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New Hampshire 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,320,718 
Population Ages 12–20:  171,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 36.2 62,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 25.1 43,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.2 3,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.0 1,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.7 14,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.0 9,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 66.8 46,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 48.1 33,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  9 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  543 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 9.0 1 

 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
• Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for any 

losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale. 
Note:  In New Hampshire, the prohibition against the use of a false ID for purchasing alcoholic 
beverages applies to persons less than 21 years old.   

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  90 days 
• Maximum:  365 days 
Note:  Although New Hampshire does not authorize a use/lose penalty for all underage 
consumption, a law imposes a discretionary license sanction on minors who are “intoxicated  
by consumption of an alcoholic beverage” and provides that an alcohol concentration “of .02  
or more shall be prima facie evidence of intoxication.” 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months   
• No minimum age   
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  1 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one nonfamily passenger under 25, unless 
accompanied by driver over 25 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire after 6 months; 

unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  17 
• Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
• Age assessment panel.  Casual attire; average height and build.  If decoy is 20 years old, must 

appear to be between 17 and 19.  Male:  No facial hair.  Female:  Minimal makeup.  

ID possession 
• Required 
  

614 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – New Hampshire 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
• First offense:  No aggravating factors—$500 fine, four license points, 3-day suspension 
Note:  Fine range mandated by statute.  Only one compliance check annually shall incur  
license points. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for managers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies only to new outlets 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  16 
• Wine:  16 
• Spirits:  16 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 
Note:  To act as a cashier in a selling capacity, a minor is required to be at least 16 years old, 
providing a person at least 18 years old is in attendance and is designated in charge of the 
employees and business. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation 
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Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Note:  New Hampshire law includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.   

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Intention, possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Overt act—host must have 

actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence 
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
• Exception(s):  Family 
Note:  In New Hampshire, an “underage alcohol house party” means a gathering of five or more 
people under age 21 at any occupied structure, dwelling, or curtilage, where at least one person 
under age 21 unlawfully possesses or consumes an alcoholic beverage.  A person is guilty of a 
misdemeanor if he or she owns or has control of the occupied structure, dwelling, or curtilage 
where an underage alcohol house party is held and he or she knowingly commits an overt act in 
furtherance of the occurrence of the underage alcohol house party, knowing persons under age 
21 possess or intend to consume alcoholic beverages.  The “preventive action” provision in New 
Hampshire allows the defendant to avoid criminal liability by establishing, as an affirmative 
defense, that he or she took preventive action with respect to the underage alcohol house party. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments  

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled 
spirits with the following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.   

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  
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Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  More than 7 gallons 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000 

• Purchaser information collected:   
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  No law 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post—wholesalers shall make their current prices available to 

the commission in writing. 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—10 days maximum 
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Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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New Hampshire State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

New Hampshire State Liquor Commission, Division of Enforcement and Licensing 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

New Hampshire State 
Liquor Commission, 
Div. of Enforcement 

and Licensing 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 141 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 3,290 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 339 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 40 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 4 

Total amount in fines across all licensees $1,200 with $700 
suspended 

Smallest fine imposed $500 
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Largest fine imposed $1,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 6 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 3 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Regional Prevention Networks  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
  http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/prevention.htm 

 

Program Description:  The Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Prevention Services developed and supports a 
comprehensive statewide prevention system consisting of 10 regional networks (RNs).  Each RN 
services a defined geographical area that allows communities to address local needs related to alcohol 
and other drugs.  RNs utilize the strategic prevention framework model in convening community-level 
stakeholders to be proactive in creating communities that support healthy lifestyles among their 
residents.  RNs and Coalitions harness the community’s power to address change and promote 
wellness.  This well-functioning coalition structure engages residents, law enforcement, members from 
the medical and faith-based communities, schools, nonprofits, businesses, local government, parents, 
families, and youth to all work in tandem to address a community’s needs.  Each of the 10 regions has a 
comprehensive, data-driven 3-year plan.  Plans can be found at 
http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/prevention.htm. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
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Additional Clarification   

The Bureau is in the process of measuring the effectiveness of the regional networks and can provide a 
logic model with short, intermediate, and long-term measurable objectives.  These regions are funded in 
part by the federal Block Grant and through private and local funds. 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  New Hampshire Center for Excellence Yes 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Process for New Hampshire prevention providers to select 
evidence-based interventions:   
Definition of Intervention:  An intervention is an activity conducted to address a contributing factor 
that influences a problem or risk behavior.  Interventions can be in the realm of policy, programs, 
practices, and procedures.  A connecting process is necessary to demonstrate that an intervention is 
both evidence based and fits local conditions.  It is not enough to be just evidence based or just a 
good fit for the community; both must be documented and demonstrated.   
Evidence-Based Determination:   
1. Clearly define the contributing factor (community need to be addressed).   
2. Identify the intervention to be implemented.   
3. Document the strength of the evidence for the intervention by selecting from one of the five 

SAMHSA-approved federal registries of evidence-based approaches (See links below ) or by 
compiling and summarizing documentation to support the selection of an intervention that 
addresses the contributing factor.   
a. For interventions appearing on SAMHSA-approved federal registries of evidence-based 

approaches, attach the intervention summary abstract from the SAMHSA-approved registry 
(such as NREPP, the OJJDP Model Programs Guide, or the CDC Guide to Community-
Prevention Services).  Note:  SAMHSA-approved registries are dynamic and evolving, with 
approved programs and practices being added regularly as evidence of effectiveness is 
established and confirmed. 

