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State Reports — Nebraska

Nebraska

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 1,842,641
Population Ages 12-20: 230,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.6 57,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.7 38,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.9 3,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.2 2,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.1 14,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.0 9,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 46.1 39,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.1 28,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 26
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,549
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 32.0 11

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian’s home

Note: Nebraska makes an exception for persons who are at least 16 years old to carry alcohol
from licensed establishments when they are accompanied by any person who is not a minor.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian’s home

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Nebraska does not prohibit internal possession as defined by this report, it
provides that “no minor may...consume, or have in his or her possession or physical control any
alcoholic liquor....” (see Neb. Rev. St. § 53-180.02). “Consume” is defined as “knowingly and
intentionally drinking or otherwise ingesting alcoholic liquor” (see Neb. Rev. St. § 53-103.11).
Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but which do so without reference
to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting internal possession, for
purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e No driver’s license suspension procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e |tis acriminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.
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Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
o BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Discretionary

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 30 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e No minimum supervised driving requirement—with driver education; 50 hours without
(10 of which must be at night)

Intermediate Stage

e Minimum age: 16

Unsupervised night driving prohibited after 12 a.m.

No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger under 19
No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17—passenger restrictions expire 6 months after issuance
of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 17.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e Minimum: Not specified
e Maximum: 20
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Appearance Requirements
e No alteration to the normal dress and/or appearance.
e Hats or caps shall not be pulled down over the eyes.

ID Possession
e Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Permitted

Decoy Training
e Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: 4 years

First offense: $500-$1,000 fine

Second offense: 2-day license suspension and $2,000 fine
Third offense: 5-day license suspension and $2,000 fine
Fourth offense: License revocation

Note: Retailer has option to take additional suspension days in lieu of fines ($50/suspension day
for first offense; $100/suspension day for repeat offenses). First- and second-offense penalties
are reduced if person making sale has received responsible beverage service (RBS) training.
Penalties are more severe if second or third offense occurs in shorter time periods.

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 19

e Wine: 19

e Spirits: 19

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 19 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 19 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 19 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation
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Primary and Secondary Schools
Prohibitions against outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 150 feet
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 150 feet
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists.
Note: Injury or property damage must be a proximate result of the negligence of an intoxicated
minor.

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists.
Note: Injury or property damage must be a proximate result of the negligence of an intoxicated
minor.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled
spirits with the following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirement
e Producer must verify age of purchaser.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements: None
Shipping Label Statement Requirements: None

Keg Registration

Keg definition: 5 or more gallons
Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail: $500/3 months
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $500/3 months
Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
Warning information to purchaser: Passive—no purchaser action required
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.
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Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted
e Wine: Permitted
e Spirits: Permitted

Alcohol Tax

o Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.31 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.95 per gallon.
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $3.75 per gallon.

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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Nebraska State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Nebraska State Patrol
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
Through the Nebraska Office of Highway Safety an effort is made to provide underage drinking—
related enforcement training, collaboration and planning with local community coalitions, and

cooperating/coordinating with Nebraska State Patrol.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Nebraska Liquor
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Control Commission
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possessionl by state law enforcement agencies 2,460
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 394
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 33
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
N . . . e . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 283
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 38
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 0
Total amount in fines across all licensees $0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments ves
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 0
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
None given

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA)

Number of youth served 541,890
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.epi.umn.edu/alcohol/cmca/index.shtm

Program description: A community-organizing effort designed to change policies and practices of major
community institutions in ways that reduce teenagers’ access to alcohol (target ages include 13- to 20-
year-olds) by using environmental strategies.

Nebraska’s Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program

Number of youth served 7,188
Number of parents served 475
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated Not yet
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.transportation.nebraska.gov/nohs/pdf/NEAnnualReport%20FY2011.pdf

Program description: Nebraska's EUDL program is led by the Nebraska Office of Highway Safety
(NOHS), which was established in 1967 to coordinate, develop, and implement Nebraska’'s annual traffic
safety plan in accordance with the Federal Highway Safety Act of 1966. Alcohol awareness activities
are coordinated through NOHS to ensure continuity, uniformity, and comprehensiveness in this area.
Reducing crashes that are fatal or cause injury requires the continued combined efforts of an informed
public and dedicated government officials willing to address alcohol issues. A good working relationship
between NOHS staff and its partners (including resources and support for local officials, businesses,
and others in the community), is essential for improved compliance with impaired driving and underage
age drinking laws. This coordination and assistance provides an essential element in a successful
alcohol awareness program for the state. The following summary provides a few highlights from the
NOHS FY2011 (October 1, 2010, to September 30, 2011) Annual Evaluation Report:

e Nebraska is a predominantly rural state with a population of 1.78 million people. In 2010, 5,025
vehicular crashes caused 190 people to die and another 6,466 to sustain injuries. Alcohol was
known to be involved in 48 (29 percent) of the 166 fatal crashes that occurred in Nebraska in 2011.
The teen alcohol crash rate per 100 million miles driven reached an all-time low in 2010.
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e Arrest and conviction totals for driving under the influence (DUI) are starting to level off (13,660
arrests and 10,704 convictions in 2008; 13,399 arrests and 11,520 convictions in 2009; and 12,399
arrests and 10,704 convictions in 2010).

e NOHS provided grant funding to law enforcement agencies to conduct special underage
enforcement—related activities. Some of these were licensee compliance checks, underage party
patrols, sobriety check points, and selective underage saturation patrols.

e NOHS continues to promote the toll-free tip line (1-866-MUST-BE-21) with radio, television, internet,
and print advertising. The purpose of the tip line is to prevent underage drinking and the problems
caused by such behavior. This toll-free line is operational 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

e NOHS provided grant funding to support the activity of nine underage drinking county community
coalitions that coordinated local activities, offered special underage law enforcement training,
provided youth advocacy training, and disseminated special underage drinking public information
and education campaigns.

e NOHS provided funding support to Creating Captains, an organization that sets up youth athletic
camps and presentations that includes information on underage drinking—related behavior and
consequences. Creating Captains provided information to more than 5,000 students.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Across Ages
URL for more program information: http://www.promoteprevent.org/publications

Program description: Across Ages is a mentoring program that pairs adult mentors over age 50 with
youth ages 9 to 13. The goal of the program is to enhance the resiliency of children to promote positive
development and prevent involvement in high-risk behaviors. The program has four components:

1. Adults mentoring youth

2. Youth performing community service

3. Youth participating in a life skills/problemsolving curriculum

4. Monthly activities for family members

The program can be implemented as a school-based or afterschool program.

All Stars
URL for more program information: http://www.allstarsprevention.com

Program description: All Stars programs are designed to prevent, reduce, and eliminate negative
behaviors and promote positive behaviors. Each All Stars program, and every session and activity
within All Stars, achieves these goals by changing qualities that account for why young people engage
in negative behaviors. The various All Stars programs address the following concepts to some degree:
Beliefs about consequences

Bonding

Commitment to not use or to reduce use

Decisionmaking and impulse control

Goal setting

Idealism

Norms

Parental attentiveness

Resistance skills training

Self-management

Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for College Students (BASICS)
URL for more program information: http://depts.washington.edu/abrc/basics.htm

Program description: No data
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Class Action
URL for more program information: http://www.hazelden.org

Program description: No data

Project Alert
URL for more program information: http://www.projectalert.com

Program description: No data

Project Northland
URL for more program information: http://www.epi.umn.edu/projectnorthland/schoolba.html

Program description: No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: Omaha Nation: Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant
(SPF SIG) grantee; Ponca Tribe of Nebraska: SPF SIG grantee.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and Yes
marketing
Program description: Environmental scans of the number of establishments,
advertisements, billboards, etc., to assess the degree of exposure
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Best practice standards description: The Nebraska SPF SIG Strategy Approval Guide provides SPF
SIG grantees with information to help them identify and select evidence-based prevention strategies
for their communities. The guide describes population-level behavior change theory, criteria to help
determine if a strategy is a good fit for the community, a set of strategies that are preapproved for
SPF SIG communities, and the process for seeking approval of strategies for community prevention
efforts. For the complete guide, a supplemental list of the preapproved strategies included in the
guide, and other procesess forms, visit http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/puh/oph/saprev.htm.

Additional Clarification

None given
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Dave Palm, Administrator, Nebraska Partners in Prevention
E-mail: David.PalIm@nebraska.gov
Address: 220 South 17th Street, Lincoln, NE 68508-1811
Phone: 402-471-0146
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Lt. Governor Rick Sheehy
Dianne Harrop, Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Division of Public Health
Ann Nickerson, Nebraska State Parent Teacher Association
Frank Zwonechek, Nebraska Office of Highway Safety—Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Corey Steel, Nebraska Office of Probation Administration
Dan Hoyt, University of NE—Lincoln Sociology Department
Christina Rice, Governor’s Youth Advisory Council
Eleanor Kirkland, Nebraska Department of Education—Head Start
Renee Faber, HHS Division of Behavioral Health
Scot L. Adams, HHS Division of Behavioral Health

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 589



State Reports — Nebraska

Joe Jeanette, U.S. Attorney’s Office
John Wright, Nebraska Supreme Court
Judi Gaiashkaibos, Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs
Karen Walkin, Nebraska Broadcasters Association
Kenneth Vettel, Saint Francis Medical Center
Kristen Witte, Governor’s Youth Advisory Council
Mike Behm, Nebraska Crime Commission
Bob Hanson, Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)
Tira Cunningham, DEA
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.nebraskaprevention.gov

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: HHS Office of Community Health and Performance Management—SPF SIG staff
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/puh/oph/docs/NE_Sub_Abuse Prev_Strat Plan.pdf

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Research Triangle, Inc., Project # 0210974
Plan can be accessed via: Phillip W. Graham, Dr.P.H., RTI International, 3040 Cornwallis Rd,
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709

Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underag
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $93,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $119,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended $3,074,675

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 01/31/2012
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $182,273

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2012
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $390,616

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2012
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $2,178

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included:

e Environmental strategies
Underage Reporting Toll-Free Tip Line and Promotion Line
Underage Drinking Community Coalition development and support
Collegiate Consortium to Reduce High Risk Drinking support
Specialized underaged drinking training for law enforcement
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Estimate of state funds expended $327,770
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2012
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue
streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data
None given
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Nevada

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 2,723,322
Population Ages 12-20: 328,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.7 84,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 175 58,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.7 5,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.0 3,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.2 25,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.2 15,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 47.7 54,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 34.2 39,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 40
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,395
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 27.0 6

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location OR EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e There is no driver’s license suspension procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e |tis acriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e |tis acriminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
o BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession
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Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e Minimum: 90 days
e Maximum: 730 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage

e Minimum age: 16

Unsupervised night driving prohibited after 10 p.m.

No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

Passenger restrictions exist: No unrelated passengers under 18
No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18—passenger restrictions expire after 6 months;
unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18.

Note: Exception to the driver’s education course requirement for persons under 18: If a driver’s
education course is not offered within a 30-mile radius of a person’s residence, the person may
instead complete an additional 50 hours of supervised driving.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Note: Applicability of Nevada’s “alcoholic beverage awareness program” to on-sale retailers is
limited to establishments located in a jurisdiction that is located (a) in a county whose population
is 100,000 or more or (b) in a county whose population is less than 100,000, if the governing
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body of the jurisdiction has, by the affirmative vote of a majority of its members, agreed to be
bound by the provisions of section 9 of the act. Applicability to off-sale retailers is limited to
off-sale retail establishments in counties with populations of 700,000 or more.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 16
e Wine: 16
e Spirits: 16

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 21 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 21 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 21 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability
No statutory liability

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists for knowingly furnishing a minor or allowing a minor to consume
alcohol on premises that social host controls.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Uncertain

e Wine: Uncertain

e Spirits: Uncertain

Note: A person may import from another state 1 gallon or less of alcohol per month for personal
use. It is uncertain whether an out-of-state retailer may ship alcohol directly to the consumer for
personal use.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled
spirits with the following restrictions:

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 595



State Reports — Nevada

Age Verification Requirements: None

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol—applies to internet orders

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Nolaw
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Note: Regulated by county and city governments

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.16 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.70 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $3.60 per gallon

An additional excise tax of $1.50 per gallon may be imposed on all liquor containing an alcohol
content of more than 22 percent alcohol by volume (ABV), but only if the federal gallonage tax
imposed by 26 U.S.C. 8 5001 is reduced to $9 per gallon. This additional tax is not collected on
any liquor for which a federal gallonage tax of $10.50 per gallon has been paid (Nev. Rev. Stat. §

369.333).

Drink Specials
No law
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Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—41 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Restricted—41 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—41 days maximum
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Nevada State Survey Responses

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Division of Child and Family Services, Juvenile Justice Programs Office
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
There is no state alcohol enforcement agency in Nevada. All underage drinking enforcement efforts
are conducted by local law enforcement.

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
0]

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession

Not applicable

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies Data not collected
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No data
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if
; . . I . Unknown
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Unknown
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies No data
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to ves
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,696
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 295
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No
Number of fines imposed by the state® Data not collected
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

specifically for furnishing minors No
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* Data not collected
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Data not collected

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
Additional Clarification

The Nevada Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) program directly funds all local law enforcement agencies
in the state to conduct all of the following operations.

Please see attached document tittled EUDL Law Enforcement Strategies/Operations.

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association (NIAA) Alcohol Policy

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

Contact for evaluation report: Kathy Bartosz, 775-841-4730
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: NIAA has adopted the first statewide drug and alcohol use policy required of all
participating high schools. Student athletes and their parents must adhere to and sign off on a
graduated sanctions policy enforcing zero tolerance for alcohol, tobacco, and drug use. A first offense
results in a 2-week suspension from competitive play and participation in an approved education
program; a second offense results in a 3-month suspension and substance use evaluation; and a third
offense results in expulsion from high school sports for the rest of the student’s high school career.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking

None
URL for more program information: No data
Program description: Not applicable

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The Statewide Partnership of Native Americans involves local Tribal
entities in the training of law enforcement personnel to curtail the availability of alcohol on Tribal
lands. There is an interlocal agreement in place between Tribal police and county sheriff/police
departments, initiated through the Nevada Office of the Attorney General. Not all Tribes have signed
off on it as of this date.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No

marketing
Program description: Not applicable
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: The Underage Drinking Enforcement and Training Center
(UDETC) contracts with Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) to provide
states receiving EUDL funds with technical assistance. Nevada works with UDETC to establish
training standards for law enforcement for EUDL operations. As a result, six courses have received
Peace Officer Standardized Training certification and are offered for free to local law enforcement
agencies. Training must be completed by any officers involved in EUDL operations, including
compliance checks, third-party purchaser operations, juvenile party dispersal, special events control,
fake identification checks, and underage drinking and driving prevention and intervention.

Additional Clarification

None given

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Kathy Bartosz
E-mail: bartosz4@sbcglobal.net
Address: 1711 N. Roop St., Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: 775-841-4730
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
CARE Coalition
Churchill Community Coalition
Frontier Community Coalition
Healthy Communities Coalition
Join Together of Northern Nevada
Nevada Community Prevention Coalition
Nye Communities Coalition
Partners Allied for Community Excellence (PACE) Coalition
Prevention, Advocacy, Choices, Teamwork (PACT) Coalition
Partnership of Carson City
Partnership of Community Resources
Statewide Native American Coalition
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: Linda Lang, Statewide EUDL Task Force facilitator,
for quarterly meeting minutes: dlhlang@pyramid.net

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes

Prepared by: Nevada Juvenile Justice Programs Office
Plan can be accessed via: EUDL Coordinator Kathy Bartosz, 775-841-4730
Additional Clarification

The Statewide Partnership of Prevention Coalitions in Nevada serves as the statewide EUDL Task
Force, as they include representatives from multiple community sectors in their coalitions. This allows
for contributions from a wide variety of participants in the development of EUDL operation plans for the
State. The EUDL granting agency, OJJDP, requires an annual plan for EUDL funds and operations. A
final report is submitted in July of each year summarizing the outcomes for the grant period.
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $350,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $2,530,976

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $13,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $12,500

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: Clark County Department of Family Services; Committed 100 Men
Helping Boys; Richard Steele Health & Wellness Center
Estimate of state funds expended $35,000
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following
revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No

Allocation from the Nevada

Other State Legislature

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

Additional Clarification

State FY2011 (July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011) for K-12, higher education, and those programs
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Agency (SAPTA) funded directly that are not K-12 and
higher education, were originally funded by a coalition that was defunded during that fiscal year. Many
of the other coalitions took over the programs funded under federal dollars, but SAPTA retained those
programs funded through state general funds.
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New Hampshire

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 1,318,194
Population Ages 12-20: 169,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 35.8 60,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 24.9 42,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.3 3,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 25 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.1 16,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.8 10,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 65.6 42,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 47.2 30,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 12
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 703
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 25.0 4

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement
purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e |tis acriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

e Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for
any losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21.

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Discretionary
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Length of Suspension/Revocation
e Minimum: 90 days
e Maximum: 365 days

Note: Although New Hampshire does not authorize a use/lose penalty for all underage
consumption, a law imposes a discretionary license sanction on minors who are “intoxicated by
consumption of an alcoholic beverage,” and provides that an alcohol concentration “of .02 or
more shall be prima facie evidence of intoxication” (see N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. 88 179:10(1),
263:56-b).

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e There is no minimum age

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 1 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No unrelated passengers under 25, unless accompanied by
driver over 25
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18—passenger restrictions expire after 6 months;
unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e Minimum: 17
e Maximum: 20

Appearance Requirements

Age assessment panel

Casual attire

Average height and build

If decoy is 20 years old, must appear to be between 17 and 19
Male: No facial hair

Female: Minimal makeup
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ID Possession
e Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited

Decoy Training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

e Time period/conditions: Not specified
e First offense: No aggravating factors—$500 fine, four license points, 3-day suspension

Note: Fine range mandated by statute. Only one compliance check annually shall incur license
points.

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies only to new outlets

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Incentives for Training
e Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 16
e Wine: 16
e Spirits: 16

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Note: To act as a cashier in a selling capacity, a minor is required to be at least 16 years old,
providing a person at least 18 years old is in attendance and is designated in charge of the
employees and business.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
e No distance limitation
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Primary and Secondary Schools
e No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Note: State law includes a responsible beverage service defense.

Social Host Liability Laws

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Intention, possession, consumption.
Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other.
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Overt act—host must have
actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence.
Preventive action by the host negates the violation.
e Exception(s): Family

Note: In New Hampshire, an “underage alcohol house party” means a gathering of five or more
people under age 21 at any occupied structure, dwelling, or curtilage, where at least one person
under age 21 unlawfully possesses or consumes an alcoholic beverage. A person is guilty of a
misdemeanor if he or she owns or has control of the occupied structure, dwelling, or curtilage
where an underage alcohol house party is held and he or she knowingly commits an overt act in
furtherance of the occurrence of the underage alcohol house party knowing persons under age 21
possess or intend to consume alcoholic beverages. The “preventive action” provision in New
Hampshire allows the defendant to avoid criminal liability by establishing, as an affirmative
defense, that he or she took preventive action with respect to the underage alcohol house party.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled
spirits with the following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements: None

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

606 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — New Hampshire

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

o Keg definition: More than 7 gallons
e Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail: $1,000
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $1,000
Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted
e Wine: Permitted
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.30 per gallon
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.
Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Price posting requirements: Post—wholesalers shall make their current prices available to

the commission in writing.
e Retailer credit: Restricted—10 days maximum.

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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New Hampshire State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
New Hampshire Division of Liquor Enforcement and Licensing
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
State and local enforcement agencies coordinate their enforcement activities on a monthly basis.
State and local enforcement agencies have a collaboration relative to party patrols, compliance

checks, and generally speaking, all alcohol enforcement activities.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol—Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol—Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Division of Liquor

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Enforcement and

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Licensing
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 203
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 853
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 75
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to ves
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 27
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/12/2011

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

o I ) Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 0
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
None given

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Ten Regional Networks (RNs)

Number of youth served 76,796
Number of parents served 523,804
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/prevention.htm

Program description: Ten RNs are geographically designed to provide alcohol and drug prevention
services and health promotion for every community in New Hampshire. The RNs’ primary focus is
underage drinking and drug use prevention for individuals and the environments in which they live.
RNs cast a wide net to convene and mobilize five core sectors—business, medical/ behavioral health,
educational institutions, safety, and local government—in environmental prevention strategies and
interventions. Each RN has a data-driven prevention priority plan outlining local contributing risk and
protective factors that align environmental approaches and targeted interventions. More than 60
subcontracted service providers strategically distributed throughout the 10 regions implement targeted
prevention for selective and indicated populations (high-risk individuals) such as court diversionary
programs, student assistance, parental/guardian education and skill building, and school-based
education. As of June 30, 2011, all prevention direct service funds were eliminated.

Parenting Education

Number of youth served 146
Number of parents served 109
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: The goals of this program are to (1) prevent early initiation of substance use in the
children of participating families by increasing protective factors and decreasing risk factors through
parent education, discussion, support, information dissemination, and increasing social connectedness;
(2) increase knowledge of risk and protective factors; (3) improve family functioning; (4) increase social
connectedness and bonding; (5) increase knowledge and use of community resources; and (6) change
parental attitudes about substance use.
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Youth Involvement/Empowerment

Number of youth served 94
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description:

1. Keep youth involved—Provide safe and drug-free activities that empower participating youth.

2. Girls Survival Skills Group—Educate youth on peer pressure and the dangers of alcohol, tobacco,
and drugs by providing substance-free programming.

3. Boys Survival Skills Group—Educate youth on peer pressure and the dangers of alcohol, tobacco,
and drugs by providing substance-free programming.

4. Prevention and Support—Offer information and life skills before youth enter the teen years.

Underage Drinking Social Norms Influencing Risk Perception and
Community Norms Campaigns

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/prevention.htm

Program description: Social Norms is a media campaign with the goal of affecting the inaccurate
perception of prevalence of use/misuse of substances among youth, dispelling the myth that most or all
of their peers drink and use drugs. Many campaigns are directed at the community at large, to dispel
the belief that use/misuse is acceptable and a normal rite of passage, and that in fact it is harmful and is
the cause of many negative consequences (e.g., car crashes, violence, and death).

e Region A — North Country Regional Network http://www.nchcnh.org/CSAP_realnormal.php
Region B — Lower Grafton County Regional Network http://www.bridges2prevention.org
Region C — Lakes Region-Mount Washington Valley http://www.Irpph.org
Region D — Sullivan County Regional Network http://www.preventionworksnh.org
Region E — Capital Area Regional Network http://www.capitalprevention.org
Region F — Southeastern Regional Network http://www.onevoicenh.org
Region G — Monadnock Regional Network http://www.monadnockvoices.org
Region H — Greater Manchester Regional Network http://www.makinithappen.org
Region | — Greater Nashua Regional Network http://www.beyondinfluence.org
e Region J — Greater Rockingham County Regional Network http://www.asapnh.org

Student Assistance Program—Project SUCCESS

Number of youth served 2,941
Number of parents served 4,283
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: Project Schools Using Coordinated Community Efforts to Strengthen Students
(SUCCESS) prevents and reduces substance use among high-risk high school-aged adolescents. The
program places highly trained professionals in schools to provide a full range of substance use
prevention and early intervention services. An individual with a graduate degree in social work,
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counseling, or psychology who is experienced in providing substance abuse prevention counseling to
adolescents is recruited to work in schools. This individual provides the school with a full range of
substance abuse prevention and early intervention services to help decrease risk factors and enhance
protective factors related to substance abuse. Program components include: Prevention Education
Series, Individual Assessment, Prevention Education Series, Individual and Group Counseling,
Individual Sessions, Parent Programs, and referral to appropriate agencies or practitioners in

the community.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Ten Regional Networks (RNs)
URL for more program information: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/prevention.htm

Program description: The 10 RNs address underage alcohol and drug use, including tobacco.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No recognized
of underage drinking Tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing
Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: The Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Services developed the New
Hampshire Center for Excellence (NHCFEX), which provides technical assistance for contracted
providers toward quality improvement, best practices, and evidence-based interventions. To best
support evidence-based practices, the Center developed a depository of statewide data related to
substance misuse, prevention, and treatment. NHCFEx conducts learning collaboratives for

contracted prevention providers with a followup action onsite meeting.
Additional Clarification

Informative websites that support prevention:

o New Hampshire Center for Excellence provides online tools: http://www.nhcenterforexcellence.org

e Reducing smoking rates in New Hampshire residents through the use of evidence-based prevention
and intervention strategies: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/tobacco/index.htm

e New Hampshire Public Education website designed to help individuals, families, and communities
become informed, get involved, get help, and find information on prevention efforts, effects of
alcohol and drugs, guidance on recovery and treatment, and links to programs in the state:
http://www.drugfreenh.org

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Tym Rourke
E-mail: tr@nhcf.org
Address: 37 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-225-6641
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
New Hampshire Department of Education
New Hampshire Department of Safety
New Hampshire Department of Corrections
New Hampshire Providers Associations
New Hampshire Attorney General
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New Hampshire Liquor Commission
Juvenile Justice Services
New Hampshire Administrative Judge of District and Municipal Courts
New Hampshire Health and Human Services
National Guard Adjunct General
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/commission.htm

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: The Alcohol and Other Drugs (AOD) Prevention Logic Model was developed by
representatives of the Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services, Governors’ Commission on Alcohol and
Other Drug Prevention, Intervention, and Treatment, and the Center for Excellence.

Plan can be accessed via: http://www.nhcenterforexcellence.org

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services
Plan can be accessed via: The strategic prevention framework final report is available as a PDF
document and can be provided upon request. It is not posted online.

Additional Clarification

Overcoming the Impact of Alcohol and Other Drug Problems: A Plan for New Hampshire
http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/plan.htm

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $1,117,200

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $100,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $80,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: The http:/drugfreenh.org website’s Center for Excellence is a
contractor that provides technical assistance (TA) to contracted prevention professionals toward best
practices for screening and education of adults who are older.
Estimate of state funds expended $173,550
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

None given
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New Jersey

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 8,821,155
Population Ages 12-20: 1,064,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 29.7 316,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.2 214,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 2.9 9,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.2 4,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.8 112,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.6 65,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 53.9 195,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 40.4 146,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 85
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 5,051
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 24.0 18

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement
purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers

e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.01

e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

e Applies to drivers under age 21.

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory
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Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 180 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 16

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e No minimum supervised driving requirement

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 17
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 11:01 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger under 21, unless
additional passengers are dependents of the driver
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: Not specified
First offense: 15-day license suspension
Second offense: 30-day license suspension
Third offense: 45-day license suspension
Fourth offense: License revocation

Note: Guidelines apply for sales to 18- to 20-year-olds. Penalties are doubled for sales to
minors under age 18. Department may accept a monetary offer in compromise for all or part of
license suspensions.

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Licensees, Managers
e Applies only to off-sale establishments
e Applies only to new outlets
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Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 18
e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools

Prohibitions against outlet siting:
o Off-premises outlets: Yes—uwithin 200 feet, unless waived by school
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet, unless waived by school
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Note: Componile v. Maybee held that a social host who furnishes excessive amounts of alcoholic
beverages to a visibly intoxicated minor, knowing the minor is about drive a car on the public
highways, may be liable to a third party injured in an automobile accident. At the federal level,
the court in A.B. v. Johnson held that a social host owes a duty of care to not furnish or not
negligently provide alcohol to any of his or her guests that are minors, and in the event that a
social host does furnish alcohol to a minor and breaches his or her duty, that host may be held
liable for whatever reasonably foreseeable harm the provision of alcohol proximately caused.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Overt act—host must have
actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence.
e Exception(s): Family

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Uncertain

e Wine: Uncertain

e Spirits: Uncertain
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—delivery vehicles must display a transit insignia to identify the vehicle as
having authority to transport alcohol.

e Wine: Permitted—delivery vehicles must display a transit insignia to identify the vehicle as
having authority to transport alcohol.

e Spirits: Permitted—delivery vehicles must display a transit insignia to identify the vehicle as
having authority to transport alcohol.

Alcohol Tax

o Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.12 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.88 per gallon.
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $5.50 per gallon.

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—21 month minimum

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—21 month minimum
o Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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New Jersey State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
New Jersey Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (NJABC)
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
NJABC and local enforcement agencies have dual jurisdiction in the enforcement of the New Jersey
Alcoholic Beverage Control Act and its complementary administrative regulations. The NJABC
works closely with local enforcement agencies, because the local agencies generally know the
problem establishments; the NJABC has undercover officers who can easily enter the

establishments to observe illegal activity.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
Yes

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession

NJABC

Number of minors found in possessionl by state law enforcement agencies 200
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if NoO
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to No
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected

Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes

Number of fines imposed by the state® 6
Total amount in fines across all licensees $20,097
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

e - . Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 7
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 123
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments ves

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations im posed5 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012
Additional Clarification

All administrative enforcement actions against a licensed premise are charged in terms of suspension or
revocation of a license. By statute, only the NJABC is allowed to accept a fine in lieu of suspension.
The fine is based on a formula that takes into account the profits from the sale of alcohol that would
occur if allowed to operate during the time called for in the suspension.

'Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

*Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
New Jersey State Childhood Drinking (CD) Coalition

Number of youth served 12,218
Number of parents served 5,626
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 6/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.njpn.org/programs-and-services/parents-who-host-
lose-the-most

Program description: The New Jersey Prevention Network’s (NJPN) statewide CD coalitions were
developed to bring together key stakeholders to work together to prevent and reduce underage drinking
throughout the state. The CD coalitions provide underage drinking prevention programming to support
environmental strategies that reduce early first use and, thus, the consequences of consumption. NJPN
coordinates a statewide coalition, and member agencies in every county coordinate local CD coalitions
(21 in total), partnering with agencies and organizations that work with or support youth ages 8 to 14
and their families. The program is designed to raise awareness about the seriousness and
consequences of underage drinking in each New Jersey county, strengthen the statewide network of CD
coalitions, build their capacity to bring about changes in their communities, and advocate for positive
environmental change that will support underage drinking prevention efforts.

