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State Reports – Alabama 

 
Alabama 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  4,802,740 
Population Ages 12–20:  593,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.5 127,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.2 78,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.7 10,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.5 4,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 17.1 34,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.5 23,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 38.9 83,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 23.7 51,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  100 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  5,972 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 23.0 38 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years of age or older.. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  90 days 
• Maximum:  180 days 
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner-stage period:  6 months  
• No minimum supervised driving requirement with driver education; 30 hours without 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger, excluding parent or guardian 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  16 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance Requirements 
• Males:  No beard 
• Females:  No heavy makeup 

ID Possession 
• Required 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy Training 
• Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  4 years 
• First offense:  $750 fine and no hearing 
• Second offense:  $1,000 fine and no hearing 
• Third offense  Hearing required 

Note:  Board has the authority to impose fines up to $1,000 or invoke a suspension/revocation of 
up to 1 year. 

238 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 



 State Reports – Alabama 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Incentives for Training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 
• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers  
• Beer:  Not specified 
• Wine:  Not specified 
• Spirits:  21 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Note:  A minor employee of an off-premises retail licensee may handle, transport, or sell beer or 
table wine, provided there is an adult employee in attendance at all times. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
Limitations on outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1 mile 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1 mile 
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Primary and Secondary Schools 
No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption. 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, other. 
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• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 
actual knowledge of the occurrence. 

• Preventive action by the host negates the violation. 
Note:  Alabama’s provision requires that the adult social host be in attendance at the gathering or 
party in order for a violation to occur.  The “preventive action” provision in Alabama requires 
the prosecution to prove that the host failed to take preventive action. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Registration not required 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Prohibited 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $1.05 per gallon. 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Control state 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Control state 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited  
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited, but not permitted before 10 a.m.  or 

after 9 p.m. 
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 
Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Alabama State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board Enforcement Division 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

ABC Enforcement works with local Police Departments conducting minor operations for alcohol. 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No data 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law enforcement agencies 757 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 4,564 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  418 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Data not collected 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

 
Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 Data not collected 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 Data not collected 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed5 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

retail establishments No 

Data not collected  
Data not collected 

Additional Clarification   

None given 

1 
2 

3 
4 
5 

Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers 
prohibiting sales to minors. 
Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

are complying with laws 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the 
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  

State:   

Baldwin County Mental Health Center (MHC) 
Number of youth served 
Number of parents served 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

 
500 
250 

No data 
09/30/2011 

Yes 
No  

Not applicable 
No data 

Program description:   

Baldwin Star Search (High School Talent Competition)   

Baldwin Star Search took place on April 30, 2011.  The Baldwin County Community Alliance (BCCA) 
created this no charge, alcohol and drug-free event for students and families in Baldwin County.  The 
purpose was  to show high school students, during their most impressionable years, that they do not 
need alcohol or drugs in order to have fun.  The event was open to the public, but attending students 
from Baldwin County Schools signed a pledge card to enter.  This event was open to students, parents, 
and community members as an alcohol- and drug-free family fun activity. 

Each high school conducted a talent contest from which the first- and second-place winners went on to 
represent their schools at the Baldwin Star Search.  As with all of BCCA drug-free events, high school 
students must sign an alcohol and drug-free pledge card as their free admission to the event.  When 
students entered the event, they were given a ticket that was used for their chance to win door prizes 
during the event.   

Deputy Jeffrey Spaller with the Baldwin County Sheriff’s Office spoke during the second intermission 
and discussed being a leader and role model to younger family members.  He also spoke about the 
impact that being arrested for underage drinking and DUI will have on them and their families.  
Additionally, Deputy Spaller recounted the story of one of their deputies who was struck head-on by a 
drunk driver while on a patrol and stressed the importance of the pledge cards. 

Mac McClurkin with Alive@25 also spoke during the second intermission.  Alive@25’s mission is 
preventing deaths among teen drivers and young adult drivers.  Teaching teens and young adults to 
drive safely is very important, and Alive@25 takes pride in accomplishing this.  As driving accidents are 
preventable, deaths relating to teen driving accidents are also preventable.  Teen driving accidents do 
not have to be the leading cause of death in the US.  Alive@25 contributes to this cause by saving lives 
through education.   

Underage Drinking Prevention 30 Second Commercial Contest 

BCCA sponsored a 30 Second Commercial contest, which was open to middle and high school 
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students.  Students were asked to use their creative skills to outline a television commercial showing the 
negative impact of underage drinking, with a focus on the access and availability of alcohol to minors.  
Participating students wrote a detailed summary of their commercial and submitted a storyboard with 
their entries.  Each school that submitted entries had a school winner selected.  The three overall county 
winners were chosen from the individual school winners and had their commercials produced in Baldwin 
County by FOX10 TV.  The commercials aired for one year, and those that can be converted to radio 
versions are recorded and aired on local radio stations for a year as well.   

Underage Drinking Prevention Billboard Contest 

BCCA sponsored a billboard contest, which was open to high school students.  High school students 
were asked to use their creative skills to design a billboard that would deter underage drinking.  
Participating students designed their ideas on a billboard template, which they submitted to their 
school’s contact person.  The first place winner’s billboard design was displayed for one year by Lamar 
Advertising.  Lamar Advertising also briefly displayed the first place winner billboard on their four digital 
billboards for a month, to provide additional exposure.   

CED  Mental Health Center (MHC)  
Number of youth served 1,300 
Number of parents served 142 
Number of caregivers served 36 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  The program used a multiplicity of evidence-based curricula to address underage 
drinking. 

Cheaha Regional  Mental Health Center (MHC)  
Number of youth served 8,230 
Number of parents served 316 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No  
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  Environmental program included town hall meetings (called Real Talk Meetings) 
and Safety Line (a 24-hour manned line to call and report underage drinking activities [e.g., house 
parties, field parties, underage alcohol sales]).  Safety Line was in cooperation with Lake Martin Area 
United Way 2-1-1.  Efforts to expand the coalition included several media/marketing campaigns (Charter 
Cable, Lamar Outdoor Advertising [billboards]) and educating the city council about issues surrounding 
underage alcohol use.   

 
Chilton Shelby Mental Health Center (MHC)  

Number of youth served 942 
Number of parents served 80 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Yes 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report   Not applicable 
URL for more program information  No data 
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Program description:  The program used multiple evidence-based curricula within the school system 
targeting youth, peers, and parents.   

Council on Substance Abuse (COSA)  
Number of youth served 2,157 
Number of parents served 30 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No  
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information  No data 

Program description:  COSA provided the following underage drinking activities: 

Trinity Broadcasting Network Interview (2)—provided a segment on the dangers of alcohol, tobacco, and 
drugs and how it affects the youth in Montgomery.  Spoke about the dangers of alcohol and energy drink 
mixtures and about the new phase alcoholic energy drinks (AEDs) hitting the markets and about the 
specific dangers these drinks cause among the teen and college population. 

Radio Interview at Clear Channel Radio—participated in a radio interview at Clear Channel Radio with 
members of their youth program called Hot Shots.  Members of Hot Shots asked questions regarding 
underage drinking and substance abuse, and they took live calls from the public. 

Parents Who Host Lose The Most Campaign Public Service Announcement (PSA)—participated in a 
filming of a PSA for the Parents Who Host Lose The Most Campaign.  Two students and the principal 
from Lee High School participated in the PSA.  The PSA aired on WCOV FOX during American Idol and 
the American Idol Results Show. 

Parents Who Host, Lose The Most Student Presentations—conducted two presentations:  one at Lee 
High School for all 11th- and 12th-grade students, and one at Lanier High School for all 11th- and 12th-
grade students, for the Parents Who Host, Lose The Most Campaign. 

Parents Who Host, Lose The Most Parents Presentation—participated in the Parents Who Host, Lose 
The Most Campaign Parents Meeting from 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. at Lee High School.  The PSA that was 
filmed at Lee High School for the Parents Who Host Lose the Most Campaign was shown at the parents’ 
meeting. 

Faulkner University Alcohol Screenings—participated in the National Alcohol Screening Survey.  The 
survey was administered to any student willing to participate.  Information provided on the dangers of 
substance abuse.   

Auburn University Montgomery (AUM) Alcohol Screenings—participated in the National Alcohol 
Screening Survey.  The survey was administered to any student willing to participate.  Information 
provided on the dangers of substance abuse. 

Troy State University Montgomery (TSUM) Alcohol Screenings—participated in the National Alcohol 
Screening Survey.  The survey was administered to any student willing to participate.  Information 
provided on the dangers of substance abuse. 

Alabama State University (ASU) Alcohol Screenings—participated in the National Alcohol Screening 
Survey.  The survey was administered to any student willing to participate.  Information provided on the 
dangers of substance abuse. 

Youth Forum—held its first Annual ONE Community, ONE Family, ONE Montgomery Hear Me Out 
Youth Forum.  The Youth Forum was held at Abernathy Hall on the Alabama State University campus.  
Two youth advisory boards from the Council on Substance Abuse and the Hot Shots for Hot 105.7 
served on the panel.  They answered questions on violence, self-esteem, relationships, teen pregnancy, 
alcohol, drugs, body image, and community.  After the forum, everyone participated in a unity walk to 
Oak Park, where they enjoyed a barbeque and watched the Chisholm Community Center and T.S. 
Morris karate teams perform. 
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Cheer Out Against Underage Drinking—hosted a “Cheer Out Against Underage Drinking” Cheer 
Competition from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Kershaw Y.  The event was held to make the community 
aware of the issues surrounding underage drinking.  Three local Montgomery teams participated in the 
event and made up two chants on why youth should not drink alcohol. 

Kicking Drugs and Alcohol out of our Communities Kickball Tournament—hosted a “Kicking Drugs & 
Alcohol Out of Our Communities” Kickball Tournament on July 22, 2011, from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. at Oak 
Park.  This event focused on uniting the Community Centers, Boys & Girls Clubs, and Ys.  The specific 
objective of this program was to host a fun and educational community event that focused on the 
dangers of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs.  Each participant received a bag full of informational brochures 
on the dangers of alcohol, tobacco and drugs to take home and share with their parents.   

“Why the Buzz” Essay Contest—Youth Advisory Board at the Council on Substance Abuse-National 
Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (NCADD) hosted the “Why the Buzz” essay contest at 
Alabama State University from 12 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.  The Youth Advisory Board’s essay topic was:  “As a 
teen, what can you do to prevent underage drinking amongst your peers?” They received over 250 
essays from Montgomery Public High Schools. 

Covington County Children’s Policy Council Coalition 
Number of youth served 5,939 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information       

     No data 
http://www.covingtonkids.com 

Program descriptions:  

1. In 2011, the Covington County Children’s Policy Council Coalition (CCCPCC) started a workplace
drug prevention education program to offer parental substance abuse to families.  Coalition Chairman 
Judge Frank “Trippy” McGuire, along with Coalition staff, conducted three workplace development 
programs with drug prevention elements with the county’s largest businesses of employment, including 
Alabama Power Co., Alabama Gas District, and Covington Electric Cooperative.  The purpose of the 
programs is to provide parents/adults with information, community education, and raising drug 
prevention awareness in the area.  The program served 250 people in their workplaces in 2011. 

2. Drug-Free Uniform Patch Project for youth ages 8 to 17, participating in Andalusia and Opp Parks
and Recreation athletic programs.  More than 1,000 community athletes in Andalusia and 500 in Opp 
participated in this program during fall 2011.  Another aspect of this program includes providing parents 
with information that addresses several issues like making sure alcohol and/or medications in the home 
are locked up and promising not to serve alcohol to underage youth. 

3. Peer Helper Programs in six high schools across Covington County train approximately 125 student
peer helpers community advocates against all forms of substance abuse.  The Peer Helpers present 
anti-substance abuse messages to middle school students, grades 6 to 8, each spring.  Peer Helpers 
also make unique presentations in their high schools (grades 9 to 12) during the school year, including 
anti-drinking and driving programs named “Staying Alive” to reach fellow high school students right 
before spring break, reaching 445 at Andalusia High School and 350 at Opp High School in 2011. 

4. Kids Against Prescription Pills (KAPP) is a new program in Covington County whereby the Drug Task
Force Agents and former addicts speak to approximately 1,500 middle school students (grades 6 to 8).  
KAPP conducts this program during the months of February, March, and April of each school year. 

5. A Distracted and Impaired Driving Program with Fatal Vision Goggles is conducted every October by
the Covington County Sheriff’s Department, provided at the following locations:  the Covington County 
Fair reaching 12,262 participants, the Opp Rattlesnake Rodeo reaching 8,000 participants, and three 
school systems reaching 1,084 students in 2011. 
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6. Newsletters for parents of 6th graders in Covington County are sent out each month to each of the
middle schools during the school year.  A total of 464 newsletters are sent out each month to parents to 
promote drug and alcohol awareness to the youth and their parents.  A local licensed counselor, Brent 
Cosby, contributes a monthly column called “Cosby’s Corner,” which is based on parenting skills and 
drug prevention for families. 

7. A Religious Leaders Symposium is conducted each fall, where youth leaders and pastors are invited
to hear the latest Pride Survey results from the three school systems in Covington County.  Area 
religious leaders are given this information to take back to their own churches to provide positive 
guidance and parenting skills to the parents and families in their congregations.  In 2011, 55 pastors 
attended this program. 

8. To offer a pro-social support and a drug-free community activity for teens, in February 2011, the
Coalition, local law enforcement, peer helpers, local attorneys, judges, mental health professionals, and 
area churches sponsored the first “59 Minutes:  The Weak End” event.  This community event was an 
interactive drama where youth experience the consequences of drunk driving by visiting various “stages” 
of the process in 59 minutes.  Over 100 volunteers helped in this effort, and over 350 youth and adults 
attended. 

9. August 2011, the Covington County Alcohol Beverage Control Board (a Coalition member)
sponsored an underage drinking prevention program for two of the largest high schools in the area.  
Andalusia High and Straughn High each had 450 students in attendance.  The presentation included a 
teenager who had been severely injured in a car accident as a result of driving under the influence.  This 
teenager has made a lifetime commitment to speak to other young people about the dangers of drinking 
and driving and how it can change one’s life forever.   

Dothan-Houston County Substance Abuse Partnership 
Number of youth served 5,000 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report  
URL for more program information  

       Not applicable 
http://www.wiregrasspartnership.com 

Program description:  The Dothan-Houston County Substance Abuse Partnership is a nonprofit coalition 
that has been in existence since 1991 and has been funded as a drug-free community in the past.  The 
following programs serving youth focus on underage drinking: 
1. Dying High II, Human Relations Media
2. Too Much, The Extreme Dangers of Binge Drinking, Human Relations Media
3. Drugged Driving, the Road to Disaster, Human Relations Media
4. Dying High:  Teens in the ER, Human Relations Media
5. Prom Promise
6. LifeSkills
7. Youth Council Activities
8. Summer Programs (puppet shows, skits)

East Alabama Mental Health 
Number of youth served 2,518 
Number of parents served 126 
Number of caregivers served 126 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No  
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 
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Program description:  Project Success, Protecting You Protecting Me, Project Alert, “Keep the Keys” 
presentations  

Gateway Substance Abuse (SA) Prevention Program and Positive  
Reinforcement of Uplifting Development Program (PROUD) 

Number of youth served 1,690 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No  
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  Targets children and youth ages 6 to 18 who reside in families who abuse 
substances, are economically disadvantaged, and have limited family involvement, low self-esteem, and 
high levels of family conflict.   

The program is facilitated via in-group formats at Rutledge Middle School.  Topics focus on identifying 
supportive people in the participants’ lives, coping skills, dangers of substance use, decisionmaking 
skills, stress management, improving social functioning, and communication skills.  Other topics are 
available by special request, based on the needs of the participants.   

School counselors, teachers, and other school personnel identify and refer youth to participate in the 
program.  The youth are referred to the program and the program facilitator confirms eligibility.  The 
evidence-based curricula Too Good For Drugs and Life Skills are used.   

The department closely collaborates with local schools, churches, after-school programs, and other 
agencies to facilitate these programs.  The substance abuse prevention program is provided during the 
school day.  Each group meets for approximately 1 hour for 10 sessions.  The groups are very 
interactive and encourage participants to share their own experiences, learn new skills, develop healthy 
peer relationships, and improve family interactions.  The program also goes to schools, churches, and 
communities and facilitate presentations on substance abuse topics.   

PROUD was developed by Gateway.  The PROUD program provides substance use prevention 
programs to middle school youth.  The PROUD Program is held after school twice a week on Mondays 
and Wednesdays, from 3 to 5 p.m. and during the summer on Mondays through Thursdays (11 a.m. to 
3:30 p.m.) for 6 weeks.  PROUD is facilitated at the Highland Center, located at 904 9th Avenue.  The 
same students who participate in the prevention education groups at Rutledge Middle School will also 
participate in the PROUD program.  The program consists of:  life skills classes, drug prevention 
information, recreational/social activities, and service learning activities.  These youth participate in 
programs focusing on increasing general life skills such as communication skills, decisionmaking skills, 
resisting peer pressure, conflict resolution, self-esteem, and assertiveness training.   

The overall goal of PROUD is to decrease the risk factors associated with youths’ favorable attitudes 
toward substance use and early initiation of substance use.  The program also focuses on increasing 
the protective factors of social opportunities, skill building, and bonding for youth.   

 
Hoover Coalition Promoting a Safe & Healthy Community/Safe & 
Drug Free School 

Number of youth served 

 

3,051 
Number of parents served 61 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information No data 
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Program description:  Botvin LifeSkills Training was used with three middle schools; Building Assets 
Reducing Risks with two high schools; Toward No Drug Abuse with two high schools; and Class Action 
with two high schools. 

Mental Healthcare of Cullman 
Number of youth served 2,364 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No  
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  “Heads Up!  Rise Above the Influence” is on the campus of Wallace State 
Community College in Hanceville, AL, and is a part of prevention efforts through Mental Healthcare of 
Cullman.  Heads Up! is a campuswide responsible drinking project.  The project promotes a safe and 
healthy lifestyle among all students and intervenes with high-risk students to reduce dangerous levels of 
drinking and the incidence of problems resulting from heavy consumption.  The program takes an 
environmental approach and tries to be all-inclusive on campus, becoming integrated in as many areas 
as possible.  Campus administration has been supportive and cooperative over the past 6 years.  The 
number of youth served above does not include the students 21 and over who are included in the 
program for which work is done to reduce binge drinking.   

Mental Health Center (MHC) of Madison County 
Number of youth served 300 
Number of parents served 25 
Number of caregivers served 40 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://www.mhcnca.org 

Program description:  The MHC Substance Abuse Prevention Program provides education to increase 
awareness in the area of alcohol and other drug prevention, intervention, treatment, and recovery.  The 
purpose of the Prevention Program is to keep children safe and healthy while preventing and/or 
delaying the initiation of using alcohol, tobacco, and drugs; build emotional health; prevent or delay 
onset; and mitigate symptoms and complications from substance abuse and mental illness.  Referral 
sources are parents, schools, and community organizations.   

Mental Health Center (MHC) of North Central Alabama 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No  
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://www.mhcnca.org 

Program description:  MHC of North Central Alabama provided the following environmental strategies 
funded by the state specific to underage drinking: 

Raise awareness of the need to decrease underage sale of alcoholic beverages and to educate the 
community about the high noncompliance rate of alcohol sales to minors in Decatur:   
• National Red Ribbon Week—distributed materials and participated in Red Ribbon March.
• Alcohol-free weekend on college campuses—informational materials distributed.
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• Alcohol Awareness Month—published digital and print billboards and distributed awareness 
materials.   

• Operation Prom/Graduation—distributed awareness materials to limousine drivers/companies 
reminding them to help stop underage drinking during prom season, produced and delivered “no 
drinking on prom night” reminders to florists and tuxedo rental shops for placement on their 
products at prom time, and published print billboards for prom season.   

• Published Decatur Daily newspaper advertisements and high school athletic program 
advertisements for the “Parents Who Host Lose the Most” program.   

• In conjunction with Morgan County Substance Abuse Network (MCSAN), as indicated by The Drug-
Free Action Alliance program “Parents Who Host, Lose the Most,” purchased and utilized materials 
from kits that contained best-practice ideas, fact sheets, media releases, newsletter articles, and 
other campaign materials.  Published “Parents Who Host” print billboards in Decatur. 

 
Coordinate with MCSAN to assist ABC Board with conducting Responsible Vendor Program (RVP) 
educational training with vendors/merchants from Morgan County in September 2011: 
• Distributed positive incentives for vendors who complete the training and/or who improve their 

compliance efforts. 
• Encouraged licensed vendors to post legal warning signs. 
• Provided educational materials to vendors/merchants who attend the trainings about the importance 

of compliance with laws concerning sales of alcohol to minors. 
 

Additional information about implementation of the “Parents Who Host” program: 
“Parents Who Host, Lose The Most:  Don’t be a party to teenage drinking” is a national public 
awareness campaign designed to raise awareness of the dangers and legal ramifications of providing 
alcohol to minors.  This campaign began in December 2009. 
• “Parents Who Host” public service announcements have aired on WAAY-TV.  Since December 

2009, the PSA aired over 200 times for more than 1,372,000 gross impressions each year.  Gross 
impressions are the total number of unduplicated people or households represented by a given 
media schedule.  The PSA is currently airing on WAAY-TV and will continue to air through 
September 2012. 

• Billboards have been placed in various locations throughout Decatur and Morgan County.  Exposure 
for these billboards reached over 4 million people. 

• Print ads have been placed in the Decatur Daily newspaper.  Total readership in a 3-month time 
period is approximately 1,120,000.  Since 2010, print ads were also included each fall in the Decatur 
Daily Football Special.  Total readership for those days was approximately 210,000. 

• “Parents Who Host” ads were placed in sports programs in several high schools in Morgan County.  
More than 3,500 programs were printed each year. 

• In 2011, information promoting “Parents Who Host” for a safe and drug-free prom night was 
distributed to local florists, tuxedo and formal wear shops, limo services, and hotels.   

Mountain Lakes Behavioral Healthcare  
Number of youth served 1,263 
Number of parents served 160 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  The following curriculums were delivered throughout the year with embedded 
emphasis on underage drinking:  Brain Power! (National Institute on Drug Abuse [NIDA]); Slick Tracy 
(Project Northland); Amazing Alternatives (Project Northland); Powerlines (Project Northland); Class 
Action (Project Northland); Protecting You/Protecting Me (Mothers Against Drunk Driving [MADD]/ 
National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices [NREPP]); Positive Action (NREPP); Too 
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Good For Drugs (NREPP); Too Good For Violence (NREPP); Drugasaurs! (Clearinghouse); Supportive 
Education for Children of Addicted Parents (NREPP); Al’s Pal’s (NREPP); and Here, Now, and Down 
the Road (NREPP). 

The following environmental efforts addressed UAD directly with kids/parents:  (1) Students Against 
Destructive Decisions (SADD) Conference in Gadsden, with about 300 youths participating, 30 from the 
high school club; and (2) CASA Breakfast, with 40 participants. 
Partnership for a Drug-Free Community (DFC) 

Number of youth served 365 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  LifeSkills Training was provided at two middle schools in three separate sessions 
with funding from the Alabama Department of Public Health, including a session on underage drinking.  

Shelby County Drug-Free Coalition (DFC) 
Number of youth served 4205 
Number of parents served 2301 
Number of caregivers served 249 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report  No data 
URL for more program information http://www.familyconnection-inc.org    

http://www.shelbycountydrugfreecoalition.org 
Program description:  The Shelby County DFC offered a multiplicity of programming specific to 
underage drinking to include the following: 

• Youth reached through in-class presentations (noncurriculum but includes underage drinking)
• Meetings with Peer Helper groups (includes presentations on underage drinking and planning

alcohol awareness weeks)
• Two awareness weeks
• Faculty trainings
• Parents education
• Community displays (handing out information on underage drinking)
• Parent handbooks:  28,880
• Paid advertisements addressing underage drinking in the Shelby County Reporter (print, e-mail,

web)
• Paid advertisements in special magazines

The Shelby County DFC also sponsored fence signs with underage drinking messages at six high 
schools for football season.   

Southwest Alabama Behavioral Healthcare Systems 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report  
URL for more program information 

      Not applicable 
http://www.sawamh.com 
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Program description:  The following environmental approach to help prevent underage drinking was 
used:   

The anonymous prevention 24-hour tip line that was already accessible in Escambia County was 
extended to Clarke, Conecuh, and Monroe counties, to increase awareness of underage drinking and 
drug use for FY2011-2012.  As awareness and usage of the tip line increases, access and availability 
will decrease, enforcement of existing laws will increase, and community norms about the acceptability 
of underage drinking and drug use will change.  Parents and store/property owners will become aware 
that they are at increased risk for being reported for condoning and/or illegally supplying alcohol to 
minors in Escambia, Clarke, Monroe, and Conecuh counties. 

Number of People Served:  Approximately 105,000 (estimated number of people in the four counties 
where the tip line is available) 

Ages:  Unknown 

SpectraCare 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No  
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://www.spcare.com 

Program description:   SpectraCare, in collaboration with Geneva County DFC, hosted a forum with five 
speakers to address the issue of underage drinking with a goal of raising awareness of the problem and 
generating ideas for addressing the problem. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Botvin’s LifeSkills 
Community Trials Intervention to Reduce High-Risk Drinking 
Incredible Years 
Keeping it Real 
Parent Project 
Positive Action 
Power Talk 21 
Project Alert 
Promoting Alternative Thinking Strategies 
Protecting You - Protecting Me 
Safe Dates 
Second Step 
Skills for Success 
Smart Moves  
Smart Team 
Too Good for Drugs 
Too Good for Drugs & Violence 

URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  The above-listed curricula are currently being used by a number of prevention 
providers (32), coalitions/drug-free communities (22), and regional clearinghouses (2) to underscore and 
raise awareness of underage drinking.  In addition to the specific programs detailed in the previous 
section, the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) Substance Abuse Program and the West 
Alabama Mental Health Center (MHC) provided information to accomplish this report. 
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Regional Information Clearinghouses 
URL for more program information  No data 

Program description:  Utilizes information dissemination and problem identification and referral 
strategies to raise awareness of underage drinking with literature statewide.   

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Not applicable 

Description of collaboration:   No data 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol  
advertising and marketing 

Program description:  Same as listed above 

Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Best practice standards description:   Not applicable 
Additional Clarification  

None given 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:   
Name:  SMSgt. Dave Peterson 
E-mail:  david.peterson9@us.army.mil 
Address:  1750 Congressman W.  Dickerson Drive (or PO Box 3711), Montgomery, AL 36109 
Telephone:  334-651-3031 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
CSAP 
Juvenile Court Judge – Elmore County 
Education Development Center, Inc. 
University of Alabama Birmingham – Faculty 
University of Alabama  
Big Lots Distribution Center – Retailer 
Community Mental Health Board  
Advocate 
Alabama Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy 
Alabama Coalition Against Domestic Violence 
Homewood City Schools 
Mobile County Sheriff’s Office 
Unites States Armed Forces 
Regional Clearinghouse 
HIV/AIDS Prevention Group 
Department of Human Resources 
Drug Free Community  
Public Safety 
Alabama Association of Child Care Agencies 
Alabama State Department of Education 
AARP of Alabama  
Alabama A&M University 
Jacksonville State University 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:   Not applicable 
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Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Alabama Epidemiological Outcomes 
Plan can be accessed via: 

Workgroup (AEOW) 
No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Alabama Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (AEOW) with the assistance of the 
following AEOW partners: 
• Alabama Board of Pharmacy 
• Alabama Governor’s Office 
• Department of Human Resources 
• Mothers Against Drunk Driving 
• Addiction Technology Transfer Center (ATTC) 
• Department of Education 
• Pardons and Parole 
• Department of Youth Services 
• Department of Rehabilitation 
• Department of Public Health 
• Administrative Office of the Courts 
• Department of Public Safety 
• Department of Revenue 
• Sentencing Commission 

Plan can be accessed via:   No data 

Additional Clarification  

None given 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
 

Data not available 
Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
Data not available 
Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
$945,689 

09/30/2011 
K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
$0 

09/30/2011 
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
$0 

09/30/2011 
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
$0 

09/30/2011 
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 

Estimate of state funds expended 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

 
$0 

09/30/2011 
 Other programs: 

Programs or strategies included:   
Estimate of state funds expended: 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 
09/30/2011 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

None given 
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Alaska 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  722,718 
Population Ages 12–20:  90,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.7 22,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.7 15,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.5 2,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.4 1,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.0 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.7 4,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.2 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 32.7 10,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  17 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  1,000 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 13.0 1 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that 

the purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 
• Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for 

any losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00  
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers age 14 or above 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14   
• Minimum learner-stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours—10 of which must be at night  

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving prohibited after:  1 a.m. 
• Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 21 except siblings, unless at least one 

passenger is parent, guardian, or person at least 21 years old 
• Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private location AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20½  

Appearance Requirements 
• No rings on left finger 
• Age-appropriate dress 
• Males:  No facial hair 
• Females:  No excessive facial makeup or lipstick   

ID Possession 
• Required 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Permitted 

Decoy Training 
• Not specified 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 
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Responsible Beverage Service 
Mandatory beverage service training for licensees, managers, servers: 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 
• Wine:  21 
• Spirits:  21 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  21 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  21 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
• No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Uncertain 
• Wine:  Uncertain 
• Spirits:  Uncertain 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, distilled spirits 
with the following restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements:  None 

Reporting Requirements:  None 

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol—applies to wine shipments 
• Recipient must be 21—applies to wine shipments 

Keg Registration 
Registration not required 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted—all orders must be in writing.  Written information on fetal alcohol 

syndrome must be included in all shipments. 
• Wine:  Permitted—all orders must be in writing.  Written information on fetal alcohol 

syndrome must be included in all shipments. 
• Spirits:  Permitted—all orders must be in writing.  Written information on fetal alcohol 

syndrome must be included in all shipments. 

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $1.07 per gallon. 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $2.50 per gallon. 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $12.80 per gallon ($2.50 per gallon for 

alcohol content of less than 21 percent). 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
No pricing restrictions  
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Alaska State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

The Department of Public Safety 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

The Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board coordinates efforts with the Alaska Bureau of Alcohol 
and Drug Enforcement (ABADE) division of the Alaska State Troopers.  The agency also depends 
on state and local police to enforce alcohol laws (Title 4).  With four investigators and one 
enforcement unit supervisor, the ABC Board must rely on the assistance of local law enforcement 
and state troopers to enforce laws across the State.  License fees are refunded to municipalities that 
have police departments and that enforce Title 4.  The Alaska Court System has primary 
responsibility for enforcing the consequences related to any charges. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Department of  
Public Safety 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 3,471 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 804 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  98 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Unknown 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

Unknown 
No data 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 6 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $7,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 7 
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Total days of suspensions across all licensees 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

102 
06/30/2011 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on 
specifically for furnishing minors 

Number of license revocations imposed5 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

retail establishments Yes 

0  
06/30/2011 

Additional Clarification    
Direct Shipment:  The state does not investigate out-of-state internet sales that are direct shipment.  The 
state does enforce written orders that are shipped from package stores approved by the state to fulfill 
written orders.   

Saturation Patrols:  The $8,248,305 is for saturation patrols which are called High Visibility Enforcement, 
but underage youth are generally not the primary target.  Many of the police departments throughout 
Alaska received funds for their DUI programs.  These funds do not include marketing campaigns and 
such that are targeted at drivers.  The number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement 
agencies includes only cases adjudicated by the courts, not all citations issued.  Local police have been 
encouraged to operate compliance checks; however, the ABC Board does not collect these data.  The 
ABC Board maintains information in the minutes of its meetings and individual licensee files regarding 
fines, suspensions, and revocations; however, the data are not tallied for this type of purpose.  Those 
provided were based on a hand count. 

1 
2 

3 
4 
5 

Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers 
prohibiting sales to minors. 
Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

are complying with laws 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the 
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  

State:   

Adult and Juvenile ASAP Program 
Number of youth served 
Number of parents served 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report   
URL for more program information:  hss.state.ak.us/dbh/prevention/pr

 
2,038 

No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 

No 
 Not applicable 

ograms/asap/default.htm 
Program description:  The Alaska Juvenile Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) provides substance 
abuse screening, case management, and accountability for driving while intoxicated (DWI) and other 
alcohol/drug-related misdemeanor cases.  This involves screening cases referred from the district court 
into drinker classification categories as well as thoroughly monitoring cases throughout education and/or 
treatment requirements.   

ASAP operates as a neutral link between the justice and health care delivery systems.  This requires a 
close working relationship among all involved agencies:  enforcement, prosecution, judicial, probation, 
corrections, rehabilitation, licensing, traffic records, and public information/education.   

The benefits of ASAP monitoring include:   

• Increased accountability of offenders. 
• Reduced recidivism resulting from successful completion of required education or treatment. 
• Significant reductions in the amount of resources spent by prosecutors, law enforcement officers, 

judges, attorneys, and corrections officers enforcing court-ordered conditions. 
• Increased safety for victims and the larger community; offenders are more likely to receive 

treatment, make court appearances, and comply with other probation conditions   
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Much like the adult programs, the JASAP programs receive referrals for those under age 18 who have 
three or more minor possession or consuming offenses or who have a driving under the influence (DUI) 
type offense.  In Alaska, ASAP is an integral part of the criminal justice and behavioral health care 
service systems, providing invaluable and necessary monitoring and tracking of clients referred to 
substance abuse services throughout the state.  Five probation officers and five community grantees 
handle traditional adult misdemeanor ASAP referrals; an additional seven community grantees are 
funded to handle juvenile cases.  In addition to the Anchorage office, adult and juvenile grant programs 
are located in Fairbanks, Juneau, Kenai/Homer, Kotzebue, and Wasilla/Palmer.  Juvenile-only programs 
are located in Anchorage, Dillingham, Ketchikan, Kodiak, Seward, Nome, and Bethel.   

The ASAP program provides a standardized statewide network of alcohol screening and case 
management for cases referred by the criminal justice system.  It offers a consistent process to ensure 
that clients complete required substance abuse education or treatment programs as prescribed by the 
courts.  The ASAP programs, including the Anchorage office, monitor these cases to confirm with the 
court and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when clients have completed court-ordered 
assignments.  This program requires a close working relationship between all involved agencies, 
including law enforcement, prosecutors, judges, probation officers, corrections, rehabilitative services, 
motor vehicle licensing, traffic records, public information/education, and treatment services.  There are 
approximately 1,500 adult court-ordered referrals made to the six adult community programs quarterly.  
An additional 500 juvenile referrals are made to the 12 grantees.   

In FY2010, the ASAP program incorporated motivational interviewing (MI), an evidence-based practice, 
as a model for increasing the engagement of clients during their first encounter with ASAP staff.  
Through the use of MI-styled interviews, the expected outcome is that clients will be motivated to 
change their personal behaviors and attitudes related to alcohol and drug use, thereby increasing their 
completion and success rates following the receipt of required services.  Grantees are also responsible 
for engaging their community prevention coalition and for being involved in ASAP program outreach and 
education efforts in schools, community forums, and other appropriate venues. 

Alcohol Drug Information School (ADIS)  
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated   No data 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report   Not applicable  
URL for more program information:  hss.state.ak.us/dbh/prevention/programs/adis/default.htm 

Program description:  ADIS programs provide education to first-time DWI and Minor Consuming 
offenders, as well as those convicted of other alcohol/drug-related offenses if that person would not be 
diagnosed as a substance abuser.  ADIS programs aim to reduce subsequent alcohol- and/or drug-
related offenses and associated high-risk behaviors.  ADIS programs cover the effects of alcohol and 
drugs on driving and social behaviors as well as health and legal consequences.  Each ADIS program 
conforms to the same standards and is approved and monitored by the Division of Behavioral Health.  
These programs are designed to be available to all Alaskans involved in alcohol- and/or drug-related 
offenses.   

Each Adult or Youth ADIS program uses an identical core curriculum that combines the most recent 
research in early intervention and prevention.  Each program includes regionally specific information and 
is designed to be relevant to all segments of Alaska’s diverse population while ensuring uniformity of the 
core ADIS program content statewide.  The Adult program uses a core curriculum developed by the 
Change Company and the State of Alaska.  Adult ADIS programs are meant for adults over age 18. 
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Prime for Life 
No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 

Yes 
No 

Not applicable 

Number of youth served 
Number of parents served 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  
http://www.primeforlife.org/homepage.cfm?CFID=374289&CFTOKEN=39038970 

Program description:  The youth program, Prime For Life-Under 21, is similar to the ADIS course, but 
was developed by Prevention Research Institute (PRI) and is used for individuals between 14 and not 
yet 21 years old. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Comprehensive Behavioral Health Prevention and Early Intervention Services 
URL for more program information:  hss.state.ak.us/dbh/prevention/grants/resources.htm 

Program description:  The grant program funds a comprehensive array of promotion, prevention, and 
early intervention approaches that focus on community designed and driven services.  These services 
are based on concepts and program strategies that have proven to be effective in prevention of 
behavioral health concerns; they have clearly defined qualitative performance outcomes.  These grant 
dollars “blend, braid, and pool” resources and programming concepts into an integrated approach to 
behavioral health prevention.  The program is aware that substance abuse, mental health, suicide, fetal 
alcohol spectrum disorders, underage alcohol use, family violence, juvenile delinquency, and other 
issues are interrelated.  Consequently, one of the program’s goals is for communities to have the 
freedom to connect these issues, to partner and collaborate with community members working on 
connected and interrelated issues, and to focus on what it will take to develop overall community health 
and wellness.  Agencies throughout the state receive funding through this grant program in remote or 
rural, as well as hub and urban, communities.  Each community applying for these funds must use the 
SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention’s Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) planning 
model to assess, plan, strategize, implement, and evaluate community-based services.  Prevention 
strategies must be identified based on a clear assessment of local/regional data, selecting programs or 
practices that are data driven—what do the data indicate as the most important issues the community is 
facing?.  This model promotes a better connection between program selection and the critical issues 
facing the community, as evidenced by the available data. 

Alaska SPF SIG 
URL for more program information:  http://hss.state.ak.us/dbh/prevention/programs/spfsig/
default.htm Program description:  No data    

Resiliency & Youth Development Program 
URL for more program information:  http://hss.state.ak.us/dbh/prevention/programs/resiliency/default.htm 
Program description:  No data    

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder 
URL for more program information:  http://hss.state.ak.us/dbh/prevention/programs/fasd/default.htm 

Program description:  No data    

Alaska Enforcing the Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program 
URL for more program information:  No data 
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Program description:  2011 highlights of Alaska’s EUDL program effort to reduce underage drinking 
included: 
• Nome Community Center (NCC):  NCC and the Committee Against Minors Consuming continued to

work closely with Nome-Beltz Junior/Senior High Schools to establish an in-school alternative
education program for children with tobacco, drug, and alcohol issues and violations.  This is done
by having youth attend training, helping youth think about their future, and educating youth that they
are putting their future at risk by consuming alcohol, along with developing youth-produced audio
PSAs.

• National Council on Alcohol and Drug Dependency (NCADD):  This project worked on many
strategies, including creating messages and events that help students make the choice to stay safe
and sober, educating youth about underage drinking, participating in Red Ribbon Week by running a
carnival to educate youth about the dangers of drinking, and supporting the Students Against
Destructive Decisions (SADD)-organized Safe and Sober Graduation Party.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Alaska partners with Tribal health corporations to fund community-level 
prevention strategies that are driven by the needs of individual communities or regions.  Currently, the 
state’s prevention partners are Bristol Bay Health Corporation, Fairbanks Native Association, Manilliq, 
Akiachak Native Community, Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium, Asa’Carsarmuit, 
Association of Village Council Presidents, Cook Inlet Tribal Council, Copper River Native Association, 
Ketchikan Indian Corporation, Kodiak Area Native Health Association, Native Village of Gakona, 
Nulato,  Shishmaref IRA Council, Tanana Chiefs Conference, Yukon Kuskokwim Health Corporation, 
Association of Village Council Presidents, Eastern Aleutian Tribes, and Norton Sound Health 
Corporation.  The state also relies on the input and support of leaders from the Alaska Native 
community through informal and formal avenues, including participation in the SPF SIG processes 
including the Advisory Committee, Epidemiological Committee and the Evidence Based Work Group.  
Representatives from the Alaska Native Justice Center are on the Alaska Interagency Committee to 
Prevent Underage Drinking. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  Recommendations are included in the State of Alaska Plan to 
Reduce & Prevent Underage Drinking, which can be found at 
http://hss.state.ak.us/dbh/prevention/docs/2009_underagedrinkplan.pdf.  The state is also 
developing “A Guide to Selecting Evidence-Based Strategies for Your Alaska Community,” which 
will target youth alcohol consumption and adult heavy and binge drinking. 

