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State Reports – Alabama 

 
Alabama 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  4,822,023 
Population Ages 12-20:  594,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.4 121,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.3 73,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.8 9,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.2 4,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.1 35,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.3 24,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 35.9 77,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 21.1 45,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  94 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  5,662 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 20.0 29 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation  
• Minimum:  90 days 
• Maximum:  180 days 
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• No minimum supervised driving requirement with driver education; 30 hours without 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger who is not a parent, guardian, 
family member, or person at least 21 years old 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  16 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
• Male:  No beard 
• Female:  No heavy makeup 

ID possession 
• Discretionary—not required on detail but must tell true age if asked 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  4 years 
• First offense:  $750 fine and no hearing 
• Second offense:  $1,000 fine and no hearing 
• Third offense:  Hearing required  
Note:  Board has the authority to impose fines up to $1,000 or invoke a suspension/revocation of 
up to 1 year.  For establishments certified under the Responsible Vendor Act, fines may 
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potentially be mitigated by approximately one half if all training/prevention requirements of the 
Act are met. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 
• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  Not specified 
• Wine:  Not specified 
• Spirits:  21 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 
Note:  A minor employee of an off-premises retail licensee may handle, transport or sell beer or 
table wine, provided there is an adult employee in attendance at all times. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within one mile. 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within one mile. 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists. 
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Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence. 
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation. 
Note:  Alabama’s provision requires that the adult social host be in attendance at the gathering or 
party in order for a violation to occur.  The “preventive action” provision in Alabama requires 
the prosecution to prove that the host failed to take preventive action. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Prohibited 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.05 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited  
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited—not permitted before 10 a.m. or  

after 9 p.m. 
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Alabama State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 1,096 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 8,500 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 4,477 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 384 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale,  
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 4,477 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 384 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Don’t know 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 2 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 365 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 180 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Baldwin County Mental Health Center  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.bcmhcal.com/children.asp 

 

Program Description:  Information Dissemination Goal:  Educate Baldwin County residents to 
decrease access and availability of alcohol and prescription drugs to Baldwin County youth through 
media efforts by September 30, 2012.  Objective #3:  Distribute at least 200 brochures about the 
dangers of underage drinking at the high schools by May 2013.  Brochures, pamphlets, posters, and 
flyers – distribute during town hall meetings and DEA National Prescription Drug Take-Back Days, and 
via underage drinking tip line on pharmacy bags, local police departments, Sheriff’s Office, middle and 
high schools, community agencies, and community centers.  Clearinghouse/information resource 
centers – will use pamphlets for town hall meetings, parent resources, and community resources.  
Community resource directories – distribute these during town hall meetings, DEA Prescription Drug 
Take-Back Days, and Baldwin Star Search county-wide event, and post on the Baldwin County 
Community Alliance (BCCA) website (http://www.proudtobefreebaldwin.org).  Information lines/Hot lines 
– underage drinking tip line 251-580-1TIP would be advertised through radio and TV PSAs, pamphlets, 
websites, pharmacy bags, student pledge card, and posters.  Information through websites – The BCCA 
website will list student and parent resources for education on underage drinking prevention and 
prescription drug.  This website will also list community DEA Prescription Drug Take-Back Day 
locations, events, activities, contests and winners; 30-second winning commercials; previous segments 
on local TV station housed by topic; newspaper articles; Alliance members contact information; 
underage drinking tip line; and ABC Board and Sheriff’s Office numbers for alcohol-related reports.  
Media campaigns – would include radio and TV PSAs, billboards, websites, newspaper articles 
submissions, posters, pamphlets, informational cards, and brochures.  Newspaper and newsletter 
articles – the BCCA will submit newspaper articles throughout the year to highlight town hall meetings, 
DEA Prescription Drug Take-Back Days, underage drinking tip line, events and activities, county-wide 
youth substance use data, parent and teen resources, educational information for residents, and 
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underage drinking prevention-related youth contest winners.  Radio and TV public service 
announcements – the BCCA will air radio and TV PSAs on the underage drinking tip line, DEA 
Prescription Drug Take-Back Days, underage drinking prevention and prescription drugs educational 
spots, town hall meeting date, and Baldwin Star Search county-wide drug-free event.  Speaking 
engagements – BCCA members will conduct presentations in their respective communities using a 
unified packet developed by Alliance members.  Packets would include Fast Fact on Social Hosting, 
decreasing access and availability of underage drinking and prescription drugs by youth, and 
environmental safe disposal of prescription drugs. 

Drug Education Council  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The Chemical Abuse Prevention Program (CAPP)  is offered to students who 
are nonviolent first-time offenders for offenses such as under the influence or found in possession of 
alcohol, marijuana, or prescription drugs while on school campuses or during school events.  It is a 5-
week program mandating attendance of both student and a parent and is an alternative to expulsion. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

Description of program:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  OJJDP 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Restrict the age of alcohol servers and sellers.   
Restrict minors’ access to bars and nightclubs.  Responsible beverage service programs.   
Carry out compliance check programs.  Penalties for commercial violations.  Establish alcohol 
restrictions in public locations. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
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State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Maranda Brown 
E-mail:  maranda.brown@mh.alabama.gov 
Address:  100 N. Union St. Montgomery, AL  36130 
Phone:  334-353-8969 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Elmore County Court  
University of Alabama Birmingham  
Big Lots Distribution Center, Inc.  
United States Armed Forces  
Mental Health Center  
Alabama Coalition Against Domestic Violence  
Sheriff’s Office  
Public Safety - State Trooper  
State AARP  
Attorney General Office 
Southern Prevention Associates  
Alabama Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy  
Homewood City Schools  
South & North Regional Clearinghouses  
Calhoun County Health Department  
Department of Human Resources  
Partnership for a Drug Free Community (coalition)  
Jacksonville State University  
Alabama State Dept. of Education  
Foster Care Association  
Eve’s Circle 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 

URL or other means of access:  http://www.mh.alabama.gov/SAPV/?sm=d_d 
 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Not sure 

Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Alabama Department of Mental Health - Epidemiologist 
Plan can be accessed via:  Abbreviated report derived from epidemiological profile and can be 
found at http://www.mh.alabama.gov/Downloads/SAPV/Media/Factsheets/UnderageDrinking.pdf 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $7,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/23/2013 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  Agency for Substance Abuse Prevention 

Clearinghouse, Elmore County Partnership for Children, Council on Substance Abuse, 
Drug Education Clearinghouse, Selma Dallas Collaborative 

 

Estimate of state funds expended $300,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/23/2013 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other:  Unsure No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Alaska 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  731,449 
Population Ages 12–20:   9,100 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.4 21,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.3 14,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.8 1,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.1 1,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.1 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.0 4,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 41.7 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 29.4 9,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  14 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  843 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 0.0 0 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the 

purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 
• Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for any 

losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers age 14 or above 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, of which 10 must be at night or  

in inclement weather 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  1 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 21 except siblings, unless at least one 
passenger is parent, guardian, or person at least 21 years old 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule  

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private location AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20 1/2 

Appearance requirements 
• No rings on left finger; age-appropriate dress   
• Male:  No facial hair   
• Female:  No excessive facial makeup or lipstick   

ID possession 
• Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Permitted 

Decoy training 
• Mandated—3 to 4 hours of classroom training on policies, procedures, and scenarios and  

2 hours of field training with a seasoned decoy 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 
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Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 
• Wine:  21 
• Spirits:  21 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  21 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  21 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities  
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Uncertain 
• Wine:  Uncertain 
• Spirits:  Uncertain 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, distilled spirits 
with the following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements:  None 

Reporting requirements:  None 

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol—applies to wine shipments 
• Recipient must be 21—applies to wine shipments 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted—all orders must be in writing.  Written information on fetal alcohol 

syndrome must be included in all shipments. 
• Wine:  Permitted—all orders must be in writing.  Written information on fetal alcohol 

syndrome must be included in all shipments. 
• Spirits:  Permitted—all orders must be in writing.  Written information on fetal alcohol 

syndrome must be included in all shipments. 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.07 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $12.80 per gallon 
Additional taxes:  $2.50 per gallon for alcohol content of less than 21 percent. 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
No pricing restrictions 
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Alaska State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

The Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board coordinates efforts with the Alaska Bureau of Alcohol 
and Drug Enforcement (ABADE) division of the Alaska State Troopers.  The agency also depends 
on state and local police to enforce alcohol laws (Title 4).  With four investigators and one 
enforcement unit supervisor, the ABC Board must rely on the assistance of local law enforcement 
and state troopers to enforce laws across the state.  License fees are refunded to municipalities that 
have police departments and that enforce Title 4.  The Alaska Court System has primary 
responsibility for enforcing consequences related to any charges. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws Don’t know 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law  
enforcement agencies 2,890 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law  
enforcement agencies 

No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2  
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting  
sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 1,526 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 828 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 84 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-
sale, or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations Yes 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 828 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 84 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities Not applicable 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
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Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that  
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 5 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $2,500 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/30/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 4 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 180 days with 152 of  
those suspended. 

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 45 days with 38 of  
those suspended. 

Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 45 days with 38 of  
those suspended. 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/30/2012 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/30/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Adult and Juvenile Alcohol Safety Action Programs (ASAP)  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 1,518 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:  
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Pages/Prevention/programs/asap/default.asp
x 

 

Program Description:  ASAP provides substance abuse screening, case management, and 
accountability for driving while intoxicated (DWI) and other alcohol/drug-related misdemeanor cases.  
This involves screening cases referred from the district court into drinker classification categories, as 
well as thoroughly monitoring cases throughout education and/or treatment requirements.  ASAP 
operates as a neutral link between the justice and health care delivery systems.  This requires a close 
working relationship among all involved agencies:  enforcement, prosecution, judicial, probation, 
corrections, rehabilitation, licensing, traffic records, and public information/education.   
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The benefits of ASAP monitoring include:   

• Increased accountability of offenders  
• Reduced recidivism resulting from successful completion of required education or treatment 
• Significant reductions in the amount of resources spent by prosecutors, law enforcement officers, 

judges, attorneys, and corrections officers enforcing court-ordered conditions  
• Increased safety for victims and the larger community; offenders are more likely to receive treatment, 

make court appearances, and comply with other probation conditions  

Much like the adult program, the Juvenile Alcohol Safety Action Program (JASAP) receives referrals for 
those under age 18 who have three or more minor possession or consuming offenses, or who have a 
driving under the influence (DUI) type offense.  In Alaska, ASAP is an integral part of the criminal justice 
and behavioral health care service systems, providing invaluable and necessary monitoring and tracking 
of clients referred to substance abuse services throughout the state.  Five probation officers and five 
community grantees handle traditional adult misdemeanor ASAP referrals; an additional seven 
community grantees are funded to handle juvenile cases.  In addition to the Anchorage office, adult and 
juvenile grant programs are located in Fairbanks, Juneau, Kenai/Homer, Kotzebue, and Wasilla/Palmer.  
Juvenile-only programs are located in Anchorage, Dillingham, Ketchikan, Kodiak, Seward, Nome, and 
Bethel.  ASAP provides a standardized statewide network of alcohol screening and case management 
for cases referred by the criminal justice system.  It offers a consistent process to ensure that clients 
complete required substance abuse education or treatment programs as prescribed by the courts.  
ASAP, including the Anchorage office, monitors these cases to confirm with the court and the 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when clients have completed court-ordered assignments.  In FY  
2010, ASAP incorporated motivational interviewing (MI), an evidence-based practice, as a model for 
increasing the engagement of clients during their first encounter with ASAP staff.  Through the use of 
MI-styled interviews, the expected outcome is that clients will be motivated to change their personal 
behaviors and attitudes related to alcohol and drug use, thereby increasing their completion and 
success rates following the receipt of required services.  Grantees are also responsible for engaging 
their community prevention coalition and for being involved in ASAP outreach and education efforts in 
schools, community forums, and other appropriate venues. 

Alcohol Drug Information School (ADIS)  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 17 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Pages/Prevention/programs/adis/default.aspx 

 

Program Description:  ADIS programs provide education to first-time DWI and Minor Consuming 
offenders, as well as those convicted of other alcohol/drug-related offenses, if those persons would not 
be diagnosed as a substance abuser.  ADIS programs aim to reduce subsequent alcohol- and/or drug-
related offenses and associated high-risk behaviors.  ADIS programs cover the effects of alcohol and 
drugs on driving and social behaviors, as well as health and legal consequences.  Each ADIS program 
conforms to the same standards and is approved and monitored by the Division of Behavioral Health.  
These programs are designed to be available to all Alaskans involved in alcohol- and/or drug-related 
offenses.  Adult and youth programs uses an identical core curriculum combining the most recent 
research in early intervention and prevention.  Each program includes regionally specific information and 
is designed to be relevant to all segments of Alaska’s diverse population while ensuring uniformity of the 
core ADIS program content statewide.  The adult program uses a core curriculum developed by the 
Change Company and the State of Alaska.  Adult ADIS programs are appropriate for adults over age 
18. 
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PRIME for Life  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 217 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.voaak.org/Services/Prevention--Intervention/PRIME-for-Life 

 

Program Description:  PRIME for Life-Under 21, is similar to the ADIS course but was developed by 
the Prevention Research Institute (PRI) and is used for individuals age 14 but not yet 21. 

Comprehensive Behavioral Health Prevention and Early  
Intervention Services 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:  
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Pages/Prevention/grants/resources.aspx 

 

Program Description:  This grant program funds a comprehensive array of promotion, prevention, and 
early intervention approaches that focus on community-designed and community-driven services.  
These services are based on concepts and program strategies that have proven to be effective in the 
prevention of behavioral health concerns.  The grant dollars “blend, braid, and pool” resources and 
programming concepts into an integrated approach to behavioral health prevention.  The program is 
aware that substance abuse, mental health, suicide, fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, family violence, 
juvenile delinquency, and other issues are interrelated.  Thus, one program goals is for communities to 
have the freedom to connect these issues,  partner and collaborate with community members working 
on connected and related issues, and focus on what it will take to develop overall community health and 
wellness.  Agencies throughout the state receive funding through this grant program in remote or rural, 
as well as hub and urban, communities.  Each community applying for these funds must use the 
SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention’s Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) planning 
model to assess, plan, strategize, implement, and evaluate community-based services.  Prevention 
strategies must be identified based on a clear assessment of local/regional data, selecting programs or 
practices that are data driven.  This model promotes a better connection between program selection and 
the critical issues facing the community, as evidenced by the available data. 

Alaska SPF SIG  
Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:  
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Pages/Prevention/programs/spfsig/default. 
aspx 

 

Program Description:  No data 
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Resiliency and Youth Development Program  
Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:  
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Pages/Prevention/programs/resiliency/default
.aspx 

 

Program Description:  No data 

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders  
Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:  
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/fas/Pages/default.aspx 

 

Program Description:  No data 

Alaska Enforcing the Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program  
Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  In 1998, Congress acknowledged the seriousness of underage drinking and 
related problems by appropriating funding to encourage the enforcement of underage drinking laws 
throughout the country.  The EUDL program was established to support and enhance the efforts of state 
and local jurisdictions to prohibit the sale of alcoholic beverages by minors (defined as under age 21).  
EUDL’s strategic goal is to reduce the availability of alcoholic beverages to minors.  The initiative 
includes four programmatic elements:  (1) block grants to each state and the District of Columbia to fund 
the establishment of a statewide task force and innovative programs to prevent underage drinking with a 
strong emphasis on law enforcement; (2) discretionary grants to selected states to fund enhanced 
activities at the local level; (3) technical assistance to guide states and communities in their efforts; and 
(4) national evaluation of the EUDL program.  Although EUDL funding supports a wide range of 
activities, most states focus on enforcement.  EUDL funding has also helped states promote community 
awareness of underage drinking, encourage changes in norms regarding underage drinking, and 
develop organizational structures and relationships to support coordinated efforts. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
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Additional Clarification   

The state operates and funds many efforts; therefore, the programs listed in this report may not 
constitute the entirety of those targeting or addressing underage drinking. 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  The State of Alaska partners with Tribal health corporations to fund 
community-level prevention strategies driven by the needs of individual communities or regions.  
Currently, the state’s prevention partners are Bristol Bay Health Corporation, Fairbanks Native 
Association, Maniilaq, Akiachak Native Community, Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium, 
Asa’carsarmiut, Association of Village Council Presidents, Cook Inlet Tribal Council, Copper River 
Native Association, Ketchikan Indian Corporation, Kodiak Area Native Health Association, Native 
Village of Gakona, Nulato, Shishmaref IRA Council, Tanana Chiefs Conference, Yukon Kuskokwim 
Health Corporation, Eastern Aleutian Tribes, and Norton Sound Health Corporation.  The state also 
relies on input and support of leaders from the Alaska Native community through informal and formal 
avenues, including participation in the SPF SIG processes, which include the Advisory Committee, 
Epidemiological Committee, and Evidence-Based Work Group.  Representatives from the Alaska 
Native Justice Center are on the Alaska Interagency Committee to Prevent Underage Drinking. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Program description:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Alaska Interagency Committee to Prevent 
Underage Drinking (ACPUD) 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No data Yes 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Recommendations are included in the State of Alaska  
Plan to Reduce and Prevent Underage Drinking, which can be found at 
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Documents/Prevention/UnderagedrinkingUpdated.pdf. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  TBD 
E-mail:  No data 
Address:  No data 
Phone:  No data 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department of Health and Social Services, Prevention & Early Intervention Section 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board; Department of Public Safety 
Department of Juvenile Justice, EUDL 
Department of Health and Social Services, ASAP Office 
Alaska Highway Safety Office 
Alaska Courts System, Bethel Superior Court 
Alaska Network on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault 
University of Alaska, Justice Center 
Alaska Native Justice Center 
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Alaska National Guard 
In October 2009, the Division of Behavioral Health (DBH), in partnership with the Alaska Interagency 
Committee to Prevent Underage Drinking (ACPUD), released the State of Alaska Plan to Reduce 
and Prevent Underage Drinking in response to the 2007 Call to Action to Prevent and Reduce 
Underage Drinking by the Acting Surgeon General.  ACPUD was organized in 2007 to begin looking 
at Alaska’s data and needs related to youth alcohol use.  The plan was developed with input from 
the interagency committee, 25 town hall meetings on underage drinking, and public comment from a 
diverse group of Alaskans.  It is organized to provide recommendations on three levels of interaction 
(national, state, and community) and eight strategy components (media campaign; alcohol 
advertising; limiting access; youth-oriented interventions; community interventions; government 
assistance and coordination; alcohol excise taxes; and research and evaluation).  The ACPUD 
continues to meet and is developing a plan for engaging communities in strategies for state and 
community action.  Recently, DBH conducted focused conversations with Alaskans (providers, 
youth, and grantees) to determine changes needed in the plan.  Those recommendations were 
incorporated into the update of this plan, which is now available.  In partnership with SAMHSA’s 
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), DBH developed a video related to underage 
drinking in Alaska.  The video showcases how Alaskans across the state are working together to 
decrease the negative effects of youth alcohol use.  Specifically, the video highlights efforts in 
Barrow, Nome, Kodiak, and Anchorage related to limiting access, youth-oriented interventions, and 
community interventions.  Statewide prevention efforts are having an impact on alcohol indicators.  
Using the strengths-based approach of the Strategic Prevention Framework, in addition to 
community coalitions and interdepartmental collaboration, the state will continue to have an impact 
on reducing the negative consequences related to underage drinking. 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable   

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Alaska Interagency Committee to Prevent Underage Drinking (ACPUD) 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Documents/Prevention/UnderagedrinkingUpdated.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  University of Alaska Justice Center 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://justice.uaa.alaska.edu/research/2010/1010.voa/1010.04.youth_alcohol_access.update.html 

Additional Clarification  

The state is currently developing a website that will be a clearinghouse of resources, training, and 
strategies with an Alaskan focus on preventing underage drinking. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $125,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/30/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  

Estimate of state funds expended $3,536,648 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
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Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $56,050 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  The Rural Human Services System Project (RHSSP) is a 
partnership between DBH and the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF), College of Rural Alaska.  The 
long-term outcome for the RHSSP is to have a trained, culturally competent, and stable/sustainable 
behavioral health workforce in all rural and remote Alaskan villages.  The original vision for the Rural 
Human Services (RHS) educational program was “a counselor in every village”; the vision remains the 
same today.  First and foremost, the RHSSP is a workforce development and education/training 
program to build a stable system of well-trained and culturally competent rural behavioral healthcare 
providers.  Grant dollars are available to rural or urban agencies serving a significant number of rural 
clients, and thereby provide funding for educational support and for part- or full-time internships at local 
agencies for students taking RHS classes and completing their certifications.  Through financial 
support and supervision, these village-based student interns function as behavioral health 
paraprofessionals providing prevention, early intervention, and general counseling services to the 
entire community.  The UAF Rural Human Services educational program is the first step in the rural 
educational “pipeline” for rural students who can complete a 30-hour RHS certification program while 
living and working in their home community.  Following the RHS certificate, students can continue in 
the Human Services Associate degree program and then continue into the Intensive Rural Bachelor of 
Social Work program.  Currently, RHSSP grants fund students through 13 regional hub agencies in 
rural Alaska, from Kotzebue to the Eastern Aleutian Islands. 

Estimate of state funds expended $1,991,565 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/30/2012 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No 
Fees Yes 
Other:  AK General Fund; SAPT Block Grant; SPF SIG; additional funding  
from legislature 

Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Additional funding was approved by the legislature for 1.5 years after termination of the EUDL grant.  
This funding pays the salary and benefits of one investigator devoted to conducting compliance 
checks.  All other fees associated with the program are paid from license fees that include the 
salaries of the underage buyers, travel, and per diem. 

Additional Clarification  

The information provided for this section primarily reflects funds being spent in the Section of 
Prevention & Early Intervention.  Only state funds were included in this report; previous reports may 
have included funds from sources other than the state.  The current report does not include efforts 
being funded by other sections, divisions, or departments unless otherwise noted.  The state does not 
feel this reflects all funds being spent on prevention efforts because there may be other efforts under 
way.  However, these numbers do reflect the work Alaska is doing.  The state will seek to continue to 
build partnerships with other agencies to find out what other funds may be contributing to efforts in 
underage drinking prevention.  There may be other funds contributing to this area that have not been 
reflected in this report. 
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Arizona 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,553,255 
Population Ages 12–20:  819,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.5 193,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.1 124,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.0 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.7 9,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.8 62,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.2 32,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 42.0 118,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 29.3 82,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  114 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  6,896 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 29.0 31 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Although Arizona does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report, it has a 
statutory provision that makes it unlawful for a person under age 21 to have in the person’s body 
any spirituous liquor.  Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so 
without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal 
Possession for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purpose. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial or administrative 

procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other 

information digitally encoded on valid identification cards. 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 
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Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  0 days 
• Maximum:  180 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• No minimum supervised driving requirement with driver education; 30 hours without  

(of which 10 must be at night)  

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18 who is not driver’s 
sibling, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  16 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance 

ID possession 
• Discretionary  

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 
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Decoy training 
• Mandated—Each decoy receives training and supervision from a sworn officer. 
Note:  Arizona allows compliance checks of establishments for which the law enforcement 
agency has received a complaint alleging the sale of liquor to an underage person or which have 
previously been cited for sale of liquor to an underage person. 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  2 years. 
• First offense:  $1,000 to $2,000 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension 
• Second offense:  $2,000 to $3,000 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension 
• Third offense:  $3,000 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension 
Note:  The Department may seek license revocation at any time through the Office of 
Administrative Hearings. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets 

Incentive for training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  16 
• Wine:  16 
• Spirits:  16 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 
Note:  Off-sale retailers may employ persons who are at least 16 years old to check out,  
if supervised by a person on the premises who is at least 19 years old, package, or carry 
merchandise, including spirituous liquor, in unbroken packages, for the convenience of  
the customer of the employer, if the employer sells primarily merchandise other than  
spirituous liquor. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  19 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  19 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  
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Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet  
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet  
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions include (1) restaurants; (2) hotel-motels; (3) government; and (4) golf courses.  
In addition, (5) case-by-case exemptions may apply for certain licenses within entertainment 
districts. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• Statutory liability exists. 
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Negligence—host must have 

known or should have known of the event’s occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family, resident 
Note:  Arizona’s social host provision applies to gatherings of two or more underage persons on 
unlicensed premises, where the person charged knows or should know that one or more of the 
underage persons is in possession of or consuming spirituous liquor. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age verification requirements   
• Producer must verify age of purchaser.  
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name—for out-of-state sales only. 
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 
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Shipping label statement requirements   
• Recipient must be 21.  
Note:  A licensed domestic farm winery that produces not more than 20,000 gallons of wine in a 
calendar year may make sales and deliveries of that wine to consumers who order by telephone, 
mail, fax, or through the internet.  Farm wineries can deliver such purchases, subject to the rules 
applicable to the delivery of spirituous liquors by the holder of a retail license having off-sale 
privileges.  An independent contractor or the employee of an independent contractor is deemed 
to be an employee of the licensee when making a sale or delivery of spirituous liquor for the 
licensee.  The rules governing the retail delivery of spirituous liquor require age verification at 
the point of delivery and recording of the recipient’s name.   

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.16 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.84 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $3.00 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  
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Arizona State Survey Responses  
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Arizona Department of Liquor Licenses and Control (AZ DLLC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 1,713 (cited by  
AZ DLLC) 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 10,000 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 215 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 82 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale,  
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 105 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $88,890 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $10,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/21/2012 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 2 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 12 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Parker Area Alliance for Community Empowerment (PAACE)  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.paace.org  

Program Description:  PAACE addresses underage drinking by implementing community 
development strategies and providing community education and training on the risks, harms, and 
consequences of underage drinking for youth and adults.  Activities include a life skills component to 
help youth decrease favorable attitudes toward substance (ab)use and increase knowledge of the 
perceived risks and harms of underage drinking.  The number of clients served directly or indirectly 
(including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 102 ending June 2012. 
Campesinos Sin Fronteras  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://campesinossinfronteras.org  

Program Description:  Campesinos Sin Fronteras is implementing the Primero La Familia/Family First 
Program to address the high rates of alcohol abuse and controlled substance use in rural Yuma County.  
The program increases and enhances parental involvement in community-based prevention and 
intervention targeting the serious risks and public health problems caused by the abuse of alcohol and 
controlled substances.  The program uses multiple strategies to increase parental involvement, including 
peer education groups, parent and caregiver community mobilization, implementation of the South Yuma 
County Anti-Drug Coalition Subcommittee, youth leadership development, and a family/community  
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theater production.  The number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and 
caregivers) was 8,342 ending June 2012. 

La Frontera Center  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.lafronteraaz.org  

Program Description:  This program provides parent education to refugee families who have 
relocated in Tucson, Arizona.  The education is for the purpose of preventing underage drinking among 
refugee youth.  The number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and 
caregivers) was 998 ending June 2012. 

MATForce  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.MATForce.org  

Program Description:  Due to an overwhelming concern for substance abuse and its effects, 
MATFORCE, The Yavapai County Substance Abuse Coalition, was formed.  The coalition consists of 
over 300 volunteers working on various projects to reduce substance abuse in Yavapai County.  The 
coalition’s mission statement is:  “With determination and integrity, we, the citizens of Yavapai County, 
commit to working in partnership to build healthier communities by striving to eliminate substance 
abuse and its effects.”  The coalition’s five goal statements are:  (1) Support prevention programs for 
youth and families, (2) increase the capacity to intervene and treat, (3) address the problem of 
underage drinking, (4) influence public opinion and policy, and (5) reduce prescription drug abuse.  
MATForce consists of various committees and workgroups, each working on objectives of the specified 
goal statements.  The number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and 
caregivers) was 25,892 ending June 2012. 

Arizona Youth Partnership  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.azyp.org  

Program Description:  Arizona Youth Partnership is implementing Project GIFTS (Growing and 
Inspiring Families to Succeed) in three communities in Mohave County:  Bullhead City, Kingman, and 
Lake Havasu City.  Project GIFTS combines two research-based programs proven to significantly 
reduce violence against self, the family, and the community.  The two programs, Strengthening 
Families and Parent Pledge, educate parents on the social and judicial dangers of youth underage 
drinking.  The number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and caregivers) 
was 1,794 ending June 2012. 
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Coconino County Juvenile Court  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.coconino.az.gov/courts.aspx?id=249 

 

Program Description:  Coconino County Juvenile Court seeks to embed parent-inclusive processes 
into its work with parents who have children on probation in Flagstaff, Williams, and Page.  Information 
from focus groups with parents of delinquent children and research about court-involved families will be 
integrated into a series of workshops for probation officers to assist them in building stronger working 
relationships with parents of their probationers.  A parent guide and parenting tool box has been written 
and will be utilized by probation officers in working with parents.  A new parent education and support 
group program will gather parents’ input about the guide and tool box.  Each of these strategies is 
designed to support parents in effectively helping their children to graduate from the Step Up probation 
process and become productive and healthier citizens.  The number of clients served directly or 
indirectly (including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 246 ending June 2012. 

Compass Health Care  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.compasshc.org  

Program Description:  The goal of the project is for the Community Prevention Coalition to target 
parents in Pima County through development and implementation of multiple strategies that educate 
parents on the harms and consequences associated with youth alcohol and prescription drug use.  The 
project teaches effective parenting skills and practices to engage parents in their child’s life as a 
protective factor, in order to reduce youth risk of alcohol and prescription drug use.  Parents become 
more informed on issues of youth alcohol use and the current prescription drug epidemic while learning 
to communicate with their youth in a way that positively impacts youth’s choices, which ultimately 
prevents youth alcohol and prescription drug use.  The number of clients served directly or indirectly 
(including youth, parents, and caregivers) was 126,780 ending June 2012.  Compass Health Care 
numbers (100,000 notably) include their media hits from multiple media advertisements. 

Jewish Family & Children’s Services of Southern Arizona  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.jfcstucson.org  

Program Description:  Embracing Challenges Creating Opportunities (ECCO) is a family-centered 
program that provides individual, group, and family therapy to youth ages 13 to 18 and their families, 
who have identified a substance use concern.  The program seeks to increase youths’ capacity to 
identify and manage signs of risk, and develop relapse prevention strategies/skills.  ECCO is focused on 
identifying and building on client and family strengths, expanding coping skills, and developing healthy 
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options for managing feelings and behaviors.  Strategies include 8-week individual therapy, 8-week 
group therapy, family group therapy, conjoint youth/parent group therapy, and sober socialization 
activities.  The number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and caregivers) 
was 315 ending  
June 2012. 

Chicanos Por La Causa – Parenting Arizona (CPLC–PA)  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.parentingaz.org  

Program Description:  CPLC–PA will impact 6,000 individuals both directly and indirectly by increasing 
and enhancing parental involvement in school and community.  PA will have all Parent Resource 
Coordinators (PRCs) trained in substance abuse prevention to increase parental knowledge regarding 
serious risks and public health problems caused by substance abuse of alcohol and controlled 
substances.  The number of clients served directly or indirectly (including youth, parents, and 
caregivers) was 14,047 ending June 2012. 

