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Chapter 4.3: Policy Summaries 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
Policy Description 
Most states have laws that specify a minimum age for employees who sell alcoholic beverages in 
off-premises establishments such as liquor stores.  A small number require sellers to be at least 
21 years old, but most states permit sellers to be younger.  Some states allow any person to sell 
alcohol regardless of age.  Other variations across states include minimum age requirements for 
conducting sales transactions with customers and allowing younger employees to stock coolers 
with alcohol or bag purchased alcohol.  Age restrictions may also vary based on the type of off-
premises establishment or type of alcohol being sold.  For example, younger persons may be 
allowed to sell beer but not wine or distilled spirits.  Younger persons may also be allowed to sell 
alcohol in grocery or convenience stores rather than liquor stores.  Some states permit younger 
minimum selling ages only if a manager or supervisor is present. 

State laws specifying minimum ages for employees who sell alcoholic beverages for on-premises 
consumption are described in the “Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers and Bartenders” 
section of this report. 

Status of Age of Seller Policies 

Minimum Age of Sellers and Types of Beverages 
Most jurisdictions specify the same minimum age for sellers of all types of alcoholic beverages 
(see Exhibit 4.3.23).  As of January 1, 2014, 10 states specify that off-premises sellers must be 
21 years or older.  Three states (Idaho, Indiana, and Nebraska) require off-premise sellers to be 
19 years or older; 16 states and the District of Columbia have set the minimum age at 18.  Four 
states (Arizona, Maine, Nevada, and New Hampshire) set the minimum age between 16 and 17 
years.  Four states (California, Georgia, Louisiana, and Virginia) do not specify any minimum 
age for sellers.  

Minimum age requirements in the remaining 14 states vary by type of alcohol, with age 
requirements generally higher for the sale of distilled spirits and lower for beer.  Florida, 
New York, and North Carolina set a minimum age of 18 for the sale of spirits and have no age 
minimum for beer or wine.  Alabama and South Carolina have a minimum age of 21 for the sale 
of spirits but no minimum for beer and wine.  Vermont sets a minimum age for selling beer and 
wine (16), but does not specify a minimum age for selling spirits. 

Manager or Supervisor Presence 
Thirteen states require that a supervisor or manager be present when an underage seller conducts 
an alcoholic beverage transaction. 

Trends in Age of Seller Policies 
There were no changes in age of seller policies across states between 2003 and 2014 (see Exhibit 
4.3.24). 
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Chapter 4.3: Policy Summaries 

Exhibit 4.3.23: Minimum Age To Sell Beer for Off-Premises Consumption

as of January 1, 2014
	

Exhibit 4.3.24: Distribution of Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers of Beer,
	
January 1, 2003, through January 1, 2014
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