Additional Clarification 

The state has so many efforts going on that some may not be captured in this report; however, now that 
the state is clear on what will be collected annually on underage drinking, a mechanism will be 
developed to ensure that all efforts occurring around underage drinking prevention throughout the state 
can be communicated. 
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State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Natasha Pineda 
E-mail:  natasha.pineda@alaska.gov 
Address:  3600 C Street, Anchorage, AK 99503 
Phone:  907-269-3781 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Alaska Highway Safety Office 
Department of Health and Social Services, Prevention & Early Intervention 
Alaska Courts System, Bethel Superior Court 
Department of Public Safety, Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
Alaska Network on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assualt 
Department of Juvenile Justice, EUDL 
Department of Heatlh and Social Service, ASAP Office 
University of Alaska, Justice Center 
Alaska Native Justice Center 
Industry Member 
Alaska National Guard 

In October 2009, the Division of Behavioral Health (DBH), in partnership with the Alaska Interagency 
Committee to Prevent Underage Drinking (AKPUD), released the State of Alaska Plan to Reduce and 
Prevent Underage Drinking in response to the 2007 Call to Action to Prevent and Reduce Underage 
Drinking by the Acting Surgeon General.  The AKPUD was organized in 2007 to begin looking at 
Alaska’s data and needs related to youth alcohol use.   

The plan was developed with input from the interagency committee, 25 town hall meetings on underage 
drinking, and public comment from a diverse group of Alaskans.  It is organized to provide 
recommendations on three levels of interaction (national, state, and community) and eight strategy 
components (media campaign; alcohol advertising; limiting access; youth-oriented interventions; 
community interventions; government assistance and coordination; alcohol excise taxes; and research 
and evaluation).   

The AKPUD continues to meet and is developing a plan for engaging communities in strategies for state 
and community action.  Currently, DBH is conducting focused conversations with Alaskans (providers, 
youth, and grantees) to determine changes needed in the plan.  Those recommendations will be 
incorporated into the update of this plan which should be available in fall of 2012. 

In partnership with SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, DBH has developed a video 
related to underage drinking in Alaska.  The video showcases how Alaskans across the state are 
working together to decrease the negative effects of youth alcohol use.  Specifically, the video highlights 
efforts in Barrow, Nome, Kodiak, and Anchorage related to limiting access, youth-oriented interventions, 
and community interventions.  Statewide prevention efforts are having an impact on alcohol indicators.  
Using the strengths-based approach of the Strategic Prevention Framework, community coalitions, and 
interdepartmental collaboration, the state will continue to have an impact on the negative consequences 
related to underage drinking. 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No data 
URL or other means of access No data 
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Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Alaska Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Plan can be accessed via:  hss.state.ak.us/dbh/prevention/docs/2009_underagedrinkplan.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  University of Alaska Justice Center 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://hss.state.ak.us/dbh/prevention/programs/spfsig/pdfs/10.underagedrinking.pdf 

Additional Clarification 

The state is currently in the process of developing a website that will be a clearinghouse of resources, 
training, and strategies with an Alaskan focus on preventing underage drinking. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended $160,783 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended $8,248,305 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $4,605,207 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $588,163 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $56,765 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs: 

Programs or strategies included:  

The Rural Human Services System Project (RHSSP) is a partnership between Department of Health and 
Social Services, Division of Behavioral Health, and the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF), College of 
Rural Alaska.  The long-term outcome for the RHSSP is to have a trained, culturally competent, and 
stable/sustainable behavioral health workforce in all rural and remote Alaskan villages.  The original 
vision for the Rural Human Services educational program was “a counselor in every village”; the vision 
remains the same today.  First and foremost, the RHSSP is a workforce development and 
education/training program to build a stable system of well-trained and culturally competent rural 
behavioral healthcare providers.  Grant dollars are available to rural or urban agencies serving a 
significant number of rural clients, and thereby provide funding for educational support and for part- or 
full-time internships at local agencies for students taking RHS classes and completing their certifications.  
Through financial support and supervision, these village-based student interns function as behavioral 
health paraprofessionals providing prevention, early intervention, and general counseling services to the 
entire community.   

The UAF Rural Human Services (RHS) educational program is the first step in the rural educational 
“pipeline” for rural students who can complete a 30-hour RHS certification program while living and 
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working in their home community.  Following the RHS certificate, students can continue in the Human 
Services Associate degree program and continue into the Intensive Rural Bachelor of Social Work 
program.  Currently, RHSSP grants fund students through thirteen regional hub agencies in rural Alaska, 
from Kotzebue to the Eastern Aleutian Islands. 

Estimate of state funds expended $1,991,565 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 11/30/2012 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 

Alcohol tax funds go to treatment and prevention; 17 percent of those are directed to prevention.  That 
17 percent is blended into the state’s comprehensive prevention funded grants. 

Additional Clarification 

The information provided for this section primarily reflects funds being spent in the Section of Prevention 
& Early Intervention.  SPF SIG funds were included in the total.  It does not include efforts being funded 
by other sections, divisions, or departments unless otherwise communicated  The state does not feel 
this reflects all funds being spent on prevention efforts because there may be other efforts under way.  
However, these numbers do reflect the work Alaska is doing.  The state will seek to continue to build 
partnerships within other agencies to find out what other funds may be contributing to efforts in this area 
of underage drinking prevention.  The dollar amount regarding the Division of Juvenile Justice only 
covers what is being spent by two grantees.  It does not encompass the entire effort within the DJJ to 
prevent or intervene with underage drinking.  There may be other funds contributing to this area that 
have not been captured by this report. 
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Arizona 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,482,505
Population Ages 12–20:  817,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.5 192,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.0 123,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.4 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.7 9,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.7 63,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.0 35,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 41.3 115,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 28.1 78,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 122 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 7,281 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 26.0 22 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Arizona has a statutory provision that makes it unlawful “[f]or a person under the age of 
twenty-one years to have in the person’s body any spirituous liquor” (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 4-244).  
Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so without reference to a 
blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession, for purposes of 
this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial or administrative

procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and

other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards. 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  0 days 
• Maximum:  180 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• There is no minimum supervised driving requirement—with driver education; 30 hours 

without (10 of which must be at night)  

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18, except for siblings or if 
accompanied by a parent or legal guardian 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  15 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance Requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance 

ID Possession 
• Discretionary 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited 
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Decoy Training 
• Not specified

Note:  Arizona allows compliance checks if the law enforcement agency has reasonable 
suspicion that the licensee is violating underage furnish laws. 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified
• First offense:  $1,000–$2,000 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension
• Second offense:  $2,000–$3,000 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension
• Third offense:  $3,000 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension

Note:  The department may seek license revocation  through the Office of Administrative 
Hearings. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments.
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for Training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  16
• Wine:  16
• Spirits:  16

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages: 
• Manager/supervisor is present.

Note:  Off-sale retailers may employ persons who are at least 16 years old to check out— 
if supervised by a person on the premises who is at least 19 years old—or package or carry 
merchandise, including spirituous liquor, in unbroken packages, for the convenience of the 
customer or the employer, if the employer sells primarily merchandise other than spirituous 
liquor. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  19 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  19 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  
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Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Note: Exceptions are (1) restaurants, (2) hotel-motels, (3) government, and (4) golf courses.  In 
addition, case-by-case exemptions may apply for certain licenses within entertainment districts. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• Statutory liability exists.
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption.
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other.
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Negligence—host must have

known or should have known of the event’s occurrence.
• Exception(s):  Family, resident.

Note:  Arizona’s social host provision applies to gatherings of two or more underage persons on 
unlicensed premises, where the person charged knows or should know that one or more of the 
underage persons is in possession of or consuming spirituous liquor. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements 
• Producer must verify age of purchaser.
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements 
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name—for out-of-state sales only.
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Recipient must be 21.
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Note:  A licensed domestic farm winery that produces not more than 20,000 gallons of wine in a 
calendar year may make sales and deliveries of that wine to consumers who order by telephone, 
mail, fax, or internet.  Farm wineries can deliver such purchases, subject to the rules applicable 
to the delivery of spirituous liquors by the holder of a retail license having off-sale privileges.  
An independent contractor or the employee of an independent contractor is deemed to be an 
employee of the licensee when making a sale or delivery of spirituous liquor for the licensee 
(Ariz. Rev. Stat. §§ 4-205.04(D), 4-203(J) and Ariz. Admin. Code R19-1-221).  The rules 
governing the retail delivery of spirituous liquor require age verification at the point of delivery 
and the deliverer recording the recipient’s name.   

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted
• Wine:  Permitted
• Spirits:  Permitted

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.16 per gallon.
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.84 per gallon.
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $3.00 per gallon.

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted
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Arizona State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Arizona Department of Liquor Licenses and Control (DLLC) 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

DLLC officers work with local law enforcement agencies when conducting underage drinking 
enforcement details. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable  

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 1,301 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 232 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  62 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Data not collected 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 134 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $118,250 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes  

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 1 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 7 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Additional Clarification   

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Draw the Line Campaign 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  

         Not applicable   
http://www.drawyourline.com 

Program description:  The Draw the Line Campaign is designed to educate adults in Arizona that 
underage drinking is not a rite of passage, is unhealthy for children, and is against the law.  It is important 
for adults to realize the influence they have on children’s behavior.  This campaign provides useful tools 
and resources to help adults positively influence kids.  The central campaign mission is to generate 
community involvement and conversation by making interactive tools and resources available throughout 
the state.  The campaign uses a website (http://www.drawyourline.com) and a traveling exhibit.  The 
campaign aims to go beyond merely informing the public about the risks of underage drinking and alter 
the perceptions and behavior of the target audience—parents and adults ages 25 to 54. 

Scottsdale Neighborhoods in Action (SNIA) 
Number of youth served 1,055 
Number of parents served 3,000 
Number of caregivers served 3,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  

             No 
           Not applicable    
http://www.spi-az.org 

Program description:  The SNIA is a community-driven collaboration meant to change neighborhood 
behaviors and norms that favor underage drinking.  Strategies include providing the public with 
information, social marketing, environmental and community development, peer leadership, and 
community education.  The SNIA hosts underage drinking (UAD) prevention town hall meetings, cultural 
celebrations, life skills training for young/adolescent children and parents, neighborhood walks with 
Promotoras, Los Líderes activities, and community workshops on UAD drinking laws and health-related 
consequences.  Peer leaders will create UAD prevention messages for schools, community 
organizations, and other coalitions. 

Parker Area Alliance for Community Empowerment (PAACE) 
Number of youth served 3,577 
Number of parents served 0 
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Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No data 

No data 
  No data 

Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  
http://www.paace.org       

Program description:  The PAACE addresses underage drinking by implementing community 
development strategies and providing community education and training on the risks/harms/ 
consequences of underage drinking for youth and adults.  Activities include a life skills component 
designed to help youth decrease favorable attitudes toward substance (ab)use and increase knowledge 
of the perceived risks and harms of underage drinking. 

Luz Southside Coalition 
Number of youth served 2,939 
Number of parents served 222,309 
Number of caregivers served 250,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  

                 Not applicable   
      http://www.luzsocialservices.org/southside.html 

Program description:  The Luz Southside Coalition implements the Juntos Podemos (Together We Can) 
Project using a two-pronged approach to combat substance abuse:  (1) recruiting, training, and 
empowering parents in communication skills and healthy family interactions, and (2) using media literacy 
and cultural competency to educate community members about alcohol consumption and abuse, the 
alcohol industry’s disrespect of Latino/Mexican culture via ads, and liquor licensing hearings to increase 
opposition to new licenses. 

Chandler Coalition on Youth Substance Abuse 
Number of youth served 19,700 
Number of parents served 55,000 
Number of caregivers served 400,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:           Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  Underage drinking is the primary substance (ab)used by youth ages 14 to 17 at 
parties in the Chandler Redevelopment Area.  Thus, the Improving Chandler Area Neighborhoods 
(ICAN) Prevention Program seeks to decrease contributing variables like social and retail access to 
alcohol, cultural and social norms favoring underage drinking, and low perception of enforcement of 
alcohol and its consequences.  The ICAN implements:   
• Peer leadership programming with youth ages 13 to 18 and adults 18 and older in the area.
• Community development to include enforcement/compliance activities such as party patrols,

shoulder tap enforcement efforts, CUB operations, and social host ordinance advocacy.
• Training for merchants, law enforcement, first responders, and school faculty to enhance knowledge

of local community health issues related to underage drinking and enforcement.
• Public information/social marketing campaigns targeting adult enablers.
Way Out West (WOW) Coalition 

Number of youth served 5,570 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
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No 
     Not applicable 

Evaluation report is available URL 
for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  
http://www.wayoutwestcoalition.org 

Program description:  The WOW Coalition focuses on substance abuse prevention and implementation 
of public information/social marketing, community education, and community development strategies 
that target underage drinking.  Both environmental and individual strategies are used.  The coalition is 
working to pass a social host ordinance in the town of Buckeye and to limit access to alcohol by creating 
party patrols with local law enforcement.  Community education will help the public understand the new 
ordinance and why it is important to the community. 

Pima County—Tucson Commission on Addiction Prevention 
and Treatment 

Number of youth served     410 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:           Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  Pima County—Tucson Commission on Addiction Prevention and Treatment 
provides community assessment, mobilization, and public policy development for substance abuse 
treatment and prevention to decrease underage drinking. 

Community Outreach Prevention Education (COPE) Coalition 
Number of youth served 1,332 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 

  Not applicable URL for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  
http://www.copecoalitionaz.org 

Program description:  The COPE Coalition uses environmental strategies, the Strategic Prevention 
Framework, and cultural competency to achieve community-level change to reduce underage drinking.  
The coalition serves the Maryvale community, where most residents are Hispanic and nearly 60 percent 
of youth report engaging in underage drinking.  As a result, school suspensions, dropouts, expulsions, 
violent and property crimes, and drunk driving have increased.  The COPE Coalition seeks to reduce the 
accessibility and availability of alcohol to underage Hispanic youth by promoting and implementing:   
• Support and enforcement of a social host/unruly gatherings ordinance for the City of Phoenix.
• Community education trainings targeting retail and social access to alcohol.
• Youth Council meetings to engage youth in coalition activities.
• A Promotoras program.
• Education on youth alcohol access and the need for restriction via various media outlets.
Copper Basin Coalition 

Number of youth served 1,221 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
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Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  

         Not applicable 
http://www.copperbasincoalition.weebly.com 

Program description:  The Copper Basin Coalition addresses binge drinking, underage drinking, and 
alcohol-related vehicle crash injuries among youth by using the following two Community Anti-Drug 
Coalitions of America (CADCA) prevention strategies:  changing social norms and enacting social host 
policies.  The Copper Basin Coalition focuses on social host programs/laws and securing parental 
pledges to maintain a safe home. 

Making Alliances Through Neighborhood Organizing (MANO) Coalition 
Number of youth served 33 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:           Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  The MANO Coalition focuses on reducing the number of adults who are willing to 
provide alcohol to underage youth.  Lunch n’ Learn sessions are held with parents at local businesses to 
increase awareness about the harms and legal consequences of providing alcohol to youth, while town 
hall meetings mobilize prevention of underage drinking.  The coalition works with local merchants, 
retailers, schools, and businesses to promote the Draw the Line campaign and partners with other 
coalitions to work on passing a social host ordinance in the City of Phoenix. 

Mesa Prevention Alliance (MPA) 
Number of youth served 123,383 
Number of parents served 76 
Number of caregivers served 900 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 

   Not applicable URL for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  
http://www.communitybridgesaz.org  

Program description:  The MPA aims to strengthen collaboration throughout Mesa to reduce youth 
substance (ab)use by working with Mesa Public Schools to improve enforcement, educate parents on 
the ramifications of providing alcohol to youth, and engage in social marketing to change youth 
perceptions of underage drinking.  The MPA partners with Mesa police to increase enforcement 
activities targeting weekend parties.  Alcohol vendors receive education and discouragement on product 
placement of alcohol aimed at youth. 

Stop Teen Underage Drinking Coalition 
Number of youth served 150 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:           Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 
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Program description:  The Stop Teen Underage Drinking Coalition builds and sustains substance abuse 
prevention coalitions and youth advisory councils; each participating coalition operates with a grassroots 
approach.  The project partners with other local agencies to determine necessary strategies for reducing 
and preventing substance (ab)use in Mohave County. 

South Mountain WORKS Coalition 
Number of youth served 42,945 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:              Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/South-Mountain-WORKS-Coalition/106360516070777 

Program description:  The South Mountain WORKS Coalition addresses the high rate of alcohol use 
among the community’s youth and contributing variables, including ease of social access to alcohol.  
The program uses life skills development, peer leadership, public information and social marketing, 
community education, and community development, in which the Strategic Prevention Framework is 
used with community members.  This process includes community assessment, capacity building, 
planning, implementation, and evaluation.  Prevention Specialists offer program activities using 
evidence-based curricula (e.g., Project Alert) after school, between sessions, and during summer. 

Urban Indian Coalition of Arizona 
Number of youth served 184 
Number of parents served 1,028 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  

10,006 
06/30/2011 Yes 

No 
  Not applicable  

http://www.uicaz.org 

Program description:  The Urban Indian Coalition provides community-based prevention programs to 
address underage drinking among Native American youth.  The Coalition achieves this by promoting 
healthy lifestyles for Native American youth, families, and community members.  The coalition seeks to 
reach a broad audience and build capacity through: 
• Community education for parents and community members.
• Public information and social marketing.
• Life skills development in group settings for youth.
• Early identification and referral of individuals who may be at risk for substance abuse and other

behavioral health issues.
Covert Underage Buyer (CUB) Program 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:            Not applicable 
URL for more program information:            No data  

Program description:  In an effort to curb the sale of liquor to underage persons, the CUB program was 
instituted in 2003.  This program provides the resources necessary for the Arizona Department of Liquor 
License and Control (DLLC) to investigate complaints of liquor-licensed businesses suspected of 
underage liquor law violations.  When the DLLC has reasonable suspicion that a liquor-licensed 
establishment is selling liquor to underage customers, the agency will send in a CUB to attempt to 
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purchase liquor.  The CUBs are ages 15 to 19 and are carefully trained by DLLC investigators to 
understand and follow state laws, including DLLC’s CUB investigation guidelines.  The DLLC provides 
CUB program training to all Arizona law enforcement agencies, allowing the program to operate statewide.  

 Target Responsibility for Alcohol Connected Emergency (TRACE) 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:           Not applicable 
URL for more program information:           http://www.uicaz.org 

Program description:  TRACE began in December 2004 to develop a system of effective and rapid 
communication between local law enforcement and emergency medical services personnel in high-
profile cases that involve underage drinking.  Each TRACE case is concluded only when the source of 
liquor is traced back to the supplier and the supplier is charged with a criminal and/or administrative 
violation.  TRACE is now statewide with one full-time investigator available for immediate response to 
alcohol-related emergencies involving an underage person. 

Underage Alcohol Enforcement and Education 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:           Not applicable 
URL for more program information:          No data 

Program description:  This is a federally funded program allowing overtime to enhance enforcement and 
education related to underage liquor activities in Arizona.  Liquor activities include, but are not limited to, 
persons under age 21 purchasing, possessing, and/or consuming liquor. 

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Underage Drinking Enforcement 
Number of youth served 
Number of parents served 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program 
information: 

No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 
No data 

http://www.uicaz.org 

Program description:  This federally funded program supports personnel, personnel expenses, and 
materials and supplies needed to conduct underage DUI enforcement and Title 4 (Arizona liquor law) 
training to law enforcement agencies throughout Arizona. 

Enforcing the Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:           Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   No data 
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Program description:  The EUDL Program supports and enhances efforts by states and local 
jurisdictions to prohibit the sale of alcoholic beverages to minors and the purchase and consumption of 
alcoholic beverages by minors.  (Minors are defined as individuals less than 21 years old.) 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
MASH Coalition 

URL for more program information:  http://mashcoalition.org 

Program description:  This prevention program focuses on developing life skills through seven sessions 
on decisionmaking, violence prevention, anger management, and conflict resolution.  In emphasizing 
peer leadership, the Teen Outreach leadership program encourages students to volunteer in their local 
communities and gain useful skills and goal-oriented behaviors.  Students are also provided with 
structured discussions, group exercises, role plays, guest speakers, and informational presentations to 
help them cope with important developmental tasks. 

Help Enrich African American Lives (HEAAL) Coalition 
URL for more program information:  http://www.tcdccorp.org/p/heaal-coalition.html 

Program description:  The HEAAL Coalition provides teens with skills to maintain a drug-free life, 
increase positive social interaction, and increase healthy self-esteem and motivation for long-term goals.  
The program aims to reduce risk factors while building protective factors for substance abuse 
prevention.  It offers interactive teen workshops, provides cultural competency trainings for 
professionals, and hosts Community Teen Forums to increase substance abuse awareness in the 
African American community. 

MATForce 
URL for more program information: http:// www.MATForce.org 

Program description:  No data   

Tempe’s Coalition to Prevent Underage Alcohol & Drug Use 
URL for more program information:  http://www.tempe.gov/coalition 

Program description:  No data   
Arizona Youth Partnership 

URL for more program information:  http://www.azyp.org 

Program description:  No data   

Campesinos Sin Fronteras 
URL for more program information:  http://campesinossinfronteras.org 

Program description:  No data   
Coconino County Juvenile Court 

URL for more program information:  http://www.coconino.az.gov/courts.aspx?id=249 

Program description:  No data   

Compass Health Care 
URL for more program information:  http://www.compasshc.org 

Program description:  No data   
Jewish Family & Children’s Services of Southern Arizona 

URL for more program information:  http://www.jfcstucson.org 
Program description:  No data   
Parenting Arizona 

URL for more program information:  http://www.parentingaz.org 
Program description:  No data   
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Arizona has intergovernmental agreements with the Gila River Indian 
Community and Pascua Yaqui Tribe to provide alcohol-related substance abuse prevention services.  
Arizona subcontracts to private nonprofit corporations (Regional Behavioral Health Authorities) that:   
1. Provide alcohol-related substance abuse prevention services directly to the San Carlos Apache

Tribe and the Fort McDowell Nation.
2. Provide alcohol-related prevention services to the Ak-Chin Indian Community, Tohono O’Odham

Nation, Navajo Nation, and Hopi Nation.
3. Work collaboratively to write grants and develop capacity to deliver alcohol-related substance

abuse prevention services with the Havasupai Nation, Hualapai Nation, Prescott Yavapai Nation,
and White Mountain Apache Tribe.

The Arizona Department of Liquor License and Control meets quarterly with three groups to discuss 
liquor-related concerns and solutions.  Of the three groups, two represent all 22 of Arizona’s federally 
recognized Tribal governments and are identified with an asterisk before the group name:  *Indian 
Country Intelligence Network (ICIN), Arizona Police Chiefs Association, and *Tribal Gaming Office 
(TGO).  All licensed establishments on Tribal land in the State of Arizona operate under Title 4 (Arizona 
liquor law). 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 
Program description:  Luz Southside Coalition (in a southern neighborhood of Tucson) 
works with billboard companies in their neighborhood to limit billboards advertising 
alcohol.  The Mesa Prevention Alliance (MPA; City of Mesa) partners with alcohol 
vendors to provide education and discourage product placement of alcohol aimed at 
youth. 

Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  A team of prevention experts convenes to review each prevention 
program and determine if the program is evidence based using the following criteria developed by the 
SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) guidance document.  To be deemed 
evidence based, a program/strategy must meet one of the following three definitions below:   
• Included on federal lists or registry of evidence-based interventions; OR
• Reported (with positive effects) in peer-reviewed journals; OR
• Documented effectiveness supported by other sources of information and the consensus judgment of

informed experts, as described in the following set of guidelines, all of which must be met:
− Guideline 1:  The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic 

or conceptual model.   
− Guideline 2:  The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in 

registries and/or the peer-reviewed literature.   
− Guideline 3:  The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively 

implemented in the past, and multiple times, in a manner attentive to scientific standards of 
evidence and with results that show a consistent pattern of credible and positive effects.   

− Guideline 4:  The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed 
prevention experts that includes well-qualified prevention researchers experienced in evaluating 
prevention interventions similar to those under review; local prevention practitioners; and key 
community leaders as appropriate (e.g., officials from law enforcement and education sectors, or 
elders within indigenous cultures).  Decisions are based on group consensus. 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Jeanne Blackburn 
E-mail:  jblackburn@az.gov 
Address:  1700 West Washington Street, Suite 101, Phoenix, AZ 85007 
Phone:  602-542-6004 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
• Office of Governor Janice Brewer
• Governor’s Office for Children, Youth and Families
• Arizona Department of Education
• Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (State Medicaid)
• Joint Counter Narcotic Task Force, Arizona National Guard
• Arizona Administrative Office of the Courts
• Arizona Department of Liquor License and Control
• Governor’s Office of Highway Safety
• Arizona Department of Public Safety
• Attorney General’s Office
• Veterans’ Administration
• Arizona Department of Economic Security
• Parker Area Alliance for Community Empowerment (Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition)
• Arizona Department of Health Services/Division of Behavioral Health Services
• Yuma County Sheriff’s Office
• High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area Program, Office of National Drug Control Policy
• Arizona Department of Corrections
• COPE Community Services, Inc.  (Substance Abuse Treatment Service Provider)
• Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections
• Arizona Criminal Justice Commission
• Phoenix Police Department
• Campus Health Center, Arizona’s Institute of Higher Education Network
• Arizona Mothers Against Drunk Driving
• Governor’s Youth Commission
• Casa Grande Alliance (Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition)
• Arizona Students Against Destructive Decisions
• Hualapai Nation (Tribal)
• Arizona Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism
• Cenpatico Behavioral Health of Arizona (Regional Behavioral Health Authority)
• Gila County Sheriff’s Office
• Graham County Anti-Meth Coalition
• Urban Indian Coalition of Arizona
• Coconino County Alliance Against Drugs
• Arizona Youth Partnership
• Meth-Free Alliance
• Greenlee County Sheriff’s Office
• Pima County Community Prevention Coalition
• Arizona State University
• Treatment Assessment Screening Center, Inc.  (Substance Abuse Treatment Service Provider and

Provider of Drug Testing [Urinalysis] Services)
• Indian Health Service
• First Things First (Birth to Age 5 School Readiness Agency)
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A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://gocyf.az.gov/SAP/BRD_ASAP.asp 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Underage Drinking Prevention Committee 
Plan can be accessed via:              No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Underage Drinking Prevention Committee 
Plan can be accessed via:             No data 

Additional Clarification 
The Arizona Substance Abuse Partnership (ASAP) was established by Executive Order 2007-12 in June 
2007.  Staffed by the Governor’s Office for Children, Youth, and Families and chaired by the Governor’s 
Policy Advisor for Human Services, who also serves as the Director for the Governor’s Office for 
Children, Youth and Families, the ASAP is composed of representatives from state governmental 
bodies, federal entities, and community organizations as well as individuals in recovery.  The ASAP 
serves as the single statewide council on substance abuse prevention, enforcement, treatment, and 
recovery efforts and, through its Chair, is able to communicate the needs of the state to the governor.  It 
is ASAP’s mission to ensure community-driven, agency-supported outcomes to prevent and reduce the 
negative effects of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs by building and sustaining partnerships between 
prevention, treatment, recovery, and enforcement professionals.  Through coordination and 
collaboration among its members and their respective agencies and organizations, the ASAP strives to 
ensure that substance abuse is addressed in a comprehensive manner and that funding is spent 
efficaciously and efficiently.   

For 2012, the ASAP will concentrate its efforts toward the reduction of prescription drug abuse, through 
a multisystem pilot project in three counties based on a strategy that outlines the necessary efforts for 
law enforcement/criminal justice professionals and the prevention and medical/treatment communities.  

Two work groups assist the ASAP in meeting its goals: 

• Substance Abuse Epidemiology Work Group (Epi Work Group) – The Epi Work Group’s mission is to
provide communities, policymakers, and local, state, and Tribal officials with data on the use, 
consequences, and context of alcohol and illicit, over-the-counter, and prescription drugs to inform their 
substance abuse prevention and intervention strategies.  The Work Group produces The Impact of 
Substance Abuse: A Snapshot of Arizona and behavioral health epidemiology profiles for use by 
community coalitions, agencies, and individuals in relevant fields.  Additionally, the Work Group 
conducts analyses of individual substance abuse issues, responds to ad hoc data requests and brings 
data to bear on ASAP’s policy decisions around its strategic plan and focus areas.  Further, the Work 
Group assists the ASAP to develop effective methods for integrating and expanding services across 
Arizona while maximizing available resources and supporting a data-driven decisionmaking process. 

• Communities Preventing Substance Abuse Work Group (CPSAWG) – The CPSAWG is a merger of
two former subcommittees of the ASAP, the Underage Drinking Prevention Committee and the 
Community Advisory Board.  This group brings together representatives from community coalitions 
around the state and state agency representatives to provide an essential link between community and 
state-level efforts.  The CPSAWG brings the community voice to the ASAP table; reports on important 
community issues that inform ASAP’s work; helps communities improve their capacity to identify 
emerging trends, as well as take action and report on them to the proper institutions/authorities; takes 
the data available through the Epi Work Group and the ASAP back to coalitions and communities to 
effectively target prevention, treatment, recovery, and enforcement activities; serves as a resource for 
communities and the state to identify the most effective ways to reduce substance abuse through 
collaborative efforts and by targeting limited resources where they are most needed; and elevates and 
recognizes the important work being carried out at the community level to ensure that state-level 
responses are cognizant of the impact of policies on individual communities.   
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This work group assesses statewide epidemiological data, resources, strategies and policies, and builds 
relationships with Tribes, youth, law enforcement, government agencies, and community coalitions.  By 
combining resources, practice, and research, the work group collaborates to reduce substance abuse. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  No data 

Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:  

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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Arkansas 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,937,979
Population Ages 12–20:  351,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.7 8,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.0 52,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.7 9,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.7 4,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.3 26,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.9 18,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 38.2 45,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 25.6 30,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 60 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,613 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 20.0 13 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Arkansas provides that “intoxicating liquor, wine, or beer in the body of a minor is 
deemed to be in his or her possession” (Ark. Code Ann. § 3-3-203(a)(2)).  Laws that prohibit 
minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but which do so without reference to a blood, breath, 
or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession, for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure for those under 

18 years old and through an administrative process for those 18 to 21 years old. 

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to 

retailer’s belief that the minor was age 21 or older. 
• Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with 

the purchase of alcohol. 
Note:  Under Ark. Code Ann. § 5-27-503(b), a seller’s detention of a person under 21 for use of 
false identification “shall not include a physical detention.” 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 

Provisions Applicable to Minors Under Age 18 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase
• Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Discretionary

Length of Suspension/Revocation 
• Minimum:  0 days
• Maximum:  Not specified

Provisions Applicable to Minors Ages 18 to 21 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase
• Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation 
• 60 days

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14
• Minimum learner-stage period:  6 months
• No minimum supervised driving requirement

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one unrelated minor passenger under 21, unless
accompanied by driver in front seat who is 21 or older.

• Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18
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Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Note:  Arkansas’s statute regarding furnishing alcohol to any person under 21 includes an 
exception for “family” members, but does not specify which family members.  For the purposes 
of this report, the phrase “family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  16
• Maximum:  19

Appearance Requirements 
• Males:  No facial hair.
• Females:  No excessive jewelry or makeup

ID Possession 
• Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Not specified—watch video

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
• Applies to both new and existing outlets

Incentive for Training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18
• Wine:  18
• Spirits:  21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
• No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1,000 feet
• On-premises outlets:  No
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Consumption
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have

actual knowledge of the occurrence
• Exception(s):  Family

Note:  Arkansas’s social host provision applies only to a person who is present and in control of 
the private property at the time the consumption occurs. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  Liquid capacity of more than 5 gallons
• Prohibited:

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/90 days
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/90 days

• Purchaser information collected:
– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
• Deposit required:  $75
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.
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Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Prohibited
• Wine:  Prohibited
• Spirits:  Prohibited

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.24 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  1 percent

$0.20 per gallon for alcohol content of more than 6.25 percent, with 3 percent off-premises ad 
valorem retail rate.  Ad valorem tax applied at retail level. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.75 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  3 percent

Ad valorem tax applied at retail level. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  14 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  3 percent
$1.00 per gallon for alcohol content of less than 26.25 percent but more than 6.25 percent.  Ad 
valorem tax applied at retail level. 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit not permitted
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Arkansas State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

This is a duty that is shared between all law enforcement agencies in the state. 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

We work together with other local and state agencies doing compliance checks.  The ofher agencies 
inform us with any problems they are having in their areas. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 640 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 2,608 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  274 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $188,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 9 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 16 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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Additional Clarification  

Out of 18,263 minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies, the number of those 
driving while intoxicated (DWI) under 21 was 16,950, the number of those driving under the influence  
(DUI) was 673, and the number of minors in possession (MIP) was 640 total (minors in possession or 
intoxicated) 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Special Prevention Unit (SPU) 

Number of youth served 725 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  This program is funded by a subgrant issued by the Arkansas Department of 
Finance and Administration under the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) grant.  SPU is a 
collaborative prevention-based initiative focusing on the reduction of the onset and current use of 
alcohol among youth in Hempstead, Pike, and Little River Counties as well as the Dequeen, Hope, 
Fouke, and Texarkana Arkansas Police Departments  The primary goal is to provide an opportunity for 
youth leaders to be formally trained in prevention, advocacy, substance education, and leadership to 
serve as peer leaders and role models for the youth population in their persepctive areas.  The 
secondary goal is to improve access and training for adult volunteers.  The SPU program offers 
opportunities to train youth to give back to the community  and to work in conjunction with law 
enforcement and Substance Abuse Prevention (SAP) Committee to present community educationa 
programs, peer monitoring, and prevention programs for upperclassmen within the school. 

Strategies To Reduce Underage Drinking in Madison County 
Number of youth served 660 (200 at Red Ribbon, 260 at Teen 

Summit, 200 at Camp Harvest) 

Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: Not applicable 

Program description:  Through collaboration, the Madison County Sheriff’s Office, Huntsville School 
District, Huntsville Police Department, and Madison County Community Coalition have implemented the 
following strategies:   
• Compliance checks (environmental enforcement strategy)
• Evidence-based program:  Life Skills (Camp Harvest, an educational strategy)
• Education through Red Ribbon Week (educational strategy)
• Education through 8th-grade Teen Summit (educational strategy)
• Social norm advertising campaign (environmental strategy)
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Arkansas Collegiate Drug Education Committee (ACDEC) 

URL for more program information:  http://www.acdec.org 

Program description:  Funded in part by a subgrant from Arkansas Department of Finance and 
Administration under the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws grant, ACDEC is a collaboration of colleges 
and universities across the state.  ACDEC provides support to member colleges in the form of mini 
grants for underage drinking prevention and education iniatives.  ACDEC is a unique program in the 
state of Arkansas in that it focuses on the college-age population.  ACDEC provides an array of 
innovative and impactful education and prevention programming, such as Mock-tail parties, Spring 
Break programs, and leadership training. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribes 

Program description: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  
No data 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Because the Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) funds ended in 
September 2011, the Underage Drinking Task Force Committee has been inactive, but efforts are 
being made to revitalize the committee. 

Mothers Against Drunk Drivers  
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences—College of Medicine 
Arkansas Department of Education 
Arkansas Collegiate Drug Education Committee 
Arkansas Beverage Control Enforcement 
Arkansas State Police Highway Safety Office 
Arkansas State Drug Director 
Director of Prevention Services 
Arkansas Department of Health & Human Services 
Arkansas Division of Youth Services 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.arunderagedrinking.com/task_force.asp 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes  

Prepared by Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via Not applicable 
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State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention 
Plan can be accessed 
via: 

http://www.arunderagedrinking.com/statistics.asp 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:          No data 
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 
Additional Clarification 

None given 
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California 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  37,691,912
Population Ages 12–20:  4,881,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.3 1,235,,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.7 816,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.3 80,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.8 43,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.1 360,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.5 220,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.6 795,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 31.8 553,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 545 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 32,442 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 27.0 99 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location OR EITHER
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Note:  California’s “Any Private Location” exception excludes possession in motor vehicles.  
California’s statute regarding possession of alcohol by a person under 21 includes an exception 
for “responsible adult relative” but does not specify which relatives are included.  For purposes 
of this report, the phrase “responsible adult relative” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers 21 and older.
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.01
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers under 20, unless accompanied by a parent, 
guardian, instructor, or licensed driver over 25 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  Not specified 
• Maximum:  19 

Appearance Requirements 
• No hats, sunglasses, tattoos, visible body piercing, clothing with college or alcohol 

verbiage/logos  
• Minimal jewelry  
• Not large in stature  
• Appropriate dress for age  
• Hair that does not obscure facial features   
• Male:  No facial hair, really short hair, balding, or receding hairline   
• Female:  Minimal makeup, no provocative clothing 
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ID Possession 
• Discretionary

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  3 years
• First offense:  $3,000 fine or 15-day license suspension
• Second offense:  Between $2,500 and $20,000 fine or 25-day license suspension
• Third offense:  License revocation

Note:  Retailer has option to accept fine in lieu of suspension.  Lists of aggravating and 
mitigating factors are provided. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training 
• The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  Not specified
• Wine:  Not specified
• Spirits:  Not specified

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
Limitations on outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1½ miles of universities with enrollments of 1,000 or

more students, of whom 500 or more reside on university grounds. 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1½ miles of universities with enrollments of 1,000 or

more students, of whom 500 or more reside on university grounds. 
• Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits—does not include beer or products of not more than 4

percent ABV. 
• Exceptions to the college restriction exist for numerous individual colleges and universities.
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Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  No 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 600 feet 
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Minor must be obviously intoxicated at time 

alcohol of furnishing 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Prohibited 
• Wine:  Uncertain 
• Spirits:  Prohibited 

Note:  An individual or retail licensee in a state that affords California retail licensees or 
individuals an equal reciprocal shipping privilege, may ship, for personal use and not for resale, 
no more than two cases of wine (no more than 9 liters each case) per month to any adult resident 
in this state.  Delivery of a shipment pursuant to this subdivision shall not be deemed to 
constitute a sale in this state. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements  
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.   

Reporting Requirements:  None 

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  6 gallons or more 
• Prohibited:  Possessing unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/6 months 
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• Purchaser information collected:
– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID

• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required
• Deposit:  Not required
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted
• Wine:  Permitted
• Spirits:  Permitted

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.20 per gallon
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.20 per gallon
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $3.30 per gallon

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post
• Retailer credit:  Restricted —30 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted —30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted —30 days maximum
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California State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 
California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

Please visit http://www.abc.ca.gov/programs/programs.html for more information on coordinated 
efforts by enforcement agencies that enforce laws prohibiting underage drinking. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

California 
Department of 

Alcoholic Beverage 
Control 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 688 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 2,928 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  452 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 

Yes 
4,443 
701 

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 990 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $2,927,850 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 Data not collected 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 15 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Additional Clarification   

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Not applicable 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program description:  Please refer to clarification at the end of this section. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Safe and Drug Free Schools and Communities (SDFSC)—Governor’s Program 

URL for more program information:  http://www.adp.ca.gov/FactSheets 

Program description:  The SDFSC Governor’s Program was designed to serve children and youth who 
are not normally served by state or local educational agencies and populations that need special 
services or additional resources, such as youth in juvenile detention facilities, runaway or homeless 
children and youth, pregnant and parenting teenagers, and school dropouts.  The Governor’s Program 
projects continued through June 30, 2011.  Results were determined through a voluntary cross-site 
evaluation of SDFSC programs and impact on participants.  Quantitative results showed significant 
reductions in youth current substance use, including:  alcohol and binge drinking, tobacco, marijuana, 
methamphetamine, prescription drug misuse, and “other” drugs. 