Event Sponsorships SFY 13 (events listed below)  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Events include Mother’s Awareness on School-Age Kids (MASK) and Arizona 
Facts of Life-Project Graduation – Ironwood Ridge High School. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   

The programs provided in this section are RELATED to Underage Drinking.  Each of the programs is a 
current SFY 2013 subgrantee, but data were collected up to June 2012. 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Arizona has intergovernmental agreements with the Gila River Indian 
Community and Pascua Yaqui Tribe to provide alcohol-related substance abuse prevention services.  
Arizona subcontracts to private nonprofit corporations (Regional Behavioral Health Authorities) that  
(1) provide alcohol-related substance abuse prevention services directly to the San Carlos Apache 
Tribe, (2) provide alcohol-related prevention services to the Ak-Chin Indian Community and Hopi 
Nation, and (3) work collaboratively to write grants and develop capacity to deliver alcohol-related 
substance abuse prevention services with the Hualapai Nation.  The Arizona Department of Liquor 
License and Control meets quarterly with three groups to discuss liquor-related concerns and 
solutions.  Of the 3 groups, 2 represent all 22 of Arizona’s federally recognized Tribal Governments  
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and are identified with an asterisk before the group name:  *Indian Country Intelligence Network 
(ICIN), Arizona Police Chiefs Association, and *Tribal Gaming Office (TGO).  All licensed 
establishments on Tribal land in the State of Arizona operate under Title 4 (Arizona liquor law). 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

Yes 

Description of program:  Luz Southside Coalition – Juntos Podemos Program (in a southern 
neighborhood of Tucson) works with billboard companies in their neighborhood to limit billboards 
advertising alcohol.  Luz has been instrumental in the removal of billboards, mostly advertising 
alcohol.  Also, Luz has been successful in the denial of new liquor licenses on the south side of 
Tucson.  The second component of Juntos Podemos involves media literacy and cultural 
competency with respect to the consumption of alcohol, through community presentations that tie 
alcohol consumption directly to cultural identity.  The media literacy campaign educates community 
members about alcohol abuse for all ages and empowers community residents to attend liquor 
license hearings to oppose new licenses. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Arizona Department of Health Services – 
Division of Behavioral Health – Prevention Services 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Evidence Based Practice review teams are assembled annually 
to review and evaluate all Arizona Department of Health Services/Division of Behavioral Health 
Services subcontracted prevention programs to determine which are evidence based, using criteria 
recommended by SAMHSA.  In addition to fulfilling block grant requirements, the purpose of the 
evidence-based practice review is to provide an opportunity for learning and improvement among 
Arizona’s prevention community.  Each EBP review team consists of a member of ADHS/DBHS, one 
to two provider representatives, an RBHA representative, and a research representative.  Each team 
reviews 8 to 12 programs.  The definition of “program” within the ADHS/BHS RBHA system is “a set 
of prevention strategies, which address a common set of goals and objectives for a common target 
audience in one county.” This definition is broad and intended to serve as an umbrella to encompass 
many strategies used by a provider.  The information viewed under this definition combines all 
prevention strategies, activities, and/or curriculum under one program.  Reviewers use the program 
logic model, program descriptions, strategies, and outcomes to assess whether the overall program 
meets the criteria of being evidence based.  The criteria to be considered evidence based are based 
on the SAMHSA National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) criteria.  To 
be deemed an evidence-based practice, a program/strategy must meet the following criteria:  
Included on federal lists or registries of evidence-based interventions; reported (with positive effects) 
in peer-reviewed journals; and documented effectiveness supported by other sources of information 
and the consensus judgment of informed experts:   

• Guideline 1:  The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic or 
conceptual mode;  

• Guideline 2:  The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in 
registries and/or the peer-reviewed literature;  

• Guideline 3:  The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively 
implemented in the past, and multiple times, in a manner attentive to scientific standards of 
evidence and with results that show a consistent pattern of credible and positive effects;  

• Guideline 4:  The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed 
prevention experts that includes well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in 
evaluating prevention interventions similar to those under review, local prevention practitioners, 
and key community leaders as appropriate, e.g., officials from law enforcement and education 
sectors or elders within indigenous cultures.   

In addition to the above criteria, ground rules are set for how the groups formulate their expert 
judgments:  (a) The team must come to a consensus for a “yes.” (b) No consensus is needed for  
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a “no.”  An “I don’t know,” “I’m not sure,” “I can’t judge this,” or “I need more information” is simply a 
“no.” (c) Program funding and jobs are not in jeopardy if a program receives a “no.”  (d) Programs 
that would be “yes” due to criterion 1 or 2 still must demonstrate a logical grounding. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Cindy Schaider 
E-mail:  cindy.schaider@gmail.com 
Address:  317 E. Cottonwood Lane, Suite A, Casa Grande, AZ  85130 
Phone:  520-836-5022 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department of Public Safety 
Terros 
Compass Health Care 
Pima Prevention Partnership 
Codac 
ASU-SIRC 
Governor’s Office for Children Youth and Families 
SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions) 
Magellan 
Gila River 
Cenpatico 
Arizona Criminal Justice Commission 
Phoenix Indian Center 
National Guard 
CPSA 
AZIHE 
Pascua Yaqui Tribe 
Drug Free AZ 
Administrative Office of the Courts 
AZ Youth Partnership 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  The Substance Abuse Prevention Committee of Arizona (SAPCA) - SAPCA is a 
collaborative partnership between statewide organizations and communities to create a healthier 
Arizona free from substance abuse. 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not available online.  This document can be uploaded or sent via e-mail. 

 
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  The Substance Abuse Prevention Committee of Arizona (SAPCA).  SAPCA is a 
collaborative partnership between statewide organizations and communities to create a healthier 
Arizona which is free from substance abuse. 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not available online.  This document can be uploaded or sent via e-mail. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Arizona’s Parents Commission receives a percentage of liquor sales taxes.  The Parents 
Commission funds some RELATED underage drinking prevention programs (listed in Part 2:  
Section A).  Otherwise, most programs related to underage drinking prevention in Arizona are 
funded through grants and other sources, not state funds. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Arkansas 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,949,131 
Population Ages 12–20:  356,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.0 82,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.0 53,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.2 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.8 3,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.3 26,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.9 17,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 40.0 49,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 27.3 33,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  55 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  3,309 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 16.0 11 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Arkansas law provides that intoxicating liquor, wine, or beer in the body of a minor is 
deemed to be in his or her possession.  Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their 
bodies, but do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as 
prohibiting Internal Possession for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older 
• Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with 

the purchase of alcohol. 
Note:  Under Arkansas law, a seller’s detention of a person under 21 for use of false 
identification shall not include physical detention. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  0 days 
• Maximum:  Not specified 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• 60 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14   
• Minimum learner-stage period:  6 months  
• No minimum supervised driving requirement 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passenger under 21 who is not a sibling or household 
member, unless accompanied by driver who is 21 or older 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 
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Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  Arkansas’ statute regarding furnishing alcohol to any person under 21 years old includes 
an exception for “family” members, but does not specify which family members.  For purposes 
of this report, the phrase “family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

No data 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Incentive for training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  21 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1,000 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  No 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 
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Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 
Note:  Arkansas’s social host provision applies only to a person who is present and in control of 
the private property at the time the consumption occurs. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  A liquid capacity of more than 5 gallons 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/90 days  
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/90 days 

• Purchaser information collected:   
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit required:  $75 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Prohibited 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.24 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  1 percent 
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Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.75 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  3 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  14 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  3 percent 
• Additional taxes:  $1.00 per gallon for alcohol content of less than 26.25 percent  

but more than 6.25 percent 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited  
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  
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Arkansas State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

ABC Enforcement 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 

310; includes 
possession, 

consumption, 
warnings, citations, 

and arrests 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 3,853 as of 5/01/13 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 3,867 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 431 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 3,867 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 431 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 412 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $215,000 
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Smallest fine imposed $250 
Largest fine imposed $3,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 12 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 42 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 3 weeks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification    

All compliance checks are random. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Arkansas Underage Drinking & Injury Prevention Conference  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  This program is federally funded by the Department of Justice, Office of 
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, by means of the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws.  A 
subgrant issued by the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, Office of Intergovernmental 
Services, supports an annual prevention conference that targets Arkansas’ law enforcement, coalitions, 
and injury prevention professionals.  The conference focuses on community solutions to underage 
drinking, and provides learning opportunities through research-based plenary sessions as well as 
strategies for implementing and sustaining effective underage drinking prevention. 

Youth Summit  
Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The Summit will bring together youth from around Arkansas to participate in 
sessions and panel discussions focusing on alcohol use/abuse and the systematic consequences of 
underage drinking, how to avoid the pressures of underage drinking, and learning about the effects of 
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underage drinking.  Participants will be exposed to technical and trade programs as well as potential 
employers, in preparation for the next phase of their lives.  *The number of youth served will be reported 
on the 2014 SAMHSA Survey.  The closing date for submission of all final documents will be after the 
due date for the 2013 survey. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 

Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribes 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No data 

Agency(ies) within your state: No data 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No data 
Other: No data 
Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:   
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Mothers Against Drunk Driving 
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences - College of Medicine 
Arkansas Department of Education 
Arkansas Collegiate Drug Education Committee 
Arkansas Beverage Control Enforcement 
Arkansas State Police Highway Safety Office 
Arkansas State Drug Director 
Director of Prevention Services 
Arkansas Department of Health & Human Services 
Arkansas Division of Youth Services 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.arunderagedrinking.com/task_force.asp 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
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Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

The Underage Drinking Task Force is still inactive.  However, they are now working on a grant 
application that would revitalize the Task Force Committee. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No data 

 
Description of funding streams and how they are used: 

No data 
Additional Clarification  

Regarding Compliance Checks and Checkpoints and Saturation Patrols expenditures, the only money 
used is the EUDL federal grant.  No state money is used. 
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California 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  38,041,430 
Population Ages 12–20:  4,901,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.4 1,245,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.2 792,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.7 70,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.2 33,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.5 351,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.2 215,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 46.5 824,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 30.7 544,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  503 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  30,236 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 21.0 75 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location OR  
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  California’s “Any private location” exception excludes possession in motor vehicles.  
California’s statute regarding possession of alcohol by a person under age 21 includes an 
exception for “responsible adult relative” but does not specify which relatives are included.   
For purposes of this report, the phrase “responsible adult relative” is interpreted as including  
a spouse. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
• Specific affirmative defense:  The retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.01 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 
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Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• 365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 20, unless accompanied by a parent, 
guardian, instructor, or licensed driver over 25 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  Not specified 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
• No hats, sunglasses, tattoos, visible body piercing, clothing with college or alcohol 

verbiage/logos; minimal jewelry; not large in stature; appropriate dress for age; hair that does 
not obscure facial features   

• Male:  No facial hair, really short hair, balding or receding hairline 
• Female:  Minimal makeup, no provocative clothing 

ID possession 
• Discretionary 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 
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Decoy training 
• Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  3 years 
• First offense:  $3,000 fine or 15-day license suspension 
• Second offense:  Between $2,500 and $20,000 fine or 25-day license suspension  
• Third offense:  License revocation 
Note:  Retailer has option to accept fine in lieu of suspension.  List of aggravating and mitigating 
factors is provided. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments. 
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Incentive for training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  Not specified 
• Wine:  Not specified 
• Spirits:  Not specified 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1½ miles of universities with enrollments of 1,000  
or more students of whom 500 or more reside on the university’s grounds 

– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1½ miles of universities with enrollments of 1,000  
or more students of whom 500 or more reside on the university’s grounds 

– Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits—does not include beer or products of not more than  
4 percent ABV 

Note:  Exceptions to the college restriction exist for numerous individual colleges and 
universities. 
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Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  No 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 600 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Minor must be obviously intoxicated at time 

alcohol of furnishing. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Uncertain 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 
Note:  An individual or retail licensee in a state that affords California retail licensees or 
individuals an equal reciprocal shipping privilege may ship, for personal use and not for resale, 
no more than two cases of wine (no more than 9 liters each case) per month to any adult resident 
in this state.  Delivery of a shipment pursuant to this subdivision shall not be deemed to 
constitute a sale in this state. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements:  None 

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  6 gallons or more 
• Prohibited:  Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 
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• Purchaser information collected:   
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.20 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.20 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $3.30 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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California State Survey Responses 

State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

California Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 1,045 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2  
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting  
sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3  81,346 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks)  7,397 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  1,126 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable  

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable  
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations  
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales  
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that  
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 647 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Smallest fine imposed $750 
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Largest fine imposed $20,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 440 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 8,758 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5  
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 45  
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 6 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Additional Clarification    

The California Highway Patrol also collects data for underage persons found in possession.  The 
following data cover January 1, 2012, through December 31, 2012.     

• 623 citations for persons under age 21 driving with .01 percent BAC or greater   
• 946 citations for persons under age 21 driving with .05 percent BAC or greater   
• 67 citations for persons under age 21 in possession of alcohol   
• 91 citations for passengers under age 21 in possession of alcohol   
• 124 citations for drivers under age 21 knowingly operating a vehicle carrying alcohol 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SAPT) – 
Primary Prevention 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.adp.ca.gov/FactSheets/SAPT.pdf, 
http://www.adp.ca.gov/Prevention/risk_indicators_2010.shtml 

 

Program Description:  California allocates funds through the Department of Alcohol and Drug 
Programs (ADP) to counties based on population, utilizing the 20 percent primary prevention set-aside 
of the SAPT administered federally by SAMHSA.  California adopted the Strategic Planning Framework 
(SPF), requiring that each county create an SPF that will deliver appropriate primary prevention services 
based on local needs assessments and measurable objectives.  To be community driven and relative to 
local needs as ascribed in the SPF, program efforts are planned and implemented at the local level.  For 
counties to be successful with their SPF, cross-system collaboration is required from individuals, 
communities, community-based organizations, health providers, and law enforcement agencies.  Since 
underage drinking is assessed as an urgent problem county-wide, counties have created and adopted  
core outcomes that include age of onset, binge drinking, and regular use of alcohol.  Local agency 
efforts specific to underage drinking are:    
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• People Coordinated Services (L.A. County) – This agency provides alcohol and drug education, 
enrichment experiences at a drop-in center, and a peer education program that empowers and trains 
youth to educate their peers and the community at large about the harmful effects of alcohol and drug 
use, possession, sales, and advertising.      

• Underage Drinking Prevention Leadership Project (L.A. County) – This project addresses underage 
drinking by reinforcing responsible social attitudes regarding the appropriate use of alcohol and 
underage drinking.  Services include alcohol/drug awareness and education presentations, referrals 
to appropriate community services, self-help groups, and pro-social alcohol/drug-free activities for 
program participants and visitors.    

• NCADD-CAN – Underage Drinking (Orange County) – This project provides services to reduce 
underage drinking in identified Orange County cities.       

• Minor Drinking, Major Problems (Orange County) – This program focuses on adults in various Orange 
County cities to increase knowledge and awareness through educational workshops about the 
prevalence and consequences of underage drinking and measures support for effective actions to 
reduce underage drinking.   

• Youth Leadership Institute (Fresno, Marin, San Francisco, and San Mateo Counties) – The Youth 
Leadership Institute (YLI) has been an innovative leader in the field of youth development for over 20 
years, working to build communities that invest in youth.  YLI serves youth and communities through 
training and consulting services and through community-based programs.  One program that 
emphasizes underage drinking prevention is Be the Influence (BTI) in Marin County.  This program 
addresses higher than average binge-drinking rates in the Tamalpais Union High School District.  BTI 
formed as a youth advisory group that takes action and leads projects in their school and community 
and is comprised of student-parent leadership teams and a student-led youth advisory group.  BTI 
uses town hall meetings, theater events, poster campaigns, and other methods to educate local 
parents and teens and reduce Marin’s teen binge-drinking rates. 

Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.adp.ca.gov/prevention/gpac/spfsig_project.shtml 

 

Program Description:  SAMHSA awarded California a SPF SIG, designed to help states and 
communities further data-driven planning, implement evidence-based prevention strategies, and reach 
desired outcomes quickly.  ADP, in collaboration with the Governor’s Prevention Advisory Council and 
the State Epidemiological Workgroup, determined that the priority of California’s SPF SIG project would 
be to reduce underage and excessive drinking among youth and young adults ages 12 to 25.  Twelve 
communities, within 11 California counties (listed below), were selected to receive project grants through 
a data-driven needs assessment that compared county- and state-level indicators of substance abuse 
prevalence and consequences.  The 3-year project grants will each receive $380,000 ($95,000 per 
year).  The 12 communities are Livermore in Alameda County, Antioch in Contra Costa County, Walnut 
Creek in Contra Costa County, Santa Monica in Los Angeles County, San Rafael in Marin County, 
Merced in Merced County, Huntington Beach in Orange County, Folsom in Sacramento County, 
Redlands in San Bernardino County, Santa Barbara in Santa Barbara County, Ventura in Ventura 
County, and Santa Rosa in Sonoma County. 

 
California Department of Education – Safe and Supportive Schools  
(S3) Grant 

 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 87,000 
Number of parents served 137,000 
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Number of caregivers served Number of caregivers 
included in above 

number 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  californias3.wested.org  

Program Description:  In 2010, California became 1 of 11 states selected by the U.S. Department of 
Education (ED) to receive a 4-year S3 grant.  This grant is intended to support statewide measurement 
of conditions for learning (known also as school climate), as well as targeted programmatic interventions 
to improve those conditions in comprehensive high schools (grades 9–12) with the greatest need.  In 
particular, this initiative is designed to address disruptive behaviors in school such as bullying, 
harassment and violence, and substance use—and promote safe, caring, engaging, and healthful 
school environments that foster learning and well-being among both students and staff. 

California Friday Night Live Partnership (CFNLP)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  fridaynightlive.org  

Program Description:  CFNLP facilitates five main programs:  (1) Friday Night Live serves high school 
age youth working in partnership with adults, (2) Club Live serves middle school age youth working in 
partnership with adults, (3) Friday Night Live Kids serve 4th- to 6th-grade students focusing on refusal 
skills and leadership, (4) Friday Night Live Mentoring is a one-to-one mentoring model with high schools 
students as mentors and middle school students as mentees, and (5) the California Youth Council is a 
coalition of FNL youth representing counties across California that convenes to provide youth voice to 
the CFNLP and provide youth leadership to state-level issues that affect young people.  Friday Night 
Live Programs:   

• Encourage young people to develop programs that are fun and meaningful    
• Promote messages through shared experiences    
• Encourage peer-oriented programming (youth driven and youth led)    
• Are goal-directed, action oriented, and innovative    
• Encourage and empower young people as active leaders and community resources    
• Have broad appeal to diverse ethnic, racial and social groups   
• Encourage youth to care about each other and their environment    
• Offer conferences and trainings for young people to develop leadership skills 

 
University of California  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 30,000 students 
Number of parents served 200 parents 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URLs for more program information:  
http://www.uhs.berkeley.edu/psafe, 
http://www.uhs.berkeley.edu/home/healthtopics/alcoholdrugs.shtml, 
http://www.uhs.berkeley.edu/students/medical/alcoholanddrugs.shtml, 
students.berkeley.edu/uga/alcohol.stm, 
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interwork.sdsu.edu/echeckup/usa/alc/coll/index.php?id=UCSD&hfs=true, 
healthcenter.ucsc.edu/shop/aod-program.shtml  

Program Description:  The University of California consists of 10 campuses throughout California.  
Most of the campuses have programs addressing underage drinking.  Campuses that do not offer 
underage drinking programs operate under a “harm/risk philosophy” in which they encourage students 
to adhere to all applicable campus policies related to alcohol.  The campuses provide peer health 
educators who address drinking safely and responsibly and recovery programs related to various types 
of substance abuse.  U.C. campus programs include but are not limited to:  AlcoholEDU, PartySafe 
(U.C. Berkeley), Southside Safety Patrol (U.C. Berkeley), Event Planning & Risk Management Training 
for Greeks (U.C. Berkeley), Alcohol & Other Drug Counseling (all campuses), Student Health Advocates 
(U.C. San Diego), e-CHUG (U.C. San Diego), College Alcohol Risk Reduction Seminar (U.C. San 
Diego), Student Health Outreach & Promotion (U.C. Santa Cruz), and Just Say Gnome/Small Party 
(U.C. Santa Cruz).  Additional campus programs can be found on individual campus websites. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   

Regarding the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SAPT) Primary Prevention,  
California administers and monitors primary prevention efforts throughout the state through the 
Negotiated Net Amount (NNA) Contract, which requires counties to coordinate SAPT-funded prevention 
efforts utilizing the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF).  Since the SPF allows counties to implement 
strategies and efforts according to local data, the state understands that efforts must be community 
driven and does not mandate counties to address specific issues such as underage drinking.          

Regarding the SPF SIG, SAMHSA conducts a SPF SIG Cross-Site Evaluation that collects grantee-, 
community- and participant-level data to evaluate the effectiveness of all state and Tribal projects 
associated with the grant.  In addition, the California SPF SIG will conduct a process evaluation.  In 
addition, an outcome evaluation will access existing data sets to measure change in population 
measures wherever those data are available.       

Regarding the California Department of Education-Safe and Supportive Schools Grant, this program is 
currently being evaluated.     

Regarding the University of California, indications were that programs underwent periodic evaluation 
including analysis and recommendations from such alcohol prevention groups as Everfi, sponsors of the 
national Alcohol Prevention Coalition (APC), and e-CHUG. 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Collaboration:  Santa Ynez People Helping People (Santa Barbara County)    

Description:  The Santa Ynez Valley Coalition to Promote Drug Free Youth, Substance Abuse 
Reduction and Prevention Program is serving the American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) population. 
The goals of the Coalition are:      
1. Reduce substance abuse among the Valley’s youth and adults by increasing barriers to access, 

establishing consequences for providing alcohol and other substances, adopting policies to 
affect social norms, and educating youth and adults regarding risks and harms of use.   

2. Increase collaboration among the area’s community sectors including county and local 
governments, the Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians, business and service groups, schools, 
private nonprofit agencies, parents, youth, religious organizations, media, and grass roots 
community groups in an effort to reduce substance abuse among youth.     
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The Coalition will achieve these goals by developing a social host liability ordinance for adoption by 
local governments, increase adoption of a “safe house-no host” parent pledge, establish a public 
education media campaign to increase awareness of youth drug problems and consequences, work 
with law enforcement to develop and coordinate teams to respond to underage drinking parties and 
events that attract underage drinkers, and provide safe supportive activities for at-risk youth.     

Collaboration:  California Native American Research Center for Health (CA-NARCH) 

Description:  The CA-NARCH initiative encourages opportunities for applied research experiences 
for AI/AN students.  Placement of CA-NARCH students in funded research assistant positions for a 
research project “Preventing Underage Drinking by Southwest California Indians:  Building Capacity” 
based at the Southern California Tribal Health Clinic, Inc., in a rural part of Southern California, 
provides a model in which both AI/AN students and research investigators have benefited.  Six 
students received training in research ethics, data collection methods, and data management and 
analysis.  The students’ participation in project activities has resulted in positive experiences for 
themselves, a productive research staff for the project, and positive responses from community 
members to this sensitive research project. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

Yes 

Description of program:  Programs specific to measuring and/or reducing youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing will usually fall under environmental prevention strategies.  Local 
programs specific to alcohol advertising and marketing include:     

Butte Youth Now Coalition (Butte County) – Butte Youth Now builds positive relationships that 
support community development to reduce underage and high risk drinking and other substance use 
and abuse.  The coalition seeks out proven prevention techniques to address the alcohol problem 
and employs environmental prevention as its key strategy—changing the setting and messages that 
both directly or indirectly make alcohol easy, appealing, attractive, and socially acceptable.  The 
coalition uses the following four areas to organize, and targets its efforts, norms, media messages, 
policy and enforcement, access, and availability.     

California Hispanic Commission (CHC) on Alcohol and Drug Abuse (Los Angeles County) –  
The CHC leads the Merchant Prevention and Education Project, which serves to increase 
awareness among merchants of their responsibility in preventing underage drinking through review 
or implementation of store policies to increase employees support of prevention efforts and increase 
signage among stores to remind patrons of the laws related to underage drinking.     

Perris Valley & Boys and Girls Club Coachella Environmental Program (Riverside County) –  
This program will serve the Perris Valley and surrounding regions of Moreno Valley, Lake Elsinore, 
Canyon Country, Sun City, Murrieta, and Temecula.  Program services will focus on changing the 
social norms that support high-risk alcohol and other drug use, reduce the impact of media 
messages, reduce availability to minors, and increase the perception that there is harm and 
problems related to AOD use.      

Social Advocates for Youth (SAY) Alcohol Marketing Project (San Diego County) – The SAY Project 
develops and advances public and private policies and related business practices to reduce 
alcoholic beverage advertising and marketing to youth.     

Puente de la Costa Sur South Coast Prevention Partnership (SCPP) (San Mateo County) –  
The SCPP implements environmental strategy through retailer education, alcohol advertisement 
placements, compliance checks, and mural projects to involve youth with retailer “make-overs” to 
reduce alcohol advertising to youth.  

Youth Leadership Institute (YLI) Marin Friday Night Live Program – This program utilizes the 
Committed Program, which involves parents, retailers, and teens in the movement to reduce 
underage drinking.  As part of the program, YLI recently produced the film Wasted with Emmy-
award-winning filmmaker Steve Chollet.  Over 800 parents have since signed pledges, committing to 
provide social settings for youth that are alcohol free.  Friday Night Live Marin is working with local 
merchants to make changes within their stores to reduce youth exposure and access to alcohol.     
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San Jose Urban Coalition (Santa Clara County) – The San Jose Urban Coalition looks for 
opportunities to improve the safety of all people visiting, working, and living in downtown San Jose.  
The Coalition is a collaboration of neighborhood organizations, agencies, and interested parties 
concentrating its efforts in the downtown “Entertainment Zone.”  The Coalition does this by 
addressing issues regarding alcohol and other drug use and its impact on business, entertainment, 
socializing, crime, and risky sexual behaviors.     

Youth Leadership Institute Fresno Friday Night Live (FNL) Program (Fresno County) – This FNL 
chapter applies environmental prevention strategies to reduce alcohol access, consumption, and 
promotion among young people.  Using data collected from peers and observations in local liquor 
stores, the youth develop store merchant fliers, fridge door window stickers, and letters of support 
that inform merchants, consumers, and local elected officials of the dangers and misconceptions 
around alco-energy drinks.  The youth also coordinate community forums to raise awareness, share 
findings, provide recommendations, and gather community input on the issue of underage drinking, 
access and marketing to young people.     

University of California – One U.C. campus indicated active work with community prevention 
partners to reduce advertising and outreach to youth.  The campus also worked with its campus 
newspaper to refuse advertising money from alcohol beverage distributers. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  Youth-Serving Agencies:  Friday Night Live 
and Youth Leadership Institute 

Yes 

Other: No 
Best practice standards description:   
The Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs’ best practice standards include:   
• Statewide use of the Strategic Prevention Framework to ensure data-driven outcomes.   
• Encourage the implementation of evidence-based practices and evidence-based programs as 

defined by NREPP. 
• Ensure effective prevention services guided by the SPF and maintain fidelity of evidence-based 

programs by providing individualized and community-based technical assistance and training.    
Relative to Underage Drinking, youth-serving agencies develop programs and services based on 
youth development models that consist of best practice standards to involve and work with youth.   

The following are program-specific strategies from Friday Night Live and the Youth Leadership 
Institute: 
Friday Night Live Standards of Practice are that all youth in FNL programs will have the opportunity to:   
• Experience a safe environment.   
• Engage and connect with community and school.   
• Develop leadership and advocacy.   
• Engage in meaningful skill building activities that are designed to capture the interest and 

participation of young people.   
• Experience caring and meaningful relationships among youth and with adults.     

The Youth Leadership Institute best practice standards include youth-led engagement strategies that:   
• Adopt healthier community policy through civic engagement    
• Address and change negative social norms   
• Abate predatory media messaging    
• Establish better access to healthy choices      

U.C. San Diego’s environmental strategies that contribute to prevention efforts include:   
• Promoting Alcohol and Drug-Free Social, Recreational, and Extra-curricular Options and  

Public Service   
• Creating a Social, Academic, and Residential Environment that Promotes Healthy Social Norms   
• Limiting Alcohol Availability and Access   
• Limiting the Marketing and Promotion of Alcohol   
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• Enforcing Campus Policy, State, and Local Laws   
• Providing Developmentally Appropriate Interventions for High-Risk Student Drinkers 
• Participating in Campus-Community Collaboration 

Additional Clarification  

Due to the state’s mandate for counties to utilize the Strategic Prevention Framework, best practices are 
also coordinated at a local level and may be county, institutional, community, or program specific. 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Lorraine Frias 
E-mail:  lorraine.frias@adp.ca.gov 
Address:  1700 K Street, Sacramento, CA  95811 
Phone:  No data  

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs  
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control  
California Community Colleges  
California Conservation Corps  
Department of Public Health  
California Highway Patrol  
California Emergency Management Agency  
Office of the Chancellor, California State University  
Office of the President, University of California  
Office of Traffic Safety 
California Department of Education 
Department of Rehabilitation 
Department of Social Services 
California National Guard 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.adp.ca.gov/Prevention/gpac 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://www.adp.ca.gov/funding/pdf/2010_Ca_Needs_Assessment_Report.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
Not applicable 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following  
revenue streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Colorado 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  5,187,582 
Population Ages 12–20:  574,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.5 163,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.7 90,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.5 14,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.1 4,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.2 49,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.6 29,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 54.0 100,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.1 57,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  61 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  3,715 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 30.0 22 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND 
• Parent/guardian 
Note:  Colorado’s exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private 
property when minors possess alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent  
or guardian). 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND 
• Parent/guardian 
Note:  Colorado’s exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private 
property when minors consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent  
or guardian).  

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND 
• Parent/guardian 
Note:  Colorado’s exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private 
property when minors possess or consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of  
a parent or guardian). 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
• Specific affirmative defense:  The retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
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• Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with 
the purchase of alcohol. 

Note:  In Colorado, the license revocation period for a first conviction of obtaining or attempting 
to obtain an alcoholic beverage by misrepresentation of age is 24 hours of public service, if 
ordered by the court, or 3 months. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  Not specified 
• Maximum:  90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  For first 6 months, no passenger under 21 who is not an 
immediate family member unless accompanied by driver’s parent or guardian; second  
6 months, only one passenger under 21 who is not an immediate family member unless 
accompanied by driver’s parent or guardian 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 
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Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private location AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance with no age enhancements 

ID possession 
• Discretionary 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Permitted:  Decoy is allowed to tell seller/server he/she is 21, but if seller/server requests ID, 

decoy must produce own ID. 

Decoy training 
• Not specified  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  1 year (2 years for fourth offense). 
• First offense:  Written warning up to 15-day license suspension.  Licensee may pay a fine in 

lieu of up to 14 days of suspension. 
• Second offense:  5- to 30-day license suspension.  Licensee may pay fine in lieu of 

suspension, or suspension may be held in abeyance if no fine was paid or suspension served 
at time of first offense. 

• Third offense:  20- to 45-day license suspension. 
• Fourth offense:  45-day or more license suspension or license revocation. 

Note:  List of aggravating and mitigating factors is provided. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments. 
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Incentive for training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 
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Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 
• Wine:  21 
• Spirits:  21 
Note:  Although employees must be at least 21 years old to sell malt, vinous, or spirituous 
liquors in a retail liquor store, employees at least 18 years old may sell fermented malt beverages 
containing not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight in establishments where fermented malt 
beverages are sold at retail in containers for off-premises consumption. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 
Note:  Persons under 21 years old employed to sell or dispense malt, vinous, or spirituous liquors 
are required to be supervised by another person who is on premise and has attained 21 years  
of age. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on damages:  $280,810 per person 
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on damages:  $280,810 per person 
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 
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Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements   
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery  
• Wine:  Permitted—state permit required 
• Spirits:  Permitted—state permit required 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.08 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.32 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.28 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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Colorado State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Liquor Enforcement Division, Colorado Department of Revenue 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Liquor Enforcement Div., 
Colorado Dept. of Revenue 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 658 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement 
agencies 

No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2  
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting  
sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 14,000 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 2,119 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 326 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, 
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 2,119 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 326 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 284 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $174,789.07 
Smallest fine imposed $200 
Largest fine imposed $5,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 326 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 3,335 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 60 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    

Data are not available for enforcement by local law enforcement agencies.  A statewide website for 
collecting and displaying data on MIP citations and compliance checks became operational in December 
2012.  Local agencies are being encouraged to enter their data, and it is hoped that this website will 
become a primary source of local data in the future. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Colorado Prevention Partnership for Success (CPPS)  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/CDHS-
BehavioralHealth/CBON/1251581785633 

 

Program Description:  This program is designed to help reduce statewide substance abuse rates by 
addressing gaps in current prevention services and increasing the ability to reach out to specific 
populations or geographic areas with serious, emerging substance abuse problems.  The CPPS project 
employs a public health model to demonstrate positive statewide change in underage and binge drinking 
rates and disparity for high school Latino youth.  CPPS will continue to integrate the Strategic 
Prevention Framework within Colorado’s State Prevention System to ensure measurable and 
sustainable substance abuse prevention outcomes. 
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Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Ignacio, CO, a multiethnic community with a Native American 
presence, has undertaken a 5-year approach affirming a course correction in its prevention strategy.  
With the Boys and Girls Club (BGC) of the Southern Ute Indian Tribe and the Ignacio School District, 
Southern Ute Community Action Programs (SUCAP) conducts evidence-based programming 
covering a younger age group.  The BGC Stay Smart program targets youth ages 9 to 11, with a 
Native Hip Hop adaptation of the Smart Leaders program creating a role for youth ages 12 and 
older.  SUCAP continues to operate Project Venture, an after-school activity combining classroom 
concept-building with challenging outdoor activities developed for Native communities.  Outreach is 
based on relationship-building with youth in the schools and the Ignacio Teen Center to create a 
continuum of contacts and dosage along with process and outcome evaluation. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Colorado State University, University of Colorado Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Each funded agency is required to present and follow programs 
that are evidence based and data driven.  They are allowed to choose from many different evidence-
based curriculums with the intention of reducing the percentage of underage drinking in their 
particular community.  Data are collected from each provider every month.  At the end of the fiscal 
year, evaluation reports with aggregate data will be collected to determine the overall effectiveness  
of each individual program as well as the underage drinking prevention program as a whole. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Sharon Liu 
E-mail:  Sharon.Liu1@state.co.us 
Address:  3824 W. Princeton Circle, Denver, CO  80236 
Phone:  303-866-7507 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
No data 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://speaknowcolorado.org 
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Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Colorado Partnership for Success Committee 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&childpagename=CDHS-
BehavioralHealth%2FCBONLayout&cid=1251581449373&pagename=CBONWrapper 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Healthy Kids Colorado Survey prepared and analyzed by Omni, 899 Logan St., 
Denver, CO, and Colorado Department of Human Services/Division of Behavioral Health 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://collaboration.omni.org/sites/hkc/Pages/default.aspx  

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $4,096,279 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,380,279 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $216,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  Colorado Prevention Partnership for Success (CPPS):  This 
program is designed to help reduce statewide substance abuse rates by addressing gaps in current 
prevention services and increasing the ability to reach out to specific populations or geographic 
areas with serious, emerging substance abuse problems.  The CPPS project employs a public 
health model to demonstrate positive statewide change in underage and binge drinking rates and 
disparity for high school Latino youth.  CPPS will continue to integrate the Strategic Prevention 
Framework within Colorado’s State Prevention System to ensure measurable and sustainable 
substance abuse prevention outcomes. 

