Drug-Free America, which works with the top national advertising agencies.
PDFNJ does not pay for any advertising time and is grateful for support from the New Jersey media
and other organizations.

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:
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Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA, U.S. Department of Education, Office of Yes
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention

Agency(ies) within your state: NCADD-Middlesex, Center of Alcohol Studies Yes
(Rutgers University), Rutgers University School of Social Work

Nongovernmental agency(ies): New Jersey Prevention Network Yes
Other: No

Best practice standards description: Both DMHAS and the Governor’s Council on Alcoholism and
Drug Abuse (GCADA) fund only evidence-based programs and strategies that have a record of
effectiveness in preventing underage drinking. Additionally, the 17 Regional Coalitions and more
than 400 Municipal Alliances use a risk and protective factor framework in the development and
delivery of community-based coalition activities.

Additional Clarification |
No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or No

address underage drinking prevention activities

Committee contact information:
Not applicable

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Not applicable

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services
Plan can be accessed via: Donald K. Hallcom, Ph.D., donald.hallcom@dhs.state.nj.us

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services Plan can be accessed via:
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmhas/publications/surveys/Middle%20School%20Risk%20&
%20Protective%20Factors/2012.pdf

Additional Clarification

For information on annual (1) and lifetime (2) use of alcohol by New Jersey middle school students:

(1)
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmhas/publications/surveys/Middle%20School%20Survey%20by
%20Substance/Alcohol Annual.pdf

(2
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmhas/publications/surveys/Middle%20School%20Survey%20by
%20Substance/Alcohol Lifetime.pdf

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $1,100,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
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Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $7,200,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $200,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $150,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $125,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included the Governor’s Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse

Municipal Alliances

Estimate of state funds expended $4,500,000
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines Yes
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Fines collected through the Drug Enforcement Demand Reduction (DEDR) program are used to fund
programs delivered by the Municipal Alliances.

Additional Clarification

No data
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New Mexico

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 2,085,287
Population Ages 12-20: 254,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.8 55,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.3 36,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.3 5,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.1 2,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.3 16,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.2 11,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 39.7 34,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 27.5 24,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 46
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,794
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 39 4

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location AND EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Note: In New Mexico, possession of alcoholic beverages by a person under 21 is specifically
allowed when “a parent, legal guardian or adult spouse of a minor serves alcoholic beverages to
that minor on real property, other than licensed premises, under the control of the parent, legal
guardian or adult spouse.*

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e No driver’s license suspension procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Discretionary

Length of suspension/revocation
e 90 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 15 years, 6 months
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger under 21 who is not an immediate
family member
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location AND EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Note: In New Mexico, furnishing of alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 is specifically
allowed when a parent, legal guardian, or adult spouse of a minor serves alcoholic beverages
to that minor on real property, other than licensed premises, under the control of the parent,
legal guardian, or adult spouse, or when alcoholic beverages are used in the practice of
religious beliefs.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20

Appearance requirements

e Age-appropriate appearance; no sunglasses or caps
e Male: No facial hair

e Female: No excessive makeup

ID possession
e Required
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Verbal exaggeration of age
e Prohibited

Decoy training
e Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: 1 year

First offense: $1,000 to $2,000 fine and 1-day license suspension
Second offense: $2,000 to $3,000 fine and 7-day license suspension
Third offense: $10,000 fine and license revocation

Note: Affirmative defenses provided.

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 21

e Wine: 21

e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

e Wine: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e Limitations on outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet, but local government has authority to
override state restrictions
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet, but local government has authority to
override state restrictions
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Primary and secondary schools
e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet, but local government has authority to
override state restrictions
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet, but local government has authority to
override state restrictions
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.
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Note: Limitations on damages in New Mexico law were held unconstitutional by the New
Mexico Supreme Court.

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Alcohol must be furnished recklessly in
disregard of the rights of others, including the social guest.

Note: Limitations on damages in New Mexico law were held unconstitutional by the New
Mexico Supreme Court.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:

e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Uncertain

e Spirits: Prohibited

Note: A individual or licensee, except for a person holding a winery license, in a state that
affords New Mexico licensees or individuals an equal reciprocal shipping privilege may ship, for
personal use and not for resale, no more than two cases of wine (no more than 9 liters each case)
per month to any adult resident of the state. Delivery of a shipment pursuant to this section shall
not be deemed to constitute a sale in this state.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements: None

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements: None

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

e Keg definition: More than 6 gallons

e Purchaser information collected:

— Purchaser’s name and address

— Verified by a government-issued 1D

Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs
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Home Delivery
e Beer: No law
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.41 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $1.70 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $6.06 per gallon

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis.
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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New Mexico State Survey Responses
State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

The Special Investigations Division (SID) is a division of the Department of Public Safety. SID
officers have statewide law enforcement jurisdiction and enforce both administrative regulations and
criminal codes. SID is the designated lead agency for enforcement of New Mexico’s Liquor Control
Act (NMSA 60-3-1 through 60-12-10) and a major contributor in the state’s effort to

reduce driving while intoxicated (DWI). The division performs a range of enforcement and regulatory

activities statewide:
*  Premise inspection at licensed liquor establishments

+ Compliance operations (underage enforcement operations, tobacco compliance operations)

*  Source investigations

* Investigations into illegal sales of alcohol to intoxicated persons
*  Financial investigations

* Undercover operations

»  Training of city and county police officers, community groups, and industry employees

Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ NoO

shipment laws
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics

Not applicable
Not applicable

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law 51
enforcement agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law No
enforcement agencies

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes

to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 1,156
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
(including random checks) 2,045
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 92
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale,
or both retail establishments

Both on- and off-sale
establishments
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decoy operations
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Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 92
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes
to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that
; ) No data
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state* No data
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data
Smallest fine imposed No data
Largest fine imposed No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail No data
establishments specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® No data
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retalil Revocation is not an
establishments specifically for furnishing minors enforcement option
in New Mexico
Number of license revocations imposed® Not applicable

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

8 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Santa Fe Underage Drinking Prevention Alliance

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request

URL for more program information: Data not available

Program Description: The Santa Fe Underage Drinking Prevention Alliance is a city-based coalition
dedicated to reducing underage drinking (UAD). The coalition focuses on changing community norms
accepting of UAD, reducing retail access to alcohol, increasing enforcement of minimum legal drinking
age (MLDA) and DW!I laws and sanctions, increasing perceived risk of arrest for breaking alcohol-related
laws, and educating the public and legislators about the benefits of increases in alcohol pricing and
taxes.

Colfax County Youth Empowerment Services (CCYES)
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Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic report provided on request

URL for more program information: Data not available

Program Description: CCYES, based in Raton, New Mexico, is a countywide agency focusing on
decreasing easy retail and social access to alcohol; increasing enforcement of alcohol, tobacco, and
drug laws; and increasing perceived risk among youth of arrest for breaking those laws.

Counseling Associates, Inc. / Turquoise Health & Wellness (CAI/THW)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 314
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request

URL for more program information: Data not available

Program Description: CAI/THW is a behavioral health provider in Roswell, New Mexico, that delivers
Botvin‘s Life Skills to 6th, 7th, and 8th grades. For environmental strategies, CAI/THW focuses on
strengthening enforcement of school ATOD policies at the district and college levels; increasing
enforcement and coordination of alcohol, tobacco, and drug laws; and increasing perceived risk among
youth of arrest for breaking those laws.

Five Sandoval Indian Pueblos (FSIP)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 22
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information:
http://www.fsipinc.org/Community Health.html#PreventionProgram

Program Description: FSIP is a Native American behavioral health provider in Bernalillo, New Mexico,
that delivers Project Venture to 8th graders and focuses on strengthening enforcement of school ATOD
policies; increasing enforcement activities such as shoulder taps, sobriety checkpoints, and party patrols;
and increasing perceived risk among youth of arrest for breaking alcohol, tobacco, and drug laws.

Hands Across Cultures Corporation (HACC)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information: http://www.handsacrosscultures.org

Program Description: HACC is a community agency serving southern Rio Arriba County and the City
of Espanola. HACC focuses on strengthening enforcement of school ATOD policies; reducing retail
access to alcohol; increasing enforcement of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs laws and efforts; and
increasing perceived risk of arrest for breaking alcohol-related laws.
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North Central Community Based Services (NCCBS)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 60
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information: http://www.nccbs.org

Program Description: NCCBS is a Northern Rio Arriba County—based behavioral health provider in
Chama, New Mexico, that delivers Too Good for Drugs to 6th through 9th grades. NCCBS focuses on
strengthening school ATOD policies; decreasing easy retail and social access to alcohol; increasing
enforcement of alcohol, tobacco, and drug laws and activities; and increasing perceived risk among
youth of arrest for breaking those laws.

Rocky Mountain Youth Corps (RMYC)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information: http://www.youthcorps.org

Program Description: RMYC is a youth development organization in Taos, New Mexico, that focuses
on strengthening school ATOD policies; increasing enforcement of alcohol, tobacco, and drug laws and
activities; and increasing perceived risk among youth of arrest for breaking those laws.

Sandoval County DWI Prevention Program (SCDWIPP)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 150
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request

URL for more program information:
http://www.sandovalcounty.com/departments/community-services/dwi-
and-prevention/prevention-program/dwi-prevention-services

Program Description: SCDWIPP is one of the 33 local DWI programs administered by the New Mexico
Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) in Bernalillo, New Mexico. SCDWIPP delivers Dare To
Be You to 6th through 9th grades and focuses on strengthening enforcement of school ATOD policies,
increasing enforcement of ATOD laws and efforts, increasing perception of the risk of arrest for breaking
those laws, and reducing retail and social access to alcohol for youth.

San Juan County Partnership (SJCP)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 100
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information:
http.//www.sjcpartnership.org/services.php
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Program Description: SJCP is a countywide coalition in Farmington, New Mexico, that delivers
Botvin‘s Life Skills Training to 6th and 7th graders. SJCP focuses on strengthening school ATOD
policies; decreasing easy retail and social access to alcohol; increasing enforcement of alcohol, tobacco,
and drug laws and activities; and increasing perceived risk among youth of arrest for breaking those
laws.

Santa Fe Mountain Center (SFMC)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 22
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information: http://www.santafemc.org/

Program Description: SFMC is a positive youth development organization in Tesuque, New Mexico,
that delivers Power to Change to 22 6th through 9th graders. SFMC focuses on strengthening
enforcement of school ATOD policies, increasing enforcement of alcohol-related laws and activities,
reducing easy retail and social access to alcohol, and increasing perception of risk of arrest for
breaking ATOD laws.

Unified Prevention! (UP!) Coalition for a Drug Free Dofia Ana County

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information: http://www.unifiedprevention.com

Program Description: UP! is a countywide coalition based in Las Cruces, New Mexico, focusing on
prevention of underage drinking among 12- to 20-year-olds and prescription drug abuse/misuse among
12- to 25-year-olds. Alcohol prevention targets increasing enforcement of alcohol-related laws and
activities, reducing easy retail and social access to alcohol, and increasing perception of risk of arrest for
breaking alcohol-related laws.

Youth Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition (YSAPC)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information: Data not available

Program Description: YSAPC is a youth-focused, countywide coalition based in Silver City, New
Mexico, focusing on prevention of underage drinking among 12- to 20-year-olds and prescription drug
abuse/misuse among 12- to 25-year-olds. Alcohol prevention targets strengthening enforcement of
school and college ATOD policies, increasing enforcement of alcohol-related laws and activities, and
increasing perception of risk of arrest for breaking alcohol-related laws.
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Community Drug Coalition of Lea County

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information: http://www.communitydrugcoalition.com

Program Description: The Community Drug Coalition of Lea County is a countywide coalition based in
Hobbs, New Mexico, focusing on prevention of underage drinking among 12- to 20-year-olds and
prescription drug abuse/misuse among 12- to 25-year-olds. Alcohol prevention targets strengthening
enforcement of school ATOD policies, decreasing social access, increasing enforcement of alcohol-
related laws and activities, and increasing perception of risk of arrest for breaking alcohol-related laws.

Luna Health Council

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request
URL for more program information:
http://www.lunacountynm.us/community-health-and-well-being/

Program Description: The Luna Health Council is a countywide health council in Deming, New Mexico
focusing on prevention of underage drinking among 12- to 20-year-olds and prescription drug abuse/
misuse among 12- to 25-year-olds. Alcohol prevention targets decreased social access, increased
enforcement of alcohol-related laws and activities, and increased perception of risk of arrest for breaking
alcohol-related laws.

Strategic Network of Advocates for the Prevention of Suicide &
Substance Abuse (SNAPSSA)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Electronic copy provided on request

URL for more program information: Data not available

Program Description: SNAPSSA is a countywide coalition based in Gallup, New Mexico, focusing on
prevention of underage drinking among 12- to 20-year-olds and prescription drug abuse/misuse among
12- to 25-year-olds. Alcohol prevention targets strengthening enforcement of school ATOD policies,
increased enforcement of alcohol-related laws and activities, and increased perception of risk of arrest
for breaking alcohol-related laws.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes

underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The Office of Substance Abuse Prevention (OSAP) contracts with
Pueblo of Laguna as well as five Sandoval Indian Pueblos (Cochiti, Jemez, Sandia, Santa Ana, and
Zia) in New Mexico to provide substance abuse prevention services including prevention of UAD.
Additionally, OSAP has begun new contracts with the Pueblos of Tesuque and Santo Domingo, and
the Mescalero Apache Tribe. All three entities will spend FY2014—-15 going through the Strategic
Prevention Framework. They will begin implementation of substance abuse prevention services in
FY2015-16.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising No
and marketing

Description of program: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup Yes
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: OSAP funds only evidence-based programs (EBPs) shown to
be effective on lists such as the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices
(NREPP). OSAP works with the State Epidemiological and Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) to identify
and select EBPs eligible for substance abuse prevention including UAD.

Additional Clarification

No data
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address Yes

underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Karen Cheman, Prevention Policy Consortium
E-mail: karen.cheman@state.nm.us
Address: Office of Substance Abuse Prevention, Behavioral Health Services Division, Human
Services Department, 37 Plaza La Prensa, Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone: 505-476-9270
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Office of Substance Abuse Prevention, BHSD/HSD
Behavioral Health Services Division, Human Services Department
Epidemiology & Response Division, Department of Health
Traffic Safety Division, Department of Transportation
Children‘s Behavioral Health Services Division, Children, Youth & Families Department
DW!I Program, Department of Finance
Pacific Institute for Research & Evaluation
Office of School & Adolescent Health, Department of Health
Tobacco Use Prevention and Control Program, Department of Health
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: The Prevention Policy Consortium
Plan can be accessed via: Document can be provided electronically on request

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
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Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

State Reports — New Mexico

Compliance checks in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Data not available
Data not available

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Other programs:

Workplace Policies
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Programs or strategies included: Prescription Drug Abuse/Misuse Prevention: DEA Take Back
Events, Proper Prescription Drug Disposal, Lock Up Your Meds/Rx Safe Boxes, and Drug Free

$150,000
6/30/2014

revenue streams:
Taxes
Fines
Fees
Other:

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following

Yes
No
No
No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

Additional Clarification

drinking for FY2014.

A portion (approximately 41 percent) of annual state alcohol excise tax revenue is allocated, by
statute, to county-level local driving while intoxicated (DWI) prevention programs. These county
programs allocate these funds, in turn, to treatment, prevention, law enforcement, compliance
monitoring, and other activities, of which prevention is a substantial portion. Of the funds allocated
for prevention, roughly 60 percent are allocated for underage drinking (UAD) prevention.

The Office of Substance Abuse Prevention did not receive state funds for prevention of underage
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New York

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 19,651,127
Population Ages 12-20: 2,310,000

676

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 29.0 669,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.4 403,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.4 31,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.7 12,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 27 208,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15 115,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 51.5 431,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 32.9 276,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 181
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 10,916
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 23 14

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

Note: New York does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but it does prohibit
purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol by using false evidence of age.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 16

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours, of which 15 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16 years, 6 months
e Unsupervised night driving
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— Prohibited after: 9 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger under 21 who is not an immediate
family member, unless accompanied by parent or instructor
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Note: New York has regional restrictions that apply to the five boroughs of New York City and
Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, and Putnam counties. These restrictions are not
provided here. The New York DMV issues a limited-use junior license to a junior driver (under
18) who passes a road test during the first 6 months (i.e., within the mandatory 6-month holding
period) after the learner permit was issued. A limited-use junior license allows the junior driver
to drive without supervision between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. and within specific geographical
boundaries for purposes related to school, employment, medical care, or child care. This then
converts to an intermediate-stage license at the end of the mandatory 6-month holding period.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Note: In certain proceedings to revoke, cancel, or suspend a retail license based on furnishing
to a minor, it can be an affirmative defense that at the time of the violation the person who
committed the alleged violation held a valid certificate of completion or renewal from an entity
authorized to give and administer an alcohol training awareness program, and that the licensee
had diligently implemented and complied with all of the provisions of the approved training
program. The licensee is required to prove each element of the affirmative defense by a
preponderance of the credible evidence.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: Not specified

e Wine: Not specified

e Spirits: 18

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders

e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders

e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools
Colleges and universities

e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet (applies only to on-premises licensees that
sell spirits)
— Alcohol products: Wine, spirits

Note: Exceptions include (1) clubs affiliated with such school, if school has no objection;
(2) certain sections in county of Ulster, borough of Manhattan, and town of Bainbridge;
(3) special retail liquor licenses for theaters where availability of alcohol is not advertised
in a manner visible from the street.

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists.

Host Party Laws

No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties
Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21
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Note: Direct sales/shipments permitted only for wineries in states that afford New York wineries
a reciprocal shipping privilege.

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—beer deliveries limited to 5 gallons and delivery vehicles must be
clearly marked

e Wine: Permitted—delivery vehicles must be clearly marked

e Spirits: Permitted—delivery vehicles must be clearly marked

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.14 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.30 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $6.44 per gallon
e Additional taxes: $2.54 per gallon for alcohol content of 24 percent or less

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—25 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—21 month minimum

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum; payment is required from certain retail beer
and wine licensees (i.e., those who purchase beer and/or wine for resale for on- and off-
premises consumption but not including licensees who sell liquor and/or wine for off-
premises consumption)

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—21 month minimum
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
New York State Police Criminal Violations; New York State Liquor Authority
Administrative Violations
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops
Shoulder Tap Operations
Party Patrol Operations or Programs
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations

No
No
Yes
Yes

Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops
Shoulder Tap Operations
Party Patrol Operations or Programs
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations

Data not available
Data not available
Data not available
Data not available

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/
shipment laws
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession
Number of minors found in possession by state law
enforcement agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending

Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies

Don‘t know

Not applicable
Not applicable

Don‘t know
Not applicable

Not applicable
Not applicable

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales
to minors
Data are collected on these activities
Number of retail licensees in state®
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or
both retail establishments

Yes

Yes
43,000

1,947

512
12/31/2013
Both on- and off-sale
establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy
operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks

Yes
1,947
512

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales
to minors

Data are collected on these activities

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Don’t know/no answer

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
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Sanctions

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that ves
furnish minors

Number of fines imposed by the state* 1,259

Total amount in fines across all licensees $4795.34

Smallest fine imposed $1,000

Largest fine imposed $20,000

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail

. o L . Yes

establishments specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 53

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 1,316

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 10

Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 124

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed® 41

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
The NYS Police and NYS Liguor Authority answered all questions in Part 1.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Project Northland

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 1,150
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: Project Northland is a multilevel intervention involving students, peers, parents,
and community in programs designed to delay the age at which adolescents begin drinking, reduce
alcohol use among those already drinking, and limit the number of alcohol-related problems among
young drinkers. Administered weekly to adolescents in grades 6—8, the program has a specific theme
within each grade level that is incorporated into the parent, peer, and community components. The 6th-
grade home-based program targets communication about adolescent alcohol use utilizing student-parent
homework assignments, in-class group discussions, and a communitywide task force. The 7th-grade
peer- and teacher-led curriculum focuses on resistance skills and normative expectations regarding teen
alcohol use, and is implemented through discussions, games, problem-solving tasks, and role-plays.
During the first half of the 8th-grade Power Lines peer-led program, students learn about community
dynamics related to alcohol use prevention through small-group and classroom interactive activities.
During the second half, they work on community-based projects and hold a mock town meeting to make
community policy recommendations to prevent teen alcohol use.
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LifeSkills Training (LST)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 66,930
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: LST is a school-based program that aims to prevent alcohol, tobacco, and
marijuana use and violence by targeting the major social and psychological factors that promote the
initiation of substance use and other risky behaviors.

Too Good for Drugs (TGFD)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 23,326
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: TGFD is a school-based prevention program for kindergarten through 12th
grade that builds on students’ resiliency by teaching them how to be socially competent and autonomous
problem solvers.

Second Step

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 16,608
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: Second Step is a classroom-based social-skills program for children ages 4 to
14 that teaches socioemotional skills aimed at reducing impulsive and aggressive behavior while
increasing social competence.

Project SUCCESS

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 8,920
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: Project SUCCESS (Schools Using Coordinated Community Efforts to
Strengthen Students) is designed to prevent and reduce substance use among students 12 to 18 years
old. The program was originally developed for students attending alternative high schools who are at
high risk for substance use and abuse due to poor academic performance, truancy, discipline problems,
negative attitudes toward school, and parental substance abuse.
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Project ALERT

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 8,303
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: Project ALERT is a school-based prevention program for middle or junior high
school students that focuses on alcohol, tobacco, and marijuana use. It seeks to prevent adolescent
nonusers from experimenting with these drugs, and to prevent youths who are already experimenting
from becoming people who use more regularly or have an alcohol use disorder.

Project Towards No Drug Abuse (Project TND)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 7,952
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: Project TND is a drug use prevention program for high school youth. The
current version of the curriculum is designed to help students develop self-control and communication
skills, acquire resources that help them resist drug use, improve decisionmaking strategies, and develop
the motivation to not use drugs.

Promoting Alternative THinking Strategies (PATHS)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 1,506
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: PATHS and PATHS Preschool are school-based preventive interventions for
children in elementary school or preschool. The interventions are designed to enhance areas of social-
emotional development such as self-control, self-esteem, emotional awareness, social skills, friendships,
and interpersonal problem-solving skills while reducing aggression and other behavior problems.

Class Action

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 1,436
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: Class Action is the second phase of the Project Northland alcohol-use
prevention curriculum series. Class Action (for grades 11-12) and Project Northland (for grades 6-8) are
designed to delay the onset of alcohol use, reduce use among youths who have already tried alcohol,
and limit the number of alcohol-related problems experienced by young drinkers.
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Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data
Additional Clarification

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes
underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The St. Regis Mohawk Tribe and Health Services provides prevention
services on and off the Reservation. The provider delivers Too Good for Drugs and does social
marketing and coalition development. Alternatives Counseling Services Inc. provides services to the
Shinnecock Indian Nation in the town of Southampton in Suffolk County. This provider delivers Too
Good For Drugs, Too Good For Violence, and Project Venture.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol Yes
advertising and marketing
Program description: The Youth Development Survey was to be conducted in fall 2014 with
questions related to youth exposure. Many providers and coalitions funded by the New York
State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services (NYS OASAS) have been doing surveys
annually that also measure youth exposure.
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: NYS Prevention Guidelines Yes
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description:

Prevention Guidelines: The primary purpose of the 2012 Prevention Guidelines is to define and
describe acceptable levels of prevention services, and strategies and activities necessary to reduce
underage drinking, alcohol misuse and abuse, illegal drug abuse, medication misuse, and problem
gambling within the framework prescribed by the NYS OASAS.

Environmental Strategies: Environmental substance abuse prevention strategies were designed to
impact the community, social, and economic contexts in which people access and consume alcohol,
tobacco, or other drugs. These strategies are grounded in the field of public health and emphasize
changing the broader physical, social, cultural, and institutional forces that contribute to health
problems in the general population. In NY, environmental strategies primarily target underage
drinking, and research supports the effectiveness of this approach in preventing/reducing underage
alcohol consumption. The most effective environmental strategies employ a three-pronged
approach: (1) enacting or improving laws, regulations, and policies; (2) enhancing enforcement of the
law, regulation, or policy; and (3) use of the media to raise community awareness and support for the
policy and enforcement activities.

Community mobilization and media support are essential both to generate community support for the
environmental changes and to promote their sustainability. These relatively new and effective
evidence-based prevention strategies, like all effective prevention, must be based on a community
needs assessment of the specific environmental factors that lead to substance-related negative
consequences. To be successful, multiple and reinforcing strategies must be planned carefully.

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 685



State Reports — New York

Additional Clarification

The Prevention Guidelines (PG) explain the process for developing and implementing evidenced-based
environmental prevention strategies. The PG are currently being updated, but the 2012 Guidelines are
still in effect and can be found at the website below:
http://www.oasas.ny.gov/prevention/documents/2012PreventionGuidelines.pdf

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Doug Paquette
E-mail: Doug.Paquete@troopers.ny.gov
Address: 1220 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12226
Phone: 518-457-7504
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
State Liguor Authority
Office of Mental Health
Attorney General
Majority Leader of Senate
Speaker of Assembly
Representatives from community agencies statewide
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access:
http://www.oasas.ny.gov/prevention/documents/2011AdvisoryCouncilonUnderageAlcoholConsumptio
nDraftAnnualReport.pdf

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Advisory Council on Underage Alcohol Consumption and Youth Substance Abuse
OASAS is required by the Mental Hygiene Law to produce a Statewide Comprehensive Plan every
October 1 and an Interim Report on the Plan on February 15. Developed in accordance with Section
5.07 of the Mental Hygiene Law, the Statewide Comprehensive Plan 2011-2015 informs counties,
providers, people in recovery, their families, other state agencies, the federal government, and other
interested parties about major priorities and future directions. Although planning documents are
produced and released in regular cycles, as set by the Mental Hygiene Law, OASAS views planning
as a year-round process that informs policy development, budgeting, and development and delivery
of services at the state, local, and provider levels. Our collaborative planning efforts with counties,
providers, and state and federal agencies will guide future efforts and have the flexibility to respond to
changing conditions. OASAS seeks feedback on the use and usefulness of the Statewide
Comprehensive Plan.

