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New Hampshire 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts 

State Population: 1,316,470 
Population Ages 12–20: 166,000 

    
  Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 34.6    58,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 24.5   41,000 

Ages 12–14                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.3     3,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.4    1,000 

 Ages 15–17                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 29.1    17,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 20.0   11,000 

 Ages 18–20                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 64.2    38,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 47.1   28,000 
 
    Number 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)       12 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)      695 
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  Percentage of  Number 
  All Traffic 
   Fatalities 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers  
with BAC > 0.01 39.0     7 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
• Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for 

any losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit: 0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 
• Underage possession 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Discretionary 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• Minimum: 90 days 
• Maximum: 365 days 

Note: Although New Hampshire does not authorize a use/lose penalty for all underage 
consumption, a law imposes a discretionary license sanction on minors who are “intoxicated by 
consumption of an alcoholic beverage,” and provides that an alcohol concentration “of .02 or 
more shall be prima facie evidence of intoxication” (see N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 179:10(I), 
263:56-b). 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age: 15 years, 6 months   
• There is no minimum age   
• Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours—10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age: 16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after: 1 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist: No unrelated passengers under 25, unless accompanied by 
driver over 25 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18—passenger restrictions expire after 6 months; 

unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 18. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum: 17 
• Maximum: 20 
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Appearance Requirements 
• Age assessment panel 
• Casual attire  
• Average height and build 
• If decoy is 20 years old, must appear to be between 17 and 19   
• Male: No facial hair 
• Female: Minimal makeup  

ID Possession 
• Required 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy Training 
• Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions: Not specified 
• First offense: No aggravating factors—$500 fine, four license points, 3-day suspension 

Note: Fine range mandated by statute. Only one compliance check annually shall incur license 
points. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies only to new outlets 

Voluntary Beverage Service Training  
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Incentives for Training 
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to minors 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 16 
• Wine: 16 
• Spirits: 16 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Note: To act as a cashier in a selling capacity, a minor is required to be at least 16 years old, 
providing a person at least 18 years old is in attendance and is designated in charge of the 
employees and business. 
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders 

Dram Shop Liability 
Statutory liability exists. 
Note: State law includes a responsible beverage service defense. 

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.  

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties. 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Intention, possession, consumption. 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other. 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Overt act—host must have 

actual knowledge and commit an act that contributes to the occurrence. 
• Preventive action by the host negates the violation. 
• Exception(s): Family 

Note: In New Hampshire, an “underage alcohol house party” means a gathering of five or more 
people under age 21 at any occupied structure, dwelling, or curtilage, where at least one person 
under age 21 unlawfully possesses or consumes an alcoholic beverage. A person is guilty of a 
misdemeanor if he or she owns or has control of the occupied structure, dwelling, or curtilage 
where an underage alcohol house party is held and he or she knowingly commits an overt act in 
furtherance of the occurrence of the underage alcohol house party knowing persons under age 21 
possess or intend to consume alcoholic beverages. The “preventive action” provision in New 
Hampshire allows the defendant to avoid criminal liability by establishing, as an affirmative 
defense, that he or she took preventive action with respect to the underage alcohol house party. 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for beer, wine, and distilled 
spirits with the following restrictions:  
Age Verification Requirements: None 
State Approval/Permit Requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain State permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting Requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  
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Keg Registration 
• Keg definition: More than 7 gallons 
• Prohibited: 

– Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail: $1,000 
– Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $1,000 

• Purchaser information collected:  
– Purchaser’s name and address 
– Verified by a government-issued ID 

• Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit required 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer: Permitted 
• Wine: Permitted 
• Spirits: No law 

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.30 per gallon 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control State 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control State 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages: Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited 
• Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages: Not prohibited 
• Increased volume: Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements: Post—wholesalers shall make their current prices available to 

the commission in writing. 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—10 days maximum. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Control State 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control State 
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New Hampshire State Survey Responses 

 

State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

NH Liquor Commission—Division of Enforcement and Licensing 
Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

The Liquor Commission Division of Enforcement & Licensing has established an alcohol compliance 
protocol based upon research and administrative and criminal case law. The goals of the alcohol 
compliance program are education of the general public, increased awareness of the risks associated 
with providing alcohol to minors, and enforcement of underage drinking laws. The Division works with 
local police departments to coordinate alcohol compliance checks and collaborates on the 
investigation of alcohol source fatalities, prohibited retail sales, and house parties. The Division and 
the NH Police Academy work together to provide training on underage drinking laws. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

NH Liquor Commission Division of 
Enforcement and Licensing 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies  No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by State law enforcement agencies 2,136 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies 1,774 
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 196 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2009 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 0 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2009 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the State3 97 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $63,450 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2009 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the State4 18 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 54 
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1 Or having consumed or purchased per State statutes 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies 

 

  

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2009 
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2009 

Additional Clarification   

Section B2 data would be the same as Section B1. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Ten Regional Networks  

Number of youth served 102,395 
Number of parents served 698,372 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/prevention.htm 

Program description: Ten Regional Networks (RN) are geographically designed to provide alcohol and 
drug prevention services and health promotion for every community in NH. RN’s primary focus is 
underage drinking and drug use prevention for individuals and the environments in which they live. RNs 
cast a wide net to convene and mobilize five core sectors—business, medical/ behavioral health, 
educational institutions, safety, and local government—in environmental prevention strategies and 
interventions. Each RN has a data-driven prevention priority plan outlining local contributing risk and 
protective factors that align environmental approaches and targeted interventions. Strategically distributed 
throughout the 10 regions are over 60 subcontracted service providers that implement targeted 
prevention for selective and indicated populations (high-risk individuals) such as court diversionary, 
student assistance, parental/guardian education and skill building, and school-based education. 

