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New York 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts 

State Population: 19,378,102 
Population Ages 12–20: 2,448,000 

     
 Percentage Number 

Ages 12–20            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 32.0   784,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 19.7   483,000 

Ages 12–14                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 6.1    44,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.2   16,000 

 Ages 15–17                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.0   226,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.0   137,000 

 Ages 18–20                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 56.2   513,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 36.2   331,000 
 
    Number 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)      196 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)    11,618 
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  Percentage of  Number 
  All Traffic 
   Fatalities 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers  
with BAC > 0.01 19.0    36 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

Note: New York does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but the State does 
prohibit purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol by using false evidence of age. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• The State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and 

other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards. 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit: 0.02  
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age: 16   
• Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—15 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age: 16 years, 6 months 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after: 9 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger younger than 21, unless 
accompanied by parent or instructor 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17 

Note: New York has certain regional restrictions that apply to the five boroughs of New York 
City and Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, and Putnam counties. These restrictions are 
not provided here.  

The New York DMV issues a limited-use junior license to a junior driver (under 18) who passes 
a road test during the first 6 months (i.e., within the mandatory 6-month holding period) after the 
learner permit was issued. A limited-use junior license allows the junior driver to drive without 
supervision between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. and within specific geographical boundaries for purposes 
related to school, employment, medical care, or child care. This would then convert to an 
intermediate-stage license at the end of the mandatory 6-month holding period. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum: 18 
• Maximum: 20.5 

Appearance Requirements 
• Should look age-appropriate 

ID Possession 
• Discretionary 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Permitted 

Decoy Training 
• Mandated 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions: Five years 
• First offense: $3,000 if the minor was age 19 or older; $3,500 if the minor was at least 16 

years old  
Note: If the licensee has been licensed for at least 5 years, the proposed penalty may be reduced 
by $500. If the licensee is a package or wine store, the proposed penalty must be increased by 
$500. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments. 
• The law does not specify new or existing outlets. 

Incentive for Training 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Note: In certain proceedings to revoke, cancel, or suspend a retail license based on furnishing to 
a minor, it can be an affirmative defense that at the time of the violation the person who 
committed the alleged violation held a valid certificate of completion or renewal from an entity 
authorized to give and administer an alcohol training awareness program, and that the licensee 
had diligently implemented and complied with all of the provisions of the approved training 
program. The licensee is required to prove each element of the affirmative defense by a 
preponderance of the credible evidence. 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: Not specified 
• Wine: Not specified 
• Spirits: 18 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
Statutory liability exists. 

Host Party Laws 
No State-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
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Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:  

Age Verification Requirements   
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State Approval/Permit Requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain State permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting Requirements 
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Note: Direct sales/shipments permitted only for wineries in States that afford New York wineries 
a reciprocal shipping privilege.  

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer: Permitted—beer deliveries limited to 5 gallons. Delivery vehicles must be clearly 

marked. 
• Wine: Permitted—delivery vehicles must be clearly marked. 
• Spirits: Permitted—delivery vehicles must be clearly marked. 

Alcohol Tax 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax: $0.14 per gallon 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax: $0.30 per gallon 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Specific excise tax: $6.44 per gallon—$2.54 per gallon for alcohol content of 24 percent 

ABV or less. 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages: Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited  
• Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages: Prohibited  
• Increased volume: Not prohibited 
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Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—25 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum; payment is required from certain retail beer 

and wine licensees (i.e., those who purchase beer and/or wine for resale for on and off 
premises consumption but not including licensees who sell liquor and/or wine for off 
premises consumption) within 25 days. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum 
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New York State Survey Responses 

 

State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

State Liquor Authority and NY State Police 
Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

No data 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies  Unknown 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No 

Number of minors found in possession by State law enforcement agencies Data not collected 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Data not collected 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies 1,398 
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 123 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Unknown 

Data are collected on these activities Unknown 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies No data 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the State3 1,133 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $4,473,750 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the State4 59 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 106 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
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Additional Clarification   

For item C.1 regarding FINES, this amount reflects civil fines and bond claims only; no data are 
available for criminal penalties.  

The New York State Liquor Authority (SLA) and its agency arm, the Division of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control (ABC), were established under New York State Law in 1934 to “regulate and control the 
manufacture and distribution within the state of alcoholic beverages ..” ABC’s responsibilities include: 
• Issuing licenses and permits for the manufacture, wholesale distribution, and retail sale of all 

alcoholic beverages. 
• Inspecting premises where alcoholic beverages are manufactured or sold. 
• Investigating licensees in connection with violations of the ABC Law, and working with local law 

enforcement agencies to ensure compliance with the ABC Law. 
• Conducting disciplinary proceedings and hearings, and revoking, canceling or suspending for cause, 

any license or permit and/or imposing monetary penalties where appropriate.  