Each local CD coalition

e Recruits members to include a diverse participant group representative of its community.

¢ Implements environmental strategies that reduce alcohol use by youth, such as “Private Property
Ordinances,” 911 lifeline legislation, and community outreach programs (e.g., “Sticker Shock”).

e Observes Alcohol Awareness Month and uses town meetings to increase public awareness of the
dangers of underage drinking, targeting concerned professionals, parents, and young people.

e Conducts programs like “Parents Who Host, Lose the Most” to educate, alert, and inform parents
about the dangers of underage drinking and the serious consequences that can result in use by
young people.

e Uses evidence-based curriculum materials such as “Too Smart To Start” and “Reach Out Now” to
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develop a youth program that will increase awareness of the dangers of youth alcohol use.
e Facilitates workshops to raise awareness of the seriousness and dangers of underage drinking.
e Advocates for policy changes related to underage drinking at state and local levels.

NJPN'’s CD coalitions focus on preventing children ages 8 to 14 from engaging in underage drinking.
However, program activities also focus on educating youth’s spheres of influence—including parents,
professionals, and community members—on the dangers and consequences of underage drinking.

The network of coalitions addresses a variety of risk factors including:

e Community laws and norms favorable toward alcohol use (community risk factor).

e Parental attitudes and involvement in drug use (family risk factor).

e Friends who engage in the problem behavior and early initiation of the problem behavior (individual
risk factors).

Individuals served to date: On an annual basis, the coalitions provide direct programs and services to
more than 18,000 youth, parents, and professionals.

Program outcomes: Through strong community mobilization efforts made by the statewide network of
coalitions for positive environmental changes related to underage drinking, New Jersey successfully
passed 911 Lifeline legislation in October 2009 to reduce the fear and hesitation that may occur when
youth have friends in danger due to alcohol use and are in need of medical assistance. Youth are now
able to call 911 without incurring any alcohol use/possession violations for them or for their friends.
Additionally, the CD coalition members target local ordinances regarding drinking on private property as
an area of concern. New Jersey allows municipalities to enact local ordinances that issue penalties for
minors who possess or consume alcohol on private property. New Jersey has 566 municipalities, and
as a result of the CD coalitions’ efforts, over 51 percent now have enacted private property ordinances
in an effort to reduce underage drinking. The Childhood Drinking Coalition was selected for participation
in the 2011 Service to Science Initiative.

Dangers of Underage Drinking Prevention Contest

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.drugfreenj.org/2010 dud

Program description: The “Listen-Up to the Dangers of Underage Drinking” Radio Public Service
Announcement (PSA) Initiative is a contest for middle school students. The “Listen-Up” program
challenged young people to create a script for a 30-second radio PSA that talked directly to parents
about the dangers of underage alcohol use. The winning students produced and starred in the radio
spots, which were produced in English and Spanish and will be distributed to stations in the New York,
New Jersey, and Philadelphia media markets.

Additionally, the “Dangers of Underage Drinking” Billboard/Calendar Competition was held for the eighth
year. This statewide initiative is designed to encourage middle school students and their parents to
work together to create hillboard/calendar messages with the theme, “Dangers of Underage Drinking.”
Thirteen winning messages were chosen to be featured on a calendar that was distributed to middle
schools at the start of the 2011 calendar year.

Camden County Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse (CCCADA)—
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol

Number of youth served 4,115
Number of parents served 825
Number of caregivers served 238
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
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Evaluation report is available No
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: CCCADA is utilizing the Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol
curriculum, a SAMHSA/Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)—-approved Model Program
designed to utilize community-organizing strategies to reduce youth access to alcohol. Through Project
CARE, CCCADA coordinates with local community event organizers to reduce adolescent access to
alcohol, provide educational workshops and forums, initiate a media campaign, offer family skate nights
to the community, and establish a youth initiative called “Teens Exposing Alcohol Myths (TEAM).”
CCADA has partnered with the Camden City Public Schools and the First Nazarene Baptist Church in
the delivery of these services.

Center for Prevention and Counseling, Community Trials Intervention.

Number of youth served 3,687
Number of parents served 914
Number of caregivers served 117
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

The Center for Prevention and Counseling has implemented the Community Trials Intervention for High
Risk Drinking program specifically in the town of Hopatcong. This community-based environmental
change program focuses on the primary strategies of collaboration, policy, and enforcement, and is
enhanced with communication and alternative programming activities. The agency employs five
environmental strategies indicated in the curriculum: limit alcohol access, encourage responsible
beverage service, reduce underage drinking, increase actual and perceived risk of arrest from driving
after drinking, and mobilize the community. This curriculum has also taken into account the Strategic
Prevention Framework that the Department of Addiction Services (DAS) has undertaken and will also
encompass into its program delivery: assessment, capacity, planning, implementation, and evaluation.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Numerous Federal Block Grant Funded Programs
URL for more program information: http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/das/prevention

Program description: Throughout the state, there have been 53 total awards—50 community-level and
3 special projects. Services target high-risk individuals or groups in each of New Jersey’s 21 counties

that were identified by each county according to risk and protective factor domains (family, community,
school, individual/peer). Grantees are required to use evidence-based programs or strategies.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No recognized
of underage drinking Tribes

Description of collaboration: Not applicable
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and Yes
marketing

Program description: The Partnership for a Drug-Free New Jersey (PDFNJ) uses any
and all media and formats to spread its message. PDFNJ communicates with the
public through television, radio, and print: billboards; Port Authority (PATH) and New
Jersey Transit signs; ads donated by Bell Atlantic in the Yellow Pages; and a host of
other nontraditional communication opportunities. Working with the New Jersey
media to “unsell” drugs to the people—especially young people—of New Jersey
continues to be PDFNJ'’s central responsibility. It receives most of its creative work
from the Partnership for a Drug-Free America, which, in turn, works with the top
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advertising agencies in the nation. PDFNJ does not pay for any advertising time, and
it is deeply grateful for support from the New Jersey media and other organizations.
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Best practice standards description: DAS and the Governor’s Council on Alcoholism and Drug
Abuse fund only programs that have an evidence-based record of effectiveness in preventing
underage drinking. Additionally, the Statewide Childhood Drinking Coalitions use a risk and
protective factor framework in the development and delivery of community-based coalition activities.
As indicated previously, the Coalition has been selected for participation in the 2011 Service to
Science Initiative.

Additional Clarification

None given

State Interagency Collaboration |

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or No
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information: Not applicable

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: Not applicable

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Statewide Childhood Drinking Coalition
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $150,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2012
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $4,500,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $200,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $175,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
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Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: No data
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:

Taxes No
Fines Yes
Fees No
Other No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Drug Enforcement Demand Reduction monies fund the work of the community-based Municipal
Alliances around the state.

Additional Clarification

None given
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New Mexico

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 2,082,224
Population Ages 12-20: 256,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.6 63,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.9 43,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.0 5,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.5 3,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.7 19,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.3 13,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 43.0 39,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 29.5 27,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 48
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,833
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 24.0 13

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location AND EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Note: In New Mexico, possession of alcoholic beverages by a person under 21 is specifically
allowed when “a parent, legal guardian or adult spouse of a minor serves alcoholic beverages to
that minor on real property, other than licensed premises, under the control of the parent, legal
guardian or adult spouse.”

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement
purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e There is no driver’s license suspension procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e |tis acriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
o BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Discretionary

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 90 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage

e Minimum age: 15 years, 6 months

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger under 21
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location AND EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Note: In New Mexico, furnishing of alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 is specifically
allowed when “a parent, legal guardian or adult spouse of a minor serves alcoholic beverages to
that minor on real property, other than licensed premises, under the control of the parent, legal
guardian or adult spouse,” or when “alcoholic beverages are used in the practice of religious
beliefs” (see N.M. Stat. Ann. § 60-7B-1(B)).

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e  Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20
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Appearance Requirements
Age-appropriate appearance
No sunglasses or caps

Male: No facial hair

Female: No excessive makeup

ID Possession
e Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited

Decoy Training
e Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: 1 year

First offense: $1,000-3$,2000 fine and 1-day license suspension
Second offense: $2,000-$3,000 fine and 7-day license suspension
Third offense: $10,000 fine and license revocation

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 21
e Wine: 21
e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Wine: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
e Limitations on outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet. Local government has authority to override
state restrictions.
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet. Local government has authority to override
state restrictions.
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits
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Primary and Secondary Schools
e Prohibitions against outlet siting:
— Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet. Local government has authority to override
state restrictions.
— On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet. Local government has authority to override
state restrictions.
— Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Note: Limitations on damages in N.M. Stat. Ann. § 41-11-1(1) held unconstitutional by the New
Mexico Supreme Court (Trujillo v. City of Albuquerque).

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Alcohol must be furnished recklessly in
disregard of the rights of others, including the social guest.

Note: Limitations on damages in N.M. Stat. Ann. § 41-11-1(1) held unconstitutional by the New
Mexico Supreme Court (Trujillo v. City of Albuquerque).

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Uncertain

e Spirits: Prohibited

Note: An individual or licensee, except for a person holding a winery license, in a state which
affords New Mexico licensees or individuals an equal reciprocal shipping privilege may ship, for
personal use and not for resale, no more than two cases of wine (no more than 9 liters each case)
per month to any adult resident of the state. Delivery of a shipment pursuant to this section shall
not be deemed to constitute a sale in this state.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following
restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements: None

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements: None
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Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

e Keg definition: More than 6 gallons
e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
e Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
e Deposit: Not required
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Nolaw
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Tax

o Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.41 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $1.70 per gallon.
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $6.06 per gallon.

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis.
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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New Mexico State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

New Mexico Department of Public Safety, Special Investigations Division (SID)
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:

Training by SID to other Law Enforcement Agencies. Joint operations with other Law Enforcement

Agencies such as Minor Compliance and Shoulder Tap Operations.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No data
Enforcement Statistics

Not applicable

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 172
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies No data
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 141
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to ves

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No data
Number of fines imposed by the state® No data
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments No data

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* No data
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments
" o . No data
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Additional Clarification
None given

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Santa Fe Underage Drinking Prevention Alliance

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report Electronic copy will be available
URL for more program information No data

Program description: The Santa Fe Underage Drinking Prevention Alliance is a city-based coalition
dedicated to reducing underage drinking. The coalition focuses on changing community norms
accepting of underage drinking, reducing retail access to alcohol, increasing enforcement of minimum
legal drinking age (MLDA) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws and sanctions, increasing perceived
risk of arrest for breaking alcohol-related laws, and lobbying for increases in alcohol pricing and taxes.

Local DWI Programs

Number of youth served 46,657
Number of parents served 9,783
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information No data

Program description: Comprehensive county-level DWI prevention programs exist in every New Mexico
county, funded by a portion of the state alcohol excise tax. Some of the counties have specific
underage drinking prevention components, mostly dedicated to delivering direct service educational
curricula (e.g., Protecting You/Protecting Me); a handful of counties deliver Project Northland.

Life of an Athlete (LoA)

Number of youth served 4,359
Number of parents served 300

Number of caregivers served 50

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 04/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information http://www.lifeofanathlete.com
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Program description: LOoA is an online educational program for high school students and their parents
and coaches. It communicates the message that alcohol hinders peak athletic performance.

Alcohol Literacy Challenge (ALC)

Number of youth served 2,000
Number of parents served 1,000
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information No data

Program description: ALC is a prevention curriculum targeted to 6th through 9th graders. The aim
of ALC is to teach youth about alcohol expectancies and media literacy via hands-on activities within
90 minutes.

Social Host Ordinance (SHO)

Number of youth served 0
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information No data

Program description: SHO is a state/local county partnership to educate local communities on the
nature/location of underage drinking and then to implement SHOs at the county/city level to provide
sanctions for adults who allow their property to be used for underage house parties. In the past 1%
years at least three New Mexico municipalities (Espanola, Moriarty, Santa Fe) have passed SHOs.
Preliminary conversations have been held with two of these three municipalities to explore the possibility
of conducting an evaluation of the effectiveness of SHOs in reducing underage drinking. These
municipalities described challenges with enforcement of these SHOs, making outcome evaluation seem
premature at this time.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Colfax County Youth Empowerment Services (CCYES)
URL for more program information No data

Program description: CCYES is an agency in Raton, New Mexico, focusing on decreasing easy retail
and social access to alcohol; increasing enforcement of alcohol, tobacco, and drug laws; and increasing
perceived risk among youth of arrest for breaking those laws.

Counseling Associates, Inc. (CAl)
URL for more program information http://www.counselingassociatesinc.org

Program description: CAl is a behavioral health provider in Roswell. CAIl delivers Dare To Be You to
children ages 2 to 5 and their parents and Botvin’s Life Skills to 3rd through 5th, 7th, and 8th grades.

Five Sandoval Indian Pueblos
URL for more program http://fsipinc.org/Community Health.html#PreventionProgram
information

Program description: No data

Hands Across Cultures
URL for more program information http://www.handsacrosscultures.org/home.html

Program description: No data
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North Central Community Based Services

URL for more program information http://www.ncchbs.org

Program description: No data

Partnership for Community Action

URL for more program information http://www.abgpartnership.org/index.htm

Program description: No data

Pueblo of Laguna

URL for more program information No data

Program description: No data

Rocky Mountain Youth Corps

URL for more program information http://youthcorps.org |

Program description: No data

Sandoval County DWI

URL for more program information No data

Program description: No data

San Juan County Partnership

URL for more program information http://sicpartnership.org |

Program description: No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Program description: The Office of Substance Abuse Prevention contracts with Pueblo of Laguna as
well as five Sandoval Indian Pueblos (Cochiti, Jemez, Sandia, Santa Ana, and Zia) in New Mexico to
provide substance abuse prevention services including prevention of underage drinking.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing
Program description: Not applicable

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Best practice standards description: The Office of Substance Abuse Prevention (OSAP) funds only
evidence-based programs (EBPs) shown to be effective on lists such as the National Registry of
Evidence-Based Programs and Practices (NREPP). OSAP works with the State Epidemiological and
Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) to identify and select EBPs eligible for substance abuse prevention
including underage drinking. The Local DWI Programs administered by the New Mexico Department
of Finance and Administration (DFA) recently changed their requirements for prevention activities
funded through the programs, to stipulate that all prevention activities must be “evidence-based or

promising.” The previous guidelines required that 60 percent of prevention activities be evidence
based. DFA is currently developing a prevention page as part of the Local DWI website that will

None given

identify useable registries of evidence-based practices.
Additional Clarification
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State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Karen Cheman, SEOW Director
E-mail: Karen.cheman@state.nm.us
Address: BHSD/HSD, 37 Plaza La Prensa, Santa Fe, NM 87502
Phone: 505-476-9270
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Office of Substance Abuse Prevention, Behavioral Health Services Division/
Human Services Division
Behavioral Health Services Division/Human Services Division
Epidemiology & Response Division, Department of Health
Pacific Institute for Research & Evaluation
Traffic Safety Bureau, Department of Transportation
Children, Youth & Families Department
New Mexico Prevention Network
Prevention Advocates
Office of School & Adolescent Health, Department of Health

OptumHealth
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by Survey Unit, Epidemiology and

Response Division, Department of
Health
Report can be accessed via http://nmhealth.org/ERD/HealthData/YYRS/

AlcoholReport 2007YRRS HighSchool.pdf
Additional Clarification

SEOW is a state-level interagency body that addresses underage drinking activities within its mission to
support state and public agencies and communities in preventing substance abuse, dependency, and
related problems by identifying, collecting, analyzing, and disseminating data describing prevalance,
severity, consumption, and consequences of alcohol, tobacco, and drug use in New Mexico.

The Substance Abuse Prevention Policy Consortium is a second interagency body that has been
convened in the past year by the state Office of Substance Abuse Prevention. This group is currently
working to develop a 5-year strategic plan for substance abuse prevention that will include an underage
drinking prevention plan as one component. The group’s participants are similar to the SEOW
described above, except that participation: (1) is limited to state agencies, so excludes community-
based coalitions (e.g., New Mexico Prevention Network; Prevention Advocates); and (2) includes some
additional federal and state agency partners (e.g., National Guard; High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area;
HSD Medicaid).

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
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Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $550,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $1,105,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $21,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No data

Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes Yes
Fines No data
Fees No data
Other No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
A portion (approximately 40 percent) of annual state alcohol excise tax revenue is allocated, by
statute, to county-level local DWI prevention programs. These county programs allocate these
funds, in turn, to treatment, prevention, law enforcement, compliance monitoring, and other
activities, of which prevention is a substantial portion (roughly 20 percent of the total in FY2013). Of
the funds allocated for prevention, roughly 60 percent is allocated for underage drinking prevention.
Additional Clarification

The estimates of state-funded underage drinking prevention activities reported above are likely an
underestimate, since they do not include estimates for certain programs for which information was not
received by the survey submission date.
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New York

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 19,465,197
Population Ages 12-20: 2,403,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 314 755,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 194 465,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.2 38,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19 14,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.1 223,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.7 133,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 55.5 494,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 35.9 319,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 197
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 11,764
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 32.0 50

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

Note: New York does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but the state does
prohibit purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol by using false evidence of age.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e The state provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false 1D and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02

o BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation

e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 16
e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months
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e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—15 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16 years, 6 months
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 9 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger younger than 21, unless
accompanied by parent or instructor
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Note: New York has certain regional restrictions that apply to the five boroughs of New York
City and to Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, and Putnam counties. These restrictions are
not provided here.

The New York DMV issues a limited-use junior license to a junior driver (under 18) who passes
a road test during the first 6 months (i.e., within the mandatory 6-month holding period) after the
learner permit was issued. A limited-use junior license allows the junior driver to drive without
supervision between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. and within specific geographical boundaries for purposes
related to school, employment, medical care, or child care. This would then convert to an
intermediate-stage license at the end of the mandatory 6-month holding period.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e  Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20.5

Appearance Requirements
e Should look age-appropriate

ID Possession
e Discretionary

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Permitted

Decoy Training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
e Time period/conditions: Five years
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e First offense: $3,000 if the minor was age 19 or older; $3,500 if the minor was at least 16
years old but less than 19 years old; and $5,000 if the minor was less than 16 years old.

Note: If the licensee has been licensed for at least 5 years, the proposed penalty may be reduced
by $500. If the licensee is a package or wine store, the proposed penalty must be increased by
$500.

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for Training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Note: In certain proceedings to revoke, cancel, or suspend a retail license based on furnishing
to a minor, it can be an affirmative defense that at the time of the violation the person who
committed the alleged violation held a valid certificate of completion or renewal from an entity
authorized to give and administer an alcohol training awareness program, and that the licensee
had diligently implemented and complied with all of the provisions of the approved training
program. The licensee is required to prove each element of the affirmative defense by a
preponderance of the credible evidence.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: Not specified
e Wine: Not specified
e Spirits: 18
Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools

Prohibitions against outlet siting:

e Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet
e Alcohol products: Wine, spirits

Note: Exceptions are (1) club affiliated with such school, if school has no objection; (2) certain
sections in county of Ulster, borough of Manhattan, and town of Bainbridge; and (3) special
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retail liquor licenses for theaters where availability of alcohol is not advertised in manner visible
from street.

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws
Statutory liability exists.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following
restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Note: Direct sales/shipments permitted only for wineries in states that afford New York wineries
a reciprocal shipping privilege.

Keg Registration

Registration is not required.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—beer deliveries limited to 5 gallons. Delivery vehicles must be clearly
marked.
Wine: Permitted—delivery vehicles must be clearly marked.
Spirits: Permitted—delivery vehicles must be clearly marked.
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Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.14 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.30 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $6.44 per gallon—$2.54 per gallon for alcohol content of 24 percent
alcohol by volume (ABV) or less.

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—25 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum
o Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum; payment is required from certain retail beer
and wine licensees (i.e., those who purchase beer and/or wine for resale for on- and off-
premises consumption but not including licensees who sell liquor and/or wine for off-
premises consumption) within 25 days.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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New York State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
New York State Liquor Authority (SLA) and New York State Police
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
e Conduct joint underage compliance details at licensed premises
e Law enforcement agencies send referrals to the New York SLA regarding sales to minors at licensed

premises which can be charged administratively against the licensee
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
Yes

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession

Not applicable

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 1,311

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011

Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations” to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors

Data are collected on these activities Yes

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,523

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 187

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to

A . . X o7 . Yes

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors

Data are collected on these activities No

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes

Number of fines imposed by the state® 994

Total amount in fines across all licensees $3,429,950

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments ves
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 58

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 1,275

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 129

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Additional Clarification

The number of minors found in possession of alcohol includes both those from within New York SLA
and those referred from law enforcement. Statewide totals are not available. The data provided reflect
civil fines and bond claim amounts imposed by the state only. The number of license revocations
imposed includes cancellations and revocations.

Yes

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws

Number of youth served 1,691
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.oasas.state.ny.us/pio/press/20100218EUDL.cfm

Program description: Annual Block Grant from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency
Prevention (OJJDP) with the goal of preventing the purchase or consumption of alcoholic beverages by
minors (under age 21). New York uses the money to fund local prevention programs with the
requirement that they partner with law enforcement to conduct comprehensive environmental strategies
designed to prevent and reduce underage drinking. The goal is to reduce youth access and alcohol
availability. This grant was eliminated in the budget, and so underage drinking prevention efforts will be
reduced significantly in New York State.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Life Skills Training
URL for more program information: http://www.lifeskillstraining.com/index.php

Program description: No data

Too Good for Drugs
URL for more program information: http://www.mendezfoundation.org/too_good.php

Program description: No data

Project Alert
URL for more program information: http://www.projectalert.com

Program description: No data

Project Success
URL for more program information: http://www.sascorp.org
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Program description: No data

Alcohol Outlet Compliance Checks and Server Training
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: The Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
(OASAS) just updated the provider guidelines and set new performance standards in 2012. OASAS
has established standards for delivery for evidence-based programs and strategies (EBPS) as
follows: All providers are required to dedicate an increasing percentage of their OASAS resources
to the delivery of EBPs. For 2012, 40 percent of resources must be EBP, increasing each year until
reaching 70 percent in 2018. The EBP service approaches include educational curricula,
environmental strategies that reduce substance availability, increased enforcement and improved
social norms, and multicomponent EBPs. Supported by the SAMHSA Strategic Prevention
Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) funding, a statewide EBP Review Panel of researchers
started in 2012 to helping guide providers. For more information, see:
http://www.oasas.ny.gov/prevention/documents/2012PreventionGuidelines.pdf

Additional Clarification

None given
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Scott Brady, OASAS, Director, Bureau of Prevention
E-mail: scottbrady@oasas.state.ny.us
Address: 1450 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone: 518-457-4384
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Members of the Advisory Council on Underage Alcohol Consumption
Nelson Acquilano (Chair), Council on Alcoholism of the Finger Lakes
Sgt. Douglas Pacquette (Vice Chair), New York State Police
Linnea Olson, Alcoholism Council of New york
Nancy Jones, Capital Region Boards of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES)
John Karzinski, Chief of Police—Gloversville (Retired)
Flora Cassallas, Higher Education Consultant
Ann Rhodes, Alcoholism and Substance Abuse (SA) Council of Hamilton, Fulton, and
Montgomery Counties
Cynthia Gonzales, Community Board #7
Meredith L. Henderson, Binghamton, Deputy Secretary to President of the New York State Senate
Bruce Kelly, Office of the District Attorney Westchester County
Jaime R. Torres, DPM, MS
Andrea Wanat, Erie County Council for Prevention of Alcohol & Substance Abuse
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Ellen Morehouse, Student Assistance Services
Shawn Roseburgh
Nina Moore
Visnoonand Bisram
Diane Gonzalez
Joel Eisedorfer
Felix Ortiz
Commissoner, New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
Commissioner, New York State Office of Mental Health
Commissioner, New York State Liquor Authority
NYS Attorney General
Majority Leader of the Senate
Speaker of the Assembly
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: OASAS
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.0asas.ny.gov/prevention/documents/PrevStrategicPlan.pdf
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: OASAS and Advisory Council on Underage Alcohol Consumption
Plan can be accessed via: No data
Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $205,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $576,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: No data
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

None given
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North Carolina

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 9,656,401
Population Ages 12-20: 1,117,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.0 257,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.8 143,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.8 14,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15 6,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.7 75,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 121 44,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 43.8 169,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 24.3 94,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 156
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 9,323
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 23.0 49

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement
purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e |tis acriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00

e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory
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Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner-stage period: 12 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 60 hours—10 of which must be at night;
to obtain full license, driver must log 12 hours of driving in intermediate stage, 6 of which
are at night.

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 9 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger under 21; however,
if a related passenger is under 21, then no unrelated passengers under 21.
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for Training
e Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: Not specified
e Wine: Not specified
e Spirits: 18
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities

Limitations on outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: Yes—no permits on campus
e On-premises outlets: Yes—no permits on campus
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine

Note: Exceptions are (1) regional sports and entertainment facilities for public use, except for
public school or college function, unless business is hotel or nonprofit alumni organization with
mixed beverages or special occasion permit; (2) performing arts centers with a seating capacity
of less than 2,000.

Primary and Secondary Schools
Prohibitions against outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: Yes—no permits on campus
e On-premises outlets: Yes—no permits on campus
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine

Note: Exceptions are (1) regional sports and entertainment facilities for public use, except for
public school or college function, unless business is hotel or nonprofit alumni organization with
mixed beverages or special occasion permit; (2) performing arts centers with a seating capacity
of less than 2,000.

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on damages: $500,000 total award to all injured parties per occurrence
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Injury must be a proximate result of the
negligence of an underage driver’s negligent operation of a vehicle while intoxicated.

Note: Although North Carolina courts may recognize third-party common law liability under
certain fact patterns where a retailer furnishes an intoxicated minor, they do not recognize a
distinct cause of action for furnishing alcohol to minors without regard to the minor’s
intoxication at the time of sale (Estate of Mullis by Dixon v. Monroe Oil Co.). North Carolina is
therefore coded as not recognizing common law negligence regarding furnishing to minors. N.C.
Gen. Stat. 8 18B-122 includes a responsible beverage server defense.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Note: Although North Carolina courts may recognize third-party liability under certain fact
patterns where an intoxicated minor is furnished by a social host, they do not recognize a distinct
cause of action for furnishing alcohol to minors without regard to the minor’s intoxication at the
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time of sale (Camalier v. Jeffries; Hart v. lvey). North Carolina is therefore coded as not
recognizing common law negligence regarding furnishing to minors.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements: None

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

Keg definition: 7.75 gallons or more
Prohibited:

— Possessing unregistered, unlabeled keg: Maximum fine/jail—discretionary fine/45 days
Purchaser information collected:

— Purchaser’s name and address

— Verified by a government-issued 1D

— Address where keg will be consumed
Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted
e Wine: Permitted
e Spirits: No law
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Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.62 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $1.00 per gallon.
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Drink Specials

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited
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North Carolina State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
North Carolina Alcohol Law Enforcement Section of the Department of Public Safety

Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws

prohibiting underage drinking:
The state works joint operations at various times such as Cops N Shops, Compliance Checks, and
targeted large venues for such events as concerts. There is, however, no standing written method
of coordination at the local and state levels. If the locals conduct a compliance check operation, the
state reports the administrative violations to the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC)
Commission for administrative action.

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct No data

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
Enforcement Statistics

State collects data on the number of m|nors found in possession

Number of minors found in possessmn by state law enforcement agencies 4,532
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 108
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 28
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected

Sanctions

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Unknown
Number of fines imposed by the state® No data
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments ves

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* No data
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Not applicable

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Additional Clarification

The North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (ABCC) handles fines, suspensions, and
revocations of permits in regard to establishments caught selling or providing alcoholic beverages to
underage persons. There is a grant for the fiscal year that provides $50,000 to conduct operations
targeted at underage possession or consumption.

Not an option

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative/
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.ncpud.org

Program description: The North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative focuses on
community-based approaches, which emphasize environmental management strategies to prevent
underage drinking. As the National Academy of Sciences/Institute of Medicine report, Reducing
Underage Drinking: A Collective Responsibility, states, “Underage drinking cannot be addressed by
focusing on youth alone. Youth drink within the context of a society in which alcohol use is normative
behavior, and images about alcohol are pervasive. They usually obtain alcohol—either directly or
indirectly—from adults. Efforts to reduce underage drinking, therefore, need to focus on adults and
must engage the society at large” (National Academy of Sciences, 2003). The NC Preventing Underage
Drinking Initiative offers technical assistance to communities addressing the issue of underage alcohol
use, but the primary focus of the Initiative is in supporting communities funded under the EUDL
program. These collaboratives work within their communities to implement strategies that prevent
underage drinking and create a sustainable movement to stop practices that make underage drinking
both easy and acceptable. The collaboratives’ primary strategies focus on decreasing underage access
to alcohol; changing community norms that promote underage and high-risk alcohol consumption; and
addressing policies pertaining to underage drinking.

The NC Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative is administered by the North Carolina Department of
Health and Human Services through the Federal Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
(OJJIDP) EUDL program, which supports and enhances efforts by states and local jurisdictions to
prohibit the sale, purchase, and consumption of alcoholic beverages to and by minors (minors are
defined as individuals under 21 years old).
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
NC Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG)
URL for more program information: http://www.ncspfsig.org

Program description: The NC Strategic Prevention Framework State Prevention Enhancement
(NCSPE) grant will strengthen the state’s current prevention infrastructure by developing a systemic,
ongoing monitoring system of state substance abuse-related consumption patterns and consequences
to track progress on addressing prevention priorities, trends, and outcomes. This will contribute to
SAMHSA's larger goal under Initiative #1 to prevent substance abuse, prevent or reduce consequences
of underage drinking and adult drinking, and reduce prescription drug misuse and abuse. The
infrastructure set up by the proposed goals of the State Prevention Enhancement grant will accomplish
the task of identifying specific evidence-based/informed strategies to decrease overall substance abuse,
targeting those under 21, and emphasizing the importance of locking up medications and refraining from
illicit drug use.

