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2.  Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase (data current as of 1/1/12) 

Policy Description  
Most states, but not all, prohibit minors from purchasing or attempting to purchase alcoholic 
beverages.  A minor purchasing alcoholic beverages can be prosecuted for possession because, 
arguably, a sale cannot be completed until there is possession on the part of the purchaser.  
Purchase and possession are nevertheless separate offenses.  A minor who purchases alcoholic 
beverages is potentially liable for two offenses in states that have both prohibitions.  See the 
“Underage Possession/Internal Possession/Consumption” section of this report for further 
discussion.31  A significant minority of youths purchase or attempt to purchase alcohol for 
themselves, sometimes using falsified identification (see the “False Identification” section of this 
report). 

Such purchases increase the availability of alcohol to underage persons, which, in turn, increases 
underage consumption.  Prohibitions and associated sanctions on alcohol purchases by underage 
persons can be expected to depress rates of purchase and attempted purchase by raising the 
monetary and social costs of this behavior.  Such laws provide a primary deterrent (preventing 
attempted purchases) and a secondary deterrent (reducing the probability that persons sanctioned 
under these laws will attempt to purchase in the future). 

In some states, a person under age 21 is allowed to purchase alcoholic beverages as part of a law 
enforcement action.  Most commonly, these actions are checks on merchant compliance or stings 
to identify merchants who illegally sell alcoholic beverages to minors.  This allowance for 
purchase in the law enforcement context may exist even though a state does not have a law 
specifically prohibiting underage purchase. 

Status of Underage Purchasing Policies 
As of January 1, 2012, 46 states and the District of Columbia prohibit underage purchase or 
attempted purchase of alcohol; the remaining 4 states (Delaware, Indiana, New York, and 
Vermont) do not (see Exhibit 4.3.7).  Underage persons are allowed to purchase alcohol for law 
enforcement purposes in 23 states including Indiana, even though Indiana does not have an  

                                                 
31 Some states have laws that specifically prohibit both underage purchase and attempted purchase of alcohol.  An attempted 
purchase occurs when a minor takes concrete steps toward committing the offense of purchasing whether or not the purchase is 
consummated.  It is likely that courts in states that only include the purchase prohibition in their statutes would treat attempted 
purchase as a lesser included offense.  It can, therefore, be assumed that all states that prohibit purchase also prohibit attempted 
purchases.  The two offenses are therefore not treated separately in this Report. 

http://www.alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Report%20to%20Congress/Report%20To%20Congress%2006-06-11%20KJM.doc?w=4fa4bc80#Possession
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Report%20to%20Congress/Report%20To%20Congress%2006-06-11%20KJM.doc?w=4fa4bc80#FalseID
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Exhibit 4.3.7: Underage Purchase of Alcohol for Law Enforcement Purposes 
 as of January 1, 2012 

 

 
 

underage purchase statute.  The three other states without underage purchase statutes have no 
allowances for such purchases made for law enforcement purposes. 

Trends in Underage Purchasing Policies 
Since 1998, the number of jurisdictions prohibiting underage purchase of alcohol has remained 
the same (47).  During that period, the number of states with allowances for underage purchase 
for enforcement purposes has steadily increased, from 9 in 1998 to 22 in 2012 (see Exhibit 
4.3.8). 

References and Further Information 
All data for this policy were obtained from APIS at www.alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov.  Follow 
links to the policy entitled “Underage Purchase of Alcohol.” APIS provides further descriptions 
of this policy and its variables, details regarding state policies, and a review of the limitations 
associated with the reported data.  For definitions for the variables in this policy, go to  
Appendix B. 

http://www.alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/
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Exhibit 4.3.8: Underage Purchase of Alcohol for Law Enforcement Purposes,  
January 1, 1998, through January 1, 2012 

 


