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11.  Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers and Bartenders (data current as of 1/1/12) 

Policy Description  
All states specify a minimum age for employees who serve or dispense alcoholic beverages.  
Generally, the term “servers” refers to waitpersons, and “bartenders” refers to individuals who 
dispense alcoholic beverages.  These restrictions recognize that underage employees, particularly 
those who are unsupervised, may lack the maturity and experience to conduct adequate checks of 
age identification and resist pressure from underage peers to complete illegal sales.   
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States vary widely in terms of minimum age requirements for servers and bartenders.  In some 
states, the minimum age for both types of employee is 21, but others set lower minimum ages, 
particularly for servers.  No state permits underage bartenders while prohibiting underage 
servers.  Some states permit servers or bartenders younger than 21 to work only in certain types 
of on-premises establishments, such as restaurants, or to serve only certain beverage types, such 
as beer or wine.  Underage servers and bartenders may be allowed only if legal-age managers or 
supervisors are present when underage persons are serving alcoholic beverages or tending bar.   

State laws setting a minimum age for employees who sell alcohol at off-premises establishments 
are described in the “Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers” section of this report. 

Status of Age of Server Policies 

Age of Servers 
As of January 1, 2012, three states (Alaska, Nevada, and Utah) specify that on-premises alcohol 
servers of beer, wine, or distilled spirits must be age 21 or older (see Exhibit 4.3.23).  Only one 
state (Maine) allows 17-year-olds to be servers.  Ten states specify that servers be at least 19 or 
at least 20 years old, and the remaining 36 states and the District of Columbia allow 18-year-old 
servers. 

Age of Bartenders 
Minimum ages for bartenders are generally higher than for servers across the states.  Nineteen 
states and the District of Columbia limit bartending to those age 21 or older.  Five states 
(Arizona, Idaho, Kentucky, Nebraska, and Ohio) specify that bartenders be at least age 19 or at 
least age 20.  Twenty-five states allow 18-year-olds to bartend, while only one state (Maine) 
allows 17-year-olds to be bartenders.  Minimum ages for serving beer, wine, and distilled spirits 
are identical in all but three states: Maryland, North Carolina, and Ohio.  Maryland and North 
Carolina require bartenders to be 21 years old to serve spirits, but permit 18-year-olds to 
dispense beer and wine; Ohio requires bartenders to be 21 years old to serve wine and distilled 
spirits, but those age 19 and older are allowed to dispense beer. 

https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Report%20to%20Congress/Report%20To%20Congress%2006-06-11%20KJM.doc?w=4fa4bc80#AgeSeller
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Exhibit 4.3.23: Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers (Beer) as of January 1, 2012 
 

 
 

Trends in Age of Server Policies 

 

Manager or Supervisor Presence 
Ten states require that a supervisor or manager be present when an underage seller conducts an 
alcoholic beverage transaction. 

State policies for ages of servers and bartenders in on-premises establishments have been 
generally stable over the last decade (see Exhibit 4.3.24).  Between 2003 and 2012, Arkansas 
lowered its minimum age for servers from 21 to 19, and North Dakota lowered its age for servers 
from 19 to 18. 

References and Further Information 
All data for this policy were obtained from APIS at www.alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov.  Follow 
links to the policy entitled “Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers and Bartenders.” APIS 
provides further descriptions of this policy and its variables, details regarding state policies, and 
a review of the limitations associated with the reported data.  To see definitions of the variables 
for this policy, go to Appendix B. 
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