
State Report 
 
 

Vermont 

 
 

This document is excerpted from: 
The June 2015 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Vermont 

 
Vermont 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  626,011 
Population Ages 12–20:  75,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 35.2 26,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 24.0 18,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.4 2,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.6 1,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.3 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.9 4,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 62.1 18,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 44.8 13,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  6 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  382 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 29.0 2 

 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Although Vermont does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report, it has a 
statutory provision that makes it unlawful for a minor to “consume malt or vinous beverages or 
spirituous liquors.  A violation of this subdivision may be prosecuted in a jurisdiction where the 
minor has consumed malt or vinous beverages or spirituous liquors, or in a jurisdiction where the 
indicators of consumption are observed.”  Laws that punish minors for displaying “indicators of 
consumption” or for “exhibiting the effects” of having consumed alcohol, but do so without 
reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession 
for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• No driver’s license suspension procedure 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 
  

812 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Vermont 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, of which 10 must be at night  

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Night driving is not restricted 
• Passenger restrictions exist:  During first 3 months, restricted to driving alone or with a 

licensed parent, instructor, or person at least 25 years old.  During next 3 months, may also 
transport family members. 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20 
Note:  Director’s permission required for 17-year-olds. 

Appearance requirements 
• Exhibit a young adult appearance 
• Male:  No facial hair 
• Female:  No excessive makeup 

ID possession 
• Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
• First offense:  Written warning or fine of $250 
• Second offense:  $300 fine or 3-day license suspension (compliance-check setting only) 
• Third offense:  $500 fine or 5-day license suspension (compliance-check setting only) 

 
Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 813 



State Reports – Vermont 
 

• Fourth offense:  Mandatory hearing to consider license suspension or revocation 
(compliance-check setting only) 

Note:  Written warning allowed in compliance-check setting.  For noncompliance check setting,  
$500 fine applies to sales to 19-year-olds; $250 fine applies to sales to 20-year-olds; hearing 
required for sales to those under 18 years old. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  16 
• Wine:  16 
• Spirits:  Not specified 
Note:  Vermont statutes and regulations are silent regarding the minimum age of seller for 
distilled spirits sold for off-premises consumption, which occur only in state-controlled outlets.  
Vermont’s Liquor Control Board establishes minimum age of seller in its outlets as a matter of 
internal board policy. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Note:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 7, § 501 includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements   
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  At least 5 gallons 
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/2 years 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit required:  $25 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 
Note:  Although Vermont does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s 
ID, it does require that the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth be recorded as they 
appear on the purchaser’s identification. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.27 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  10 percent 

– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  4 percent 
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Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.55 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  10 percent 

– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  4 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—14 days minimum hold.  Each licensee in 

wholesale dealer’s territory must receive at least one opportunity to buy at changed price.   
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Vermont State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Vermont Department of Liquor Control 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Vermont Department 
of Liquor Control 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 2,748 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 2,500 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 688 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 53 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 688 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 53 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 8 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $2,100 
Smallest fine imposed $100 
Largest fine imposed $500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 29 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 35 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
School-Based Substance Abuse Services (SBSAS) Program  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 31,000+ students are 

enrolled in grantee 
areas 

Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://healthvermont.gov/adap/sap/StudentAssistanceProgram.aspx 

 

Program Description:  The purpose of the SBSAS grant is to provide and enhance substance abuse 
prevention and early intervention services in Vermont schools, leading to reductions in students’ alcohol 
and other drug use.  Twenty-one awards, up to $40,000 each (totaling approximately $800,000), were 
made based in a competitive process that considered need, readiness, strength of proposed plan, 
budget, and number of students to be served.  A 10 percent match in funds or in-kind services was 
required.  We anticipate these will be 3-year continuation grants contingent on satisfactory performance 
and availability of funds.  Training and evaluation services will be supported statewide with up to 
$30,000.   

For the funded services, required activities include:   
• Support of coordinated school health initiatives (all 21 grantees)   
• Screening and referral to substance abuse and mental health services (all 21 grantees)  

Optional activities include:   
• Support of classroom health curricula (17 grantees)   
• Advising and training of youth empowerment groups (20 grantees)   
• Delivery of parent information and educational programs (20 grantees)   
• Delivery of teacher and support staff training (21 grantees)   
• Delivery of educational support groups (17 grantees) 
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ParentUp  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served 9,600 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.ParentUpVT.org  

Program Description:  In 2010, the Health Department’s Prevention Unit of the Alcohol and Drug 
Abuse Programs (ADAP) created the ParentUp campaign to educate parents about their roles and 
responsibilities related to the dangers of underage drinking.  The campaign addresses parents of middle 
school and high school students with age-specific information.  An online resource center was created 
and promoted with direct mail, radio ads, and online advertising.  With limited funds, ADAP continues to 
advertise ParentUp.  The overall program goals are to:   
• Increase the number of parents who talk with their children about underage drinking   
• Increase parents’ awareness of underage drinking laws and consequences 
Stop Teen Alcohol Risk Team (START)  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   
  http://healthvermont.gov/adap/start/start.aspx 

 

Program Description:  START is a statewide system of taskforces to reduce underage drinking in 
Vermont.  Each county receives START funding to increase levels of enforcement for underage drinking 
and to support implementation of research-based prevention being undertaken by substance abuse 
coalitions.  START programs are encouraged to increase enforcement of the underage drinking laws by 
addressing locally identified, unmet needs.  This program is funded by the Enforcing Underage Drinking 
Laws (EUDL) program and will end on June 30, 2013. 