Estimate of state funds expended $2,300,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following  
revenue streams:   

 

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
CPPS funding is a specialized grant award from SAMHSA to combat underage drinking.  Only four 
states were awarded this funding and Colorado was one of them. 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Connecticut 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  3,590,347 
Population Ages 12–20:  437,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 31.5 138,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.8 91,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.0 8,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.7 2,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 29.6 43,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.1 26,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 57.4 86,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 41.4 62,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  35 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  2,085 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 14.0 3 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 

332 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 

                                                 



 State Reports – Connecticut 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other 

information digitally encoded on valid identification cards. 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense:  The retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• 30 days 
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Note:  In addition to the 30-day suspension penalty mentioned above, Connecticut imposes a 
license suspension of 60 days if underage possession occurs on any public street or highway.   

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16   
• Minimum learner stage period:  4 months with driver education, 6 months without  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 4 months 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, limited to one parent, instructor, or licensed 
adult who is at least 20 years old; second 6 months, expands to include immediate family 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 12 months after issuance 

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 
Note:  A parent or guardian of any applicant less than 18 to whom a learner’s permit is issued 
shall attend 2 hours of safe-driving instruction with such applicant.  

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  Not specified 
• Maximum:  Not specified 

Appearance requirements 
• No sweatshirts or other clothing appropriate for someone of legal age  

(e.g., military sweatshirts) 

ID possession 
• Discretionary 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Not specified 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  15 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on damages:  $250,000 per person 
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Minor must be intoxicated at time of furnishing. 
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.  
Note:  A common law cause of action is not precluded by the dram shop statute.  Under common 
law, the limitations on damages may be avoided.  

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.   

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Criminal negligence 
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
• Exception(s):  Family 
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Note:  The “preventive action” provision in Connecticut requires the prosecution to prove that 
the host failed to take preventive action.  Connecticut permits prosecution of a person who 
“knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal negligence” permits a minor to possess alcoholic liquor.   

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements   
• Producer must verify age of purchaser:  ID check is required at some point prior to delivery. 
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient:  ID check is required at some point prior to 

delivery. 

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  6 gallons or more 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg 
– Maximum fine/jail:  $500/3 months 

• Purchaser information collected:   
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 
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Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.24 per gallon 
Note:  Connecticut imposes a tax of $7.20 per barrel, defined as “not less than twenty-eight nor 
more than thirty-one gallons,” and $0.24 per wine gallon or fraction thereof on quantities less 
than a quarter barrel.   

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.72 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $5.40 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings at one time:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
 
  

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 337 



State Reports – Connecticut 

Connecticut State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Department of Consumer Protection, Liquor Control Division 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Liquor Control 
Division 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Don’t know 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 7,000 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 788 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 163 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale,  
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 216 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $350,000 
Smallest fine imposed $750 
Largest fine imposed $3,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 216 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 45 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Partnerships for Success (PFS)  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 414,643 
Number of parents served 1,458,404 (adults) 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/prevention  

Program Description:  The PFS grant is a 5-year, $11.5 million grant awarded to Connecticut through 
a competitive bid from the SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP).  Connecticut is 
currently in its fourth year of PFS funding.  PFS allows Connecticut to continue successful community-
based approaches that prevent underage drinking through the use of the Strategic Prevention 
Framework.  This data-driven public health approach builds on existing successes of over 20 
community-based coalitions that specifically address underage drinking, including several other state 
and federally funded coalitions and community-based programs currently in place covering each region 
of the state.  The PFS uses environmental prevention approaches to produce measurable reductions in 
alcohol consumption patterns and their negative consequences.  The University of Connecticut Health 
Center conducts evaluations at the state and community levels to track performance targets.  Goals 
include:   

• Reducing past-month alcohol use rates for individuals ages 12–20.   
• Preventing the onset and reducing the progression of childhood/underage drinking.   
• Strengthening capacity and infrastructure at the state and community levels to implement data-driven, 

evidence-based policies, practices, and programs.   
• Taking a collaborative approach to align state and community strategies, redirect existing services, 

and leverage human and fiscal resources to sustain efforts.   

Strategy types:  Twenty funded community coalitions throughout the state use a public health approach 
in over 30 municipalities and statewide across college campuses to decrease alcohol consumption in 
youth ages 12 to 20.  Additionally, coalitions build on existing resources to implement environmental 
strategies known to be effective in reducing youth alcohol use rates, such as curtailing retail and social 
access, policy change, enforcement, media advocacy, and parental and merchant education, as well as 
measure changes in underage drinking that use student survey and social indicator data.  Connecticut 
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has recently completed implementation of the SAMHSA-funded SPF initiative, which identified underage 
drinking as a state priority.  The SPF was a 5-year, $11 million initiative that brought evidence-based 
programs, policies, and practices to communities through a coalition approach to regions across the 
state.  Coalitions were charged with conducting needs and resource assessments, building community 
capacity to address underage drinking, developing strategic plans, implementing evidence-based 
programs, and evaluating and sustaining efforts once the initiative ended.  The majority of the coalitions 
were continued through SAMHSA’s Partnership for Success Grant.  Highlights included prioritizing and 
addressing underage drinking at the state and community levels; leveraging, redirecting, and realigning 
resources in support of the SPF and the reduction of underage drinking; and strengthening state/local 
capacity and infrastructure in support of prevention.  Findings demonstrated the following:   

• A 4 percent reduction in past-month alcohol use among Connecticut high school students from 2005  
to 2009.   

• A 12.9 percent reduction in binge drinking among high school students.   
• A 17.4 percent reduction in early-onset drinking (i.e., before age 13; Youth Risk Behavior Survey). 
• A reduction in alcohol-related motor vehicle fatalities, dropping from 47 percent in 2005 to 42 percent 

in 2008.   
• A 34 percent increase in the number of evidence-based practices, programs, and policies, including 

environmental strategies, funded by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
(DMHAS).   

• A statistically significant increase in community readiness to implement effective substance abuse 
prevention strategies and practices from 2006 to 2010.   

• In comparisons of local student survey data collected before and after implementing the SPF in 
funded communities, 71 percent showed a decrease in the percentage of students reporting past-
month alcohol use. 

Connecticut Statewide Healthy Campus Initiative (CSHCI)  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served 99 (Adults) 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://ct.gov/dmhas  

Program Description:  The purpose of the CSHCI is to develop a comprehensive prevention system 
that is responsive to the needs of young adults ages 18 to 25 who are attending public universities 
throughout Connecticut.  The Initiative is based on a 3-in-1 Framework recommended by the National 
Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA).  The goal is to change the culture of drinking and 
other substance use/abuse using broad-based, comprehensive, integrated programs with multiple 
complementary components that target individuals, including at-risk or alcohol-dependent drinkers; the 
student population as a whole; and the college and the surrounding community.  Objectives of the 
initiative are to:   

• Address gaps in substance abuse prevention and early intervention services. 
• Support culturally responsive, age appropriate, and evidence-based approaches for young adults. 
• Further develop Connecticut’s prevention data infrastructure and capacity to collect and analyze 

outcome data and report on key performance measures.   

The primary target population is college students ages 18 to 25.  Programs may also target family 
members, peers, schools, and communities at large.  This initiative requires that programs use multiple 
strategies within the 3-in-1 Framework (community, campus, and individual-level strategies known to be 
effective).  The following is a summary list of activities:   

• Monthly meetings of the Connecticut Healthy Campus Initiative, open to all Connecticut institutions of 
higher education.  Meetings include training by national experts, technical assistance, networking, 
and coalition organizational tasks geared toward sustaining efforts and promoting evidence-based 
activities on college campuses.  Forty colleges have signed on to participate in the Initiative.   
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• Grantee funding opportunities:  Following a competitive request-for-proposal (RFP) process,  
10 Connecticut colleges received awards to implement evidence-based environmental strategies 
including policy review and creation, enforcement of underage drinking laws and policies, coalition 
capacity building, and social marketing.  Colleges receiving the awards implement the CORE survey 
before and after implementation to measure the effectiveness of the strategies at reducing past-
month alcohol use and binge drinking.   

• Technical assistance (TA) is provided by Connecticut Center for Prevention, Wellness and Recovery 
staff to Connecticut institutions of higher education.  TA includes face-to-face, telephone, and 
electronic consultation as requested by college staff.  An electronic listserv of Connecticut colleges 
will be maintained and used to provide updates on national and state alcohol and drug prevention 
news and information. 

Best Practices Programs (BP’s)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 75,138 
Number of parents served 321,674 (adults) 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:  https://ct.gov/dmhas  
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The Best Practice Initiative consists of 14 multifocused Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant–funded programs across the state.  They were originally 
created in the mid-1990s to apply science- and research-based innovations to populations across the 
lifecycle.  In 2009, following extensive review of state epidemiological data on underage alcohol use and 
related consequences, the funded agencies were refocused to apply the SPF and related strategies to 
address underage drinking and other substances that were data-identified as problems in chosen 
communities.  Target population(s):  All Best Practice agencies are required to use a portion of their 
block grant funds to reduce underage drinking and related consequences.  Strategy type:  The 
population-level approach requires agencies to use environmental strategies endorsed by CSAP, such 
as law and policy development and enforcement and media and marketing campaigns. 

Office of Policy and Management – Enforcement of Underage Drinking 
Laws (EUDL) 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp  

 
Program Description:  The Office of Policy and Management and the Juvenile Justice Advisory 
Committee (JJAC) support comprehensive programs designed to combat underage drinking.  Another 
initiative sponsored by the Office of Policy and Management is called “SetTheRulesCT.”  This is a 
statewide media campaign educating parents and adults about Connecticut’s social host law and the 
impact of alcohol on teenage brain development.  As of June 2009, the JJAC had made awards to five 
agencies totaling $409,260 in the “combating underage drinking” category for FY 2009/2010.   

EUDL:  This program supports and enhances state efforts, in cooperation with local jurisdictions, to 
enforce laws prohibiting the sale of alcoholic beverages to, or the consumption of alcoholic beverages 
by, individuals under 21 years old.  Each state receives an annual allocation of a set amount and may 
also enter into competitive bids for discretionary grants. 
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Governor’s Prevention Partnership (GPP)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 175 
Number of parents served 8,921,342 (adults) 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.preventionworksct.org  

Program Description:  GPP, a statewide resource link, serves as a nonprofit entity between state 
government and businesses with a mission to keep Connecticut’s youth safe, successful, and drug free.  
GPP provides leadership and services to help schools, communities, colleges, and businesses create 
and sustain quality programs in the following areas:  mentoring, coalition building, underage drinking, 
school-based substance abuse and violence prevention, campus community partnerships, parent 
education, and media.  GPP works closely with DMHAS, state agencies, and community-based 
organizations to maximize prevention efforts and services based on state needs and policy plans.  GPP 
and state and local coalitions have mobilized toward a statewide coalition, the Connecticut Coalition to 
Stop Underage Drinking (CCSUD).  CCSUD, in collaboration with Connecticut’s myriad stakeholders, 
has used state and federal funding to achieve the following successes:   

• Passage of several alcohol-related laws intended to curb underage drinking and related harms (keg 
registration, a “zero tolerance” law lowering the blood alcohol level to .02 for a driving under the 
influence [DUI] conviction for persons under 21, and prohibition of drive-up alcohol sales).   

• Reduction in compliance check failure rates from 75 percent of merchants selling alcohol to minors to 
less than 18 percent over the last 8 years.   

• Reduction of 8.9 percent among underage youth who report consuming alcohol in the past 30 days. 
Regional Action Council’s (RACs)  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 683,391 
Number of parents served 2,170,798 (adults) 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/preventionPHPCompendium.pdf 

 

Program Description:  Regional Action Councils RACs) comprise 13 public/private subregional 
planning and action councils covering the state that have responsibility for the planning, development, 
and coordination of behavioral health services in their respective regions.  RACs are resource links for 
DMHAS and are legislatively mandated to:   

• Determine the extent of substance abuse problems within their subregions.   
• Determine the status of resources to address such problems.   
• Identify gaps in the substance abuse service continuum.   
• Identify changes to the community environment that will reduce substance abuse.   

This information is used by DMHAS to inform decisions related to service system plans and 
enhancements.   

RAC membership consists of diverse members of the community, including the chief elected official, the 
chief of police, the superintendent of schools of each municipality within the subregion, business and 
professional leaders, members of the General Assembly, service providers, representatives of minority 
populations, religious organizations, representatives of private funding organizations, and the media.  
Every 2 years, RACs produce Subregional Prevention Priority Reports to describe:   

• The burden of substance abuse, problem gambling, and suicide in the subregions.   
• Prioritized prevention needs.   
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• The capacity of the subregions’ communities to address those needs.   

These reports are based on data-driven analyses of issues in the subregions with assistance from key 
community members.  The reports and accompanying data are used as building blocks for state- and 
community-level processes, including capacity and readiness building, strategic planning, 
implementation of evidence-based programs and strategies, and evaluation of efforts to reduce 
substance abuse and promote mental health.  The subregional priority-setting process conducted by the 
RACs was instrumental in assisting community coalitions with developing strategic plans to address 
underage drinking in their respective communities.  Priority-setting strategies include:   

• Compiling subregional sociodemographic and indicator data using data provided by State 
Epidemiological and Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) and additional community-level data and 
information, such as student surveys and focus group results.   

• Producing subregional epidemiological profiles describing magnitude, impact, and response capacity. 
• Convening Community Needs Assessment Workgroups to conduct the priority ranking process.  

RACs have also received Drug Free Coaliton (DFC) and Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) 
Underage Drinking Act grants to address underage drinking in their regions. 

Connecticut Center for Prevention, Wellness & Recovery/ 
Connecticut Clearinghouse 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 196 
Number of parents served 85,198 (adults) 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.ctclearinghouse.org  

Program Description:  Connecticut Clearinghouse, a program of Wheeler Clinic’s Connecticut Center 
for Prevention, Wellness & Recovery (CCPWR), is a statewide library and resource center for 
information on substance use and mental health disorders, prevention and health promotion, treatment 
and recovery, wellness, and other related topics.  CCPWR serves as a primary infrastracture resource 
link for DMHAS.  Resources and services are available to anyone who lives or works in the state, 
including families, teachers, students, professionals, community members, and children. 

 
Local Prevention Councils (LPCs)  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.ct.gov/dmahs/preventionPHPCompendium.pdf 

 

Program Description:  This DMHAS initiative supports more than 120 local, municipal-based alcohol, 
tobacco, and drug abuse prevention councils.  The intent of this grant program is to facilitate the 
development of prevention initiatives at the local level with the support of the chief elected officials.  The 
specific goals of LPCs are to increase public awareness of substance use prevention and to stimulate 
the development and implementation of local prevention activities primarily focused on youth. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
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Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Connecticut has two federally recognized Tribal nations, the 
Mashantucket Pequot Nation (population 227) and the Mohegan Tribe (population 1,700).  
Connecticut also has four state-recognized Tribal nations:  the Eastern Pequot Nation, the Golden 
Hill Paugusset Tribe, the Pawcatuck Eastern Pequot Tribe (population 150), and the Schaghticoke 
Indian Tribe (population 300).  A seventh Tribal nation, Nipmuc Indian Association of Connecticut, is 
currently seeking federal recognition.  The state’s two federally recognized Indian Tribes are located 
in the Norwich/New London area of eastern Connecticut.  Both have casinos that contribute 25 
percent of all slot revenues to the state.  Outside of the federal government, these casinos are the 
second-largest contributors to Connecticut’s economy.  As a result, the casinos have provided a 
stable economic foundation for the Tribes and have allowed for the preservation of culture and the 
establishment of Tribal departments that provide a broad range of health/social benefits to members 
on the reservations.  Coalitions/RACs in close proximity to Connecticut’s two Tribes have formal 
linkages and include Tribal communities within their community interventions.  At the state level, 
DMHAS is currently working with Tribal leadership to educate them on the PFS initiative and engage 
Tribal representatives to serve in an advisory role, providing advice on issues facing American 
Indians who wish to participate in underage drinking and related substance abuse prevention 
programs.  The Mashantucket Pequot Nation and the Mohegan Tribe have representatives who  
are members of the Connecticut Statewide Prevention Enhancement Policy Consortium. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

Yes 

Program description:  “SetTheRulesCT” is a statewide media campaign educating parents and 
adults about Connecticut’s social host law and the impact of alcohol on teenage brain development.  
The U.S. Department of Justice’s Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) is 
addressing the growing problem of underage drinking through numerous initiatives, including public 
advertising programs.  “SetTheRulesCT” is funded entirely through the EUDL program.  
“SetTheRulesCT” was developed by the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) and the JJAC 
Subcommittee on Combating Underage Drinking, which is composed of representatives from the 
following state agencies and departments:   
• Commission on Children  
• Department of Children and Families  
• Department of Consumer Protection, Liquor Control  
• Department of Education  
• Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services  
• Department of Motor Vehicles  
• Department of Public Safety  
• Department of Transportation, Division of Public Defender Services  
• Department of Public Health  
• Judicial Branch  
• Office of Policy and Management  
• Juvenile Justice Policy and Planning Division  
• Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee  
• Office of the Chief State’s Attorney  

Additionally, Connecticut DMHAS Partnership for Success and Best Practice grantee agencies will 
implement social marketing campaigns as a strategy to address priority underage drinking risk 
factors in local communities throughout the state. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Yes 
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Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 
(CSAP) 
Agency(ies) within your state:  Connecticut Department of Mental Health & 
Addiction Services Prevention & Health Promotion Unit 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  The DMHAS-funded Connecticut PFS grantees use evidence-
based programs (EBPs) including the recently updated (2009) guidance document from CSAP, 
Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions for Substance Abuse Prevention.  An EBP 
Subcommittee of SEOW was established to review and approve community plans that include EBPs 
based on the Guidance Document.  CT’s Resource Links will continue to provide training/teaching 
assistance on selecting and implementing EBP strategies that will most effectively assist PFS 
coalitions with achieving performance target outcomes.  DMHAS, in conjunction with Connecticut 
prevention provider agencies and organizations, developed Cultivating Programs That Work:  
Operating Standards for Prevention and Health Promotion Programs for prevention programs funded 
by DMHAS.  The standards, guidelines, and supporting documents link state-of-the-art prevention 
theory to effective, comprehensive, and accountable prevention practice and abide by principles that 
are divided into eight categories critical for all prevention programs:   

1. Human Relationships  
2. Program Planning  
3. Program Activities  
4. Program Settings  
5. Health and Safety  
6. Program Implementation  
7. Program Administration 
8. Evaluation Implementation of the standards should result in positive outcomes for programs, 

staff, and participants.   

The purpose of these standards is to provide assurances to the public that alcohol and drug abuse 
prevention and early intervention programs are regulated under a set of minimum standards 
established by DMHAS.  These standards establish a minimum level of program operation intended 
to reflect quality substance abuse prevention programs.  The operating standards articulate a 
service philosophy that helps individuals, families, schools, and communities throughout Connecticut 
prevent the use, misuse, or abuse of legal or illegal substances.  To support prevention staff training 
and certification, the Prevention Training Collaborative provides a wide range of prevention training 
across the state.  There are three levels of prevention certification for paraprofessionals, volunteers, 
and prevention program staff with and without 4-year degrees. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Carol Meredith, MPA, Director of Prevention, Department of Mental Health and  
Addiction Services 
E-mail:  Carol.Meredith@ct.gov 
Address:  410 Capitol Avenue, PO Box 341431, MS-14PIT, Hartford, CT  06134 
Phone:  860-418-6826 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
Department of Consumer Protection 
Department of Public Health 
Department of Public Safety 
Department of Transportation 
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Department of Children and Families 
Department of Transportation 
Department of Social Services 
Office of Policy and Management 
Connecticut State University System 
Department of Higher Education  
Office of the Chief State’s Attorney and Judicial Branch 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.ct.gov/dmhas 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  DMHAS Prevention & Health Promotion & The Connecticut Alcohol and Drug Policy 
Council 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.ct.gov/dmhas 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Connecticut Alcohol and Drug Policy Council Final Evaluation Report of the Strategic 
Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant First Year Evaluation Report of the PFS 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.ct.gov/dmhas 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $9,751,668 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $6,221,044 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $318,182 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $4,202,760 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,081,302 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

 
Other programs:   

Programs or strategies included:  No data 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes Yes 
Fines  Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other:  General Funds Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
State Agency Collaboration, Alcohol & Drug Policy Council, Staff time, Direct Program Support,  
Drug Forfeiture Funds 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Delaware 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  917,092 
Population Ages 12–20:   107,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.0 32,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19.8 21,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.8 2,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.0 1,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.0 9,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.9 5,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 55.1 21,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 41.2 16,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  14 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  845 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 4.0 1 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows possession if in 
“private home of any of said members.”  For purposes of this report, the phrase “members of the 
same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows consumption if 
in “private home of any of said members.”  For purposes of this report, the phrase “members of 
the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Although Delaware does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report, it has a 
statutory provision that makes it an offense for  “[w]hoever, being under the age of 21 years, has 
alcoholic liquor in his or her possession at any time, or consumes or is found to have consumed 
alcoholic liquor.”  Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but that do so 
without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal 
Possession for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

Note:  Delaware does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but it does prohibit 
“obtaining” alcohol in connection with making a false statement.     

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• No driver’s license suspension procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Specific affirmative defense:  The retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
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Note:  Although Del. Admin. Code § 2 2000 2215 states that “persons under 21 years old have 
noted on their licenses ‘Under 21,’” research revealed no Delaware statute or regulation 
expressly requiring distinguishing licenses for persons under 21 years old.   

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• 30 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger, except for immediate family 
members when driver is accompanied by a parent, guardian, or licensed driver age 25 or over 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 
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Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows furnishing if in 
the “private home of any of said members.”  For purposes of this report, the phrase “members of 
the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  17 
• Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
• Male:  No facial hair   
• Female:  No excessive makeup  

ID possession 
• Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Recommended 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  5 years 
• First offense:  $500 fine 
• Second offense:  $2,500 fine 
• Third offense:  30-day license suspension 
• Fourth offense:  60-day license suspension 
Note:  Mitigating and/or aggravating circumstances may be considered. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 
• Wine:  21 
• Spirits:  21 
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Prohibited 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.16 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.97 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $3.75 per gallon 
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Additional taxes 
• $2.50 per gallon for alcohol content of 25 percent or less 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited  
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—5 days minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to extent they 

are permitted by federal law 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—5 days minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to extent they 

are permitted by federal law 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—5 days minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to extent they 

are permitted by federal law 
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Delaware State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Division of Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Div. of Alcohol & 
Tobacco Enforcement 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 156 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 1,200 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 180 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 36 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 180 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 36 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 36 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Approx. $23,000 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $2,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 0 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Lunch and Learn  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  A Lunch and Learn takes place when an organization sets up an exhibitor table 
within reach of the cafeteria of a school for students to explore and experience during their lunch period.  
During Delaware Prevention Coalition’s Lunch and Learn sessions, students come at their free will to 
learn about factual information concerning alcohol and other substances.  Lunch and Learns are 
beneficial to the schools because they do not take away from classroom time or extracurricular activities 
in order to get the positive message across that alcohol use and abuse can be costly.  Lunch and 
Learns are interactive:  These open table sessions enable students to participate in games such as 
drunken goggles simulations, where students can practice coordination and reflex timing while imitating 
being under the influence.  Our drunken goggles provide a real-life perception of what an individual’s 
vision would be like while over the legal intoxication limit.  Students learn through these exercises the 
different parts of the brain alcohol affects and how this can lead to unwanted situations.  Lunch and 
Learns are informative:  Students also learn more about what is considered a drink.  On our display we 
show the students the differences and similarities between a shot glass filled with spirits, a cooler, a 
glass of wine, and a mug of beer.  Organizational information as well as brochures concerning the 
effects of alcohol on the body, the mind, the family, and more are distributed during this event.  Binge 
drinking, laws, and risky behaviors are just a few topics that head the spirited discussion during Lunch 
and Learns.  Lunch and Learns are impactful:  The essence of the Lunch and Learn sessions is to allow 
students to seek information without embarrassment and the opportunity to change minds that may be 
convinced that what they’ve experienced and/or learned from their friends may not be safe or factual.  
Facilitators of Lunch and Learns get the privilege to inspire and witness the change of mind when the 
students expand their minds to the idea that the behavior that thought was harmless is quite the 
opposite.  This in turn can help DPC reach our goal of delaying the first onset of use and abuse of 
alcohol for adolescents. 
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Safe Haven/Extended Hours  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 4,408 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  In FY 2012, the Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services 
(DPBHS) funded extended community center hours and a curfew center that offered pro-social 
activities, dinner, at least one weekend evening with later hours, and educational/prevention activities at 
the former.  The latter worked with the Wilmington Police to offer education and resources to youth who 
were brought to the center for violation of curfew, to prevent youth from being on the streets and at risk 
for engaging in substance use and delinquent behaviors.  These alternative activities and programs had 
a significant impact on the number of arrests and incidences of violence—and likely substance use.  
These were possible through unplanned budget windfall monies, and this upcoming summer, the 
DPBHS will continue with planned outcome measures, in particular around substance abuse and 
violence. 

Botvin Life Skills  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 512 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Botvin Life Skills is a research-validated substance abuse prevention program 
proven to reduce the risks of alcohol, tobacco, and drug abuse, as well as violence, by targeting the 
major social and psychological factors that promote the initiation of substance use and other risky 
behaviors.  This comprehensive and exciting program provides adolescents and young teens with the 
confidence and skills necessary to successfully handle challenging situations.  Note:  Total individuals 
served in FY 2012:  547 (number was not broken down by youth, parent, caregiver). 

Parents Step Up  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://parentsstepup.org  

Program Description:  Using various communication media, the Step Up campaign:   
• Helps adults recognize and change behaviors that facilitate underage drinking.  
• Provides ideas for effective house rules to help adults protect kids from underage drinking.  
• Encourages parents to block teens from access to alcohol.  
• Highlights the consequences of underage drinking to discourage alcohol use. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
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Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
A variety of Community Alternative Grants were provided to various organizations from our faith-based 
community, from very small afterschool programs to large afterschool programs.  The Division provided 
over $150,000 throughout the State of Delaware to enhance services for youth, at-risk youth, parents, 
and interested persons in substance abuse prevention, abuse and neglect, health and wellness, and 
suicide prevention along with the KIVA-antibullying prevention program, just to name a few. 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No data 

Agency(ies) within your state: No data 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No data 
Other: No data 
Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

The Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) services (Single State Agency) 
developed the state’s prevention website (http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html) 
this year, and website enhancement continues.  DSAMH’s subrecipient, the Division of Prevention and 
Behavioral Health Services, provides services to youth age 17 and younger.  Their website is 
http://kids.delaware.gov/fs/fs_prevent.shtml.  DSAMH continues to work with the state-recognized 
Nanticoke Tribe to provide support to build their infrastructure in implementing substance abuse 
prevention programs.  DSAMH, in collaboration with the Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health 
Services (DPBHS), reached out to the Native American Center for Excellence (NACE) to receive 
technical assistance for this initiative.  NACE, DPBHS, and DSAMH began working with the Nanticoke 
Tribe to develop assessment tools to collect data to guide their decisionmaking process for substance 
abuse prevention activities in January 2012.  However, at this time they report that they will contact us 
for additional assistance.  Delaware’s Office of Highway Safety (OHS) does not conduct any state-
funded saturation patrols or checkpoints to reduce underage drinking specifically.  OHS conducts 
saturation patrols and checkpoints focused on preventing adult impaired driving; however, minors are 
frequently arrested for underage drinking violations during the course of checkpoint enforcement 
activities.  Additionally, OHS does not include cost information because these enforcement activities are 
federally funded and not state funded. 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Dr. Marc Richman 
E-mail:  Marc.Richman@state.de.us 
Address:  DHSS-Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services, 1901 N. DuPont 
Highway, Main Administration Building, New Castle, DE  19720 
Phone:  302-255-9416 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) Division of Substance Abuse and  
  Mental Health Services  
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Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement  
Office of Highway Safety  
Delaware Department of Education  
Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services  
University of Delaware Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Plan prepared by the Department of Substance Abuse and Mental Health and the 
Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services. 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
N/A 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $1,000,585 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2013 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 
Other programs:  

Programs or strategies included:  Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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District of Columbia 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  632,323 
Population Ages 12–20:  61,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 32.4 20,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.8 11,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.8 1,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.7 *** 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.9 4,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 9.9 2,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 54.1 15,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.3 9,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  17 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  999 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01   

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provisions targeting retailers 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00  
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation 
• 90 days 
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours—must log additional 10 hours of 

nighttime driving at intermediate stage with driver over 21 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after 11 p.m. on Sunday–Thursday and 12:01 a.m. on Saturday–Sunday from 
September through June; 12:01 a.m. in July and August   

– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
• Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, one licensed driver at least 21, and any parent or 

sibling.  After 6 months, no more than two passengers under 21 (except parents or siblings) 
until age 18 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18    

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines 
No data  

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for managers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions are (1) restaurant, hotel, club, caterer’s, and temporary licenses; and  
(2) grocery stores with only incidental sale of alcoholic beverages. 

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions are (1) restaurant, hotel, club, caterer’s, and temporary licenses; (2) grocery 
stores with only incidental sale of alcoholic beverages; and (3) restaurants located inside hotels, 
apartment houses, clubs, or office buildings provided there are no signs or displays, and unless 
specifically approved and Board of Education has no objection. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.   
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments  

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled 
spirits with the following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements:  None 

Reporting requirements:  None 

Shipping label statement requirements:  None 
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Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  4 gallons or more 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 
– Address where keg will be consumed 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.09 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  10 percent 

General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 4 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 10 percent is applied at the retail level.   
The “sales tax adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4 percent. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  10 percent 
General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 4 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 10 percent is applied at the retail level.   
The “sales tax adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4 percent. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.50 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  10 percent 
General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 4 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 10 percent is applied at the retail level.   
The “sales tax adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4 percent. 
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Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings at one time:  Prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited  
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—45 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—45 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—45 days maximum 
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District of Columbia State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Metropolitan Police Department and Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Not applicable  
Shoulder Tap Operations Not applicable 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Not applicable 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Not applicable 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Metropolitan Police 
Department 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Not applicable 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 1,700 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,061 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 108 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,061 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 108 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 

 
Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
STOP Act Grantee  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.facebook.com/dcward8drugfreecoalition 

 

Program Description:  The District of Columbia Ward 8 Drug-Free Coalition is dedicated to ultimately 
serving all neighborhoods in Ward 8.  Our initial targeted community is the Hillsdale neighborhood and 
its immediate surrounding neighborhoods of Barry Farm and Park Chester.  The community 
population is predominantly African American.  The primary objectives of the Coalition are to (1) 
reduce alcohol, marijuana, and tobacco use among youth, and over time adults, by addressing at-risk 
and protective factors; (2) develop a resource guide of youth substance abuse prevention programs; 
(3) update a community needs and asset assessment; (4) conduct community forums to review and 
share information on youth substance use and abuse prevention; (5) place substance use and abuse 
prevention messages in liquor stores, shopping centers, barber and beauty shops, convenience 
stores, and other places most frequented by youth; and (6) strengthen and sustain the community’s 
drug paraphernalia removal campaign from liquor stores, convenience stores, gas stations, and ice 
cream trucks, along with greater enforcement of the alcohol and tobacco laws. 

Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 

  

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 367 



State Reports – District of Columbia  

URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The National Capital Coalition for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
(NCCPUD) focuses on innovation prevention interventions by engaging 30 youths from all 8 wards in 
the District of Columbia in its Youth Advocates Peer Leadership Program.  The Leadership Program is 
designed to educate youths on underage drinking issues, and empowers them as peer leaders within 
their communities to educate both youths and adults.  NCCPUD has trained over 28 youths who 
represent the entire District to include all eight wards.  The youths have received intensive training and 
information on underage drinking issues, DC laws on underage drinking, harms and effects of drinking, 
and social responsibilities.  Over 23 youths have also been trained as Compliance Interns/Supervisors 
working with the Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration (ABRA) and the Metropolitan Police 
Department (MPD) on alcohol enforcement activities.  Data instruments have been developed for data 
collection during the year.  NCCPUD Youth Advocates participated in an underage drinking survey 
conducted by the Ward 1 Coalition.  With the beginning of a new FY and school year, NCCPUD began 
interviews with over 20 new advocates.  These data will capture the perception of underage drinking 
among youth who have not been exposed or trained on this effort.   

The Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration (ABRA) Underage Drinking Program, DC Double 
Check 101, involves a joint partnership between ABRA, NCCPUD, the MPD, the Addiction and 
Prevention Recovery Administration (APRA), and eight major universities located within the District of 
Columbia.  Double Check 101 was formed to combat underage drinking in the District, as it specifically 
relates to college students, by identifying locations that are:  (1) problematic for colleges and universities 
and (2) are allowing college students to purchase alcohol without identification or with fake ID’s.  DC 
Double Check 101 also addresses District of Columbia ABC establishments that accept fraudulent 
identification and knowingly serve alcoholic beverages to underage patrons.   

The MPD will support the effort to reduce underage drinking and the sale of alcohol to minors in the 
District of Columbia.  The MPD has partnered with the ABRA, NCCPUD, and the Attorney General to 
enforce underage drinking regulations through random compliance checks, also known as Sale to Minor 
operations.  The overarching goal of the Sale to Minor operations is to educate the community and 
businesses about DC liquor laws and provide notice that all establishments that sell alcohol are subject 
to random compliance checks.  MPD will also conduct training classes on standard operating 
procedures for conducting DC compliance checks to be attended by ABRA investigators, MPD officers, 
NCCPUD, and the underage “buyer” and his/her parents. 

National Capital Coalition to Prevent Underage Drinking (NCCPUD)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.nccpud.ne t 

Program Description:  NCCPUD, through its Youth Advocates Peer Program, provides and sponsors 
weekly training/workshops to over 30 area youths on various alcohol-related laws, enforcement 
activities, and issues currently affecting their environment.  NCCPUD Youth Advocates give peer 
presentations at various public and private senior high schools in the District of Columbia and sponsor 
yearly Prom Promise events that encourage youths not to make destructive decisions during prom 
season.  NCCPUD also serves as the District Coordinator for the National Students Against Destructive 
Decisions (SADD) program.  Since its inception, NCCPUD has trained over 550 youth advocates for the 
prevention of underage drinking and currently serves more than 1,500 youth each year in the District of 
Columbia. 

DC Prevention Centers (DCPC)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
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Number of youth served 16,319 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.doh.dc.gov/apra  

Program Description:  The District of Columbia Department of Health, Addiction Prevention and 
Recovery Administration (APRA) funds four DC Prevention Centers (DCPCs) that provide access to 
alcohol, tobacco and other drug prevention (ATOD) across all eight wards.  Each DCPC covers two 
wards (Wards 1 and 2; Wards 3 and 4; Wards 5 and 6; Wards 7 and 8) through Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant funds.  The DCPCs focus on three core functions 
(community education, community leadership, and community changes) and billable strategies that 
address the District’s needs assessment data and Community Conversations.  DCPCs focus on system-
wide outcomes and four levels of evaluation:  (1) attitudes and perceptions; (2) priority risk and 
protective factors; (3) community changes; and (4) distal or behavioral outcomes.  In addition, each 
DCPC received funds for a SPF SIG Coordinator to focus on two priorities:  underage drinking and 
prevention of marijuana use among youth.  The SPF SIG Coordinators facilitate Strategic Prevention 
Framework planning with community prevention networks and support development of the 
Neighborhood Prevention Investment Grants and DC Youth Prevention Leadership Corps.  More than 
29,000 District youths and adults were reached in 2012 through DCPC planned services. 

Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE)  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 30,000 (estimate; 

analysis pending) 
Number of parents served N/A 
Number of caregivers served N/A 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://osse.dc.gov  

Program Description:  The Addiction Prevention and Recovery Administration (APRA) has a strong 
and extensive history with the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) and the Youth 
Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS).  In addition to using the YRBS for prevention planning purposes, APRA 
staff have served on YRBS advisory boards since 2008.  More recently (July 2012), APRA and OSSE 
entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to fund expanded coverage of the 2012/2013 
District of Columbia YRBS.  Additionally, APRA was successful in adding new questions about use of 
and perception of the use of synthetic marijuana among middle and high school students in DC.  In 
addition, OSSE staff participated in APRA’s District of Columbia Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup 
(DCEOW).  The DCEOW has many goals; in creating the workgroup, APRA sought to elicit substance 
abuse and related data from data-holding agencies across the District for the purpose of developing an 
epidemiological profile for DC and its wards.  These profiles help APRA determine and monitor the 
scope of substance abuse and related problems in DC as well as facilitate the data-driven 
decisionmaking process at APRA.  Since 2007, representatives from OSSE have provided the requisite 
YRBS data and related information to APRA’s data contractors to develop yearly epidemiological 
profiles.  YRBS data are a necessary and key piece of APRA’s prevention planning efforts, and OSSE 
has been instrumental in helping APRA understand, work with, and get the most out of the YRBS data.  

Ward 7 Community Prevention Evidence-Based Grant  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
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URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.Sign-Off.org  

Program Description:  The Ward 7 Safe & Drug-Free Communities Coalition, in line with its mission 
and vision statement, is focusing on creating an environment that supports healthy behavior by reducing 
risk and increasing protection for youth substance use/abuse through environmental strategies designed 
to effect change in public policy that research has shown contributes to underage drinking and other 
drug use.  The Coalition, during the past 10 months of the grant period, has effectively engaged media 
and community partnerships to address excessive alcohol advertisements, flagrant over-the-counter 
sales of alcohol to underage Ward 7 youth, and the proliferation of alcohol licenses that currently exist in 
the District’s Ward 7 by shaping public understanding of the scientifically proven detrimental effects of 
these community factors, and empowering the Ward 7 community to act on changing these conditions.  
Key elements of the environmental strategy include  

• Ongoing communitywide assessment (in-school survey and community focus groups) as a baseline 
instrument to document current levels of youth substance use, attitudes about substance use, and 
knowledge and awareness of environmental risk factors in Ward 7 leading to substance use among 
youth as well as to measure the program’s success in changing attitudes and behaviors. 

• Development of strategic positioning messaging, visual images and materials for use in community 
education seminars, building community partnerships, and changing norms. 

• Generating and facilitating meaningful community partnerships with organizations and individuals to 
effect environmental and policy change. 

• Creating and maintaining mentored teen action groups to encourage and educate their peers about 
substance abuse prevention and serve as ambassadors to encourage Ward 7 alcohol retailers to 
comply with city alcohol laws and regulations. 

• Media advocacy as a community-based intervention to further empower the community to recognize 
that youth substance abuse is a shared community responsibility, and to build synergy among all of 
the key stakeholders, including elected officials and regulatory agency personnel, to address and 
effectively change the Ward 7 environmental factors that contribute to youth substance use/abuse. 

Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  APRA continued to implement the SPF SIG strategic plan, which focuses on 
two priorities:  underage drinking and prevention of marijuana use among youth.  The goals are to (1) 
prevent the onset and reduce the progression of risk for underage drinking and marijuana use among 
youth and (2) build infrastructure and community capacity at District and Ward levels to address 
perceptions and attitudes, reduce priority risk and protective factors, track and report community 
changes, and document distal outcomes over time.   

In 2013, APRA will continue to support the following pilot and capacity-building strategies through SPF 
SIG continuation and carryover funds:   

• DC Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup and evaluation  
• Four SPF SIG Community Coordinators  
• Strategic Prevention Framework training and technical assistance  
• DC Youth Prevention Leadership Corps development  
• Community Prevention Evidence-Based Grants  
• DC Prevention Leadership Center concept development  
• Youth Strategic Prevention Framework training and training of trainers for community action  
• Social marketing initiative on Synthetic Marijuana  
• Neighborhood Prevention Investment Grants  
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• CORE Risk Reduction Initiative Evaluation is through Research Triangle Institute,  
the APRA SPF SIG contractor 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other:  The Addiction Prevention and Recovery Administration:  Single State 
Agency for Substance Abuse Services 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  APRA is the Single State Agency (SSA) and as such sets best 
practices standards for alcohol, tobacco, and other drug (ATOD) prevention through strategic plans, 
grants, and contracts.  APRA has built a seamless District, ward, and community prevention 
infrastructure tailored to urban and culturally diverse populations and a densely populated city.  The 
infrastructure has a research-based foundation that includes a risk and protective factor model, a 
modified SPF planning process, and evidence-based strategies that address the prevention needs 
assessment data.  The strategies cover universal, selective, and indicated preventive interventions. 

 
Additional Clarification  

In 2013, APRA will continue development of a Prevention Leadership Center that sustains data and 
evaluation, training and technical assistance, and evidence-based practices tested and evaluated in the 
District of Columbia through federal SPF SIG funds.  Through the infrastructure, research-based 
foundation, and best practices progress to date, APRA prevention is well positioned as the agency 
merges with the Department of Mental Health into a new Department of Behavioral Health on  
October 1, 2013. 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Ryan Springer 
E-mail:  Ryan.Springer@dc.gov 
Address:  No data 
Phone:  No data 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Child and Family Services 
Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America 
DC Children and Youth Investment Trust Corporation 
DC National Guard 
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DC Public Charter School Board 
Department of Health 
Department of Mental Health 
Department of Parks and Recreation 
Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services 
Justice Grants Administration and Victim Services 
Metropolitan Police Department  
Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education  
Office of the Deputy Mayor for Health and Human Services  
Office of the State Superintendent of Education  
The DC Prevention Policy Council (PPC) serves as the support for the Strategic Prevention 
Framework State Incentive Grant and the former Strategic Prevention Enhancement Grant 
Prevention Policy Consortium.  Due to the addition of a new APRA Prevention Deputy, APRA is 
currently reorganizing the PPC to address the merger into the new Department of Behavioral Health. 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  The Prevention website is currently under development.  APRA 
hopes to have it running later this year. 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  APRA 
Plan can be accessed via:  The Prevention website is currently under development.  APRA hopes to 
have it running later this year. 

 
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  The DC Department of Health prepared a report on alcohol/underage drinking.  APRA 
also prepared a report as a requirement of SPF SIG.  Finally, as a requirement of the Strategic 
Prevention Enhancement (SPE) Grant, APRA prepared a 5-year plan that addressed, among many 
things, underage drinking. 
Plan can be accessed via:  The Prevention website is currently under development.  APRA hopes to 
have it running later this year. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  Evidence-Based Programs/Strategies 
Estimate of state funds expended $894,244 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following  
revenue streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other:  Federal grants Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The total amount of federal monies used in substance abuse (all ATODs) prevention 
programs/strategies/planning for the year ending 9/30/2012 is $3,825,608.36. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
 
  

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 373 



State Reports – Florida  

 
Florida 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:   19,317,568 
Population Ages 12–20:  2,155,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.9 537,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.8 319,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.8 38,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.7 18,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.2 143,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.2 79,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.8 356,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 27.9 222,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  282 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  16,951 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 16.0 51 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  180 days 
• Maximum:  365 days 
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after 11 p.m. for 16-year-olds; after 1 a.m. for 17-year-olds 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• No passenger restrictions 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  16 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
• Obviously underage in appearance; no uniforms; dress based on community standards in 

target area  
• Male:  No facial hair  
• Female:  Hair and makeup should be age-appropriate; no revealing attire  

ID possession 
• Discretionary 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
• First offense:  $1,000 and 7-day license suspension 
• Second offense:  $3,000 and 30-day license suspension 
• Third offense:  License revocation 
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Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 
• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  Not specified 
• Wine:  Not specified 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  No 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet.  Local government has authority to override 

state restrictions. 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Willful and unlawful furnishing to minor 

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability   
Note:  Common law liability rests on a violation of the criminal social host statute.  The criminal 
social host statute prohibits an adult from allowing an open house party to take place at a 
residence he/she controls and knowingly allowing a minor to possess or consume alcohol at  
the residence and failing to take reasonable steps to prevent the possession or consumption of  
the alcoholic beverage. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence 
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• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 
actual knowledge of the occurrence 

• Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
Note:  The “preventive action” provision in Florida requires the prosecution to prove that the 
host failed to take preventive action. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Note:  Although current law suggests that direct shipments of alcoholic beverages are prohibited, 
the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s informal policy allows out-of-
state wineries to make direct shipments of wine to Florida consumers.  Florida statutes that 
purport to ban direct shipments are not being enforced pursuant to a stipulation entered into by 
the state in a lawsuit challenging the constitutionality of the law (Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 561.54, 
561.545).  For more information, see http://www.flsenate.gov/data/Publications/2006/ 
Senate/reports/interim_reports/pdf/2006-146rilong.pdf) 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.48 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.25 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $6.50 per gallon 

Additional taxes 
• $2.25 per gallon for alcohol content of less than 17.259 percent 

Drink Specials 
No law 
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 
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Florida State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Alcoholic Beverages and 
Tobacco, Bureau of Law Enforcement 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Don’t know 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors No data 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No data 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 3,221 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 46,284 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 5865 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 832 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 46,284 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 596 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations  
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales  
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that  
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 58 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $54,350 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
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Largest fine imposed $1,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 53 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 169 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 3 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Be The Wall Campaign  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://fcpr.fsu.edu/sarg/tools/btw.php  

Program Description:  Be The Wall is a statewide social marketing campaign sponsored by the Florida 
Governor’s Office of Drug Control, the Florida Department of Children and Families, and the Strategic 
Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG). 

Too Good for Drugs & Violence  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:  http://www.memdezfoundation.org  

Program Description:  Too Good for Drugs & Violence is a comprehensive prevention education 
program for high school students.  Designed to equip students with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes 
they need to remain safe and drug-free, this program builds on the core concepts of Too Good for 
Violence K-8 and Too Good for Drugs K-8.  Too Good for Drugs & Violence offers 10 lessons to be 
delivered once a week for 10 weeks in a single grade level, plus 12 additional lessons to be 
incorporated into English, science, health, and/or social studies courses, so that students can gain 
critical information and practice essential skills throughout their high school years.  These 
developmentally appropriate lessons feature topics of great interest to high school students, such as 
identifying the effects of underage drinking, distinguishing healthy and unhealthy relationships, and 
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recognizing the stages of addiction and possible sources of help.  Lessons reveal misconceptions about 
tobacco and marijuana and the dangers of abusing prescription and over-the-counter drugs, ecstasy, 
cocaine, and methamphetamine.  Students also learn to analyze media influences, deal with prejudice 
and discrimination, and de-escalate conflicts. 
Project Northland  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.channing-bete.com/ 
prevention-programs/guiding-good-choices/guiding-good-choices.html 

 

Program Description:  Alcohol is the drug of choice for American teenagers, and alcohol use during 
early adolescence increases the likelihood of progression to heavy alcohol use and to the use of other 
illicit drugs.  The influences of peers, family members, school, the media, and the community have been 
shown to play a critical role in promoting or discouraging alcohol use among teens.  Thus, the 
prevention researchers who developed Project Northland focused on engaging not only youth but also 
schools, families, and the larger community in one comprehensive prevention effort.   

Guiding Good Choices  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.channing-bete.com/ 
prevention-programs/guiding-good-choices/guiding-good-choices.html 

 

Program Description:  Guiding Good Choices is an easy-to-implement, proven-effective, drug 
prevention program that seeks to give parents skills to reduce their children’s risk for using alcohol and 
other drugs.  The program is based on the Social Development Strategy (SDS), whose framework is 
based on longitudinal studies and 30 years of research by Dr. J. David Hawkins and Dr. Richard F. 
Catalano of the University of Washington.  The social development model is a complete model of 
behavioral development that outlines pathways to both problem and positive behaviors.  The SDS 
describes the pathway to healthy behaviors outlined in the social development model (Catalano & 
Hawkins, 1996).  Protective factors are research-based predictors of positive youth development and 
healthy behaviors that buffer children’s exposure to risk factors.  The SDS shows how three broad 
categories of protective factors—healthy beliefs and clear standards, bonding, and individual 
characteristics—work together to promote positive youth development and healthy behaviors (Hawkins, 
Catalano, & Arthur, 1995).  The SDS begins with a goal of healthy behaviors for all children and youth.  
In order for young people to develop healthy behaviors, adults must communicate healthy beliefs and 
clear standards for behavior to young people (Catalano & Hawkins, 1996). 

Botvin LifeSkills Training (LST)  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  
http://www.lifeskillstraining.com/evaluation.php 
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URL for more program information:  http://www.lifeskillstraining.com  

Program Description:  LST is a research-validated substance abuse prevention program proven to 
reduce the risks of alcohol, tobacco, drug abuse, and violence by targeting the major social and 
psychological factors that promote the initiation of substance use and other risky behaviors.  This 
comprehensive and exciting program provides adolescents and young teens with the confidence and 
skills necessary to successfully handle challenging situations.  Developed by Dr. Gilbert J. Botvin, a 
leading prevention expert, LST is backed by over 30 scientific studies and is recognized as a Model or 
Exemplary program by an array of government agencies including the U.S. Department of Education 
and the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention.  Rather than merely teaching information about the 
dangers of drug abuse, LST promotes healthy alternatives to risky behavior through activities designed 
to (1) teach students the necessary skills to resist social (peer) pressures to smoke, drink, and use 
drugs, (2) help students develop greater self-esteem and self-confidence, (3) enable students to 
effectively cope with anxiety, (4) increase their knowledge of the immediate consequences of substance 
abuse, and (5) enhance cognitive and behavioral competency to reduce and prevent a variety of health 
risk behaviors. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No response 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 

Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA 
Agency(ies) within your state:  Department of Children and Families 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): 
Other:   

 
Yes 
Yes 
No 
No 

Best practice standards description:  The Best Practices Recognition Program provides recognition 
for programs that exemplify “best practice” methods in substance abuse prevention and treatment 
services.  These programs’ efforts are shown to measurably improve service outcomes and the 
quality of life for program participants.  All aspects of the program process are intended to bring 
recognition to the recipients, to the quality of care for persons receiving substance abuse supports 
and services, and to the efforts being made in providing substance abuse services in Florida.   
The Substance Abuse Response Guide (SARG):  The Substance Abuse Program’s Prevention 
Team uses SARG to help communities change conditions that underlie illegal, illicit, and problematic 
alcohol and drug use patterns and related consequences in the State of Florida 
(http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/samh/SubstanceAbuse/prevention.shtml).   
The Evidence-Based Practice Initiative (http://fcpr.fsu.edu/prevention/fps_document.html):  When 
speaking about implementing a prevention program or strategy “with fidelity,” the process starts with 
its selection.  Even faithful implementation of a program or strategy that poorly fits the needs and 
makeup of the community can be as ineffective as implementing a program with no evidence of 
effectiveness.  Thoughtful selection is essential.  Three principles drive selection:  relevance, 
appropriateness, and evidence of effectiveness.  It is important that a program or strategy have 
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evidence that it is likely to influence troublesome factors or conditions that are driving a community’s 
substance abuse problems.  In addition, the program or strategy should be supported by the 
community and fit the community’s demographics, culture, resources, and capacity.  This guidance 
provides elements that reflect a selection process that achieves good fit.  It includes a glossary of 
terms, one list of benchmarks for the process and another for provider qualities, and a more indepth 
discussion of each element.  The principle of goodness of fit, as reflected in the elements of 
relevance and appropriateness, will be the foundation of the Department’s Evidence-Based 
Practices Initiative.  Circuits and managing entities will use them to make funding and resource 
allocation decisions and ensure the implementation of evidence-based practices. 

Additional Clarification  
No response 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Don’t know/ 
No answer 

Committee contact information:   
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
 Not applicable 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities  

URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 
 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Substance Abuse Prevention Advisory council 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Not sure 
Prepared by:  No data 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

 
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 0/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 0/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
 Other programs:   

Programs or strategies included:  No data  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 0/30/2012 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used:  No data 
 
Additional Clarification  

The State of Florida Prevention program has utilized funding from federal sources such as SAMHSA 
and the U.S. Department of Education to fund prevention programs in K-12 and at institutions of higher 
education.  Many prevention programs target multiple risk and protective factors that affect a variety of 
behaviors that, in turn, affect a variety of issues such as substance use, violence prevention, or bullying.  
Contracted providers are encouraged to use the evidence-based programs that best fit the community 
needs as identified in a formalized Community Needs and Resource Assessment.  Data generally do 
not capture underage drinking alone. 
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Georgia 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  9,919,945 
Population Ages 12–20:  1,230,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.7 267,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.5 166,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.8 19,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.7 7,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.2 88,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.2 53,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 39.2 160,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 26.0 106,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  149 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  9,030 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 20.0 32 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian’s home AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• 180 days 
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, of which 6 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, immediate family only.  Second 6 months, no 
more than one passenger under 21 who is not immediate family.  After 1 year, no more than 
three passengers under 21 who are not immediate family 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian’s home AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  Not specified 
• Wine:  Not specified 
• Spirits:  Not specified 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer; within 200 yards for 
spirits. Local government has the authority to override state restrictions for wine and beer 
for grocery stores. 

– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer; within 200 yards for 
spirits. Local government has authority to override state restrictions. 

– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits. 
Note:  Exceptions include (1) hotels of more than 50 rooms; (2) bona fide private clubs.  

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer; within 200 yards for 
spirits. 

– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer; within 200 yards for 
spirits. Local government has authority to override state restrictions. 

– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 
Note:  Exceptions include (1) hotels of more than 50 rooms; (2) bona fide private clubs. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Furnishing with knowledge that customer was a 

minor and would soon be operating a motor vehicle. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Furnishing with knowledge that customer was a 

minor and would soon be operating a motor vehicle. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age verification requirements   
• Producer must verify age of purchaser.  

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
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Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  
Note:  Wineries that hold a federal basic wine manufacturing permit, regardless of whether they 
are licensed by the state of Georgia, may also ship wines directly to consumers.  The consumer 
must purchase the wine while physically present on the premises of the winery, and the winery 
must verify that the consumer is of the age to do so.  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  More than 2 gallons 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/12 months 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/12 months 

• Purchaser information collected:   
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 
– Address where keg will be consumed 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 
Note:  Although Georgia does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s ID, 
it does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser, as well 
as the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Prohibited 
• Spirits:  Prohibited  

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.01 per gallon 
Note:  $0.32 per gallon for malt beverages sold in barrels or bulk containers containing not more 
than 31 gallons, and $0.39 per gallon on barrels or bulk containers of 15.5 gallons or less. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.42 per gallon 
• Additional taxes:  Georgia imposes an additional tax of $1.10 per gallon on the “importation 

for use, consumption, or final delivery” into the state of all wines with an alcohol content of 
14 percent or less. 
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Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.89 per gallon 
Note:  Georgia imposes an additional tax of $1.89 per gallon on the “importation for use, 
consumption, or final delivery” into the state of all distilled spirits. 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—180 days minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted—if retailer owns more than one business and payment is made 

from a central office, then credit not to exceed 5 days after delivery and invoice. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—14 days minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted 
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Georgia State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Georgia Department of Revenue Alcohol and Tobacco Division 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Georgia Dept. of Revenue 
Alcohol and Tobacco Div. 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 7 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement 
agencies 

No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales  
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 17,000 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 5,343 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 617 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, 
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 5,343 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 617 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales  
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that  
furnish minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
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Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors No data 

Number of license revocations imposed6 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification    

A breakdown of the fines imposed on all alcohol business is not available.  However, the state collected 
a total of $1,075,837 in fines against alcohol business overall for violations of the revenue regulations 
and/or state laws. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Georgia Strategic Prevention System (GASPS) – Alcohol Initiative  

Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.ga-sps.org  

Program Description:  To address the negative impact of alcohol use in Georgia, the state Office of 
Prevention Services and Programs (OPSP) has developed GASPS.  This initiative aims to affect 
population-level change of behaviors and trends of alcohol use and abuse among youth and young 
adults ages 9 to 25 years.  GASPS will use the SAMHSA CSAP Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) 
model to develop and implement strategies aimed at population-level change using the public health 
model approach.  The objective of this initiative is to implement statewide primary prevention strategies 
(programs, practices, policies) consistent with needs as identified by epidemiological data, with the 
following goals:  (1) reduce early onset of alcohol use in 9- to 20-year-olds, (2) reduce access to alcohol 
and binge drinking in 9- to 20-year-olds, and (3) reduce binge drinking and heavy drinking in 18- to 25-
year-olds.  Currently, 38 providers with 51 contracts across the state are completing this initiative. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
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Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Disabilities 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Through incorporation of the SPF into its alcohol initiative, the 
Office of Prevention Services and Programs (OPSP) became strategic about prevention services 
and programs being provided in Georgia and looks to increase utilization of evidence-based 
programs, practices, and policies.  This will allow OPSP to target our services, show outcomes in our 
communities, and ensure long-term sustainability of evidence-based substance use/abuse 
prevention efforts.  This model requires target communities to develop and implement strategies 
aimed at population-level change using the public health model approach.  By adopting the SPF 
process and the public health model, target communities would use a comprehensive approach to 
develop and implement sustainable outcome-based prevention strategies.  OPSP will also be 
utilizing the Surgeon General’s Call to Action To Prevent and Reduce Underage Drinking to assist  
in continuing to develop best practice standards. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Margie Irizarry-DeLaCruz 
E-mail:  midelacruz1@dhr.state.ga.us 
Address:  2 Peachtree NW, Atlanta, GA  30303 
Phone:  No data 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities 
The Council on Alcohol and Drugs 
Maternal Substance Abuse and Child Development Project, Emory University 
Georgia State University 
Clinic for Education, Treatment, and Prevention of Addiction, Inc. (CEPTA) 
Georgia Department of Revenue, Alcohol and Tobacco Division 
Drug Enforcement Administration 
Carl Vinson Institute of Government, University of Georgia 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 
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Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities/ Office of Prevention 
Services and Programs 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.ga-sps.org 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2013 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2013 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2013 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2013 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following  
revenue streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 
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Additional Clarification  

To address the negative impact of alcohol use in Georgia, the state Office of Prevention Services and 
Programs developed the Georgia Strategic Prevention System (GASPS) alcohol initiative utilizing 
SAMHSA Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant funding.  This initiative aims 
to impact population-level change of behaviors and trends of alcohol use and abuse among youth and 
young adult’s ages 9 to 25.  GASPS will use the SAMHSA/CSAP SPF model to develop and implement 
strategies aimed at population-level change using the public health model approach.  The objective of 
this initiative is to implement statewide primary prevention strategies (programs/practices/policies) 
consistent with needs as identified by epidemiological data with the following goals:   

• Reduce early onset of alcohol use among 9- to 20-year-olds  
• Reduce access to alcohol and binge drinking among 9- to 20-year-olds 
• Reduce binge drinking and heavy drinking among 18- to 25-year-olds 
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Hawaii 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,392,313 
Population Ages 12–20:  147,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.4 34,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.7 23,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.7 3,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 4.8 2,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.1 10,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.6 6,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 40.6 21,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 27.9 15,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  11 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  680 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 61.0 7 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Although Hawaii does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report, it has  
a statutory provision that, “[n]o minor shall consume or purchase liquor and no minor shall 
consume or have liquor in the minor’s possession or custody in any public place, public 
gathering, or public amusement, at any public beach or public park, or in any motor vehicle  
on a public highway” and that “‘consume’ or ‘consumption’ includes the ingestion of liquor.”  
Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so without reference to  
a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession for purposes 
of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the 

purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 
Note:  In Hawaii, the retailer has a defense to a charge of furnishing to a minor if, in making the 
sale or allowing the consumption of liquor by a minor, the retailer was misled by the appearance 
of the minor and the attending circumstances into honestly believing that the minor was of legal 
age, and if the retailer can prove that he or she acted in good faith. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 

Penalties applicable to minors under age 21 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  180 days 
• Maximum:  Not specified 
 
Penalties applicable to minors under age 18 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  180 days 
• Maximum:  Not specified 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18, except household 
members, unless accompanied by parent or guardian 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 
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Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 
Note:  Liquor can be sold by persons 18 to 20 years old only in licensed establishments where 
selling or serving the intoxicating liquor is part of the minor’s employment, and where there is 
proper supervision of these minor employees to ensure that the minors shall not consume the 
intoxicating liquor.   

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 
Note:  Liquor can be sold or served by persons 18 to 20 years old only in licensed establishments 
where selling or serving the intoxicating liquor is part of the minor’s employment, and where 
there is proper supervision of these minor employees to ensure that the minors shall not consume 
the intoxicating liquor.  Persons below age 18 may sell or serve liquor in individually specified 
licensed establishments found to be otherwise suitable by the liquor commission in which an 
approved program of job training and employment for dining room waiters and waitresses is 
being conducted in cooperation with the University of Hawaii, the state community college 
system, or a federally sponsored personnel development and training program, under 
arrangements that ensure proper control and supervision of employees. 
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  No 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet, if 40 percent of registered voters or property 

owners within area protest 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions include (1) designated resort areas; (2) hotel or condominium hotel  
liquor licenses. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.   
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on who may be sued:  Social host must be 21 years old or older. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Uncertain 
• Wine:  Uncertain 
• Spirits:  Uncertain 
Note:  Any adult may obtain a state permit to receive one shipment of beer, wine, or distilled 
spirits per year for personal use from outside the state, not to exceed 5 gallons.  Only one permit 
is allowed per household.  It is uncertain whether an out-of-state retailer may ship the alcohol 
directly to the permittee for his or her personal use.   