Negotiated Net Amount (NNA) Contract for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block 
Grant (SAPT-BG)-Funded Primary Prevention Services 

URL for more program information:  http://www.adp.ca.gov/FactSheets 

Program description:  Through the NNA Contract, the State Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs 
(ADP) funds counties to address problems and priorities determined through the Strategic Prevention 
Framework.  Based on their local needs assessment, counties prioritize and identify strategies, best 
practices, policies, and programs to best suit local needs.  Prevention programs throughout the state 
offer a comprehensive approach that may focus on alcohol and drug issues. 

Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) 

URL for more program information:  http://www.adp.ca.gov/FactSheets 
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Program description:  The SPF SIG is a federal grant program from SAMHSA designed to further the 
use of the Strategic Prevention Framework at the state and local levels.  The implementation of the SPF 
SIG will focus on streamlining the SPF planning process, which will help communities move quickly to 
action and outcomes.  Communities selected for this grant will focus on underage and excessive alcohol 
drinking among 12- to 25-year-olds.   

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:   Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:                                                                             Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Best practice standards description:       Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 

State ADP is in the beginning stages of collaborating directly with recognized Tribal governments.  
Members of the Native American Health Center (NAHC) have joined the SPF SIG State Epidemiological 
Workgroup (SEW).  SEW members have also attended some meetings lead by the NAHC.  Having the 
opportunity to attend these meetings and develop relationships with Native American experts across the 
state has been invaluable.  Through needs assessments at the county/local level, counties may identify 
this population as a priority population and collaborate in the prevention of underage drinking.  State 
ADP does not directly implement programs.  Through the SPF, many of California’s 58 counties have 
identified underage alcohol use as a priority area.  According to data collected from the California 
Outcomes Measurement Service for Prevention for FY2009–2010, 25 counties identified underage 
drinking as a priority area in their strategic plans, and 13 counties identified youth access to alcohol as a 
priority area in their strategic plans. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Denise Galvez, GPAC Coordinator 
E-mail:  denise.galvez@adp.ca.gov 
Address:  1700 K Street, 4th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95811 
Phone:  916-327-4076 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs 
Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Attorney General’s Office 
California Community Colleges 
California Conservation Corps 
Department of Public Health 
California Highway Patrol 
California Emergency Management Agency 
Office of the Chancellor, California State University 
Office of the President of the University of California 
Office of Traffic Safety 
Department of Mental Health 
Department of Social Services 
Superintendent of Public Instruction, Department of Education 
Department of Rehabilitation 
California National Guard 
Governor’s Office of Planning and Research 
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A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: http://www.adp.ca.gov/Prevention/gpac.shtml 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: 
The most recent Biennial California Student Survey (CSS) was conducted by the Department of 
Alcohol and Drug Programs and the California Department of Education through a contract with 
WestEd.  Another survey with alcohol, tobacco, and drug data related to youth is the California 
Healthy Kids Survey (CHKS).  The 2010 California Needs Assessment Report (NAR) was released 
by ADP and contains alcohol and other drug data and analysis. 

Plan can be accessed via:  The 13th Biennial CSS Report for 2009–2010 is available at http://
www.wested.org/online_pubs/hhdp/css_13th_highlights.pdf.  The CHKS results are available at 
http://chks.wested.org/indicators.  The 2010 California NAR Report is available at 
http://www.adp.ca.gov/Funding/pdf/2010_Ca_Needs_Assessment_Report.pdf. 

Additional Clarification 

The Governor’s Prevention Advisory Council (GPAC) was established to coordinate the state’s strategic 
efforts to achieve reductions in the incidence and prevalence of the inappropriate use of alcohol, 
tobacco, and other drugs.  GPAC members maintain autonomy while carrying out GPAC prevention 
objectives through their respective organizations.  GPAC subcommittees address such issues as alcohol 
policy and underage drinking prevention. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  Data unavailable 

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

Under the directive of SAMHSA, states are required to provide data on all Substance Abuse Prevention 
and Treatment Block Grant (SAPT-BG)-funded primary prevention services.  Counties enter their data 
into the California Outcome Measurement Service for Prevention (CalOMS Pv), which is then used to 
provide the data for the SAPT-BG application.  Funding is tracked by the six Primary Prevention Center 
for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) strategies and three Institute of Medicine (IOM) categories.  
Prevention program data is not broken down by cost per service or identified issues such as underage 
drinking.  Underage drinking is being addressed in California.  Prevention programming throughout the 
state is not narrowly defined to address one topic; therefore, data are not collected by cost per service.  
When asking other agencies about how much they invest in underage drinking, the state may find they 
do not view their services as having this specific purpose, and thus cannot isolate the dollar amounts 
requested in the survey.  For example, the Department of Education and Higher Education systems may 
consider underage drinking as a component of a program to improve overall academic performance and 
reduce dropout rates, but data on the cost per service specific to underage drinking is not collected. 
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Colorado 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  5,116,796
Population Ages 12–20:  568,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 31.7 180,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.9 102,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 9.7 18,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.5 5,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.7 56,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.9 33,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 57.8 105,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 35.2 64,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 74 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,492 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 16.0 11 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND
• Parent/guardian

Note:  Colorado’s exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private 
property when minors possess alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or 
guardian). 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND
• Parent/guardian

Note:  Colorado’s exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private 
property when minors consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or 
guardian). 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location AND
• Parent/guardian

Note:  Colorado’s exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private 
property when minors possess or consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a 
parent or guardian). 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Note:  In Colorado, the license revocation period for a first conviction of obtaining or 
attempting to obtain an alcoholic beverage by misrepresentation of age is 24 hours of public 
service, if ordered by the court, or 3 months. 

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
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• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

• Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with 
the purchase of alcohol. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  Not specified 
• Maximum:  90 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m. 
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  For first 6 months, no passengers under 21 unless immediate 
family member; second 6 months, only one passenger under 21 who is not immediate family 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 
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Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private location AND
• Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  18
• Maximum:  20

Appearance Requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance with no age enhancements

ID Possession 
• Discretionary

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  1 year
• First offense:  Written warning to up to 15-day license suspension—accepting fine in lieu of

15 days of suspension is discretionary
• Second offense:  25-day suspension, 10 days served and 15 held in abeyance
• Third offense:  44-day suspension, 20 served and 24 held in abeyance
• 4th offense:  45-day or more license suspension or license revocation

Note:  Lists of aggravating and mitigating factors are provided.  Responsible alcohol vendors 
may receive a warning on the first offense.   

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training  
• The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for Training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors.

Note:  No person shall be employed to serve alcohol beverages or provide security within a 
“common consumption area,” that is, an area designed as a common area in an “entertainment 
district” approved by the local licensing authority that uses physical barriers to close the area to 
motor vehicle traffic and limit pedestrian access, unless the server has completed the server and 
seller training program established by the director of liquor enforcement.  An “entertainment 
district” is a designated area within a municipality with no more than 100 acres containing at 
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least 20,000 feet of premises licensed as a tavern, hotel and restaurant, brew pub, retail gaming 
tavern, or vintner’s restaurant when the district is created.   

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21
• Wine:  21
• Spirits:  21

Note:  Although employees must be at least 21 years old to sell malt, vinous, or spirituous 
liquors in a retail liquor store, employees at least 18 years old may sell fermented malt beverages 
containing not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight in establishments where fermented malt 
beverages are sold at retail in containers for off-premises consumption. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present.

Note:  Persons under 21 years old employed to sell or dispense malt, vinous, or spirituous liquors 
must be supervised by another person who is on premise and has attained 21 years of age. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
Limitations on outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on damages:  $280,810 per person
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on damages:  $280,810 per person
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of underage status
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Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements 
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirement  
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration 
Not required 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted—state permit required
• Wine:  Permitted—state permit required
• Spirits:  Permitted—state permit required

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.08 per gallon.
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.32 per gallon.
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $2.28 per gallon.

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Minimum markup/Maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum
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Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Minimum markup/Maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost
• Retailer credit:  Restricted —30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Minimum markup/Maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum
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Colorado State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Liquor Enforcement Division, Colorado Department of Revenue 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

The state holds cooperative enforcement operations with local law enforcement agencies 
conducting compliance checks and special event patrols.  The state also conducts training for local 
law enforcement. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Liquor Enforcement 
Division, Colorado 
Dept. of Revenue 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 464 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,867 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  280 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 
1,509 
 107 

12/31/2011 
Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 205 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $160,738 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 263 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 4,349 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 2 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Additional Clarification   

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Persistent Drunk Driver 

Number of youth served 225,435 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information: 
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?blobcol=urldata&blobheadername1=Content-
Disposition&blobheadername2=Content-
Type&blobheadervalue1=inline%3B+filename%3D%22Prevention+Program+Profile.pdf%22&blobh 
eadervalue2=application%2Fpdf&blobkey=id&blobtable=MungoBlobs&blobwhere=1251694238324 
&ssbinary=true 

Program description:  Pursuant to legislation passed in 1998, penalties were increased for high blood 
alcohol concentration (BAC) and repeat driving under the influence (DUI) offenders.  Referred to as the 
Persistent Drunk Driver (PDD) Act of 1998, this legislation defined the PDD program and created the 
PDD Cash Fund, which is funded by a surcharge imposed on convicted driving while alcohol impaired 
(DWAI)/DUI offenders.  Monies in the PDD fund are subject to annual appropriation by the general 
assembly, with the scope of their use stipulated by statute.  Overall, the primary purpose of the fund is to 
support programs intended to prevent persistent drunk driving or intended to educate the public, with 
particular emphasis on the education of young drivers, regarding the dangers of persistent drunk driving.  

Authorizing legislation/grant:  C.R.S 42-3-303, et seq. (House Bill 98-1334) sponsors Hopper/Hagedorn. 

Population served:  Programs, practices, and approaches cover a wide range of prevention activities 
including collaboration with local organizations; conducting educational programs for young people, 
parents, enforcement officials, community and business leaders, healthcare providers, school 
personnel, and others; promoting governmental and voluntary policies to promote alcohol-free activities 
for citizens; and restricted access to alcoholic beverages. 
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Law Enforcement Assistance Funds 

URL for more program information:  
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?blobcol=urldata&blobheadername1=Content-
Disposition&blobheadername2=Content-
Type&blobheadervalue1=inline%+filename%3D%22Law+Enforcement+Assistance+Fund.pdf%22&bl
obheadervalue2=application%2Fpdf&blobkey=id&blobtable=MungoBlobs&blobwhere=12516942058
87&ssbinary=true 

Program description:  The Law Enforcement Assistance Fund (LEAF) increases the capacity for 
comprehensive impaired driving education and underage drinking prevention at the local level.   

Authorizing legislation/grant:  CRS 43-4-401 et seq. allocates a portion of funds to the Colorado 
Department of Human Services, Division of Behavioral Health.  These dollars are used to establish a 
statewide program for the prevention of driving after drinking, including educating the public about the 
problems of driving after drinking, preparing and disseminating educational materials dealing with the 
effects of alcohol and drugs on driving behavior, and preparing and disseminating educational 
curriculum materials for use at all levels of school.   

Population served:  Across Colorado, individuals, organizations, and community coalitions are actively 
engaged in broad-based and coordinated activities designed to reduce underage access to alcohol and 
to prevent impaired driving.  These programs, practices, and approaches cover a wide range of 
prevention activities including collaboration with local organizations; conducting educational programs 
for young people, parents, enforcement officials, community and business leaders, healthcare providers, 
school personnel, and others; and promoting governmental and voluntary policies to promote alcohol-
free activities for citizens and to restrict access to alcoholic beverages for underage persons. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Ignacio, CO, a multiethnic community with a Native American presence, 
has undertaken a 5-year approach affirming a course correction in its prevention strategy.  With the 
Boys and Girls Club (BGC) of the Southern Ute Indian Tribe and the Ignacio School District, 
Southern Ute Community Action Programs (SUCAP) conducts evidence-based programming 
covering a younger age group.  The BGC Stay Smart program targets youth ages 9 to 11, with a 
Native Hip Hop adaptation of the Smart Leaders program creating a role for youth ages 12 and older.  
SUCAP operates Project Venture, an afterschool activity combining classroom concept-building with 
challenging outdoor activities developed for Native communities.  Outreach is based on relationship 
building with youth in the schools and the Ignacio Teen Center to create a continuum of contacts and 
dosage along with process and outcome evaluation. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

Program description:  Corona Insights, on behalf of Peter Webb Public Relations, 
conducted the following research to aid the development of a social norming 
campaign for Western State College as part of the PDD program.  This research, 
conducted during the beginning of the fall semester in 2010, worked to identify the 
current state of student perceptions regarding alcohol use and driving while impaired, 
actual behavior related to driving under the influence, and awareness of drinking and 
driving media messages.  This survey’s goal was to establish a baseline for the 2010–
2011 campaign, as well as to continue informing future campaigns. 

Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  Each funded agency is required to present and follow programs 
that are evidence based and data driven.  They are allowed to choose from many different evidence-
based curriculums with the intention of reducing the percentage of underage drinking in their 
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particular community.  Data are collected from each provider every month.  At the end of the fiscal 
year, evaluation reports with aggregate data will be collected to determine the overall effectiveness of 
each individual program as well as the underage drinking prevention program as a whole. 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Lisa Finch 
E-mail:  cheryl.finch@state.co.us 
Address:  3824 W. Princeton Circle, Denver, CO  80236 
Phone:  303-866-7488 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Colorado Department of Revenue/Division of Motor Vehicles 
Colorado Department of Transportation/Office of Transportation Safety 
Colorado Judicial Department/Division of Probation Services 
Colorado Department of Human Services/Division of Behavioral Health 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.noduicolorado.org 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Prevention Staff 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Colorado Department of Human Services/Division of Behavioral Health Plan 
can be accessed via:  http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&childpagename=CDHS-
BehavioralHealth%2FCBONLayout&cid=1251581449373&pagename=CBONWrapper 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $5,574,504 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $2,300,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended $237,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
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Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  Not applicable 

Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other Federal funds 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The Persistent Drunk Driver Funds are cash funds derived from DUI offenders of all ages.  These 
funds must specifically be used, under legislative mandate, to educate young drivers on the dangers 
of persistent drunk driving. 

Additional Clarification 

The prevention programs funded through this agency incorporate some element of underage drinking 
and or drug use.  Many of the programs target specific underage populations.  It is required for each 
agency to demonstrate evidence-based outcomes related to underage drinking and all other programs 
implemented with funds received from Colorado. 
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Connecticut 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  3,580,709
Population Ages 12–20:  429,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 31.8 136,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 22.3 96,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.6 8,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.0 3,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 31.5 47,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 22.0 33,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 57.7 82,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 42.4 60,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 34 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,030 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 34.0 12 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and

other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards. 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 30 days
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Note:  In addition to the 30-day suspension penalty listed above, Connecticut imposes a license 
suspension of 60 days if underage possession occurs “on any public street or highway” (see 
Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 14-111e(a), 30-89(b)(1)0.   

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16
• Minimum learner stage period:  4 months with driver education; 6 months without
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 4 months
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, limited to one parent, instructor, or licensed
adult who is at least 20 years old; second 6 months, expands to include immediate family
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 12 months after issuance

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 
Note:  A parent or guardian of any applicant less than 18 to whom a learner’s permit is issued on 
or after August 1, 2008, shall attend 2 hours of safe driving instruction with such applicant.   

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  Not specified
• Maximum:  Not specified

Appearance Requirements 
• No sweatshirts or other clothing appropriate for someone of legal age (e.g., military

sweatshirts) 

ID Possession 
• Discretionary

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited
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Decoy Training 
• Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  15
• Wine:  18
• Spirits:  18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 
Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  
Primary and Secondary Schools 
No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on damages:  $250,000 per person.
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Minor must be intoxicated at time of

furnishing.
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Note:  A common law cause of action is not precluded by the dram shop statute.  Under common 
law, the limitations on damages may be avoided.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have

actual knowledge of the occurrence
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation
• Exception(s):  Family
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Note:  The “preventive action” provision in Connecticut requires the prosecution to prove that 
the host failed to take preventive action. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements 
• Producer must verify age of purchaser—ID check is required at some point prior to delivery.
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient—ID check is required at some point prior to

delivery.

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
• State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  6 gallons or more
• Prohibited:  Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:  $500/3 months
• Purchaser information collected:

– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID

• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required
• Deposit:  Not required
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted
• Wine:  Permitted
• Spirits:  Permitted

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.24 per gallon
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Connecticut imposes a tax of $7.20 per barrel, defined as “not less than twenty-eight nor more 
than thirty-one gallons,” and $0.24 per wine gallon or fraction thereof on quantities less than a 
quarter barrel. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.72 per gallon

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $5.40 per gallon

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned
• Minimum markup/Maximum discount:  Yes—no sales below cost
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned
• Minimum markup/Maximum discount:  Yes—No sales below cost
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned
• Minimum markup/Maximum discount:  Yes—No sales below cost
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum
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Connecticut State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Department of Consumer Protection – Liquor Control Division 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

Liquor Control Division is a state regulatory agency (no police or arrest powers).  Working with 
partners in law enforcement, both agencies share responsibility for enforcement of the Liquor 
Control Act.  The Liquor Control Division and law enforcement conduct mutual operations and also 
independent investigations. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Department of 
Consumer Protection 

– Liquor Control
Division 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Unknown 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies No data 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending No data 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No data 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 498 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  82 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

No 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 200 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $375,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 200 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Additional Clarification   

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Partnerships for Success (PFS) 

Number of youth served 43,362 
Number of parents served 3,131 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/11 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/prevention pending 
http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/prevention/PHPCompendium.pdf 

Program description:  The PFS is a 5-year, $11.5 million grant awarded to Connecticut through a 
competitive bid from the SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP).  PFS allows 
Connecticut to continue successful community-based approaches that prevent underage drinking 
through the use of the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF).  This data-driven public health approach 
builds on existing successes of over 20 community-based coalitions that specifically address underage 
drinking, including several other state and federally funded coalitions and community-based programs 
currently in place covering each region of the state.  The PFS uses environmental prevention 
approaches to produce measurable reductions in alcohol consumption patterns and their negative 
consequences.  The University of Connecticut Health Center conducts evaluations at the state and 
community levels to track performance targets.  Goals include: 
• Reducing past-month alcohol use rates for individuals ages 12–20.
• Preventing the onset and reducing the progression of childhood/underage drinking.
• Strengthening capacity and infrastructure at the state and community levels to implement data-

driven, evidence-based policies, practices, and programs.
• Taking a collaborative approach to align state and community strategies, redirect existing services,

and leverage human and fiscal resources to sustain efforts.

Strategy types:  Twenty funded community coalitions throughout the state use a public health approach 
in over 30 municipalities and statewide across college campuses to decrease alcohol consumption in 
youth ages 12 to 20.  Additionally, coalitions build on existing resources to implement environmental 
strategies known to be effective in reducing youth alcohol use rates, such as curtailing retail and social 
access, policy change, enforcement, media advocacy, and parental and merchant education, as well as 
measure changes in underage drinking that use student survey and social indicator data.   
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Connecticut has recently completed implementation of the SAMHSA-funded strategic prevention 
framework (SPF) initiative, which identified underage drinking as a state priority.  The SPF was a 5-year, 
$11 million initiative that brought evidence-based programs, policies, and practices to communities 
through a coalition approach to regions across the state.  Coalitions were charged with conducting 
needs and resource assessments, building community capacity to address underage drinking, 
developing strategic plans, implementing evidence-based programs, and evaluating and sustaining 
efforts once the initiative ended.  The majority of the coalitions were continued through SAMHSA’s 
Partnership for Success Grant.   

Highlights included:  Prioritizing and addressing underage drinking at the state and community levels; 
leveraging, redirecting, and realigning resources in support of the SPF and the reduction of underage 
drinking; and strengthening state/local capacity and infrastructure in support of prevention.  Findings 
demonstrated the following:   
• A 4 percent reduction in past-month alcohol use among Connecticut high school students from 2005

to 2009.
• A 12.9 percent reduction in binge drinking among high school students.
• A 17.4 percent reduction in early-onset drinking (i.e., before age 13; Youth Risk Behavior Survey).
• A reduction in alcohol-related motor vehicle fatalities, dropping from 47 percent in 2005 to 42 percent

in 2008.
• A 34 percent increase in the number of evidence-based practices, programs, and policies, including

environmental strategies, funded by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
(DMHAS).

• A statistically significant increase in community readiness to implement effective substance abuse
prevention strategies and practices from 2006 to 2010.

• In comparisons of local student survey data collected before and after implementing the SPF in
funded communities, 71 percent showed a decrease in the percentage of students reporting past-
month alcohol use.

Connecticut Statewide Healthy Campus Initiative 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/11 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

Not applicable 
http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/prevention/PHPCompendium.pdf 

Program description:  The purpose of the Connecticut Statewide Healthy Campus Initiative is to develop 
a comprehensive prevention system that is responsive to the needs of young adults ages 18 to 25 who 
are attending public universities throughout Connecticut.  The Initiative is based on a 3-in-1 Framework 
recommended by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA).  The goal is to 
change the culture of drinking and other substance use/abuse using broad-based, comprehensive, 
integrated programs with multiple complementary components that target individuals, including at-risk or 
alcohol-dependent drinkers; the student population as a whole; and the college and the surrounding 
community.   

Objectives of the initiative are to: 
• Address gaps in substance abuse prevention and early intervention services.
• Support culturally responsive, age-appropriate, and evidence-based approaches for young adults.
• Further develop Connecticut’s prevention data infrastructure and capacity to collect and analyze

outcome data and report on key performance measures.

The primary target population is college students ages 18-25.  Programs may also target family 
members, peers, schools, and communities at large.   

This initiative requires that programs use multiple strategies within the 3-in-1 framework (community, 
campus, and individual-level strategies known to be effective).  A summary list of activities follows:   
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1. Monthly meetings of the Connecticut Healthy Campus Initiative, open to all Connecticut institutions of
higher education.  Meetings include training by national experts, technical assistance, networking,
and coalition organizational tasks geared toward sustaining efforts and promoting evidence-based
activities on college campuses.  Forty colleges have signed on to participate in the Initiative.

2. Grantee funding opportunities:  Following a competitive request-for-proposal (RFP) process, 10
Connecticut colleges received awards to implement evidence-based environmental strategies
including policy review and creation, enforcement of underage drinking laws and policies, coalition
capacity building, and social marketing.  Colleges receiving the awards implement the CORE survey
before and after implementation to measure the effectiveness of the strategies at reducing past-
month alcohol use and binge drinking.

3. Technical assistance (TA) is provided by Connecticut Center for Prevention, Wellness and Recovery
staff to Connecticut Institutions of Higher Education.  TA includes face-to-face, telephone, and
electronic consultation as requested by college staff.  An electronic listserv of Connecticut colleges
will be maintained and used to provide updates on national and state alcohol and drug prevention
news and information.

Best Practice Initiative 
Number of youth served 5,401 
Number of parents served 24 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/11 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

        Not applicable 
http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/prevention/PHPCompendium.pdf 

Program description:  The Best Practice Initiative consists of 14 multifocused Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant-funded programs across the state.  They were originally 
created in the mid-1990s to apply science- and research-based innovations to populations across the 
lifecycle.  In 2009, following extensive review of state epidemiological data on underage alcohol use and 
related consequences, the funded agencies were refocused to apply the Strategic Prevention 
Framework (SPF) and related strategies to address underage drinking and other substances that were 
data-identified as problems in chosen communities.   

Target population(s):  All Best Practice agencies are required to use a portion of their block grant funds 
to reduce underage drinking and related consequences.   

Strategy type:  The population-level approach requires agencies to use environmental strategies 
endorsed by CSAP, such as law and policy development and enforcement and media and marketing 
campaigns. 

Office of Policy and Management—Enforcement of Underage Drinking Laws 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

          Not applicable 
 http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp 

Program description:  The Office of Policy and Management and the Juvenile Justice Advisory 
Committee (JJAC) support comprehensive programs designed to combat underage drinking.  Another 
initiative sponsored by the Office of Policy and Management is called “SetTheRulesCT.”  This is a 
statewide media campaign educating parents and adults about Connecticut’s social host law and the 
impact of alcohol on teenage brain development.  As of June 2009, the JJAC made awards to five 
agencies totaling $409,260 in the “combating underage drinking” category for FY2009/2010.   
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Enforcing the Underage Drinking Laws Program (EUDL):  This program supports and enhances state 
efforts, in cooperation with local jurisdictions, to enforce laws prohibiting the sale of alcoholic beverages 
to, or the consumption of alcoholic beverages by, individuals under 21 years old.  Each state receives 
an annual allocation of a set amount and may also enter into competitive bids for discretionary grants. 

Governor’s Prevention Partnership/Connecticut Coalition to Stop Underage Drinking 
Number of youth served 51 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/11 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

           Not applicable 
  http://www.preventionworksct.org/ccsud 

Program description:  The Governor’s Prevention Partnership (GPP), a statewide resource link, serves 
as a nonprofit entity between State government and businesses with a mission to keep Connecticut’s 
youth safe, successful, and drug free.  The GPP provides leadership and services to help schools, 
communities, colleges, and businesses create and sustain quality programs in the following areas:  
mentoring, coalition building, underage drinking, school-based substance abuse and violence 
prevention, campus community partnerships, parent education, and media.  The GPP works closely with 
DMHAS, state agencies, and community-based organizations to maximize prevention efforts and 
services based on state needs and policy plans.   

The GPP and state and local coalitions have mobilized toward a statewide coalition, the Connecticut 
Coalition to Stop Underage Drinking (CCSUD).  CCSUD, in collaboration with Connecticut’s myriad 
stakeholders, has used state and federal funding to achieve the following successes:   
• Passage of several alcohol-related laws intended to curb underage drinking and related harms (keg

registration, a “zero tolerance” law lowering the blood alcohol level to .02 for a driving under the
influence [DUI] conviction for persons under 21, and prohibition of drive-up alcohol sales).

• A reduction in compliance check failure rates from 75 percent of merchants selling alcohol to minors
to less than 18 percent over the last 8 years.

• A reduction of 8.9 percent among underage youth who report consuming alcohol in the past 30
days.

Regional Action Councils (RACs) 
Number of youth served 96,344 
Number of parents served 50 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/11 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

       Not applicable 
http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/preventionPHPCompendium.pdf 

Program description:  RACs comprise 13 public/private subregional planning and action councils 
covering the state that have responsibility for the planning, development, and coordination of behavioral 
health services in their respective regions.  RACs are resource links for DMHAS and are legislatively 
mandated to: 
1. Determine the extent of substance abuse problems within their subregions.
2. Determine the status of resources to address such problems.
3. Identify gaps in the substance abuse service continuum.
4. Identify changes to the community environment that will reduce substance abuse.

This information is used by DMHAS to inform decisions related to service system plans and 
enhancements.  RAC membership consists of diverse members of the community, including the chief 
elected official, the chief of police, the superintendent of schools of each municipality within the 
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subregion, business and professional leaders, members of the General Assembly, service providers, 
representatives of minority populations, religious organizations, representatives of private funding 
organizations, and the media.  Every 2 years, RACs produce Subregional Prevention Priority Reports 
to describe: 
1. The burden of substance abuse, problem gambling, and suicide in the subregions.
2. Prioritized prevention needs.
3. The capacity of the subregions’ communities to address those needs.

These reports are based on data-driven analyses of issues in the subregions with assistance from key 
community members.  The reports and accompanying data are used as building blocks for state- and 
community-level processes, including capacity and readiness building, strategic planning, 
implementation of evidence-based programs and strategies, and evaluation of efforts to reduce 
substance abuse and promote mental health.  The subregional priority-setting process conducted by the 
RACs was instrumental in assisting community coalitions with developing strategic plans to address 
underage drinking in their respective communities.  Priority-setting strategies include:   
1. Compiling subregional sociodemographic and indicator data using data provided by State

Epidemiological and Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) and additional community-level data and
information, such as student surveys and focus group results.

2. Producing subregional epidemiological profiles describing magnitude, impact, and response
capacity.

3. Convening Community Needs Assessment Workgroups to conduct the priority ranking process.

RACs have also received Drug Free Coaliton (DFC) and STOP Underage Drinking Act grants to 
address underage drinking in their regions. 
Center for Prevention, Wellness & Recovery—Wheeler Clinic/Connecticut Clearinghouse 

Number of youth served 592 
Number of parents served 113 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/11 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

           Not applicable 
 http://www.ctclearinghouse.org 

Program description:  Connecticut Clearinghouse, a program of Wheeler Clinic’s Connecticut Center for 
Prevention, Wellness & Recovery (CCPWR), is a statewide library and resource center for information 
on substance use and mental health disorders, prevention and health promotion, treatment and 
recovery, wellness, and other related topics.  The CCPWR serves as a resource link for DMHAS.  
Resources and services are available to anyone who lives or works in the state, including families, 
teachers, students, professionals, community members, and children.  Connecticut Clearinghouse 
serves as the State’s Regional Alcohol and Drug Awareness Resource (RADAR) Network Center as 
designated by CSAP.   

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Local Prevention Councils 

URL for more program information http://www.ct.gov/dmahs/preventionPHPCompendium.pdf 

Program description:  This DMHAS initiative supports more than 120 local, municipal-based alcohol, 
tobacco, and drug abuse prevention councils.  The intent of this grant program is to facilitate 
development of prevention initiatives at the local level with support of the Chief Elected Officials.  
Sspecific goals of Local Prevention Councils are to increase public awareness of substance use 
prevention and to stimulate the development and implementation of local prevention activities primarily 
focused on youth. 
Tobacco Use Prevention/Control, Connecticut Department of Public Health 

URL for more program information http://www.ct.gov/dph 
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Program description:  These programs work to address all risks associated with the use of tobacco 
products.  They are focused on preventing the initiation of tobacco use among youth and adults, 
eliminating exposure to environmental tobacco smoke, promoting cessation of tobacco use, and working 
to eliminate tobacco-related disparities among target populations such as pregnant women, individuals 
of low socioeconomic status, and ethnic groups with above-average use of tobacco products. 
Multicultural Leadership Institute, a DMHAS resource link 

URL for more program information http://www.mli-inc.org 

Department of Children and Families Prevention Services 
URL for more program information http://www.ct.gov/dcf 

Safe and Drug Free Schools 
URL for more program information http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde 

Connecticut Department of Transportation DUI Enforcement Program 
URL for more program information http://www.ct.gov/dot 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Program description:  Connecticut has two federally recognized Tribal nations, the Mashantucket 
Pequot Nation (population: 227) and the Mohegan Tribe (population: 1,700).  Connecticut also has 
four state-recognized Tribal nations:  the Eastern Pequot Nation, the Golden Hill Paugusset Tribe, 
the Pawcatuck Eastern Pequot Tribe (population: 150), and the Schaghticoke Indian Tribe 
(population: 300).  A seventh Tribal nation, Nipmuc Indian Association of Connecticut, is currently 
seeking federal recognition.  The two federally recognized Indian Tribes in Connecticut, the 
Mashantucket Pequot Nation and the Mohegan Tribe, are located in the Norwich/New London area 
of eastern Connecticut.  Both have casinos that contribute 25 percent of all slot revenues to the 
state.  Outside of the federal government, these casinos are the second-largest contributors to 
Connecticut’s economy.  The casinos provide a stable economic foundation for the Tribes and allow 
for the preservation of culture and the establishment of Tribal departments that provide a broad 
range of health/social benefits to reservation members.  Coalitions/RACs in close proximity to 
Connecticut’s two Tribes have formal linkages and include Tribal communities within their 
community interventions.  At the state level, DMHAS is working with Tribal leadership to educate 
them on the PFS initiative and engage Tribal representatives to serve in an advisory role, providing 
advice on issues facing American Indians who wish to participate in underage drinking and related 
substance abuse prevention programs. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Program description:  “SetTheRulesCT” is a statewide media campaign educating parents and 
adults about Connecticut’s social host law and the impact of alcohol on teenage brain development.  
The U.S.  Department of Justice’s Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) is 
addressing the growing problem of underage drinking through numerous initiatives, including public 
advertising programs.  “SetTheRulesCT” is funded entirely through the EUDL program.  
“SetTheRulesCT” was developed by the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) and the JJAC 
Subcommittee on Combating Underage Drinking, which is composed of representatives from the 
following state agencies and departments:   
• Commission on Children
• Department of Children and Families
• Department of Consumer Protection, Liquor Control
• Department of Education
• Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
• Department of Motor Vehicles
• Department of Public Safety
• Department of Transportation, Division of Public Defender Services
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• Department of Public Health
• Judicial Branch
• Office of Policy and Management
• Juvenile Justice Policy and Planning Division
• Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee
• Office of the Chief State’s Attorney

Additionally, Connecticut DMHAS Partnership for Success and Best Practice grantee agencies will 
implement social marketing campaigns as a strategy to address priority underage drinking risk 
factors in local communities throughout the state. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  The DMHAS-funded Connecticut PFS grantees use evidence-
based programs (EBPs) including the recently updated (2009) guidance document from CSAP, 
Identifying and Selecting Evidence- Based Interventions for Substance Abuse Prevention.  An EBP 
Subcommittee of SEOW was established to review and approve community plans that include EBPs 
based on the Guidance Document.  CT’s Resource Links will continue to provide training/teaching 
assistance on selecting and implementing EBP strategies that will most effectively assist PFS 
coalitions with achieving performance target outcomes.  DMHAS, in conjunction with Connecticut 
prevention provider agencies and organizations, developed Cultivating Programs That Work:  
Operating Standards for Prevention and Health Promotion Programs for prevention programs funded 
by DMHAS.  The standards, guidelines, and supporting documents link state-of-the-art prevention 
theory to effective, comprehensive, and accountable prevention practice and abide by principles that 
are divided into eight categories critical for all prevention programs:   
1. Human Relationships
2. Program Planning
3. Program Activities
4. Program Settings
5. Health and Safety
6. Program Implementation
7. Program Administration
8. Evaluation

Implementation of the standards should result in positive outcomes for programs, staff, and 
participants.  The purpose of these standards is to provide assurances to the public that alcohol and 
drug abuse prevention and early intervention programs are regulated under a set of minimum 
standards established by DMHAS.  These standards establish a minimum level of program operation 
intended to reflect quality substance abuse prevention programs.  The operating standards articulate 
a service philosophy that helps individuals, families, schools, and communities throughout the state 
of Connecticut prevent the use, misuse, or abuse of legal or illegal substances.  To support 
prevention staff training and certification, the Prevention Training Collaborative provides a wide 
range of prevention training across the state.  There are three levels of prevention certification for 
paraprofessionals, volunteers, and prevention program staff with and without 4-year degrees. 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Carol Meredith, MPA, Director of Prevention, Dept of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
E-mail:  Carol.Meredith@ct.gov 
Address:  410 Capitol Ave, PO Box 341431, MS-14PIT, Hartford, CT 06134 
Phone:  860-418-6826 
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Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
Department of Consumer Protection 
Department of Public Health 
Department of Public Safety 
Department of Transportation 
Department of Children and Families 
Department of Transportation 
Department of Social Services 
Office of Policy and Management 
Connecticut State University System 
Department of Higher Education 
Office of the Chief State’s Attorney and Judicial Branch 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access 

Yes 
http://www.ct.gov/dmhas 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared 
by: 

DMHAS and The Connecticut Alcohol and Drug Policy Council 

Plan can be accessed via http://www.ct.gov/dmhas pending 
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  The Connecticut Alcohol and Drug Policy Council Final Evaluation Report of the 
Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant First Year Evaluation Report of the PFS Plan 
can be accessed via http://www.ct.gov/dmhas pending 

Additional Clarification 
None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended $112,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $7,316,424 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $6,548,782 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended $510,797 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $4,220,402 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $702,359 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
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 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:   No data 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other General Funds 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
State Agency Collaboration, ADPC, Staff time, Direct Program Support. 

Additional Clarification 
None given 
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Delaware 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  907,135
Population Ages 12–20:   106,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 31.1 33,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 21.2 22,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.2 2,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.7 1,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.3 9,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.9 5,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 59.0 22,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 45.0 17,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 13 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 759 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 23.0 4 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Note:  Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows possession if in 
“private home of any of said members” (Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 904).  For purposes of this 
report,  the phrase “members of the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Note:  Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows consumption if 
in “private home of any of said members” (Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 904).  For purposes of this 
report,  the phrase “members of the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Delaware makes it an offense for “[w]hoever, being under the age of 21 years, has 
alcoholic liquor in his or her possession at any time, or consumes or is found to have consumed 
alcoholic liquor” (Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 904).  Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol 
in their bodies, but do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as 
prohibiting Internal Possession, for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

Note:  Delaware does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but it does prohibit 
“obtaining” alcohol in connection with making a false statement (see Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 
904(b)). 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• No driver’s license suspension procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
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Note:  Although Del.  Admin.  Code § 2 2000 2215 states that “persons under 21 years of age 
have noted on their licenses ‘Under 21,’” research revealed that no Delaware statute or 
regulation expressly requires distinguishing licenses for persons under 21 years old.   

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage possession
• Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 30 days

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  One passenger, except for immediate family members
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private residence AND EITHER
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse
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Note:  Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows furnishing if in 
the “private home of any of said members” (see Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 904).  For purposes of 
this report,  the phrase “members of the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  16
• Maximum:  20

Appearance Requirements 
• Males:  No facial hair
• Females:  No excessive makeup

ID Possession 
• Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Recommended

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  5 years
• First offense:  $500 fine
• Second offense:  $2,500 fine
• Third offense:  30-day license suspension
• Fourth offense:  60-day license suspension

Note:  Mitigating and/or aggravating circumstances may be considered. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Licensees, Managers, Servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
• Applies to both new and existing outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21
• Wine:  21
• Spirits:  21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability.  

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Prohibited
• Wine:  Prohibited
• Spirits:  Prohibited

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.16 per gallon.
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.97 per gallon.
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $3.75 per gallon ($2.50 per gallon for

alcohol content of 25 percent or less).

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—5 days minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to extent they

are permitted by federal law.

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—5 days minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to extent they

are permitted by federal law.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—5 days minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to extent they

are permitted by federal law.
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Delaware State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Division of Alcohol Tobacco Enforcement (DATE) 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

State and local agencies conduct joint operations to address underage drinking and youth access 
concerns throughout the state.  In addition, DATE is the designated agency for the Office of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) grant and 
oversees a statewide underage drinking task force comprised of its subgrantees. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors No data 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 713 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 200 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  55 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies No 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 55 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $27,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 2 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 60 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Additional Clarification   

Clarification for the following response:  The enforcement divison conducts compliance tests, arrests the 
clerks who sell, and files violations against the liquor licensee with the office of the alcoholic beverage 
control commissioner.  All penalties imposed upon a liquor licensee are heard in an administrative 
hearing before the alcoholic beverage control commissioner.  The enforcement division makes a 
recommendation of a monetary penalty, suspension, or revocation.  The final decision is made by the 
commissioner.  Data for all fines/suspensions/revocations imposed are recorded by that office.  
Delaware’s Office of Highway Safety (OHS) does not conduct any state-funded saturation patrols or 
checkpoints to reduce underage drinking.  OHS conducts saturation patrols and checkpoints to prevent 
adult impaired driving; these are federally funded,not state funded. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
All Stars 

Number of youth served 1,407 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  All Stars is an innovative, science-based prevention program that promotes 
prosocial behavior and attitudes.  When done as intended, the effects on students can be profound.  
All Stars is designed for use by professionals who work with children ages 9 to 11 in community 
settings.  All Stars can be delivered after school and in community settings such as churches and 
recreation centers. 

Too Good for Drugs and Alcohol and Project Toward NO Drug Abuse 
Ended 06/30/2010 

Number of youth served 0 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  No data  
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Fiscal Year (FY) 2011 Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health 
Services (DPBHS) funded extended Community Center   

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  In Fiscal Year 2011, the DPBHS funded extended Community Center hours and a 
Curfew Center that offered prosocial activities, dinner, at least one weekend evening with later hours, 
and educational/prevention activities at the former.  The latter worked with the Wilmington Police to offer 
education and resources to youth that were brought to the center for violation of curfew, which 
prevented youth from being on the streets, at risk for engaging in substance use and delinquent 
behaviors.  These alternative activities and programs had a significant impact on the number of arrests 
and incidences of violence—and likely substance use.  The funding was an unplanned budget windfall, 
and this upcoming summer, the DPBHS will continue with planned outcome measures in particular 
around substance abuse and violence.   