The NYS OASAS Statewide Comprehensive Plan is available at:
http://www.oasas.ny.gov/pio/commissioner/documents/5YPlan2011-2015.pdf

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Advisory Council on Underage Alcohol Consumption and Youth Substance Abuse
Plan can be accessed via:
http://www.oasas.ny.gov/prevention/documents/2011AdvisoryCouncilonUnderageAlcoholConsumptio
nDraftAnnualReport.pdf

Additional Clarification

The 2012 Annual Report of the Advisory Council on Underage Alcohol Consumption and Youth
Substance Abuse is still in the process of being approved. The 2011 Annual Report is available on the
website below. This report contains an underage drinking prevention plan and report.
http://www.oasas.ny.gov/prevention/documents/2011AdvisoryCouncilonUnderageAlcoholConsumptionDr
aftAnnualReport.pdf
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $3,080,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
K—12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No data

Estimate of state funds expended No data
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

Not applicable
Additional Clarification

OASAS funds both school- and community-based prevention providers to deliver evidenced-based
programs to prevent/reduce underage alcohol use as well as youth substance abuses. While the great
majority of evidence-based model programs funded by OASAS address both underage drinking and
other youth substances of abuse, only one OASAS-funded model program, Project Northland, is
designed solely to decrease underage drinking. The estimate of funds expended solely for underage
drinking for 2013 was $3,080, representing the dollar amount allocated to Project Northland and
environmental strategies. The efforts of other state agencies to reduce underage drinking include the
NYS Liguor Authority, institutions of higher education, juvenile justice, and the child welfare system.
These institutions are not able to estimate funding amounts devoted to underage drinking prevention.
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North Carolina

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 9,848,060
Population Ages 12-20: 1,118,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.2 237,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.9 134,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.8 15,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.7 6,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.9 77,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.1 44,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 39.7 146,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 22.5 83,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 145
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 8,786
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 26 16

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other
information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00

e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory length of suspension/revocation: 365 days
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Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner stage period: 12 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 60 hours, of which 10 must be at night; to obtain
full license, driver must log 12 hours of driving in intermediate stage, 6 of which are at night

Intermediate stage

e Minimum age: 16

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 9 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger under 21 who is not a member of
immediate family or household; however, if a passenger under 21 is an immediate family or
household member, then no unrelated passengers under 21
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 16
e Maximum: 20

Appearance requirements
e Must look under 21

ID possession
e Discretionary

Verbal exaggeration of age

e Prohibited
Decoy training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

e Time period/conditions: Not specified

e First offense: $500

e Second offense: Up to $750

e Third offense: Up to $1,000 or license suspension
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Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for training
e Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: Not specified

e Wine: Not specified

e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities

e Limitations on outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—no permits on campus
— On-premises outlets: Yes—no permits on campus
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine

Note: Exceptions include (1) regional sports and entertainment facilities for public use, except
for public school or college function, unless business is a hotel or nonprofit alumni organization
with mixed beverages or a special occasion permit; (2) performing arts centers with a seating
capacity of less than 2,000.

Primary and secondary schools

e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—no permits on campus
— On-premises outlets: Yes—no permits on campus
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine

Note: Exceptions include (1) regional sports and entertainment facilities for public use, except
for public school or college function, unless business is a hotel or nonprofit alumni organization
with mixed beverages or a special occasion permit; (2) performing arts centers with a seating
capacity of less than 2,000.

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:

e Limitations on damages: $500,000 total award to all injured parties per occurrence

e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Injury must be a proximate result of the
negligence of an underage driver’s negligent operation of a vehicle while intoxicated.

Note: Although North Carolina courts may recognize third-party common law liability under
certain fact patterns where a retailer furnishes an intoxicated minor, they do not recognize
a distinct cause of action for furnishing alcohol to minors without regard to the minor’s
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intoxication at the time of sale. North Carolina is therefore coded as not recognizing common
law negligence regarding furnishing to minors. North Carolina law includes a responsible
beverage server defense.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Note: Although North Carolina courts may recognize third-party liability under certain fact
patterns where an intoxicated minor is furnished by a social host, they do not recognize a distinct
cause of action for furnishing alcohol to minors without regard to the minor’s intoxication at the
time of sale. North Carolina is therefore coded as not recognizing common law negligence
regarding furnishing to minors.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements: None

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration
e Keg definition: 7.75 gallons or more
e Prohibited: Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail: discretionary
fine/45 days
e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
— Address where keg will be consumed
Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.
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Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted
e Wine: Permitted
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.62 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $1.00 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price, specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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North Carolina State Survey Responses
State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
North Carolina Alcohol Law Enforcement

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics

Not applicable

Not applicable

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 14,499
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if Vies

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 18,000
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 14
(including random checks)

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 1
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both
retail establishments

Both on- and off-
sale establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks

No
Not applicable
Not applicable

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state*
Total amount in fines across all licensees
Smallest fine imposed
Largest fine imposed
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Yes

No
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

No

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

specifically for furnishing minors No
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® Not applicable
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments No

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Not applicable

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Additional Clarification

The total of people charged that includes selling/giving to underage and aiding and abetting underage
with the underage charges stated earlier is 16,674.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative/
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Program

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.ncpud.org

Program Description: The North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative focuses on
community-based approaches, which emphasize environmental management strategies to prevent
underage drinking. As the National Academy of Sciences/Institute of Medicine report, Reducing
Underage Drinking: A Collective Responsibility, states, “underage drinking cannot be addressed by
focusing on youth alone. Youth drink within the context of a society in which alcohol use is normative
behavior, and images about alcohol are pervasive. They usually obtain alcohol—either directly or
indirectly—from adults. Efforts to reduce underage drinking, therefore, need to focus on adults and must
engage the society at large“ (National Academy of Sciences, 2003, p. 2). The Initiative offers technical
assistance to communities addressing the issue of underage alcohol use. These collaboratives work
within their communities to implement strategies that prevent underage drinking and create a sustainable
movement to stop practices that make underage drinking both easy and acceptable. The collaboratives’
primary strategies focus on decreasing underage access to alcohol; changing community norms that
promote underage and high-risk alcohol consumption; and addressing policies pertaining to underage
drinking. The Initiative is administered by the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
through the Substance Abuse Block Grant and the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
(OJJIDP) Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program, which supports and enhances efforts by
states and local jurisdictions to prohibit the sale, purchase, and consumption of alcoholic beverages to
and by minors (minors are defined as individuals under 21 years old).

North Carolina Coalition Initiative (NCCI)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
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Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://www.wfubmc.edu/NCCI
URL for more program information: http://www.wfubmc.edu/NCCI

Program Description: The NCCI: Building Capacity for Substance Free Communities program is
funded by the state through the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of
Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services (DMHDDSAS). Direction and
technical assistance are provided by the NCCI Coordinating Center at Wake Forest University School of
Medicine. NCCI seeks to reduce substance abuse in North Carolina communities by building the
capacity of community coalitions to implement environmental management strategies. NCCI goals for
community coalitions:

1. Build coalition capacity to effectively implement evidence-based and promising strategies, with an
emphasis on environmental strategies

2. Implement evidence-based and promising strategies to reduce substance abuse

3. Build an infrastructure to sustain local coalition efforts

4. Reduce prevalence of alcohol and drug abuse in local communities

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data
Additional Clarification

Preventing and reducing underage drinking through retail compliance is one of the most effective
strategies available (Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation [PIRE], 1999a). Alcohol purchase
surveys, unlike compliance checks, can be performed without the assistance of law enforcement as long
as the youth attempting to purchase are at least 21 years of age. Purchase surveys are designed to
facilitate a dialogue between the community and its retailers. Any strong prevention program
incorporates citizens, retailers, the media, and law enforcement—alcohol purchase surveys accomplish
all four tasks. Specifically, alcohol purchase surveys are used used to:

1. Assess community needs and collect data on which retailers in the community are potentially selling to
underage youth

. Raise community awareness and build support for efforts to prevent sales to minors

. Inform merchants that they are being monitored and motivate them to change noncompliant practices

. Inform law enforcement officials with important information

. Measure the impact of prevention strategies so that communities can assess the effectiveness of the
strategies they implement (PIRE, 1999b)

Community collaboratives return to every retail establishment surveyed to inform store management that
the community cares about the issue of underage drinking and is conducting alcohol purchase surveys
as a way to monitor alcohol sales practices. At that time, store management is also informed about how
their store performed in the alcohol purchase survey and where they can get responsible alcohol sales
training for their employees. Following each round of purchase surveys, funded community
collaboratives submit a press release to local media and a detailed statistical report/

complaint to law enforcement. Several studies have shown that generating publicity around underage
alcohol sale surveys is an effective way to increase the success of local law enforcement efforts (PIRE,
1999a). Therefore, results of the surveys are used for educational purposes including warning letters,
congratulatory letters, and use in the media. Community collaboratives also provide a summary report to
local law enforcement. For the community collaborative to effectively serve their “community watch® role,
collected data from alcohol purchase surveys must be shared with local law enforcement agencies.
Community collaboratives disseminate the report summarizing the purchase survey findings after each
round of surveys. From 2009 to 2013, alcohol purchase survey rates have improved 17 percent (from 71
to 83 percent). From June 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013, the state conducted 1,910 Alcohol Purchase
Surveys. Of those surveys, which included targeting problem establishments, 83 percent asked for the

ab owiN

696 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — North Carolina

mock buyer’s identification and passed the survey. Community collaboratives involve youth in their
efforts to prevent underage drinking. Using Youth Empowered Solutions (YES!), a nationally recognized
youth empowerment organization, the community collaboratives foster the development, or encourage
the expansion, of an underage drinking prevention youth empowerment movement in their community.
Community collaboratives work with YES! in the development of underage drinking prevention youth
empowerment in the community.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of No
underage drinking

Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing
Description of program: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:
Federal agency(ies): OJJDP; National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs Yes
and Practices; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; National Institute of
Medicine/National Academy of Sciences; U.S. Dept. of Health and Human
Services/Surgeon General

Agency(ies) within your state: North Carolina Practice Improvement Yes
Collaborative; North Carolina Institute of Medicine

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: The North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative
uses and continues to develop innovative strategies to help achieve the long-term goal of preventing
underage drinking. This continuing effort is designed to further support and develop community
collaboratives working to implement environmental management strategies to prevent underage
drinking. This objective is responsive to the recommendations outlined in OJJDP’s publication,
Strategies to Reduce Underage Alcohol Use (PIRE, 1999a); the National Institute of
Medicine/National Academy of Sciences (IOM/NAS) report, Reducing Underage Drinking: A
Collective Responsibility; the Surgeon General’s Call to Action to Prevent and Reduce Underage
Drinking; Guide to Community Preventive Services; and the North Carolina Institute of Medicine
Substance Abuse Services Task Force Report. Although many of the recommended components of
the IOM/NAS report and the North Carolina Institute of Medicine Substance Abuse Services Task
Force Report require significant action at the national and/or state level, the reports specify several
areas in which local communities can play significant complementary and reinforcing roles. Not
surprisingly, several of the recommendations are consistent with strategies recommended by OJJDP
in their 1999 publication, Strategies to Reduce Underage Alcohol Use (PIRE, 1999a). According to
the IOM report, two evidence-based strategic actions that can occur at the community level are
community mobilization and restricting access.

Community collaboratives aimed at curbing underage drinking are valuable adjuncts to state and
local government interventions. Such collaboratives, which include people with diverse perspectives,
interests, and responsibilities, can provide the political will and organizational support for
implementing strategies that have been proven effective at preventing underage drinking. They also
place emphasis on a local culture in which underage drinking is considered a serious and
unacceptable problem. Such local norms lend support to heightened enforcement of the laws
against underage drinking. By providing a context that supports recommended interventions,
community mobilization efforts increase the overall likelihood that such interventions will meet
success. To effectively implement this comprehensive approach, the IOM committee recommended
the following three strategies:

1. Community leaders assess their community’s particular problems and resources and—using
effective approaches including community organizing, building community collaboratives, and
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strategic use of the mass media to support policy changes and enforcement—tailor their efforts to
combat underage drinking accordingly.

2. Include colleges and universities in collaboration and implementation efforts for a range of
interventions.

3. Elementary, secondary, and high school education programs should be evidence-based and
should avoid interventions that rely on provision of information alone or fear tactics.

Listed below are the critical elements of effective interventions as summarized in the report:

* Be multicomponent and integrated

* Be sufficient in “dose” and follow-up

* Establish norms that support nonuse

* Stress parental monitoring and supervision

* Be interactive

* Be implemented with fidelity

* Include limitations in access

* Be institutionalized

+ Avoid an exclusive focus on information

+ Avoid congregating high-risk youth

» Promote social and emotional skill development among elementary school students
By urging greater emphasis on restricted access, the report offers a wake-up call for adults from
whom youth generally obtain alcohol (parents who allow drinking parties in their homes, adults who
have alcohol in the home that is not monitored and secured, strangers who buy alcohol for teenagers
waiting outside stores, or sales clerks and bartenders who sell alcohol to minors). State and local
communities can work to not only create and enforce laws but also explain the reasons why
compliance is important and elicit public support for limiting access. The recommended strategy
urges states and localities, working with law enforcement as appropriate, to restrict youth access by:

1. Targeting servers and sellers, by:
* Increasing compliance checks, supported by media campaigns and license revocation to
increase deterrence
* Implementing responsible beverage service programs as a condition of retail outlet licensing
* Developing new or strengthened server and seller liability laws
* Regulating Internet sales and home delivery of alcohol to prevent/reduce underage purchases
2. Targeting parents and other adults to promote compliance with youth access restrictions through:
* Keg registration laws
* “Shoulder tap“ or other prevention programs targeting adults who purchase alcohol for minors
« Stronger anti-loitering measures
* Measures to hold retailers accountable for loitering
» Securing and monitoring alcohol in the home
3. Targeting youth through:
* Sobriety checkpoints with swift and certain sanctions for young drunk drivers
» Graduated license programs
» Modified laws to allow passive breath testing, streamlined administrative procedures, and
administrative penalties, such as immediate driver’s license revocation
» Media campaigns to publicize enforcement and encourage compliance
« Identifying and breaking up teen drinking parties and holding relevant adults and youth
accountable
» Making it more difficult to use false identification (ID) by issuing scannable IDs, allowing
retailers to confiscate licenses, and implementing administrative penalties for false ID use
* Increasing access to treatment services for young drinkers who need clinical treatment

The Initiative has the overall goal of focusing on these two areas: community mobilization centered on
implementation of environmental management strategies, and restricting access through increased
collaboration with law enforcement agencies. Strengthening the bridges that the community
collaboratives have built with law enforcement in previous rounds of funding remains a top priority. With
an emphasis on alcohol purchase surveys, followed by the dissemination of survey results to law
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enforcement, retailers, and local media, community collaboratives directly assess and influence
community norms and retail practices related to alcohol access in their communities.

Additional Clarification

Preventing and reducing underage drinking through retail compliance is one of the most effective
strategies available (PIRE, 1999a). Alcohol purchase surveys, unlike compliance checks, can be
performed without the assistance of law enforcement as long as the youth attempting to purchase are at
least 21 years old. Purchase surveys are designed to facilitate a dialogue between the community and
its retailers. Any strong prevention program incorporates citizens, retailers, the media, and law
enforcement—alcohol purchase surveys accomplish all four tasks. Specifically, alcohol purchase
surveys are used used to:

1. Assess community needs and collect data on which retailers in the community are potentially selling
to underage youth

2. Raise community awareness and build support for efforts to prevent sales to minors

3. Inform merchants that they are being monitored and motivate them to change noncompliant
practices

4. Inform law enforcement officials with important information

5. Measure the impact of prevention strategies so that communities can assess the effectiveness of
the strategies they implement (PIRE, 1999b)

Community collaboratives return to every retail establishment surveyed to inform store management that
the community cares about the issue of underage drinking and is conducting alcohol purchase surveys
as a way to monitor alcohol sales practices. At that time, the store management is also informed about
how their store performed in the alcohol purchase survey and where they can get responsible alcohol
sales training for their employees. Following each round of purchase surveys, funded community
collaboratives submit a press release to local media and a detailed statistical report/complaint to law
enforcement. Several studies have shown that generating publicity around underage alcohol sale
surveys is an effective way to increase the success of local law enforcement efforts (PIRE, 1999a).
Therefore, results of the surveys are used for educational purposes including warning letters,
congratulatory letters, and use in the media. Community collaboratives also provide a summary report
to local law enforcement. For the community collaborative to effectively serve their “community watch*
role, collected data from alcohol purchase surveys must be shared with local law enforcement agencies.
Community collaboratives disseminate the report summarizing the purchase survey findings after each
round of surveys. With the expansion of the state preventing underage drinking initiative (twice as many
collaboratives are funded today as were in 2007—2008), and an increased emphasis on alcohol
purchase surveys, three times as many surveys are how being conducted statewide than were in 2006.

From July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013, the state conducted 1,910 alcohol purchase surveys. Of those
surveys, which included targeting problem establishments, 83 percent asked for the mock buyer’s
identification and passed the survey. Community collaboratives involve youth in their efforts to prevent
underage drinking. Using Youth Empowered Solutions (YES!), a nationally recognized youth
empowerment organization, the community collaboratives foster the development, or encourage the
expansion, of an underage drinking prevention youth empowerment movement in their community.
Community collaboratives work with YES! in the development of underage drinking prevention youth
empowerment in the community.

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or No
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Not applicable
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Not applicable
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable
URL or other means of access: Not applicable
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Underage Drinking Reports |

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: NC Institute of Medicine; NC Department of Health and Human Services/EUDL
Program Report
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.nciom.org/wp-
content/uploads/NCIOM/projects/prevention/finalreport/PreventionReport-July2010.pdf

Additional Clarification

The state has prepared a plan for substance abuse prevention that is not specific to underage drinking,
but is inclusive of it.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Other programs: Programs or strategies included: Although underage drinking is a component of
alcohol, tobacco, and drug abuse prevention efforts, no state funds are specifically dedicated to
preventing underage drinking.

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No data
Fees No
Other: 7 percent of profits from sales at Alcohol Beverage Control (ABC) stores Yes

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
A total of 7 percent of sales from distilled spirits sold at the ABC stores are dedicated to training and
education and are determined locally through ABC Boards and/or County Commissioners.
Additional Clarification

The NC Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative and additional complementary efforts are federally
funded. No state funds are specifically dedicated to the prevention of underage alcohol use.
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State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 723,393
Population Ages 12-20: 84,000

Percentage
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 315
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 22.7
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.8
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.9
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.3
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.3
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 58.1
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 45

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 48

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although North Dakota does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report, it
has a statutory provision that prohibits an individual under 21 from having “recently consumed*
an alcoholic beverage. Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so
without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal
Possession for purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Nodriver’s license suspension procedure

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 14

e Minimum learner stage period: 12 months—6 months if driver is 16 or over
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours
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Intermediate stage

e Minimum age: 15

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 9 p.m.—later of sunset or 9 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e No passenger restrictions

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service
No beverage service training requirement

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 21

e Wine: 21

e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Note: Any person 18 years old or older but under 21 may be employed by the restaurant to
serve and collect money for alcoholic beverages, if the person is under direct supervision of
a person 21 or more years old, but may not be engaged in mixing, dispensing, or consuming
alcoholic beverages.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation
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Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Knowledge of underage status

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Knowledge of underage status

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled
spirits with the following restrictions:

Age verification requirements:
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier

Reporting requirements: None

Shipping label statement requirements
e Recipient must be 21.

Keg Registration
e Keg definition: Greater than 6 gallons
e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
e Warning information to purchaser: Not required
e Deposit: Not required
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Home Delivery
e Beer: No law
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.16 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 7 percent
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— Sales tax does NOT apply

— Sales tax: 5 percent

— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 2 percent
e Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail): 7 percent

— Sales tax does NOT apply

— Sales tax: 5 percent

— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 2 percent

Note: Beer in bulk containers is taxed at $0.08 per gallon.

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.50 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 7 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 5 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 2 percent
e Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail): 7 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 5 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 2 percent

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $2.50 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 7 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 5 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 2 percent
e Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail): 7 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 5 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 2 percent

Drink Specials
No law

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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North Dakota State Survey Responses
State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

North Dakota does not have an Alcohol Beverage Control agency. Responsibilities are shared

across several state agencies.
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ No

shipment laws
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics

Not applicable

Not applicable

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law 368
enforcement agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law No
enforcement agencies

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to No

minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of retail licensees in state® 1,517

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
(including random checks)

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or
both retail establishments

Not applicable

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy
operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks

Not applicable
Not applicable

Not applicable

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to Yes
minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 710
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 69
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
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State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state’
Total amount in fines across all licensees
Smallest fine imposed
Largest fine imposed
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

No
Not applicable

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state®

Total days of suspensions across all licensees

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days)

Longest period of suspension imposed (in days)

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

No data

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed®

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

No data

Not applicable
Not applicable

Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Parents LEAD (Listen, Educate, Ask, Discuss)
Program serves specific or general population
Number of youth served
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.parentslead.org

General population
Not applicable

Program Description: Parents LEAD is an evidence-based underage drinking prevention effort
targeting parents through a statewide, web-based communication. The program is designed to help
parents initiate and/or continue conversations with their children about underage drinking and other
difficult subjects at any age; role-model positive and healthy behaviors; monitor their children’s
whereabouts; and provide support and engagement. A key component of the program is its interactive
website (http://www.parentslead.ord), which features both parent and professional portals, each offering
tips, tools, and resources. Parents LEAD maintains a mailing list where parents can sign up to receive
monthly, age- or topic-specific emails (e.g., toddler, divorce) and has a social media presence on
Facebook and Twitter. Additionally, Parents LEAD engages in various outreach efforts such as
presenting at professional development conferences (e.g., mental health, substance abuse treatment
provider, school counselor) and local public events, and utilizes traditional mass media (e.g.,
commercials, public service announcements). Parents LEAD is a collaboration between the ND
Department of Human Services, ND Department of Transportation, and ND University System.
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Juvenile Drug Court

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 74
Number of parents served 148
Number of caregivers served 56
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: The Juvenile Drug Court program is aimed at reducing alcohol and substance
abuse and delinquent and unruly acts of North Dakota juveniles. It is under the supervision of the North
Dakota Supreme Court. There are five juvenile drug courts throughout the state, each with a team that
consists of a judge, prosecutor, defense counsel, court officer, treatment provider, coordinator, school
representative, and law enforcement officer.

Electronic CheckUp To Go (e-CheckUp) for First-Year Students

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 6,108
Number of parents served 20
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: e-CheckUp is a personalized, evidence-based, online prevention and
intervention tool originally developed by psychologists at San Diego State University. Drawing on
Motivational Interviewing (Miller & Rollnick, 2002) and Social Norms Theory (Perkins & Berkowitz, 1986),
e-CheckUp is designed to motivate individuals to reduce their consumption using personalized
information about their own drinking and risk factors, and provide those who have not yet chosen to drink
with valuable information so that, if they do choose to drink in the future, they are able to make well-
informed decisions. It is also customized for each campus, using the most recent alcohol and other drug
survey information from that campus. The e-CheckUp takes about 15 minutes to complete (depending
on the student). Students’ personalized feedback includes information shown to be particularly
motivating to college-aged young adults, including: quantity and frequency of alcohol use, amount of
alcohol consumed, normative comparisons, physical health information, amount and percentage of
income spent on alcohol, negative consequences feedback, explanation, advice, and local referral
information.

LIVE REAL Mentor Program (North Dakota State University)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 208
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report:
http://www.ndsu.edu/fileadmin/alcoholinfo/live_real mentor survey summary
spring 2011.pdf

URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: LIVE REAL is designed to increase the knowledge of the North Dakota State
University (NDSU) campus community (the state’s largest campus community) about the effects of high-
risk alcohol use, appropriate referral of students to prevention and treatment services, communicating
consistent messages that promote wellness and safety, and promoting a culture of safe and responsible
attitudes toward alcohol. The program provides education and training for NDSU students, faculty, and
staff who choose to identify themselves as a resource for students looking for guidance for their issues
with alcohol and other drug abuse and who will actively seek to educate students about the effects of

708

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking




State Reports — North Dakota

high-risk alcohol and other drug use. The program began in 2009 with one alcohol-focused session and
has since been expanded to include a marijuana-focused session, as well as sessions related to family
and genetic factors of addiction, the role of parents and caring adults in substance abuse prevention,
alcohol and sexual violence, and an advanced session focused on brief motivational interviewing. The
original 1-hour curriculum addresses the following:

* Rates of use/misuse of alcohol and other drugs by NDSU students

* Prevention strategies used to decrease high-risk alcohol and other drug use

» Recognition of signs/symptoms of alcohol and/or other drug misuse

» Signs of alcohol poisoning and intervention strategies

» Campus, city, and state laws related to alcohol and other drugs

« Effective referral strategies for students or colleagues that exhibit alcohol or other drug abuse problems

BASICS (Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for College Students)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 324
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: BASICS training and implementation assistance are provided to 12 campuses in
North Dakota. BASICS is a prevention program for college students who drink alcohol heavily and have

experienced or are at risk for alcohol-related problems. It follows a harm reduction approach and aims to
motivate students to reduce alcohol use in order to decrease the negative consequences of drinking.

