State Reports — Georgia

Georgia

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts

State Population: 9,687,653
Population Ages 12-20: 1,217,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 23.6 287,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 14.7 178,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.1 25,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.8 6,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 19.3 90,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 11.2 52,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 43.6 172,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 30.5 120,000
Number
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 157
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 9,436
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Percentage of Number
All Traffic
Fatalities
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC > 0.01 15.0 23

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian’s home AND
e Parent/guardian

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement
purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provisions Targeting Retailers
e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
e BAC limit: 0.02
e BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
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Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 180 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
e Minimum learner-stage period: 12 months
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours—6 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage

e Minimum age: 16

e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— No primary enforcement of the night-driving rule

e Passenger restrictions exist: First 6 months, immediate family only. Second 6 months, no
more than one passenger under 21 who is not immediate family. After 1 year, no more than
three passengers under 21 who are not immediate family.
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):
e Parent/guardian’s home AND
e Parent/guardian

Compliance Check Protocols

Age of Decoy
¢ Minimum: 17
e Maximum: 19

Appearance Requirements
e No facial hair

ID Possession
e Prohibited

Verbal Exaggeration of Age
e Prohibited

Decoy Training
e Not specified
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors

e Time period/conditions: Not specified
o First offense: $500-$2,500 fine, 12-month probation, and/or up to 30-day suspenion

Note: Mitigating and/or aggravating circumstances may be considered.

Responsible Beverage Service

No beverage service training requirement

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers
e Beer: Not specified
e Wine: Not specified
e Spirits: Not specified

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Furnishing with knowledge that customer was a
minor and would soon be operating a motor vehicle.

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on elements/standards of proof: Furnishing with knowledge that customer was a
minor and would soon be operating a motor vehicle.

Host Party Laws
No State-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following
restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Producer must verify age of purchaser.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain State permit.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.

Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21
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Note: Wineries that hold a Federal basic wine manufacturing permit, regardless of whether they
are licensed by the State of Georgia, may also ship wines directly to consumers. The consumer
must purchase the wine while physically present on the premises of the winery, and the winery
must verify that the consumer is of the age to do so.

Keg Registration

Keg definition: more than 2 gallons
Prohibited:
— Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg—maximum fine/jail: $1,000/12 months
— Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $1,000/12 months
e Purchaser information collected:
— Purchaser’s name and address
— Verified by a government-issued ID
— Address where keg will be consumed
Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: Not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Note: Although Georgia does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser’s ID,
it does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser, as well
as the purchaser’s name, address, and date of birth.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery
e Beer: Prohibited
e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited
Alcohol Tax

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $1.01 per gallon

Reported tax rate is calculated for the rate imposed on 12-ounce containers. Tax is $0.32 per
gallon for malt beverages sold in barrels or bulk containers containing not more than 31 gallons,
along with a $0.39 per gallon tax per on containers 15.5 gallons or less.

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $0.42 per gallon

$1.10 per gallon imposed on the “importation for use, consumption, or final delivery” into the
State of all wines with an alcohol content of 14 percent or less.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Specific excise tax: $5.37 per gallon

$1.89 per gallon on the “importation for use, consumption, or final delivery” into the State of all
distilled spirits.

Drink Specials
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No law

Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—180 days minimum
e Retailer credit: Not permitted—if retailer owns more than one business and payment is
made from a central office, then credit not to exceed 5 days after delivery and invoice.

Wine (12 percent alcohol)
e Retailer credit: Not permitted

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—14 days minimum
e Retailer credit: Not permitted
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State Agency Information

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Georgia State Survey Responses

Georgia Department of Revenue Alcohol & Tobacco Division

agencies to remain informed of activities and discuss opportunities and issues that may arise.
Enforcement Strategies

Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws

prohibiting underage drinking:
The Alcohol & Tobacco Division of the Georgia Department of Revenue works in partnership, through
an intergovernmental agreement, with the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health & Developmental
Disabilities Division of Addictive Disease (DAD). DAD’s Office of Prevention Services & Programs
(OPSP) funds compliance checks to enforce the law (O.C.G.A. 3-3-23) that prohibits furnishing any
alcoholic beverage to any person under age 21. OPSP is funding the University of Georgia’s Carl
Vinson Institute of Government to initiate and implement an annual alcohol report for underage drinking
compliance check data. Regular meetings are held with team members from these two governmental

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations No
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes
Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws Georgia Department of Revenue—
addressing direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Alcohol & Tobacco Division
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
Enforcement Statistics
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession’ by State law enforcement agencies 6
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No
State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies 4,349
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 711
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to Yes
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the State® 708
Total amount in fines across all licensees $724,300
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments
specifically for furnishing minors

Yes
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Number of suspensions imposed by the State” 115

Total days of suspensions across all licensees 371

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes
specifically for furnishing minors