Botvin Life Skills program through University of Delaware 
Number of youth served 35 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  The Department of Education (DOE) Building Community Capacity Grant and 
DPBHS contracted to bring screening and motivational interviewing to Delaware’s child/family serving 
system:  representation from schools, courts, juvenile justice, public defenders, Division of Family 
Services (DFS), DPBHS staff, DOE, and prevention provider agencies. 

Life Skills 
Number of youth served See note below 
Number of parents served See note below 
Number of caregivers served See note below 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Botvin Life Skills is a research-validated substance abuse prevention program 
proven to reduce the risks of alcohol, tobacco, and drug abuse, as well as violence, by targeting the 
major social and psychological factors that promote the initiation of substance use and other risky 
behaviors.  This comprehensive and exciting program provides adolescents and young teens with the 
confidence and skills necessary to successfully handle challenging situations.  Note:  Total individuals 
served in FY 2011 (number was not broken down by youth, parent, caregiver):  228 

Summer Safe Havens 
Number of youth served See note below 
Number of parents served See note below 
Number of caregivers served See note below 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
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Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  DPBHS funded Duffy’s Hope, Inc., for the Duffy’s Hope Summer Basketball 
League and Summer Safe Haven programs through Duffy’s Hope, the Latin American Community 
Center, West End Neighborhood House, Kingswood Community Center, William Hicks Anderson 
Community Center, and Neighborhood House.  Note:  Total individuals served in FY 2011 (number was 
not broken down by youth, parent, caregiver):  1,157 

Underage Drinking Town Hall Meetings (8) 
Number of youth served See note below 
Number of parents served See note below 
Number of caregivers served See note below 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Eight underage drinking town hall meetings were held throughout the state.  The 
town hall meetings reached a universal population of youth, teens, and their families.  Note:  Total 
individuals served in FY 2011:  200. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Parents Step Up Campaign 

URL for more program information:  http://www.parentsstepup.org 

Program description:  Using various communication media, the Step Up campaign: 
• Helps adults recognize and change behaviors that facilitate underage drinking.
• Provides ideas for effective house rules to help adults protect kids from underage drinking.
• Encourages parents to block teens from access to alcohol.
• Highlights the consequences of underage drinking to discourage alcohol use.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

         Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 

The Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) services (Single State Agency) has 
developed the state’s prevention website as of this year, and website enhancement continues.  See 
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html 

DSAMH’s subrecipient, the Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services, provides services to 
17 and younger.  Their website is:  http://kids.delaware.gov/fs/fs_prevent.shtml 

DSAMH continued to work with the state-recognized Nanticoke Tribe in September 2011 to provide 
support to build their infrastructure in implementing substance abuse prevention programs.  DSAMH, in 
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collaboration with the Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services, reached out to the Native 
American Center for Excellence (NACE) to receive technical assistance for this initiative.  NACE, 
DPBHS, and DSAMH began working with the Nanticoke Tribe to develop assessment tools to collect 
data to guide their decisionmaking process for substance abuse prevention activities in in January 2012.  

Delaware’s Office of Highway Safety (OHS) does not conduct any state-funded saturation patrols or 
checkpoints to reduce underage drinking specifically.  OHS conducts saturation patrols and checkpoints 
focused on preventing adult impaired driving; however, minors are frequently arrested for underage 
drinking violations during the course of checkpoint enforcement activities.  Additionally, OHS does not 
include cost information because these enforcement activities are federally funded and not state funded. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Dr.  Marc Richman 
E-mail:  Marc.Richman@state.de.us 
Address:  DHSS-Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services, 1901 N. DuPont 
Highway, Main Admin Bldg, New Castle, DE 19720 
Phone:  302-255-9416 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services 
Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement 
Office of Highway Safety 
Delaware Department of Education 
Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services 
University of Delaware Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  DSAMH & DPBHS 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable  

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
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Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $1,138,678 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 6/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  Not applicable 
Programs or strategies included:   Not applicable 
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:  

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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District of Columbia 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  617,996
Population Ages 12–20:  60,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 31.3 19,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.8 11,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.4 1,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.7 1,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.3 4,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.6 000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 52.3 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 32.0 8,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 23 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,370 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 0.0 0 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase
• Underage possession
• Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation 
• 90 days
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours—must log additional 10 hours of

nighttime driving at intermediate stage with driver over 21

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after: 11 p.m. on Sunday–Thursday and 12:01 a.m. on Saturday–Sunday from
September through June; 12:01 a.m. in July and August

– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
• Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, one licensed driver at least 21, and any parent

or sibling.  After 6 months, no more than two passengers under 21 (except parents or
siblings) until age 18
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines 
No data  

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
• Applies to both new and existing outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18
• Wine:  18
• Spirits:  18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
Limitations on outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Note:  Exceptions are (1) restaurant, hotel, club, caterer’s, and temporary licenses; and 
(2) grocery stores with only incidental sale of alcoholic beverages. 

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Note:  Exceptions are (1) restaurant, hotel, club, caterer’s, and temporary licenses; (2) grocery 
stores with only incidental sale of alcoholic beverages; and (3) restaurants located inside hotels, 
apartment houses, clubs, or office buildings provided there are no signs or displays, and unless 
specifically approved and Board of Education has no objection. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
No prohibitions on retailer interstate shipments 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled 
spirits with the following restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements:  None 

Reporting Requirements:  None 

Shipping Label Statement Requirements:  None 
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Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  4 gallons or more
• Purchaser information collected:

– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID
– Address where keg will be consumed

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
• Deposit:  Not required
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted
• Wine:  Permitted
• Spirits:  Permitted

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.09 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  10 percent

General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 4 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 10 percent is applied at the retail level.  The 
“sales tax adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4 percent. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  10 percent

General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 4 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 10 percent is applied at the retail level.  The 
“sales tax adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4 percent. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.50 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  10 percent

General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 4 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 10 percent is applied at the retail level.  The 
“sales tax adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 4 percent. 
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Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—45 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—45 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—45 days maximum
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District of Columbia State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Metropolitan Police Department, Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

Local agencies work together to conduct District-wide compliance and identification (ID) checks. 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Not applicable 
Shoulder Tap Operations Not applicable 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Not applicable 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Not applicable 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 65 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 01/02/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 937 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  89 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 

Yes 
523 
35 

01/02/2012 
Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 Data not collected 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 Data not collected 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed5 Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
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Additional Clarification  

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
National Capital Coalition to Prevent Underage Drinking 

Number of youth served 1,500 
Number of parents served 20 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report nparker@nccpud.net 
URL for more program information nparker@nccpud.net 

Program description:  The National Capital Coalition to Prevent Underage Drinking (NCCPUD) is a 
nonprofit organization dedicated to preventing and reducing underage drinking and its related harms in 
the District of Columbia.  A coalition of community-based organizations, government, youth, and 
colleges, NCCPUD has been in the vanguard of developing and implementing prevention programs 
aimed at reducing underage drinking since 1997.  Its mission is to organize, advocate, educate, and 
build the capacity of local public and private organizations, youth, and the community to reduce 
underage drinking and related harm.  NCCPUD’s vision is for a safe environment that embraces youth, 
supports healthy behaviors, and encourages youth leadership and community investment.   

The goals of NCCPUD are to: 
• Advocate for environmental policies and practices to reduce underage drinking and unhealthy

outcomes related to all substance abuse.
• Build the capacity of the community to develop and implement evidence-based strategies to protect

young people from the risk of alcohol and drugs.
• Use media and communications as educational tools to change public perspectives and attitudes,

leading to the reduction of underage drinking and related harms.
• Organize and support grassroots responses to the consequences of substance abuse in the

community.
• Involve youth at every level of the organization.

NCCPUD, through its Youth Advocates Peer Program, provides and sponsors weekly 
training/workshops to over 30 area youth on various alcohol-related laws, enforcement activities, and 
issues currently affecting their environment.  NCCPUD Youth Advocates give peer presentations at 
various public and private senior high schools in the District of Columbia and sponsor yearly Prom 
Promise events that encourage youth not to make destructive decisions during prom season.  NCCPUD 
also serves as the District Coordinator for the national Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) 
program.  Since its inception, NCCPUD has trained over 530 youth advocates for the prevention of 
underage drinking and currently serves more than 1,500 youth each year in the District of Columbia. 

Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration (ABRA) 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 937 establishments 

checked/89 sales 
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Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

Yes 
Yes 

http://abra.dc.gov 
Not applicable 

Program description:  ABRA issues and renews licenses that enable qualified businesses to sell and 
serve alcoholic beverages.  ABRA monitors compliance with alcoholic beverage control (ABC) laws and 
takes appropriate enforcement action when licensees violate these laws.  When appropriate, ABRA 
proposes new laws regulating the manufacture, distribution, and sale of alcoholic beverages in the 
District.  ABRA also offers educational programs that help ABC establishments prevent underage 
individuals from purchasing and consuming alcohol. 

DC Prevention Centers 
Number of youth served 12,334 
Number of adults served 8,624 
Number of caregivers served N/A 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending March 2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Website under 

construction 
Program description:  In 2010, the District of Columbia Department of Health’s Addiction, Prevention, 
and Recovery Administration (APRA) funded four DC Prevention Centers that cover all eight wards 
through Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant-Prevention Set-Aside funds.  Each 
Prevention Center has two designated wards (Wards 1 and 2; Wards 3 and 4; Wards 5 and 6; Wards 7 
and 8) that serve as dynamic hubs that engage, support, and help connect the many community 
elements that are needed for promoting healthy children, youth, and families, as well as a drug-free city.  
Prevention Centers address three capacity-building functions in ways that reflect the characteristics and 
priorities of the populations and geographic areas served.  The three functions—community education, 
community leadership, and community changes—are designed to address priority risk factors and the 
following outcomes: 
• Increase attitudes opposed to alcohol, tobacco, and drug use among children and youth.
• Delay the onset or first use and progression of risk among children and youth.
• Increase involvement of families, youth, and concerned citizens in their community’s planning,

decisionmaking, and evaluation for substance abuse prevention.

Data measures have been identified and are being tracked at the District and Ward levels.  DC 
Prevention Centers have a primary role in the DC Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant 
(SPF SIG). 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
DC Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) 

URL for more program information:  Judith.Donovan@DC.Gov 

Program description:  The District of Columbia is part of the Cohort IV SPF SIG funded through 
SAMHSA with a $10.6 million award.  The SPF SIG goals are to: 
• Prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse, including childhood and

underage drinking and marijuana use, among youth in communities.
• Reduce substance abuse problems, especially underage drinking and marijuana use, among youth

in communities.
• Build prevention capacity and infrastructure at the state and community levels to address priority

areas, reduce risk, and increase protection for children and youth.
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SAMHSA reviews and approves a data-driven strategic plan before 85 percent or all community-level 
funds can be allocated.  Approval of the District of Columbia plan is pending; however, underage 
drinking is one of two District of Columbia priorities. 

In April 2011, SAMHSA approved the District of Columbia Strategic Plan, which focuses on two 
priorities:  underage drinking and the prevention of marijuana use by youth.  Competitve grants totaling 
$1.4 million were to be posted in spring 2012.  A SPF SIG Coordinator for each District of Columbia 
Prevention Center was funded in 2011. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Program description:  Metro Teen AIDS Ward 8 Drug-Free Coalition (STOP ACT Grantee), and 
Public Charter School Center for Student Support Services 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:   
These codes are the foundation for all District of Columbia underage drinking programs and practices 
and serve as guiding standards for developing and implementing evidence-based prevention services:  

• District of Columbia Official Code §25-765: No window advertisements within 400 feet of a
church/school.

• District of Columbia  Official Code §25-782: Restrictions on hours of minors entering stores from 8
a.m. to 3 p.m. during school days.

• District of Columbia Official Code §25-781: Sale to minors or intoxicated persons prohibited.
• District of Columbia Official Code §25-783: Production of valid identification document required;

penalty.

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL), Justice Grants Administration (JGA) 
E-mail:  Brendae.Smith@dc.gov 
Address:  1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20004 
Phone:  202-727-6331 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration 
Bridging Resources In Communities, Inc. 
Metro TeenAIDS 
Metropolitan Police Department 
National Capital Coalition to Prevent Underage Drinking 
Public Charter School-Center for Student Support 
DC Department of Health, Addiction Prevention and Recovery Administration 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access Not applicable 
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Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: DC Department of Health, Addiction Prevention and Recovery Administration 
Plan can be accessed via: Judith.Donovan@DC.Gov 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Justice Grants Administration 
Plan can be accessed via:  Brendae.Smith@dc.gov 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended $ 80,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 01/02/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $50,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  National Capital Coalition to Prevent Underage Drinking (NCCPUD), 
Bridging Resources In the Community (BRIC), Metropolitan Police Department (MPD), Public Charter 
School Center for Student Support (PCSCSS), and Metro TeenAIDS 
Estimate of state funds expended $300,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:  

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data  

Additional Clarification 

Justice Grants Administration (JGA) is one of several state administering agencies that passes through 
federal funds, and in this case funds are from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 
(OJJDP) for the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws.  For the fiscal year ending September 30, 2011, JGA 
funded two intradistrict agencies and five community-based (CBO) not-for-profit agencies.  The programs 
included but were not limited to alcohol compliance checks and alcoholic establishment enforcement and 
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training, as well as training over 40 youth advocates (decoys) in the operation of compliance checks.  
Several CBOs canvassed their communities for media purposes and held daily/weekly youth meetings as 
well as social networking.  In addition, JGA provided funding to one CBO that administered several 
SADD Chapters.  Because the District of Columbia is not a state, it has offices operating as state 
administrations; JGA does receive funding under the Juvenile Justice System but not under Enforcing 
Underage Drinking Laws.  There are other District agencies that may provide funding for prevention 
programs targeting K–12 schools, institutions of higher education, the juvenile justice system, and child 
welfare; however, they cannot be identified as to which agency provides these funds.  Therefore, to 
indicate “Can’t answer this question; these data are not available in my state” may be an inaccurate 
response. 
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Florida 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:   19,057,542
Population Ages 12–20:  2,161,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.6 554,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.3 331,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.5 35,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.3 15,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.6 155,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.1 87,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 45.0 364,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 28.4 230,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 274 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 16,430 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 19.0 66 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase
• Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  180 days
• Maximum:  365 days
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. for 16-year-olds; 1 a.m. for 17-year-olds
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• No passenger restrictions

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  16
• Maximum:  19

Appearance Requirements 
• Obviously underage in appearance
• No uniforms
• Dress based on community standards in target area
• Male:  No facial hair
• Female:  Age-appropriate hair and makeup; no revealing attire

ID Possession 
• Discretionary

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified
• First offense:  $1,000 and 7-day license suspension
• Second offense:  $3,000 and 30-day license suspension
• Third offense:  License revocation
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Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
• Applies to both new and existing outlets

Incentives for Training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors
• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  Not specified
• Wine:  Not specified
• Spirits:  18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
• No distance limitation

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  No
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet.  Local government has authority to override

state restrictions.
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Willful and unlawful furnishing to minor

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Note:  Common law liability rests on a violation of the criminal social host statute.  The criminal 
social host statute prohibits an adult from allowing an open house party to take place at a 
residence he/she controls and knowingly allowing a minor to possess or consume alcohol at the 
residence and failing to take reasonable steps to prevent the possession or consumption of the 
alcoholic beverage. 
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Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have

actual knowledge of the occurrence
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation

Note:  The “preventive action” provision in Florida requires the prosecution to prove that the 
host failed to take preventive action. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Note:  Although current law suggests that direct shipments of alcoholic beverages are prohibited, 
the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s informal policy allows out-of-
state wineries to make direct shipments of wine to Florida consumers.  Florida statutes that 
purport to ban direct shipments are not being enforced pursuant to a stipulation entered into by 
the state in a lawsuit challenging the constitutionality of the law (Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 561.54, 
561.545; http://www.flsenate.gov/data/Publications/2006/Senate/reports/interim_reports/
pdf/2006- 146rilong.pdf). 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted
• Wine:  Permitted
• Spirits:  Permitted

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.48 per gallon.
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $2.25 per gallon.
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $6.50 per gallon ($2.25 per gallon for

alcohol content of less than 17.259 percent).

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 
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Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 
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Florida State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Department of Business and Professional Regulation; Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

No data 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Unknown 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors No data 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 2,931 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 10,655 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  1,057 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Data not collected 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks  Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 56 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 10 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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Additional Clarification  

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Be The Wall Campaign 

Number of youth served Data not collected 
Number of parents served Data not collected 
Number of caregivers served Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
Program has been evaluated Data not collected 
Evaluation report is available Data not collected 
URL for evaluation report Data not collected 
URL for more program information http://fcpr.fsu.edu/sarg/tools/btw.php 

Program description:  “Be The Wall” is a statewide social marketing campaign sponsored by the Florida 
Governor’s Office of Drug Control, the Florida Department of Children and Families, and the Strategic 
Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG). 

Impaired Driving Coalition 
Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending  Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  No data  

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the 
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Too Good for Drugs & Violence 

State:  

URL for more program information http://www.mendezfoundation.org 

Program description:  Too Good for Drugs & Violence is a comprehensive prevention education program 
for high school students.  Designed to equip students with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes they need 
to remain safe and drug free, this program builds on the core concepts of Too Good for Violence K–8 
and Too Good for Drugs K–8.  The program offers 10 lessons delivered once a week for 10 weeks in a 
single grade level, plus 12 additional lessons incorporated into English, science, health, and/or social 
studies courses, so that students gain critical information and practice essential skills throughout their 
high school years.  These developmentally appropriate lessons feature topics of great interest to high 
school students: identifying effects of underage drinking, distinguishing healthy and unhealthy 
relationships, and recognizing the stages of addiction and possible sources of help.  Lessons reveal 
misconceptions about tobacco and marijuana and the dangers of abusing prescription and over-the-
counter drugs, ecstasy, cocaine, and methamphetamine.  Students also learn to analyze media 
influences, deal with prejudice and discrimination, and de-escalate conflicts. 
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Project Northland 
URL for more program information http://www.hazelden.org/web/go/projectnorthland 

Program description:  Alcohol is the drug of choice for American teenagers, and alcohol use during early 
adolescence increases the likelihood of progression to heavy alcohol use and to the use of other illicit 
drugs.  The influences of peers, family members, school, the media, and the community have been 
shown to play a critical role in promoting or discouraging alcohol use among teens.  Thus, the 
prevention researchers who developed Project Northland focused on engaging not only youth but also 
schools, families, and the larger community in one comprehensive prevention effort.   

Project Northland Grades 6-8 - Alcohol Use Prevention Curriculum Used in Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA’s) Reach Out Now Program by Cheryl L.  Perry, 
Ph.D., Kelli A.  Komro, Ph.D., Carolyn L.Williams, Ph.D., Sara Veblen-Mortenson, M.S.W., M.P.H., and 
Bonnie S.  Dudovitz, M.Ed.  Developed by the University of Minnesota. 
Guiding Good Choices 

URL for more program 
information 

http://www.channing-bete.com/prevention-programs/guiding-good-
choices/guiding-good-choices.html 

Program description:  No data 
Passport To Peace 

URL for more program 
information 

http://www.hanleycenter.org/prevention/programs-services/passport-to-
peace 

Program description:  No data 
Life Skills Training 

URL for more program information http://www.lifeskillstraining.com 

Program description:  No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No formal 
collaborative 
agreements 

Description of collaboration:  The Miccosukee Tribe operates an educational system ranging from 
the Head Start preschool program through senior high school; adult, vocational and higher education 
programs; and other social services.  The Seminole Tribe maintains an education division 
comprising programs that deliver educational services to all Tribal members, beginning at 5 years 
old and extending through senior citizens.  The programs are delivered to all six reservations, all 
nonresistance Seminole, and throughout the nation.  The administrative offices are located in 
Hollywood, Florida, with local education program personnel on the reservations to coordinate the 
education services.  In addition, those Tribal members who reside in the community are able to 
particpate in substance abuse programs throughout the school system and community. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  The Best Practices Recognition Program provides recognition 
for those programs that exemplify “best practice” methods in substance abuse prevention and 
treatment services.  These programs’ efforts are shown to measurably improve service outcomes 
and the quality of life for program participants.  All aspects of the Best Practices Recognition 
Program process are intended to bring recognition to the recipients, to the quality of care for persons 
receiving substance abuse supports and services, and to the efforts being made in providing 
substance abuse services in Florida.   
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The Substance Abuse Response Guide (SARG):  The Substance Abuse Program’s Prevention 
Team uses SARG to help communities change conditions that underlie illegal, illicit, and problematic 
alcohol and drug use patterns and related consequences in Florida (http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/
programs/ samh/SubstanceAbuse/prevention.shtml).   

Evidence-Based Practice Initiative (http://fcpr.fsu.edu/prevention/fps_document.html):  When 
speaking about implementing a prevention program or strategy “with fidelity,” the process starts with 
its selection.  Even faithful implementation of a program or strategy that poorly fits the needs and 
makeup of the community can be as ineffective as implementing a program with no evidence of 
effectiveness.  Thoughtful selection is essential.  Three principles drive selection:  relevance, 
appropriateness, and evidence of effectiveness.  It is important that a program or strategy have 
evidence that it is likely to influence troublesome factors or conditions that are driving a community’s 
substance abuse problems.  It is also important that the program or strategy be supported by the 
community and that it fits the community’s demographics, culture, resources, and capacity.  This 
guidance provides elements that reflect a selection process that achieves good fit.  It includes a 
glossary of terms, one list of benchmarks for the process and another for provider qualities, and a 
more indepth discussion of each element.  The principle of goodness of fit, as reflected in the 
elements of relevance and appropriateness, will be the foundation of the Department’s Evidence-
Based Practices Initiative.  Circuits and managing entities will use them to make funding and 
resource allocation decisions and ensure the implementation of evidence-based practices. 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  Not applicable 
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  Not applicable 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 

URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Florida Office of Drug Control 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://drugcontrol.flgov.com/odc_strategies.html 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Health Economics Research Group, Sociology Research Center, University of Miami 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/samh/SubstanceAbuse/docs/
CostOfUnderageDrinkingInFlorida_0608 09_FINAL.pdf 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $3,422,765 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2009 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: No data 
Estimate of State funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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Georgia 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  9,815,210
Population Ages 12–20:  1,214,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.7 275,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.5 164,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.4 20,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.7 6,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.6 84,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.3 47,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 43.7 171,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 28.4 111,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 158 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 9,548 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 10.0 20 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian’s home AND
• Parent/guardian

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 180 days

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 371



State Reports – Georgia

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours—6 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m.
– No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, immediate family only.  Second 6 months, no
more than one passenger under 21 who is not immediate family.  After 1 year, no more than
three passengers under 21 who are not immediate family.
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian’s home AND
• Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  17
• Maximum:  19

Appearance Requirements 
• No facial hair

ID Possession 
• Prohibited

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified
• First offense:  $500–$2,500 fine, 12-month probation, and/or up to 30-day suspenion

Note:  Mitigating and/or aggravating circumstances may be considered. 
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Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  Not specified
• Wine:  Not specified
• Spirits:  Not specified

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
Limitations on outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer, within 200 yards for spirits.
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer, within 200 yards for spirits.
• Local government has authority to override state restrictions.
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits.

Note:  Exceptions are (1) hotels of more than 50 rooms; (2) bona fide private clubs. 

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer, within 200 yards for spirits.
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 yards for wine and beer, within 200 yards for spirits.
• Local government has authority to override state restrictions.
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits.

Note:  Exceptions are (1) hotels of more than 50 rooms; (2) bona fide private clubs. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Furnishing with knowledge that customer was

a minor and would soon be operating a motor vehicle. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Furnishing with knowledge that customer was

a minor and would soon be operating a motor vehicle. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 373



State Reports – Georgia

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements 
• Producer must verify age of purchaser.

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements  
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21

Note:  Wineries that hold a federal basic wine manufacturing permit, regardless of whether they 
are licensed by the state of Georgia, may also ship wines directly to consumers.  The consumer 
must purchase the wine while physically present on the premises of the winery, and the winery 
must verify that the consumer is of the age to do so.   

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  more than 2 gallons
• Prohibited:

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/12 months
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/12 months

• Purchaser information collected:
– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID
– Address where keg will be consumed

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
• Deposit:  Not required
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Note:  Although Georgia does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s ID, 
it does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser, as well 
as the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth. 
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Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Prohibited
• Wine:  Prohibited
• Spirits:  Prohibited

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.01 per gallon

Reported tax rate is calculated for the rate imposed on 12-ounce containers.  $0.32 per gallon for 
malt beverages sold in barrels or bulk containers containing not more than 31 gallons, along with 
a $0.39 per gallon tax per on containers 15.5 gallons or less.   

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.42 per gallon

$1.10 per gallon imposed on the “importation for use, consumption, or final delivery” into the 
state of all wines with an alcohol content of 14 percent or less. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $5.37 per gallon

$1.89 per gallon on the “importation for use, consumption, or final delivery” into the state of all 
distilled spirits.   

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—180 days minimum
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted—if retailer owns more than one business and payment is

made from a central office, then credit not to exceed 5 days after delivery and invoice.

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—14 days minimum
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted
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Georgia State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Georgia Department of Revenue Alcohol and Tobacco Division 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

Conducting joint underage compliance investigations 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Georgia Department 
of Revenue Alcohol 

and Tobacco Division 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 0 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 4,337 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  753 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 Data not collected 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 Data not collected 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed5 Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
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Additional Clarification  

A breakdown of the fines imposed on all alcohol business is not available.  However, the state collected 
a total of $839,295 in fines against alcohol business overall for violations of the revenue regulations 
and/or state laws. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Georgia Strategic Prevention System (GASPS)- Alcohol Initiative 

Number of youth served 0 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 10/1/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:           
URL for more program information:  

                 No data 
   http://www.ga-sps.org 

Program description:  To address the negative impact of alcohol use in Georgia, the state Office of 
Prevention Services and Programs (OPSP) has developed the Georgia Strategic Prevention System 
(GASPS).  This initiative aims to affect population level change of behaviors and trends of alcohol use 
and abuse among youth and young adults ages 9 to 25.  GASPS will use the SAMHSA Center for 
Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) model to develop and 
implement strategies aimed at population level change using the public health model approach.  The 
objective of this initiative is to implement statewide primary prevention strategies (programs/practices/ 
policies) that are consistent with needs as identified by epidemiological data with the following goals: 
1. Reduce the early onset of alcohol use among 9- to 20-year-olds.
2. Reduce access to alcohol and binge drinking among 9- to 20-year-olds.
3. Reduce binge drinking and heavy drinking among 18- to 25-year-olds.

Currently, 40 contracted providers across the state are beginning this initiative.  

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

In 
development 

Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 

None given 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 377



State Reports – Georgia

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

In development 

Committee contact information:  Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:    Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Georgia Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.ga-spf.org 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:   No data 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:  

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 
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Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data   

Additional Clarification  

To address the negative impact of alcohol use in Georgia, the state Office of Prevention Services and 
Programs (OPSP) has developed the Georgia Strategic Prevention System (GASPS) alcohol initiative 
utilizing SAMHSA Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant funding.  This 
initiative aims to impact population level change of behaviors and trends of alcohol use and abuse among 
youth and young adults ages 9 to 25 years.  GASPS will use the SAMHSA/CSAP Strategic Prevention 
Framework (SPF) model to develop and implement strategies aimed at population level change using the 
public health model approach.  The objective of this initiative is to implement statewide primary 
prevention strategies (programs/practices/policies) that are consistent with needs as identified by 
epidemiological data with the following goals:   

1.  Reduce the early onset of alcohol use among 9- to 20-year-olds. 
2.  Reduce access to alcohol and binge drinking among 9- to 20-year-olds. 
3.  Reduce binge drinking and heavy drinking among 18- to 25-year-olds. 
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Hawaii 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,374,810 
Population Ages 12–20:  146,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.5 36,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.5 24,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 8.0 4,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 4.4 2,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.3 10,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.3 000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 42.4 22,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 30.6 16,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  12 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  707 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 39.0 6 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Hawaii has a statutory provision stating that “[n]o minor shall consume or purchase liquor 
and no minor shall consume or have liquor in the minor’s possession or custody in any public 
place, public gathering, or public amusement, at any public beach or public park, or in any motor 
vehicle on a public highway” and that “‘consume’ or ‘consumption’ includes the ingestion of 
liquor” (Haw. Rev. Stat. § 281-101.5).  Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their 
bodies, but which do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as 
prohibiting Internal Possession, for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that 

the purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 
Note:  In Hawaii, the retailer has a defense to a charge of furnishing to a minor if, in making the 
sale or allowing the consumption of liquor by a minor, the retailer was misled by the appearance 
of the minor and the attending circumstances into honestly believing that the minor was of legal 
age, and if the retailer can prove that he or she acted in good faith. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 

Provisions Applicable to Minors Under Age 18 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  180 days 
• Maximum:  Not specified 

Provisions Applicable to Minors Ages 18 to 21 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  180 days 
• Maximum:  Not specified 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 6 months   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18, except household 
members, unless accompanied by parent or guardian 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 
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Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Note:  Liquor can be sold by persons 18 to 20 years of age only in licensed establishments where 
selling or serving the intoxicating liquor is part of the minor’s employment, and where there is 
proper supervision of these minor employees to ensure that the minors shall not consume the 
intoxicating liquor. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Note:  Liquor can be sold or served by persons ages 18 to 20 only in licensed establishments 
where selling or serving the intoxicating liquor is part of the minor’s employment, and where 
there is proper supervision of these minor employees to ensure that the minors shall not consume 
the intoxicating liquor.  Persons below age 18 may sell or serve liquor in individually specified 
licensed establishments found to be otherwise suitable by the liquor commission in which an 
approved program of job training and employment for dining room waiters and waitresses is 
being conducted in cooperation with the University of Hawaii, the state community college 
system, or a federally sponsored personnel development and training program, under 
arrangements that ensure proper control and supervision of employees. 
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  No 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet, if 40 percent of registered voters or property 

owners within area protest. 
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions are (1) hotels of more than 50 rooms; (2) bona fide private clubs. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.   
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on who may be sued:  Social host must be age 21 or older. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Uncertain 
• Wine:  Uncertain 
• Spirits:  Uncertain 

Note:  Any adult may obtain a state permit to receive one shipment of beer, wine, or distilled 
spirits per year for personal use from outside the state, not to exceed 5 gallons.  Only one permit 
is allowed per household.  It is uncertain whether an out-of-state retailer may ship the alcohol 
directly to the permittee for his or her personal use.   

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.   
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Reporting Requirements:  None 

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21

Note:  Any adult may obtain a state permit to receive one shipment of beer, wine, or distilled 
spirits per year for personal use from outside the state, not to exceed 5 gallons.  Only one permit 
is allowed per household. 

Keg Registration 
Not required 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law
• Wine:  No law
• Spirits:  No law

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.93 per gallon ($0.54 per gallon for

containers of 7 gallons or more).
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $1.38 per gallon.
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $5.98 per gallon.

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum
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Hawaii State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Department of Liquor Control and County Police Departments 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

The Department of Liquor Control (local) and the county police departments (local) share 
information and resources.  In addition, the state Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Division receives the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) block grant and provides funding 
for county police departments and the University of Hawaii (state) to conduct compliance checks 
and park sweeps. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors No data 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law enforcement agencies Data not collected 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Data not collected 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 585 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 60 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

Yes 
120 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks  24 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/14/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 24 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $29,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/15/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 2 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 37 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/15/2012 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification   

There was no cooperation from three of Hawaii’s County Liquor Control Boards.  The information 
provided was from the Hawaii County Liquor Control Board and from the state Department of Health, 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division, which receives the EUDL grant.  In addition, information on 
compliance checks is from the University of Hawaii, which assists the state in conjuction with the county 
police departments to conduct off-premise, on-premise (Kauai only) compliance checks and the 
Random Sample Alcohol Survey (statewide). 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Program 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  The EUDL Program supports and enhances efforts by state coalitions to prohibit 
the sale of alcoholic beverages to minors and the purchase and consumption of alcoholic beverages by 
minors.  (Minors are defined as individuals under 21 years old.) 

Hawaii Strategic Prevention Framework–State Incentive Grant 
(HSPF SIG) 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   No data 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  The purpose of the HSPF SIG is to improve the quality of life for Hawaii citizens of 
all ages by preventing and reducing their abuse of and dependence on alcohol and drugs. 

Sober Truth on Preventing Underage Drinking (STOP) Act Coalition for 
Drug Free Hawaii 

Number of youth served 1,330 
Number of parents served 2,000 
Number of caregivers served 60 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
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URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  The purpose of this program is to prevent and reduce alcohol use among youth in 
the Ewa, Hawaii, community.  It was created to strengthen collaboration among the coalition-formed 
EWAlution and to use state-of-the-art practices and initiatives that have proven to be effective in 
preventing and reducing alcohol use among youth. 

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)–Hawaii 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  

       Not applicable 
http://www.maddhawaii.com 

Program description:  MADD Hawaii offers free support services to injured victims of impaired driving 
crashes and to bereaved families and friends of those killed or injured in highway crashes.  MADD 
Hawaii has helped pass scores of new laws to strengthen the state’s impaired driving statutes, prevent 
underage drinking, and give victims of impaired driving crashes more voice.  MADD has underage 
drinking prevention programs available for high school students (Youth in Action), elementary school 
children (Protecting You Protecting Me), and college students (UMADD).  MADD Hawaii has offices in 
Honolulu and Hilo and programs operating on Maui and Kauai.  MADD Hawaii has conducted its 
signature holiday red ribbon campaign, “Tie One On for Safety,” for over 20 years.  Over 400,000 
ribbons are distributed annually for people to display on their vehicles as a pledge that they will be a 
safe and sober driver. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
None listed 

URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  Not applicable 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable  
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  On- and off-premises compliance checks 
Additional Clarification 

None given 
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State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Val Mariano 
E-mail:  valerie.s.mariano@hawaii.gov 
Address:  235 South Beretania St. #401, Honolulu, HI 96813-2419 
Phone:  808-586-1444 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Hawaii Department of Transportation 
Advocacy Organization 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division 
Department of the Attorney General 
Liquor Control Board 
County Police Departments 
Department of Land and Natural Resources 
Mothers Against Drunk Driving 
Coalition for Drug Free Hawaii 
Department of Defense—Hawaii Army National Guard 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Hawaii Partnership to Prevent Underage Drinking (HPPUD) Coalition 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data   

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division  
Plan can be accessed via:  http://hawaii.gov/health/substance-abuse/
prevention- treatment/survey/adsurv.htm 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
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Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:   No data 
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:  

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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Idaho 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,584,985
Population Ages 12–20:  201,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.1 46,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.1 30,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.5 3,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.1 2,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.1 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.6 10,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.2 30,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 28.8 19,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 24 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,426 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 29.0 10 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND
• Parent/guardian

Note:  Idaho’s exceptions relate specifically to the possession of beer or wine. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Although Idaho does not prohibit Internal Possession, it has a statutory provision that 
makes it unlawful “[f]or any person under the age of twenty-one (21) years to purchase, attempt 
to purchase, possess, serve, dispense, or consume beer, wine or other alcoholic liquor” such that 
“[a] person shall also be deemed to “possess” alcohol that has been consumed by the person, 
without regard to the place of consumption” (Idaho Code § 23-949).  Laws that prohibit minors 
from having alcohol in their bodies, but do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, 
are not considered as prohibiting internal possession, for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to

retailer’s belief that the minor was age 21 or older. 
Note:  Retailers are only required to deliver documents to law enforcement that have been lost or 
voluntarily surrendered; however, when presented with identification documents that appear to 
be mutilated, altered, or fraudulent, they must contact law enforcement and refuse service. 
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Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase
• Underage possession
• Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction  
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  Not specified
• Maximum:  365 days

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14 years, 6 months—upon completion of driver education, instruction

permit signed over to allow driving with adult over 21 
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  15
• Unsupervised night driving

– Night driving is not restricted—no unsupervised driving ½ hour after sunset
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  Any licensee under 17 shall have no more than one passenger
under 17, except relatives
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16—passenger restrictions expire 6 months after issuance

of license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 16 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
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Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  16
• Maximum:  20.5

Appearance Requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance
• Male:  Not large in stature; no excessive facial hair
• Female:  Minimal makeup and jewelry

ID Possession 
• Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age  
• Not specified

Decoy Training  
• Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19
• Wine:  19
• Spirits:  19

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  19 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  19 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
Limitations on outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—on campus grounds.  College or university has authority to

override state restrictions.  
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—on campus grounds.  College or university has authority to

override state restrictions.  
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet.  Local government has authority to override

state restrictions. 
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• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet.  Local government has authority to override
state restrictions.

• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Prohibited
• Wine:  Uncertain
• Spirits:  Prohibited

Note:  A licensee that holds a license for the retail sale of wine for consumption off the licensed 
premises may ship not more than two cases of wine, containing not more than 9 liters per case, 
per shipment, for personal use and not for resale, directly to a resident of another state if the state 
to which the wine is sent allows residents of this state to receive wine sent from that state without 
payment of additional state tax, fees, or charges.  The sale shall be considered to have occurred 
in this state. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements  
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  7.75 gallons or more
• Prohibited:  Possessing unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/6 months
• Purchaser information collected:  Purchaser’s name and address
• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required
• Deposit:  Not required
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs
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Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law
• Wine:  No law
• Spirits:  No law

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  0.15 per gallon

$0.45 per gallon applies to beer over 5 percent alcohol.  Beer with 5 percent or less alcohol is 
sold by license.  Beer greater than 5 percent but less than 7.5 percent alcohol is sold by both 
license and the state. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—6 months minimum
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
Control state 

396 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports – Idaho

Idaho State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Idaho State Police Alcohol Beverage Control (ISP-ABC) 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

ISP-ABC enters into a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with local law enforcement agencies; 
organizes, coordinates, and using EUDL grant funds to pay for costs related to underage 
compliance checks and other underage drinking enforcement activities.  Minigrants are also issued 
to local agencies from the Department  of Juvenile Corrections for local enforcement efforts. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies Data not collected 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Data not collected 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 229 
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks  38 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Data not collected 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 96 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $128,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed5 Not applicable  
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification   

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Idaho Liquor Division Education Fund 

Number of youth served No response 
Number of parents served No response 
Number of caregivers served No response 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No response 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  

         Not applicable 
http://www.liquor.idaho.gov 

Program description:  $3,500 from liquor profits goes toward maintenance and further development of 
the Office of Drug Policies underage drinking prevention website:  http://www.betheparents.org. 

Dept.  of Health and Welfare Media campaign 
Number of youth served No response 
Number of parents served No response 
Number of caregivers served No response 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No response 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  

Not applicable 
http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov 

Program description:  $50,000 is set aside for a media campaign to reduce underage drinking. 

Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Program 
Number of youth served 80,000 
Number of parents served No response 
Number of caregivers served No response 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 07/01/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  

        Not applicable 
 http://www.idjc.idaho.gov 
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Program description:  The EUDL program provides funding to state agencies and local organizations 
(through a minigrant process) to reduce underage drinking.  Strategies include enforcement, education, 
and task force development.  Recipients include Alcohol Beverage Control, the state film library, the 
Idaho College Health Coalition, the statewide Community Coalitions of Idaho organization, local law 
enforcement agencies, and local community coalitions.  Funds totaling $300,000 are received by the 
Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections and coordinated with other Office of Juvenile Justice and 
Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) funding. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Idaho State Treasurer’s Office Millenium Fund 

URL for more program information: http:// www.sto.idaho.gov 

Program description:  This fund provides funding for applicant programs, including public health districts, 
tobacco countermarketing, nicotine replacement therapy, Idaho Supreme Court, Department of Health 
and Welfare Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment ($1.5 million for prevention), American Lung 
Association, Idaho Meth Project, and Idaho Drug-Free Youth i2i Program.  Fiscal Year 2013 funds 
requested total $5,064,400. 