North Carolina Coalition Initiative (NCCI)
URL for more program information: http://www.wfubmc.edu/NCCI

Program description: The NCCI Building Capacity for Substance Free Communities is a program
funded by the state through the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of
Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services (DMHDDSAS). Direction and
technical assistance are provided by the NCCI Coordinating Center at Wake Forest University School of
Medicine. NCCI seeks to reduce substance abuse in North Carolina communities by building the
capacity of community coalitions to implement environmental strategies.

NCCI goals for community coalitions:

1. Build coalition capacity to effectively implement evidence-based and promising strategies, with an
emphasis on environmental strategies.

2. Implement evidence-based and promising strategies to reduce substance abuse.

3. Build an infrastructure to sustain local coalition efforts.

4. Reduce prevalence of alcohol and drug abuse in local communities.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: The North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative
uses and continues to develop innovative strategies to help achieve the long-term goal of
preventing underage drinking. This continuing effort is designed to further support and develop
community collaboratives working to implement environmental management strategies to prevent
underage drinking. This objective is responsive to the recommendations outlined in OJJDP’s
publication, Strategies to Reduce Underage Alcohol Use (PIRE, 1999); the National Institute of
Medicine/National Academy of Sciences (IOM/NAS) report, Reducing Underage Drinking: A
Collective Responsibility; the Surgeon General’s Call to Action to Prevent and Reduce Underage
Drinking; and the North Carolina Institute of Medicine Substance Abuse Services Task Force
Report. Although many of the recommended components of the IOM/NAS report and the North
Carolina Institute of Medicine Substance Abuse Services Task Force Report require significant
action at the national and/or state level, the reports specify several areas in which local communities
can play significant complementary and reinforcing roles. Not surprisingly, several of the
recommendations are consistent with strategies recommended by OJJDP in its 1999 publication,
Strategies to Reduce Underage Alcohol Use (PIRE, 1999). According to the IOM report, two
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evidence-based strategic actions that can occur at the community level are community mobilization
and restricting access.

Community collaboratives aimed at curbing underage drinking are valuable adjuncts to state and
local government interventions. Such collaboratives, which include people with diverse
perspectives, interests, and responsibilities, can provide the political will and organizational support
for implementing strategies that have been proven effective at preventing underage drinking. They
also place emphasis on a local culture in which underage drinking is considered a serious and
unacceptable problem. Such local norms lend support to heightened enforcement of the laws
against underage drinking. By providing a context that supports recommended interventions,
community mobilization efforts increase the overall likelihood that such interventions will meet
success. To effectively implement this comprehensive approach, the IOM committee recommended
the following three strategies:

1. Community leaders assess their community’s particular problems and resources and—using
effective approaches including community organizing, building community collaboratives, and
strategic use of the mass media to support policy changes and enforcement—tailor their efforts
to combat underage drinking accordingly.

2. Include colleges and universities in collaboration and implementation efforts for a range of
interventions.

3. Elementary, secondary, and high school education programs should be evidence based and
should avoid interventions that rely on provision of information alone or fear tactics.

Listed below are the critical elements of effective interventions as summarized in the report:
Be multicomponent and integrated

Be sufficient in “dose” and followup

Establish norms that support nonuse

Stress parental monitoring and supervision

Be interactive

Be implemented with fidelity

Include limitations in access

Be institutionalized

Avoid an exclusive focus on information

Avoid congregating high-risk youth

Promote social and emotional skill development among elementary school students

By urging greater emphasis on restricted access, the report offers a wake-up call for adults from
whom youth generally obtain alcohol (parents who allow drinking parties in their homes, strangers
who buy alcohol for teenagers waiting outside stores, or sales clerks and bartenders who sell
alcohol to minors). State and local communities can work to not only create and enforce laws, but
also to explain the reasons why compliance is important and elicit public support for limiting access.
The recommended strategy urges that states and localities, working with law enforcement as
appropriate, restrict youth access by:
1. Targeting servers and sellers, by:

- Increasing compliance checks, supported by media campaigns and license revocation to

increase deterrence.

- Implementing responsible beverage service programs as a condition of retail outlet licensing.

— Developing new or strengthened server and seller liability laws.

— Regulating Internet sales and home delivery of alcohol to prevent/reduce underage purchases.
2. Targeting parents and other adults to promote compliance with youth access restrictions

through:
Keg registration laws.
“Shoulder tap” or other prevention programs targeting adults who purchase alcohol for minors.
Stronger antiloitering measures.

— Measures to hold retailers accountable for loitering.
3. Targeting youth through:

— Sobriety checkpoints with swift and certain sanctions for young drunk drivers.

— Graduated license programs.
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— Modified laws to allow passive breath testing, streamlined administrative procedures, and
administrative penalties, such as immediate driver’s license revocation.

— Media campaigns to publicize enforcement and encourage compliance.

— Identifying and breaking up teen drinking parties and holding relevant adults and youth
accountable.

— Making it more difficult to use false identification (ID) by issuing scannable IDs, allowing
retailers to confiscate licenses, and implementing administrative penalties for false ID use.

— Increasing access to treatment services for young drinkers who need clinical treatment.

The North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative has the overall goal of focusing on these
two areas: community mobilization centered on implementation of environmental management
strategies, and restricting access through increased collaboration with law enforcement agencies.
Strengthening the bridges that the grantee community collaboratives have built with law enforcement
in previous rounds of EUDL funding remains a top priority. With an emphasis on alcohol purchase
surveys, followed by the dissemination of survey results to law enforcement, retailers, and local
media, community collaboratives directly assess and influence community norms and retail practices
related to alcohol access in their communities.

Additional Clarification

Preventing and reducing underage drinking through retail compliance is one of the most effective

strategies available (PIRE, 1999). Alcohol purchase surveys, unlike compliance checks, can be

performed without the assistance of law enforcement as long as the youth attempting to purchase are at

least 21 years old. Purchase surveys are designed to facilitate a dialogue between the community and

its retailers. Any strong prevention program incorporates citizens, retailers, the media, and law

enforcement—alcohol purchase surveys accomplish all four tasks. Specifically, alcohol purchase

surveys are used used to:

1. Assess community needs and collect data on which retailers in the community are potentially selling
to underage youth.

2. Raise community awareness and build support for efforts to prevent sales to minors.

3. Inform merchants that they are being monitored and motivate them to change noncompliant
practices.

4. Inform law enforcement officials with important information.

5. Measure the impact of prevention strategies so that communities can assess the effectiveness of the
strategies they implement (PIRE, 1999b).

Community collaboratives return to every retail establishment surveyed to inform store management that
the community cares about the issue of underage drinking and is conducting alcohol purchase surveys
as a way to monitor alcohol sales practices. At that time, the store management is also informed about
how their store performed in the alcohol purchase survey and where they can get responsible alcohol
sales training for their employees. Following each round of purchase surveys, funded community
collaboratives submit a press release to local media and a detailed statistical report/complaint to law
enforcement. Several studies have shown that generating publicity around underage alcohol sale
surveys is an effective way to increase the success of local law enforcement efforts (PIRE, 1999).
Therefore, results of the surveys are used for educational purposes including warning letters,
congratulatory letters, and use in the media.

Community collaboratives also provide a summary report to local law enforcement. For the community
collaborative to effectively serve its “community watch” role, collected data from alcohol purchase
surveys must be shared with local law enforcement agencies. Community collaboratives disseminate
the report summarizing the purchase survey findings after each round of surveys. With the expansion of
the state Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative (twice as many collaboratives are funded today as
were in 2007-2008), and an increased emphasis on alcohol purchase surveys, three times as many
surveys are now being conducted statewide than were in 2006. From June 1, 2010, to May 31, 2011,
the state conducted more than 1,500 alcohol purchase surveys. Furthermore, there were 300 additional
purchase surveys conducted in the past year by communities across the state using non-EUDL funds.

Community collaboratives involve youth in their efforts to prevent underage drinking. Using Youth
Empowered Solutions (YES!), the community collaboratives foster the development, or encourage the
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expansion, of an underage drinking prevention youth empowerment movement in their community.
Community collaboratives work with YES!, a nationally recognized youth empowerment organization, in
the development of underage drinking prevention youth empowerment in the community.

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Flo Stein, Co-Chair, Cooperative Agreement Advisory Board (CAAB)
E-mail: flo.stein@dhhs.nc.gov
Address: NC DMH/DD/SAS 3007 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-3007
Phone: 919-733-4556
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Department of Public Instruction
Commission on Indian Affairs
Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD), Youth Advocacy and Involvement Office
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
Department of Juvenile Justice
Division of Public Health
Office of Minority Affairs
North Carolina Prevention Providers Association, Inc.
Office of Health Carolinians
Drug Demand Reduction Unit, National Guard
Faith Work Initiative
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.ncspfsig.org; subcommittee of the Cooperative
Agreement Advisory Board (CAAB)

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: North Carolina Institute of Medicine; North Carolina HHS/Enforcing Underage
Drinking Laws Program Report
Plan can be accessed via: No data

Additional Clarification

The state has prepared a plan for substance abuse prevention that is not specific to underage drinking,
but is inclusive.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underag
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
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Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: Although underage drinking is a component of alcohol, tobacco,
and drug abuse prevention efforts, no state funds are specifically dedicated to preventing underage

drinking.
Estimate of state funds expended No data
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
7 percent of
profits from
Other sales at ABC
stores

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
Seven percent of sales from distilled spirits sold at the ABC stores are dedicated to training and
education and are determined locally through ABC Boards and/or County Commissioners.
Additional Clarification

The North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative and additional complementary efforts are
federally funded. No state funds are specifically dedicated to preventing underage drinking.
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North Dakota

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 683,932
Population Ages 12-20: 83,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 34.2 28,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 24.5 20,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 55 1,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.7 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.3 7,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.7 4,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 59.1 20,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 44.9 16,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 9
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 565
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 28.0 5

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although North Dakota does not prohibit internal possession, it has a statutory provision
that prohibits an individual under 21 from having “recently consumed” an alcoholic beverage
(N.D. Cent. Code 8 5-01-08). Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but

which do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting
internal possession, for purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement
purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e There is no driver’s license suspension procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
o BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 14
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e Minimum learner-stage period: 12 months—if under 18, then 6 months; if under 16,
then 12 months
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours

Intermediate Stage

e Minimum age: 15

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 9 p.m.—whichever is later, sunset or 9 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e No passenger restrictions

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service
No beverage service training requirement

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 21
e Wine: 21
e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Note: A person who is age 18 or older but under 21 may be employed by the restaurant to serve
and collect money for alcoholic beverages if the person is under direct supervision of a person 21
or older, but may not be engaged in mixing, dispensing, or consuming alcoholic beverages.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation
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Primary and Secondary Schools
No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Knowledge of underage status

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Knowledge of underage status

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled
spirits with the following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements: None

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements: None

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Recipient must be 21.

Keg Registration

Keg definition: Greater than 6 gallons
Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
Warning information to purchaser: Not required
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Nolaw
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law
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Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $0.16 per gallon

e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 7 percent
e Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales): 7 percent

General sales tax rate of 5 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales. The onsite ad
valorem retail tax is 7 percent. The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore
2 percent. The offsite ad valorem tax of 7 percent is applied at the retail level. The “sales tax
adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 2 percent. Reported tax rate is rate for beer
in 12-ounce containers. Bulk containers taxed at $0.08 per gallon. Ad valorem tax applied at
retail level.

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.50 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 7 percent
e Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales): 7 percent

General sales tax rate of 5 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales. The onsite ad
valorem retail tax is 7 percent. The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore
2 percent. The offsite ad valorem tax of 7 percent is applied at the retail level. The “sales tax
adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 2 percent.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e Specific excise tax: $2.50 per gallon

e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 7 percent
e Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales): 7 percent

General sales tax rate of 5 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales. The onsite ad
valorem retail tax is 7 percent. The *“sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore
2 percent. The offsite ad valorem tax of 7 percent is applied at the retail level. The “sales tax
adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 2 percent.

Drink Specials
No law

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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North Dakota State Survey Responses

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
North Dakota Highway Patrol

Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws

prohibiting underage drinking:
The North Dakota Highway Patrol receives and distributes Enforcement of Underage Drinking Laws
(EUDL) funds provided by the North Dakota Department of Human Services (federal Office of
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention [OJJDP] funding). These funds are used by the
Highway Patrol and dispersed to local law enforcement to facilitate underage drinking enforcement
efforts across the state. In addition, the North Dakota Department of Human Services funds Tribal
law enforcement agencies to facilitate underage drinking enforcement on Tribal lands. The Highway
Patrol participates with local law enforcement in multiagency efforts to stop drinking and driving.

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Unknown

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
Enforcement Statistics

No data

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 436
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations” to determine if Yes

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies No data
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies No data
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No
Number of fines imposed by the state® Data not collected
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* Data not collected
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed5 Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
None given

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

*Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Parents LEAD (Listen, Educate, Ask, Discuss)

Number of youth served No data

Number of parents served No data

Number of caregivers served No data

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data

Program has been evaluated Program will be
evaluated in FFY2012

Evaluation report is available No data

URL for evaluation report: No data

URL for more program information: http://www.parentslead.org

Program description: Parents LEAD is an outreach program to provide resources to parents to guide
them in underage drinking prevention. Mothers Against Drunk Driving’'s (MADD) Power of Parents is
also promoted through the program. Parents LEAD program is a partnership between the North Dakota
Department of Transportation, the North Dakota Department of Human Services Division of Mental
Health and Substance Abuse Services, the North Dakota Higher Education Consortium, and the North
Dakota State University Extension Services. These agencies have worked jointly to develop and
distribute program content through their various outreach systems.

Juvenile Drug Court

Number of youth served 17
Number of parents served 30
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: The Juvenile Drug Court Program, under supervision of the North Dakota
Supreme Court, is aimed at reducing alcohol and substance abuse and delinquent and unruly acts of
North Dakota juveniles. The five courts throughout the state each have their own team, consisting of a
judge, defense counsel, prosecutor, court officer, treatment provider, and coordinator. The program
lasts about 1 year. Juvenile referrals are taken from juvenile courts, schools, and treatment providers.
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Before One More Campaign

Number of youth served 2,500
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.ndsu.edu/alcoholinfo/students/before_one more

Program description: The student-designed Before One More campaign focuses on reducing the
harmful consequences that come from students making high-risk drinking decisions at the largest
campus community in the state (North Dakota State University). The campaign helps students
understand when “one more” can become “one too many” by teaching them how to make low-risk
decisions regarding alcohol use. For students under age 21, one is one too many. Elements of the
campaign include a website (_http://www.ndsu.edu/alcoholinfo/students/before_one _more) with
educational material, t-shirt giveaways, key tags for the Herd Hauler safe ride program, information on
all student tickets to Bison football games, and a Facebook page.

Electronic CheckUp To Go (e-CHUG) for First-Year Students

Number of youth served 3,844
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: As part of a grant funded by the U.S. Department of Education (North Dakota
Partners in Prevention),12 campuses in North Dakota require their first-year students to complete an
electronic check-up to go (e-CHUG). e-CHUG is a personalized, evidence-based, online prevention
intervention originally developed by psychologists at San Diego State University. Drawing

on motivational interviewing (Miller & Rollnick, 2002) and social norms theory (Perkins & Berkowitz,
1986), the e-CHUG program is designed to motivate individuals to reduce their consumption using
personalized information about their own drinking and risk factors. It is also personalized to each
campus, using the most recent alcohol and other drug survey information from that campus. The
e-CHUG takes approximately 15 minutes to complete, depending on the student. Students’ personal
feedback includes information that has been shown to be particularly motivating to college-aged young
adults, including: quantity and frequency of alcohol use, amount of alcohol consumed, normative
comparisons, physical health information, amount and percentage of income spent on alcohol, negative
consequences feedback, explanation, advice, and local referral information.

BASICS (Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for College Students)

Number of youth served 150
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 35
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: Part of a grant funded by the U.S. Department of Education (North Dakota
Partners in Prevention), BASICS training and implementation assistance was provided to 12 campuses
in North Dakota. A prevention program for college students who drink alcohol heavily and have
experienced or are at risk for alcohol-related problems, BASICS follows a harm reduction approach and
aims to motivate students to reduce alcohol use to decrease the negative consequences of drinking.
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LIVE REAL Mentor Program

Number of youth served 738
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 300
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes
URL for evaluation report: No data

URL for more program information: http://www.ndsu.edu/alcoholinfo/students/live_real mentor program

Program description: The LIVE REAL Mentor Program is designed to increase knowledge of the largest
campus (North Dakota State University) community about the effects of high-risk alcohol use and how to
appropriately refer students to prevention and treatment services, communicate consistent messages
that promote wellness and safety, and promote a culture of safe and responsible attitudes to alcohol.

CHOICES with High-Risk Populations

Number of youth served 530
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: CHOICES is a brief alcohol abuse prevention and harm reduction program for
college students involving interactive journaling. The program involves a 90-minute class facilitated by
professional staff or peers. Throughout the course, students are presented with information, and then
they are able to reflect on what they have learned as it relates to their choices about drinking in their
personal journals. CHOICES is presented to student athletes (North Dakota’s highest risk college
population subset) at four campuses and shared with first-year students in a classroom setting at three
campuses. The program is shared in a nonconfrontational manner that enables students to make their
own decisions about alcohol consumption.

Late-Night Alcohol-Free Programming

Number of youth served 20,000
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.ndsu.edu/campusattractions/mu_live

Program description: Twelve campuses in North Dakota offer late-night, alcohol-free entertainment on
campus on high-risk nights (e.g., homecoming, before finals, first weeks of the semester) throughout the
academic year between 9 p.m. and the early morning hours. Programs range from movie nights to laser
tag to dances. In addition to entertainment, most campuses do alcohol-related programming at these
events such as alcohol-infused trivia games, trips to virtual “bars,” and t-shirts with social

norming messaging.

Are You Ready? The College Transition

Number of youth served 1,000
Number of parents served 250
Number of caregivers served 100
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
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URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information:
http://www.ag.ndsu.edu/impactreports/reports/2011-impact-reports/11state-query-vettern4h.pdf/view

Program description: The Center for 4-H Youth Development collaborated with NDSU’s President’s
Council on Alcohol & Other Drugs, Fargo Public Schools, and North Dakota Higher Education
Consortium for Substance Abuse Prevention in offering the program Are You Ready? The College
Transition in North Dakota. The curriculum, created by University of Wisconsin Extension, aims to help
students and their parents plan ahead for a smooth transition into postsecondary opportunities. This
program helps high school seniors and their parents understand and manage the normal conflicts that
result from this transition, increase communication skills, and create a plan for the student to use when
faced with conflicts or issues.

Tips for Talking to Your College Student About Alcohol Use

Number of youth served 500
Number of parents served 500
Number of caregivers served 25
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011

Program has been evaluated
Evaluation report is available
URL for evaluation report:

No
Not applicable
Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.ndsu.edu/alcoholinfo/families/talking about alcohol with your student

Program description: The guide for parents, “Tips for Talking to Your College Student About Alcohol
Use” was written by NDSU Extension Service Youth Development staff in collaboration with the NDSU
President’s Council on Alcohol & Other Drugs. The intended use is for parents of students who have
violated the campus alcohol policy as well as a general prevention piece for all parents of college
students. This guide is used at the largest campus in North Dakota (NDSU) and was to be expanded
in August 2011.

Reality Check Provided by Students Against Destructive Decisions

Number of youth served 1,200
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: The Reality Check curriculum is designed for grades 4, 5, and 6. The curriculum
was designed by Northern Lights Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) using input from their
state advisory board students. The idea behind Reality Check is to give elementary students the tools
they need to address the issues they are facing or will face in middle school. Using SADD members
as teachers for the curriculum, the lessons have great impact. Another advantage of using SADD
members as teachers is that the participants have the support of the existing SADD program as soon

as they reach middle school. A parental component is included.

Love & Logic
Number of youth served 0
Number of parents served 135
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data
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Program description: Dickinson Public Schools and West Dakota Parent & Family Resource Center
provided a series of Love & Logic programs. Love & Logic is a 6-week parenting education program.
The program initiates and lays the foundation parents need in the prevention of risky behavior
development in their children’s adolescent years.

Prairie Public Radio—High-Risk High

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.highriskhigh.org

Program description: Prairie Public Radio developed a series focusing on successful programs dealing
with underage drinking. Content focused on family, community, and legislation. Stories of 3 to 8
minutes in length were developed that explored what specialists in the field are doing to successfully
reduce youth drinking. Panel talks and talk shows were included to expand on the content of the
stories, particularly a successful strategy. Commentaries, testimonials, and essays were included from
individuals working to mitigate underage drinking and binge drinking.

Too Good for Drugs (TGFD)

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: TGFD is a school-based prevention program highlighted in SAMHSA'’s National
Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices. Milnor School targeted grades 4—6.

Take a Closer Look (TACL)

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/mentalhealth/prevention/tacl.htm|

Program description: The TACL campaign is a statewide environmental prevention marketing and
media program that aims to modify cultural norms accepting of alcohol abuse and underage drinking.
The program encourages North Dakota to “tackle” the effect alcohol abuse has on our children, teens,
families, and communities in the state. This campaign also promotes the message that something can
be done: adults can play a significant role in a child’s life by helping guide him or her toward healthy
choices at every stage of life.
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New Year's Eve Alternative Events

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No data
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Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: No data
URL for more program information:

http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/mentalhealth/prevention/pdf/new-years-eve-toolkit-for-web.pdf

Program description: New Year’s Eve is often associated with an increase in alcohol use, abuse, and
social consequences. The goal of the New Year’'s Eve Community Events was to establish a foundation
to promote community mobilization to implement further prevention efforts in North Dakota communities.
These events mark the beginning of a change in North Dakotan culture and opportunity to engage
community leaders to be role models for health behaviors and demonstrate that it is possible to
celebrate without using alcohol or other substances. Communities applied for funding to host an event
on the night of December 31, 2010. Events needed to last a minimum of 4 consecutive hours to include
midnight and be alcohol and drug free, family-friendly, and suitable for all ages. Forty communities
participated. While the numbers cannot be broken down into the specific categories above,
approximately 4,522 people attended these events.

Live Your No

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/mentalhealth/prevention/live.html

Program description: The goal of the Live Your No campaign is to encourage youth to find their
passion; this will help them make healthy, positive choices in the future. Research shows that when
youth are engaged in healthy activities, they are less likely to abuse alcohol and other drugs. Being
involved in and having a passion for something fosters skills such as communication, relationship
building, self-control, and problemsolving (among others). As these skills join forces, they create
healthy, strong, and self-confident individuals. When youth have something they enjoy, look forward to,
and are proud of, they are less likely to turn to drugs and alcohol.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Alcohol Beverage Server Training
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: Alcohol Beverage Server Training provides training to staff who serve alcohol in
licensed liquor establishments. The goals of the training are for staff to recognize and prevent underage
access to alcohol in their establishment and to prevent overserving.

Enforcement Program—Driver Sober or Get Pulled Over
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: North Dakota participates in this national impaired driving prevention campaign
conducted through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). The program provides
overtime funds to participating law enforcement to conduct heightened impaired driving enforcement.
North Dakota participates in all national events and also requires participating agencies to conduct
additional quarterly enforcement events through regional teams of state, county, and city law
enforcement working together to ensure high visibility to deter impaired driving. Participating law
enforcement agencies enforce North Dakota’s zero-tolerance law for those under age 21 during all
enforcement periods. The compliance rate done by local law enforcement agencies with EUDL funds
is 91.55 percent.
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Compliance Checks

URL for more program information: No data
Program description: No data
Juvenile Drug Court Life Skills

URL for more program information: No data
Program description: No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The North Dakota Department of Human Services contracts with each
of the four federally recognized Native American Tribes in North Dakota to provide a full-time
prevention coordinator. These positions provide culturally appropriate substance abuse prevention
coordination, training, and technical assistance to the Tribal communities on each reservation. The
North Dakota Department of Transportation involves Tribal law enforcement in regional impaired
driving prevention enforcement activities. The Tribes will be partners in distribution of Parents LEAD
program materials. The North Dakota Supreme Court, Healing to Wellness Tribal court, adult drug
courts, and college courts hold a drug court training conference every other year. The conference
includes workshops on underage drinking, drug abuse, prevention practices, and role training.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: The state focuses on practices that are evidence based with an
emphasis on environmental strategies driven by data.

Additional Clarification

None given
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: JoAnne Hoesel
E-mail: jhoesel@nd.gov
Address: Division Mental Health & Substance Abuse, DHS 1237 West Divide Ave, Suite 1C,
Bismarck, ND 58501
Phone: 701-328-8924
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
North Dakota Department of Human Services
North Dakota Department of Health
North Dakota Department of Transportation
North Dakota Governor’s Office
North Dakota Office of the First Lady
North Dakota Legislative Assembly Representatives
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
North Dakota University System
North Dakota Highway Patrol
North Dakota Indian Affairs Commission
North Dakota Students Against Destructive Decisions
North Dakota Teen Challenge
North Dakota Judiciary
Local Law Enforcement-Bismarck Police Department
North Dakota Addiction Counselor representative
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A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.ndprevention.com

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: The Governor’'s Prevention Advisory Council has a prepared roadmap, discovery
plan, and strategic plan.

Plan can be accessed via: No data

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended $50,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $150,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $390,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No data

Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data
None given
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Ohio

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 11,544,951
Population Ages 12-20: 1,466,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.7 406,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19.1 280,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.0 22,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.3 10,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 225 110,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.1 69,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 515 274,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 37.7 201,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 157
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 9,440
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 24.0 43

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e ltis acriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e |tis acriminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
No use/lose law
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Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.—1 a.m. if 17 years old
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger, unless accompanied
by parent
— Primary enforcement of the passenger restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18—passenger restrictions are lifted at age 17;
unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e  Minimum: 17
¢ Maximum: 20

Appearance Requirements

Age-appropriate appearance

Hair style and clothing consistent with underage persons in target area
Minimal jewelry

Male: No facial hair

Female: Minimal makeup

ID Possession
e Discretionary

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited

Decoy Training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
Time period/conditions: No guidelines provided
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Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for Training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 19 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Note: Although employees must be at least 21 years old in order to sell spirits, wine, or mixed
beverages across a bar, employees of any permit holder may sell beer across a bar if they are at
least 19 years old.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
Prohibitions against outlet siting:
o Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 500 feet. Local government has authority to override
state restrictions.
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 500 feet. Local government has authority to override
state restrictions.
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.
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Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession, consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.
e Exception(s): Family

Note: In addition to the restrictions imposed on owners or occupants of public or private places,
Ohio’s provision regarding property states that no person shall engage or use accommodations at
a hotel, inn, cabin, campground, or restaurant when the person knows or has reason to know that
beer or intoxicating liquor will be consumed by an underage person on the premises. Owners or
occupants of public or private places are held to a knowledge standard, whereas those who
engage or use accommodations at a hotel, inn, cabin, campground, or restaurant are held to a
negligence standard.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Permitted

e Wine: Prohibited

e Spirits: Prohibited

Note: An S class permit allows an out-of-state beer brand owner or U.S. importer to sell beer
directly to personal consumers (residents) in Ohio by receiving and filling orders that the
personal consumer submits to the permit holder.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer and wine with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Producer must verify age of purchaser—before sending a shipment of beer or wine, the
shipper must make a “bona fide” effort to ensure that the purchaser is at least age 21.
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.
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Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Nolaw
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Tax

o Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.18 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.32 per gallon.
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after 9 p.m.
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

Volume discounts: Banned

Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—33.3 percent minimum markup
Price posting requirements: Post and hold—3 month minimum

Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Ohio State Survey Responses

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Ohio Investigative Unit
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
Agents and local law enforcement officers join forces in combating undergage drinking in local
communities. Agents are involved in a program called Community Oriented Directed Enforcement
2000 (CODE 2000). This program requires state enforcement agents to meet with local law
enforcement agencies, identify problems related to alcohol, and implement an action to investigate
the local complaints.

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No

Shoulder Tap Operations No

Party Patrol Operations or Programs No

Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No

Shoulder Tap Operations No

Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes

Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

: . : . . Division of Liquor
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Control, Ohio

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors S .
Investigative Unit

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
Enforcement Statistics

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 2,655
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations” to determine if

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Ve
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,145
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 229
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
A . . X o7 . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® Data not collected
Total amount in fines across all licensees $612,250
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

= L ) Unknown
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 75
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Unknown

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations impos:ed5 No data

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Additional Clarification

The Ohio Investigative Unit solely enforces the criminal laws and rules that are related to or occurring on
or across from an establishment with a liquor permit, or where a violation of the liquor control act may be
occurring (e.g., moonshine, illegal sales, open container violations).

The Division of Liquor Control maintains the licensing and issuance of the liquor permits. Ohio has
approximately 24,000 liquor permits, plus additional temporary permits issued throughout the year.

'Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Drug-Free Action Alliance — Parents Who Host, Lose the Most:
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws

Number of youth served 5,256
Number of parents served 1,200
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: The “Parents Who Host, Lose The Most: Don'’t be a party to teenage drinking”
public awareness campaign was developed by Drug-Free Action Alliance in 2000. The campaign
objectives are to educate parents about the health and safety risks of serving alcohol at teen house
parties and to increase awareness of and compliance with the Ohio Underage Drinking Laws.