State Police and SLA investigators and local law enforcement officers join forces as part of the State’s 
Underage Drinking Initiative, which unites law enforcement efforts statewide in ongoing investigations of 
underage sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages. The State’s Underage Drinking Initiative 
involves interagency intelligence gathering on underage drinking activities and regular monitoring of 
alcohol sales at retail establishments. In addition, an underage drinking hotline, 1-866-UNDER 21, was 
established to facilitate confidential and toll-free public reporting of underage drinking or notorious 
establishments. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per State statutes 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies 

 

 

  

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws  

Number of youth served 1,797 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://www.oasas.state.ny.us/pio/press/20100218EUDL.cfm 

Program description: Annual Block Grant from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 
(OJJDP) with the goal of preventing the purchase or consumption of alcoholic beverages by minors 
(under age 21). New York uses the money to fund local prevention programs with the requirement that 
they partner with law enforcement to conduct comprehensive environmental strategies designed to 
prevent and reduce underage drinking. Our goal is to reduce youth access and alcohol availability. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Life Skills Training 

URL for more program information http://www.lifeskillstraining.com/index.php 

Program description: No data 
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Too Good for Drugs 
URL for more program information http://www.mendezfoundation.org/too_good.php 

Program description: No data 
Project Alert 

URL for more program information http://www.projectalert.com 
Project Success 

URL for more program information http://www.sascorp.org/ 
Too Good For Violence 

URL for more program information http://www.mendezfoundation.org/too_good.php 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description: The Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services 
(OASAS) adheres to OJJDP best practices guidelines. Also, OASAS has established standards for 
delivery for evidence-based programs (EBPs) as follows: Beginning in 2011, all providers are 
required to dedicate a percentage of their OASAS resources to the delivery of EBPs. The EBP 
delivery standards will go into effect January 1, 2011 for calendar year providers and July 1, 2011 for 
NYC providers.  

Year EBP Minimum Standard for 2011 is 35 percent; for 2012, 40 percent; for 2013, 45 percent; for 
2014, 50 percent; for 2015, 55 percent; for 2016, 60 percent; for 2017, 65 percent; and for 2018, 70 
percent.  

As defined by OASAS, EBPs are practices that have been tested for effectiveness by research 
studies and found effective in reducing risk factors and enhancing protective factors that predict 
problem behaviors including substance use and abuse. The studies ideally use an experimental 
design or, at a minimum, a quasi-experimental design with matched comparison groups. The studies 
ideally are published in peer-reviewed journals or have been reviewed by a national research review 
panel, such as the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices (NREPP). To be 
accepted, the study must have shown significant and positive effects on substance use and/or the 
OASAS Prevention Framework for Risk and Protective Factors. The framework’s emphasis is on 
reducing the risk factors and enhancing the protective factors (both within individualized 
environments and within the shared environment) that have been demonstrated by research to be 
predictive of substance use.  

Evidence-based programs (model programs) and environmental strategies—for example, alcohol 
outlet compliance checks, alcohol outlet server training, social norms marketing, development and 
implementation of policies to reduce the availability and public use of alcohol—are classified by 
OASAS as EBPs. 

Additional Clarification  

No data  

State Interagency Collaboration  
A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 
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Committee contact information:  
Name: Scott Brady, OASAS, Director, Bureau of Prevention 
Email: scottbrady@oasas.state.ny.us 
Address: 1450 Western Ave., Albany, NY 12203 
Phone: 518-457-4384 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Members of the Advisory Council on Underage Alcohol Consumption 
Nelson Acquilano (Chair), Council on Alcoholism of the Finger Lakes 
Sgt. Douglas Pacquette (Vice Chair), New York State Police 
Linnea Olson, Alcoholism Council of New york 
Nancy Jones, Capital Region BOCES 
Laura Elliott-Engel, Gattaraugus Co. Council on Alcoholism & SA Inc. 
John Karzinski, Chief of Police—Gloversville (Retired) 
Flora Cassallas, Higher Education Consultant 
Ann Rhodes, Alcoholism and SA Council of Hamilton, Fulton, and Montgomery Counties 
Cynthia Gonzales, Community Board #7 
Richard Gallagher, Alcohol & Drug Dependency Services, Inc. 
Meredith L. Henderson, Binghamton, Deputy Secretary to President of the New York State Senate 
Beverly Alston, US Department of Commerce, Census Bureau  
Bruce Kelly, Office of the District Attorney, Westchester County  
Jaime R. Torres, DPM, MS  
Edward Olsen, EAC Substance Abuse Treatment Program  
Andrea Wanat, Erie Co. Council for Prevention of Alcohol & Substance Abuse  
Ellen Morehouse, Student Assistance Services  
Diane Gonzalez, Queens Village Committee for Mental Health 
J-CAP, Inc. 

A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access  http://www.oasas.state.ny.us/prevention/

documents/UDAdCouncilAR2009.pdf 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: OASAS 
Plan can be accessed via http://www.oasas.state.ny.us/GSI/Com

pliance/documents/StrategicPlan.pdf 
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: OASAS and Advisory Council on Underage Alcohol Consumption 
Report can be accessed via: http://www.oasas.state.ny.us/preventio

n/documents/UDAdCouncilAR2009.pdf 
Additional Clarification  

No data 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:  

Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 
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K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included Using Federal Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 

(SAPT) Block Grant funds, discretionary grants, and State funding, 
OASAS supports a range of primary prevention programs 
(Universal Direct, Universal Indirect, Selective, Indicated) 
statewide. 

Estimate of State funds expended $64,257,818 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 03/31/2009 

 
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:  

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: No data 
Additional Clarification  

No data 