Idaho Dept.  of Health and Welfare Prevention Block Grant 
URL for more program information:  http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov 

Program description:  $1.6 million is allocated to best-practice community prevention programs and 
coalition development. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Program description:  EUDL funding is sometimes awarded to Tribal 
applicants.  Furthermore, the EUDL coordinator is a member of the State Advisory Group for juvenile 
justice (JJ) and a chair of one of Idaho’s eight local JJ councils.  Another of the councils is made up 
of representatives from Idaho’s Tribes.  There are quarterly collaborative meetings. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 

Although there is no requirement that EUDL programs be certified as “best practice,” recipients of funds 
are required to identify the research basis of their proposed strategies. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Elisha Figueroa 
E-mail:  Elisha.figueroa@odp.idaho.gov 
Address:  304 N. 8th Street, Suite 455, Boise, ID 83702 
Phone:  208-854-3040 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Office of Drug Policy 
Department of Juvenile Corrections 
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State Department of Education 
Department of Transportation 
Idaho State Police Bureau of Alcohol Beverage Control 
Drug Free Idaho 
Community Coalitions of Idaho 
Parent-Teacher Association 
Idaho Liquor Division 
Idaho RADAR Center 
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare 
Project Filter 
Idaho Meth Project 
Idaho Drug Free Youth 
District V Alcohol Project 
Local coalitions 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.odp.idaho.gov 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Strategic State Prevention Planning Committee 
Plan can be accessed via:  Plan is in progress.   

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections  
Plan can be accessed via:  The report is part of the annual EUDL application process.  

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 
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 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  Department of Health and Welfare campaign to reduce underage 
drinking 
Estimate of state funds expended $50,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
This revenue goes largely into the general funds and is then reallocated; therefore, the funds reach 
programs aimed at reducing underage drinking in an indirect way.   

Additional Clarification  

Additional answer to “Other programs” above:  Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws program.  The EUDL 
program provides funding to other state agencies and to local organizations (through a minigrant 
process) to reduce underage drinking.  Strategies include enforcement, education, and task force 
development.  Recipients include Alcohol Beverage Control, the state film library, the Idaho College 
Health Coalition, the Community Coalitions of Idaho, local law enforcement agencies, and local 
community coalitions.  The funding of $354,000 is received by the Idaho Department of Juvenile 
Corrections and coordinated with other OJJDP funding.   

Additional comment:  It is difficult to identify purely underage drinking funding to community-based, 
school-based, and other systems, as the money may be distributed to them by the state for a multitude 
of purposes. 
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Illinois 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  12,869,259 
Population Ages 12–20:  1,641,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.5 452,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.9 310,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.8 24,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.3 12,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.8 126,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.9 83,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 51.9 301,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 37.2 216,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  211 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  12,600 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 17.0 26 

* See Appendix C for data sources.   
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure. 

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00  
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 
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Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 180 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  9 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m.—11 p.m. on Friday and Saturday 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 20, except for siblings and 
children 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 12 months after issuance 

of license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  Not specified 
• Maximum:  Not specified 

Appearance Requirements 
• Age-appropriate dress  
• No clothing with alcohol logos   
• Female:  No heavy makeup, excessive jewelry, wedding bands, or suggestive clothing 

ID Possession 
• Required 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy Training 
• Mandated 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified 
• First offense:  $500 fine 
• Second offense:  $2,500 fine and 3-day suspension 
• Third offense:  $10,000 fine and 10-day suspension 
• Fourth offense:  License revocation 

Note:  Mitigating and/or aggravating circumstances may be considered. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments. 
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  18 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation 

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet 
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note: Exceptions are (1) hotels with restaurant service, regularly organized clubs, certain 
restaurants; (2) food shops and other places where alcohol sales is not principal business and 
location is not a municipality of more than 500,000 persons. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on damages:  Injured parties:  $62,961.47 per person.  Families of injured 

parties (for loss of means of support):  $76,952.91. 
Note:  The dram shop statute requires the Illinois Comptroller to determine each year the liability 
limits for causes brought under the statute in accordance with the consumer price index during 
the preceding 12 months.  See Illinois Comptroller, Dram Shop Liability Limits, on State of 
Illinois website.   
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Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 

Law Applicable to Parties in Residences 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Law Applicable to Parties in Other Locations 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Consumption 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Overt act—host must have 

actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence. 
Note:  A person commits a social host offense by renting a hotel or motel room for the purpose 
of or with the knowledge that such room be used for the consumption of alcoholic liquor by 
underage persons. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements  
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.   

Reporting Requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.   
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.   

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
Registration not required 
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Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.23 per gallon. 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $1.39 per gallon. 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $8.55 per gallon 

– $1.39 per gallon for alcohol content of more than 14 percent and less than 20 percent 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Prohibited  

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 
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Illinois State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

No one agency has primary responsibility for enforcement of underage drinking laws. 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

No data 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Unknown 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors No data 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No data 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law enforcement agencies Data not collected 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Data not collected. 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,349 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  315 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Data not collected 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks  Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $279,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes  

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 331 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 5 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
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Additional Clarification    

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:   
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) – Block Grant  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   Not applicable 

Program description:  The EUDL Block Grant provides funds to support the enforcement of state laws 
prohibiting the sale of alcoholic beverages to minors and to prevent the purchase or consumption of 
alcoholic beverages by minors. 

Partnerships for Success  
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   Not applicable 

Program description:  The Partnerships for Success program is designed to address gaps in prevention 
services and to increase the ability of Illinois to help specific populations or geographic areas with 
serious, emerging substance abuse problems.  The goals of the project are to use a data-driven process 
to leverage existing prevention dollars and to reduce underage drinking at the state level.  Illinois is 
partnering with 20 subrecipient community coalitions to meet those targets.  Subrecipient communities 
will implement at least two evidence-based environmental programs, policies, and practices guided by 
the five steps of the strategic prevention framework (SPF). 

Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws—College Discretionary Initiative  
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   Not applicable 

Program description:  The EUDL College Discretionary Initiative is designed to reduce underage drinking 
on campuses and in selected communities by systematically implementing environmental strategies that 
increase the enforcement of underage drinking laws and enhance research-based prevention planning 
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and programming with a special emphasis on underage drinking among college students.  Two 
subrecipients are funded by this initiative. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Comprehensive Grant Program 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  The Comprehensive Grant Programs supports approximately 100 providers in the 
delivery of services that are designed to reduce alcohol, tobacco, and drug use among youth ages 10 
through 17.  The direct services include the following approaches:   
• Youth prevention education.
• Parent/family education
• Tutoring
• Mentoring
• Technical assistance for student assistance programming
• Communication campaigns
• Strategic prevention framework and public policy for alcohol, tobacco, and drug prevention
Statewide Grant Programs 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  The Statewide Grant Programs address unique populations or geographic areas 
throughout Illinois.  These programs target businesses (promoting the adoption of policies and practices 
that support a drug-free workplace), institutions of higher education, and high school students 
(developing leadership skills to address alcohol, tobacco, and drugs). 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable  
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes  
prevention programs 
Best practice standards description:  The state requires the use of evidence-based programs, practices, 
and policies.  In Illinois, evidence-based standards are also promoted.  For example, if a community-based 
provider proposed an underage drinking communication campaign, the provider would be expected to 
address all of the standards for communication campaigns.  To review standards for communication 
campaigns, visit http://www.cprd.illinois.edu/files/ResearchBrief_CommCampaigns_2009.pdf and see 
pages 18-19.   
Evidence-based standards exist for the following approaches:   
• Social norms and communication campaigns
• Mentoring
• Tutoring
• Parent/family education
• Youth prevention education
• Strategic prevention framework
• Public policy
• Technical assistance to student assistance programs
Additional Clarification 

None given 
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State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by:  Department of Human Services, Bureau of Community-Based and Primary Prevention, 
Substance Abuse Prevention Program  
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes  
Prepared by:  The state published “How Illinois’ SPF Grant Improved Data Access and Quality for State 
and Local Users” 

Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.cprd.illinois.edu/files/How_IL_Improved_Data_2010.pdf 
Additional Clarification 

The plan developed is associated with the Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF 
SIG) program. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $5,920,165 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs:.  
Programs or strategies included:   No data 
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:    

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No 
Fees Yes 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Illinois Liquor Control Commission collects alcohol license fees and a portion of the fees is used to 
support substance abuse prevetion services.  Taxes:  The Substance Abuse Prevention Progam is 
supported by General Revenue funds 

Additional Clarification  

None given 
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Indiana 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,516,922 
Population Ages 12–20:  826,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.7 188,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.7 130,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.8 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.5 4,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.3 53,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.5 37,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 41.4 122,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 30.1 89,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  102 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  6,130 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 12.0 16 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is not prohibited. 

Note:  Indiana does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but it does prohibit 
purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol in connection with making a false statement or 
using false evidence of majority or identity, except that youth may purchase for law enforcement 
purposes.   

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that 

the purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
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Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  90 days 
• Maximum:  365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months—16 years, 9 months without driver education 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m.—first 180 days, 10 p.m.; then, 11 p.m. Sunday through Friday 
and 1 a.m. on Saturday and Sunday 

– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
• Passenger restrictions exist:  No passengers except immediate family, unless accompanied 

by parent or a licensed driver at least 21 years old 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 180 days after issuance 

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20.75 

Appearance Requirements 
• Age-appropriate dress and grooming  

ID Possession 
• Prohibited 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy Training 
• Mandated 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Licensees, Managers, Servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 
• Wine:  19 
• Spirits:  19 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits:  19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet 
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits 

Note:  Exceptions are (1) restaurants in historic places or districts; (2) shopping malls and city 
markets; and (3) if school does not object, grocery or drug store. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of visible intoxication 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowledge of visible intoxication. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 
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Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
• Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the 

following restrictions:   
• Consumer must make at least one trip to producer’s place of business  to verify age before 

any direct shipments are permitted. 

Age Verification Requirements  
• Producer must verify age of purchaser.   
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.   

State Approval/Permit Requirements  
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.   
• State must approve common carrier.   

Reporting Requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.   

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Note:  Brewers who manufacture not more than 30,000 barrels of beer in a single calendar year 
may ship up to one half barrel of beer directly to Indiana consumers without being subject to the 
restrictions placed on wine shipments.   

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  At least 7¾ gallons 
• Prohibited:  Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
• Deposit:  Not required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted—6¾ to 15¾ gallons in a single transaction depending on the type of retail 

license 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted—4 to 12 quarts in a single transaction depending on the type of retail 

license 
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Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.12 per gallon. 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.47 per gallon. 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $2.68 per gallon. 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings at one time:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited  
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited 
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post—all prices, discounts, or allowances offered by 

wholesalers shall be disseminated to customers in such a manner and for such a period of 
time to ensure that customers are afforded reasonable opportunity to secure the discount.  
For dissemination purposes, the customer is anyone the wholesaler had sold alcoholic 
beverages to within the last 30 days.  For the purposes of this rule, a reasonable opportunity 
to secure the discount shall be presumed when offer is extended for not less than 7 days after 
dissemination of the price list.   

• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post—all prices, discounts, or allowances offered by 

wholesalers shall be disseminated to customers in such a manner and for such a period of 
time to insure that customers are afforded reasonable opportunity to secure the discount.  
For dissemination purposes, the customer is anyone the wholesaler had sold alcoholic 
beverages to within the last 30 days.  For the purposes of this rule, a reasonable opportunity 
to secure the discount shall be presumed when offer is extended for not less than 7 days after 
dissemination of the price list.   

• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post—all prices, discounts, or allowances offered by 

wholesalers shall be disseminated to customers in such a manner and for such a period of 
time to insure that customers are afforded reasonable opportunity to secure the discount.  
For dissemination purposes, the customer is anyone the wholesaler had sold alcoholic 
beverages to within the last 30 days.  For the purposes of this rule, a reasonable opportunity 
to secure the discount shall be presumed when offer is extended for not less than 7 days after 
dissemination of the price list.   

• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum 
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Indiana State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Indiana State Excise Police 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

State Excise Police provide training to local law enforcement on compliance checks and 
enforcement.  The State Excise Police are the primary agency responsible for enforcement.  
However, local police do participate in enforcement activities subject to the availability of funds, 
which are typically provided by the Local Coordinating Councils (LCCs). 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Unknown 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors No data 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 2315 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 11,977 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  603 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Data not collected 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification   

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Indiana Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking (ICRUD) 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  

    Not applicable      
http://www.icrud.org/about 

Program description:  ICRUD is a program of Mental Health America of Indiana.  The Coalition’s mission 
is to create healthier and safer environments by reducing the accessibility and availability of alcohol to 
underage persons.  It aims to reduce youth access to alcohol by educating policymakers and the public 
about underage drinking and advocating for effective alcohol policies and laws.  The Coalition believes 
that all young people have the right to live and learn in environments that do not promote, condone, or 
allow underage drinking. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
None 

URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No (see additional 
clarification below) 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 

The total American Indian/Alaskan Native population in Indiana is 0.3 percent, a portion of which is the 
Miami Nation of Indiana.  The Miamis are not a federally recognized Tribe.  Legislation was introduced 
in the 2011 session of the Indiana General Assembly to confer state recognition on the Miami Nation, 
but the bill died in committee without receiving a hearing.  The Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians is 
a federally recognized Tribe of 3,150 members.  The land held by the Tribe in federal trust is all located 
in Michigan, and the Tribal government is located in Dowagiac, Michigan.  The Tribe considers the 
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Pokagon Homeland to be four counties in southwest Michigan and six counties in northwest Indiana 
(LaPorte, St. Joseph, Elkhart, Starke, Marshall, and Kosciusko).  The Pokagon own and operate the 
Four Winds Casino Resort in New Buffalo, Michigan, and the new Four Winds Hartford, which opened in 
2011.  The Pokagon Band Behavioral Health Services is licensed by the State of Michigan to provide 
outpatient counseling for mental health and substance abuse. 

Because the Tribal government and services are based in Michigan, the Indiana Division of Mental 
Health and Addiction (DMHA) has not had a relationship with the Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians.  
However, DMHA is identifying a contact in the Pokagon Tribal government to ascertain the Tribe’s 
willingness to consult in the ongoing development of the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
(SAPT) Block Grant plan.  This could also include invitations to participate as a member of the State 
Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) or the Mental Health and Addiction Planning and 
Advisory Council (MHAPAC). 

 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:   
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:   
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable   

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by:  Not applicable   
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable   
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

None given 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $70,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

 
K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $100,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  Underage Drinking Prevention Component of Afternoons ROCK 
Estimate of state funds expended $250,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

 

Taxes No 
Fines  Yes 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Fines and forfeitures collected for alcohol- or drug-related offenses are given to coalitions in all 92 
counties for alcohol and drug prevention efforts.  As each county is given a different allotment based 
on the amount of fines collected in their county, and each coalition provides grant funding to various 
agencies and priorities in their count, it is difficult to determine the exact amount being spent solely 
on underage drinking prevention from these funds.  Typically, these funds go to multiple initiatives or 
programs targeting multiple areas. 

Additional Clarification  

The State of Indiana funds the Indiana Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking and the Indiana 
Collegiate Action Network, whose sole focus is alcohol prevention activities.  As underage drinking is 
their sole focus it is easy to determine what activities occur and how funds are being spent.  However, 
the Governor’s Commission also funds Local Coordinating Councils (LCCs) to do community-level 
prevention work.  As the Governor’s Commission has not had a stringent process to collect data or 
determine how funds are being spent, it is difficult to determine how much of the funding the LCCs 
receive is going toward underage drinking prevention.  Family Subsistence Supplemental Allowance 
(FSSA) also funds afterschool prevention programs that have an alcohol prevention component; again, 
as billing is done for the entire cohort of the program, it is difficult to determine the exact figure spent on 
those activities.  The number represented in the survey is the best estimate based on average 
attendance figures. 
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Iowa 

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  3,062,309 
Population Ages 12–20:  370,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.1 112,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 21.7 80,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 8.0 9,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.4 4,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.0 31,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.7 000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 54.1 71,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 41.2 54,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  36 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  2,187 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 21.0 13 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 423 

                                                



State Reports – Iowa  

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Iowa law does not specifically prohibit consumption of alcohol by persons under 21.  
Iowa does, however, have a general statute prohibiting the use or consumption of alcohol by any 
person in a public place.  In addition, Iowa law provides that if a child, defined as a person under 
18 years old, is found to have violated the general prohibition against consumption of alcohol in 
a public place, the child’s driver’s license or operating privilege may be suspended or revoked 
for a period of 1 year.   

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial or administrative 

procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs. 
• General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that 

the purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage consumption 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 365 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14   
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  20 hours—2 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after:  12:30 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• No passenger restrictions   

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Note:  In addition to the supervised driving requirement at the learner’s stage, Iowa requires an 
intermediate license holder to complete 10 hours of supervised driving with two of these hours 
being at night. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private residence AND 
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Second offense, 2 years; third and subsequent offenses, 3 years 
• First offense:  $500 fine 
• Second offense:  $1,500 fine and 30-day license suspension 
• Third offense:  $1,500 fine and 60-day license suspension 
• Fourth offense:  License revocation 

Note:  Affirmative defense is possible for licensees when the employee guilty of the violation 
has successfully completed the Iowa Program for Alcohol Compliance Training. 
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Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 

– The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Incentives for Training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 
• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors 

Note:  Mitigation of penalties incentive does not apply if a sale is made to a minor under age 18. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  16 
• Wine:  16 
• Spirits:  18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on who may sue:  Retailers that furnish alcohol for off-premises consumption 

are exempt. 
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Retailer should have known that minor was 

intoxicated or was going to become intoxicated. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:   
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Social host should have known that minor was 

intoxicated or was going to become intoxicated. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements  
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.   

State Approval/Permit Requirements  
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.   
• State must approve common carrier.   

Reporting Requirements   
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.   

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  5 or more gallons 
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:  $625/30 days 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required 
• Deposit required 
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted 
• Wine:  Permitted 
• Spirits:  Permitted 

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.19 per gallon. 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):   Specific excise tax is $1.75 per gallon. 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Control state. 

Drink Specials 
No law 
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Iowa State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Iowa Department of Public Safety, Iowa State Patrol 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

There is no single state alcohol agency for enforcement in Iowa.  The Iowa State Patrol works 
closely with local law enforcement agencies to conduct projects involving underage drinking.  Strong 
working relationships have enabled the program to succeed in making a difference in communities 
across the state.  The Division of Criminal and Juvenile Justice Planning in the Iowa Department of 
Human Rights receives Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) grant funds, and part of those 
funds are used by the State Patrol and other local law enforcement agencies to conduct compliance 
checks and other underage drinking education efforts.  Some community coalitions also fund 
compliance checks.  The Alcoholic Beverages Division (ABD) of the Iowa Department of Commerce 
also partners with local law enforcement when following up on a complaint or an investigation. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Iowa Alcoholic 
Beverages Div, Iowa 
Dept of Commerce 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law enforcement agencies 3,005 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,781 
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks  175 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

Yes 
No data 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks  155 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 155 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $95,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 19 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 570 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Additional Clarification   

The Iowa Alcoholic Beverage Division does not have any police powers over anyone shipping into the 
state without a license.  ABD compliance investigators do contact the entities shipping wine into Iowa 
without a license and have been successful so far in getting the entities to stop shipping into Iowa or to 
obtain a proper license to do so.  When these situations occur, ABD reviews UPS and FedEx logs to 
determine which violators do not have a license.   

EUDL funding provided Iowa with $336,330 for federal FY2011 enforcement activities.  These activities 
include compliance checks, saturation and party patrols, retailer education, and various media 
campaigns.  Iowa does have STOP Act grantees, but funding data for compliance checks and party 
patrols has not been submitted to any state agency by these local organizations. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) Community Coalition 
Grant Program 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_community_coalition.asp 

Program description:  IDPH funds community coalitions to provide environmental substance abuse 
prevention strategies to reduce underage alcohol use in communities.  Coalitions receive up to $3,000 
from state appropriations for 1 year.  Coalitions receiving funding from a state or federal agency in a 
cumulative amount of more than $10,000 are not eligible.  In state FY2011, 10 coalitions were funded by 
IDPH.  No numbers of youth or adults served were required in the year-end report.  Also, 21 Iowa 
communities receive Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program Grants from the Office of National 
Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) and SAMHSA.  Two communities have DFC Mentoring Grants.  Much of 
their work is to prevent and reduce underage drinking, and it affects overall underage drinking efforts in 
Iowa.  Several of the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant-funded agencies work 
closely with them.  Also, Iowa has an Alliance of Coalitions for 4 Change (AC4C), a network of 
substance abuse prevention coalitions that hold quarterly retreats and share strategies to reduce 
underage drinking.  More information about DFCs is available from SAMHSA and ONDCP. 
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IDPH Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) 
0 
0 
0 

06/30/2011 
No 

Not applicable 
Not applicable 

Number of youth served 
Number of parents served 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  http://www.idph.state.ia.ua/spfsig/default/asp 

Program description:  In 2009, IDPH received a SPF SIG funded by SAMHSA, a 5-year grant to prevent 
the onset and reduce the progression of substance abuse including childhood and underage drinking, 
reduce substance abuse-related problems in communities, and build prevention capacity and 
infrastructure at the state/Tribal and community levels.  SPF is a five-step process that assists states in 
developing a comprehensive plan and supports selected communites in implementing effective 
programs, policies, and practices.  One of the two data-driven priorities for Iowa is underage drinking.  
Environmental strategies will be implemented in 23 Iowa counties selected based on needs data.  
SAMHSA approved the Strategic Plan, and this spring, the counties will begin implementation.  
Therefore, no local service data are available at this time. 

Iowa Department of Education Prime for Life OWI Program 
340 

0 
0 

06/30/2011 
Yes 
Yes 

Number of youth served 
Number of parents served 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:  http://owi.educateiowa.gov (PRIME For Life – OWI 
Education 2011 Report under the Resources tab) 
URL for more program information:  http://owi.educateiowa.gov 

Program description:  PRIME for Life is an alcohol and drug program designed to challenge common 
beliefs and attitudes that directly contribute to high-risk use of alcohol and other drug use.  This state-
mandated program is required for all individuals (regardless of age) convicted of operating while 
intoxicated (OWI) in Iowa.  The program goals are to reduce the risk for health problems and impairment 
problems.  PRIME for Life’s intervention component focuses on self-assessment to help people 
understand and accept the need for change.  PRIME for Life is recognized as an evidence-based 
program on SAMHSA’s National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices.  During FY2011, 
14,691 offenders took PRIME for Life courses from 1 of 51 agencies statewide.  The 340 recipients were 
age 20 or younger.  The program is for offenders only; parents and caregivers are not included. 

Iowa Department of Public Health Youth Diversion Programs 
Number of youth served 1,968 
Number of parents served 244 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/common/pdf/substance_abuse/comp_prevention_evaluation.pdf 
URL for more program information:  http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_comprehensive_prevention.asp 

Program description:  IDPH funds 18 community-based agencies for 23 service areas, which collectively 
cover all 99 Iowa counites.  These comprehensive substance abuse prevention contracts are funded by 
the prevention portion of the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treament (SAPT) Block Grant and some 
state appropriations.  Among the services provided are diversion programs in most of the 23 services 
areas.  A diversion program is for youth who have received a minor-in-possession charge or other 
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alcohol offense (except OWI).  If the youth successfully completes the program, then they may be 
diverted from the court system.  The programs have different names, such as “Rethinking Drinking” or 
“Juvenile Education Group (JEG),” and vary somewhat as to the number of sessions and whether a 
parent or guardian is required to attend.  One diversion program receives EUDL funds from the 
Department of Human Rights.  The data codes to determine the number of parents served were revised 
this year.  Not all the programs require a parent or guardian to attend. 

Coalitions to Prevent and Reduce Alcohol Abuse at Institutes of 
Higher Education 

Number of youth served 2,489 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  The Iowa Office of Drug Control Policy funds substance abuse prevention 
coalitions to work with 10 of the 15 community colleges in Iowa.  The U.S. Department of Education 
Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools provides funding.  The coalitions are assessing reported past-30-
day alcohol use and past-30-day binge drinking among underage students using the CORE survey.  The 
survey was conducted twice, once in 2010 and once in 2011.  In 2011, 2,489 students completed the 
survey.  Five of the 10 schools are also funded to implement environmental and social media strategies 
aimed at reducing both past-30-day use and binge drinking.  Coalition and college representatives at the 
sites have all filled out a college readiness survey to measure what supports are already in place.  They 
also completed an Environmental Strategies checklist to see what strategies have been implemented on 
campuses and in the communities.  This project was to end in April 2012. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
IDPH Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Education Programs 

URL for more program information:  http://www.idph.ia.us/bh/sa_comprehensive_prevention.asp 

Program description:  Through the SAPT Block Grant, IDPH funds Comprehensive Substance Abuse 
Prevention contracts.  The contracts collectively cover all 99 Iowa counties.  One of the main services 
provided is alcohol, tobacco, and other drug education programs in school and community settings.  
Many are small-group, recurring-service (multiple sessions), evidence-based programs.  Some of the 
names of the evidence-based programs include LifeSkills Training Program, Project ALERT, Project 
Towards No Tobacco Use, Project Towards No Drug Abuse, All Stars, and Too Good For Drugs. 

IDPH Youth Mentoring and Prevention Through Mentoring Programs 
URL for more program information:  http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_youth_mentoring.asp 

Program description:  IDPH receives state appropriations to fund the Prevention Through Mentoring 
contracts, which create new and support existing community youth mentoring programs.  The program 
supports the state’s goals of primary prevention of the use or abuse of alcohol, tobacco, and other 
drugs.  Other state funding from Sunday sales liquor license fees is used by IDPH for the Youth 
Mentoring contracts.  These also establish or sustain mentoring programs that promote relationship 
building and social skills development, use elements of effective practice as established by the National 
Mentoring Partnership, and promote a positive perception of caring adults in the community.  The 
Mentoring Collaborative Grant is administred by IDPH from Byrne Justice Assistance Grant Program 
funds received from the Iowa Office of Drug Control Policy to fund mentoring services for at-risk youth 
ages 11 to 18 in two counties in Iowa.  In addition to substance abuse goals, these contracts also work 
to reduce crime rates.  See also http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_mentoring.asp and 
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/substance_abuse_mentoring.asp.   
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IDPH Youth Development Program 
URL for more program information:  http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_youth_development.asp 

Program description:  No data   

IDPH Safe and Drug-Free Schools Program 
URL for more program information:  http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/sa_free_schools.asp 

Program description:  No data 

Iowa Program for Alcohol Compliance Training (I-PACT) 
URL for more program information:  http://I-PACT.com 

Program description:  No data 

Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.) 
URL for more program information:  http://www.dareiowa.org 

Program description:  No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 

Some, but not all, agencies specify using evidence-based practices when funding contracts for 
prevention services. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Becky Swift and Debbie Synhorst, co-chairs 
E-mail:  Becky.swift@iowa.gov; Deborah.synhorst@idph.iowa.gov 
Address:  ODCP, Wallace Office Building, 502 East 9th Street, First Floor, Des Moines, IA 50319; 
IDPH, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319 
Phone:  515-725-0301; 515-281-4404 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Office of Drug Control Policy 
Department of Public Health, Bureau of Substance Abuse 
Departent of Commerce, Alcohol Beverage Division 
Department of Human Rights, Division of Criminal and Juvenile Justice Planning 
Department of Public Safety, Governor’s Traffic Safety Bureau 
Department of Public Safety, Iowa State Patrol 
Department of Education 
Alliance of Coalitions 4 Change 
Youth and Shelter Services, Inc. 
Partnerships in Prevention Science Institute, Iowa State University 
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A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  The Underage Drinking Task Force 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.iowa.gov/odcp/docs/UnderageDrinkingPlanAug2010.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable   
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable  

Additional Clarification 

Representatives from Iowa attended the SAMHSA Regional Meeting on Underage Drinking Plan last 
summer in Denver.  The Task Force is waiting to update the Iowa plan until the federal plan is 
completed. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $72,594 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended $12,824 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:   No data 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees Yes 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
The Iowa Department of Public Health Community Coalition Grants come from state funds that are 
generated from the sale of Sunday beer and liquor permits. 

434 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports – Iowa

Additional Clarification 

The Office of Drug Control Policy produces the Iowa Drug Control Strategy as a required annual report 
to the legislature and the general public.  The Strategy describes funding, but allocations are not broken 
out specifically for underage drinking services.  The funding provided for higher education was only from 
one state university.  The Strategy is available at 
http://www.iowa.gov/odcp/drug_control_strategy/strategy.pdf.   
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Kansas 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,871,238
Population Ages 12–20:  350,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.0 95,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.1 63,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.5 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.9 2,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.4 27,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.1 18,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 50.8 61,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 36.3 44,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 48 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,880 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 34.0 26 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years old to possess alcohol, but the 
exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but undistilled liquor 
brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not including any 
such liquor that is more than 4 percent alcohol by volume [ABV]). 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years old to consume alcohol, but 
the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but undistilled 
liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not including 
any such liquor that is more than 4 percent ABV). 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 
Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years old to possess or consume 
alcohol but the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but 
undistilled liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not 
including any such liquor that is more than 4 percent ABV). 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• No driver’s license suspension procedure. 

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase
• Underage possession
• Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 30 days

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  9 p.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 18 who is not immediate
family
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months

Note:  Kansas has a “restricted license” that allows unsupervised 15-year-olds to drive to and 
from school or work using the most direct route possible.  They must have completed driver’s 
education, held an instruction permit for 12 months, completed 25 hours of supervised driving 
with an additional 25 hours of driving prior to age 16, and obtained parental consent.  They must 
not operate the vehicle with nonsibling minor passengers. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Note:  Kansas has an exception permitting the furnishing by a parent or legal guardian to a child 
or ward but the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but 
undistilled liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not 
including any liquor that is more than 4 percent ABV). 
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Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  18
• Maximum:  19.5

Appearance Requirements 
• Youthful-looking appearance
• Males:  No facial hair

ID Possession 
• Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  Not specified
• First offense:  $500 fine
• Second offense:  $750 fine
• Third offense:  $1,000 fine
• Fourth offense:  $1,000 fine and license suspension for 2 weekend days

Note:  Fifth offense:  $1,000 fine and 4-day license suspension (weekend days); sixth offense:  
$1,000 fine and 7-day license suspension; seventh offense:  $1,000 fine and 14-day license 
suspension; eighth offense:  $1,000 fine and license revocation. 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21
• Wine:  21
• Spirits:  21

Note:  Although employees must be at least 21 to sell alcoholic liquors at off-sale establishments, 
employees who are at least 18 may sell cereal malt beverages (defined as containing not more 
than 4 percent alcohol by volume) if the licensee’s place of business is licensed only to sell 
cereal malt beverages at retail in original and unopened containers and not for consumption on 
the premises. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
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Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
Limitations on outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet
• On-premises outlets:  No
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 200 feet
• On-premises outlets:  No
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability.  

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Recklessness
• Exception(s):  Family, resident

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements 
• Producer must verify age of purchaser.

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
• State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements  
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
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Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  4 or more gallons
• Prohibited:

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/6 months
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/6 months

• Purchaser information collected:
– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID

• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required
• Deposit:  Not required
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law
• Wine:  No law
• Spirits:  No law

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.18 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  8 percent

General sales tax rate of 6.3 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 3.7 percent.  An additional 8 percent ad valorem tax applies at the onsite wholesale 
level.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 8 percent is applied at the retail level.  The “sales tax 
adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 1.70 percent. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  8 percent

General sales tax rate of 6.3 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 3.7 percent.  An additional 8 percent ad valorem tax applies at the onsite wholesale 
level.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 8 percent is applied at the retail level.  The “sales tax 
adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 1.70 percent. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $2.50 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  10 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  8 percent
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General sales tax rate of 6.3 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 10 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is 
therefore 3.7 percent.  An additional 8 percent ad valorem tax applies at the onsite wholesale 
level.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 8 percent is applied at the retail level.  The “sales tax 
adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 1.70 percent. 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Prohibited  

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—distributors cannot sell alcoholic liquor or cereal malt 

beverages at a discount for multiple case lots. 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—Distributors cannot sell alcoholic liquor or cereal malt 

beverages at a discount for multiple case lots. 
• Price posting requirements:  Post 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—Distributors cannot sell alcoholic liquor or cereal malt 

beverages at a discount for multiple case lots. 
• Price posting requirements:  Post 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  
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Kansas State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Kansas Department of Revenue, Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Division 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

ABC partners with local law enforcement agencies to provide training on how to enforce underage 
drinking laws and to conduct underage drinking enforcement activities, including grant-funded task 
force enforcement operations in conjunction with local law enforcement officers. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Kansas Department 
of Revenue, ABC 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 339 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 729 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  92 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 564 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $361,475 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 90 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees  360 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors No 

Number of license revocations imposed5 Not applicable  
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Additional Clarification   

Some information is not available due to staff being on annual leave. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA) 

Number of youth served 54,332 
Number of parents served 108,664 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  CMCA is a community-organizing program designed to reduce teenagers’ (13 to 
20 years old) access to alcohol by changing community policies and practices.  CMCA seeks both to 
limit youth access to alcohol and to communicate a clear message to the community that underage 
drinking is inappropriate and unacceptable. 

Saturation Patrols 
Number of youth served 387 
Number of parents served 356 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  A strategy wherein large numbers of officers are concentrated in a geographic 
area looking for cases of underage drinking. 

Responsible Beverage Services/Compliance Checks 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served 1,000 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Responsible Beverage Services educates merchants who sell alcohol on state 
laws and standards to eliminate the sale of alcohol to minors.  Compliance checks evaluate the selling 
practices of alcohol outlets and raise awareness of current laws. 
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Project SUCCESS (Schools Using Coordinated Community Efforts to 
Strengthen Students) 

Number of youth served 380 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Project SUCCESS is designed to prevent and reduce substance use among 
students 12 to 18 years of age.  The program was originally developed for students attending alternative 
high schools who are at high risk for substance use and abuse due to poor academic performance, 
truancy, discipline problems, negative attitudes toward school, and parental substance abuse. 

Class Action 
Number of youth served 358 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Class Action is the second phase of the Project Northland alcohol use prevention 
curriculum series.  Class Action (for grades 11–12) and Project Northland (for grades 6–8) are designed 
to delay the onset of alcohol use, reduce use among youth who have already tried alcohol, and limit the 
number of alcohol-related problems experienced by young drinkers. 

Keep a Clear Mind (KACM) 
Number of youth served 25 
Number of parents served 24 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  KACM is a take-home drug education program for elementary school students in 
grades 4–6 (ages 9–11) and their parents.  KACM is designed to help children develop specific skills to 
refuse and avoid use of “gateway” drugs.   

Too Good for Drugs (TGFD) 
Number of youth served 1,839 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  TGFD is a school-based prevention program for kindergarten through 12th grade 
that builds on students’ resiliency by teaching them how to be socially competent and autonomous 
problemsolvers.   
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Guiding Good Choices (GGC) 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served 51 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  GGC is a drug use prevention program that provides parents of children in  
grades 4–8 (9–14 years old) with knowledge and skills to guide their children through early adolescence. 

Life Skills Training (LST) 
Number of youth served 1,352 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  LST is a school-based program that aims to prevent alcohol, tobacco, and 
marijuana use and violence by targeting the major social and psychological factors that promote the 
initiation of substance use and other risky behaviors. 

Protecting You/Protecting Me (PY/PM) 
Number of youth served 67 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  PY/PM is a 5-year classroom-based alcohol use prevention and vehicle safety 
program for students in grades 1–5 (ages 6–11) and grades 11 and 12. 

YouthFriends 
Number of youth served 112 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Mentoring program 

Big Brothers/Big Sisters 
Number of youth served 447 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
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URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Mentoring program 

Lion’s Quest 
Number of youth served 1,773 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Lion’s Quest kindergarten through 12th-grade programs are among the most 
highly acclaimed positive prevention programs in the world.  Lion’s Quest curricula are designed to: 
• Reduce risk factors that encourage drug use.
• Engage the home, school, and community in developing assets for young people within a unified

school–community initiative.
• Promote protective factors that discourage drug use.
• Establish normative beliefs that drug use is not the norm among young people, and provide a clear

“no use” message.
• Address internal and external pressures to use drugs and teach peer pressure strategies.
• Teach resistance and other social skills as well as emotional competencies.
Strengthening Families Program for Parents and Youth 10–14 
(SPF 10–14) 

Number of youth served 135 
Number of parents served 135 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  SPF 10–14 is a family skills training intervention designed to enhance school 
success and reduce youth substance use and aggression among 10- to 14-year-olds.   

Project Alert 
Number of youth served 52 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Project Alert is a school-based prevention program for middle or junior high school 
students that focuses on alcohol, tobacco, and marijuana use.  It seeks to prevent adolescent nonusers 
from experimenting with these drugs and to prevent youth who are already experimenting from 
becoming regular users or abusers.   

All Stars 
Number of youth served 139 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
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Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  All Stars is a multiyear school-based program for middle school students (11–14 
years old) designed to prevent and delay the onset of high-risk behaviors such as drug use, violence, 
and premature sexual activity. 

Capturing Kids’ Hearts 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served 46 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Capturing Kids’ Hearts training teaches parents—specifically within the Hispanic 
community or high-risk families—skills to help their students, raise their families, and gear their children 
toward further education. 

Positive Action 
Number of youth served 8,354 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Positive Action is an integrated and comprehensive program designed to improve 
academic achievement; school attendance; and problem behaviors such as substance use, violence, 
suspensions, disruptive behaviors, dropping out, and sexual behavior. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
None listed 

URL for more program information:  Not applicable  

Program description:  Not applicable 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  The Regional Prevention Center provides interactive prevention 
education activities to a youth group sponsor focused on underage drinking.  These activities help 
students develop healthy beliefs regarding underage and binge drinking.  Underage drinking is the 
focus for their activities every few months. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  A definition of “evidence based” was established during the 
planning phase of the Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG).  The 
definition of evidence-based prevention strategies established for the Kansas SPF SIG is as follows:  
1. Included in a federal list or registry of evidence-based intervention strategies, OR
2. Reported in a peer-reviewed journal to have produced positive results, OR
3. Meeting all of the following criteria:

− Based on a solid theory or theoretical perspective that has validated research; AND
− Supported by a documented body of knowledge—a converging of empirical evidence of

effectiveness—generated from similar or related interventions that indicate effectiveness; 
AND  

− Judged by consensus of informed experts to be effective based on their combined 
knowledge of theory and their research and practice experience.  “Informed experts” may 
include key community leaders and elders or other respected leaders within indigenous 
cultures. 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Sarah Fischer 
E-mail:  sarah.fischer@srs.ks.gov 
Address:  915 SW Harrison, 9th Floor, Topeka, KS 66612 
Phone:  785-291-3632 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services 
Department of Transportation 
Department of Health and Environment 
Department of Education 
Kansas Board of Regents 
Department of Revenue 
Department of Corrections 
Juvenile Justice Authority 
Highway Patrol 
University of Kansas 
Army National Guard 
Office of the Governor 
League of Kansas Municipalities 
Wichita Regional Prevention Center 
Kansas Children’s Cabinet and Trust 
Bureau of Investigation 
Kansas Family Partnership 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Strategic Prevention Framework Advisory Committee 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 
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State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Kansas Family Partnership 
Plan can be accessed via:  No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  No data 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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Kentucky 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  4,369,356
Population Ages 12–20:  516,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.7 123,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.6 86,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.9 8,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.9 3,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.1 34,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.9 25,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.9 81,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 32.2 58,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 75 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,492 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 11.0 12 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  60 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m.