b. For interventions not appearing on SAMHSA-approved federal registries of evidence-based 
approaches, documentation of being reported (with positive effects) in a peer- reviewed 
journal.   

c. For interventions not appearing on SAMHSA-approved federal registries of evidence-based 
approaches, or having documentation in a peer-reviewed journal article, document the 
evaluation research literature that supports the effectiveness of the strategy.  Literature that is 
recent and that provides adequate rigor is recommended.  The following guidelines should be 
followed to ensure the research is sound and the anticipated outcomes will be met:   
i. The intervention must be based on a theory of change that is documented in a conceptual 

logic model.. 
ii. The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively implemented in 

the past and multiple times.   
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iii. The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed prevention 
experts conducted by the Center for Excellence, Service to Science Expert Panel 
(http://www.nhcenterforexcellence.com).   

4. Document the feasibility and fit of this intervention for your community:   
a. All evidence used as supporting research must directly relate to the community problem and its 

contributing factor(s).  That is, selecting an evidenced-based program that increases children’s 
reading ability to address early onset of alcohol use is not compelling, unless the applicant can 
show a direct and well-documented association between improved reading and delaying the 
onset of substance use.   

b. Indicate a clear understanding of the theory of change (e.g., with if/then statements) that the 
intervention follows.   

c. Provide statement(s) addressing the community readiness to address the contributing 
factor(s).   

d. Provide a description of the capacity to implement selected intervention (feasibility).   
e. Provide a statement addressing fidelity.  Will the evidence-based intervention be implemented 

as it was designed and evaluated?  If not, the proposal must include a clear explanation of why 
an adaptation is necessary to suit local culture (or other community conditions) and how it will 
be implemented in such a way as to remain true to the core elements of the evidence-based 
intervention.   

5. Identify outcomes to be evaluated, including those factors that the intervention is known to affect, 
and the systems in place to collect necessary information.  Specify how these outcomes will be 
measured to gauge their impact on contributing factor(s).   

Glossary of Terms  
• Community readiness—the extent to which a community is adequately prepared to implement a 

drug abuse prevention program.   
• Evidence-based prevention—a set of prevention activities that evaluation research has shown to 

be effective.  Some of these prevention activities help individuals develop the intentions and skills 
to act in a healthy manner.  Others focus on creating an environment that supports healthy 
behavior.  Sometimes, the activities we call “evidence based” other organizations call research  or 
science based.   

• Feasibility—The degree to which an intervention is appropriate for the community’s population, 
cultural context, and local circumstances including its resources, capacities, and readiness to take 
action.   

• Fit—The degree to which an intervention targets the community’s identified substance abuse 
problem and the underlying factors that contribute to the problem.   

• Intervention—Interventions encompass programs, practices, and policies that affect individuals, 
groups of individuals, or entire communities.   

• Strength of Evidence—Strong evidence means that the positive outcomes assessed are 
attributable to the intervention rather than to extraneous events, and that the intervention reliably 
produces the same pattern of positive outcomes in similar populations and contexts.   

This document is based in large part on guidance provided by the Center for Substance Abuse 
Prevention (Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions Revised Guidance Document for 
the Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant Program.  HHS Pub. No. (SMA)09-4205.  
Rockville, MD:  Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services Administration, 2009).  http://store.samhsa.gov/shin/content/SMA09-4205/SMA09-4205.pdf 

Additional Clarification  

To ensure evidence-based programs, practices, and interventions are of sound evidence, the New 
Hampshire Center for Excellence conducts and utilizes a  “Service to Science” approach by  
convening a panel of experts (state and national) to review program components and research that 
supports them, and provides guidance and technical assistance to prevention providers to improve 
prevention outcomes. 
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State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Tym Rourke 
E-mail:  tr@nhcf.org 
Address:  37 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH  03301 
Phone:  603-225-6641 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Attorney General 
NH Adjutant General 
NH Administrative Judge of the District Courts 
Chairperson of the NH Liquor Commission 
NH Commission of the Department of Health and Human Services 
NH Commissioner of the Department of Education 
NH Commissioner of the Department of Corrections 
NH Commissioner of the Department of Safety 
NH Director of the Office of Alcohol and Drug Policy 
Public member:  alcohol and other drug prevention professional 
Public member:  alcohol and other drug prevention professional  
Public member:  alcohol and other drug treatment professional  
Public member:  nonprofessional  
NH House of Representatives  
NH Senate 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/commission.htm 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Governor’s Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention, Intervention and 
Treatment 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/documents/collectiveaction.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  New Hampshire Center for Excellence 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.unh.edu/cfex/data/substance-alcohol.html 

Additional Clarification  

The Prevention Task Force of the New Hampshire Governor’s Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
released the Model School Policy Report to provide guidance to New Hampshire schools on developing 
model policies to address alcohol and other drug use 
(http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/documents/modelschoolpolicy.pdf). 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 
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K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following  
revenue streams:   

 

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other: No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  

The NHSLC Division of Enforcement relies on federal funding through the Enforcing Underage Drinking 
Laws Grant.  An estimated 90+ percent of our enforcement, education, and deterrence activity was 
funded through this federal source.  The EUDL grant is no longer available, which will have a substantial 
impact on our priorities.  We have experienced a high compliance rate over the last several years and 
believe this rate will decrease due to the lack of funding to support these critical programs. 

NH in the past provided state funds for AOD prevention, but in 2011 due to budget reductions those 
funds were cut. 
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