On a statewide level, Drug-Free Action Alliance, formerly Ohio Parents for Drug-Free Youth, promotes
the “Parents Who Host, Lose The Most: Don'’t be a party to teenage drinking” campaign through a
number of resources. One component is partnering with corporations to reproduce and disseminate
materials to their customers and employees. Drug-Free Action Alliance will continue to partner with 18
corporations statewide, garnering at least $95,912 in in-kind support. Examples of corporate activities
include: a grocery chain played in-store announcements of the campaign ad in their participating stores
for the entire month, and another large chain store displayed signs on beer coolers and beer/wine
shelves in 85 locations. Hotels and other businesses ensured that information cards were available in
their lobbies and in employee break rooms.

Additionally, 15-, 30-, and 60-second radio ads continued to be played throughout Ohio during April,
May, and June in time for prom and graduation. Over 465 paid and free radio ads aired in Ohio. The
total radio investment was $45,500; in turn, it garnered $70,560 of in-kind airtime, which equals a 155
percent return on the original investment. The ads are placed on soft rock, easy listening, talk radio,
and country stations where the demographics indicate a listening population likely to be parents of
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teens. Purchase of radio ads is always a planned part of each year’s activities. The Drug-Free Action
Alliance also continued TV advertising with Midwest Communications and Media. The Parents Who
Host, Lose the Most: Don't be a party to teenage drinking television ad developed by South Carolina,
“Bad Dad, Mad Dad,” also continued to air. For the spring, 53 television ads were purchased and 47 in-
kind ads were provided, for a total of 100 TV ads aired. Combining the semi-annual numbers with the
fall and holiday ads, the year-end total radio ads aired were 134 paid and 128 in kind. By placing the
total media budget with Midwest Communications & Media, the Drug-Free Action Alliance was able to
air our ad during prime time, and the Alliance garnered an almost equal number of in-kind public service
announcements (PSAs), many of which aired at optimal times. The total television investment for the
second year of this grant of $24,000 garnered $23,040 of in-kind airtime, a 96 percent return on
investment.

“Parents Who Host, Lose the Most” program evaluation results have demonstrated program

effectiveness. Trend data for 2001-2006 showed the following results on some key measures:

e 33 percent increase among parent respondents from 2001 to 2006 who indicated that if other parents
knew this campaign information, it would keep them from hosting parties where alcohol is available or
served.

* 36 percent decrease among youth respondents from 2001 to 2006 who indicated that they had
attended a party in the last 2 months where alcohol was served to youth.

e 32 percent increase among youth respondents from 2001 to 2006 who indicated that the campaign
information led to a discussion between themselves and their parent about underage drinking.

e 29 percent decrease among parent respondents from 2001 to 2006 who indicated that they know of
other parents who host parties where alcohol is available or served to teens.

e 42 percent decrease among youth respondents from 2001 to 2006 who indicated that they know of
parents who host parties where alcohol is available or served to teens.

Since the campaign began, it has been requested for replication in 49 states and Canada. In 2001, the
“Parents Who Host, Lose the Most” program received the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention’s
Promising Prevention Program Award. The program also was awarded the 2001 Exemplary Program
Award by Ohio Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services (ODADAS).

Baldwin-Wallace College High Risk Drinking Prevention Program

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: The goal of this program is to provide alcohol-free alternative events and
education to prevent high-risk drinking and visiting off-campus bars on a traditional party night. The
Mid-Night Madness (MNM) program will provide 26 weekly alcohol-free alternative events for students
to attend instead of going to the bars on a traditional party night. The Greeks Advocating Mature
Management of Alcohol (GAMMA) student organization will support the MNM program by providing
education through programming for the members of our Greek Community. The Social Norms
Marketing Campaign will also support MNM by providing information dissemination to students with the
correct information on social norms at Baldwin-Wallace College.

Bowling Green State University High Risk Drinking Prevention Program

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable
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Program description: Bowling Green State University (BGSU) has examined its efforts to reduce high-
risk drinking and has examined its level of operation within the 3-in-1 Framework. Over the years,
BGSU has adopted campus-based policies, enforced policies and laws, used social norm marketing
campaigns, informed parents and first-year students of policies and penalties, promoted healthy choices
for late-night programming, and has had a strong community/campus coalition. BGSU is clear that
information dissemination and alternative strategies continue to be a vital part of its mission for
maintaining students’ health, well-being, and success throughout their time at BGSU and receiving a

degree.

Miami University Bacchus Student Engagement Initiative
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: College drinking is a problem on many college campuses, and Miami University
has endeavored to address the “culture of drinking” through a variety of strategies and evidence-based
programs and policies. Miami University has been engaged in reducing high-risk drinking for many
years and has received recognition through the Drug-Free Action Alliance, the BACCHUS Network, and
the Prevention Excellence Award through Outside the Classroom. The Division of Student Affairs, with
leadership from the Office of Health Education, developed a comprehensive strategic plan to reduce
high risk modeled on the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) 3-in-1 Framework.
University of Rio Grande/Freshman 911 Project

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: The University of Rio Grande’s Freshman 911 Project is designed to educate
incoming freshman students regarding the risks associated with alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drugs. The
project will promote environmental change; provide alternatives to alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drug use;
and encourage abstinence. There will be a change in the perception of teenagers’ normative behavior.
The Freshman 911 Project expects to increase the number of students that perceive non-use as the
norm on our campus by increasing (1) the number of students engaged in alcohol-, tobacco-, and drug-
free alternative activities and (2) the number of students who will become positive peer prevention
leaders on the campus.

College of Wooster

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable
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Program description: The College of Wooster’s prevention efforts (as recommended by the U.S.
Department of Education’s Higher Education Center) use the Environmental Management approach,
which focuses on multiple factors in the environment—not simply on the individual—and employs five
distinct strategies as a means to reduce high-risk drinking, which aim to:

1. Increase substance-free recreational and social options on campus.

2. Create a health-promoting normative environment.

3. Restrict marketing and promotion of alcohol both on and off campus.

4. Limit the availability of alcohol.

5. Increase and make consistent the enforcement of laws and policies.

Using these five strategies, the College of Wooster Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs (ATOD)
Prevention Project has developed Performance Targets designed to focus on decreasing high-risk
drinking, in addition to the use of drugs, among its student body. To achieve these performance targets,
the College of Wooster uses the following prevention service delivery strategies:

1. Information dissemination

2. Alternatives

3. Education

4. Community-based processes

5. Environmental strategies

Examples of services included in these delivery strategies include (but are not limited to) developing
health education materials and programs centered on ATOD issues, creating a multitude of programs
designed as alternatives to alcohol use, nurturing strong campus/community ties via coalitions, enacting
and enforcing strong campus ATOD policies, and reducing the marketing and sale of alcohol both on
campus and in the surrounding community to underage students.

University of Akron

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: The University’'s Mac Pride Coalition is the only university-based coordinating
group interested in reducing underage/binge drinking and related risky behaviors among the university’'s
students. It is co-chaired by a university representative from the community who is the Special Projects
Director of the Summit County Community Partnership, Inc. (Summit County’s Prevention Coalition).
While truly collaborative in nature, pulling together university and community resources requires intense
and prolonged labor; focusing on agreed-upon goals is no easy task. Students who participate in the
Mac Pride Coalition are interacted with multiple times during the year.

University of Toledo High Risk Drinking Project

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable
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Program description: The 3-in-1 Framework is an NIAAA model that takes a comprehensive approach
to addressing college drinking. The Task Force that developed the model included prevention
specialists, researchers and students working for 3 years to produce A Call to Action: Changing the
Culture of Drinking at U.S. Colleges in 2002. “The research strongly supports the use of
comprehensive, integrated programs with multiple complementary components that target: (1)
individuals, including at-risk or alcohol-dependent drinkers, (2) the student population as a whole, and
(3) the college and the surrounding community (Hingson & Howland, 2002; DeJong et al., 1998; Institute
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of Medicine, 1989).” This model was recommended to the University of Toledo (UT) by Char Kopchick
from Ohio University, the consultant assigned to assist in addressing high-risk drinking among UT
college students. The model is based on scientific evidence and gives specific strategies to have the
customers involved in changing the campus culture around drinking.

Drug Free Action Alliance: Ohio College Initiative

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: From its beginning in 1996, the Ohio College Initiative has encouraged the
formation of campus and community coalitions that work to change the alcohol-related culture
surrounding college students through the use of environmental strategies. The Drug-Free Action
Alliance has developed a new initiative: BUZZKILL: Serve Under 21 and the Party’s Over. This
initiative was developed to help local communities discourage college students of legal drinking age
from serving as social hosts to underage students. After the initial pilot last year, a new and more
intensive pilot was conducted this year that involved three new pilot schools and three control schools.

The College Initiative continues to provide technical assistance and training in the form of meetings,
retreats, networking, consulting services, web-based toolkit, linkages with state and national
organizations, and effective communications strategies between all partners and supporting
organizations. Drug-Free Action Alliance also serves to collect and report data gathered from all the
college partners. The Initiative employs an environmental management approach, and success will be
determined when campuses recognize and use a coordinated effort to modify the physical, social,
economic, and legal culture to reduce the prevalence of high-risk drinking. All college presidents are
asked to sign a letter of commitment and appoint a designated liaison to the Initiative called Project
Directors. Each Project Director will actively engage in the Initiative, participate in training opportunities,
conduct/update campus needs assessments, form/sustain campus/community coalitions, implement
one or more of the five environmental strategies, and become familiar with and strategically use the
NIAAA 3-in-1 Framework as a tool in addressing environmental strategies.

Colleges engaged in the Initiative realize that students are at high risk for binge drinking. Students are
drinking at younger ages, and are coming to college often with the first initiation of drinking already
having taken place and a belief that heavy drinking is a normal part of campus living. The prevention
strategies used to deliver the services include both Community-Based Process and Environmental
Prevention. Campus and community leaders form coalitions to implement activities with the intent of
environmental change using one or more of the domains of environmental management.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Family Resource Center

URL for more program information: No data
Program description: No data
Catholic Charities

URL for more program information: No data
Program description: No data
Lorain County Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services

URL for more program information: No data
Program description: No data
Bellfaire Jewish Children’s Bureau

URL for more program information: No data
Program description: No data
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Center for Families and Children

URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Cleveland Urban Minority Alcoholism Drug Abuse Outreach Program (UMADAOP)

URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Hispanic UMADAOP

URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

UMADAORP of Lucas County

URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Akron UMADAOP

URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Warren UMADAOP

URL for more program information: No data

Program description: No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking

Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Additional Clarification

Additional programs related to underage drinking:

Best practice standards description: The media campaign “Parents Who Host, Lose the Most,”
which Ohio created and others are now implementing, is seen as a best practice across the United
States. For more information, contact Shemane Marsh, 614-466-9021, smarsh@ada.ohio.gov.

Youngstown UMADAOP

Cincinnati UMADAOP

Lima UMADAOP

Community Action Against Addiction

Covenant Adolescent Chemical Dependency Prevention & Treatment Center
Golden Ciphers

Northern Ohio Recovery Association

Recovery Resources

Shaker Heights Youth Center

University Settlement

Talbert House

Ashland County Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse
Lake Area Recovery Center

Signature Health, Inc.

Health Recovery Services

Crossroads Counseling Services

Clermont Recovery Center

Family Recovery Center

Marion/Crawford Prevention Programs

Recovery and Prevention Resources
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Bayshore Counseling Services

Firelands Counseling and Recovery Services
Giving Life a Dream (GLAD) House, Inc.

The Crossroads Center

Wyoming Youth Services Bureau

Alcohol and Drug Freedom Center of Knox County
Pathways of Central Ohio

Meridian Services

Neil Kennedy Recovery Clinic

TCN Behavioral Health Services

Madison County Department of Family & Children-Prevention
Consolidated Care

Liberty Connections

Your Human Resource Center

Sandusky County Health Department

Quest Recovery & Prevention Services

Mental Health & Recovery Center of Warren/ Clinton Counties
Gateway Outreach

Alcohol & Chemical Abuse Council of Butler County
Amethyst

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Lorain County

Big Brothers and Big Sisters (BB/BS) of Northeast Ohio
BB/BS of Butler County

BB/BS of Central Ohio

South Central Ohio BB/BS

Community for New Direction

Daybreak, Inc.

Darke County Recovery Services

Directions for Youth and Families

End Violent Encounters (EVE), Inc.

FACTS/New Alternatives

Family Service Association

Hancock County Community Partnership

Mallory Center for Community Development
Muskingum Behavioral Health

Scioto Paint Valley Mental Health Center

Summit County Community Partnership

Townhall I

Community Action for Capable Youth
Ironton/Lawrence County Family Guidance Center
Tuscarawas County Alcohol and Addiction Program
Columbus Health Department

Project Linden

Jefferson Behavioral Health System

Guernsey Health Choices

Morgan Behavioral Health Choices

Pickaway Area Recovery Council

Miami County Recovery Center

Marietta Memorial Hospital Center for Chemical Dependency

® \Wood County Educational Service Center (ESC)
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State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Shemane Marsh
E-mail: smarsh@ada.ohio.gov
Address: William Green Building, 30 W. Spring Street, 6th Floor, Columbus, OH 43215-2256
Phone: 614-466-9021
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Taskforce:
Ohio Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services
Ohio Department of Public Safety
Office of Criminal Justice Services
Ohio State Highway Patrol
Ohio Department of Youth Services
Ohio Chief of Police Associations
Drug Free Action Alliance (Statewide Prevention Agency)
Ohio Department of Commerce Division of Liquor Control
Community Coalition: Sylvania Community Action Team
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No data
URL or other means of access: No data

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underag
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
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Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: No data
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

Additional Clarification

Ohio does not allocate state dollars to underage drinking. The funds used are all federal funds from
block grants and EUDL dollars.
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Oklahoma

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 3,791,508
Population Ages 12-20: 452,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.9 108,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 154 70,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.7 7,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.4 4,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.8 31,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.9 22,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.7 70,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 28.0 44,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 68
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,092
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 23.0 24

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location

Note: In Oklahoma, persons under 21 may possess with intent to consume low-point beer
(defined as beer or malt beverages not more than 4 percent alcohol) if under the direct
supervision of their parent or guardian.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Oklahoma law contains no prohibition against underage consumption of
alcoholic beverages generally, the state does prohibit consumption of “low-point beer” (defined
as containing not more than 4 percent alcohol) by persons under 21 unless under the direct
supervision of a parent or guardian. This exception does not allow persons under 21 to consume
such beverages on premises licensed to dispense low-point beer.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

Note: In Oklahoma, persons under 21 may purchase or attempt to purchase low-point beer
(defined as beer or malt beverages not more than 4 percent alcohol) if under the direct
supervision of their parent or guardian.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to
retailer’s belief that the minor was age 21 or older.

Note: Oklahoma provides retailers a defense in criminal prosecutions for furnishing minors with
“low-point beer” (defined as all beverages containing more than 0.5 percent alcohol by volume
and not more than 4 percent alcohol by weight).
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Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00
e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 180 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 10 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger, unless accompanied by
a driver at least 21
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data
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Responsible Beverage Service
No beverage service training requirement

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 21
e Wine: 21
e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
Limitations on outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: Yes—uwithin 300 feet. College or university located within an
improvement district may override state restriction.
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet. College or university located within an
improvement district may override state restriction.
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Primary and Secondary Schools
Prohibitions against outlet siting:

e Off-premises outlets: Yes—uwithin 300 feet
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession, consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.
e Exception(s): Resident

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted

Keg Registration

o Keg definition: Not less than 4 gallons

e Prohibited:

— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $500/6 months
Purchaser information collected:

— Purchaser’s name and address

— Verified by a government-issued 1D
Warning information to purchaser: Passive—no purchaser action required
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited
e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.40 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.72 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $5.56 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 13.5 percent
e Ad valorem tax applied at retail level

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.
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Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—2 months minimum
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—2 months minimum
o Retailer credit: Not permitted
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Oklahoma State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement (ABLE) Commission
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
State and local law enforcement agencies have concurrent jurisdiction with underage drinking laws.
Many agencies coordinate activities with this agency. ABLE also contacts various law enforcement
agencies for assistance with compliance checks. Additionally, ABLE coordinates and guides
compliance checks though Too Much To Lose (2M2L) and Justice Assistance Grant (JAG).
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct No data

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
Yes

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies No data
Number pertains to the 12 months ending No data
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Vs
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 212
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 71
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
N . . . S . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies No data
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 96
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments ves
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 14
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments

e S . Yes
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed® 11

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011

None given

'Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

*Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Too Much To Lose (2M2L) (Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws
Block Grant)

Number of youth served 980
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information; Not applicable

Program description: Targeting communities throughout the State, the 2M2L project aims to decrease
underage drinking and related social problems, decrease youth access to alcohol, increase community-
level support for environmental change, and increase youth-driven prevention activities. The project’s
comprehensive plan includes enforcement training and technical assistance, community mobilization
efforts, strategic partnership development, youth leadership development through youth clubs and a
State Youth Council, interagency collaboration through two county-level law enforcement task forces,
and media advocacy.

Responsible Beverage Sales and Service (RBSS) Training

Number of youth served 0
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: Conducted in partnership with the ABLE Commission, RBSS training aims to
educate licensed alcohol retailers with the information and skills needed to prevent alcohol sales to
those under age 21 and those showing signs of intoxication.

Regional Prevention Coordinators (RPCs) (Substance Abuse Prevention
and Treatment Block Grant/State Appropriated Funds and Strategic
Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant)

Number of youth served 30,000
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 07/31/2011
Program has been evaluated No
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Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report:
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: The primary purpose of RPCs is to provide regional prevention services by
engaging community members, local organizations, public agencies, youth, and the media to change
community conditions that contribute to alcohol-, tobacco-, and drug-related problems. A major goal of
the RPCs is to prevent the onset and reduce the problems associated with the use of alcohol by those
under age 21.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities (SDFSC) (Governor’s Discretionary Grant)
URL for more program information: No data

Program description: The primary goal of the SDFSC projects is to provide community-based programs
that include school-aged youth and parents and focus on prevention of violence in and around schools,
as well as illegal use of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs within targeted communities throughout the state.
Even though SDFSC funding has officially concluded, Oklahoma schools continue to have the
opportunity to participate in the evidence-based AlcoholEdu for High School program. The state
continues to have available Social Host Law (Oklahomans Who Host Stand to Lose the Most) media
materials to promote and improve enforcement of social host liability.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The state has active collaborations with several Tribal nations,
including Cherokee Nation, Osage Tribe, Choctaw Nation, and the Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribes.
These collaborations include Tribal representatives serving as RBSS trainers, facilitators for the
statewide 2M2L Youth Leadership Academy, and members of state advisory groups. In addition,
Tribal representatives participate in 2M2L youth and adult training opportunities throughout the year.
Tribal marshals have conducted alcohol compliance checks in partnership with the state’s underage
drinking prevention projects, and at least two Tribes are working with an RPC to require mandatory
RBSS training for all casino employees.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: Oklahoma’s priority is to fund and implement evidence-based
environmental strategies for the prevention of underage drinking. A strategy is considered a best
practice if:
e Definition 1: It is included on federal lists or registries of evidence-based strategies.
e Definition 2: It is reported (with positive effects) in peer-reviewed journals.
¢ Definition 3: Documented effectiveness is supported by other sources of information and the

consensus judgment of informed experts as specified by the Oklahoma Evidence Based

Workgroup.
Additional Clarification

None given
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State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Jessica Hawkins
E-mail: jhawkins@odmhsas.org
Address: 1200 NE 13th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73152
Phone: 405-522-5952
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
e Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Law Enforcement Commission
e Oklahoma Turning Point
e Oklahoma State Department of Education
e Oklahoma Department of Mental Health & Substance Abuse Services
e Oklahoma Highway Safety Office
e Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
Oklahoma State Department of Health

e Oklahoma Commission on Children & Youth
e Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy
e University of Oklahoma
e Oklahoma State Legislature
e Youth
e Oklahoma Prevention Palicy Alliance
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes

URL or other means of access:
http://www.ok.gov/odmhsas/Prevention Programs/Initiatives/Underage Drinking_ Prevention Initiati
ves/index.ht

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended 0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended 0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended 0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended 0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended 0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No data

Estimate of state funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data
None given
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Oregon

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 3,871,859
Population Ages 12-20: 447,000

Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers

with BAC > 0.01

“ See Appendix C for data sources.

Percentage

30.5
18.8

7.2
4.1

26.0
12.6

56.4
38.2

Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities

15.0
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Number

136,000
84,000

11,000
6,000

37,000
18,000

88,000
60,000

44
2,641

Number

6
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND
e Parent/guardian

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND
e Parent/guardian

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Oregon does not prohibit internal possession, it does prohibit “personal
possession” of an alcoholic beverage. Personal possession includes the “consumption of a bottle
of such beverages, or any portion thereof or a drink of such beverages” (Or. Rev. Stat. 8
471.430). Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but which do so
without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting internal
possession, for purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers
e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards
e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false 1D and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.
e Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for
any losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00
e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—with driver education; 100 hours
without

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: For first 6 months, no unrelated passengers under age 20.
For second 6 months, no more than three unrelated passengers under age 20. Exception if
accompanied by parent or instructor.
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND
e Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e Minimum: 17
¢ Maximum: 20

Appearance Requirements
e Must look under 26 years old
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ID Possession
e Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited

Decoy Training
e Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: 2 years

First offense: $1,650 fine or 10-day suspension

Second offense: $4,950 fine or 30-day license suspension
Third offense: 30-day license suspension

Fourth offense: License revocation

Responsible Beverage Service
Mandatory Provisions

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Licensees, Managers, Servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Voluntary Provisions (advanced program)

In addition to the mandated beverage service training, licensees that participate in the voluntary
Responsible Vendor Training Program, which includes more in-depth educational requirements
and skills development, are eligible for mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for
sales to minors.

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Incentives for Training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors
e Protection against license revocation for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 18
e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws
Statutory liability exists.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.
e Exception(s): Family

Note: Oregon’s social host provision states that its prohibitions apply only to a person who is
present and in control of the location at the time underage consumption occurs.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Permitted

e Spirits: Prohibited

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine (or cider) with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21
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Note: While all deliverers/carriers must record the name, signature, and delivery address of the
person receiving the alcohol, a “for-hire” carrier must retain this information for 18 months.

If the shipper does not use a “for-hire” carrier, then the shipper must retain the information for
18 months.

Keg Registration

Keg definition: More than 7 gallons
Prohibited:

— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail: $6,250/1 year
Purchaser information collected:

— Purchaser’s name and address

— Verified by a government-issued 1D

— Address where keg will be consumed
Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

Beer: Permitted—if the licensee ships via a for-hire carrier, the carrier must have been
approved by the Commission prior to delivering malt beverages, wine, or cider to any
resident of Oregon.

Wine: Permitted—if the licensee ships via a for-hire carrier, the carrier must have been
approved by the Commission prior to delivering malt beverages, wine, or cider to any
resident of Oregon.

Spirits: No law

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.08 per gallon.
Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state
Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Drink Specials

708

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after midnight
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—14 days minimum. Licensees must make price
lists available for Commission inspection.

o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
Control state
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Oregon State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC)
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
Typically, the OLCC assists in issuing criminal citations and will work together with local law
enforcement on specialized alcohol enforcement operations (such as party patrols, controlled party
dispersals, tail-gate parties).

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
. . No data
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 7,762
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2008
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,747
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 394
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
N . . . e . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 223
Total amount in fines across all licensees $224,383
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 112
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 856
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Additional Clarification

While there were no revocations imposed on retailers, eight licensees surrendered their license rather
than pay a fine or serve a suspension for furnishing alcohol to minors.

Yes

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Minor Decoy Operations

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: Underage buyers accompanied by plainclothes law enforcement and/or liquor
control inspectors attempt to purchase alcohol at both on-premises and off-premises licensed
establishments.

Party Patrols / Controlled Party Dispersal Operations

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: Run primarily by local law enforcement with the help of community coalition
volunteers, controlled party dispersal operations attempt to disperse underage drinking parties in a
manner that lessens the potential for harm to people and property. Party Dispersal Teams are trained in
the best-practice techniques for effectively dispersing underage drinking parties, processing partygoers,
issuing citations, calling for parental pickup of underage drinkers, and locating the source of the alcohol
at the party. In addition, Party Patrol Teams have been established in a number of communities to look
for potential underage drinking parties in known party areas. When located, local law enforcement is
contacted to make them aware of the party, and the Party Dispersal Teams are contacted and engaged.
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
No Data

URL for more program information: No data
Program description: No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: Each of the nine federally recognized Tribes in Oregon are provided a
biennial allotment of funding from the Substance Abuse Prevention & Treatment (SAPT) Block
Grant. In addition, Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) funds have been provided to each of
the Tribes on a regular basis. Funding has provided the Tribes with the ability to fund many
culturally specific Tribal best practices, as well as to provide public information about underage
drinking prevention.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: Oregon law requires that specified agencies fund evidence-
based practices with no less than 75 percent of the funding they receive. Additional details can be
found at http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/182.525. The Oregon Health Authority has developed a
process for approval of evidence-based practices and programs and has a website to allow easy

access to information about them: http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/mentalhealth/ebp/main.shtml

None given

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Jeff Ruscoe
E-mail: jeff.ruscoe@state.or.us
Address: Oregon Health Authority, Addictions & Mental Health Division,
500 Summer St. NE, E-86, Salem, OR 97301-1118
Phone: 503-945-5901
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Oregon Health Authority - Addictions & Mental Health
Oregon Liquor Control Commission
Association of Oregon Community Mental Health Programs
Oregon Legislature (Senate)
Oregon Commission on Children & Families
Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde
The Next Door, Inc.
Coalition of Advocates for Equal Access for Girls
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable
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Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable
Additional Clarification

None given

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Data not available
Data not available

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Data not available
Data not available

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: No data
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Not applicable
Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

None given

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

Additional Clarification
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Pennsylvania

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 12,742,886
Population Ages 12-20: 1,542,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.7 442,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.7 288,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 55 26,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.1 10,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.9 124,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.2 76,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 51.1 292,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 355 203,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 193
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 11,509
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 26.0 58

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e ltis acriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e |tis acriminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00
e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory
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Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 90 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 16

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 65 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16 years, 6 months
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 11 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: First 6 months, no more than one passenger under age 18 not in
the immediate family. After 6 months, no more than three unrelated passengers under 18
unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e Minimum: 18
¢ Maximum: 20.5

Appearance Requirements
e Age-appropriate dress and appearance

ID Possession
e Discretionary

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Permitted

Decoy Training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: 4 years

First offense: $1,000-$5,000 fine and/or license suspension/revocation
Second offense: $1,000-$5,000 fine and/or license suspension/revocation
Third offense: License suspension or revocation
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Note: If licensee has participated in responsible alcohol management program and has not sold
to minors in previous 4 years, penalty can be $50-$1,000 fine and/or license
suspension/revocation.

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Incentive for Training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 18
e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 18

Note: In Pennsylvania, a minor 17 years of age who is a high school graduate or is declared to
have attained his or her academic potential by the chief administrator of his or her school district
is deemed to be a minor 18 years of age for purposes of the laws relating to the employment of
minors by retail licensees.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Note: In Pennsylvania, a minor 17 years of age who is a high school graduate or who is declared
to have attained his or her academic potential by the chief administrator of his or her school
district is deemed to be a minor 18 years of age for purposes of the laws relating to the
employment of minors by retail licensees.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.
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Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Note: Limited wineries (wineries with a maximum output of 200,000 gallons per year that use
fruit or agricultural commaodities grown in the state) may ship wine to retail customers via a
transporter-for-hire or in a vehicle properly registered with the Board.

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: No law
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Tax

o Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.08 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited—Iimited to 4 consecutive hours per
day and no more than 14 hours per week. Discounts may not be offered after 12 midnight.
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Note: Although current law suggests there is a 120-day hold on reducing prices posted by the
wholesaler for distribution of beer, that rule is no longer legal or being enforced as a result of an
order on January 15, 1999, by Judge Richard Caputo of the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Pennsylvania. The order granted a permanent injunction prohibiting the
enforcement of several sections of the Liquor Code, including 47 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 4-447.
Therefore, the requirement that wholesale prices be reported and if reduced, remain at that level
for at least 120 days, is no longer legal or enforced, and prices of malt beverages can be reduced
and then raised at any time. See Legal Advisory No. 11.
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt?open=514&0bjlD=611927 &mode=2
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Pennsylvania State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Pennsylvania State Police Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement (BLCE)
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
The Pennsylvania State Police BLCE continues to provide a variety of alcohol-related trainings
throughout the state to other enforcement and prevention agencies. The Bureau presents itself as a

resource to assist them in enforcement and prosecution.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
Enforcement Statistics

Not applicable

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 13,355
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Vs

Data are collected on these activities Yes

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 788

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 214

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to NoO
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors

Data are collected on these activities No

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes

Number of fines imposed by the state® 217

Total amount in fines across all licensees $318,050

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments ves
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 30

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 116

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
None given

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking

Choices
Number of youth served 6,245
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 2,984
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: This educational program is provided by liguor enforcement officers who discuss
liquor laws, and the consequences for violations of these laws, with youth. This program is designed to
be factual and motivational to help youth make informed decisions when presented with peer pressures.
Choices provided 80 presentations in 2010.

College Enforcement and Awareness Initiative

Number of youth served 4,783
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 812
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: This educational program is designed to educate college students at the
beginning of the school year about laws regarding alcohol and to warn them that the Pennsylvania State
Police Bureau of Liquor Control Enforcement will be enforcing the laws on their campuses. The College
Enforcement and Awareness Initiative provided 43 presentations in 2010.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
None
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: Not applicable
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking

Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking No

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: Not applicable
Additional Clarification

None given

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Unknown
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
No data
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
No data
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No data
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board, Act 85 biennial report to the legislature
Plan can be accessed via:
http://www.lcb.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/pennsylvania liguor control board/17476

Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $39,686

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $88,302

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $1,461

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $579

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $441

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No data

Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

Additional Clarification

The expenditures for educational programs provided for communities, K-12 grade levels, and
institutions of higher learning all use the average salary of $27.56 per hour, and use an average of 1
hour per presentation.