Before One More Campaign

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 3,000
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report:
http://www.ndsu.edu/fileadmin/alcoholinfo/B41M_Short form_eval-final.pdf
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: The student-designed Before One More campaign focuses on reducing the
harmful consequences that come from students making high-risk drinking decisions at the largest
campus community in the state (NDSU). The campaign helps students understand when “one more“ can
become “one too many“ by teaching them how to make low-risk decisions regarding alcohol use. For
students under age 21, one is one too many. The campaign includes a website with educational material
(http://www.ndsu.edu/alcoholinfo/students/alcohol before one more), t-shirt giveaways, key tags for the
Herd Hauler safe ride program, extensive use of social media, and student-produced videos.

CHOICES with High-Risk Populations

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 1,247
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: CHOICES is a brief alcohol abuse prevention and harm reduction program for
college students involving interactive journaling. The CHOICES program involves a 90-minute class
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facilitated by professional staff or peers. Throughout the course, students are presented with
information, and then they are able to reflect in their personal journals on what they have learned as it
relates to their choices about drinking. The CHOICES program is presented to student-athletes (ND
highest-risk college population subset) at four campuses and shared with first-year students in a
classroom setting at three campuses. The CHOICES program is shared in a nonconfrontational manner
that enables students to make their own decisions about alcohol consumption.

Alcohol Beverage Server Training

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: North Dakota’s Alcohol Beverage Server Program provides training to staff who
serve alcohol in licensed liquor establishments. The goals of the training are for staff to recognize and
prevent underage access to alcohol in their establishment and to prevent over-serving.

Alcohol Compliance Checks

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: Law enforcement agencies working with liquor stores, restaurants, and
bars visited by underage youth to check for compliance with laws that prohibit alcohol sales to
people under 21.

Targeted Community Program

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: No data

URL for more program information:
http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/mentalhealth/prevention/community-services.html

Program Description: The Targeted Community Program focuses on substance abuse prevention
efforts at the community level. Targeted communities follow the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF)
process. Communities complete an assessment of their needs, develop a comprehensive plan,
implement effective strategies, and monitor community progress. The following communities have
participated in the program since 2010: Bottineau County, Foster County, McKenzie County, City of
Minot, and Mohall-Lansford-Sherwood School District.

Tribal Substance Abuse Prevention Program

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
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Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/mentalhealth/prevention/rtpc.html

Program Description: The Department of Human Services contracts with tribes and local tribal entities
to provide culturally appropriate substance abuse prevention programs, policies, and practices. These
programs follow the SPF. They work collaboratively with the tribal tobacco prevention programs.
Substance abuse prevention programs are available on each reservation in North Dakota: Spirit Lake
Nation, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, Three Affiliated Tribes (MHA Nation), and Turtle Mountain Band of
Chippewa Indians.

Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: CMCA is a community-organizing program that aims to reduce adolescents’
access to alcohol through changes in community policies and practices. Facilitated by Northern
Lights Youth Services, two North Dakota communities (Grand Forks and Jamestown) participated in
this program.

Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://ndspfsig.wikispaces.com

Program Description: The Department of Human Services’ Division of Mental Health and Substance
Abuse has funded 22 local public health units and the four tribes across the state to support local
substance abuse prevention efforts targeting underage drinking and adult binge drinking. This funding
will allow each community grantee, in collaboration with its community partners, to assess the
community, develop a plan, and implement evidence-based strategies tackling underage and adult binge
drinking, all while building local-level prevention infrastructure.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program Description: Not applicable

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes
underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The ND Department of Human Services provides federal funds to the
four federally recognized tribes in the state to support culturally appropriate, local substance abuse
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prevention programming. The Department provides additional support in the form of training and
technical assistance for these programs. The ND Department of Human Services also funds the four
tribes to implement the Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG). The ND
Department of Transportation involves tribal law enforcement in regional impaired-driving prevention
enforcement activities.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing
Description of program: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:
Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Yes
Administration, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Agency(ies) within your state: No
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: Evidence-Based Practices Workgroup (EBPW), established at the Yes

onset of ND‘s SPF SIG
Best practice standards description: North Dakota follows evidence-based prevention through a
focus on addressing risk and protective factors, following the SPF and the public health model, while
emphasizing environmental strategies such as enforcement. North Dakota prevention efforts are
directed through a data-driven decisionmaking process.

Additional Clarification

No data
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: JoAnne Hoesel
E-mail: jhoesel@nd.gov
Address: 1237 West Divide Avenue, Suite 1C, Bismarck, ND 58501
Phone: 701-328-8920
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
ND Department of Human Services
ND Department of Health
ND Department of Transportation
ND Department of Public Instruction
ND Governor's Office
ND Office of the First Lady
ND Legislative Assembly Representatives
ND University System
ND Highway Patrol
ND Indian Affairs Commission
ND Students Against Destructive Decisions/Northern Lights Youth Services
ND Teen Challenge
ND Judiciary
Local law enforcement representative
ND addiction counselor representative
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A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: ND Department of Human Services
Plan can be accessed via: No data

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: ND Department of Human Services
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.nd.gov/dhs/prevention/SEOW

Additional Clarification
No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $4,206

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $56,811

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $408,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:

Estimate of state funds expended No data
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data
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Ohio
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 11,570,808
Population Ages 12-20: 1,439,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.6 369,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.4 236,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.1 19,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.8 8,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.8 97,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.9 55,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 49.2 253,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 335 172,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 142
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 8,667
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 29 18

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e Itis a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other
information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours, of which 10 must be at night
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Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.—after 1 a.m. if 17 years old
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one nonfamily passenger, unless accompanied by
parent or guardian
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18. Passenger restrictions are lifted at age 17; unsupervised
night-driving restrictions remain until age 18.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 17
e Maximum: 19

Appearance requirements

e Age-appropriate appearance; hair style and clothing consistent with underage persons in
target area; minimal jewelry

e Male: No facial hair

e Female: Minimal makeup and jewelry

ID possession
e Required

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Prohibited

Decoy training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No written guidelines
Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors
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Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 19 for both servers and bartenders

e Wine: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Note: Although employees must be at least 21 years old in order to sell spirits, wine, or mixed
beverages across a bar, employees of any permit holder may sell beer across a bar if they are at
least 19 years old.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession, consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence

e Exception(s): Family

Note: In addition to the restrictions imposed on owners or occupants of public or private places,

Ohio’s provision regarding property states that no person shall engage or use accommodations at

a hotel, inn, cabin, campground, or restaurant when the person knows or has reason to know that

beer or intoxicating liquor will be consumed by an underage person on the premises. Owners

or occupants of public or private places are held to a knowledge standard, while those who

engage or use accommodations at a hotel, inn, cabin, campground, or restaurant are held to

a negligence standard.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Prohibited

e Spirits: Prohibited
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Note: An S class permit allows an out-of-state beer or wine brand owner or United States
importer to sell beer or wine directly to personal consumers (residents) in Ohio by receiving
and filling orders that the personal consumer submits to the permit holder.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer and wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements

State approval/permit requirements
Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting requirements
Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Producer must verify age of purchaser—Prior to sending a shipment of beer or wine, the
shipper must make a “bona fide* effort to ensure that the purchaser is at least age 21.
Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State must approve common carrier.

Shipping label statement requirements

Contains alcohol

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Home Delivery

Beer: No law

Wine: No law
Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Alcohol Tax
Beer (5 percent alcohol)

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Specific excise tax: $0.18 per gallon

Specific excise tax: $0.32 per gallon

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited
Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after 9 p.m.

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited
Increased volume: Prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

Volume discounts: Banned

Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—a33.3 percent minimum markup
Price posting requirements: Post and hold—3-month minimum

Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Ohio State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Ohio Investigative Unit
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Ohio Dept. of

Commerce, Div. of
Liquor Control

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both
retail establishments

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 1,692
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations? to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 23,593
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
) . 1,019
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 218
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

On- and off-sale
establishments

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Sanctions

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 1019
decoy operations '
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 218

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to

RO . . . e . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state* 572
Total amount in fines across all licensees $751,400
Smallest fine imposed $200
Largest fine imposed $10,000
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Not applicable
Not applicable
12/31/2013
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 73
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 90
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 5

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Drug Free Action Alliance — Parents Who Host, Lose the Most —
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: https://www.drugfreeactionalliance.org
URL for more program information: https://www.drugfreeactionalliance.org

Program Description: The “Parents Who Host, Lose The Most: Don’t be a party to teenage drinking®
public awareness campaign was developed by Drug-Free Action Alliance in 2000. Campaign objectives
are to educate parents about the health and safety risks of serving alcohol at teen house parties and to
increase awareness of and compliance with the Ohio Underage Drinking Laws.

On a statewide level, Drug Free Action Alliance, formerly Ohio Parents for Drug Free Youth, promotes
the “Parents Who Host“ campaign through a number of resources. One component is partnering with
corporations to reproduce and disseminate materials to their customers and employees. Drug Free
Action Alliance will continue to partner with 18 corporations statewide, garnering at least $95,912 in
in-kind support. Examples of corporate activities: a grocery chain played in-store announcements of the
campaign ad in their participating stores for the entire month, and another large chain store displayed
signs on beer coolers and beer/wine shelves in 85 locations. Also, hotels and businesses ensured that
information cards were available in the lobby and in employee break rooms.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of No recognized

underage drinking tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No

advertising and marketing

Description of program: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Yes
Administration

Agency(ies) within your state: Ohio Department of Mental Health and Yes
Addiction Services

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: The media campaign “Parents Who Host, Lose the Most,“ which
Ohio created and others are now implementing, is seen as a best practice across the United States.

Additional Clarification |
No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or No
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Not applicable
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Not applicable
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification
No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended $0
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
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Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes

Fines

Fees

Other:

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

No data
No data
No data
No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
There are no state funds allocated for underage drinking in Ohio.
Additional Clarification

During this reporting period, Ohio did not utilize any state funds for underage drinking.
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Oklahoma

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 3,850,568
Population Ages 12-20: 470,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.4 105,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.7 69,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.3 5,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.9 3,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 17.6 27,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 95 14,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 43.9 74,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 30.9 52,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 71
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,326
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 23 7

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): Private location

Note: In Oklahoma, persons under 21 may possess with intent to consume low-point beer
(defined as beer or malt beverages not more than 3.2 percent ABW) if under the direct
supervision of their parent or guardian.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Oklahoma law contains no prohibition against underage consumption of
alcoholic beverages generally, the state does prohibit consumption of “low-point beer (defined
as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW) by persons under 21 unless under the direct
supervision of a parent or guardian. This exception does not allow persons under 21 to consume
such beverages on premises licensed to dispense low-point beer.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

Note: Persons under 21 may purchase or attempt to purchase low-point beer (defined as beer or
malt beverages not more than 3.2 percent ABW) if under direct supervision of their parent or
guardian.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

¢ No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to
retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older.

Note: Oklahoma provides retailers a defense in criminal prosecutions for furnishing minors with
“low-point beer (defined as all beverages containing more than 0.5 percent alcohol by volume
and not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight).

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00

e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 725



State Reports — Oklahoma

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage possession

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 180 days

Note: In Oklahoma, denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under
18 years who have possessed an intoxicating beverage or purchased, possessed, or consumed
low-point beer (defined as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW).

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 10 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger who is not a household member,
unless accompanied by driver at least 21
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law
Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 16
e Maximum: 21

Appearance requirements
e Should not dress in ways that make them appear older

ID possession
e Discretionary

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Not specified
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Decoy training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No written guidelines

Responsible Beverage Service
No beverage service training requirement

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 21

e Wine: 21

e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e Limitations on outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet, but college or university located within an
improvement district may override state restriction
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet, but college or university located within an
improvement district may override state restriction
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Primary and secondary schools

e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession, consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence

e Exception(s): Resident
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Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Keg Registration
e Keg definition: Not less than 4 gallons
e Prohibited: Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500/6 months
e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
e Warning information to purchaser: Passive—no purchaser action required
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.40 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.72 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $5.56 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 13.5 percent

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited
Reduced price, specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist.
Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—21 month minimum
e Retailer credit: Not permitted
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Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—2 months minimum
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—2 months minimum
e Retailer credit: Not permitted
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Oklahoma State Survey Responses
State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement (ABLE) Commission

Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment No

laws
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics

Not applicable
Not applicable

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 23
agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement No
agencies

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy opera’[ions2 to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting Yes

sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 3,271
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies

) . 121
(including random checks)

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 12
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-
sale, or both retail establishments

Both on- and off-sale
establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy

X Yes
operations
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance
checks/ No data
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance
No data
checks
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy
operations
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting Yes
sales
to minors
Data are collected on these activities No

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
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Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that Yes
furnish minors

Number of fines imposed by the state* 131

Total amount in fines across all licensees No data

Smallest fine imposed $150

Largest fine imposed $3,000

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail

. o L . Yes

establishments specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 10

Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 10 days

Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 days

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retalil

) o A . Yes

establishments specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed® 13

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
The ABLE Commission regulates and has criminal and administrative jurisdiction over alcoholic
beverages. It has no authority over low-point beer. Under specific, narrow circumstances, ABLE has
taken action against some low-point beer violations. These violations are included in the data.
Generally, low-point beer is the responsibility of the local authorities.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Too Much To Lose (2M2L) Youth Leadership Initiative

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://ok.gov/odmhsas/2M2L .html

Program Description: The 2M2L Youth Leadership Initiative encompasses school-level clubs, a State
Youth Council, and youth leadership development. 2M2L clubs are youth-led groups at the local level
that implement environmental strategies to change the way their community perceives alcohol
advertising, youth access to alcohol, and social norms that contribute to underage drinking. With
guidance from adult allies, youth leaders educate and inform their peers, adults, and community
members about social attitudes pertaining to underage drinking. In addition, the youth often partner with
local law enforcement in conducting alcohol compliance checks and other activities. The State Youth
Council consists of 8 to 10 members who are nhominated, interviewed, and selected annually. Council
members work hand in hand with the established clubs in their schools or community and engage other
youth throughout the state to help them implement environmental prevention strategies (i.e., local
ordinances, compliance checks, media advocacy). The Council helps lead and plan an annual 2M2L
Youth Leadership Academy and 2M2L Youth Leadership Kickoff. The Academy helps develop
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leadership skills and increase knowledge about underage drinking prevention and is designed to train
club leaders on the environmental prevention model, leadership/team building, and action planning.

2M2L Law Enforcement Task Forces

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: Specialized law enforcement task forces have been established in Oklahoma
County and Tulsa County. The County Sheriff’'s Office coordinates each task force, which represents
local, county, college, and state law enforcement agencies working collaboratively to reduce underage
drinking and youth access to alcohol. The task forces conducted over 100 compliance checks for
underage sales (direct or third-party sales) at retail establishments, restaurants, and liquor stores in the
past 12 months. The task forces also conduct compliance checks for underage sales at community
events and implement party patrol/dispersal mobilizations. The task forces produce earned media to
elevate the visibility of enforcement operations within the counties.

2M2L Regional Coordinators

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: The 2M2L regional coordinators conduct trainings aimed at communities, alcohol
retailers, and law enforcement agencies that provide an in-depth look at Oklahoma’s alcohol laws and
environmental prevention strategies to reduce underage drinking as well as specialized tactical
instruction in controlled party dispersals, compliance checks, and shoulder taps. The coordinators serve
as liaisons between communities and law enforcement agencies and promote cross-agency
collaboration and strategic partnership development while providing technical assistance to coalitions,
youth clubs, and law enforcement agencies committed to addressing the problem of underage drinking.
The coordinators promote the 2M2L initiative and educate the public through earned media outputs and
other information dissemination efforts.

Regional Prevention Coordinators (RPCs)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://ok.gov/odmhsas/Prevention /Prevention Initiatives/Regional Prev
ention Coordinators (RPC)/index.html

Program Description: The primary purpose of the RPCs is to provide regional prevention services by
engaging community members, local organizations, public agencies, youth, and the media to change
community conditions that contribute to alcohol-, tobacco-, and drug-related problems. A major goal of
the RPCs is to prevent the onset and reduce the problems associated with the use of alcohol by those
under age 21. All contracted RPCs are minimally required to: ensure alcohol compliance checks are
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completed each year, conduct Responsible Beverage Sales and Service training, and complete alcohol
outlet risk assessments in their service regions.

Social Host Media Campaign

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.oklahomasocialhost.com

Program Description: The Social Host Media Campaign highlights the issues related to underage
drinking at home parties in particular. Oklahoma’s social host law holds adults responsible for parties
where alcohol is served to underage people. The adult who owns or rents the property is responsible, no
matter who provides the alcohol. The media campaign aims to make the public aware of the social host
law and the responsibility/liability regarding underage drinking with regard to home parties. Media
outputs have included billboards, public transit signs, public service announcements at movie theaters,
posters, and ads in print publications.

AlcoholEdu for Oklahoma High Schools

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.everfi.com

Program Description: AlcoholEdu is an online alcohol prevention course designed to impact entire
student populations by engaging today’s teens using the tools they love: the Internet, videos, and project-
based learning. AlcoholEdu is currently available free of charge to all Oklahoma high schools.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The state has active collaborations with several tribal nations, including
Cherokee Nation, Osage Tribe, Choctaw Nation, and the Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes. These
collaborations include tribal representatives serving as Responsible Beverage Sales and Service
(RBSS) trainers, facilitators for the statewide 2M2L Youth Leadership Academy, and members of
state advisory groups and workgroups. In addition, tribal representatives participate in and host
2M2L youth and adult training opportunities throughout the year, and Cherokee Nation is a
prevention service provider under Oklahoma's Substance Abuse Prevention Block Grant and
Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant. At least three tribes work with state-funded
Regional Prevention Coordinators to require mandatory RBSS training for all casino employees.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol Yes

advertising and marketing
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Program description: The Regional Prevention Coordinators are contractually required to measure

the percentage of alcohol storefront signage on a randomly selected sample of retailers each year.
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: Oklahoma Evidence-Based Practices Yes
Workgroup through the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and

Substance

Abuse Services

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: Oklahoma's priority is to fund and implement evidence-based
environmental strategies for the prevention of underage drinking. A strategy is considered a best
practice if it meets one of the following three criteria:

Definition 1: It is included on federal lists or registries of evidence-based strategies and has
documented positive outcomes.

Definition 2: It is reported (with positive effects) in peer-reviewed journals.

Definition 3: Documented effectiveness is supported by other sources of information and the
consensus judgment of informed experts as specified by the Oklahoma Evidence Based Workgroup.

Additional Clarification
No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Jessica Hawkins
E-mail: jhawkins@odmhsas.org
Address: 1200 NE 13th, Oklahoma City, OK 73152
Phone: 405-522-5952
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement Commission
Oklahoma Turning Point
Oklahoma State Department of Education
Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
Oklahoma Highway Safety Office
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
Oklahoma State Department of Health
Oklahoma Commission on Children and Youth
Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy
University of Oklahoma
Oklahoma State Legislature
2M2L State Youth Council
Oklahoma Prevention Policy Alliance
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access:
http://www.ok.gov/odmhsas/Prevention /Prevention_Initiatives/Underage Drinking_Prevention_lInitia
tives/index.html

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
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Plan can be accessed via: http://ok.gov/odmhsas

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification
No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $28,339

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

Additional Clarification
No data
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Oregon

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 3,930,065
Population Ages 12-20: 445,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.5 118,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.9 75,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.6 7,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.8 3,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.1 33,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.8 19,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 50.9 79,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 34.8 54,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 38
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,311
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 32 5

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND
e Parent/guardian

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND
e Parent/guardian

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Oregon does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report, but it does prohibit
“personal possession‘ of an alcoholic beverage. “Personal possession‘ includes “consumption of
a bottle of such beverages, or any portion thereof or a drink of such beverages. Laws that
prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but without reference to a blood, breath, or
urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession as defined in this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other
information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

e Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for any
losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.00

e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours with driver education;
100 hours without
Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: For first 6 months, there can be no passengers under 20 who are
not immediate family members unless accompanied by parent or instructor. For second
6 months, there can be no more than three passengers under 20 who are not immediate family
members unless accompanied by parent or instructor.
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND
e Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service
Mandatory provisions

Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Voluntary provisions (advanced program)

In addition to the mandated beverage service training, licensees that participate in the voluntary
Responsible Vendor Training Program, which includes more in-depth educational requirements
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and skills development, are eligible for mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for
sales to minors.

Voluntary beverage service training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Incentives for training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors
e Protection against license revocation for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation
Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws
Statutory liability exists.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence

e Exception(s): Family

Note: Oregon’s social host provision states that its prohibitions apply only to a person who is

present and in control of the location at the time underage consumption occurs.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Permitted

e Spirits: Prohibited
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine (or cider) with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Note: While all deliverers/carriers must record the name, signature, and delivery address of the
person receiving the alcohol, a “for-hire* carrier must retain this information for 18 months.

If the shipper does not use a “for-hire* carrier, then the shipper must retain the information for
18 months.

Keg Registration

e Keg definition: More than 7 gallons

e Prohibited: Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $6,250/1 year
Purchaser information collected:

— Purchaser’s name and address

— Verified by a government-issued 1D

— Address where keg will be consumed

Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—if the licensee ships via a for-hire carrier, the carrier must have been
approved by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) prior to delivering malt
beverages, wine, or cider to any resident of Oregon.

e Wine: Permitted—if the licensee ships via a for-hire carrier, the carrier must have been
approved by the OLCC prior to delivering malt beverages, wine, or cider to any resident of
Oregon.

e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.08 per gallon
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Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited

Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after midnight
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—14 days minimum. Licensees must make price
lists available for OLCC inspection.

e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Oregon State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Oregon Liquor Control Commission

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Don'‘t know

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics

Not applicable
Not applicable

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law 4463
enforcement agencies '
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if Vs

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 15,553
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 387
(including random checks)

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 73
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/22/2013
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both No data
retail establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No data
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/

: No data
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks No data
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
O . . i N . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state’
Total amount in fines across all licensees
Smallest fine imposed
Largest fine imposed

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Not applicable
Not applicable
12/31/2013

Don‘t know

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

e S ; No data
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® No data
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Don‘t know

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Not applicable

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Additional Clarification

OLCC Report available online at:
http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/docs/enforcement/PublicSafetyAnnualReport 2012.pdf

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses.

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Positive Community Norms — mORe Media Campaign

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.oregonmore.org

Program Description: The purpose of the mORe project is to cultivate the environment in Oregon

to reveal the concern about underage drinking and the hope to foster meaningful change and
transformation. The project offers multiple communications campaigns to reduce teenage alcohol use,
provided to communities in the form of toolkits. The toolkits focus on important segments of the
community, including adults, students, parents, school leaders and staff, law enforcement officers, health
care providers, alcohol retailers, and community- and state-level organizations. The communication
campaigns are intended to guide conversations about underage drinking and correct misperceptions.
They are designed to balance two goals: Confront the seriousness of underage drinking and build hope
that communities can work together to reduce risk and create positive change.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes

underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The Tribal Best Practices Committee has reviewed many tribal
practices to include in prevention and treatment practices approved by the state. All nine federally
recognized tribes receive Substance Abuse Prevention Treatment Block Grant (SAPTBG) and
Strategic Prevention Framework funds. All are invited to participate in substance abuse prevention
training and reporting. A state tribal liaison coordinates quarterly conjoint meetings with the state and
nine tribal prevention coordinators, covering topics such as suicide prevention, juvenile justice, and
tribal counseling offices. The county and tribal communities (largely funded by SAPTBG) cohosted a
Prevention Summit.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing
Description of program: Not applicable

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Yes
Practices

Agency(ies) within your state: Evidence-Based Practice Committee; now Yes
collaborating with State of Washington (see http://www.theathenaforum.org)
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: See website:
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/amh/ebp/ebp-definition.pdf
Additional Clarification
No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities

Committee contact information:
Name: Kerryann Bouska, Strategic Prevention Framework Director
E-mail: Kerryann.Bouska@state.or.us
Address: 500 Summer St. NE, Salem, OR 97301-1118
Phone: 503-945-6998

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Oregon Liquor Control Commission
Child & Adolescent Mental Health Services
Clackamas County Commission on Children & Families
Northwest Portland Area Indian Health Board
Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs
Public Health Division
Oregon Department of Education
Oregon Senate
Oregon Research Institute
Confederated Tribes of Grande Ronde
Portland State University College Student
Work Healthy Oregon, Oregon Nurses Foundation
Applied Social Research & Evaluation
Executive Director, Oregon State Sheriffs Association

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable
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Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Not sure
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Not sure
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No state funds are dedicated to underage drinking programs

or strategies.