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 
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State approval/permit requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit  

Reporting requirements:  None 

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  
Note:  Any adult may obtain a state permit to receive one shipment of beer, wine, or distilled 
spirits per year for personal use from outside the State, not to exceed 5 gallons.  Only one permit 
is allowed per household. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.93 per gallon 
Note:  $0.54 per gallon for containers of 7 gallons or more. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.38 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $5.98 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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Hawaii State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

The State of Hawaii, Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division, is primarily 
responsible for the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) program.  The county police 
departments and the Liquor Commission are responsible for enforcement. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Dept. of Liquor Control for 
registration and State of 
Hawaii Dept. of Taxation 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 413 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 4/30/2013 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law  
enforcement agencies 

Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 982 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 794 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 166 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 4/30/2013 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-
sale, or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations Yes 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 211 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 37 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 657 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 124 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 4/30/2013 
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Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 31 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $33,000 

Smallest fine imposed $1,000 ($2,000 with $1,000 
suspended for 1 year) 

Largest fine imposed $3,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 0 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 0 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    

Some of the responses are from the Department of Liquor Control in the County of Kauai, University of 
Hawaii, Public Health Studies, Honolulu Police Department, Hawaii County Police Department-Kona, 
and the Maui Police Departments.  Not all of the police departments and the liquor control departments 
have participated in this survey. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Program  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Provide services to reduce the accessibility and use of alcohol by minors under 
age 21 and change community social norms through coordination of a statewide council, county 
coalitions, enforcement strategies, environmental strategies, a media campaign, and educational 
strategies.  In addition to the the above, provide and conduct an alcohol sales random sample survey to 
determine the rate of alcohol sales to underage youth in retail outlets and liquor establishments and 
support enforcement operations under Hawaii Revised Statutes, section §712-1250.5, which makes it a 
misdemeanor offense to promote intoxicating liquor to a person under age 21 in the State of Hawaii. 
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Community-Based Strategy To Discourage the Use of Alcohol Products 
by Minors 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  This is an environmental strategy that establishes or changes written and 
unwritten community standards, norms, and attitudes, thereby influencing the incidence and prevalence 
of substance abuse in the general population. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  OJJDP, Department of Justice, SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  State of Hawaii, Department of Health, Alcohol 
and Drug Abuse Division, Department of Attorney General 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies):  Coalition for a Drug Free Hawaii Yes 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  One of the best practice standards our state uses is off-premise 
compliance checks.  These checks provide our local law enforcement officers (police departments) 
the tool to let our alcohol retail establishments know it is illegal to sell alcohol to anyone under age 
21.  The police departments work with our School of Public Health Studies to also record the number 
of stores not in compliance to get a better percentage of stores that are in compliance with the law.  
We also use social norms marketing and environmental stategies.  The Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Division (ADAD) has and continues to use the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF logic model) to 
strategize with our best practice standards.  This logic model helps with a clear understanding of the 
specific substance abuse problems in the community and the involvement of community members to 
do something about it.  Our coalition, Hawaii Partnerships to Prevent Underage Drinking (HPPUD), 
works collectively to ensure that the youth have a healthy lifestyle. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Valerie Mariano 
E-mail:  valerie.s.mariano@hawaii.gov 
Address:  Department of the Attorney General, Crime Prevention & Justice Assistance Division, 235 
South Beretania Street, Suite 401, Honolulu, HI  96813 
Phone:  808-586-1444 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Mayor’s Office 
University of Hawaii at Manoa 
Maui Economic Opportunity 
County Liquor Commission Departments 
Parent and Child Together 
Coalition for Drug Free Hawaii 
MADD Hawaii 
Dept. of Health, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, Maternal and Child Health Branch, Alcohol and  
   Drug Abuse Division 
State Dept. of Transportation 
Alu Like, Inc. (Native Hawaiian organization) 
Hina Mauka (Teen Substance Abuse Organization)  
TheInstitute for Family Enrichment 
National Guard, Drug Demand Reduction Unit  
State Department of the Attorney General  
County Police Departments  
University of Hawaii  
City and County of Honolulu 
Department of Community Services Tobacco Prevention Coalition 
Borthwick Mortuary Dignity Memorial 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.hawaiicounterdrug.org/hppud.html, & 
http://ag.hawaii.gov 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  National Guard, Drug Demand Reduction Unit 
Plan can be accessed via:  contact valerie.s.mariano@hawaii.gov to access the plan 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Not sure 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
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Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  (1) Staff hours to implement the EUDL federal grant—estimated 
time spent the past 12 months was approximately 85 percent for one staff member and 20 percent 
for a total of two staff members.  (2) Staff time to attend underage drinking coalition meeting on 
island of Oahu—approximately 20 percent of time for three staff members. 
Estimate of state funds expended $99,777 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 4/01/2013 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Idaho 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,595,728 
Population Ages 12–20:  204,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.0 45,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.2 29,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.5 3,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.1 2,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.5 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.3 9,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 41.7 29,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 27.3 19,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  22 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  1,376 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 21.0 4 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 
Note:  Idaho’s exceptions relate specifically to the possession of beer or wine. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Although Idaho does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined in this report, it has a 
statutory provision that makes it unlawful “[f]or any person under the age of twenty-one (21) 
years to purchase, attempt to purchase, possess, serve, dispense, or consume beer, wine or other 
alcoholic liquor” such that “[a] person shall also be deemed to ‘possess’ alcohol that has been 
consumed by the person, without regard to the place of consumption.”  Laws that prohibit minors 
from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, 
are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession as defined in this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older. 
Note:  Retailers are only required to deliver documents to law enforcement that have been lost or 
voluntarily surrendered; however, when presented with identification documents that appear to 
be mutilated, altered, or fraudulent, they must contact law enforcement and refuse service. 
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Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21  

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  Not specified 
• Maximum:  365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14 years, 6 months—upon completion of driver education, instruction 

permit signed over to allow driving with adult over 21 
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  15 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Night driving is not restricted—no unsupervised driving ½ hour after sunset 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one unrelated passenger under 17 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16—passenger restrictions expire 6 months after issuance 

of license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 16. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
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Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  16 
• Maximum:  20.5 

Appearance requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance   
• Male:  Not large in stature; no excessive facial hair  
• Female:  Minimal makeup and jewelry 

ID possession 
• Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Mandated—briefing given on procedures and expectations 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  3 years 
• First offense:  10-day suspension of alcohol license 
• Second offense:  30-day suspension of alcohol license 
• Third offense:  180-day suspension of alcohol license 
• Fourth offense:  Revocation of alcohol license 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 
• Wine:  19 
• Spirits:  19 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  19 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  19 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—on campus grounds.  College or university has authority to 
override state restrictions.  

– On-premises outlets:  Yes—on campus grounds.  College or university has authority to 
override state restrictions.  

– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 
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Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  No 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet.  Local government has authority to override 

state restrictions. 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Uncertain 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 
Note:  A licensee who holds a license for the retail sale of wine for consumption off the licensed 
premises may ship not more than two cases of wine, containing not more than 9 liters per case, 
per shipment, for personal use and not for resale, directly to a resident of another state if the state 
to which the wine is sent allows residents of this state to receive wine sent from that state without 
payment of additional state tax, fees, or charges. The sale shall be considered to have occurred in 
this state. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements   
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  7.75 gallons or more 
• Prohibited:  Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 
• Purchaser information collected:  Purchaser’s name and address 
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• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.15 per gallon 
• Additional taxes:  $0.45 per gallon applies to beer over 5 percent alcohol.  Beer with 5 

percent or less alcohol is sold by license.  Beer greater than 5 percent but less than 7.5 
percent alcohol is sold by both license and the state. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—6 months minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Idaho State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Idaho State Police Alcohol Beverage Control (ISP ABC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/ 
shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Idaho State Police  
Alcohol Beverage Control 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 2,337 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement 
agencies 

Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales  
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 4,801 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 160 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 19 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, 
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 160 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 19 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that  
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 63 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $69,500 
Smallest fine imposed $250 
Largest fine imposed $3,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 24 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 184 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 5 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    

*DUI saturation patrols are conducted by multiple law enforcement agencies in Idaho.  However, we do 
not receive reporting when an underage person is arrested for DUI.  There were approximately 534 DUI 
arrests for people 19 years old and under in Idaho in 2012.  When searched by age, the crime data do 
not distinguish between people ages 20 to 24 (1,803 DUI arrests in this 20–24 age category) so it is 
unknown how many 20-year-olds were arrested for DUI.  The crime data do not indicate if these are 
alcohol DUIs or drug DUIs. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Boise State University Regional Alcohol Drug Awareness Resource 
(RADAR) Center Video and Print Materials Resource Center 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 31,711 youth viewed 

videos (includes all 
videos, not just UAD) 

Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   E-mail RADAR for report 
URL for more program information:  http://radar.boisestate.edu  

Program Description:  The mission of the RADAR Center is to provide free substance abuse 
prevention and addiction treatment resources to Idahoans.  Funding from the Enforcing Underage 
Drinking Laws (EUDL) program administered by the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections is used 
specifically to support materials related to underage drinking prevention.  EUDL funding is used to 
purchase underage drinking prevention videos and print materials and to support the operation of the 
center with an emphasis on the video lending library. 
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RADAR resource materials are available to any Idaho resident.  However, the underage drinking videos 
are primarily borrowed by middle and high school educators and school counselors and substance use 
treatment providers.  Therefore, the population for underage drinking materials is primarily middle and 
high school students.  The center keeps track of the number of youth and adults who view these videos.  
Print materials purchased with EUDL funds are tracked when they are disseminated.  The center also 
keeps track of the number of youth (18 and under) and adults expected to be exposed to the materials. 

Idaho Drug Free Youth (IDFY), i2i Student Assembly and  
i2i: True Confessions of an Idaho Teen 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 5,000 
Number of parents served 600 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.idahodrugfreeyouth.org  

Program Description:  i2i Student Assembly is an interactive and engaging 3-hour or up to 6-hour 
program, in which IDFY facilitators lead an assembly of students through a variety of activities and 
discussions designed to draw diverse students together, create conversation, and help students see eye 
to eye.  Once students see eye to eye, they become more compassionate and understanding.  i2i 
culminates in a sense of mutual support, which leads to healthy decisionmaking and positive change.  
Through i2i, walls between students break down and students become open to succeeding and seeing 
others succeed.  i2i: True Confessions of an Idaho Teen is an interactive evening presentation designed 
to educate families regarding the impact of alcohol on teenagers.  While creating a nonjudgmental and 
open atmosphere, this presentation is a hard-hitting and informative program that engages the audience 
and challenges them to reflect on their beliefs about underage drinking, while learning ways to combat 
the #1 predictor of underage drinking.  This presentation exposes the alcohol industry’s attempt to break 
down and rebuild beliefs and attitudes that young people have toward alcohol.  Community members, 
parents, and students alike will gain a new set of skills and insight and be empowered to face and 
prevent underage drinking. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data  

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  EUDL funding is sometimes awarded to Tribal applicants.  
Furthermore, the EUDL coordinator is a member of the State Advisory Group for juvenile justice (JJ) 
and a chair of one of Idaho’s eight local JJ councils.  Another of the councils is made up of 
representatives from Idaho’s Tribes.  There are quarterly collaborative meetings. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No data 

Agency(ies) within your state: No data 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No data 
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Other: No data 
Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

Although there is no requirement that EUDL programs be certified as “best practice,” recipients of funds 
are required to identify the research basis of their proposed strategies. 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Elisha Figueroa 
E-mail:  elisha.figueroa@odp.idaho.gov 
Address:  304 N 8th Street, Room 455, Boise, ID  83720 
Phone:  208-854-3040 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Office of Drug Policy 
Department of Juvenile Corrections 
Department of Health & Welfare 
Department of Education 
Community Coalitions of Idaho 
Alcohol Beverage Control 
Idaho State Police 
Boise Police Department 
Idaho Division of Liquor 
RADAR Center 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Idaho Office of Drug Policy in coordination with the Underage Drinking Workgroup  
and State Strategic Prevention Planning Committee 
Plan can be accessed via:  E-mail Office of Drug Policy for logic model and action plan:  
gayle.hines@odp.idaho.gov 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections and Office of Drug Policy 
Plan can be accessed via:  EUDL application process and http://www.odp.idaho.gov or 
http://www.betheparents.org 

Additional Clarification  
None 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $7,840 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available  
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available  

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

*ISP ABC does not have an individual budget category for underage compliance operations.  Underage 
compliance operations are conducted by ISP ABC.  Seven 8-hour days of underage compliance 
operations were conducted by ISP ABC in 2012.  The dollar estimate stated in the survey was based on 
the following:  56 hours (seven 8-hour days) of underage drinking operations conducted in 2012.  Four 
officers @ $30 per hour = $6,720; two minors @ $10 per hour = $1,120 totaling approximately $7,840. 
*Checkpoints are not allowed in Idaho. 
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Illinois 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  12,875,255 
Population Ages 12–20:  1,623,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.9 436,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.0 293,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.3 22,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.2 11,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.9 119,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.6 73,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 52.0 295,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 36.6 208,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  192 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  11,614 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 21.0 27 

* See Appendix C for data sources.   
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00  
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• 180 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  9 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m.—11 p.m. on Friday and Saturday  
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 20, except for siblings  
and children 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 12 months after issuance 

of license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
• Age-appropriate dress; no clothing with alcohol logos   
• Female:  No heavy makeup, excessive jewelry, wedding bands, or suggestive clothing 

ID possession 
• Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Mandated 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
• First offense:  $500 fine 
• Second offense:  $2,500 fine and 3-day suspension 
• Third offense:  $10,000 fine and 10-day suspension 
• Fourth offense:  License revocation 
Note:  Mitigating and/or aggravating circumstances may be considered. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments. 
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions include (1) hotels with restaurant service, regularly organized clubs, certain 
restaurants; (2) food shops and other places where alcohol sales is not principal business and 
location is not a municipality of more than 500,000 persons. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on damages:  For causes of action involving persons injured or killed, shall not 

exceed $64,057 for each person incurring damages.  For causes of action involving persons 
incurring property damage, shall not exceed $64,057 for each person incurring damages.   
For causes of action for either loss of means of support or loss of society, the judgment or 
recovery shall not exceed $78,291.89.  
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Note:  Illinois law requires the state comptroller to determine each year the liability limits for 
causes brought under the statute in accordance with the consumer price index during the 
preceding 12 months.  

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
• Exception(s):  Family, resident 
Note:  An individual will not be in violation of 235 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/6-16(c) if he or she 
requests assistance from a law enforcement agency to help end the possession or consumption  
of alcohol by persons under age 21 in a residence that he or she occupies. This assistance must 
be requested before any other person makes a formal complaint to a law enforcement agency 
about the activity. 

Law Applicable to Parents/Guardians 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 
Note:  A person commits a social host offense if one is a parent or guardian and permits one’s 
residence, or any other property under one’s control, to be used by an underage invitee of one’s 
child or ward in a manner that violates the statute.  An offense is deemed to have occurred if a 
parent or guardian knowingly authorizes or permits the prohibited use to occur. 

Law Applicable to Hotel or Motel Rooms 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Overt act—host must have 

actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence 
Note:  A person commits a social host offense by renting a hotel or motel room for the purpose 
of or with the knowledge that such room be used for the consumption of alcoholic liquor by 
underage persons. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.23 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.39 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $8.55 per gallon 
• Additional taxes:  $1.39 per gallon for alcohol content of more than 14 percent and less than 

20 percent. 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Prohibited  

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 
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Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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Illinois State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Illinois Liquor Control Commission (sales to minors only) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 Approximately 22,500 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 

1,577 licensees 
visited 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 347 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Sometimes (with local 
law enforcement) 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations No data 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks No data 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 606 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $352,075 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $7,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 65 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 154 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1  
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 10  
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 3 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Partnerships for Success  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The Partnerships for Success program is designed to address gaps in 
prevention services and increase the ability of Illinois to help specific populations or geographic areas 
with serious, emerging substance abuse problems.  The goals of the project are to use a data-driven 
process to leverage existing prevention dollars and to reduce underage drinking at the state level.  
Illinois is partnering with 20 subrecipient community coalitions to meet those targets.  Subrecipient 
communities will implement at least two evidence-based environmental programs, policies, and 
practices guided by the five steps of the strategic prevention framework (SPF). 

Substance Abuse Prevention Program (SAPP) – Direct Service Grant  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The goal of the Direct Service subgrant is to increase the availability of high-
quality prevention services that have the greatest potential to impact factors that contribute to alcohol, 
tobacco and other drug (ATOD) consumption and consequences for 11- to 18-year-olds.  Direct Service 
Program providers deliver one or more of the following approaches:  Youth/Prevention Education, 
Parent/Family Education, Mentoring, and Communication Campaign.  Providers may elect to conduct 
mobilization activities to create a new substance abuse prevention coalition or to enhance an existing 
substance abuse prevention coalition in the community.  Grantees approved for creating a new coalition 
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must develop a multisector coalition, and the coalition must agree to meet at least quarterly, develop a 
mission statement that includes reduction of youth substance use, and develop coalition capacity (clear 
roles and organizational structure, meeting and communication habits, decisionmaking and 
problemsolving process, leadership).  Providers who have been approved to enhance an existing 
coalition must develop a subcommittee with multisector representation and/or assess an existing 
coalition’s representation and identify and recruit missing sectors.  The coalition/subcommittee must 
agree to meet at least quarterly, review and adapt the mission statement to include reduction of youth 
substance use, develop a plan for gaining schools’ buy-in to administer the Illinois Youth Survey, assess 
current coalition capacity (clear roles and organizational structure, meeting and communication habits, 
decisionmaking and problemsolving process, leadership), and determine areas that need to be 
enhanced/strengthened and develop a plan to develop the gaps identified.  Providers may also elect to 
engage in one or more of the following two optional activities:  (1) recruitment of schools for participation 
in the 2012 and 2014 Illinois Youth Survey administration and/or (2) supplemental activities (e.g.,  
summer programming). 

Substance Abuse Prevention Program (SAPP) – Strategic Prevention 
Framework (SPF) 

 

Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The goal of the SPF grant program is to reduce consumption of, consequences 
from, and contributing factors to alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and prescription drug misuse/abuse 
among 11- to 20-year-olds in a targeted geographic community by following the SPF.  This grant is 
designed to support the use of the SPF, developed by SAMHSA.  SPF is a structured planning process 
that can be applied to prevention systems at both state and local levels.  This process is an effective 
way for coalitions to address substance abuse issues within the community.  SPF is intended to provide 
a structure or mechanism for multisector coalitions and other broadly represented community 
organizations to identify the most pressing substance abuse problems in their community.  SPF uses a 
data-driven approach to understand what the most pressing problems are, who is affected most by the 
problems (consumption and consequences), why the problems are happening (contributing factors or 
intervening variables), and what programs, practices, and policies are most effective in addressing these 
problems and contributing factors. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
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State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

No 

Program description:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency, Center for 
Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT), and Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services Administration (SAMHSA) 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  Center for Prevention Research and 
Development (CPRD) 

Yes 

Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  The state requires the use of evidence-based programs, 
practices, and policies.  In Illinois, evidence-based standards are also promoted and required if a 
provider decides to develop its own programming in the areas listed below.  For example, if a 
community-based provider proposes an underage drinking communication campaign, the provider is 
expected to address all of the standards for communication campaigns.  To review standards for 
communication campaigns and other evidence-based standards, visit 
http://www.cprd.illinois.edu/prevresearchbriefs.  Evidence-based standard exists for the following 
approaches:   
• Social norms and communication campaigns 
• Mentoring  
• Parent/family education  
• Youth prevention education  

Evidence-based standards are also being developed for the following environmental strategies:   
• Public policy:  Keg registration, local social host ordinance, mandatory responsible beverage 

service, advertising restrictions, alcohol location and density, event restrictions, local Minors In 
Possession (MIP) ordinance 

• Enforcement:  Compliance checks with server merchant education, party prevention and 
dispersal, sobriety checkpoints, shoulder tap operations 

• School policy 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Kim Fornero 
E-mail:  Kim.Fornero@illinois.gov 
Address:  401 South Clinton, 4th Floor, Chicago, IL  60607 
Phone:  312-793-1628 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department of Human Services, Substance Abuse Prevention Program 
Center for Prevention Research and Development (CPRD) 
Operation Snowball 
Prevention First 
Illinois State Police 
Illinois National Guard 
Illinois Department of Public Health 
Illinois State Board of Education 
Chicago Police Department 
Illinois Department of Transportation 
Illinois Liquor Control Commission  
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Department of Human Services, Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse  
Illinois Alcoholism and Drug Dependence Association 
Cebrin Goodman Teen Institute  
Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)  
Youth Network Council 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  A 5-year strategic plan was developed for the Strategic Prevention Enhancement 
grant and is being finalized with the members listed above. 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  See list of agencies listed in question 2.c.1b 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
 

No data 
No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
No data 
No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
$1,865,317 
6/30/2013 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
Data not available 
Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
Data not available 
Data not available 

Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Data not available 
Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue  
streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No 
Fees Yes 
Other: No data 
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Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The Illinois Liquor Control Commission collects alcohol license fees, of which a portion are used to 
support substance abuse prevention services.  Taxes:  The Substance Abuse Prevention Program 
is supported by General Revenue Funds. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Indiana 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,537,334 
Population Ages 12–20:  825,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.4 185,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.5 128,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.1 11,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.2 3,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 16.6 45,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.7 32,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.3 129,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.9 93,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  92 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  5,613 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 18.0 23 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes 

Note:  Indiana does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but it does prohibit 
purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol in connection with making a false statement or 
using false evidence of majority or identity.   

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the 

purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 433 



State Reports – Indiana  

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  90 days 
• Maximum:  365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months—16 years, 9 months without driver education 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m.—first 180 days, 10 p.m.; then, 11 p.m. Sunday through Friday 
and 1 a.m. on Saturday and Sunday 

– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers except immediate family, unless accompanied by 

parent or a licensed driver at least 21 years old 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 180 days after issuance 

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20.75 

Appearance requirements 
• Age-appropriate dress and grooming.  

ID possession 
• Prohibited 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 
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Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 
• Wine:  19 
• Spirits:  19 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet.  School has authority to override state 
prohibition for grocery or drug stores. 

– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet.  School has authority to override state 
prohibition for grocery or drug stores. 

– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits. 
Note:  Exceptions include (1) restaurants in historic places or districts; (2) shopping malls and 
city markets. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of visible intoxication 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of visible intoxication 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 
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Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:  Consumer must make at least one trip to producer’s place of business to verify age 
before any direct shipments are permitted. 

Age verification requirements   
• Producer must verify age of purchaser. 
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient. 

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  
Note:  Brewers who manufacture not more than 30,000 barrels of beer in a single calendar year 
may ship up to one half barrel of beer directly to Indiana consumers without being subject to the 
restrictions placed on wine shipments.   

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  At least 7¾ gallons 
• Prohibited:  Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted—6.75 to 15.75 gallons in a single transaction depending on the type of  

retail license 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted—4 to 12 quarts in a single transaction depending on the type of  

retail license 
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Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.12 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.47 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.68 per gallon 
• Additional taxes:  $0.47 per gallon applies to an alcoholic beverage that contains 15 percent 

or less. 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited  
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post—all prices, discounts, or allowances offered by 

wholesalers shall be disseminated to customers in such a manner and for such a period of 
time as to ensure that customers are afforded reasonable opportunity to secure the discount.  
For dissemination purposes, the customer is anyone the wholesaler has sold alcoholic 
beverages to within the last 30 days.  For the purposes of this rule, a reasonable opportunity 
to secure the discount shall be presumed when offer is extended for no fewer than 7 days 
after dissemination of the price list.  

• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post—all prices, discounts, or allowances offered by 

wholesalers shall be disseminated to customers in such a manner and for such a period of 
time as to ensure that customers are afforded reasonable opportunity to secure the discount. 
For dissemination purposes, the customer is anyone the wholesaler has sold alcoholic 
beverages to within the last 30 days.  For the purposes of this rule, a reasonable opportunity 
to secure the discount shall be presumed when offer is extended for no fewer than 7 days 
after dissemination of the price list.  

• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post—all prices, discounts, or allowances offered by 

wholesalers shall be disseminated to customers in such a manner and for such a period of 
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time as to ensure that customers are afforded reasonable opportunity to secure the discount.  
For dissemination purposes, the customer is anyone the wholesaler has sold alcoholic 
beverages to within the last 30 days.  For the purposes of this rule, a reasonable opportunity 
to secure the discount shall be presumed when offer is extended for no fewer than 7 days 
after dissemination of the price list.  

• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 
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Indiana State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Indiana State Excise Police 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 3,172 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 10,000 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 9,978 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 366 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

On-sale 
establishments only 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 10,000 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 366 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Don’t know/ 
No answer 

Data are collected on these activities Not applicable 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Smallest fine imposed No data 
Largest fine imposed No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Indiana Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking (ICRUD)  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.icrud.org/about  

Program Description:  ICRUD is a program of Mental Health America of Indiana whose mission is to 
create healthier and safer environments by reducing the accessibility and availability of alcohol to 
underage persons.  It aims to reduce youth access to alcohol by educating policymakers and the public 
about underage drinking and advocating for effective alcohol policies and laws.  ICRUD believes that all 
young people have the right to live and learn in environments that do not promote, condone, or allow 
underage drinking.  The program provides minigrants to K-12 organizations and universities for on-
campus prevention activities, and also organizes a legislative action group made up of college-level 
administrators to address issues of high-risk campus drinking as well as providing statewide training and 
policy academies. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   

Fines and forfeitures collected for alcohol- or drug-related offenses are given to coalitions in all 92 
counties for alcohol and drug prevention efforts.  Because each county is given a different allotment 
based on the amount of fines collected in the county, and each coalition provides grant funding to 
various agencies and priorities in their county, it is difficult to determine the exact amount being spent 
solely on underage drinking prevention from these funds.  Typically, these funds go to multiple initiatives 
or programs targeting multiple areas and are billed by cohorts, making it difficult to distinguish exact 
amounts.  The Division of Mental Health and Addiction also provides grant funding to agencies for 
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prevention efforts.  As these efforts often target multiple domains and risk factors, it is difficult to 
determine an exact amount of funding going solely to underage drinking efforts. 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Funded communities must have identified problem gambling as 
an issue in their Needs Assessment, and select an evidence-based program/strategy and implement 
it with fidelity. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:   
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

The Annual State Epidemiological Profile provides an overview of the state of underage drinking and 
alcohol use in Indiana:  
http://www.healthpolicy.iupui.edu/PubsPDFs/2012%20State%20Epidemiological%20Profile.pdf  

The State recently completed a new state strategic plan for prevention detailing the substance abuse 
prevention targets for the state including alcohol use and underage drinking:  
http://www.in.gov/fssa/dmha/files/InStratPlanFinalFormat(2).pdf 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 441 



State Reports – Indiana  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No data 
Fines  Yes 
Fees No data 
Other: No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Fines and forfeitures collected for alcohol- or drug-related offenses are given to coalitions in all 92 
counties for alcohol and drug prevention efforts.  As each county is given a different allotment, 
based on the amount of fines collected in the county, and each coalition provides grant funding to 
various agencies and priorities in their count, it is difficult to determine the exact amount being spent 
solely on underage drinking prevention from these funds.  Typically, these funds go to multiple 
initiatives or programs targeting multiple areas. 

Additional Clarification  

Other than the funds the Local Coordinating Councils receive from fines and forfeitures, all other 
underage drinking prevention initiatives are funded with federal dollars, either from the SAPT Block 
Grant or from EUDL funds.  No other state dollars are dedicated to prevention efforts.   
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Iowa 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  3,074,186 
Population Ages 12–20:  367,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 29.2 107,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.2 74,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 8.1 9,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.0 3,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.2 31,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.7 21,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 51.8 66,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 38.9 50,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  32 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  1,962 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 13.0 7 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Iowa law does not specifically prohibit consumption of alcohol by persons under 21.  
Iowa does, however, have a general statute prohibiting the use or consumption of alcohol by any 
person in a public place.  In addition, Iowa law provides that if a child, defined as a person under 
18 years old, is found to have violated the general prohibition against consumption of alcohol in 
a public place, the child’s driver’s license or operating privilege may be suspended or revoked 
for a period of 1 year.  For more information, see Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol 
Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws). 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial or administrative 

procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
• General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the 

purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 
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Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• 365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  20 hours, of which 2 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12:30 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• No passenger restrictions   

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 
Note:  In addition to the supervised driving requirement at the learner’s stage, Iowa requires an 
intermediate license holder to complete 10 hours of supervised driving with two of these hours 
being at night. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Second offense, 2 years; third and subsequent offenses, 3 years 
• First offense:  $500 fine or 14-day license suspension 
• Second offense:  $1,500 fine and 30-day license suspension 
• Third offense:  $1,500 fine and 60-day license suspension 
• Fourth offense:  License revocation 
Note:  Affirmative defense possible for licensees when the employee guilty of the violation has 
successfully completed the Iowa Program for Alcohol Compliance Training prior to the violation 
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occurring.  A violation involving a sale to a person under age 18 does not qualifiy for affirmative 
defense.  A licensee may only use affirmative defense once in a 4-year time period. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 
• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors 
Note:  Mitigation of penalties incentive does not apply if a sale is made to a minor under age 18. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  16 
• Wine:  16 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on who may sue:  Retailers that furnish alcohol for off-premises consumption  

are exempt. 
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Retailer should have known that minor was 

intoxicated or was going to become intoxicated. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Social host should have known that minor was 

intoxicated or was going to become intoxicated. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age verification requirements  
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient  

State approval/permit requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting requirements   
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  5 or more gallons 
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $625/30 days 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  passive—no purchaser action required 
• Deposit required 
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.19 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.75 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
No law 
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Iowa State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Iowa Department of Public Safety, Iowa State Patrol   
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking:  There is no single state alcohol agency for enforcement in Iowa.  The 
Iowa State Patrol works closely with local law enforcement agencies to conduct projects involving 
underage drinking.  Strong working relationships have enabled the program to make a difference in 
communities across Iowa.  The Division of Criminal and Juvenile Justice Planning in the Iowa 
Department of Human Rights receives Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) grant funds, and 
part of those funds are used by the State Patrol and other local law enforcement agencies to 
conduct compliance checks and other underage drinking education efforts.  Some community 
coalitions also fund compliance checks.  The Alcoholic Beverages Division (ABD) of the Iowa 
Department of Commerce also partners with local law enforcement when following up on a 
complaint or an investigation. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct 
sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws 
addressing direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

ABD has no police enforcement 
powers over persons or entities 

shipping alcoholic beverages into 
Iowa.  ABD investigators contact the 
entities shipping wine into Iowa and 

follow up to ensure they either 
cease the illegal activity or obtain a 
proper license.  In these situations, 

ABD reviews FedEx and UPS 
shipping logs to determine who is in 

violation of direct shipping. 
Such laws are also enforced by local law  
enforcement agencies Yes 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law 
enforcement agencies 3,294 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law 
enforcement agencies 

Yes 
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State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations2 to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with 
laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 8,640 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state 
agencies (including random checks) 1,024 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 84 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-
sale, off-sale, or both retail establishments Both on- and off-sale establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations Yes 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations All are random 

Number of licensees that failed random state  
compliance checks 84 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with 
laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by  
local agencies 0 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments 
that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $230,217 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $1,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 45 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 1,500 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 14 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 60 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Additional Clarification    

The alcohol compliance check data are based on the EUDL-funded checks through the Department of 
Human Rights, Division of Criminal and Juvenile Justice Planning, and the Iowa State Patrol.  The 
Alcoholic Beverages Division of the Department of Commerce conducts compliance checks but does 
not have law enforcement authority.  These checks are for more issues than underage drinking so the 
data were not included in the total.  Through community coalitions and community-based agencies, 
more compliance checks are occurring, but Iowa does not have a centralized reporting system. 
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1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) through the Office of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Planning 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.ojjdp-dctat.org and 
http://www.ialert.iowa.gov 

 

Program Description:  The Iowa Department of Human Rights, Divison of Criminal and Juvenile 
Justice Planning, awarded the EUDL funding to these entities:   

• Iowa State Patrol:  Efforts include compliance checks, saturation and party patrols, and education. 
• Dallas County Sheriff Juvenile Anti-Alcohol Group (JAAG) task force:  JAAG consists of 14 law 

enforcement agencies, juvenile court, and prevention specialists.  The focus is retailer checks, 
saturation and party patrols, safety check points, and festival/special events.  

• Helping Services for Northeast Iowa, Inc.:  The purpose is to develop community support for 
prevention of underage drinking to change community norms.  

• I-Alert website:  Assists retail licensees develop a guide for their business to stay compliant with Iowa 
liquor laws. 

 Iowa Program for Alcohol Compliance Training (I-PACT)  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
iowaabd.com/education/resources/ipact 

 

Program Description:  I-PACT, from the Iowa Department of Commerce, Alcoholic Beverages Division, 
went online on February 29, 2012.  Within the first year of implementation, 13,000 users logged on and 
took the training to receive their certificate, which is good for 2 years.  The overall goal of I-PACT is 
increased voluntary compliance with the state’s alcohol laws through education and enforcement.  The 
core objective of the program is to prevent illegal sales of alcohol by educating alcohol sellers and 
increasing awareness of changes in Iowa’s liquor laws.  The program asks that a PACT is made by Iowa 
kids not to consume alcohol, Iowa retailers not to sell alcohol to minors, Iowa licensees not to serve 
alcohol to patrons under 21, and Iowa’s law enforcement to enforce alcohol laws. 

D.A.R.E. Iowa  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 28,216 
Number of parents served 1,243 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
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Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  http://www.dareiowa.org  
URL for more program information:  http://www.dareiowa.org  

Program Description:  The mission of D.A.R.E. Iowa is to improve the quality of life for the state’s 
youth  by assisting them to avoid harmful choices through developing and coordinating the resources 
and training necessary to permit local D.A.R.E. officers, schools, and commmunities to effectively 
provide D.A.R.E. instruction to the young people of Iowa.  The program has been in Iowa since 1988 
and currently has about 85 agencies and 130 instructors serving 150 school districts and 277 schools. 

