State Reports — New Jersey

New Jersey

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts

State Population: 8,791,894
Population Ages 12-20: 1,048,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 27.6 290,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.3 191,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 32 10,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.0 3,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 25.2 99,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.6 57,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 52.8 181,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 38.2 131,000
Number
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 84
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,984
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Percentage of Number
All Traffic
Fatalities
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC > 0.01 21.0 18

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location

Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Private location

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement
purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e [tis a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers
e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.01
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
e Applies to drivers under age 21.

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 180 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 16
e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months
e No minimum supervised driving requirement

Intermediate Stage

e Minimum age: 17

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 11:01 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one unrelated passenger under 21, unless
additional passengers are dependents of the driver
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

Time period/conditions: Not specified
First offense: 15-day license suspension
Second offense: 30-day license suspension
Third offense: 45-day license suspension
Fourth offense: License revocation

Note: Guidelines apply for sales to 18- to 20-year-olds. Penalties are doubled for sales to minors
under age 18. Department may accept a monetary offer in compromise for all or part of license
suspensions.
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Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Licensees, Managers
e Applies only to off-sale establishments
e Applies only to new outlets

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18
e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Social Host Liability Laws
There is no statutory liability.

Note: Componile v. Maybee held that a social host who furnishes excessive amounts of alcoholic
beverages to a visibly intoxicated minor, knowing the minor is about drive a car on the public
highways, may be liable to a third party injured in an automobile accident. At the Federal level,
the court in 4.B. v. Johnson held a social host owes a duty of care to not furnish or not
negligently provide alcohol to any of his guests that are minors, and in the event that a social
host does furnish alcohol to a minor and breaches his or her duty, that host may be held liable for
whatever reasonably foreseeable harm the provision of alcohol proximately caused.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Overt act—host must have
actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence.
e Exception(s): Family
Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Keg Registration
Registration is not required.
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Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted—delivery vehicles must display a transit insignia to identify the vehicle as
having authority to transport alcohol.

e Wine: Permitted—delivery vehicles must display a transit insignia to identify the vehicle as
having authority to transport alcohol.

e Spirits: Permitted—delivery vehicles must display a transit insignia to identify the vehicle as
having authority to transport alcohol.

Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.12 per gallon.
e Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.88 per gallon.
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $5.50 per gallon.

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Not prohibited—Ilicensee may offer a free drink on a case-by-case basis
Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited

Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing
Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e  Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e  Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e  Minimum markup/Maximum discount: Yes—no sales below cost
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum
e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum
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New Jersey State Survey Responses

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

New Jersey Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC)
Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:

State and local have dual jurisdiction; both agencies may choose to work independently or jointly.
Enforcement Strategies
State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct

sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by State law enforcement agencies 156
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if No
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Not applicable
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies Not applicable
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to No
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Not applicable
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors No
Number of fines imposed by the State® Data not collected
Total amount in fines across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments No
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the State* Data not collected
Total days of suspensions across all licensees Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 575



State Reports — New Jersey

Additional Clarification

A2&3 - ABC oversees a grant program for cops in shops for local law enforcement; provides training of
local law enforcement; and monitors grant.

A2 - ABC is State deconfliction; notified by local law enforcement.
A4 - Only State data are maintained.

'or having consumed or purchased per State statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
New Jersey State Childhood Drinking Coalition

Number of youth served 12,218
Number of parents served 5,626
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable
URL for more program information: http://www.njpn.org/programs-and-services/childhood-drinking-
initiative/

Program description: The New Jersey Prevention Network’s (NJPN’s) Statewide Childhood Drinking (CD)
Coalitions were developed to bring together key stakeholders to work together to prevent and reduce
underage drinking throughout the State. The CD Coalitions provide underage drinking prevention
programming to support environmental strategies that reduce early first use and, thus, the consequences
of consumption. NJPN coordinates a statewide coalition, and member agencies in every county
coordinate local CD coalitions (21 in total), partnering with agencies and organizations that work with or
support youth ages 8 to 14 and their families. Our program is designed to raise awareness about the
seriousness and consequences of underage drinking in each New Jersey county, strengthen our
statewide network of CD Coalitions, build their capacity to bring about changes in their communities, and
advocate for positive environmental change that will support underage drinking prevention efforts.

Each local CD Coalition:

e Recruits members to include a diverse participant group representative of their community.

o Implements environmental strategies that reduce alcohol use by youth, such as “Private Property
Ordinances,” 911 lifeline legislation, and community outreach programs (e.g., “Sticker Shock”).

e Observes Alcohol Awareness Month and uses town meetings to increase public awareness of the
dangers of underage drinking, targeting concerned professionals, parents, and young people.

e Conducts programs like “Parents Who Host, Lose the Most” to educate, alert, and inform parents
about the dangers of underage drinking and the serious consequences that can result in use by
young people.

e Uses evidence-based curriculum materials such as “Too Smart To Start” and “Reach Out Now” to
develop a youth program that will increase awareness of the dangers of youth alcohol use.
Facilitates workshops to raise awareness of the seriousness and dangers of underage drinking.
Advocates for policy changes related to underage drinking at State and local levels.

NJPN'’s CD Coalitions focus on preventing children ages 8 to 14 from engaging in underage drinking.
However, program activities also focus on educating youth’s spheres of influence—including parents,
professionals, and community members—on the dangers and consequences of underage drinking.
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Risk and protective factors addressed by the program: Our network of coalitions addresses a variety of

risk factors including:

e Community laws and norms favorable toward alcohol use (community risk factor).

e Parental attitudes and involvement in drug use (family risk factor).

e Friends who engage in the problem behavior and early initiation of the problem behavior (individual
risk factors).

