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 State Reports – Nevada 

 
Nevada 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,758,931 
Population Ages 12–20:  338,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.9 87,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.0 54,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.7 5,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.0 2,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.5 23,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.5 13,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.4 59,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 32.3 39,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  42 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  2,543 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 14.0 6 

 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location OR  
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• No driver’s license suspension procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  90 days 
• Maximum:  730 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 18 unless they are immediate family 
members 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire after 6 months; 

unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18 
Note:  Driver’s education course requirement for persons under 18.  Exception:  If a driver’s 
education course is not offered within a 30-mile radius of a person’s residence, the person may 
instead complete an additional 50 hours of supervised driving.  

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 
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Note:  The applicability of Nevada’s “alcoholic beverage awareness program” to on-sale retailers 
is limited to establishments located in a jurisdiction that (a) is located in a county whose 
population is 100,000 or more or (b) is located in a county whose population is less than 
100,000, if the governing body of the jurisdiction has, by the affirmative vote of a majority  
of its members, agreed to be bound by the provisions of section 9 of the act.  

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  16 
• Wine:  16 
• Spirits:  16 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  21 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  21 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowingly furnishing a minor or allowing  

a minor to consume alcohol on premises that social host controls 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Uncertain 
• Wine:  Uncertain 
• Spirits:  Uncertain 
Note:  A person may import from another state 1 gallon or less of alcohol per month for personal 
use.  It is uncertain whether an out-of-state retailer may ship alcohol directly to the consumer for 
personal use.   
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled 
spirits with the following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements 
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol—applies to internet orders 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 
Note:  Regulated by county and city governments. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.16 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.70 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $3.60 per gallon 
• Additional taxes:  Distilled spirits over 14 percent and up to 22 percent  are taxed at $1.30 

per gallon. 
Note:  An additional excise tax of $1.50 per gallon may be imposed on all liquor containing an 
alcohol content of more than 22 percent, but only if the federal gallonage tax imposed by 26 
U.S.C. § 5001 is reduced to $9 per gallon.  This additional tax is not collected. 

Drink Specials 
No law 
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—41 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—41 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—41 days maximum 
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Nevada State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Nevada does not have a state-level alcohol control agency.  Each local jurisdiction is responsible for 
enforcing state laws and local ordinances related to underage drinking.  The Nevada Department of 
Health and Human Services, Juvenile Justice Programs Office, manages the Enforcing Underage 
Drinking Laws (EUDL) program funded by OJJDP, and subgrants funds distributed to local 
prevention coalitions and law enforcement agencies. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement 
agencies 

Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 Not applicable 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, 
or both retail establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 2,287 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 481 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
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Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
 furnish minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Responsible Beverage Server Training  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  In 2005, the Nevada State Legislature passed into law the Responsible 
Beverage Server Training bill.  This law requires counties with more than 400,000 people to require all 
servers and sellers of alcohol to complete a training with established curriculum and standards related to 
responsible beverage server practices.  This includes avoiding the provision of alcohol to minors and to 
customers clearly impaired from alcohol consumption.  Curriculum includes denying sales, techniques, 
local alcohol ordinances, and fake IDs.  Two counties have more than 400,000 people:  Clark County 
(Las Vegas area) with over 2 million residents (70 percent of Nevada’s population), and Washoe County 
with just over 400,000 residents (20 percent of Nevada’s population).  The remaining 15 counties all 
have under 55,000 residents.  Local law enforcement check for server training cards when they conduct 
their alcohol sale to minors compliance operations.  A notice of infraction is issued to the business if an 
employee does not have a current card, and a copy is sent to the Nevada Department of Taxation.  The 
Department then sends the notice of fine to the business.  Revenue from the fines is divided by 50 
percent each to the Victims Restitution Fund and to the EUDL program.  The EUDL funds from these 
fines are used to purchase equipment needed by law enforcement officers to conduct EUDL operations. 
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Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Operations Training  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Working with Nevada’s EUDL program, Nevada’s Peace Officers Standards 
and Training (POST) has approved training for peace officers for continuing education units in the 
following EUDL strategic operations:  alcohol sale to minors, compliance checks, third-party purchaser 
operations, special events, alcohol control, DUI prevention and intervention, fake ID identification, and 
intervention controlled juvenile party dispersal.  Nevada uses trainers available through the Underage 
Drinking Enforcement and Training Center, and has a UDETC trainer in Nevada located within the Las 
Vegas Metropolitan Police Department.  Three other local trainers serving the northern and rural parts of 
the state are approved to conduct these training sessions as well. 

Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association (NIAA) Drug and  
Alcohol Policy 

 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   Call Kathy Bartosz,  

775-841-4730 x203 
URL for more program information:  http://www.niaa.com  

Program Description:  Working with the Nevada EUDL program, the NIAA crafted an Alcohol and Drug 
Policy that must be implemented by every high school sports program (including cheerleaders) in order 
to participate in NIAA sports.  The policy is a three-step graduated sanctions project.  At the beginning of 
the season, every athlete and a parent must attend an overview of the policy and sign the agreement to 
the three-level sanctions:  First offense:  2-week suspension from play (but athlete must still attend 
practices) and 10 hours of community service.  Second offense:  3-month suspension from play, and 
athlete must attend mandatory alcohol and other drug assessment and comply with assessment 
recommendations.  Third offense:  Athlete is suspended from high school sports participation for the 
remainder of his/her high school career.  Although the third offense response seems harsh, at this point 
it is assumed the student has an alcohol or drug problem that participation in sports is not successful in 
preventing or deterring, and the student is in need of a more targeted treatment response.  It is now the 
school’s responsibility to promote the image of sports as a healthy activity, and participation requires a 
commitment to a drug-free lifestyle, and is a privilege, not a right.  If this privilege is not respected, than 
that spot on the team should go to someone who would honor the commitment. 

University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) Tiered Program Response  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
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URL for evaluation report:  Call Kathy Bartosz, 775-841-4730 x203  
URL for more program information: Call Kathy Bartosz, 775-841-4730 
x203 

 

Program Description:  UNR, in collaboration with the Nevada EUDL project, received a discretionary 
grant from OJJDP to create effective responses to alcohol violations on campus that would incorporate 
violations off campus as well.  The responses are:  (1) The Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for 
College Students (BASICS), including an education conference, personal drinking behavior 
documentation, and followup conference; (2) Substance Abuse Therapeutic Education to Ensure 
Personal Student Success (STEPS), including weekly psychoeducational classes to address behaviors 
and choices led by a substacne abuse counselor, personalized assessment, drug and alcohol testing, 
attending drug court and case management meetings; and (3) Treatment, Responsibility, Accountability 
on Campus (onTRAC), including a personalized program of alcohol testing, individual and group 
counseling, case management meetings, student development activities, and wellness experiences.  
Random drug testing may also be used at this level.  This program system has achieved a 7 percent 
recidivism rate.  In addition to the personal interventions, UNR changed policies related to alcohol sales 
at sporting events, limiting sale of one drink per person at a time, stopping sales of alcohol at half-time, 
restricting tail-gating areas, and screening at game entry to prohibit bringing in alcohol, or admission of 
people clearly intoxicated.  Friday night alternative activities are provided for all campus residents. 

Nellis Air Force Base Peer Performance Project  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Available for 1st-year results 6/30/14.  
Call Kathy Bartosz, 775-841-4730 x203 

 

URL for more program information:  Call Kathy Bartosz,  
775-841-4730 x203 

 

Program Description:  New this year, the Nevada EUDL program was awarded a discretionary grant 
from the OJJDP through which it is collaborating with Nellis Air Force Base in Clark County to curtail 
underage drinking by approaching the young airmen as the ultimate “team.”  As such, the airmen should 
be “Living the Life of an Athlete,” a program developed by John Underwood with the American Athletic 
Institute.  Nellis Air Force Base usually has 10,000 airmen at any given time on base.  This program will 
reach all of them with a presentation outlining the life of an athlete, including diet, sleep, central nervous 
system fatigue, workout preparation, and recovery, and the effects of alcohol on overall and long-term 
performance.  By embedding the alcohol information within the context of ultimate performance and not 
as a separate “don’t drink” program, initial response demonstrates greater engagement and positive 
response with the “avoid drinking” message.  The message is reinforced with motivational posters, diet 
tips, exercise tips, and on-base “extreme activity” group and individual competitions.  Local law 
enforcement, the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department, is setting up 12 DUI checkpoints on the 
road leading into Las Vegas from the base 12 times over the next 3 years, and conducting alcohol sale 
to minors compliance checks in surrounding bars, alcohol sale locations, and other EUDL enforcement 
operations as an added deterrent to underage drinking.  Violations by airmen will be reported to the 
base mental health services unit.  This program was initiated in May 2013, and an evaluation system is 
in place, but no data outcomes will be available until June 30, 2014. 