Prime for Life OWI Program  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 1,267 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  
http://educateiowa.gov/index.php?option_content&view=article&id=1693
8&Idemid=4033 

 

URL for more program information:  
http://educateiowa.gov/index.php?option_content&view=article&id=1693
8&Idemid=2550 

 

Program Description:  PRIME for Life, from the Iowa Department of Education, is an alcohol and drug 
program designed to challenge common beliefs and attitudes that directly contribute to high-risk use of 
alcohol and other drug use.  This state-mandated program is required for all individuals (regardless of 
age) convicted of operating while intoxicated (OWI) in Iowa.  The program goals are to reduce the risk 
for health problems and impairment problems.  PRIME for Life’s intervention component focuses on self-
assessment to help people understand and accept the need for change.  PRIME for Life is recognized 
as an evidence-based program on SAMHSA’s National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and 
Practices (NREPP).  During FY 2012, 13,793 offenders took PRIME for Life courses from 1 of 51 
agencies statewide.  Approximately 1,267 recipients were 20 years old or younger.  The program is for 
offenders only; parents and caregivers are not included. 

Youth Diversion Programs  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 1,750 
Number of parents served 424 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   Available from Iowa Dept. 

of Public Health 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) funds 18 community-based 
agencies for 23 service areas, which collectively cover all 99 Iowa counites.  These comprehensive 
substance abuse prevention contracts are funded by the prevention portion of the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant and some state appropriations.  Among the services 
provided are diversion programs in most of the 23 service areas.  A diversion program is for youth who 
have received a minor-in-possession charge or other alcohol offense (except OWI).  If the youth 
successfully completes the program, then he or she may be diverted from the court system.  The 
programs have different names, such as “Rethinking Drinking” or “Juvenile Education Group (JEG),” and 
vary somewhat as to the number of sessions and whether a parent or guardian is required to attend.   
Not all the programs require a parent or guardian to attend. 
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Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Education Programs included in the 
Comprehensive Substance Abuse Prevention Contracts 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  http://iconsortium.subst-
abuse.uiowa.edu/downloads/IDPH/Comprehensive%20Prevention%20P
roject%20Evaluation%20Annual%20Report%202012.pdf 

 

URL for more program information:  
http://www.idph.ia.us/bh/sa_comprehensive_prevention.asp 

 

Program Description:  Through the SAPT Block Grant, the Iowa Department of Public Health funds 
Comprehensive Substance Abuse Prevention contracts.  The contracts collectively cover all 99 Iowa 
counties.  In FY 2012 some state funds and some other funds from fees were included in the contracts.  
One of the main services provided is alcohol, tobacco, and other drug education programs in school and 
community settings.  Many are small-group, recurring-service (multiple sessions), evidence-based 
programs.  Some of the names of the evidence-based programs include LifeSkills Training Program, 
Project ALERT, Project Towards No Tobacco Use, Project Towards No Drug Abuse, All Stars, and Too 
Good For Drugs.  Other prevention strategies are included under this funding as well.  Since the funding 
covers alcohol and other drugs, data on youth served specifc to underage drinking are not available.   
For all the funding combined, 97,948 youth were served. 

Youth Mentoring and Prevention Through Mentoring Programs  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 325 (from Prevention 

through Mentoring 
Program) 

Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_youth_mentoring.asp 

 

Program Description:  The Iowa Department of Public Health receives state appropriations to fund the 
Prevention Through Mentoring contracts, which create new and support existing community youth 
mentoring programs.  The program supports the state goals of primary prevention of the use or abuse of 
alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs.  Other funding from fees from Sunday liquor permits is used by IDPH 
for the Youth Mentoring contracts.  These also establish or sustain mentoring programs that promote 
relationship building and social skills development, use elements of effective practice as established by 
the National Mentoring Partnership, and promote a positive perception of caring adults in the 
community. 

Youth Development Program  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 724 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   Report available from Iowa 

Dept. of Public Health 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_youth_development.asp 
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Program Description:  This IDPH program provides evidence-based substance abuse prevention 
programming for youth (ages 5 to 18) that includes out-of-school time activities and opportunities for 
character development, youth development, leadership, and community service.  The youth 
development approach is a way of working with young people that calls for providing youth the 
developmental experiences shown to promote a healthy transition toward adulthood.  The objectives are 
to provide evidence-based youth development programming effective in reducing substance abuse in 
children, and to provide specific out-of-school youth development and service opportunites in the 
community.  The funding is from state appropriations. 

Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.iowaspfsig.org  

Program Description:  In 2009, IDPH received the SPF SIG funded by SAMHSA, a 5-year grant to 
prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse including childhood and underage 
drinking, reduce substance abuse-related problems in communities, and build prevention capacity and 
infrastructure at the state, Tribal, and community levels.  SPF is a five-step process that assists states in 
developing a comprehensive plan and supports selected communites in implementing effective 
programs, policies, and practices.  One of the two data-driven priorities for Iowa is underage drinking.  
Environmental strategies have been implemented in 23 Iowa counties selected based on needs data.  
No local service data are available at this time, and data on youth, parents, and caregivers served are 
not collected. 

Community Coalition Grant Program  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_community_coalition.asp 

 

Program Description:  This IDPH grant program funds community coalitions to provide environmental 
substance abuse prevention strategies to reduce underage use of alcohol in communities.  Coalitions 
receive up to $3,000 from state appropriations for 1 year.  Coalitions currently receiving funding from 
any state or federal agency in a cumulative amount of greater than $10,000 are not eligible.  In state 
fiscal year FY 2012, four coalitions were funded by IDPH.  No numbers of youth or adults served were 
required in the year-end report.  Additionally, 14 Iowa communities receive Drug-Free Communities 
(DFC) Support Program Grants or DFC Mentoring Grants from the Office of National Drug Control 
Policy (ONDCP) and SAMHSA.  Much of their work is to prevent and reduce underage drinking, and it 
affects overall underage drinking efforts in Iowa.  Several of the SAPT Block Grant-funded agencies 
work very closely with them.  Also, Iowa has an Alliance of Coalitions for Change (AC4C), a network of 
substance abuse prevention coalitions that have quarterly retreats and share strategies to reduce 
underage drinking.  More information about DFCs is available from SAMHSA and ONDCP. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
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Additional Clarification   

Programs not described from the previous report may no longer be funded. 
 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 
(CSAP) 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) SPF 
SIG Advisory Council members, see list under 2.C.1.b 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies):  SPF SIG Advisory Council members, see list 
under 2.C.1.b 

Yes 

Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  The best practice standards relate specifically to selecting and 
implementing evidence-based interventions following the Strategic Prevention Framework.  Strategic 
Prevention Framework (SPF) Definitions of “Evidence-Based” include interventions in one or more of 
the following three categories:  (a) Included in Federal registries, (b) Reported (with positive effects 
on the primary targeted outcome) in peer-reviewed journals, or (c) Documents effectiveness 
supported by other sources of information and the consensus judgment of informed experts as 
specified in the guidance document U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Identifying and 
Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions. 

Additional Clarification  

Additional information about best practice standards:  The Iowa Department of Public Health sponsored 
Evidence-Based Practice Workgroup, a subcommittee for the SPF SIG Advisory Council, made the 
recommendation to the Council to adopt the SAMHSA CSAP Guidance document (cited above) to 
define Evidence-Based Interventions.  The Council supported the recommendation.  The guidance is 
used for SPF SIG contracts and also for other state and federal funding administered by IDPH.  Not all 
other agencies may specify using evidence-based programs and practices when funding contracts for 
prevention, but since underage drinking is a priority for the SPF SIG counties and for other funding, the 
guidance serves the majority of prevention contracts. 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Kathy Stone, Chair 
E-mail:  Kathy.stone@idph.iowa.gov 
Address:  IDPH, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA  50319 
Phone:  515-281-4417 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Iowa Department of Public Health, Division of Behavioral Health 
Iowa Department of Commerce, Alcoholic Beverages Division 
Iowa Department of Education 
Iowa Department of Human Services 
Iowa Department of Human Rights, Division of Criminal Juvenile Justice Planning 
Iowa Department of Public Safety, Governor’s Traffic Safety Bureau 
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Iowa National Guard 
Iowa Consortium for Substance Abuse Research and Evaluation, University of Iowa 
Alliance of Coalitions for Change (AC4C) 
Iowa Behavioral Health Association 
CSAP State Project Officer 
Iowa Board of Certification 
Partnerships in Prevention Science Institute (PROSPER) at Iowa State University 
A parent 
Community-based agencies 
Community college 
Law enforcement agency 
Faith community 
Youth are involved through the State of Iowa Youth Action Committee (SIYAC) 
Others involved on subcommittees 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://idph.state.ia.us/spfsig 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  SPF SIG Advisory Council with staff support from the Iowa Department of Public 
Health 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.idph.state.ia.us/spfsig/counties 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  State Epidemiological Workgroup 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_epi_workgroup.asp and 
http://www.iowa.gov/odcp/docs/2013StrategyFinal.pdf 

Additional Clarification  

The previous state-level Underage Drinking Task Force voted to combine with the SPF SIG Advisory 
Council at least for the remainder of the SPF SIG project period.  Representation on the two groups had 
started to overlap.  The Iowa Governor’s Office of Drug Control Policy produces the Iowa Drug Control 
Strategy as a required annual report to the legislature and the general public.  The Strategy describes 
substance abuse and related issues and includes underage alcohol use but does not report separately 
about underage drinking services.  The State Epidemiological Workgroup produces an Epidemiological 
Profile every 2 years that includes data about underage alcohol use, but does not include services data. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $460,790 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $12,580 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
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Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  Fees generated from Sunday beer and liquor permits fund the 
Iowa Department of Public Health Community Coalitions contracts, 4 percent of the Comprehensive 
Substance Abuse Prevention contracts (predominately funded by the SAPT Block Grant), and a 
portion of the Youth Mentoring Program contracts 
Estimate of state funds expended $280,170 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following  
revenue streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees Yes 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Some Iowa Department of Public Health prevention contracts are funded by fees generated from 
Sunday beer and liquor permits. 

Additional Clarification  

The Governor’s Office of Drug Control Policy produces the Iowa Drug Control Strategy as a required 
annual report to the legislature and the general public.  The Strategy describes funding, but allocations 
are not broken out specifically for underage drinking services.  The Strategy is available at 
http://www.iowa.gov/odcp/drug_control_strategy/strategy.pdf.  The amount of funding provided for 
higher education was only from one state university.  With more specific substance abuse prevention 
services added to the Mentoring and Youth Development programs, a portion of the funding for these 
programs was included in the State Expenditures Section this year.  The additional funding is not new 
funding. 
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Kansas 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,885,905 
Population Ages 12–20:  359,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.2 94,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.0 64,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.5 5,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.6 2,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.3 27,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.8 18,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.5 62,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 35.0 45,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  41 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  2,459 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 26.0 20 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years old to possess alcohol, but the 
exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but undistilled liquor 
brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not including any 
such liquor that is more than 3.2 percent ABW). 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years old to consume alcohol, but 
the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but undistilled 
liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not including 
any such liquor that is more than 3.2 percent ABW). 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years old to possess or consume 
alcohol but the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but 
undistilled liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not 
including any such liquor that is more than 3.2 percent ABW). 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• No driver’s license suspension procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
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• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation  
• 30 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14   
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  9 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18 who is not an immediate 
family member 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 
Note:  Kansas has a “restricted license” that allows unsupervised 15-year-olds to drive to and 
from school or work using the most direct route possible.  They must have completed driver’s 
education, held an instruction permit for 12 months, completed 25 hours of supervised driving 
with an additional 25 hours of driving prior to age 16, and obtained parental consent.  They must 
not operate the vehicle with nonsibling minor passengers. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting the furnishing by a parent or legal guardian to a child 
or ward, but the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but 
undistilled liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not 
including any liquor that is more than 3.2 percent ABW). 
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Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  19.5 

Appearance requirements 
• Youthful-looking appearance  
• Male:  No facial hair 

ID possession 
• Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
• First offense:  $500 fine 
• Second offense:  $750 fine  
• Third offense:  $1,000 fine 
• Fourth offense:  $1,000 fine and license suspension for 2 weekend days 
Note:  Fifth offense, $1,000 fine and 4-day license suspension (weekend days); sixth offense, 
$1,000 fine and 7-day license suspension; seventh offense, $1,000 fine and 14-day license 
suspension; eighth offense, $1,000 fine and license revocation. 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 
• Wine:  21 
• Spirits:  21 
Note:  Although employees must be at least 21 years old to sell alcoholic liquors at off-sale 
establishments, employees who are at least 18 years old may sell cereal malt beverages (defined 
as containing not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight) if the licensee’s place of business is 
licensed only to sell cereal malt beverages at retail in original and unopened containers and not 
for consumption on the premises. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
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Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  No 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
– On-premises outlets:  No 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Recklessness 
• Exception(s):  Family, resident 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age verification requirements   
• Producer must verify age of purchaser.  

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier. 

Reporting requirements  
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
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Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  4 or more gallons 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 

• Purchaser information collected:   
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.18 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  10 percent 

– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6.3 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3.7 percent 

• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  8 percent 
– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6.3 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  1.7 percent 

• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  8 percent 
Note:  Sales of beer containing not more than 4 percent alcohol by retailers holding only a cereal 
malt beverage (CMB) license are subject only to the applicable state and local sales tax.  The 10 
percent Liquor Drink Tax is not due on beer containing not more than 4 percent alcohol sold by 
those holding only a CMB license; however, holders of alcoholic liquor licenses must collect and 
remit the 10 percent Liquor Drink Tax on sales of beer containing not more than 4 percent 
alcohol but are not required to collect sales tax. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  10 percent 

– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6.3 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3.7 percent 
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• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  8 percent 
– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6.3 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  1.7 percent 

• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  8 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  10 percent 

– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6.3 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3.7 percent 

• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  8 percent 
– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6.3 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  1.7 percent 

• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  8 percent 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Price posting requirements:  Post 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Price posting requirements:  Post 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  
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Kansas State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Kansas Department of Revenue, Alcoholic Beverage Control Division 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 173 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement 
agencies 

Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 2,732 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 490 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 79 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, 
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 73 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $45,500 
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Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $3,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 1 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 2 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Additional Clarification    

In previous years, data provided included statistics on violations, fines, suspensions, and revocations for 
all liquor violations, not just underage statistics.  These 2013 data are for underage violations only. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Regional Media Campaigns  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Regional media-related strategies were implemented to address substance 
abuse prevalence.  We highly encouraged these regions to use the state’s “Teen Thinking” materials so 
that materials implemented statewide had a similar look, feel, and message. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  The Regional Prevention Center provides interactive prevention 
education activities to a youth group sponsor focused on underage drinking.  These activities help 
students develop healthy beliefs regarding underage and binge drinking.  Underage drinking is the 
focus for their activities every few months. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising  
and marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  CSAP 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Kansas Department for Aging and Disability 
Services - BHS 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  Kansas Criteria for Evidence-Based Prevention Strategy 
Selection—Included in a federal list or registry of evidence-based intervention strategies, or reported 
in a peer-reviewed journal to have produced positive results, or documented as effective based on 
all three of the following guidelines:  (1) The intervention is based on a solid theory or theoretical 
perspective that has validated research, and (2) the intervention is supported by a documented body 
of knowledge—a converging of empirical evidence of effectiveness—generated from similar or 
related interventions that indicate effectiveness, and (3) the intervention is judged by a consensus of 
informed experts to be effective based on their combined knowledge of theory and their research 
and practice experience.  “Informed experts” may include key community leaders and elders or other 
respected leaders within indigenous cultures. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Sarah Fischer 
E-mail:  sarah.fischer@kdads.ks.gov 
Address:  503 South Kansas Avenue, 3rd floor, Topeka, KS  66612 
Phone:  785-296-6843 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department for Aging and Disability Services 
Department for Children and Families 
Department of Transportation 
Department of Health and Environment 
Department of Education 
KS Board of Regents 
Department of Revenue 
Department of Corrections 
Highway Patrol 
University of Kansas 
Army National Guard  
Office of the Governor  
League of KS Municipalities  
KS Children’s Cabinet and Trust  
KS Bureau of Investigation 
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A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Kansas EPI Core Team 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

Additional Clarification  

No data 
 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following  
revenue streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

468 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Kentucky 

 
Kentucky 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  4,380,415 
Population Ages 12–20:  514,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.1 119,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.9 87,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.4 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.9 3,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.3 31,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.9 22,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.4 80,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 34.9 62,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  65 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  3,921 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 14.0 13 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  60 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
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– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one unrelated passenger under 20, unless 

accompanied by instructor 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20.5 

Appearance requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance and character 

ID possession 
• Prohibited 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  2 years 
• First offense:  $1,800 fine and/or 36-day suspension 
• Second offense:  $3,600 fine and/or 72-day license suspension 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  20 
• Spirits:  20 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 
Note:  Although 20 is the minimum age requirement to sell alcoholic beverages at both off-sale 
and on-sale establishments, 18-year-olds may stock, arrange displays, accept payment for, and 
sack malt beverages by the package, under the supervision of a person 20 years old or older. 
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  20 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  20 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  20 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability.  

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements  
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting requirements:  None 

Shipping label statement requirements:  None 
Note:  Kentucky’s laws permitted direct wine shipments provided the customer purchased  
the wine at the producer’s place of business.  This provision was ruled unconstitutional as 
violating the U.S. Constitution’s interstate commerce clause.  The remainder of the statutory 
scheme was upheld.  

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 
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Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  Prohibited 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.08 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  11 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale):  11 percent 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.50 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  11 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale):  11 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.92 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises wholesale):  11 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises wholesale):  11 percent 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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Kentucky State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control  
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

KY Dept. of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control–
Enforcement Div. 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 681 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 6,528 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,482 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 127 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale,  
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations 1,482 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 127 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Don’t know/ 
No answer 

Data are collected on these activities Not applicable 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 125 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $240,000 
Smallest fine imposed $1,300 
Largest fine imposed $10,700 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 5 
Total-days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 3 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    

All licensees are subject to random compliance checks/decoy operations. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
3-D (Drunk and Drugged Driving) Simulator  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://transportation.ky.gov/Highway-Safety/Pages/Impaired-
Driving.aspx 

 

Program Description:  The 3-D (Drunk & Drugged Driving) Simulator is a battery-powered car that is 
driven through a winding course set up with traffic cones, by an operator wearing Fatal Vision goggles.  
This simulates operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.  This program is 
typically presented at high schools.  To participate in the program, students must have a valid driver’s 
license and a signed permission form from a parent or guardian if under age 18.  

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 475 



State Reports – Kentucky  

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other:  Kentucky’s 14 regional Prevention Centers provide training and 
technical assistance to prevention coalitions throughout the state on effective 
underage drinking strategies. 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  Our state standard is the SAMHSA document, Identifying and 
Selecting Evidence Based Interventions.  Although not formally adopted, the document was 
disseminated to all Regional Prevention Centers with the expectation that they use it to guide 
community selection of prevention strategies.  In addition, the Alcohol PES and FASD PED conduct 
research regularly on best practices for alcohol prevention.  This information is disseminated to our 
network of Regional Prevention Centers, which use it to inform community planning on underage 
drinking prevention. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:   
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  The Division of Behavioral Health, Substance Abuse Prevention Branch 
Plan can be accessed via:  The plan is not posted on the website.  A copy can be obtained by 
contacting Steve Cambron. 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Louisiana 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  4,601,893 
Population Ages 12–20:  563,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.6 150,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.9 89,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.9 10,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.9 3,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.4 45,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.5 24,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.2 94,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.7 62,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  113 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  6,832 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 26.0 28 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence OR 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence OR 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
Note:  In Louisiana, beginning January 1, 2000, and thereafter, special identification cards issued 
to applicants less than 21 years old shall contain a highly visible distinctive color to clearly 
indicate that the card has been issued to an applicant less than 21 years old.  The special 
identification card is to be accepted as valid identification of the person to whom it is issued but 
does not enable the person to whom it is issued to operate a motor vehicle.    

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 
  

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 479 



State Reports – Louisiana  

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  90 days 
• Maximum:  365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 15 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 21 who is not an immediate 
family member between the hours of 6 p.m. and 5 a.m., unless accompanied by a licensed 
driver at least 21 years old 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 
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Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  Not specified 
• Wine:  Not specified 
• Spirits:  Not specified 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.   
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.   

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 
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State approval/permit requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements   
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  4 or more gallons 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  Permitted—no more than 144 (750 ml) bottles per year per person per household. 
• Spirits:  No law 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.32 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.11 per gallon 
• Additional taxes:  $0.32 per gallon for alcohol content of 6 percent or less 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited—not permitted after 10 p.m.  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 
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Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 
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Louisiana State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Louisiana Office  
of ATC 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 1,202 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 12,594 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 2,994 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 289 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Approximately 12,594 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks ATC began gathering 
03/20/2013 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Don’t know/ 
No answer 

Data are collected on these activities Not applicable 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors Don’t know 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 4 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Project Northland  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 7,543 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Project Northland is a multilevel intervention involving students, peers, parents, 
and communities in programs designed to delay the age at which adolescents begin drinking, reduce 
alcohol use among those already drinking, and limit the number of alcohol-related problems among 
young drinkers.  Administered to adolescents in grades 6 to 8 on a weekly basis, the program has a 
specific theme within each grade level that is incorporated into the parent, peer, and community 
components.  The 6th-grade home-based program targets communication about adolescent alcohol 
use through student-parent homework assignments, in-class group discussions, and a communitywide 
task force.  The 7th-grade peer- and teacher-led curriculum focuses on resistance skills and normative 
expectations regarding teen alcohol use and is implemented through discussions, games, 
problemsolving tasks, and role plays.  During the first half of the 8th-grade Powerlines peer-led 
program, students learn about community dynamics related to alcohol use prevention through small-
group and classroom interactive activities.  During the second half, they work on community-based 
projects and hold a mock town meeting to make community policy recommendations to prevent teen 
alcohol use. 

Protecting You/Protecting Me (PY/PM)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 1,050 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 
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Program Description:  PY/PM is a 5-year classroom-based alcohol use prevention and vehicle safety 
program for elementary school students in grades 1–5 (ages 6–11) and high school students in grades 
11 and 12.  The program aims to reduce alcohol-related injuries and death among children and youth 
due to underage alcohol use and riding in vehicles with drivers who are not alcohol free.  PY/PM 
consists of a series of 40 science- and health-based lessons, with 8 lessons per year for grades 1 to 5.  
All lessons are correlated with educational achievement objectives.  PY/PM lessons and activities focus 
on teaching children about:   

• The brain—how it continues to develop throughout childhood and adolescence, what alcohol does to 
the developing brain, and why it is important for children to protect their brains.   

• Vehicle safety, particularly what children can do to protect themselves if they have to ride with 
someone who is not alcohol free.   

• Life skills, including decisionmaking, stress management, media awareness, resistance strategies, 
and communication. 

Lessons are taught weekly and are 20–25 minutes or 45–50 minutes in duration, depending on the 
grade level.  A variety of ownership activities promote students’ ownership of the information and 
reinforce the skills taught during each lesson.  Parent take-home activities are offered for all 40 lessons.  
PY/PM’s interactive and affective teaching processes include role playing, small group and classroom 
discussions, reading, writing, storytelling, art, and music.  The curriculum can be taught by school staff 
or prevention specialists.  PY/PM also has a high school component for students in grades 11 and 12.  
The youth-led implementation model involves delivery of the PY/PM curriculum to elementary students 
by trained high school students who are enrolled in a peer mentoring, family and consumer science, or 
leadership course for credit.  The program’s benefits to high school students are derived from learning 
about the brain and how alcohol use can affect adolescents, serving as role models to the elementary 
school participants, and taking coursework in preparation for delivering the curriculum. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No data 

Agency(ies) within your state: No data 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No data 
Other: No data 
Best practice standards description:  No data 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
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State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Dawn Diez 
E-mail:  Dawn.Diez@la.gov 
Address:  150 Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA  70802 
Phone:  225-342-1836 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
No data 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No data 
URL or other means of access:  No data 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  State Epidemiological Workgroup—Utilized results from the Louisiana Caring 
Communities Youth Survey 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

Additional Clarification  

Due to diminished resources, both financial and human, Louisiana’s High Risk and Underage Drinking 
Taskforce disbanded in 2011.  The Taskforce was a subcommittee of the statewide Prevention Systems 
Committee.  Should resources become available, the state intends to work to revitalize the taskforce. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $550,262 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  Alcohol Compliance Checks:  2,994 compliance checks at $65 
Estimate of state funds expended $194,610 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other: No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
 

 

488 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Maine 

 
Maine 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,329,192 
Population Ages 12–20:   148,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.2 36,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.8 23,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 2.7 1,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.0 *** 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.2 10,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.1 6,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.0 25,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.0 17,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  13 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  808 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 50.0 11 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
• No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years old or older. 
Note:  In Maine, the Provisions Targeting Suppliers apply to acts prohibited for minors.  The 
more general laws that address adults are not collected here as they are not, for purposes of this 
report, specific to the lending, transfer, sale, or production of false identification for a minor’s 
obtaining alcoholic beverages. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00  
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  35 hours, of which 5 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  Immediate family members only, unless accompanied by 
licensed driver who is at least 20 years old 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 9 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20 

Appearance requirements 
• Dressed in a manner consistent with age; no sunglasses or baseball caps   
• Male:  No facial hair  
• Female:  Little or no makeup   

ID possession 
• Prohibited 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Not specified 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
• First offense:  $200–$400 fine 
• Second offense:  $400–$600 fine 
• Third offense:  $600–$800 fine 
• Fourth offense:  $1,000–$1,250 fine 
Note:  All fines come with a 20 percent surcharge and a $100 civil legal fund fee. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments. 
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Incentive for training 
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  17 
• Wine:  17 
• Spirits:  17 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  17 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  17 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  17 for both servers and bartenders 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  No 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exception is downtown location. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on damages:  $350,000 limit for all claims per occurrence.  Medical care and 

treatment costs excluded from limit. 
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Note:  Maine law includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on damages:  $350,000 limit for all claims per occurrence.  Medical care and 

treatment costs excluded from limit. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements 
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient. 

State approval/permit requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  At least 7.75 gallons 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $500 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/6 months 

• Purchaser information collected:  Purchaser’s name and address 
• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
• Deposit required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 
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Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.35 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  7 percent 

– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  5 percent 

• Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  2 percent 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum  
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Maine State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

There is no statewide enforcement agency.  The Bureau of Liquor Enforcement was disbanded  
in 2003. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Don’t know 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 30 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 4,000 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 1,500 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 150 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale,  
or both retail establishments 

Off-sale 
establishments only 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that  
furnish minors Don’t know 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
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Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Don’t know 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Don’t know 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification Not applicable 
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Enforcing the Underage Drinking Laws Law Enforcement  
Mini-Grant Program 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/prevention/lawenforcement/EUD
L%20Grantees%20Web/index.htm 

 

Program Description:  This program allocated approximately $70,000 in state funds annually to 
support active enforcement of underage drinking laws.  Specific types of enforcement activity include:   

• Call-out team (unscheduled response to incident using officers not already on duty)  
• Planned/scheduled overtime detail to enforce underage drinking laws  
• Party patrol (scheduled detail scanning for underage parties)   
• Deterrence detail to increase public perception of underage drinking law enforcement  
• Third-party surveillance (i.e., parking lot surveillance, shoulder taps looking for furnishing)  
• Illegal alcohol source investigation (i.e., furnishing)   
• Proactive response/education regarding alcohol laws  
• Compliance checks 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Maine is one of three states that participates in a national 
demonstration project funded by OJJDP called the Assessment, Strategic Planning and 
Implementation Initiative, also known as “The Enforcing the Underage Drinking Laws Discretionary 
Grant.”  The goal is to make systems improvements to the way our state addresses underage 
drinking.  As part of this grant, we reach out to the Tribes in an effort to include them in each project 
we undertake.  Currently, they are beginning a multijurisdictional law enforcement task force to 
streamline the process of enforcement, prosecution, and adjudication of underage drinking cases 
within their Tribal law enforcement system.  We are in the early phases and look forward to seeing 
the outcomes of this collaboration. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  No data 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
No data 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
No data 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/pubs/prev/2012/StrategicPrevPlan.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  The Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/pubs/data/2013/SEOWEpiProfile2013FINAL.pdf 

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/30/2013 
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Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended $15,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $300,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 5/30/2013 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  Yes 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  

The survey did not ask about other types of active enforcement of underage drinking laws in terms of 
state dollars spent.  The total amount of state dollars spent on those activities is approx. $70,000. 
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Maryland 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  5,884,563 
Population Ages 12–20:  666,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.2 168,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.3 102,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 2.8 6,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.0 2,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.6 60,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.1 34,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.6 102,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.0 65,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  86 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  5,174 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 29.0 19 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  Maryland’s exception includes members of an individual’s “immediate family” when the 
alcoholic beverage is furnished and possessed “in a private residence or within the curtilage of 
the residence.”  For purposes of this report, the phrase “immediate family” is interpreted as 
including a spouse. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  Maryland’s exception includes members of an individual’s “immediate family” when the 
alcoholic beverage is furnished and consumed “in a private residence or within the curtilage of 
the residence.”  For purposes of this report, the phrase “immediate family” is interpreted as 
including a spouse.  

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00  
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
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• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of suspension/revocation  
• Minimum:  30 days 
• Maximum:  90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 9 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  9 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  60 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 18 who are not immediate family 
members, or relatives living with driver, unless accompanied by licensed driver over 21 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 years—passenger restrictions expire 151 days after 

issuance of intermediate license. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  Maryland’s exception allows furnishing of alcohol to minors by members of their 
“immediate family” when the alcoholic beverage is furnished and consumed “in a private 
residence or within the curtilage of the residence.”  For purposes of this report, the phrase 
“immediate family” is interpreted as including a spouse.  
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Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  21 
Note:  Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may 
have more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages.  Such “local 
options” are not addressed by this report. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
Note:  Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may 
have more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages.  Such “local 
options” are not addressed by this report. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—distance restrictions vary by county and municipality. 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—distance restrictions vary by county and municipality. 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits—product restrictions vary by county and 

municipality. 
Note:  Exceptions vary by county and municipality. 

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 
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Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.  
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements   
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  At least 4 gallons 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail $500 (or $1,000 if  
repeat violation) 

– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500 (or $1,000 if repeat violation) 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted—written approval from the county or city is required. 
• Wine:  Permitted—written approval from the county or city is required. 
• Spirits:  Permitted—written approval from the county or city is required. 
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 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.09 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  9 percent 

– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  9 percent 
– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 

Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.40 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  9 percent 

– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  9 percent 
– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.50 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  9 percent 

– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  9 percent 
– Sales tax does NOT apply 
– Sales tax:  6 percent 
– Sales tax adjusted retail ad valorem rate:  3 percent 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted—all counties require payment on delivery except Worcester 

County, where 10 days of credit may be extended. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Uncertain due to case law 
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• Price posting requirements:  Uncertain due to case law 
• Retailer credit:  Unrestricted—Alcohol and Tobacco Tax (MATT) Regulatory Division posts 

a list of purchase periods and due dates that is accessible only to Maryland wholesalers and 
retail licensees.  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Uncertain due to case law 
• Price posting requirements:  Uncertain due to case law 
• Retailer credit:  Unrestricted—Alcohol and Tobacco Tax (MATT) Regulatory Division posts 

a list of purchase periods and due dates that is accessible only to Maryland wholesalers and 
retail licensees.  