Individuals Served to Date: On an annual basis, our coalitions provide direct programs and services to
over 18,000 youth, parents, and professionals.

e Program outcomes: Through strong community mobilization efforts made by our statewide network
of coalitions for positive environmental changes related to underage drinking, New Jersey
successfully passed 911 Lifeline legislation in October 2009 to reduce the fear and hesitation that
may occur when our youth have friends in danger due to alcohol use and need medical assistance.
Youth are now able to call 911 without incurring any alcohol use/possession violation for them or for
their friend. Additionally, the CD Coalition members target local ordinances regarding drinking on
private property as an area of concern. New Jersey allows municipalities to enact local ordinances
that issue penalties for minors who possess or consume alcohol on private property. New Jersey has
566 municipalities, and as a result of the CD coalitions’ efforts, over 51 percent now have enacted
private property ordinances in an effort to reduce underage drinking. The Childhood Drinking
Coalition was selected for participation in the 2011 Service to Science Initiative.

Dangers of Underage Drinking Prevention Contest

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for report Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.drugfreenj.org/2010_dud/

Program description: The “Listen Up to the Dangers of Underage Drinking” Radio public service
announcement (PSA) initiative is a contest for middle school students. The “Listen Up” program
challenges young people to create a script for a 30-second radio PSA that talks directly to parents about
the dangers of underage alcohol use. The winning students produce and star in the radio spots, which are
produced in English and in Spanish and are distributed to stations in New York, New Jersey, and
Philadelphia media markets.

Camden County Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse (CCCADA)—
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol

Number of youth served 4,200
Number of parents served 800
Number of caregivers served 200
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information No data

Program description: CCCADA implements the Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol
curriculum, a Model Program approved by the SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)
that is designed to use community organizing strategies to reduce youth access to alcohol. Through
Project CARE, CCCADA coordinates with local community event organizers to reduce adolescent access
to alcohol, provide educational workshops and forums, initiate a media campaign, offer family skate
nights to the community, and establish a youth initiative called “Teens Exposing Alcohol Myths” (TEAM).
The CCCADA has partnered with the Camden City Public Schools and the First Nazarene Baptist Church
in the delivery of these services.
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New Jersey Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) State Incentive Grant

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report: Not applicable

URL for more program information: http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/das/prevention/spfsig/

Program description: The Division of Addiction Services (DAS) has funded 11 communities to adopt and
implement the SPF to deliver and sustain effective substance abuse prevention and mental health
promotion programs in their communities by institutionalizing a data-driven planning process to (in part)
decrease underage drinking among 18- to 21-year-olds at the community level.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Numerous Federal Block Grant Funded Programs
URL for more program information: http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/das/prevention/

Program description: Throughout the State, there have been 53 total awards — 50 community-level and 3
special projects. Services target high-risk individuals or groups in each of New Jersey’s 21 counties who
were identified 2y each county according to risk and protective factor domains (family, community, school,
individual/peer). Grantees are required to use evidence-based programs or strategies.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs |

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No recognized
of underage drinking Tribes

Program description Not applicable
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol Yes

advertising and marketing
Program description: The Partnership for a Drug-Free New Jersey (PDFNJ) uses any and all media
and formats to spread its message. PDFNJ communicates with the public through television, radio,
and print; billboards; Port Authority (PATH) and New Jersey Transit signs; ads in the Yellow Pages,
donated by Bell Atlantic; and a host of other nontraditional communication opportunities. Working with
the New Jersey media to “unsell” drugs to the people — especially the young people — of New Jersey
continues to be PDFNJ’s central responsibility. It receives most of its creative work from the
Partnership for a Drug-Free America, which, in turn, works with the top advertising agencies in the
Nation. PDFNJ does not pay for any advertising time, and it is deeply grateful for support from the
New Jersey media and other organizations.

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: DAS and the Governor’'s Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse
fund only programs that have an evidence-based record of effectiveness in preventing underage
drinking. Additionally, the Statewide Childhood Drinking Coalitions use a risk and protective factor
framework in the development and delivery of community-based coalition activities. As indicated
previously, the Coalition has been selected for participation in the 2011 Service to Science Initiative.

Additional Clarification

Information about New Jersey’s Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws program, which is overseen by the
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control:

Programs funded in 2011 include Cops in Shops, Fatal Vision Goggles, Local Community-Based Efforts
to Prevent Underage Drinking, College Training Initiative to Prevent Underage Drinking, Lollanobooza,
“Dangers of Underage Drinking” Billboard/Calendar Initiative, and “Dangers of Underage Drinking” Radio
PSA. Programs will run June 1, 2011, through May 31, 2012.
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State Interagency Collaboration

A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or No
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information Not applicable
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee Not applicable
A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable
URL or other means of access Not applicable
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via Not applicable
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes

Prepared by: The Statewide Childhood Drinking Coalition
Plan can be accessed via: Not applicable

Additional Clarification |

No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of State funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data unavailable
Data unavailable

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:
Estimate of State funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data unavailable
Data unavailable

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended $675,530

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended $375,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of State funds expended $490,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
Estimate of State funds expended
Estimate based on the 12 months ending

Data unavailable
Data unavailable

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of State funds expended $1,000,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included No data

Estimate of State funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

streams:
Taxes
Fines
Fees
Other

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

Yes
Yes
No
No data
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Description of funding streams and how they are used: The Governor’s Council on Alcoholism and Drug
Abuse uses Drug Enforcement Demand Reduction funds for underage drinking prevention activities.
Monies from General State Revenue fund a small portion (DARE) of activities.

Additional Clarification

No data
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