CHOICES has made a total of 53 presentations, including 12 presentations to grades kindergarten
through 12, and 16 presentations to colleges and universities.

The number of Age Compliance Details was 120; each detail used an average salary of $27.56, with an
average of three personnel and an average of 4 hours per detail.

The number of checkpoints and saturation patrols was 267; each detail used an average salary of
$27.56, with an average of three personnel and average of 4 hours per detail.
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Rhode Island

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 1,051,302
Population Ages 12-20: 129,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 333 43,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 21.3 27,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.8 2,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.4 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.3 11,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.7 6,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 61.3 30,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 42.7 21,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 11
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 681
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 27.0 2

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e ltis acriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e |tis acriminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false 1Ds
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
o BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory
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Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 30days

Note: A mandatory minimum 60-day driver’s license suspension penalty applies to
underage possession.

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 16

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage

e Minimum age: 16 years, 6 months

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 1a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger under 21
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17 years, 6 months
Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service
Mandatory Provisions

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers
e Applies only to on-sale establishments
e Applies only to existing outlets

Voluntary Provisions

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.
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Incentive for Training
e Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 18

e Wine: 18

e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
e No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools

Prohibitions against outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: Yes—uwithin 200 feet
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Note: There are numerous exceptions for specific locations within cities and towns.

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Note: R.I. Gen. Laws § 3-14-12 includes a responsible beverage service defense.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.
e Exception(s): Family
Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.
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Keg Registration

o Keg definition: Undefined
e Prohibited:
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $500
e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
e Warning information to purchaser: Passive—no purchaser action required
e Deposit: Not required
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Note: No particular volume or range of volumes is specified for kegs in Rhode Island.
Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted
e Wine Permitted
e Spirits: Permitted

Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.10 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.60 per gallon.
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $3.75 per gallon.

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
No pricing restrictions
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Rhode Island State Survey Responses

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Rhode Island Department of Behavioral Healthcare, Developmental Disabilities and Hospitals
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:

Statewide Advisory Committee using Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) funding
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Unknown

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

. . No data
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No
Number of minors found in possession® by state law enforcement agencies Data not collected
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Data not collected
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if NoO
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 325
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 39
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No
Number of fines imposed by the state® Data not collected
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

e L - No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* Data not collected
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments NoO
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
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Additional Clarification

None given

'Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

*Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws in Rhode Island

Number of youth served 700
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: This program is the result of the EUDL formula grant from the Office of Juvenile
Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP). The program consists of an advisory council and
subcommittees, a youth committee/advisory council, law enforcement training and funding, technical
assistance, and promising programs.

Rhode Island Substance Abuse Prevention Act

Number of youth served 400
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: The state funds 35 municipal task forces that have collaborated on the
development of a common-logic model addressing underage drinking as a priority across communities.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Student Assistance Program
URL for more program information: http://www.risas.org

Program description: Student assistance programs operate in 20 high schools and 22 middle schools in
various communities within the state. Student assistance counselors provide consultation to school staff
on a variety of issues including underage drinking and provide assessment and early intervention
services for students.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking
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State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: All prevention programs funded by the Single State Agency
(SSA), regardless of funding source, are required to implement evidence-based programs, practices,

and policies.
Additional Clarification

None given

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or No
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Not applicable
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Not applicable
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Rhode Island Department of Behavioral Healthcare, Developmental Disabilities and
Hospitals
Plan can be accessed via: Not yet available online. A copy is available upon request.

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes

Prepared by: Paul Florin, Evaluator
Plan can be accessed via: Not yet available online. A copy is available upon request.
Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $930,500

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
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Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
Estimate of state funds expended $0
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: Community based processes, community coalitions, information
dissemination
Estimate of state funds expended $232,620
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

Additional Clarification

The state uses federal dollars to support alcohol compliance surveys and activities. These activities are
carried out by local law enforcement agencies funded with federal dollars.
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South Carolina

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 4,679,230
Population Ages 12-20: 541,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.7 117,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.2 71,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.0 9,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.0 2,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.1 32,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 9.1 000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 41.0 76,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 28.7 53,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 85
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 5,083
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 37.0 46

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian’s home

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian’s home

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to
retailer’s belief that the minor was age 21 or older.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 120 days
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Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 15 years, 6 months
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 6 p.m.—may drive unsupervised only during daylight hours; nighttime is
defined as starting at 6 p.m. EST or 8 p.m. EDT
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than two passengers under 21 unless supervised by
driver at least 21 years old (unless transporting students to school)
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
Private residence AND EITHER

Parent/guardian OR

Spouse

There is an affirmative defense if the minor is not charged.

Note: South Carolina’s parent/guardian and spouse exceptions apply when the alcohol is
furnished in the home of the spouse or in the home of the parent or guardian.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service
No beverage service training requirement

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: Not specified

e Wine: Not specified

e Spirits: 21

Note: Although no minimum age is specified to sell beer and wine at off-sale establishments

licensed to sell beer and wine, an employee of a retail liquor establishment must be at least 21
years old.
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
Prohibitions against outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet if school is within a municipality; within
500 feet if school is outside of a municipality.
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet if school is within a municipality; within
500 feet if school is outside of a municipality.
e Alcohol products: Beer, wing, spirits

Dram Shop Liability

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession consumption.
e Property types covered by liability law: Other.
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Overt act—host must have
actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements: None

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements: None
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Shipping Label Statement Requirements:
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

e Keg definition: 5.16 gallons or more
e Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail: $500/30 days
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $500/30 days
Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Nolaw
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.77 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
o Specific excise tax: $1.08 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $2.96 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 5 percent

Base tax rate is $2.72 per gallon plus a 9 percent surtax applied to the base rate. Ad valorem tax
applied at retail level.

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted before 4 p.m. or after
8 p.m.

Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Not permitted
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South Carolina State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
State Law Enforcement Division (SLED)
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
The bulk of local enforcement efforts aimed at proactively reducing underage drinking are through
the South Carolina Alcohol Enforcement Teams (AETS), a network of local law enforcement,
prevention professionals and community partners organized at the judicial circuit level that is funded
and coordinated by the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services
(DAODAS). There are 16 circuits in the state, in some of which the SLED vice officers assigned to
that area work closely with the AET coordinator and participate in some operations. At the state
level, SLED stays up to date with AET activities through its participation in the state Underage
Drinking Action Group (UDAG), an advisory body to the AET efforts. In addition, DAODAS and
SLED staff communicate regularly to discuss state underage drinking enforcement efforts.
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

. . SLED
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 2,726
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations” to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 2,094
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 330
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
2= . . ; o7 . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 6,108
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 754
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 62
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 739



State Reports — South Carolina

740

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 2
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 55
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments ves
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations impos:ed5 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Additional Clarification
None given

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

*Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
South Carolina Alcohol Enforcement Teams (AETs)—Enforcement Efforts

Number of youth served 435,378
Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://chweb.pire.org/scdocuments
URL for more program information: http://www.outoftheirhands.com

Program description: South Carolina has a statewide network of local law enforcement and prevention
agency partnerships called the Alcohol Enforcement Teams. Each of 16 judicial circuits has an AET
that conducts best-practice law enforcement operations while offering prevention activities and raising
community awareness. Typical enforcement strategies include compliance checks, public safety
checkpoints, and controlled party dispersals. The program is separated into two parts (enforcement and
education) in this report to distinguish the numbers served by enforcement efforts and education efforts.
Given the population-level impact of the strategies conducted by AETs (with no individual being directly
“served”), the state considers the affected population to be almost the entire population of 14- to 20-
year-olds in South Carolina.

South Carolina Alcohol Enforcement Teams (AETs)—Education Efforts

Number of youth served 5,584
Number of parents served 1,822
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.outoftheirhands.com

Program description: Typical education efforts include community presentations on underage drinking
and youth alcohol trends, casual contacts with young people that educate them about ongoing
enforcement, visits with alcohol retailers to discuss policy enhancements and ongoing enforcement, and
media engagement. The numbers served primarily relate to those reached through speaking
engagements. The number listed for “parents served” is actually the number of all adults served. The
way the state tracks service data does not allow for identification of which adults are parents.
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Project Northland

Number of youth served 631

Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://chweb.pire.org/scdocuments
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: In FY2011, two local providers implemented Project Northland, an evidence-
based curriculum focused on underage drinking for middle school students, through state prevention
funding.

Class Action

Number of youth served 58

Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://chweb.pire.org/scdocuments
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: In FY2011, one local provider implemented Class Action, an evidence-based
curriculum focused on underage drinking for 9th-grade students, through state prevention funding.

Palmetto Initiative for Campus (PICCC)/Community Collaborations

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: PICCC (pronounced “Pisces”) is an OJJDP-funded discretionary grant awarded to
South Carolina to address underage and high-risk drinking on college campuses through a
comprehensive approach that includes considerable involvement from the community sector. DAODAS
gave minigrants to Clemson University, the University of South Carolina, Furman University, and the
College of Charleston to implement a comprehensive series of work plans that include retail and social
access, coalition building, impaired driving prevention, and policy. Project activities include providing an
annual college alcohol issues conference. Given the nature of the multiple population- and systems-
oriented approaches used by the colleges, the state cannot accurately estimate the number of people
served or influenced.

Alcohol Education Program (AEP)

Number of youth served 1,420
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable
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Program description: AEP is a diversionary program for youth charged with an alcohol-related offense.
State law requires all 16 solicitors to operate an AEP, although each can determine what fines and
programs make up the process. (The solicitors are equivalent to county district attorneys, but instead of
serving one county, these elected officials serve multiple counties in the 16 judicial districts throughout
the state. Some of the judicial circuits include two counties, and one of the circuits has up to five
counties. The solicitor serves the counties covered by the judicial circuit they are elected to serve.) In
most areas, the DAODAS local provider is contracted to deliver an 8-hour alcohol education program.
Data are available only for youth who go through that system.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Palmetto Retailer Education Program (PREP)
URL for more program information: http://www.prepmerchanted.com

Program description: PREP is a merchant education program designed and offered in South Carolina
for those who sell alcohol or tobacco products. PREP is almost exclusively offered by local alcohol and
drug service providers. DAODAS supports the program by purchasing most of the local materials,
making content updates, maintaining the website, maintaining a database of participants and trainers,
and sending out certification cards to those who pass the post-test. The program is 2.5 to 3 hours, with
an additional section for on-premises alcohol retailers.

Drug Prevention Curricula Programs
URL for more program information: http://chweb.pire.org/scdocuments

Program description: Most local alcohol and drug service providers deliver some sort of drug prevention
curriculum in schools in their area. The vast majority of these programs are not alcohol specific (as is
Project Northland), but almost all of them are general drug prevention curricula that address underage
drinking in some way. In total, through DAODAS funding to local providers, 7,572 students were served
in these prevention curricula programs.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
DAODAS relies heavily on trusted research on underage drinking prevention, most notably the
materials produced by the Underage Drinking Enforcement Training Center. In particular, “Strategies
to Reduce Underage Alcohol Use: Typology and Brief Overview” gives an effectiveness rating for a
wide range of approaches that are kept in mind when the state implements or funds efforts.
Additional Clarification

Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) funding serves as a foundation to the state’s efforts in
reducing underage drinking in South Carolina. South Carolina allocates most of the EUDL block grant
to 16 AETSs in each judicial circuit. The EUDL funds are added to state dollars, if available, to support
the AETS’ operations. The state’s goals for its EUDL funding are as follows:

e Goal #1: Strengthen local efforts to enforce underage drinking laws and raise awareness of the
dangers of underage drinking.

e Goal #2: Prevent and reduce, through enhanced law enforcement efforts, youth access to alcohol
and the availability of alcohol to underage youth.

e Goal #3: Build capacity among local law enforcement, alcohol merchants, and other key stakeholders
to prevent and reduce underage drinking.
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The Alcohol Enforcement Team model, which includes community coalition maintenance and
development, merchant education, and law enforcement partnership, specifies a multi- or single
jurisdictional alcohol law enforcement approach (depending on the needs and participation of law
enforcement within the target area) in a community to:

e Reduce youth access to alcohol utilizing various strategies (both social and retail access).
e Measure, track, and improve merchant compliance with alcohol laws.
e Provide research-based merchant education.

e Build community support for enforcement of underage drinking laws through media advocacy and
community coalition maintenance and development.

e Develop local law enforcement support for underage drinking prevention and enforcement efforts.

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Steven Burritt
E-mail: sburritt@pire.org
Address: PO Box 8268, Columbia, SC 29202
Phone: 803-896-1185
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
South Carolina Department of Public Safety
South Carolina Department of Revenue
Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation
South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services
South Carolina Department of Education
State Law Enforcement Division
South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Association
South Carolina Department of Transportation
University of South Carolina
Clemson University
Circle Park Prevention Center
The Phoenix Center
Lexington-Richland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Council, Inc. (LRADAC)
Concerned citizens
Behavioral Health Services Association
The Kennedy Center
Greenville County Sheriff’'s Office
Medical University of South Carolina
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable
Underage Drinking Reports
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services
Plan can be accessed via: Contact DAODAS prevention staff for access to the state’s Strategic
Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) strategic plan
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation on behalf of the SC Department of
Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse
Plan can be accessed via: http://chweb.pire.org/scdocuments (The state outcome report for
FY2011 encompasses a range of prevention activities; Chapter 5 has a strong focus on underage
drinking prevention activities, namely the South Carolina Alcohol Enforcement Teams.)
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Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Data not available
06/30/2011

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data not available
Data not available

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included:
Estimate of state funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

No data
Not applicable
Not applicable

streams:
Taxes
Fines
Fees
Other

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

Yes
Yes
No data
No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

Taxes: Some money from the state alcohol tax goes toward funding the alcohol and drug system,
which includes prevention. Fines: Some portion of any administrative violations on alcohol license
holders is directed to SLED to conduct statewide alcohol enforcement, which includes operations
aimed at reducing underage drinking. Fees: The state cannot say for certain if there are any fees
collected that are used directly or indirectly for underage drinking prevention.

Additional Clarification

The vast majority of prevention funds, including prevention specific to underage drinking, are federal
funds, most notably EUDL funds and the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant.
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South Dakota

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 824,082
Population Ages 12-20: 99,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.4 30,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 21.1 21,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.0 2,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.0 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.6 8,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.6 000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 57.8 20,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 42.1 15,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 15
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 914
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 18.0 4

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for
law enforcement purposes

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

e Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with
the purchase of alcohol.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

746 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — South Dakota

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e Minimum: 30 days
e Maximum: 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 14

e Minimum learner-stage period: 3 months with driver education; 6 months without
e There is no minimum supervised driving requirement

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 14 years, 3 months
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 10 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
o No passenger restrictions

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Incentive for Training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: Not specified
e Wine: 21
e Spirits: 21
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities

Limitations on outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: Yes—no license on campus
e On-premises outlets: Yes—no license on campus
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Primary and Secondary Schools
No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability
There is no statutory liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Note: Exception: a farm winery (any winery producing wines with a majority of the ingredients
grown or produced in South Dakota) may ship no more than 12 cases of wine per person per
calendar directly to a resident of another state, if the state to which the wine is sent allows
residents of the state to receive wine sent from outside that state.

Keg Registration

Keg definition: 8.00 or 16.00
Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
Warning information to purchaser: Not required
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Note: A “keg” is defined as an 8- or 16-gallon reusable plastic or metal container.
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Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited
e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.27 per gallon

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

Specific excise tax: $0.93 per gallon

Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 2 percent
Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales): 2 percent
Ad valorem tax applied at wholesale level

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)

Specific excise tax: $3.93 per gallon

Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 2 percent
Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales): 2 percent
Ad valorem tax applied at wholesale level

Drink Specials
No law

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post

o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post—10 days minimum hold only if price amended to match
a competitor’s post down
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post—10 days minimum hold only if price amended to match a
competitor’s post down
o Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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South Dakota State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Department of Revenue (DOR)

Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws

prohibiting underage drinking:
DOR asks local law enforcement agencies to conduct compliance checks and then forward the
results to DOR. Compliance checks are not required to be completed, and law enforcement
agencies are not required to submit the data to DOR. Based on the reports DOR receives, it takes
appropriate action (i.e., suspensions, fines). Local law enforcement would pursue any criminal
action against the individual if they so choose.

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession® by state law enforcement agencies 5,894
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations” to determine if NoO

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 890
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 135
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010

Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes

Number of fines imposed by the state® 123

Total amount in fines across all licensees $141,550

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments ves
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 12

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 95

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments

e L . Yes
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed5 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010

Additional Clarification

None given

'Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking

Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG)
Number of youth served (from 6-1-10 through 5-30-11, the state was in the 0
Assessment and Planning stages of SPF SIG and no implementation of
services had begun)

Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/31/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.sdspfsig.wikispaces.com

Program description: South Dakota's SPF SIG is designed to expand and enhance the sophistication of
South Dakota’s infrastructure to more effectively:

e Prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse.

e Reduce substance abuse—related consequences.

e Decrease risk factors and increase protective factors within communities.

e Build prevention capacity and infrastructure at the state and community levels.

South Dakota identified underage drinking as one of two targets.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking

Enforcing the Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL)
URL for more program information:
http://dss.sd.gov/behavioralhealthservices/community/diversionprograms.asp

Program description: The Department of Social Services — Prevention Program receives EUDL funding
from our Office of Highway Safety for the purpose of providing an alcohol diversion program. The
curriculum used for the program is Prime for Life (http://www.primeforlife.org/homepage.cfm?CFID=
663556& CFTOKEN=82350299).

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The state seeks collaborative efforts from every sector in the state,
including Tribal communities. The state presently funds three coalitions serving reservations in the
state and funds four additional programs that provide prevention services to Native Americans as
one of their target populations.
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State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs

Best practice standards description:

® |Inclusion in a federal list or registry of evidenced based interventions; or

e Being reported (with positive effects on the primary targeted outcome) in a peer-reviewed journal; or

e Documented effectiveness supported by other sources of information and the consensus judgment of
informed experts based on the following guidelines:

The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic or conceptual

model,

The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in registries

and/or the peer-reviewed literature;

The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively implemented in the

past, and multiple times, in a manner attentive to scientific standards of evidence and with

results that show a consistent pattern of credible and positive effects; and

The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed prevention experts

that includes: well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in evaluating

prevention interventions similar to those under review, local prevention practitioners, and key

community leaders as appropriate (e.g., officials from law enforcement and education sectors or

elders within indigenous cultures).
Additional Clarification

None given
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: SPF SIG Advisory Council. Project Director — Shawnie Rechtenbaugh
E-mail: shawnie.rechtenbaugh@state.sd.us
Address: No data
Phone: 605-773-3123
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Department of Health
Department of Social Services
John T. Vucurevich Foundation
Attorney at Law
National Guard
Human Service Agency
Volunteers of America
Veterans Affairs
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: sdspfsig.wikispaces.com/5.+Advisory+Council

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Department of Social Services — Prevention Program
Plan can be accessed via: sdspfsig.wikispaces.com

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable
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Additional Clarification
Once the SPF SIG grant ends in 2014, the state will publish a report on underage drinking prevention.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $29,654

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $13,635

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 05/31/2011

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: None
Estimate of state funds expended No data
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

Additional Clarification

There is no state funding for prevention. The state uses federal funds for all prevention programming.
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Tennessee

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 6,403,353
Population Ages 12-20: 757,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 194 147,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.0 99,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.8 9,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.4 6,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 15.7 40,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.0 25,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 37.3 98,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 25.8 68,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 113
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 6,727
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 18.0 28

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers ages 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

BAC limit: 0.02

BAC level above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
Applies to drivers age 16 or above

Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase

e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 365 days
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Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night
Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 11 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger, unless accompanied by
a driver over 21
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e  Minimum: 18
¢ Maximum: 20

Note: Minors under 18 allowed only in extreme circumstances.

Appearance Requirements
e Youthful appearance
e Male: No facial hair

ID Possession
e Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited

Decoy Training
e Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

e Time period/conditions: 1 year
e First offense: $300-$1,500 fine
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Responsible Beverage Service
Mandatory Provisions

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers
e Applies only to on-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Voluntary Provisions

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e Applies only to off-sale establishments
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentives for Training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors
e Protection against license revocation for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 18
e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Fact finder must determine that retailer knew
customer was a minor beyond a reasonable doubt.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Note: Biscan v. Brown held that a property owner who does not furnish the alcohol may be held
liable to third parties under common law if he/she knowingly allows minors to consume alcohol
on his/her property and it is foreseeable that minors may then operate motor vehicles. In that
case, the court held that the person who actually furnished the alcohol to the minor was shielded
from liability under Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-10-101.
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Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.

Note: Social host liability in Tennessee is limited to an owner, occupant, or other person having
a lawful right to the exclusive use and enjoyment of property to knowingly allow an “underage
adult” to consume alcoholic beverages, wine, or beer on the property. An “underage adult” is
defined as a person who is at least 18 years old but less than 21 years old.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following
restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited
e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

Specific excise tax: $0.14 per gallon

Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 17 percent
Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales): 17 percent
Ad valorem tax applied at the wholesale level.
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Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $1.21 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 15 percent
e Ad valorem applied at retail level.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $4.40 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 15 percent
e Ad valorem applied at retail level.

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Prohibited—not permitted after 10 p.m.

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after 10 p.m.
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited—not permitted after 10 p.m.

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.
Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—360 days minimum
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—210 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—210 days maximum
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Tennessee State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
State officials approach the local judiciary in certain counties to obtain permission to have underage
buyers pose as customers in stores that sell alcohol. The “customer” is accompanied by law
enforcement, who takes notes on how well the establishment responds. If the customer is able to

purchase alcohol, the establishment is given a consequence.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Tennessee Bureau of
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Investigation
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 113
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 474
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 113
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
N . . . N . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies No data
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 113
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 113
Total amount in fines across all licensees $171,000
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2012

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

e - . No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* Data not collected
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
None given

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
No such programs
Program description: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Tennessee Prevention Network

URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: The Tennessee Prevention Network is a statewide prevention program directed at
providing primary prevention services to individuals who have not been determined to require treatment
for substance abuse. The Network’s services fall into two categories:

1. Selective prevention services, which include programs and practices delivered to subgroups of
individuals identified based on their membership in a group that has an elevated risk for developing
substance abuse problems. An individual’s personal risk is not specifically assessed or identified,
and it is based solely on a presumption given his or her membership in the at-risk subgroup.

2. Indicated prevention services, which include programs that focus on populations that are identified
based on individual risk factors or initiation behaviors that put an individual at high risk for developing
substance abuse problems. The individuals targeted at this stage, although showing signs of early
substance use, have not yet reached the point where a clinical diagnosis of substance abuse can

be made.
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No recognized
of underage drinking Tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and Yes
marketing

Program description: The state funds 35 coalitions using Partnership for Success
and Block Grant funds. These coalitions use environmental strategies intended to
reduce or counter alcohol advertising/marketing.
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Best practice standards description: The state’s Evidence-Based Practice Workgroup has established
standards for evidence-based best practices, which must meet at least one of the following criteria:

1. Inclusion in federal registries of evidence-based interventions.

2. Reported (with positive effects on the primary targeted outcome) in peer-reviewed journals.

3. Documented effectiveness supported by other information sources and the consensus of informed
experts as described in the following set of guidelines, all of which must be met:
— Guideline 1: The intervention is demonstrated to be similar in theory of change, general
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principles of effective prevention, or content and structure to interventions that appear in
registries, federal agency publications, and/or peer-reviewed literature.

— Guideline 2: The intervention is supported by documentation of effective implementation in the
past, including at least one replication, in a manner attentive to scientific standards of evidence
and with results that show a consistent pattern of credible and positive effects.

— Guideline 3: The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by six or more informed
prevention experts, including well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in
evaluating prevention interventions similar to those under review; local prevention practitioners;
and/or key community leaders as appropriate, such as officials from law enforcement and
education sectors or elders in indigenous cultures.

Additional Clarification

None given
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Angela McKinney-Jones, State of Tennessee Director of Prevention
E-mail: angela.mckinneyjones@tn.gov
Address: 710 James Robertson Pkwy, 10th Floor, Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-532-7786
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Frontier Health
Washington County Anti-Drug Coalition
Metropolitan Drug Commission
Schools Together Allowing No Drugs Coalition
Volunteer Behavioral Healthcare Services
Tennessee Community Services Agency
Hamilton County Coalition
Council for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services
Oasis Center
Nashville Prevention Partnership
Centerstone of Tennessee
Nurses for Newborns of Tennessee
Coffee County Anti-Drug Coalition
Franklin County Prevention Coalition
Weakley County Alliance for a Safe and Drug-Free Tennessee
Jackson Area Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependency
Professional Care Services of West Tennessee
Memphis City Schools Mental Health Center
Comprehensive Counseling Network
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Tennessee Department of Mental Health, Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Services
Plan can be accessed via: No data

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Tennessee Department of Mental Health, Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Services

Plan can be accessed via: No data

762 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — Tennessee

Additional Clarification

The Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws program is a block grant that encourages states to address the
problem of alcohol consumption by minors. The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
suggests that states form collaborations with public and private agencies to implement evidence-based
community projects and strategies that will prevent underage drinking and create a safe environment.

Activities Funded:

e Statewide task forces of state and local law enforcement and prosecutorial agencies to
target establishments suspected of a pattern of violations of state laws governing the sale and
consumption of alcohol by minors.

e Innovative programs to prevent and combat underage drinking.

e Public advertising campaigns that can demonstrate data reducing underage drinking.

e FEducation, training, and other activities.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $76,940

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $47,018

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $184,655

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $1,503,612

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $296,006

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: 34 community antidrug and alcohol abuse coalitions offer prevention-
based universal strategies throughout Tennessee using $2,931,799 in funds. Agencies offer selective

and/or indicated prevention strategies for alcohol and drug abuse prevention, for a total of $2,736,439.

Estimate of state funds expended: $5,668,238
Estimate based on the 12 months ending: 06/30/2012

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other: No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data
None given
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Texas

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 25,674,681
Population Ages 12-20: 3,273,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.0 818,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.6 544,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.0 53,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 25 26,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.4 222,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.3 134,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.5 543,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 34.3 384,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 409
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 24,700
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 32.0 159

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: In Texas, a minor may possess an alcoholic beverage if the minor is in the visible
presence of his or her adult parent, guardian, or spouse.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: In Texas, a minor may consume an alcoholic beverage if the minor is in the visible
presence of his or her adult parent, guardian or spouse.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00
e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 30days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 20 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage

e Minimum age: 16

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger under 21
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: In Texas, a person may purchase an alcoholic beverage for or give an alcoholic beverage
to a minor if that person is the minor’s adult parent, guardian, or spouse, or is an adult in whose
custody the minor has been committed by a court, and is visibly present when the minor
possesses or consumes the alcoholic beverage.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e Minimum: Not specified
e Maximum: 18

Appearance Requirements

e Youthful appearance

e Aittire typical for teenagers in target area
e Male: No facial hair
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ID Possession
e Discretionary

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited

Decoy Training
e Mandated—orientation meeting required

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: 3 years

First offense: 8- to 12-day suspension or $300 per suspension day

Second offense: 16- to 24-day suspension or $300 per suspension day

Third offense: 48-day suspension or license revocation/$300 per suspension day

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for Training
e Protection against license revocation for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 16
e Wine: 16
e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on who may sue: Retailers may be held liable if they are 21 or over and furnish
alcohol to a minor under age 18.
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Knowledge of underage status.

Note: Any retailer may be held liable for furnishing alcohol to individuals 18 or older who are
obviously intoxicated to the extent that they present a clear danger to themselves or others at the
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time of furnishing. There is no common law liability when an underage person is 18 or over.

It is unclear whether there is common law liability when a drinker is under 18. Licensees (but
not their employees) are shielded from liability if the licensee requires all employees to attend
responsible beverage service training; the employee who furnished the minor attended the
training; and the licensee did not directly or indirectly encourage the employee to violate the law.

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on who may be sued: Social hosts may be held liable if they are 21 or over and
furnish alcohol to a minor under 18.
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Knowledge of underage status.

Note: There is no common law liability when an underage person is 18 or over. It is unclear
whether there is common law liability when a drinker is under 18.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—package store permittees must have a cartage permit. Vehicles used to
transport alcoholic beverages must be clearly marked.

e Wine: Permitted—package store permittees must have a cartage permit. Vehicles used to
transport alcoholic beverages must be clearly marked.
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e Spirits: Permitted—package store permittees must have a cartage permit. Vehicles used to
transport alcoholic beverages must be clearly marked.

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
o Specific excise tax: $0.20 per gallon—3$0.19 per gallon for alcohol content of 5 percent
or less

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
o Specific excise tax: $0.20 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $2.40 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 14 percent

General sales tax rate of 6.25 percent does not apply to onsite retail tax applicable to gross
receipts of a mixed beverage permittee. The onsite ad valorem retail tax on a mixed beverage
permittee is 14 percent. The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore
7.75 percent.

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis.
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after 11 p.m.
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—25 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Restricted—25 days maximum
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Texas State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC)

Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws

prohibiting underage drinking:
Local law enforcement agencies collaborate with each other and their local TABC office as needed
to address underage drinking concerns or issues. TABC is available to provide technical assistance
as well as training on underage drinking enforcement operations, including partnering with local law
enforcement to conduct underage drinking enforcement operations. TABC is also available to
provide educational presentations and awareness on Texas zero tolerance laws and other laws
related to Alcoholic Beverage Code such as social hosting or the consequences of providing
alcoholic beverages to minors.

