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State Reports – Alabama 

Alabama 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  4,833,722 
Population Ages 12–20: 587,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.4 114,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.5 68,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.6 11,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.3 4,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 17.3 33,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.5 22,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 34.3 70,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.0 41,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 94 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 5,662 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 26 15 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Alabama 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting retailers 
	 No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  90 days 
 Maximum:  180 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 No minimum supervised driving requirement with driver education; 30 hours without 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 281 



   

   

 
  
  

  
    

 
  

   

  

    
 

 

 
 

  
  

  
  
  

 
  

  
  

 
  

 
  
  
  

 
 

  
 
  
  

 
  
  
  

State Reports – Alabama 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger who is not a parent, guardian, 
family member, or person at least 21 years old 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  16 
 Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
 Male:  No beard 
 Female:  No heavy makeup 

ID possession 
	 Unclear 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
	 Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
 First offense:  $750 fine 
 Second offense:  $1,000 fine 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 
 Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 
 Protection against license revocation for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  Not specified 
 Wine:  Not specified 
 Spirits:  21 
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State Reports – Alabama 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present.
	
Note:  A minor employee of an off-premises retail licensee may handle, transport, or sell beer or 

table wine, provided an adult employee is in attendance at all times.
	

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within one mile 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within one mile 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Primary and secondary schools 
 No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence. 
 Preventive action by the host negates the violation.
	
Note:  Alabama’s provision requires that the adult social host be in attendance at the gathering or 

party in order for a violation to occur.  The “preventive action” provision in Alabama requires 

the prosecution to prove that the host failed to take preventive action.
	

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 
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State Reports – Alabama 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Prohibited 
 Wine:  Prohibited 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $1.05 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited—not permitted before 10 a.m. or 

after 9 p.m. 
 Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 
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State Reports – Alabama 

Alabama State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Don’t know 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

Yes 

693 

12/31/2013 
No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if alcohol 
retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
Unknown 

3,126 

20 
12/31/2013 

On-sale only 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 
313 
20 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No 
Unknown 
Unknown 

12/31/2013 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

12/31/2013 
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State Reports – Alabama 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
North Central 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The target priorities for information dissemination are prescription drugs and 
underage drinking. Eight primary venues may include (1) Health Fairs; (2) Child Safety Conference; (3) 
Calhoun Community College; (4) school events; (5) media (media campaigns, media outlets, social media 
websites, newspaper articles); (6) speaking engagements; (7) businesses (pharmacy “take home bags,” 
20,000–25,000 utilities customers, florists, dress/tuxedo shops, limo drivers, alcohol vendors/merchants); 
and (8) community agencies/organizations (medical offices, Advisory Committee, MHC Board of 
Directors, MCSAN Coalition, senior citizen centers, Area Agency on Aging, Community Action, 
Commission on Aging, and law enforcement personnel, etc.). The media campaigns include information 
about prescription and over-the-counter drug misuse, “Prescription Drug Take-Back Day” and “Lock Your 
Meds” campaigns, and information about other substance abuse and unhealthy behaviors. Underage 
drinking campaigns will include materials from “Parents Who Host Lose the Most” and information to 
support compliance with the Decatur City Alcoholic Beverage Ordinance including the Responsible 
Vendor Program. 

North Central 
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 
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State Reports – Alabama 

Program Description: The target priorities for this strategy are to conduct activities in Morgan County to 
(1) reduce access and availability of alcohol to minors and raise community awareness of the dangers of 
underage drinking (UAD) and (2) reduce and/or prevent prescription and over-the-counter drug misuse 
and abuse and raise community awareness of the dangers of diverting medication for unintended use. 
The intent is to (1) promote the enforcement of underage drinking and prescription drug laws and 
regulations; (2) conduct activities that will raise awareness of youth, parents, and the community about 
the importance of the enforcement of the Decatur City Alcohol Ordinance and the need to comply with 
social hosting laws; and (3) encourage responsible storage and disposal of prescription and over-the-
counter medication. Focus efforts include reducing the noncompliance rate of alcohol sales to minors in 
the city of Decatur, increasing the amount of medications collected at Prescription Drug Take-Back Days, 
and conducting media campaigns via “Lock Your Meds” materials. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 

No 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): 
Agency(ies) within your state: 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): 
Other: 
Best practice standards description: 

No 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information: 
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Not applicable 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 

URL or other means of access: Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Not sure 

Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 
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State Reports – Alabama 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: Alabama’s Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (AEOW) 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.mh.alabama.gov/Downloads/SAPV/EpidemiologicalProfile.pdf 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$6,000 
12/31/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$5,400 
12/31/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$34,338 
12/31/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$8,262 
12/31/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
12/31/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
12/31/2013 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
12/31/2013 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended: Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending: Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other: Unsure 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
The information submitted in this section reflects state funds, not federal funds. 
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State Reports – Alaska 

Alaska 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  735,132 
Population Ages 12–20: 91,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.0 20,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.8 13,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.7 1,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 0.9 0 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.7 6,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.5 3,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 41.5 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 28.9 9,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 14 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 843 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 0 0 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Alaska 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private location AND EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private location AND EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure.
	

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the 

purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 
 Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for any 

losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.00 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers age 14 or above 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  14 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
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State Reports – Alaska 

	 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, of which 10 must be at night or 
in inclement weather 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  1 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 21 except siblings, unless at least one 
passenger is a parent, guardian, or person at least 21 years old 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
 Private location AND EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  18 
 Maximum:  20½ 

Appearance requirements 
 No rings on left finger; age-appropriate dress  
 Male:  No facial hair  
 Female:  No excessive facial makeup or lipstick  

ID possession 
	 Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Permitted 

Decoy training 
	 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No written guidelines 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 
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State Reports – Alaska 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  21 
 Wine:  21 
 Spirits:  21 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  21 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  21 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  21 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  

 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status
	

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence. 
 Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
 Beer:  Uncertain 
 Wine:  Uncertain 
 Spirits:  Uncertain 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled 
spirits with the following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements: None 

State approval/permit requirements:  None 
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State Reports – Alaska 

Reporting requirements: None 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol—applies to wine shipments 
 Recipient must be 21—applies to wine shipments 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
	 Beer:  Permitted—all orders must be in writing.  Written information on fetal alcohol 

syndrome must be included in all shipments. 
	 Wine: Permitted—all orders must be in writing.  Written information on fetal alcohol 

syndrome must be included in all shipments. 
	 Spirits:  Permitted—all orders must be in writing.  Written information on fetal alcohol 

syndrome must be included in all shipments. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
	 Specific excise tax:  $1.07 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $12.80 per gallon 
 Additional taxes:  $2.50 per gallon for alcohol content of less than 21 percent 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
No pricing restrictions 
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State Reports – Alaska 

Alaska State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

The Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board coordinates efforts with the Alaska Bureau of Alcohol 
and Drug Enforcement (ABADE) Division of the Alaska State Troopers. The agency also depends 
on state and local police to enforce alcohol laws (Title 4). With four investigators and one 
enforcement unit supervisor, the ABC Board must rely on the assistance of local law enforcement 
and state troopers to enforce laws across the state. License fees are refunded to municipalities that 
have police departments and that enforce Title 4. The Alaska Court System has primary 
responsibility for enforcing the consequences related to any charges. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws No 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 2,210 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies 

Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 1,531 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 828 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 84 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, 
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/ 
decoy operations No 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
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State Reports – Alaska 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Yes 

2 
$1,000 
$500 
$500 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

7 
28 
7 
7 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Additional Clarification 

No data 

Yes 

0 
12/31/2013 

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Adult and Juvenile Alaska Alcohol Safety Action Programs (ASAP) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 1,300 
Number of parents served 800–1,000 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Pages/Prevention/programs/asap/default.aspx 

Program Description: ASAP provides substance abuse screening, case management, and 
accountability for driving while intoxicated (DWI) and other alcohol/drug-related misdemeanor cases. 
This involves screening cases referred from the district court into drinker classification categories, as well 
as thoroughly monitoring cases throughout education and/or treatment requirements. ASAP operates as 
a neutral link between the justice and health care delivery systems. This requires a close working 
relationship among all involved agencies: enforcement, prosecution, judicial, probation, corrections, 
rehabilitation, licensing, traffic records, and public information/education. The benefits of ASAP 
monitoring include: 
•		Increased accountability of offenders. 
•		Reduced recidivism resulting from successful completion of required education or treatment. 
•		Significant reductions in the amount of resources spent by prosecutors, law enforcement officers, 


judges, attorneys, and corrections officers enforcing court-ordered conditions. 
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State Reports – Alaska 

• Increased safety for victims and the larger community; offenders are more likely to receive treatment, 
make court appearances, and comply with other probation conditions. 

Much like the adult program, the Juvenile Alcohol Safety Action Program (JASAP) receives referrals for 
those under age 18 who have three or more minor possession or consuming offenses, or who have a 
driving under the influence (DUI) type offense. In Alaska, ASAP is an integral part of the criminal justice 
and behavioral health care service systems, providing invaluable and necessary monitoring and tracking 
of clients referred to substance abuse services throughout the state. Five probation officers and five 
community grantees handle traditional adult misdemeanor ASAP referrals; an additional seven 
community grantees are funded to handle juvenile cases. In addition to the Anchorage office, adult and 
juvenile grant programs are located in Fairbanks, Juneau, Kenai/Homer, Kotzebue, and Wasilla/Palmer. 
Juvenile-only programs are located in Anchorage, Dillingham, Ketchikan, Kodiak, Seward, Nome, and 
Bethel. The ASAP program provides a standardized statewide network of alcohol screening and case 
management for cases referred by the criminal justice system. It offers a consistent process to ensure 
that clients complete required substance abuse education or treatment programs as prescribed by the 
courts. The ASAP programs, including the Anchorage office, monitor these cases to confirm with the 
court and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when clients have completed court-ordered 
assignments. In FY2010, the ASAP program incorporated motivational interviewing (MI), an evidence-
based practice, as a model for increasing the engagement of clients during their first encounter with 
ASAP staff. Through the use of MI-styled interviews, the expected outcome is that clients will be 
motivated to change their personal behaviors and attitudes related to alcohol and drug use, thereby 
increasing their completion and success rates following the receipt of required services. Grantees are 
also responsible for engaging their community prevention coalition and for being involved in ASAP 
program outreach and education efforts in schools, community forums, and other appropriate venues. 
Alcohol & Drug Information School (ADIS) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 500 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Pages/Prevention/programs/asap/default.aspx 

Program Description: ADIS programs provide education to first-time DWI and Minor Consuming 
offenders, as well as those convicted of other alcohol/drug-related offenses if those persons would not 
be diagnosed as substance abusers. ADIS programs aim to reduce subsequent alcohol- and/or drug-
related offenses and associated high-risk behaviors. ADIS programs cover the effects of alcohol and 
drugs on driving and social behaviors, as well as health and legal consequences. Each ADIS program 
conforms to the same standards and is approved and monitored by the Division of Behavioral Health. 
These programs are designed to be available to all Alaskans involved in alcohol- and/or drug-related 
offenses. Each Adult or Youth ADIS program uses an identical core curriculum that combines the most 
recent research in early intervention and prevention. Each program includes regionally specific 
information and is designed to be relevant to all segments of Alaska’s diverse population while ensuring 
uniformity of the core ADIS program content statewide. The adult program uses a core curriculum 
developed by the Change Company and the State of Alaska. Adult ADIS programs are appropriate for 
all adults over age 18. 
PRIME for Life (PFL) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 649 
Number of parents served 500 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
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State Reports – Alaska 

URL for more program information: http://www.anjc.org or 
http://www.voaak.org/Services/Prevention--Intervention/PRIME-for-Life 

Program Description: PFL-Under 21 is a youth program similar to the ADIS course but developed by 
the Prevention Research Institute (PRI) and used for individuals between 14 and not yet 21 years old. 
There are two providers for this program: Volunteers of America Alaska and the Alaska Native Justice 
Center (ANJC).  The numbers below reflect their combined information. 
Approximately 90% of all of the cases referred to the ANJC community diversion panel program are 
required to take our PFL-Under 21 class. ANJC uses the PFL course to educate clients on the dangers 
of alcoholism and drug addiction. ANJC is the only state-certified program approved to administer this 
class with a cultural component added to it. PFL is a nationally recognized Best Practices therapeutic 
educational risk reduction model that is recognized by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA) Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP). ANJC enhances the PFL 
experience with a “talking circle,” a culturally based component that identifies and celebrates the cultural 
values of the indigenous Alaska people. 
Comprehensive Prevention and Early Intervention Services 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: 
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Pages/Prevention/default.aspx 

Program Description: The grant program funds a comprehensive array of promotion, prevention, and 
early intervention approaches that focus on community-designed and community-driven services. These 
services are based on concepts and program strategies proven effective in the prevention of behavioral 
health concerns. These grant dollars “blend, braid, and pool” resources and programming concepts into 
an integrated approach to behavioral health prevention. The program is aware that substance abuse, 
mental health, suicide, fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, family violence, juvenile delinquency, and other 
issues are interrelated. Thus, one program goal is for communities to have the freedom to connect these 
issues, to partner and collaborate with community members working on connected and related issues, 
and to focus on what it will take to develop overall community health and wellness. Agencies throughout 
the state receive funding through this program in remote or rural, as well as hub and urban, communities. 
Each community applying for funds must use the SAMHSA CSAP Strategic Prevention Framework 
(SPF) planning model to assess, plan, strategize, implement, and evaluate community-based services. 
Prevention strategies must be identified based on a clear assessment of local/regional data, selecting 
programs or practices that are data driven. This model promotes a better connection between program 
selection and the critical issues facing the community, as evidenced by the available data. 
Alaska Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant Program 
(SPF SIG) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://alaskaspfsig.org 

Program Description: The Alaska SPF SIG program is one of SAMHSA’s infrastructure grant 
programs. SAMHSA’s infrastructure grants support an array of activities to help grantees build a solid 
foundation for delivering and sustaining effective substance abuse and/or mental health services. The 
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State Reports – Alaska 

SPF SIGs, in particular, will provide funding to states and federally recognized tribes and tribal 
organizations to implement SAMHSA’s Strategic Prevention Framework in order to: 
• Prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse, including childhood and 

underage drinking 
• Reduce substance abuse-related problems in communities 
• Build prevention capacity and infrastructure at the state/tribal and community levels 

Statewide Underage Drinking Prevention Media Campaign 
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Alaska currently funds this underage drinking prevention campaign, operated by 
the Alaska Wellness Coalition (AWC). AWC is a statewide coalition, representing rural and urban 
communities across the entire state. The goal is to conduct a coordinated media campaign to reduce 
underage drinking that accounts for messages and efforts at the local, state, and federal levels. The 
campaign will focus on evidence-based environmental prevention strategies to change social norms 
regarding youth alcohol. Using this approach, the Coalition will maximize communication, outcomes, 
and economic use of resources while at the same time reducing duplicate and ineffective approaches. 
To prevent underage drinking, the Media Campaign will employ a strengths-based approach utilizing the 
positive community norms model. It will begin a long-term dialogue with the public that increases parent 
and youth understanding of the social norms surrounding underage drinking as well as educates both 
youth and adults across Alaska, cultivating a culture that decreases underage drinking and delays the 
early onset of alcohol use. The AWC plans to launch the campaign in 2014 and continue community 
conversations and the media campaign for a minimum of 3 years. 
Although this is a statewide campaign, the media components will be designed so that local coalitions 
can include regional data and messages into the overall campaign format; local tags and information can 
be included to maximize reach effectiveness. The campaign will be designed to reach multiple target 
audiences, including youth and adults. 
As a party to the media campaign, coalitions will continue their work at strengthening laws and 
regulations aiming to reduce and prevent underage drinking. Where legislation is enacted and/or 
enforcement strengthened, the campaign will strive to include education in these areas within the media 
plan. Where possible, the media campaign will be used to energize the population around the state and 
to promote policy changes designed to further reduce opportunities for underage drinking. 
University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA): Alcohol, Drug and 
Wellness Education 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: Contact UAA Dean of Students Office at 
907-786-1214 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.uaa.alaska.edu/deanofstudents/AlcoholDrugAndWellnessEducati 
on/index.cfm 

Program Description: UAA provides a comprehensive alcohol and other drug (AOD) education 
program for approximately 15,000 UAA students. UAA provides numerous, ongoing, alcohol-free events 
and activities for students. UAA has created policies to limit alcohol on campus, and UAA communicates 
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State Reports – Alaska 

these policies and normative messages to students continually.  UAA consistently enforces AOD policies 
and assigns developmental sanctions to students who violate UAA’s AOD policies. UAA employs an 
Alcohol, Drug, and Wellness Educator (ADWE) to coordinate UAA’s Alcohol, Drug, and Wellness 
Education program. The ADWE is a 10-month, 30-hour-per-week position funded by student health 
fees. The ADWE uses general fund monies to provide ongoing alcohol, drug, and wellness education 
programs on campus. The ADWE serves as a consultant to campus groups, meets with students who 
violate UAA’s AOD policies, provides referrals to students seeking treatment for AOD use, and oversees 
UAA’s compliance with the Drug Free Schools and Communities Act. 
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: In 1998, Congress acknowledged the seriousness of underage drinking and 
related problems by appropriating funding to encourage enforcement of underage drinking laws 
throughout the country. The EUDL program was established to support and enhance the efforts of state 
and local jurisdictions to prohibit the sale of alcoholic beverages by minors (defined as under age 21). 
EUDL’s strategic goal is to reduce the availability of alcoholic beverages to minors. The initiative 
includes four programmatic elements: (1) block grants to each state and the District of Columbia to fund 
the establishment of a statewide task force and innovative programs to prevent underage drinking with a 
strong emphasis on law enforcement; (2) discretionary grants to selected states to fund enhanced 
activities at the local level; (3) technical assistance to guide states and communities in their efforts; and 
(4) national evaluation of the EUDL program. Although EUDL funding supports a wide range of 
activities, most states focus on enforcement. EUDL funding has also helped states promote community 
awareness of underage drinking, encourage changes in norms regarding underage drinking, and 
develop organizational structures and relationships to support coordinated efforts. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The State of Alaska partners with tribal health corporations to fund 
community-level prevention strategies driven by the needs of individual communities or regions. 
Currently, the state’s prevention partners are Bristol Bay Health Corporation, Fairbanks Native 
Association, Maniilaq Association, Akiachak Native Community, Southeast Alaska Regional Health 
Consortium, Asa’carsarmiut Tribal Council, Association of Village Council Presidents, Cook Inlet Tribal 
Council, Copper River Native Association, Ketchikan Indian Corporation, Kodiak Area Native Health 
Association, Native Village of Gakona, Native Village of Nulato, Tanana Chiefs Conference, Yukon 
Kuskokwim Health Corporation, Eastern Aleutian Tribes, and Norton Sound Health Corporation. The 
state works in close partnership with the Alaska Native Health Consortium and Cook Inlet Tribal 
Council. The state also relies on input and support of leaders from the Alaska Native community 
through informal and formal avenues, including participation in the SPF SIG processes; these 
processes include the Advisory Committee, Epidemiological Committee, and Evidence-Based Work 
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State Reports – Alaska 

Group. Representatives from the Alaska Native Justice Center serve on the Alaska Committ
Prevent Underage Drinking. 

ee to 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): 
Agency(ies) within your state: Alaska Committee to Prevent Underage Drinking 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No data 
Other: 
Best practice standards description: Recommendations are included in the State of Alaska 
Plan to Reduce and Prevent Underage Drinking, which can be found at 
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Documents/Prevention/UnderagedrinkingUpdated.pdf 

Yes 

No 
Yes 
No 
No 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Sara Clark 
E-mail: sara.clark@alaska.gov 
Address: 3601 C Street, Suite 934, Anchorage, AK 99503 
Phone: 907-269-3781 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Division of Juvenile Justice 
Alcohol Beverage Control Board 
Alaska Network on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault 
University of Alaska Anchorage College of Health 
Department of Education and Early Development 
Joint Base Elmendorf Richardson 
Alcohol Safety Action Program 
University of Alaska Justice Center 
Alaska Native Justice Center 
Alaska Mental Health Board 
Alaska Court System 
DHSS/ Division of Behavioral Health Prevention and Early Intervention Section. 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Alaska Committee to Prevent Underage Drinking (ACPUD) 
Plan can be accessed via: 
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Documents/Prevention/UnderagedrinkingUpdated.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: University of Alaska Justice Center 
Plan can be accessed via: 
http://justice.uaa.alaska.edu/research/2010/1010.voa/1010.04.youth_alcohol_access.update.html 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
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State Reports – Alaska 

Compliance checks in retail outlets: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$100,000 
6/30/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$3,886,595 
6/30/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
12/31/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$20,925 
6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$150,000 
6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: No data 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes Yes 
Fines No 
Fees No 
Other: money for our comprehensive substance abuse prevention includes 
state general funds; state alcohol tax funds; federal SPF funds; and federal 
SAPT block grant funds 

Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The Alcohol Tax fund state dollars (approximately $300,000) are used to fund an underage drinking 
prevention statewide media campaign operated by the Alaska Wellness Coalition. The goal of the 
program is to conduct a coordinated media campaign to reduce underage drinking that accounts for 
messages and efforts at the local, state, and federal level. The campaign will focus on evidence-
based environmental prevention strategies to change social norms regarding youth alcohol. Using 
this approach, the Alaska Wellness Coalition will maximize communication, outcomes, and economic 
use of resources and at the same time reduce duplicate and ineffective approaches. 

Additional Clarification 
Funds targeted at Institutions of Higher Education represent a combination of dollar amounts reported by 
University of Alaska Anchorage, University of Alaska Southeast, and University of Alaska Fairbanks. 
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State Reports – Arizona 

Arizona 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,626,624 
Population Ages 12–20: 817,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.1 189,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.2 116,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.9 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.5 9,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.1 61,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.2 29,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 41.6 116,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 27.9 78,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 114 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 6,896 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 12 5 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Arizona 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 
Note:  Although Arizona does not prohibit internal possession as defined in this report, it has a 
statutory provision that makes it unlawful for a person under age 21 to have in the person’s body 
any spirituous liquor.  Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so 
without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting internal 
possession for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial or administrative 

procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other 

information digitally encoded on valid identification cards. 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.00 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 
Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
 Discretionary 
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State Reports – Arizona 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  0 days 
 Maximum:  180 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
	 Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months 
	 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
	 No minimum supervised driving requirement with driver education; 30 hours without 

(of which 10 must be at night) 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18 who is not the driver’s 
sibling, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  15 
 Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
	 Age-appropriate appearance:  Limit use of cosmetics; no jewelry associated with adulthood 

(such as wedding or engagement ring); limit facial hair (no full beards or mustache); no 
receding hairlines; be of appropriate height and weight 

ID possession 
	 Discretionary 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
 Mandated—each decoy receives training and supervision from a sworn officer. 
Note: Arizona allows compliance checks of establishments for which the law enforcement 
agency has received a complaint alleging the sale of liquor to an underage person or which have 
previously been cited for sale of liquor to an underage person. 
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State Reports – Arizona 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  2 years 
 First offense: $1,000 to $2,000 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension 
 Second offense: $2,000 to $3,000 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension 
 Third offense:  $3,000 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension 
Note:  Mitigating or aggravating factors considered 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 The law does not specify new or existing outlets 

Incentive for training 
 Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  16 
 Wine:  16 
 Spirits:  16 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present.
	
Note: Off-sale retailers may employ persons who are at least 16 years old to check out, 

if supervised by a person on the premises who is at least 19 years old, package, or carry
	
merchandise, including spirituous liquor, in unbroken packages, for the convenience of 

the customer of the employer, if the employer sells primarily merchandise other than 

spirituous liquor.
	

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  19 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  19 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  19 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note: Exceptions include (1) restaurants; (2) hotel-motels; (3) government; and (4) golf courses.  
Also, (5) case-by-case exemptions may apply for certain licenses within entertainment districts. 

Dram Shop Liability 
 Statutory liability exists. 

 The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.
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State Reports – Arizona 

Social Host Liability Laws 
 There is no statutory liability.
	
 The courts recognize common law social host liability.
	

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Negligence—host must have 

known or should have known of the event’s occurrence 
 Exception(s):  Family, resident 
Note:  Arizona’s social host provision applies to gatherings of two or more underage persons on 
unlicensed premises, where the person charged knows or should know that one or more of the 
underage persons is in possession of or consuming spirituous liquor. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Producer must verify age of purchaser. 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name—for out-of-state sales only. 
 Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Recipient must be 21. 
Note:  A licensed domestic farm winery that produces not more than 20,000 gallons of wine in a 
calendar year may make sales and deliveries of that wine to consumers who order by telephone, 
mail, fax, or through the Internet. Farm wineries can deliver such purchases, subject to the rules 
applicable to the delivery of spirituous liquors by the holder of a retail license having off-sale 
privileges. An independent contractor or the employee of an independent contractor is deemed 
to be an employee of the licensee when making a sale or delivery of spirituous liquor for the 
licensee. The rules governing the retail delivery of spirituous liquor require age verification at 
the point of delivery and recording of the recipient’s name. 
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State Reports – Arizona 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine: Permitted 
 Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.16 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.84 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $3.00 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 
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State Reports – Arizona 

Arizona State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Arizona Department of Liquor 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
No 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
Yes 
Yes 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

Yes 

1,085 

12/31/2013 
No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
10,000 

277 

88 
12/31/2013 

On- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Yes 

158 
$221,325 

$200 
$50,000 

12/31/2013 
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State Reports – Arizona 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

0 
0 
0 
0 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

0 
12/31/2013 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Parker Area Alliance for Community Empowerment (PAACE) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.paace.org 

Program Description: PAACE addresses underage drinking by implementing community development 
strategies and providing community education and training on the risks, harms, and consequences of 
underage drinking for youth and adults. Activities include a life skills component to help youth decrease 
favorable attitudes toward substance (ab)use and increase knowledge of the perceived risks and harms 
of underage drinking. The number of clients served directly and indirectly (including youth, parents, and 
caregivers) was 671 ending June 2013. 
Campesinos Sin Fronteras 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://campesinossinfronteras.org 

Program Description: Campesinos Sin Fronteras is implementing the Primero La Familia/Family First 
Program to address the high rates of alcohol abuse and controlled substance use in the rural areas of 
Yuma County, Arizona. The program increases and enhances parental involvement in community-based 
prevention and intervention targeting the serious risks and public health problems caused by the abuse 
of alcohol and controlled substances. The program uses multiple strategies to increase parental 
involvement, including peer education groups, parent and caregiver community mobilization, 
implementation of the South Yuma County Anti-Drug Coalition Subcommittee, youth leadership 
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State Reports – Arizona 

development, and a family/community theater production. The number of clients served directly or 
indirectly (including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 17,299 ending June 2013. 
La Frontera Center 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.lafronteraaz.org 

Program Description: The program provides parent education to refugee families who have relocated 
in Tucson, Arizona. The education is for the purpose of preventing underage drinking among refugee 
youth. The number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 
2,684 ending June 2013. 
MATFORCE 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.matforce.org 

Program Description: Due to an overwhelming concern for substance abuse and its effects, 
MATFORCE, the Yavapai County Substance Abuse Coalition, was formed. The coalition consists of 
over 300 volunteers working on various projects to reduce substance abuse in Yavapai County. The 
coalition’s mission statement is: “With determination and integrity, we, the citizens of Yavapai County, 
commit to working in partnership to build healthier communities by striving to eliminate substance abuse 
and its effects.” The coalition’s five goal statements are to (1) support prevention programs for youth and 
families, (2) increase the capacity to intervene and treat, (3) address the problem of underage drinking, 
(4) influence public opinion and policy, and (5) reduce prescription drug abuse. MATFORCE consists of 
various committees and workgroups, each working on objectives of the specified goal statements. The 
number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 36,968 
ending June 2013. 
Arizona Youth Partnership 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.azyp.org 

Program Description: Arizona Youth Partnership is implementing Project GIFTS (Growing and 
Inspiring Families to Succeed) in three communities in Mohave County: Bullhead City, Kingman, and 
Lake Havasu City. The project combines two research-based programs proven to significantly reduce 
violence against self, the family, and the community. The two programs, Strengthening Families and 
Parent Pledge, educate parents on the social and judicial dangers of youth underage drinking. The 
number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 12,455 
ending June 2013. 
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State Reports – Arizona 

Coconino County Juvenile Court 
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.coconino.az.gov/courts.aspx?id=249 

Program Description: Coconino County Juvenile Court seeks to embed parent-inclusive processes into 
its work with parents who have children on probation in Flagstaff, Williams, and Page. Information from 
focus groups with parents of delinquent children and research about court-involved families will be 
integrated into a series of workshops for probation officers to assist them in building stronger working 
relationships with parents of their probationers. A parent guide and parenting tool box have been written 
for use by probation officers in working with parents. A new parent education and support group 
program will gather parents’ input about the guide and tool box. Each strategy is designed to support 
parents in effectively helping their children to graduate from the Step Up probation process and become 
productive and healthier citizens. The number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, 
parents, and caregivers) was 305 ending June 2013. 
Compass Health Care 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.compasshc.org 

Program Description: The goal of the project is for the Community Prevention Coalition to target 
parents in Pima County through the development and implementation of multiple strategies that educate 
parents on the harms and consequences associated with youth alcohol and prescription drug use. The 
project teaches effective parenting skills and practices to engage parents in their child’s life as a 
protective factor, in order to reduce youth risk of alcohol and prescription drug use. Parents become 
more informed on issues of youth alcohol use and the current prescription drug epidemic while learning 
to communicate with their youth in a way that positively impacts youth’s choices, which ultimately 
prevents youth alcohol and prescription drug use. The number of clients served directly or indirectly 
(including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 2,596,642 ending June 2013. Compass Health Care 
numbers (2,592,356 notably) include their media hits from multiple media advertisements, which is an 
indirect count. 
Jewish Family & Children’s Services of Southern Arizona 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.jfcstucson.org 

Program Description: Embracing Challenges Creating Opportunities (ECCO) is a family-centered 
program that provides individual, group, and family therapy to youth ages 13 to 18 and their families who 
have identified a substance use concern. The program seeks to increase youths’ capacity to identify and 
manage signs of risk, and develop relapse prevention strategies/skills. ECCO focuses on identifying and 
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building on client and family strengths, expanding coping skills, and developing healthy options for 
managing feelings and behaviors. Strategies include 8-week individual therapy, 8-week group therapy, 
family group therapy, conjoint youth/parent group therapy, and sober socialization activities. The number 
of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 705 ending 
June 2013. 
Parenting Arizona (PA) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.parentingaz.org 

Program Description: Chicanos Por La Causa (CPLC) – Parenting Arizona will impact 6,000 
individuals both directly and indirectly by increasing and enhancing parental involvement in school and 
community. PA will have all Parent Resource Coordinators (PRCs) trained in substance abuse 
prevention to increase parental knowledge regarding serious risks and public health problems caused by 
substance abuse of alcohol and controlled substances. The number of clients served directly or 
indirectly (including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 18,836 ending June 2013. 
Event Sponsorships SFY 13 (events listed below) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Events include Future for Kids and other events out of the Attorney General’s 
Office and Arizona Administrative Office of the Courts. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program Description: No data 
Additional Clarification 

The programs provided in this section are RELATED to Underage Drinking. Each of the programs is a 
current SFY 2014 subgrantee, but data were collected up to June 2013. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: Arizona has intergovernmental agreements with the Gila River Indian 
Community and Pascua Yaqui Tribe to provide alcohol-related substance abuse prevention services. 
Arizona subcontracts to private nonprofit corporations (Regional Behavioral Health Authorities) that: 
(1) provide alcohol-related substance abuse prevention services directly to the San Carlos Apache 
Tribe, (2) provide alcohol-related prevention services to the Ak-Chin Indian Community and Hopi 
Nation, and (3) work collaboratively to write grants and develop capacity to deliver alcohol-related 
substance abuse prevention services with the Hualapai Nation. The Arizona Department of Liquor 
License and Control meets quarterly with three groups to discuss liquor-related concerns and 
solutions. Of the three groups, two represent all 22 of Arizona’s federally recognized tribal 
governments and are identified with an asterisk before the group name: *Indian Country Intelligence 
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Network (ICIN), Arizona Police Chiefs Association, and *Tribal Gaming Office (TGO). All licensed 
establishments on Tribal land in Arizona operate under Title 4 (Arizona liquor law). 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

Yes 

Program description: Luz Southside Coalition – Juntos Podemos Program (in a southern 
neighborhood of Tucson) works with billboard companies in their neighborhood to limit billboards 
advertising alcohol. Luz has been instrumental in the removal of billboards, mostly advertising 
alcohol. Also, Luz has been successful in the denial of new liquor licenses on the south side of 
Tucson. The second component of Juntos Podemos involves media literacy and cultural 
competency with respect to the consumption of alcohol, through community presentations that tie 
alcohol consumption directly to cultural identity. The media literacy campaign educates community 
members about alcohol abuse for all ages and empowers community residents to attend liquor 
license hearings to oppose new licenses. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): No 
Agency(ies) within your state: Arizona Department of Health Services - Division 
of Behavioral Health 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: Evidence-based practice (EBP) review teams are assembled 
annually to review and evaluate all Arizona Department of Health Services/Division of Behavioral 
Health Services subcontracted prevention programs to determine which are evidence based, using 
criteria recommended by Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). 
In addition to fulfilling block grant requirements, the purpose of the EBP review is to provide an 
opportunity for learning and improvement among Arizona’s prevention community. Each EBP review 
team consists of a member of ADHS/DBHS, one to two provider representatives, a RBHA 
representative, and a research representative. Each team reviews eight to 12 programs. The 
definition of “program” within the ADHS/BHS RBHA system is “a set of prevention strategies, which 
address a common set of goals and objectives for a common target audience in one county.” This 
definition is broad and intended to serve as an umbrella to encompass many strategies used by a 
provider. The information viewed under this definition combines all prevention strategies, activities, 
and/or curriculum under one program. Reviewers use the program logic model, program 
descriptions, strategies, and outcomes to assess whether the overall program meets the criteria of 
being evidence based. The criteria to be considered evidence based are based on the SAMHSA 
National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) criteria. To be deemed an 
evidence-based practice, a program/strategy must meet the following criteria: (1) Included on federal 
lists or registries of evidence-based interventions, (2) reported (with positive effects) in peer-reviewed 
journals; and (3) documented effectiveness supported by other sources of information and the 
consensus judgment of informed experts: 
• Guideline 1: The intervention is based on a theory of change documented in a clear, logical, or 

conceptual mode. 
• Guideline 2: The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in 

registries and/or the peer-reviewed literature. 
• Guideline 3: The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively 

implemented in the past, and multiple times, in a manner attentive to scientific standards of 
evidence and with results that show a consistent pattern of credible and positive effects. 

• Guideline 4: The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed 
prevention experts that includes well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in 
evaluating prevention interventions similar to those under review, local prevention practitioners, 
and key community leaders as appropriate, e.g., officials from law enforcement and education 
sectors or elders within indigenous cultures. 

In addition to the above guidelines, ground rules are set for how the groups formulate their expert 
judgments: (a) The team must come to a consensus for a “yes.” (b) No consensus is needed for a 
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“no.” An “I don’t know,” “I’m not sure,” “I can’t judge this,” or “I need more information” is simply a 
“no.” (c) Program funding and jobs are not in jeopardy if a program receives a “no.” (d) Programs 
that would be “yes” due to Guideline 1 or 2 still must demonstrate a logical grounding. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Cindy Schaider 
E-mail: cindy.schaider@gmail.com 
Address: 317 East Cottonwood Lane, Suite A, Casa Grande, AZ 85130 
Phone: 520-836-5022 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Department of Public Safety 
Terros 
Compass Health Care 
Pima Prevention Partnership 
Codac 
CPSA 
Governor’s Office for Children Youth and Families 
SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions) 
Gila River 
Cenpatico 
Arizona Criminal Justice Commission 
Phoenix Indian Center 
AZIHE 
Pascua Yaqui Tribe 
Drug Free AZ 
Administrative Office of the Courts 
AZ Youth Partnership 
Mercy Maricopa Integrated Care 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

No 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Substance Abuse Prevention Committee of Arizona (SAPCA). SAPCA is a 
collaborative partnership between statewide organizations and communities to create a healthier 
Arizona free from substance abuse. 
Plan can be accessed via: Not available online. This document can be uploaded or sent via e-mail. 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: Substance Abuse Prevention Committee of Arizona (SAPCA). SAPCA is a 
collaborative partnership between statewide organizations and communities to create a healthier 
Arizona free from substance abuse. 
Plan can be accessed via: Not available online. This document can be uploaded or sent via e-mail. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams: 

Taxes Yes 
Fines No data 
Fees No data 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Arizona’s Parents Commission receives a percentage of liquor sales taxes. The Parents Commission 
funds some RELATED underage drinking prevention programs (listed in Part 2: Section A). 
Otherwise, most programs related to underage drinking prevention in Arizona are funded through 
grants and other sources, not state funds. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Arkansas 

Arkansas 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,959,373 
Population Ages 12–20: 354,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.4 76,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.2 50,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.7 4,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.1 2,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19 24,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.3 15,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 40.3 48,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 27.7 33,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 55 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,309 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 24 5 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Arkansas 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 
Note:  Arkansas law provides that intoxicating liquor, wine, or beer in the body of a minor is 
deemed to be in his or her possession.  Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their 
bodies, but do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as 
prohibiting internal possession for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.
	

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
 It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older. 
 Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with 

the purchase of alcohol. 
Note:  Under Arkansas law, a seller’s detention of a person under 21 for use of false 
identification shall not include physical detention. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 
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State Reports – Arkansas 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  0 days 
 Maximum:  Not specified 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
	 60 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  14 
 Minimum learner-stage period:  6 months 
 No minimum supervised driving requirement 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No passenger under 21 who is not a sibling or household 
member, unless accompanied by driver who is 21 or older 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 
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State Reports – Arkansas 

Note:  Arkansas’ statute regarding furnishing alcohol to any person under 21 years old includes 
an exception for “family” members, but does not specify which family members. For purposes 
of this report, the phrase “family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  16 
 Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
 Males: clean shaven; Females: should not wear excessive jewelry or makeup 

ID possession 
 Not specified 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Incentive for training 
 Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  21 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1,000 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  No 
– Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 319 



     

   

  

 

 
 

 
 

   
   
   

  
  

 

 
 

 
 
 

  

   
   

   
   

   
  

    
  

 
   
  

   
  

  
  
    

  
  
    

State Reports – Arkansas 

Note: There is an exception for small farm wine retail off-premises permit-holders. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Exception(s):  Family 
Note:  Arkansas’s social host provision applies only to a person who is present and in control of 
the private property at the time the consumption occurs. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:  Consumer must make at least one trip to producer’s place of business to verify age 
before any direct shipments are permitted. 