We Check ID – 1 866 ITS FAKE  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   
  http://liquorcontrol.vermont.gov/education/wecheckids.html 

 

Program Description:  This statewide telephone system uses computers and staff to answer a 
telephone line.  The line supports stores with identification (ID) verification.  We Check ID – 1 866 ITS 
FAKE is the publicized name of the project aimed at preventing sales to minors.  Clerks can call 1 866 
ITS FAKE to verify the match between the name on ID (from any state) and the date of birth.  Note:  This 
is a federally funded program (EUDL) and will end on June 30, 2013. 
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College Symposium  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  In October 2012, Norwich University hosted the first annual College Symposium 
to Address High Risk Drinking sponsored by the VT Dept. of Health (VDH).  High-risk drinking on 
college campuses is a critical public health issue that places intense pressure on residential services on 
college campuses, and on everyone who is part of a campus and the surrounding community.  Keynote 
presentations provided information on effective evidence-based strategies, how best to work 
collaboratively with community partners, and how to support the role of students in addressing the issue.  
Roundtable discussions and a networking lunch provided an opportunity for participants to share 
successes and challenges.  There were 112 participants representing 19 colleges and universities, 
community coalitions, law enforcement, and VDH staff.  Analysis of the event evaluations will provide 
direction on next steps to support campus and community efforts to address this important public health 
issue.  A second annual symposium was planned for fall 2013.  Note:  This program is federally funded. 

Partnership for Success (PFS)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The PFS grant is a 3-year (10/1/12–9/30/15) cooperative agreement with 
SAMHSA.  Its purpose is to reduce underage drinking and prescription drug misuse and abuse.  In 
collaboration with multiple state and local community partners, the VDH supports regional prevention 
strategies in the 6 out of 12 VDH Districts identified through an analysis of prevalence data, size of 
target population, and socioeconomic disparities.  The grant also supports training and communications 
activities aimed at strengthening the prevention infrastructure in all 12 districts of the state. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   

With the exception of the School-Based Substance Abuse Services program, all programs related to 
underage drinking prevention are federally funded. 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention 
Programs 

 

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the 
prevention of underage drinking 

No recognized Tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

No 

Program description:  Not applicable 
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Best practice standards are based on the SAMHSA Guidance 
Document.  For Vermont standards, go to 
http://healthvermont.gov/adap/prevention/SPF/documents/FinalDraftGuidanceNov2008.pdf 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Patty McCarthy Metcalf 
Email:  patty@friendsofrecoveryvt.org 
Address:  Friends of Recovery – Vermont, 100 State Street, Suite 353, Montpelier, VT  05602 
Phone:  802-229-6103 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Vermont Department of Health  
Central Vermont Medical Center  
Vermont State Police  
Lamoille County Mental Health Services  
Vermont Department of Liquor Control  
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles  
Wit’s End Group  
Vermont Association for Mental Health and Addiction Recovery  
Vermont Agency of Education  
Prevention Works! VT 
Centerpoint 
Adolescent Treatment Services  
Vermont Department of Corrections  
Attorney General’s Office  
Vermont Council on Problem Gambling, Inc. 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Vermont Department of Health and Vermont Strategic Prevention Framework 
Advisory Council 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://healthvermont.gov/adap/prevention/SPF/documents/SPF-
ExSumm0110.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Vermont’s Epidemiological Workgroup 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://www.healthvermont.gov/adap/clearinghouse/documents/EpiProfileExecutiveSummary_2012M
arch16.pdf 
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Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $25,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $830,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $930,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No 
Fees Yes 
Other: No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Youth who violate Vermont’s underage possession and consumption of alcohol laws (7 VSA §65) 
may opt to participate in the Teen Alcohol Safety Program (TASP) or face a fine and driver’s license 
suspension.  Participants’ fees and state General Fund dollars support TASP, which is run by the 
Court Diversion program in each county.  Participants meet with a licensed or certified substance 
abuse counselor for a screening or assessment (and must follow the recommendations of the 
counselor), and may participate in an educational program and perform community service.  TASP 
case managers support youth to complete the program.  Assessment and treatment are not covered 
through TASP funding 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
 

822 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 


	State Report
	Blank Page