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No data
Enforcement Statistics

TABC

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 1,915
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations” to determine if Yes

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 8,021
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 906
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 1,111
Total amount in fines across all licensees $917,600
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments

e - . Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 177
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 1,587
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments ves

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations impos:ed5 11

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Additional Clarification

TABC agents typically participate or provide technical assistance to local law enforcement agencies that
receive an Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) contract to conduct compliance check operations,
also known as minor stings. These numbers would be reflected in TABC'’s data. An exact number for
local law enforcement agencies conducting minor stings cannot be provided, so data are specific only to
TABC. TABC does not keep a database or record of other local law enforcement agencies that conduct
minor stings. Typically, the local agencies forward only the locations that were not compliant to their
local TABC office for further investigation or administrative action. Texas does not have a statewide
database related to requested violations in the survey concerning local law enforcement activities

or results.

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking

Community Coalition Partnerships—Communities Mobilizing for Change
on Alcohol (CMCA)

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report:

http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/SearchResultsNew.aspx?s=b&g=Communities Mobilizing for Change

URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/SearchResultsNew.aspx?s=b&g=Communities Mobilizing for Change |

Program description: The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) funds community
coalition partnerships to use CMCA'’s evidence-based curriculum for implementing strategies focused on
underage drinking. CMCA is a community-organizing program designed to reduce teenagers’ (ages 13
to 20) access to alcohol by changing community policies and practices. CMCA seeks both to limit
youths’ access to alcohol and to communicate a clear message to the community that underage drinking
is inappropriate and unacceptable.

Community Coalition Partnerships—Community Trials Intervention To
Reduce High-Risk Drinking

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
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Evaluation report is available: Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://mww.nrepp.samhsa.gov/SearchResultsNew.aspx?s=b&g=Community Trials
URL for more program information:
http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/SearchResultsNew.aspx?s=b&q=Community Trials

Program description: DSHS funds community coalition partnerships to use the Community Trials

Intervention To Reduce High-Risk Drinking evidence-based curriculum for implementing strategies

focused on underage drinking. The Intervention is a multicomponent community-based program

developed to alter the alcohol use patterns and related problems of people of all ages. The program

incorporates a set of environmental interventions that assist communities in:

1. Using zoning and municipal regulations to restrict alcohol access via alcohol outlet density control.

2. Enhancing responsible beverage service by training, testing, and assisting beverage servers and
retailers in the development of policies and procedures to reduce intoxication and driving after
drinking.

3. Increasing law enforcement and sobriety checkpoints to raise actual and perceived risk of arrest for
driving after drinking.

4. Reducing youth access to alcohol by training alcohol retailers to avoid selling to minors and those
who provide alcohol to minors.

5. Forming the coalitions needed to implement and support the interventions that address each of these
prevention components.

Consequences of Underage Drinking—The Ultimate Reality

Number of youth served 12,000
Number of parents served 8,000
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: This program informs adults about the consequences of alcohol use under age
21. It lets them know where the alcohol is processed in the body, what it affects in the body, why the
legal minimum age to drink is 21, the stages of alcohol poisoning, the drug classification of alcohol as
a central nervous system depressant, how the body sobers up, myths about getting sober, the
consequences of women becoming intoxicated, the consequences of men becoming intoxicated, and
the laws and associated charges related to:

e Driving while intoxicated to the first, second, and third degrees.

Intoxication manslaughter.

intoxication assault.

Operating a vehicle while intoxicated and with a child younger than age 15.

Driving under the influence of alcohol.

Who is responsible for serving alcohol at a party.

Public intoxication.

Minors and possession of alcohol.

Minors and consumption of alcohol.

Visual aids related to the specific information listed above are used to present the information. This
program is also provided to court-ordered teens and adults in Travis and Williamson counties.

Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Program

Number of youth served 46,067
Number of parents served 729
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available: Yes
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URL for evaluation report:

National Evaluation of the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program:
http://www.phsapps.wfubmc.edu/eudi2/index.cfm

National Evaluation of the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program:
http://www.phsapps.wfubmc.edu/eudi2/index.cfm This is the first annual report of the National Evaluation.

National Evaluation of the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Randomized Community Trial: Year 2
Report. Winston-Salem, NC: Wake Forest University School of Medicine, August 2006:
http://www.phsapps.wfubmc.edu/eudl2/Y2 Exec Summary FINAL March.pdf

URL for more program information:
http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/grants/eudl grants.asp; http://www.tooyoungtodrink.com

Program description: EUDL is the only federal initiative directed exclusively toward preventing underage
drinking. The federal program is administered by the Department of Justice’s Office of Juvenile Justice
and Delinquency Prevention and involves using strategic goals to reduce the availability of alcoholic
beverages to minors, defined as persons younger than 21 years, throughout the 50 states, the District of
Columbia, and 5 U.S. territories. Statutory authority for the EUDL Program can be found in Section 504
of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act, 42 U.S.C. 5783.

The EUDL grant is used by Texas to support activities in law enforcement, educational programs
including specialized law enforcement training, and innovative methods for reaching youth. Most
recently, funding has been used to encourage voluntary compliance from retailers, community members
and youth as well as enforce the zero tolerance laws and Alcoholic Beverage Code throughout the state
of Texas. Law enforcement campaigns have been conducted to prevent the sale of alcohol to minors
and enforce social hosting/third-party provision laws. Educational and prevention campaigns have been
conducted to educate youth on the laws and consequences of underage drinking as well as providing
youth with examples of alternative solutions to underage drinking.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
LifeSkills Training (LST)
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/ViewIntervention.aspx?id=109

Program description: LST is a school-based program that aims to prevent alcohol, tobacco, and
marijuana use and violence by targeting the major social and psychological factors that promote the
initiation of substance use and other risky behaviors. LST is based on both the social influence and the
competence enhancement models of prevention. Consistent with this theoretical framework, LST
addresses multiple risk and protective factors and teaches personal and social skills that build resilience
and help youth navigate developmental tasks, including the skills necessary to understand and resist
pro-drug influences. LST is designed to provide information relevant to the important life transitions that
adolescents and young teens face, using culturally sensitive and developmentally and age-appropriate
language and content. Facilitated discussion, structured small-group activities, and role-playing
scenarios stimulate participation and promote the acquisition of skills. Separate LST programs are
offered for elementary school (grades 3-6), middle school (grades 6-9), and high school (grades 9-12);
the research studies and outcomes reviewed for this summary involved middle school students.

Project Towards No Drug Abuse (Project TND)
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=21

Program description: Project TND is a drug use prevention program for high school youth. The current
version of the curriculum is designed to help students develop self-control and communication skills,
acquire resources that help them resist drug use, improve decisionmaking strategies, and develop the
motivation not to use drugs. Itis packaged in 12 40-minute interactive sessions to be taught by teachers
or health educators. The TND curriculum was developed for high-risk students in continuation or
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alternative high schools. It has also been tested among traditional high school students.

Positive Action
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/ViewlIntervention.aspx?id=78

Program description: No data

Curriculum-Based Support Group (CBSG) Program
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=185

Program description: No data

Project SUCCESS (Schools Using Coordinated Community Efforts to Strengthen Students)
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/ViewlIntervention.aspx?id=71

Program description: No data

Strengthening Families Program (SFP)
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=44

Program description: No data

Creating Lasting Family Connections (CLFC)
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/ViewlIntervention.aspx?id=82

Program description: No data

Too Good for Drugs (TGFD)
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=75

Program description: No data

Protecting You/Protecting Me (PY/PM)
URL for more program information: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov/Viewlntervention.aspx?id=95

Program description: No data

Texas Alcohol Beverage Commission (TABC) Retailers At Risk Preventative Project
URL for more program information: http://www.tabc.state.tx.us

Program description: Reduces underage drinking, overconsumption of alcoholic beverages, and alcohol

related offenses by encouraging voluntary compliance from licensed alcohol retailers and involving

communities to be proactive and report alcohol related offenses. The program began October 1, 2011.

e The TABC served 1,897 certified peace officers on alcohol laws and alcohol-related enforcement
operations from October 1 through December 31, 2011. The number will climb to 6,400 by
September 30, 2012.

e The TABC trained 555 retail employees on alcohol laws and penalties from October 1 through
December 31, 2011. The number will climb to 7,400 by September 30, 2012.

e TABC is training 22 TABC agents to become Certified Fraud Examiners by September 30, 2012.
The program has not been evaluated.

e The evaluation report is not available.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: DSHS funds Ysleta Del Sur to implement the Creating Lasting Family
Connections curriculum. The state recognizes the substance abuse and underage drinking issues
identified by Ysleta Del Sur within the Native American Tribe and sovereign nation and provides
funding, support, and technical assistance to ensure accessibility of services in the immediate
community to address these issues. Additionally, the state funds a community coalition partnership
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in El Paso to provide additional focus on the overall issue of underage drinking, which affects the
entire community. The Coalition is designed to implement evidence-based strategies to change
social norms and policies that affect underage drinking. The Coalition is also a resource for the
community that provides education and community awareness in addressing these issues.

The Ysleta del Sur Pueblo (“the Pueblo”) is a U.S. federally recognized Native American Tribe and
sovereign nation. The Pueblo is one of three Tribes located in Texas and the only Pueblo located in
the state. The Tribal community, known as “Tigua,” was established in 1682 after the Pueblo Revolt
of 1680. Since then, the Tribe has retained a significant presence in the El Paso region and has
helped pave the way for the development of the area. The Tribe maintains its traditional political
system and ceremonial practices and continues to flourish as a Pueblo community. Tribal
enrollment is over 1,600 citizens. The Pueblo has been an active participant in the regional
business community for almost 40 years. The Tribe strives to establish a business-friendly
environment while addressing the unique needs and culture of the Pueblo. It owns and operates a
diverse set of Tribal enterprises and corporations that provide employment for both Tribal members
and the El Paso community. Income from these businesses is used to fund essential services, such
as health care, education, law enforcement, Tribal courts, elder assistance, economic development,
infrastructure improvements, and the general welfare of the Tribe. This system helps advance the
Tribe toward self-determination and self-governance.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and Yes
marketing

Program description: Community Coalitions is a collaborative partnership that works

toward prevention and reduction of illegal and harmful use of alcohol, tobacco, and

drugs in Texas communities (with particular emphasis on reduction in youth use) by

promoting and conducting community-based and evidence-based environmental

prevention strategies that have an impact on the social, cultural, political, and

economic processes of the community. Coalitions maximize the power of

participating in groups through joint action and are critical when engaging in broad

community actions to change public policy.

The strategies conducted by the coalitions include social norms campaigns,
educational campaigns, and media awareness campaigns to create awareness in
communities of alcohol marketing and advertising that influences underage drinking.
Community Coalition Partnerships also collaborate with the Prevention Resource
Center in each of the 11 Health and Human Services regions throughout Texas to
promote media awareness campaigns and activities. Both programs are funded by
the Texas DSHS and are required to provide media awareness through radio and
television public service announcements, billboards, and print ads in local
newspapers; they must also report data on the specific activities conducted.

DSHS also funds the Prevention Media Campaign and the Partnership for Drug-Free
Texas, each of which works closely with other DSHS-funded programs to develop
materials that include media and print materials focused to directly address the issues
and create awareness in communities throughout Texas. The Texas Department of
Public Safety works with Sherry Mathews Advertising, Travis County Underage
Drinking Program, and other nonprofit organizations to provide advertising on
billboards, radio, and television.

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Best practice standards description: DSHS requires all funded programs to use best practices in the
selection of strategies and delivery of prevention services. The programs are required to use the
Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) five-step process, which is SAMHSA'’s approach to
prevention. The approach is built on community-based risk and protective factors and provides
programs with a series of guiding principles that can be used at the community level to better
determine the most appropriate evidence-based strategies and curricula for their communities.

SPF steps include:
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Conducting a community needs assessment.

Mobilizing and/or building capacity.

Developing a comprehensive strategic plan.

Implementing evidence-based prevention programs and infrastructure development activities.
Monitoring and evaluating processes for effectiveness.

aprwdE

The Texas Department of Public Safety best practice standards include “zero tolerance” and “you
can't drink it, possess it, or be around it.” These are the Texas Department of Public Safety’s best
practice operating standards for the enforcement of underage drinking laws. These best practices
are not used to evaluate programs.

Additional Clarification

Additional programs related to underage drinking:

Hillcrest Baptist Texas Reality Education for Drivers (RED) Program works in Dallas, Tarrant, and
Travis counties to reduce alcohol and drug-related crashes for teens, primarily through experiential,
informational, and educational outreaches in partnership with Texas Trauma Centers.

e Project RED conducted five alcohol education sessions with adult groups within the service area from
October 1, 2011, to February 29, 2012. This number will climb to nine by September 30, 2012.

e Project RED provided 15 alcohol and drug safety educational displays October 1, 2011, to February
29, 2012.

e Project RED established 17 collaborative relationships in Dallas, Tarrant, and Travis counties.

e Project RED conducted 12 alcohol/drug use assessments throughout Dallas, Tarrant, and Travis
counties from October 1, 2011 to February 29, 2012. This will climb to 1,400 by September 30, 2012.

e Project RED provided 20 fatal vision goggle demonstrations to youth ages 5-19 from October 1,
2011, to February 29, 2012. This number will climb to 40 by September 30, 2012.

e Project RED provided nine health fairs/community events in Dallas, Tarrant, and Travis counties from
October 1, 2011, to February 29, 2012.

e Project RED assisted three organizations with prom campaigns in Dallas, Tarrant, and Travis
counties from October 1, 2011, to February 29, 2012.

e Project RED distributed 4,840 brochures in in Dallas, Tarrant, and Travis counties from October 1,
2011, to February 29, 2012. This will climb to 6,000 by September 30, 2012.

e Project is training 15 new trauma centers to conduct the program by September 30, 2012.

e Project RED is a member of the Texas Alcohol Partners group and conducted a presentation on the
program to the partners.

e The program will not be evaluated.

e The evaluation report will not be available.

e The URL to view more program information is hillcrest.net/index.php/injury-prevention/teen-safe/60-
the-red-program-reality-education-for-drivers.

Texas AgriLife Extension Service Alcohol Awareness Program provides education and awareness
programs on the dangers of impaired driving to reduce alcohol-related crashes and fatalities. Emphasis
is on reducing impaired driving among youth, especially in rural counties. This includes a statewide
campaign titled Watch UR B.A.C. (blood alcohol concentration) to raise awareness of the dangers of
impaired driving, and the use of a simulated cockpit from DWIpod, with steering wheel, gas, and brake
pedals to train on the dangers of impaired driving. Participants view a 40-inch monitor to simulate road
conditions and react using the steering wheel and pedals. The monitor is connected to a laptop.

e Texas AgriLife trained 100 employers statewide to promote alcohol awareness campaigns such as
Pass the Keys and Choose Your Ride from October 1, 2011, to February 29, 2012.

e Texas AgriLife conducted 20 events to promote awareness on the dangers of impaired driving at
college campuses, high schools, and community events from October 1, 2011, to February 29, 2012.

e Texas Agrilife distributed 56,530 public information and education items to promote awareness on the
dangers of impaired driving at college campuses, high schools, and community events from October
1, 2011, to February 29, 2012.

e Texas Agrilife will provide 75 police departments and judges with training information to increase
enforcement of underage drinking through September 30, 2012.

e Texas Agrilife partners with Texas Collegiate 4-H Chapters to educate college campuses on the
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dangers of impaired driving through September 30, 2012.
e The program will not be evaluated.
e The evaluation report will not be available.
e The URL to view more program information is agrilifeextension.tamu.edu.

Texans Standing Tall (TST) Zero Alcohol for Youth Campaigns reduce DUI-related crashes among
drivers under 21 statewide by providing campaign kit materials to coalitions and youth to implement
local campaigns to increase enforcement of Zero Tolerance laws to reduce DUI crashes.

e TST trains community coalitions and their youth to implement the Zero Alcohol for Youth Campaign
through September 30, 2012.

e TST provides Texans electronic access to Zero Alcohol for youth campaign manuals, videos, and
public information and education materials through September 30, 2012.

e TST works with and provides technical assistance to coalition partners and youth; conducts focus
groups; and trains students to conduct assessment activities and data collection so they understand,
present, and discuss the data to adults and other youth to increase enforcement of Zero Tolerance
laws to reduce DUI crashes through September 30, 2012.

e The program will not be evaluated.

e The evaluation report will not be available.

e The URL to view more program information is http://texansstandingtall.org.

The responses in this section were provided by DSHS and the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Responses may not apply to both agencies due to differences in services, activities, and programs.

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Mimi McKay
E-mail: mimi.mckay@dshs.state.tx.us
Address: Texas Department of State Health Services—Mental Health and Substance
Abuse Division, Mail Code 2083, 909 W. 45th Street, Austin, TX 78751
Phone: 512-419-5804
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission
Texas Department of Public Safety
Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
Texas Juvenile Probation Commission
Texas Department of Criminal Justice
Texas Youth Commission
Health and Human Service Commission
Office of the Governor
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Department of State Health Services, Mental Health and Substance Abuse Division
Texas Workforce Commission
Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Department of Aging and Disability Services
Texas Adjutant General’'s Department
At-Large Members:
e Dr. Neil Adelman, Add-Life Recovery
e Dr. Mary Hill, Texas Statewide Initiative for Alcohol, Drugs, and Violence Prevention in Higher
Education
e Dr. Gustavo Martinez, Interventions International
e Eric Sanchez, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Council
e Dr. Marianne Taft Marcus, University of Texas,Houston Health Science Center School of Nursing
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A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/sa/ddrac/default.shtm

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Texans Standing Tall, Inc., was contracted to prepare the report on behalf of the
previously funded Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) Coalitions and DSHS. The Texas State
Incentive Program SPF Coalitions were funded by the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention from
2004 through 2010. The report includes data provided by all the SPF coalitions funded under this
project. The list of coalitions is provided in the report. Plan can be accessed via:
http://www.texansstandingtall.ora/PDFs/2009SPFESIG ReportCard.pdf

Additional Clarification

There will not be any future funds to prepare the underage drinking report. The report was prepared
with funds from the Texas State Incentive Program SPF Coalitions, which were funded by the Center for
Substance Abuse Prevention from 2004 through 2010. Funding for this program ended in fall 2010.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $394,393

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $2,262,239

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 08/31/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $33,770,939

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 08/31/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $27,650

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: Prevention Resource Centers (PRCs) are located in 11 regions of the
state and work collaboratively with DSHS-funded youth programs and community coalitions. The PRCs
serve as a clearinghouse and provide educational materials and resources that address underage
drinking and other substance abuse. The single training entity referred as the Coordinated Training
Service (CTS) provides training and technical assistance to all funded prevention programs. This service
provides the evidence-based curriculum training to the funded youth program staff and includes a focus
on underage drinking. The Prevention Media Campaign (PMC) provides a statewide media campaign
designed to create awareness and engage the general community in the prevention of alcohol, tobacco,
and drugs through print materials, television, and public service announcements.
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The Texas Department of Transportation provides a local match to four programs that provide education
and awareness on underage drinking and the impact of alcohol abuse. These programs include the

1. TABC Retailers At Risk Preventative Project, which reduces underage drinking, overconsumption of
alcoholic beverages, and alcohol-related offenses by encouraging voluntary compliance from
licensed alcohol retailers and involving communities to be proactive and report alcohol related
offenses.

2. The Hillcrest Baptist Texas RED Program works in Dallas, Tarrant, and Travis counties to reduce
alcohol and drug-related crashes for teens, primarily through experiential, informational, and
educational outreaches in partnership with Texas Trauma Centers.

3. The Texas AgriLife Extension Service Alcohol Awareness Program provides education and
awareness programs on the dangers of impaired driving to reduce alcohol-related crashes and
fatalities. Emphasis is on reducing impaired driving among youth, especially in rural counties. This
includes coordination of a statewide campaign titled Watch UR B.A.C. (blood alcohol concentration)
to raise awareness of the dangers of impaired driving and the use of a simulated cockpit from
DWIpod complete with steering wheel, gas, and brake pedals to train on the dangers of impaired
driving. The participants view a 40-inch monitor to simulate road conditions and react using the
steering wheel and pedals. The monitor is connected to a laptop running the software for the
demonstration.

4. The Texans Standing Tall (TST) Zero Alcohol for Youth Campaigns reduces DUI-related crashes
among drivers under 21 statewide by providing campaign kit materials to coalitions and youth to
implement local campaigns to increase enforcement of Zero Tolerance laws to reduce DUI crashes.

Estimate of state funds expended: $4,095,147
Estimate based on the 12 months ending: 08/31/2011

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data
None given
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State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

h)
v

W

Utah

State Population: 2,817,222
Population Ages 12-20: 384,000

Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers

with BAC > 0.01

“ See Appendix C for data sources.

Percentage

14.2
9.6

2.5
14

11.7
7.9

28.4
19.4

Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities

23.0

Number

55,000
37,000

3,000
2,000

15,000
10,000

36,000
25,000

32
1,965

Number

10
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e |tis acriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

e Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for
any losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale.

o Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with
the purchase of alcohol.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00
e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License
Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours—10 of which must be at night
Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No unrelated passengers, unless accompanied by driver over 21
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17—passenger restrictions are lifted at age 16 years,
6 months; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 17.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Note: In Utah, the off-premises establishments subject to mandatory training are “off-premise
beer retailers.” Off-premise beer retailers are licensed to sell “beer,” which in Utah is any

782 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — Utah

product that contains not more than 4 percent alcohol by volume (ABV) and is obtained by
fermentation, infusion, or decoction of any malted grain.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 21
e Wine: 21
e Spirits: 21

Note: Although employees must be at least 21 to sell “liquor” at off-sale establishments in Utah,
persons between 16 and 21 may sell beer (defined as containing not more than 4 percent ABV)
on the premises of a beer retailer for off-premise consumption if under the supervision of a
person age 21 or older who is on the premises.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 21 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 21 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 21 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools

Prohibitions against outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: Yes—uwithin 200 feet
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 200 feet
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on damages: $1 million limit for one person and $2 million limit for all injured
parties per occurrence.
e Limitations on who may sue: Retailers that furnish beer only for off-premises consumption
are exempt.

Note: Liability is strictly imposed for furnishing alcohol to an underage drinker. Evidence of
retailer’s negligence is not required.

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on damages: $1 million limit for one person and $2 million limit for all injured
parties per occurrence.
e Limitations on who may be sued: Social host must be age 21 or older.
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Host Party Laws

Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Not specified
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.

Note: In Utah, an individual may not knowingly conduct, aid, or allow an “underage drinking
gathering.” An “underage drinking gathering” means a gathering of two or more individuals

(a) at which an individual knowingly serves, aids in the service of, or allows the service of an
alcoholic beverage to an underage person; and (b) to which an emergency response provider is
required to respond, except for a response related solely to providing medical care at the location
of the gathering. The definition does not otherwise specify a property type or an action by
underage guest.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Keg Registration

e Keg sales prohibited.
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited
e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Control state
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist.

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Control state

e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state
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Utah State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Utah Department of Public Safety

Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws

prohibiting underage drinking:
Utah has 21 multi-agency Youth Alcohol Enforcement Task Forces throughout the state. The task
forces work as single agencies as well as partnering with other local jurisdictions and the statewide
law enforcement agency, the Utah Highway Patrol’'s Alcohol Enforcement Team (AET), to reduce
illegal use of alcohol and/or controlled substances, along with alcohol/drug-related accidents and
injuries. Law enforcement officers target underage drinking activities by conducting party patrols,
compliance checks, shoulder tap operations, surveillance, saturation patrols, driving under the
influence (DUI) checkpoints with a focus on youth, and other innovative enforcement programs.
Task forces provide extra patrols for parks, recreation areas, canyons, and undeveloped and urban
areas with extra-duty officers to detect youth engaging in underage drinking and impaired driving.

The AET travels throughout the state to train local law enforcement agencies on how to conduct
compliance check operations. They also assist the task forces and other law enforcement agencies
with Targeting Responsibility for Alcohol Connected Emergencies (TRACE), assisting in
investigating youth-involved serious or fatal vehicle crashes. The Highway Safety Office provides
enhanced training opportunities for all law enforcement officers interested in learning methods of
enforcing underage drinking laws. Training includes rural vs. urban enforcement, working with
schools/coalitions, media relations, Utah laws, and juvenile enforcement techniques. Activity reports
are submitted monthly, utilizing the Data Collection Technical Assistant Tool (DCTAT) for semi-
annual reports.

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
Enforcement Statistics

Not applicable

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 9,020
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 02/29/2012
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations” to determine if Yes

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
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Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
Z . : : . . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,580
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 148
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Sanctions
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 30
Total amount in fines across all licensees $35,550
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/01/2012
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 24
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 135
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/01/2012
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/01/2012
None given

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking

ParentsEmpowered
Number of youth served 296,241
Number of parents served 707,490
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes
URL for evaluation report: http://www.hsdsa.state.ut.us/sharp.htm
URL for more program information: http://www.parentsempowered.org

Program description: ParentsEmpowered is a statewide, state-sponsored media and education

before age 21. ParentsEmpowered is targeted directly at parents rather than teens or children, as
parents are the key to preventing underage drinking.

website, and other materials/activities designed to help parents and communities eliminate underage
drining. The campaign is funded by the Utah Legislature with profits from the state’s alcohol sales.

level. The ParentsEmpowered program objectives are as follows:

campaign launched in 2006 to inform parents about the lasting harm of underage drinking and provide

them with the proven skills, tools, and information needed to prevent it. Teens say their parents are the
number one influence in preventing underage drinking, and research shows that teens are less likely to
drink when parents are actively involved in helping their children understand the risks of drinking alcohol

The ParentsEmpowered campaign consists of television and radio spots, billboards, print materials, a

Utah is currently the only state in the nation to fund an underage drinking prevention campaign at this
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Primary Objective: Total Community Mobilization. Eliminating underage drinking in Utah can be
a daunting task for parents to face alone. Creating a community network to support parents and
their enforcement of rules for their children increases the chances of keeping kids alcohol free.
ParentsEmpowered provides resources and trianing to the Utah Prevention Network (UPN).

The UPN covers the entire state of Utah and consists of 13 local area prevention districts.

Secondary Objective: It's All About the Media. Special events and projects need to be organized to
gain media and parental attention. Arranging public interaction between key community leaders and
parents enables ParentsEmpowered to deliver its underage drinking prevention message while
continuing to generate media and parental attention.

Mind Over Matter

Number of youth served 39,672
Number of parents served 79,344
Number of caregivers served 2,105
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.utahpd.org/mindmatter.htm

Program description: Mind Over Matter uses the Utah school system to distribute educational materials
to parents and children about the dangers of and skills needed to prevent underage drinking. This
school take-home assignment, consisting of a compact disc with songs that educate children about the
damaging effects of alcohol on their developing brains and accompanied by questions to facilitate a
discussion of the messages of each song, is targeted at 4th-grade students and their parents.

Utah’s Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program

Number of youth served 2,657
Number of parents served Unknown
Number of caregivers served Unknown
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://www.ojjdp-dctat.org/index
URL for more program information: http://www.ojjdp-dctat.org/index

Program description: The Utah Highway Safety Office (HSO) receives funding to combat underage
drinking from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention’s (OJJDP’s) EUDL block grant
program. The HSO has received EUDL funding every year since 1999, with the amount typically being
$360,000. The funding is utilized for the following activities/purposes:

e 21 Youth Alcohol Enforcement Task Forces that specifically target underage drinkers through
activities such as party patrols, sobriety checkpoints, false identification and source investigations,
shoulder-tap operations, and saturation patrols;

e Underage Buyer Programs that conduct compliance checks at private clubs and restaurants;

e College/University Campus and Youth Court Programs that educate students about underage
drinking and impaired driving through conferences, summits, presentations, workshops, training,
new student orientation, alcohol-free activities, awareness weeks, and other activities; and

e Public Information and Education activities including presentations at Utah Chiefs of Police and
Utah Sheriffs Associations conferences, community events, and educational materials on such
topics as parenting skills.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs Related to Underage Drinking
Prevention Dimensions (PD)
URL for more program information: http://www.utahpd.org
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Program description: PD is Utah’s school-based kindergarten through 12th grade alcohol, tobacco, and
drug prevention education program. The program consists of teacher resource files/lesson plans and
accompanying classroom materials that support the Utah State Office of Education’s core curriculum
standards and objectives for health education. The program began in 1982 as a joint effort of the Utah
Division of Alcoholism and Drugs, the Utah Department of Health, the Utah State Office of Education,
and the Utah Parent-Teacher Association (PTA), and has been updated and revised several times over
the years. The mission of PD is to give students a strong foundation of effective substance abuse and
violence prevention skills. The resource lessons are age-appropriate and scoped and sequenced to the
core curriculum objectives.

The lessons are also based on the risk and protective factor model identified through the research of
Drs. David Hawkins and Richard Catalano of the University of Washington. Studies have shown that
young people with identified risk factors are more likely to engage in substance abuse and other
antisocial behaviors; conversely, students with strong protective factors are less likely to engage in
substance abuse and antisocial behaviors. PD lessons are, therefore, designed to decrease risk
factors and promote protective factors. PD teacher trainings develop teacher skills to implement
proven prevention strategies, impart knowledge, and help maintain a positive prevention attitude

and classroom environment.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking

Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: Utah has created an Evidence-Based Workgroup (EBW).
Using the SAMHSA's evidence-based guidelines and the National Registry of Evidence-Based
Programs and Practices (NREPP) as foundations, Utah formatted a collaborative committee to
review and provide technical assistance to prevention programs. The EBW reviews prevention
programs submitted to the panel. Then, based on the data and research provided, the EBW decides
if the program has met the burden of proof to be an evidence-based program.

Additional Clarification

The URL provided for the evaluation report of Utah’s ParentsEmpowered underage drinking prevention
education and media campaign is for the Utah Student Health and Risk Prevention (SHARP) Survey.
The Utah SHARP Survey is conducted every 2 years (odd years) among students in grades 6, 8, 10 and
12. The most recent is the 2011 SHARP Survey. The ParentsEmpowered campaign is an integral part
of Utah’s comprehensive strategy to prevent and reduce underage drinking. There is also an ongoing
specific evaluation (available upon request) of the ParentsEmpowered campaign being conducted by
Dan Jones and Associates, a Utah firm.