Age verification requirements 
 Producer must verify age of purchaser. 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 

Reporting requirements 
 None 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 None 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  A liquid capacity of more than 5 gallons 
 Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/90 days 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/90 days 

 Purchaser information collected:  
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
 Deposit required:  $75 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 
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State Reports – Arkansas 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Prohibited 
 Wine: Prohibited 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.24 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  1 percent 

Wine (12 percent % alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.75 per gallon
	
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  3 percent %
	

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
	 Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon 
	 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  14 percent 
	 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  3 percent % 
	 Additional taxes:  $1.00 per gallon for alcohol content of less than 26.25 percent 

but more than 6.25 percent 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
	 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
	 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 
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State Reports – Arkansas 

Arkansas State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

ABC Enforcement 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

Yes 
67–includes 
possession, 

consumption, 
warnings, citations, 

and arrests 
12/31/2013 

Yes 
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
3,992 (as of 4/08/14) 

2,271 

251 
12/31/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

3,992 (as of 4/8/2014) 

251 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

12/31/2013 

Yes 

312 
$154,900 
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State Reports – Arkansas 

Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

$300 
$1,000 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

3 
47 
2 

2 weeks 
12/31/2013 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Arkansas Underage Drinking & Injury Prevention Conference 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: This program is federally funded by the Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Prevention by means of the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws. A subgrant, 
issued by the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, Office of Intergovernmental Services, 
supports an annual prevention conference that targets Arkansas’ law enforcement, coalitions, and injury 
prevention professionals. The conference focuses on community solutions to underage drinking and 
provides learning opportunities through research-based plenary sessions as well as strategies for 
implementing and sustaining effective underage drinking prevention. 

Youth Summit 
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 70 in 2013. Data for 2014 

will be on the 2015 survey. 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The Summit will bring together youth from around Arkansas to participate in 
sessions and panel discussions focusing on alcohol use/abuse and the systematic consequences of 
underage drinking, how to avoid the pressures of underage drinking, and learning about the effects of 
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State Reports – Arkansas 

underage drinking. Participants will be exposed to technical and trade programs as well as potential 
employers, in preparation for the next phase of their lives. There were 70 youths served during the 2013 
Youth Summit. Note: The number of youth served will be reported on the 2015 Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Survey. The closing date for submission of all final 
documents will be the due date of the 2014 survey. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 

No recognized 
Tribes 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 
Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): Not applicable 
Agency(ies) within your state: Not applicable 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): Not applicable 
Other: Not applicable 
Best practice standards description: Not applicable 

No 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information: 
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Mothers Against Drunk Driving 
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences – College of Medicine 
Arkansas Department of Education 
Arkansas Collegiate Drug Education Committee 
Arkansas Beverage Control Enforcement 
Arkansas State Police Highway Safety Office 
Arkansas State Drug Director 
Director of Prevention Services 
Arkansas Department of Health & Human Services 
Arkansas Division of Youth Services 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: https://www.arunderagedrinking.com/task_force.asp 

Yes 
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State Reports – Arkansas 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 

Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

No 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

No 

Additional Clarification 
The Underage Drinking Task Force is still inactive at this time. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
12/31/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
12/31/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams: 

Taxes No 
Fines No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – California 

California 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  38,332,521 
Population Ages 12–20: 4,960,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.7 1,228,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.6 771,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.4 67,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.8 27,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.6 327,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.5 198,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.4 834,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 29.8 546,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 503 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 30,236 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 36 40 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – California 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private location OR 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 
Note:  California’s “Any private location” exception excludes possession in motor vehicles. 
California’s statute for possession of alcohol by a person under age 21 includes an exception for 
“responsible adult relative” but does not specify which relatives are included. For purposes of 
this report, the phrase “responsible adult relative” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
 Specific affirmative defense:  The retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.01 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
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State Reports – California 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
	 365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 20, unless accompanied by a parent, 
guardian, instructor, or licensed driver over 25 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  Not specified 
 Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
	 No hats, sunglasses, tattoos, visible body piercing, clothing with college or alcohol 

verbiage/logos; minimal jewelry; not large in stature; appropriate dress for age; hair 
that does not obscure facial features  

 Male:  No facial hair, really short hair, balding, or receding hairline 
 Female:  Minimal makeup, no provocative clothing 

ID possession 
	 Discretionary 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
	 Not specified 
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State Reports – California 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  3 years 
 First offense: 15-day license suspension 
 Second offense: 25-day license suspension 
 Third offense: License revocation 
Note:  Retailer has the option to accept fine in lieu of suspension.  A list of aggravating and 
mitigating factors is provided. 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments. 
 The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Incentive for training 
 Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  Not specified 
 Wine:  Not specified 
 Spirits:  Not specified 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 Limitations on outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1½ miles of universities with enrollments of 1,000 
or more students of whom 500 or more reside on the university’s grounds 

–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1½ miles of universities with enrollments of 1,000 
or more students of whom 500 or more reside on the university’s grounds 

–		 Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits—does not include beer or products of not more than 
4 percent alcohol by volume (ABV) 

Note:  Exceptions to the college restriction exist for numerous individual colleges and 
universities. 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  No 
–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 600 feet 
–		 Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
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State Reports – California 

	 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Minor must be obviously intoxicated at time 
alcohol of furnishing. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  

 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status
	

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
 Beer:  Prohibited 
 Wine:  Uncertain 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 
Note:  An individual or retail licensee in a state that affords California retail licensees or 
individuals an equal reciprocal shipping privilege may ship, for personal use and not for resale, 
no more than two cases of wine (no more than 9 liters each case) per month to any adult resident 
in this state.  Delivery of a shipment pursuant to this subdivision shall not be deemed to 
constitute a sale in this state. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:  

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements 
	 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements: None 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  6 gallons or more 
 Prohibited:  Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 
 Purchaser information collected:  

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine: Permitted 
 Spirits:  Permitted 
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State Reports – California 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.20 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.20 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $3.30 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 331 



    

   

   
 

  
 

 
 

  
  

  
    

  
  

  
  

    
    

   
   

    
 

   
   

  

  
    

  

 
  

 
 

    
    

  
   

   
   

 
 

 
 

    
    

   

    
   

  
 

 

   
    

  
   

 
   

  

    
   

   

State Reports – California 

California State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

California Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

Yes 

898 

6/30/2013 

No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
73,489 

2,195 

359 
6/30/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

Data unavailable 

Data unavailable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

6/30/2013 

No 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

$750 
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State Reports – California 

Largest fine imposed $20,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
The California Highway Patrol (CHP) also collects data for underage persons driving with a blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) of 0.01 percent or greater or in possession of alcohol. The following data cover the 
period of January 1, 2013, through December 31, 2013: 

• 538 citations for persons under age 21 driving with 0.01 percent to <0.05 percent (BAC) 
• 738 citations for persons under age 21 driving with 0.05 percent BAC or greater 
• 110 citations for persons under age 21 in possession of alcohol 
• 68 citations for passengers under age 21 in possession of alcohol 

CHP Contact: Lieutenant Kevin Davis, Accreditation Manager, California Highway Patrol, Professional 
Standards and Ethics Division, 916-843-3343, kmdavis@chp.ca.gov 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/SPFSIG.aspx 

Program Description: The DHCS was awarded the SPF SIG in September 2010 to (1) provide more 
streamlined state and county processes and procedures; (2) expedite the planning/action/outcomes 
process; (3) create a means for communicating statewide priorities at all levels; (4) increase the use of 
data in local planning; and (5) provide more coordinated and effective evidence-based prevention efforts. 
In following the SPF SIG five-step process, a statewide needs assessment was conducted, the results of 
which identified underage and excessive drinking among 12- to 25-year-olds as the priority of the 
California SPF SIG project. Twenty-four communities were paired and a random selection process 
determined 12 project communities and 12 control communities. Communities are currently implementing 
environmental prevention strategies that address both retail and social access aimed at the general 
population in order to change community norms. Research indicates that by implementing these 
strategies, underage and young adult use and consequences related to alcohol will be reduced. 
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State Reports – California 

Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant 
Primary Prevention Set-Aside State-Level Support/Administration 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: California allocates funds through DHCS to counties based on population utilizing 
the 20 Percent Primary Prevention Set-Aside of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA) SAPT Block Grant. California requires that each county create a strategic 
prevention plan utilizing the SPF. This ensures that appropriate primary prevention services are selected 
based on local need. Forty-five of California’s 58 counties identified underage drinking as a priority in 
their county strategic plans. DHCS provides support to county local efforts that emphasize increasing 
protective factors and decreasing risk factors for underage drinking 
by (1) overseeing contractual requirements and providing ongoing county communication for resource 
and technical assistance purposes; (2) administering statewide technical assistance and training contracts 
to support local primary prevention efforts; and (3) providing leadership and guidance to the substance 
abuse prevention field in a coordinated manner. 
California Statewide/County Efforts 

Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Underage drinking is a priority for California. Forty-five counties have specified 
underage drinking in their SPF plans as a priority goal, and 38 counties are specifically focusing on binge 
drinking among youth. Twenty-seven of 58 counties implement evidenced-based programs (EBPs) that 
increase protective factors and decrease risk factors influencing underage drinking. The most frequently 
implemented EBPs in California are LifeSkills Training, Too Good For Drugs, Project Success, Project 
Alert, Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol, and Strengthening Families. Other underage 
drinking–focused EBPs include Alcohol: True Stories (Los Angeles County), Community Trials 
Intervention To Reduce High-Risk Drinking (Los Angeles County), and Project Northland (Los Angeles 
County). Local innovative programs in California that address underage drinking include the following: 
• PARENT COMMITTED (Butte County) campaign: Provides support to parents and families with 

teenagers. The campaign urges parents to renew their commitment as a parent and support their child 
through their journey into adulthood. 

• MERCHANT COMMITTED (Butte County): An education program for off-sale and on-sale alcoholic 
beverage retailers (markets, stores, gas stations, bars, restaurants, and special event venues). The 
goal is to reduce underage drinking and youth access to alcohol by increasing alcoholic beverage 
establishment compliance. 

• Monument Corridor Anti-Alcohol & Drug Coalition (Contra Costa): Fosters ongoing community 
conversations and projects about local alcohol and drug problems to work with residents and local 
organizations in implementing environmental prevention strategies with an emphasis on policy change 
that will reduce substance abuse among youth while empowering the community. 

• Lock up Your Lethals (Humboldt): A locally developed project that will address preventing/reducing 
access to alcohol, prescription and over-the-counter medication and inhalants, and firearms. This is a 
collaboration effort with suicide prevention. 

• Parents who Host, Lose the Most (Los Angeles): Engages parents and other community members in 
identified housing development sites to become advocates in the effort to decrease underage drinking 
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State Reports – California 

and binge drinking among youth and young adults; reduce availability of and access to alcohol by 
underage youth and decrease the social access to alcohol by underage youth through informational 
sessions; strategic planning; formulate relevant and effective public awareness campaign messaging; 
and engage in dissemination strategies. 

• Community Colleges Initiative (Orange): Strengthens regional alcohol prevention through partnerships 
with directors/coordinators of student health and wellness, campus faculty and administrators, 
Associated Student Government, and local community agencies. 

• “Minor Drinking, Major Problems” media campaign (Orange)”: Will focus on adults in the City of 
Laguna Beach to increase knowledge and awareness of the prevalence and consequences of 
underage drinking, in addition to measuring support for effective actions to reduce underage drinking. 

Community Prevention Initiative (CPI) 
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: http://www.ca-cpi.org/main.php 

Program Description: CPI provides no-cost training and technical assistance (TTA) to California 
counties and community-based organizations delivering substance abuse prevention services. CPI is 
administered by the Center for Applied Research Solutions and directed by DHCS. Trainings that 
address underage drinking include: 

• Engage Youth and Families: Culturally Competent Recruitment and Retention Strategies 
• From Risk to Resilience: Inside-Out Prevention 
• Environmental Prevention 101: Covering the Basics 
• Environmental Prevention: Strategies for Engaging Youth 
• Community Action to Reduce Binge Drinking 
• Responsible Beverage Service Training 
• Tools for Regulating Local Alcohol Availability 

To support capacity building within the substance abuse prevention field, the CPI project also provides 
written products as resources to support knowledge transfer of successful EBPs on underage and binge 
drinking. These publications are available online and include: 

• Binge Drinking: Community Action to Reduce Binge Drinking 
• College Presidents Forum on Underage and Binge Drinking: One Community’s Success Story 
• Policy Strategies to Reduce Underage and Binge Drinking 
• Social Host Ordinances: An Approach to Preventing Underage Drinking 
• Underage Binge Drinking 

Friday Night Live (FNL) Partnership 
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 626,528 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.fridaynightlive.org 

Program Description: FNL is a youth development program predicated on youth and adults working in 
partnership to influence issues relevant to their well-being and that of their community. FNL programs: 
• Encourage young people to develop programs that are meaningful 
• Promote messages through shared experiences 
• Encourage peer-oriented programming (youth driven and youth led) 
• Are goal-directed, action-oriented, and innovative 
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State Reports – California 

• Encourage and empower young people as active leaders and community resources 
• Have broad appeal to diverse ethnic, racial, and social groups 
• Encourage youth to care about each other and their environment 
• Offer conferences and trainings for young people to develop leadership skills 
Many FNL programs statewide engage youth in environmental prevention efforts to reduce underage 
drinking. Also, every year the California Friday Night Live Partnership (CFNLP) collaborates with the 
Governor’s Prevention Advisory Council (GPAC) to provide support and leadership to Town Hall Meetings 
on Underage Drinking. 
Office of the Chancellor, California State University (CSU) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 150,265 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: A significant number of strategies and programs have been undertaken by all 23 
CSU campuses as part of a commitment to address alcohol policy and prevention programming. Many of 
the programs serve students under 21, which is 38 percent of the systemwide student population. CSU 
alcohol prevention and education programs include a variety of strategies such as (1) Peer Education 
Programs; (2) targeted activities that involve high collegiate alcohol consumption (e.g., Alcohol 
Awareness Week and Safe Spring Break); (3) collaboration with campus and community partners 
(Mothers Against Drunk Driving, local police departments, Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC), etc.); and 
(4) increasing number of online assessments and interactive education tools. Some of the online 
assessments and interactive education tools can be found at Alcohol.Edu, San Diego State University 
Research Foundation (http://www.echeckuptogo.com) and Princeton Review (http://collegewise.com). 
Every other year, CSUs such as Fresno State University randomly select students to participate in the 
National College Health Assessment. This survey allows the CSU to get to know students’ habits, 
behaviors, and perceptions on the most prevalent health topics. 
California Highway Patrol (CHP) Start Smart Program 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 38,183 
Number of parents served 67,082 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.chp.ca.gov/community/startsmart.html 

Program Description: The Start Smart Program provides classes targeting new and future licensed 
teenage drivers ages 15 through 19 and their parents/guardians. As part of the Start Smart Program, 
CHP officers discuss topics such as traffic collision avoidance techniques, collision-causing factors, 
driver/parent responsibilities, underage drinking, and seat belt usage. 
California Highway Patrol Every 15 Minutes Program 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 111,790 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.chp.ca.gov/programs/every-
15-minutes 
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State Reports – California 

Program Description: The Every 15 Minutes Program is a 2-day program focusing on high school 
juniors and seniors that challenges them to think about drinking, driving, personal safety, the 
responsibility of making mature decisions, and the impact their decisions have on family, friends, their 
community, and many others. 
Department of Education – Safe and Supportive Schools Grant 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 87,000 
Number of parents served 130,000 
Number of caregivers served Included in parent 

estimate above 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://californias3.wested.org 

Program Description: The California Department of Education receives a grant from the U.S. 
Department of Education to improve school climate. One goal of the grant is to reduce alcohol use 
among students. The grant has been awarded to 58 school districts statewide. To measure the impact 
on school climate, each participating district must collect data about the learning and teaching 
environment, the health and well-being of students, and support for parents, school staff, and students 
that fosters learning and school success. 
University of California (UC) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 30,000 
Number of parents served 200 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: UC consists of 10 campuses throughout California, most with programs that 
address underage drinking. Campuses that do not offer underage drinking programs operate under a 
“harm/risk philosophy,” in which they encourage students to adhere to all applicable campus policies 
related to alcohol. The campuses provide peer health educators who address drinking safely and 
responsibly and recovery programs related to various types of substance abuse. UC campus programs 
include but are not limited to PartySafe, Southside Safety Patrol, Event Planning and Risk Management 
Training for Greeks, Alcohol and Other Drug Counseling, Student Health Advocates, College Alcohol Risk 
Reduction Seminar, Student Health Outreach and Promotion, and the Just Say Gnome/Small Party 
Initiative. Campus programs can be found on individual campus websites located at: 
UC Berkeley, Party Safe: http://www.uhs.berkeley.edu/psafe 
UC Berkeley, Health Services: http://www.uhs.berkeley.edu/home/healthtopics/alcoholdrugs.shtml 
UC San Diego Alcohol eCHECK: 
https://interwork.sdsu.edu/echeckup/usa/alc/coll/index.php?id=UCSD&hfs=true 
UC Santa Cruz Counseling and Psychological Services: http://caps.ucsc.edu/counseling/aod/index.html 
Department of Alcoholic and Beverage Control (ABC) – 
Underage Drinking Programs 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
https://www.abc.ca.gov/Annualreports/Performance%20Management%20Rep 
ort%202012-13.pdf 
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State Reports – California 

URL for more program information: 
https://www.abc.ca.gov/programs/programs.html 

Program Description: Target Responsibility For Alcohol Connected Emergencies (TRACE) is a protocol 
wherein first responders to alcohol-related emergencies immediately notify ABC when an incident 
involves a person under 21 and an alcoholic beverage. ABC agents will conduct a simultaneous 
investigation to determine where the alcoholic beverages were acquired, purchased, or served.  For more 
information, go to https://www.abc.ca.gov/programs/Trace.html. 
Minor Decoy Operations reduce the number of licensees who sell alcohol to minors and reduce youth 
access to alcohol. These operations, conducted by law enforcement and/or community groups, can 
markedly increase the percentage of licensees who comply with the minimum purchase age law. For 
more information, go to https://www.abc.ca.gov/forms/ABC511.pdf. 
Decoy Shoulder Tap Operation is an enforcement program that ABC and local law enforcement agencies 
use to detect and deter shoulder tap activity. During the program, a minor decoy under direct supervision 
of law enforcement officers solicits adults outside ABC-licensed stores to buy the minor decoy alcohol. 
Any person seen furnishing alcohol to the minor decoy is arrested (either cited or booked) for furnishing 
alcohol to a minor (a violation of Section 25658(a) Business and Professions Code). For more 
information, go to https://www.abc.ca.gov/forms/ABC509.pdf. 
Operation Trapdoor is a program to reduce underage consumption of, and access to, alcohol by arresting 
minors who possess false identification. A secondary goal is to generate leads and develop potential 
confidential informants that will lead back to counterfeit operations and ID “mills.” For more information, 
go to https://www.abc.ca.gov/forms/ABC513.pdf. 
The Teenage Party Prevention, Enforcement, and Dispersal Program Enablers aims to reduce the 
number of teen drinking parties and driving under the influence incidents. Objectives include (1) forming 
an Alcohol Enforcement Response Team or provide specialized training to patrol officers; (2) increasing 
awareness and support by involving the media, parents, and community stakeholders; (3) containing 
party participants and controlling their release; and (4) deterring future parties by citing or arresting 
violators. For more information, go to https://www.abc.ca.gov/forms/ABC512.pdf. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: Through the CPI contract, training and technical assistance (TTA) was 
provided to the following federally recognized tribes to support prevention efforts that include 
underage drinking: 
• Shingle Springs Rancheria Tribal Court received TTA on how to integrate culturally responsive 
elements to build a mentoring program for court-involved youth as an intervention to juvenile 
delinquency that emphasizes healthy alternatives to AOD use. 

•Hoopa Valley Tribe received TTA for Hoopa AmeriCorps members ages 18–24 about substance 
abuse in the workplace. 

•La Jolla Band of Luiseño Indians sponsored a training tor teen girls and staff on how to build 
leadership and incorporate AOD education, prevention, and intervention to increase health and well-
being efforts and services in Native American culture. 

TTA services were also provided to the following agencies that serve Native American populations: 
•Health and Human Services, Department of Public Health, Mendocino County 
•American Indian Resource Center, University of California, Santa Cruz 
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State Reports – California 

•K’ima:w Medical Center Tribal Injury Prevention Program 
• Resources for Indian Student Education 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

Yes 

Program description: The CSU’s Executive Order 966, Alcohol Sales and Advertising Policy, prohibits 
sale of alcohol beverages at athletic events and limits advertising to beer and wine at CSU campuses in 
compliance with Guidelines for Beverage Alcohol Marketing by National Inter-Association Task Force on 
Alcohol Issues. Additionally, the Board of Trustees policy requests all campuses to adopt policies that 
require alcoholic beverage trademarks or logos to be clearly subordinate to the sponsored event itself. 
Similarly, the name of an alcoholic beverage manufacturer or product may not be connected to the name 
of the institutional event or facility, but may be promoted as a sponsor of the event. 
The California Friday Night Live Partnership provides TTA to the FNL field to empower youth to partner 
with the community at large in the implementation of a number of projects including the Retail Alcohol 
Merchant Awards, which works with local merchants on a voluntary basis to reduce advertising and 
increase adherence to local policies. 
The National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (Orange County) facilitates youth-led 
educational workshops regarding marketing strategies employed by the alcohol industry to promote 
alcohol use by youth. 
Social Advocates for Youth (San Diego County) spearheads a campaign to develop and advance public 
and private policies related to business practices to reduce alcoholic beverage advertising and marketing 
to youth. 
The Japanese Community Youth Council (San Francisco County) cofacilitates the Youth Advisory 
Council, which is implementing a youth-led Alcohol Campaign action plan in order to decrease public 
alcohol advertisements through media messaging and policy change. 
The Healthy Stores for a Healthy Community campaign is a statewide collaboration between tobacco 
use prevention, nutrition, and alcohol prevention partners. The goal is to improve the health of 
Californians through changes in community stores and to educate people how in-store product 
marketing influences consumption of unhealthy products especially to young people. 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): No 
Agency(ies) within your state: Department of Health Care Services, Office of 
the Chancellor, California State University, University of California Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 

Best practice standards description: 
DHCS best practice standards include: 
Statewide use of the SPF to 
• Ensure data-informed programmatic decisionmaking 
• Encourage the implementation of EBPs 
• Ensure effective prevention services guided by the SPF 
• Maintain fidelity of evidence-based programs by providing individualized and community-based 

technical assistance and training 
The Office of the Chancellor, California State University, has a systemwide committee, the Alcohol 
Policy Implementation Steering Committee, made up of nine members of the Student Affairs Council 
(i.e., Vice Presidents of Student Affairs) that meets regularly to provide guidance to campuses about 
effective policy implementation and practices and provide leadership on systemwide efforts. The CSUs 
also have campus and community-level collaborations on alcohol, tobacco and other drugs. Programs 
use a variety of assessment tools and best practice standards. A few examples include resources such 
as Standards and Guidelines for Alcohol and Drug Programs by the Council for the Advancement of 
Standards in Higher Education; National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism College Drinking 
Report; and annual program evaluations. 
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State Reports – California 

The UC Berkeley Vice Chancellor’s Office campus policy titled, “Berkeley Campus Policy Governing the 
Promotion of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco Products on the Campus and at Campus-Sponsored 
Events” can be viewed at http://students.berkeley.edu/uga/alcohol.stm. 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Margie Hieter 
E-mail: margie.hieter@dhcs.ca.gov 
Address: PO Box 997413, MS 2622, Sacramento, CA 95899-7413 
Phone: 916-323-1836 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Department of Health Care Services 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
California Community Colleges 
California Conservation Corps 
Department of Public Health 
California Highway Patrol 
Office of the Chancellor, California State University 
Office of the President, University of California 
California Department of Education 
Department of Rehabilitation 
Department of Social Services 
California National Guard 
Office of Traffic Safety 
Governor’s Office of Planning and Research 
Attorney General’s Office 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/IPAC.aspx 

Yes 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 

Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

No 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

No 

Additional Clarification 
The state-level interagency governmental body/committee (question 2.C.1) that coordinates or addresses 
underage drinking prevention activities in California is the Governor’s Prevention Advisory Council. 
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State Reports – California 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other 

No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Colorado 

Colorado 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  5,268,367 
Population Ages 12–20: 580,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.1 157,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.0 87,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.2 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.9 4,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.9 44,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.3 24,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 54.2 100,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 32.1 59,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 61 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,715 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 40 11 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Colorado 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private location AND 
 Parent/guardian 
Note:  Colorado’s exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private 
property when minors possess alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent 
or guardian). 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private location AND 
 Parent/guardian 
Note:  Colorado’s exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private 
property when minors consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent 
or guardian). 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private location AND 
 Parent/guardian 
Note:  Colorado’s exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private 
property when minors possess or consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of 
a parent or guardian). 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
 Specific affirmative defense:  The retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
 Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with 

the purchase of alcohol. 
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State Reports – Colorado 

Note:  In Colorado, the license revocation period for a first conviction of obtaining or attempting 
to obtain an alcoholic beverage by misrepresentation of age is 24 hours of public service, if 
ordered by the court, or 3 months. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  Not specified 
 Maximum:  90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  12 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  For first 6 months, no passenger under 21 who is not an 
immediate family member unless accompanied by driver’s parent or guardian; second 
6 months, only one passenger under 21 who is not an immediate family member unless 
accompanied by driver’s parent or guardian 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 
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State Reports – Colorado 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
 Private location AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  18 
 Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
	 Age-appropriate appearance with no age enhancements 

ID possession 
	 Discretionary 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Not specified 

Decoy training 
	 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  1 year 
 First offense: Written warning up to 15-day license suspension.  Licensee may pay a fine in 

lieu of up to 14 days of suspension. 
	 Second offense: 5- to 30-day license suspension.  Licensee may pay fine in lieu of 

suspension, or suspension may be held in abeyance if no fine was paid or suspension served 
at time of first offense. 

	 Third offense:  20- to 45-day license suspension.
	
 Fourth offense: 45-day or more license suspension or license revocation.
	
Note:  List of aggravating and mitigating factors is provided. A 2-year time period is allowed for 

the fourth offense.  All penalties are for compliance check violations only.
	

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments. 
 The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Incentive for training 
	 Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  21 
 Wine:  21 
 Spirits:  21 
Note:  Although employees must be at least 21 years old to sell malt, vinous, or spirituous 
liquors in a retail liquor store, employees at least 18 years old may sell fermented malt beverages 
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State Reports – Colorado 

containing not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight in establishments where fermented malt 
beverages are sold at retail in containers for off-premises consumption. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present.
	
Note:  Persons under 21 years old employed to sell or dispense malt, vinous, or spirituous liquors 

are required to be supervised by another person who is on premise and has attained the age of 21.
	

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on damages: $280,810 per person 
 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on damages: $280,810 per person 
 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  
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State Reports – Colorado 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
 Wine: Permitted—state permit required 
 Spirits:  Permitted—state permit required 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.08 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.32 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $2.28 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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State Reports – Colorado 

Colorado State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Liquor Enforcement Division, Colorado Department of Revenue 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies 

Yes 

Liquor Enforcement, 
Colorado Dept. of Revenue 

No 

Yes 

566 

12/31/2013 

No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, 
or both retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
10,296 

3,010 

380 
12/31/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

3,010 
380 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
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State Reports – Colorado 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

373 
$401,636 

$200 
$5,000 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

53 
440 

No data 
21 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Additional Clarification 

No data 

Yes 

2 
12/31/2013 

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant – Prevention and 
Reduction of Under 18 Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drug Use 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 

URL for more program information: Not available 
Program Description: The Colorado Office of Behavioral Health administers a portion of the federal 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant provided by the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). The Reduction of Under 18 Alcohol, Tobacco and 
Other Drug Use program is designed to reduce the current alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use rate; 
prevent early initiation of substance use; promote healthy behavior; and support positive choices in 
school and communities by youth under age 18 at the local level. Fourteen agencies across Colorado 
are provided funding to implement evidence-based programs to reduce underage drinking. 
Persistent Drunk Driver (PDD) Program 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 532,239 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
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State Reports – Colorado 

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: Not available 

Program Description: PDD prevention grants focus on supporting education programs for the general 
public with particular emphasis on education of young drivers regarding the dangers of persistent drunk 
driving at the county and local level. The PDD cash fund was established in 1998 by HB 98-1334, known 
as the “Persistent Drunk Driver Act of 1998.” As a part of the legislation, monies gathered from penalties 
and fees associated with being convicted of DUI are designated to support education programs for the 
general public, with emphasis on education of young drivers regarding the dangers of persistent drunk 
driving. Currently, nine agencies across Colorado receive PDD funding from the Office of Behavioral 
Health. All nine agencies with the exception of the evaluation contract focus on providing education to 
young drivers about drunk driving as well as persistent drunk driving. 
Colorado Prevention Partners for Success (CPPS) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 474,664 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: Not available 

Program Description: Colorado is one of only five states to be awarded the SAMHSA Partnership for 
Success: State and Community Prevention Performance grant. This program is designed to help 
reduce statewide substance abuse rates by addressing gaps in current prevention services and 
increasing the ability to reach out to specific populations or geographic areas with serious, emerging 
substance abuse problems. CPPS employs a public health model to demonstrate positive statewide 
change to prevent the onset and reduce progression of underage and binge drinking among 
Hispanic/Latino high school youth. The Office of Behavioral Health will work with four counties: Adams, 
Denver, Pueblo, and Weld, over the next 5 years. This program is designed to help reduce statewide 
substance abuse rates by addressing gaps in current prevention services and increasing the ability to 
reach out to specific populations or geographic areas with serious, emerging substance abuse problems. 
The project employs a public health model to demonstrate positive statewide change in underage and 
binge drinking rates and disparity for high school Latino youth. CPPS will continue to integrate the 
Strategic Prevention Framework within Colorado’s State Prevention System to ensure measurable and 
sustainable substance abuse prevention outcomes. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Colorado 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The Southern Ute Community Action Program (SUCAP), located in 
Ignacio, CO, is part of the Southern Ute Reservation in southwest Colorado.  Ignacio is a multiethnic 
community with a strong Native American population.  The Boys and Girls Club of the Southern Ute 
Indian Tribe and the Ignacio school district use evidence-based practices targeting youth ages 9 to 
17.  Under the Office of Behavioral Health Block Grant funding, SUCAP operates a teen center that 
continually offers education and alternative activities aimed at youth underage drinking and other 
substance use.  SUCAP programs are culturally relevant to the Southern Ute Tribal requirements 
and combine classroom activities with outdoor excursions developed for Native American 
communities.  Outreach is based on relationship-building with youth in the schools and teen center to 
create a continuum of contacts and dosage. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA Yes 
Agency(ies) within your state: Colorado Department of Human Services, Office 
of Behavioral Health Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: The Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) uses a five-step 
planning process to guide states, jurisdictions, tribes, and communities in selection, implementation, 
and evaluation of effective, culturally appropriate, and sustainable prevention activities.  The SPF 
process promotes youth development, reduces risk-taking behaviors, builds assets and resilience, 
and prevents problem behaviors across the life span of the programs. 
The idea behind the SPF is to use findings from public health research along with evidence-based 
prevention programs to build capacity and sustainable prevention.  This, in turn, promotes resilience 
and decreases risk factors in individuals, families, and communities. 
SPF steps require states, territories, federally recognized tribes and tribal organizations, and 
communities to systematically: 

1. Assess their prevention needs based on epidemiological data 
2. Build their prevention capacity 
3. Develop a strategic plan 
4. Implement effective community prevention programs, policies, and practices 
5. Evaluate their efforts for outcomes 

The SPF is built on a community-based risk and protective factors approach to prevention. Also, 
there is a series of guiding principles that can be utilized at the federal, state or tribal, and community 
levels. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information: 
Not applicable 
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State Reports – Colorado 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

No data 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 

Prepared by: Colorado Department of Human Services, Office of Behavioral Health, Prevention 
and Intervention 
Plan can be accessed via: Not available 

Yes 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Not sure 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
12/31/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
6/30/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$1,931,559 
6/30/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$33,649 
6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams: 

Taxes Yes 
Fines Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other: Federal government grant funds Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Persistent Drunk Driver funds: Pursuant to legislation passed in 1998, penalties were increased for 
high BAC and repeat DUI offenders. Referred to as the Persistent Drunk Driver Act of 1998, this 
legislation defined the PDD and created the PDD Cash Fund, which is funded by a surcharge 
imposed on convicted DWAI/DUI offenders. Monies in the PDD fund are subject to annual 
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State Reports – Colorado 

appropriation by the general assembly with the scope of their use stipulated by statute. Overall, the 
primary purpose of the fund is to support programs that are intended to deter persistent drunk driving 
or intended to educate the public, with particular emphasis on education of young drivers regarding 
the dangers of persistent drunk driving. In recent years the scope of the fund was expanded to 
include assisting indigent DUI offenders with the cost of required treatment or intervention services. 
Colorado Partnership for Success funds: Colorado is one of only four states to be awarded the 
SAMHSA Partnership for Success: State and Community Prevention Performance grant. This 
program is designed to help reduce statewide substance abuse rates by addressing gaps in current 
prevention services and increasing the ability to reach out to specific populations or geographic areas 
with serious, emerging substance abuse problems. The other three states are Connecticut, Illinois, 
and Tennessee. CPPS funds are used to help reduce statewide substance abuse rates by 
addressing gaps in current prevention services and increasing the ability to reach out to specific 
populations or geographic areas with serious, emerging substance abuse problems. CPPS employs 
a public health model to demonstrate positive statewide change in underage and binge drinking rates 
and disparity for high school Latino youth. CPPS will continue to integrate the Strategic Prevention 
Framework within Colorado’s State Prevention System to ensure measurable and sustainable 
substance abuse prevention outcomes. 
Block Grant funds: A portion of the state Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant 
funds, awarded by the Federal government agency Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA), are allocated for the prevention and reduction of under 18 alcohol, 
tobacco and other drug use. These particular block grant funds are used to reduce the current 
alcohol, tobacco and other drug use rate, prevent early initiation of substance use, promote healthy 
behavior, and support positive choices in school and communities by youth under age 18 at the local 
level. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Connecticut 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  3,596,080 
Population Ages 12–20: 440,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.1 133,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19.2 84,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.2 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.1 2,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.2 39,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.7 23,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 56.6 86,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 39 59,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 35 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,085 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 49 10 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other 

information digitally encoded on valid identification cards. 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Specific affirmative defense:  The retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 30 days 
Note: In addition to the 30-day suspension penalty mentioned above, Connecticut imposes a 
license suspension of 60 days if underage possession occurs on any public street or highway.  
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  16 
 Minimum learner stage period:  4 months with driver education, 6 months without 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 years, 4 months 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, limited to one parent, instructor, or licensed 
adult who is at least 20 years old; second 6 months, expands to include immediate family 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 12 months after issuance 

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 
Note:  A parent or guardian of any applicant less than 18 to whom a learner’s permit is issued 
shall attend 2 hours of safe-driving instruction with such applicant. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No written guidelines 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  15 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  

 Limitations on damages: $250,000 per person
	
 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Minor must be intoxicated at time of furnishing.
	
 The courts recognize common law dram shop liability. 

Note:  A common-law cause of action is not precluded by the dram shop statute.  Under common 

law, the limitations on damages may be avoided.
	

Social Host Liability Laws 
 There is no statutory liability.
	
 The courts recognize common law social host liability.  


Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Criminal negligence 
 Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
 Exception(s):  Family 
Note: The “preventive action” provision in Connecticut requires the prosecution to prove that 
the host failed to take preventive action.  Connecticut permits prosecution of a person who 
“knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal negligence” permits a minor to possess alcoholic liquor. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Producer must verify age of purchaser: ID check is required at some point prior to delivery. 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient: ID check is required at some point prior 

to delivery. 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
 State must approve common carrier. 

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 
 Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  6 gallons or more 
 Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg 
– Maximum fine/jail:  $500/3 months 

 Purchaser information collected:  
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine: Permitted 
 Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.24 per gallon 
Note:  Connecticut imposes a tax of $7.20 per barrel, defined as “not less than twenty-eight nor 
more than thirty-one gallons,” and $0.24 per wine gallon or fraction thereof on quantities less 
than a quarter barrel. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.72 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $5.40 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Connecticut State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

State of Connecticut, Department of Consumer Protection–Liquor Control Division 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Liquor Control Div. 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 1,539 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 6,500 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 565 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 129 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/ 
decoy operations No 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Don’t know/no answer 

Data are collected on these activities Not applicable 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 200 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Total amount in fines across all licensees $175,000 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $10,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 200 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

Additional Clarification 
FY2013 Liquor Control Personnel, $1.8 million: The primary mission is to reduce minors’ access to 
alcoholic liquor through investigations, police referrals, suitability of applicants, and location premises 
investigations. While it is difficult to break down each individual component, most of these efforts are 
designed to fulfill one of the department’s mission statements: reducing access to alcoholic liquor to 
minors from our licensed retailers. Total fines assessed for 2013 were $942,178 for all violations. 

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Partnerships for Success (PFS) 

Program serves specific or general population General  population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: http://www.ct.gov/dmhasprevention 
URL for more program information: http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/prevention 

Program Description: PFS is a 5-year, $11.5 million grant awarded to Connecticut through a 
competitive bid from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Center 
for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP). PFS funding was to commence on September 30, 2014. PFS 
allows Connecticut to continue successful community-based approaches that prevent underage drinking 
through the use of the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF). This data-driven public health approach 
builds on existing successes of over 20 community-based coalitions that specifically address underage 
drinking, including several other state and federally funded coalitions and community-based programs 
currently in place covering each region of the state. PFS uses environmental prevention approaches to 
produce measurable reductions in alcohol consumption patterns and their negative consequences. The 
University of Connecticut Health Center conducts evaluations at the state and community levels to track 
performance targets. Goals include: 

• Reducing past-month alcohol use rates for individuals ages 12–20 
• Preventing the onset and reducing the progression of childhood/underage drinking 
• Strengthening capacity and infrastructure at the state and community levels to implement data-

driven, evidence-based policies, practices, and programs 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

• Taking a collaborative approach to align state and community strategies, redirect existing services, 
and leverage human and fiscal resources to sustain efforts 

Strategy types: Nineteen funded community coalitions throughout the state use a public health approach 
in over 30 municipalities and statewide across college campuses to decrease alcohol consumption in 
youth ages 12 to 20. Additionally, coalitions build on existing resources to implement environmental 
strategies known to be effective in reducing youth alcohol use rates, such as curtailing retail and social 
access, policy change, enforcement, media advocacy, and parental and merchant education, as well as 
measure changes in underage drinking that use student survey and social indicator data. Connecticut 
has recently completed implementation of the SAMHSA-funded SPF initiative, which identified underage 
drinking as a state priority. SPF was a 5-year, $11 million initiative that brought evidence-based 
programs, policies, and practices to communities through a coalition approach to regions across the 
state. Coalitions were charged with conducting needs and resource assessments, building community 
capacity to address underage drinking, developing strategic plans, implementing evidence-based 
programs, and evaluating and sustaining efforts once the initiative ended. The majority of the coalitions 
were continued through SAMHSA’s Partnership for Success Grant. Highlights included prioritizing and 
addressing underage drinking at the state and community levels; leveraging, redirecting, and realigning 
resources in support of the SPF and the reduction of underage drinking; and strengthening state/local 
capacity and infrastructure in support of prevention. The overall goals of Connecticut’s PFS initiative are 
to: 

1. Reduce substance abuse-related problems in the state, particularly those related to underage 
alcohol use 

2. Prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse, including underage drinking 
3. Strengthen state and community-level capacity and infrastructure in support of substance abuse 

prevention 
4. Leverage, redirect, and realign statewide funding streams for prevention 

At the end of Year 3 of the PFS, the cumulative evidence indicates that the state has been successful in 
reducing and preventing underage drinking. 