452 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



 State Reports – Kentucky  

– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 
• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 20, unless supervised by 

instructor 
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  18 
• Maximum:  20.5 

Appearance Requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance and character 

ID Possession 
• Prohibited 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy Training 
• Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions:  2 years 
• First offense:  $1,800 fine and/or 36-day suspension 
• Second offense:  $3,600 fine and/or 72-day license suspension 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 
• Wine:  20 
• Spirits:  20 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Note:  Although 20 years old is the minimum age requirement to sell alcoholic beverages at both 
off-sale and on-sale establishments, 18-year-olds may stock, arrange displays, accept payment 
for, and sack malt beverages by the package, under supervision of a person 20 years old or older. 
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  20 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  20 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  20 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
• State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements:  None 

Shipping Label Statement Requirements:  None 
Note:  Kentucky’s laws permitted direct wine shipments provided the customer purchased the 
wine at the producer’s place of business.  This provision was ruled unconstitutional as violating 
the U.S. Constitution’s interstate commerce clause.  The remainder of the statutory scheme was 
upheld (Cherry Hill Vineyards, LLC v. Hudgins (W.D.Ky. 2006) 488 F.Supp.2d 601, affirmed 
by Cherry Hill Vineyards, LLC v. Lilly, 553 F.3d 423, 424+(6th Cir.(Ky.) Dec 24, 2008) (NO. 
07-5128)). 

Keg Registration 
Registration not required 
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Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law
• Wine:  Prohibited
• Spirits:  Prohibited

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.08 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  11 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  11 percent
• Ad valorem tax applied at wholesale level

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.50 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  11 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  11 percent
• Ad valorem tax applied at wholesale level

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.92 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  11 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  11 percent
• Ad valorem tax applied at wholesale level

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum
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Kentucky State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

Kentucky ABC investigators have full police powers in the state.  ABC investigators work with and 
assist local law enforcement upon request in areas of the state that legally sell alcoholic beverages. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Unknown 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Kentucky ABC 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 435 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,854 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  119 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 279 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $317,750 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 15 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 5 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Additional Clarification   

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Early Intervention Program (EIP) 

Number of youth served 1,067 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  
http://eip.reachoflouisville.com/state/EvaluationReport.aspx?
Region=&BeginDate=01/01/2010&EndDate= 12/31/2010 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  The EIP provides multifaceted prevention and intervention targeting specific 
needs related to alcohol- and drug-related behaviors and choices.  There are two primary target 
populations for this program:  (1) young persons under 21 who are charged with a zero-tolerance 
offense—driving with a blood alcohol content of .02-.08; and (2) juveniles at risk of becoming involved or 
who are already involved with the Juvenile Justice System and youth who are identified as using or at 
risk for using substances.  The outcomes of the EIP are:   
1. Divert youth from involvement with the juvenile justice system.
2. Reduce the recidivism rate of first- and second- time juvenile offenders.
3. Reduce the number of youth who experience future substance-related problems.

These outcomes are achieved through screenings, prevention and intervention strategies, education, 
and referrals to community resources.  Program components contribute to reducing youth substance 
use, increasing parent–child communication, and encouraging youth to make positive peer and lifestyle 
choices. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Prime for Life 

URL for more program information:  
http://www.primeforlife.org/homepage.cfm?CFID=342699&CFTOKEN=60435865 

Program description:  Prime for Life is an alcohol and drug program for people of all ages.  It is designed 
to gently but powerfully challenge common beliefs and attitudes that directly contribute to high-risk 
alcohol and drug use.  The program goals are to reduce the risk of health and impairment problems.   

A primary goal of Prime for Life is prevention of any type of alcohol or drug problem.  This includes 
prevention of health problems such as alcoholism, or impairment problems such as car crashes or 
fights.  Emphasis is on knowing and understanding risks one cannot change and reducing risks one can 
change.  Many people who attend a Prime for Life program already show signs of alcohol- or drug-
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related health or impairment problems.  Prime for Life is designed to effectively interrupt the progression 
of use with these audiences.  Prime for Life’s intervention component focuses on self-assessment to 
help people understand and accept the need for change.  Intensive prevention services, counseling, or 
treatment may be necessary to support these changes.  For those who already need treatment, the 
program serves as pretreatment and support for abstinence. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable  
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising 
and marketing 

Program description:  The Alcohol Prevention Enhancement Site (PES), funded by 
the Division for Behavioral Health and operated by Bluegrass Regional Prevention 
Center in Lexington, Kentucky, researches alcohol environmental strategies, 
disseminates the latest national research, and provides technical assistance and 
training on implementing and evaluating effective environmental strategies to reduce 
alcohol availability to underage youth.  The Alcohol PES also seeks to build 
community capacity to implement policies to limit the availability of alcohol and 
excessive advertising of alcohol and to change community norms that are favorable 
to underage drinking.  The Alcohol PES was established in 1999 during Kentucky’s 
first State Incentive Grant (SIG) and has been instrumental in a number of countywide 
alcohol policy changes such as responsible beverage server, social host, and keg 
registration ordinances.   

The Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Prevention Enhancement Site (FASD PES) was 
created in 2007 to increase awareness of FASD in Kentucky and to offer training and 
technical assistance to communities to prevent it.  The scope of work of the FASD 
PES includes:   
• Establishing a training network composed of a variety of community partners and

other interested community members that will provide indepth information about
FASD and prepare participants to be local FASD trainers.

• Training Regional Prevention Center staff to educate middle and high school
students about FASD and to gather data for use in FASD curriculum
development.

• Advocating for effective public policy at the state and local levels.
• Working with colleges and universities throughout the state to determine

effective and efficient methods for including FASD information in freshman
orientation and other forums.

• Responding to information requests and supporting local efforts toward
mobilizing around FASD issues.

• Maintaining a resource and networking list for people seeking assistance outside
the scope of prevention to be shared with stakeholders across the state.

• Remaining current on new information, research, and best practices in FASD
through participation and mentoring with the National Organization on Fetal
Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS).

Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  The state standard is the SAMHSA document, Identifying and 
Selecting Evidence Based Interventions.  Although not formally adopted, the document was 
disseminated to all Regional Prevention Centers to guide community selection of prevention 
strategies.  In addition, the Alcohol PES and FASD PED conduct research regularly on best 
practices for alcohol prevention.  This information is disseminated to Kentucky’s network of Regional 
Prevention Centers, which use it to inform community planning on underage drinking prevention. 
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Additional Clarification 

The State Prevention Branch of the Kentucky Division of Behavioral Health funds the FASD and Alcohol 
PESs and the Regional Prevention Centers though the Prevention portion of the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  The Prevention Branch of the Division of Behavioral Health  
Plan can be accessed via:  The Plan was our application for SAMHSA’s Center for Substance 
Abuse Prevention (CSAP) Partnership for Success (PFS) grant.  The State Epidemiological 
Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) needs assessment conducted as part of the application process 
identified underage drinking as the state priority.  Kentucky was not awarded the PFS but is 
implementing parts of the PFS to the extent possible with limited resources.  These efforts include 
two minigrants to Marion and Meade Counties and the statewide “Changing Social Norms and 
Policy” (CSNaP) initiative.  The plan itself is not posted on a website. 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable   
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable  

Additional Clarification 

Although the state has not prepared any reports on underage drinking within the last 3 years, several 
reports on underage drinking were produced by Kentucky’s SEOW in year 1 of the SPF SIG 5 years ago 
(http://sig.reachoflouisville.com/ReportsPresentations.aspx#presentations).  The SEOW is in the process 
of preparing a state report on underage drinking in Kentucky.  This report will not available until late 
summer.  Also, the Kentucky Prevention Branch has collaborated in the past with the Kentucky State 
Police Highway and Traffic Safety Branch on underage drinking initiatives and EUDL grants.  The state 
has also worked with the Kentucky Network, a collaborative alcohol and drug prevention effort among 
colleges and universities across the state.  The Network provides support for underage drinking through 
grant opportunities as well as training opportunties.  Both the Highway and Traffic Safety Branch and 
the Kentucky Network served on the SPF Advisory Council. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  “I Won’t Be the One” (Changing Social Norms and Policy Initiative) 
Alcohol Prevention Enhancement Site Fetal Alcohol Spectral Disorder 
Estimate of state funds expended $309,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

Money for all current underage drinking efforts comes from Prevention Block Grant funds. 
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Louisiana 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  4,574,836
Population Ages 12–20:  579,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 29.0 168,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.9 98,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.8 12,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.6 5,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.9 45,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.5 24,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 52.7 111,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.0 69,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 125 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 7,431 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 27.0 32 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence OR EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence OR EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 
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Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  90 days
• Maximum:  365 days

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—15 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  Unless accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old,
no more than one unrelated passenger under 21 between the hours of 6 p.m. and 5 a.m.
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
• Applies to both new and existing outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  Not specified
• Wine:  Not specified
• Spirits:  Not specified
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Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
No distance limitation  

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Prohibited
• Wine:  Permitted
• Spirits:  Prohibited

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21
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Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  4 or more gallons
• Purchaser information collected:

– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
• Deposit:  Not required
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law
• Wine:  Permitted—no more than 144 (750ml) bottles per year per person per household
• Spirits:  No law

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.32 per gallon.
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.11 per gallon ($0.32 per gallon for

alcohol content of 6 percent ABV or less).
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $2.50 per gallon.

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited—not permitted after 10 p.m.
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—15 days maximum
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Louisiana State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

No data  
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Louisiana Office of 
Alcohol and Tobacco 

Control 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law enforcement agencies 1,050 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 3,997 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  218 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 257 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 0 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Additional Clarification   

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Project Northland 

8,452 
No data 
No data 

06/30/2011 
Yes 
Yes 

Number of youth served 
Number of parents served 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:  Hard copy available by request. 
URL for more program information:  http://www.hazelden.org/web/go/projectnorthland 

Program description:  Project Northland is a multilevel intervention involving students, peers, parents, 
and communities in programs designed to delay the age at which adolescents begin drinking, reduce 
alcohol use among those already drinking, and limit the number of alcohol-related problems among 
young drinkers.  Administered to adolescents in grades 6 to 8 on a weekly basis, the program has a 
specific theme within each grade level that is incorporated into the parent, peer, and community 
components.  The 6th-grade home-based program targets communication about adolescent alcohol use 
through student-parent homework assignments, in-class group discussions, and a community-wide task 
force.  The 7th-grade peer- and teacher-led curriculum focuses on resistance skills and normative 
expectations regarding teen alcohol use, and it is implemented through discussions, games, problem 
solving tasks, and role plays.  During the first half of the 8th-grade Powerlines peer-led program, 
students learn about community dynamics related to alcohol use prevention through small group and 
classroom interactive activities.  During the second half, they work on community-based projects and 
hold a mock town meeting to make community policy recommendations to prevent teen alcohol use. 

Protecting You/Protecting Me (PY/PM) 
1,178 

No data 
No data 

06/30/2011 
Yes 
Yes 

Number of youth served 
Number of parents served 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:  Hard copy available by request 
URL for more program information:  http://www.pypm.org www.hazelden.org/
pypm Program description:  PY/PM is a 5-year classroom-based alcohol use prevention and vehicle safety 

program for elementary school students in grades 1–5 (ages 6–11) and high school students in grades 
11 and 12.  The program aims to reduce alcohol-related injuries and death among children and youth 
due to underage alcohol use and riding in vehicles with drivers who are not alcohol free.  PY/PM 
consists of a series of 40 science- and health-based lessons, with eight lessons per year for grades 1–5.  
All lessons are correlated with educational achievement objectives.   
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PY/PM lessons and activities focus on teaching children about:  
1. The brain—how it continues to develop throughout childhood and adolescence, what alcohol does

to the developing brain, and why it is important for children to protect their brains.
2. Vehicle safety, particularly what children can do to protect themselves if they have to ride with

someone who is not alcohol free.
3. Life skills, including decisionmaking, stress management, media awareness, resistance strategies,

and communication.

Lessons are taught weekly and last 20–25 minutes or 45–50 minutes, depending on the grade level.   
A variety of ownership activities promote students’ ownership of the information and reinforce the skills 
taught during each lesson.  Parent take-home activities are offered for all 40 lessons.  PY/PM’s 
interactive and affective teaching processes include role playing, small group and classroom 
discussions, reading, writing, storytelling, art, and music.  The curriculum can be taught by school staff 
or prevention specialists.  PY/PM also has a high school component for students in grades 11 and 12.  
The youth-led implementation model involves delivery of the PY/PM curriculum to elementary students 
by trained high school students who are enrolled in a peer mentoring, family and consumer science, or 
leadership course for credit.  The program’s benefits to high school students are derived from learning 
about the brain and how alcohol use can affect adolescents, serving as role models to the elementary 
school participants, and taking coursework in preparation for delivering the curriculum.   

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
LifeSkills Training (LST) 

URL for more program information:  http://www.lifeskillstraining.com 

Program description:  LST is a school-based program that aims to prevent alcohol, tobacco, and 
marijuana use and violence by targeting the major social and psychological factors that promote the 
initiation of substance use and other risky behaviors.  LST is based on both the social influence and the 
competence enhancement models of prevention.  Consistent with this theoretical framework, LST 
addresses multiple risk and protective factors and teaches personal and social skills that build resilience 
and help youth navigate developmental tasks, including the skills necessary to understand and resist 
pro-drug influences.  LST provides information relevant to the important life transitions that adolescents 
and young teens face by using culturally sensitive and developmentally and age-appropriate language 
and content.  Facilitated discussion, structured small group activities, and role-playing scenarios are 
used to stimulate participation and promote the acquisition of skills.  Separate LST programs are offered 
for elementary school (grades 3–6), middle school (grades 6–9), and high school (grades 9–12); the 
research studies and outcomes reviewed for this summary involved middle school students. 

Positive Action 
URL for more program information:  http://www.positiveaction.net 

Program description:  Positive Action is an integrated and comprehensive program that is designed to 
improve academic achievement; school attendance; and problem behaviors such as substance use, 
violence, suspensions, disruptive behaviors, dropping out, and sexual behavior.  It is also designed to 
improve parent–child bonding, family cohesion, and family conflict.  Positive Action has materials for 
schools, homes, and community agencies.  All materials are based on the same unifying broad concept 
(one feels good about oneself when taking positive actions) with six explanatory subconcepts (positive 
actions for the physical, intellectual, social, and emotional areas) that elaborate on the overall theme.  
Program components include grade-specific curriculum kits for kindergarten through 12th grade, drug 
education kits, a conflict resolution kit, statewide climate development kits for elementary and secondary 
school levels, a counselor’s kit, a family kit, and a community kit.  All the components and their parts can 
be used separately or in any combination and are designed to reinforce and support one another. 

Project Alert 
URL for more program information:  http://www.projectalert.com 

Program description:  No data 

468 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports – Louisiana

Coping Skills 
URL for more program information:  http://www.learncopingskills.com/about_the_program 

Program description:  No data 

Too Good for Drugs 
URL for more program information:  http://www.mendezfoundation.org 

Program description:  No data 

Al’s Pals:  Kids Making Healthy Choices 
URL for more program information:  http://www.wingspanworks.com/educational_programs 

Program description:  No data 

Strengthening Families 
URL for more program information: http:// www.strengtheningfamiliesprogram.org/about.html 

Program description:  No data 

All Stars 
URL for more program information:  http://www.allstarsprevention.com 

Program description:  No data 

Stay on Track 
URL for more program information:  http://www.ncprs.org/sotHome.htm 

Program description:  No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable.  
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  The state funds programs that meet the following criteria:  
1. Inclusion in a federal list or registry of evidence-based interventions.
2. Being reported (with positive effects) in a peer-reviewed journal.
3. Documentation of effectiveness based on the following guidelines:

a. The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic or
conceptual model.

b. The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in registries
and/or the peer-reviewed literature.

c. The intervention is supported by documentation indicating effective implementation in the
past, and multiple times, in a manner attentive to Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based
Interventions scientific standards of evidence and with results that show a consistent pattern
of credible and positive effects.

d. The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed prevention
experts that includes well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in
evaluating prevention interventions similar to those under review; local prevention
practitioners; and key community leaders as appropriate (e.g., officials from law enforcement
and education sectors or elders in indigenous cultures).
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Additional Clarification 

The following are additional related underage drinking prevention programs:  Life Skills Parenting; 
Guiding Good Choices; and ATLAS (Athletes Training and Learning to Avoid Steroids). 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable:  Due to diminished resources, both financial and human, the High Risk and 
Underage Drinking Taskforce disbanded in 2011.  The Taskforce was a subcommittee of the 
statewide Prevention Systems Committee.  It is the intention of the state that should resources 
become available, the state will work to revitalize the taskforce. 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by:  Not applicable.   
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable.  

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) 
sponsors the Louisiana Caring Communities Youth Survey (CCYS)  
The State Epidemiology Workgroup in collaboration with the state evaluator produced a data brief on 
Underage Drinking in Louisiana 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.gov.state.la.us/safe 

Additional Clarification 

Since 1998, OBH has cosponsored the CCYS of students in grades 6, 8, 10, and 12 statewide.  The 
survey measures students’ involvement in a specific set of problem behaviors (including alcohol use) as 
well as their exposure to a set of scientifically validated risk and protective factors identified in the Risk 
and Protective Factor Model of adolescent problem behaviors.  The survey is conducted every 2 years.  
Website address:  http://new.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/newsroom/detail/1392. 

The Drug Policy Board (DPB) holds statutory authority in Louisiana to coordinate all substance abuse 
efforts, including prevention, treatment, and enforcement.  The DPB is supported by two formalized 
committees:  the Prevention Systems Committee (PSC) and the State Epidemiology Workgroup (SEW).  
The DPB tasked the SEW with collection and analyses of data related to consumption and 
consequences of substance use.  The DPB tasked the PSC with implementing Louisiana’s Strategic 
Plan for Substance Abuse Prevention.  The SEW collaborates with the PSC to advise and make data-
driven recommendations to the DPB on issues relating to programs, policies, and practices.  The DPB, 
SEW, and PSC provide the infrastructure for state and community planners to deliver and sustain 
effective substance abuse prevention efforts.  Member agencies are committed to support local 
coalitions to address substance abuse prevention on a local level.   

As stated previously, due to diminished resources, both financial and human, the High Risk and 
Underage Drinking Taskforce no longer exists as a subcommittee of the PSC.  Should resources 
become available, the state will work to revitalize the taskforce. 
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State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended $400,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended $150,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $368,050 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:   No data 
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

While Louisiana does not dedicate any state general funds to underage drinking prevention programs, a 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant funds K–12 school-based programs to 
prevent underage drinking to include Project Northland and Protecting You/Protecting Me. 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 471



State Reports – Maine

Maine 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  1,328,188
Population Ages 12–20:   151,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.4 38,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.1 24,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 2.3 1,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 0.8 1,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.5 10,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 10.8 5,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 51.0 27,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 34.9 18,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 15 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 872 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 22.0 6 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND
• Parent/guardian

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND
• Parent/guardian

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
• No statutory affirmative defense—statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to

retailer’s belief that the minor was 21 years of age or older.
Note:  In Maine, the provisions targeting suppliers apply to acts prohibited for minors.  The more 
general laws that address adults are not collected here as they are not, for purposes of this report, 
specific to the lending, transfer, sale, or production of false identification for a minor’s obtaining 
alcoholic beverages. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
• Applies to drivers under age 21
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  35 hours—5 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  Immediate family members only, unless accompanied by
licensed driver who is at least 20 years old
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private residence AND
• Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training  
• The law does not specify on- or off-sale establishments.
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets.

Incentive for Training 
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  17
• Wine:  17
• Spirits:  17

474 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports – Maine

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  17 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  17 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  17 for both servers and bartenders

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present.

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  No
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 300 feet
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits
• Exceptions:  Downtown location

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on damages:  $350,000 limit for all claims per occurrence.  Medical care and

treatment costs excluded from limit. 
Note:  Maine law includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on damages:  $350,000 limit for all claims per occurrence.  Medical care and

treatment costs excluded from limit. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have

actual knowledge of the occurrence
• Exception(s):  Family

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements 
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
• State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  At least 7.75 gallons
• Prohibited:

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:  $500
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/6 months

• Purchaser information collected:  Purchaser’s name and address
• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required
• Deposit required
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law
• Wine:  No law
• Spirits:  No law

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.35 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  7 percent

General sales tax rate of 5 percent does not apply to onsite sales.  The onsite ad valorem retail tax 
is 7 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 2 percent. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state
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Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited 
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited  
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state 
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Maine State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Substance Abuse 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

Three trainings were held across the state on Maine administrative liquor law.  Twenty-one law 
enforcement agencies that were awarded money to increase their underage drinking enforcement 
efforts have continued their work across the state.  These contracts ended 9/30/12 but will be 
renewed for another 2 years of funding with the same grantees (pending funding availability).  There 
were 1,001 statewide compliance checks conducted with off-premise liquor licensees.  Seventy-five 
of those failed, yielding a 92.5 percent compliance rate.  Maine’s Higher Education Alcohol 
Prevention Partnership (HEAPP) sustained its efforts to reduce underage and high-risk alcohol use 
by college students.  Minigrants, training, technical assistance, and materials on underage drinking 
enforcement and prevention strategies were provided to law enforcement agencies and coalitions in 
college areas, as well as directly to Maine colleges and universities.  Supported strategies include 
evidence-based enforcement tactics, environmental management efforts, and educational 
interventions for those who violate policies/laws or are at increased risk for engaging in underage 
drinking (i.e., first-year students, athletes, student groups).  Some campuses provided brief 
interventions to alcohol law violators on campus as an effective sanction to reduce recidivism.   
A focus of the campus underage drinking prevention efforts is to reduce illegal alcohol availability  
to underage students through social sources by increasing awareness and enforcement of Maine’s 
underage drinking laws, especially furnishing. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Unknown 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors No data 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No data 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law enforcement agencies 288 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2012 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,001 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  75 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2012 
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Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

Yes 
343 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks  42 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2012 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Unknown 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Unknown 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Unknown 

Number of license revocations imposed5 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification   

None given 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Healthy Maine Partnership Coalitions 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/osa/preventi

URL for more program information 
on/community/spfsig/index.htm 

   http://www.healthymainepartnerships.org 
Program description:  Healthy Maine Partnerships provide systemic and policy-focused substance 
abuse prevention with an emphasis on underage drinking, high-risk drinking among young adults, and 
prescription drug abuse in collaboration with the Maine Center for Disease Control and Maine 
Department of Education.  Healthy Maine Partnership substance abuse prevention specialists work 
within the Healthy Maine Partnership Coalition structure to develop and improve alcohol policies that 
support a healthy and safe environment, and also to educate all community members on the risks of 
underage drinking, binge drinking in young adults, and misuse of prescription drugs.  They work with 
police and sheriff departments to enhance enforcement of alcohol laws and strengthen community 
relationships. 
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Student Intervention and Reintegration Program (SIRP) 
Number of youth served 139 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

             Not applicable 
http://www.neias.org/sirp.html 

Program description:  SIRP targets at-risk youth ages 15–18 (high school age).  Youth are considered at 
risk if they are experimenting or otherwise using alcohol or drugs but do not qualify for treatment 
intervention.  Young people are referred to SIRP by a parent, teacher, administrator, or probation officer.  
The aim of SIRP is to empower youth to make healthy decisions and reduce risk for problems.  The 
program focuses on two measurable behavioral prevention goals:  reduce risk of alcohol and drug 
problems throughout their lifetime and reduce high-risk choices.  The intervention used by SIRP is the 
PRIME for Life Under 21 program provided by the Prevention Research Institute, Inc. (PRI); it is 
designed to influence behaviors using a research-based persuasion protocol.  The PRI program is 
taught by trained and certified PRIME for Life Instructors. 

Parent Media Campaign—MaineParents.net 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report 

Yes 
http://www.maineparents.net/Media/data_survey.htm 

URL for more program information http://www.maineparents.net 
Program description:  The first Parent Media Campaign goal in 2002 was to heighten the awareness of 
Maine parents that their teenagers are at risk for alcohol use.  The campaign posed the question, “Your 
teen and alcohol:  do you really know?”  The goal of this campaign was to reduce/prevent teen alcohol 
use through effective parenting techniques.  Objectives were to raise parental awareness of the 
magnitude of the problem and then localize concern to their own teens; improve behavioral monitoring; 
and integrate mass awareness with grassroots efforts to enhance distribution of the message.  Materials 
were created to address parental modeling and help parents understand how their behavior influences 
their children.  In 2006, the campaign continued with “Find Out More, Do More” to heighten parental 
awareness of Maine’s underage alcohol use.  The campaign is intended to increase parental monitoring 
and modeling techniques.  “Find Out More, Do More” centers on practical tips: 
• Limit Access
• Network, Reinforce, & Enforce
• Check In
• Be Up and Be Ready

It provides a starting point for parental monitoring of teen behavior and alcohol use.  For each tip, there 
are three levels of monitoring—good, better, and best.  As parents learn and practice new skills, they 
step up their monitoring level.  This campaign also incorporates modeling messages from the previous 
campaign: helping parents of children of all ages understand how their actions affect their children. 
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Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Block Grant 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

             Not applicable 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/osa/prevention/lawenforcem

ent/EUDL%20Grantees%20Web/index.htm 
Program description:  The EUDL Block Grant is administered by the Office of Substance Abuse (OSA) 
from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP).  Each year, OJJDP awards 
OSA this grant and the funds are used for projects like:   
• Higher Education Alcohol Prevention Partnership (HEAPP).
• Statewide compliance checks.
• Minigrants for law enforcement agencies to increase enforcement of underage drinking laws.

EUDL Assessment, Strategic Planning, and Implementation Initiative 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report  
URL for more program information 

       Not applicable 
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/osa/prevention/lawenforcement/E

UDL%20Grantees%20Web/ASPII%20Grant.htm 
Program description:  The purpose of this project is to reduce underage drinking and alcohol-related 
unintentional injuries and car crashes in Maine among persons under 21 years old.  The program aims 
to do this by: 
• Improving Maine’s system for analyzing underage drinking data to guide strategic planning.
• Strengthening a statewide Underage Drinking Enforcement Task Force.
• Systematically increasing the effective and visible enforcement of underage drinking laws through

enhanced research-based prevention and intervention programming.

By implementing these efforts statewide and within Maine’s eight public health districts, this project 
affects youth, adult, community, and public system knowledge, attitudes, behaviors, and perceptions 
around underage drinking and related laws.  (Note:  this is a 3-year grant starting 10/1/2010.) 

Table Talks—Parents Connecting for Alcohol-Free Youth 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report 
URL for more program information 

               Not applicable 
     http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/osa/preventi

on/adult/tabletalks/index.htm 
Program description:  Table Talks are small-group discussions held in a parent’s home or in another 
community meeting space.  They provide a comfortable setting for parents to communicate openly with 
each other about underage drinking and how to prevent it.  Each Table Talk is meant to be friendly and 
relaxed and is led by a trained facilitator. 
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The Card ME Program 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information       No data 
Program description:  The Card ME Program aims to reduce illegal and/or irresponsible alcohol sales 
and service by providing communities and liquor licensees with a model and resources to:   
• Make it more difficult for underage and visibly intoxicated persons to obtain alcohol from liquor

licensees.
• Increase a licensee’s capacity and motivation in improving their responsible retailing efforts.
• Build stronger community norms around limiting alcohol availability to underage and visibly

intoxicated persons.

The Card ME Program is a voluntary responsible alcohol sales/service program that takes an innovative 
approach to reducing sales of alcohol to minors and visibly intoxicated persons.  The program provides 
managers and owners with free tools to help set norms and expectations around selling/serving alcohol 
at their businesses. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Youth Substance Abuse Prevention Programs 

URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  Youth-targeted, evidence-based substance abuse prevention programs have 
been implemented in several locations throughout the state.  Currently funded projects include Project 
Success, Project Alert, LifeSkills Training, Lion’s Quest, and Coping and Support Training Community 
Action for a Safer Tomorrow (CAST). 
Maine Youth Action Network (MYAN) 

URL for more program information http://www.myan.org 

Program description:  MYAN works to empower and prepare youth and adults to partner to create 
positive change on issues about which they feel passionate.   
Youth Empowerment and Policy Project 

URL for more program information http://www.neias.org/YEP 

Program description:  No data 
Maine Alliance for the Prevention of Substance Abuse 

URL for more program information http://www.masap.org/site/mapsa.asp 
Program description:  No data 
Building State Capacity Grant From the U.S. Department of Education (DOE) 

URL for more program information No data 
Program description:  No data 
State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup 

URL for more program information http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/osa/data/cesn/index.htm 
Program description:  No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Program description:  OSA is building and strengthening relationships with Tribal communities in 
Maine.  Altogether, there are five federally recognized Tribes in Maine:  Penobscot, Passamaquoddy 

482 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports – Maine

(Indian Township), Passamaquoddy (Pleasant Point), Maliseet, and Micmac.  One OSA Prevention 
Specialist attends the Tribal Health Directors meeting that occurs every other month when invited.  
Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) funding was allocated toward the 
development and inclusion of substance abuse questions in the Tribal Health Needs Assessment 
last year.  One OSA Prevention Specialist attends Project Linking Actions for Unmet Needs in 
Children’s Health (LAUNCH) meetings on a regular basis.  Relevant information is shared with Tribal 
health directors and other members as identified (e.g., Prevention News listserv material; OSA 
resource materials and web links).  OSA also participates in other meetings as identified and invited. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Program description: 

A Guide to Replicating an Alcohol Retailer’s Marketing Code of Conduct in Your Local Community 
(2007; http://www.neias.org/YEP/documents.html) is intended to help local, state, and national 
groups replicate a code of conduct, which provides a set of guidelines to help retailers make 
concrete changes in their stores to reduce the impact of alcohol advertising on underage youth.  
The purpose of this guide is twofold: provide a history and tools for local Maine communities 
implementing the code, and provide guidelines to communities outside Maine on the replication of 
the code and explore how alcohol advertising promotes underage drinking in local markets.   

Alcohol Pricing and Promotion Guides:  Low alcohol prices and special promotions meant to 
encourage product sales and brand loyalty can have the unintended consequence of promoting 
overservice and binge drinking.  Low alcohol prices and promotions appeal mostly to younger 
drinkers—and individuals 18 to 25 years old make up the nation’s highest risk age group when it 
comes to binge and heavy drinking (2006 National Survey on Drug Use and Health:  National 
Findings, SAMHSA Office of Applied Studies).   
See http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/osa/prevention/community/licensee/pricepromo.htm. 

• Environmental Assessment:  Pricing and Promotion was developed to assess a community’s
environment in regard to pricing and promotions of alcohol, which contribute to high-risk drinking.

• Alcohol Pricing and Promotions:  Protect Your Business was developed to help licensees
understand the laws around pricing and promotion and why pricing and promotions can cause
problems.  It offers tips for protecting their businesses from the negative consequences of low
pricing and promotions.

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  OSA SPF SIG Strategy approval process:  SAMHSA developed 
a guidance document to help SPF SIG recipient states and communities identify and select 
evidence-based interventions through a common definition and process.  The SPF SIG program 
specifically requires implementation of evidence-based interventions.  Along with being evidence 
based, effective strategies should match the needs of the community, include multiple activities, and 
involve multiple people.  To be able to implement strategies that fall outside of options 1 or 2 below, 
a process needed to be developed to operationalize option 3 below.  The evidence-based strategy 
definitions are (1) included on federal lists or registries of evidence-based interventions; or (2) 
reported (with positive effects) in peer-reviewed journals; or (3) documented effectiveness based on 
the three new guidelines for evidence:   

• Guideline 1:  The intervention is based on a solid theory or theoretical perspective that has been
validated by research.

• Guideline 2:  The intervention is supported by a documented body of knowledge—a converging
accumulation of empirical evidence of effectiveness—generated from similar or related
interventions that indicate effectiveness.

• Guideline 3:  The intervention is judged by a consensus among informed experts to be effective
based on a combination of theory, research, and practice experience.  Informed experts may
include key community prevention leaders, and elders or other respected leaders within
indigenous cultures.
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OSA created two manuals to operationalize an approval process: 
• OSA SPF SIG Strategy Approval Guide For OSA SPF SIG grantees 

(http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/osa/prevention/community/spfsig/index.htm)
• Maine OSA SPF SIG Reviewers Manual, Evidence Based Approval Process Card ME 

(http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/osa/prevention/community/licensee/cardme/index.htm)
Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Prevention Team Manager 
E-mail:  osa.ircosa@maine.gov 
Address:  41 Anthony Ave.  #11, SHS, Augusta, ME 04333-0011 
Phone:  207-287-2595 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Teen and Young Adult Health Program 
Maine Office of Substance Abuse 
Maine Community Health Promotion Program 
U.S.  Department of Justice 
Maine Drug Enforcement Agency 
Higher Educaton Alcohol Prevention Partnership 
Maine Children’s Trust 
Maine Center for Disease Control & Prevention, Healthy Maine Partnership 
Maine Youth Suicide Prevention Program 
Maine Department of Health and Human Service, Mental Health 
Hornby Zeller Associates 
Maine Department of Education 
Maine Alliance for the Prevention of Substance Abuse  
Communities for Children and Youth 
Maine Coordinated School Health Program 
Maine Department of Corrections, Juvenile Justice 
Northern New England Poison Control  

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access Not applicable 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes (Strategic 

Plan)  
Prepared by OSA Prevention Team 
Plan can be accessed via Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via Not applicable 
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Additional Clarification 

In addition to the OSA Prevention advisory board, currently there are two other advisory/planning groups 
addressing prevention of underage drinking:   

1. Underage Drinking Enforcement Task Force: The purpose of the Underage Drinking Enforcement
Task Force is to ensure, via collaboration, that Maine’s underage drinking enforcement efforts are 
coordinated amongst invested stakeholders.  The task force was reconvened in August 2010.  
(http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/osa/prevention/lawenforcement/EUDL percent20Grantees 
percent20Web/UADETF.htm)  

2. Maine DOE, in partnership with OSA, was awarded a Building State Capacity Grant from the U.S.
DOE.  Continuing to help schools create safe, disciplined, and drug-free learning environments that 
promote academic achievement is a priority.  The grant funds will be used to build and sustain capacity 
to prevent youth substance use and violence and support collaboration between state educational 
agencies (SEAs) and other state agencies that are involved in efforts to prevent these problems.  This 1-
year grant includes convening a workgroup of state-level stakeholders across all state agencies, 
referred to as the Substance Abuse and Violence Prevention in Schools Workgroup (SAVPS); 
conducting a needs assessment at the state level of all substance and violence prevention 
programming; and developing a strategic plan that will allow Maine to better coordinate the delivery of 
youth substance abuse and violence prevention programming.   

Maine is currently enhancing our 2010 strategic plan for substance abuse prevention and is engaged in 
planning processes with the Underage Drinking Enforcement Task Force, the Office of Substance 
Abuse Advisory Board, and other key statewide stakeholders.   

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended $120,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2012 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $184,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended $80,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:   No data 
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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Maryland 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  5,828,289
Population Ages 12–20:  679,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 26.0 177,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.9 108,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.3 7,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.3 3,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 22.4 54,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.6 30,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 52.0 116,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.8 75,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 101 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 5,994 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 25.0 15 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Note:  Maryland’s exception includes members of an individual’s “immediate family” when the 
alcoholic beverage is furnished and possessed “in a private residence or within the curtilage of 
the residence.”  This report interprets the phrase “immediate family” as including a spouse.   

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Note:  Maryland’s exception includes members of an individual’s “immediate family” when the 
alcoholic beverage is furnished and consumed “in a private residence or within the curtilage of 
the residence.”  This report interprets the phrase “immediate family” as including a spouse.   

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage possession
• Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• discretionary

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  30 days
• Maximum:  90 days

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15 years, 9 months
• Minimum learner stage period:  9 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  60 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No unrelated passengers under 18
– No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18 years—passenger restrictions expire 151 days after

issuance of intermediate license. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Private residence AND EITHER
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Note:  Maryland’s exception allows furnishing of alcohol to minors by members of their 
“immediate family” when the alcoholic beverage is furnished and consumed “in a private 
residence or within the curtilage of the residence.”  This report interprets the phrase “immediate 
family” as including a spouse.   

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Licensees, Managers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
• Applies to both new and existing outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18
• Wine:  18
• Spirits:  21

Note:  Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may 
have more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages.  Such “local 
options” are not addressed by this report. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders

Note:  Maryland statutes allow for exceptions by specific localities within Maryland that may 
have more or less restrictive laws on the age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages.  Such “local 
options” are not addressed by this report. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—distance restrictions vary by county and municipality.
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—distance restrictions vary by county and municipality.
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits—product restrictions vary by county and

municipality.
• Exceptions:  Exceptions vary by county and municipality.

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability.  

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption
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• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence 
• Exception(s):  Family 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements  
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.   

State Approval/Permit Requirements  
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit. 
• State must approve common carrier.   

Reporting Requirements  
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.   
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.   

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  At least 4 gallons 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail:  $500 (or $1,000 if 
repeat violation) 

– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:  $500 (or $1,000 if repeat violation) 
• Purchaser information collected:   

– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser:  Not required 
• Deposit:   Not required 
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted—written approval from the state and county or city is required. 
• Wine:  Permitted—written approval from the state and county or city is required. 
• Spirits:  Permitted—written approval from the state and county or city is required. 

  

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 491 



State Reports – Maryland

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.09 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  9 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  9 percent

General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 9 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 
3 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 9 percent is applied at the retail level.  The “sales tax 
adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 3 percent. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.40 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  9 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  9 percent

General sales tax rate of 6 percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 9 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 
3 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 9 percent is applied at the retail level.  The “sales tax 
adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 3 percent. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $1.50 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  9 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  9 percent

General sales tax rate of 6 ***percent does not apply to onsite or offsite sales.  The onsite ad 
valorem retail tax is 9 percent.  The “sales tax adjusted” onsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 
3 percent.  The offsite ad valorem tax of 9 percent is applied at the retail level.  The “sales tax 
adjusted” offsite retail ad valorem rate is therefore 3 percent. 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted—all counties require payment on delivery except Worcester

County, where 10 days of credit may be extended. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Uncertain due to case law
• Price posting requirements:  Uncertain due to case law
• Retailer credit:  Unrestricted—Alcohol and Tobacco Tax (MATT) Regulatory Division

posts a list of purchase periods and due dates that is accessible only to Maryland wholesalers
and retail licensees.
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Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Uncertain due to case law
• Price posting requirements:  Uncertain due to case law
• Retailer credit:  Unrestricted—Alcohol and Tobacco Tax (MATT) Regulatory Division

posts a list of purchase periods and due dates that is accessible only to Maryland wholesalers
and retail licensees.

Note:  Federal Court of Appeals (4th Circuit) held that Maryland’s wholesaler volume 
discounting and post-and-hold provisions, considered together, violate the Sherman Act’s ban on 
price fixing and are not protected by the 21st Amendment.  The Court did not determine whether 
either of the provisions, if enacted separately, violated Federal law (TFWS, Inc. v. Franchot, 572 
F.3d 186 (2009)).   
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Maryland State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

None 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

Maryland is a licensure state, except Montgomery County, which is a controlled jurisdiction.  
Licensure means that Maryland issues licenses with conditions to private sellers in order to more 
indirectly control the sale of alcohol.  A controlled jurisdiction directly regulates alcohol sales by 
controlling retail and/or wholesale distribution.  Each county and Balitmore City has within its Board 
of License Commissioners a Liquor Control Board.  Each Liquor Control Board has personnel 
charged with insuring that state regulations are observed.  Often, Liquor Control Board personnel 
work with local law enforcement to conduct various enforcement initiatives.  Enforcement of laws 
prohibiting underage drinking is a part of their overall mission. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Yes 
Maryland Comptroller’s 
Office (http://compnet. 
comp.state.md.us/Field 
_Enforcement_Division) 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law enforcement agencies 1,303 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Data not collected 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Data not collected 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
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Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification   

Local law enforcement agencies work independently as well as in tandem with local liquor control 
boards to prevent underage drinking.  Data are identified and collected at the local level based on local 
requirements/needs.  While various state agencies (Maryland State Police-Central Records Division 
Uniform Crime Report, Maryland Department of Transportation, Office of the Attorney General, 
Comptroller’s Office, etc.) collaborate on this issue and have specific mandates, there is no designated 
state agency responsible for identification and collection of the data requested in this survey.  The 
Comptroller’s Office is responsible for investigating issues relating to direct shipment of alcohol by 
licensed wholesalers and wineries.  The Office of the Maryland Attorney General contributes to efforts to 
prevent underage access to and purchases of alcohol through civil consumer protection enforcement 
initiatives in Maryland and through multistate actions via the National Association of Attorneys General 
Youth Access to Alcohol Committee. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration— 
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA) 

Number of youth served  3,876 
Number of parents served  8,907 

Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending  06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  

    Not applicable 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa 

Program description:  CMCA, an environmental approach to reducing underage drinking and access to 
alcohol by changing community policies and practices, is implemented in 10 jurisdictions in Maryland.  
County Prevention Coordinators serve as technical assistance experts to community, agency, school, 
law enforcement, citizens, and others seeking to make institutional and policy changes that limit youth 
access to alcohol to improve the health of the entire population in the designated community.  Strategies 
include changing community norms, community mobilization, and law enforcement. 
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Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration—Maryland Strategic 
Prevention Framework (MSPF) Program 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  

    Not applicable        
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/
adaa Program description:  The MSPF Program will implement evidence-based programs and strategies that 

assist in reducing misuse of alcohol by youth and young adults as measured by the following indicators:  
1. Reduced number of youth ages 12 to 20 reporting past-month alcohol use.
2. Reduced number of young persons ages 18 to 25 reporting past-month binge drinking.
3. Reduced number of alcohol-related crashes involving youth ages 16 to 25.