Estimate of state funds expended $0
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data
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Pennsylvania

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 12,773,801
Population Ages 12-20: 1,526,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.2 415,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.2 263,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.7 23,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.6 8,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.8 108,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.3 63,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 49.9 284,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.7 192,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 180
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 10,796
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 24 17

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions are noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions are noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisacriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e Itis a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other
information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00

e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 90 days
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Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 16

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 65 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage

e Minimum age: 16 years, 6 months

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 11 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: First 6 months, no more than one passenger allowed under age
18 not in the immediate family, and after 6 months, no more than three unrelated passengers
under 18, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20

Appearance requirements
e Age-appropriate dress and appearance

ID possession
e Discretionary

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Permitted

Decoy training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: 4 years

First offense: $50 to $1,000 fine and/or license suspension/revocation
Second offense: $1,000 to $5,000 fine and/or license suspension/revocation
Third offense: License suspension or revocation

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
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e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Incentive for training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e DBeer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18

Note: In Pennsylvania, a minor who is 17 years old who is a high school graduate or who is
declared to have attained his or her academic potential by the chief administrator of his or her
school district is deemed to be a minor of 18 years old for purposes of the laws relating to the
employment of minors by retail licensees.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Note: In Pennsylvania, a minor who is 17 years old who is a high school graduate or who is
declared to have attained his or her academic potential by the chief administrator of his or her
school district is deemed to be a minor of 18 years old for purposes of the laws relating to the
employment of minors by retail licensees.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Note: Limited wineries (wineries with a maximum output of 200,000 gallons per year that
use fruit or agricultural commodities grown in the Commonwealth) may ship wine to retail
customers via a transporter-for-hire or in a vehicle properly registered with the Pennsylvania
Liquor Control Board.

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Home Delivery
e Beer: Nolaw
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.08 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Drink Specials

e Free beverages: Not prohibited

e Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

e Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

e Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited—Ilimited to 4 hours per day and no
more than 14 hours per week. Discounts may not be offered after 12 midnight.
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Note: Although current law suggests there is a 120-day hold on reducing prices posted by the
wholesaler for distribution of beer, that rule is no longer legal or being enforced per an order on
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January 15, 1999, by Judge Richard Caputo of the United States District Court for the Middle
District of Pennsylvania. The order granted a permanent injunction prohibiting enforcement of
several sections of the Liquor Code, including 47 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 4-447. As a result of that
decision, the requirement that wholesale prices be reported and if reduced, remain at that level
for at least 120 days, is no longer legal or enforced. Therefore, prices of malt beverages can be
reduced and then raised at any time. (See Legal Advisory No. 11
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt?open=514&0bjID=611927&mode=2.)
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Pennsylvania State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Pennsylvania State Police, Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

PA State Police,
Bureau of Liquor
Control Enforcement

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 22,434
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations? to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 13,000
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
) . 1,302
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 504
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both
retail establishments

Both on- and off-sale
establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 509
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 174

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations

to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales No

to minors
Data are collected on these activities No

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state*
Total amount in fines across all licensees
Smallest fine imposed
Largest fine imposed

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

Yes

363
$478,425
$250
$5,000
No data
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 18
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 72
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 11
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Not applicable

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Project Northland

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 1,065
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=25

Program Description: Project Northland is a multilevel intervention involving students, peers, parents,
and community in programs designed to delay the age at which adolescents begin drinking, reduce
alcohol use among those already drinking, and limit the number of alcohol-related problems among
young drinkers. Administered weekly to adolescents in grades 6-8, the program has a specific theme
within each grade level that is incorporated into the parent, peer, and community components. The 6th-
grade home-based program targets communication about adolescent alcohol use utilizing student-parent
homework assignments, in-class group discussions, and a communitywide task force. The 7th-grade
peer- and teacher-led curriculum focuses on resistance skills and normative expectations regarding teen
alcohol use, and is implemented through discussions, games, problem-solving tasks, and role-plays.
During the first half of the 8th-grade Powerlines peer-led program, students learn about community
dynamics related to alcohol use prevention through small-group and classroom interactive activities.
During the second half, they work on community-based projects and hold a mock town meeting to make
community policy recommendations to prevent teen alcohol use.

Class Action

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 189
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=145
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Program Description: Class Action is the second phase of the Project Northland alcohol-use
prevention curriculum series. Class Action (for grades 11-12) and Project Northland (for grades 6-8) are
designed to delay the onset of alcohol use, reduce use among youths who have already tried alcohol,
and limit the number of alcohol-related problems experienced by young drinkers. Class Action draws on
the social influence theory of behavior change, using interactive, peer-led sessions to explore the real-
world legal and social consequences of substance abuse. The curriculum consists of 8 to 10 group
sessions in which students divide into teams to research, prepare, and present mock civil cases involving
hypothetical persons harmed as a result of underage drinking. Using a casebook along with audiotaped
affidavits and depositions, teens review relevant statutes and case law to build legal cases they then
present to a jury of their peers. Case topics include drinking and driving, fetal alcohol syndrome, drinking
and violence, date rape, drinking and vandalism, and school alcohol policies. Students also research
community issues around alcohol use and become involved in local events to support community
awareness of the problem of underage drinking.

Underage Drinking Programs

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 1,204
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: These are generic programs used to raise awareness and educate individuals
who have been convicted of underage drinking and to provide intervention services when needed.

Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=117

Program Description: CMCA is a community-organizing program designed to reduce teens‘ (ages 13—
20) access to alcohol by changing community policies and practices. CMCA seeks to limit youth access
to alcohol and to communicate a clear message to the community that underage drinking is inappropriate
and unacceptable. It employs a range of social-organizing techniques to address legal, institutional,
social, and health issues related to underage drinking. The goals of these organizing efforts are to
eliminate illegal alcohol sales to minors, obstruct the provision of alcohol to youth, and ultimately reduce
alcohol use by teens. The program involves community members in seeking and achieving changes in
local public policies and the practices of community institutions that can affect youth access to alcohol.

Alcohol: True Stories Hosted by Matt Damon

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 153
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=232

754

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking




State Reports — Pennsylvania

Program Description: Alcohol: True Stories Hosted by Matt Damon is a multimedia intervention
designed to prevent or reduce alcohol use among young people in grades 5-12 by positively changing
the attitudes of youth and their parents and other caregivers in regard to youth drinking. The intervention
features a 20-minute video hosted by Matt Damon that tells the stories of four adolescents* experiences
with alcohol. Story topics include drinking and driving, lost opportunities, addiction, alcohol-related
violence, and the effects of alcohol use on relationships. Through the four stories, the video addresses
reasons that motivate young people to drink: to fit in, ease social interaction, relieve stress, have fun,
and because they are addicted. The young people profiled describe the consequences of underage
drinking and the benefits of waiting to drink alcohol until after reaching legal age, and they offer healthy
coping strategies for stressful life events as well as methods to avoid drinking alcohol. The video is
accompanied by a discussion guide designed to provoke candid conversation regarding alcohol use and
to help young people internalize anti-underage drinking messages and think critically about their own
decisionmaking regarding alcohol use.

Protecting You/Protecting Me (PY/PM)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 696
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=95

Program Description: PY/PM is a 5-year classroom-based alcohol use prevention and vehicle safety
program for elementary school students in grades 1-5 (ages 6-11) and high school students in grades
11 and 12. The program aims to reduce alcohol-related injuries and death among children and youth
due to underage alcohol use and riding in vehicles with drivers who are not alcohol free. PY/PM lessons
and activities focus on teaching children about (1) the brain—how it continues to develop throughout
childhood and adolescence, what alcohol does to the developing brain, and why it is important for
children to protect their brains; (2) vehicle safety, particularly what children can do to protect themselves
if they have to ride with someone who is not alcohol free; and (3) life skills, including decisionmaking,
stress management, media awareness, resistance strategies, and communication. Parent take-home
activities are offered for all 40 lessons. PY/PM's interactive and affective teaching processes include
role-playing, small group and classroom discussions, reading, writing, storytelling, art, and music.

Project ALERT

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 12,506
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=62

Program Description: Project ALERT is a school-based prevention program for middle or junior high
school students that focuses on alcohol, tobacco, and marijuana use. It seeks to prevent adolescent
nonusers from experimenting with these drugs, and to prevent youths who are already experimenting
from becoming people who use more regularly or have an alcohol use disorder. Based on the social
influence model of prevention, the program is designed to help motivate young people to avoid using
drugs and teach them the skills they need to understand and resist prodrug social influences. The
curriculum comprises 11 lessons in the first year and 3 lessons in the second year. Lessons involve
small-group activities, question-and-answer sessions, role-playing, and the rehearsal of new skills to
stimulate students’ interest and patrticipation. The content focuses on helping students understand the
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consequences of drug use, recognize the benefits of nonuse, build norms against use, and identify and
resist prodrug pressures.

Too Good for Drugs (TGFD)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 33,920
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=75

Program Description: TGFD is a school-based prevention program for kindergarten through 12th
grade that builds students’ resiliency by teaching them how to be socially competent and autonomous
problem solvers. The program aims to benefit everyone in the school by providing needed education in
social and emotional competencies and by reducing risk factors and building protective factors that affect
students in these age groups. TGFD focuses on developing personal and interpersonal skills regarding
resisting peer pressure, goal setting, decisionmaking, bonding with others, respecting oneself and others,
managing emotions, communicating effectively, and interaction socially. It also provides information
about negative consequences of drug use and benefits of a nonviolent, drug-free lifestyle.

Positive Action

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 1,218
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://legacy.nreppadmin.net/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=400

Program Description: Positive Action is an integrated and comprehensive program designed to
improve academic achievement, school attendance, and problem behaviors such as substance use,
violence, suspensions, disruptive behaviors, dropping out, and sexual behavior. It is also designed to
improve parent—child bonding, family cohesion, and family conflict. Positive Action has materials for
schools, homes, and community agencies. All materials are based on one unifying broad concept (one
feels good about oneself when taking positive actions) with six explanatory subconcepts (positive actions
for the physical, intellectual, social, and emotional areas) that elaborate on the overall theme.

All Stars

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 783
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=28

Program Description: All Stars is a school-based program for middle school students (11-14 years
old) designed to prevent and delay the onset of high-risk behaviors such as drug use, violence, and
premature sexual activity. The program focuses on five topics important to preventing high-risk
behaviors: (1) developing positive ideals that do not fit with high-risk behavior; (2) creating a belief in
conventional norms; (3) building strong personal commitments to avoid high-risk behaviors; (4) bonding
with school, prosocial institutions, and family; and (5) increasing positive parental attentiveness such as
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positive communication and parental monitoring. The All Stars curriculum includes highly interactive
group activities, games and art projects, small-group discussions, one-on-one sessions, a parent
component, optional online activities and worksheets, and a celebration ceremony.

Keepin’It REAL

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 108
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=133

Program Description: Keepin‘it REAL is a multicultural, school-based substance use prevention
program for students 12—14 years old. Keepin' it REAL uses a 10-lesson curriculum taught by trained
classroom teachers in 45-minute sessions over 10 weeks, with booster sessions delivered the following
school year. The curriculum aims to help students assess the risks associated with substance abuse,
enhance decisionmaking and resistance strategies, improve antidrug normative beliefs and attitudes, and
reduce substance use. The curriculum places special emphasis on resistance strategies represented in
the acronym REAL: Refuse offers to use substances, Explain why you do not want to use substances,
Avoid situations in which substances are used, and Leave situations in which substances are used.

Stay on Track

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 486
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=167

Program Description: Stay on Track is a school-based substance abuse prevention curriculum
conducted over a 3-year period with students in grades 6—8. The intervention is designed to help
students assess the risks associated with substance abuse; enhance decisionmaking, goal-setting,
communication, and resistance strategies; improve antidrug normative beliefs and attitudes; and reduce
substance use. The program empowers youth by providing knowledge and life skills relevant to health-
promoting behavior.

LifeSkills Training (LST)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 12,007
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=109

Program Description: LST is a school-based program that aims to prevent alcohol, tobacco, and
marijuana use and violence by targeting major social and psychological factors that promote initiation of
substance use and other risky behaviors. LST is based on both the social influence and the competence
enhancement models of prevention. Consistent with this theoretical framework, LST addresses multiple
risk and protective factors and teaches personal and social skills that build resilience and help youth
navigate developmental tasks, including the skills necessary to understand and resist prodrug influences.
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LST is designed to provide information relevant to the important life transitions that adolescents and
young teens face, using culturally sensitive and developmentally and age-appropriate language and
content. Facilitated discussion, structured small-group activities, and role-playing scenarios are used to
stimulate participation and promote the acquisition of skills.

Guiding Good Choices (GGC)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 0

Number of parents served 36
Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://legacy.nreppadmin.net/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=302

Program Description: GGC is a drug use prevention program that provides parents of children in
grades 4-8 (9-14 years old) with the knowledge and skills needed to guide their children through early
adolescence. It seeks to strengthen and clarify family expectations for behavior, enhance the conditions
that promote bonding within the family, and teach skills that allow children to resist drug use successfully.
GGC is based on research showing that consistent, positive parental involvement is important to helping
children resist substance use and other antisocial behaviors. The current intervention is a 5-session
curriculum that addresses preventing substance abuse in the family, setting clear family expectations
about drugs and alcohol, avoiding trouble, managing family conflict, and strengthening family bonds.

Strengthening Families Program — For Parents and Youth 10-14

(SFP 10-14)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 870
Number of parents served 861
Number of caregivers served 0
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=63

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Program Description: SFP 10-14 is a family skills training intervention designed to enhance school
success and reduce youth substance use and aggression among 10- to 14-year-olds. The program
includes seven 2-hour sessions and four optional booster sessions in which parents and youth meet
separately for instruction during the first hour and together for family activities during the second hour.
The sessions provide instruction for parents on understanding the risk factors for substance use,
enhancing parent—child bonding, monitoring compliance with parental guidelines and imposing
appropriate consequences, managing anger and family conflict, and fostering positive child involvement
in family tasks. Children receive instruction on resisting peer influences to use substances.

Responsible Alcohol Management Program (RAMP)
URL for more program information: http://www.Icb.state.pa.us/PLCB/Education/RAMP/index.htm

Program description: RAMP aims to help licensees and their employees serve alcohol responsibly.
RAMP was created by the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board and offers practical advice for licensees
operating restaurants, hotels, clubs, distributers, and even special-occasion permit holders. RAMP
explains how to detect signs of impairment and intoxication; effectively cut off service to a customer who
has had too much to drink; identify underage individuals; detect altered, counterfeit, and borrowed
identification; avoid unnecessary liability; and help reduce alcohol-related problems in the community.

Additional Clarification
Program data are from state FY 7/1/2012 through 6/30/2013.
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention No recognized

of underage drinking tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising No

and marketing
Description of program: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking No
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:
Federal agency(ies): Not applicable
Agency(ies) within your state: Not applicable
Nongovernmental agency(ies): Not applicable
Other: Not applicable
Best practice standards description: Not applicable
Additional Clarification
No data

State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or No
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Not applicable
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Not applicable
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board, Act 85 biennial Report to the Pennsylvania
General Assembly on High-Risk and Underage Drinking
Plan can be accessed via:
http://www.Icb.beta.state.pa.us/cons/groups/alcoholeducation/documents/adacct/001990.pdf

Additional Clarification
No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended $96,746
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended $148,088
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:
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Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data
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Rhode Island

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 1,051,511
Population Ages 12-20: 130,000

Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old

Drivers with BAC > 0.01

* See Appendix C for data sources.

Percentage

32.6
21.2

4.5
2.6

23.8
12.6

59.8
41.3

Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities

50
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Number

42,000
28,000

2,000
1,000

9,000
5,000

31,000
22,000

10
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Number

1
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisacriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e Itis a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 30days
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Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 16

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16 years, 6 months
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 1 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger under 21, unless an immediate
family or household member
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service
Mandatory provisions

Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers
e Applies only to on-sale establishments
e Applies only to existing outlets

Voluntary provisions

Voluntary beverage service training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentives for training
e Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools

e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Note: There are numerous exceptions for specific locations within cities and towns.

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.
Note: R.l. Gen. Laws § 3-14-12 includes a responsible beverage service defense.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor

e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence

e Exception(s): Family

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Keg Registration

e Keg definition: Undefined

e Prohibited: Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500

e Purchaser information collected:

— Purchaser’s name and address

— Verified by a government-issued 1D

Warning information to purchaser: Passive—no purchaser action required
Deposit: Not required

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Note: No particular volume or range of volumes is specified for kegs in Rhode Island.
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Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted

e Wine: Permitted
e Spirits: Permitted

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5% alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.11 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $1.40 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $5.40 per gallon

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price, specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
No pricing restrictions
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Rhode Island State Survey Responses

State Agency Information
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Rhode Island Department of Behavioral Healthcare, Developmental Disabilities and Hospitals
(BHDDH). Rhode Island does not have a separate alcohol beverage control agency. BHDDH
cannot issue citations, fines, or the like. Enforcement happens at the local level

(local police departments).

Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Don’t know

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors M@ EppliteEislE

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law 5
enforcement agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Don'’t know
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes
to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 1,701
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
) . 360
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 19
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or Both on- and off-sale
both retail establishments establishments
State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 295
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 27
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to Yes
minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 200
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 14
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012

Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that

. ) No
furnish minors
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Number of fines imposed by the state’
Total amount in fines across all licensees
Smallest fine imposed

Largest fine imposed

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Not applicable

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state®

Total days of suspensions across all licensees

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days)

Longest period of suspension imposed (in days)

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

No

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed®

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Don’t know

Not applicable
Not applicable

State Reports — Rhode Island

Additional Clarification

Unless otherwise indicated, the “state alcohol law enforcement agency* refers to BHDDH. RI does not
have an “Alcohol Beverage Control“-type enforcement agency. BHDDH uses federal funds allocated to
local police departments, to support conducting an alcohol purchase survey, and compliance checks of a
random sample of on- and off-premise alcohol retailers; the survey is conducted by local law
enforcement agencies. BHDDH also provides some federal funding to local law enforcement agencies
for underage sales compliance activities.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Enforcement of Underage Drinking Laws
Program serves specific or general population
Number of youth served
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: This program is a statewide advisory committee with public education, law
enforcement, and youth subcommittees and a statewide youth committee. The advisory committee
develops statewide environmental strategies for implementation in local communities. The advisory
committee also advises the department on policies related to underage drinking. The advisory
committee works closely with local, municipal coalitions and with local and state law enforcement;
collects enforcement data and develops; and implements statewide public education campaigns.

Rhode Island Substance Abuse Prevention Act (RISAPA)
Program serves specific or general population
Number of youth served
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

General population
Not applicable

General population
Not applicable
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URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: RISAPA is legislation that enables the funding of municipal substance abuse
prevention task forces/coalitions—35 coalitions represent all of the state‘s 39 cities and towns. Each
coalition produces an annual program plan and logic model. For the past few years, all of the coalitions
have implemented strategies to reduce underage drinking. Included among these strategies are local
policy initiatives (an environmental strategy) and public education. The number of individuals touched by
these activities is not routinely collected.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data
Additional Clarification
The Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws advisory committe is managed under a contract with Rhode

Island Mothers Against Drunk Driving and funded with federal funds. The RISAPA is funded with state
and federal funds.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes

underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The Chariho Prevention Coalition, funded by BHDDH, has been working
with the Narragansett Tribe, whose land is within their service area. A member of the tribe now sits
on their coalition and participates in planning of prevention initiatives, including underage drinking.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing

Description of program: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: BHDDH Yes
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: BHDDH requires use of evidence-based programs and
practices by all funded prevention providers, and the Strategic Planning Framework (SPF) is the
planning model. The state has also promulgated rules and regulations for certification of prevention
programs. These are incorporated into contracts.

Additional Clarification

Beyond recommending use of evidence-based practices, we have not published standards specific to
underage drinking.

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:

Name: Elizabeth Kretchman

E-mail: Elizabeth.kretchman@bhddh.ri.gov

Address: BHDDH, 14 Harrington Rd., Cranston, Rl 02920

Phone: 401-462-0644
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Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:

Tobacco-Free RI

Youth Pride of RI, Inc.

RI Department of Education

RI Dept. of Children, Youth and Families

Mothers Against Drunk Driving-RI

Brown University

Ocean State Prevention Alliance

University of Rhode Island

Mental Health Consumer Advocate of RI

RI Youth Suicide Prevention Project

Rhode Island Student Assistance Services

Representation from municipal prevention coalitions

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Prevention Services, BHDDH
Plan can be accessed via: Contact Elizabeth.kretchman@bhddh.ri.gov

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Statewide Epidemiology and Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW)
Plan can be accessed via: Please contact Elizabeth.kretchman@bhddh.ri.gov

Additional Clarification

Underage drinking is included in the Prevention Strategic Plan, and report(s) on underage drinking are
included in SEOW reports. No free-standing plans or reports published.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $930,500

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Other programs:

No data

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

Additional Clarification

The state uses Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SAPTBG) funding for Student
Assistance Programs (SAPs) in a number of middle and high schools and has a SAPTBG-funded
school-based prevention initiative. SAPs and the school-based initiatives work to prevent underage
drinking, but are not funded expressly for this purpose. The state uses other federal dollars to support
alcohol compliance surveys and activities; these are carried out by local law enforcement.

770 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — South Carolina

e
R

- -

-
S
- -

South Carolina

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 4,774,839
Population Ages 12-20: 538,000

Percentage
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.9
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.9
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.4
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.9
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.3
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 449
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 29.8

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 41

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian’s home

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian’s home

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to
retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession

e Underage consumption

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 120 days
Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months
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e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 15 years, 6 months
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 6 p.m.—may only drive unsupervised during daylight hours; nighttime
is defined as starting at 6 p.m. EST or 8 p.m. EDT
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than two nonfamily passengers under 21 unless
supervised by driver at least 21 years (unless transporting students to school)
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):

e Private residence AND EITHER

Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

e There is an affirmative defense if the minor is not charged

Note: South Carolina’s parent/guardian and spouse exceptions apply when the alcohol is
furnished in the home of the spouse or in the home of the parent or guardian.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No written guidelines

Responsible Beverage Service
No beverage service training requirement

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: Not specified

e Wine: Not specified

e Spirits: 21

Note: Although no minimum age is specified to sell beer and wine at off-sale establishments
licensed to sell beer and wine, an employee of a retail liquor establishment must be at least
21 years old.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet if school is within a municipality;
within 500 feet if school is outside of a municipality.
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet if school is within a municipality;
within 500 feet if school is outside of a municipality.
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession, consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Other

e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Overt act—host must have
actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements: None

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting requirements: None

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

o Keg definition: 5.16 gallons or more

e Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $500/30 days
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500/30 days

774 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — South Carolina

e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Home Delivery
e Beer: Nolaw
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.77 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $1.08 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $2.96 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 5 percent

Note: Base tax rate is $2.72 per gallon plus a 9 percent surtax of $0.24 added to the base rate, for
a total of $2.96 per gallon.

Drink Specials

e Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis.

e Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

e Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

e Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted before 4 p.m. or
after 8 p.m.

e Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted
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South Carolina State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
State Law Enforcement Division (SLED)

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct SC Law
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Enforcement Div.
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 985
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if Vs
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 16,000
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
. . 1,571
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 257
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both
retail establishments

Both on- and off-sale
establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 1571
decoy operations '
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 257

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations

to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes

to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 7,830
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 941
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
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State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that Yes
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state* 257
Total amount in fines across all licensees $150,000
Smallest fine imposed $50
Largest fine imposed $2,000
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 3
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 55
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 6
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

South Carolina Alcohol Enforcement Teams (AETs) — Enforcement Efforts

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 440,358
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

http://ncweb.pire.org/scdocuments/documents/301AnnualReport2013.pdf

URL for more program information:
http://www.scoutoftheirhands.org/environmental-enforcement-strategies.html

Program Description: The AETs are a statewide network of local law enforcement and prevention
agency partnerships. Each of 16 judicial circuits has an AET that conducts best-practice law
enforcement operations while offering prevention activities and raising community awareness. Typical
enforcement strategies include compliance checks, public safety checkpoints, and controlled party
dispersals. The program is separated into two parts (enforcement and education) in this report to
distinguish the numbers served by enforcement efforts and education efforts. Given the population-level
impact of the strategies conducted by AETs (with no individual being directly “served), the state
considers the affected population to be almost its entire population of 14- to 20-year-olds.

South Carolina Alcohol Enforcement Teams — Education Efforts

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
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Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.scoutoftheirhands.org

Program Description: Typical education efforts include community presentations on underage drinking
and youth alcohol trends, casual contacts with young people who educate them about ongoing
enforcement, visits with alcohol retailers to discuss policy enhancements and ongoing enforcement, and
media engagement. We recorded a total number served in these efforts as 225,965. We cannot easily
calculate how many of these were youth and not adults. This total includes those reached with media
efforts. Limiting numbers served to those in formal or informal speaking engagements/community
contacts lowers the figure to 10,811. In addition to these citizen awareness efforts, the AETs also have
an active training component primarily aimed at instrucing law enforcement on proper ways to enforce
underage drinking laws. In FY2012, 28 trainings were held across the state with a total audience of 591,
mostly officers.

Substance Abuse Curricula Programs

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 7,703
Number of parents served 397
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report:
http://ncweb.pire.org/scdocuments/documents/301AnnualReport2013.pdf

URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: Most of the 33 local prevention providers deliver one or more substance abuse
prevention curriculum programs to youth, mostly for middle school ages. These include curricula
primarily focused on alcohol like Project Northland and Class Action and more general curricula like All
Stars and Life Skills Training. Forty-six curricula programs were offered in FY2013, with approximately
8,100 reached in these programs. There were also three adult curricula offerings, typically aimed at
parents to reduce youth substance use.