The target performance indicator for Connecticut’s PFS project was exceeded. Past-month alcohol use 
among 12- to 17-year-olds dropped from 19.6 percent in the 2006–2007 baseline year to 17.8 percent in 
2009–2010 as measured by the National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), surpassing 
Connecticut’s CSAP-approved performance target of 18.1 percent. According to the NSDUH, underage 
drinking among the state’s population ages 12 to 17 decreased 9.2 percent in the 3-year period. 
Connecticut Statewide Healthy Campus Initiative (CSHCI) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.ct.gov/dmhasprevention 

Program Description: The purpose of CSHCI is to develop a comprehensive prevention system 
responsive to the needs of young adults ages 18 to 25 who attend Connecticut’s public universities. The 
Initiative is based on a 3-in-1 Framework recommended by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and 
Alcoholism (NIAAA). The goal is to change the culture of drinking and other substance use/abuse using 
broad-based, comprehensive, integrated programs with multiple complementary components that target 
individuals, including at-risk or alcohol-dependent drinkers; the student population as a whole; and the 
college and the surrounding community. Objectives of the initiative are to: 

• Address gaps in substance abuse prevention and early intervention services. 
• Support culturally responsive, age appropriate, and evidence-based approaches for young adults. 
• Further develop Connecticut’s prevention data infrastructure and capacity to collect and analyze 

outcome data and report on key performance measures. The primary target population is college 
students ages 18 to 25. Programs may also target family members, peers, schools, and 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 362 



    

   

  
    

  

 
  

  
    

   
  

  
 

 
 

 
  

  
    

 
  

   
   

  
  

   
  

  
  

   
    

   
    

      
  

  
   

    
 

   
     

  
 

   
   

  
   
  
  

  
  

     
 

     
      

  

State Reports – Connecticut 

communities at large. This initiative requires that programs use multiple strategies within the 3-in-1 
Framework (community, campus, and individual-level strategies known to be effective). 

The following is a summary list of activities: 

1. Monthly meetings of the Connecticut Healthy Campus Initiative, open to all Connecticut institutions of 
higher education. Meetings include training by national experts, technical assistance, networking, 
and coalition organizational tasks geared toward sustaining efforts and promoting evidence-based 
activities on college campuses. Forty colleges have signed on to participate in the Initiative. 

2. Grantee funding opportunities: Following a competitive request-for-proposal process, nine 
Connecticut colleges received awards to implement evidence-based environmental strategies 
including policy review and creation, enforcement of underage drinking laws and policies, coalition 
capacity building, and social marketing. Colleges receiving the awards implement the CORE survey 
before and after implementation to measure the effectiveness of the strategies at reducing past-
month alcohol use and binge drinking. 

3. Technical assistance (TA) is provided by Connecticut Center for Prevention, Wellness and Recovery 
staff to Connecticut institutions of higher education. TA includes face-to-face, telephone, and 
electronic consultation as requested by college staff. An electronic listserv of Connecticut colleges 
will be maintained and used to provide updates on national and state alcohol and drug prevention 
news and information. 

Best Practices Programs 
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.ct.gov/dmhasprevention 

Program Description: The Best Practice Initiative consists of 14 multifocused Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant–funded programs across the state. They were originally 
created in the mid-1990s to apply science- and research-based innovations to populations across the 
lifecycle. In 2009, following extensive review of state epidemiological data on underage alcohol use and 
related consequences, the funded agencies were refocused to apply the SPF and related strategies to 
address underage drinking and other substances that were data-identified as problems in chosen 
communities. All Best Practice agencies are required to use part of their block grant funds to reduce 
underage drinking and related consequences. Additionally, they are required to hire a local evaluator to 
assist with evaluation of their grants and development of an evaluation report. The population-level 
approach requires agencies to use evidenced-based environmental strategies endorsed by CSAP, such 
as law and policy development and enforcement and media and marketing campaigns. 
Office of Policy and Management – Enforcement of Underage 
Drinking Laws (EUDL) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.ct.gov/OPM 

Program Description: The Office of Policy and Management and the Juvenile Justice Advisory 
Committee (JJAC) support comprehensive programs designed to combat underage drinking. Another 
initiative sponsored by the Office of Policy and Management is called “SetTheRulesCT.” This statewide 
media campaign educates parents and adults about Connecticut’s social host law and the impact of 
alcohol on teenage brain development. The EUDL program supports and enhances state efforts, in 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

cooperation with local jurisdictions, to enforce laws prohibiting the sale of alcoholic beverages to, or the 
consumption of alcoholic beverages by, individuals under 21 years old. 
Governor’s Prevention Partnership (GPP) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.preventionworksct.org 

Program Description: GPP, a statewide resource link, serves as a nonprofit entity between state 
government and businesses with a mission to keep Connecticut’s youth safe, successful, and drug free. 
GPP provides leadership and services to help schools, communities, colleges, and businesses create 
and sustain quality programs in the following areas: mentoring, coalition building, underage drinking, 
school-based substance abuse and violence prevention, campus community partnerships, parent 
education, and media. GPP works closely with the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
(DMHAS), state agencies, and community-based organizations to maximize prevention efforts and 
services based on state needs and policy plans. GPP and state and local coalitions have mobilized 
toward a statewide coalition, the Connecticut Coalition to Stop Underage Drinking (CCSUD). GPP has 
also been the technical assistance provider to the SPF grantees and currently provides technical 
assistance on the SPF 5-step process to the Best Practice Programs and the Partnerships for Success 
(PFS) grantees. 
Regional Action Councils (RACs) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.ct.gov/dmhasprevention 

Program Description: RACs comprise 13 public/private subregional planning and action councils 
covering the state that have responsibility for planning, development, and coordination of behavioral 
health services in their respective regions. RACs are resource links for DMHAS and are legislatively 
mandated to: 

1. Determine the extent of substance abuse problems within their subregions 
2. Determine the status of resources to address such problems 
3. Identify gaps in the substance abuse service continuum 
4. Identify changes to the community environment that will reduce substance abuse 

This information is used by DMHAS to inform decisions related to service system plans and 
enhancements. RAC membership consists of diverse members of the community, including the chief 
elected official, chief of police, school superintendents of each municipality within the subregion, 
business and professional leaders, General Assembly members, service providers, representatives of 
minority populations, religious organizations, representatives of private funding organizations, and the 
media. Every 2 years, RACs produce Subregional Prevention Priority Reports to describe: 

1. The burden of substance abuse, problem gambling, and suicide in the subregions 
2. Prioritized prevention needs 
3. The capacity of the subregions’ communities to address those needs 

These reports are based on data-driven analyses of issues in the subregions with assistance from key 
community members. The reports and accompanying data are used as building blocks for state- and 
community-level processes, including capacity and readiness building, strategic planning, implementing 
evidence-based programs and strategies, and evaluating efforts to reduce substance abuse and promote 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

mental health. The subregional priority-setting process conducted by the RACs was instrumental in 
assisting community coalitions with developing strategic plans to address underage drinking in their 
respective communities. RACs have also received Drug Free Coalition (DFC) and Sober Truth on 
Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act grants to address underage drinking in their regions. 
Connecticut Clearinghouse, Connecticut Center for Prevention, 
Wellness, and Recovery (CCPWR) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.ctclearinghouse.org 

Program Description: Connecticut Clearinghouse, a program of Wheeler Clinic’s CCPWR, is a 
statewide library and resource center for information on substance use and mental health disorders, 
prevention and health promotion, treatment and recovery, wellness, and other related topics. CCPWR 
serves as a primary infrastracture resource link for DMHAS. Resources and services are available to 
anyone who lives or works in the state, including families, teachers, students, professionals, community 
members, and children. 

Local Prevention Councils (LPCs) 
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.ct.gov/dmhasprevention 

Program Description: LPCs support more than 120 local, municipal-based, alcohol, tobacco, and drug 
abuse prevention councils. The intent of this grant program is to facilitate development of prevention 
initiatives at the local level with the support of the chief elected officials. The specific goals of LPCs are 
to increase public awareness of substance use prevention and to stimulate development and 
implementation of local prevention activities primarily focused on youth. 
Multicultural Leadership Institute (MLI) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.mli-inc.org 

Program Description: MLI is a key prevention resource link in Connecticut. A private, nonprofit 
501(c)(3) corporation established in 1997, its mission is to provide leadership for positive change through 
implementing and coordinating multicultural and diversity awareness, education, advocacy, and research 
programs. The organization is a leader in promoting multicultural transformation, impacting individuals, 
organizations, and society. MLI works with DMHAS-funded prevention providers to assist them in 
infusing cultural competence into all of their work. Additionally, MLI’s current education and training 
programs and activities address diversity and multiculturalism across a variety of professions and fields. 
Speaking engagements, training, or consultation services may address general cultural competency or 
specific topics or populations. Curriculum and other materials are tailored to each group’s unique needs. 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
The state also supports programs that incorporate, as part of their goals and activities, underage drinking 
prevention activities. Those programs and agencies include the Department of Children and Families, 
the Safe and Drug Free Schools, and the DOT DUI Enforcement Program. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: Connecticut has two federally recognized tribal nations, the 
Mashantucket Pequot Nation (population: 227) and the Mohegan Tribe (population: 1,700). 
Connecticut also has four state-recognized tribal nations: the Eastern Pequot Nation, the Golden Hill 
Paugusset Tribe, the Pawcatuck Eastern Pequot Tribe (population: 150), and the Schaghticoke 
Indian Tribe (population: 300). A seventh tribal nation, Nipmuc Indian Association of Connecticut, is 
currently seeking federal recognition. The state’s two federally recognized American Indian tribes are 
located in the Norwich/New London area of eastern Connecticut. Both have casinos that contribute 
25 percent of all slot revenues to the state. Outside of the federal government, these casinos are the 
second-largest contributors to Connecticut’s economy. As a result, the casinos have provided a 
stable economic foundation for the tribes and have allowed for the preservation of culture and the 
establishment of tribal departments that provide a broad range of health/social benefits to members 
on the reservations. Coalitions/RACs in close proximity to Connecticut’s two tribes have formal 
linkages and include tribal communities within their community interventions. At the state level, 
DMHAS is currently working with tribal leadership to educate them on the PFS initiative and engage 
tribal representatives to serve in an advisory role, providing advice on issues facing American Indians 
who wish to participate in underage drinking and related substance abuse prevention programs. The 
Mashantucket Pequot Nation and the Mohegan Tribe have representatives who are members of the 
Connecticut Statewide Prevention Enhancement Policy Consortium. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Program description: “SetTheRulesCT” is a statewide media campaign educating parents and adults 
about Connecticut’s social host law and the impact of alcohol on teenage brain development. The 
U.S. Department of Justice’s Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention is addressing the 
growing problem of underage drinking through numerous initiatives, including public advertising 
programs. “SetTheRulesCT” was developed by the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) and the 
JJAC Subcommittee on Combating Underage Drinking, which is composed of representatives from 
the following state agencies and departments: 
• Commission on Children 
• Department of Children and Families 
• Department of Consumer Protection, Liquor Control 
• Department of Education 
• Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
• Department of Motor Vehicles 
• Department of Public Safety 
• Department of Transportation, Division of Public Defender Services 
• Department of Public Health 
• Judicial Branch 
• Office of Policy and Management 
• Juvenile Justice Policy and Planning Division 
• Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee 
• Office of the Chief State’s Attorney 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Additionally, Connecticut DMHAS Partnership for Success and Best Practice grantee agencies will 
implement social marketing campaigns as a strategy to address priority underage drinking risk 
factors in local communities throughout the state. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration, Center for Substance Abuse Prevention Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Department of Mental Health and Addiction 
Services, Prevention and Health Promotion Division Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: The DMHAS-funded Connecticut PFS grantees use evidence-
based programs (EBPs) including the revised guidance document from CSAP, Identifying and 
Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions for Substance Abuse Prevention (2009). CT’s Resource 
Links will continue to provide training/technical assistance on selecting and implementing EBP 
strategies that will most effectively assist PFS coalitions with achieving performance target outcomes. 
DMHAS, in conjunction with Connecticut prevention provider agencies and organizations, developed 
Cultivating Programs That Work: Operating Standards for Prevention and Health Promotion 
Programs for prevention programs funded by DMHAS. The standards, guidelines, and supporting 
documents link state-of-the-art prevention theory to effective, comprehensive, and accountable 
prevention practice and abide by principles that are divided into eight categories critical for all 
prevention programs: 

1. Human relationships 
2. Program planning 
3. Program activities 
4. Program settings 
5. Health and safety 
6. Program implementation 
7. Program administration 
8. Evaluation 

Implementation of the standards should result in positive outcomes for programs, staff, and 
participants. The purpose of these standards is to provide assurances to the public that alcohol and 
drug abuse prevention and early intervention programs are regulated under a set of minimum 
standards established by DMHAS. The standards establish a minimum level of program operation 
intended to reflect quality substance abuse prevention programs and articulate a service philosophy 
that helps individuals, families, schools, and communities throughout Connecticut prevent the use, 
misuse, or abuse of legal or illegal substances. To support prevention staff training and certification, 
the Prevention Training Collaborative provides a wide range of prevention training across the state. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Carol Meredith, MPA, Director of Prevention and Health Promotion 
E-mail: Carol.Meredith@ct.gov 
Address: 410 Capitol Avenue, PO Box 341431, MS-PIT, Hartford, CT 06134 
Phone: 860-418-6826 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
Department of Consumer Protection 
Department of Public Health 
Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection 
Department of Transportation 
Department of Children and Families 
Department of Social Services 
Office of Policy and Management 
Connecticut State University System 
Office of Higher Education 
Office of the Chief State’s Attorney 
Judicial Department 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: http://www.ct.gov/dmhas 

Yes 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services & Connecticut Alcohol and Drug 
Policy Council 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.ct.gov/dmhas 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services & University of Connecticut 
Health Center 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.ct.gov/dmhasprevention 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$10,178,611 
6/30/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$8,488,782 
6/30/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$444,886 
6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$4,678,322 
6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$1,121,824 
6/30/2013 
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State Reports – Connecticut 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: No data 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes Yes 
Fines Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other: General Funds Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
State Agency Collaboration, Alcohol and Drug Policy Council, Staff Time, Direct Program Support 
and Drug Forfeiture Funds 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Delaware 

Delaware 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  925,749 
Population Ages 12–20: 104,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.5 28,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.0 18,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.8 2,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.4 1,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.5 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.5 4,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 51.2 19,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 35.8 13,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 14 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 845 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 100 1 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Delaware 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence AND EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 
Note:  Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows possession if in 
“private home of any of said members.” For purposes of this report, the phrase “members of the 
same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence AND EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 
Note:  Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows consumption if 
in “private home of any of said members.” For purposes of this report, the phrase “members of 
the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 
Note:  Although Delaware does not prohibit internal possession as defined in this report, it has a 
statutory provision that makes it an offense for “[w]hoever, being under the age of 21 years, has 
alcoholic liquor in his or her possession at any time, or consumes or is found to have consumed 
alcoholic liquor.” Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but that do so 
without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting internal 
possession for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law
	
enforcement purposes.
	
Note:  Delaware does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but it does prohibit 

“obtaining” alcohol in connection with making a false statement. 


False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
 No driver’s license suspension procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Specific affirmative defense:  The retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
Note:  Although Del. Admin. Code § 2 2000 2215 states that “persons under 21 years old have 
noted on their licenses ‘Under 21,’” research revealed no Delaware statute or regulation 
expressly requiring distinguishing licenses for persons under 21 years old.  
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State Reports – Delaware 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
	 30 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  16 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger, except for immediate family 
members when driver is accompanied by a parent, guardian, or licensed driver age 25 or over 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
 Private residence AND EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 
Note:  Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows furnishing if in 
the “private home of any of said members.” For purposes of this report, the phrase “members of 
the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 
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State Reports – Delaware 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  17 
 Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
 Male:  No facial hair  

ID possession 
 Not specified 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
 Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No written guidelines 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  21 
 Wine:  21 
 Spirits:  21 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 
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State Reports – Delaware 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Prohibited 
 Wine: Prohibited 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.16 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.97 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $3.75 per gallon 

Additional taxes 
 $2.50 per gallon for alcohol content of 25 percent or less 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—5 days minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to the extent 

they are permitted by federal law 
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State Reports – Delaware 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—5 days minimum 
	 Retailer credit:  Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to the extent 

they are permitted by federal law 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
	 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—5 days minimum 
	 Retailer credit:  Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to the extent 

they are permitted by federal law 
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State Reports – Delaware 

Delaware State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Division of Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
Yes 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Yes 
Div. of Alcohol & 

Tobacco 
Enforcement 

No 

Yes 
133 

12/31/2013 
No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
1,200 

231 

56 
12/31/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

Not available 

Not available 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 

Smallest fine imposed 

Yes 

No 
Not Available 
Not Available 
12/31/2013 

Yes 

56 
Approximately 

$38,000 
$400 
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State Reports – Delaware 

Largest fine imposed $4,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

0 
0 
0 
0 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

0 
12/31/2013 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Lunch and Learn 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The Delaware Prevention Coalition’s (DPC) Lunch and Learn Program is held 
during scheduled lunch periods within the school’s cafeteria. Tables are set up exhibiting and 
disseminating factual information about alcohol and other abusive substances. Lunch and Learn is 
beneficial for the schools as it does not take away from normal classroom time or require schools to 
conduct extracurricular activities, which can be costly. It is intended to spread positive prevention 
messages to the students. 
The exhibit tables provide students with an opportunity to be interactive and to partake in fun games that 
actually have them learn something important about the use and misuse of alcohol and drugs. The 
program features a game called, “Drunken Goggles,” an influential and mind-changing game that 
simulates an intoxicated person and shows how alcohol affects his or her judgment, decisionmaking 
process, and vision. Taking part in this game enables students to practice their coordination and reflex 
timing with impaired vision when over the legal intoxication limit. The game provides a real-life 
perception of what an individual’s vision is like while under the influence. The game also teaches the 
student what part of the brain is affected by alcohol and how misuse of alcohol and other substances 
could lead to unwanted situations. 
The Lunch and Learn Program is informative, innovative, and interactive. Students are also taught to 
understand what is considered a drink.  On display are examples of the differences between a shot glass 
filled with liquor, a cooler, a glass of wine, and a mug of beer.  The program ensures that information and 
brochures about the effects of alcohol on the body, the mind, and the family are distributed. Discussions 
pertaining to binge drinking, laws, and risky behaviors are just a few of the topics that are mentioned. 
Lunch and Learn impacts the student body like no other program.  The essence of the program is to give 
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State Reports – Delaware 

students an opportunity to engage in discussions without being embarrassed, and time to change their 
minds, and also convince them that what they have experienced or learned from their friends may not be 
safe or factual. The facilitators of the program have the privilege to inspire and witness the change of 
minds when the students arrive at the conclusion that the behavior they thought was harmless is the 
opposite. This program has had a large impact on the Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health 
Services (DPBHS) goal to delay the first onset of use and abuse of alcohol for adolescents in the state. 
Safe Haven/Extended Hours 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 40,654 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: In 2013, DPBHS provided funding for several community centers that allowed 
them to extend afterschool program hours until 10 p.m. This was much needed to keep youth safe, 
especially during the summer months.   Prosocial activities, dinner, and educational prevention activities 
were offered nightly.  The program worked in tandem with Wilmington’s night-time curfew law. The 
curfew forbids all minors ages 13–18 from being in public places or at any establishments between 10 
p.m. and 6 a.m. The program provided a safe haven for youth who might otherwise be out on the street, 
as well as age-appropriate services and prevention programming. The youth participated in suicide 
awareness, anti-bullying, substance abuse prevention, character building, technical classes, and 
organized sports. The Wilmington Police provided educational sessions for youth who were brought to 
the center for violating the curfew. This positive interaction with law enforcement gave the youth an 
opportunity to establish better relationships and knowledge of law enforcement’s desire to protect. The 
time spent at the center gave the youth an opportunity to avoid being at risk for delinquent behaviors and 
ultimately avoid the chance of using and misusing substances. The alternative activities and programs 
had a significant impact on reducing the number of arrests and incidences of violence and substance 
use. The funding was made possible through an unplanned budget windfall. In 2014, DPBHS will 
continue with planned outcome measures, particularly pertaining to substance abuse and violence. The 
curfew and extended hours programs are currently being monitored and will soon be evaluated for 
evidenced-based outcomes.   
Botvin Life Skills 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 547 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: Report is available by contacting 
Yolanda.Jenkins@state.de.us. 
URL for more program information: Not available 

Program Description: Botvin Life Skills is a research-validated substance abuse prevention program 
proven to reduce the risks of alcohol, tobacco, drug abuse, as well as violence. The program targets the 
major social and psychological factors that promote initiation of substance use and other risky behaviors. 
This comprehensive and exciting program provides adolescents and young teens with the confidence 
and skills necessary to successfully handle challenging situations.   
Parents Step Up 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
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Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://parentsstepup.org 

Program Description: Using various communication media, the Step Up Campaign: 
• Helps adults recognize and change behaviors that facilitate underage drinking 
• Provides ideas for effective house rules to help adults protect kids from underage drinking 
• Encourages parents to block teens from access to alcohol 
• Highlights the consequences of underage drinking to discourage alcohol use 
Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG)–Funded 
Prevention Activities and Initiatives (Federally Funded) 

Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served: See Program 

Description below 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/spfsig.html 

Program Description: SPF SIG prevention activities and initiatives are federally funded and take place 
throughout Delaware, aimed to reduce underage drinking in the state. The number of impacts made 
through the SPF SIG–funded activities is 7,194,056, which represents the reporting period of April 2013 
through March 2014. It should be noted that these are duplicated numbers. The SPF SIG–funded 
activities and initiatives are often chosen based on understanding the specific community characteristics 
and what will most likely impact the community and the youth to reduce underage and binge drinking. 
The SPF model is data driven, which allows for different communities to implement a variety of activities 
that fall under the six CSAP prevention strategies (i.e., prevention education, alternative activities, 
problem identification and referral, community-based process activities, environmental strategies, and 
information dissemination activities) that are appropriate for their target population. 
One program under the SPF SIG project is Storytelling for Empowerment, a school-based, bilingual 
(English and Spanish) prevention education program for teenagers at risk of substance abuse and other 
risky behaviors. This program is implemented at Hispanic-focused community centers serving youth. 
Many different programs are implemented through SPF SIG initiatives, including Brain Power, Say it 
Straight, Stewards of Children, IM40, My Playbook for College Athletes, and Smart Moves. 
Alternative activities also take place throughout the state and provide youth and young adults with an 
alternative to engaging in underage drinking and associated risky behaviors. Some alternative activities 
include sports activities available at community center drop-ins, basketball programs, and acting and 
dancing programs.  Offsite activities, like college tours, post prom parties, movie nights, and bowling 
tournaments, are also conducted. 
Problem identification and referral activities work to identify individuals who are starting to engage in risky 
behaviors and refer them to the services needed. Community-based process activities often involve 
building and sustaining community-based coalitions, building interagency collaboration, and providing 
training and technical support to community groups. Environmental strategies seek to change or 
establish written and unwritten standards, codes, and attitudes in the hope of reducing underage and 
binge drinking. SPF SIG funds have been used to implement environmental strategies that aim to 
increase compliance and enforcement pertaining to proper alcohol sales in collaboration with the Division 
of Alcohol Tobacco Enforcement (DATE) and other law enforcement agencies. Additionally, Delaware is 
implementing a statewide social marketing campaign, initiated by SPF SIG in collaboration with 
community contractors. In addition to youth-created PSAs/videos that are shown before every movie at 
a popular movie theater, billboards with coordinated prevention messages are displayed throughout the 
state and on placards in the Dover mall. 
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Finally, information dissemination activities often involve providing individuals with knowledge and 

awareness pertaining to issues of  underage drinking and binge drinking prevention as well as resources
	
in the community. This is often done through brochures, pamphlets, and radio announcements. 

During the reporting period of April 2013 through March 2014, the numbers listed below represent the
	
number of participants involved and/or the number of impacts, as is especially the case for information
	
dissemination and environmental strategies.  It should be noted that these numbers do not represent 

unduplicated numbers as this is not tracked across SPF SIG activities.
	
Education: 10,377
	

Alternative Activities: 9,646 

Problem ID and Referral: 145
	

Community-Based Process: 4,546
	

Environmental: 7,028,033
	

Information Dissemination: 141,309
	

The program is evaluated quarterly but an overall evaluation will be completed at the end of the grant 

funding year.  Evaluation reports are available by contacting Dr. Cecilia Douthy Willis at
	
Cecilia.Willis@state.de.us.
	
The following programs are aimed at both general and specific populations:
	
1.		Brandywine Counseling Community Services (BCCS): (1) Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) 

Program at BCCS targets men and women of childbearing age, ages 18 and up exclusively. FASD 
priorities are to provide educational presentations that cover the effects that occur in an individual 
whose mother consumed alcohol during pregnancy. Using a modified version of the FASD 
Prevention Program titled “Project Choices,” the goal of the program is to provide knowledge and 
increased awareness of how alcohol and other drug use, abuse, and addiction affect not only their 
bodies but those of their offspring. BCCS/FASD is funded by Block Grant Funds. (2) Alcohol, 
Tobacco and Other Drugs (ATOD) Program at BCCS targets teens and young adults 12–25 years 
old.  BCCS priorities are underage drinking, binge drinking, and underage DUI and related accidents. 
BCCS implements prevention services throughout all four substate planning regions: the City of 
Wilmington, New Castle County, Kent County, and Sussex County. BCCS hosts the statewide 
Coalition of Coalitions which meets quarterly.  The program’s address is 2713 Lancaster, Wilmington, 
DE 19805; phone 302-504-5995. 

2.		Kent & Sussex Counseling Services (KSCS): KSCS targets individuals ages 12–25 throughout Kent 
and Sussex Counties. Their emphasis is to reduce last month’s alcohol misuse and abuse in an 
effort to decrease underage drinking. Their focus is also on binge drinking (consumption), 
consequences of alcohol-related traffic crashes, death and/or injuries, and alcohol-related family 
criminal violence. KSCS also collaborates with coalition membership to implement environmental 
strategies and utilize capacity-building activities.  The Community Wide Coalition’s address is 1241 
College Park Drive, Dover, DE 19904; phone 302-735-7790. 

3.		University of Delaware (UDel): Alcohol.UDel’s priority is to target college students ages 18–25. The 
project focuses on high-risk behavior/abuse binge drinking of its student population. Great emphasis 
is given to freshmen, sorority and fraternity members, and student athletes. UDel serves the 
University’s main campus and the adjacent Newark community. UDel utilizes an environmental 
strategy by creating a university coalition that includes Newark community residents. The coalition 
ensures there is a wide range of community representation from the surrounding Newark community. 
The Coalition’s address is 231 S. College Avenue, Newark, DE 19716; phone 302-831-3457. 

4.		Greater Dover Boys & Girls Clubs of Delaware’s (BGC) main priority is to reduce past-month alcohol 
misuse and abuse of Delawareans ages 13–18. BGC focuses on their surrounding community, 
which includes the state capital, Dover, which is located in Kent County. BGC utilizes an 
environmental strategy by implementing a “SMART” curriculum, which includes holding rallies 
throughout the community with participating stakeholders, other organizations, and community 
residents. BGC also implements several evidence-based programs such as “SMART Moves” and 
“Stay SMART Drug FREE Zone.” These programs enhance youth leadership and teach them how to 
make smart and healthy choices. BGC has a community coalition representing community residents 
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and stakeholders that meets regularly and conducts semiannual events. The program’s address is 9 
Lockerman Street, Suite 3B, Dover, DE 19901; phone 302-678-5833. 

5.		La Esperanza (La Pasa Program): La Esperanza’s priorities are to reduce underage drinking and 
DUI arrests and consequences, and increase awareness and perception of risk among Latino youth 
ages 18–25 in Sussex County.  This program provides services within the community in Georgetown, 
DE.  La Esperanza utilizes a community-based process by engaging local business owners through 
the business initiative and active participation in a community coalition. The program’s address is 
216 N. Race Street, Georgetown, DE 19947; phone 302-854-9262. 

6.		Wesley College (Safe Wesley): Wesley’s prioritiy is to focus on students ages 18–25. A great 
emphasis is put on freshmen and student athletes, who are inclined to exhibit high-risk behaviors and 
binge drinking. Wesley College serves the college’s main campus and adjacent Dover community. 
Wesley utilizes an environmental strategy focusing on capacity-building activities by implementing a 
communitywide coalition. The Coalition’s address is120 N. State Street, Dover, DE 19901; phone 
302-736-2300. 

7.		Each One Teach One (E1T1) “Neighborhoods United Against Alcohol and Substance Abuse” 
(NUAASA): E1T1 priorities are to reduce past-month alcohol misuse and abuse of youth ages 12– 
18. E1T1 partners with community organizations in its surrounding 12 neighborhoods. It utilizes 
community-based strategies by maintaining a neighborhood coalition (NCNP) in an effort to 
coordinate, collaborate, and network with surrounding community agencies. Community trials are 
implemented to educate liquor outlet managers/owners about underage drinking (UAD) laws and 
provide education to adults/parents who may purchase alcohol for minors. Their focus is to educate 
individuals on the dangers of UAD and the “shoulder tapping” law.  The program’s address is 19 
Lambson Lane, Suite B02, New Castle, DE 19720; phone: 302-482-8381. 

8.		Latin American Community Center (LACC): (1) Prevention Promoters Program at the LACC focuses 
on serving Latino and other youth ages 12–17 in the City of Wilmington. The program serves their 
highly vulnerable and disadvantaged population, which is at a greater risk for substance abuse. (2) 
Storytelling for Empowerment is an evidence-based program. It is a comprehensive set of activities 
to prevent substance abuse and reduce self-destructive behaviors. Through these activities, young 
people have the opportunity to gain knowledge and learn the powerful lessons in stories, create 
symbols of strength for themselves, choose healthy character traits, and set goals for the future. 
These activities also help youth build protective factors within their own environments. The 
program’s address is 403 N. Van Buren Street, Wilmington, DE 19805; phone 302-655-7338. 

9.		YMCA: The YMCA prioritizes to reduce past-month alcohol (underage drinking) misuse and abuse. 
The program serves Wilmington residents ages 12–20. The YMCA includes five neighborhoods 
within the City of Wilmington (eastside, northeast, riverside, south bridge, and the west side).  The 
YMCA uses environmental strategies through capacity-building activities such as the implementation 
of a communitywide coalition to address underage drinking, alcohol, and the use of marijuana.  The 
Wilmington Prevention Coalition disseminates information and provides training for residents 
pertaining to a “substance-free lifestyle.” The YMCA also provides a Lead Prevention Program, and 
the IM 40 training, which targets youth ages 12–15 who reside in a high-risk community. The 
program’s priority is to educate adolescent youth to live healthier lives through a proactive focus on 
their strengths and assets. The program engages parents, teachers, coaches, and mentors, 
mobilizing them toward the shared goal of increasing the assets of youth in their communities. 
Another YMCA program is the “Darkness to Light Stewards of Children,” which is a prevention 
training program that teaches adults how to prevent, recognize, and react responsibly to sexual 
abuse of children. The program is designed for organizations serving youth and for individuals 
concerned about the safety of children. The training increases the awareness of the prevalence, 
consequences, and circumstances of child sexual abuse. It provides positive change to 
organizational policies and procedures. The program’s address is 1000 N. Walnut Street, 
Wilmington, DE 19801; phone 302-254-9622. 

10. Bellevue Community Center (formerly the Edgemoor Community Center): Bellevue’s main priorities 
are to reduce past-month alcohol misuse and abuse of youth ages 12–18. Bellevue partners with 
churches, ministries, and faith-based community organizations to implement prevention activities. 
Their coalition includes other organizations and community members, focusing on educating youth 
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on underage alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs (ATOD) prevention. The project coordinator 
ensures youth from other organizations are included to expand their prevention efforts. The 
Center’s address is 500 Duncan Road, Suite A, Wilmington, DE 19809; phone 302-762-1391. 

11. Open Door, Inc.: The Open Door “Safe Zone Program” prioritizes to reduce past-month alcohol 
misuse and abuse by youth ages 12–25. Open Door serves the Appoquinimink School District in 
New Castle County.  Open Door uses environmental strategies such as capacity-building activities, 
including implementation of the SC4C Coalition to develop a consensus on appropriate 
environmental strategies. Open Door’s most successful initiative is its “Stall Stories” project.  Stall 
Stories are laminated posters featuring inspirational quotes and, most prominently, Delaware School 
Survey data to bring awareness to the community about youth drug and alcohol trends. The 
program’s address is 254 E. Main Street, Newark, DE 19711; phone 302-731-1504. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
2.A.1) Name of Underage Drinking Prevention Program: 
SPF SIG funding is provided by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Center 
for Substance Abuse Prevention (SAMHSA/CSAP). 
The Delaware SPF SIG is a cooperative agreement between the Office of the Governor of the State of 
Delaware and SAMHSA/CSAP. Delaware’s Department of Health and Social Services, Division of 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DHSS/DSAMH), received approval to administer the funds, July 
2009, on behalf of the Governor. The purpose of the SPF SIG program is to provide funding to states in 
order to prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse, including childhood and 
underage drinking; reduce substance abuse-related problems; and build prevention capacity and 
infrastructure at the state and community levels.  
SPF SIG–funded prevention education and alternative activity initiatives aim to reduce underage drinking 
in Delaware. The SPF model is data driven, using evidence-based practices that impact the needs of 
the target area, allowing different communities to implement different prevention education and 
alternative activities that are appropriate for their target population. For example, Storytelling for 
Empowerment is a school-based, bilingual (English and Spanish) intervention for teenagers at risk of 
substance abuse and other risky behaviors. This program is implemented at Hispanic-focused 
community centers that serve youth. Additional underage drinking prevention education programs 
include Brain Power, Say it Straight, and Smart Moves. Alternative activities also take place throughout 
the state and provide youth with an alternative to engaging in underage drinking and associated risky 
behaviors. Offsite activities, like college tours, post prom parties, and bowling tournaments, are also 
conducted. 
Note: Interim evaluation reports on SPF SIG initiatives are complete, but an overall evaluation report will 
not be available upon the grant completion. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA 
Agency(ies) within your state: DSAMH 

Yes 

Yes 
Yes 
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Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: The SPF SIG implemented evidence-based programs, 
practices, and policies. Additionally, the data-driven SPF model is implemented. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Dr. Cecilia Douthy Willis 
E-mail: Cecilia.Willis@state.de.us 
Address: 1901 N. Dupont Highway, New Castle, DE 19720 
Phone: 302-255-9433 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Division of Substance Abuse & Mental Health (DSAMH) 
Division of Alcohol Tobacco Enforcement (DATE) 
Office of Highway Safety (OHS) 
Department of Education (DOE) 
Division of Prevention & Behavioral Health (DPBHS) 
Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies (CDAS) 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: The Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
(DSAMH) services (Single State Agency) developed the state’s prevention website 
(http://www.DHSS.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html), and website enhancement continues. 
DSAMH’s subrecipient, the Division of Prevention & Behavioral Health Services, provides services to 
youth age 17 and younger. Their website is http://kids.delaware.gov/fs/fs_prevent.shtml. 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 

Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

No 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 
Prepared by: State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup  (SEOW) 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.udel.edu/delawaredata 

Yes 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
3/31/2014 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
3/31/2014 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes No 
Fines No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
Unfortunately, the State of Delaware does not have any information to add, as this section asks for 
estimates for “state” funds expended for the prevention of underage drinking programs and specifically 
indicates “not” to include federal or private funding sources in these estimates. Delaware’s Division of 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health programs are funded through SPF SIG (federal funds) and were 
mentioned under this survey’s section A/Programs. 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

District of Columbia 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  646,449 
Population Ages 12–20: 60,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 32.0 19,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.2 11,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.0 1,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3 0 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.5 3,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.7 2,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 53.3 15,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.1 9,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 17 

Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 999 
Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 0.0 0 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provisions targeting retailers 
	 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.00 
 Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
	 90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  16 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

	 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours—must log additional 10 hours of 
nighttime driving at intermediate stage with driver over 21 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
 Unsupervised night driving 

–		 Prohibited after 11 p.m. Sunday–Thursday and 12:01 a.m. Saturday–Sunday from 
September through June; 12:01 a.m. in July and August 

–		 Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
	 Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, one licensed driver at least 21, and any parent or 

sibling.  After 6 months, no more than two passengers under 21 (except parents or siblings) 
until age 18 
–		 Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  Not specified 
 Maximum:  Under 21 

Appearance requirements 
	 Must appear to a reasonable person to be under age 21 and should be dressed consistent with 

other minors in the target area 

ID possession 
	 Discretionary 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
	 Recommended 

Penalty Guidelines 
 Time period/conditions:  2 years 
 First offense:  Warning letter 
 Second offense:  $4,000 fine and 10-day suspension, with 6 days served and 4 days stayed 

for 1 year 
Note: For first offense, if violation was egregious or licensee had previous violation in past 4 
years, penalty is $2,000 fine and 5-day suspension with 1 day served and 4 days stayed for 1 year 
or $3,000 fine with all 5 suspension days stayed for 1 year. 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Mandatory beverage service training for managers 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions are (1) restaurant, hotel, club, caterer’s, and temporary licenses; and 
(2) grocery stores with only incidental sale of alcoholic beverages. 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions are (1) restaurant, hotel, club, caterer’s, and temporary licenses; (2) grocery 
stores with only incidental sale of alcoholic beverages; and (3) restaurants located inside hotels, 
apartment houses, clubs, or office buildings provided there are no signs or displays, and unless 
specifically approved and Board of Education has no objection. 

Dram Shop Liability 
 There is no statutory liability.  

 The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.  


Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled 
spirits with the following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements: None 

Reporting requirements: None 

Shipping label statement requirements:  None 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  4 gallons or more 
 Purchaser information collected:  

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 
– Address where keg will be consumed 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine:  Permitted 
 Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.09 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  10 percent 

General sales tax rate of 5.75 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 4.25 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 10 percent is applied at the retail level.  The 
“sales tax adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4.25 percent. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  10 percent 
General sales tax rate of 5.75 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 4.25 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 10 percent is applied at the retail level.  The 
“sales tax adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4.25 percent. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $1.50 per gallon 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  10 percent 
General sales tax rate of 5.75 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 4.25 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 10 percent is applied at the retail level.  The 
“sales tax adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4.25 percent. 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—45 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—45 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit: Restricted—45 days maximum 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

District of Columbia State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Metropolitan Police Department (MPD) and the Alcoholic Beverage Regulation 
Administration (ABRA) 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Not Applicable 
Not Applicable 
Not Applicable 
Not Applicable 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
No 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

Don’t know 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

No 

No 
1,700 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

No data 

No data 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 

Yes 

Yes 
832 
114 

9/30/2013 

Yes 

30 
$75,000 
$2,000 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

Largest fine imposed $4,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

14 
20 
1 
6 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

0 
12/31/2013 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Addiction Prevention and Recovery Administration (APRA) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: APRA, formerly with the District of Columbia Department of Health, merged with 
the Department of Mental Health on October 1, 2013, into a new Department of Behavioral Health (DBH). 
APRA continues to administer the Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG), 
which focuses on prevention of underage drinking and marijuana use among youth. The District’s SPF 
SIG ended June 30, 2014; however, APRA has received approval from the Substance Abuse and Mental 
Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to allocate more than $3 million in no-cost extension funds. 
The strategies include building on the “Talk. They Hear You” campaign, tailoring resources to District 
audiences, and coordinating community action with the four DC Prevention Centers (DCPC). More than 
250 District youth have been trained in the SPF planning process as part of the DC Youth Prevention 
Leadership Corps. The youth are working with DCPC to develop data-driven action plans around the 
SPF SIG priorities. Funds are also available to implement the action plans. APRA also funded 11 
evidence-based pilot prevention programs that address underage drinking and marijuana use in 
universal, indicated, and selective populations. One subrecipient is the Ward 7 Safe and Drug-Free 
Communities Coalition, which has implemented an underage drinking environmental strategy to engage 
and empower the Ward 7 community to address excessive alcohol advertisements, over-the-counter 
sales of alcohol to underage youth, and proliferation of alcohol licenses in the ward. Key elements of the 
strategy include ongoing community assessment to determine baseline levels of use, attitudes, 
knowledge, and awareness; strategic positioning messaging, visual images, and materials for community 
education and changing norms; generating and facilitating meaningful community partnerships; creating 
and maintaining mentored teen action groups; and media advocacy. In addition, APRA funded term staff 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

through the DCPC (CORE Coordinators) to assess 300 individuals in community-based organizations 
plus an additional subset of parents and youth to identify risk reduction and early screening needs. 
DC Prevention Centers (DCPCs) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.dmh.dc.gov 

Program Description: DBH APRA continues to fund four DCPCs through federal Substance Abuse and 
Treatment Block Grant-Prevention Set-Aside funds. Each Center supports two wards (Wards 1 and 2; 
Wards 3 and 4; Wards 5 and 6; Wards 7 and 8) and provides access to prevention (Community 
Education; Community Leadership; Community Changes) across all eight wards. Underage drinking is a 
substance abuse prevention priority. DCPCs work with more than 50 community prevention networks 
and facilitate Strategic Prevention Framework action planning with diverse neighborhoods, communities, 
and populations. The Centers have reached more than 7,422 youth and 8,457 adults to date this fiscal 
year. Their “community problem solving” approach focuses on four levels of outcomes: perceptions and 
attitudes; priority risk factors; community changes; and behavioral/distal outcomes. 
National Capital Coalition to Prevent Underage Drinking (NCCPUD) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 
Program Description: NCCPUD, a former Robert Wood Johnson grant recipient, continues to initiate 
underage drinking strategies in the District. For example, NCCPUD receives $30,000 annually from the 
District’s ABRA to recruit, train, and schedule minors to participate in the District of Columbia’s Alcohol 
Enforcement Operations. The NCCPUD Executive Director also serves on the board of the Washington 
Regional Alcohol Program (WRAP), which provides education and advocacy to District youth. WRAP 
sponsors an annual Geico Student Award competition that honors high school student groups for their 
work on promoting alcohol-free lifestyles to their peers. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized 
tribal governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing No 

Program description: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): No 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

Agency(ies) within your state: Department of Behavioral Health, Addiction 
Prevention and Recovery Administration Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 

Best practice standards description: SAMHSA funded a 1-year DC Strategic Prevention Enhancement 
Cooperative Agreement Grant that resulted in a 5-year strategic plan and four miniplans in August 2012. 
The process was guided by a Prevention Policy Consortium of 14 District agency leaders. One of the 
strategies was the concept of a DC Prevention Leadership Center to sustain data and evaluation; 
effective strategies that result in measurable community changes; and prevention innovation. SPF SIG 
funds have supported development of the concept through a national resource assessment, focus 
groups, and a monograph with recommendations. Preventing underage drinking will be a priority in the 
final Prevention Leadership Center recommendations. 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Judy Donovan 
E-mail: judith.donovan@dc.gov 
Address: 1300 1st Street, N.E., Suite 246, Washington, DC 20002 
Phone: No data 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
District of Columbia Department of Behavioral Health 
Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) 
Child and Family Services Agency 
DC Children and Youth Investment Trust Corporation 
DC Metropolitan Police Department 
District of Columbia Department of Health 
Criminal Justice Coordinating Council 
Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration 
LEGACY - Schroeder Institute for Tobacco Research and Policy Studies 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable; the Prevention website is currently 
under development. 

No 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: DC Prevention Policy Consortium 
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by DC Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (DCEOW) District and Ward data report 
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

Additional Clarification 
SPF SIG funds a comprehensive District and ward data report through the DC Epidemiological 
Outcomes Workgroup (DCEOW). DCEOW comprises 10 District agency partners and is administered by 
the DBHAPRA contractor, Research Triangle Institute (RTI). RTI has completed targeted District and 
Ward fact sheets on underage drinking: age of first use, trends, perceived risk, underage alcohol, and 
retailer density. Their scope of work includes: 
• Update alcohol, tobacco, and other drug (ATOD) consumption, consequences, and 

demographics data 
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State Reports – District of Columbia 

•		 Continue development of a collaborative effort to build a common, systematic methodology for 
conducting prevention needs assessment based on a risk assessment system to guide prevention 
policy, program planning and resource allocation 

•		 Utilize risk and protective factor data and incidence and prevalence data to estimate service needs, 
target prevention resources, select and/or develop appropriate prevention strategies and evaluate the 
effects of the prevention system over time 

•		 Identify the predictive value of risk and protective factor data 
•		 Identify priority risk and protective factors for an urban area and culturally diverse populations 
• Provide District and Ward reports that can be used for policymakers, consumers, and providers 
In addition, APRA supports a Memorandum of Understanding with the Office of the State Superintendent 
of Schools to expand the random sample for the District’s Youth Risk Behavioral Survey (YRBS), and 
add risk and protective factor questions. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $30,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: SPF SIG: APRA continues to administer this federal grant, which 
focuses on prevention of underage drinking and marijuana use among youth. 
Estimate of state funds expended $2,135,724 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other: 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Florida 

Florida 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  19,552,860 
Population Ages 12–20: 2,154,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.0 518,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.8 297,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.2 34,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.6 17,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.7 142,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.2 73,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 43.6 342,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 26.4 207,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 282 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 16,951 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 25 23 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Florida 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  180 days 
 Maximum:  365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
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 Minimum learner stage period:  12 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

–		 Prohibited after 11 p.m. for 16-year-olds; after 1 a.m. for 17-year-olds 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

 No passenger restrictions 

License stage 
 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 
 Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 
 Protection against license revocation for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  Not specified 
 Wine:  Not specified 
 Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 
Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  No 
–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet. Local government has authority to override 

state restrictions. 
–		 Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 
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State Reports – Florida 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  

 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Willful and unlawful furnishing to minor
	

Social Host Liability Laws 
 There is no statutory liability. 
 The courts recognize common law social host liability.  
Note:  Common law liability rests on a violation of the criminal social host statute.  The criminal 
social host statute prohibits an adult from allowing an open house party to take place at a 
residence he/she controls and knowingly allowing a minor to possess or consume alcohol at 
the residence and failing to take reasonable steps to prevent the possession or consumption of 
the alcoholic beverage. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
Note:  The “preventive action” provision in Florida requires the prosecution to prove that the 
host failed to take preventive action. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.
	
Note:  Although current law suggests that direct shipments of alcoholic beverages are prohibited, 

the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s informal policy allows out-of-
state wineries to make direct shipments of wine to Florida consumers.  Florida statutes that 

purport to ban direct shipments are not being enforced pursuant to a stipulation entered into by
	
the state in a lawsuit challenging the constitutionality of the law (Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 561.54, 

561.545).  


Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine: Permitted 
 Spirits:  Permitted 
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State Reports – Florida 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.48 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $2.25 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $6.50 per gallon 

Additional taxes 
 $2.25 per gallon for alcohol content of less than 17.259 percent 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 
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State Reports – Florida 

Florida State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Alcoholic Beverages and 
Tobacco, Bureau of Law Enforcement 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws No 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 2,618 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 44,666 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 4,858 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 679 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 3,544 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 507 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 31 
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State Reports – Florida 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

$29,500 
$250 

$3,000 
12/31/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

25 
135 
2 
30 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Additional Clarification 

No data 

Yes 

2 
12/31/2013 

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Too Good for Drugs (TGFD) 

Program serves specific or general population General 
population 

Number of youth served 88,207 
Number of parents served 7,536 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: https://www.toogoodprograms.org/too-good/evidence-
base 
URL for more program information: https://www.toogoodprograms.org 

Program Description: TGFD is a school-based prevention program designed to reduce the intention to 
use alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drugs in elementary, middle, and high school students. The program 
introduces and develops social and emotional skills for making healthy choices, building positive 
friendships, communicating effectively, and resisting peer pressure. TGFD teaches five essential social 
and emotional learning skills, which research has linked with healthy development and academic 
success: goal setting, decisionmaking, bonding with pro-social others, identifying and managing 
emotions, and communicating effectively. 
Guiding Good Choices (GGC) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 1,137 
Number of parents served 1,428 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
http://www.blueprintsprograms.com/evaluationAbstracts.php?pid=ca3512f4dfa95 
a03169c5a670a4c91a19b3077b4 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 402 



   
  

   

 
 

      
   

  
 

  
 

   
    
   
      
      

   
   

   
  

  
  
  

 
 

 

 
 

   
    

 
   

       
   

   
   

  
  
  
  

 
 

 

  

    
  

  
   

    
   

   
  

  
  
  

  
 

 

State Reports – Florida 

URL for more program information: http://www.channing-bete.com/prevention-
programs/guiding-good-choices/guiding-good-choices.html 

Program Description: GGC is a multimedia program that gives parents of children in grades 4–8 (ages 
8–13) the knowledge and skills needed to guide their children through early adolescence. Over the last 
20 years, research has shown that positive parental involvement is an important protective factor that 
increases school success and buffers children against later problems such as substance abuse, 
violence, and risky sexual behaviors. GGC teaches five sessions centered on the social development 
model: 

1. Getting Started: How to Prevent Drug Use in Your Family 
2. Setting Guidelines: How to Develop Healthy Beliefs and Clear Standards 
3. Avoiding Trouble: How to Say No to Drugs 
4. Managing Conflict: How to Control and Express Your Anger Constructively 
5. Involving Everyone: How to Strengthen Family Bonds 

Keep A Clear Mind (KACM) 
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 5,997 
Number of parents served 4,934 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/ViewIntervention.aspx?id=68 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.keepaclearmind.com/keep_a_clear_mind.php 

Program Description: KACM is a substance abuse prevention program for families with children in 
grades 4 through 6. This home-based program developed by the University of Arkansas uses a 
correspondence format and consists of four weekly lessons on alcohol, tobacco, and marijuana, and 
tools to avoid drugs. KACM’s overall goal is to increase parent–child communication regarding drug 
prevention and to develop youths’ skills to refuse and avoid “gateway” drug use. 
Project ALERT 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 4,679 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/viewIntervention.aspx?id=62 
URL for more program information: http://www.projectalert.com 

Program Description: Developed by the Rand Corporation of Santa Monica, California, Project ALERT 
teaches middle-school children to avoid establishing drug use norms, find reasons not to use drugs, and 
resist pro-drug pressures. Toward that end, Project ALERT focuses on the substances that adolescents 
use first and most widely: alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and inhalants. 
Caring School Community (CSC) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 11, 435 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: http://www.devstu.org/research-caring-school-
community 
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State Reports – Florida 

URL for more program information: http://www.devstu.org/caring-school-
community 

Program Description: CSC, formerly called the Child Development Project, is a universal elementary 
school (K–6) improvement program aimed at promoting positive youth development. The program is 
designed to create a caring school environment characterized by kind and supportive relationships and 
collaboration among students, staff, and parents. The CSC model is consistent with research-based 
practices for increasing student achievement as well as the theoretical and empirical literature supporting 
the benefits of a caring classroom community in meeting student needs for emotional and physical 
safety, supportive relationships, autonomy, and sense of competence. By creating a caring school 
community, the program seeks to promote pro-social values, increase academic motivation and 
achievement, and prevent drug use, violence, and delinquency. 
Project SUCCESS 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 38,733 
Number of parents served 11,080 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/ViewIntervention.aspx?id=71 
URL for more program information: http://www.projectsuccess.org 

Program Description: Project SUCCESS is a school research-based program using interventions that 
are effective in reducing risk factors and enhancing protective factors. This program also links the school 
to the community (mental health/substance abuse) continuum of care. It is designed to prevent and 
reduce substance use among students 12–18 years old. The program was originally developed for 
students attending alternative high schools who are at high risk for substance use and abuse due to poor 
academic performance, truancy, discipline problems, negative attitudes toward school, and parental 
substance abuse. In recent years, Project SUCCESS has been used in regular middle and high schools 
for a broader range of high-risk students. The intervention includes four components: 
1. The Prevention Education Series (PES), an eight-session alcohol, tobacco, and other drug program 

conducted by Project SUCCESS counselors (local staff trained by the developers) who help students 
identify and resist pressures to use substances, correct misperceptions about the prevalence and 
acceptability of substance use, and understand the consequences of substance use. 

2. Schoolwide activities and promotional materials to increase the perception of the harm of substance 
use, positively change social norms about substance use, and increase enforcement of and 
compliance with school policies and community laws. 

3. A parent program that includes informational meetings, parent education, and formation of a parent 
advisory committee. 

4. Individual and group counseling, in which Project SUCCESS counselors conduct time-limited 
counseling for youth following their participation in the PES and an individual assessment. Students 
and parents who require more intensive counseling, treatment, or other services are referred to 
appropriate agencies or practitioners in the community. 

Roots and Wings 
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 2,191 
Number of parents served 1,094 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: http://www.successforall.org/Results 
URL for more program information: 
http://www2.ed.gov/pubs/ToolsforSchools/rw.html 
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State Reports – Florida 

Program Description: Roots and Wings is a multiformat, interactive learning program for parents that 
combines effective parenting skills with exploration of family standards on alcohol and other drug use. 
This video guides the instructor through the curriculum using the concept of capturing and using 
“teachable moments.” 
Student Assistance Program 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 3,509 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: Not applicable 

Program Description: The Student Assistance Program is a universal program designed to prevent 
and reduce substance use and abuse among adolescents attending middle school, high school, and 
alternative schools. 
Project Northland 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 3,046 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/ViewIntervention.aspx?id=25 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.epi.umn.edu/projectnorthland/schoolba.html 

Program Description: Project Northland is a community-based alcohol use prevention program for 
middle school students. This program, developed by the University of Minnesota School of Public 
Health, seeks to delay the age when young people begin drinking, reduce alcohol use among young 
people who have already tried drinking, and limit the number of alcohol-related problems of young 
people. 
LifeSkills Training (LST) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 16,184 
Number of parents served 4,952 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: http://lifeskillstraining.com/evaluation.php 
URL for more program information: http://www.lifeskillstraining.com 

Program Description: LST is a classroom-based substance abuse prevention program for grade and 
middle school children. LST teaches personal skills and social skills to promote individual competence 
and aims to decrease young people’s vulnerability to pro-substance use, social influences from peers, 
and the media. 
AlcoholEdu for High School 

Program serves specific or general population General pop. 
Number of youth served 1,407+ 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
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State Reports – Florida 

URL for evaluation report: 
http://www.outsidetheclassroom.com/Upload/images/PDF/NASPAJournalWallAE 
duStudy.pdf 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.outsidetheclassroom.com/solutions/high-school/alcoholedu-for-high-
school.aspx 

Program Description: AlcoholEdu for High School is an online, interactive, alcohol education and 
prevention course designed to increase alcohol-related knowledge, discourage acceptance of underage 
drinking, and prevent or decrease alcohol use and its related negative consequences. Although high 
schools typically administer the course to their entire freshman class each year, the course can be used 
with other high school populations as well. 
Community Trials Intervention to Reduce High-Risk Drinking (RHRD) 

Program serves specific or general population General pop. 
Number of youth served 9,103 
Number of parents served 2,045 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/ViewIntervention.aspx?id=9 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.pire.org/communitytrials/index.htm 

Program Description: RHRD is a multicomponent, community-based program developed to alter 
alcohol use patterns and related problems of people of all ages. The program incorporates a set of 
environmental interventions that assist communities in (1) using zoning and municipal regulations to 
restrict alcohol access through alcohol outlet density control; (2) enhancing responsible beverage service 
by training, testing, and assisting beverage servers and retailers in the development of policies and 
procedures to reduce intoxication and driving after drinking; (3) increasing law enforcement and sobriety 
checkpoints to raise actual and perceived risk of arrest for driving after drinking; (4) reducing youth 
access to alcohol by training alcohol retailers to avoid selling to minors and those who provide alcohol to 
minors; and (5) forming the coalitions needed to implement and support the interventions that address 
each of these prevention components. The program aims to help communities reduce alcohol-related 
accidents and incidents of violence and the injuries that result from them. The program typically is 
implemented over several years, gradually phasing in various environmental strategies; however, the 
period of implementation may vary depending on local conditions and goals. 
ATHENA and ATLAS 

Program serves specific or general population Specific  pop. 
Number of youth served 1,343 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2598770 
URL for more program information: http://www.atlasathena.org 

Program Description: ATHENA (Athletes Targeting Health Exercise and Nutrition Alternatives) and 
ATLAS (Adolescents Training and Learning to Avoid Steroids) are award-winning programs for student 
athletes. ATHENA uses a school-based, team-centered format that aims to reduce disordered eating 
habits and deter use of body-shaping substances among middle and high school female athletes. 
ATLAS is a multicomponent universal program for male high school athletes, designed to reduce risk 
factors for use of anabolic steroids and other drugs while providing healthy sports nutrition and strength-
training alternatives to illicit use of athletic-enhancing substances. 
Social Norms Campaigns 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 1,626,273 
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State Reports – Florida 

Number of parents served 5,267,386 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: Not applicable 

Program Description: Social norms campaigns are being used in schools and various community 
settings across the state to address underage drinking. Campaign examples include: 
• UthMpact, used to measure perceptions and educate youth by providing accurate information 

regarding ATOD teen use 
• Social Hosts Lose the Most, focusing on educating communities on providing alcohol to minors 
• Own the Upside campaign for adults, used at community events to measure perceptions and teach the 

real numbers when it comes to teen use of ATOD 
Many of these campaigns administer pre- and posttests to measure baseline measures as well as 
campaign impact. These efforts are completed through information exposure to change attitudes about 
parental acceptance of underage alcohol use, prevalence versus perception of underage alcohol use, 
and peer acceptance of alcohol use through newsletters, community presentations for parents, and e-
mails. Social norms campaigns identify and expose students and parents to normative messages about 
healthy norms. Youth have been exposed and misinformed through media; normative messages may 
also include accurate rates of alcohol and marijuana use within their school specifically. These 
campaigns aim to educate youth, parents, and communities on the real statistics involving underage 
drinking and drug use. 
Education and Awareness Campaigns and Strategies 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 1,758,623 
Number of parents served 7,499,098 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: Not applicable 

Program Description: Providers use evidence-based strategies for education and awareness 
campaigns. Providers educate the public about the risks associated with substance use and underage 
drinking. Education and awareness campaigns implemented over the past year include: 
• Talk-They Hear You, an awareness campaign targeted at parents to decrease underage drinking 
• Safe Homes Safe Parties – Campaign 
• Be the Wall, which asks parents to be clear, firm, and consistent with their teens about alcohol 
• Red Ribbon Awareness Mass Media Campaign 
Education can come in the form of community presentations, parent engagement, tip lines, surveys, 
interactive online activities, brochures, posters, puppet shows, videos, discussions, focus groups, and 
“Lunch-n-Learns. Additional strategies utilized to educate and promote prevention and wellness 
information are websites; monthly publications; Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, and other social media; 
youth and teen summits; parades; and providing printed materials at community activities such as health 
and safety fairs. Education and awareness campaigns focus on laws related to ATOD, risks of underage 
drinking, and drug abuse and how it affects communities and family units. Parent and youth cafes are 
another way communities are reaching out to address underage drinking and engaging the community. 
Efforts across the state are also intended to educate on best practices, such as: 
• Safe Festivals: Evidence-based practice conducting festival scans to determine occurrence of 

underage drinking and promotion of alcohol to youth 
• Sticker Shock Campaign: Evidence-based practice to place stickers on tobacco and alcohol products 

reminding vendors not to sell to minors and adults not to buy for minors 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Additional programs across the state to prevent underage drinking: 
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State Reports – Florida 

Adult Parenting Programs that Address Underage Drinking 
•		 Active Parenting Now: This community-based program is designed into six sessions for parents of 

children ages 5 to 12. The program is based on proven psychological principles to help prevent drug 
and alcohol use. Provides tips to parents who are experiencing behavioral difficulties with their 
adolescent children. Includes education on preventing and Intervening in the child’s negative choices, 
addressing problematic behavior, improving school performance, drug use, developing parental action 
plans, changing destructive behavior, and rebuilding family relationships. 

•		 Strengthening Families Program (SFP): A nationally and internationally recognized parenting and 
family strengthening program for high-risk and regular families. SFP is an evidence-based family skills 
training program found to significantly reduce problem behaviors, delinquency, and alcohol and drug 
abuse in children and to improve social competencies and school performance. Child maltreatment 
also decreases as parents strengthen bonds with their children and learn more effective parenting 
skills. 

•		 Parent Project: A program to help parents deal with hard-to-manage teens and to address ATOD 
prevention education. 

•		 Parenting for Prevention: A program designed for parents and caregivers of children in grades K to 
12. The program is facilitated by professionals in the field of addiction treatment. 

•		 Parenting Wisely: A self-administered, computer-based program that teaches parents and their 9- to 
18-year-old children important skills for combating risk factors for substance use and abuse. The 
program uses a risk-focused approach to reduce family conflict and child behavior problems, including 
stealing, vandalism, defiance of authority, bullying, and poor hygiene. 

•		 Systematic Training for Effective Parenting: Parenting groups focus on the risk and protective factors 
that parents need to employ to protect their children from alcohol and drugs. 

•		 A New Direction: An evidence-based program proven effective as a supplement to existing programs 
or as core programming, gives clients the living skills and relapse-prevention tools needed to stay 
sober after release. Effective in any criminal justice modality, it helps clients develop life goals and 
objectives, decreasing likelihood of recidivism in criminal justice clients. 

Youth Programs 
•		 Healthy Me Program – “An Apple A Day” (AAAD): Substance abuse prevention services utilizing the 

evidenced-based program “An Apple A Day,” a universal literacy-based program that helps build and 
reinforce resiliency skills for substance abuse prevention and mental health promotion in children from 
kindergarten through 4th grade. Based on the principles of risk and resilience, AAAD focuses on the 
following concepts: (1) literacy; (2) personal sense of safety; (3) development of positive friendships; 
(4) self-esteem, self-respect, and self-efficacy; and (5) awareness of the dangers of alcohol, tobacco, 
and other drugs. An additional curriculum focuses on prevention of bullying and further increasing 
students’ mental health and sense of safety. Program staff works with parents and families to 
increase ATOD education and reduce the approval/acceptance of substance abuse in the home as 
well as provide referrals to social services for students or families in need. 

•		 Protecting You/Protecting Me® (PY/PM): A 5-year, classroom-based alcohol-use prevention 
curriculum for elementary students in grades 1 through 5 (6–11 years old). 

•		 Brain Drain: Available in both a classroom or large-group assembly format, this highly interactive, 45-
to 60-minute presentation provides current, research-based information on aspects of drug abuse and 
addiction, including neurobiology, behavioral components, and treatment. Participants learn the parts 
of the brain, the functions of these parts, and how the brain communicates with the rest of the body. 
They also learn how drugs of abuse cause a number of negative effects on the body and brain, from 
mild symptoms to addiction and how the brain of an adolescent is more susceptible to these negative 
effects. 

•		 All Stars: A program that prevents high-risk behaviors including drug use, violence, and premature 
sexual activity through the development of positive personal characteristics in young adolescents. The 
program features highly interactive activities and focuses on changing five specific qualities that 
research indicates are keys for achieving preventive effects. 

•		 DARE to Be You (DTBY): A 5-year demonstration project that, through improving parent and child 
resiliency factors, particularly in the areas of communication, problem-solving, self-esteem, and family 
skills, significantly lowers the risk of future substance abuse and other high-risk activities. This 
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State Reports – Florida 

multilevel prevention program is an adaptation of the DARE to Be You community and school training 
programs. 

•		 The A-List Company – Education Project TTPEP: This project utilizes the evidence-based practice 
(EBP) Theater Troupe/Peer Education Project (TTPEP) and is designed to prevent substance use and 
other unhealthy behaviors among school-aged youth through peer education. Participants, usually 
youth of middle school age, are presented with an interactive theatrical performance, followed by two 
workshops. 

•		 Teen Intervene: Teen Intervene (EBT) is a brief, early intervention program for 12- to 18-year-olds 
who display the early stages of alcohol or drug involvement. Using the stages of change theory, 
Motivational Enhancement Therapy (MET) and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), the intervention 
aims to help teens reduce and ultimately eliminate their substance use. 

•		 PRIME For Life®: An evidence-based motivational prevention/intervention program specifically 
designed for people who may be making high-risk choices. This includes but is not limited to impaired 
driving offenders, college students, and young people charged with alcohol and/or drug offenses. It is 
designed to change drinking and drug use behaviors by changing beliefs, attitudes, risk perceptions, 
motivations, and the knowledge of how to reduce their risk of alcohol- and drug-related problems 
throughout their lives. Because PRIME For Life® includes both prevention and intervention content, it 
is also designed in a way that serves universal, selective, and indicated prevention. 

•		 Project Towards No Drug Abuse: “Project TND is an effective, interactive classroom-based substance 
abuse prevention program that is based on more than two decades of successful research at the 
University of Southern California. Project TND focuses on three factors that predict tobacco, alcohol, 
and other drug use, violence-related behaviors, and other problem behaviors among youth, including: 
1. Motivation factors (i.e., students’ attitudes, beliefs, expectations, and desires regarding drug use); 
2. Skills (social, self-control, and coping skills); and 3. Decision-making (i.e., how to make decisions 
that lead to health-promoting behaviors).” 

•		 Mock DUI: Interdisciplinary community-based educational intervention for high school students. 
•		 Boys Impact: Male gender-specific program adapted from the Council Curriculum Set, a middle and 

high school age-appropriate service modality. 
•		 Girls Voice: A female gender-specific program adapted from the Girls Voice Unity Set curriculum, a 

middle and high school age-appropriate service modality. 
•		 SISTA: A group-level, gender-relevant, and culturally relevant intervention designed to increase 

condom use with African American women. Five peer-led group sessions focus on ethnic and gender 
pride, HIV knowledge, and skills training around sexual risk reduction behaviors and decisionmaking. 
The intervention is based on Social Learning theory as well as the theory of Gender and Power. The 
SISTA project specifically targets sexually active African American women. 

•		 Youth Excellence Program – Life Skills: Targeted prevention strategies provided through back to 
school Jam, summer program, resource fair, social norm campaigns, and parent engagement. 

•		 Drug Free Youth in Town (DFYIT): A risk-focused substance abuse prevention program whose 
primary goal is to maintain a 95 percent or higher drug-free test rate among its club members. 

•		 Getting to the Heart of the Matter 
•		 Alcohol Literacy Challenge (ALC): A program designed to challenge the unique alcohol expectancies 

and perceived media portrayals of drinking held by each participating student. 
•		 Alcohol/Drug: True Stories Hosted by Matt Damon: A multimedia intervention designed to prevent or 

reduced alcohol/drug use among young people by positively changing the attitudes of the youth and 
families in regard to youth drinking/drugging. 

Higher Education 
•		 The Next Step: The goal of this two-part program is to prepare college-bound high school seniors with 

information they need to make wise choices and take care of themselves while away at college. 
•		 Watch Your BAC (Higher Ed): This strategy is designed to provide blood alcohol concentration (BAC) 

education and to reinforce positive social norms to students attending college. Watch Your BAC is an 
on-campus, phased social marketing campaign designed to pique student curiosity, increase 
awareness of high-risk drinking, and influence alcohol norms. The focus is on educating students on 
the nature of Blood Alcohol Concentration 

•		 BASICS: Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for College Students 
Family Programs 
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State Reports – Florida 

• Family Education Program: An alternative to suspension program that uses a certified EBP to teach 
students and parents about the dangers of substance abuse. 

• Family Matrix Model: A 12-session program for families addressing alcohol and drug use and its 
impact. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of underage 
drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

Program Description: In 2009, the Florida Department of Children and Families initiated the 
Alcohol Environmental Scan (AES) to capture alcohol advertising exposure within the state 
through census tract–based visual scanning. This includes examining marketing promotion 
such as signs/billboards used in retail/convenience stores, bars/clubs, special event, and 
other locations selling alcoholic beverages. For the first 3 years, the state continued to pay 
and guide Florida community anti-drug coalitions to complete the AES. Now, many coalitions 
continue to utilize the instruments developed and the guidance provided to sustain this 
initiative and gather information on alcohol advertising exposure within their community. 
The AES is designed to capture various establishments’ placement of alcohol and related 
items such as (1) alcohol advertising, (2) accessories sold or given away to encourage 
drinking, (3) an atmosphere promoting alcohol consumption, (4) warning signs surrounding 
alcohol use, (5) placement of alcoholic beverages at a location, (6) steps taken to identify 
anyone under 21, and (7) promotions encouraging alcohol sales and consumption. These 
topics include questions designed to investigate how and where alcohol is placed and 
promoted throughout their communities in order to measure youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing. 

Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA 
Agency(ies) within your state: 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): 
Other: 

Yes 
No 
No 
No 

Best practice standards description: To maximize the impact of strategies implemented, Florida has 
emphasized the importance of a strategic planning process to guide its prevention efforts, relying on 
the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) as a model. SPF contains five basic elements, and two 
overarching principles that overlap and interact throughout the process, relying on research and data 
to determine strategies. In line with this, the state developed the Substance Abuse Response Guide 
(SARG), an instruction manual designed to help communities learn and apply SPF by providing 
guidance and tools. 
Florida also has identified the need for continual workforce development and enhancement for the 
prevention field. Over the last year, the state has offered a number of training initiatives that align 
with the standards set by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
(SAMHSA) that cover not only specific EBPs, but environmental strategies and best practices as well. 
These training efforts have been offered through face-to-face sessions as well as webinar style to 
reach practitioners across the state. 
Additionally, the state has engaged in fidelity review site visits and peer mentoring opportunities to 
ensure programs and practices are implemented with fidelity and in accordance with best practices 
identified. These site visits are conducted by peer reviewers who are able to provide feedback and 
guidance on how to improve current efforts for providers. 
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State Reports – Florida 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Celeste Philip, M.D. 
E-mail: Celeste.Philip@flhealth.gov 
Address: 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Tallahassee, FL 32399 
Phone: 850-245-4245 
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Surgeon General 
Office of Planning and Budget 
Attorney General 
Florida Department of Law Enforcement 
Florida Department of Children and Families 
Florida Department of Corrections 
Florida Department of Juvenile Justice 
Florida Department of Education 
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 

URL or other means of access: Yes 
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Dis 
play_Statute&Search_String=397.333&URL=0300-0399/0397/Sections/0397.333.html 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
Interagency collaboration: The members listed above are a part of the Drug Policy Advisory Council. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$2,147,282 
12/31/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$8,656,519 
12/31/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$145,480 
12/31/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
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State Reports – Florida 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: No data 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Georgia 

Georgia 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  9,992,167 
Population Ages 12–20: 1,254,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.5 257,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.6 159,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.1 16,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.3 5,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.5 79,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.6 49,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 37.6 161,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 24.2 104,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 149 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 9,030 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 16 10 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Georgia 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Parent/guardian’s home AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 180 days 
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State Reports – Georgia 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  12 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, of which 6 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, immediate family only.  Second 6 months, no 
more than one passenger under 21 who is not immediate family.  After 1 year, no more than 
three passengers under 21 who are not immediate family 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
 Parent/guardian’s home AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  17 
 Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
	 Not specified 

ID possession 
	 Prohibited except to obtain admission to facility 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
	 Recommended 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No written guidelines 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 
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State Reports – Georgia 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  Not specified 
 Wine:  Not specified 
 Spirits:  Not specified 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 Limitations on outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer; within 200 yards for 
spirits. Local government has the authority to override state restrictions for wine and 
beer for grocery stores. 

–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer; within 200 yards for 
spirits. Local government has authority to override state restrictions. 

– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits. 
Note: Exceptions include (1) hotels of more than 50 rooms; (2) bona fide private clubs. 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer; within 200 yards for 
spirits. 

–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer; within 200 yards for 
spirits. Local government has authority to override state restrictions. 

– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 
Note: Exceptions include (1) hotels of more than 50 rooms; (2) bona fide private clubs. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Furnishing with knowledge that customer was a 

minor and would soon be operating a motor vehicle. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Furnishing with knowledge that customer was a 

minor and would soon be operating a motor vehicle. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 
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State Reports – Georgia 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Producer must verify age of purchaser. 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 
Note: Wineries that hold a federal basic wine manufacturing permit, regardless of whether they 
are licensed by the state of Georgia, may also ship wines directly to consumers.  The consumer 
must purchase the wine while physically present on the premises of the winery, and the winery 
must verify that the consumer is of the age to do so. 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  More than 2 gallons 
 Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/12 months 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/12 months 

 Purchaser information collected:  
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 
– Address where keg will be consumed 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 
Note:  Although Georgia does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s ID, 
it does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser, as well 
as the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Prohibited 
 Wine: Prohibited 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $1.01 per gallon 
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State Reports – Georgia 

Note:  $0.32 per gallon for malt beverages sold in barrels or bulk containers containing not more 
than 31 gallons, and $0.39 per gallon on barrels or bulk containers of 15.5 gallons or less. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Specific excise tax:  $0.42 per gallon 
	 Additional taxes:  Georgia imposes an additional tax of $1.10 per gallon on the “importation 

for use, consumption, or final delivery” into the state of all wines with an alcohol content of 
14 percent or less. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $1.89 per gallon
	

Note:  Georgia imposes an additional tax of $1.89 per gallon on the “importation for use, 

consumption, or final delivery” into the state of all distilled spirits.
	

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—180 days minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted—if retailer owns more than one business and payment is made 

from a central office, then credit not to exceed 5 days after delivery and invoice. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—14 days minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 
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State Reports – Georgia 

Georgia State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR) – Alcohol and Tobacco Division 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
Yes 
Yes 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement 
agencies 

Yes 

Georgia DOR–Alcohol & 
Tobacco Div. 

No 

Yes 

32 

6/30/2013 
No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-
sale, or both retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
18,031 

3,832 

298 
6/30/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

3,832 

298 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 
sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Yes 

298 
$194,000 
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State Reports – Georgia 

Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $1,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 11 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 55 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

Additional Clarification 
The Georgia Department of Revenue Alcohol and Tobacco Division does not collect data or track fines 
on local enforcement. This agency tracks regulatory fines issued to businesses based on enforcement 
actions initiated by the agency. 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Alcohol Prevention Project (APP) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: To address the negative impact of alcohol use in Georgia, the state Office of 
Prevention Services and Programs (OPSP) has developed the Alcohol Prevention Project (APP). This 
project aims to affect population-level change of behaviors and trends of alcohol use and abuse among 
youth and young adults ages 9 to 25. APP will use the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration/Center for Substance Abuse Prevention SAMHSA/CSAP Strategic Prevention Framework 
(SPF) model to develop and implement strategies aimed at population-level change using the public 
health model approach. The objective of this initiative is to implement statewide primary prevention 
strategies (programs/practice/policies) that are consistent with needs as identified by epidemiological 
data with the following goals: (1) Reduce the early onset of alcohol use among 9- to 20-year-olds; (2) 
reduce access to alcohol and binge drinking among 9- to 20-year-olds; and (3) reduce binge drinking and 
heavy drinking among 18- to 25-year-olds. Currently, 38 providers with 51 contracts across the state are 
completing this initiative. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Georgia 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized 
tribal governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Description of program: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Yes 
Agency(ies) within your state: Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Disabilities, Georgia State University 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: Through the incorporation of the SPF into the alcohol initiative, 
the OPSP became strategic about prevention services and programs being provided in Georgia and 
looks to increase utilization of evidence-based programs, practices, and policies. This will allow 
OPSP to target our services, show outcomes in our communities, and ensure long-term sustainability 
of evidence-based substance use/abuse prevention efforts. This model requires target communities 
to develop and implement strategies aimed at population-level change using the public health model 
approach. By adopting the SPF process and the public health model, target communities would use 
a comprehensive approach to develop and implement sustainable outcome-based prevention 
strategies. OPSP will also be utilizing the Surgeon General’s Call To Action To Prevent and Reduce 
Underage Drinking to assist in continuing to develop best practice standards. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Margie Irizarry-DeLaCruz 
E-mail: 421daho421.irizarry-delacruz@dbhdd.ga.gov 
Address: 2 Peachtree NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 
Phone: No data 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities 
Council on Alcohol and Drugs 
Maternal Substance Abuse and Child Development Project, Emory University 
Georgia State University 
Clinic for Education, Treatment, and Prevention of Addiction, Inc. (CEPTA) 
Georgia Department of Revenue, Alcohol and Tobacco Division 
Drug Enforcement Administration 
Carl Vinson Institute of Government, University of Georgia 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

No 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities/Office of Prevention 
Services and Programs 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.ga-sps.org 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 421 



    

   

    
  

 
 

  
  

  
     

  
   

     
   

  
     

  
  

     
    

  
     

    
  

     
  

  
     

 
  

  
     

  
  

  
 

 

  
   
  

  
  

 
 

  

  
    

   
     

    
    

  
  

    
       
     

State Reports – Georgia 

Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$150,000 
6/30/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
9/30/2014 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
9/30/2014 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
9/30/2014 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
9/30/2014 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
9/30/2014 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: No data 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
9/30/2014 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes No 
Fines No 
Fees No 
Other: No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 

To address the negative impact of alcohol use in Georgia, the OPSP has developed the Alcohol 
Prevention Project initiative utilizing SAMHSA Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block 
Grant funding. This initiative aims to impact population-level change of behaviors and trends of alcohol 
use and abuse among youth and young adults ages 9 to 25. APP will use the SAMHSA/CSAP Strategic 
Prevention Framework model to develop and implement strategies aimed at population-level change 
using the public health model approach. The objective of this initiative is to implement statewide primary 
prevention strategies (programs, practices, and policies) that are consistent with needs as identified by 
epidemiological data with the following goals: 

1. Reduce the early onset of alcohol use among 9- to 20-year-olds. 
2. Reduce access to alcohol and binge drinking among 9- to 20-year-olds. 
3. Reduce binge drinking and heavy drinking among 18- to 25-year-olds. 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Hawaii 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,404,054 
Population Ages 12–20: 146,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.0 33,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.9 22,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.4 3,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 5.5 3,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.7 11,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.9 6,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 38.4 19,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 25.5 13,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 11 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 680 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 60 3 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Private location 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Private location 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 
Note:  Although Hawaii does not prohibit internal possession as defined in this report, it has 
a statutory provision that, “[n]o minor shall consume or purchase liquor and no minor shall 
consume or have liquor in the minor’s possession or custody in any public place, public 
gathering, or public amusement, at any public beach or public park, or in any motor vehicle 
on a public highway” and that “‘consume’ or ‘consumption’ includes the ingestion of liquor.” 
Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so without reference to 
a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting internal possession for purposes of 
this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the 

purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 
Note:  In Hawaii, the retailer has a defense to a charge of furnishing to a minor if, in making the 
sale or allowing the consumption of liquor by a minor, the retailer was misled by the appearance 
of the minor and the attending circumstances into honestly believing that the minor was of legal 
age, and if the retailer can prove that he or she acted in good faith. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Penalties applicable to minors under age 21 
Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  180 days 
 Maximum:  Not specified 

Penalties applicable to minors under age 18 
Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  180 days 
 Maximum:  Not specified 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18, except household 
members, unless accompanied by parent or guardian 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Parent/guardian 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  18 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 
Note:  Liquor can be sold by persons ages 18 to 20 years old only in licensed establishments 
where selling or serving the intoxicating liquor is part of the minor’s employment, and where 
there is proper supervision of these minor employees to ensure that the minors shall not consume 
the intoxicating liquor. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 
Note:  Liquor can be sold or served by persons 18 to 20 years old only in licensed establishments 
where selling or serving the intoxicating liquor is part of the minor’s employment, and where 
there is proper supervision of these minor employees to ensure that the minors shall not consume 
the intoxicating liquor.  Persons below age 18 may sell or serve liquor in individually specified 
licensed establishments found to be otherwise suitable by the liquor commission in which an 
approved program of job training and employment for dining room waiters and waitresses is 
being conducted in cooperation with the University of Hawaii, the state community college 
system, or a federally sponsored personnel development and training program, under 
arrangements that ensure proper control and supervision of employees. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  No 
–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet, if 40 percent of registered voters or property 

owners within area protest 
–		 Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Note: Exceptions include (1) designated resort areas; (2) hotel or condominium hotel 
liquor licenses. 