Maryland’s 24 jurisdictions will be required to implement the five-step Strategic Prevention Framework 
(SPF) process (assessment; capacity building; planning; implementation of evidence-based programs; 
evaluation of effectiveness).  During FY2012, the jurisdictions are completing steps 1 to 3 of the process 
in preparation for implementing prevention strategies beginning in FY2013.  Intensive training was 
provided throughout the year to approximately 500 local community coalition members to assist them in 
this initiative.  Process evaluation activities began in FY2012, and evaluation results will be available 
beginning in FY2014. 

Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration (ADAA)— 
College Prevention Initiative 

Number of youth served  38,942 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending  06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  

                    Not applicable 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa 

Program description:  ADAA provides funding to four Maryland universities to develop and maintain 
programs/activities that prevent and reduce substance use and risk-taking behaviors associated with the 
use of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs.  Alcohol, Tobacco, and Drug Prevention Centers have been 
established at Frostburg State University, Towson University, Bowie State University, and the University 
of Maryland Eastern Shore.  The centers promote and assist in design and implementation of campus 
policies, evidence-based practices, and prevention/wellness education programs for their institutions.  
They also collaborate with agencies and organizations in communities surrounding the campuses.  
Center directors have working relationships with local health department prevention coordinators, local 
drug and alcohol councils, and other colleges/universities in the region. 

Maryland Office of the Attorney General—National Association of 
Attorneys General Youth Access to Alcohol Committee 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:  

          Not applicable 
    http://www.oag.state.md.us 
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Program description:  The Maryland Attorney General’s Office is a leader in the National Association of 
Attorneys General Youth Access to Alcohol Committee, which, since 2005, has worked to reduce youth 
access to alcohol by using state consumer protection authority to investigate and curb unfair or 
deceptive marketing practices by alcohol manufacturers.  Examples of efforts include calling for an 
increase in the alcohol advertising placement standard to reduce youth exposure to alcohol ads, 
initiatives to restrict youth access to flavored malt beverages (including by enforcing current state laws), 
and petitioning the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to identify that caffeinated alcohol beverages are 
“not generally recognized as safe” and therefore are adulterated and unlawful under federal food and 
drug laws.   

Governor’s Office of Crime Control and Prevention—Enforcing Underage 
Drinking Laws (EUDL) Initiative 

Number of youth served 77,048 (Note: 75,000 were 
youth involved with the annual 

Play-It-Safe Campaign) 
Number of parents served  1,050 
Number of caregivers served  2 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending  06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   
URL for more program information:   

          Not applicable 
     http://www.goccp.maryland.gov 

Program description:  The EUDL Coordinator works with local coalitions, prevention coordinators, law 
enforcement, and schools to provide educational training, resources, and initiatives to combat problems 
with underage drinking locally and statewide.  Activities include Communities Mobilizing for Change on 
Alcohol (CMCA), Techniques of Alcohol Management (TAM) training, Reducing the Availability of 
Alcohol to Minors (RAAM) training, compliance checks, and local campaigns to reduce youth substance 
abuse through marketing and extensive collaboration among Maryland’s youth-serving agencies. 

Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration—Maryland Driver Education & 
Rookie Driver Program 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.mva.maryland.gov/Driver-Safety/Young/safety.htm 

Program description:  These programs discuss, in part, the dangers of operating a vehicle while 
intoxicated and the penalties faced by minors who drive while influenced or impaired by drugs  
and/or alcohol. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
None 

URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Not applicable 
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Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribal governments 

Description of collaboration:  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Laura Burns-Heffner, Interim Executive Director 
E-mail:  lburns-heffner@dhmh.state.md.us 
Address:  MD Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration, 55 Wade Avenue, Catonsville, MD 21228 
Phone:  410-402-8611 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services 
Maryland Department of Juvenile Services 
Maryland Department of Human Resources 
MarylandDepartment of Budget and Management 
Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development 
Maryland Department of Transportation 
Maryland Department of Education 
Governor’s Office for Children 
Governor’s Office of Crime Control and Prevention 
Maryland Senate 
Maryland House of Delegates 
Circuit Court 
District Court 
Maryland Citizens 
Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration 
Maryland Mental Hygiene Administration 
Maryland Division of Parole and Probation 
Maryland Addiction Directors Council 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration  
Plan can be accessed via:  MD Strategic Prevention Framework Plan http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Maryland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration, Maryland State Department of 
Education, Maryland Department of Transportation-State Highway Administration, and the Governor’s 
Office for Children 
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Plan can be accessed via:  
1. Maryland Epidemiological Profile:  Consequences of Illicit Drug Use, Alcohol Use and Smoking, 

2009; Maryland Compendium of Cross County Indicators on Underage Drinking, 2008
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/adaa

2. MD Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS)-2009 http://www.marylandpublicschools.org/msde
3. Task Force to Combat Driving Under the Influence of Drugs and Alcohol- 2009 

http://www.sha.maryland.gov
4. Maryland’s Results for Child Well-Being-2008 http://www.ocyf.state.md.us
Additional Clarification 

The Maryland State Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council (SDAAC) was initially established by executive 
order in 2008 and codified into law on October 1, 2010, as part of a comprehensive strategy to 
coordinate substance abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment services and to improve the 
criminal justice and correctional systems’ links to these services.  The Council is composed of key state 
cabinet department secretaries, judges, legislators, and citizens.  A major responsibility of the Council is 
to prepare and annually update a 2-year strategic plan that identifies priorities for the delivery and 
funding of services to the State.  Other responsibilities include:   
• Identifying promising practices in substance abuse prevention, intervention and treatment.
• Conducting annual surveys of federal and state funds used in maryland.
• Identifying emerging needs and potential funding sources.
• Disseminating information about funding opportunities to the local and state drug and alcohol abuse

councils.

The MSPF Advisory Committee is one of five SDACC workgroups.  The committee provides guidance 
on implementation of the SAMHSA Strategic Prevention Framework design in Maryland.  ADAA 
administers SAMHSA-SPF funds.  ADAA staff provide funding, technical assistance, and additional 
support for the State Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW) and the MSPF Advisory 
Committee. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended $170,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $131,243 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $18,210 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  

• Law Enforcement Overtime Personnel
• National Alcohol Enforcement Training Center (NAETC)
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• Officer Training Compliance Checks
• Breathalyzer Equipment
• Public Service Announcements (PSAs) Advertising and Media Campaigns
• Training for Intervention Procedures (TIPS) Conference

Estimate of state funds expended $179,949 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

Initiatives to address underage drinking are usually coordinated at the local county and community 
levels with partnerships between local health departments, law enforcement, judiciary, county 
government, schools, and community-based organizations. 
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Massachusetts 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,587,536
Population Ages 12–20:  774,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 32.0 247,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.8 161,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.5 14,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.9 5,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.4 67,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.6 43,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 60.0 167,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 40.6 113,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 57 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 3,398 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 36.0 19 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage possession 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 
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Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 90 days

Provisions Applied to Underage Purchase Violations 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 180 days

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  16
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours—or 30 hours of supervised driving if

applicant completes driver skills program

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years, 6 months
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  12:30 a.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule:  Exception:  secondary enforcement

between 12:30 and 1 a.m. and between 4 and 5 a.m.
• Passenger restrictions exist:  No unrelated passengers under 18, unless supervised by

licensed driver over 21
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  18—passenger restrictions expire 6 months after issuance

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until full licensure is 
obtained. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  Not specified
• Maximum:  Not specified

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 503



State Reports – Massachusetts

Appearance Requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance

ID Possession 
• Prohibited

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Recommended

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18
• Wine:  18
• Spirits:  18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation 

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet.  Local government has authority to override

state restrictions. 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet.  Local government has authority to override

state restrictions. 
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits
• Exceptions:  (1) Premises of an innholder and parts of buildings located 10 or more floors

above street level; (2) extension of licensed premises that do not exceed 50 feet

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.
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Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have

actual knowledge of the occurrence.
• Exception(s):  Family

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements 
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
• State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements 
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21

Note:  Current law provides that a winery that produces 30,000 gallons of wine or more may 
obtain a direct shipment only if the winery has not contracted with or has not been represented 
by a Massachusetts wholesaler licensed for the preceding 6 months.  There is no such 
requirement on wineries producing less than 30,000 gallons, which includes all wineries in 
Massachusetts.  This provision was ruled unconstitutional in a federal district court on November 
19, 2008, and upheld on appeal in the First Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals on January 14, 2010. 

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  More than 2 gallons
• Purchaser information collected:  Purchaser’s name and address
• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
• Deposit required:  $5
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Note:  The deposit provisions in Massachusetts require that a purchaser pay the following:  (a) a 
container fee of not less than $10 for each keg having a capacity of 6 or more gallons and of not 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 505



State Reports – Massachusetts

less than $1 for each container having a capacity of less than 6 gallons; and (b) a registration fee 
of $10 for each keg having a capacity of 6 or more gallons and of $4 for each keg having a 
capacity of less than 6 gallons.   

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a

permit issued by the commission.
• Wine:  Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a

permit issued by the commission.
• Spirits:  Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a

permit issued by the commission.

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.11 per gallon.
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.55 per gallon.
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $4.05 per gallon.

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited
• Increased volume:  Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—60 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—60 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—60 days maximum
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Massachusetts State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC) 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

The ABCC Enforcement Division works in cooperation with local and state law enforcement 
agencies to obtain optimal enforcement coverage.  Most often, these efforts are generated from 
requests for assistance from local police chiefs who have problematic licensees in their communities 
or local conflicts that are eliminated through ABCC cooperation.  Furthermore, when a complaint is 
received at ABCC, investigators also reach out to police departments to conduct cooperative 
enforcement operations when feasible.  In 2011 this cooperative enforcement was particularly 
successful in the cities of Lawrence and Springfield.   

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Massachusetts 
ABCC 

BCSuch laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 374 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 1,975 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  135 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

Yes 
91 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 15 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 No data  
Total amount in fines across all licensees $100,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 163 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data  
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Additional Clarification   

Reporting of municipal compliance check results varies from year to year.  There is no statutory or 
regulatory requirement for reporting, so it often depends on the relationships developed among the 
agencies and if the office issuing grants funding makes it mandatory.  For example, compared with the 
data reported in 2011, the following data were reported by municipalities to the ABCC in 2010:  
licensees checked, 1,378; licensees failed, 118.   

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors.   

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services (BSAS), Underage Drinking 
Prevention Programs, and Regional Centers for Healthy Communities 

Number of youth served 996,757 
Number of parents served 730,617 
Number of caregivers served 313,122 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  
• 31 underage drinking prevention programs in collaboration with 6 regional centers in communities

across the Commonwealth
• Coalition/community focused
• Require city/town participation
• Use the SAMHSA Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF)
• Required to use evidence-based environmental strategies that relate directly to assessment-

identified problems
Town Meeting Initiative 

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Not applicable 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

There were no town hall meetings for underage drinking funded during this reporting period.  
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Berklee School of Music Demonstration Project 
Number of youth served No data   
Number of parents served No data   
Number of caregivers served No data   
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:.  Not applicable 

Program description:  The Berklee College of Music completed the final year of its 3-year College/ 
University Alcohol Education Demonstration Project.  The social norming campaign highlighted positive 
statistics on alcohol use on campus, which were used in a poster project.  The Substance Abuse 
Prevention (SAP) Team sponsored a songwriting competition with lyrics based on alcohol use/abuse 
and recovery.  The SAP Team collaborated to host promotion of healthy lifestyle behaviors.  The Team 
also began a Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for College Students (BASICS) program.   

District Attorneys Underage Drinking Prevention 
Number of youth served No data   
Number of parents served No data   
Number of caregivers served No data   
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) funding enabled 
five District Attorney’s Offices to convene underage drinking prevention conferences.   

Student Athlete Underage Drinking Prevention Conferences 
Number of youth served 500 
Number of parents served No data   
Number of caregivers served No data   
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data  Not applicable 

Program description:  Funded by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), two 
conferences for student athletes were attended by 500 students.   

Dance Don’t Chance Contest 
Number of youth served No data  
Number of parents served No data  
Number of caregivers served No data  
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 9/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No data  
Evaluation report is available No data  
URL for evaluation report:  No data  
URL for more program information:  

     Not applicable 
http://www.youtube.com/promshorts 

Program description:  Funded by NHTSA, this is a spring prom and graduation season safe-driving 
video contest in which teens write, produce, and submit a 60-second YouTube video on safe driving and 
avoiding underage drinking.  The winning school is awarded a package of prizes for their prom donated 
by private sponsors.   
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services (BSAS) Underage Drinking Prevention Public Information 
Initiative 

URL for more program information:  http://www.maclearinghouse.com 

Program description:  The BSAS Underage Drinking Prevention Public Information Initiative offered 
evidence-based information to health professionals, parents and youth.  The major approaches used 
were print media, newspapers, and ads on public transportation.  Parent guides and youth brochures 
were also distributed through health, social services, and educational settings.  Social marketing and 
health communication techniques were also used to reach health professionals to motivate them to offer 
effective primary prevention services to a variety of populations, including pregnant women.  Radio 
advertisements and web-based information reinforced the power of parents in preventing underage 
alcohol use.  Presentations were made at local and national conferences on the retailers’ toolkit to 
prevent sales to underage youth.   

Picture Yourself Alcohol and Drug Free 
URL for more program information:  No data  

Program description:  The Picture Yourself:  Alcohol and Drug Free initiative for alcohol and drug 
prevention pilot program targeted 7th and 8th graders.  The campaign featured messages from middle 
school–aged youth for middle school–aged youth.  It used an aspirational message to encourage 
students to live a life without alcohol and drugs, so that alcohol and other substances would not get in 
the way of their goals and interests.  Posters and news articles (in the school newsletters and 
community) as well as school-based incentive items reinforced this message.   

MassSTART at Six Department of Youth Services sites 
URL for more program information:  No data  

The Department of Youth Services currently operates the MassStart program in three of our five regions, 
with those regions hosting two sites each.  The MassStart program is run out of the Springfield, Holyoke, 
Lawrence, Lowell, Dorchester, and Roxbury District Offices of the Department of Youth Services.  Each 
site carries a caseload of 15 clients per worker.  The MassStart model targets high-risk youth and their 
families and seeks to reduce their exposure to drugs/alcohol and criminal activity by delivering enhanced 
case management services.   

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  The Department of Public Health has continued to reach out to Native 
American key partners to try to provide appropriate services to Native Americans in Massachusetts.  

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program Description:   
Community level:  restrictions on advertising; counteralcohol advertising on billboards 
and public transportation.   
State level:  counteralcohol advertising via radio and transit ads.  The Massachusetts 
Bay Transit Authority, the state’s largest transit authority, has agreed to suspend 
alcohol advertising at the beginning of the next fiscal year beginning on 7/1/2012.   

Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  Best practice standards description:  The Bureau of Substance 
Abuse Services implements best practices through:   
1. A competitive request-for-response (RFR) process.
2. Strategy meetings.
3. Regular site visits.

The RFR requires the selection of a evidence-based model.  Regular meetings provide technical 
assistance to ensure implementation of the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) sustainability as 
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well as cultural competence.  The community’s logic model, action plan, accomplishments, and 
challenges are reviewed throughout the year.   

Additional Clarification 

None given  

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  William D. Luzier, Executive Director, Interagency Council on Substance Abuse & 
Prevention 
E-mail:  william.luzier@state.ma.us 
Address:  250 Washington Street, Floor 3, Boston, MA 02108 
Phone:  617-624-5121 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Lieutenant Governor, Chair 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
Executive Office of Public Safety 
Executive Office of Elder Affairs 
Executive Office of Veterans Affairs 
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Department of Corrections 
Parole Board 
Department of Probation 
Department of Public Health 
Department of Youth Services 
Department of Mental Health 
Department of Developmental Services 
Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission 
Department of Transitional Assistance 
Department of Children and Families 
Department of Health Care Finance and Policy 
Department of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
Department of Early Education and Care 
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services 
MassHealth (Medicaid) 
Superior Court 
District Court  
Juvenile Court 
Governor’s Office 
Senate  
House 
Private citizen recovering from substance abuse problems 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  
http://www.mass.gov/governor/administration/ltgov/lgcommittee/subabuseprevent 
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Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Interagency Council on Substance Abuse and Prevention  
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.mass.gov/governor/docs/icsap-strategic-plan-update-july-2010.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Department of Elementary & Secondary Education and Department of Public Health 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.doe.mass.edu/cnp/hprograms/yrbs 

Additional Clarification 

None given  

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended $21,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended $100,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available  
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available  

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available  
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available  

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available  
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available  

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available  
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available  

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available  
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available  

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  No data  
Estimate of state funds expended Not applicable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data  

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data  

Additional Clarification 

All of the programs that target underage drinking prevention are funded either through the Prevention 
portion of the SAMHSA Block Grant or through specific federal grant funding.   
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Michigan 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  9,876,187
Population Ages 12–20:  1,293,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.9 335,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.2 223,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.2 20,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.1 8,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.9 91,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 0.0 000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 48.2 223,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 33.7 156,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 146 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 8,810 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 12.0 20 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
• No use/lose law

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14 years, 9 months
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours,10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16
• Unsupervised night driving
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– Prohibited after:  10 p.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  No more than one passenger under 21
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
• Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.
• There is an affirmative defense if the minor is not charged.

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
No data 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Provisions 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers 
• Applies only to on-sale establishments
• Applies only to new outlets

Voluntary Provisions 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training 
• Applies only to on-sale establishments
• Applies only to existing outlets

Incentives for Training 
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18
• Wine:  18
• Spirits:  18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders
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Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet for spirits.  Local government has authority to

override state restrictions.  
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 500 feet.  Local government has authority to override

state restrictions. 
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Note:  Michigan law includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have

actual knowledge of the occurrence.
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation.
• Exception(s):  Family, resident

Note:  Michigan’s social host statute does not apply if all individuals attending the social 
gathering are members of the same household or immediate family, or if a minor’s use, 
consumption, or possession of an alcoholic beverage is for religious purposes.  The “preventive 
action” provision in Michigan allows the prosecution to establish guilt by proving that the host 
failed to take preventive action. 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Permitted
• Wine:  Permitted
• Spirits:  Prohibited

Note:  The beer or wine must be delivered by the retailer’s employee and not by an agent or by a 
third-party delivery service.  A retailer that holds a specially designated merchant license or an 
out-of-state retailer that holds its state’s substantial equivalent license may utilize a third party 
that provides delivery service to municipalities in this state that are surrounded by water and 
inaccessible by motor vehicle. 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements 
• Producer must verify age of purchaser.
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements  
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  5 gallons or more
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:  $500/93 days
• Purchaser information collected:

– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
• Deposit required:  $30
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted
• Wine:  Permitted
• Spirits:  Prohibited

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.20 per gallon.
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.51 per gallon.
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Control state

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Prohibited
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—180-day minimum.  Prices may be decreased

during the 180-day period to meet a competing wholesalers price.  The price reduction must
not exceed the competition’s price and must continue for the balance of the 180 days filed
by the competition.

• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum for on-sale retailers.  No credit extended to
off-sale retailers.

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Banned
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—3-month minimum.  By written order the

commission may approve a price change for a period of no fewer than 14 days.
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days for on-sale retailers.  No credit extended to off-sale

retailers.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state
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Michigan State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

MLCC periodically works with local, county, and state police on enforcement assignments.  MLCC 
also conducts training for police on liquor laws on an ongoing basis.  Police are encouraged to 
apprise MLCC of results of their own enforcement activities so that MLCC can make that part of 
each licensee’s operating history on the database. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors MLCC 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies Data not collected 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Data not collected 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 2,558 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 356 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

Yes 
No data 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 577 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 775 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $482,795 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 75 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 44 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Additional Clarification   

One total revocation was issued; however, there were an additional 124 “Revoked/Terminated unless 
Transferred” imposed during the time period ending 12/31/2011.  The MLCC investigates and enforces 
on direct ship laws, but does not complete full field investigations. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Michigan Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking (MCRUD) 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  MCRUD provides training, technical assistance, and networking opportunities for 
local volunteer and professional groups that are working to address specific issues related to reducing 
underage drinking at the local level.  MCRUD also provides small grants (up to $1,500) for volunteer 
grassroots groups on the same topics.  Constituents include other statewide organizations (e.g.,  
Mothers Against Drunk Driving), local professional prevention agencies, local public health departments, 
hospital staff, local teen centers, and volunteer groups (e.g., high school leadership groups, parent 
groups, and community coalitions). 

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) Enforcing 
Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program 

Number of youth served 100 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending  09/30/11 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for report:  http://www.michigan.gov/documents/msp/2005_EUDL_Evaluation_197592_7.pdf 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Michigan’s EUDL program seeks to reduce the availability of alcohol to minors by 
enforcing underage drinking laws.  Law enforcement agencies across Michigan are actively patrolling for 
underage drinking parties as well as conducting retail compliance checks with liquor licensees. 
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Sub-State Regional Coordinating Agencies 

URL for more program information:  http://www.michigan.gov/mdch-bsaas 

Program description:  No data 

Prevention Network 
URL for more program information:  http://www.preventionnetwork.org 

Program description:  No data 

Parenting Awareness Michigan (PAM) 
URL for more program information:  http://www.preventionnetwork.org/pam 

Program description:  No data   

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Program description:  Collaboration with both the Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa 
Indians and the Little Traverse Bay Band of Odawa Indians occurs through offering technical 
assistance as appropriate or requested.  Both Tribes have member representation with the State 
Epidemiology Outcomes Workgroup (SEOW).  In addition, there is partnership with the Michigan 
Inter-Tribal Council. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  Michigan’s EUDL grantees use the controlled dispersal method 
when processing underage drinkers.  Controlled dispersal is a systematic operational plan using the 
concepts of zero tolerance and education to safely and efficiently close underage drinking parties.   
A successful controlled dispersal results in effective zero-tolerance enforcement by placing 
appropriate charges against violators.  It also minimizes the potential for disaster by ensuring that 
the party attendees are provided safe rides home.  Proper implementation of the controlled dispersal 
plan benefits communities and youth by reducing the negative consequences associated with 
underage drinking.   

The Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH)/Bureau of Substance Abuse and Addiction 
Services (BSAAS) has also adopted overarching principles of effective prevention based on the 
Surgeon General’s Call to Action to Prevent and Reduce Underage Drinking (2007).  Specific 
guidelines for safe prom/graduation initiatives have also been adopted.  In addition, MDCH/BSAAS 
requires that at least 90 percent of prevention programming within a coordinating agency region is 
evidence based. 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Mike Tobias 
E-mail:  mike@preventionnetwork.org 
Address:  PO Box 4458, East Lansing, MI 48826-4458 
Phone:  517-393-6890 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Barry County Community Mental Health 
Bay County Sacred Heart 
Cass Alcohol Safety Solutions 
Cristo Rey Community Center 
Courageous Persuaders 
Ingham Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition 
Little Traverse Bay Band of Odawa Indians 
Marquette County Health Department/Coalition 
Michigan Council on Alcohol Problems 
Michigan Liquor Control Commission 
Oakland County Health Division 
Ottawa County Health Department 
Van Buren Substance Abuse Task Force 
Washtenaw County Partnership/Clean Teens 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://www.mcrud.org 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  MDCH/BSAAS  
Plan can be accessed via:  http://www.michigan.gov/mdch-bsaas 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  SPF SIG Childhood and Underage Drinking (CUAD) Workgroup Plan 
can be accessed via:  
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/Blueprint_for_Michigan_336742_7.pdf 

Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended $120,643 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $200,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $40,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
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Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  Non-SAPT funds to Coordinating Agencies from the state 
general fund 
Estimate of state funds expended $165,209 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  Yes 
Fees Yes 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Taxes on alcohol; fines for violations; license and renewal fees.  These sources are used to fund 
controlled buy operations through the Michigan Liquor Control Commission. 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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Minnesota 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  5,344,861 
Population Ages 12–20:  641,000 

 Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20   

Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.6 164,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.9 115,000 

   Ages 12–14    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.2 8,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.2 2,000 

   Ages 15–17    
Past-Month Alcohol Use 20.6 45,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 12.2 27,000 

   Ages 18–20   
Past-Month Alcohol Use 49.9 111,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 38.7 86,000 

   Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)  63 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)  3,793 
 Percentage of All 

Traffic Fatalities Number 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 18.0 13 

* See Appendix C for data sources. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian’s home

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian’s home AND
• Parent/guardian

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note:  Although Minnesota does not prohibit Internal Possession, it has a statutory provision that 
makes it unlawful “[f]or any person under the age of 21 years to consume any alcoholic 
beverages” and further defines “consume” to “ [include] the ingestion of an alcoholic beverage 
and the physical condition of having ingested an alcoholic beverage” (Minn. Stat. § 340A.503).  
Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol in their bodies, but which do so without reference 
to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as prohibiting internal possession, for 
purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21

and older. 
• Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.00
• Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  30 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  12 a.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  For first 6 months, no more than one unrelated passenger under
20. For second 6 months, no more than three unrelated passengers under 20.
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17—passenger restrictions expire 12 months after

obtaining intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions expire 6 months after 
issuance of intermediate license. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
• Parent/guardian’s home AND
• Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data  

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18
• Wine:  18
• Spirits:  18
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders

Note:  Minors who have reached age 16 may be employed to provide waiter or waitress service 
in rooms or areas where the presence of 4 percent alcohol by volume (ABV) “malt liquor” is 
incidental to food service or preparation.  Minnesota defines “4 percent malt liquor” as any beer, 
ale, or other malt beverage containing not more than 4 percent alcohol by volume. 

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation 

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1,500 feet, if not within a city
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 1,500 feet, if not within a city
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits—excludes beverages with 3.2 percent of alcohol by

weight or less

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Note:  Minn. Stat. § 340A.801(6) states that nothing in Chapter 340A, Minnesota’s alcohol 
beverage control law, “precludes common law tort claims against any person 21 years old or 
older who knowingly provides or furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 21 
years.”  The age limitation applied to the furnisher and the “knowingly” evidentiary requirement 
result in a “no” coding for dram shop common law liability. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on who may be sued:  Social host must be 21 years of age or older.
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Knowingly or recklessly furnishing alcohol to a

minor or permitting consumption by a minor.
Note:  Minn. Stat. § 340A.801(6) states that nothing in Chapter 340A, Minnesota’s alcohol 
beverage control law, “precludes common law tort claims against any person 21 years old or 
older who knowingly provides or furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 21 
years.”  The age limitation applied to the furnisher and the “knowingly” evidentiary requirement 
result in a “no” coding for social host common law liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 
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Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements:  None 

Reporting Requirements:  None 

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  Not less than 7 gallons
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:  $1,000/90 days
• Purchaser information collected:  Verified by a government-issued ID
• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required
• Deposit:  Not required
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  Permitted
• Wine:  Permitted
• Spirits:  Permitted

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.15 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  2.5 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  2.5 percent

$0.08 per gallon for beverages containing an alcohol content of 4 percent or less.  With respect to 
malt liquor containing 4 percent alcohol or less, the 2.5 percent retail tax is applied only when 
sold at an on-sale or off-sale municipal liquor store or other establishment licensed to sell any 
type of intoxicating liquor. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $0.30 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  2.5 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  2.5 percent
• Ad valorem tax applied at retail level

528 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports – Minnesota

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax:  $5.03 per gallon
• Ad valorem excise tax (on-premises sales):  2.50 percent
• Ad valorem excise tax (off-premises sales):  2.50 percent
• Ad valorem tax applied at retail level.

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages:  Prohibited
• Multiple servings at one time:  Not prohibited
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving:  Not prohibited
• Reduced price at specified day or time:  Not prohibited
• Unlimited beverages:  Not prohibited
• Increased volume:  Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Not permitted

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—a variable volume price may not be for a quantity of more

than 25 cases. 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—A variable volume price may not be for a quantity of more

than 25 cases. 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum.
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Minnesota State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Minnesota Department of Public Safety 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

Minnesota state patrol and Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) collaborate with local agencies 
on an as-needed basis.  Primarily, this will occur to investigate underage drinking–related fatalities 
and other serious cases. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Unknown 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors  No data 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law enforcement agencies Data not collected 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Data not collected 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Data not collected 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Data not collected 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks  Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 Data not collected 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Unknown 
Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Unknown 

Number of license revocations imposed5 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification   

While many local law enforcement agencies may conduct alcohol compliance checks, only data on 
those conducted by law enforcement agencies with Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) funding 
for this activity are available.  Data available for EUDL-funded local alcohol compliance checks with 47 
local law enforcement agencies show a 92.9 percent compliance rate.  These data present a partial 
picture of the statewide compliance rate, of which data are not collected.  Roadway checkpoints to 
detect impaired drivers are not constitutionally allowed in Minnesota.  Roadway saturation patrols are 
conducted following the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) enhanced enforcement 
mobilization schedule.  The enforcement effort identifies younger males as a high-risk population, but 
does not specify drivers under age 21 as a primary concern of focus.   

Civil or criminal action taken against liquor retailers may be documented at a local level, or possibly 
through the State Department of Public Safety, Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement Division. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Programs (OJJDP) Enforcing 
Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Block Grant 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:   Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 

Program description:  Supports and enhances the efforts of state and local jurisdictions to prohibit the 
sale of alcoholic beverages to minors and the purchase and consumption of alcoholic beverages by 
minors. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
MN Institute of Public Health 

URL for more program information:  No data  

Program description:  Provides minigrants to local law enforcement agencies for alcohol compliance 
checks. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Native American Prevention Programming 
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State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  Utilizing Drug Free Communities coalition approach and 
implementing the Strategic Prevention Framework 

Additional Clarification 

Such standards for license revocations have not been specifically developed by the Minnesota 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement.  There are entities in Minnesota 
working in this area, but coordination and communication efforts between interested parties are still in 
an early stage of development, and it is thus problematic to obtain readily available information to 
address these questions. 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
No data 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
 State agencies; Department of Human Services, Department of Health, Department of Education, 
Department of Public Safety, and other sectors per Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive 
Grant (SPF SIG) guidelines. 
A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No data 

URL or other means of access:  No data 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by:  Not applicable  
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification 

Clarification on the State Interagency Collaboration question above:  Minnesota Department of Human 
Services - Minnesota is a cohort IV SPF SIG state and as such has established a required SPF SIG 
Advisory Council consisting of the sectors required by the SPF.  In addition, Minnesota has received a 
State Prevention Enhancement (SPE) grant through which it created a consortium, a subcommittee of 
the SPF SIG Advisory Council. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $1,076,714 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

532 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports – Minnesota

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $1,076,714 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  American Indian Prevention programming 
Estimate of state funds expended $1,512,138 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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Mississippi 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  2,978,512
Population Ages 12–20:  386,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.7 91,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.2 59,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.5 6,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 3.2 4,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 18.8 25,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.4 15,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 44.1 60,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 29.3 40,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 74 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,474 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 29.0 28 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private location OR 
• Parent/guardian 

Note:  Mississippi’s parent/guardian exception applies to persons at least 18 years old and only 
for possession of light wine or beer.  The location exception is not limited to persons between 18 
and 21, and applies only to alcoholic beverages, not including light wine or beer. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 
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Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum:  Not specified
• Maximum:  90 days

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15
• Minimum learner stage period:  12 months
• There is no minimum supervised driving requirement.

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16 years
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday; 11:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• No passenger restrictions

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16 years, 6 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR
• Spouse

Note:  Mississippi’s parent/guardian and spouse exceptions apply to persons at least 18 years old 
and only for furnishing of light wine or beer. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  16
• Maximum:  19

Appearance Requirements 
• Male:  No facial hair and youthful looking

ID Possession 
• Not specified

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Not specified

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 
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Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  21
• Wine:  21
• Spirits:  21

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
Limitations on outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—no permits on campus
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—no permits on campus
• Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits—“alcoholic beverage” does not include wine or beer

containing 6.25 percent alcohol by volume (ABV) or less.

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet; within 100 feet in areas zoned commercial or

industrial 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 400 feet; within 100 feet in areas zoned commercial or

industrial 
• Alcohol products:  Wine, spirits—“alcoholic beverage” does not include wine or beer

containing 6.25 percent ABV or less. 
Note: Exceptions are (1) bed and breakfast inn or historic district listed in the National Register 
of Historic Places; (2) qualified resort area located in a municipality having a population greater 
than 100,000. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 
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Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have

actual knowledge of the occurrence.
• Exception(s):  Family

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Not required 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law
• Wine:  No law
• Spirits:  No law

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.43 per gallon.
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Control state
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Control state

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Retailer credit not permitted
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Control state
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Control state
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Mississippi State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Mississippi Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC)/Bureau of Enforcement 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

In Mississippi, state and local agencies routinely share information and provide mutual support for 
planned and unplanned enforcement. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Mississippi ABC 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law enforcement agencies 550 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies 37 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 31 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
Data not collected 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 Data not collected 
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 31 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 217 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Additional Clarification   
Fines are not collected for sales to minors; this is cause for automatic suspension of a license, 
regardless of whether this is a first offense or not. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Vicksburg Family Development (VFD) 

Number of youth served 6,200 
Number of parents served 4,000 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 10/09/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  VFD has two primary activities targeting underage drinking:  Alcohol Education 
and Communities Mobilizing for Change.  Alcohol Education is an online alcohol prevention program 
that takes a project-based approach to learning, giving students the opportunity to travel through a 
community to better understand the risks around drinking alcohol.  Communities Mobilizing for Change 
is a community organizing effort designed to change policies and practices of major community 
institutions in ways that underage individuals’ access to alcohol. 

Region I Community Mental Health Center:  Preventing Underage Drinking in Tunica County 
Number of youth served 125 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served     No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  Preventing Underage Drinking in Tunica County is a coalition-based project that uses 
educational and environmental strategies.  Evidence-based programs are used to implement the strategies. 

Region 3 Community Mental Health Center:  Prime for Life 
Number of youth served 855 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 02/23/2012 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  Community Trials is an evidence-based alcohol and drug program for people of all 
ages.  The program challenges common beliefs and attitudes that contribute to binge drinking. 

540 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking



State Reports – Mississippi

Region 4 Mental Health and Mental Retardation (MH/MR) Commission:  
Underage Drinking Program 

Number of youth served 655 
Number of parents served 5,600 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  The program offers lessons on alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and inhalants.  The 
lessons offer resistance and social skills needed to resist alcohol and other drugs.  A media campaign 
that targets parents via billboards is also used. 

Mississippi Underage Drinking Prevention Coalition (MUDPC) of Madison and 
Rankin Counties  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/01/2012 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  The vision of the MUDPC is to see every youth in Madison and Rankin Counties 
alcohol free.   

DREAM of Hattiesburg, Inc. 
Number of youth served 16,159 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  DREAM of Hattiesburg is a nonprofit drug and alcohol prevention agency working 
in both the local school districts and surrounding communities.  It offers an afterschool tutoring program.  
DREAM is also a designated Regional Alcohol Drug Awareness Resource (RADAR) center providing 
prevention materials, training, and activities to reduce and prevent use of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs. 

DREAM, Inc., Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) 
Number of youth served 174 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 02/25/2012 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  SPF SIG provide services including, but not limited to, community education, 
underage alcohol drinking awareness, an evidence-based drug education curriculum taught in Rankin 
County high schools, and an adult and youth community coalition to aid in endeavors to reduce and 
prevent underage drinking in Rankin County. 
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Weems Community Mental Health Center 
Number of youth served 414 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  SPF SIG provides services including, but not limited to, community education, 
underage alcohol drinking awareness, an evidence-based drug education curriculum taught in Meridian 
middle schools, and an adult and youth community coalition to aid in endeavors to reduce and prevent 
underage drinking in Lauderdale and Leake Counties. 

Choctaw Behavioral Health (CBH) SPF SIG 
Number of youth served 3,576 
Number of parents served 111 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  The CBH SPF SIG program vision is to promote a healthier, safer Choctaw 
Community by decreasing underage drinking among Choctaw youth through a framework for 
collaboration between service agencies, Tribal communities, and policymakers.  CBH SPF SIG teaches 
Project Northland Class Action to youth in detention, Choctaw Alternative School, and all Tribal Boys & 
Girls Club locations.  It also provides underage drinking prevention activities and education to youth, 
parents, and health care professionals through health fairs, presentations, youth programs and 
conferences, and monthly community events. 

East MS SPF SIG Partnership 
Number of youth served 50 
Number of parents served 5 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  The Bradley A. Sanders Adolescent Complex (BASAC) SPF SIG provide services 
including, but not limited to, community education, underage alcohol drinking awareness, an evidence-
based drug education curriculum taught in Leake County middle schools, and an adult and youth 
community coalition to aid in endeavors to reduce and prevent underage drinking in Leake and 
Lauderdale Counties. 

Alcohol Services Center 
Number of youth served 346 
Number of parents served 235 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 10/01/2011 
Program has been evaluated         No 
Evaluation report is available  No 
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 
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Program description:  Class Action is the high school component to Project Northland, Hazelden’s 
evidence-based alcohol prevention program.  Class Action looks at the real-world social and legal 
consequences involving teens and alcohol.  Teens are divided into six Class Action legal teams to 
prepare and present hypothetical civil cases in which someone has been harmed as a result of 
underage drinking. 

Jackson County Community Services Coalition 
Number of youth served 7,230 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  The goals of Project Northland are to delay the age when young people begin 
drinking, reduce alcohol use among young people who have already tried drinking, and limit the number 
of alcohol-related problems among young people.  Alcohol is the focus of the Project Northland program 
because it is the substance of choice of American teenagers and inflicts the most harm during this age 
period.  The programs of Project Northland provide state-of-the-art prevention materials for 6th grade 
(Slick Tracy), 7th grade (Amazing Alternatives), and 8th grade (Powerlines).  These programs invite 
participation and experiential learning at home and in the classroom.  Project Northland has been shown 
to be effective in delaying and reducing alcohol use among young adolescents in the largest and most 
rigorous alcohol use prevention trial ever funded by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and 
Alcoholism (NIAAA).  Furthermore, among those students who had not begun using alcohol by the 
beginning of 6th grade, reports of cigarette use and marijuana use were lower in those who participated 
in the Project Northland prevention programs. 

Pine Belt Mental Healthcare Resources 
Number of youth served 5,015 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2012 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  Pine Belt Mental Healthcare Resources is a regional mental health center in 
Region XII, in the state of Mississippi, covering a nine-county area.  Prevention is provided primarily by 
the prevention specialist and prevention coordinator.  Evidence-based curricula are implemented in local 
schools, representation is provided at local and state events, and speakers are provided at speaking 
engagements.  The primary goals of the prevention program are to significantly prevent the use, 
experimentation with, or continued use of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs and to decrease the problems 
associated with abuse of these substances.  The prevention program involves services and a curriculum 
that focus on at-risk individuals prior to harmful involvement with alcohol, tobacco, and drugs.  A part of 
our prevention program and funding, SPF SIG, focuses specifically on underage drinking and covers 
two counties within our service area.   