Note:  The Federal Court of Appeals (4th Circuit) held that Maryland’s wholesaler volume 
discounting and post-and-hold provisions, considered together, violate the Sherman Act’s ban on 
price fixing and are not protected by the 21st Amendment.  The court did not determine whether 
either of the provisions, if enacted separately, violated federal law.   
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Maryland State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

None 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Maryland Comptroller’s 
Office, Field Enforcement 

Division 
 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 1,303 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 No data 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No data 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/ 
decoy operations No data 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks No data 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that  
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Smallest fine imposed No data 
Largest fine imposed No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification    

Local law enforcement agencies work independently and in tandem with local liquor control boards to 
prevent underage drinking.  Data are identified and collected at the local level based on local 
requirements/needs.  While various state agencies (Maryland State Police-Central Records Division 
Uniform Crime Report, Maryland Department of Transportation, Office of the Attorney General, the 
Comptroller’s Office, etc.) collaborate on this issue and have specific mandates, no designated state 
agency is responsible for investigating issues relating to direct shipment of alcohol by licensed 
wholesalers and wineries.  The Office of the Maryland Attorney General contributes to efforts to prevent 
underage access to and purchases of alcohol through civil consumer protection enforcement initiatives 
in Maryland and through multistate actions via the National Association of Attorneys General Youth to 
Alcohol Committee. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA)  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 9,323 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa  

Program Description:  CMCA is an environmental approach to reducing underage drinking and access 
to alcohol by changing community policies and practices.  CMCA is implemented in five jurisdictions.  
County Prevention Coordinators serve as technical assistance experts to community agencies, schools, 
law enforcement, citizens, and others seeking to make institutional and policy changes that limit youth 
access to alcohol to improve the health of the entire population in the designated community.  Strategies 
include changing community norms, community mobilization, and law enforcement.  
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Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration – Maryland Strategic 
Prevention Framework (MSPF) Program 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://dhmh.maryland.gov.adaa  

Program Description:  The MSPF Program will implement evidence-based programs and strategies to 
assist in reducing the misuse of alcohol by youth and young adults as measured by the following 
indicators:  (1) Reduced numbers of youth ages 12 to 20 reporting past-month alcohol use, (2) reduced 
number of young persons ages 18 to 25 reporting past-month binge drinking, and (3) reduced number of 
alcohol-related crashes involving youth ages 16 to 25.  Maryland’s 24 jurisdictions will be required to 
implement the five-step Strategic Prevention Framework process (assessment, capacity building, 
planning, implementation of evidence-based programs, evaluation).  During FY 2013, the jurisdictions 
are completing steps 1 to 4 of the process in preparation for implementing prevention strategies 
beginning in 2014.  Intensive training was provided throughout the year to approximately 500 local 
community coalition members to assist them in this initiative.  Process evaluation activities began in FY 
2013, and evaluation results will be available in 2014. 

Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration (ADAA) – 
College Prevention Initiative 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served 29,354 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa  

Program Description:  ADAA provides funding to four Maryland universities to develop and maintain 
programs/activities that prevent and reduce substance use and risk-taking behaviors associated with the 
use of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs.  Alcohol, Tobacco, and Drug Centers have been established at 
Frostburg State University, Towson University, Bowie State University, and the University of Maryland 
Eastern Shore.  The Centers promote and assist in the design and implementation of campus policies, 
evidence-based practices, and prevention/wellness education programs for their institutions.  They also 
collaborate with agencies and organizations in communities surrounding the campuses.  Center 
directors have working relationships with local health department prevention coordinators, local drug 
and alcohol councils, and other colleges/universities in the region. 

Maryland Office of the Attorney General – National Association of 
Attorneys General Youth Access to Alcohol Committee 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.oag.state.md.us  

Program Description:  The Maryland Attorney General’s Office is a leader in the National Association 
of Attorneys General Youth Access to Alcohol Committee, which since 2005 has worked to reduce youth 
access to alcohol by using state consumer protection authority to investigate and curb unfair or 
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deceptive marketing practices by alcohol manufacturers.  Examples of efforts include calling for an 
increase to restrict youth access to flavored malt beverages (including by enforcing current state laws), 
and most recently, petitioning the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to identify that caffeinated alcohol 
beverages are “not generally recognized as safe” and therefore are adulterated and unlawful under 
federal food and drug laws. 

Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration – Maryland Driver Education & 
Rookie Driver Program 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/Driver-Safety/Young/safety/.htm 

 

Program Description:  These programs discuss, in part, the dangers of operating a vehicle while 
intoxicated and the penalties faced by minors who drive while influenced or impaired by drugs  
and/or alcohol. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No data 

Description of program:  No data 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No data 

Agency(ies) within your state: No data 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No data 
Other: No data 
Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
Not applicable 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Eugenia Conolly 
E-mail:  engenia.conolly@maryland.gov 
Address:  MD Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration, 55 Wade Avenue, Catonsville, MD  21228 
Phone:  410-402-8630 
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Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services 
Maryland Department of Juvenile Services 
Maryland Department of Human Resources 
Maryland Department of Budget and Management 
Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development 
Maryland Department of Transportation 
Maryland Department of Education 
Governor’s Office for Children 
Governor’s Office of Crime Control and Prevention 
Maryland Senate  
Maryland House of Delegates  
Circuit Court  
District Court  
Maryland Citizens  
Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration  
Maryland Mental Hygiene Administration  
Maryland Division of Parole and Probation  
Maryland Addiction Directors Council 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration, Maryland State Dept. of Education, 
Maryland Department of Transportation–State Highway Administration, and the Governor’s Office 
for Children.  The plan can be accessed via:  MD Strategic Prevention Framework Plan 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa 
Plan can be accessed via:  Maryland Epidemiological Profile; http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa;  

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration, Maryland State Dept. of Education, 
Maryland Department of Transportation–State Highway Administration, Governor’s Office for 
Children 

Plan can be accessed via:  Maryland Epidemiological Profile:  Consequences of Illicit Drug Use, 
Alcohol Use and Smoking, 2009 Maryland Compendium of Cross Indicators on Underage Drinking, 
2008 (http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa) 

Additional Clarification  

The Maryland State Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council (SDAAC) was initially established by executive 
order in 2008 and codified into law on October 1, 2010, as part of a comprehensive strategy to 
coordinate substance abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment services and to improve the criminal 
justice and correctional systems’ links to these services.  The Council is composed of key state cabinet 
department secretaries, judges, legislators, and citizens.  A major responsibility of the Council is to 
prepare and annually update a 2-year strategic plan that identifies priorities for the delivery and funding 
of services to the state.  Other responsibilities include:   

• Identifying promising practices in substance abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment  
• Conducting annual surveys of federal and state funds used in Maryland  
• Identifying emerging needs and potential funding sources  
• Disseminating information about funding opportunities to the local and state drug and alcohol  

abuse councils.   

The MSPF Advisory Committee is one of five workgroups of the SDAAC.  The MSPF committee 
provides guidance on the implementation of the SAMHSA funds.  ADAA staff provide funding, technical 
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assistance, and additional support for the State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) and the 
MSPF Advisory Committee. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  Law Enforcement Overtime Personnel, National Alcohol 
Enforcement Training Center (NAETC), Officer Training Compliance Checks, Public Service 
Announcements (PSAs) Advertising and Media Campaigns, Training for Intervention Procedures 
(TIPS), Conference Breathalyzer Equipment 
Estimate of state funds expended $180,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

 
Additional Clarification  

Initiatives to address underage drinking are usually coordinated at the local, county, and community 
levels with partnerships between local health departments, law enforcement, judiciary, county 
government, schools, and community-based organizations. 
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Massachusetts 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,646,144 
Population Ages 12–20:  768,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 31.2 240,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.1 154,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.8 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.8 4,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.2 65,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.3 40,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 59.6 163,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 39.9 109,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  54 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  3,244 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 34.0 15 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 
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Length of suspension/revocation   
• 90 days 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• 180 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, or 30 hours of supervised driving if 

applicant completes driver skills program 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12:30 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule, except secondary enforcement between 

12:30 a.m. and 1 a.m. and between 4 a.m. and 5 a.m. 
• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 18 who are not immediate family 

members, unless accompanied by licensed driver over 21 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 6 months after issuance 

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until full licensure is 
obtained. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  Not specified 
• Maximum:  Not specified 
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Appearance requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance 

ID possession 
• Prohibited 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Recommended 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet.  Local government has authority to override 
state restrictions. 

– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet.  Local government has authority to override 
state restrictions. 

– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 
Note:  Exceptions include (1) premises of an innholder and parts of buildings located 10 or more 
floors above street level; (2) extension of licensed premises that do not exceed 50 feet. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.   
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.   
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Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.   

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements   
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  
Note:  Current law provides that a winery that produces 30,000 gallons of wine or more may 
obtain a direct shipment only if the winery has not contracted with or has not been represented 
by a Massachusetts wholesaler licensed for the preceding 6 months.  There is no such 
requirement on wineries producing less than 30,000 gallons, which includes all wineries in  
Massachusetts.  This provision was ruled unconstitutional in a Federal District Court on 
November 19, 2008, and upheld on appeal in the 1st Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals on January 
14, 2010. 

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  More than 2 gallons 
• Purchaser information collected:  Purchaser’s name and address 
• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit required:  $5 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 
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Note:  Deposit provisions in Massachusetts require that a purchaser pay the following:  (a) a 
container fee of not less than $10 for each keg having a capacity of 6 or more gallons and of not 
less than $1 for each container having a capacity of less than 6 gallons; and (b) a registration fee 
of $10 for each keg having a capacity of 6 or more gallons and of $4 for each keg having a 
capacity of less than 6 gallons.   

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a 

permit issued by the commission. 
• Wine:  Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a 

permit issued by the commission. 
• Spirits:  Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a 

permit issued by the commission. 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.11 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.55 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $4.05 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Prohibited  

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—60 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—60 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—60 days maximum 
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Massachusetts State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment 
laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Massachusetts Alcoholic 
Beverages Control 

Commission 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 302 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement 
agencies 

No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 11,300 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 2,287 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 78 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, 
or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 2,287 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 78 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations 
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales 
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
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Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 20 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $34,000 
Smallest fine imposed $100 
Largest fine imposed $5,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 155 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 334 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 35 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    

In 2012, the agency conducted compliance checks in 236 municipalities across the Commonwealth.  
There were 2,287 licensed establishments checked, of which 78 failed (3 percent).  Of these licensees, 
1,001 off-premise licensees were checked, of which 47 failed (5 percent) and 1,242 on-premise 
licensees checked, of which 31 failed (3 percent).  It should be noted that several municipalities with 
relatively high failure rates in 2011 either had a low failure rate or were in full compliance in 2012.  
Licensees found in violation of selling or furnishing alcohol to underage individuals are brought before 
an adjudicatory hearing before the Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission.  If found guilty, they are 
issued a penalty, which can range from a warning to a license suspension.  Most are allowed to pay a 
fine in lieu of suspension, which is statutorily based on their alcohol sales.  In 2012, 155 licensees 
appeared before the commission; 38 received a warning, 69 received a license suspension that was 
held in abeyance providing they had no further violations of the Liquor Control Act, and 44 received a 
suspension of their license, of which 19 paid a fine in lieu of, with the balance serving the suspension. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services (BSAS), Underage Drinking 
Prevention Programs, and Regional Centers for Healthy Communities 

 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 16,007,789* 
Number of parents served 4,344,394* 
Number of caregivers served 313,122* 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.mass.gov/dph/bsas  
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Program Description: 

• 31 underage drinking prevention programs in collaboration with 6 regional centers in communities 
across the Commonwealth  

• Coalition/community focused  
• Require city/town participation  
• Use the SAMHSA Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF)  
• Required to use evidence-based environmental strategies that relate directly to  

assessment-identified problems 
Town Meeting Initiative  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   Not applicable 

Program Description:  There were 48 Town Hall Meetings for Underage Drinking funded during this 
reporting period. 

Dance. Don’t Chance. Contest  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
http://www.youtube.com/user/2013DanceDontChance 

 

Program Description:  Funded by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), this is 
a spring prom and graduation season safe-driving video contest in which teens write, produce, and 
submit a 60-second YouTube video on safe driving and avoiding underage drinking.  The winning school 
is awarded a package of prizes for their prom donated by private sponsors. 

District Attorneys Underage Drinking Prevention Program  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  NHTSA funding enabled two District Attorney’s Offices to convene Underage 
Drinking Prevention Conferences. 

Student Athlete Underage Driking Prevention Conferences  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 500 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
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URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

 
Program Description:  Funded by NHTSA, two conferences for student athletes were attended by  
500 students. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   

*Regarding the Bureau of Substance Abuse Services (BSAS), Underage Drinking Prevention Programs, 
and Regional Centers for Healthy Communities programs, these estimates are based on the total 
number of contacts, which may include multiple contacts with the same individuals. 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  The Department of Public Health has continued to collaborate with 
Native American key partners to provide culturally appropriate services to Native Americans 
 in Massachusetts. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Yes 

Description of program:  Community level:  restrictions on advertising; counteralcohol advertising on 
billboards and public transportation.  State level:  Counteralcohol advertising via magazine, social 
media, and transit ads.  The Massachusetts Bay Transit Authority, the state’s largest transit system, 
agreed to suspend alcohol advertising on 7/1/2012. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Department of Public Health, Bureau of 
Substance Abuse Services 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  BSAS implements best practices through:   
1. A competitive request-for-response (RFR) process   
2. Strategy meetings   
3. Regular site visits   
The RFR requires the selection of a evidence-based model.  Regular meetings provide technical 
assistance to ensure implementation of the SPF sustainability as well as cultural competence.  The 
community’s logic model, action plan, accomplishments, and challenges are reviewed throughout  
the year. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 
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Committee contact information:   
Name:  William D. Luzier; Executive Director, Interagency Council on Substance Abuse & 
Prevention 
E-mail:  william.luzier@state.ma.us 
Address:  250 Washington Street, Floor 3, Boston, MA  02108 
Phone:  617-624-5121 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Lieutenant Governor, Chair 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
Executive Office of Public Safety and Security 
Executive Office of Elder Affairs 
Executive Office of Veterans Affairs 
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Department of Corrections 
Parole Board 
Department of Probation 
Department of Public Health 
Department of Youth Services 
Department of Mental Health  
Department of Developmental Services  
Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission  
Department of Transitional Assistance  
Department of Children and Families  
Center for Health Information and Analysis  
Department of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing  
Department of Early Education and Care  
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services  
MassHealth (Medicaid)  
Superior Court District Court  
Juvenile Court  
Governor’s Office  
Senate  
House  
Private citizen recovering from substance abuse problems 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  
http://www.mass.gov/governor/administration/ltgov/lgcommittee/subabuseprevent 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Interagency Council on Substance Abuse & Prevention 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.mass.gov/governor/docs/strategic-plan-update-july-2010.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and Department of Public 
Health 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.doe.mass.edu/cnp/hprograms/yrbs/2011Report.pdf 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $120,000 (grant) 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended $150,000 

522 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Massachusetts 

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

Regarding compliance check expenditures, this is a grant from the Executive Office of Public Safety for 
Compliance Checks/Decoy operations.  Regarding checkpoints and saturation patrols expenditures, this 
is a specific state budget line item dedicated to this enforcement:  “For the costs associated with the 
investigation and enforcement division of the alcoholic beverages control commission’s implementation 
of the enhanced liquor enforcement programs, known as Safe Campus, Safe Holidays, Safe Prom and 
Safe Summer; provided, that funds from this appropriation shall not support other operating costs of 
item 0610-0050 ..............  $150,000.”  Since 2005, investigators have conducted these programs with 
the following results:  4,250 minors in possession or transporting alcoholic beverages; 2,119 adults 
procuring alcohol for minors; 491 individuals in possession of false identification; and 2,348 cases of 
beer and 1,564 bottles of alcohol confiscated by investigators.  Based on the national standard for 
determining “binge drinking,” this prevented delivery to approximately 29,684 underage individuals. 

All of the programs that target underage drinking prevention are funded either through the Prevention 
portion of the SAMHSA Block Grant or through specific federal grant funding. 
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Michigan 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  9,883,360 
Population Ages 12–20:  1,274,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.1 320,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.8 214,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.2 16,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.6 6,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.1 91,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.1 56,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 46.6 212,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.1 151,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  144 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  8,752 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 18.0 26 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00  
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14 years, 9 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
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• Unsupervised night driving 
– Prohibited after:  10 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under age 21 who is not an 
immediate family member unless accompanied by driver’s parent or designated adult 21  
or older. 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
• Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
• There is an affirmative defense if the minor is not charged. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers 
• Applies only to on-sale establishments 
• Applies only to new outlets 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary beverage service training  
• Applies only to on-sale establishments 
• Applies only to existing outlets 
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance 
Note:  Michigan provides for a liability insurance discount as an incentive for retailers to 
implement beverage service training.  

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

526 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Michigan 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• No distance limitation 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Note:  Michigan law includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
• Exception(s):  Family, resident 
Note:  Michigan’s social host statute does not apply if all individuals attending the social 
gathering are members of the same household or immediate family, or if a minor’s use, 
consumption, or possession of an alcoholic beverage is for religious purposes.  The “preventive 
action” provision in Michigan allows the prosecution to establish guilt by proving that the host 
failed to take preventive action. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 
Note:  The beer or wine must be delivered by the retailer’s employee and not by an agent or by  
a third party delivery service.  A retailer that holds a specially designated merchant license or an 
out-of-state retailer that holds its state’s substantial equivalent license may utilize a third party 
that provides delivery service to municipalities in this state that are surrounded by water and 
inaccessible by motor vehicle. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   
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Age verification requirements   
• Producer must verify age of purchaser.  
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  5 gallons or more 
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500/93 days 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit required:  $30 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.20 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.51 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited  
• Reduced price, specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—180-day minimum.  Prices may be decreased 

during the 180-day period to meet a competing wholesaler’s price.  The price reduction must 
not exceed the competition’s price and must continue for the balance of the 180 days filed by 
the competition. 

• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum for on-sale retailers.  No credit extended to 
off-sale retailers.  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—3-month minimum.  By written order the 

commission may approve a price change for a period of no fewer than 14 days.  
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days for on-sale retailers.  No credit extended to  

off-sale retailers.  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Michigan State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment 
laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

MLCC; enforcement only.  Full 
field investigation  
not conducted for  
permit issuance.  

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don’t know 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession by state law  
enforcement agencies Not applicable 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law  
enforcement agencies 

Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 
sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 

Number of retail licensees in state3 17,260, holding approx. 27,000 
total licenses 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 2,224 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 298 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-
sale, or both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations Yes 

Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations 

Data not maintained separately; 
not available 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy 
operations to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not maintained separately 
(see above) 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 429 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
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Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that 
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 727 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $459,378.42 
Smallest fine imposed $0 
Largest fine imposed $4,999.59 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 27 (14 were “fine and suspension; 
waive suspension”) 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 47 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 10  
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    

Checkpoints and saturation patrols are not done in Michigan.  Local law enforcment agencies may 
conduct compliance checks on a voluntary basis only, and not all submit data to MLCC.  Items in 
question 1.B.2.b may be underreported since reporting of data is not required. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Michigan Coalitions to Reduce Underage Drinking (MCRUD)  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.mcrud.org  

Program Description:  MCRUD provides training, technical assistance, and networking opportunities 
for local volunteer and professional groups that are working to address specific issues related to 
reducing underage drinking at the local level.  Constituents include other statewide organizations (e.g., 
Mothers Against Drunk Driving), local professional prevention agencies, local public health departments, 
hospital staff, local teen centers, and volunteer groups (e.g., high school leadership groups, parent 
groups, and community coalitions). 

Substate Regional Coordinating Agencies (CAs)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
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Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.michigan.gov/mdch-
bsaas 

 

Program Description:  The Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH), Bureau of Substance 
Abuse and Addiction Services (BSAAS), currently allocates Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
(SAPT) Block Grant funding and other state general fund dollars to 16 substate regional coordinating 
agencies.  The CAs are responsible for planning, administering, funding, and maintaining the provision 
of substance abuse treatment and prevention services for 83 counties in Michigan in accordance with 
BSAAS priorities.  One of BSAAS’s current priorities is reducing underage drinking, and each CA 
employs a Prevention Coordinator.  Programs are based on regional need, and are a mix of targeted 
programs aimed at specific populations as well as those aimed at the general population. 

Prevention Network (PN) and Parenting Awareness Michigan (PAM)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.preventionnetwork.org  

Program Description:  PN is a private, nonprofit partner funded in part by BSAAS involved in the 
established statewide infrastructure that works to coordinate and allocate funding to high-need 
communities.  PN provides support, training, technical assistance, and minigrants to grassroots 
community groups to offer a full continuum of substance abuse prevention services.  As part of PN, the 
PAM assists local communities across the state, specifically with initiatives surrounding parenting. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  At the state level, BSAAS collaborates with both the Grand Traverse 
Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians and the Little Traverse Bay Band of Odawa Indians by 
offering technical assistance as appropriate or requested.  Both Tribes also have member 
representation with the State Epidemiology Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW).  In addition, there is 
partnership with the Michigan Inter-Tribal Council.  Also, substate regional coordinating agencies 
may partner with these same or other Tribes in their geographic area. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA NREPP 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  MDCH BSAAS Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  MDCH/BSAAS has adopted overarching principles of effective 
prevention based on the SAMHSA National Registry of Effective Prevention Programs (NREPP) as 
well as the Surgeon General’s Call to Action to Prevent and Reduce Underage Drinking (2007).  
MDCH/BSAAS requires that at least 90 percent of prevention programming within a substate 
coordinating agency region be evidence based.  In addition, specific guidelines for safe prom and 
graduation initiatives have been adopted and promoted through PN, MCRUD, and other avenues at 
the local level. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Mike Tobias 
E-mail:  mike@preventionnetwork.org 
Address:  PO Box 4458, East Lansing, MI  48826-4458 
Phone:  517-393-6890 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Barry County Community Mental Health 
Bay County Sacred Heart 
Cass Alcohol Safety Solutions 
Courageous Persuaders 
Ingham Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition 
Michigan Council on Alcohol Problems 
Michigan Liquor Control Commission 
Oakland County Health Department 
Michigan Licensed Beverage Association 
Marquette County Health Department/Coalition 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.mcrud.org 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  MDCH/BSAAS ROSC Transformation Steering Committee-- Prevention Workgroup 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.michigan.gov/mdch-bsaas 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  MDCH/BSAAS ROSC Transformation Steering Committee- Prevention Workgroup 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.michigan.gov/mdch-bsaas 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $128,797 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $350,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 9/30/2012 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes Yes 
Fines  Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other: No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Taxes on alcohol; fines for violations; license and renewal fees.  These sources are used to fund 
controlled buy operations through the Michigan Liquor Control Commission. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Minnesota 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  5,379,139 
Population Ages 12–20:  644,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.1 155,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.7 108,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.2 6,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 0.8 2,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.5 43,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.4 27,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 46.9 105,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 34.9 78,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  50 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  3,037 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 19.0 10 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian’s home 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian’s home AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Although Minnesota does not prohibit Internal Possession, it has a statutory provision  
that makes it unlawful “[f]or any person under the age of 21 years to consume any alcoholic 
beverages” and further defines “consume” to “ [include] the ingestion of an alcoholic beverage 
and the physical condition of having ingested an alcoholic beverage.”  Laws that prohibit minors 
from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, 
are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession for purposes of this report.   

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00  
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  30 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  For first 6 months, no more than one passenger under 20 who is 
not an immediate family member, unless accompanied by driver’s parent or guardian.  For 
second 6 months, no more than three passengers under 20, unless accompanied by driver’s 
parent or guardian. 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17—passenger restrictions expire 12 months after obtaining 

intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions expire 6 months after issuance 
of intermediate license. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian’s home AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Incentive for training 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance 
Note:  Minnesota provides for a reduced license fee as an incentive for retailers to implement 
beverage service training, among other programs.   
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Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 
Note:  In Minnesota, the minimum permitted age to sell 3.2 percent malt liquors for off-premises 
consumption is not specified. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
Note:  Minors who have reached age 16 may be employed to provide waiter or waitress service 
in rooms or areas where the presence of 3.2 percent “malt liquor” is incidental to food service  
or preparation.   

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1,500 feet if not within a city 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1,500 feet if not within a city 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits—excludes beverages with 3.2 percent alcohol  

by weight or less 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Note:  Minnesota law states that nothing in Minnesota’s alcohol beverage control law “precludes 
common law tort claims against any person 21 years old or older who knowingly provides or 
furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 21 years.”  The age limitation applied 
to the furnisher and the “knowingly” evidentiary requirement results in a “no” coding for dram 
shop common law liability. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on who may be sued:  Social host must be 21 years old or older. 
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowingly or recklessly furnishing alcohol to a 

minor or permitting consumption by a minor. 
Note:  Minnesota law states that nothing in Minnesota’s alcohol beverage control law “precludes 
common law tort claims against any person 21 years old or older who knowingly provides or 
furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 21 years.”  The age limitation applied 
to the furnisher and the “knowingly” evidentiary requirement results in a “no” coding for social 
host common law liability. 
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Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the  
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements:  None 

Reporting requirements:  None 

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  Not less than 7 gallons 
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $1,000/90 days 
• Purchaser information collected:  Verified by a government-issued ID 
• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.15 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  2.5 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  2.5 percent  
• Additional taxes:  $0.08 per gallon for beverages containing an alcohol content of 4 percent 

or less 
Note: With respect to malt liquor containing 4 percent alcohol or less, the 2.5 percent retail tax is  
applied only when sold at an on-sale or off-sale municipal liquor store or other establishment 
licensed to sell any type of intoxicating liquor. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon 
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• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  2.5 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  2.5 percent 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $5.03 per gallon 
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises retail):  2.5 percent 
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises retail):  2.5 percent 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—a variable volume price may not be for a quantity of more 

than 25 cases 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—A variable volume price may not be for a quantity of more 

than 25 cases 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
 
  

540 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Minnesota 

Minnesota State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Minnesota Department of Public Safety 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

We enforce the 
provisions of the 
statute but do not 

have a formal 
program to do so. 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 No data 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 Not applicable 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
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Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 Not applicable 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed6 Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws  

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  http://www.ojjdp-dctat.org  
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  This program of the Department of Public Safety funds activities that support 
enhanced enforcement of underage drinking laws and prevention programs.   

Planning & Implementation (P&I) Programs (Department of Human 
Services) 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  http://www.mprc.org  
URL for more program information:  http://www.mprc.org  

Program Description:  P&I programs are funded using SAPT Block Grant prevention funds (the 20 
percent set-aside).  Each P&I program contains the following set of strategies, programs, and services:   

1. Community coalitions with a primary focus on reducing youth alcohol use.  Each coalition meets 
monthly, and has a vision and mission statement and written bylaws.  Each has representation from 
the following 14 community sectors:   
a. Youth (18 or younger)  
b. Parents  
c. High-risk subpopulations  
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d. Business  
e. Media  
f. School  
g. Youth-serving organization  
h. Law enforcement  
i. Justice/corrections 
j. Religious or fraternal organization  
k. Civic/volunteer group (i.e., local organizations committed to volunteering; not a coalition member 

designated as “volunteer”)  
l. Health care professional  
m. State/local/Tribal government agency with expertise in substance abuse  
n. Other organization involved in reducing substance abuse  

2. Alcohol compliance checks at every establishment that sells alcoholic beverages within each 
community’s geographic area at least twice annually   

3. Responsible beverage server training in each community at least twice a year   
4. Provide Project Northland to all 6th-, 7th- and 8th-grade students in funded communities  
5. Provide class action in all high schools in the geographic area of the funded communities   
6. Provide capacity building in the form of specific training and technical assistance around effective 

coalitions, data collection, use of data, developing strategic plans, evaluation, cultural competency, 
sustainability, and other prevention topics identified as a need by the community   

7. Implement environmental strategies within each funded community, such as passing social host 
ordinances, having alcohol compliance checks routinely conducted by law enforcement, banning 
advertisements for alcohol at local community events  

8. A Positive Community Norms campaign to provide information and education around the true 
community norms of alcohol use and related behaviors and beliefs of underage youth, of the adult 
community population, and of the parent population. 

Regional Prevention Coordinators (RPC)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  http://www.evaluatod.org/r_atodtools.php  
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Minnesota is divided into seven prevention regions.  Each RPC is responsible 
for providing technical assistance for those who request help in initiating, implementing, and sustaining 
ATOD prevention efforts in their region.  The RPCs are trained in many aspects of community coalition 
work, on evidence-based programming, in community assessment, strategic planning, evaluation, etc.  
Each also provides at least one regional training on a topic determined by an annual training 
assessment survey.  RPC Programs are funded using SAPT Block Grant prevention funds (the 20 
percent set-aside).  In the evaluation report (http://www.evaluatod.org/r_atodtools.php), results are 
included under Regional Prevention Coordinators, Community Impact Tool results.  

Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 
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Program Description:  Overview of the SPF SIG program:   
• Funding from SAMHSA, Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)  
• Approx.  $2.1 million/year for 5 years (July 2009 through June 2014)  

o 85 percent must go to communities  
o Year 5 begins on July 1, 2013  
o Hoping for a no-cost extension to provide funding through June 30, 2015  

• Minnesota is part of Cohort IV nationally  
• SPF SIG is a Cooperative Agreement at both the state and community levels  
 
National SPF SIG Program Goals:   
• Prevent onset and reduce progression of substance abuse, including childhood and underage 

drinking  
• Reduce substance abuse-related problems in communities  
• Build prevention capacity and infrastructure at the state- and community- levels  
 
“SAMHSA envisions the SPF SIGs being implemented through working partnerships between 
States and communities.” 
 
Minnesota SPF SIG Priorities:  In May 2010, the SPF SIG Advisory Council used state-level data 
(provided by the SEOW) to vote on following priorities for the project:   
• Past 30-day alcohol use among youth (will be measured by the MN Student Survey [MSS])  
• Binge drinking among youth (will be measured by the MSS)  
• Binge drinking among 18- to 25-year-olds (will be measured by the Young Adult Alcohol Survey 

[YAAS])  
 
The Community SPF SIG Grant Program:   
• July 2011 RFP identified eight community-level grantees, two-phase funding model, with Phase 

One starting January 2012  
• Phase One:  first three steps of the SPF, 18 months long  
• Extensive training and technical assistance in addition to templates, tools, and resources 

provided (the SPF SIG has produced four guidance documents for communities so far)  
• Phase One concludes with submission and approval of a community strategic plan; seven to 

eight grantees received approval and are moving into Phase Two on July 1, 2013  
• Contract Amendment for Phase Two:  implementation of the strategic plan and related process 

and outcome evaluation  
 
Summary of Phase One Grantee Work:   
• Establish or strengthen a broad-based community coalition  
• Conduct a thorough assessment by gathering existing local data (from law enforcement, schools, 

hospitals, etc.) and conducting the following additional required data collection activities: 
o Young adult alcohol survey  
o Local prevention infrastructure facilitated discussion  
o Key informant interviews with community leaders  
o Fiscal host questionnaire  
o Coalition functioning survey  
o One-to-one interviews with community members and facilitated discussion  

• Develop a local epidemiological profile 
 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
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Additional Clarification   

Program #1 is funded through the federal Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency and managed by 
the Minneosta Department of Public safety.  Programs #2 and #3 are funded through the federal 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant award(its 2 percent set-aside for primary 
prevention). 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  The Minnesota Department of Human Services, Alcohol and Drug 
Abuse Division, uses SAPT Block Grant funds to fund prevention programming on the Red Lake 
Reservation.  In addition, the Division uses state-appropriated dollars to fund some prevention 
programming in urban American Indian communities.  Funding is funneled through the American 
Indian Program Section, a subunit within the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division within MN 
Department of Human Services.  This unit functions as the conduit to the Indian Tribes in Minnesota 
and local American Indian communities, providing training and technical assistance as requested by 
the Tribes.  In addition, the Division’s legislation requires it to create and maintain an American 
Indian Advisory Council consisting of representatives from the 11 federally recognized Tribes in 
Minnesota.  This advisory council advises the Division in matters related to substance abuse and 
addiction, treatment, and recovery services in the American Indian communities within Tribal 
reservations as well as local communities. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Program description:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: No 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  Pacific Institute on Research and Evaluation 
(PIRE) 

Yes 

Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  OJJDP AND PIRE standards (Department of Public Safety 
response) 

Additional Clarification  

For the purpose of this survey, two primary state agencies provided feedback.  The first is the Minnesota 
Department of Human Services, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division, which also functions as the Single 
State Agency for the federal Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant Award.  The 
second is the Department of Public Safety, which receives EUDL funding from the Office of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP).  The agency reports using best practices developed by 
OJJDP and PIRE standards. 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Don’t know/ 
No answer 

Committee contact information:   
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: 
Not applicable 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 

URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 
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Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Not sure 

Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Not sure 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended No funding is 
allocated to our 
agency for this 

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $4,413,295 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $500,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  N/A 
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 
  

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other:  (1) Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant and  
(2) Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant 

Yes 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification  

The Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division had a federal grant to administer funds for compliance 
checks and to maintain records of the outcome of the checks.  However, the funding for the program 
was directed elsewhere, so the information contained in prior reports is not currently maintained by the 
Division.  Recent bills in the Minnesota Legislature specifically targeting funding for underage 
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enforcement left out the Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division; thus it received no state funding 
specific to enforcement/compliance issues related to underage access to alcohol. 