Dram Shop Liability 
 There is no statutory liability.
	
 The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.  


Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  

 Limitations on who may be sued:  Social host must be 21 years old or older.
	

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Recklessness—the host may 

not have acted with actual knowledge of the party, but must have acted with intentional 
disregard for the probable consequences of his or her actions. 

 Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
 Beer:  Uncertain 
 Wine:  Uncertain 
 Spirits:  Uncertain 
Note:  Any adult may obtain a state permit to receive one shipment of beer, wine, or distilled 
spirits per year for personal use from outside the state, not to exceed 5 gallons.  Only one permit 
is allowed per household. It is uncertain whether an out-of-state retailer may ship the alcohol 
directly to the permittee for his or her personal use. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit 

Reporting requirements: None 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 
Note:  Any adult may obtain a state permit to receive one shipment of beer, wine, or distilled 
spirits per year for personal use from outside the state, not to exceed 5 gallons.  Only one permit 
is allowed per household. 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  No law 
 Wine: No law 
 Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.93 per gallon
	

Note: $0.54 per gallon for containers of 7 gallons or more.
	

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $1.38 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $5.98 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Hawaii State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

The State of Hawaii, Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division, is primarily 
responsible for the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) program. The county police 
departments and the Department of Liquor Control are responsible for enforcement. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No data 
Shoulder Tap Operations No data 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No data 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No data 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No data 
Shoulder Tap Operations No data 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No data 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No data 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Dept. of Liquor Control in each 
county (Maui, Kauai, Hawaii, 

Honolulu) 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Don’t know 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies No data 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending No data 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement 
agencies 

No data 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 911 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 579 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 100 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 4/30/2014 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-
sale, or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/ 
decoy operations Yes 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 579 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 100 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 266 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 55 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 3/31/2014 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

24 
$27,500 
$1,000 
$3,000 

4/30/2014 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

1 
5 
5 
5 

4/30/2014 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Provide services to reduce the accessibility and use of alcohol by minors under 
age 21. The EUDL program assists our statewide council and county coalitions to change community 
social norms through these strategies (enforcements, environmental, media, and educational). The 
enforcement strategies assist in conducting an alcohol sales random sample survey to determine the 
rate of alcohol sales to underage youth in retail outlets and liquor establishments by supporting 
enforcement operations under Hawaii Revised Statutes, section §712-1250.5, which makes it a 
misdemeanor offense to promote intoxicating liquor to a person under age 21 in Hawaii. 

Community-Based Strategy To Discourage the Use of Alcohol Products 
by Minors 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: This environmental strategy establishes or changes written and unwritten 
community standards, norms, and attitudes, thereby influencing the incidence and prevalence of 
substance abuse in the general population. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized 
tribal 

governments 
Description of collaboration: Not applicable 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Yes 
Agency(ies) within your state: Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Division 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: (1) The best practice standard our state uses is off-premise 
compliance checks, whereby our local law enforcement officers (police departments) along with 
University of Hawaii and student field researchers visit alcohol retail establishments to determine if 
these establishments are complying with the state law prohibiting selling to anyone under age 21. In 
addition, the School of Public Health Studies conducts a random sample survey to determine our 
noncompliance rate. (2) Media strategies such as Social Norms Marketing and Environmental 
Strategies. (3) We use the SPF logic model to help communities develop a clear action plan to 
address substance abuse problems and underage drinking. (4) The Hawaii Partnerships to Prevent 
Underage Drinking (HPPUD) is a coalition that works collectively to address underage drinking and 
ensure that our youth have a healthy lifestyle. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Valerie Mariano 
E-mail: Valerie.S.Mariano@hawaii.gov 
Address: 235 South Beretania Street, Suite 401, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Phone: 808-586-1444 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Parents and Child Together 
Department of the Attorney General 
County Liquor Control Board 
University of Hawaii at Manoa 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Maui Economic Opportunity 
Coalition for Drug Free Hawaii 
Department of Health 
State Department of Transportation 
Alu Like, Inc. 
Hina Mauka 
Institute for Family Enrichment 
County Police Departments 
Mayor’s Office 
City and County of Honolulu 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: http://ag.hawaii.gov/432daho432-partnership-to-prevent-underage-
drinking 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Department of the Attorney General–Crime Prevention and Justice Assistance 
Division, National Guard, County of Kauai, Department of Health–Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division, 
Department of Health–Maternal and Child Health 
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: The Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division has prepared report to the Office of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) for their semiannual report on the EUDL program. 
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$262,879 
5/31/2014 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$100,000 
6/30/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 
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State Reports – Hawaii 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes No 
Fines No 
Fees No 
Other: EUDL block grant fund Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Majority of the funds received from the OJJDP-EUDL Block Grant fund the compliance checks, 
random sample survey, media, and coalitions. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Idaho 

Idaho 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,612,136 
Population Ages 12–20: 204,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.8 40,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.8 26,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.5 3,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.5 1,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.6 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.1 9,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 37.7 25,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 24.8 16,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 22 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,376 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 28 4 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Idaho 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence AND 
 Parent/guardian 
Note: Idaho’s exceptions relate specifically to possession of beer or wine. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited:  No explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.
	
Note:  Although Idaho does not prohibit internal possession as defined in this report, it has a
	
statutory provision that makes it unlawful “[f]or any person under the age of twenty-one (21)
	
years to purchase, attempt to purchase, possess, serve, dispense, or consume beer, wine or other 

alcoholic liquor” such that “[a] person shall also be deemed to ‘possess’ alcohol that has been 

consumed by the person, without regard to the place of consumption.” Laws that prohibit minors 

from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, 

are not considered as prohibiting internal possession as defined in this report.
	

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
 It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older. 
Note: Retailers are only required to deliver documents to law enforcement that have been lost or 
voluntarily surrendered; however, when presented with identification documents that appear to 
be mutilated, altered, or fraudulent, they must contact law enforcement and refuse service. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
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State Reports – Idaho 

 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  Not specified 
 Maximum:  365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
	 Minimum entry age:  14 years, 6 months—upon completion of driver education, instruction 

permit signed over to allow driving with adult over 21 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 
Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  15 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Night driving is not restricted—no unsupervised driving ½ hour after sunset 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one unrelated passenger under 17 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16—passenger restrictions expire 6 months after issuance 

of license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 16. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  16 
 Maximum:  20.5 

Appearance requirements 
 Age-appropriate appearance 
 Male:  Not large in stature; no excessive facial hair 
 Female:  Minimal makeup and jewelry 
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State Reports – Idaho 

ID possession 
 Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
 Not specified 

Decoy training 
 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
 First offense:  10-day suspension of alcohol license 
 Second offense:  30-day suspension of alcohol license 
 Third offense:  180-day suspension of alcohol license 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  19 
 Wine:  19 
 Spirits:  19 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  19 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  19 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  19 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 Limitations on outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—on campus grounds.  College or university has authority to 
override state restrictions. 

–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—on campus grounds.  College or university has authority to 
override state restrictions. 

–		 Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  No 
–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet. Local government has authority to override 

state restrictions. 
–		 Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists. 
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State Reports – Idaho 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
 Beer:  Prohibited 
 Wine:  Uncertain 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 
Note:  A licensee who holds a license for the retail sale of wine for consumption off the licensed 
premises may ship not more than two cases of wine, containing not more than 9 liters per case, 
per shipment, for personal use and not for resale, directly to a resident of another state if the state 
to which the wine is sent allows residents of this state to receive wine sent from that state without 
payment of additional state tax, fees, or charges. The sale shall be considered to have occurred in 
this state. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements: None 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 

Reporting requirements 
 Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  5 gallons or more 
 Prohibited:  Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 
 Purchaser information collected:  Purchaser’s name and address 
 Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  No law 
 Wine: No law 
 Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.15 per gallon 
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State Reports – Idaho 

	 Additional taxes:  $0.45 per gallon applies to beer over 5 percent alcohol.  Beer with 5 
percent or less alcohol is sold by license.  Beer greater than 5 percent but less than 7.5 
percent alcohol is sold by both license and the state. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
	 Control state 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—6 months minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
	 Control state 
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State Reports – Idaho 

Idaho State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Idaho State Police Alcohol Beverage Control 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
Yes 
Yes 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies 

Yes 

Idaho State Police Alcohol 
Beverage Control 

No 

Yes 

762 

12/31/2013 
Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
5,000 

1,000 

100–150 
12/31/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

All are random 

10–15 percent 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish Yes minors 
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State Reports – Idaho 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

$500 
$3,000 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No data 
417 
2 
90 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Additional Clarification 

No data 

No 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Boise State University Regional Alcohol Drug Awareness Resource 
(RADAR) Center Video and Print Materials Resource Center 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: http://radar.boisestate.edu 
URL for more program information: http://radar.boisestate.edu 

Program Description: The mission of the RADAR Center is to provide free substance abuse prevention 
and addiction treatment resources to Idahoans. Funding from the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws 
(EUDL) program administered by the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections is used specifically to 
support materials related to underage drinking prevention. EUDL funding is used to purchase underage 
drinking prevention videos and print materials and to support the operation of the Center with an 
emphasis on the video lending library. Resource materials at RADAR are available to any Idaho 
resident, but the underage drinking videos are primarily borrowed by middle and high school educators 
and school counselors and substance use treatment providers. Therefore, the population for underage 
drinking materials is primarily middle and high school students. The Center keeps track of the number of 
youth and adults who view these videos. Print materials purchased with EUDL funds are tracked when 
they are disseminated. The Center also keeps track of the number of youth (18 and under) and adults 
expected to be exposed to the materials. 
Idaho Drug Free Youth (IDFY), i2i Student Assembly and i2i: True 
Confessions of an Idaho Teen 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 5,000 
Number of parents served 600 
Number of caregivers served No data 
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State Reports – Idaho 

Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.idahodrugfreeyouth.org 

Program Description: i2i Student Assembly is an interactive and engaging 3-hour or up to 6-hour 
program, in which IDFY facilitators lead an assembly of students through a variety of activities and 
discussions designed to draw diverse students together, create conversation, and help students see eye 
to eye. Once students see eye to eye, they become more compassionate and understanding. I2i 
culminates in a sense of mutual support, which leads to healthy decisionmaking and positive change. 
Through i2i, walls between students break down and students become open to succeeding and seeing 
others succeed. I2i:True Confessions of an Idaho Teen is an interactive evening presentation designed 
to educate families regarding the impact of alcohol on teenagers. While creating a nonjudgmental and 
open atmosphere, this presentation is a hard-hitting and informative program that engages the audience 
and challenges them to reflect on their beliefs about underage drinking, while learning ways to combat 
the number 1 predictor of underage drinking. This presentation exposes the alcohol industry’s attempt to 
break down and rebuild the beliefs and attitudes that young people have toward alcohol. Community 
members, parents, and students alike will gain a new set of skills and insight and be empowered to face 
and prevent underage drinking. 
Be The Parents 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.betheparents.org 

Program Description: Be The Parents is a campaign focused on educating parents and caregivers 
about their role in preventing underage drinking. It is funded through block grant funds and EUDL funds. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: EUDL funding is sometimes awarded to tribal applicants. Furthermore, 
the EUDL coordinator is a member of the State Advisory Group for juvenile justice (JJ) and a chair of 
one of Idaho’s eight local JJ councils. Another of the councils is made up of representatives from 
Idaho’s tribes. There are quarterly collaborative meetings. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Description of program: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): National Registry of Evidence Based Programs Yes 
Agency(ies) within your state: No 
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State Reports – Idaho 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: All underage drinking prevention programs funded through 
the State of Idaho with block grant funds must be evidence based. In addition, with the addition 
of Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) funds to the state, an evidence-
based practices workgroup has been formed to begin establishing best practices for the state. 

Additional Clarification 
Although there is no requirement that EUDL programs be certified as “best practice,” recipients of funds 
are required to identify the research basis of their proposed strategies. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Elisha Figueroa 
E-mail: 443daho443.figueroa@odp.idaho.gov 
Address: 304 N 8th Street, Room 455, Boise, ID 83720 
Phone: 208-854-3040 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Office of Drug Policy 
Department of Juvenile Corrections 
Department of Health & Welfare 
Department of Education 
Community Coalitions of Idaho 
Alcohol Beverage Control 
Boise Police Department 
Idaho Division of Liquor 
RADAR Center 
Idaho Beer and Wine Distributors Association 
Idaho TSRP 
Bonneville Youth Development Council 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

No 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Idaho Office of Drug Policy in coordination with the Underage Drinking Workgroup and 
State Strategic Prevention Planning Committee 
Plan can be accessed via: Email Office of Drug Policy for logic model and action plan: 
gayle.hines@odp.idaho.gov 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections and Office of Drug Policy 
Plan can be accessed via: EUDL application process and http://www.odp.idaho.gov or 
http://www.betheparents.org 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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State Reports – Idaho 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other: 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Illinois 

Illinois 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts 

State Population:  12,882,135 
Population Ages 12–20: 1,596,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.2 402,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.7 266,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.9 20,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.7 9,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.2 113,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.7 68,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 49.3 269,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 34.8 190,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 192 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 11,614 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 34 19 
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State Reports – Illinois 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure.
	

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
 It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
	 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
	 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.00 
 Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
	 180 days 
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State Reports – Illinois 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  9 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m.–11 p.m. on Friday and Saturday 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 20, except for siblings 
and children 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 12 months after issuance 

of license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  18 
 Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
 Age-appropriate dress; no clothing with alcohol logos  
 Female:  No heavy makeup, excessive jewelry, wedding bands, or suggestive clothing 

ID possession 
	 Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
	 Recommended 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No written guidelines 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments. 
 The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 
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State Reports – Illinois 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
	 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
	 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note: Exceptions include (1) hotels with restaurant service, regularly organized clubs, certain 
restaurants; (2) food shops and other places where alcohol sales are not principal business and 
location is not a municipality of more than 500,000 persons. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
	 Limitations on damages: For causes of action involving persons injured or killed, shall not 

exceed $64,057 for each person incurring damages.  For causes of action involving persons 
incurring property damage, shall not exceed $64,057 for each person incurring damages.  
For causes of action for either loss of means of support or loss of society, the judgment or 
recovery shall not exceed $78,291.89. 

Note:  Illinois law requires the state comptroller to determine each year the liability limits for 
cases brought under the statute in accordance with the consumer price index during the preceding 
12 months. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
 Exception(s):  Family, resident 
Note:  An individual will not be in violation of 235 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/6-16© if he or she requests 
assistance from a law enforcement agency to help end the possession or consumption 
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State Reports – Illinois 

of alcohol by persons under age 21 in a residence that he or she occupies. This assistance must 
be requested before any other person makes a formal complaint to a law enforcement agency 
about the activity. 

Law Applicable to Parents/Guardians 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Exception(s):  Family 
Note: A person commits a social host offense if one is a parent or guardian and permits one’s 
residence, or any other property under one’s control, to be used by an underage invitee of one’s 
child or ward in a manner that violates the statute.  An offense is deemed to have occurred if a 
parent or guardian knowingly authorizes or permits the prohibited use to occur. 

Law Applicable to Hotel or Motel Rooms 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Overt act—host must have 

actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence 
Note:  A person commits a social host offense by renting a hotel or motel room for the purpose 
of or with the knowledge that such room be used for the consumption of alcoholic liquor by 
underage persons. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 
 Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 
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State Reports – Illinois 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine: Permitted 
 Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.23 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $1.39 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $8.55 per gallon 
 Additional taxes:  $1.39 per gallon for alcohol content of more than 14 percent and less than 

20 percent. 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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State Reports – Illinois 

Illinois State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Illinois Liquor Control Commission (sales to minors only) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
Approx. 22,500 

1,905 

407 
6/30/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

Data not available 

Data not available 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Yes 

688 
$466,125 

$500 
$15,000 

6/30/2013 
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State Reports – Illinois 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

49 
321 
1 
30 

No data 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

7 
6/30/2013 

Additional Clarification 
Illinois State Police also conduct underage compliance operations. 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Partnerships for Success (PFS) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The PFS program is designed to address gaps in prevention services and 
increase the ability of Illinois to help specific populations or geographic areas with serious, emerging 
substance abuse problems. The goals of the project are to use a data-driven process to leverage 
existing prevention dollars and reduce underage drinking at the state level. Illinois is funding 20 
subrecipient community-based agencies that partner with coalitions to meet those targets. Subrecipient 
communities implement at least two evidence-based environmental programs, policies, and practices 
identified through the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF). The PFS grant can be applied only to 
activities that specifically target the high school population. Strategies used by PFS recipients typically 
include policy and enforcement strategies, as well as communication campaigns that target the 
community as a whole. Evaluation is a key component of this grant, as states are required to measure 
any significant changes in underage substance abuse over time to evaluate alcohol consumption as well 
as changes to contributing factors. 
Substance Abuse Prevention Program (SAPP)–Direct Service Grant 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The goal of the Direct Service Subgrant is to increase the availability of high-
quality prevention services that have the greatest potential to impact factors that contribute to alcohol, 
tobacco and other drug (ATOD) consumption and consequences for 11- to 18-year-olds. Direct Service 
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State Reports – Illinois 

Program providers deliver one or more of the following approaches: Youth/Prevention Education, 
Parent/Family Education, Mentoring, and Communication Campaign. Providers may elect to conduct 
mobilization activities to create a new substance abuse prevention coalition or to enhance an existing 
substance abuse prevention coalition in the community. Grantees approved for creating a new coalition 
must develop a multisector coalition, and the coalition must agree to meet at least quarterly, develop a 
mission statement that includes reduction of youth substance use and develop coalition capacity (clear 
roles and organizational structure, meeting and communication habits, decisionmaking and problem-
solving processes, leadership). Providers that have been approved to enhance an existing coalition 
must develop a subcommittee with multisector representation and/or assess an existing coalition’s 
representation and identify and recruit missing sectors. The coalition/subcommittee must agree to meet 
at least quarterly, review and adapt the mission statement to include reduction of youth substance use, 
assess current coalition capacity (clear roles and organizational structure, meeting and communication 
habits, decisionmaking and problem-solving processes, leadership), and determine areas that need to 
be enhanced/strengthened and develop a plan to develop the gaps identified. Providers may also elect 
to engage in one or more of the following two optional activities: (1) recruitment of schools for 
participation in the 2014 and 2016 Illinois Youth Survey administration and/or (2) supplemental activities 
(e.g., summer programming). 
Substance Abuse Prevention Program (SAPP) – 
Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 6,725 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The goal of the SPF grant program is to reduce consumption of, consequences 
from, and contributing factors to alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and prescription drug misuse/abuse 
among 11- to 20-year-olds in a targeted geographic community by following the SPF. This grant is 
designed to support the use of the SPF, developed by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA). SPF is a structured planning process that can be applied to prevention 
systems at both state and local levels. This process is an effective way for coalitions to address 
substance abuse issues within the community. SPF is intended to provide a structure or mechanism for 
multisector coalitions and other broadly represented community organizations to identify the most 
pressing substance abuse problems in their community. SPF uses a data-driven approach to 
understand what the most pressing problems are, who is affected most by the problems (consumption 
and consequences), why the problems are happening (contributing factors or intervening variables), and 
what programs, practices, and policies are most effective in addressing these problems and contributing 
factors. All of the SAPP–SPF-funded providers are addressing underage drinking. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 
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State Reports – Illinois 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Center for 
Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services Administration (SAMHSA) 

Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): Center for Prevention Research and Development, 
University of Illinois-Champaign/Urbana 

Yes 

Other: No 
Best practice standards description: The state requires the use of evidence-based programs, 
practices, and policies. Evidence-based standards are also promoted and required if a provider 
decides to develop its own programming in the areas listed below. For example, if a community-
based provider proposes an underage drinking communication campaign, the provider is expected 
to address all of the standards for communication campaigns. To review standards for 
communication campaigns and other evidence-based standards, visit 
http://www.cprd.illinois.edu/prevresearchbriefs. Evidence-based standard exists for the following 
approaches: social norms and communication, campaigns, mentoring, parent/family education, and 
youth prevention education. Evidence-based standards are also being developed for the following 
environmental strategies: 
• Public policy: keg registration, local social host ordinance, mandatory responsible beverage 

service, advertising restrictions, alcohol location and density, event restrictions, local Minors In 
Possession (MIP) ordinance 

• Enforcement: compliance checks with server merchant education, party prevention and dispersal, 
sobriety checkpoints, shoulder tap operations 

• School policy 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Kim Fornero 
E-mail: Kim.Fornero@illinois.gov 
Address: 401 South Clinton, 4th Floor, Chicago, IL 60607 
Phone: 312-793-1628 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Department of Human Services, Substance Abuse Prevention Program 
Center for Prevention Research and Development 
Operation Snowball 
Prevention First 
Illinois State Police 
Illinois National Guard 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Illinois State Board of Education 
Chicago Police Department 
Illinois Department of Transportation 
Illinois Liquor Control Commission 
Department of Human Services, Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse 
Illinois Alcoholism and Drug Dependence Association 
Cebrin Goodman Teen Institute 
Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) 
Youth Network Council 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
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State Reports – Illinois 

URL or other means of access: Not applicable 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: A 5-year strategic plan was developed for the Strategic Prevention Enhancement grant 
by the group previously referenced. 
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: The Illinois State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) is administered by 
the Center for Prevention Research and Development and funded by the Illinois Department of 
Human Services. 
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes Yes 
Fines No 
Fees Yes 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The Illinois Liquor Control Commission collects alcohol license fees, of which a portion are used to 
support substance abuse prevention services. 
Taxes: The Substance Abuse Prevention Program is supported by General Revenue Funds. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Indiana 

Indiana 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,570,902 
Population Ages 12–20: 817,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.4 192,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.7 128,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.8 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.9 5,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 15.8 43,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10 27,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.5 136,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 34.2 96,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 92 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 5,613 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 32 14 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Indiana 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.
	
Note:  Indiana does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but it does prohibit 

purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol in connection with making a false statement or
	
using false evidence of majority or identity.  


False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the 

purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 
Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
 Mandatory 
Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  90 days 
 Maximum:  365 days 
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State Reports – Indiana 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months—16 years, 9 months without driver education 
 Unsupervised night driving 

–		 Prohibited after:  10 p.m.—first 180 days, 10 p.m.; then, 11 p.m. Sunday through Friday 
and 1 a.m. on Saturday and Sunday 

–		 Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers except immediate family, unless accompanied by 

parent or a licensed driver at least 21 years old 
–		 Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 180 days after issuance 

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  18 
 Maximum:  20.75 

Appearance requirements 
	 Age-appropriate dress and grooming. 

ID possession 
	 Prohibited 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
	 Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 
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State Reports – Indiana 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  19 
 Wine:  19 
 Spirits:  19 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet.  School has authority to override state 
prohibition for grocery or drug stores. 

–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet.  School has authority to override state 
prohibition for grocery or drug stores. 

–		 Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits. 
Note:  Exceptions include (1) restaurants in historic places or districts; (2) shopping malls and 
city markets. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  

 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of visible intoxication
	

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  

 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of visible intoxication
	

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:  Consumer must make at least one trip to producer’s place of business to verify age 
before any direct shipments are permitted. 
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State Reports – Indiana 

Age verification requirements 
 Producer must verify age of purchaser. 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient. 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
 State must approve common carrier. 

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 
Note:  Brewers who manufacture not more than 30,000 barrels of beer in a single calendar year 
may ship up to one half barrel of beer directly to Indiana consumers without being subject to the 
restrictions placed on wine shipments.   

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  At least 7¾ gallons 
 Prohibited:  Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000 
 Purchaser information collected:  

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted—6.75 to 15.75 gallons in a single transaction depending on the type of 

retail license 
 Wine: Permitted 
 Spirits:  Permitted—4 to 12 quarts in a single transaction depending on the type of 

retail license 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.12 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.47 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $2.68 per gallon 
 Additional taxes:  $0.47 per gallon applies to an alcoholic beverage that contains 15 percent 

or less. 
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State Reports – Indiana 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—7 days minimum. 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—7 days minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—7 days minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 
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State Reports – Indiana 

Indiana State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Indiana Alcohol and Tobacco Commission/Indiana State Excise Police 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
No 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
Yes 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Don’t know 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

Yes 

2,431 

12/31/2013 
No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
13,695 

12,487 

655 
12/31/2013 

On- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

12,487 

655 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Yes 
No data 

$436,855 
No data 
No data 

6/30/2013 
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State Reports – Indiana 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No data 
No data 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Indiana Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking (ICRUD) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.icrud.org 

Program Description: ICRUD is a program of Mental Health America of Indiana. The Coalition’s 
mission is to create healthier and safer environments by reducing accessibility and availability of alcohol 
to underage persons. It aims to reduce youth access to alcohol by educating policymakers and the 
public about underage drinking and advocating for effective alcohol policies and laws. ICRUD believes 
all young people have the right to live and learn in environments that do not promote, condone, or allow 
underage drinking. The program provides minigrants to K–12 organizations and universities for on-
campus prevention activities. ICRUD also organizes a legislative action group made up of college-level 
administrators to address issues of high-risk campus drinking as well as providing statewide training and 
policy academies. The Indiana Collegiate Action Network (ICAN) is a statewide advocacy coalition of 
colleges and universities working together to address high-risk drinking and other issues that impact the 
wellness of students and others on campus, as well as individuals in the surrounding communities, 
through education and evidence-based environmental strategies. ICAN is a program under ICRUD. 
More information about ICAN is available at http//www.indianacollegiateactionnetwork.com. 

Indiana Criminal Justice Institute/Governor’s Commission for a Drug Free 
Indiana/Local Coordinating Councils (LCCs) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.in.gov/cji 
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State Reports – Indiana 

Program Description: Fines and forfeitures collected for alcohol- or drug-related offenses are given to 
Local Coordinating Councils (LCCs) in all 92 counties for alcohol and drug prevention efforts. Because 
each county is given a different allotment based on the amount of fines collected in the county, and each 
coalition provides grant funding to various agencies and priorities in their county, it is difficult to 
determine the exact amount being spent solely on underage drinking prevention from these funds. 
Typically, these funds go to multiple initiatives or programs targeting multiple areas and are billed by 
cohorts, making it difficult to establish exact amounts. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
The Division of Mental Health and Addiction also provides grant funding to agencies for prevention 
efforts. As these efforts often targeted multiple domains and risk factors, it is difficult to determine an 
exact amount of funding going solely to underage drinking efforts. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Description of program: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): Center for Substance Abuse Prevention Yes 
Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: Funded communities must have identified underage drinking as 
an issue in their Needs Assessment, then select an evidence-based program/strategy and implement 
it with fidelity. 

Additional Clarification 

The Annual State Epidemiological Profile provides an overview of the state of underage drinking and 
alcohol use in Indiana: 
http://www.healthpolicy.iupui.edu/PubsPDFs/2012%20State%20Epidemiological%20Profile.pdf 

The state completed a new state strategic plan for prevention detailing the substance abuse prevention 
targets for the state including alcohol use and underage drinking: 
http://www.in.gov/fssa/dmha/files/InStratPlanFinalFormat(2).pdf 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information: 
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

Not applicable 
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State Reports – Indiana 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 

The Annual State Epidemiological Profile provides an overview of the state of underage drinking and 
alcohol use in Indiana: 
http://www.healthpolicy.iupui.edu/PubsPDFs/2012%20State%20Epidemiological%20Profile.pdf 

The state completed a new state strategic plan for prevention detailing the substance abuse prevention 
targets for the state including alcohol use and underage drinking: 
http://www.in.gov/fssa/dmha/files/InStratPlanFinalFormat(2).pdf 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes No data 
Fines Yes 
Fees No data 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Fines and forfeitures collected for alcohol- or drug-related offenses are given to coalitions in all 92 
counties for alcohol and drug prevention efforts. As each county is given a different allotment, based 
on the amount of fines collected in the county, and each coalition provides grant funding to various 
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State Reports – Indiana 

agencies and priorities in their county, it is difficult to determine the exact amount being spent solely 
on underage drinking prevention from these funds. Typically, these funds go to multiple initiatives or 
programs targeting multiple areas. 

Additional Clarification 

Other than the funds the Local Coordinating Councils receive from fines and forfeitures, all other 
underage drinking prevention initiatives are funded with federal dollars, either from the SAPT Block Grant 
or from EUDL funds. No other state dollars are dedicated to prevention efforts. 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Iowa 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  3,090,416 
Population Ages 12–20: 368,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.9 99,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19.3 71,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.7 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.7 2,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.6 27,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.7 18,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 51 65,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 39.5 51,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 32 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,962 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 17 3 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 
Note: Iowa law does not specifically prohibit consumption of alcohol by persons under 21. 
Iowa does, however, have a general statute prohibiting the use or consumption of alcohol by any 
person in a public place. In addition, Iowa law provides that if a child, defined as a person under 
18 years old, is found to have violated the general prohibition against consumption of alcohol in 
a public place, the child’s driver’s license or operating privilege may be suspended or revoked 
for a period of 1 year.  For more information, see Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol 
Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws). 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial or administrative 

procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
 General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the 

purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
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State Reports – Iowa 

 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
 Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  14 
 Minimum learner stage period:  12 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  20 hours, of which 2 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

–		 Prohibited after:  12:30 a.m. 
–		 Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
–		 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one unrelated minor passenger unless waived 

by the licensee’s parent at time intermediate license is issued 
–		 Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 
Note: In addition to the supervised driving requirement at the learner’s stage, Iowa requires an 
intermediate license holder to complete 10 hours of supervised driving, with two of these hours 
at night. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
 Private residence AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  Second offense, 2 years; third and subsequent offenses, 3 years 
 First offense: $500 fine 
 Second offense: $1,500 fine 
 Third offense:  $1,500 fine 
 Fourth offense: License revocation 
Note: Affirmative defense possible for licensees when the employee guilty of the violation has 
successfully completed the Iowa Program for Alcohol Compliance Training prior to the violation 
occurring.  A violation involving a sale to a person under age 18 does not qualify for affirmative 
defense.  A licensee may use affirmative defense only once in a 4-year time period. 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 The law does not specify new or existing outlets 
 Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 
 Protection against license revocation for sales to minors 
Note:  Mitigation of penalties incentive does not apply if a sale is made to a minor under age 18. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  16 
 Wine:  16 
 Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on who may sue:  Retailers that furnish alcohol for off-premises consumption 

are exempt. 
 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Retailer should have known that minor was 

intoxicated or was going to become intoxicated. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Social host should have known that minor was 

intoxicated or was going to become intoxicated. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  
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State Reports – Iowa 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 
 State must approve common carrier. 

Reporting requirements 
 Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  5 or more gallons 
 Prohibited: Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $625/30 days 
 Purchaser information collected:  

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  passive—no purchaser action required 
 Deposit required 
 Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine: Permitted 
 Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.19 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $1.75 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Drink Specials 
No law 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Iowa State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

The Iowa State Patrol within the Iowa Department of Public Safety is the agency primarily 
responsible for statewide enforcing of underage drinking laws. The Iowa State Patrol works closely 
with local law enforcement agencies to conduct projects involving underage drinking. Strong working 
relationships have enabled the program to succeed and prosper into something that is making a 
difference in communities across Iowa. The Division of Criminal and Juvenile Justice Planning in the 
Iowa Department of Human Rights receives Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) grant funds, 
and part of those funds are used by the State Patrol and other local law enforcement agencies to 
conduct compliance checks and other underage drinking education efforts. Some community 
coalitions also fund compliance checks. The Alcoholic Beverages Division (ABD) of the Iowa 
Department of Commerce also partners with local law enforcement when following up on a complaint 
or an investigation. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws Yes 

ABD is the agency responsible for investigating direct sales/ 
shipments of alcohol to minors, but the agency does not have law 
enforcement powers over any person or entity shipping alcoholic 
beverages into Iowa. This activity within ABD does not have a 
specific program name. ABD compliance investigators contact 
entities shipping wine into the state and follow up with them to ensure 
they either cease the illegal activity or obtain a proper license to do 
so. When these instances occur, ABD reviews shipping logs 
provided from FedEx and UPS to determine who is in violation of 
direct shipping without a license. 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 2,523 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies 

No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 9,788 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 868 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 112 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, 
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/ 
decoy operations Yes 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 868 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 112 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 256 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $1,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 124 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 60 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

Additional Clarification 
Alcohol compliance check data are based on the EUDL-funded checks through the Department of 
Human Rights, Division of Criminal and Juvenile Justice Planning, which provides funding to the Iowa 
State Patrol within the Iowa Department of Public Safety. Some of the EUDL funding is provided to the 
Juvenile Anti-Alcohol Group Task Force that encompasses 14 counties and conducts local compliance 
checks.  ABD conducts compliance checks but does not have law enforcement authority. These checks 
are for more issues than underage drinking so the data were not included in the total. Through 
community coalitions and community-based agencies, more compliance checks are occurring, but Iowa 
does not have a centralized reporting system. 

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) through the Office of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Prevention 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.ojjdp-dctat.org and http://www.ialert.iowa.gov 

Program Description: The Iowa Department of Human Rights, Divison of Criminal and Juvenile Justice 
Planning, awarded the EUDL funding to these entities: 
• Iowa State Patrol: Efforts include compliance checks, saturation and party patrols, and education. 
• Dallas County Sheriff Juvenile Anti-Alcohol Group (JAAG) task force: JAAG consists of 14 law 

enforcement agencies, juvenile court, and prevention specialists. The focus is retailer checks, 
saturation and party patrols, safety check points, and festival/special events. 

• Helping Services for Northeast Iowa, Inc.: The purpose is to develop community support for 
prevention of underage drinking to change community norms. 

• I-Alert website: Assists retail licensees in developing a guide for their business to stay compliant with 
Iowa liquor laws. 