Palmetto Retailer Education Program (PREP)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report:
http://ncweb.pire.org/scdocuments/documents/301AnnualReport2013.pdf

URL for more program information:
http://www.daodas.state.sc.us/prep _main.asp

Program Description: PREP is a merchant education program designed and offered in South Carolina
for those who sell alcohol or tobacco products. PREP is almost exclusively offered by local alcohol and
drug service providers. The state’s Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS)
supports the program by purchasing most of the local materials, making content updates, maintaining the
website, maintaining a database of participants and trainers, and sending out certification cards to those
who pass the posttest. The program lasts 2.5 to 3 hours, with an additional section for on-premises
alcohol retailers. A total of 1,147 merchants were served in FY2013.

Community Action for a Safer Tomorrow (CAST)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
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Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information:

http://www.daodas.state.sc.us/prevention.asp

Program Description: In July 2009, Center for Substance Abuse Prevention awarded a Strategic
Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) to DAODAS. The SPF SIG is a 5-year, $10
million grant intended to prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse; reduce
substance abuse-related problems; and build prevention capacity and infrastructure at the state and
community levels. Eighty-five percent of the funds will be distributed to communities in South Carolina.
The South Carolina SPF SIG has been titled “Community Action for a Safer Tomorrow.* CAST
addresses two priority issues: alcohol-related (DUI) car crashes and underage alcohol use. These
priority issues are two of four that were identified by the State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup
(SEOW) through an intensive prioritization process. Using a data-driven process and in collaboration
with the department’s partners, 13 high-need counties were identified and funded in these priority areas.
State-level staff and funded communities follow the SPF steps to address priority areas; assess
prevention needs; build capacity; develop a comprehensive strategic plan; implement evidence-based
prevention programs, policies, and practices; and evaluate the process and outcomes. Two cross-
cutting SPF components are cultural competency and sustainability. CAST is coalition-driven at the local
level. Due to the broad range of strategies, mostly environmental, it is not possible to determine a
number served for CAST.

Alcohol Education Program (AEP)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 763
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: AEP is a diversionary program option for youth charged with an alcohol-related
offense. State law requires all 16 solicitors to operate an AEP, although each can determine the fines
and programs involved. (The solicitors are equivalent to county district attorneys, but instead of serving
one county, these elected officials serve multiple counties in the 16 judicial districts throughout the state.
Some of the judicial circuits include two counties, and one of the circuits has up to five counties. The
solicitor serves the counties covered by the judicial circuit that they are elected to serve.) In most areas,
the DAODAS local provider is contracted to deliver an 8-hour alcohol education program. There are data
only for the number of youth who go through that system.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of No
underage drinking

Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing
Description of program: Not applicable

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
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Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Yes
(OJJDP)

Agency(ies) within your state: South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Yes
Drug Abuse Services

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: The state relies heavily on OJJDP‘s Strategies to Reduce
Underage Alcohol Use: Typology and Brief Overview (PIRE, 1999a). SC DAODAS has a Toolkit for
Evidence-Based Programs and Strategies with an environmental section on underage drinking
prevention that defines the effectiveness of a range of strategies. We are currently updating this list
of strategies.

Additional Clarification

No data
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Michael George
E-mail: mgeorge@daodas.sc.gov
Address: PO Box 8268, Columbia, SC 29202
Phone: 803-351-5862
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
SC Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services
State Law Enforcement Division
Greenville County Sheriff‘s Office
Phoenix Center
University of South Carolina
Clemson University
Department of Juvenile Justice
Joint Base Charleston
Lexington/Richland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission
Circle Park Behavioral Health Services
Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation
Behavioral Health Services Association
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Governor’s Council on Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment and SC
Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (SPF SIG focuses on addressing underage
drinking and alcohol-related car crashes in SC). South Carolina also includes underage drinking
prevention as a focus area in the Substance Abuse Prevention Treatment Block Grant (SAPTBG)
plan that is submitted to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration every year.
Plan can be accessed via: No data

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

Although South Carolina does not produce a report specific to underage drinking, the state does produce
an annual prevention outcomes report for SC that includes underage drinking prevention efforts.
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees Yes
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
A portion of the alcohol license fee goes to the State Law Enforcement Division for enforcement of
those licenses, which includes doing alcohol compliance checks.

Additional Clarification

No data
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South Dakota

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 844,877
Population Ages 12-20: 98,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.5 25,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.9 18,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.6 1,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.1 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.8 7,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15 5,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 49.6 17,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 36.4 12,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 15
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 883
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 12 1

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse
Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

e Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with
the purchase of alcohol.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving
BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Discretionary
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Length of suspension/revocation
e Minimum: 30 days
e Maximum: 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 14

e Minimum learner stage period: 3 months with driver education; 6 months without
e No minimum supervised driving requirement

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 14 years, 3 months
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 10 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e No passenger restrictions

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Incentive for training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: Not specified

e Wine: 21

e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
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Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.
Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities

e Limitations on outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—no license on campus
— On-premises outlets: Yes—no license on campus
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation
Dram Shop Liability

There is no statutory liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Note: Exception is that a farm winery license (any winery producing wines with a majority of
the ingredients grown or produced in South Dakota) may ship no more than 12 cases of wine per
person per calendar year directly to a resident of another state, if the state to which the wine is
sent allows residents of the state to receive wine sent from outside that state.

Keg Registration

Keg definition: 8.00 or 16.00

Purchaser information collected: Purchaser’s name and address
Warning information to purchaser: Not required

Deposit: Not required

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Note: A “keg“ is defined as an 8- or 16-gallon reusable plastic or metal container.

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited
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Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.27 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $0.93 per gallon

e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale): 2 percent
e Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale): 2 percent

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $3.93 per gallon

e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale): 2 percent
e Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale): 2 percent

Drink Specials
No law

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post

e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost

e Price posting requirements: Post—10 days minimum hold only if price amended to match a
competitor’s post down

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e  Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost

e Price posting requirements: Post—10 days minimum hold only if price amended to match a
competitor’s post down

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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South Dakota State Survey Responses

State Agency Information
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Department of Revenue (DOR)
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct DOR
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 4,926
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if alcohol No
retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
- . 3 Do not
Number of retail licensees in state -
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Do not
(including random checks) collect
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 53”22,:
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/13/2013
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both Not
retail establishments applicable
State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ NA

decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks NA
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine if

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors s
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 946
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 86
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Sanctions

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state’ 81
Total amount in fines across all licensees $81,500
Smallest fine imposed Unknown
Largest fine imposed Unknown
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically Yes
for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 4
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 45
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Unknown
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Unknown
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically for Yes
furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed®

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

The state does not operate or use state general funds to fund underage drinking
programming.

Program serves specific or general population No data
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: No data

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes

underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The state current funds one program for underage drinking with
Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) federal dollars on the Sisseton-
Wahpeton Reservation in the state.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising Yes
and marketing

Program description: The state is using SPF SIG and Substance Abuse Prevention

Treatment Block Grant (SAPTBG) dollars to fund local community coalitions for social

marketing, social norms campaigns, and media advocacy campaigns.
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention Yes
programs
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Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: Department of Social Services (DSS) Prevention Yes
Program No
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other:

Best practice standards description: Local coalitions are required to utilize Evidence-Based Programs
within local communities and schools with the federal grant dollars they receive from the state for
programming.

Additional Clarification

No data

State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Sandy Diegel
E-mail: sdiegel@jtvf.org
Address: John T. Vucurevich Foundation, 2800 Jackson Blvd., Suite 410, Rapid City, SD 57702
Phone: 605-343-3141
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Office of the Attorney General
Tribal Representative
Behavioral Health Representative
Representative from the Department of Social Services Leadership
SD National Guard
Representatives from the Prevention Network
Representative from Veteran‘s Administration
Education representative
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://sdprevention.wikispaces.com/SD+Prevention+Network+Home

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: The Behavioral Health Workgroup addressed the entire spectrum of behavioral issues
in the state including prevention. This document formed the basis for the development of the 5-year
strategic plan that includes underage drinking issues.
Plan can be accessed via: Five-Year Plan:
http://sdprevention.wikispaces.com/SD+Prevention+Network+Home

Lt. Governor's report: http://dss.sd.gov/behavioralhealthservices/index.asp
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: DSS has prepared an internal report on the process and outcome information related

to the SPF SIG—funded underage drinking coalitions. Final report will be completed spring 2015.
Plan can be accessed via: This interim report has not been posted on the website.

Additional Clarification
No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Date not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended $13,440
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
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Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: None supported with State funds.
Estimate of state funds expended $0
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

Not applicable
Additional Clarification
The Prevention Program for underage drinking contains no general funds. The funds utilized for

underage drinking activities include the following: SAPT block grant funds, SPF SIG funds, and funds
from the Office of Highway Safety.
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Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old

Drivers with BAC > 0.01

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Tennessee

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 6,495,978
Population Ages 12-20: 764,000

Percentage

17.6
11.6

3.1
14

15.4
9.5

32.8
22.9

Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities

18
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Number

134,000
88,000

7,000
3,000

40,000
25,000

86,000
60,000

109
6,551

Number

9
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
BAC limit: 0.02

BAC level above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
Applies to drivers age 16 or above

Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession

e Underage consumption (for those 18 and under)

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
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e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 11 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger, unless accompanied by driver over
21 or passengers are household members being transported to school
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—mno explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20

Note: Minors under 18 allowed only in extreme circumstances.

Appearance requirements
e Youthful appearance
e Male: No facial hair

ID possession
e Not specified

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Prohibited

Decoy training
¢ Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
e Time period/conditions: 1 year

e First offense: $300 to $1,000 fine
Responsible Beverage Service
Mandatory provisions

Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers
e Applies only to on-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets
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Voluntary provisions

Voluntary beverage service training
e Applies only to off-sale establishments
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentives for training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors
e Protection against license revocation for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Fact finder must determine that retailer knew
customer was a minor beyond a reasonable doubt.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Note: Biscan v. Brown held that a property owner who does not furnish the alcohol may be held
liable to third parties under common law if he/she knowingly allows minors to consume alcohol
on his/her property and it is foreseeable that minors may then operate motor vehicles. In that
case, the court held that the person who actually furnished the alcohol to the minor was shielded
from liability under Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-10-101.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence

Note: Social host liability in Tennessee is limited to an owner, occupant, or other person having
a lawful right to the exclusive use and enjoyment of property to knowingly allow an “underage
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adult* to consume alcoholic beverages, wine, or beer on the property. An “underage adult® is
defined as a person who is at least 18 years old but less than 21 years old.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $1.29 per gallon

e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale): 17 percent
e Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale): 17 percent

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $1.21 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 15 percent

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $4.40 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 15 percent

Drink Specials

e Free beverages: Prohibited

e Multiple servings at one time: Prohibited—not permitted after 10 p.m.
e Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited
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e Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after 10 p.m.
e Unlimited beverages: Prohibited
e Increased volume: Prohibited—not permitted after 10 p.m.

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—360 days minimum
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—10 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—10 days maximum
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Tennessee State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission and Local Law Enforcement

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
TN Alcoholic

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Be"efag.e
Commission
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 790
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations? to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 3,309
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
) . 814
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 267
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both Both on- and off-sale
retail establishments establishments
State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy .
: Not applicable
operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes
to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not available
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2014

Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that

. . Yes

furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state* No data
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data
Smallest fine imposed $1,500
Largest fine imposed $1,500 per violation
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® No data
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Tennessee Prevention Network

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 8,409
Number of parents served 143
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: The Tennessee Prevention Network is a statewide prevention program directed
at providing primary prevention services to individuals who have not been determined to require
treatment for substance abuse. The array of services falls into two categories. (1) Selective prevention
services, including programs and practices delivered to subgroups of individuals identified on the basis of
their membership in a group that has an elevated risk for developing substance abuse problems. An
individual’s personal risk is not specifically assessed or identified and is based solely on a presumption
given his or her membership in the at-risk subgroup. (2) Indicated prevention services, including
programs that focus on populations identified on the basis of individual risk factors or initiation behaviors
that put an individual at high risk for developing substance abuse problems. The individuals targeted at
this stage, although showing signs of early substance use, have not yet reached the point where a
clinical diagnosis of substance abuse can be made.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data
Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of No recognized

underage drinking tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable
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State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising Yes
and marketing
Program description: Tennessee funds 36 community coalitions using Partnership for Success and
Block Grant funds. These coalitions use environmental strategies intended to reduce or counter
alcohol advertising or marketing.
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Yes
Substance Abuse Services

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: Tennessee Evidence-Based Practice Workgroup Yes

Best practice standards description: Tennessee’s Evidence-Based Practice Workgroup has

established standards for evidence-based best practices such that a practice must meet at least one

of the following criteria.

1. Inclusion in federal registries of evidence-based interventions

2. Reported, with positive effects on the primary targeted outcome, in peer-reviewed journals

3. Documented effectiveness supported by other information sources and the consensus of informed
experts as described in the following set of guidelines, all of which must be met:

Guideline 1: The intervention is demonstrated to be similar in theory of change, general principles
of effective prevention, or content and structure to the interventions that appear in registries,
federal agency publications, and/or peer reviewed literature. Guideline 2: The intervention is
supported by documentation of effective implementation in the past, including at least one
replication. Guideline 3: The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by six or more
informed prevention experts, including well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced
in evaluating prevention interventions similar to those under review, and local prevention
practitioners and/or key community leaders as appropriate, such as officials from law enforcement
and education sectors or elders in religious communities.

Additional Clarification

No data
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Angela McKinney-Jones, State of Tennessee Director of Prevention Services
E-mail: angela.mckinneyjones@tn.gov
Address: Andrew Jackson Building, 5th floor, 500 Deaderick St., Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-532-7786
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Alliance of Citizens Together Improving Our Neighborhoods Coalition
Boys and Girls Clubs of the Tennessee Valley
Centerstone Community Mental Health Center
Community Anti-Drug Coalition of Jackson County
Community Anti-Drug Coalition of Rutherford County
Council for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services
Franklin County Prevention Coalition
Frontier Health
Grundy Safe Communities Coalition
Memphis/Shelby County Anti-Drug Coalition
Power of Putham
Professional Care Services of West Tennessee
Schools Together Allowing No Drugs Coalition
Students Taking A Right Stand-Nashville
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University of Memphis
Weakley County Alliance for a Safe and Drug Free Tennessee

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, Division of
Substance Abuse Services
Plan can be accessed via: No data

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not

available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not

available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $728,633

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $1,218,358

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $185,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $279,539

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $101,727

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014

Other programs: Other programs target youth that are economically disadvantaged

with educational programs.

Programs or strategies included: Education programs

Estimate of state funds expended $319,695

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

No data
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Texas

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 26,448,193
Population Ages 12-20: 3,376,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.7 766,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.4 486,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.3 49,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2 23,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.8 209,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.6 118,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.9 508,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 304 345,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 372
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 22,574
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 38 69

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: In Texas, a minor may possess an alcoholic beverage if the minor is in the visible
presence of his or her adult parent, guardian, or spouse.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: In Texas, a minor may consume an alcoholic beverage if it is in the visible presence of the
minor’s adult parent, guardian or spouse.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other
information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00

e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession

e Underage consumption
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 30 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 30 hours, 10 of which must be at night

Intermediate stage

e Minimum age: 16

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one nonfamily passenger under 21
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: In Texas, a person may purchase an alcoholic beverage for or give an alcoholic beverage
to a minor if the person is the minor’s adult parent, guardian, or spouse, or an adult in whose
custody the minor has been committed by a court, and the person is visibly present when the
minor possesses or consumes the alcoholic beverage.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: Not specified
e Maximum: 18

Appearance requirements
e Youthful appearance; attire typical for teenagers in target area
e Male: No facial hair

ID possession
e Discretionary

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Prohibited
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Decoy training
e Mandated—orientation meeting required

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: 3 years

First offense: 8- to 12-day suspension or $300 per suspension day

Second offense: 16- to 24-day suspension or $300 per suspension day

Third offense: 48-day suspension or license revocation/$300 per suspension day

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets

Incentive for training
e Protection against license revocation for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 16

e Wine: 16

e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:

e Limitations on who may sue: Retailers may be held liable if they are 21 or over and furnish
alcohol to a minor under age 18.

e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Knowledge of underage status.

Note: Any retailer may be held liable for furnishing alcohol to individuals 18 or older who are
obviously intoxicated to the extent that they present a clear danger to themselves or others at the
time of furnishing. There is no common law liability when the underage person is 18 or over.

It is unclear whether there is common law liability when the drinker is under age 18. Licensees
(but not their employees) are shielded from liability if the licensee requires all employees to
attend Responsible Beverage Service training; if the employee who furnished the minor attended
the training; and if the licensee did not directly or indirectly encourage the employee to violate
the law.
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Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:

e Limitations on who may be sued: Social hosts may be held liable if they are 21 or over and
furnish alcohol to a minor under age 18.

e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Knowledge of underage status.

Note: There is no common law liability when the underage person is 18 or over. It is unclear
whether there is common law liability when the drinker is under age 18.

Host Party Laws

No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—package store permittees must have a cartage permit. Vehicles used to
transport alcoholic beverages must be clearly marked.

e Wine: Permitted—package store permittees must have a cartage permit. Vehicles used to
transport alcoholic beverages must be clearly marked.

e Spirits: Permitted—package store permittees must have a cartage permit. Vehicles used to
transport alcoholic beverages must be clearly marked.

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.19 per gallon
e Additional taxes: $0.20 per gallon for alcohol content of more than 5 percent
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e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 14.95 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 6.25 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 8.70

Note: In Texas, holders of a wine and beer retailer’s permit or a beer retail dealer’s license are
subject to the state sales tax of 6.25 percent rather than the Ad VValorem Excise Tax On-Premises
rates.

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $0.20 per gallon

e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 14.95 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 6.25 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 8.70

Note: In Texas, the holder of a wine and beer retailer’s permit is subject to the state sales tax
rate of 6.25 percent rather than the Ad VValorem Excise Tax On-Premises rates.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $2.40 per gallon

e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 14.95 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 6.25 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 8.7 percent

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis.
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after 11 p.m.
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—25 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—25 days maximum
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State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both
retail establishments

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
. . . . . Texas Alcoholic
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Be"efag.e
Commission
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 1,841
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if Vies
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 47,606
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 8.940
(including random checks) '
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 1,029
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Both on- and off-sale
establishments

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 0
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 0

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations

to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes

to minors
Data are collected on these activities No

Data not available
Data not available
12/31/2013
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State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that ves
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state* 414
Total amount in fines across all licensees $963,000
Smallest fine imposed $900
Largest fine imposed $13,500
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 178
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 1,709
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 60
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 4
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Universal, Selective,
Indicated Programs

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 1,165,266
Number of parents served 259,942
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: DSHS funds over 130 programs that serve universal, selective, and indicated
target populations across Texas. Youth Prevention Universal (YPU) programs provide universal
prevention services for youth that preclude the onset of alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs (ATOD) use
and foster development of social and physical environments that promote healthy and drug-free
lifestyles. Individuals participate in the universal prevention programs without regard to individual risk
factors. The primary population is youth ages 6—18 (1st—12th grades) from the general population (e.g.,
all students in a school). The secondary population may include parents, grandparents, guardians, and
siblings of the youth participants or all members of the general community. Youth Prevention Selective
(YPS) programs provide selective prevention services for youth that preclude the onset of ATOD use by
those youth and foster development of social and physical environments that promote heatlhy and drug-
free lifestyles. Participants for the selective prevention programs are youth who have been determined
to be at risk for substance use. The primary population is youth ages 6—18 (1st—12th grades).
Participants are at high risk for substance use because they are exhibiting, or are subject to, risk factors
that increase their chances of developing a drug abuse problem, such as school failure, interpersonal
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social problems, delinquency, or other antisocial behaviors, or they have parents who use drugs. The
secondary population may include parents, grandparents, guardians, and siblings of the youth
participants. Youth Prevention Indicated (YPI) programs prevent or interrupt the onset or progression of
substance use for youth and young adults who exhibit early signs of substance use and other related
problem behaviors associated with substance use. The eligible primary population includes youth ages
11-17 (6th—12th grades) and young adults 18-21 years old who are in high school and meet the
program and curriculum criteria. These individuals may or may not be using substances, but may exhibit
risk factors such as school failure, interpersonal social problems, delinquency, or other antisocial
behaviors, or psychological problems, such as depression or suicidal behaviors that increase their
chances of developing a substance abuse problem. The individuals identified at this stage, although
showing signs of early substance use, have not reached the point where a clinical diagnosis of
substance use disorder can be made. The comprehensive indicated prevention programs must conduct
an indicated prevention screening that identifies the youth participant’s risk and protective factors in five
domains: individual, family, school, peer relationships, and community. The provider must facilitate
access to services not within the scope of prevention if the youth participant and/or family member needs
a more intensive level of service. In addition, indicated prevention counseling should be provided to the
youth in order to meet their needs with an indicated service plan that identifies the goals for each youth.
The secondary population may include parents, grandparents, guardians, and siblings of the youth
participants.

The YPU, YPS, and YPI programs provide a comprehensive approach that is inclusive of the six
effective Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) strategies: prevention education, drug-free
alternative activities, information dissemination, problem identification and referral, community-based
process, and environmental and social policy. One of these strategies is prevention education, which
provides an evidence-based curriculum with structured sessions. The 10 approved curricula used to
serve these at-risk and high-risk youth include the following: All Stars, Creating Lasting Family
Connections, Curriculum-Based Support Group, LifeSkills Training, Positive Action, Project Towards No
Drug Abuse, Reconnecting Youth, Strengthening Families 6-16, Strengthening Families 10-14, and Too
Good For Drugs. The outcomes are focused on ATOD prevention for many of these curricula, which
include underage drinking. The programs were funded through a competitive procurement process for
FY2014. These programs are delivered in schools and communities across the state by Certified
Prevention Specialists or Associate Prevention Specialists who deliver the curriculum approved by the
National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP).

The program must conduct alcohol and other drugs (AOD) presentations for youth and adults in school
and/or community settings. AOD presentations must have an educational goal and objective specific to
the presentation topic to prevent or reduce AOD among youth and adults. Presentation topics must
include the state‘s three prevention priorities: alcohol (underage drinking), marijuana, and prescription
drugs. AOD alternative activities are facilitated by prevention program staff and include an eduational
goal and objective to prevent or reduce substance use/abuse. AOD alternative activities must create
awareness of the health consequences of substance use/abuse, must be substance free and age-
appropriate, and must teach and/or reinforce skills that promote a healthy and substance-free lifestyle.
AOQOD alternative activities must serve as an alternative to activities that might otherwise lead to AOD use.

Department of State Health Services Community Coalition
Partnerships (CCPs)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: DSHS funds 44 community coalitions across Texas whose primary focus is
alcohol and underage drinking. Alcohol use is the number one choice of substances of abuse for
underage youth according to the Texas School Survey and the National Household Survey. Underage
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drinking is the focus for the 44 coalitions that provide effective environmental strategies addressing
community change through policies, attitudes, behaviors, and laws. The purpose of many of these
coalitions is to prevent and reduce underage drinking across Texas. Eligible populations include the
primary population of adolescents and young adults ages 18-25 in colleges and universities and the
secondary population of the general population across the lifespan within a community. The
environmental strategies must target communities based on identified gaps in services as shown by the
data collected to assess the needs of the community(ies). Services may target a specific zip code,
neighborhood, city, or county. The priorities in Texas for these community coalitions include alcohol,
marijuana, and prescription drug abuse. Many of the coalitions are involved in media awareness activities
including public service announcements, billboards, editorials, press releases, television, social norm
campaigns, and task force meetings. Task force members from the community come from various sectors
including youth; parents; law enforcement faith-based providers; business communities; media; schools;
civic and volunteer groups; health care professionals; organizations that serve youth, young adults, and are
involved in reducing substance abuse; etc. The task forces meet monthly or quarterly to determine
priorities for their catchment area. They begin by conducting a needs assessment to determine trends and
consumption patterns in their community. Coalitions implement evidence-based environmental strategies
and activities that target policy and social norm changes in the targeted community(ies). The coalitions
conduct a community needs assessment and develop a summary that includes region-specific data on
substance use consumption patterns, consequences, and risk factors; emotional and behavioral
prevalence data; population and cultural-specific effects; and data about assets that protect against
substance use and promote emotional well-being. The summary also includes data that identify trends in
incidence and prevalence of alcohol use, misuse, and abuse, and related problems for the targeted
community(ies). It identifies trends in incidence and prevalence of the secondary focus, which may be
marijuana or prescription drug use, misuse, and abuse, and related problems for the targeted
community(ies). It also includes data that demonstrate the prioritized risk and protective factors based on a
risk asessment that captures the specific cultural and demographics characteristics of the targeted
community(ies). This identifies who their target population will be in regard to alcohol including underage
drinking. Coalitions work with schools, univerisities, medical facilities, hospitals, emergency rooms, and
substance abuse treatment facilities, and look at local data from these areas including the Texas School
Survey, National Household survey, and local community surveys as well,

A total of $2,310,182 were awarded through a competitive procurement process in FY2014.

Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 65,972
Number of parents served 851
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://www.ojjdp-dctat.org
URL for more program information: http://www.tabc.state.tx.us

Program Description: EUDL is the only federal initiative directed exclusively at preventing underage
drinking. The program is administered by the Department of Justice’s Office of Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention and involves using strategic goals to reduce the availability of alcoholic
beverages to minors, defined as persons younger than 21 years old, throughout the 50 states, the
District of Columbia, and 5 U.S. Territories. Statutory authority for the EUDL Program can be found in
Section 504 of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act, 42 U.S.C. 5783.

Texas uses the EUDL grant to support activities in law enforcement, educational programs including
specialized law enforcement training, and innovative methods for reaching youth. Most recently, funding
has been used to encourage voluntary compliance from retailers, community members, and youth, as
well as to enforce the zero tolerance laws and Alcoholic Beverage Code throughout the state. Law
enforcement campaigns have been conducted to prevent the sale of alcohol to minors and enforce social
hosting/third-party provision laws. Educational and prevention campaigns have been conducted to
educate youth on the laws and consequences of underage drinking as well as provide youth with
examples of alternative solutions to underage drinking.
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Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification

No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of
underage drinking

strategy includes a structured evidence-based curriculum approved on NREPP.

Yes

Description of collaboration: The Department of State Health Services meets with two of the federally
recognized tribes annually. Discussions and collaboration continue with local substance abuse and
mental health providers and tribal leaders. A Memorandum of Understanding between the tribes and
DSHS is currently in draft. Currently, the Department funds the Ysleta Del Sur Tigua Tribe to provide
prevention services to the indicated population. They implement a comprehensive program with the
six effective Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) strategies. The prevention education

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising Yes
and marketing
Description of program: No data
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:
Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Yes
Administration ‘s CSAP
Agency(ies) within your state: No
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: CSAP has provided the states with tools to implement the
Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF). The Center for the Application of Prevention Technologies
(CAPT) system provides an opportunity for Texas grantees to receive training around the SPF steps.
These steps have been incorporated within the procurement application and the scopes of work for
the prevention contracts. Both the prevention resource centers (PRCs) and the community coalition
partnerships (CCPs) begin their services by conducting a regional and community needs assessment
to determine the need within their catchment area. The data collection component has now been
incorporated within the scope of the regional PRC, and a position has been allocated to analyze the
data. The PRCs will work with local entities such as universities, emergency rooms, and hospitals to
determine the trends and consumption rates in order to move forward with effective environmental
strategies within their area. Many of the coalitions also incorporate environmental strategies by

working with a task force to mobilize community sectors to work toward a change in policy, behaviors,
attitudes, and laws. Because the task force meets on a monthly or quarterly basis, it is able to report
on change that has occurred once action has been taken. Community surveys will also be conducted
in order to report the information from nontraditional target populations that reside within the area.
This information will be compiled to help assist with the priorities for the region. The coalitions will
focus on alcohol, marijuana, and prescription drug abuse based on regional needs assessments,
treatment admission rates for youth in treatment facilities in Texas, and data from the Texas School
Survey. Evidence-based programs for youth are currently being implemented at over 133 sites and
will include two family-focused curricula: (1) Strengthening Families and (2) Creative Lasting Family
Connections. Also in use are another eight curricula: (1) LifeSkills Training, (2) Project Toward No
Drug Use, (3) Curriculum Based Support Groups, (4) Reconnecting Youth, (5) All Stars, (6) Positive
Action, (7) Too Good For Drugs, and (8) Strengthening Families. A comprehensive approach
includes the six effective CSAP strategies: prevention education, information dissemination,
alternative activities, problem identification and referral, community-based process, and
environmental/social policy, which are incorporated in the program design of the YPU, YPS, and YPI
programs.
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Additional Clarification

State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or No
address underage drinking prevention activities

Committee contact information:
Not applicable

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Not applicable

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: See the response provided by Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT).
Plan can be accessed via: TxDOT Annual Report,
https://www.txdot.gov/apps/eGrants/eGrantsHelp/index.html and the Texas TxDOT Texas Highway
Safety Plan: https://www.txdot.gov/apps/eGrants/eGrantsHelp/index.html

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: See TxDOT. Contact Frank Saenz at 512-416-2235.
Plan can be accessed via: No data

The Department of State Health Services oversees the Drug Demand Reduction Advisory Committee
(DDRAC), which has established an memorandum of understanding with over 16 state agencies. The
77th Texas Legislature (2001) passed Senate Bill 558 establishing the Committee with a mandate to
develop comprehensive statewide strategy and legislative recommendations that will reduce drug
demand in Texas. The statute mandates that 16 state agencies participate in this effort, as well as five
at-large members from different geographical areas within the state. The focus in the past has been
prevention, treatment, and enforcement. Priorities for the current year appear to be prescription drug
abuse and neonatal abstinence syndrome. The overall effort can be located at
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/sa/ddrac/default.shtm.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:

812

Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

$520,945
12/31/2013

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $50,044,390

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 08/31/2014
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $35,089,977

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 08/31/2014
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $18,785

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
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Estimate of state funds expended $0
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:

Estimate of state funds expended $0
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No data

Fines No data

Fees No data

Other: No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:

No data

Additional Clarification

One source of funding is the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SAPTBG).

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 813



State Reports — Utah

N

™

Utah

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 2,900,872
Population Ages 12-20: 389,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 145 56,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.2 40,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 2.9 4,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15 2,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 11.8 16,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 8.1 11,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.3 37,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 22.2 27,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 32
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,954
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 22 2

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other
information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false 1Ds.
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

e Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for any
losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale.

e Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with
the purchase of alcohol.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.00

e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession
e Underage consumption
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No passengers who are not immediate family members, unless
accompanied by driver over 21
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17. Passenger restrictions are lifted at age 16 years,
6 months; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 19

Appearance requirements

e Age-appropriate appearance with no age enhancements
Males: clean shaven

Females: no excessive makeup or provocative attire

No jewelry on hands

Clothing consistent with casual attire worn by peer group

ID possession
e Required

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Prohibited

Decoy training
e Mandated
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

e Time period/conditions: Not specified

First offense: 5- to 30-day suspension and/or $500 to $3,000 fine

Second offense: 10- to 90-day suspension and/or $1,000 to $9,000 fine

Third offense: 15-120 day suspension up to revocation and/or $9,000 to $25,000 fine

Note: List of mitigating and aggravating factors provided to retailers.

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Note: In Utah, the off-premises establishments subject to mandatory training are “off-premise
beer retailers.« “Off-premise beer retailers* are licensed to sell “beer,* which in Utah is any
product that contains not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight (ABW) and is obtained by
fermentation, infusion, or decoction of any malted grain.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 21

e Wine: 21

e Spirits: 21

Note: Although employees must be at least 21 years old to sell “liquor at off-sale
establishments in Utah, persons between 16 and 21 years old may sell “beer* (defined as
containing not more than 4 percent ABV or 3.2 percent ABW) on the premises of a beer retailer
for off-premise consumption if under the supervision of a person 21 years old or older who is
on the premises.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 21 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 21 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 21 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools

e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability

e Limitations on damages: $1 million limit for one person and $2 million limit for all injured
parties per occurrence

e Limitations on who may sue: Retailers that furnish beer only for off-premises consumption
are exempt.
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Note: Liability is strictly imposed for furnishing alcohol to an underage drinker. Evidence of
retailer’s negligence is not required.

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:

e Limitations on damages: $1 million limit for one person and $2 million limit for all injured
parties per occurrence

e Limitations on who may be sued: Social host must be 21 years old or older.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Not specified

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence

Note: In Utah, an individual may not knowingly conduct, aid, or allow an “underage drinking
gathering.” An “underage drinking gathering* means a gathering of two or more individuals: (a)
at which an individual knowingly serves, aids in the service of, or allows the service of an
alcoholic beverage to an underage person; and (b) to which an emergency response provider is
required to respond, except for a response related solely to providing medical care at the location
of the gathering. The definition does not otherwise specify a property type or an action by
underage guest.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Keg Registration
e Keg definition: Keg sales prohibited
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Control state

e Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price, specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Utah State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Utah Department of Public Safety, State Bureau of Investigations, Alcohol Enforcement Team

shipment laws
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ Don'‘t know

Not applicable
Not applicable
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State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law 301
enforcement agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law Don‘t know
enforcement agencies

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy opera’[ions2 to determine if Yes

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 1,830
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1295
(including random checks) '

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 198
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or On-sale

both retail establishments establishments only

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Numbgr of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 1830
operations ’
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 198

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to Yes

minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,307
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 120
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that Yes

furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state* 132
Total amount in fines across all licensees $185,600
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Smallest fine imposed $150
Largest fine imposed $18,000
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 106
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 772
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 45
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Additional Clarification

In the past, funding was provided for underage alcohol enforcement through a grant from the federal
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) in the form of an Enforcing Underage
Drinking Laws (EUDL) Block Grant. The Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
(UHSO) administered the grant with local and state law enforcement agencies. The funding was used to
create 25 multiagency task forces throughout the state that conducted party patrols, enforcement of
social host laws, shoulder-tap operations, parking lot surveillance, sobriety checkpoints with a focus on
youth, fake ID enforcement, and source investigations. Funding was also used to support Youth Court
Programs/Conferences, purchase equipment for law enforcement such as passive breath testers,
surveillance cameras/equipment, training for law enforcement geared toward youth alcohol enforcement,
and public information and education for the community as well as students in colleges and universities.

With the minimal funding left, the UHSO created a “UHSO Youth Alcohol Enforcement Challenge. The
challenge is a competition between law enforcement agencies. It recognizes and rewards the best
overall youth alcohol enforcement programs in Utah. The areas of concentration are party
patrol/enforcement of social host laws, shoulder-tap operations, parking lot surveillance, sobriety
checkpoints with a focus on youth, fake ID enforcement, and source investigations. Agencies may have
also participated in the EASY (Eliminate Alcohol Sales to Youth) statewide compliance check program.
Departments were required to submit an application that documented and/or summarized their agency’s
efforts and effectiveness in these areas. The winning programs were those that combined officer
training, public information, and enforcement to reduce underage drinking within their respective
jurisdictions.

This program is financed through remaining funding awarded through the OJJDP EUDL block grant. The
challenge hopes to increase state and local community effectiveness in their efforts to enforce underage
drinking laws, prevent underage drinking, and eliminate the devastating consequences associated with
alcohol use by underage youth. This competition is a way for departments to increase their attention on
youth alcohol enforcement. It provides an incentive for continuing youth alcohol enforcement activities,
and documentation of agency effectiveness that can be used for accountability to their community
leaders. This demonstrates the value of having a strong reputation of a department that prioritizes and
makes a commitment to ensure the success and future of their youth.

As a reward for this challenge, the UHSO provided a scholarship for officer(s) to attend the Northwest
Alcohol Conference held July 16-18, 2014, in Boise, Idaho. The cost covered travel, hotel, conference
registration, and per diem. See http://www.northwestalcoholconference.org for conference information.
Agencies applied by submitting department contact information beginning with agency contact, complete
mailing address, phone, fax, address, email, and number of sworn officers. They were asked to include
a detailed description of their agency‘s prior, current, and future plans/solutions for youth alcohol
enforcement activities/enforcement in their community. Applications were due April 1, 2014. Because of
the response, UHSO was able to provide 26 scholarships for law enforcement officers to attend the
conference.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes
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2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

8Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Protecting You Protecting Me (PYPM)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 2,000-3,000
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No URL available

Program Description: PYPM is an alcohol use prevention curriculum for children in grades 1-5 PYPM
is an educational program best used in a classroom environment. Curriculum is presented for 40-55
minutes, once a week for 8 weeks.

Parents Empowered

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served Approx. 750,000
Number of caregivers served Approx. 750,000
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://parentsempowered.org

Program Description: This statewide media program targets parents with teenagers ages 10-16 to
teach skills relating to talking points and recognizing alcohol use behavior. Media for dissemination
include a website, newspaper, prevention bulletins, and radio in English and Spanish. Press releases
are sent out on a quarterly basis to various media outlets. Collateral information is distributed at each
event.

Prevention Dimensions Teacher Training

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served Approximately 390
teachers annually
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.utahpd.org

Program Description: Prevention Dimensions is an educational program designed to prevent alcohol
and other drug use among students K—12. Teachers and/or prevention professionals teach curriculum to
students in health classes in various schools in Utah. Opportunities are provided to train teachers onsite
or at an afterschool facility to meet prevention objectives for reducing underage drinking.

All Stars

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Approx. 200/year
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
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Evaluation report is available Yes
URL for evaluation report; http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: All Stars is a school-based program for middle school students (11-14 years
old) designed to prevent or delay the onset of high-risk behaviors such as drug use, violence, and
premature sexual activity.

Prime For Life Under 21

Program serves specific or general population General population

URL for evaluation report:

Number of youth served Approximately 768
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.primeforlife.org/

Program Description: This program is designed to address and reduce underage drinking in at-risk
youth who have been referred for drinking offenses. It addresses risk factors such as having favorable

attitudes toward drug use and having access to alcohol.

Peer Court
Program serves specific or general population
Number of youth served

URL for evaluation report:
URL for more program information:

Specific population
Approximately 120

Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

Not applicable

No data

Program Description: This program is designed to advise all youth who come through several courts
throughout Utah. It assists youth offenders in gaining life skills and resources through prevention
programs, so they can get out of the criminal justice system as soon as possible.

Strengthening Families (SFP)
Program serves specific or general population
Number of youth served
Number of parents served Approximately 120
Number of caregivers served Approximately 120
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

General population
Approximately 150

URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: SFP is a family skills training program designed to increase resilience and
reduce risk factors for behavioral, emotional, academic, and social problems in children 3-16 years old.

Parenting with Love & Logic
Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data

Number of parents served Approximately 200
Number of caregivers served Approximately 200
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data
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Program Description: This program is designed to target parents who may need to improve family
management and parenting skills. Classes are taught in elementary schools, local substance abuse
authorities, and other locations as needed.

Guiding Good Choices (GGC)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served Approximately 200
Number of caregivers served Same as above
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov

Program Description: GGC is a drug use prevention program that provides parents of children in
grades 4-8 (9-14 years old) with the knowledge and skills needed to guide their children through early
adolescence. Parents are referred or volunteer.

High Risk Skill Building — Supportive Education for Children of
Addicted Parents

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served Approx. 50/year
Number of parents served 35-40
Number of caregivers served 35-40
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://store.samhsa.gov/shin/content/MS939/MS939.pdf

Program Description: This program is designed for youth ages 4-17 from homes with parental
substance abuse and their kinship or foster caregivers. Youth will attend a support group 1 hour once a
week for 8 weeks. The program is supplemented with the Children’s Program Kit from the Substance
Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA, 2002).

Communities That Care (CTC)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Approx. 250,000/year
Number of parents served Approx. 250,000
Number of caregivers served Approx. 250,000
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://www.communitiesthatcare.net

URL for more program information: http://www.communitiesthatcare.net

Program Description: CTC employs a proven, community-change process for reducing youth violence,
alcohol and tobacco use, and delinquency, through tested and effective programs and policies. CTC
uses prevention science to promote healthy youth development. We guide local coalitions through a
tested five-phase process. CTC fosters young people’s well-being using a Social Development Strategy
that promotes opportunities, skills, and recognition. A rigorous scientific trial demonstrated that CTC
showed reductions in rates of youth violence, crime, alcohol, and tobacco use.

Parent and Teen Alternative Program — Adolescents

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 35-40 annually
Number of parents served 20-25
Number of caregivers served 20-25
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No
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URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: This program is designed to target youth ages 12—17 who have been referred by
the juvenile court or local school as a result of a substance use violation. It is held once a week for 2.5
hours over 6 weeks. It is an educational group held at Weber Human Services on topics such as
communication, addiction, stress management, goal setting, and prescription drugs.

Governing Youth Council (GYC)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Approximately 8,100
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: This peer leadership program targets youth ages 12—-18 from each secondary
school in more than 15 of the 29 Utah counties. The program focuses on leadership training, training on
prevention science, presenting and/or speaking to peers about substance abuse—related issues, and
development and implementation of alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use (ATOD) prevention activities
through GYC groups.

Prevention Dimensions

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 502,425
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://www.utahpd.org

URL for more program information: http://www.utahpd.org

Program Description: This is a classroom-based curriculum delivered by trained health teachers to
teach knowledge and skill-based practices for preventing and resisting ATOD. The curriculum is
designed to reach K through 6th-grade students throughout the state.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes

underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) meets
with the Tribal Indian Issues Committee (TIIC) at their bimonthly meeting. Communication remains
open as to how DSAMH can collaborate with the state’s nine tribes in participating in their prevention
efforts to reduce substance abuse (particularly underage drinking) and mental health risks. DSAMH
is also engaged in planning and discussing ways to develop a shared purpose and mission for TIIC
and participating in several Native American conferences and celebrations, such as the annual
Native American Summit.

DSAMH also offered scholarships to the TIIC for the Utah Substance Abuse Fall Conference, which
has been an ongoing partnership to help maintain traditional Native American breakouts and
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presentations relating to prevention, treatment, and justice. Vital prevention information on underage
drinking and family conflict regarding alcohol use and abuse is presented during these breakouts.
DSAMH maintains a willingness and commitment to work with the nine Utah tribes in collaborating on
resources to reduce substance abuse in Native American communities as well as increasing
community resources. The tribes are identified as sovereign nations; therefore, we are able to
collaborate only to the extent we’re allowed. Annually, we take opportunities to participate in the
Governor’s Native American Summit, other Native American conferences, and Indian Health
Services trainings and assist our LSAA network in providing resources and statistics on risk related to
underage drinking.

Some of these objectives are addressed during annual site visits and monitoring of the state’s
13 Local Substance Abuse Authorities (LSAAS), which collaborate on prevention and treatment
resources where necessary.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising Yes
and marketing

Program description: Parents Empowered Media Campaign

ParentsEmpowered.org is a media and education campaign funded by the Utah Legislature and
designed to prevent and reduce underage drinking in Utah by providing parents and guardians with
information about the harmful effects of alcohol on the developing teenage brain, along with proven
skills for preventing underage alcohol use.

The Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control is the lead agency for the campaign and is
working in partnership with other state agencies and organizations, including the following: Attorney
General‘s Office, Department of Health, Department of Public Safety/Highway Patrol and Highway
Safety Office, DSAMH, Juvenile Court, State Office of Education, Mothers Against Drunk Driving
(MADD) Utah Chapter, Utah Prevention Network, and Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence
Coordinating Council.

How was ParentsEmpowered.org formed? In 2006, in response to the alarming new research
compiled by the National Institutes of Health on how alcohol affects the developing teenage brain
(causing early addiction and brain impairment), the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
began an underage drinking initiative. They asked each state to form an eight-person Underage
Drinking Prevention Team with a representative from each of the state agencies affected by the
problems caused by underage drinking (e.g., the juvenile courts, DSAMH, schools, Department of
Health, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control).

The president of MADD-Utah joined this team when they were summoned back to Washington for a
round-table discussion. Teams from each of the 50 states met to discuss the problem of underage
drinking and come up with solutions. Their first task was to hold town hall meetings in schools and
community centers across their states, talk about the problems of underage drinking, and try to come
up with strategies to prevent it. To our credit, Utah held more town hall meetings than any other
state, and had more attendees.

The objective of ParentsEmpowered.org is to eliminate underage drinking in Utah, along with the
devastating effects that alcohol has on children. We do this by motivating and enabling parents to
take a more active role in keeping their children alcohol-free. Research shows parental disapproval
of underage drinking is the number one reason youth choose not to drink (SAMSHA, U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services, 2005).
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA and Center for Substance Abuse Prevention Yes
(CSAP)
Agency(ies) within your state: DSAMH and Department of Alcohol and Yes

Beverage Control, The 13 LSAAs that are funded by the 29 counties and state

and federal funding

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No
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Best practice standards description: We have adopted the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Guiding Principles document and created the Utah Guiding Principles, which outlines principles and
guidelines for substance abuse prevention programs, strategies, and policies in Utah, and is
designed to ensure prevention resources being used are effective and appropriate. The document
was created in partnership with the DSAMH, Utah Behavioral Healthcare Committee’s Prevention
Network, and Utah State Office of Education.

Much of this information has been taken from research cited by SAMHSA and the publication
Preventing Drug Abuse among Children and Adolescents (NIDA, 2003).

Before the implementation of any prevention program or activity, it is imperative to contact the
substance abuse prevention coordinator in each area. Consulting with these experts will help make
sure an appropriate, effective, and consistent message is delivered to each community.

We also follow CSAP’s (2009) evidence-based guidelines for implementing evidence-based policies,
programs, and strategies.

To ensure that all interventions are evidence-based, the DSAMH has convened an Evidence-Based
Workgroup to review proposed interventions. CSAP (2009) has created a guidance document with

criteria for evaluating whether an intervention is evidence-based. Interventions may be considered

evidence-based if they meet one of the following definitions:

Definition 1: It is included on DSAMH-approved federal lists or registries of evidence-based
interventions.

Definition 2: It is reported (with positive effects) in peer-reviewed journals.

Definition 3: Documented effectiveness supported by other sources of information and the
consensus judgment of informed experts, as described in the following set of guidelines, all of which
must be met. (Please note that all four criteria must be met.):

a. The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic or
conceptual model.

b. The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in registries and/or
the peer-reviewed literature.

c. The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively implemented multiple
times in a manner attentive to scientific standards of evidence and with results that show a
consistent pattern or credible and positive effects.

d. The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed prevention experts
that includes well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in evaluating prevention
interventions similar to those under review; local prevention practitioners; and key community
leaders as appropriate (e.g., officials from law enforcement and education sectors or elders from
indigenous cultures).

The Evidence-Based Workgroup will serve as the informed experts for Utah.

Additional Clarification
No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Mary Lou Emerson
E-mail: memerson@utah.gov
Address: Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council, 350 N State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: 801-538-1921
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Utah Department of Health
Weber Human Services
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Utah State Office of Education
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Indian Walk In Center

Department of Public Safety

DSAMH

Department of Human Services, Executive Director Office
Salt Lake City Mayor‘s Office
Bach-Harrison Research Company

Utah Council for Crime Prevention

Tooele County Substance Abuse

South Salt Lake Coalition

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

No

Underage Drinking Reports

Council

Plan can be accessed via: No data
Additional Clarification
No data

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes

Prepared by: DSAMH, Department of Alcohol and Beverage Control, Utah Prevention Advisory

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended

Estimate based on the 12 months ending

$36,714
12/31/2013

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
6/30/2013

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
6/30/2013

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
6/30/2013

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
6/30/2013

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
6/30/2013

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: None at this time
Estimate of state funds expended

Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
6/30/2013

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:
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Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: Allocation from General Fund Yes

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
The funding stream is from the general fund that is allocated to the Department of Alcohol and
Beverage Control and Department of Public Safety by the Utah Legislature each year to fund the
ParentsEmpowered.org media and education campaign, which is designed to prevent and reduce
underage drinking in Utah by providing parents and guardians with information about the harmful

effects of alcohol on the developing teenage brain and proven skills for preventing underage alcohol
use.

The Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control is the lead agency for the campaign and is
working in partnership with other state agencies and organizations, including the Attorney General‘s
Office, Department of Health, Department of Public Safety/Highway Patrol and Highway Safety
Office, DSAMH, Juvenile Court, State Office of Education, MADD Utah Chapter, Utah Prevention
Network, and Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council.

Additional Clarification

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 829



State Reports — Vermont

(\
e

™

Y

Vermont

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 626,630
Population Ages 12-20: 72,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 33.6 24,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 22.5 16,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.0 1,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.8 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.1 7,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.5 4,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 59.1 16,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 42.5 12,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 6
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 382
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 60 3

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Vermont does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report, it has a
statutory provision that makes it unlawful for a minor to “consume malt or vinous beverages or
spirituous liquors. A violation of this subdivision may be prosecuted in a jurisdiction where the
minor has consumed malt or vinous beverages or spirituous liquors, or in a jurisdiction where the
indicators of consumption are observed.« Laws that punish minors for displaying “indicators of
consumption® or for “exhibiting the effects* of having consumed alcohol, but do so without
reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession
for purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Nodriver’s license suspension procedure

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner stage period: 12 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours, of which 10 must be at night
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Intermediate stage

e Minimum age: 16

e Unsupervised night driving
— Night driving is not restricted

e Passenger restrictions exist: During first 3 months, the driver is restricted to driving alone or
with a licensed parent, instructor, or person at least 25 years old. During next 3 months, the
driver may also transport family members.
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20

Note: Director’s permission required for 17-year-olds

Appearance requirements

e Exhibit a young adult appearance
e Male: No facial hair

e Female: No excessive makeup

ID possession
e Required

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Prohibited

Decoy training
e Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

e Time period/conditions: Not specified

e First offense: Sale/service (non-compliance check) to 20-year-old: $250.00 fine; to 19-year-
old: $500.00 fine; to 18-year-old or younger: hearing

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
o Beer: 16
e Wine: 16
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e Spirits: Not specified

Note: Vermont statutes and regulations are silent on the minimum age of seller for distilled
spirits sold for off-premises consumption, which occur only in state-controlled outlets.
Vermont’s Liquor Control Board establishes minimum age of seller in its outlets as a matter
of internal board policy.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders

e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders

e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools

e No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists.

Note: Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 7, § 501 includes a responsible beverage service defense.

Social Host Liability Laws
Statutory liability exists.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer and wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21
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Keg Registration
e Keg definition: At least 5 gallons
e Prohibited: Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/2 years
e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
e Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
e Deposit required: $25
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Note: Although Vermont does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s
ID, it does require that the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth be recorded as they
appear on the purchaser’s identification.