Community Counseling Services:  Project Northland Class Action 
Number of youth served 414 
Number of parents served 50 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/01/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 
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Program description:  Class Action is an evidence-based curriculum emphasizing the social and legal 
consequences of underage drinking.  Students are grouped into law firms and are assigned one of six 
cases created by Class Action.  The students are responsible for representing the clients in their cases 
who have filed civil law suits because of personal injury or property damage that occurred as a result of 
consumption of alcohol by teenagers.  Students conduct research related to their case and formulate 
arguments on behalf of their clients, just as actual attorneys would do.  In a setting similar to that of 
official courtroom proceedings, students present their cases to their classmates, who act as the jury. 

Warren Yazoo Mental Health Services Gateway Make a Promise (MAP) Coalition 
Number of youth served 16,666 
Number of parents served 125 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 02/24/2012 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  This program focuses on underage drinking via coalition and community planning 
to implement evidence- and research-based individual and environmental strategies to decrease 
underage drinking in Yazoo County, Mississippi. 

Mississippi Underage Drinking Prevention Coalition of Hinds County (MUDPC-HC) 
Number of youth served 7,230 
Number of parents served 0 
Number of caregivers served 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  MUDPC-HC is a collaboration between three freestanding prevention programs:  
Jackson State University’s Metro Jackson Community Prevention Coalition, the Interdisciplinary Alcohol 
and Other Drug Studies Center, and Alcohol Services Center, Inc.  The goals are to reduce alcohol 
usage and related consequences, including alcohol-related motor vehicle crashes, binge drinking, and 
drinking and driving, among youth between the ages of 11 and 21 in Hinds County, Mississippi.  While 
implementing the coalition’s goals, the following activities are being conducted:   
1. Develop a community strategic plan that includes a comprehensive needs and resource assessment

for Hinds County.
2. Identify and implement appropriate evidence-based programs.
3. Provide timely evaluation data to the evaluator.
4. Participate in state-sponsored meetings, trainings, and technical assistance events and efforts.
5. Work collaboratively with other coalitions, key community stakeholders, partners, and others to

prevent underage alcohol consumption.
Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau of Enforcement 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information Not applicable 

Program description:  Staff of the Bureau of Enforcement meet with parent organizations to provide 
education about the prevalence and consequences of underage drinking and to increase their 
awareness of current and pending laws related to underage drinking. 
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs Related to Underage Drinking  
MS Department of Public Safety (DPS) - Recipients of Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) 
grant funding 

URL for more program information    http://www.dps.state.ms.us 

Program description:  Part of the charge of the DPS is to administer EUDL funds provided by the Office 
of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP).  These funds are provided to enforcement 
agencies and community-based agencies for the purpose of targeting underage drinking. 
Prevention Programs funded by the Department of Mental Health via a Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant 

URL for more program information  http://www.dmh.state.ms.us 

Program description:  Thirty community-based organizations are funded around the state to implement 
prevention services related to alcohol, tobacco, and drug use and abuse.  Each program must submit a 
work plan that targets underage drinking to be eligible for funding. 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Program description:  The Mississippi Department of Mental Health (DMH) Bureau of Alcohol and 
Drug Abuse provides funds to the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians in the form of two grants:  
SPF SIG funds and funds provided by a SAMHSA Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
(SAPT) Block Grant.  SPF SIG directly targets underage drinking using evidence-based programs.  
The grant allocated by DMH using SAPT Block Grant funds requires that at least one work plan 
(initiative) target underage drinking.  Additionally, a staff member of Choctaw Behavioral Health 
serves as a member of the Advisory Council for DMH’s Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Abuse. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  Programs must use programs that are evidence based as 
determined by either the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices (NREPP) or a 
peer-reviewed journal. 

Additional Clarification 
None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Chuck Oliphant 
E-mail:  chuck.oliphant@dmh.state.ms.us 
Address:  1101 Robert E. Lee Building, Jackson, MS 39201 
Phone:  601-359-6227 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Mental Health 
Department of Education 
Department of Public Safety 
Attorney General’s Office 
Rankin County Youth Court 
DREAM of Hattiesburg 
DREAM, Inc. 
Mississippi National Guard 
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Department of Health 
Jackson State University 
Drug Enforcement Agency 
Region 6 Community Mental Health Center 
Center for Applied Prevention Technology 
SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access 

          Yes 
http://www.mpn.ms 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by Mississippi Department of Mental Health, Bureau of Alcohol and 
Drug Abuse 

Plan can be accessed via http://www.mpn.ms 
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Mississippi Department of Mental Health Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Report can be accessed via: http://www.snapshots.ms.gov 

Additional Clarification 
None given 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  Mississippi does not receive state funds for prevention 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No data 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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Missouri 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  6,010,688
Population Ages 12–20:  718,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.7 170,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.5 111,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 4.9 11,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.6 6,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.5 58,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 15.8 39,000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 42.2 101,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 27.6 66,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 118 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 7,089 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 26.0 32 

* See Appendix C for data sources.
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers ages 21

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase
• Underage possession

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 30 days
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Note:  Although Missouri does not authorize a use/lose penalty for all underage consumption, it 
does impose the mandatory license sanction on an underage person who “has a detectable blood 
alcohol content of more than two-hundredths of one percent or more by weight of alcohol in such 
person’s blood” (Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ 311.325(1), 577.500(2)). 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  15
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  40 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  16
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  1 a.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  First 6 months, no more than one unrelated passenger under 19.
After 6 months, no more than three unrelated passengers under 19.
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  17 years, 11 months

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum:  18
• Maximum:  19

Appearance Requirements 
• Youthful appearance
• No headgear obstructing face or hairline
• Male:  No facial hair or receding hairline
• Female:  No excessive makeup or jewelry

ID Possession 
• Required

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited

Decoy Training 
• Mandated
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  No guidelines provided 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18
• Wine:  18
• Spirits:  18

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Wine:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet.  Local government has authority to override

state restrictions. 
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 100 feet.  Local government has authority to override

state restrictions. 
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits

Note:  Exceptions are a church, school, civic, service, fraternal, veteran, political, or charitable 
club or organization that has obtained an exemption from the payment of federal taxes. 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on who may sue:  Retailers that furnish alcohol for off-premises consumption

exempt. 
• Limitations on elements/standards of proof:  Clear and convincing evidence required to

show that retailer knew or should have known underage status. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 
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Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation:  Possession, consumption
• Property type(s) covered by liability law:  Residence, outdoor, other
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party:  Knowledge—host must have

actual knowledge of the occurrence.
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation.
• Exception(s):  Family

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Prohibition against retailer interstate shipments: 
• Beer:  Prohibited
• Wine:  Uncertain
• Spirits:  Prohibited

Note:  A holder of a retailer alcoholic beverage license in a state that affords Missouri licensees 
an equal reciprocal shipping privilege may ship, for personal use and not for resale, no more  
than two cases of wine (no more than 9 liters each case) per year to any adult resident of the 
state.  Delivery of a shipment pursuant to this section shall not be deemed to constitute a sale in 
this state. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements 
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.
• State must approve common carrier.

Reporting Requirements  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol
• Recipient must be 21
• Keg definition:  4 gallons or more
• Purchaser information collected:

– Purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth
– Verified by a government-issued ID

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
• Deposit required:  $50
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs.
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Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  4 or more gallons
• Purchaser information collected:

– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID

• Warning information to purchaser:  Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
• Deposit:  $50
• Provisions specifically address disposable kegs.

Note:  Although Missouri does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s  
ID, it does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser, as 
well as the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law
• Wine:  No law
• Spirits:  No law

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.06 per gallon.
• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.42 per gallon.
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $2.00 per gallon.

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—a quantity discount may be granted only for quantities of

two or more.  Such discounts may be graduated but may not exceed 1 percent. 
• Minimum markup/Maximum discount:  Yes—1 percent for time of payment; no sales

below cost.  
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—a quantity discount may be granted only for quantities of

two or more.  Such discounts may be graduated but may not exceed 1 percent. 
• Minimum markup/Maximum discount:  Yes—1 percent for time of payment; no sales below

cost.   
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum
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Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts:  Restricted—a quantity discount may be granted only for quantities of

two or more.  Such discounts may be graduated but may not exceed 1 percent.
• Minimum markup/Maximum discount:  Yes—1 percent for time of payment; no sales below

cost.
• Price posting requirements:  Post and hold—1 month minimum
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—30 days maximum
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Missouri State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Missouri Department of Public Safety 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

The Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) grant in Missouri funds a State Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control Special Agent position.  The person who holds this position is responsible for 
training EUDL and Division of Highway Safety subgrantees as requested.  The special agent 
provides training at the EUDL Compliance Seminar, collects and reviews compliance check reports 
from the subgrantees, and refers for state administrative action if warranted.  This position also 
provides training to retail merchants on the proper service of alcoholic beverages, and participates in 
local and statewide initiatives. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Department of Public 
Safety, Division of 

Alcohol and Tobacco 
Control 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 11,247 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Data not collected 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

No 
No data 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks  278 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 245 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $64,400 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 32 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 72 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Additional Clarification   
Compliance checks are not tracked for the entire state.  The figure (278) given for number of licensees 
that failed local compliance checks represents the number of violations the Division of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control processed for Sales to a Minor during the year that ended June 30, 2011. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Partners in Prevention (PIP) 

Number of youth served 122,000 
Number of parents served 30,000 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:  
URL for more program information:  

400 
06/30/2011 Yes 

Yes 
Upon request 

http://pip.missouri.edu 

Program description:  PIP is an established statewide substance abuse prevention coalition of Missouri 
universities implementing evidence-based strategies to reduce binge and underage drinking among 
students at participating institutions of higher education.  The coalition began as a consortium of 13 
public universities, and, in 2009-2010, expanded to include 7 additional private institutions.  Since 2001, 
PIP has effectively reduced binge drinking and underage drinking behavior on campuses throughout the 
state and has been nationally recognized for its efforts. 

Missouri’s Youth Adult Alliance (MYAA) 
Number of youth served 963 
Number of parents served 226 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for report: Upon request 
URL for more program information:   http://www.myaa.org 

Program description:  MYAA is a statewide coalition that assists local community efforts in addressing 
underage drinking.  Its mission is to encourage advocates to reduce youth access to alcohol by 
implementing environmental and social change in their communities.  Membership in MYAA consists  
of other agencies as well as other adults and youth interested in reducing underage drinking. 
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Missouri School-Based Substance Abuse Prevention Intervention and Resources Initiative 
(SPIRIT) 

URL for more program information:  http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/SPIRIT.htm 

Program description:  In 2002, the Missouri Department of Mental Health (DMH) Division of Alcohol and 
Drug Abuse (ADA) launched SPIRIT.  This project proposes to delay the onset and decrease the use of 
substances, improve overall school performance, and reduce incidents of violence.  To achieve these 
goals, prevention agencies are paired with participating school districts to provide technical assistance in 
implementing evidence-based substance abuse prevention programming and referral and assessment 
services as needed.  The project offers a variety of evidence-based prevention programs selected by the 
districts. 

Regional Support Center (RSC) Network and Community Coalitions 
URL for more program information:  http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/prevention.htm 

Program description:  RSCs are the primary sources of technical assistance support for community 
coalitions.  The goal of the RSC is to facilitate development of teams capable of making changes in 
substance use patterns in their communities.  Each RSC has a prevention specialist who works directly 
with the teams in his or her area and assists with the development of teams and task forces in 
communities that desire them.  Community coalitions comprise a network of volunteer community teams 
that focus solely on alcohol, tobacco, and drug issues as a part of a broad mission and/or array of 
services.  Organization and development of community coalitions were initiated in 1987.  Each coalition 
is composed of community volunteers from the area served.  Coalitions receive technical assistance and 
training from the RSC on a variety of topics related to organization, development, and implementation of 
prevention strategies.  The RSC and community coalitions implement various evidence-based strategies 
and programs. 

Direct Prevention Services for High-Risk Youth 
URL for more program information:  http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/DirectPreventionProviders.htm 
Program description:  No data 

St.  Louis Arc Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Prevention Project 
URL for more program information:  http://www.slarc.org 
Program description:  No data 

Drug Abuse Resistance Education (DARE) Officer Training (through the Missouri 
Police Chiefs Association) 

URL for more program information:  http://www.mopca.com 
Program description:  No data 

State of Missouri Alcohol Responsibility Training (SMART) Program 
URL for more program information:  http://wellness.missouri.edu/SMART 
Program description:  No data 

CHEERS to the Designated Driver Program 
URL for more program information:  http://wellness.missouri.edu/CHEERS 
Program description:  No data 

Team Spirit Program 
URL for more program information:  http://www.saveMOlives.com 
Program description:  No data 

Doc-u-Dramas 
URL for more program information:  http://www.saveMOlives.com 
Program description:  No data 

Never Say Never Media Campaign 
URL for more program information:  http://www.saveMOlives.com 
Program description:  No data 
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Statewide Training and Resource Center (ACT Missouri) 
URL for more program information:  
dmh.mo.gov/ada/progs/StatewideTrainingandResourceCenter.htm 
Program description:  No data 

Underage Drinking law enforcement training 
URL for more program information:  Not applicable 
Program description:  No data 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribes 

Program description Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Program description:  Missouri has many coalitions around the state that provide workshops and 
activities addressing youth exposure to alcohol advertising and marketing. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description:  ADA requires providers to use evidence-based programs and 
environmental strategies.  The SAMHSA publication, Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based 
Interventions for Substance Abuse Prevention, serves as a guide, which provides the following 
definition for evidence-based programs: 

• Inclusion in a federal list or registry of evidence-based interventions.
• Being reported (with positive effects) in a peer-reviewed journal.
• Documentation of effectiveness based on the following guidelines:

− Guideline 1:  The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic
or conceptual model. 

− Guideline 2:  The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in 
registries and/or the peer-reviewed literature. 

− Guideline 3:  The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively 
implemented in the past, and multiple times, in a manner attentive to Identifying and Selecting 
Evidence-Based Interventions scientific standards of evidence and with results that show a 
consistent pattern of credible and positive effects. 

− Guideline 4:  The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed 
prevention experts that includes well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in 
evaluating prevention interventions similar to those under review, local prevention practitioners, 
and key community leaders as appropriate (e.g., officials from law enforcement and education 
sectors or elders within indigenous cultures).   

Missouri uses the Strategic Prevention Framework model to implement the four guidelines.  The 
process includes:   

• Assessment of the community’s needs and readiness.
• Capacity building to mobilize and address the needs of the community.
• Development of a prevention plan to identify the activities, programs, and strategies necessary to

address the needs.
• Implementation of the prevention plan.
• Evaluation of the results to achieve sustainability and cultural competence.

Missouri identifies appropriate strategies based on validated research, empirical evidence of 
effectiveness, and the use of local, state, and federal key community prevention leaders such as 
National Prevention Network, Southwest Regional Expert Team, and SAMHSA’s Center for 
Substance Abuse Prevention. 
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Additional Clarification 

None given 

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Alicia Ozenberger, Deputy Director, ACT Missouri 
E-mail:  aozenberger@actmissouri.org 
Address:  428 E. Capitol, Second Floor, Jefferson City, MO 65101 
Phone:  573-635-6669 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Department of Public Safety 
Department of Health and Senior Services 
Division of Highway Safety 
Partners in Prevention 
Preferred Family Healthcare 
Pathways Community Behavioral Healthcare 
National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse 
First Call 
Community Partnership of the Ozarks 
Southeast Missouri State University 
Family Counseling Center of Missouri 
Prevention Consultants of Missouri 
Tri-County Mental Health Services 
Family Counseling Center, Inc. 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities 
URL or other means of access 

   Yes 
http://www.myaa.org 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Missouri Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse, with guidance from the State Advisory 
Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse 

Plan can be accessed via: http://dmh.mo.gov/docs/ada/Progs/Prevention/ 
StrategicPlanforPrevention2010.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: Missouri Institute of Mental Health, evaluation staff of the Strategic Prevention 

Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF SIG) 
Plan can be accessed via: Available upon request 

Additional Clarification 

Underage drinking is one of the priorities in Missouri’s Strategic Plan for Prevention.  

Missouri’s SPF SIG grant ended in September 2010, and a final report was developed acknowledging 
activities, outcomes, and lessons learned.  The priority under that grant was to reduce risky drinking 
(binge and underage) in 12- to 25-year-olds. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
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Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $591,342 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  Merchant Education and Training 
Estimate of state funds expended $300,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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Montana 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts* 

State Population:  998,199
Population Ages 12–20:  117,000 

Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20 

Past-Month Alcohol Use 34.2 40,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 23.9 28,000 

 Ages 12–14 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 8.4 3,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 4.2 1,000 

 Ages 15–17 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 33.2 13,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 23.9 000 

 Ages 18–20 
Past-Month Alcohol Use 56.8 24,000 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 40.5 17,000 

 Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 19 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,136 

Percentage of All 
Traffic Fatalities Number 

Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers 
with BAC > 0.01 34.0 14 

* See Appendix C for data sources.

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 561



State Reports – Montana

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian

Note:  The parental exception to Montana’s possession and consumption statute applies only  
to alcohol supplied and consumed in a “nonintoxicating quantity.”  In Montana, “intoxicating 
quantity” is defined as a quantity “sufficient to produce a blood, breath, or urine alcohol 
concentration in excess of 0.05 or substantial or visible mental or physical impairment” (see 
Mont. Code Ann. §§ 16-6-305, 45-5-6240. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian

Note:  The parental exception to Montana’s possession and consumption statute applies only to 
alcohol supplied and consumed in a “nonintoxicating quantity.”  In Montana, “intoxicating 
quantity” is defined as a quantity “sufficient to produce a blood, breath, or urine alcohol 
concentration in excess of 0.05 or substantial or visible mental or physical impairment” (see 
Mont. Code Ann. §§ 16-6-305, 45-5-624). 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits:  Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit:  0.02
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
• Applies to drivers under age 21
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Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage possession
• Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 30 days

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age:  14 years, 6 months
• Minimum learner stage period:  6 months
• Minimum supervised driving requirement:  50 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age:  15
• Unsupervised night driving

– Prohibited after:  11 p.m.
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

• Passenger restrictions exist:  For first 6 months, no more than one unrelated passenger under
18 unless supervised by a driver at least 18 years old.  For second 6 months, no more than
three unrelated passengers under 18 unless supervised by a driver at least 18 years old
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions:  16

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):   
• Parent/guardian

Note:  The parental exception applies to the provision of alcohol in a “nonintoxicating quantity.”  
In Montana, “intoxicating quantity“ is defined as a quantity “sufficient to produce a blood, 
breath, or urine alcohol concentration in excess of 0.05 or substantial or visible mental or 
physical impairment” (see Mont. Code Ann. § 16-6-305). 

Compliance Check Protocols 
No data 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions:  3 years 
First offense:  $250 fine 
Second offense:  $1,000 fine 
Third offense:  $1,500 fine and 20-day license suspension 
Fourth offense:  License revocation 
Note:  Lists of aggravating and mitigating factors are provided. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Provisions 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
• Applies to both new and existing outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18
• Wine:  18
• Spirits:  18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Wine:  18 for both servers and bartenders
• Spirits:  18 for both servers and bartenders

Distance Limitations for New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities and Schools 

Colleges and Universities 
No distance limitation  

Primary and Secondary Schools 
Prohibitions against outlet siting: 
• Off-premises outlets:  No
• On-premises outlets:  Yes—within 600 feet
• Alcohol products:  Beer, wine, spirits
• Exceptions:  Commercially operated schools

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on damages:  $250,000 noneconomic damages per person and $250,000

punitive damages per person 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:  
• Limitations on damages:  $250,000 noneconomic damages per person and $250,000

punitive damages per person 
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Host Party Laws 
No state-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol  
Retailer interstate shipments are prohibited for all types of beverages. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer or wine with the 
following restrictions:   

Age Verification Requirements:  None 

State Approval/Permit Requirements 
• Producer/shipper must obtain state permit.

Reporting Requirements:  None 

Shipping Label Statement Requirements:  None 
Note:  An out-of-state brewer or winery desiring to ship beer or wine to an individual in Montana 
shall register with the Montana Department of Revenue.  An individual seeking to receive such a 
shipment for personal consumption must obtain a connoisseur’s license.  The licensee must 
forward to the out-of-state brewer or winery a distinctive address label, provided by the 
department, clearly identifying any package that is shipped as a legal direct-shipment package to 
the holder of a connoisseur’s license.   

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition:  Not less than 7 gallons
• Prohibited:  Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail:  $500/6 months
• Purchaser information collected:

– Purchaser’s name and address
– Verified by a government-issued ID

• Warning information to purchaser:  Passive—no purchaser action required
• Deposit:   Not required
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer:  No law
• Wine:  No law
• Spirits:  No law

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 565



State Reports – Montana

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol):  Specific excise tax is $0.14 per gallon.  Reported tax rate is the

rate for brewers who produce more than 20,000 barrels of beer per year.  Omitted are the tax
rates for brewers who produce 20,000 barrels of beer or less per year.

• Wine (12 percent alcohol):  Control state
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol):  Control state

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—7 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit:  Restricted—7 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control state
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Montana State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Local law enforcement 
Methods by which local and state enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 
No data    
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No data 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by state law enforcement agencies 2,146 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities Data not collected 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies Data not collected 
Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks  Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 

Yes 
568 

Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 144 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state3 213 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $80,783 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 03/31/2012 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state4 No data 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 
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Additional Clarification  

None given 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors. 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Student Behavior Contracts 

Number of youth served 10 
Number of parents served 36 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   Aggregate data report is available 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  Student Behavior Contracts - Block Grant and Strategic Prevention Framework 
(SPF):  Youth pledge to be alcohol free.  These numbers are reported in number of initiatives and 
“dosage” for the initiative.  Actual number of students is not available. 

Media Literacy 
Number of youth served 10,256 
Number of parents served 686 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   Aggregate data report is available 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  Media Literacy - Block Grant and SPF includes teaching youth and stakeholder 
groups about alcohol industry media campaigns and components, how to analyze advertisements, and 
how to construct effective countermedia campaigns. 

Alcohol, Tobacco, and Drug Education 
Number of youth served 2,569 
Number of parents served 1,408 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Aggregate data report available for number of participants at 
events/trainings; pre/post assessments of each event are available 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  Alcohol, Tobacco, and Drug Education - Block Grant Only:  Presentations provide 
school-age youth (and adult stakeholders) with direct information on brain development and the 
dangers/consequences of underage drinking. 
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Coalition Building 
Number of youth served 282 
Number of parents served 5,920 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Some aggregate data available on communities using the Communities 
That Care model 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program description:  Coalition building via the Communities That Care model - Block Grant only 

Drug Free Activities 
Number of youth served 2,692 
Number of parents served 1,414 
Number of caregivers served No response 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Numbers of participants in events/activities 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program description:  Drug Free Activities - Block Grant Only:  Special events such as Red Ribbon 
Week, “alcohol free prom” prom pledges, etc. 

Merchant Education 
Number of youth served 8 
Number of parents served 3,950 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  Aggregate data available upon request for number of events/participants 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program description:  Merchant Education - Block Grant and SPF included reward and reminder; retail 
alcohol sales; and server training on local level in concert with Montana Department of Revenue.  The 
2011 Montana Legislature passed a bill on mandatory server training, subsequently increasing the 
number of people who serve or sell alcohol beverages trained.  The Montana Department of Revenue, 
in concert with the Block Grant–funded Prevention Specialists, trained 16,322 adults above and beyond 
the parent number indicated in the state curriculum, “Let’s Control It.” 

Alcohol Policy Efforts 
Number of youth served 223,563 
Number of parents served 112,154* 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 

URL for evaluation report:  Montana Community Change Project (SPF) Final Report:  
http://www.bber.umt.edu/pubs/health/Evaluation_of_Implementation_and_Outcomes_Final.pdf 

URL for more program information:  No data 
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Program description:  Alcohol Policy Efforts - Block Grant and SPF:  A total of 25 alcohol abuse–related 
bills were introduced in Montana’s 2011 Legislative Session, and 8 passed.  In past sessions, alcohol-
related bills introduced included many similar to those that were presented in 2011.  In the 2009 
session, all driving under the influence (DUI)–specific bills died in committee.  Thus, the 2011 session 
saw unprecedented action on DUI laws.  These changes are universal prevention efforts affecting the 
entire population.   

* Number of family households based on 2010 Census data.

Substance Abuse Prevention Specialist Training (SAPST) 
Number of youth served 0 
Number of parents served 198 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Participant pre/post tests can be accessed to measure increases in 
knowledge 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program description:  SAPST Training - Block Grant only:  Provided to community stakeholders, 
substance abuse prevention workers, etc. 

Alcohol Compliance Checks 
Number of youth served 0 
Number of parents served 613 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:   Available upon request 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  Block Grant and SPF resulted in 128 compliance checks.  Enforcement of 
Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) resulted in 485 compliance checks.  These are contracted to a local 
provider, who then coordinates local compliance checks in concert with law enforcement and local DUI 
Task Forces.  The total number of compliance checks conducted was 613. 

Enforcement—not EUDL 
Number of youth served 119* 
Number of parents served 5,966* 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Specific outcomes on activities 
  under this program effort are available 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program description:  Enforcement (not EUDL) is funded by Block Grant/SPF and includes:  deterrence 
theory training (87 youth and 1,010 parents), Minor in Possession (MIP) enforcement activities, court 
watch, creating cross-jurisdictional law enforcement units, dedicating probation officers to youth, and 
implementing compliance checks (Social and Retail Availability numbers:  32 youth and 4,956 parents).  
The total MIPs for 2011 in Montana for youth under age 18 came to 2,146.   

* Numbers combined for deterrence and social/retail availability.
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Restrict Alcohol 
Number of youth served 19 
Number of parents served 204 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Individual communities have evaluated success and individual 
community reports are available. 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  Restrict Alcohol - Block Grant and SPF:  Restriction of alcohol at special events 
and signage/product placement in retail establishments. 

Social Host Laws and Initiatives 
Number of youth served 5,445* 
Number of parents served 9,056* 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Three communities have passed 
  social host laws, with a statewide bill pending in Montana’s legislature 
URL for more program information:   No data 

Program description:  Social host laws and initiatives focus mostly on local social host ordinances, 
preliminary work for a statewide social host law being enacted.  Three reservations and three 
nonreservation communities have already passed and adopted social host laws in Montana, for a  
total of six.   

* Same numbers working on the social host laws and initiatives as in 2010.

Respect the Cage—Montana Department of Transportation 
Number of youth served 1,077 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:  

     Not applicable 
http://www.respectthecage.com 

URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  The “Respect the Cage” safety exhibit grew out of the 2008 successful video 
creation entitled “Room to Live.”  This video tells the story of two young Montana men who were 
involved in an alcohol-related rollover crash in 2007.  The driver, who was wearing his seatbelt, walked 
away from the mangled car.  His best friend and passenger, a married father of two who wasn’t buckled 
up, died.  (See the “Room to Live” video at http://www.mdt.mt.gov/mdt/room_to_live.shtml for more on 
this story.) 

This exhibit is a comprehensive traveling educational and advocacy effort, and includes the following 
components:   
• The crashed vehicle from “Room to Live.”
• Two pickup trucks wrapped in “Respect the Cage – Buckle Up” graphics.  The trucks pull trailers

carrying the crashed vehicle and a rollover simulator.
• The “Room to Live” video, which plays inside the trailer.
• A rollover simulator:  A compact pickup truck cab affixed to a two-axle low-profile trailer.

Acceleration and braking control systems spin the cab to simulate a rollover vehicle crash, and a
crash-test dummy gets ejected from the vehicle.
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• “Fastest Belt in the West” buckle-up contest.
• Prizes and giveaways.

The exhibit primarily targets men ages 18 through 34.  Montana statistics show that this group has a 
greater danger of being fatally injured in traffic crashes.  The Respect the Cage theme borrows 
language and images from mixed martial arts fighting, which is currently popular among young men.   
To increase the appeal, the exhibit is staffed by college-age interns.  Staffers report that younger people 
have been receptive to the message.  The crew attended approximately 48 single-day and 8 multiday 
events this year; they had direct conversational contact with 22,840 people and an estimated indirect 
contact with over 56,667 people across Montana.  Respect the Cage was involved in much smaller 
events this past year including more driver’s education classes (1,077 students) and small county fairs 
in order to reach different and more rural populations in Montana. 

DUI Task Forces—Montana Department of Transportation funded 
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 

       URL for more program information:  http://www.mdt.mt.gov/safety/dui_taskforces.shtml 

Program description:  DUI task forces are multifaceted coalitions that invite participation from a cross-
section of community representatives to maximize their reach and effectiveness.  The task forces 
operate at the county level to reduce and prevent impaired driving, and they may engage in a variety of 
activities such as: 
• Responsible alcohol sales and service training.
• Retail compliance checks.
• Party and kegger patrols.
• Overtime traffic patrols.
• Educational programs.
• Media advocacy.
• Public service announcements.
• Victims impact panels.
• Support for prosecution and adjudication of DUI cases.
• Designated driver programs.
• Safe ride home programs.

Estimating the number of youth served in this program is impossible.  Thirty-four task forces 
representing 38 counties serve two thirds of Montana’s most populated counties.  These are community-
based programs over which the Montana Department of Transportation (MDT) has no control.  Annual 
reporting to the county commission is required by MCA 61-2-106 but is not required to be provided to 
the state. 

Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws—Montana Board of Crime Control 

Number of youth served 223,563 
Number of parents served 112,154* 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 
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Program description:  The EUDL program (federal funds of approximately $300,000) supported and 
enhanced efforts by the State of Montana and local jurisdictions to prohibit the sale of alcoholic 
beverages to minors and the purchase and consumption of alcoholic beverages by minors.  The 
Montana EUDL grant funded compliance checks/decoy operations, checkpoints/saturation patrols, small 
media campaigns, and local community coalition work.  Future EUDL funding is unknown.  Universal 
data are collected but not by subcategory, so total number served is based on 2010 Census data.   

* Number of Montana family households

ParentPower 
No data 
2,534 

No data 
12/31/2011 

No 
Not applicable 

Number of youth served 
Number of parents served 
Number of caregivers served 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 
Program has been evaluated 
Evaluation report is available 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.parentpower.mt.gov 

Program description:  ParentPower is a collaborative effort by the Montana Interagency Coordinating 
Council (ICC) for State Prevention Programs to create and sustain a coordinated, comprehensive 
system of prevention services in Montana.  ParentPower is an online parent toolbox for addressing 
underage drinking.  We are only able to gather the number of visits to the website, and this is reported in 
the parents served line.  Additionally, throughout 2011, two rounds of the Parentpower Public Service 
Announcements were run on the statewide cable network (Bresnan) and the largest radio network 
(Northern Broadcast), and some local TV and radio stations.  The two rounds occurred during the spring 
(prom, graduation time), and just before the winter holidays and New Year.  The purpose of the PSAs 
was to remind parents to talk to their youth about not engaging in underage drinking.  Also, during 2011, 
Montana was fortunate to receive the opportunity to create a CSAP Video for Montana:  Keep Talking. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Montana Department of Transportation-Funded Programs With Highway Traffic 
Safety Resources 

URL for more program information:  http://www.mdt.mt.gov/safety/impaired.shtml 

Program description:  The Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) MDT funded 
DPHHS Addictive and Mental Disorders Division/Chemical Dependency Bureau to implement PRIME for 
Life, an evidence-based program, as the curriculum for DUI offenders.  The program is self-sustaining 
through the collection of workbook fees from DUI offenders (this pays for ongoing instructor trainings).  
Some MIP offender programs have adopted PRIME for Life as their curriculum.   

DUI Task Forces:  Many of Montana’s DUI Task Forces sponsor responsible alcohol sales and service 
training within communities using “Let’s Control It,” a server training program designed by the 
Department of Revenue (DOR).  This program trains those who sell/serve alcoholic beverages how to 
keep from overserving obviously intoxicated patrons, how to identify underage patrons, etc.  Training of 
trainers is provided to a cohort of preventionists across Montana who reside in local communities. 

DUI Task Forces, fiscal year (FFY) 2011–2012:  MDT provided supplemental funding to many of 
Montana’s DUI Task Forces to conduct a variety of projects.  These include Cops In Shops, a Century 
Council program aimed at reducing underage purchases; extra law enforcement patrols; compliance 
checks of retail establishments (to determine whether the clerk/server will sell alcohol to a minor); Cops 
‘n Shops educational program; additional RASS (responsible alcohol service and sales) training; youth 
participants on the local task forces, which may incorporate a peer-to-peer education component; and a 
variety of other programs to reduce impaired driving and underage drinking.   

DUI Courts:  MDT funds DUI Court implementation in five courts that include Kalispell, Mineral County, 
Fort Peck Reservation, Yellowstone County, and 7th Judicial District (a five-county area in eastern 
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Montana).  Several other treatment courts throughout the state address the underlying addiction 
associated with DUI offenders.  Some of the court participants are under age 21.   

Law Enforcement:  MDT contracts with local, Tribal, and state law enforcement to conduct overtime 
traffic patrols via the Selective Traffic Enforcement Program (STEP).  MDT also contracts with state, 
local, and Tribal law enforcement to purchase enforcement equipment to aid in the detection and 
apprehension of impaired drivers.  This includes radars, in-car video cameras, and preliminary breath 
testers (PBTs).   

Missoula City/County Health Department:  MDT funds a half-time coordinator to increase the total 
number of counties with DUI task forces in the state and to continue promoting consistency and unity 
among existing DUI task forces.  At present, there are 34 task forces representing 38 counties; the goal 
is to have a DUI Task Force in each of Montana’s 56 counties.   

Montana Highway Patrol (MHP):  MDT partnered with MHP to provide Standard Field Sobriety Testing 
(SFST) training and Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) training to state, local 
and Tribal law enforcement.  MDT provides funding to MHP to train state, local, and Tribal law 
enforcement officers to become certified Drug Recognition Experts (DREs).  MHP deploys the Mobile 
Impaired Driving Assessment Center (MIDAC) to large community events where alcohol is prevalent 
such as fairs, rodeos, concerts, and university athletic events.  MDT originally funded the purchase of 
the MIDAC and funds the MHP to provide a Strategic Traffic Enforcement Team (STET) known as 
“roving patrols” to supplement local law enforcement resources on high-crash corridors, at special 
events, and in other problem areas indicated by crash data. 

Media:  MDT contracts with media companies to develop educational messages for the public during 
National Labor Day Impaired Driving and May Mobilization Seatbelt Campaigns.   

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor (TRSP):  The TSRP is funded by MDT to provide training for law 
enforcement and prosecutors to enhance the consistent identification, arrest, prosecution, and 
sentencing of impaired drivers and underage drinkers.   

Tribal Governments Safe On All Roads (SOAR):  This traffic safety program aims to reduce impaired 
driving and riding with an impaired driver while increasing seatbelt and child safety seat usage.  The 
program works through Tribal coordinators to provide messages that are culturally relevant for each 
Tribe. 

Prevention Resource Center AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteer in Service to America) Program and 
CSAP Fellow Program 

URL for more program information:  http://www.prevention.mt.gov 

Program description:  The VISTA Project connects Montana communities, the Interagency Coordinating 
Council for State Prevention Programs, and AmeriCorps volunteers throughout the State of Montana.  It 
strives to keep Montana children, communities, and families strong and resilient against risks such as 
unintended and unhealthy pregnancies, child abuse and neglect, substance abuse, crime and violence, 
and high school dropouts.  The VISTA Project works proactively to create and sustain conditions that 
reduce risk and promote the safety, personal responsibility, and well-being of all.  There are VISTAs in 
many sites throughout the state.  VISTAs serve for 1 year, full time, typically at a community-based 
organization, and work toward building capacity and sustainable programs to eradicate poverty.  Sites 
affecting underage drinking include those at Boys and Girls Clubs, Big Brother/Big Sister programs, local 
prevention coalitions, and health departments. 

CSAP Fellow Program:  The Montana CSAP Fellow has worked on projects specific to Montana to 
include:  developing strategies to involve youth in statewide prevention policy discussions, improving 
relationships and an understanding of cultural diversity with rural/frontier and Indian communities, 
conducting media advocacy training, assessing statewide data and conducting research on substance 
abuse prevention initiatives and strategies; and convening a committee to evaluate the current Montana 
MIP statute.  The CSAP Fellow was instrumental in writing content, participating in, and distributing the 
Montana CSAP video:  Keep Talking Montana:  You Can Prevent Underage Drinking. 
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State of Montana National Guard Counter Drug Program 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program description:  No data    

Montana Tobacco Use Program 
URL for more program information:  http://tobaccofree.mt.gov 

Program description:  No data    

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs 
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Through Montana’s Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
(SAPT) Block Grants and the SPF SIG grants, collaboration occurs on the local level.  Specific 
collaborations include:   

• The Governor’s Office on Indian Affairs Director is an active member of the state’s Interagency
Coordinating Council for State Prevention Programs.  Her leadership has strengthened relationships,
communication, and collaboration.

• Blackfeet Piikani Action Team following the completion of their grant as a SPF SIG contractor
working on Tribal social host laws; responsible alcohol sales and server training (RASS) performed
by Tribal members; merchant education policies; court watch; and a cross-jurisdictional law
enforcement agreement signed by Tribal Council and Glacier County Sheriff’s Department.

• Ft. Peck Reservation is part of the Alcohol District II SPF SIG grant, and the first alcohol compliance
checks in 3 years have taken place and are continuing.  Tribal agencies are working with nonprofit
agencies to collect and track data in a more comprehensive fashion.  A DUI Court Offender
Treatment Program has been implemented on the Reservation, RASS training is provided by Tribal
members, and DUI laws on the Reservation have been amended to make the third DUI in a lifetime
a felony.  And, 2011, Ft. Peck passed a reservationwide social host ordinance that took the
cooperation of local, county and Tribal governments.

• Flathead Reservation was part of the Northwest Montana Community Change Project SPF SIG and
has implemented stepped-up DUI patrols over major holidays as a cross-jurisdicional effort.  RASS
training has also been implemented.

• Following the completion of Montana’s SPF, an information sharing and transfer of knowledge,
strategies, and initiatives from contractors working on and/or near reservations was conducted with
the newly establish SPF TIG grantee and their staff.

• The State Level Epidemiological Work Group for the State SPF has cross-representation with the
Montana Wyoming Tribal Leaders Council SPF SIG.  This work is enabling the transition of
information and data from one grant to the other.

The State Level Strategic Prevention Enhancement (SPE) consortium has cross-representation from 
Montana Tribes to include both prevention and treatment providers, and the SPF SIG grant. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Program description:  Not applicable 

No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 
Additional Clarification 

Montana is looking toward developing best practicies and promising approaches in the rural and frontier 
areas of the state that are culturally appropriate.  Very few best practices are available to a rural and 
frontier state such as Montana.  This work is anticipated to be ongoing. 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 575



State Reports – Montana

State Interagency Collaboration 
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name:  Vicki Turner 
E-mail:  vturner@mt.gov 
Address:  PO Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210 
Phone:  406-444-3484 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Public Health and Human Safety 
Department of Corrections 
Department of Labor and Industry 
Department of Transportation  
Department of Revenue 
Department of Military Affairs 
Montana Board of Crime Control 
Montana Children’s Trust Fund 
Montana Office of Public Instruction 
Governor’s Office of Indian Affairs 
Montana Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education 
Two Governor-appointed community members 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  prevention.mt.gov/icc/index.php 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  The Interagency Coordinating Council for State Prevention Programs Work Group 
and Prevention Resource Center staff 

Plan can be accessed via:  
http://prevention.mt.gov/icc/meetings/nov012011meeting/ICCWorkplandraft2011through2013.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  The Interagency Coordinating Council for State Prevention Programs Work Group 

Plan can be accessed via:  
prevention.mt.gov/icc/meetings/nov012011meeting/ICCdraftagendaonOctober122011.pdf 

Additional Clarification 

The Interagency Coordinating Council (ICC) for State Prevention Programs updates goals and 
benchmarks; see http://prc.mt.gov/icc/goals/index.php.  The Council’s work group has established new 
goals for 2020.  Reporting of underage drinking is provided through updates and reports given via ICC 
meetings and media. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets: 

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 
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K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system: 
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included:  Public Education and advertising media campaign 
Estimate of state funds expended $16,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2011 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking 
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
No data 

Additional Clarification 

None given 
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