Parenting Education  
Number of youth served 195 
Number of parents served 145 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description: The goals of this program are to prevent early initiation of substance use in the 
children of the participating families by increasing protective factors and decreasing risk factors through 
parent education, discussion, support, information dissemination, and increasing social connectedness; 
increase knowledge of risk and protective factors; improve family functioning; increase social 
connectedness and bonding; increase knowledge and use of community resources; and change parental 
attitudes about substance use. 
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Youth Involvement/Empowerment  
Number of youth served 125 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  
1. Keep youth involved—Provide safe and drug-free activities that empower participating youth.  
2. Girls Survival Skills Group—Educate youth on peer pressure and the dangers of alcohol, tobacco, and 

drugs by providing substance-free programming.  
3. Boys Survival Skills—Educate youth on peer pressure and the dangers of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs 

by providing substance-free programming.  
4. Prevention and Support—Offer information and life skills before they enter the teen years. 
Underage Drinking social norms influencing risk perception and community norms campaigns  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/prevention.htm 

Program description: Social Norms is a media campaign impacting inaccurate perception of prevalence of 
use/misuse of substances among youth, dispelling the myth most or all of their peers drink and use drugs. 
Many campaigns are directed at the community at-large, to dispel the belief that use/misuse to 
acceptable and normal rite of passage, that in fact it is harmful and is the cause of many negative 
consequences, e.g. car crashes, violence, and death. 
• Region A – North Country Regional Network http://www.nchcnh.org/CSAP_realnormal.php 
• Region B – Lower Grafton County Regional Network http://www.bridges2prevention.org  
• Region C – Lakes Region‐Mount Washington Valley http://www.lrpph.org  
• Region D – Sullivan County Regional Network http://www.preventionworksnh.org  
• Region E – Capital Area Regional Network http://www.capitalprevention.org  
• Region F – Southeastern Regional Network http://www.onevoicenh.org  
• Region G – Monadnock Regional Network http://www.monadnockvoices.org  
• Region H – Greater Manchester Regional Network http://www.makinithappen.org  
• Region I – Greater Nashua Regional Network http://www.beyondinfluence.org  
• Region J – Greater Rockingham County Regional Network http://www.asapnh.org 
Student Assistance Program - Project Success  

Number of youth served 11,765 
Number of parents served 5710 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description: Project SUCCESS (Schools Using Coordinated Community Efforts to Strengthen 
Students) prevents and reduces substance use among high-risk, multiproblem high school adolescents. 
The program places highly trained professionals in schools to provide a full range of substance use 
prevention and early intervention services. An individual with a graduate degree in social work, 
counseling, or psychology who is experienced in providing substance abuse prevention counseling to 

http://www.nchcnh.org/CSAP_realnormal.php
http://www.bridges2prevention.org/
http://www.lrpph.org/
http://www.onevoicenh.org/
http://www.monadnockvoices.org/
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adolescents is recruited to work in schools. This individual will provide the school with a full range of 
substance abuse prevention and early intervention services to help decrease risk factors and enhance 
protective factors related to substance abuse. Program components include: Prevention Education 
Series, Individual Assessment, Prevention Education Series, Individual and Group Counseling, Individual 
Sessions, Parent Programs, and referral to appropriate agencies or practitioners in the community. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Ten Regional Networks 

URL for more program information http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/prevention.htm 

Program description: The 10 Regional Networks address underage alcohol and drug use, including 
tobacco. Please see page 6 of this report. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized 
Tribes 

Program description: Not applicable 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description: Not applicable 
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description: The Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Services developed the NH 
Center for Excellence (NHCFEx), which provides technical assistance for contracted providers toward 
quality improvement, best practices, and evidence-based interventions. To best support evidence-
based practices, the Center developed a depository of statewide data as it related to substance 
misuse, prevention, and treatment. NHCFEx conducts learning collaboratives for contracted 
prevention providers with a followup action on-site meeting. 

Additional Clarification  
Informative Web sites that support prevention:  
• NH Center for Excellence provides online tools: http://www.nhcenterforexcellence.org/  
• Reducing smoking rates in New Hampshire residents through the use of evidence-based prevention 

and intervention strategies: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/tobacco/index.htm  
• NH Public Education Web site designed to help individuals, families, and communities become 

informed, get involved, get help, and find information on prevention efforts, effects of alcohol and 
drugs, guidance on recovery and treatment, and links to programs in the State: http://drugfreenh.org/  

State Interagency Collaboration  
A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Tym Rourke 
Email: tr@nhcf.org 
Address: 37 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301 
Phone: 603-225-6641 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
NH Department of Education 
NH Department of Safety 
NH Department of Corrections 
NH Providers Associations 
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NH Attorney General 
NH Liquor Commission 
Juvenile Justice Services 
NH Administrative Judge of District and Municipal Courts 
NH Health and Human Services 
National Guard Adjunct General 

A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access  http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/commission.htm 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: AOD Prevention Logic Model developed by representatives of the Bureau of Drug and 
Alcohol Services, Governors’ Commission on Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention, 
Intervention, and Treatment, and the Center for Excellence 

Plan can be accessed via http://www.nhcenterforexcellence.org/ 
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services 
Report can be accessed via: The strategic prevention framework final report is available as a PDF 

document and can be provided upon request. It is not posted online. 
Additional Clarification  

Overcoming the Impact of Alcohol and Other Drug Problems: A Plan for New Hampshire: 
http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcbcs/bdas/plan.htm 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:  

Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended $850,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended $500,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of State funds expended $200,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included No data 
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:  

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 

Other Gov. Commission 
Alcohol Fund 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: No data 
Additional Clarification  

Check points, compliance checks, and decoy operations are conducted by the Division of Liquor 
Enforcement, and Federal underage enforcement funds are used. 