Home Delivery
e Beer: No law
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $0.27 per gallon

e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 10 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 6 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 4 percent

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $0.55 per gallon

e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 10 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 6 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 4 percent

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited
Reduced price, specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

834 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — Vermont

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—there is a 14-day minimum hold. Each licensee
in wholesale dealer’s territory must receive at least one opportunity to buy at the changed
price.

e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Vermont State Survey Responses

State Agency Information
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Vermont Department of Liquor Control
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Vermont Dept. of
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Liquor Control
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 2,819
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if

. : : I . Yes

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors

Data are collected on these activities Yes

Number of retail licensees in state® 2,500

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies

. . 591

(including random checks)

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 50

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both Both on- and off-

retail establishments sale establishments
State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 591

decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 50
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors N
Data are collected on these activities Not applicable
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that Yes
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state’ 7
Total amount in fines across all licensees $2,100
Smallest fine imposed $300
Largest fine imposed $300
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

o o ; Yes

specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 28

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 28

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1

Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Additional Clarification

No clarification required.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

School-Based Substance Abuse Services (SBSAS) Program

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://healthvermont.gov/adap/sap/StudentAssistanceProgram.aspx

Program Description: The SBSAS grant provides and enhances substance abuse prevention and early
intervention services in Vermont schools, leading to reductions in students’ alcohol and other drug use.
Twenty-one awards, up to $40,000 each (totaling approximately $800,000), were made resulting from a
competitive process that considered need, readiness, strength of proposed plan, budget, and number of
students to be served. A 10 percent match in funds or in-kind services was required. We anticipate
these will be 3-year continuation grants contingent on satisfactory performance and availability of funds.
Training and evaluation services will be supported statewide with up to $30,000.

For the funded services, required activities include (1) support of coordinated school health initiatives (all
21 grantees) and (2) screening and referral to substance abuse and mental health services (all 21
grantees). Optional activities include:

» Support of classroom health curricula (17 grantees)

« Advising and training of youth empowerment groups (20 grantees)

» Delivery of parent information and educational programs (20 grantees)

» Delivery of teacher and support staff training (21 grantees)

» Delivery of educational support groups (17 grantees)

ParentUp
Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served 8,002
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
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Evaluation report is available Yes
URL for evaluation report: only hard copy available
URL for more program information: http://www.ParentUpVT.org

Program Description: In 2010, the Health Department’s Prevention Unit of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Programs (ADAP) created the ParentUp campaign to educate parents about roles and responsibilities
related to the dangers of underage drinking. The campaign addresses parents of middle school and high
school students with age-specific information. An online resource center was created and promoted with
direct mail, radio ads, and online advertising. With limited funds, ADAP continues to advertise ParentUp.
The overall program goals are to: (1) increase the number of parents who talk with their children about
underage drinking and (2) increase parents’ awareness of underage drinking laws and consequences.

Stop Teen Alcohol Risk Team (START)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: START started as a statewide system of taskforces to reduce underage drinking
in Vermont, but due to decreased funding from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
it no longer operates statewide. Three counties receive START funding to increase enforcement for
underage drinking and to support implementation of research-based prevention being undertaken by
substance abuse coalitions. START programs are encouraged to increase enforcement of the underage
drinking laws by addressing locally identified, unmet needs. This program is funded by the Enforcing
Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) program.

We Check ID — 1-866-ITS-FAKE

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: This statewide telephone system uses computers and staff to answer a
telephone line. The line supports stores with identification (ID) verification. We Check ID — 1-866-ITS-
FAKE is the publicized name of the project aimed at preventing sales to minors. Clerks can call the
number to verify the match between the name on an ID (from any state) and the date of birth. Thisis a
federally funded program (EUDL funds).

Annual College Symposium

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: In October 2013, Castleton State College hosted the 2nd Annual College
Symposium to address high-risk drinking sponsored by the Vermont Department of Health. The
Symposium provided an opportunity to showcase some of the efforts to address this issue, and to learn
more about implementation and how those efforts might be replicated on other campuses. St. Michael's
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College, Middlebury College, the University of Vermont, Castleton State College, Johnson State College,
and Marlboro College provided information on their programs and initiatives focused on student
engagement, parent engagement, screening, and recovery and community partnerships. More than 100
participants represented 15 colleges and universities, community coalitions, law enforcement, court
diversion, and Health Department staff.

Partnership for Success (PFS)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: The PFS grant is a 3-year (10/1/12—-9/30/15) cooperative agreement with
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Its purpose is to reduce underage
drinking and prescription drug misuse and abuse. In collaboration with multiple state and local
community partners, the Vermont Department of Health (VDH) supports regional prevention strategies in
the 6 out of 12 VDH Districts identified through an analysis of prevalence data, size of target population,
and socioeconomic disparities. Each region must employ evidence-based prevention strategies. The
grant also supports training and communications activities aimed at strengthening the prevention
infrastructure in all 12 districts of the state.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification

With the exception of the SBSAS program, all programs related to underage drinking prevention are
federally funded.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention

Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the No recognized tribal

prevention of underage drinking governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising Yes

and marketing
Program description: The Healthy Retailer Program takes into account that supermarkets provide a
larger selection of healthy foods at lower prices compared with smaller grocery and convenience
stores. These smaller stores are often frequented by Vermonters who do not have regular access to
full-scale supermarkets and thus may be exposed to more unhealthy choices. A public health best
practice includes implementation of strategies that create an environment where making a healthy
choice is an easy choice. The VDH’s Healthy Retailers Program promotes healthy choices at small
retailers throughout Vermont and brings together the Tobacco Control, Alcohol and Drug Prevention,
and Nutrition Programs.

Project Goal: The goal of this initiative is to further health promotion efforts by changing the
environment within independently owned grocery and convenience stores. By reducing tobacco and
alcohol marketing while promoting healthy foods, independent retailers can make small changes that
will make a big impact.

Strategies:

» State-level health promotion programs worked collaboratively with a marketing agency to create a
resource guide providing background information, strategies for working with retailers, and
methods for engaging the community.
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» Community partners work with retailers to promote healthy choices using VDH’s Small Change
Big Impact Resource, while limiting point-of-purchase advertising for tobacco and alcohol.
Community coalitions work together to determine how to best serve the needs of the retailers,
their customers, and the community.

« Coalitions and community partners receive ongoing technical assistance and networking
opportunities as they work collectively to reduce tobacco use, decrease alcohol consumption, and
improve healthy choices.

» VDH provides promotional materials to increase healthy options including fresh fruits and
vegetables and serve as a replacement for advertising of some of the unhealthy messages.

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA Yes
Agency(ies) within your state: No
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: Best practice standards are based on the CSAP’s (2009)
Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions Revised Guidance Document for the
Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant Program and Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention‘s The Guide to Community Preventive Services (Zaza, Briss & Harris, 2005).

Additional Clarification

For Vermont standards, go to
http://healthvermont.gov/adap/prevention/SPF/documents/FinalDraftGuidanceNov2008.pdf

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Mitch Barron
Email: mitchb@howardcenter.org
Address: Centerpoint Adolescent Treatment Services, 1025 Airport Drive, South Burlington, VT
05403
Phone: 802-488-7711
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Vermont Department of Health
Vermont Department of Mental Health
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
Vermont Agency of Human Services
Prevention Works! VT
Vermont Center for Problem Gambling
Vermont Association of Mental Health and Addiction Recovery
Vermont Agency of Education
Vermont Department of Liquor Control
Vermont Court Diversion, Office of the Attorney General
Vermont Department of Corrections
Vermont National Guard
Montpelier Public Schools
Central Vermont Medical Center
Flood Brook School
Centerpoint Adolescent Treatment Services
Northwestern Counseling and Support Services
Vermont Department of State‘s Attorneys and Sheriff‘'s Association

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://healthvermont.gov/adap/vadaac/advisorycouncil.aspx

840 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — Vermont

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Vermont's Epidemiological Workgroup
Plan can be accessed via:
http://healthvermont.gov/adap/clearinghouse/documents/EpiProfileExecutiveSummary 2012March16.pdf

Additional Clarification
No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $50,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $8,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $830,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $930,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes Yes
Fines No
Fees Yes
Other: No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Youth who violate Vermont’'s underage possession and consumption of alcohol laws (7 VSA 865) may
participate in the Teen Alcohol Safety Program (TASP) or face a fine and driver’s license suspension.
Participants’ fees and State General Fund dollars support TASP, run by the Court Diversion program in
each county. Participants meet with a licensed or certified substance abuse counselor for a screening or
assessment (and must follow counselor recommendations), and may participate in an educational
program and perform community service. TASP case managers support youth to complete the program.
Assessment and treatment are not covered through TASP funding.

Additional Clarification

No data
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Virginia
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 8,260,405
Population Ages 12-20: 957,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.5 234,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.8 161,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.9 11,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 0.7 2,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.8 62,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.7 38,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use fale el
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use fala el
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 100
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 6,085
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 24 9

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Note: Virginia law provides for two separate family exceptions. First, Virginia permits persons
under 21 to possess alcoholic beverages due to such person’s “making a delivery of alcoholic
beverages by order of his parent.” For purposes of this report, the phrase “by order of his parent*
is interpreted as providing for parental consent. Second, Virginia permits underage possession
when an alcoholic beverage is provided to an underage guest in a private residence and the
underage guest is “accompanied by a parent, guardian, or spouse who is twenty-one years old or
older.“ The second exception is limited to specific locations, but the first one is not.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Virginia does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report, it has a
statutory provision that makes it unlawful for a minor to “exhibit evidence of physical indicia of
consumption of alcohol.* Laws that punish minors for displaying “indicators of consumption*
or for “exhibiting the effects* of having consumed alcohol, but do so without reference to a
blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession for purposes

of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.
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Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving
BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession

e Underage consumption

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e Minimum: 180 days
e Maximum: 365 days

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession

e Underage consumption

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 180 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner stage period: 9 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 45 hours, of which 15 must be at night

Intermediate stage

e Minimum age: 16 years, 3 months

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: For first year, no more than one passenger younger than age 21
who is not family or household member unless the driver is accompanied by a parent or
person acting in loco parentis; then, no more than three passengers younger than age 21 who

844 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — Virginia

are not family or household members unless driving to or from a school-sponsored activity or
accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 17
e Maximum: 19

Appearance requirements
e Youthful in appearance and shall not appear older than their true age

ID possession
e Required

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Prohibited

Decoy training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
e Time period/conditions: 3 years
e First offense: $2,000 fine or 25-day license suspension

Note: For first offense in 3-year period, if licensee can demonstrate that its employees have
received Responsible Beverage Service training in 12 months preceding violation, licensee can
accept a reduced penalty of $1,000 fine or 5-day license suspension.

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments
e Applies only to existing outlets

Incentive for training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: Not specified

e Wine: Not specified

e Spirits: Not specified
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Note: Although bartenders are generally required to be at least 21 years old in Virginia, a person
who is at least 18 years old may sell or serve beer for on-premises consumption at a counter in an
establishment that sells beer only. A person who is at least 18 years old may also sell or serve
wine for on-premises consumption in an establishment that sells wine only.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

846

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation
Dram Shop Liability

There is no statutory liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Permitted

e Wine: Permitted

e Spirits: Prohibited

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer and wine with the

following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21
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Keg Registration
e Keg definition: 4 gallons or more
e Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg: Maximum fine/jail—no penalty specified
— Destroying the label on a keg: Maximum fine/jail—no penalty specified
e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
— Address where keg will be consumed
e Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
Provisions specifically address disposable kegs

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—delivery permit required; four-case limit without written prior notification
to the state including the name and address to the intended recipient

e Wine: Permitted—delivery permit required; four-case limit without written prior notification
to the state including the name and address to the intended recipient

e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.28 per gallon

Note: Virginia imposes a tax of $0.2565 per gallon on each barrel of beer, defined as any
container or vessel having a capacity of more than 43 ounces.

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after 9 p.m.
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Virginia State Survey Responses
State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
The Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control’s (ABC) Bureau of Law Enforcement has
continued to enforce the laws of the Commonwealth through several initiatives such as our Alcohol
Compliance Program. In FY2013, 3,084 overall checks were conducted, resulting in a compliance
rate of 85.4 percent. A total of 1,440 random checks were conducted, resulting in an alcohol
compliance rate of 85.7 percent. More than 9,832 criminal investigations were conducted, resulting
in 2,201 arrests, 1,224 written warnings, and 739 administrative violations against ABC licensed
establishments.

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/

shipment laws Ve

VA Dept. of Alcoholic
Beverage Control,
Compliance Division

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Numbgr of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 560
agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement No
agencies
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes
to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 17,687
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
. . 3,084
(including random checks)
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 450
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off- Both on- and off-sale
sale, or both retail establishments establishments
State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance
. 1,440
checks/decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 206
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting Yes
sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable
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Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that Yes
furnish minors

Number of fines imposed by the state* 343

Total amount in fines across all licensees $704,150

Smallest fine imposed $750

Largest fine imposed $7,500

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 4/30/2014
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail

) o L . Yes

establishments specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 110

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 2,610

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 3

Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 60

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 4/30/2014
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail

. o R : Yes

establishments specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed® 1

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 4/30/2014
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Youth Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention Project (YADAPP)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 412
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served 95
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.yadapp.com;
https://www.facebook.com/YadappGuy

Program Description: The YADAPP summer leadership conference is a team-based leadership
experience for high school students and sponsoring adults. YADAPP is designed to empower teams of
high school students with the resources and mativation to develop projects that promote school safety
and the prevention of alcohol and drug use among their peers. Since 1984, approximately 440 different
high schools and community organizations and more than 10,000 students have participated in this
unique “youth-led” experience. All high schools and community organizations in Virginia are encouraged
to send a team to YADAPP. YADAPP conference objectives are to

» Broaden participant knowledge of substance abuse prevention at the state, local, and regional level
» Teach leadership skills and attitudes to address common issues among their peers

* Allow youth from across Virginia the opportunity to network

* Teach youth to work in teams to create a substance prevention activity for their school or community

The 29th Annual YADAPP conference was held at Longwood University July 15-19, 2013. Ninety-three
youth teams representing schools and communities across Virginia participated in the conference. The
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conference format consists of a variety of educational and instructional activities for both youth and adult
participants. Youth participant activities were focused on developing structured problem-solving, action
planning (Strategies To Act Now [STAN] plan), communication, teamwork, and relationships. Activities
at the weeklong conference included:

* Motivational general sessions

* Educational free-round workshops

» Experiential learning and teambuilding
* STAN planning participant structure

The summer leadership conference used six different levels of participation and was centered on the
experience of youth participants and adult sponsors. The levels, which represented steps toward
increasingly responsible leadership opportunities, enriched the conference experience. The conference
was a collaborative effort between all participant levels, which consisted of 372 youth participants, 95
adult sponsors, 40 youth leaders, 24 junior staff, 5 conference interns, and 12

resource officers.

College Tour

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: Since 1986, the Virginia ABC has sponsored a college conference on alcohol
education and prevention for college students and the higher education community. The College Tour
model is an expansion of the college conference, with a goal of reaching more students across the state.
College Tour partners with Virginia’'s colleges and universities to host a series of five 1-day regional
conferences that focus on preventing and reducing underage and high-risk drinking and preventing
alcohol-related injuries and fatalities by promoting healthy choices, social responsibility, collaboration,
and leadership. Each 1-day conference unites student leaders and college staff with the common goal of
making a difference on their campuses. The workshops equip participants with best practice strategies
to prevent and reduce underage and high-risk drinking on their campuses and the opportunity to network
and share resources with others. Five College Tour stops will occur in 2014. (No stops occurred during
this reporting period, but survey, research, and planning continued.)

Underage Buyer (UAB) Program

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report:
https://www.abc.virginia.gov/enforcement/uab-program/uab-results
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: The Virginia ABC frequently recruits teenage youth for part-time employment in
its UAB program. The UAB program is an ongoing effort by ABC to visit alcohol and tobacco retailers
throughout the Commonwealth to verify compliance with the state age requirements—18 for tobacco and
21 for alcohol sales. Candidates must be 15-17 years old to qualify for the tobacco program and 17-19
years old for the alcohol program. Operatives must be willing to testify in court if necessary, and they are
asked to refrain from discussing their ABC activities with others to protect the integrity of the program.
Special agents, who are sworn police officers from ABC’s Bureau of Law Enforcement, accompany

underage operatives during attempts to purchase cigarettes or alcohol at grocery stores, convenience
stores, restaurants, and other businesses, including state ABC stores. The operatives are instructed not
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to alter their appearance or mannerisms or mislead clerks in any way while attempting to make a
purchase. Operatives carry their own valid identification (ID). If the store clerk asks for ID, the UAB
presents his or her valid identification. Regardless of whether the sale is made, the operative leaves the
store immediately after the attempt.

ABC promotes zero tolerance for underage alcohol consumption as one of its most important messages.
Substance Abuse Awareness Vital for Virginia Youth (SAVVY)

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 15
Number of parents served 20
Number of caregivers served 155
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.vosap.virginia.gov/recognition.htmil;
https://www.facebook.com/VirginiaABCEducationandPrevention

Program Description: SAVVY, launched in 2012, is a collaborative effort among state agencies and
community partners to promote successful substance abuse prevention efforts. The initiative is designed
to inform parents, educators, students, and youth advocates about the dangers of substance abuse.
SAVVY sponsored expos throughout Virginia to provide up-to-date prevention information to everyone
concerned about Virginia’s youth. The fourth, and final, SAVVY Expo occurred at the Southwest Virginia
Higher Education Center in Abingdon, VA.

Miss Virginia School Tour

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 3,400
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: ABC partnered with Miss Virginia to deliver an alcohol, tobacco, and drug
prevention message to approximately 3,400 students throughout Virginia. Miss Virginia incorporated
talking points provided by ABC and shared the “Dominion the Dog*“ activity booklet with elementary
school students. Miss Virginia presented a message entitled, Healthy Lifestyles for Virginia’s Youth.
The content of this message included, but was not limited to, the following topics:

* Get Moving Today for a Healthier Tomorrow — Miss Virginia’s personal platform encouraging youth to
be physically active, eat nutritious foods, make healthy choices, and respect others and themselves

» Saying NO to alcohol, tobacco, illegal substances, inhalants, and the improper usage of prescription
and nonprescription drugs

« |l effects of bullying (physical, verbal, emotional), including cyber-bullying

+ Effective leadership skills and the importance of community service

* Obeying and following rules

+ Healthy friendships and relationships

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data
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Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of No
underage drinking

Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing

Description of program: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking No data
prevention programs

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No data
Agency(ies) within your state: No data
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No data
Other: No data

Best practice standards description: No data
Additional Clarification

No data
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Jennifer Farinholt
E-mail: jennifer.farinholt@abc.virginia.gov
Address: 2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone: No data
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
ABC
Department of Education
Virginia Foundation for Healthy Youth
Department of Health
Department of Social Services
Division of Motor Vehicles
Department of Criminal Justice Services
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities
Department of Fire Programs
Virginia Commonwealth University School Community Collaborative
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.gosap.virginia.gov/about.html

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Not sure
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $250,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $4,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $10,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: development and distribution of ducational materials; 78,451
educational brochures were dispersed during this period. Also produced and distributed “DO NOT
SELL“ and “STICKER SHOCK® stickers to prevent underage sales and social providing.

Estimate of state funds expended $10,000
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No state funds were dedicated to the enforcement of underage drinking. These initiatives were funded
through the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws
grant.
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Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Washington

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 6,971,406
Population Ages 12-20: 825,000

Percentage

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)

23.8
15.5

6.9
4.3

17.4
12

44.3
28.4

Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old

Drivers with BAC > 0.01

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Number

196,000
127,000

19,000
12,000

45,000
31,000

133,000
85,000

71
4,291

Number

7
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Washington does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report,

it has a statutory provision that makes it unlawful for a minor to “be in a public place...while
exhibiting the effects of having consumed liquor.*“ Laws that punish minors for displaying
“indicators of consumption‘ or for “exhibiting the effects* of having consumed alcohol, but do
so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal
Possession for purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited, and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e |tis a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers
e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.
Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession
e Underage consumption
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage

e Minimum age: 16

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 1 a.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: First 6 months, no passengers under age 20 not in the
immediate family; after 6 months, no more than three passengers under age 20 not in
the immediate family
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20

Appearance requirements
e Must not be deceptively mature in appearance
e Shall not use a disguise or alter their appearance to look older

ID possession
e Discretionary

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Permitted

Decoy training
e Mandated—orientation required prior to field work

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
e Time period/conditions: 2 years
e First offense: 5-day suspension or $500 fine
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e Second offense: 7-day suspension, with monetary option only if mitigating
circumstances apply

e Third offense: 30-day suspension with no monetary option

e Fourth offense: Cancellation of license

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e Applies only to off-sale establishments
e Applies only to new outlets

Incentive for training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e DBeer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Note: There must be at least two adults 21 years old or older on duty supervising the sale of
spirits at the licensed premises.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 500 feet if the public elementary or secondary school
objects after receiving written notice
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 500 feet if the public elementary or secondary school
objects after receiving written notice
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits
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Dram Shop Liability
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Note: In Reynolds v. Hicks, the court held that a social host who furnishes alcohol to a minor can
be held liable for resulting harms to the minor who was furnished, but is not liable for injuries
caused by the minor to third parties.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Negligence—host must have
known or should have known of the event’s occurrence

e Exception(s): Family

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting requirements: None

Shipping label statement requirements
e Recipient must be 21.

Keg Registration
e Keg definition: 4 gallons or more
e Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $5000/1 year
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $5000/1 year
e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
— Address where keg will be consumed
e Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs
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Note: Under a special endorsement from the liquor control board, a grocery store licensee may
sell malt liquor in containers no larger than 5% gallons. Research revealed no similar container
size restriction imposed on other licensees.

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—To sell via the internet, a new license applicant must request internet sales
privileges. Existing licensees must notify the board.

e Wine: Permitted—To sell via the internet, a new license applicant must request internet sales
privileges. Existing licensees must notify the board.

e Spirits: Permitted—To sell via the internet, a new license applicant must request internet
sales privileges. Existing licensees must notify the board.

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.76 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.87 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax (On-Premises): $9.23 per gallon
Specific excise tax (Off-Premises): $14.25 per gallon
Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail): 17 percent
Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail): 37.5 percent
— Sales tax does NOT apply
— Sales tax: 6.5 percent
— Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate: 31 percent
Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale): 23.7 percent
Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale): 10 percent

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price, specified day or time: Not prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

Volume discounts: Banned

Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
Price posting requirements: Post

Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Retailer credit: Not permitted
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Washington State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Washington State Liquor Control Board

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

WA State Liquor
Control Board

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’'t know
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 16
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if Vies
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of retail licensees in state® 26,827
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
(including random checks) B2
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 786
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both
retail establishments

Both on- and off-
sale establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 1526
decoy operations '
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 303

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to Yes

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state*
Total amount in fines across all licensees
Smallest fine imposed
Largest fine imposed
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Not applicable
Not applicable
12/31/2013

Yes

397
$249,700
$300
$4,200
12/31/2013

862
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 82
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 573
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 3
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 2

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Washington State Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.starttalkingnow.org

Program Description: This multiagency, multipartner group provides cross-system coordination and
leveraged resources in support of underage drinking prevention efforts. The coalition is co-led by the
state alcohol and drug agency (Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery [DBHR]) and the state‘s
Liquor Control Board. The coalition also initiates and provides comments on communications efforts
regarding underage drinking and policy initiatives.

Annual Let‘s Draw the Line Between Youth and Alcohol Campaign

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 5,000
Number of parents served 2,000
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.starttalkingnow.org

Program Description: This campaign provides minigrants to communities to partner with law
enforcement to inventory alcohol advertising in their community and to increase community awareness
about underage drinking and local policy initiatives. This year, 44 communities have participated and
have involved more than 8,000 people across the state in underage drinking prevention efforts.

Law Enforcement Partnerships Initiative

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 50
Number of parents served 50
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Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.starttalkingnow.org

Program Description: This initiative provides support in targeted, high-risk communities for law
enforcement and community coalitions to coordinate implementation of compliance checks, alcohol
purchase surveys, and public awareness efforts regarding the enforcement efforts.

College Coalition on Substance Abuse Prevention

Program serves specific or general population Specific population
Number of youth served 3,000
Number of parents served 16,000
Number of caregivers served 200
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://ccsap.wsu.edu

Program Description: This organization provides training and professional development support to
college counseling and student affairs offices on issues impacted by alcohol and other drug use among
college students in the state. Their annual 1-day conference features presentations from some of the top
names in national and international research about alcohol and other drug issues, brain development,
the impact of substances on college athletes, and so on.