Iowa Program for Alcohol Compliance Training (I-PACT) 
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: http://www.I-PACT.com 

Program Description: I-PACT has been available online from ABD for the last 2 years starting in 2012. 
Within the first 2 years of implementation, 25,659 users logged on and took the training to receive their 
certification. The overall goal of I-PACT is increased voluntary compliance with the state’s alcohol laws 
through education prior to penalty. The core objective is to prevent illegal alcohol sales by educating 
sellers and servers on current state liquor law as outlined in Iowa Code 123. I-PACT asks that a PACT is 
made by Iowa youth not to consume alcohol, Iowa retailers not to sell alcohol to underage, Iowa 
licensees not to serve alcohol to patrons under 21, and Iowa’s law enforcement to enforce liquor laws. 
D.A.R.E. Iowa 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 27,696 
Number of parents served 1043 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: http://www.dareiowa.org 
URL for more program information: http://www.dareiowa.org 

Program Description: The mission of D.A.R.E. Iowa is to improve the quality of life for the youth of the 
state by helping them to avoid harmful choices through developing and coordinating the resources and 
training necessary to permit local D.A.R.E. officers, schools, and communities to effectively provide 
D.A.R.E. instruction to the young people of Iowa. The program has been in Iowa since 1988 and 
currently has about 82 agencies and about 118 instructors serving 150 school districts and 277 schools. 
Iowa Department of Education: Prime for Life Operating While Intoxicated 
(OWI) Program 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 1,087 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: http://www.educateiowa.gov/adult-career-community-
college/owi-education 

Program Description: PRIME for Life is an alcohol and drug program designed to challenge common 
beliefs and attitudes that directly contribute to high-risk use of alcohol and other drugs. This state-
mandated program is required for all people (regardless of age) convicted of OWI in Iowa. Program 
goals are to reduce the risk for health problems and impairment problems. PRIME for Life’s intervention 
component focuses on self-assessment to help people understand and accept the need for change. 
PRIME for Life is recognized as an evidence-based program on the Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services Administration’s (SAMHSA’s) National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices 
(NREPP). During FY2013, 13,715 offenders took PRIME for Life courses from one of 51 agencies 
statewide. About 1,087 recipients were age 20 years or younger. The program is for offenders only; 
parents and caregivers are not included. 
Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH): Youth Diversion Programs 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 1,182 
Number of parents served 252 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: Available from Iowa Dept. of Public Health 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: IDPH funds 18 community-based agencies for 23 service areas, which 
collectively cover all 99 Iowa counties. These comprehensive substance abuse prevention contracts are 
funded by the prevention portion of the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant 
and some state appropriations. Among the services provided are diversion programs in many of the 23 
service areas. A diversion program is for youth who have received a minor-in-possession charge or 
other alcohol offense (except OWI). If the youth successfully completes the program, then he or she 
may be diverted from the court system. The programs have different names, such as “Rethinking 
Drinking” or “Juvenile Education Group (JEG),” and vary as to the number of sessions and whether a 
parent or guardian is required to attend. Not all the programs require a parent or guardian to attend. 
Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH): Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other 
Drug Education Programs included in the Comprehensive Substance 
Abuse Prevention contracts 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
http://iconsortium.subst-
abuse.uiowa.edu/downloads/IDPH/Comprehensive%20Prevention%20Pr 
oject%20Evaluation%20Annual%20Report%202013.pdf 

URL for more program information: http://www.idph.ia.us/bh/sa_comprehensive_prevention.asp 

Program Description: Through the SAPT Block Grant, IDPH funds Comprehensive Substance Abuse 
Prevention contracts, which collectively cover all 99 Iowa counties. In FY2012 some state funds and 
some other funds from fees were included in the contracts. A main service provided is alcohol, tobacco, 
and other drug education programs in school and community settings. Many are small-group, recurring-
service (multiple sessions), evidence-based programs.  The evidence-based programs include LifeSkills 
Training Program, Project ALERT, Project Towards No Tobacco Use, Project Towards No Drug Abuse, 
All Stars, and Too Good For Drugs. Other prevention strategies are included under this funding as well. 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Since the funding covers alcohol and other drugs, data on youth served specific to underage drinking are 
not available. For all the funding combined, 93,729 youths were served. 
Iowa Department of Public Health: Youth Mentoring and Prevention 
Through Mentoring Programs 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 1,287 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_youth_development.asp 

Program Description: IDPH receives state appropriations to fund the Prevention Through Mentoring 
contracts, which create new and support existing community youth mentoring programs. The program 
supports the state’s goals of primary prevention of the use or abuse of alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs. 
Other funding from fees from Sunday liquor permits is used by IDPH for the Youth Mentoring contracts. 
These also establish or sustain mentoring programs that promote relationship building and social skills 
development, use elements of effective practice as established by the National Mentoring Partnership, 
and promote a positive perception of caring adults in the community. 
Iowa Department of Public Health: Youth Development Program 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 5,186 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: Report available from IDPH 
URL for more program information: http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_youth_development.asp 

Program Description: The program provides evidence-based substance abuse prevention 
programming for youth (ages 5 to 18) that includes out-of-school time activities and opportunities for 
character development, youth development, leadership, and community service. The youth development 
approach is a way of working with youth to provide developmental experiences shown to promote 
healthy transition toward adulthood. Objectives are to provide (1) evidence-based youth development 
programming effective in reducing substance abuse in children and (2) specific out-of-school youth 
development and service opportunities in the community. Funding is from state appropriations. 
Iowa Department of Public Health: Strategic Prevention Framework State 
Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.iowaspfsig.org 

Program Description: In 2009, IDPH received the SAMHSA SPF SIG, a 5-year grant to prevent the 
onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse including childhood and underage drinking, reduce 
substance abuse-related problems in communities, and build prevention capacity and infrastructure at 
the state, tribal, and community levels. SPF is a five-step process that assists states in developing a 
comprehensive plan and supports selected communities in implementing effective programs, policies, 
and practices. One of the two data-driven priorities for Iowa is underage drinking. Environmental 
strategies have been implemented in 23 Iowa counties selected based on needs data. No local service 
data are available at this time, and data on youth, parents, and caregivers served are not collected. 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 477 



    

   

      
   

   
  

  
   

  
  

  

  
 

 
 

     
 

   
    

    
   

 
    

 
  

 
 

 
   

 
 

   
  

 
 

 
   

  
 

 
  
  

 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 

  
  

 

  
   

 
    

 
   

  
  

  

State Reports – Iowa 

Iowa Department of Public Health: Community Coalition Grant Program 
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_community_coalition.asp 

Program Description: The program funds community coalitions to provide environmental substance 
abuse prevention strategies to reduce underage alcohol use in communities. Coalitions receive up to 
$3,000 from state appropriations for 1 year. Coalitions currently receiving funding from any state or 
federal agency in a cumulative amount of greater than $10,000 are not eligible. In state FY2013, IDPH 
funded four coalitions. No numbers of youth or adults served were required in the year-end report. 
Additionally, 13 Iowa communities receive Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program Grants or 
DFC Mentoring Grants from the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) and SAMHSA. Much of 
their work is to prevent and reduce underage drinking, and it affects overall underage drinking efforts in 
Iowa. Several Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant–funded agencies work 
very closely with them. Also, Iowa has an Alliance of Coalitions for Change (AC4C), a network of 
substance abuse prevention coalitions that have quarterly retreats and share strategies to reduce 
underage drinking. Information about DFCs is available from SAMHSA and ONDCP. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention Yes 
Agency(ies) within your state: Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) SPF 
SIG Advisory Council members, see list under 2.C.1.b 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): SPF SIG Advisory Council members, see list 
under 2.C.1.b 

Yes 

Other: No 
Best practice standards description: The best practice standards relate specifically to selecting and 
implementing evidence-based interventions following the Strategic Prevention Framework. SPF 
definitions of “evidence-based” include interventions in one or more of the following three categories: 
(a) Included in federal registries, (b) reported (with positive effects on the primary targeted outcome) 
in peer-reviewed journals, or (c) documented effectiveness supported by other sources of information 
and the consensus judgment of informed experts as specified in the guidance document U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions. 
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State Reports – Iowa 

Additional Clarification 
Additional information about best practice standards: The IDPH-sponsored Evidence-Based Practice 
Workgroup, a subcommittee for the SPF SIG Advisory Council, made the recommendation to the 
Council to adopt the SAMHSA CSAP Guidance document (cited above) to define Evidence-Based 
Interventions. The Council supported the recommendation. The guidance is used for SPF SIG 
contracts and also for other state and federal funding administered by IDPH. Not all other agencies may 
specify using evidence-based programs and practices when funding contracts for prevention, but 
because underage drinking is a priority for the SPF SIG counties and for other funding, the guidance 
serves the majority of prevention contracts. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Kathy Stone, Chair 
E-mail: Kathy.stone@idph.iowa.gov 
Address: IDPH, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319 
Phone: 515-281-4417 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Iowa Department of Public Health, Division of Behavioral Health 
Iowa Department of Commerce, Alcoholic Beverages Division 
Iowa Department of Education 
Iowa Department of Human Services 
Iowa Department of Human Rights, Division of Criminal Juvenile Justice Planning 
Iowa Department of Public Safety, Governor’s Traffic Safety Bureau 
Iowa National Guard 
Iowa Consortium for Substance Abuse Research and Evaluation, University of Iowa 
Alliance of Coalitions for Change (AC4C) 
Iowa Behavioral Health Association 
CSAP State Project Officer 
Iowa Board of Certification 
Partnerships in Prevention Science Institute (PROSPER) at Iowa State University 
A parent 
Community-based agencies 
Community college 
Law enforcement agency 
Faith community 
Youth are involved through the State of Iowa Youth Action Committee (SIYAC) 
Others involved on subcommittees 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: http://idph.state.ia.us/spfsig 

Yes 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: SPF SIG Advisory Council with staff support from the Iowa Department of Public 
Health 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.idph.state.ia.us/spfsig/counties 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: State Epidemiological Workgroup 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_epi_workgroup.asp and 
www.iowa.gov/odcp/docs/2014StrategyFinal.pdf 

Additional Clarification 
The previous state-level Underage Drinking Task Force voted to combine with the SPF SIG Advisory 
Council at least for the remainder of the SPF SIG Project period, which was extended until January 31, 
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State Reports – Iowa 

2015. Representation on the two groups had started to overlap. The Iowa Governor’s Office of Drug 
Control Policy produces the Iowa Drug Control Strategy as a required annual report to the legislature and 
the general public. The strategy describes substance abuse and related issues and includes underage 
alcohol use but does not report separately about underage drinking services. The State Epidemiological 
Workgroup produces an Epidemiological Profile every 2 years that includes data about underage alcohol 
use, but does not include services data. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $420,851 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended $16,070 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 
Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: Fees generated from Sunday beer and liquor permits fund the Iowa 
Department of Public Health Community Coalitions contracts, 4 percent of the Comprehensive 
Substance Abuse Prevention contracts (predominately funded by the SAPT Block Grant), and a 
portion of the Youth Mentoring Program contracts 
Estimate of state funds expended $277,018 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes No 
Fines No 
Fees Yes 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Some Iowa Department of Public Health prevention contracts are funded by fees generated from 
Sunday beer and liquor permits. 

Additional Clarification 
The Governor’s Office of Drug Control Policy produces the Iowa Drug Control Strategy as a required 
annual report to the legislature and the general public. The Strategy describes funding, but allocations 
are not broken out specifically for underage drinking services. The Strategy is available at 
http://www.iowa.gov/odcp/drug_control_strategy/strategy.pdf. The amount of funding provided for higher 
education was only from one state university. With more specific substance abuse prevention services 
added to the Mentoring and Youth Development programs, a portion of the funding for these programs 
was included in the State Expenditures Section this year. The additional funding is not new funding. 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Kansas 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,893,957 
Population Ages 12–20: 358,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.4 84,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.8 57,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.2 5,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.8 2,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.3 23,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.6 15,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.7 56,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.7 40,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 41 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,459 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 37 8 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years old to possess alcohol, but the 
exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but undistilled liquor 
brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not including any 
such liquor that is more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight [ABW]). 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
Note: Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years old to consume alcohol, but 
the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but undistilled 
liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not including 
any such liquor that is more than 3.2 percent ABW). 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years old to possess or consume 
alcohol but the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but 
undistilled liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not 
including any such liquor that is more than 3.2 percent ABW). 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
 No driver’s license suspension procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
	 30 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  14 
 Minimum learner stage period:  12 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  9 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18 who is not an immediate 
family member 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 
Note:  Kansas has a “restricted license” that allows unsupervised 15-year-olds to drive to and 
from school or work using the most direct route possible. They must have completed driver’s 
education, held an instruction permit for 12 months, completed 25 hours of supervised driving 
with an additional 25 hours of driving prior to age 16, and obtained parental consent.  They must 
not operate the vehicle with nonsibling minor passengers. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting the furnishing by a parent or legal guardian to a child 
or ward, but the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but 
undistilled liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not 
including any liquor that is more than 3.2 percent ABW). 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  21 
 Wine:  21 
 Spirits:  21 
Note: Although employees must be at least 21 years old to sell alcoholic liquors at off-sale 
establishments, employees who are at least 18 years old may sell cereal malt beverages (defined 
as containing not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight) if the licensee’s place of business is 
licensed only to sell cereal malt beverages at retail in original and unopened containers and not 
for consumption on the premises. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  No 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  No 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Recklessness 
 Exception(s):  Family, resident 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Producer must verify age of purchaser. 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
 State must approve common carrier. 

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  4 or more gallons 
 Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 

 Purchaser information collected:  
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  No law 
 Wine: No law 
 Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.18 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  10 percent 

– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6.15 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3.85 percent 

 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  8 percent 
– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6.15 percent 
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State Reports – Kansas 

– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  1.85 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  8 percent 
Note: Sales of beer containing not more than 4 percent alcohol by retailers holding only a cereal 
malt beverage (CMB) license are subject only to the applicable state and local sales tax. The 10 
percent liquor drink tax is not due on beer containing not more than 4 percent alcohol sold by 
those holding only a CMB license; however, holders of alcoholic liquor licenses must collect and 
remit the 10 percent liquor drink tax on sales of beer containing not more than 4 percent alcohol 
but are not required to collect sales tax. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  10 percent 

– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6.15 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3.85 percent 

 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  8 percent 
– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6.15 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  1.85 percent 

 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  8 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  10 percent 

– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6.15 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3.85 percent 

 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  8 percent 
– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6.15 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  1.85 percent 

 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  8 percent 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Price posting requirements:  Post 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Price posting requirements:  Post 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Kansas State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Kansas Department of Revenue, Alcoholic Beverage Control Division 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
Yes 
No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

Don’t know 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
3,294 

536 

93 
6/30/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Yes 

224 
$118,550 

$500 
$3,000 

6/30/2013 
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State Reports – Kansas 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

15 
77 
1 
14 

6/30/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

0 
6/30/2013 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Regional Media Campaigns 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Regional media-related strategies were implemented to address substance 
abuse prevalence. These regional campaigns used the state’s “Teen Thinking” materials so that 
statewide the campaigns had the same look, feel, and message. 
Project Sticker Shock 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Project Sticker Shock seeks to educate persons age 21 or older who might 
illegally purchase alcohol and provide it to minors. Stickers displaying a warning message about the 
penalties for furnishing alcohol to minors are placed on all multipacks of beer, wine coolers, and other 
alcohol products that might appeal to underage drinkers. The impact of the sticker is increased by media 
coverage of the event(s) and by permanent signs to be displayed by participating licensees. 
Project ALERT 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Project ALERT is a school-based prevention program for middle or junior high 
school students that focuses on alcohol, tobacco, and marijuana use. It seeks to prevent adolescent 
nonusers from experimenting with these drugs, and to prevent youths who are already experimenting 
from becoming more regular users or abusers. 
MADD Power of Parents 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Through the Power of Parents program, parents and caregivers can attend free, 
35-minute parent workshops and receive a parent handbook that provides them with the communication 
tools to talk with their teens about alcohol. 
AlcoholEdu 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: AlcoholEdu for High School is an online, interactive, alcohol education and 
prevention course designed to increase alcohol-related knowledge, discourage acceptance of underage 
drinking, and prevent or decrease alcohol use and its related negative consequences. Although high 
schools typically administer the course to their entire freshman class each year, the course can be used 
with other high school populations as well. By implementing the program at the population level, schools 
expose students to a consistent message, ultimately creating a common body of knowledge and a 
shared experience that helps establish a social safety net among students. The program includes a 
precourse assessment measuring knowledge, attitudes, and behaviors, followed by three 30-minute 
lessons, a postcourse assessment, and a 30-day (or more) follow-up review of key course concepts and 
follow-up assessment. The three lessons address alcohol’s effects on the body and impairments 
produced at various blood alcohol concentrations; alcohol’s effects on the mind, including brain 
development, blackouts, hangovers, and risk taking; and factors that influence decisions about drinking 
and strategies for making healthy choices. Brief lecture formats present current research, and interactive 
exercises personalize and reinforce the information. The course, which requires minimal teacher 
involvement, may be assigned as an outside project or completed in a school’s computer lab. 
Students can progress through the program at their own pace. Although students have unlimited access 
to the course materials throughout the academic year, schools are encouraged to tie the course to 
something that is meaningful to the students, such as a test or project grade, access to a school event, 
or participation in extracurricular activities. The three lessons are typically completed within 1 to 3 
weeks. Students may use their accounts throughout the academic year to access alcohol-related web 
links or revisit any of the different interactive exercises. 
Retailer Compliance Check 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Random, unannounced retailer compliance checks and controlled buy 
operations were conducted at retail establishments in defined geographic areas to ensure compliance 
with state alcohol sales laws prohibiting sale of alcohol to minors, and to ensure positive age verification 
policies and practices by merchants. 
Strengthening Families Program: For Parents and Youth 10–14 
(SFP 10-14) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The Strengthening Families Program: For Parents and Youth 10–14 is a family 
skills training intervention designed to enhance school success and reduce youth substance use and 
aggression among 10- to 14-year-olds. It is theoretically based on several etiological and intervention 
models including the biopsychosocial vulnerability, resiliency, and family process models. The program 
includes seven 2-hour sessions and four optional booster sessions in which parents and youth meet 
separately for instruction during the first hour and together for family activities during the second hour. 
The sessions provide instruction for parents on understanding the risk factors for substance use, 
enhancing parent-child bonding, monitoring compliance with parental guidelines and imposing 
appropriate consequences, managing anger and family conflict, and fostering positive child involvement 
in family tasks. Children receive instruction on resisting peer influences to use substances. Sessions, 
which are typically held once a week, can be taught effectively by a wide variety of staff. 
Positive Action 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Positive Action is an integrated and comprehensive program designed to 
improve academic achievement, school attendance, and problem behaviors such as substance use, 
violence, suspensions, disruptive behaviors, dropping out, and sexual behavior. It is also designed to 
improve parent-child bonding, family cohesion, and family conflict. Positive Action has materials for 
schools, homes, and community agencies. All materials are based on the same unifying broad concept 
(one feels good about oneself when taking positive actions) with explanatory subconcepts (positive 
actions for the physical, intellectual, social, and emotional areas) that elaborate on the overall theme. 
The program components include grade-specific curriculum kits for kindergarten through 12th grade, 
drug education kits, a conflict resolution kit, sitewide climate development kits for elementary and 
secondary school levels, a counselor’s kit, a family kit, and a community kit. All the components and 
their parts can be used separately or in any combination and are designed to reinforce and support one 
another. 
Party Prevention and Controlled Party Dispersal 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: This 6-hour training discusses the role of enforcement and community agencies 
in preventing underage drinking parties and safely dispersing them when they do occur. It describes the 
problem of underage drinking in general and youth drinking parties in particular. The course recognizes 
that to be successful, any underage drinking strategy must be supported by law enforcement, the 
judiciary, and the community. Consequently, the course examines not only the mechanics of successful 
controlled party dispersal operations but also how controlled party dispersal is part of a larger effort to 
focus investigations, change community perceptions, and promote joint law enforcement and community 
efforts. The course includes information on conducting controlled party dispersal operations, legal 
strategies, marketing and media, and police–community roles and relationships. 
Saturation Patrols 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: These patrols are designed to saturate an area with officers in order to send a 
message to the community. This high-visibility effect is a good method when coupled with a strong 
media campaign. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation was awarded 
SPF-PFS II subrecipient funding to address underage drinking. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Description of program: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  CSAP Yes 
Agency(ies) within your state: Kansas Department for Aging and Disability 
Services – Behavioral Health Services 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: Kansas Criteria for Evidence-Based Prevention Strategy 
Selection—Included in a federal list or registry of evidence-based intervention strategies, or reported 
in a peer-reviewed journal to have produced positive results, or documented as effective based on all 
three of the following guidelines: (1) The intervention is based on a solid theory or theoretical 
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State Reports – Kansas 

perspective that has validated research, (2) the intervention is supported by a documented body of 
knowledge—a converging of empirical evidence of effectiveness—generated from similar or related 
interventions that indicate effectiveness, and (3) the intervention is judged effective by a consensus 
of informed experts based on their combined knowledge of theory and their research and practice 
experience. “Informed experts” may include key community leaders and elders or other respected 
leaders within indigenous cultures. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Sarah Fischer 
E-mail: sarah.fischer@kdads.ks.gov 
Address: 503 South Kansas Avenue, Topeka, KS 66603 
Phone: 785-291-3359 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services 
Kansas Department for Children and Families 
Kansas Department of Transportation 
Kansas Department of Education 
Kansas Department of Health and Environment 
Kansas Department of Revenue 
University of Kansas 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: 
http://www.kansasbehavioralhealthservices.org/Bhs1.0/Providers/Advisory_Councils_And_Task_For 
ces/Governors_Behavioral_Health_Advisory_Council.aspx 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services 
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: Kansas EPI Core Team and Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services 
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$320,000 
6/30/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 
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State Reports – Kansas 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other: Federal SAPT Block Grant Funds 

No 
No 
No 
Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Kentucky 

Kentucky 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  4,395,295 
Population Ages 12–20: 507,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.5 109,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.0 76,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.8 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.8 3,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 17.4 29,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.8 19,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 43.8 74,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.7 54,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 65 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,921 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 25 8 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Kentucky 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  16 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  60 hours, of which 10 must be at night 
Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one unrelated passenger under 20, unless 
accompanied by instructor 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 
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State Reports – Kentucky 

License stage 
 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  18 
 Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
 Age-appropriate appearance and character 

ID possession 
 Not specified 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
 Not specified 

Decoy training 
 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions: Not specified 
 First offense:  $1,750 fine and/or 35-day suspension 
 Second offense: $3,500 fine and/or 70-day license suspension 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  20 
 Spirits:  20 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present.
	
Note: Although 20 is the minimum age requirement to sell alcoholic beverages at both off-sale 

and on-sale establishments, 18-year-olds may stock, arrange displays, accept payment for, and 

sack malt beverages by the package, under the supervision of a person 20 years old or older.
	

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  20 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  20 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  20 for both servers and bartenders 
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State Reports – Kentucky 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements: None 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 
 State must approve common carrier. 

Reporting requirements: None 

Shipping label statement requirements: None 
Note:  Kentucky’s laws permitted direct wine shipments provided the customer purchased 
the wine at the producer’s place of business.  This provision was ruled unconstitutional as 
violating the U.S. Constitution’s interstate commerce clause.  The remainder of the statutory 
scheme was upheld. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  No law 
 Wine: Prohibited 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.08 per gallon 
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State Reports – Kentucky 

 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  11 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale):  11 percent 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.50 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  11 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale):  11 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $1.92 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  11 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale):  11 percent 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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State Reports – Kentucky 

Kentucky State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
No 
No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
No 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Yes 
Kentucky ABC 

Enforcement Div. 
Don’t know 

Yes 
497 

12/31/2013 
No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
12,626 

1,897 

134 
12/31/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

Data not available 

Data not available 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Don’t know/ 
No answer 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Yes 

Data not available 
Data not available 
Data not available 
Data not available 

12/31/2013 
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State Reports – Kentucky 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

Data not available 
Data not available 
Data not available 
Data not available 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

11 
12/31/2013 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
3-D (Drunk and Drugged Driving) Simulator 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://transportation.ky.gov/Highway-
Safety/Pages/Impaired-Driving.aspx 

Program Description: The 3-D (Drunk and Drugged Driving) Simulator is a battery-powered car that is 
driven through a winding course set up with traffic cones, by an operator wearing Fatal Vision goggles. 
This simulates operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. This program is typically 
presented at high schools. To participate in the program, students must have a valid driver’s license and 
a signed permission form from a parent or guardian if under age 18. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 

No recognized 
tribal governments 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 
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State Reports – Kentucky 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  Center for Substance Abuse Prevention Yes 
Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: Kentucky’s 14 regional prevention centers provide training and technical 
assistance to prevention coalitions throughout the state on effective underage 
drinking strategies. 

Yes 

Best practice standards description: Our state standard is the SAMHSA document, Identifying and 
Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions. Although not formally adopted, the document was 
disseminated to all Regional Prevention Centers with the expectation that they would use it to guide 
community selection of prevention strategies. In addition, the Alcohol Prevention Enhancement Site 
(PES) and Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Prevention Enhancement Site (FASD PES) conduct 
research regularly on best practices for alcohol prevention. This information is disseminated to our 
network of Regional Prevention Centers, which use it to inform community planning on underage 
drinking prevention. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information: 
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Division of Behavioral Health, Substance Abuse Prevention Branch 
Plan can be accessed via: The plan is not posted on the website. A copy can be obtained by 
contacting Steve Cambron at Steve.cambron@ky.gov. 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$160,000 
12/31/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$160,000 
12/31/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 
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State Reports – Kentucky 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other: 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

Louisiana 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  4,625,470 
Population Ages 12–20: 567,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.6 139,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.3 87,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.5 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.3 4,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23 44,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.7 26,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 42.1 84,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 28.3 57,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 113 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 6,832 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 24 9 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence OR 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence OR 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
Note: In Louisiana, beginning January 1, 2000, and thereafter, special identification cards issued 
to applicants less than 21 years old shall contain a highly visible distinctive color to clearly 
indicate that the card has been issued to an applicant less than 21 years old. The special 
identification card is to be accepted as valid identification of the person to whom it is issued but 
does not enable the person to whom it is issued to operate a motor vehicle.  

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 505 



    

   

 
  
  
  

 
  

   
  
  

 
 

  
  
  

 
  
  

 
    

  

 
    

  

    
 

 
  
  

 
 

 
  
    
    
   

State Reports – Louisiana 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  90 days 
 Maximum:  365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 15 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 21 who is not an immediate 
family member between the hours of 6 p.m. and 5 a.m., unless accompanied by a licensed 
driver at least 21 years old 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  3 years 
 First offense: $50–$500 fine 
 Second offense: $250–$1,000 fine 
 Third offense:  $500–$2,500 fine 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  Not specified 
 Wine:  Not specified 
 Spirits:  Not specified 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
 There is no statutory liability.
	
 The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.  


Social Host Liability Laws 
 There is no statutory liability.
	
 The courts recognize common law social host liability.  


Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
 Beer:  Prohibited 
 Wine:  Permitted 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements: None 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

Reporting requirements 
 Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  4 or more gallons 
 Purchaser information collected:  

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  No law 
 Wine: Permitted—no more than 144 (750 ml) bottles per year per person per household. 
 Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.32 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.11 per gallon 
 Additional taxes:  $0.32 per gallon for alcohol content of 6 percent or less 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited—not permitted after 10 p.m. 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

Louisiana State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
No 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
No 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Yes 
Office of Alcohol 

and Tobacco 
Control 

Don’t know 

Yes 
108 

6/30/2013 
No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
15,114 

5,785 

173 
6/30/2013 

On- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No data 

No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 

No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

9 
No data 
No data 
No data 

6/30/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

1 
6/30/2013 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Project Northland 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 8,241 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.hazelden.org/web/go/projectnorthland 

Program Description: Project Northland is a multilevel intervention involving students, peers, parents, 
and communities in programs designed to delay the age at which adolescents begin drinking, reduce 
alcohol use among those already drinking, and limit the number of alcohol-related problems among 
young drinkers. Administered weekly to adolescents in grades 6 to 8, the program has a specific theme 
within each grade level that is incorporated into the parent, peer, and community components. The 6th-
grade home-based program targets communication about adolescent alcohol use through student-parent 
homework assignments, in-class group discussions, and a communitywide task force. The 7th-grade 
peer- and teacher-led curriculum focuses on resistance skills and normative expectations regarding teen 
alcohol use and is implemented through discussions, games, problem-solving tasks, and role plays. 
During the first half of the 8th-grade Powerlines peer-led program, students learn about community 
dynamics related to alcohol use prevention through small-group and classroom interactive activities. 
During the second half, they work on community-based projects and hold a mock town meeting to make 
community policy recommendations to prevent teen alcohol use. 
Protecting You/Protecting Me (PY/PM) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 1,137 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: http://www.hazelden.org/web/go/pypm 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

Program Description: PY/PM is a 5-year classroom-based alcohol use prevention and vehicle safety 
program for elementary school students in grades 1–5 (ages 6–11) and high school students in grades 
11 and 12. The program aims to reduce alcohol-related injuries and death among children and youth 
due to underage alcohol use and riding in vehicles with drivers who are not alcohol free. PY/PM consists 
of a series of 40 science- and health-based lessons, with eight lessons per year for grades 1 to 5. All 
lessons are correlated with educational achievement objectives. PY/PM lessons and activities focus on 
teaching children about: 
1. The brain—how it continues to develop throughout childhood and adolescence, what alcohol does to 

the developing brain, and why it is important for children to protect their brains. 
2. Vehicle safety, particularly what children can do to protect themselves if they have to ride with 

someone who is not alcohol free. 
3. Life skills, including decisionmaking, stress management, media awareness, resistance strategies, 

and communication. 
Lessons are taught weekly and last 20–25 minutes or 45–50 minutes, depending on the grade level. A 
variety of ownership activities promote students’ ownership of the information and reinforce the skills 
taught during each lesson. Parent take-home activities are offered for all 40 lessons. PY/PM’s 
interactive and affective teaching processes include role playing, small group and classroom discussions, 
reading, writing, storytelling, art, and music. The curriculum can be taught by school staff or prevention 
specialists. PY/PM’s high school component is a youth-led implementation model involving delivery of 
the PY/PM curriculum to elementary students by trained high school students who are enrolled in a peer 
mentoring, family and consumer science, or leadership course for credit. The program’s benefits to high 
school students are derived from learning about the brain and how alcohol use can affect adolescents, 
serving as role models to the elementary school participants, and taking coursework in preparation for 
delivering the curriculum. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
The state funds only two programs (Project Northland and Protecting You/Protecting Me) that specifically 
target underage drinking. The state funds additional prevention programs that are broader in scope as 
they address alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs.  From July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013, these additional 
programs served 78,652 youth across the state and are listed below: 
Life Skills Training, Kids Don’t Gamble…Wanna Bet?, Second Step, Coping Skills, Too Good for Drugs, 
Al’s Pal, Positive Action, Guided Imagery Program, Project Alert, Project Toward No Tobacco Use, All 
Stars, Keep A Clear Mind, Strengthening Families, Insight Class Program 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 

No 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Description of program: Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA) 
Agency(ies) within your state: Office of Behavioral Health – SAPT Block Grant 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): 
Other: 

Yes 

Yes 

Yes 
No 
No 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

Best practice standards description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
The state looks to SAMHSA for guidance on best practices. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Dawn Diez 
E-mail: Dawn.Diez@la.gov 
Address: 628 N. 4th Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 
Phone: 225-342-7722 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Office of the Governor - Drug Policy Board 
Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH)/Office of Behavioral Health 
Louisiana Highway Safety Commission 
Department of Education 
Louisiana State Police 
Attorney General’s Office 
Louisiana Army National Guard 
Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement 
Office of Juvenile Justice 
Louisiana Sheriff’s Association 
Hispanic Community Representative 
Office of the Governor Elderly Affairs 
Historically Black Colleges & Universities 
Louisiana Commission on Addictive Disorders 
Private Organization Involved in Substance Abuse Prevention 
Louisiana Center Addressing Substance use in Collegiate Communities 
Louisiana State University School of Public Health 
DHH/Office of Public Health Chronic Disease Prevention and Control Unit 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Louisiana Addictive Disorders Regulatory Authority 
MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) 
District Attorney’s Association 
Louisiana Department of Veteran Affairs 
Children’s Cabinet 
Office of the Governor - Disability Affairs 
Supreme Court Drug Court Program 
State Epidemiology Workgroup 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: 
http://www.gov.state.la.us/index.cfm?md=pagebuilder&tmp=home&navID=252&parentNavID=93&cpI 
D=124&catID=0 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Prevention Systems Committee - a standing subcommittee of the Louisiana Drug 
Policy board 
Plan can be accessed via: 
http://www.gov.state.la.us/index.cfm?md=pagebuilder&tmp=home&navID=252&parentNavID=93&cpI 
D=124&catID=0 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
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State Reports – Louisiana 

Prepared by: State Epidemiology Workgroup 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.bach-harrison.com/lasocialindicators 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $550,262 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: No state general funds are utilized to address underage 
drinking programs. 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes No 
Fines No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Expenditures included in K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking are funds from 
the 20 percent prevention set-aside from the Substance Abuse Treatment and Prevention Block 
Grant. Funding expenditures included costs associated with Project Northland and Protecting You/ 
Protecting Me. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Maine 

Maine 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,328,302 
Population Ages 12–20: 150,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.7 37,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.4 23,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 2.5 1,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 0.8 0 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.0 9,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.6 5,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.5 26,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.8 17,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 13 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 808 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 33 4 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Maine 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
 No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older. 
Note: In Maine, the Provisions Targeting Suppliers apply to acts prohibited for minors.  The 
more general laws that address adults are not collected here as they are not, for purposes of this 
report, specific to the lending, transfer, sale, or production of false identification for a minor’s 
obtaining alcoholic beverages. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.00 
 Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 
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State Reports – Maine 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  35 hours, of which 5 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  Immediate family members only, unless accompanied by 
licensed driver who is at least 20 years old 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 9 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
 Private residence AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  18 
 Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
 Dressed in a manner consistent with age; no sunglasses or baseball caps  
 Male:  No facial hair 
 Female:  Little or no makeup  

ID possession 
	 Prohibited 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
	 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
 First offense: Age 16, $1,500 fine and/or 14-day suspension; age 17, $1,200 fine and/or 

7-day suspension; age 18, $750 fine; age 19, $600 fine; age 20, $450 fine. 
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State Reports – Maine 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments. 
 The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Incentive for training 
 Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  17 
 Wine:  17 
 Spirits:  17 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  17 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  17 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  17 for both servers and bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
 Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  No 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note: Exception is downtown location. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on damages: $350,000 limit for all claims per occurrence. Medical care and 

treatment costs excluded from limit. 
Note: Maine law includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on damages: $350,000 limit for all claims per occurrence. Medical care and 

treatment costs excluded from limit. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
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State Reports – Maine 

 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient. 

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
 State must approve common carrier. 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  At least 7.75 gallons 
 Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $500 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 

 Purchaser information collected:  Purchaser’s name and address 
 Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
 Deposit required 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  No law 
 Wine: No law 
 Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.35 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  8 percent 

– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  5.5 percent 

 Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  2.5 percent 
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State Reports – Maine 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Banned 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 
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State Reports – Maine 

Maine State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

No one state agency has primary responsibility. The Maine Department of Public Safety’s State 
Police, as well as county and local law enforcement agencies, are responsible for civil and criminal 
law violations (i.e., illegal possession, illegal transportation, social host, furnishing).  
The Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations’ Liquor Licensing Division enforces 
administrative violations at liquor licensees (sales/service). 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws No 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies Not readily available 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending No data 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies 

Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 4,000 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) No data 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 1,586 

Number of licensees that failed 
random state compliance checks 167 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 145 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 16 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 
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State Reports – Maine 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

Not readily available 
Not readily available 
Not readily available 
Not readily available 

No data 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

Not readily available 
Not readily available 
Not readily available 
Not readily available 

No data 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Don’t know 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification Not applicable 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Enforcing the Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/prevention/lawenforcement/EUDL 
%20Grantees%20Web/SUDS.htm 

Program Description: This program supports the active enforcement of underage drinking laws in 
communities through training, technical assistance (TA), resource development, and minigrants. Specific 
types of enforcement activity include: 

• Callout team (unscheduled response to incident using officers not already on duty) 
• Planned/scheduled overtime detail to enforce underage drinking laws 
• Party patrol (scheduled detail scanning for underage parties) 
• Deterrence detail to increase public perception of underage drinking law enforcement 
• Third-party surveillance (i.e., parking lot surveillance, shoulder taps looking for furnishing) 
• Illegal alcohol source investigation (i.e., furnishing) 
• Proactive response/education regarding alcohol laws 
• Compliance checks 
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State Reports – Maine 

Maine’s Enforcing the Underage Drinking Laws Prosecutorial District 
Multijurisdictional Enforcement Taskforce 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/prevention/lawenforcement/EUDL%20Gra 
ntees%20Web/ASPII%20Grant.htm 

Program Description: The purpose of the project is to reduce underage drinking and alcohol-related 
unintentional injuries and car crashes in Maine among persons under 21 years old. The program aims to 
do this by: 
• Improving Maine’s system for analyzing underage drinking data to guide strategic planning 
• Strengthening a statewide Underage Drinking Enforcement Task Force 
• Systematically increasing the effective and visible enforcement of underage drinking laws through 

enhanced research-based prevention and intervention programming 
By implementing these efforts statewide and within Maine’s eight Public Health Districts, this project 
impacts youths’, adults’, communities’, and public systems’ knowledge, attitudes, behaviors, and 
perceptions around underage drinking and related laws. 
The project also improves Maine’s EUDL program by improving its capacity and readiness for: 
• Conducting assessments of both state and local underage drinking needs 
• Developing a long-range strategic plan based on a recommendation from the Office of Juvenile Justice 

and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) 
• Improving access to training for law enforcement 
• Increasing compliance checks and utilization of immediate, effective, and/or consistent consequences 

for underage drinking violations 
Maine’s College Drinking Prevention Statewide Initiative: The Higher 
Education Alcohol Prevention Partnership (HEAPP) 

Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/prevention/schoolcollege/heapp/index.htm 

Program Description: Begun in 2003, HEAPP is a program collaboratively developed between the 
Maine Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services and many of Maine’s colleges and 
universities to bring about long-term, systemic change in how high-risk drinking and other substance 
abuse issues among Maine college/university students are addressed at both state and local levels. To 
address these multiple levels of the environment, HEAPP’s program plan includes strategies and tactics 
that occur at both the local and the state level. Strategies and activities of the statewide initiative aim to 
engage all colleges and universities in Maine that are interested in addressing high-risk student drinking 
so that non-campus-specific environmental factors and capacity for evidence-based prevention may be 
improved. The Partnership’s part-time staff person coordinates statewide trainings, provides technical 
assistance, and disseminates information and materials for college students, parents, faculty/staff, and 
local law enforcement statewide. Some Maine colleges and universities self-select to participate in 
HEAPP’s minigrant program and use the funding to implement evidence-based strategies such as: 
• Developing/enhancing a campus-community coalition focused on high-risk drinking 
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State Reports – Maine 

• Identifying and addressing aspects of the campus and community environment that encourage 
high-risk drinking such as alcohol availability and advertising 

• Implementing social norms marketing campaign to correct exaggerated misperceptions of student 
drinking patterns 

• Visibly enforcing campus policies and state laws related to underage drinking and furnishing of alcohol 
to underage students 

• Addressing problematic student drinking using online screening and intervention tools 
Healthy Maine Partnerships’ Underage Drinking Prevention Strategies 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.healthymainepartnerships.org/Local_Partnerships.aspx 

Program Description: A total of 27 Healthy Maine Partnerships cover the state and utilize state funding 
and supporting TA and resources to implement strategies to prevent underage drinking through 
education, community awareness and norm changing, environmental management strategies, and 
enforcement. Strategies are implemented at all levels of the socioecological framework. 
Maine Youth Action Network (MYAN) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.myan.org 

Program Description: MYAN is a statewide program of the Opportunity Alliance that engages youth in 
efforts to create change, which makes their communities healthier and safer, including efforts to reduce 
underage drinking. In 2011, PROP (People’s Regional Opportunity Program) and Youth Alternatives 
Ingraham joined to form the Opportunity Alliance. This new organization serves children, youth, adults, 
and seniors, individuals, families, and communities throughout Maine. The Opportunity Alliance works 
with people to build better lives and stronger communities. It provides advocacy, leadership, and support 
to identify the goals and address the needs of individuals, families, and communities. 
• Mission: MYAN partners with youth to create change in their communities.  This is accomplished 

through trainings, networking, and leadership development for youth and adults. 
• Vision: MYAN’s vision is that youth feel valued, empowered, and prepared to engage in and improve 

their communities. 
• Values: MYAN strongly believes in the power of youth and adult partnerships and the capacity we all 

have to change the world we live in. 
• Approach: MYAN’s work is grounded in the models and philosophies of positive youth development.  

It aims to recognize each individual’s strengths, help people branch out from these strengths to build 
new confidence and competences, and then support them as they create positive new connections 
and contribute to their communities. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
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State Reports – Maine 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: State EUDL and Substance Abuse Prevention management and staff 
have provided information, collaboration, training, and TA around evidence-based underage drinking 
prevention and enforcement strategies. These efforts have resulted in establishment of a Tribal 
Multijurisdictional Underage Drinking Enforcement Taskforce and inclusion of underage drinking 
prevention and enforcement strategies into Tribal public health planning and practices. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  OJJDP, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA), Surgeon General, Interagency Coordinating 
Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), 
collegedrinkingprevention.gov, U.S. Department of Education’s Higher 
Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention (prior to its elimination) 

Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Maine State Underage Drinking Enforcement 
Taskforce, Attorney General’s Office, State Office of Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): Institute of Medicine report on underage 
drinking, National Liquor Law Enforcement Association (NLLEA) 

Yes 

Other: No 
Best practice standards description: 
• SAMHSA’s Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) model; NREPP 

programs and/or standards for evidence-based practice 
• OJJDP’s Underage Drinking Enforcement Center’s evidence-based underage drinking prevention 

and enforcement practices and procedures for planning, implementation, and evaluation 
• Nationally recognized and/or promoted Reports and Calls-to-Action that summarize the research 

and literature around best practices for underage and college drinking prevention 
• Training and Technical Assistance from well-regarded national sources on best practices, 

including: data-driven decisions, strategically planned efforts, implementation using a 
comprehensive web of evidence-based strategies, ongoing evaluation to continually improve 
efforts, and a conscious attention to sustainability and cultural competence. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Rebecca Ireland 
E-mail: Rebecca.Ireland@maine.gov 
Address: 41 Anthony Avenue, SHS #11, Augusta, ME 04333 
Phone: 207-287-6479 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Bureau of Highway Safety 
Maine Sheriffs Association 
Maine Chiefs of Police Association 
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State Reports – Maine 

Liquor Licensing and Compliance Division 
Department of Education 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
Juvenile Justice Advisory Group (JJAG) 
Department of Corrections 
Office of Minority Health 
Maine Criminal Justice Academy 
Hancock County Sheriff’s Office 
Sagadahoc County Sheriff’s Office 
B.C. Consultants 
Catholic Charities of Maine 
Healthy Communities of the Capital Area 
Westbrook Police Department 
Brunswick Police Department 
Maine Grocers Association 
Maine Beer and Wine Distributors Association 
Maine Restaurant Association 
Maine Alliance to Prevent Substance Abuse 
AdCare Educational 
Girl Scouts of Maine 
Maine Beverage Company 
Youth Empowerment and Policy Project 
Hart Public Policy 
Rite Aid of Maine 
Pine State Trading Company 
Higher Education Alcohol Prevention Partnership 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 

URL or other means of access: 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/prevention/lawenforcement/EUDL%20Grantees%20Web/UA 
DETF.htm 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Maine State Underage Drinking Enforcement Taskforce with input from over 50 state 
and local partners and based on the recommendations of OJJDP’s Enforcing the Underage Drinking 
Laws Assessment, Strategic Planning, and Implementation Initiative’s appointed Assessment Team 
of national EUDL experts 
Plan can be accessed via: 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/prevention/lawenforcement/EUDL%20Grantees%20Web/AS 
PII%20Grant.htm 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: Maine State Underage Drinking Enforcement Taskforce with input from over 50 state 
and local partners and based on the recommendations of OJJDP’s Enforcing the Underage Drinking 
Laws Assessment, Strategic Planning, and Implementation Initiative’s appointed Assessment Team 
of national EUDL experts 
Plan can be accessed via: 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/prevention/lawenforcement/EUDL%20Grantees%20Web/AS 
PII%20Grant.htm 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Maine 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$60,000 
6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams: 

Taxes No data 
Fines No data 
Fees No data 
Other: Fund for Healthy Maine Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The Fund for Healthy Maine is a tobacco-settlement–funded source that supports programs that aim 
to protect the health of Maine citizens. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Maryland 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  5,928,814 
Population Ages 12–20: 660,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.9 158,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.4 89,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 2.4 5,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1 2,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23 55,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.3 27,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 47.7 97,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 29.1 59,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 86 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 5,174 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 26 5 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence AND EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 
Note:  Maryland’s exception includes members of an individual’s “immediate family” when the 
alcoholic beverage is furnished and possessed “in a private residence or within the curtilage of 
the residence.” For purposes of this report, the phrase “immediate family” is interpreted as 
including a spouse. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private residence AND EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 
Note:  Maryland’s exception includes members of an individual’s “immediate family” when the 
alcoholic beverage is furnished and consumed “in a private residence or within the curtilage of 
the residence.” For purposes of this report, the phrase “immediate family” is interpreted as 
including a spouse. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.00 
 Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  30 days 
 Maximum:  90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 years, 9 months 
 Minimum learner stage period:  9 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  60 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 18 who are not immediate family 
members, or relatives living with driver, unless accompanied by licensed driver over 21 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 years—passenger restrictions expire 151 days after 

issuance of intermediate license. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
 Private residence AND EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 
Note:  Maryland’s exception allows furnishing of alcohol to minors by members of their 
“immediate family” when the alcoholic beverage is furnished and consumed “in a private 
residence or within the curtilage of the residence.” For purposes of this report, the phrase 
“immediate family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  21 
Note: Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may 
have more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages.  Such “local 
options” are not addressed by this report. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
Note:  Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may 
have more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages.  Such “local 
options” are not addressed by this report. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—distance restrictions vary by county and municipality. 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—distance restrictions vary by county and municipality. 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits—product restrictions vary by county and 

municipality. 
Note: Exceptions vary by county and municipality. 

