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 State Reports – Wyoming 

 
Wyoming 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  576,412 
Population Ages 12–20:  69,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.7 19,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19.1 13,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.7 2,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 4.3 1,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.2 5,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.9 3,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 46.0 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.2 9, 000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  10 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  591 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 21.0 3 

 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• No driver’s license suspension procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 19. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 
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Length of suspension/revocation   
• 90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18 who is not an immediate 
family member, unless accompanied by another driver at least 18 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  Wyoming’s exception allows members of the minor’s “immediate family” to furnish 
alcohol.  For purposes of this report, the phrase “immediate family” is interpreted as including  
a spouse.  

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
• Casual attire 
• Average height and build 
• Male:  No facial hair   
• Female:  Little or no makeup 

ID possession 
• Discretionary 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 
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Decoy training 
• Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments. 
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 
• Wine:  21 
• Spirits:  21 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.   
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.  

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.   

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
Note:  Wyoming’s social host statute applies only to possession or consumption by persons 
under age 18. 
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Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting requirements:  None 

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  Not less than 7 gallons 
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500 
• Purchaser information collected:  Verified by a government-issued ID 
• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.02 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
No law 
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
is a criminal offense.through a judicial procedure.are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
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Wyoming State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Local law enforcement 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Don’t know 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 851 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 1,300 est. 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,398 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 234 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,398 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 234 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments No 
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specifically for furnishing minors 
Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Don’t know 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Wyoming Core Prevention Program  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   
  http://www.health.wyo.gov/phsd/prevention/coreprevention.html 

 

Program Description:  The Core Prevention Program administered by the Wyoming Department of 
Health’s Public Health Division (PHD) succeeded the state’s Strategic Prevention Framework State 
Incentive Grant (SPF SIG), which ended in 2010.  Core Prevention was the state’s attempt to maintain 
state and local prevention capacity and infrastructure despite an approximate two-thirds reduction in 
funding resulting from the end of the SPF SIG.  Core Prevention braids together state general funds and 
federal substance abuse prevention block grant funding to provide a single prevention grant to 
prevention coalitions in each of Wyoming’s 23 counties.  Also, Core Prevention integrates substance 
abuse prevention and mental health promotion/suicide prevention into a single prevention initiative that 
enables communities to address local substance abuse and mental health issues based on community-
level data.  Because underage drinking and adult binge drinking remain problems most in need of and 
appropriate for prevention, those issues receive most of the prevention funding; however, the Core 
Prevention grant is designed to provide communities with flexibility to address emergent issues such as 
prescription drug abuse and the use of “spice” and other forms of synthetic marijuana.  In July 2012, 
tobacco cessation and prevention were integrated into Core Prevention, along with a complete 
transformation of its prevention business model.  Specifically, the Wyoming Department of Health 
contracted with a single fiscal agent that will serve as the Prevention Management Organization (PMO) 
for Wyoming’s community-based prevention efforts.  This differs from the state’s historical model, under 
which the Department of Health contracted with separate fiscal agents in each of its 23 counties.  The 
purpose of this new model is to reduce administrative costs and overhead from multiple contracts and to 
provide community coalitions with the ability to participate fully in prevention decisions made in 
communities.  The PMO employs local program managers in each funded community to continue 
directing community-based prevention.  Evaluation of local and state prevention efforts is provided by 
the Wyoming Survey and Analysis Center, of the University of Wyoming.  The PMO provides technical 
assistance in identification and utilization of evidence-based programs and environmental strategies. 

878 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Wyoming 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention 
Programs 

 

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the 
prevention of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  The Wyoming Department of Health communicates and shares 
information with both Tribal nations located in Wyoming related to prevention of underage drinking. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA, CDC 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Wyoming Department of Health Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  The Wyoming Department of Health Public Health Division 
requires that all programs implemented with state and federal funds either incorporate a recognized 
environmental strategy to reduce underage drinking at the community level, be an established 
evidence-based program, or adhere to best practice standards.  This mandate is reinforced through 
ongoing technical assistance provided to local program staff and coalitions by the PMO. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Keith Hotle 
Email:  keith.hotle@wyo.gov 
Address:  6101 Yellowstone Road, Cheyenne, WY  82002  
Phone:  307-777-3318 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Office of the Governor 
Department of Family Services 
Department of Education 
Department of Health 
Department of Corrections 
Department of Workforce Services     

 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 

URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 
 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Through collaboration and partner the Wyoming Prevention Management 
Organization 
Plan can be accessed via:  N/A 
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State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Wyoming Survey and Analysis Center, as the evaluator to the Wyoming  
Department of Health 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://wysac.uwyo.edu/Default.aspx 

Additional Clarification  

The federal Block Grant annual evaluation can be located at this website.  In addition, the Public Health 
Division can provide the evaluation reports prepared for the SPF SIG program.  Evaluation for the Core 
Prevention Program can be provided as well. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,434,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended We provide 

federal funding for 
this. State funding 
runs through the 

WY Dept. of 
Education 

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  

Estimate of state funds expended Federal funding 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets 
Estimate of state funds expended $434,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2014 

 
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following  
revenue streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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