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Douglas Murakami, Chair, Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council /Utah Prevention
Advisory Council Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup
E-mail: dmurakami@utah.gov
Address: Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 1625 South 900 West, PO Box 30408,
Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408
Phone: 801-977-6820
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Agencies/organizations represented on the committee: (with voting representatives on the workgroup)
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Utah Attorney General’s Office
Utah Department of Health
Utah State Office of Education
Utah Juvenile Court
Utah Behavioral Healthcare Committee/Utah Prevention Network
Utah Department of Public Safety/Highway Safety Office
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Governor’s Office/Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council (USAAV)
Mothers Against Drunk Driving—Utah Chapter
Law Enforcement

All other interested parties are welcome to attend and participate in workgroup meetings, but shall not
have a vote.

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.parentsempowered.org

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes and No
Prepared by: Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup (a workgroup of the Utah Prevention
Advisory Council’'s prevention committee (UPAC)

Plan can be accessed via: No data

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes

Prepared by: The Utah Student Health and Risk Prevention (SHARP) Survey Report was prepared by

Bach Harrison, LLC. The 2011 Annual ParentsEmpowered and Eliminating Alcohol Sales to Youth

(EASY) Report was prepared by R&R Partners.

Plan can be accessed via: No data
Additional Clarification

Clarification of Utah’s Underage Drinking Prevention Plan: Although Utah has not produced a written
plan for preventing underage drinking per se, we have had a plan in place for addressing this issue for
the past several years. Utah's Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup was originally created to
attend SAMHSA's “Preventing Underage Alcohol Use: A National Meeting of the States” in 2005, in
Washington, DC. Following this meeting, the newly formed team immediately got to work and was
successful in promoting the passage of legislation during the 2006 Utah Legislative Session (S.B. 58)
that created and funded the ParentsEmpowered campaign and the EASY compliance check program.

Utah’s Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup has continued to meet weekly or biweekly to create
new components for the campaign and to plan for adjunct school- and community-based activities,
including the following: Mind Over Matter take-home program for 4th-grade students and their parents,
Underage Drinking Town Hall Meetings, higher education prevention activities such as the incoming
students’ Freshman Letter, and creation and promotion of the passage of related legislation (e.g., Social
Host Liability Act in 2009 and Underage Drinking Prevention Campaign in 2012), to name only a few.
Utah sees the value of formalizing the plan in written form, and may to do so in the near future.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

790

Estimate of state funds expended $300,033

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $400,609

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
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Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $1,773,733

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $480,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No data

Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes Yes
Fines No
Fees Yes
Other No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

A portion of the tax revenue collected on beer sales in Utah is deposited into the Alcoholic Beverage
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account, which is distributed annually on a formula basis to
municipalities and counties throughout Utah for the following purposes: DUI law enforcement, general
alcohol-related enforcement, prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, treatment of alcohol
problems, alcohol-related education/prevention, and confinement of alcohol law offenders. In state
FY2011 (ending June 30, 2011), $5,597,200 was distributed, and approximately 48 percent of
municipalities and counties utilized at least some of their funding for alcohol-related education/
prevention, including underage drinking prevention.

A fee is imposed on every fine assessed for a criminal penalty in Utah (35 percent for lesser offenses,
90 percent for major offenses); 2 percent of the funding generated by the fees on fines is
appropriated to the Utah State Office of Education annually for substance abuse prevention, and is
used to support the K-12 Prevention Dimensions program and the 4th-grade Mind Over Matter
program.

A portion of the revenues from vehicle impound fees and driver license reinstatement fees is utilized to
fund the Eliminating Alcohol Sales to Youth (EASY) Program (underage compliance checks in retail
outlets selling alcohol).

The ParentsEmpowered underage drinking media and education campaign is funded by the
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control’s Liquor Control Fund. Revenues in this fund are generated
by the profits on sales of alcoholic beverages in Utah.
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Additional Clarification

Clarification on state funds used for K-12 school-based programs:
$480,000 is for the Prevention Dimensions and Mind Over Matter programs.
Clarification on state funds used for community-based programs:

Of the total $1,773,733 allocated, $1,473,700 is for the ParentsEmpowered Underage Drinking
Prevention Media and Education Campaign, and $300,033 is for the Eliminating Alcohol Sales to Youth
(EASY) Underage Compliance Checks/Decoy Program.

Description of Utah’'s EASY Underage Compliance Checks/Decoy Program:

The primary goal of the EASY program, established statewide by the Utah Legislature in 2006, is to
curtail the retail supply of alcohol to minors at off-premise retail locations through two complimentary
methods: providing funds to local law enforcement agencies to conduct alcohol compliance checks and
requiring standardized and mandatory retail employee training. Through these methods, EASY has
removed the financial obstacles that frequently prevented law enforcement agencies from conducting
compliance checks, and the retail training requirements empower front-line employees with the
knowledge and information they need to avoid sales to minors. The Utah Department of Public Safety’s
Highway Safety Office (HSO) administers the compliance check portion of EASY. As required by
statute, the HSO records data, analyzes results, and tracks records related to the compliance checks
performed by law enforcement as part of EASY. The Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental
Health (DSAMH) administers the retail training aspect of EASY, with the actual training provided by
private companies or individuals. All curricula and trainers are approved by the DSAMH.
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Vermont

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 626,431
Population Ages 12-20: 76,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 36.8 28,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 24.6 19,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.7 1,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.1 8,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.0 4,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 65.6 19,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 47.2 14,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 7
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 443
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 73.0 5

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Vermont does not prohibit internal possession, it has a statutory provision that
makes it unlawful for a minor to, “consume malt or vinous beverages or spirituous liquors. A
violation of this subdivision may be prosecuted in a jurisdiction where the minor has consumed
malt or vinous beverages or spirituous liquors, or in a jurisdiction where the indicators of
consumption are observed” (\Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 7, § 657). Laws that punish minors for displaying
“indicators of consumption” or for “exhibiting the effects” of having consumed alcohol, but do
so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting internal
possession, for purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law
enforcement purposes.

Note: Vermont prohibits minors from procuring alcohol only in connection with a false
representation of age (see 2000 Vt. Acts & Resolves 160). This report does not include laws
with such limitations in the purchase policy topic.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e No driver’s license suspension procedure

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner-stage period: 12 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Night driving is not restricted.

e Passenger restrictions exist: During first 3 months, restricted to driving alone or with a
licensed parent, instructor or person at least 25 years old. During next 3 months, may also
transport family members.

— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e  Minimum: 18
e Maximum: 20

Note: Director’s permission required for 17-year-olds.

Appearance Requirements
e Exhibit a young adult appearance
e Male: No facial hair
e Female: No excessive makeup

ID Possession
e Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited

Decoy Training
e Not specified
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: Not specified

First offense: Written warning or fine of $250

Second offense: $300 fine or 3-day license suspension (compliance-check setting only)
Third offense: $500 fine or 5-day license suspension (compliance-check setting only)
Fourth offense: Mandatory hearing to consider license suspension or revocation
(compliance-check setting only)

Note: Written warning allowed in compliance-check setting. For noncompliance-check setting:
$500 fine applies to sales to 19-year-olds; $250 fine applies to sales to 20-year-olds; hearing
required for sales to those under 18 years old.

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Licensees, Managers, Servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 16
e Wine: 16
e Spirits: Not specified

Note: Vermont statutes and regulations are silent regarding the minimum age of seller for
distilled spirits sold for off-premises consumption, which occur only in state-controlled outlets.
Vermont’s Liquor Control Board establishes minimum age of seller in its outlets as a matter of
internal board policy.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools

No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists.

Note: Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 7, 8 501 includes a responsible beverage service defense.

Social Host Liability Laws
Statutory liability exists.
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Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

e Keg definition: At least 5 gallons
Prohibited:
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $1,000/2 years
Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
Warning information to purchaser: active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit required: $25
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Note: Although Vermont does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s
ID, it does require that the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth be recorded as they
appear on the purchaser’s identification.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: No law
e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law
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Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.27 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 10 percent

General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite sales. The onsite ad valorem retail
tax is 10 percent. The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4 percent.

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.55 per gallon
e Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales): 10 percent

General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite sales. The onsite ad valorem retail tax
is 10 percent. The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4 percent.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—14 days minimum hold. Each licensee in
wholesale dealer’s territory must receive at least one opportunity to buy at changed price.

e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Vermont State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
No data
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
Party Patrols
Alcohol Compliance Tests
Cops in Shops

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes

Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Vermont Department
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors of Liquor Control

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics

State collects data on the number of m|nors found in possession

Number of minors found in possessmn by state law enforcement agencies 2,515
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Vs

Data are collected on these activities Yes

Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 871

Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 98

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to NoO
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors

Data are collected on these activities No

Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes

Number of fines imposed by the state® 7

Total amount in fines across all licensees $2,500

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments ves
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 53

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 97

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Additional Clarification

Local law enforcement has the same authority as the Vermont Department of Liquor. Whether or not
they choose to, they would not necessarily report their results to this agency.

Yes

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
ParentUp Media Campaign

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served 24,957
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Strategic Prevention Framework State

Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) evaluation report
URL for evaluation report: http://www.healthvermont.gov/adap/adap.aspx
URL for more program information: http://www.parentupvt.org

Program description: A coordinated statewide campaign to combat underage drinking, The ParentUp
website, http://www.ParentUpVT.org, provides tools and resources to help parents have conversations
with their kids about the dangers of underage drinking. It also provides information about how to set
clear rules and consequences and restrict teens’ access to alcohol, while encouraging parents to refuse
to host underage drinking parties. Note: this is a federally funded program.

We Check ID — 1 866 ITS FAKE

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://liguorcontrol.vermont.gov/education/wecheckids.html

Program description: This is a statewide telephone system using computers and staff to answer a
telephone line. This line supports stores with identification verification. We Check ID - 1 866 ITS FAKE
is the publicized name of the project aimed at preventing sales to minors. Clerks can call 1 866 ITS
FAKE to verify the match between the name on ID (from any state) and the date of birth. Note: this is a
federally funded program.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Student Assistance Program (SAP)
URL for more program information: http://www.ASAP-vt.org
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Program description: SAPs provided prevention, intervention, and education services in 83 Vermont
schools in 2011-2012. SAP counselors and teams identify students with substance use problems,
intervene, and when necessary, refer them to community agencies for more specialized or intensive
services. Students may also be referred to counselors by teachers, parents, or peers, or may seek help
themselves. The counselors then screen the students and may refer them to local human service
agencies for formal assessment and treatment. SAP teams and counselors follow up with students to
ensure they obtain the treatment they need. The target population is K-12th grade, and core program
components are prevention, intervention, and education services.

Combined Community-Based Prevention Grants
URL for more program information: healthvermont.gov/adap/prevention

Program description: Community-based prevention grants support comprehensive communitywide
prevention strategies. FY2012 grantees are a joint prevention initiative aimed at obesity and substance
abuse prevention. The goal of the initiative is to reduce health care costs through the creation of healthy
communities where Vermonters can lead healthy lives. Substance abuse prevention funds support
interventions in 15 communities to reduce alcohol, marijuana, or any illicit drug use among adolescents
ages 12 to 17 and reduce binge drinking among Vermonters ages 12 to 25.

Vermont Teen Leadership Safety Program—Students Against Destructive Decisions
URL for more program information: http://liguorcontrol.vermont.gov/vtlsp

Program description: No data

Our Voices Exposed (OVX)
URL for more program information: http://www.OVX.org

Program description: No data

Vermont Kids Against Tobacco (VKAT)
URL for more program information: http://www.qoVKAT.org

Program description: No data

Vermont Department of Education Tobacco Prevention Program
URL for more program information:
http://education.vermont.gov/new/html/pgm _substance/tobacco prevention.html

Program description: No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking

Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: Best practice standards are based on the SAMHSA Guidance
Document. For Vermont standards, go to
http://healthvermont.gov/adap/prevention/SPF/documents/FinalDraftGuidanceNov2008.pdf
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Additional Clarification

With the exception of the Student Assistance Program (SAP), all programs related to underage drinking
prevention (section B) are federally funded.

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: David O'Brien
E-mail: dobrien@ucsvt.org
Address: PO Box 588, Bennington, VT 05201
Phone: 802-442-5491
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Barbara Cimaglio, Vermont Department of Health
Lt. John Flannigan, Vermont State Police
Michael Hogan, Vermont Department of Liquor Control
Chauncey Liese, Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
Andy Snyder, Vermont Department of Education
Lisa Anne Atwood, School Administrator
Sarah Scrodin, Teacher
Patrick Martin, Wits End Group
Mark Ames, Recovery Center Network
Chrissy Anderson, Young Adult Advisory Team
Mitch Barron, Vermont Association of Alcohol Treatment Providers
Ted Minall, Governor’s Highway Safety Program
Willa Farrell, Vermont Association of Court Diversion Programs
Trudee Ettlinger, Vermont Department of Corrections
Marc Goudreau, Vermont National Guard
Lori Augustyniak, Prevention Works!
Mark Helijas, Second Wind Foundation
Rita Johnson, Friends of Recovery and Vermont College Alcohol Network
Patty McCarthy, Friends of Recovery
Ryan Mitofsky, Young Adult Advisory Team
Joy Mitchell, Vermont Council on Problem Gambling
Steve Waldo, Vermont Department of Liguor Control
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Vermont Department of Health and the Vermont Strategic Prevention Framework
Advisory Council
Plan can be accessed via: http://healthvermont.qov/adap/prevention/SPF/documents/SPF-
ExSumm0110.pdf

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Vermont's Epidemiological Workgroup
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.healthvermont.gov/adap/clearinghouse/publications.aspx#Epi

Additional Clarification

None given
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $30,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $830,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $930,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: No data
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes Yes
Fines No
Fees Yes
Other No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

Youth who violate Vermont’s underage possession and consumption of alcohol laws (7 VSA 8656 )
may opt to participate in the Teen Alcohol Safety Program (TASP) or face a fine and driver’s license
suspension. Participants’ fees and state General Fund dollars support TASP, which is run by the Court
Diversion program in each county. Participants meet with a licensed or certified substance abuse
counselor for a screening or assessment (and must follow the recommendations of the counselor),

and may participate in an educational program and perform community service. TASP case

managers support youth to complete the program. Assessment and treatment are not covered

through TASP funding.

Additional Clarification

Underage drinking prevention programs that target youth within juvenile justice system: $930,000 refers
to monies spent on the TASP program. Youth who violate Vermont’s underage possession and
consumption of alcohol laws (7 VSA §656) may opt to participate in TASP or face a fine and driver’s
license suspension. Participants’ fees and state General Fund dollars support TASP, which is run by
the Court Diversion program in each county. Participants meet with a licensed or certified substance
abuse counselor for a screening or assessment (and must follow the recommendations of the
counselor), and may participate in an educational program and perform community service. TASP case
managers support youth to complete the program. Assessment and treatment are not covered through
TASP funding.
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Virginia

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 8,096,604
Population Ages 12-20: 970,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.8 260,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19.1 185,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 55 15,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.6 7,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.4 60,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.2 40,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 50.6 184,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 38.0 138,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 113
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 6,762
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 24.0 26

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Note: Virginia law provides for two separate family exceptions. First, Virginia permits a person
under 21 to possess alcoholic beverages due to such person’s “making a delivery of alcoholic
beverages by order of his parent.” For purposes of this report, the phrase “by order of his parent
is interpreted as providing for parental consent (Va. Code Ann. § 4.1-305). Second, Virginia
permits underage possession when an alcoholic beverage is provided to an underage guest in a
private residence and the underage guest is “accompanied by a parent, guardian, or spouse who
is 21 years of age or older” (Va. Code Ann. 88 4.1-305, 4.1-200). The second exception is
limited to specific locations, but the first one is not.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Virginia does not prohibit internal possession, it has a statutory provision that
makes it unlawful for a minor to “exhibit evidence of physical indicia of consumption of
alcohol” (Va. Code Ann. § 4.1-305). Laws that punish minors for displaying “indicators of
consumption” or for “exhibiting the effects” of having consumed alcohol, but which do so
without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting internal
possession, for purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement
purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers ages 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false 1D and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.
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Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
o BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Provisions Applicable to Minors Under Age 18

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 180 days

Provisions Applicable to Minors Ages 18 to 21

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e Minimum: 180 days
e Maximum: 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner-stage period: 9 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 45 hours—15 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16 years, 3 months
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: For first year, no more than one unrelated passenger under 18;
then, no more than three unrelated passengers under 18.
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule
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License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private residence AND EITHER

e Parent/guardian OR

e Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e Minimum: 17
e Maximum: 19

Appearance Requirements
e Age-appropriate appearance, clothing, and physical characteristics
e Male: No facial hair
e Female: No excessive makeup or revealing clothing

ID Possession
e Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited

Decoy Training
e Mandated
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

e Time period/conditions: 3 years
o First offense: $2,000 fine or 25-day license suspension

Note: For first offense in 3-year period, licensee can agree to have responsible employee receive
responsible beverage service training and accept a reduced penalty of $1,000 fine or 5-day
license suspension.

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
e Applies only to existing outlets

Incentive for Training
e Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors
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Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: Not specified

e Wine: Not specified

e Spirits: Not specified

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Note: Although bartenders are generally required to be at least 21 years old in Virginia, a
person who is at least 18 may sell or serve beer for on-premises consumption at a counter in
an establishment that sells beer only. A person who is at least 18 may also sell or serve wine
for on-premises consumption in an establishment that sells wine only.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability
There is no statutory liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Permitted

e Wine: Permitted

e Spirits: Prohibited

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.
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Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

Keg definition: 4 gallons or more
Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:
Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
— Address where keg will be consumed
Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
Provisions specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—delivery permit required. Four-case limit without written prior
notification to the state including the name and address to the intended recipient.

e Wine: Permitted—delivery permit required. Four-case limit without written prior
notification to the state including the name and address to the intended recipient.

e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.28 per gallon

Reported tax rate is calculated for the rate imposed on 12-ounce containers. Barrels taxed
at $0.2565 per gallon.

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited—not permitted after 9 p.m.
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e Unlimited beverages: Prohibited
e Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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Virginia State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC), Bureau of Law Enforcement

Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws

prohibiting underage drinking:
Through the Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control’'s Bureau of Law Enforcement, the
state has continued to enforce the laws of the Commonwealth through alcohol compliance checks
programs. The state conducted approximately 2,700 checks in FY2011 and has reached a
compliance rate of 90 percent. More than 11,259 criminal investigations were conducted, resulting
in 2,213 arrests, 1,012 written warnings, and 716 administrative violations against ABC-licensed
establishments. Through the community coalition, Operation Undergrad, and rural/local law
enforcement grants, funding has been provided to local, rural, and campus police departments
throughout the state. These projects are funded through OJJDP’s Enforcing Underage Drinking
Laws program. These agencies have used the funds to conduct alcohol prevention initiatives and
programs, alcohol compliance checks, fake Identification investigations, and saturated enforcement
investigations.

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Virginia Department of
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Alcoholic Beverage
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Control, Bureau of Law
Enforcement
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies No data
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 2,641
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 320
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to ves
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
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State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 367
Total amount in fines across all licensees $807,100
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 121
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 3,047
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011

None given

'Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

*Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking

None
Number of youth served Not applicable
Number of parents served Not applicable
Number of caregivers served Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Program has been evaluated Not applicable
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information Not applicable

Program description: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
None
URL for more program information Not applicable

Program description: Not applicable

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No recognized

of underage drinking Tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No

marketing

Program description: Not applicable
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: Our Common Language, a booklet, is used by 13 state
agencies that conduct prevention services. The booklet discusses language, theory, and common
requirements for all prevention grants and programs.

Additional Clarification

None given
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Erika C. Fischer
E-mail: erika.fischer@governor.virginia.gov
Address: Office of the Governor, 1111 East Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: 804-380-3060
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Governor’s Office for Substance Abuse Prevention (GOSAP)
Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
VirginiaDepartment of Criminal Justice Services
Virginia Department of Education
VirginiaDepartment of Fire Programs
Virginia Department of Health
Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Virginia Department of Social Services
Virginia Department of State Police
Virginia National Guard
Virginia Foundation for Healthy Youth
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.gosap.virginia.qov

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: GOSAP and GOSAP member agencies prepared the Strategic Prevention
Framework-State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) plan
Plan can be accessed via: GOSAP is waiting for approval of the plan

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: GOSAP, Virginia ABC, Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, and GOSAP
member agencies
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.gosap.virginia.gov (publication)

Additional Clarification

GOSAP has published three guides on underage drinking:

1. Parent’s Guide for Preventing Underage Drinking, Newspaper Insert

2. Parent’s Guide for Preventing Underage Drinking, Booklet

3. Community Guide for Preventing and Reducing Underage Drinking, Booklet

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
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Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $215,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $37,600

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No data

Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
None of the taxes, fines or fees received
Other are used for any of the Virginia ABC

Underage Prevention Initiatives.

Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

Additional Clarification

From October 1, 2010, to September 30, 2011, state funds were used to support the Youth Alcohol Drug
Abuse Prevention Project (YADAPP). YADAPP provides high school students with the motivation and
resources to assume positive peer leadership roles within their schools and communities in order to
develop projects related to the promotion of school safety and the prevention of drug use among their
peers. By providing grant funding to this project, the Virginia Department of ABC will partner with the
Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services, Virginia Center for School Safety, to help offer and/or
enhance underage drinking prevention programs in public schools. The 27th Annual YADAPP
conference was held at Longwood University July 18—-22, 2011. Seventy youth teams representing
schools and communities across Virginia participated in the conference. The weeklong conference
provides high school students with the motivation and resources to assume positive peer leadership
roles within their schools and communities. The conference format consists of a variety of educational
and instructional activities for both youth and adult participants. The vast majority of these activities
are youth-led in order to model youth leadership for participating students and adults. Youth participant
activities are focused on developing Structured Problem Solving, Action Planning (STAN Plan),
Communication, Teamwork, and Relationships. Activities at the weeklong conference include:

e Motivational general sessions
e Educational free-round workshops
e Experiential learning and teambuilding

814 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — Virginia

Strategies To Act Now (STAN) planning participant structure: The summer leadership conference uses
six different levels of participation and is centered on the experience of youth participants and adult
sponsors. The remaining levels support and enrich the conference experience. The conference is a
collaborative effort between each participant level, which consisted of: 280 youth participants, 74 adult
sponsors, 40 youth leaders, 24 junior staff, 6 conference interns, and 12 resource officers. The
conference vision is to empower youth to develop positive peer leadership roles in their school and
community, and the conference mission is to develop youth leadership in order to foster substance
abuse and violence prevention efforts at the state, regional, and local levels.

Conference Objectives:

e Broaden participant knowledge of substance abuse and violence prevention at the state, local and
regional level

e Teach leadership skills and attitudes to address common issues among their peers

¢ Allow youth from across Virginia the opportunity to network

e Teach youth to work in teams to create a substance and/or violence prevention activity for their
school or community

During this same time period, Virginia ABC also provided funding to seven Virginia community coalitions
throughout the state totaling approximately $61,424.81. These funds were obtained through the Office
of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, EUDL program.

From October 1, 2010, to September 30, 2011, state funds were used to support the Virginia ABC 25th
Annual College Conference. This conference was held on the campus of George Mason University at
the Mason Inn in Fairfax, VA, February 25-27, 2011. The Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage
Control (ABC) in conjunction with the Virginia Alcohol Leadership Council (VACALC) presented the
conference. Funding for the conference was through a grant from the Virginia Department of Motor
Vehicles (DMV). The conference focused on students, underage/high-risk drinking, and highway safety
issues affecting colleges and universities. This year's conference featured award-winning, nationally
recognized speakers including Shaun Derik, Jeff Yalden, Dr. Ralph Hingson, and Javier Sanchez. A
total of 228 persons attended the conference (156 students, 38 adult sponsors, 30 staff members, and
4 speakers). The mission of the annual conference is to prevent and reduce underage and high-risk
drinking and alcohol-related injuries, fatalities, and problems on college campuses. It further aims to
protect students from harm, and to improve the quality of life for the entire campus community. This
year’s conference featured high-energy motivational entertainment, resource fairs, social events, and
showcased the Hero Institute (HI).

The Hero Institute was designed to assist campus teams in the development, modification, or
revitalization of campuswide alcohol-related prevention programs. An overarching goal was to provide
opportunities and resources for each participating campus team to articulate goals and develop
strategies to achieve them. HI teams worked collaboratively over the weekend to create a prevention
plan focusing on their campus issues concerning college drinking and impaired driving. They
participated in breakout sessions to identify goals, and develop and implement plans to meet specific
needs of their campuses. The HI teams were assisted by a team of dedicated peer facilitators
experienced in leadership development and health advocacy program planning. The main goal of the
peer facilitators was to encourage teams to be creative, detailed, and as realistic as possible in
developing plans for their respective campuses. The top five HI teams were awarded $1,000 minigrants
to implement plans on their respective college campuses. A total of 130 participants (students and adult
sponsors), or 67 percent (130 out of 194), completed end-of-conference evaluations. Participants were
asked to rate the speakers and to indicate what knowledge/skill they gained as a result of the
conference. They were also asked to rate Hero Institute facilitators and to the rate their overall
satisfaction with the HI program. In addition, they were asked to provide comments/suggestions for the
conference, as well as ideas for alcohol education prevention initiatives and programs that could be
implemented at their respective schools with the assistance of ABC.
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Washington

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 6,830,038
Population Ages 12-20: 812,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.8 201,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.7 136,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.4 16,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.8 9,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.2 53,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.0 36,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.6 132,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.1 90,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 76
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,549
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 26.0 20

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian

Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Note: Although Washington does not prohibit internal possession, it has a statutory provision
that makes it unlawful for a minor to “be in a public place...while exhibiting the effects of
having consumed liquor” (Wash. Rev. Code § 66.44.270). Laws that punish minors for
displaying “indicators of consumption” or for “exhibiting the effects” of having consumed
alcohol, but which do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as
prohibiting internal possession, for purposes of this report.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement
purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors

e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.

e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.
Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers

e Itisa criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

e Itisa criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers
e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false 1D and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18.
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night
Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 1a.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: First 6 months, no one under age 20 not in the immediate
family; after 6 months, no more than three passengers under age 20 not in the immediate
family
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule
License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data
Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers
e Applies only to on-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets
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Note: On November 8, 2011, voters in Washington approved Initiative 1183. In addition to
privatizing the wholesale distribution and retail sale of liquor, Initiative 1183 triggers changes
to laws currently coded for several policy topics. Implementation of the measure is ongoing,
however, and will continue during 2012. Until implementation is complete, it is not possible to
fully and accurately report information for this policy topic.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 18
e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 21

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
Prohibitions against outlet siting:
o Off-premises outlets: Yes—within 500 feet if the public elementary or secondary school
objects after receiving written notice.
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 500 feet if the public elementary or secondary school
objects after receiving written notice.
e Alcohol products: Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability
e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Note: In Reynolds v. Hicks, the court held that a social host who furnishes alcohol to a minor can
be held liable for resulting harms to the minor who was furnished but is not liable for injuries
caused by the minor to third parties.
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Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Negligence—host must have
known or should have known of the event’s occurrence.
e Exception(s): Family

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following
restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements: None

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Recipient must be 21.

Keg Registration

Keg definition: 4 gallons or more
Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail: $5,000/1 year
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $5,000 /1 year
Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
— Address where keg will be consumed
Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Note: Under a special endorsement from the liquor control board, a grocery store licensee may
sell malt liquor in containers no larger than 5% gallons. Research revealed no similar container
size restriction imposed on other licensees (see Wash. Rev. Code § 66.28.200).
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Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—to sell via the internet, a new license applicant must request internet sales
privileges. Existing licensees must notify the board.

o Wine: Permitted—to sell via the internet, a new license applicant must request internet sales
privileges. Existing licensees must notify the board.

e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Control state
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis.
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist.

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Control state

e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Note: On November 8, 2011, voters in Washington approved Initiative 1183. In addition to
privatizing the wholesale distribution and retail sale of liquor, Initiative 1183 triggers changes
to laws currently coded for several policy topics. Implementation of the measure is ongoing,
however, and will continue during 2012. Until implementation is complete it is not possible to
fully and accurately report information for this policy topic.
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Washington State Survey Responses

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB)
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
WSLCB has its own certified enforcement force that focuses on retailer-directed interventions such as
over-service investigations, underage alcohol sales, signage compliance, etc. However, WSLCB also
coordinates with local law enforcement to conduct additional compliance checks in response to

requests from community organizations or coalitions or in response to specific complaints.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
. . WSLCB
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
es

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies No data
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,658
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 359
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to
N . . . S . Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 7
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 7
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 300
Total amount in fines across all licensees $173,400
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments ves
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 48
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 314
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 2

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Additional Clarification

WSLCB receives some referrals from local law enforcement on failed compliance checks that they
conduct. WSLCB handles these as referred cases and conducts an investigation before acting on the
case information. WSLCB cannot provide accurate data on these referrals due to their random nature.

Yes

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Reducing Underage Drinking (RUaD)

Number of youth served 5,000
Number of parents served 1,000
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Contact Scott Waller,
scott.waller@dshs.wa.gov
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.starttalkingnow.org or contact Deb Schnellman,
schneda@dshs.wa.gov

Program description: The efforts of the Washington State Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking (RUaD)
are documented on its website, http://www.starttalkingnow.org. RUaD coalition members represent

27 state agencies and organizations. A major current effort is a media campaign called “Let’s Draw the
Line Between Youth and Alcohol” featuring community outreach efforts involving law enforcement.
Project 1 involves law enforcement and legislators in community events to raise awareness about
underage drinking. Project 2 involves law enforcement and youth in assessing the amount of interior and
exterior alcohol advertising in stores in communities, as well as emphasizing to retailers the importance of
asking for identification for all alcohol sales. Project 3 involves law enforcement and community leaders
in establishing community conversations about social host ordinances. The RUaD coalition has also
taken on important policy issues like pulling caffeinated high-alcohol-by-volume drinks (such as
FourLoko) from store shelves and has worked to establish a permanent federal ban on the products.