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
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State Reports – Maryland 

 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 
actual knowledge of the occurrence 

 Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
 State must approve common carrier. 

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 
 Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  At least 4 gallons 
 Prohibited: 

–		 Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $500 (or $1,000 if 
repeat violation) 

– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500 (or $1,000 if repeat violation) 
 Purchaser information collected:  

–		 Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted—written approval from the county or city is required. 
 Wine: Permitted—written approval from the county or city is required. 
 Spirits:  Permitted—written approval from the county or city is required. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.09 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  9 percent 
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State Reports – Maryland 

– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  9 percent 
– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 

Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.40 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  9 percent 

– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  9 percent 
– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $1.50 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  9 percent 

– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  9 percent 
– Sales tax does not apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
	 Retailer credit:  Not permitted—all counties require payment on delivery except Worcester 

County, where 10 days of credit may be extended. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Volume discounts:  Uncertain due to case law 
	 Price posting requirements:  Uncertain due to case law 
	 Retailer credit:  Unrestricted—Alcohol and Tobacco Tax (MATT) Regulatory Division posts 

a list of purchase periods and due dates that is accessible only to Maryland wholesalers and 
retail licensees. 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Uncertain due to case law 
 Price posting requirements:  Uncertain due to case law 
 Retailer credit:  Unrestricted—Alcohol and Tobacco Tax (MATT) Regulatory Division posts 

a list of purchase periods and due dates that is accessible only to Maryland wholesalers and 
retail licensees. 

Note:  The Federal Court of Appeals (4th Circuit) held that Maryland’s wholesaler volume 
discounting and post-and-hold provisions, considered together, violate the Sherman Act’s ban on 
price fixing and are not protected by the 21st Amendment. The court did not determine whether 
either of the provisions, if enacted separately, violated federal law. 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Maryland State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

None 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Don’t know 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

Yes 

1,303 

12/31/2010 
Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Yes 

No 
No data 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

No data 

No data 

No data 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Yes 

No data 
No data 
No data 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No data 
No data 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Maryland Strategic Prevention Framework (MSPF) Initiative 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: fpradel@rx.umaryland.edu 
URL for more program information: 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa/mspf 

Program Description: MSPF has provided funding to Maryland’s 24 local jurisdictions to implement 
evidence-based programs and strategies that will assist in reducing the misuse of alcohol by youth and 
young adults as measured by the following indicators: (1) reduced number of youth ages 12–20 
reporting past-month alcohol use; (2) reduced number of young persons ages 18–25 reporting past-
month binge drinking; and (3) reduced number of alcohol-related crashes involving youth ages 16–25. 
To receive MSPF funding, Maryland’s jurisdictions were required to implement the five-step SPF 
process (assessment; capacity building; planning; implementation of evidence-based programs; 
evaluation of effectiveness). In FY2014, 19 Maryland jurisdictions have formed their SPF coalitions, 
completed their MSPF Strategic Plans, and are implementing evidence-based youth alcohol prevention 
strategies in their MSPF communities. Two jurisdictions’ local coalitions are in the final stages of their 
strategic planning and three jurisdictions are still in the needs assessment process at the end of 
FY2014. 
Intensive training has been provided throughout the initial 5 years of the initiative to approximately 500 
local community coalition members to assist them in this process. The initiative serves a general 
population of youth, young adults, and parents. The initiative primarily provides environmental 
prevention strategies to address retail availability, social availability, enforcement of underage and high-
risk drinking laws, perception of harm and risk of drinking, and community and social norms regarding 
youth drinking. It is impossible to accurately determine the number of youth reached through these 
environmental approaches across so many jurisdictions. 
Process evaluation activities began in FY2012, and an FY2013 MSPF Evaluation Report was completed 
by our evaluator, the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, in August 2013. It is available by 
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State Reports – Maryland 

contacting Dr. Francoise Pradel, Lead Evaluator, at fpradel@rx.umaryland.edu. The FY2014 Evaluation 
Report is currently being completed and is available as of September 2014. Dr. Pradel can also be 
contacted for that report. 
Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration (ADAA) – 
Maryland Prevention Block Grant Program 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa 

Program Description: The Maryland ADAA provides grant funding to Maryland’s 24 local jurisdictions 
for a comprehensive range of AOD prevention services for youth. These prevention activities primarily 
target alcohol, marijuana, and prescription drugs, but include approaches that address risk and 
resiliency factors associated with misuse of all substances. All jurisdictions provide alcohol prevention 
activities, the state prevention priority as established through its most recent statewide needs 
assessment. Activities funded through this grant program fall under each of the six CSAP Prevention 
Strategies: Information Dissemination, Prevention Education, Alternative Activities, Community-Based 
Processes, Environmental Approaches, and Problem Identification and Referral. The grant program 
guidance prioritized provision of environmental and community-based processes in FY2014, two 
approaches that seem best suited for reducing youth alcohol use and consequences at the population 
level, but for which it is difficult to count specific numbers served. 
Maryland ADAA – College ATOD Prevention Centers 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: ADAA provides funding to four Maryland universities to develop and maintain 
programs/activities that prevent and reduce substance use and risk-taking behaviors associated with  
use of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs. Alcohol, Tobacco, and Drug Prevention Centers have been 
established at Frostburg State University, Towson University, Bowie State University, and the University 
of Maryland Eastern Shore. The centers promote and assist in design and implementation of campus 
policies, evidence-based practices, and prevention/wellness education programs for their institutions. 
They also collaborate with agencies and organizations in communities surrounding the campuses. 
Center directors have working relationships with local health department prevention coordinators, local 
drug and alcohol councils, and other colleges/universities in the region. 
Maryland Collaborative to Reduce College Drinking and 
Related Problems 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://marylandcollaborative.org 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Program Description: ADAA provides funding to the University of Maryland College Park and Johns 
Hopkins University to bring together state colleges and universities to (1) reduce the current level of 
excessive alcohol use and related harm on college campuses in Maryland and (2) mobilize and sustain 
the commitment of campus and community leaders to reducing excessive alcohol use and related harm 
on the state’s campuses. These goals will be attained through an initial assessment of current 
challenges to campuses and surrounding communities with respect to college drinking problems; 
forming a collaboration of committed colleges and universities; instituting a common data collection 
system; and providing training and technical assistance to the participants in understanding and 
implementing evidence-based best practices. Several documents have been produced by the 
Collaborative, including the Report on College Drinking in Maryland, Guide to Best Practices to Reduce 
Underage Drinking, and Results of 1st Annual Maryland College Alcohol Survey. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Description of program: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): No 
Agency(ies) within your state: Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: Recipients of ADAA’s MSPF grants must follow the structured 
Maryland Strategic Prevention Framework process as described in our written guidance documents 
in order to receive funding. This includes the requirement that all programs implemented to reduce 
underage and problem youth drinking be evidence based. A set of approved evidence-based 
strategies and best practices is included in our written guidance documents and on our website. 
Recipients of our SAPT Block Grant funds that implement direct services programs are required to 
implement at least one evidence-based (NREPP) program. Recipients that implement environmental 
strategies must implement strategies from the list of evidence-based strategies included in our written 
guidance documents and on our website. We are incrementally requiring SAPT Block grantees to 
infuse the five-step SPF process in their program planning and implementation. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Larry Dawson 
E-mail: larry.dawson@maryland.gov 
Address: 55 Wade Avenue, Catonsville, MD 21228 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Phone: 410-402-8622 
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 

University of Maryland School of Pharmacy 
MD Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration 
Governor’s Office of Crime Control & Prevention 
Maryland State Department of Education 
MD Department of Juvenile Services 
College of Southern Maryland 
MD State Highway Administration 
Montgomery County Dept. of Liquor Control 
MD Dept. of Public Safety & Corrections 
MD State’s Attorney’s Office 
Talbot Partnership 
Wicomico County Health Dept. 
Dorchester County Health Dept. 
Substance Abuse Prevention offices in Charles County, Allegany County, Wicomico County, Cecil 
County, Queen Anne’s County, Caroline County,  Dorchester County, Carroll County, Garrett 
County, St. Mary’s County, Kent County, Prince George’s County, Frederick County, and Harford 
County 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access: Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
The state underage drinking plan was developed 5 years ago for Maryland’s Strategic Prevention 
Framework application. The plan has been implemented since then through the ADAA-funded Maryland 
Strategic Prevention Framework (MSPF) grant program and the ADAA-funded SAPT Block Grant 
program. An updated statewide needs assessment and plan will be developed in FY2014. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 
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State Reports – Maryland 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: Law Enforcement Overtime Personnel, National Alcohol 
Enforcement Training Center (NAETC), Officer Training Compliance Checks, Public Service 
Announcements (PSAs), Advertising and Media Campaigns, Training for Intervention Procedures 
(TIPS), Conference Breathalyzer Equipment 
Estimate of state funds expended $180,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes No 
Fines No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Massachusetts 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,692,824 
Population Ages 12–20: 760,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.0 228,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19.0 144,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.8 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.6 4,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.9 65,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.9 42,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 56.6 152,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 36.7 98,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 54 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,244 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 32 4 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
 It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
	 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
	 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
	 Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
	 90 days 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
	 Underage purchase 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
	 180 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  16 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, or 30 hours of supervised driving if 

applicant completes driver skills program 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12:30 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule, except secondary enforcement between 

12:30 a.m. and 1 a.m. and between 4 a.m. and 5 a.m. 
	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 18 who are not immediate family 

members, unless accompanied by licensed driver over 21 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 6 months after issuance 

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until full licensure is 
obtained. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  Not specified 
 Maximum:  Not specified 

Appearance requirements 
	 Age-appropriate appearance 

ID possession 
	 Prohibited 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Decoy training 
 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No written guidelines 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet. Local government has authority to override 
state restrictions. 

–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet. Local government has authority to override 
state restrictions. 

–		 Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 
Note:  Exceptions include (1) premises of an innholder and parts of buildings located 10 or more 
floors above street level; (2) extensions of licensed premises that do not exceed 50 feet. 

Dram Shop Liability 
 There is no statutory liability.
	
 The courts recognize common law dram shop liability. 


Social Host Liability Laws 
 There is no statutory liability.
	
 The courts recognize common law social host liability.  


Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Exception(s):  Family 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
 State must approve common carrier. 

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 
Note:  Current law provides that a winery producing 30,000 gallons of wine or more may obtain 
a direct shipment only if the winery has not contracted with or has not been represented by a 
Massachusetts wholesaler licensed for the preceding 6 months.  There is no such requirement on 
wineries producing fewer than 30,000 gallons, which includes all wineries in  Massachusetts. 
This provision was ruled unconstitutional in a Federal District Court on November 19, 2008, and 
upheld on appeal in the 1st Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals on January 14, 2010. 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  More than 2 gallons 
 Purchaser information collected:  Purchaser’s name and address 
 Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
 Deposit required:  $5 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 
Note: Deposit provisions in Massachusetts require that a purchaser pay the following:  (a) a 
container fee of not less than $10 for each keg having a capacity of 6 or more gallons and of not 
less than $1 for each container having a capacity of fewer than 6 gallons; and (b) a registration 
fee of $10 for each keg having a capacity of 6 or more gallons and of $4 for each keg having a 
capacity of fewer than 6 gallons. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a 

permit issued by the commission. 
 Wine: Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a 

permit issued by the commission. 
 Spirits:  Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a 

permit issued by the commission. 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.11 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.55 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $4.05 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—60 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—60 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—60 days maximum 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Massachusetts State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
Yes 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Yes 

Massachusetts ABCC 

No 

Yes 
856 

12/31/2013 
No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
11,300 

2,686 

72 
12/31/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 

2,686 

72 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

12/31/2013 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 123 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $229,110 
Smallest fine imposed $320 
Largest fine imposed $39,030 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 123 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not available 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Data not available 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Data not available 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

Additional Clarification 
In 2013, the agency conducted compliance checks in 251 municipalities across the commonwealth. 
There were 2,686 licensed establishments checked, of which 72 failed (3 percent). Of these licensees, 
1,098 off-premise licensees were checked, of which 45 failed (4 percent); and 1,598 on-premise 
licensees were checked, of which 37 failed (2 percent). Licensees found in violation of selling or 
furnishing alcohol to underage individuals are brought before an adjudicatory hearing before the 
Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission. If found guilty, they are issued a penalty that can range from 
a warning to a license suspension. Most are allowed to pay a fine in lieu of suspension, which is 
statutorily based on their alcohol sales. 
In 2013, the Division conducted enforcement operations at the Comcast Center in Mansfield. At the 
beginning of the concert season, communication was established relative to upcoming events whereby 
Mansfield Police would request ABCC enforcement support. Concert dates were selected based on 
historical problems at the venue when a particular act is featured. ABCC enforcement includes area 
liquor stores prior to the parking lot’s opening, parking lot enforcement up until the beginning of the 
concert, and then enforcement within the licensed premises. This enforcement operation resulted in 129 
minors in possession of alcohol, 29 furnishing alcohol to minors, 15 intoxicated or incapacitated assists, 
and seizure of 32 bottles of alcohol and 110 cases of beer, resulting in the prevention of delivery to 
approximately 1,270 underage individuals. 
In 2013, the Division conducted alcohol enforcement operations at the Country Music Festival at Gillette 
Stadium. The results of this enforcement operation included, 50 minors in possession of alcohol, 
numerous arrests, five medical assists, five intoxicated or incapacitated assists, and seizure of six bottles 
of alcohol and 12 cases of beer, resulting in the prevention of delivery to approximately 108 underage 
individuals. The enhanced enforcement of all agencies resulted in a marked improvement over the 2012 
event. 
Enhanced Liquor Enforcement Programs 
Massachusetts has one of the lowest ratios of enforcement agents to licensees in the country. 
Enhanced Liquor Enforcement Programs have been crucial to public safety of the commonwealth, in 
preventing illegal purchase of alcoholic beverages by or for underage individuals. This program is 
funded ($150,000) by the Legislature with specific conditions that the funding be utilized for these 
programs. 
• Operation Safe Campus: The objective of this operation is to prevent the procurement of alcoholic 

beverages by and for underage individuals in and around college communities throughout the 
commonwealth. The Enforcement Division conducts enhanced enforcement operations at bars and 
liquor stores in college communities over a 6-week period at the beginning of each school year. 

• Operation Safe Prom and Graduation: The objective of this operation is to prevent the procurement of 
alcoholic beverages by and for underage individuals during the high school and college prom and 
graduation seasons. The Enforcement Division conducts enhanced enforcement at liquor stores in 
communities across the commonwealth over an 8-week period during May and June. 

• Operation Safe Summer: The objective of this operation is to prevent procurement of alcoholic 
beverages by and for underage individuals as well as the sale of alcohol to obviously intoxicated 
individuals in summer communities throughout the commonwealth. The Enforcement Division 
conducts enhanced enforcement operations at bars and liquor stores in summer communities over a 
6-week period during July and August. 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

• Operation Safe Holidays: This program consists of two separate operations. The “Last Call” operation 
targets specific bars that have been identified, pursuant to MGL Chapter 90 § 24J, as the last 
establishment to serve alcoholic beverages to a convicted impaired driver. This operation focuses on 
preventing intoxicated individuals from getting on the road as well as deterring bar owners from 
serving the potential impaired drivers. The “Cops in Shops” operation is to prevent procurement of 
alcoholic beverages by and for underage individuals during the holiday season. The Enforcement 
Division conducts this enforcement at bars and liquor stores in communities across the 
Commonwealth from Thanksgiving through December 31 each year. 

•		 Parent Notification Program: The Enforcement Division implemented its successful parent notification 
program in 2005. Investigators call parents from liquor store parking lots or bars and inform them of a 
situation in which their child is involved. Investigators have found this type of intervention is a powerful 
tool for family involvement in addressing underage drinking. 

In 2013, the Enforcement Division conducted these programs with the following results: 733 minors in 
possession or transporting alcoholic beverages; 262 adults procuring alcohol for minors; 78 individuals in 
possession of false identification; and 403 cases of beer and 399 bottles of alcohol confiscated by 
Investigators. Based on the standard for determining “binge drinking,” this prevented delivery to 
approximately 5,602 underage individuals. 
Since 2005, these programs have resulted in the following cumulative results: 4,983 minors in 
possession or transporting alcoholic beverages; 2,381 adults procuring alcohol for minors; 569 
individuals in possession of false identification; and 2,751 cases of beer and 1,963 bottles of alcohol 
confiscated by Investigators, preventing delivery to approximately 35,286 underage individuals. 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services (BSAS) Underage Drinking 
Prevention Programs; Statewide Technical Assistance Center 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 1,395,098 
Number of parents served 725,270 
Number of caregivers served 1,805 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.mass.gov/dph/bsas 

Program Description: This project involves 31 underage drinking prevention programs in collaboration 
with six regional centers in communities across the commonwealth. The programs are coalition/ 
community focused; require city/town participation; use the Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services Administration (SAMHSA) Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF); and are required to use 
evidence-based environmental strategies that relate directly to assessment-identified problems. 
District Attorneys Underage Drinking Prevention Program 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: No data 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Program Description: Several County District Attorneys Offices sponsored Underage Drinking 
Prevention Conferences. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
Regarding the BSAS Underage Drinking Prevention Programs and the Statewide Technical Assistance 
Center, these estimates are based on the total number of contacts, which may include multiple contacts 
with the same individuals. BSAS has been implementing a new data collection system to facilitate more 
accurate data. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The Department of Public Health has continued to collaborate with 
Native American key partners to provide culturally appropriate services to Native Americans in 
Massachusetts. A booklet was produced for parents. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Program description: Community level: restrictions on advertising; counter-alcohol advertising on 
billboards and public transportation. State level: Counter-alcohol advertising via magazine, videos, 
posters, social media, and transit ads. The Massachusetts Bay Transit Authority, the state’s largest 
transit system, agreed to suspend alcohol advertising on 7/1/2012. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): No 
Agency(ies) within your state: Department of Public Health, Bureau of 
Substance Abuse Services 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: BSAS implements best practices through (1) a competitive 
request-for-response (RFR) process, (2) strategy meetings, and (3) regular site visits. The RFR 
requires the selection of an evidence-based model. Regular meetings provide technical assistance 
to ensure implementation of the SPF sustainability as well as cultural competence. The community’s 
logic model, action plan, accomplishments, and challenges are reviewed throughout the year. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: William D. Luzier; Executive Director, Interagency Council on Substance Abuse & Prevention 
E-mail: william.luzier@state.ma.us 
Address: 250 Washington Street, Floor 3, Boston, MA 02134 
Phone: 617-624-5121 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
Executive Office of Public Safety and Security 
Executive Office of Elder Affairs 
Executive Office of Veterans Affairs 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Department of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Department of Corrections 
Parole Board 
Department of Probation 
Department of Public Health 
Department of Youth Services 
Department of Mental Health 
Department of Developmental Services 
Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission 
Department of Transitional Assistance 
Department of Children and Families 
Center for Health Information and Analysis 
Department of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
Department of Early Education and Care 
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services 
MassHealth (Medicaid) 
Superior Court District Court 
Juvenile Court 
Governor’s Office 
Senate 
House 
Private citizen recovering from substance abuse problems 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 

URL or other means of access: 
http://www.mass.gov/governor/administration/councilscabinetsandcommissions/subabuseprevent 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Interagency Council on Substance Abuse & Prevention 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.mass.gov/governor/docs/strategic-plan-update-july-2010.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and Department of Public Health 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.doe.mass.edu/cnp/hprograms/yrbs/2011Report.pdf 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$32,534 (in-kind 
contribution) 
12/31/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
12/31/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
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State Reports – Massachusetts 

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other: 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
See Additional Clarification section in Part 1. 
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State Reports – Michigan 

Michigan 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  9,895,622 
Population Ages 12–20: 1,263,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.6 323,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.5 208,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.8 15,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.6 6,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.6 88,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.7 50,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.8 220,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.7 152,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 144 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 8,752 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 31 17 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Michigan 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
	 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
	 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
	 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.00 
 Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  14 years, 9 months 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
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State Reports – Michigan 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under age 21 who is not an 
immediate family member unless accompanied by driver’s parent or designated adult 21 
or older. 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
 Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
 There is an affirmative defense if the minor is not charged. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  18 
 Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
	 Not specified 

ID possession 
	 Not specified 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Not specified 

Decoy training 
	 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period:  2 years 
 First offense:  $1,000 maximum fine 
 Second offense:  $1,000 maximum fine 
 Third offense:  $1,000 maximum fine and license suspension or revocation 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers 
 Applies only to on-sale establishments 
 Applies only to new outlets 

Responsible Beverage Service 
Voluntary beverage service training 
 Applies only to on-sale establishments 
 Applies only to existing outlets 
 Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits 
 Discounts in dram shop liability insurance 
Note:  Michigan provides for a liability insurance discount as an incentive for retailers to 
implement beverage service training. 
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State Reports – Michigan 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Note: Michigan law includes a responsible beverage service defense.
	

Social Host Liability Laws 
 There is no statutory liability.
	
 The courts recognize common law social host liability.
	

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
 Exception(s):  Family, resident 
Note:  Michigan’s social host statute does not apply if all individuals attending the social 
gathering are members of the same household or immediate family, or if a minor’s use, 
consumption, or possession of an alcoholic beverage is for religious purposes.  The “preventive 
action” provision in Michigan allows the prosecution to establish guilt by proving that the host 
failed to take preventive action. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine:  Permitted 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 
Note: The beer or wine must be delivered by the retailer’s employee and not by an agent or by 
a third-party delivery service. A retailer that holds a specially designated merchant license or an 
out-of-state retailer that holds its state’s substantial equivalent license may utilize a third party 
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State Reports – Michigan 

that provides delivery service to municipalities in this state that are surrounded by water and 
inaccessible by motor vehicle. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements 
 Producer must verify age of purchaser. 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  5 gallons or more 
 Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500/93 days 
 Purchaser information collected:  

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
 Deposit required:  $30 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine: Permitted 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.20 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.51 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Drink Specials 
 Free beverages:  Prohibited 
 Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
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State Reports – Michigan 

 Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited 
 Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
 Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited 
 Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
	 Volume discounts:  Banned 
	 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—180-day minimum.  Prices may be decreased 

during the 180-day period to meet a competing wholesaler’s price.  The price reduction must 
not exceed the competition’s price and must continue for the balance of the 180 days filed by 
the competition. 

	 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum for on-sale retailers.  No credit extended to 
off-sale retailers. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Volume discounts:  Banned 
	 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—3-month minimum.  By written order the 

commission may approve a price change for a period of no fewer than 14 days. 
	 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days for on-sale retailers.  No credit extended to 

off-sale retailers. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
	 Control state 
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State Reports – Michigan 

Michigan State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Yes 
MI Liquor Control 

Commission 
Don’t know 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 

Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
17,163, which hold 

approx. 27,000 
licenses total 

2,275 

285 
12/31/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Yes 
Data not available; not 
maintained separately 
Data not available; not 
maintained separately 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Yes 

Yes 
Data submitted to 

MLCC voluntarily only; 
full data not available 

288 
12/31/2013 

Yes 

573 
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State Reports – Michigan 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 

Largest fine imposed 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

$ 334,463 
$200 

$1,000 per charge, 
limited by statute 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

6 
18 

0; suspension waived 
5 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

0 
12/31/2013 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Michigan Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking (MCRUD) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.mcrud.org 

Program Description: MCRUD provides training, technical assistance, and networking opportunities for 
local volunteer and professional groups working to address specific issues related to reducing underage 
drinking at the local level. Constituents include other statewide organizations (e.g., Mothers Against 
Drunk Driving), local professional prevention agencies, local public health departments, hospital staff, 
local teen centers, and volunteer groups (e.g., high school leadership groups, parent groups, and 
community coalitions). 
Substate Regional Coordinating Agencies (CAs) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.michigan.gov/bhrecovery 

Program Description: The Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH), Office of Recovery 
Oriented Systems of Care (OROSC), currently allocates Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
(SAPT) Block Grant (BG) funding and other state general fund dollars to 16 substate regional 
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State Reports – Michigan 

coordinating agencies (CAs). The CAs are responsible for planning, administering, funding, and 
maintaining the provision of substance abuse treatment and prevention services for 83 counties in 
Michigan in accordance with OROSC priorities. One of OROSC’s current priorities is reducing underage 
drinking, and each CA employs a Prevention Coordinator. Programs are based on regional need and 
are a mix of targeted programs aimed at specific populations as well as the general population. 
Prevention Network (PN) and Parenting Awareness Michigan (PAM) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.preventionnetwork.org 

Program Description: PN is a private, nonprofit partner funded in part by OROSC and involved in the 
established statewide infrastructure that works to coordinate and allocate funding to high-need 
communities. PN provides support, training, and technical assistance to grassroots community groups to 
offer a full continuum of substance abuse prevention services. As part of PN, the PAM assists local 
communities across the state specifically with initiatives surrounding parenting. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: There are 12 federally recognized tribes in Michigan. At the state level, 
OROSC collaborates with both the Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians (GTB) 
and the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians by offering technical assistance as appropriate 
or requested. GTB is also a subgrantee with a categorical grant program addressing, in part, 
underage drinking as a priority. Both tribes also have member representation with the State 
Epidemiology Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW). In addition, there is partnership with the Michigan 
Inter-Tribal Council. Also, substate regional coordinating agencies may partner with these same or 
other tribes in their geographic area. This year, seven tribes are subgrantees of regional CAs to 
specifically address prevention efforts. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes 
prevention programs 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA NREPP Yes 
Agency(ies) within your state: MDCH OROSC Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: MDCH/OROSC has adopted overarching principles of effective 
prevention based on the SAMHSA NREPP as well as the Surgeon General’s Call to Action to 
Prevent and Reduce Underage Drinking (2007). MDCH/OROSC requires that at least 90 percent of 
prevention programming within a substate coordinating agency region be evidence based. Also, 
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State Reports – Michigan 

specific guidelines for safe prom and graduation initiatives have been adopted and promoted through 
PN, MCRUD, and other avenues at the local level. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Mike Tobias 
E-mail: mike@preventionnetwork.org 
Address: PO Box 4458, East Lansing, MI 48826-4458 
Phone: 517-393-6890 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Genesee Health Systems 
Shiawassee Task Force on Prevention (S.T.O.P.) 
Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians 
Oakland County Health Division 
CARE of Southeast Michigan 
Woodlands Behavioral Health 
Michigan State Police/ Office of Highway Safety Planning 
St. Joseph County Substance Abuse Task Force 
Bay County Sacred Heart 
Marquette County Substance Abuse and Violence Prevention Coalition 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: http://www.mcrud.org 

Yes 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: MDCH/OROSC Transformation Steering Committee- Prevention Workgroup 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.michigan.gov/bhrecovery 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: MDCH/OROSC Transformation Steering Committee-Prevention Workgroup 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.michigan.gov/bhrecovery 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Approx. $130,000 
12/31/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0; not conducted in 
Michigan 

12/31/2013 
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$71,880 
No data 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 
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State Reports – Michigan 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes Yes 
Fines Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other: No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Taxes on alcohol; fines for violations; license and renewal fees. These sources are used to fund 
controlled buy operations through the Michigan Liquor Control Commission. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Minnesota 

Minnesota 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  5,420,380 
Population Ages 12–20: 628,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.6 149,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.6 98,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 2.9 6,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 0.8 2,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.7 41,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.4 25,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.9 101,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 34.2 71,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 50 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,037 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 16 3 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Minnesota 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Parent/guardian’s home 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Parent/guardian’s home AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 
Note: Although Minnesota does not prohibit internal possession, it has a statutory provision 
that makes it unlawful “[f]or any person under the age of 21 years to consume any alcoholic 
beverages” and further defines “consume” to “ [include] the ingestion of an alcoholic beverage 
and the physical condition of having ingested an alcoholic beverage.” Laws that prohibit minors 
from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, 
are not considered as prohibiting internal possession for purposes of this report.  

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 


Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.00 
 Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 
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State Reports – Minnesota 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  30 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  For first 6 months, no more than one passenger under 20 who is 
not an immediate family member, unless accompanied by driver’s parent or guardian. For 
second 6 months, no more than three passengers under 20, unless accompanied by driver’s 
parent or guardian. 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17—passenger restrictions expire 12 months after obtaining 

intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions expire 6 months after issuance 
of intermediate license. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
 Parent/guardian’s home AND 
 Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No written guidelines 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Incentive for training 
 Discounts in dram shop liability insurance 
Note:  Minnesota provides for a reduced license fee as an incentive for retailers to implement 
beverage service training, among other programs. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  18 
Note: In Minnesota, the minimum permitted age to sell 3.2 percent malt liquors for off-premises 
consumption is not specified. 
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State Reports – Minnesota 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
Note:  Minors who have reached age 16 may be employed to provide waiter or waitress service 
in rooms or areas where the presence of 3.2 percent “malt liquor” is incidental to food service 
or preparation. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1,500 feet if not within a city 
–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1,500 feet if not within a city 
–		 Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits—excludes beverages with 3.2 percent alcohol  

by weight or less 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 
Note: Minnesota law states that nothing in Minnesota’s alcohol beverage control law “precludes 
common law tort claims against any person 21 years old or older who knowingly provides or 
furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 21 years.”  The age limitation applied 
to the furnisher and the “knowingly” evidentiary requirement results in a “no” coding for dram 
shop common law liability. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  

 Limitations on who may be sued:  Social host must be 21 years old or older.
	
 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowingly or recklessly furnishing alcohol to a 


minor or permitting consumption by a minor. 
Note: Minnesota law states that nothing in Minnesota’s alcohol beverage control law “precludes 
common law tort claims against any person 21 years old or older who knowingly provides or 
furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 21 years.”  The age limitation applied 
to the furnisher and the “knowingly” evidentiary requirement results in a “no” coding for social 
host common law liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  
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State Reports – Minnesota 

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements: None 

Reporting requirements: None 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  Not less than 7 gallons 
 Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/90 days 
 Purchaser information collected:  Verified by a government-issued ID 
 Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  Permitted 
 Wine: Permitted 
 Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.15 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  2.5 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  2.5 percent 
 Additional taxes:  $0.08 per gallon for beverages containing an alcohol content of 4 percent 

or less 
Note: With respect to malt liquor containing 4 percent alcohol or less, the 2.5 percent retail tax is 
applied only when sold at an on-sale or off-sale municipal liquor store or other establishment 
licensed to sell any type of intoxicating liquor. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  2.5 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  2.5 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $5.03 per gallon 
 Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  2.5 percent 
 Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  2.5 percent 

Drink Specials 
No law 
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State Reports – Minnesota 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
	 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
	 Volume discounts:  Restricted—a variable volume price may not be for a quantity of more 

than 25 cases 
	 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
	 Volume discounts:  Restricted—a variable volume price may not be for a quantity of more 

than 25 cases 
	 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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State Reports – Minnesota 

Minnesota State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Minnesota Department of Public Safety 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
No 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Don’t know 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

No 

No 
No data 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

No 

Not applicable 
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State Reports – Minnesota 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws – Department of Public Safety (DPS) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: http://www.ojjdp-dctat.org 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: This DPS program funds activities that support enhanced enforcement of 
underage drinking laws and prevention programs.  Funds and programs are scheduled to end 6/30/14. 
Planning and Implementation Programs (P&I) (Minnesota Department of 
Human Services) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: These programs are funded using Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
(SAPT) Block Grant prevention set-aside dollars. Each P&I program contains the following set of 
strategies, programs, and services: 
1. Community coalitions with a primary focus on reducing youth alcohol use.  Each coalition meets 

monthly and has a vision and mission statement and written bylaws.  Each has representation from 
the following 14 community sectors: (a) youth (18 or younger), (b) parents, (c) high-risk 
subpopulations, (d) business, (e) media, (f) school, (g) youth-serving organization, (h) law 
enforcement, (i) justice/corrections, (j) religious or fraternal organization; (k) civic/volunteer group 
(i.e., local organization committed to volunteering and not a coalition member designated as 
“volunteer”), (l) health care professional, (m) state/local/tribal government agency with expertise in 
substance abuse, and (n) other organization involved in reducing substance abuse. 

2. Alcohol compliance checks at every establishment that sells alcoholic beverages within each 
community’s geographic area at least twice annually. 

3. Responsible beverage server training in each community at least twice a year.  
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State Reports – Minnesota 

4. Provision of Project Northland to all 6th-, 7th-, and 8th-grade students in funded communities. 
5. Provision of class action in all high schools in the geographic area of the funded communities.  
6. Provision of capacity building in the form of specific training and technical assistance around 

effective coalitions, data collection, use of data, development of strategic plans, evaluation, cultural 
competency, sustainability, and other prevention topics identified as a need by the community. 

7. Implementation of environmental strategies within each funded community, such as passing social 
host ordinances, having alcohol compliance checks routinely conducted by law enforcement, and 
banning advertisements for alcohol at local community events. 

8. Implementation of a Positive Community Norms campaign to provide information and education 
around the true community norms of alcohol use and related behaviors and beliefs of underage 
youth, of the adult community population, and of the parent population. 

Regional Prevention Coordinators (RPCs) 
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: http://www.evaluatod.org/r_atodtools.php 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Minnesota is divided into seven prevention regions.  Each RPC is responsible 
for providing technical assistance for those who request help in initiating, implementing, and sustaining 
ATOD prevention efforts in their region.  The RPCs are trained in many aspects of community coalition 
work, evidence-based programming, community assessment, strategic planning, evaluation, and so on.  
Each also provides at least one regional training on a topic determined by an annual training assessment 
survey.  RPC programs are funded using SAPT Block Grant prevention funds (the 20 percent setaside).  
In the evaluation report (http://www.evaluatod.org/r_atodtools.php), results are included under Regional 
Prevention Coordinators, Community Impact Tool results. 
Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.evaluatod.org/r_spf-sig-project-tools.php 

Program Description: Overview of the SPF SIG program: 
• Funding from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), Center for 

Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) 
• Approx. $2.1 million/year for 5 years (July 2009 through June 2014) 
 85 percent must go to communities 
 Year 5 begins on July 1, 2013 
 MN received a no-cost extension to provide funding through June 30, 2015 

• Minnesota is part of Cohort IV nationally 
• SPF SIG is a Cooperative Agreement at both the state and community levels 
National SPF SIG Program Goals: 
• Prevent onset and reduce progression of substance abuse, including childhood and underage drinking 
• Reduce substance abuse-related problems in communities 
• Build prevention capacity and infrastructure at the state- and community- levels 
“SAMHSA envisions the SPF SIGs being implemented through working partnerships between States 

and communities.” 
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State Reports – Minnesota 

Minnesota SPF SIG Priorities: In May 2010, the SPF SIG Advisory Council used state-level data
	
(provided by the State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup) to vote on following priorities for the
	
project: 


•		Past 30-day alcohol use among youth (will be measured by the MN Student Survey [MSS]) 
•		Binge drinking among youth (will be measured by the MSS) 
•		Binge drinking among 18- to 25-year-olds (will be measured by the Young Adult Alcohol Survey 

[YAAS])
	
Community SPF SIG Grant Program: 

•		July 2011 RFP identified eight community-level grantees, two-phase funding model, with Phase One 

starting January 2012 
•		Phase One: first three steps of the SPF, 18 months long 
•		Extensive training and technical assistance in addition to templates, tools, and resources provided
	

(the SPF SIG has produced four guidance documents for communities so far)
	
•		Phase One concluded with submission and approval of a community strategic plan; seven grantees 

received approval and began moving into Phase Two on July 1, 2013 
•		Contract Amendment for Phase Two: implementation of the strategic plan and related process and 

outcome evaluation 

Summary of Phase One Grantee Work: 

•		Establish or strengthen a broad-based community coalition 
•		Conduct a thorough assessment by gathering existing local data (from law enforcement, schools, 


hospitals, etc.) and conduct the following additional required data collection activities:
	
 Young adult alcohol survey
	
 Facilitated discussion on local prevention infrastructure
	
 Key informant interviews with community leaders
	
 Fiscal host questionnaire 

 Coalition functioning survey
	
 One-on-one interviews with community members and facilitated discussion
	

•		Develop a local epidemiological profile 
•		Conduct a prioritization process to identify key intervening variables and local conditions (local root 


causes of the three MN SPF SIG priority areas)
	
•		Engage the coalition in the process of selecting Phase Two strategies to address priority local
	

conditions
	
• Develop a thorough Community Strategic Plan 

Summary of Phase Two Work: 
•		Implementing selected strategies 
•		Strengthening local capacity and prevention infrastructure 
•		Laying the groundwork for future prevention efforts 
•		Planning to better serve high-risk sub-populations and groups that require culturally specific
	

programming
	
•		Evaluating process and outcome 
•		Ongoing sustainability planning 
•		Re-administering baseline data collection activities 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
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State Reports – Minnesota 

State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The Minnesota Department of Human Services, Alcohol and Drug 
Abuse Division, uses SAPT Block Grant funds to fund prevention programming on the Red Lake 
Reservation.  In addition, the Division uses state-appropriated dollars to fund some prevention 
programming in urban American Indian communities.  Funding is funneled through the American 
Indian Program Section, a subunit within the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division within MN Department 
of Human Services.  This unit functions as the conduit to the Indian tribes in Minnesota and local 
American Indian communities, providing training and technical assistance as requested by the tribes 
and American Indian Urban Prevention Programs.  In addition, the Division’s legislation requires it to 
create and maintain an American Indian Advisory Council consisting of representatives from the 11 
federally recognized tribes in Minnesota as well as Urban Prevention Programs located in 
Minneapolis, St. Paul, and International Falls.  This advisory council advises the Division in matters 
related to substance abuse and addiction, treatment, and recovery services in the American Indian 
communities within tribal reservations as well as local communities. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

No 

Description of program: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 
(OJJDP) Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): Pacific Institute on Research and Evaluation (PIRE) Yes 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  No data 

Additional Clarification 
For the purpose of this survey, two primary state agencies provided feedback.  The first is the Minnesota 
Department of Human Services, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division, which also functions as the Single 
State Agency for the federal Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant Award.  The 
second is the Department of Public Safety, which receives Enforcement of Underage Drinking Laws 
(EUDL) funding from OJJDP.  The agency reports using best practices developed by OJJDP and PIRE 
standards. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Don’t know/ 
No answer 

Committee contact information: 
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Not applicable 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 

URL or other means of access: Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 

Prepared by: No data 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Not sure 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 
Prepared by: No data 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

Not sure 

Additional Clarification 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 574 



    

   

 
  

  
   

      
  

   
      

   
    

      
  

   
      

    
   

      
   

   
      

  
   

      
 

  
  

     
  

  
  

 
 

  
   
  

      
  

 
  

  
 

    
  

  
  

   

  
  

 
 

State Reports – Minnesota 

No data 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No funding allocated 
Not applicable 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: N/A 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

No data 
No data 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes No data 
Fines No data 
Fees No data 
Other: (1) SAPT Block Grant and (2) SPF SIG Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 
The Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division had a federal grant to administer funds for compliance 
checks and to maintain records of the outcome of the checks.  However, the funding for the program was 
directed elsewhere, so the information contained in prior reports is not currently maintained by the 
Division.  Recent bills in the Minnesota Legislature specifically targeting funding for underage 
enforcement left out the Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division; thus it received no state funding 
specific to enforcement/compliance issues related to underage access to alcohol.  
In addition to the expenditures identified above, approximately $1,334,734 was expended in prevention 
efforts in the American Indian community.  However, it is unknown how much of this is for community-
based versus K–12 school-based prevention.  Of the community-based funding, $1,071,295 relates to 
the program funded by the SPF SIG. 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Mississippi 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,991,207 
Population Ages 12–20: 375,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.3 87,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.9 52,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.4 4,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.1 1,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.4 26,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.7 16,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.3 58,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 27.8 35,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 65 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,926 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 46 18 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
 Private location OR 
 Parent/guardian 
Note:  Mississippi’s parent/guardian exception applies to those persons at least 18 years old 
and only for possession of light wine or beer. The location exception is not limited to persons 
between 18 and 21 and applies only to alcoholic beverages, not including light wine or beer. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 
Note:  Mississippi’s parent/guardian exception applies to those persons at least 18 years old and 
only for consumption of light wine or beer. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.
	