In addition to the expenditures identified above, approximately $1,334,734 was expended in prevention 
efforts in the American Indian community.  However, it is unknown how much of this is for community-
based versus K-12 school-based prevention.  Of the community-based funding, $1,071,295 relates to 
the program funded by the SPF SIG. 
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Mississippi 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,984,926 
Population Ages 12–20:  384,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.8 95,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.9 61,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.9 6,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.6 3,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.3 28,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.5 17,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.6 62,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 29.9 41,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  65 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  3,926 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 22.0 17 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location OR 
• Parent/guardian 
Note:  Mississippi’s parent/guardian exception applies to those persons at least 18 years old  
and only for possession of light wine or beer.  The location exception is not limited to persons 
between 18 and 21, and applies only to alcoholic beverages, not including light wine or beer. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Mississippi’s parent/guardian exception applies to those persons at least 18 years old and 
only for consumption of light wine or beer. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
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Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• Minimum:  Not specified 
• Maximum:  90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months  
• No minimum supervised driving requirement 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday; 11:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• No passenger restrictions 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
Note:  Mississippi’s parent/guardian and spouse exception applies to those persons at least  
18 years old and only for furnishing light wine or beer. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  16 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
• Male:  No facial hair and youthful looking 

ID possession 
• Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Not specified 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
• First offense:  $500 to $1,000 fine 
• Second offense:  $1,000 to $2,000 fine plus license revocation 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 
• Wine:  21 
• Spirits:  21 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• Limitations on outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—no permits on campus 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—no permits on campus 
– Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits—“alcoholic beverage” does not include wine or beer 

containing 6.25 percent ABV or less 

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet; within 100 feet in areas zoned commercial 
or industrial. 

– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet; within 100 feet in areas zoned commercial 
or industrial. 

– Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits—“alcoholic beverage” does not include wine or beer 
containing 6.25 percent ABV or less. 

Note:  Exceptions include (1) bed and breakfast inn or historic district listed in the National 
Register of Historic Places; (2) qualified resort area located in a municipality having a population 
greater than 100,000. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.   
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 
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Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.43 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Mississippi State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

State of Mississippi, Mississippi Department of Revenue/Office of ABC Enforcement 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

MS Dept. of 
Revenue/Office of 
ABC Enforcement 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies No data 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 

Number of retail licensees in state3 6,700 (beer and liquor 
retailers) approx. 

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 78 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 78 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations No 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish 
minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 N/A suspensions only 
on sales to minors 

Total amount in fines across all licensees Not applicable 
Smallest fine imposed Not applicable 
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Largest fine imposed Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2013 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 26 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 182 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 7 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Region 1 Community Mental Health Center (CMHC)  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 1,000 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   None available 

Program Description:  Region 1 CMHC utilizes the Project Alert prevention program for middle and 
high school students.  It seeks to prevent adolescent nonusers from experimenting with alcohol, 
tobacco, and marijuana drugs, and prevent youths who are already experimenting from becoming more 
regular users or abusers. 

Region 2 Community Mental Health Center  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 318 
Number of parents served 151 
Number of caregivers served 123 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Region 2 CMHC utilizes the Project Alert prevention program for middle and 
high school students.  It seeks to prevent adolescent nonusers from experimenting with alcohol, 
tobacco, and marijuana drugs, and prevent youths who are already experimenting from becoming more 
regular users or abusers. 

Region 3 Community Mental Health Center  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 101 
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Number of parents served 164 
Number of caregivers served 5 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Region 3 CMHC utilizes Protecting You/Protecting Me (PY/PM), a 5-year 
classroom-based alcohol use prevention and vehicle safety program for elementary school students in 
grades 1 to 5 (ages 6 to 11) and high school students in grades 11 and 12.  The program aims to reduce 
alcohol-related injuries and death among children and youth due to underage alcohol use and riding in 
vehicles with drivers who are alcohol free. 

Region 4 Community Mental Health Center  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 350 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Region 4 CMHC utilizes LifeSkills Training (LST), a school-based program that 
aims to prevent alcohol, tobacco, and marijuana use and violence by targeting the major social and 
psychological factors that promote the initiation of substance use and other risky behaviors.  LST is 
based on both social influence and competence enhancement models of prevention. 

Region 5 Community Mental Health Center  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 75 
Number of parents served 23 
Number of caregivers served 16 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Region 5 CMHC utilizes the No Underage Drinking Allowed program.  This 
program encourages and teaches youth resistance skills when faced with alcohol at dances and parties.  
It also educates youth and parents about the Social Host law. 

Region 6 Community Mental Health Center  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 807 
Number of parents served 250 
Number of caregivers served 34 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Region 6 CMHC utilizes the Creating Lasting Family Connections program, a 
family-focused program that aims to build the resiliency of youth ages 9 to 17 years and reduce the 
frequency of their alcohol and other drug use. 

Region 8 Community Mental Health Center – Alcohol and Drug Services  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 46 
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Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 6 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  No data 

Region 9 Community Mental Health Center  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 140 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Region 9 CMHC utilizes the Too Good for Drugs (TGFD) school-based 
prevention program.  It is geared for kindergarten through 12th grade and builds on students’ resiliency 
by teaching them how to be socially competent and autonomous problem solvers.  The program also 
provides information about the negative consequences of drug use and the benefits of a nonviolent 
drug-free lifestyle.  TGFD has developmentally appropriate curricula for each grade level through 8th 
grade, with a separate high school curriculum for students in grades 9 through 12. 

Region 12 – Pine Belt Mental Healthcare Resources  
Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served 3300 
Number of parents served 1200 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Region 12 utilizes Project Northland and Project Alert.   

Project Northland is a multilevel intervention involving students, peers, parents, and community in 
programs designed to delay the age at which adolescents begin drinking, reduce alcohol use among 
those already drinking, and limit the number of alcohol-related problems among young drinkers.  
Administered weekly to adolescents in grades 6 to 8, the program has a specific theme within each 
grade level incorporated into the parent, peer, and community components.   

Project Alert is a school-based prevention program for middle or junior high school students that focuses 
on alcohol, tobacco, and marijuana use.  It seeks to prevent adolescent nonusers from experimenting 
with these drugs, and to prevent youths who are already experimenting from becoming more regular 
users or abusers. 

Region 14 – Singing River Services Program  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 8,000 (2012-2013) 
Number of parents served 600 
Number of caregivers served 300 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 
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Program Description:  Region 14 utilizes Project Northland by Hazelden Publishing.  The four curricula 
include Slick Tracy, Amazing Alternatives, Power Lines, and Class Action.  Project Northland’s curricula 
invite participation and experiential learning at home, in the classroom, and in the local community.  
Parents as well as other possible caregivers are included.  They are enlisted to support a no use 
message, while communities mobilize to reduce youth access to alcohol and to promote alcohol-free 
norms.  Parents are pulled into this process as students are encouraged to partner with them to sign off 
on home assignments.  Students are given weekly incentives to continue this process. 

Region 15 – Warren Yazoo-Gateway MAP Team  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 5,000 
Number of parents served 9,000 
Number of caregivers served 1,500 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  No data 
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, Choctaw Health Department, 
Choctaw Behavioral Health 

 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 5,423 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.nesonline.com  

Program Description:  The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians utilizes the Reconnecting Youth (RY) 
Prevention Program.  This is a school-based prevention program for youth in grades 9 through 12 and 
ages 14 through 18 who are at risk for school dropout and who may also exhibit multiple behavior 
problems, such as substance abuse, aggression, depression, or a higher suicide risk potential. 

Mallory Community Health Center  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 2,000 
Number of parents served 500 
Number of caregivers served 45 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  Mallory Community Health Center utilizes the Taking Opportunity in 
Prevention–Teens/Tots substance abuse program, which targets 100 at-risk youth ages 5 to 18.  The 
program promotes constructive lifestyles and norms that discourage alcohol, tobacco, and other drug 
use. 

House of Peace Substance Abuse Prevention Program (HOPSAPP)  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 500 
Number of parents served 85 
Number of caregivers served 35 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
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URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  HOPSAPP provides alcohol and drug abuse prevention services to at-risk 
minority youth, ages 10 to 18, living in Sharkey and Issaquena Counties as well the surrounding areas.  
We have joined forces with the local school district to form a collaboration that will reach as many youth 
as possible with the alcohol and drug abuse prevention message.  Community outreach programs on 
alcohol and drug abuse prevention are presented to the schools, parents, and the local community.  In 
addition, we provide local merchant education to to promote awareness and help prevent the sale of 
alcohol and tobacco products to minors. 

Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Mississippi DMH certifies and funds the Mississippi Band of Choctaw 
Indians to provide prevention services within their community. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No 

Agency(ies) within your state:  MS Department of Mental Health Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  No data 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Daisy Carter 
E-mail:  daisy@ncaddms.org 
Address:  875 Northpark Drive, Ridgeland, MS  39157 
Phone:  601-899-5880 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department of Mental Health 
Department of Public Safety 
Department of Education 
DREAM of Hattiesburg 
DREAM, Inc. 
Mississippi National Guard 
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians 
MADD 
NCADD 
Department of Health 
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Mississippians Advocating Against Underage Drinking (MAAUD) 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 

URL or other means of access:  http://www.maaud.org 
 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Mississippians Advocating Against Underage Drinking (MAAUD) 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other: No data 

 
Description of funding streams and how they are used: 

No data 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Missouri 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,021,988 
Population Ages 12–20:  715,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.3 167,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.1 108,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.1 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.6 6,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.4 58,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.8 39,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 40.7 97,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 26.2 63,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  116 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  7,008 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 23.0 31 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21  

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws“) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation   
• 30 days 
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Note:  Although Missouri does not authorize a use/lose penalty for all underage consumption,  
a law that became effective on August 28, 2005, imposes the mandatory license sanction on an 
underage person who “has a detectable blood alcohol content of more than two-hundredths of 
one percent or more by weight of alcohol in such person’s blood.”  

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  1 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, no more than one passenger under 19 who is not 
an immediate family member.  After 6 months, no more than three passengers under 19 who 
are not immediate family members. 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 years, 11 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance requirements 
• Youthful appearance; no headgear obstructing view of face or hairline   
• Male:  No facial hair or receding hairline   
• Female:  No excessive makeup or jewelry  

ID possession 
• Required 

Verbal exaggeration of age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy training 
• Mandated 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet.  Local government has authority to override 
state restrictions. 

– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet.  Local government has authority to override 
state restrictions. 

– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 
Note:  Exception is a school that has obtained an exemption from the payment of federal taxes.  

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on who may sue:  Retailers that furnish alcohol for off-premises consumption 

exempt. 
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Clear and convincing evidence required to show 

that retailer knew or should have known underage status. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
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• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 
actual knowledge of the occurrence 

• Preventive action by the host negates the violation 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Uncertain 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 
Note:  A holder of a retailer alcoholic beverage license in a state that affords Missouri licensees 
an equal reciprocal shipping privilege may ship, for personal use and not for resale, no more than 
two cases of wine (no more than 9 liters each case) per year to any adult resident of the state.  
Delivery of a shipment pursuant to this section shall not be deemed to constitute a sale in  
this state. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age verification requirements   
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State approval/permit requirements  
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting requirements   
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping label statement requirements   
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  4 gallons or more 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit required:  $50 
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 
Note:  Although Missouri does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s 
ID, it does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser, as 
well as the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth. 
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Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 

 Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.06 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.42 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.00 per gallon 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—a quantity discount may be granted only for quantities of 

two or more.  Such discounts may be graduated but may not exceed 1 percent. 
• Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—1 percent discount for time of payment; no 

sales below cost.  
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—a quantity discount may be granted only for quantities of 

two or more.  Such discounts may be graduated but may not exceed 1 percent. 
• Minimum markup/maximum discount:  Yes—1 percent discount for time of payment; no 

sales below cost. 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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Missouri State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Dept of Public Safety, 
 Div of Alcohol and  
Tobacco Control 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 9,039 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 No data 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations  
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance 
checks/decoy operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,808 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 244 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that  
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 241 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $65,200 
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Smallest fine imposed $100 
Largest fine imposed $800 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail 
establishments specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 19 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 45 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 1 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 6 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Additional Clarification    

Part 1, Section A; Underage Persons in Possession:  The data reported in this section are taken from 
the Missouri Uniform Crime Reporting Program (MULES).  Part 1, Section B; Compliance Checks, Local 
Level:  The Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) grant in Missouri funds a State Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control Special Agent position.  The person who holds this position is responsible for training 
EUDL subgrantees, which are local law enforcement agencies.  The EUDL Special Agent provides 
training at the EUDL Compliance Seminar for the local law enforcement agencies.  The EUDL Special 
Agent also collects and reviews compliance check reports from the subgrantees and refers violations to 
the Supervisor of Alcohol and Tobacco Control for administrative action if warranted.  (The data 
presented in questions 1.B.2.a–c are taken from the activity that was reported to the EUDL Special 
Agent from the local law enforcement subgrantees.)  In addition, this position provides training to retail 
merchants on proper service of alcoholic beverages, and participates in local and statewide initiatives.  
Part 1, Section C; Sanctions:  The data reported in this section are taken from the administrative actions 
imposed by the Supervisor of Alcohol and Tobacco Control on violations referred from the EUDL Special 
Agent who reviews compliance check reports from the local law enforcement agencies. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Partners in Prevention (PIP)  

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 122,000 
Number of parents served 30,000 
Number of caregivers served 400 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   Upon request 
URL for more program information:  http://pip.missouri.edu  

Program Description:  Missouri PIP is an established statewide substance abuse prevention coalition  
of Missouri universities implementing evidence-based strategies to reduce binge and underage drinking 
among students at participating institutions.  The coalition began as a consortium of 13 public 
universities, and in 2009-2010 expanded to include 7 additional private institutions.  Since 2001, PIP has 
effectively reduced binge drinking and underage drinking behavior on campuses throughout the state 
and has been nationally recognized for its efforts. 

 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 567 



State Reports – Missouri  

Missouri Youth Adult Alliance (MYAA)  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 2292 
Number of parents served 708 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   Upon request 
URL for more program information:  http://http://www.myaa.org  

Program Description:  Missouri’s MYAA is a statewide coalition that assists local community efforts in 
addressing underage drinking.  Its mission is to encourage advocates to reduce youth access to alcohol 
by implementing environmental and social change in their communities.  Membership in MYAA consists 
of other agencies as well as other adults and youth interested in reducing underage drinking. 

Missouri School-Based Substance Abuse Prevention Intervention and 
Resources Initiative (SPIRIT) 

 

Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 10,387 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:     
   http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/SPIRITReports.htm 

 

URL for more program information:   
   http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/SPIRIT.htm 

 

Program Description:   The Missouri Department of Mental Health (DMH), Division of Alcohol and 
Drug Abuse (ADA), launched SPIRIT in 2002.  This project proposes to delay the onset and decrease 
the use of substances, improve overall school performance, and reduce incidents of violence.  
Prevention agencies are paired with participating school districts to provide technical assistance in 
implementing evidence-based substance abuse prevention programming and referral and assessment 
services as needed.  The project offers a variety of evidence-based prevention programs selected by 
the districts. 

Regional Support Center (RSC) Network and Community Coalitions  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   
   http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/prevention.htm 

 

Program Description:  RSCs are the primary sources of technical assistance support for community 
coalitions.  The RSC goal is to facilitate development of teams capable of making changes in substance 
use patterns in their communities.  Each RSC has a prevention specialist who works directly with the 
teams in his/her area and assists with developing teams and task forces in communities that want them.  
The coalitions comprise a network of volunteer community teams that focus solely on alcohol, tobacco, 
and drug issues as part of a broad mission and/or array of services.  The coalitions were organized and 
developed in 1987 and are composed of community volunteers from the area served.  Each coalition 
receives technical assistance and training from the RSC on a variety of topics related to organization, 
development, and implementation of prevention strategies.  The RSC and community coalitions 
implement various evidence-based strategies and programs. 
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Direct Prevention Services for High-Risk Youth  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   
   http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/DirectPreventionProviders.htm 

 

Program Description:  Direct programs/services for high-risk youth are prevention education and early 
intervention activities provided to designated children, youth, and families.  These services involve 
structured programming and/or a curriculum, have multiple sessions, include pre- and post-testing, and 
address identified risk and protective factors.  Direct programs/services may also involve a variety of 
activities, including informational sessions and training and/or technical assistance activities with groups. 

St. Louis Arc Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Prevention Project  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.slarc.org  

Program Description:  The St. Louis Arc is a nonprofit United Way agency that provides support and 
services to more than 3,000 adults and children with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and their 
families, throughout the St. Louis metropolitan area. 

Drug Abuse Resistance Education (DARE) Officer Training  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.mopca.com  

Program Description:  No data 

State of Missouri Alcohol Responsibility Training (SMART) Program  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://wellness.missouri.edu/SMART  

Program Description:  The SMART program is an interactive, web-based course available free of 
charge to those who own or work for any Missouri establishment licensed to sell alcohol. 
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CHEERS to the Designated Driver Program  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   
   http://wellness.missouri.edu/CHEERS 

 

Program Description:  CHEERS was designed to increase the number of designated drivers 
throughout Missouri.  Bars, restaurants, and nightclubs participating in CHEERS provide free 
nonalcoholic beverages to the acknowledged designated driver in a group of two or more.  It’s a way of 
saying thanks for caring about the safety of your friends and community!  Establishment owners across 
the state have been invited to join CHEERS and play an active role in ensuring the health and safety of 
their patrons. 

Statewide Training and Resource Center (STRC)  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   
 
http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/StatewideTrainingandResourceCenter.htm 

 

Program Description:  The STRC contract, currently held by ACT Missouri, conducts a variety of 
activities and programs on behalf of the Division and the overall state prevention system.  The STRC 
provides resources, training, and technical assistance for the RSC and direct prevention providers.  The 
STRC presents a number of statewide workshops throughout the year and also holds a statewide 
prevention conference.  The STRC also operates a consultant resource bank with resources available to 
the prevention community and administers the Mini-Grant Program for community coalitions. 

Team Spirit Program  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 400 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.saveMOlives.com  

Program Description:  This is a highway safety program. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention 
Programs 

 

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the 
prevention of underage drinking 

No recognized Tribal 
governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

Yes 

Description of program:  Missouri has many coalitions around the state that provide training and 
activities addressing youth exposure to alcohol advertising and marketing. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):  SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state:  Missouri Division of Behavioral Health Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No 
Other: No 
Best practice standards description:  The Division of Behavioral Health requires providers to use 
evidence-based programs and environmental strategies.  SAMHSA’s publication, Identifying and 
Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions for Substance Abuse Prevention, serves as a guide, which 
provides the following definition for evidence-based programs:   
• Inclusion in a federal list or registry of evidence-based interventions   
• Being reported (with positive effects) in a peer-reviewed journal   
• Documentation of effectiveness based on the following guidelines:   

1. The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic or 
conceptual model.   

2. The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in registries 
and/or the peer-reviewed literature.   

3. The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively implemented in the 
past, and multiple times, in a manner attentive to Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based 
Interventions scientific standards of evidence and with results that show a consistent pattern of 
credible and positive effects.   

4. The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed prevention 
experts that includes well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in evaluating 
prevention interventions similar to those under review, local prevention practitioners, and key 
community leaders as appropriate (e.g., officials from law enforcement and education sectors 
or elders within indigenous cultures).   

Missouri uses the Strategic Prevention Framework model to implement the four guidelines.  The 
process includes:   
• Assessment of the community’s needs and readiness.   
• Capacity building to mobilize and address the needs of the community.   
• Development of a prevention plan to identify the activities, programs, and strategies necessary to 

address the needs.   
• Implementation of the prevention plan.   
• Evaluation of the results to achieve sustainability and cultural competence.   

Missouri identifies appropriate strategies based on validated research, empirical evidence of 
effectiveness, and the use of local, state, and federal key community prevention leaders such as 
National Prevention Network, Southwest Regional Expert Team, and SAMHSA’s Center for 
Substance Abuse Prevention. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 
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Committee contact information:   
Name:  Alicia Ozenberger, Deputy Director, ACT Missouri 
E-mail:  aozenberger@actmissouri.org 
Address:  428 E. Capitol, 2nd Floor, Jefferson City, MO  65101 
Phone:  573-635-6669 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Division of Behavioral Health 
Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
ACT Missouri 
Department of Health and Senior Services 
Division of Highway Safety 
Prevention Regional Support Centers across the state 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.myaa.org 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Missouri Division of Behavioral Health, with guidance from the State Advisory Council 
on Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://dmh.mo.gov/docs/ada/Progs/Prevention/StrategicPlanforPrevention2010.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Missouri Institute of Mental Health 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://dmh.mo.gov/docs/ada/MSS_2012AlcoholChapter.pdf 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $591,342 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  Tobacco Prevention 
Estimate of state funds expended $300,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2012 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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Montana 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,005,141 
Population Ages 12–20:  118,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 32.9 39,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 23.1 27,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.1 3,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.3 1,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.2 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 21.4 8,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 56.3 25,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 40.6 18,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  17 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  1,050 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 37.0 9 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 
Note:  The parental exception to Montana’s possession and consumption statute applies only  
to alcohol supplied and consumed in a “nonintoxicating quantity.”  In Montana, “intoxicating 
quantity” is defined as a quantity “sufficient to produce ... a blood, breath, or urine alcohol 
concentration in excess of 0.05 ... or substantial or visible mental or physical impairment.”   

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
• Parent/guardian 
Note:  The parental exception to Montana’s possession and consumption statute applies only  
to alcohol supplied and consumed in a “nonintoxicating quantity.”  In Montana, “intoxicating 
quantity” is defined as a quantity “sufficient to produce ... a blood, breath, or urine alcohol 
concentration in excess of 0.05 ... or substantial or visible mental or physical impairment.”   

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is no allowance for youth purchase for law  
enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) targeting minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) targeting suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provision(s) targeting retailers 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of violation leading to driver’s license suspension, revocation, or denial 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority to impose driver’s license sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of suspension/revocation  
• 30 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14 years, 6 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours, of which 10 must be at night 

Intermediate stage 
• Minimum age:  15 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  For first 6 months, no more than one nonfamily passenger under 
18 unless accompanied by a driver at least 18 years old.  For second 6 months, no more than 
three nonfamily passengers under 18 unless accompanied by a driver at least 18 years old. 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing of Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian 
Note:  The parental exception applies to the provision of alcohol in a “nonintoxicating quantity.”  
In Montana, “intoxicating quantity” is defined as a quantity “sufficient to produce ... a blood, 
breath, or urine alcohol concentration in excess of 0.05 ... or substantial or visible mental or 
physical impairment.”  

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  3 years 
• First offense:  $250 fine 

576 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Montana 

• Second offense:  $1,000 fine 
• Third offense:  $1,500 fine and 20-day license suspension 
• Fourth offense:  License revocation 
Note:  List of aggravating and mitigating factors is provided. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory beverage service training for managers, servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 
Note:  In addition to managers and servers/sellers, Montana’s “responsible alcohol sales and 
service act” also applies to licensees or owners who personally engage in the role of selling or 
serving alcoholic beverages. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and universities 
• No distance limitation 

Primary and secondary schools 
• Prohibitions against outlet siting: 

– Off-premises outlets:  No 
– On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 600 feet 
– Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions are commercially operated schools. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on damages:  $250,000 noneconomic damages per person and $250,000 punitive 

damages per person 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on damages:  $250,000 noneconomic damages per person and $250,000 punitive 

damages per person 
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Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer and wine with the 
following restrictions:   

Age verification requirements:  None 

State approval/permit requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.  

Reporting requirements:  None 

Shipping label statement requirements:  None 
Note:  An out-of-state brewer or winery desiring to ship beer or wine to an individual in Montana 
shall register with the Montana Department of Revenue.  An individual seeking to receive such a 
shipment for personal consumption must obtain a Connoisseur’s License.  The licensee must 
forward to the out-of-state brewer or winery a distinctive address label, provided by the 
department, clearly identifying any package that is shipped as a legal direct-shipment package to 
the holder of a Connoisseur’s License.   

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  Not less than 7 gallons 
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail $500/6 months 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs. 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law 
• Wine:  No law 
• Spirits:  No law 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.14 per gallon 
Note:  Reported tax rate is the rate for brewers who produce more than 20,000 barrels of beer  
per year. 
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Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—7 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—7 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Montana State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Montana Highway Patrol, County Sheriff Offices, and local municipal police departments.  Montana 
Department of Revenue, Liquor Control Division, for liquor violations. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies 5,287 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 No data 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or 
both retail establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations  
to determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales  
to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 64 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 31 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that  
furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 66 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $53,200 
Smallest fine imposed $250 
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Largest fine imposed $1,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 0 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 0 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Additional Clarification    
No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Montana Substance Abuse and Violence Prevention (MSAVP) Task Force  

Program serves specific or general population No data 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.opi.mt.gov/safeandhealthy 

 

Program Description:  The Montana Office of Public Instruction (OPI) was awarded a grant from the 
U.S. Department of Education to enhance its support of efforts to prevent substance abuse and violence 
in Montana schools.  The MSAVP Task Force was formed, and work focuses on maintaining a state 
prevention infrastructure and building capacity to support local education agencies and communities.  
The MSAVP is now a formal subcommittee of the Montana Interagency Coordinating Council for 
Prevention, which has allowed a sustainable venue to continue work toward key findings and leveraging 
resources.  The following statement, based on the state’s performance measures for the grant, will help 
assess progress in prevention youth alcohol use in moving forward:  The percentage of Montana high 
school students who report they have had one drink of alcohol during their lifetime will continue to 
decrease (based on Montana Youth Risk Behavior Survey trend data from 1999-2011). 

Positive Community Norms/Media Literacy Toolkit  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.opi.mt.gov/tobacco  
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Program Description:  This program is designed to identify and correct youth misperceptions about 
peer alcohol, tobacco and other drug use.  Research indicates people tend to behave in the way they 
believe is most typical and accepted by their peers.  Studies also show that youth tend to overestimate 
the number of peers who engage in risky behaviors.  Bridging the gap between perception and reality is 
intended to increase protective factors and reduce numbers of youth participating in risky behavior.  
Students are surveyed utilizing CPS clickers, which provide immediate classroom perception feedback.  
Student perception data are then compared with actual data collected from the most recent Youth Risk 
Behavior Survey, and misperceptions are identified.  This leads to a healthy discussion about why 
misperceptions exist, and how we are influenced by media. 

Reducing Young Driver Crashes  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 8,440 + Alive at 25 

participants 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
  http://www.opi.mt.gov/programs/drivered/index.html 

 

Program Description:  Montana’s Comprehensive Highway Safety Plan includes affordable, accessible 
driver education as a strategy to reduce young driver crashes (http://www.mdt.mt.gov/safety/safety-
initiatives/young.shtml).  Parent meetings and alcohol and drug prevention education are required in 
Montana driver education programs, which serve 8,440 teens annually through public high schools.  
Graduated Driver Licensing requires Parent/Legal Guardian certification that the teen driver has no 
convictions or pending citiations for traffic, alcohol, or drug violations.  The Alive at 25 program is offered 
for youth drivers through the Montana Highway Patrol (http://www.doj.mt.gov/highwaypatrol/alive-at-25). 

Respect the Cage – Montana Department of Transportation  
Program serves specific or general population Specific population 
Number of youth served 7,000 
Number of parents served 16,500 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable  
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  The Respect the Cage safety exhibit grew out of the 2008 successful video 
creation, “Room to Live.”  This video tells of two young Montana men who were involved in an alcohol-
related rollover crash in 2007.  The driver, who was wearing his seatbelt, walked away from the mangled 
car.  His best friend and passenger, a married father of two who wasn’t buckled up, died.  The exhibit is 
a comprehensive traveling educational and advocacy effort, and includes the following components:  the 
crashed vehicle, two pickup trucks wrapped in “Respect the Cage” graphics, a video that plays inside 
the pull trailer, and a rollover simulator.  The exhibit primarily targets men ages 18 to 34, and the theme 
borrows language and images from mixed martial arts fighting, a popular trend among young adults.  To 
increase appeal, the exhibit is staffed by college interns.  2012 was the final year of the campaign. 

DUI Task Forces – Montana Department of Transportation  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
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URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program Description:  DUI Task Forces are multifaceted coalitions that invite participation from a 
cross-section of community representatives to maximize their reach and effectiveness.  The task forces 
operate at the county level to reduce and prevent impaired driving.  They may engage the community in 
a variety of activities such as Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service Training, retail compliance checks, 
party and keg patrols, overtime traffic patrols, education and media advocacy, public service 
announcements, victim impact panels, support for prosecution and adjudication of DUI cases, and 
designated-driver and safe ride home programs.  It is difficult to estimate the number of youth served or 
participating in the DUI Task Forces across the state. 

Let’s Control It – Montana Department of Revenue  
Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
  http://alcoholservertraining.mt.gov/default.mcpx 

 

Program Description:  This alcohol sales and service training program trains those who sell/serve 
alcoholic beverages on how to keep from overserving obviously intoxicated patrons, how to identify 
underage patrons, and so on. 

Prevention Resource Center – Montana Department of Public Health and 
Human Services 

 

Program serves specific or general population General population 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information: http://www.prevention.mt.gov  
http://www.parentpower.mt.gov 

 

Program Description:  The Prevention Resource Center connects AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteer in 
Service to America) volunteers to Montana communities in addressing poverty issues and consquences 
such as underage drinking.  Additionally, the Prevention Resource Center maintains two websites and is 
a clearinghouse for information about programs, services, data, best practices, and so on, on substance 
abuse prevention. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
No data 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:   
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• The Governor’s Office on Indian Affairs Director is an active member of the state’s Interagency 
Coordinating Council for State Prevention Programs.  Her leadership has strengthened 
relationships, communication, and collaboration.   

• The State Level Epidemiological Work Group has cross-representation with the Montana 
Wyoming Tribal Leaders Council SPF TIG.  This work is enabling the transition of information and 
data from one grant to the other.   

• From March to May 2012, under the auspices of the Strategy Prevention Enhancement grant, 76 
interviews were conducted in person across Montana’s 7 Indian Reservations to further enhance 
the knowledge about how underage drinking and other targeted public health problems impacted 
reservations and to understand the prevention efforts occurring in Indian Country.  Full report 
available at http://prevention.mt.gov/strategicprevention/Interviews.pdf 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

No 

Description of program:  Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards: 
Federal agency(ies):   

 
No data 

Agency(ies) within your state: No data 
Nongovernmental agency(ies): No data 
Other: No data 
Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

Montana is looking toward developing best practicies and promising approaches in our rural and frontier 
state that are culturally appropriate.  Very few best practices are available to a rural and frontier state 
such as Montana.  This work is anticipated to be ongoing. 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  Vicki Turner 
E-mail:  vturner@mt.gov 
Address:  PO Box 4210, Helena, MT  59604-4210 
Phone:  406-444-3484 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Department of Public Health and Human Services 
Department of Corrections 
Department of Labor and Industry 
Department of Transportation 
Department of Revenue 
Montana Board of Crime Control 
Montana Children’s Trust Fund 
Montana Office of Public Instruction 
Governor’s Office of Indian Affairs 
Two Governor-appointed community members 
Department of Military Affairs  
Montana Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://prevention.mt.gov/icc/index.php 
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Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Interagency Coordinating Council for State Prevention Programs Work Group and 
Prevention Resource Center staff 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://prevention.mt.gov/icc/meetings/nov012011meeting/ICCWorkplandraft2011through2013.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Interagency Coordinating Council for State Prevention Programs Work Group and 
Prevention Resource Center staff 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://prevention.mt.gov/icc/goals/11-icc-
goalsbenchmarks_draftii_april_21_2011.pdf 

Additional Clarification  

The Interagency Coordinating Council (ICC) for State Prevention Programs updates goals and 
benchmarks (see http://prc.mt.gov/icc/goals/index.php).  The Council’s work group has established new 
goals for 2020.  Reporting of underage drinking is provided through updates and reports given via ICC 
meetings and media. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Other programs:   
Programs or strategies included:  None 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other:  Enabling legislation for counties to levy a prevention tax Yes 
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Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The state has enabling legislation for counties to levy a prevention tax.  Only one county in Montana, 
Missoula County, has implemented, and the funds go toward prevention efforts aimed at youth and 
fund a local coalition. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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