Nevada Coalition EUDL Minigrant Opportunities  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
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URL for evaluation report:  Call Kathy Bartosz, 775-841-4730 x203  
URL for more program information:  Call Kathy Bartosz,  
775-841-4730 x203 

 

Program Description:  Nevada’s 12 local community prevention coalitions created a Statewide 
Prevention Coalitions (SWPC) organization, authorized as a 501c3.  The SWCP members are the 
coalition directors.  The SWPC meets quarterly, and the EUDL initiative is a standing agenda item.  The 
SWPC gives advice and direction to the Nevada EUDL.  The coalition communities are very diverse in 
population as well as in underage drinking prevention needs and resources.  Therefore, with SWCP 
involvement, the EUDL initiative created a minigrant opportunity for up to $5,000 that coalitions could 
access to support underage drinking prevention environmental strategies in their communities.  
Applicants needed to demonstrate that their strategies are best practices or promising practices, and  
are relevant to their community population, need, and resources.  A minigrant report was created that 
adapted to the DCTAT evaluation report required by OJJDP for reporting and evaluation purposes. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 
 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  The Nevada EUDL initiative collaborates with the Statewide Native 
American Coalition (SNAC).  The director of the SNAC is a member of the Statewide Prevention 
Coalition Partnership, providing direction and guidance to the EUDL project.  EUDL has presented at 
the statewide SNAC conferences, trained law enforcement in EUDL operations, and purchased 
equipment needed for conducting these operations.  Additionally, SNAC has been awarded EUDL 
minigrants to support environmental strategies unique to the Native American population, and 
provided funds to support a Youth Leadership Coordinator for one of the Tribes. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 
(OJJDP) 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Juvenile Justice Programs Office Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Best practice standards are reviewed by the Underage Drinking 
Enforcement and Training Center (UDETC), and the Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation 
(PIRE).  Standards approved by these two institutions are adopted by the Nevada Juvenile Justice 
Programs Office.  The EUDL project develops goals and objectives and creates related Work Plans 
for approval by UDETC and PIRE, and ultimately the OJJDP. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 
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Committee contact information:   
Name:  Linda Lang 
E-mail:  dlhlang@pyramid.net 
Address:  1711 N. Roop Street, Carson City, NV  89706  
Phone:  775-841-4730 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Care Coalition 
Partnership Carson City 
Partnership of Community Resources 
NV Community Prevention Coalition 
PACE Coalition 
Healthy Communities Coalition 
Frontier Community Coalition 
Join Together of Northern Nevada 
PACT Coalition 
Nye Communities Coalition 
Inter-Tribal Council of NV., Inc.:  Statewide Native American Coalition 
Churchill Community Coalition 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

The Nevada EUDL initiative has created a statewide database that summarizes all EUDL operations 
conducted in the state, and can be queried in a number of ways to produce documentation of EUDL 
operations and trends in Nevada. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

All law enforcement operations targeting underage drinking enforcement are funded by federal and/or 
local funds and are conducted by local law enforcement agencies.  Check points are conducted by 
these local agencies, often in collaboration with other entities such as NV State Parks, Highway Patrol, 
and the Bureau of Indian Affairs.  The breakout figures for these specific operations are all federally 
funded. 

The Nevada Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Agency (SAPTA) funds 12 coalitions that 
serve all 17 Nevada counties.  The coalitions conduct complete needs assessments every 3 years and 
revise their Comprehensive Community Prevention Plans every year.  The needs assessments of Plans 
determine the priorities for the coalition.  The number one priority is to prevent the onset of childhood 
and underage drinking and drug use.  The funds that SAPTA allocates to each coalition both for 
environmental strategies and for subgrants to direct prevention service providers must accomplish the 
scopes of work that have been given to SAPTA and determined by state and local data.  A specific 
dollar amount is not given to the coalitions for each activity within the Scope of Work. 
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