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
 Mandatory 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 577 



     

   

   
  
  

 
 

  
  
  

 
  
  

   
    

  

  

    
 

  
  
  

  
  

 
 

  
  

 
   

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
  
  
  

State Reports – Mississippi 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 Minimum:  Not specified 
 Maximum:  90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  12 months 
 No minimum supervised driving requirement 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 years 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday; 11:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

 No passenger restrictions 

License stage 
 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  either 
 Parent/guardian OR 
 Spouse 
Note: Mississippi’s parent/guardian and spouse exception applies to those persons at least 
18 years old and only for furnishing light wine or beer. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  16 
 Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
 Male:  No facial hair and youthful looking 

ID possession 
 Not specified 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
 Prohibited 

Decoy training 
 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
 First offense:  $500 to $1,000 fine 
 Second offense:  $1,000 to $2,000 fine plus license revocation 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  21 
 Wine:  21 
 Spirits:  21 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 Limitations on outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—no permits on campus 
–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—no permits on campus 
–		 Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits –except for wine containing 6.25 percent alcohol by 

volume (ABV) or less 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet; within 100 feet in areas zoned commercial 
or industrial. 

–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet; within 100 feet in areas zoned commercial 
or industrial. 

– Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits—except for wine containing 6.25 percent ABV or less. 
Note:  Exceptions include (1) bed and breakfast inn or historic district listed in the National 
Register of Historic Places; (2) qualified resort area located in a municipality having a population 
greater than 100,000. 

Dram Shop Liability 
 There is no statutory liability.
	
 The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.  


Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Exception(s):  Family 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  No law 
 Wine: No law 
 Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.43 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Not permitted 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Mississippi State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Mississippi Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

Yes 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
No 
No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Yes 

ABC 

No 

Yes 
591 

6/30/2013 
No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 

Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Yes 

Yes 
2,000 ABC, 5,000 

beer for total of 
approx. 7,000 

72 

45 
6/30/2013 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

No 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 

Yes 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

6/30/2013 

No 

Suspensions only on 
sales to minors 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Not applicable 
6/30/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

45 
315 
7 
7 

6/30/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

0 
6/30/2013 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 

with laws prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Region 1 Community Mental Health Center (CMHC) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 850 
Number of parents served 200 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: None available 

Program Description: Region 1 CMHC utilizes Project Alert and Project Towards No Drug Abuse. 
Both of these evidence-based prevention programs focus on motivating nonuse of drugs and other 
substances, and teach resistance skills. 
Region 2 Community Mental Health Center 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 341 
Number of parents served 47 
Number of caregivers served 11 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.communicarems.org/preventionhome.html 

Program Description: Region 2 CMHC utilizes Class Action, Life Skills, and Too Good for Drugs 
evidence-based programs. They all are designed to delay onset of alcohol use, reduce use among youth 
who have already tried alcohol, and limit the number of alcohol-related problems. They also target major 
social and psychological factors that promote initiation of substance use and other risky behaviors. 
Region 3 Community Mental Health Center 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 875 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.lifeskillstraining.com 

Program Description Region 3 CMHC utilizes the LifeSkills Training program. This is a school-based 
prevention program for youth in grades 7 through 12 and ages 13–18. This program helps students gain 
the skills and confidence to make healthy decisions, strengthen relationships with family members and 
peers, and resist the pressure to use drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. 
Region 4 Community Mental Health Center 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 335 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Region 4 CMHC utilizes LifeSkills Training. This is a school-based prevention 
program for youth in grades 7–8, ages 12–14. It is a Universal Curriculum that works on many social 
skills as well as drug education to help delay the onset of drug, tobacco, and alcohol usage. 
Region 5 Community Mental Health Center 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 123 
Number of parents served 42 
Number of caregivers served 11 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.ncbi.nim.nih.gov/pubmed10627101 

Program Description: Region 5 utilizes Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA), which 
assists in the reduction of alcohol use by teens and young adults ages 13–20. The CMCA program 
works to limit youth’s access to alcohol by communicating a clear message to the community that 
underage drinking is inappropriate and unacceptable. The program uses community members to assist 
in presenting information and seeks to facilitate environmental changes in advertisement and sale of 
beverages containing alcohol. 
Region 6 Community Mental Health Center 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 3,600 
Number of parents served 200 
Number of caregivers served 60 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Region 6 utilizes the Creating Lasting Family Connections program, a school-
based prevention program for youth in grades 5–11 and ages 6–18. It is a family-focused program that 
aims to build resiliency and reduce the frequency of youth’s alcohol and other drug use. 
Region 7 Community Mental Health Center 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 900 
Number of parents served 400 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/ViewInterventionaspx?id=62 
URL for more program information: http://www.projectalert.com 

Program Description: Region 7 utilizes Project Alert, a substance abuse prevention program for middle 
school students. It address the pro-drug mindset of today’s teens and effectively increases the likelihood 
that students will remain drug free. 
Region 12 Pine Belt Mental Healthcare Resources 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 3,000 
Number of parents served 1,050 
Number of caregivers served 1,050 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Pine Belt Mental Healthcare Resources Prevention Services utilizes Project Alert 
and Project Northland for prevention programming. These are school-based prevention programs 
designed to delay the age at which adolescents begin drinking and reduce alcohol use among those 
already drinking. They both target middle school youth (grades 6–8). 
Region 14 Singing River Services 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 5,500 
Number of parents served 600 
Number of caregivers served 350 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Region 14 utilizes Project Northland by Hazelden Publishing, a nationally 
recognized alcohol use prevention program. The curriculum invites participation and experiential 
learning at home, in the classroom, and in the local community. Parents and caregivers are enlisted to 
support no-use, alcohol-free messages. 
Region 15 Warren Yazoo 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Region 15 utilizes the Too Good for Drugs/Violence series. Too Good for Drugs 
is a school-based prevention program for kindergarten to 12th grade that builds on students’ resiliency by 
teaching them how to be socially competent and autonomous problem solvers. Too Good for Violence is 
a school-based violence prevention and character education program for students in kindergarten 
through 12th grade. It is designed to enhance pro-social behaviors and skills and improve protective 
factors related to conflict and violence. 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Gateway Map Coalition 
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 2,500 
Number of parents served 500 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The Gateway Map Coalition STOP Act Program serves primarily 5th and 6th 
graders, at-risk youth, peers who influence their peers’ behaviors, and parents and adults who provide 
alcohol to minors. The coalition is implementing strategies in all areas of the social systems that 
distribute, promote, and consume alcohol. The environmental approaches being implemented include 
community mobilization, improved enforcement of the minimum drinking age, increased enforcement, 
and ordinances and laws to reduce underage drinking. 
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, Choctaw Health Department 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 5,400 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians utilizes the Reconnecting Youth 
Prevention Program (RY). This is a school-based prevention program for youth ages 14–18 in grades 9– 
12 who are at risk for school dropout and who may exhibit multiple behavior problems such as substance 
abuse, aggression, depression, or a higher suicide risk potential. 
Mallory Community Health Center (TOP-Teens/Tots Program) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 100 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The TOP-Teens/TOP-Tots (Taking Opportunity in Prevention–Teens/Tots) 
Program is a substance abuse prevention program that targets youth ages 5 to 18. This program uses 
evidence-based strategies to impact positive changes in targeted youth and their families. The program 
promotes constructive lifestyles and norms that discourage alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
MS Department of Mental Health 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: The MS Department of Mental Health is part of a statewide entity that seeks to 
advise youth across Mississippi against destructive decisions. 

Mississippians Advocating Against Unhealthy Decisions (MAAUD) 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: MAAUD is a task force designed to improve the health and well-being of youth in 
Mississippi by preventing and reducing unhealthy and risky behaviors. 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Additional Clarification 

MAAUD is represented by several agencies/organizations: 
Department of Mental Health 
Department of Public Safety 
Department of Education 
DREAM of Hattiesburg 
DREAM Inc. of Jackson 
Mississippi National Guard 
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians 
National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: The Mississippi Department of Mental Health certifies and funds the 
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians to provide prevention services within their community. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Program description: Mississippians Advocating Against Unhealthy Decisions (MAAUD) is a task 
force designed to improve the health and well-being of youth in Mississippi by preventing and 
reducing unhealthy and risky behaviors.  Members include representatives from state agencies, with 
strong participation from local coalitions and organizations across the state. We help guide local 
coalitions in environmental approaches to underage drinking prevention that involve law 
enforcement, parents, youth, and local organizations. 

MAAUD is striving to reduce unhealthy decisions in Mississippi through community action, public 
policy, education, and advocacy. The goals include the following: 

• Engage youth in local prevention awareness actions 
• Work in partnership with businesses in the community 
• Cooperate with state government and law enforcement 
• Put youth-friendly programs into the community where prevention awareness counts most 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration SAMHSA (Center for Substance Abuse Prevention [CSAP]-Kevin 
Chapman) 

Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: MS Department of Mental Health Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: MAAUD, free-standing prevention programs, and 15 Community 
Mental Centers across Mississippi 

Yes 

Best practice standards description: Mississippi works closely with SAMHSA-CSAP, a massively 
funded federal agency that promotes the reduction-of-consumption approach to reduce alcohol 
problems: “Less alcohol is always still too much alcohol.” 
The MS Department of Mental Health administers the public system of alcohol and drug abuse 
prevention and treatment services in Mississippi through the Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Services. 
These services are provided through a statewide network, which includes state-operated facilities, 
regional community mental health centers, and other nonprofit community-based programs. 

Additional Clarification 
All necessary information has been reported. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Daisy Carter 
E-mail: daisy@ncaddms.org 
Address: 875 Northpark Drive, Building 2, Suite 600, Ridgeland, MS 39157 
Phone: 601-899-5880 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
• Community Striving to Prevent Underage Drinking 
• Gateway MAP Coalition 
• Gulf Coast Substance Abuse Task Force 
• Mississippi Underage Drinking Prevention Coalition of Hinds County 
• Make A Promise Coalition for a Drug-Free Warren County 
• Mississippi Underage Drinking Prevention Coalition of Madison & Rankin Counties 
• Mississippi Southern Coalition 
• Warren County Underage Drinking Coalition 
• Dream Community Planning Coalition 
• Vicksburg Family Development 
• Choctaw Behavioral Health 
• Community Counseling Services 
• DREAM, Inc.  
• Dream of Hattiesburg, Inc.  
• East Mississippi State Hospital 
• Gulf Coast Mental Health 
• Gulf Coast Substance Abuse Task Force 
• Jackson County Children’s Service Coalition 
• Jackson State University-MS Urban Research Center 
• Mississippi State Legislature 
• MADD 
• Metro Jackson CPC 
• Mississippi Army National Guard 
• National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 

URL or other means of access: http://www.maaud.org 
Yes 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 

Prepared by: MS Department of Mental Health 
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.dmh.ms.gov under the resource library section 

Yes 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 
Prepared by: Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable 

No 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

0; MS does not get 
any prevention funding 

from the state. 
6/30/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

0 
6/30/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

0 
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State Reports – Mississippi 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

0 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

0 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

0 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

0 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

0 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other: 

No 
No 
No 

No data 
Description of funding streams and how they are used: 

Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Missouri 

Missouri 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,044,171 
Population Ages 12–20: 718,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.5 169,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.9 107,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.3 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.8 6,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.5 56,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.5 36,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 41.1 100,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 26.4 64,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 116 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 7,008 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 34 19 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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State Reports – Missouri 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.
	

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
 It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
 Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage purchase 
 Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
 30 days 
Note: Although Missouri does not authorize a use/lose penalty for all underage consumption, 
a law that became effective on August 28, 2005, imposes the mandatory license sanction on an 
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State Reports – Missouri 

underage person who “has a detectable blood alcohol content of more than two-hundredths of 
one percent or more by weight of alcohol in such person’s blood.” 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  15 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  16 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  1 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, no more than one passenger under 19 who is not 
an immediate family member. After 6 months, no more than three passengers under 19 who 
are not immediate family members. 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 years, 11 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  18 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
	 Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
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State Reports – Missouri 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

–		 Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet. Local government has authority to override 
state restrictions. 

–		 On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet. Local government has authority to override 
state restrictions. 

– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 
Note:  Exception is a school that has obtained an exemption from the payment of federal taxes. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on who may sue:  Retailers that furnish alcohol for off-premises consumption 

exempt. 
 Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Clear and convincing evidence required to show 

that retailer knew or should have known underage status. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
 Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
 Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
 Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
 Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
 Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
 Beer:  Prohibited 
 Wine:  Uncertain 
 Spirits:  Prohibited 
Note:  A holder of a retailer alcoholic beverage license in a state that affords Missouri licensees 
an equal reciprocal shipping privilege may ship, for personal use and not for resale, no more than 
two cases of wine (no more than 9 liters each case) per year to any adult resident of the state.  
Delivery of a shipment pursuant to this section shall not be deemed to constitute a sale in 
this state. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 592 



    

   

   
  

  
   
   

   
  

   
  
  

 
   
  

  
    

  
  
   

  

 

  
  
    
  

    
 

  
  

   
  

  
  

 
 

 
 

  

State Reports – Missouri 

Age verification requirements 
 Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements 
 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
 State must approve common carrier. 

Reporting requirements 
 Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  4 gallons or more 
 Purchaser information collected:  

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
 Deposit required:  $50 
 Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 
Note: Although Missouri does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s 
ID, it does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser, as 
well as the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  No law 
 Wine: No law 
 Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.06 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.42 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $2.00 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 
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State Reports – Missouri 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Restricted—a quantity discount may be granted only for quantities of 

two or more. Such discounts may be graduated but may not exceed 1 percent. 
 Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—1 percent discount for time of payment; no 

sales below cost. 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Volume discounts:  Restricted—a quantity discount may be granted only for quantities of 

two or more.  Such discounts may be graduated but may not exceed 1 percent. 
 Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—1 percent discount for time of payment; no 

sales below cost. 
 Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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State Reports – Missouri 

Missouri State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
No 
Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops 
Shoulder Tap Operations 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations 

No 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies 

Yes 

Dept. of Public Safety, 
Div. of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control 

No 

Yes 

8,385 

12/31/2013 
Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of retail licensees in state3 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

No 

No 
No data 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 

Not applicable 

Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Yes 

Yes 
1,252 
119 

12/31/2013 

Yes 

127 
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State Reports – Missouri 

Total amount in fines across all licensees $31,700 
Smallest fine imposed $200 
Largest fine imposed $1,200 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 7 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 17 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

Additional Clarification 
Part 1, Section A; Underage Persons in Possession: The data reported in this section are taken from the 
Missouri Uniform Crime Reporting Program (MULES). 
Part 1, Section B; Compliance Checks, Local Level: The Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) 
grant in Missouri funds a State Alcohol and Tobacco Control Special Agent position. The person who 
holds this position is responsible for training EUDL subgrantees, which are local law enforcement 
agencies. The EUDL Special Agent provides training at the EUDL Compliance Seminar for the local law 
enforcement agencies. The EUDL Special Agent also collects and reviews compliance check reports 
from the subgrantees and refers violations to the Supervisor of Alcohol and Tobacco Control for 
administrative action if warranted. (The data presented in questions 1.B.2.a-c are taken from the activity 
that was reported to the EUDL from the local law enforcement subgrantees.) In addition, this position 
provides training to retail merchants on the proper service of alcoholic beverages and participates in 
local and statewide initiatives. 
Part 1, Section C; Sanctions: The data reported in this section are taken from administrative actions 
imposed by the Supervisor of Alcohol and Tobacco Control on violations referred from the EUDL Special 
Agent, who reviews compliance check reports from the local law enforcement agencies. 

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Partners in Prevention (PIP) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 122,000 
Number of parents served 30,000 
Number of caregivers served 400 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: Upon request 
URL for more program information: http://pip.missouri.edu 

Program Description: Missouri PIP is an established statewide substance abuse prevention coalition of 
Missouri universities implementing evidence-based strategies to reduce binge and underage drinking 
among students at participating institutions. PIP is a consortium of 21 public and private colleges and 
universities. Since 2001, PIP has effectively reduced binge drinking and underage drinking behavior on 
campuses throughout the state and has been nationally recognized for its efforts. 
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State Reports – Missouri 

Missouri Youth Adult Alliance (MYAA) 
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 760 
Number of parents served 857 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: Upon request 
URL for more program information: http://www.actmissouri.org 

Program Description: Missouri’s MYAA is a statewide coalition that assists local community efforts in 
addressing underage drinking. Its mission is to encourage advocates to reduce youth access to alcohol 
by implementing environmental and social change in their communities. Membership in MYAA consists 
of other agencies as well as other adults and youth interested in reducing underage drinking. 
Missouri School-Based Substance Abuse Prevention Intervention and 
Resources Initiative (SPIRIT) 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 9,497 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/SPIRITReorts.htm 
URL for more program information: 
http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/SPIRIT.htm 

Program Description: In 2002, the Missouri Department of Mental Health (DMH), Division of Alcohol 
and Drug Abuse (ADA), launched SPIRIT. The program proposes to delay onset and decrease use of 
substances, improve overall school performance, and reduce incidents of violence. To achieve these 
goals, prevention agencies are paired with participating school districts to provide technical assistance in 
implementing evidence-based substance abuse prevention programming and referral and assessment 
services as needed. The project offers a variety of evidence-based prevention programs selected by 
the districts. 
Regional Support Center (RSC) Network and Community Coalitions 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://dmh.mo.gov 

Program Description: RSCs are the primary sources of technical assistance support for community 
coalitions. The RSC goal is to facilitate development of teams capable of making changes in substance 
use patterns in their communities. Each RSC has a prevention specialist who works directly with the 
teams in his/her area and assists with developing teams and task forces in communities that want them. 
The coalitions make up a network of volunteer community teams that focus solely on alcohol, tobacco, 
and drug issues as part of a broad mission and array of services. The coalitions were organized and 
developed in 1987 and are composed of community volunteers from the area served. Each coalition 
receives technical assistance and training from the RSC on a variety of topics related to organization, 
development, and implementation of prevention strategies. The RSC and community coalitions 
implement various evidence-based strategies and programs. 
Direct Prevention Services for High-Risk Youth 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
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State Reports – Missouri 

Number of youth served 115,699 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: Direct programs and services for high-risk youth are prevention education and 
early intervention activities provided to designated children, youth, and families. These services involve 
structured programming or a curriculum, have multiple sessions, include pre- and posttesting, and 
address identified risk and protective factors. Direct programs and services may also involve a variety of 
activities, including informational sessions and training and technical assistance activities with groups. 
St. Louis Arc Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Prevention Project 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.slarc.org 

Program Description: The St. Louis Arc is a nonprofit, United Way agency that provides support and 
services to more than 3,000 adults and children with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and their 
families, throughout the St. Louis metropolitan area. 
Drug Abuse Resistance Education (DARE) Officer Training 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: No data 
State of Missouri Alcohol Responsibility Training (SMART) Program 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://wellness.missouri.edu/SMART 

Program Description: The SMART program is an interactive, web-based course available free of 
charge to those who own or work for any Missouri establishment licensed to sell alcohol. 
CHEERS to the Designated Driver Program 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
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State Reports – Missouri 

URL for more program information: http://wellness.missouri.edu/CHEERS 

Program Description: CHEERS was designed to increase the number of designated drivers throughout 
Missouri. Bars, restaurants, and nightclubs participating in CHEERS provide free nonalcoholic 
beverages to the acknowledged designated driver in a group of two or more. It’s a way of saying thanks 
for caring about the safety of your friends and community!  Establishment owners across the state have 
been invited to join CHEERS and play an active role in ensuring the health and safety of their patrons. 
Statewide Training and Resource Center (STRC) 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program Description: The STRC contract, currently held by ACT Missouri, conducts a variety of 
activities and programs on behalf of the Missouri Division of Behavioral Health and the overall state 
prevention system. The STRC provides resources, training, and technical assistance for the RSC and 
direct prevention providers. The STRC presents a number of statewide workshops throughout the year 
and also holds a statewide prevention conference. The STRC also operates a consultant resource bank 
with resources available to the prevention community and administers the Mini-Grant Program for 
community coalitions. 
Team Spirit Program 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.saveMOlives.com 

Program Description: This is a Highway Safety program. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking 
Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the 
prevention of underage drinking 

No recognized tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Probram description: Missouri has many coalitions around the state that provide training and 
activities addressing youth exposure to alcohol advertising and marketing. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 
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State Reports – Missouri 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA) 

Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Missouri Division of Behavioral Health Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: The Division requires providers to use evidence-based programs 
and environmental strategies. SAMHSA’s publication, Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based 
Interventions for Substance Abuse Prevention, serves as a guide, which provides the following 
definition for evidence-based programs: 
• Inclusion in a federal list or registry of evidence-based interventions 
• Being reported (with positive effects) in a peer-reviewed journal 
• Documentation of effectiveness based on the following guidelines: 
1. The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic or 

conceptual model. 
2. The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in registries and/or 

the peer-reviewed literature. 
3. The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively implemented in the past, 

and multiple times, in a manner attentive to Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions 
scientific standards of evidence and with results that show a consistent pattern of credible and 
positive effects. 

4. The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed prevention experts that 
includes well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in evaluating prevention 
interventions similar to those under review, local prevention practitioners, and key community 
leaders as appropriate (e.g., officials from law enforcement and education sectors or elders within 
indigenous cultures). 

Missouri uses the Strategic Prevention Framework model to implement the four guidelines. The 
process includes: 
Assessment of the community’s needs and readiness. 
• Capacity building to mobilize and address the needs of the community. 
• Development of a prevention plan to identify the activities, programs, and strategies necessary to 

address the needs. 
• Implementation of the prevention plan. 
• Evaluation of the results to achieve sustainability and cultural competence. 
Missouri identifies appropriate strategies based on validated research, empirical evidence of 
effectiveness, and the use of local, state, and federal key community prevention leaders such as 
National Prevention Network, Southwest Regional Expert Team, and SAMHSA’s Center for Substance 
Abuse Prevention. 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Chelsea Billeck, MYAA Project Director 
E-mail: cbilleck@actmissouri.org 
Address: 428 E. Capitol, 2nd Floor, Jefferson City, MO 65101 
Phone: 573-635-6669 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Division of Behavioral Health 
Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
ACT Missouri 
Department of Health and Senior Services 
Division of Highway Safety 
Prevention Regional Support Centers across the state 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 600 



    

   

 
  

   
 

 
     

  
   

 
      

 
    

  
 

 
  

  
  

     
   

   
      

   
  

      
  

  
     

    
  

     
   

  
     

  
  

     
 

  
  

     
  

  
  

 
 

  
   
  

  
  

 
  

 

State Reports – Missouri 

MO National Guard 
Local coalition leaders 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: http://www.actmissouri.org 

Yes 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 

Prepared by: Missouri Division of Behavioral Health 
Plan can be accessed via: 
http://dmh.mo.gov/docs/ada/Progs/Prevention/StrategicPlanforPrevention2010.pdf 

Yes 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years 
Prepared by: Missouri Institute of Mental Health 
Plan can be accessed via: No data 

Yes 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$591,342 
6/30/2013 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

$0 
6/30/2013 

Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: No data 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other: 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Montana 

Montana 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,015,165 
Population Ages 12–20: 119,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.3 36,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.2 24,000 

Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.9 2,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.7 1,000 

Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.2 10,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17 6,000 

Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 53.4 24,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 37.1 17,000 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 17 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,050 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old 
Drivers with BAC > 0.01 30 2 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 602 



    

   

     
  

 
  

   
    

    

 
  

  
   

    
    

 
 

  
 

 

 

   
  

 
  
   

 
 

 

     
  

  
    
  

 
  

 
  
  

State Reports – Montana 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Parent/guardian 
Note:  The parental exception to Montana’s possession and consumption statute applies only 
to alcohol supplied and consumed in a “nonintoxicating quantity.” In Montana, “intoxicating 
quantity” is defined as a quantity “sufficient to produce . . . a blood, breath, or urine alcohol 
concentration in excess of 0.05 . . . or substantial or visible mental or physical impairment.” 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): Parent/guardian 
Note:  The parental exception to Montana’s possession and consumption statute applies only 
to alcohol supplied and consumed in a “nonintoxicating quantity.” In Montana, “intoxicating 
quantity” is defined as a quantity “sufficient to produce . . . a blood, breath, or urine alcohol 
concentration in excess of 0.05 . . . or substantial or visible mental or physical impairment.” 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) targeting minors 
 Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
	
 Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.
	

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
 It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
 It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
	 Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
 BAC limit:  0.02 
 BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
 Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
 Underage possession 
 Underage consumption 
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State Reports – Montana 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
	 Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
	 30 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 
Learner stage 
 Minimum entry age:  14 years, 6 months 
 Minimum learner stage period:  6 months 
 Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
 Minimum age:  15 
 Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

	 Passenger restrictions exist:  For first 6 months, no more than one nonfamily passenger under 
18 unless accompanied by a driver at least 18 years old.  For second 6 months, no more than 
three nonfamily passengers under 18 unless accompanied by a driver at least 18 years old. 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
	 Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 
Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  Parent/guardian
	

Note: The parental exception applies to the provision of alcohol in a “nonintoxicating quantity.”
	
In Montana, “intoxicating quantity” is defined as a quantity “sufficient to produce . . . a blood, 

breath, or urine alcohol concentration in excess of 0.05 . . . or substantial or visible mental or
	
physical impairment.”
	

Compliance Check Protocols 
Age of decoy 
 Minimum:  17 
 Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
	 All youth, either male or female, should have casual-type clothing that is age appropriate.  

– Females:  No makeup or anything else that would make them appear older 
– Males:  No facial hair 

ID possession 
	 Not specified 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
	 Prohibited 
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State Reports – Montana 

Decoy training 
 Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
 Time period/conditions:  3 years 
 First offense: $250 fine 
 Second offense: $1,000 fine 
 Third offense:  $1,500 fine and/or 20-day license suspension 
 Fourth offense: License revocation 
Note: List of aggravating and mitigating factors is provided. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers 
 Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
 Applies to both new and existing outlets 
Note: In addition to applying to managers and servers/sellers, Montana’s “responsible alcohol 
sales and service act” applies to licensees or owners who personally engage in the role of selling 
or serving alcoholic beverages. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 
 Wine:  18 
 Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
 Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
 Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and universities 
 No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
 Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  No 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 600 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions are commercially operated schools. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
 Limitations on damages: $250,000 noneconomic damages per person and $250,000 punitive 

damages per person 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
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State Reports – Montana 

	 Limitations on damages: $250,000 noneconomic damages per person and $250,000 punitive 
damages per person 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 
following restrictions:  

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements 
	 Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 

Reporting requirements 
 Producer must record/report purchaser’s name. 
 Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements 
	 Contains alcohol 
 Recipient must be 21 
Note: An out-of-state brewer desiring to ship beer to an individual in Montana shall register 
with the Montana Department of Revenue. An individual seeking to receive such a shipment 
for personal consumption must obtain a Connoisseur’s License. The licensee must forward to 
the out-of-state brewer a distinctive address label, provided by the department, clearly 
identifying any package that is shipped as a legal direct-shipment package to the holder of 
a Connoisseur’s License. 

Keg Registration 
 Keg definition:  Not less than 7 gallons 
 Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500/6 months 
 Purchaser information collected:  

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

 Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
 Deposit:  Not required 
 Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs. 

Home Delivery 
 Beer:  No law 
 Wine: No law 
 Spirits:  No law 
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State Reports – Montana 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 
Alcohol Tax 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Specific excise tax:  $0.14 per gallon 
Note:  Reported tax rate is the rate for brewers who produce more than 20,000 barrels of beer 
per year. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—7 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
 Retailer credit:  Restricted—7 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
 Control state 
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State Reports – Montana 

Montana State Survey Responses
	
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Responsibilities are at the local level with municipalities and counties. At the state level, funding is 
through the Montana Board of Crime Control and the Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, Addictive and Mental Disorders Division/Chemical Dependency Bureau. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws No 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 1,975 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies 

Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 4,700 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/ 
decoy operations No 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state 
compliance checks Not applicable 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 160 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 22 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

Sanctions 
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State Reports – Montana 

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees 
Smallest fine imposed 
Largest fine imposed 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

No data 
$16,500 

$250 
$1,500 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 

Data unavailable 
Data unavailable 
Data unavailable 
Data unavailable 

12/31/2013 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed6 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Additional Clarification 

No data 

Yes 

2 
12/31/2013 

1Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.
	
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws
	
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Office of Public Instruction (OPI) Traffic Education Curriculum – 
Revision 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 8,300 
Number of parents served 8,000 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://opi.mt.gov/Programs/DriverEd/Index.html 

Program Description: Young driver crashes have decreased in recent years, but Montana is still one of 
the states with the highest rates of teen crashes. Vehicle crashes continue to be the primary cause of 
death and injury for 15- to 24-year-olds. Speed, distractions, impaired driving, and lack of seatbelt use 
are major contributing factors along with inexperience. Training novice drivers and reducing young driver 
crashes are primary goals of Montana’s Traffic Education Program. OPI began planning an update of 
the Traffic Education curriculum in December 2011, with the first phase completed in January–June 
2012, and continued work on the update through 2013 with MDT grant support. The new curriculum 
incorporates the emerging new research on brain development, scanning for hazards, attention 
maintenance, risk assessment, and decisionmaking, and provides teachers the tools they need to meet 
these challenges. The “alcohol and other drugs” module includes updated research and resources on 
the effects of alcohol and drugs on the brain, body, and the driving task; alcohol-involved crashes; 
refusal skills; and Montana’s Minor in Possession laws. DUI consequences related to alcohol, 
prescription drugs, and marijuana use were included along with the 2013 statute § 61-8-411, MCA, which 
sets the 5ng/ml standard for delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol. 

The redesigned Montana traffic education curriculum update met the following goals: 
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State Reports – Montana 

 2006 modules were redesigned to move from text-heavy PowerPoint presentations to more engaging 
learner-centered activities with real world driving scenarios and driver decision points. The revision 
will help students develop the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary to safely operate a motor 
vehicle. 
 Statistics and other factual data were updated and presented in engaging formats. 
 The curriculum was based on evidence-based strategies and current best practices as described in 

the National Standards for Driver Education, Parent and Teen KEYS Homework, and the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s A Fresh Look at Driver Education in America. The 
curriculum was adapted to fit Montana’s specific laws, standards, and program requirements while 
maintaining the integrity of the content and methods of the curriculum. 

The updated Montana Traffic Education Curriculum was to be distributed to 200 teachers attending the 
April 2014 Montana Traffic Education Association Conference. In January 2012, OPI adopted revised 
Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) 10.13 with the addition of Traffic Education Content, 
Benchmarks, and Performance Standards and made parent meetings a requirement (rather than an 
option) of the Traffic Education Program. A new module is included for mandatory parent meetings, to 
inform both young novice drivers and their parents/guardians of graduated drivers licensing (GDL) 
guidelines and best practices which require use of safety belts, limits passengers, restricts night driving, 
and addresses distracted driving. Parents or guardians must sign an affidavit confirming 50 hours of 
supervised driving practice and 6 months with no alcohol, drug, or traffic offenses before teens can 
receive a GDL-restricted license for independent driving. 
Youth Risk Behavior Survey – Montana Office of Public Instruction 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 4,889 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report: 
http://www.opi.mt.gov/pdf/YRBS/13/13FinalRpt.pdf 
URL for more program information: http://opi.mt.gov/Reports&Data/YRBS.html 

Program Description: This survey is conducted in February of odd-numbered years for students in 
grades 7–12 in Montana through funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The data 
collected from this survey are used to guide programming across the state in a variety of areas including 
underage alcohol use. 
Positive Community Norms/Media Literacy Toolkit 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://opi.mt.gov/Programs/HealthTopics/index.html#gpm1_12 

Program Description: This program is designed to identify and correct youth misperceptions about 
peer alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use. Research indicates people tend to behave in the way they 
believe is most typical and accepted by their peers. Studies also show that youth tend to overestimate 
the number of peers who engage in risky behaviors. Bridging the gap between perception and reality is 
intended to increase protective factors and reduce numbers of youth participating in risky behavior. 
Students are surveyed utilizing Classroom Performance System (CPS) clickers, which provide 
immediate classroom perception feedback. Student perception data are then compared with actual data 
collected from the most recent Youth Risk Behavior Survey, and misperceptions are identified. This 
leads to a healthy discussion about why misperceptions exist, and how we are influenced by media. 
Substance Abuse and Prevention Treatment Block Grant 
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State Reports – Montana 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/amdd/chemicaldependencyservices/index.shtml 

Program Description: The Chemical Dependency Bureau of the Addictive and Mental Disorders 
Division of the Department of Public Health and Human Services administers this grant. It supports the 
implementation of evidenced-based environmental prevention efforts to provide culturally appropriate 
community-based environmental prevention strategies to reduce underage drinking to include binge 
drinking with an emphasis on youth and young adults up to age 21. 
Partnership for Success Grant III 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report: No data 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/amdd/chemicaldependencyservices/index.shtml 

Program Description: The Chemical Dependency Bureau of the Addictive and Mental Disorders 
Division of the Department of Public Health and Human Services administers this grant. It supports the 
implementation of environmental prevention activities to address underage drinking (ages 12–20) and 
misuse/abuse of prescription drugs (ages 12–25) in 23 identified counties and reservations. It also 
supports the implementation of alcohol compliance checks, an “alcohol reward and reminder” survey 
program, and a statewide social media parent/youth forum. 
Montana’s Comprehensive Highway Safety Plan 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.mdt.mt.gov/safety/alive25.shtml 

Program Description: Montana’s Comprehensive Highway Safety Plan includes affordable, accessible 
driver education as a strategy to reduce young driver crashes (http://www.mdt.mt.gov/safety/safety-
initiatives/young.shtml). Parents’ meetings and alcohol and drug prevention education are required in 
Montana driver education programs, which serve 8,440 teens annually through public high school. GDL 
requires Parent/Legal Guardian certification that the teen driver has no convictions or pending citations 
for traffic, alcohol, or drug violations. The Alive at 25 Program is offered for youth drivers through the 
Montana Highway Patrol (http://www.mdt.mt.gov/safety/alive25.shtml). 
DUI Task Forces 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
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State Reports – Montana 

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.mdt.mt.gov/safety/dui_taskforces.shtml 

Program Description: Montana Department of Transportation:  DUI task forces are multifaceted 
coalitions that invite participation from a cross-section of community representatives to maximize their 
reach and effectiveness. The task forces operate at the county level to reduce and prevent impaired 
driving. They may engage the community in a variety of activities such as Responsible Alcohol Sales 
and Service Training, retail compliance checks, party and keg patrols, overtime traffic patrols, education 
and media advocacy, public service announcements, victim impact panels, support for prosecution and 
adjudication of DUI cases, and designated-driver and safe ride home programs. It is difficult to estimate 
the number of youth served or participating in the DUI Task Forces across the state. 
Let’s Control It 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://revenue.mt.gov/home/liquor/liquor_education 

Program Description: This alcohol sales and service training program trains those who sell/serve 
alcoholic beverages on how to keep from overserving obviously intoxicated patrons, how to identify 
underage patrons, and so on. 
Prevention Resource Center – Montana Department of Public Health and 
Human Services 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.prevention.mt.gov and 
http://www.parentpower.mt.gov 

Program Description: The Prevention Resource Center connects AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteer in 
Service to America) volunteers to Montana communities in addressing poverty issues and consquences 
such as underage drinking. Additionally, the Prevention Resource Center maintains two websites and is 
a clearinghouse for information about programs, services, data, best practices, training, and educational 
opportunities on substance abuse prevention. Two websites are maintained: 
http://www.prevention.mt.gov and http://www.parentpower.mt.gov 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification 
No data 
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State Reports – Montana 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: We have trained tribal members to become state-certified trainers to 
teach the Let’s Control It responsible alcohol sales and service training program. On occasion we 
have trained some tribal law enforcement personnel through our 3-hour POST (Peace Officers 
Standards and Training) certified liquor law class. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Description of program: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies): National Registry of Evidence –based Programs and 
Practices (NREPP) 

Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description: No data 

Additional Clarification 
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information: 
Name: Vicki Turner 
E-mail: vturner@mt.gov 
Address: PO Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210 
Phone: 406-444-3484 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Department of Public Health and Human Services 
Department of Corrections 
Department of Labor and Industry 
Department of Transportation 
Department of Revenue 
Montana Board of Crime Control 
Montana Children’s Trust Fund 
Montana Office of Public Instruction 
Governor’s Office of Indian Affairs 
Two Governor-appointed community members 
Montana Department of Military Affairs 
Montana Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access: http://prevention.mt.gov/icc/index.shtml 

Yes 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: The Prevention Resource Center 
Plan can be accessed via: http://prevention.mt.gov/icc/meetings/oct032013/Handoutpg1.pdf and 
http://prevention.mt.gov/icc/meetings/oct032013/Handoutpg2.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: The Prevention Resource Center 
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State Reports – Montana 

Plan can be accessed via: 
http://prevention.mt.gov/icc/meetings/oct032013/GoalsAndBenchmarks.pdf 

Additional Clarification 
ICC Goals and Benchmarks were being finalized for final review and approval by the full ICC 
in late 2014. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/5/2014 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/5/2014 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/5/2014 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/5/2014 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/5/2014 
Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: No state funded programs or strategies supported. 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/5/2014 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following 
revenue streams: 

Taxes 
Fines 
Fees 
Other: 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 
EUDL funds have been cut drastically. 
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