Start Talking Now Website

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served 2,000
Number of caregivers served No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.starttalkingnow.org

Program Description: This website is now our main vehicle for distributing news and materials
regarding underage drinking to individuals and groups. The site features information about current
trends in Washington State as well as information about biophysical impacts of substances on youth,
guidance for parents in talking about substance use, and multiple free materials for download.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification
No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes

underage drinking
Description of collaboration: DBHR provides direct funding to the state‘s 29 federally recognized
tribes to support services that prevent or treat substance abuse problems. Most of the tribes use
these funds to support prevention efforts, most of which focus on youth issues including underage
drinking.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol Yes

advertising and marketing
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Program description: In the past, Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) funds supported
statewide media campaigns. In 2013, the Washington State Coalition for Reducing Underage
Drinking (RUaD Coalition) decided that the funding available for media campaigns—following budget
cuts in the federal EUDL program as well as significant cuts to the budgets of partner agencies—
were insufficient to support quality statewide campaign implementation. However, several
community outreach efforts remain. For example, the DBHR communications manager arranged for
a major billboard company to run a series of underage drinking messages in 2013, and that
company continues to provide these messages free of charge.
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: DBHR Yes
Non-governmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: DBHR requires that 60 percent of the programs and strategies
implemented with the prevention set-aside from the federal Substance Abuse Prevention and
Treatment Block Grant (SAPTBG) be evidence based. DBHR has successfully converted its
prevention delivery system so it focuses on providing services to 52 high-risk communities, at least
one in each of the state’s 39 counties. Communities have been developing strategic plans for
addressing their community priorities, which must include underage drinking. In that process, best
practices for community coalitions are being practiced, and implementation of the Strategic
Prevention Framework is used as the planning platform for communities. Each participating
community is required to organize and support a community coalition, deliver both direct service and
environmental prevention services, and provide prevention/intervention services in the community‘s
schools.

Additional Clarification

No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Ray Horodowicz
Email: ray.horodowicz@dshs.wa.gov
Address: P.O. Box 45330, Olympia, WA 98504-5330
Phone: 360-725-3807
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
College Coalition for Substance Abuse Prevention
Juvenile court services/diversion
Faith community
Medical community
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
Native American tribes
Office of Attorney General
Treatment community
Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs
Washington Association of Substance Abuse and Violence Prevention
Washington Drug-free Communities
Coalition of Coalitions
Washington National Guard Counter Drug Task Force
Washington State Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)
Washington State Department of Commerce
Washington State Department of Health
Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, DBHR
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Governor‘s Office
Washington State Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
Washington State Partnership Council on Juvenile Justice
Washington State Patrol
Washington State Parent-Teacher Association (PTA)
Washington Traffic Safety Commission and Target Zero Task Forces
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.starttlakingnow.org

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery and Washington State Liquor Control
Board in conjunction with the Washington State Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking
Plan can be accessed via: www.starttalkingnow.org

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $52,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $3,200,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $23,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: Family Health and Safety Networks and Community Mobilization

Against Substance Abuse and Violence

Estimate of state funds expended $1,300,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Not applicable

Additional Clarification |

It is difficult to quantify dollars spent because the programs have multiple focus points. The dollar
amount given represents whole budgets for programs, not the specific pieces of the program that do
underage drinking prevention work.
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West Virginia
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 1,854,304
Population Ages 12-20: 212,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.0 57,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.2 43,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.8 4,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 4 3,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.2 14,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.8 9,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use ikl faleie
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use fale el
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 25
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,506
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 19 4

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other
information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the
purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e No minimum supervised driving requirement with driver education; 50 hours without,
of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 10 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
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e Passenger restrictions exist: For the first 6 months, no nonfamily passengers younger than 20
years old are permitted. For the second 6 months, no more than one nonfamily passenger
younger than 20 years old is permitted.

— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: West Virginia’s exception allows relatives by blood or marriage to furnish alcohol
to minors.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20

Appearance requirements
e None

ID possession
e Required

Verbal exaggeration of age
e Prohibited

Decoy training
¢ Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

e Time period/conditions: Not specified

e First offense: Can impose one or combination of following sanctions: Revoke license,
suspend license, place licensee on probationary status for no more than 12 months, or impose
monetary penalty not to exceed $1,000 for each violation

Responsible Beverage Service

No beverage service training requirement
Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 18

e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders

870 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — West Virginia

e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e Limitations on outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: No
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet. College and university have authority to
override state restrictions if done in writing.
— Alcohol products: Beer

Primary and secondary schools

e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: No
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet
— Alcohol products: Beer

Dram Shop Liability

e There is no statutory liability.

e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.
Social Host Liability Laws

There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Permitted

e Spirits: Prohibited

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.
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Shipping label statement requirements

e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Home Delivery
e Beer: Nolaw

e Wine: Permitted—direct shipper’s license required. Two cases per month.

e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Alcohol Tax
Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $0.18 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Drink Specials

No law

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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West Virginia State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

State Reports — West Virginia

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies
Number pertains to the 12 months ending
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies

Not applicable
Not applicable

No
Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors

Data are collected on these activities

Number of retail licensees in state®

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies

(including random checks)

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both

retail establishments

Yes

Yes
4,761

2.442

698
12/31/2013

Both on- and off-sale

establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 2 449
operations '
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 698

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations

to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes

to minors
Data are collected on these activities No

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state’
Total amount in fines across all licensees
Smallest fine imposed
Largest fine imposed
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Not applicable
Not applicable
12/31/2013

Yes

144
$120,025
$100
$4,500
12/31/2013
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® 27
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 145
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 45
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Additional Clarification
No data

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

West Virginia Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.wvsadd.org

Program Description: SADD‘s mission is to provide students with the best prevention tools possible to
deal with the issues of underage drinking, other drug use, risky and impaired driving, and other
destructive decisions. West Virginia SADD is funded by the West Virginia Governor‘s Highway Safety
Program through grants received from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

WV Collegiate Initiative to Address High Risk Alcohol Use (WVCIA)

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.wvcia.org

Program Description: WVCIA is the state organization that proactively addresses collegiate alcohol,
other drug, and associated violence issues through the use of evidence-based strategies in order to
promote healthy campus environments through self-regulatory initiatives, information dissemination,
public policy influence, cooperation with prevention partners, and technical assistance. Members are
representatives of the state’s campuses, agencies, and communities, who encourage and enhance local,
state, regional, and national initiatives through a commitment to shared standards for policy
development, educational strategies, enforcement, evaluation, and community collaboration. WVCIA is
funded by the WV Governor's Highway Safety Program through grants received from NHTSA and the
state’s Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities through grants received from the Substance
Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).
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Merchant Education

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: West Virginia provides materials to alcohol merchants to educate them about
the importance of selling alcohol legally and appropriately so as to avoid underage sales. The materials
provided include posters bearing examples of West Virginia licenses and stickers that that can posted to
inform the customer that identification is required by the merchant before selling alcohol. Additionally,
our local county prevention coalitions conduct consumer and merchant education programs with the goal
of reminding the public that purchasing alcohol for a minor is illegal and dangerous. Finally, one of our
state-level staff members is certified as a responsible beverage service trainer (TIPS) and provides that
training to merchants and colleges and universities that request it.

Compliance Checks

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program Description: Our state and local law enforcement agencies, in collaboration with the state’s
Alcohol Beverage Control Administration, conduct compliance checks in both on- and off-premise
establishments to ensure that merchants are abiding by state code related to the sale of alcohol to
minors. These compliance checks are funded in part by by the West Virginia Governor’s Highway Safety
Program through grants received from NHTSA.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification

While the state of West Virginia operates the programs listed above, the funding for these programs
comes from federal sources such as SAMHSA and NHTSA.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of No recognized

underage drinking tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No

advertising and marketing

Description of program: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Yes
Prevention, National Institute on Drug Abuse, NHTSA
Agency(ies) within your state: Single State Authority, Governor‘s Highway Yes

Safety Program, Justice and Community Services
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Nongovernmental agency(ies): Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation, Yes
Center for Health and Safety Culture-Montana State University
Other: No

Best practice standards description: West Virginia requires evidence-based programming and data-
driven decisionmaking, enabling state and local entities to appropriately address issues on a
statewide basis and on the county level. Examples of best practice standards include use of
environmental strategies to reduce youth access to alcohol; peer-to-peer education with groups such
as SADD, National Youth Leadership Initiative, Teen Institute, and Pride; and the use of evidence-

based prevention education curricula such as Too Good for Drugs and Keep a Clear Mind.
Additional Clarification |
No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Vickie Jones, Commissioner, Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities
E-mail: Victoria.L.Jones@wv.gov
Address: 350 Capitol Street, Room 350, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304-356-4771
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities
WYV Supreme Court of Appeals
West Virginia University (WVU) Department of Community Medicine
WV Chiefs of Police Association
Department of Military Affairs and Public Safety
WYV State Police, Bureau of Criminal Investigation-Drug Diversion Unit
Bureau for Public Health
WV Board of Pharmacy
WVU School of Medicine, Department of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry
Workforce WV
WYV Coalition to End Homelessness
Department of Veterans Assistance
WYV Medical Professionals Health Program
WYV Behavioral Health Providers Association
WYV Board of Osteopathy
WYV State Department of Education
Partnership of African-American Churches
WYV Coalition Against Domestic Violence
A complete listing containing contact information can be found at:
http://wvsubstancefree.org/docs/GACSA Contact List web.pdf

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.wvsubstancefree.org

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: WV Governor’'s Advisory Council on Substance Abuse
Plan can be accessed via: http://wvsubstancefree.org/resources.php

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: WV Statewide Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup Plan can be accessed via:
http://www.dhhr.wv.gov/bhhf/Sections/programs/ProgramsPartnerships/AlcoholismandDrugAbuse/R
esearch/Pages/DataResearch.aspx
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Additional Clarification

The link provided for the report contains links to both a statewide epidemiological report and individual
county profiles for each of West Virginia‘s 55 counties.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $141,700

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: None

Estimate of state funds expended No data
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

Not applicable
Additional Clarification
Underage enforcement is funded by grants from the West Virginia Governor‘s Highway Safety Program

with federal funding from NHTSA. Prevention activities are funded through federal grant programs
from SAMHSA.
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Wisconsin

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 5,742,713
Population Ages 12-20: 674,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.4 192,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.0 121,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.3 10,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 0.9 2,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25 56,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.6 28,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 55.5 126,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 40.1 91,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 72
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,372
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 33 9

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) targeting suppliers
e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e Itis a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

e Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for any
losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00

e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial

e Underage purchase

e Underage possession
e Underage consumption
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Discretionary

Length of suspension/revocation
e Minimum: 30 days
e Maximum: 90 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 30 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one person under 21 who is not an immediate
family member or instructor
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 9 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse
Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies only to new outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18

Note: No person, including a member of the licensee’s or permittee’s immediate family, other
than the licensee, permittee, or agent, may serve fermented malt or alcohol beverages in any
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place operated under a Class “A,* “Class A, Class “B,* “Class B, or “Class C* license or
permit unless he or she has an operator’s license or is at least 18 years old and is under the
immediate supervision of the licensee, permittee, agent, or a person holding an operator’s license
who is on the premises at the time of the service. Thus, if an 18-year-old held an operator’s
license, he or she would not require immediate supervision by a manager or supervisor.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Note: No person, including a member of the licensee’s or permittee’s immediate family, other
than the licensee, permittee, or agent, may serve fermented malt or alcohol beverages in any
place operated under a Class “A,* “Class A, Class “B,* “Class B,* or “Class C* license or
permit unless he or she has an operator’s license or is at least 18 years old and is under the
immediate supervision of the licensee, permittee, agent, or a person holding an operator’s license
who is on the premises at the time of the service. Thus, if an 18-year-old held an operator’s
license, he or she would not require immediate supervision by a manager or supervisor.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet. Local government has authority to
override state restrictions
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet. Local government has authority to override
state restrictions
— Alcohol products: Wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws
Statutory liability exists.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence

e Preventive action by the host negates the violation

Note: The “preventive action* provision in Wisconsin allows the prosecution to establish guilt
by proving that the host failed to take preventive action.
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Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age verification requirements: None

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping label statement requirements
e Recipient must be 21.

Keg Registration

Registration is not required.

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.06 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.25 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $3.36 per gallon
Drink Specials

No law

Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist.
Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—3 percent markup to cover a proportionate part

of the cost of doing business or a lesser amount with proof. No sales below cost allowed.
e Retailer credit: Restricted—15 days maximum
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Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—3 percent markup to cover a proportionate part
of the cost of doing business or a lesser amount with proof. No sales below cost allowed.
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/maximum discount: Yes—3 percent markup to cover a proportionate part
of the cost of doing business or a lesser amount with proof. No sales below cost allowed.
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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Wisconsin State Survey Responses
State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
No state agency has primary responsibility.

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession

Number of minors found in possession by state law

enforcement agencies

Number pertains to the 12 months ending

Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies

Not applicable
Not applicable

No
Not applicable

Not applicable
Not applicable

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine

if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales No
to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of retail licensees in state® 17,173

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies
(including random checks)

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or
both retail establishments

Not applicable

Not applicable
Not applicable

Not applicable

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks

No
Not applicable
Not applicable
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Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes
to minors
Data are collected on these activities No

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that
furnish minors
Number of fines imposed by the state*
Total amount in fines across all licensees
Smallest fine imposed
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Largest fine imposed
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
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Not applicable
Not applicable

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state®

Total days of suspensions across all licensees

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days)

No

Not applicable
Not applicable
Not applicable

Not applicable
Not applicable

No

Not applicable
Not applicable

Longest period of suspension imposed (in days)

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed®

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending
Additional Clarification

Wisconsin is a local control state. Each city, town, and municipality is responsible for alcohol sales,
licensing, compliance, and enforcement.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Parents Who Host Lose the Most
Program serves specific or general population
Number of youth served
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes
URL for evaluation report:
https://www.drugfreeactionalliance.org/parents-who-host/evaluation
URL for more program information:
https://sites.google.com/site/parentswhohostawi

General population
Not applicable

Program Description: Developed by the Drug-Free Action Alliance of Ohio, the “Parents Who Host
Lose the Most: Don'‘t be a party to teenage drinking“ public awareness campaign is aimed at many well-
meaning parents who think it is enough to take away car keys at their teens’ parties so the teens can‘t
drink and drive. Parents may provide the alcohol or allow alcohol to be consumed based on the false
belief that it's a rite of passage, especially at prom and graduation parties. The campaign was developed
in 2000 to educate parents about the health and safety risks of serving alcohol at teen parties and to
increase awareness of and compliance with the Ohio Underage Drinking Laws and was modified to meet
the needs of Wisconsin communities. Some 62 communities annually implement the campaign with
cooperation from law enforcement during prom and graduation season. In 2014, the governor signed a
proclamation declaring April as Teenage Drinking Awareness Month to coincide with this campaign.

Alliance for Wisconsin Youth
Program serves specific or general population
Number of youth served
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.allwisyouth.org

General population
Not applicable
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Program Description: The Alliance for Wisconsin Youth brings together coalitions, individuals, and
resources to prevent substance abuse and related behavioral health concerns from affecting young
people and to promote positive youth development. The Alliance’s mission is to enhance and support
the capacity of local alliances (member coalitions) in their prevention and youth development work. Over
120 local coalitions are members of the Alliance. The Alliance is served by five Regional Prevention
Centers that provide support, training, and technical assistance to community coalitions to prevent
alcohol and drug abuse. These coalitions work to implement environmental strategies to prevent
underage drinking, among other state priorities.

Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant Programs

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://scaoda.state.wi.us/docs/main/2014/MHSABGFINAL9313.pdf

Program Description: The Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS), Division of Mental Health
and Substance Abuse Services, receives the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Administration Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SAPTBG). Of the funds
received, 20 percent are used to support substance abuse prevention services, including underage
drinking prevention. The majority of funds are distributed to county-operated Human Service
Departments for the delivery of prevention services. Most provide individual-level prevention services.

Alcohol Policy Project

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://law.wisc.edu/wapp

Program Description: This project is run out of the University of Wisconsin Law School. It provides
training and education on a statewide level to coalitions and prevention professionals on alcohol policy
and licensing issues. Since alcohol licensing is done at a municipal level, the alcohol policy project
provides guidance to local prevention providers on how to work with elected officials to change the
alcohol environment in their community.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Clarification

Many of these questions refer to prevention “programs* that serve indicated or selected populations.
Wisconsin has moved many of its services toward environmental strategies influencing population-level
change through policies and strategies; thus, many of the questions requesting data on number of youth,
parents, or caregivers served do not apply. In addition, Wisconsin is a “local control“ state, meaning that
alcohol policy is done locally (regarding licensure, sales, and enforcement). Wisconsin does not have a
statewide Alcohol Control Board. Each city, town, or municipality has its own alcohol licensing board as
part of local government that issues alcohol sales licenses and is also responsible for suspension or
revocation of these licenses.
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of Yes

underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The state has worked with the tribes through the Great Lakes Inter-
Tribal Council (representing Wisconsin‘s 11 Tribes) on a state/tribal Strategic Prevention Framework
State Incentive Grant, Strategic Prevention Enhancement Grant, and Partnership for Success |l
grant. The Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS) also consults on a Tribal State
Collaborative for Positive Change. The single state authority on alcohol and drug abuse and tribal
leaders of Wisconsin‘s 11 Native American tribes collaborate on alcohol and drug abuse and mental
health services. DHS provides each of Wisconsin‘s 11 Native American tribes with funding to
support alcohol and drug abuse prevention and treatment services and other behavioral health
services.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing
Description of program: Not applicable

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): No
Agency(ies) within your state: Wisconsin DHS, Division of Mental Health and Yes
Substance Abuse Services, Bureau of Prevention Treatment and Recovery

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: No

Best practice standards description: The state identified substance abuse programs that appear on a
national list or registry including National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices or
Office of Justice Assistance, as well as in recommendation reports completed by the State Council
on Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse. These reports were developed by a committee of experts and are
considered to be evidence-based for the purposes of prevention funding in the state. To date, three
recommendation reports are available, the Alcohol Culture and Environment Report, the Controlled
Substances Call to Action report, and the 911 Good Samaritan Report. They can be accessed at
http://www.scaoda.state.wi.us.

Additional Clarification

No data
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities

Committee contact information:
Name: Michael Waupoose
E-mail: michael.waupoose @uwmf.wisc.edu
Address: 3414 Sunbrook Rd., Madison, Wl 53704
Phone: No data

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Governor's Office
Attorney General‘s Office
State Superintendent of Public Instruction Office
Commissioner of Insurance Office
Department of Corrections
Depart of Transportation
Pharmacy Examining Board
Controlled Substances Board
Citizen members
Wisconsin County Human Services Association
State Representative, Majority Party
State Representative, Minority Party
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State Senator Majority Party

State Senator Minority Party

University of Wisconsin Extension
Department of Revenue

Department of Workforce Development
Department of Regulation and Licensing
Wisconsin Technical College System
Department of Veterans Affairs

Liaison to the Mental Health Council
Liaison to the Developmental Disabilities Council
Division of Public Health

Department of Children and Families
Department of Health Services

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities
URL or other means of access: http://www.scaoda.state.wi.us

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes

Prepared by: WI State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/P4/P45718-12.pdf

Additional Clarification
No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

$200,000
12/31/2013

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines Yes
Fees No
Other: No

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

Fines for underage drinking citations are used locally to support prevention efforts.
Additional Clarification
No data
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Wyoming
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts”

State Population: 582,658
Population Ages 12-20: 68,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.9 18,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.9 12,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.6 1,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.7 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.2 5,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.3 3,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.4 12,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.1 8,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 10
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 591
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 24 2

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) targeting minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e No driver’s license suspension procedure.

Provision(s) targeting retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws*)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 19.

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial
e Underage possession

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction
e Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation
e 90 days

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 891



State Reports — Wyoming

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours, of which 10 must be at night

Intermediate stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 11 p.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger under 18 who is not an immediate
family member, unless accompanied by another driver at least 18
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: Wyoming’s exception allows members of the minor’s “immediate family* to furnish
alcohol. For purposes of this report, the phrase “immediate family* is interpreted as including
a spouse.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of decoy
e Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20

Appearance requirements
Casual attire

Average height and build
Male: No facial hair
Female: Little or no makeup

ID possession
e Not specified

Verbal exaggeration of age

e Prohibited
Decoy training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No written guidelines
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Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary beverage service training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 21

e Wine: 21

e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools

Colleges and universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and secondary schools
e No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession, consumption

e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other

e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence

Note: Wyoming’s social host statute applies only to possession or consumption by persons
under age 18.
Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:

e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Permitted

e Spirits: Prohibited

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:
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Age verification requirements: None

State approval/permit requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting requirements: None

Shipping label statement requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

Keg definition: Not less than 7 gallons

Prohibited: Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500
Purchaser information collected: Verified by a government-issued 1D
Warning information to purchaser: Passive—no purchaser action required
Deposit: Not required

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Home Delivery
e Beer: No law
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Pricing Policies
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.02 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Drink Specials
No law

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Wyoming State Survey Responses

State Agency Information
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Wyoming Department of Revenue, Liquor Division, Compliance Section

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Don’t know
Primary state agency respon3|b_le for enforcing laws addressing direct Not applicable
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 315
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy opera’[ions2 to determine if

. . : o . No

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of retail licensees in state® 1,131
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies ;
(including random checks) P g ’ gt etpralizslolls
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both  Both on- and off-sale
retail establishments establishments

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No
Number of Ilc_ensees subject to random state compliance checks/ Not applicable
decoy operations
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations

to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales Yes

to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,069
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 140
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013

Sanctions

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that Don't k

furnish minors ontknow
Number of fines imposed by the state* Not applicable
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable
Largest fine imposed Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

e S ; Don‘t know
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state® Not applicable
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Don‘t know

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Not applicable

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Additional Clarification

The only alcohol allowed by state law to be directly shipped into Wyoming is wine. Few if any known
issues of underage purchase or use are associated with this practice. The Compliance Section has a
good working relationship with local law enforcement in the enforcement of the state liquor laws.

10r having consumed or purchased per state statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
prohibiting sales to minors

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses

4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State

Wyoming Substance Abuse Prevention Program

Program serves specific or general population General population
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report:
http://www.health.wyo.gov/phsd/prevention/preventiondataandreports.html
URL for more program information:
http://www.health.wyo.gov/phsd/prevention/index.html

Program Description: The Substance Abuse Prevention Program is administered by the Public Heath
Division and braids together state general funds, tobacco settlement funds, and federal funds.
Community funding is provided through a single servicing organization called the Prevention
Management Organization (PMO). The PMO serves as the agency responsible for conducting and
managing the Department of Health’s population-based public heath prevention activities associated with
alcohol misuse and abuse, tobacco use, ther substance use, and suicide as well as wellness efforts to
improve nutrition and physical activity in Wyoming communities. Services provided are part of the
comprehensive plan in order to accomplish the Department’s goals of reducing the primary health
burden of substance use and abuse and secondary health burdens resulting from the chronic disease
associated therewith.

Programmatically, the PMO provides community funding for prevention efforts in Wyoming that is used
primarily to (a) create environmental changes throughout communities and other systems (e.g., schools,
workplaces); (b) promote behavioral changes in individuals that drive healthier lifestyle choices to
prevent or reduce chronic disease (e.g., helping tobacco users quit smoking, encouraging adults to avoid
unhealthy alcohol consumption, prevention youth from initiating alcohol and tobacco use, promoting
improved nutritional and physical activity outcomes); and (c) educate residents and mobilize
communities to create such changes through the strategic use of marketing and media. All of these
efforts are developed and implemented in accordance with the best scientific research available in the
pertinent prevention/early intervention fields and based on community-level data to ensure the most
efficacious utilization of resources.
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Further efforts are with Wyoming law enforcement through the Wyoming Association of Sheriffs and
Chiefs of Police (WASCOP), which conducts alcohol retailer education and compliance checks
statewide. WASCOP promotes Training in Intervention Procedures (TIPS) for alcohol retailers. Many
Wyoming law enforcement agencies provide this training free to retailers in their jurisdiction. This
training is for retailers and their employees and trains them in detecting fake IDs, using appropriate
server practices, and successfully handling intoxicated customers. These measures are intended to
improve their business practices and business environment and improve profitability, while at the same
time reducing underage drinking and overconsumption of alcohol and the social problems associated
with them.

Evaluation of local and state prevention efforts is through the Wyoming Survey and Analysis Center, an
extension of the University of Wyoming.

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State
No data
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data
Additional Clarification

No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention Yes
of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The WY Department of Health communicates and shares information
and resources with both tribal nations located in Wyoming on prevention of underage drinking.
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing
Program description: There is no statewide program or effort to reduce youth exposure to marketing.
Work being done to reduce youth exposure is done at the community level with state support and
funding. The Substance Abuse Prevention Program requires all community implementation of any
strategy to be evidence-based. This mandate is reinforced through ongoing technical support
and evaluation.
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:

Federal agency(ies): National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Yes
Practices

Agency(ies) within your state: No
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No
Other: Evidence-Based Workgroup (subgroup of the State Epidemiological Yes

Outcomes Workgroup)

Best practice standards description: Communities funded through this program are charged with
community collaboration, coalition mobilization, and environmental change promotion through data-
driven strategic planning provided through evidence-based programs and services.

Additional Clarification

No data
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
No data
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
This organization is currently being created as a Governor’s Taskforce and shall be in effect within
the coming fiscal year.
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable
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Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: The Wyoming Department of Health in collaboration with law enforcement, other state
agencies, and community stakeholders. Plan can be accessed via: No data

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: The Wyoming Survey & Analysis Center under contract with the Wyoming Department
of Health. Plan can be accessed via:
http://www.health.wyo.gov/phsd/prevention/AlcoholPrevention.html

Additional Clarification

No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $150,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $485,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:

Estimate of state funds expended No data
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: Tobacco Settlement Funds Yes

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

Tobacco settlement funds are used to fund statewide compliance checks.
Additional Clarification
No data
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