Number of license revocations imposed® 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010

Additional Clarification

No data

'or having consumed or purchased per State statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

“Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Georgia Underage Drinking Prevention Initiative

Number of youth served 250

Number of parents served 100

Number of caregivers served 50
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2010
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report No data

URL for more program information http://www.livedrugfree.org

Program description: The Georgia Underage Drinking Prevention Initiative helps educate young people
and caring adults about the risks associated with underage drinking through a Prevention Education
Campaign. The Prevention Education Campaign also helps local community coalitions convene town hall
meetings about underage drinking prevention and conduct community information sessions. The Initiative
also creates Responsible Sales & Service (RASS) Workshops to provide owners and staff of alcohol-
licensed establishments with valuable resources and information to prevent sales to underage youth in
college communities.

Gwinnett Mobilizing for Change in ATOD

Number of youth served 58,129
Number of parents served 75

Number of caregivers served 175
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2010
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information http://www.guideinc.org

Program description: Gwinnett Mobilizing for Change in ATOD is an environmental strategies initiative
with multiple strategies and services. This initiative follows the evidence-based model Communities
Mobilizing for Change in Alcohol (CMCA). The prevention services that are provided include a coalition
addressing underage alcohol, tobacco, and drug use prevention; public awareness campaigns focusing
on underage drinking (with particular emphasis on social hosting) and underage tobacco use; alcohol
vendor training; Enforcement of Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) compliance checks; youth action teams
that provide peer-focused environmental strategies targeting middle and high school age youth; a youth
advisory board; and participation in local, regional, and statewide coalitions addressing underage drinking
and tobacco use.
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Cobb and Douglas Alcohol Policy Partnership

Number of youth served 1,951
Number of parents served 676
Number of caregivers served 150
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2010
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available No

URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information No data

Program description: The Cobb and Douglas Alcohol Policy Partnership (CDAPP) uses an environmental
prevention strategy to provide training and technical assistance to coalitions/task forces in Cobb and
Douglas counties to prevent and reduce underage drinking. CDAPP’s efforts consist of offering regular
training to all supporters and participants of each group. The collaboratives and groups develop their own
policy agendas, strategize the number and frequency of compliance investigations of alcohol
establishments, design and produce public education and awareness materials, devise dissemination
strategies, establish media literacy and advocacy tools, conduct environmental scans, and construct
organizational development systems that allow for youth leadership and involvement in the groups’
decisionmaking and advocacy efforts.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Bulloch Council—Prime for Life Under 21
URL for more program information http://www.bullochadc.org

Program description: PRIME for Life Under 21 intervenes during the experimental stage of substance
abuse when adolescents have yet to develop a serious alcohol or drug problem and can be positively
influenced by an age-appropriate introduction to and review of the possible negative consequences of
their actions. Prime for Life Under 21 is designed for youth with high-risk behavior between the ages of 13
and 20. The program is designed to reduce alcohol-related violations in 200 young adult substance-
abusing populations.

Twin Cedars Youth Services/Troup County Prevention Coalition
URL for more program information http://www.twincedars.org

Program description: This program serves as a catalyst for systems change and sustained collaborative
work in the community to ensure the reduction and prevention of alcohol, drug, and tobacco use among
Troup County youth. It aims to reduce substance abuse among youth and, over time, among adults by
addressing factors that increase risk of substance abuse and promoting factors that minimize that risk.
Twin Cedars helps establish and strengthen collaboration among communities, private nonprofit
agencies, and Federal, State, and local governments to support the efforts of community coalitions to
prevent and reduce substance abuse among youth.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking

Program description: Not applicable.

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol Yes

advertising and marketing
Program description: The Georgia Underage Drinking Prevention Initiative performed environmental
scans in five targeted communities (Candler, Rockdale, Spalding, Upson, and Ware counties).
Environmental scans are an organized method of “scanning” existing conditions in a community
environment that, according to research, either promotes or discourages underage alcohol use. The
purpose of the scans was to assess what local store owners were doing or not doing with regard to
youth access to alcohol in high-risk communities and to investigate the environments of these
communities. Scans examined number of alcohol billboards near schools, parks, etc.; marketing
practices of alcohol outlets; and youth exposure to alcohol advertising.
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking No
prevention programs
Best practice standards description: Not applicable.

Additional Clarification

No data

State Interagency Collaboration

A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or No
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information Not applicable
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee Not applicable
A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities No

URL or other means of access Not applicable

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: The Georgia Strategic Prevention Framework State Incentive Grant
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.ga-spf.org

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No
Prepared by Not applicable
Plan can be accessed via Not applicable

Additional Clarification

No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of State funds expended $272,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2010
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of State funds expended $0

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included No data

Estimate of State funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes No
Fines No
Fees No
Other No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used: No data
Additional Clarification

No data
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