Strategic Prevention Framework-State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG)

Number of youth served 0

Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 07/31/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Contact Scott Waller, scott.waller@dshs.wa.gov
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: Washington’'s SPF SIG project was completed in 2010; as a result, there were
no new services provided last year. Several community coalitions formed under SPF SIG continue to
operate with other funding.
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Substance Abuse Prevention Intervention Services Program (SAPISP)

Number of youth served 11,508
Number of parents served 1,000
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: Contact Dixie Grunenfelder, dixie.grunenfelder@k12.wa.us

URL for more program information: http://www.k12.wa.us/Preventionintervention/default.aspx
Program description: The SAPISP program, operated by the Office of the Superintendent of Public
Instruction, places specialists in schools to implement comprehensive student assistance programs that
address problems associated with substance abuse and other at-risk behaviors. Historically, 600 to 800
schools across Washington state have received SAPISP services annually. Due to a reduction in
funding, SAPISP was only able to reach approximately 300 schools in 2010 and 2011.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Athena Forum Website
URL for more program information: http://www.theathenaforum.org

Program description: This is the primary website for prevention professional development in Washington
State. The site contains extensive information about underage drinking, but also about other general
prevention issues and features informational maps and community profiles that indicate the geographic
location of high-risk areas for various problem behaviors. The site has both a public view and a
members-only side. Through the public view, users can access most of the resource information,
including information about upcoming prevention events and training. Through the members-only side,
users can post information on the site and participate in discussions and blogs.
Target Zero Task Forces

URL for more program information: http://www.wtsc.wa.gov/programs-priorities/task-forces

Program description: The 41 Target Zero task forces are a key community-based component of the
Washington Traffic Safety Commission’s plan to reduce Washington traffic fatalities to zero. The task
forces focus on addressing local traffic safety concerns, including impaired driving, young drivers,
speeding, and safety restraint usage. Many of the task forces operate DUI victim impact panels for adults
and youth and/or have law enforcement partnerships that implement party intervention patrols.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes
of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery (DBHR) provides direct
funding to the state’s 29 federally recognized Tribes to support services that prevent or treat substance
abuse problems. Most of the Tribes use these funds to support prevention efforts, most of which focus on
youth issues including underage drinking.
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising Yes
and marketing

Program description: In the past, EUDL funds supported statewide media campaigns.

In 2011, the RUaD coalition decided that because of budget cuts in the federal EUDL

program, as well as significant cuts to the budgets of partner agencies, funds were

insufficient to support a statewide campaign. However, several community outreach

efforts remain. For example, the DBHR communications manager arranged for a

major billboard company to run a series of underage drinking prevention messages

statewide in 2011.
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs

Best practice standards description: Washington requires that 60 percent of programs and strategies

implemented with the prevention set-aside from the federal Substance Abuse Prevention and
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Treatment (SAPT) block grant be evidence based. DBHR is in the process of converting its county-
based preventon-delivery system to a system that focuses on high-risk communities. In that process,
best practices for community coalitions are being practiced, and implementation of the Strategic
Prevention Framework is used as the planning platform for communities. Each participating
community is required to organize and support a community coalition, deliver both direct prevention
services and environmental strategies, and provide prevention/intervention services in the
community’s schools.

Additional Clarification |
None given

State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Ray Horodowicz
E-mail: horodr@dshs.wa.gov
Address: PO Box 45330, Olympia, WA 98504-5330
Phone: 360-725-3807
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
College Coalition for Substance Abuse Prevention
Court Services/Diversion
Faith Community
Medical Community
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
National Governors’ Spouses
Native American Tribes
Office of Attorney General of Washington
Treatment Community
Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs
Washington Association Substance Abuse and Violence Prevention
Washington Drug Free Communities Coalition of Coalitions
Washington National Guard Counterdrug Task Force
Washington State Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)
Washington State Department of Commerce
Washington State Department of Health
Washington State Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS)/
Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery
Washington State Family Policy Council
Washington State Governor’s Office
Washington State Liquor Control Board
Washington State Office of Lt. Governor
Washington State Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
Washington State Partnership Council on Juvenile Justice
Washington State Patrol
Washington State Parent-Teacher Association (PTA)
Washington Traffic Safety Commission and Target Zero Task Forces

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.starttalkingnow.org

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery, Washington State Liquor Control Board
and the Washington State Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking
Plan can be accessed via: Earlyse Swift, earlyse.swift@dshs.wa.gov
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State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery and Washington State
Ligquor Control Board
Plan can be accessed via: Earlyse Swift, earlyse.swift@dshs.wa.gov
Additional Clarification

The Washington State Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking is co-chaired by the Division of Behavioral
Health and Recovery and Washington State Liquor Control Board, so those two agencies generally take
the lead on creation of plans and reports. The documents are then brought to the coalition for review
and approval.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $52,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $400,000,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $23,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: Community Mobilization Against Substance Abuse and Violence
Family Policy Council - Health and Safety Networks
Estimate of State funds expended $100,000,000
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:

Taxes No

Fines No

Fees No

Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:

No data

Additional Clarification

It is difficult to quantify dollars spent, as the programs have multiple focus points. The dollar amounts
given represent whole budgets for programs, but do not represent the portion of those funds directed to
underage drinking prevention.
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West Virginia

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 1,855,364
Population Ages 12-20: 205,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.7 53,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.7 38,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.6 5,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 4.1 3,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.3 14,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.6 000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.7 34,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 36.3 27,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 32
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,923
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 12.0 6

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

o General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that
the purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e There is no minimum supervised driving requirement—with driver education; 50 hours
without, 10 of which must be at night
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Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 10 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: For first 6 months, no unrelated passengers less than 20 years
old. For second 6 months, not more than one passenger under 20
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: West Virginia’s exception allows relatives by blood or marriage to furnish alcohol
to minors.
Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e  Minimum: 18
¢ Maximum: 20

Appearance Requirements

e None
ID Possession
e Required
Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited
Decoy Training
e Mandated

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
Time period/conditions: No guidelines provided

Responsible Beverage Service
No beverage service training requirement

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18
e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 18
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages
e Manager/supervisor is present.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
Limitations on outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: No
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet unless college or university has notified
commissioner, in writing, that it has no objection.
e Alcohol products: Beer

Primary and Secondary Schools

Prohibitions against outlet siting:

o Off-premises outlets: No
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet
e Alcohol products: Beer

Dram Shop Liability

e There is no statutory liability
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Host Party Laws
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Uncertain

e Wine: Permitted

e Spirits: Prohibited

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.
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Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
e Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: No law

e Wine: Permitted—direct shipper’s license required; two cases per month
e Spirits: No law

Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.18 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Drink Specials
No law

Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist
Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—30 days minimum
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
o Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control state
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West Virginia State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration (ABCA)
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
Under current code, the ABCA writes a letter requesting that the West Virginia State Police assist
in the inspection of on-premise establishments. Local law enforcement agencies assist in crowd
control on the exterior of the establishments. At off-premise retailers, local law enforcement

agencies can conduct compliance checks and coordinate with ABCA for licensee penalties.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors West Virginia ABCA

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 226
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,345
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 236
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the state® 94
Total amount in fines across all licensees $54,100
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* 19
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 91
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments

e L . Yes
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed® 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011

Additional Clarification

None given

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
RU 21 Underage Drinking Prevention Project

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.ru21wv.org

Program description: The West Virginia Prevention Resource Center (PRC) serves as a central point of
communication and administers the statewide Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Marketing and
Education Project. An Underage Drinking Prevention Specialist facilitates cross-system efforts with
EUDL, Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities (BBHHF), Governor’s Highway Safety
Program (GHSP), ABCA, Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD), West Virginia Collegiate
Initiative to Address High-Risk Alcohol Use (WVCIA), and county prevention partnerships and other
stakeholders through the Underage Drinking Prevention workgroup. The workgroup was established in
2005 to coordinate with other systems specifically to target preventing and reducing the onset of
underage drinking. (This workgroup was established by personnel who attended the Surgeon General’s
National Meeting of the States and includes members of the Underage Drinking Task Force of the
Juvenile Justice Sub-Committee. It oversees the statewide EUDL Marketing and Education Project.)
This is accomplished by working together to build the capacity of individuals and organizations to
prevent and reduce childhood and underage drinking by increasing understanding and perception of
harm, strengthening community-based processes and youth-oriented practices, promoting continued
underage drinking prevention efforts, and promoting underage drinking prevention messages.

WYV Collegiate Initiative to Address High-Risk Alcohol Use (WVCIA)

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.wvcia.org

Program description: WVCIA is the state organization that proactively addresses collegiate alcohol,
drug, and associated violence issues through evidence-based strategies to promote healthy campus
environments through self-regulatory initiatives, information dissemination, public policy influence,
cooperation with prevention partners, and technical assistance. Members represent the state’s
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campuses, agencies, and communities, and encourage and enhance local, state, regional, and national
initiatives through a commitment to shared standards for policy development, educational strategies,
enforcement, evaluation, and community collaboration. This initiative is funded by a grant from the WV
GHSP through its National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) alcohol funds. The West
Virginia Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities supports this initiative programmatically
through the participation of a National Prevention Network appointee, an Alcohol and Drug Information
Resource Specialist, and a researcher, who is preparing a white paper on the group’s history, including
its accomplishments such as data collection and a focus on evidence-based strategies. In the future,
the researcher will write issue briefs on each of several evidence-based practices and policies. These
briefs will be used by the group to inform higher education administrators and policymakers about the
need for continued and enhanced high-risk alcohol use prevention work on our campuses.

Dreamsavers
Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes
URL for evaluation report: http://www.iihs.org/externaldata/srdata/docs/sr4306.pdf
URL for more program information: Not applicable

Program description: Coordinated law enforcement effort to restrict alcohol availability to underage
persons in both bars and retail carryout establishments.

ABCA Statewide Enforcement Program

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.abca.wv.gov

Program description: This program is funded by West Virginia GHSP through NHTSA funds and the
West Virginia Division on Justice and Community Services through EUDL funds. With funds from WV
GHSP and State Farm philanthropies, ABCA has purchased and is operating a DUI simulator that is
being exhibited at high schools, colleges, and public events for the purpose of educating teen drivers on
the dangers of drinking and driving.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:
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Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
West Virginia Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)
URL for more program information: http://www.wvsadd.org

Program description: SADD is a peer-to-peer education, prevention, and activism organization
dedicated to preventing destructive decisions—particularly underage drinking, drug use, risky and
impaired driving, teen violence, and teen suicide.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No recognized

of underage drinking Tribal governments
Description of collaboration: Not applicable

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No

marketing

Program description: Not applicable
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes
prevention programs
Best practice standards description: All programs receiving federal funds (EUDL, Substance Abuse
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant, Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant [SPF
SIG], NHTSA, etc.) must select model programs or evidence-based practices for their underage

drinking prevention programs.
Additional Clarification

None given
State Interagency Collaboration
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes

address underage drinking prevention activities

Committee contact information:
Name: Stephanie Southall
E-mail: stephanie.a.southall@wv.gov
Address: 350 Capitol Street, Room 350, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304-356-5064

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
West Virginia Prevention Resource Center
West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration
West Virginia Governor’s Highway Safety Program
West Virginia Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities
West Virginia Division of Justice and Community Services (EUDL)
West Virginia State Police
West Virginia National Guard Drug Demand Reduction Unit
West Virginia Mothers Against Drunk Driving
West Virginia Students Against Destructive Decisions
West Virginia Department of Education
West Virginia Collegiate Initiative to Address High-Risk Alcohol Use
County Prevention Partnerships

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.ru21wv.org;
http://www.prevnet.org/wvpartnership/workgroups.aspx

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: There is not a consolidated plan. However, many agencies have their own strategic
plans that are used to apply for grants from the EUDL and Governor's Highway Safety Programs.
Plan can be accessed via: Stephanie.A.Southall@wv.gov

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification

The coordinating committee, known as the Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup, was staffed by
the West Virginia PRC. It was funded by the EUDL grant and a SAMHSA Programs of Regional and
National Significance Grant administered by the West Virginia PRC until June 30, 2012. In addition, the
West Virginia GHSP has supported this effort through equipment purchases and travel assistance. In
the past, this committee received funding from the SAMHSA SPF SIG Discretionary Grant Program and
the SAMHSA Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant Program. With the
expiration of SPF SIG and the drastic reduction in EUDL funds, the West Virginia Bureau for Behavioral
Health and Health Facilities plans to absorb this committee and has applied for funding for this
committee through the SPF Partners for Success Il grant program.
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended $1,000,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No data

Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue
streams:

Taxes No

Fines No

Fees No

Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:

No data

Additional Clarification
None given
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Wwisconsin

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 5,711,767
Population Ages 12-20: 672,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 29.3 197,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.2 135,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.1 7,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.6 3,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.2 65,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.6 38,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 55.7 125,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 41.8 94,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 87
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 5,228
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 25.0 24

“ See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for
law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e |tis acriminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
e |tis acriminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00
e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Discretionary

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e Minimum: 30 days
e Maximum: 90 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage

e Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months

e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months

e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 30 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one person under 21 who is not an immediate
family member or instructor
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 9 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: 12 months

First offense: Not specified

Second offense: Up to 3-day license suspension
Third offense: 3- to 10-day license suspension
Fourth offense: 15- to 30-day license suspension

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 839



State Reports — Wisconsin

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Licensees, Servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies only to new outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e PBeer: 18
e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 18

Note: No person, including a member of the licensee’s or permittee’s immediate family, other
than the licensee, permittee, or agent, may serve fermented malt or alcohol beverages in any
place operated under a Class “A,” “Class A,” Class “B,” “Class B,” or “Class C” license or
permit unless he or she has an operator’s license or is at least 18 years old and is under the
immediate supervision of the licensee, permittee, agent, or a person holding an operator’s license
who is on the premises at the time of the service. Thus, if an 18-year-old held an operator’s
license, he or she would not require immediate supervision by a manager or supervisor.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e \Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Note: No person, including a member of the licensee’s or permittee’s immediate family, other
than the licensee, permittee or agent, may serve fermented malt or alcohol beverages in any place
operated under a Class “A,” “Class A,” Class “B,” “Class B,” or “Class C” license or permit
unless he or she has an operator’s license or is at least 18 years of age and is under the immediate
supervision of the licensee, permittee, agent or a person holding an operator’s license who is on
the premises at the time of the service. Thus, if an 18-year-old held an operator’s license, he or
she would not require immediate supervision by a manager or supervisor.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
Prohibitions against outlet siting:
e Off-premises outlets: Yes—uwithin 300 feet. Local government has authority to override
state restrictions.
e On-premises outlets: Yes—within 300 feet. Local government has authority to override
state restrictions.
e Alcohol products: Wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.
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Social Host Liability Laws
Statutory liability exists.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.
e Preventive action by the host negates the violation.

Note: The “preventive action” provision in Wisconsin allows the prosecution to establish guilt
by proving that the host failed to take preventive action.

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements: None

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Recipient must be 21.

Keg Registration

Registration is not required.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited
e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.06 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.25 per gallon.
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $3.36 per gallon.
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Drink Specials
No law

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e  Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—3 percent markup to cover a proportionate
part of the cost of doing business or a lesser amount with proof. No sales below cost.

o Retailer credit: Restricted—15 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e  Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—3 percent markup to cover a proportionate
part of the cost of doing business or a lesser amount with proof. No sales below cost.
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e  Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—3 percent markup to cover a proportionate
part of the cost of doing business or a lesser amount with proof. No sales below cost.
o Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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Wisconsin State Survey Responses

State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

No state agency has primary responsibility.
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:

Laws are enforced locally. Local law enforcement in Wisconsin’s 72 counties can coordinate with

the county sheriff departments or interagency agreements between jurisdictions.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct Wisconsin f
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Department o
Revenue
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No
Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies Data not collected
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Data not collected
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if N
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 0
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No
Number of fines imposed by the state® Data not collected
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* Data not collected
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Data not collected

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
Additional Clarification

Wisconsin is a local control state. Each city, town, and municipality is responsible for alcohol sales
licensing and compliance.

Lor having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Parents Who Host Lose the Most: Don’t be a party to teenage drinking

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 07/01/2012
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://www.drugfreeactionalliance.org/docs/PWHExecSummary2006.pdf
URL for more program information: http://sites.google.com/site/parentswhohostawi

Program description: Developed by the Drug-Free Action Alliance of Ohio, the “Parents Who Host Lose
the Most” campaign is aimed at many well-meaning parents who think it is enough to take away car
keys at their teens’ parties so the teens can't drink and drive. Parents provide the alcohol or allow
alcohol to be consumed based on the false belief that it's a rite of passage, especially at prom and
graduation parties. The “Parents Who Host, Lose The Most” public awareness campaign was
developed by Drug-Free Action Alliance in 2000 to educate parents about the health and safety risks of
serving alcohol at teen parties and to increase awareness of and compliance with the Ohio Underage
Drinking Laws. This program was modified to meet the needs of Wisconsin communities. Some 65
communities annually implement the campaign with cooperation from law enforcement during prom and
graduation season. In 2012, the governor signed a proclamation declaring April as Teenage Drinking
Awareness Month to coincide with this campaign.

Wisconsin Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant

(SPF SIG)
Number of youth served 0
Number of parents served 0
Number of caregivers served 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 07/01/2012
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/substabuse/spfSig/index.htm
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Program description: Wisconsin received an SPF SIG through SAMHSA beginning in 2006. Funds
were used to support the implementation of environmental strategies in 20 Wisconsin communities.
Communities selected from one of the following three priorities: reducing underage drinking, reducing
young adult binge drinking, or reducing alcohol-related motor vehicle injuries or fatalities. In the 5 years
since program implementation, Wisconsin has seen a significant decrease in underage drinking and
alcohol-related motor vehicle injuries and fatalities. The full program evaluation will be completed in
September 2012.

Alliance for Wisconsin Youth

Number of youth served 0

Number of parents served 0

Number of caregivers served 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 07/01/2012
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.allwisyouth.org

Program description: The Alliance for Wisconsin Youth brings together coalitions, individuals, and
resources to prevent substance abuse and related behavioral health concerns affecting young people
and to promote positive youth development. The Alliance’s mission is to enhance and support the
capacity of local alliances (member coalitions) in their prevention and youth development work. Over
120 local coalitions are members of the Alliance. The Alliance is served by five Regional Prevention
Centers that provide support, training, and technical assistance to community coalitions to prevent
alcohol and drug abuse. These coalitions work to implement environmental strategies to prevent
underage drinking, among other state priorities.

Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT)
Block Grant Programs

Number of youth served 95,000
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No date
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information:
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/substabuse/docs/sabg/2012finalSAPTBGPIan092911.pdf

Program description: The Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Mental Health and
Substance Abuse Services received an SAPT Block Grant from SAMHSA. Of the funds received, 20
percent are used to support substance abuse prevention services, including underage drinking
prevention. The majority of funds are distributed to county-operated human service departments for
delivery of prevention services. Most provide individual-level prevention services.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Brighter Futures Initiative (BFI)
URL for more program information: http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/bfi

Program description: BFI promotes healthy families and youth; school readiness for children; child
safety in families and communities; and successful navigation from childhood to adulthood. The
Initiative supports evidence-based, positive youth development and prevention strategies focusing on
the following legislative outcomes set forth in s. 46.99, Wis. Stats., Brighter Futures Initiative: prevent
and reduce incidence of youth violence and other delinquent behavior; prevent and reduce incidence of
youth alcohol and drug use and abuse; prevent and reduce incidence of child abuse and neglect;
prevent and reduce incidence of nonmarital pregnancy and increase use of abstinence to prevent
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nonmarital pregnancy; and increase adolescent self-sufficiency by encouraging high school graduation,
vocational preparedness, improved social and other interpersonal skills, and responsible
decisionmaking.

Wisconsin Alcohol Policy Project
URL for more program information: http://www.law.wisc.edu/wapp

Program description: The Wisconsin Alcohol Policy Project provides training, tools, and technical
assistance to individuals and groups working to adopt and implement alcohol policy. The project
supports the work of municipal leaders, law enforcement, the media, and community coalitions
reviewing and adopting the policies and practices to improve the alcohol environment and reduce
alcohol misuse.

Wisconsin Clearinghouse for Prevention Resources
URL for more program information: http://wch.uhs.wisc.edu

Program description: No data

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council (representing Wisconsin’s 11 Tribes).
Collaboration on a state/Tribal SPF SIG and Strategic Prevention Enhancement Grant. Tribal State
Collaborative for Positive Change - The single state authority on alcohol and drug abuse and Tribal
leaders of Wisconsin’s 11 Native American Tribes collaborate on alcohol and drug abuse and mental
health services. The Wisconsin Department of Health Services provides each of Wisconsin’s 11
Native American Tribes with funding to support alcohol and drug abuse prevention and treatment
services and behavioral health services.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking No

prevention programs

Best practice standards description: Not applicable
Additional Clarification

Many of the questions appear to refer to prevention “programs” that serve indicated or selected
populations. Wisconsin has moved many of its services toward environmental strategies influencing
population-level change through policies and strategies; thus, many of the questions requesting data on
number of youth, parents, or caregivers served do not apply. In addition, Wisconsin is a “local control”
state, which means that alcohol policy is done locally (regarding licensure, sales, and enforcement).
Wisconsin does not have a statewide Alcohol Control Board. Each city, town, or municipality has its
own alcohol licensing board as part of local government that issues alcohol sales licenses and is also
responsible for suspension or revocation of these licenses.

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities

Committee contact information:

Name: Michael Waupoose

E-mail: michael.waupoose @uwmf.wisc.edu

Address: 3414 Sunbrook Road, Madison, W1 53704-2729

Phone: No data
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Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Governor’s Office
The Attorney General’s Office
State Superintendent of Public Instruction Office
Commissioner of Insurance Office
Department of Corrections
Department of Transportation
Pharmacy Examining Board
Controlled Substances Board
Law Enforcement and Crime Commission
7 Citizen Members
Member Representing the Wisconsin County Human Serices Association
State Representative, Majority Party
State Representative, Minority Party
State Senator Majority Party
State Senator Minority Party
University of Wisconsin Extension
Department of Revenue
Department of Workforce Development
Department of Regulation and Licensing
Wisconsin Technical College System
Department of Veterans Affairs
Office of Justice Assistance
Liaison to the Mental Health Council
Liaison to the Developmental Disabilities Council
Division of Public Health
Department of Children and Families
Department of Health Services
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.scaoda.state.wi.us

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by: Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Wisconsin Department of Health Services Division of Mental Health and Substance
Abuse Services Division of Health
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/substabuse/docs/spfSiq/2010Profile.pdf

Additional Clarification

None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underag
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $200,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
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K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included: No data

Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No data
Fines Yes
Fees No data
Other No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used:

Fines for underage drinking citations are used locally to support prevention efforts.
Additional Clarification

None given

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports — Wyoming

X

W

Wyoming
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts’

State Population: 568,158
Population Ages 12-20: 68,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.0 19,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 195 13,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.8 2,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 4.1 1,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.2 6,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.0 4,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.5 12,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 334 9,000
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 11
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 688
Percentage of All
Traffic Fatalities Number
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC >0.01 21.0 3

“ See Appendix C for data sources.

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 849



State Reports — Wyoming

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
o No driver’s license suspension procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.

e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 19.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory
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Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 90 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 11 p.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger under 18, unless
accompanied by another driver at least 18
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER
e Parent/guardian OR
e Spouse

Note: Wyoming’s exception allows members of the minor’s “immediate family” to furnish
alcohol, which has been interpreted here to include a spouse.

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
e Minimum: 18
¢ Maximum: 20

Appearance Requirements
Casual attire

Average height and build
Males: No facial hair
Females: Little or no makeup

ID Possession
e Discretionary

Verbal Exaggeration of Age

e Prohibited
Decoy Training
e Mandated
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
Time period/conditions: No guidelines provided.

Responsible Beverage Service

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments.
e The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: 21

e Wine: 21

e Spirits: 21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Wine: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools

Colleges and Universities
No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools
No distance limitation

Dram Shop Liability

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession, consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts” knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.

Note: Wyoming’s social host statute applies only to possession or consumption by persons
under age 18.
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Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol

Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments:
e Beer: Prohibited

e Wine: Permitted

e Spirits: Prohibited

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the
following restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements: None

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
e State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements: None

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

Keg definition: Not less than 7 gallons
Prohibited:
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $500
Purchaser information collected:
— Verified by a government-issued 1D
Warning information to purchaser: Passive—no purchaser action required
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Nolaw

e Wine: No law
e Spirits: No law
Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.02 per gallon
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state

Drink Specials
No law
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Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist.

o Beer (5 percent alcohol): Retailer credit is not permitted.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control state

e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control state
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Wyoming State Survey Responses

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

No data
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:

No data

Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Wyoming Dept. of
Revenue Liquor
Division

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics
Yes

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 1,532
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations” to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 0
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,198
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 234
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No
Number of fines imposed by the state® Data not collected
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the state* Data not collected
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
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Additional Clarification

Data reported on Minor in Possession (MIP) offenses and citations were based on information collected
for 17 communities that receive federal Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) funding. While this
captures data on the most populous areas of Wyoming, it does not encapsulate the entire population.

'Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes.

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors.

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies.

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies.

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Wyoming Core Prevention Program

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.health.wyo.gov/mhsa/prevention/coreprevention.html

Program description: The Core Prevention Program administered by the Wyoming Department of
Health’s Public Health Division (PHD) is the successor to the state’s Strategic Prevention Framework
State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG), which terminated in September 2010. Core Prevention was the state’s
attempt to maintain state and local prevention capacity and infrastructure in the face of an approximate
two-thirds reduction in funding resulting from the end of SPF SIG. Core Prevention braids together state
general funds and federal substance abuse prevention block grant funding to provide a single
prevention grant to prevention coalitions in each of Wyoming’s 23 counties. In addition, Core Prevention
integrates substance abuse prevention and mental health promotion/suicide prevention into a single
prevention initiative that provides communities with the opportunity to address local substance abuse
and mental health issues based on community-level data. Because underage drinking and adult binge
drinking remain problems most in need of and appropriate for prevention, those issues receive the
largest proportion of prevention funding; however, the Core Prevention grant is designed to provide
communities with flexibility to address emergent issues such as prescription drug abuse and the use of
“spice” and other forms of synthetic marijuana.

Beginning with the new state biennium (July 1, 2012), tobacco cessation and prevention will be
integrated into Core Prevention. Also beginning on July 1, 2012, the state will complete the
transformation of its prevention business model. Specifically, the Wyoming Department of Health will
contract with a single fiscal agent that will serve as the Prevention Management Organization (PMO) for
Wyoming’s community-based prevention efforts. This differs from the state’s historical model, pursuant
to which the Department of Health contracted with separate fiscal agents in each of its 23 counties. The
purpose of this new model is to reduce administrative costs and overhead incurred through multiple
contracts and to provide community coalitions with the ability to participate fully in prevention decisions
made in communities. The PMO will employ local program managers in each funded community to
continue directing community-based prevention. Evaluation of local and state prevention efforts is
provided by the Wyoming Survey and Analysis Center, an extension of the University of Wyoming.
Technical assistance in identification and utilization of evidence-based programs and environmental
strategies will be provided by the PMO.
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Wyoming Core Prevention Program
URL for more program information: wdh.state.wy.us/mhsa/prevention/coreprevention.html

Program description: Please see description above. The Core Prevention program supports
community-based prevention efforts that provide local initiatives related to underage drinking.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Description of collaboration: The Wyoming Department of Health communicates and shares
information with both Tribal nations located in Wyoming related to prevention of underage drinking.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and No
marketing

Program description: Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: The Public Health Division requires that all programs
implemented with state and federal funds either incorporate a recognized environmental strategy
designed to reduce underage drinking at the community level, be an established evidence-based
program, or adhere to best practice standards. This mandate is reinforced through ongoing

technical assistance provided to local program staff and coalitions by the PMO.
Additional Clarification
None given

State Interagency Collaboration

A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Wyoming Prevention Consortium (currently being organized)
E-mail: keith.hotle@wyo.gov
Address: 6101 Yellowstone Road, Room 510, Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: 307-777-3318
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Office of the Governor
Department of Family Services
Department of Education
Department of Health
Department of Corrections
Department of Workforce Services
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No
URL or other means of access: Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: A draft of the Wyoming blueprint for substance abuse prevention has been partially
prepared by the Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Division (MHSASD), Wyoming
Department of Health; however, it is unknown whether this plan will be finalized. Please note that
the Public Health Division is working on a 5-Year Strategic Plan for Substance Abuse Prevention in
Wyoming as part of the State Prevention Enhancement grant provided by SAMHSA. This plan will
be completed no later than the end of the federal grant term (August 31, 2012). Once completed,
the Strategic Plan will be distributed to partners and stakeholders and posted on the PHD website.

Plan can be accessed via: No data
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State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Wyoming Survey and Analysis Center, as evaluator to the Wyoming Department of
Health

Plan can be accessed via: wysac.uwyo.edu/Default.aspx

The federal Block Grant annual evaluation can be located at this website. In addition, MHSASD can
provide evaluation reports prepared for the SPF SIG Grant program. Evaluation for the Core
Prevention program can be provided by MHSASD upon request.

Additional Clarification
None given

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of state funds expended $868,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended $2,000,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available

Other programs:
Programs or strategies included: No data
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data
Description of funding streams and how they are used:
No data

Additional Clarification
None given
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